Reading Reviews From Member: patronus_charm
  
1,383 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charmSevenfold: everything you touch, only dies

21st July 2014:
Wooh I just finished my first ever novel too, so high five and congrats as itís such a good feeling, isnít it?

Well, I donít think this ending was unsatisfying as it just left me going wow, wow, wow as I canít really comprehend everything and it was so powerful and so wow and I really loved every chapter of it as it really shed new light on what it was like to be a murderer. The first section really showed that with how Louis just couldnít deal with his mother and her contrasting views and that was shown really, really well.

I liked the links back to the original murders and Ruth Coffman/Ada as it tied up the story really well. It made sense for her to die really because it showed how the Sevenfold murders could never really be repeated again and that now the repetition had ended with Eugenie being caught, she sort of had to die. It doesnít seem to make sense there, but it did in my head. :P

The scene with Victoire and Dominique had such a surreal feel to it and it really showed Louisís detachment from the world really well and yeah it was just great. Gah, I canít seem to explain myself here but what I mean to say is the way you contrasted what they thought normality was to Louisís normality was really great.

The courtroom scene broke my heart because it really showed us why Eugenie did what she did and her motives behind it all but they just didnít want to listen, sort of like when Harry was in court. Admittedly, she had killed 5 people and almost killed a sixth but she just seemed so lost and frail there and I wanted to hug her. Is the sixth victim Louis then? Iím probably really far off it, but itís just what makes sense in my head really.

The ending! ♥ Wow that was so haunting with the way Eugenie had calmly accepted the fact these memories would never fade and would never let her go. It was even worse than with Ada because at least Ada achieved her goal, whereas with Eugenie she never killed her father so she must feel somewhat unfulfilled in a way. It just left me with so many mixed feelings because there was Louis being all cute and supporting Eugenie which made me warm to her, but she was a murderer so I didnít want to in a way, then there was the hint of darkness form Louis when he said he almost wished it was Emily who had been the murderer still. But all of that was so realistic so naturally perfect and I really enjoyed reading this!

This was such a fantastic story and great read, and congrats again on finishing it! :D

-Kiana

Ooh and thank you for the shout-out!

 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charmTrue Romance: Ice Cream

21st July 2014:
Bahahah Iím first :P

Omg, Remus was so cute and Iím getting those feels you were talking about and itís so cute and I want to cry because I started thinking about Ronks and you know how that goes as itís so sad but so perfect but so good! ♥ I really liked how he went to Teddy for advice as Teddy was actually really good and go Albus being mature and responsible but I have a feeling youíre going to crush this happiness now.

No, no, no Rose what are you doing you idiot? But whoo go Brandon showing his wonderful new mature side with the way he said no to Rose and made her stop, but still Rose you idiot stop ruining it for Albus you did it with Scorpius so donít do it again with Brandon, okay? *gives Rose a stern look* Ha, I just realised is it weird writing someone who has the same name as you? :P

No, no, no ditch Corbin Scorpius there is something up with him I know there is! Ok, actually if there isnít it would be so awkward as Iíve always suspected that heís up to something but #yolo I will carry on with my hate for Corbin as thatís what it seems most natural.

A fab chapter!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charmTrue Romance: Only Myself to Blame

21st July 2014:
Apparently people race for reviews on this story, so whoo Iím second (if thatís a good thing, I feel so clueless :P)

Ah Brandon is so serious and mature now he has Cora and in a way itís cute because yay he wants to settle down and be a great father to his kid and I understand that, but it meant threaten Barnbus which would be way too sad. Gah, Albus is being a bit of an idiot though with the way he just comes out with some things but he is really young too. I donít even know now. #soconfusedaboutfeelings.

#awkwardmomentforrose. There I was cheering her on and feeling so proud but then my creepy guy alert when off its radar when Henrik came along because it was as if I just knew he was going to end up doing that. I did feel kinda bad for him as it must have been embarrassing, but to be fair, he should have read more into Rose and realised it was not happening. I hope this doesnít knock her confidence too much as that would be really bad for her.

Ok, Iím not sure what to make of Archibald, on the one hand it was incredibly romantic and cute what he did for Lily and what he said to her too, but on the other hand itís kind of like ew, itís a bit weird as you just started dating. I think Iíll remain neutral on this front for a while, but Iím still probably more on the ew side of things if Iím honest. :P

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charmTrue Romance: The Wolves and The Ravens

21st July 2014:
Ooh a party letís see how this goes! I loved how Rose was like guys be nice with Lilyís boyfriend and then Albus actually was because I really was ready for him to start cracking jokes or something so this was a nice surprise. But gah, Albus, gah, what are you doing, gah, I donít know what do, gah, Rose what are you doing to him, why is he kissing another guy?! Why?! But whoo for Rose being the saviour because that was really lovely of her to do that!

So true, so true, ĎďYou have something special with him, Albus. Not everyone else is as lucky to have someone like Brandon.Ē And pay attention to that Albus or I will start throwing things at you.

Aw, James is getting a girlfriend maybe, or maybe heís just hooking up, either way this could be quite cute unlike Albus and Derrick.

Aw, that heart to heart talk Rose and Hermione had about relationships was really sweet and itís just so nice that Hermioneís being supportive of Roseís job, and giving her advice about just floating around the world. It really does show that even the worst relationships can overcome things and be okay again. Rose and Cora were so cute too! ♥ I really loved seeing them together but it was so awkward when Albus came along, so awkward in fact I did an awkward turtle with my handÖ

Ew Corbin ew. I am not liking him at all and stuff will be thrown at him as well as possibly at Albus. Maybe heís just dating Scorpius for the Malfoy money given how he was charming Astoria away like that? I think heís up to something bad, very, very bad and I do not trust him in the slightest!

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charmTrue Romance: Where the Wind Blows

21st July 2014:
Wah, hi Rose, seriously four chapters of True Romance is the best way to forget about a filling so whoo Iím so excited to read them now :D

Ew, Eliza, ew is all I can say because how stupid are you to get pregnant just say your boyfriend stays with you? No, Rose is not being touchy about Scorpius but sensible, I just see this marriage heading for failure if Iím being honest.

Omg yay Astoria! Ahahaha Iím so glad sheís getting a cameo appearance because I love this little Malfoy family that being Astoria, Draco and Scorpius so much so yeah Iím so excited now! I really liked how even though Astoria asked about Corbinís blood status she still was interested in who Scorpius was dating and cared enough to ask and yeah anything she does I probably would like. But Draco still seems kinda off about his son being gay, I hope he comes around eventually and meets Corbin with Astoria as that would be really good for Scorpius.

Aw, Brandon is the cutest dad ever and all these little moments he keeps on having with Cora are just so ♥ ♥ ♥ I just really love them and keep them coming. And Albus ♥ He really is brave to come here and accept the fact that his boyfriend suddenly found out he was a dad because that is not the easiest thing to hear at all. But yeah so much cuteness I could die!

Omg this line ĎďYouíre my anchor and I trust you.Ēí you are killing me Rose, killing me, I just want to squee so much that I could go to squee heaven right now! Onto the next chapter! ♥

-Kiana

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charmSolace: Solace

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh I really loved this as it was just written so beautifully and really could have been a missing moment from canon. I really liked how you described Harry and Hermione together as it was a thing of desire at first, something borne from desperation than as their actions deepened and intensified over those moments, Hermioneís love for Harry did too and it was really love to watch. I think the reason why it worked so well here was because you placed it in such a sad moment of their lives you can see why they would turn to this and one and another and I guess find solace there. This was really beautiful and Iím so glad I read it!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charmAmong the Flowers: She Didn't Notice

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I really liked the emphasis on nature in this story and how it always seems to play a pivotal part in our lives as it was just so interesting and I really loved it. Your description of nature itself was really amazing too and you took real care with each flower, each moment of the sky and that was so impressive as this was all written in 500 words. You tied romance into this so well and left me wanting to know more and more about this couple and why they could never be as you led it into that so well I just wanted to know more and more about them, great story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charmTryst With Fate: The Curves Of Her Lips Rewrites History

12th July 2014:
Hey!

My mind has blown up and never returned because what you did here was something I never ever would have suspected and yeah Iím lost for words right now. I really liked the idea of this Sybil/Snape/Lily love triangle as itís nice to see Snape getting some of the love as itís always Lily which is a bit dull, so this mixed it up. The friction between the two of them when she was with Dumbledore was tangible though and written so well I really loved it. You really caught of the complexity of the situation so well though and spun a new meaning of it with the way it seems as if Sybil just came up with that prophecy to be with Snape so that was really fantastic and I really enjoyed this new insight into their lives!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charmNeverland: the witching hour

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh, this was so beautiful and magical and yeah I loved it which is weird as I usually hate Jily stories :P I really liked what you did with them as they always seemed a little mythical and mystical to me with their whole love story and you wrote that really well here with incorporating it into Peter Pan. I can actually see this fitting really well as Lily really was the mother hen for them like Wendy was for her boys too so that worked really well. Your language and manipulation of it was really fantastic and they all worked with the fairytale end. The ending line was so powerful as it had so many hidden meanings and hints about what would happen it left me close to tears, great story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #10, by patronus_charmNo More Happy Thoughts: No More Happy Thoughts

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, random note first but something I loved was your spacing, I donít even know why but it was just so good and set the story in a really good stead. Another thing I loved was Georgeís reflective mood as you wrote it so well and how each little thing impacted upon him so much as that was really great and just showed how much care you put into this. It was such a bittersweet mood you wrote with the way George wanted to associate happy things with these places but just couldnít let himself feel those things and I really liked how you wrote that as it was really good.

The final few lines! ♥ Woah, they were good as you put so much emphasis on those tears I was so impressed and blow away with the imagery they produced and it was so good!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #11, by patronus_charmThe Last Ones Dying: The Last Ones Dying

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, this was brilliant because the idea of Fred always watching over George and being the good older brother was so amazing and I loved it. You wrote his comic humour so well that it wasnít a sad reminiscing thing with Fred feeling as if he had missed out on all of this but something so funny that it seemed as if he had more fun watching down on George. This line Ďseriously, from Harry to Bill, they are all a sad competitioní was really great and just exemplified what I meant about his humour.

I really loved the ending and you turned to a more serious note so well that Iím so impressed. The way Fred was ready to meet George was so sweet as it seemed as if they were finally one at peace with one another now they were together again and I really loved that!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charmThe Begotten Ones: The Begotten Ones

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was so interesting and I loved it so much! I always liked seeing Minerva and Molly interacting as theyíre such an odd and unusual pairing in a way so seeing them here was really great. I loved how it was Minerva who initiated the drinking though as I never imagined I would see that, and her love for Molly was shown really brilliantly there with the way she just wanted Molly to feel something, anything. I always wondered how Molly would feel about killing Bellatrix so it was really interesting to see you cover it here as I thought you wrote her reaction really well so that was really great. Iím sorry this is a very sleep deprived review but I loved it!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by patronus_charmWhat Makes A Man: It was too late

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was good, really good! I saw you had some reservations about this and I can swiftly dismiss them as I couldnít find a single thing wrong with this. I really loved the lyrics interweaved here as it worked so well and fitted so well with the complex figure of Voldemort. I also really liked this take on him as it was a little different to how I tend to see him. Here, it was talking about the fear of himself and I really liked that as that introduced new levels into the character I never really thought about and it was so great. Admittedly, I did feel a little bad for him at the end with the way he just wanted this horrible fear to go and he thought it would to then go and find out that it wasnít going to and it would cause what he feared but great story anyhow!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by patronus_charmWaiting on You: Waiting on You

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Iíve been looking forward to reading it ever since you mentioned it in our cabin so here I am! I really liked how you started this off with Albus just wanting to be able to accept himself fully and openly and come out with who he was as that was really sweet and kind of powerful as that self-love message isnít often shown but is so, so important to be there! Ok, all that preluding to Albus/Scorpius was so cute and I almost got my pomp oms out and started cheering them on as I love them so much and you wrote them really well, so when they finally got together you can imagine my reaction! Anyhow, I really loved this and this cute little insight into Albus Potterís mind!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charmHC Event 3: The New Addition: The New Addition

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Aw, this was cute! I really loved Sophie and her excitable energy as it reminded me so much of when my siblings and I were naming our pets and you managed to create the atmosphere so well and so clearly that I really loved it. Her parentsí reactions were great too with the way they were so exasperated and just despairing away as I did begin to feel a little sorry for them.

I almost thought for a moment that there was a going to be a grand reveal thing and we would find out the dog was Sirius because of the whole Snuffles things going on, but I really liked how it was a crup too as those creatures seemed really interesting so great job on that!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by patronus_charmHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

12th July 2014:
Hey!

I loved this and the positive spin of death! I felt rather sorry for poor old George at first as he just seemed so bewildered and confused and that he really didnít know what was going on I just wanted to go on. I thought your description was so amazing in that bit though with surreal air it had to it, and the figuring out reality. Iím past the point where I can describe things coherently but I hope you somewhat get what I mean. I loved it when George met Fred though because Fred was so calm and at peace it was so different to how we tended to see him. Another thing I loved was how Fred was the superior one when it came to knowledge too and that just made me laugh so much. This was so great!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charmEvent 3 - A Small Girl's Smile: What's in a Name?

12th July 2014:
Hey!

So many feels, so many feels! I really loved seeing Hannah and Neville as parents as they just seemed to be naturals at it and so good already it was just so cute. Also, the fact that Neville got nervous about everything which may harm the baby too was just so adorable and also made me laugh way too much given how heís probably the one who could cause the baby the most harm if he goes back to his clumsy first year days :P

The hospital scene was just so wepderferg. I had a feeling it was coming when Neville introduced them all, but it still didnít stop my heart from swelling up like crazy and getting so many feels when it happened. That moment of clarity was just so wonderful and amazing as it really gave me hope that more of Alice could come back and Iím so glad you wrote this!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by patronus_charmEvent 3 - Reunion: Reunion

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ok, I had no idea what to expect when I clicked on this but Iím so glad that I did as I really loved what I found in this story! Gah, Hagrid! ♥ He was just so cute and adorable and I just wanted to squish him or something with the way he really loved Norberta so much he made the special trip out here. I may actually adopt that as my head canon as Iím surprised Iíve never read anything like that before as it seemed so him.

You wrote him so well with his accent and all actions and Iím so impressed as he isnít an easy character to pin down. Another thing I really loved were the keeperís reactions as they seemed to suit them all so well with the way they just couldnít understand Hagridís love for a dragon and that just made me laugh so much as it was such a classic Hagrid thing. Great one-shot! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by patronus_charmEvent 3 - A Last Goodbye: A Last Goodbye

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh I really liked this as it was really different to most friendship stories Iíve come across as a surprising low number of them actually covered one of the trioís death. I though the second person POV worked really well here with Ron because it just showed how detached and almost how much he was failing in the world right now without Harry and it just showed how much he meant to him.

Another stylistic thing I really liked was how there was only one dialogue and that was right at the end as that was just really powerful and stayed with you for a while after. It almost seemed as if Ron was refusing to accept his death with the way he couldnít cry, and his silent observations on the world but I suppose it is natural and I thought you did a great job on writing his grief!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by patronus_charmEvent Three: Diagnosed: Diagnosed

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh the build-up to the grand reveal was done really well as I was totally sucked into it! I could really feel the confusion which was going on in Hermioneís mind and how she just couldnít be certain of anything and how everything seemed to be shifting from one thing to another and that was a really interesting thing to do. The letter was a really good thing to use for over-coming adversity as Hermione always seemed to quite opening them at Hogwarts (except after Skeeter articles) so that was one change then the other having to accept her life wasnít working out then, and you wrote it really well. You might just want to lessen the spaces between your paragraphs to make it easier for reading though. :)

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by patronus_charmUnusual : Unusual

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Ooh this was really interesting and unusual (ha, such a bad joke/pun/thing but reviewing has wiped me of all my good ones) and I really enjoyed reading it. I wouldnít go so far as to say this endeared me to him as I think Griphook will always be one of those characters I will irrationally hate and will always curse under my breath about but I did like this fresh perspective as we always got Harry and Dobbyís friendship from Harryís POV so it made sense there, so I liked seeing why it wouldnít make sense for some people. The pull he had towards knowing what the message was really interesting as that seemed quite human like given he was a goblin so it gave me some hope for him, a really interesting story though!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by patronus_charmHouse Cup Event Three: Until The Very End: Until The Very End

12th July 2014:
Hey!

So many feels, so many feels! ♥ Woah, this was good, really, really good! I really liked how you chose to structure this story by focusing on two big events which really cemented their friendship before going onto a general overview as it really helped me understand how they were such good friends and why too and that was really good. I really liked the magic reveal secret as it was just so sweet and adorable and typical of that age. Then the one about her mother dying is what made me all sad, but Simon was so sweet about he would be there until the end and that really was the sign of friendship instead of leaving to save himself. Such a lovely story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by patronus_charmSamhain: Hecate Sits

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Okay, I loved this Astoria as she was so much fun and so different to how all the others are. The use of tarot cards was really good and effective here and I liked how it really showed Draco that he was meant to be moving on, not clinging on like he seemed to be doing desperately. I thought it was a really clever thing for Astoria too because perhaps if theyíre wizards he might pay more attention to this if it comes from a magical source. Your description in here was so amazing in here too, and it had this really great dark and bewitching air throughout and I really loved it, so amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charmMagic: it certainly does love you

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Wowowowow wowowooww wowowoowow that is all I have to say for this as it was so amazing and really showed a new Cho and made her so much more likeable than I ever could have imagined really. The idea of her being too young for all of these events to happen to her really showed the reader how much Cho had been trialled throughout her life and how it hadnít been an exactly easy one and that really made me want to reach out to her.

The use of italics here was so amazing as it felt as if it was Cho looking back on her younger self and almost pitying herself because she didnít know how much more terrible this could get and that was really powerful to do. It really did help explain so many things in canon too and I really liked that.

Ooh this line ĎSixteen is too young to feel like a widow, but that doesnít bring life to the limp limbs and still chest lying in the cool, blue-green grass at the opening of the Maze.í That was amazing and really made me full in love with it as it was just so, so, so good, amazing story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by patronus_charmDuet: Duet

12th July 2014:
Hey!

Okay, I am so sorry I am so tired because I canít formulate words properly right now and nor can I explain why this one-shot was so magical and enchanting and amazing as much as I could do when I was wide awake but I will try nonetheless.

I really loved the theme of mist and cloud and just the general idea of concealing and the other world sort of lurking away there all the time. It had such a powerful effect because it worked so well for two reasons. The first being it highlighted the obscurity of Arianaís death and how no one really did have a clue what happened and why what happened happened and I really liked the inclusion of that. Then sort of linked into Aberforth and how he just wanted to conceal it from his mind in a way.

I really loved how Ariana appeared in a vision to him as that scene was so powerful and moving and really did make me wordless. The way you started referring to her as the woman later on was another amazing thing because it showed even though she was dead, she had gotten over her death whereas Aberforth still couldnít do that and that ridiculous was written so well and I really loved it.

This was amazing and just perfect and Iím sorry for a terrible review for an excellent story, Marina!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>