Reading Reviews From Member: patronus_charm
  
1,296 Reviews Found

Review #1, by patronus_charmThat's What You Do: That's What You Do

9th July 2014:
Hi!

This was a really interesting one-shot, and I could definitely relate to Marlene a lot because of course every fangirl wants to get the dream guy they always fantasise over so it was nice to see that she did. But you didnít just make it fluffy though as you showed that Sirius wasnít the most ideal person to date and he could be a not so nice guys. I really liked all your stylistic choices in this story from the second person POV, to the flashbacks and the use of italics as it just gave this story so much more depth and made it a lot more interesting to read.

One thing I would suggest is working on your spacing because at the end of this one-shot there was a massive bit of text with no breaks in it which made it harder to read and concentrate and as you donít want that to happen to your readers I would perhaps suggest making them bigger so itís easier to read. Other than that it was a really good story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

Author's Response: Hello there! :D

Thank you so much! I'm really happy that you enjoyed it so much :) Well, I didn't really wanna make it fluffy, I knew that a lot of people (including me) make Sirius out to be like really romantic deep down but I wanted to show another side of him!

Yeah, I struggled on how I would set out the last bit so I might just go back now and change it to that because it sounds like it would like better that way! Thank you :)

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #2, by patronus_charmHope: Hope

9th July 2014:
Hi!

Aw, this was such a sweet yet painful one-shot to read. Iím so glad that you chose to focus on Andromeda though as she has such a sad story to tell but sheís sadly often forgotten but I thought you really showed her in a great light here. The flashback to Tonks is what really got me though because it was there I could feel the full scale of her grief for the love of her daughter and all the things which would never happen now. But it wasnít just her loss she was crying out for but also Teddyís and I really liked how you showed that aspect as it fitted really well with my image of Andromeda and just showed she was a compassionate and lovely person. The ending was so sweet though with the way it was Teddyís face which carried her through and I have so many cute and fuzzy feels now, lovely story! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #3, by patronus_charmEvent Three- Aperture: Focus and Exposure

9th July 2014:
Hi Adi!

I really liked the structure of this and how it was rather blunt (in a good way mind) with its short sentences and bam bam bam feel about it as it connected to the idea of a camera which was a really good and cool link to Colin and it just made the emotion of the story so much rawer and more powerful and I really loved it.

Another thing I really liked was Dennis and Romildaís characterisation as they seem like two unlikely characters and I never would have pictured them together but they seemed to actually help one another through the grieving process which was definitely not what I expected. Another thing which was a nice surprise was how Romilda was actually likeable and almost funny too and I was drawn into her character and her tales and thatís a real skill as I usually I want to throw things at her or something along those lines.

Great story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #4, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xvii. the implosion [or] when it all hits the fan

9th July 2014:
Hi again!

Ok, I thought the teachers at my school were only cool enough to prank us (and yes they actually did prank us) so when I saw them doing it here I got a little too excited because whoo pranking, and yay theyíre in the know for all the pranks this will be interesting and I canít wait to see whatís going to happen next from this. I especially love the pranks against the other houses and itís true about the Gryffie/Claw rivalry as seen from this HC. :P Ooh tension and drama between Albus and Holly but I can imagine being a drama queen all the time as he just fits that image so I can totally roll with this. No, no, no you canít apologise, donít even try as I may throw things at you, why break them up, why? Just why? I have no words right now.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #5, by patronus_charmOnly Beautiful: Only Beautiful

9th July 2014:
Aw, this was so cute yet so angsty yet so cute and I loved it all! ♥

One thing I really loved was how resolved Cho was and she wasnít this weeping girl anymore because she had matured and had let school and you had really shown us that she had come into herself and that was really nice to see. Though she still had sad thoughts about Cedric, it seemed as if she had realised that she was young, she wasnít really in love so she couldnít give up her life for him which was the right thing to show as thatís what I agree with.

I loved Damien that was definitely the cute part as itís such a nice way to think thatís how she met her Muggle husband and the way he seemed so keen on her was so sweet and that he actually liked her as I see people make her choose a muggle as she gives up on everything magical whereas this is a nicer perspective.

Fab story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #6, by patronus_charmThe Black Dress: The Black Dress

9th July 2014:
Oh, wow this was so moving and emotional!

I love stories about Cho later on in life as I always wonder how sheís getting on and dealing with everything so I really loved reading this one. I loved how you started and how she was fighting to be alright and to be normal again without having to be haunted by the ghost of Cedric but she couldnít push everything back and it kept on immersing her more and more. Those italic flashbacks were just horrible as they were so raw and so pure and so filled with love I didnít know what to say or do. Another thing I liked was her boyfriend and how he recognised that Cedric would always be a part of her and he couldnít take that away and that was just so sweet.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #7, by patronus_charmInfinite: infinite.

9th July 2014:
Hey Emma!

Wow, this was stunning and so moving and has left me wordless really. I really loved the idea of the dual world and how they could both talk about what theyíve been up to, Angelina in the real life and Fred in the one where heís moved on to. Thatís the thing I really loved about this because while it was angsty and sad there was hope too with the idea that you can live on and be alright again. I think when they started apologising thatís when I started to well up as they then kissed and talked about missing one another and the others too and I just didnít know what to do with myself as it was so, so, so sad and just so powerful and raw but a really beautiful piece and the title worked so well with it too!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #8, by patronus_charmSpectre: Haunted

9th July 2014:
Hey Amanda!

Wow, wow, wow, I have no words, Amanda, no words for this amazing thing! I really loved how much you focused on your description in this, especially in the first part with you talked about them physically as that seems to be what binds them together, not words, but raw physical emotion. The use of italics in this was really good and added another split perspective to Remus in this and how it seemed to be his inner most thoughts and really what he felt. Another thing I really loved was Remus as I thought you wrote him spot on and just got all of his emotions exactly how they should be, the birth scene is what really stood out for me there as you wouldnít expect him to be jealous but he was and it was just shocking you didnít know what to do. I want to say more but time is of the essence but I really loved this!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #9, by patronus_charmUntil the End: Together

9th July 2014:
Hey Rose!

No, no, no, no stop breaking my heart Rose I wonít allow it any more as itís just too sad and I canít deal with any more sadness I think it was the way Fabian and Gideon just worked together throughout and just knew each other inside out which is what did it for me as they were so close and were just clearly more than twins that in a way it was good they were together until the very end (loved the use of that!) so they were never separated because living on without the other would have been so sad, but then also it means no more of them. Wah, the comment about Molly being chubby was horrible though and I wanted to throw things then, because again so sad, but this silly task means I canít read anything happy now so Iíll just drown in the sadness of it all!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #10, by patronus_charmHurt Me: Pain

9th July 2014:
Wow, I really loved this story as it was just so interesting and unique to read. I think one thing I really liked was how each sentence contained so much meaning and how it could be really interpreted in multiple ways as it just made it so much more fun to read. There was so much history and emotion behind the couple too that Iím really glad that you didnít use any names in the story as you are right and it could be appropriate for any pairing really which is what makes it work so well in my opinion. To me, I think it is a really good Dramione fit for the way he just ignored the girl and bullied her, because it could be seen as a really good example of unrequited love too. Fab story!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #5

 Report Review

Review #11, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xvi. the way ahead [or] i reminisce too much and scorpius has a plan

9th July 2014:
What time is it? Time for another review!

Aw, I really liked the moment in the bathroom with Rose as I feel as if I really got a new insight into her mind and how she thinks things through and it was just really interesting. I think it was because we saw something fragile of her with the mention of the reputation which was really good addition to include. She and Alfie are actually really cute together and have some really lovely banter going on, so I just love reading them together so much!

Yay the gangís back together again! I just love reading them all together so much as it just makes me laugh and yeah theyíre just so fab together. I think Iíve finally decided on my favourite character and itís Albus and Scorpius because as theyíre soulmates they count as one in my mind, and yeah they just make me crack up so much and are just so fab so yeah gotta love them!

ĎďTheyíve attempted to claim me,Ē Albus says distastefully, ďAs their gay best friend.Ēí Ė dying, dying, dying.

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #12, by patronus_charmSevenfold: in the dark, count mistakes

9th July 2014:
Yay a new chapter! :D

Woah, woah, woah, so much to deal with! I loved the beginning bit and seeing how Ada survived by changing her appearance as I had been wondering how no one realised she had survived and Ruth had died in her place so that was a cool twist, but the next one was an even bigger on! I really loved that talk, because it just revealed so much and was just so woah. I liked the fact that Ada cared for the girl and wanted her to think of her soul and if she was destroying herself rather than egging her on as that showed she still had a heart. The girl seemed so fragile and scared though I just wanted to hug her even if she was a murderer. Hm, Iím guessing either Eugenie or Emily as they seem obvious, but I still think it could be Molly too.

Aw, poor Louis finding that out when he arrived, I hope he succeeds in tracking her down as it would hurt his ego if he didnít, but given as it seems as if the person who is the murderer is someone he knows, itís going to hurt a lot when he finds them too.

Woah, woah, woah, so dramatic (yes Iím reviewing as I go a long in case you havenít guessed :P)ok, I was actually leaning more towards my guess rather than who it was (I donít want to spoil it for reviewers) but now I feel so stupid because the Unbreakable Vow Neville made really stood out to me, but I completely forgot to remember it but now it makes so much, so much sense! The backstory to her is so, so, so sad and really brought tears to my eyes, poor, poor girl, I just want to hug her.

As for the sixth, Louis maybe? I donít know, Iím just too excited about knowing everything now to think about that person, but this was such a great chapter I canít wait to see what happens next now!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #13, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xv. the game-changer [or] between a rock and a hard place

9th July 2014:
Itís the final countdown to the final chapter!

Yo, Iím not sure what to make of Alfie and his whole dreaming thing as it wasnít so smooth to say that but sort of cute but sort of weird, yes Iím not sure of the whole situation basically. But ahaha, I just wanted to laugh so much when they were sat down for breakfast and the teachers were there because I thought they were going to be busted but I guess not. But theyíre such a Claw couple, with the way they go and revise straight after.

Aw, Rose was so at home with the teachers and there I was cheering her on for having her dream come true and that she could be a teacher and then wham so much happened but it was so good as I could really feel Roseís confusion and fear then and it was just written so well. Holly was such a nice friend though supporting her despite possibly ruining everything too :P

Yo, look at Rose guy with her guy and friends with benefits, I didnít think she would do it, but I can see it almost suiting her but I think I laughed way too at the mention of Krum. Woah, that was awkward with Vector if she knows about everything in the tower she knows you know what, wah, so awkward. But whoo, things are on the up for Rose! :D

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #14, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xiv. the easter buns [or] don't leave me to my own devices

9th July 2014:
ĎSup Lisa!

I loved the explanation of what happens at Easter for some reason. Iím not sure but it was just so funny to read. Poor Rose though being sort of kicked out of her house as that must suck a lot, but Iím with her on the Crookshanks front as he does seem pretty awesome and does deserve to be loved no matter what Hugo says.

Ooh the bunny generator! This sounds potentially dangerous but potentially hilarious too so I canít wait to see which side it ends up falling on. Speaking of that, I always feel as if thereís more than friendship between Rose and Lester which is a little silly as heís going out with Lily, but I just have feelings, hmm, I wonder if theyíll end up turning out right or not.

Aw, Alfie seems really cute! I really liked learning more about him and heís just so cute and sweet and yeah I wanna squish his cheeks or something like that :p Ooh, so Emilyís gay, maybe she fancies Rose and thatís why sheís helping them? Hmm, letís see. Omg, major freak out Cute Alfie (yes itís capitalised now) has a thing for Rose!! I had a feeling it might happen but I didnít want to say, but so cute!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014

 Report Review

Review #15, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xiii. the smoking gun [or] i flew too close to the sun

9th July 2014:
Hallo!

Ah, BUSTED! I loved how Llodewick was actually genuinely interested in the potion and wanted to know how she made it a verbal thing rather than a physical one because when teachers forget that they are meant to be teachers itís just so funny. Also the fact that Rose took it as a compliment that they thought it was her was really funny too :P I hope this doesnít land her into too much trouble though as that would suck a lot for her as she wants to be a teacher.

So funny, so funny!! Ė ĎďAlbus Severus Potter, you were named after two Headmasters of HogwartsÖThatís not a reason. Who looks at their wrinkly, blotchy newborn son and thinks, ĎHey, you know who he looks like? Some dead headmasters I once knew.íĒí I think I just want to die with laughter!

Aw, itís their anniversary so cute, so cute, I just love Albus and Scorpius more and more for every scene that theyíre in together But ahaha, I hope they donít bump into the teacherís on their Faculty Friday (loved this idea!) night out, as that would ruin everything and yeah it would be way too sad. I canít wait to read on though :D

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #16, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xii. the art of love [or] nothing is sacred anymore

9th July 2014:
Bonjour!

Hahaha, I really wish I could have seen Rose under the potion and what on earth she did to Holly while under it, but then again it might be better off not knowing. It makes me laugh how smart she is though as she just always continues to stun me with how intricate her plans are. The love potion idea is getting more and more exciting with each stage of the development and does sound as if chaos will happen with all these people randomly falling in love with the others, so I canít wait to see what happens.

Ooh, this line ĎďJames isnít dead,Ē Scorpius says flatly. ďSo he didnít bequeath it to you.Ēí So Ravenclaw, so naturally I loved it so much!

Lara made me laugh so much, and the fact that Louis wasnít that good either was great because it seems as if he needs her ego taking down a peg or too, but I really hope they donít use her in the pranking war now as that would just be too mean. I love the beginning of the prank so far so Iím going to read on and find out about all the other chaos which is about to occur!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: xi. the drawing board [or] my time to shine

9th July 2014:
Howdy! (should not have started fun greetings as now feeling the need to maintain them but running out of fun greetings)

Aw, poor Rose not being able to get Hugo interested in Potions because I mean, who wouldnít not be interested in them? :P Yay for Lester though as itís nice to get to see more of him, well more of just him and Rose so we could really get to know him and I really do like him. I loved the conversation with Hermione because I was just like you canít talk you made Polyjuice Potion in your second year, but I have a feeling she might secretly approve of it.

Quote of that section was: ĎI have noticed that since he started dating Lily, though, Aunt Ginny has mysteriously stopped correcting him when he calls her Mrs Potter. (Albus has noticed too, and finds it endlessly funny.)í Ė so great!

Erm, still not sure what to make of Emily even though she is on their even after Lucy ditched Louis. I still think sheís up to something and I will continue not to trust her until this whole pranking business is over. Woah though, Filch is still there? Thatís quite impressive I have to say. Though I wonder what the love potion is going to be. Maybe Mrs Norris and Louis, ha that would be great!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: x. the weasley christmas experience [or] scorpius and lester get festive jumpers

9th July 2014:
Hola!

Ooh, that party sounds cool I want to come along, but yeah, first we must address how cute this level of cute in this chapter was. Aw, just Albus was so adorable with the way he was dreaming about all of their futures and what they would do in life and then he dropped that sort of big bombshell about wanting to marry Scorpius and normally Iím like what are you doing, youíre too young to marry, but here I was all for it as it would just be so cute!

Some great quotes I found! ĎStudents crowd around awkward pairs trapped by mistletoe, raising the cry, ďKiss! Kiss! Kiss! Kiss!Ē in the same way they would yell ďFight! Fight! Fight! Fight!Ē at any other time of the yearí & ĎďThe Nerds triumph!Ēí & ĎďSleep is Professor, overrated,Ē i inform him solemnly.í So great and I think there was a minor typo in the last one too :)

Yo, I totally get Hollyís issues and I think a pygmy puff was an excellent present! Do I sense some romantic tension between Rose and the head boy, because if I do, make this ship happen as it looks so cute already. Ha, yay Hermione for Minister and I love that chat about how they were all such high achievers, I love seeing a new clones of Hermione as itís just so cute and adorable.

The Weasley Christmas was so great and I loved seeing the rest of the gang too. The talk with George did seem promising for Rose too and I really hope she gets the scholarship as that would be so cool and she really does deserve it!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #19, by patronus_charmThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: ix. the family we choose [or] all you need is love

9th July 2014:
Yo Lisa!

I loved the banter between Lily and Albus it just made me laugh so much and reminded me of my siblings. Ha, just all of those relationships have really mixed things between them and I love seeing the way they make quips about each otherís respective boyfriends and girlfriends as it just made me laugh so much. This line ĎďDonít objectify me,Ē Albus says. ďAnd Lily, youíre adopted.Ēí Made me laugh way too much!

Woah, that turned into such a deep talk between Albus and Lily after all that friendly banter and you wrote the emotions so well it was powerful and bam bam bam and definitely kept me interested throughout. Aw, Hugo and Rose were so cute though with all their code words and cuteness and yeah I want more of those two!

Haha, Iím still on the fence when it comes to whether I like Professor Vector as I can never decide whether sheís out to get those guys or not, but weíll just have to wait and see. Great chapter!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by patronus_charmGlass: Glass

8th July 2014:
Hi Marina!

Whooaah! All I can say is it was obvious from the first line why this won a Dobby for best one-shot as all I can say is wow, wow, wow! I loved the structure of this as all the little sections and different narrators worked so well together and just made a perfect little story when merged together.

I never suspected Pansy/Daphne/Blaise could be a thing, but it worked so well together and I was pulled in from the start. You really showed the complexity of their relationship so well and how nothing could ever be simple and easy between the three of them. Pansy really was the star here as she was so dark, and wonderful as you could never suspect what she was going to do, especially not the ending. That was written so well with all the tension and suspense and it was just so dramatic and yeah I canít think of any more words to describe that final scene other than I loved it.

Seriously though, this was amazing! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #21, by patronus_charmForgive Me: One

8th July 2014:
Hi again!

This was such a lovely story and really gave me so many Ronks feels I donít really know what to do with myself! ♥ First of all, I have to agree that that song just screams Ronks and it helped set the scene so much that I almost began to think of the lyrics as part of the one-shot and your writing rather than set apart from it.

I thought you wrote Remus so well and could tap into his mind so well it was almost freaky. There were so many things in here which just seemed to fit his mannerisms so well but his anger at Harry then that changing into his anger at himself seemed to the one which really stood out to me as he always did seem to be quite a self-destructive and negative person at times and that aspect really showed that. I really loved the ending though and how he and Tonks made it up and could be happy again as that made me squee way too much!

This was a lovely one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by patronus_charmInfinity: Infinity

8th July 2014:
Hi Rachel! Iím glad the HC has given me an excuse to read some of your stuff again as Iíve been missing it.

Wahahaha, you have gone and crushed my soul and stamped on it again with this story as all I can feel is sadness, yes always sadness (ha, see what I did there) and no hope for light at the other end of the tunnel. I think the theme of infinity and the idea of space is what made it so special and really showed the whole depth of feeling because when using those ideas you could just convey so much more and it worked so well here.

This line Ė ĎIf Harry was not born, would I still hurt as I do?í woah, it definitely did make me think a ton as I had never really explored that idea before and it did make me rethink the whole idea of Snape and Lily. I really loved how you showed their love here too and how it just seemed to be so pure and so real and could on forever and ever and that was really, really lovely! Great one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #23, by patronus_charmEvening: Hermione

8th July 2014:
Hi, Iíve heard so many amazing things about your writing I decided to check out this! :D

Wowowowow is all I can say to this as it was just so enchanting, so magical, so wow, and I loved it all. I mean, this line Ė ĎIt was a togethercoloured moment, and it was easy to surrender to the warmth of the evening, a balmy, comfortable silence, heavy, settling into her pores as if molded to fit there all along.í Was so amazing with the way it was written and left me in awe. Even though your language seemed so simple at times (in a good way I mean) it seemed to convey so much depth too so I really was left in awe reading this.

Hermione just seemed to love her son so much and that was seen in every thought, action and movement and just everything she did really and that was so sweet to see paternal love explored as it often isnít. I think my favourite thing was when she was looking at him and picking out bits of her and bits of Ron and it was just so sweet and adorable. I seriously loved this one-shot!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by patronus_charmFleeting: Sunlight

8th July 2014:
Hi Amanda!

Aw, this is seriously one of the sweetest things I have read in a while and just made me gush and aw throughout. I really love Hannah and Neville as they just seem to be such a guilty pleasure when it comes to reading with all that fluff and you wrote it all so well that I loved every line of it, and it conveyed so much in such a short amount of words so Iím so impressed!

The use of italics was a really nice idea as it introduced a new perspective into the story and really showed how much Neville meant to Hannah, and how she couldnít really do without him it seemed and that was really lovely. Your sentences and entire prose seemed to be so simple in a way but so touching and conveying so much it really was beautifully written!

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by patronus_charmErised Stra Ehru Oy: The Mirror of Erised

8th July 2014:
Hi again Grace!

Ok, so many feels, so many feels and wah this was so good! ♥ I really liked how Albus started with thinking about Harry as it meant I got understand his decision a little more and that helped a lot with the later part. It was as if he didnít want Harry to get trapped in the same endless spiral he seemed to be in with regards to the mirror and how he could never leave it which was kind of ironic as it gave him so much joy but then he wanted to help deny that for others too. wah that doesnít seem to make sense when writing it, but it was really cool what you did.

I really loved the images of Dumbledoreís family as it was so calm and serene and happy and you rarely ever come across that with them as people tend to concentrate on the angstier side of things, so it was nice to see some more light-hearted moments. But one thing I really loved which you did here was just show the purity of his love for them, and how he never meant to hurt them no matter what other people thought and that idea was just really love but may have broken my heart into thousands of shards! Such an amazing piece! ♥

-Kiana
House Cup 2014 Review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>