Reading Reviews From Member: BluebirdBrigade
  
90 Reviews Found

Review #26, by BluebirdBrigadeThunder: I like my job.

16th July 2013:
...I don't think your are over Ian, Ava.

Oh my god, Louis you are so fantabulous to Ava. I just can't help but sympathise with her, I mean she doesn't have the easiest life does she? I'm kind of worried about her constant bad luck. Ca't believe she is going to be thrown out of her apartment - and beautiful Louis is totally rescuing her. God, they would make amazing babies. Okay, my brain has gone into hopeless romantic overdrive.

The dialogue is incredibly realistic. Unlike many authors, you carefully add in the umms and ahhs and the pauses that make it sound as if they were actually talking infront of me in real life. I can just visualise it so clearly. Just awesome job, I love the way you made the story so unique and I am getting more anxious to find out all of these questions that are floating in my head. Awesome Chapter!

 Report Review

Review #27, by BluebirdBrigadeThunder: I hate the rain.

16th July 2013:
Wow, I just feel so unbelievably sorry for Ava. I mean, you can tell that she really thinks that she is doing what is best for both her ad Ian but at the same time she is ripping her heart out of her chest ad stomping on it which is just painful. What's really amazing about this story is that I'm almost rooting for both guys here. I mean, Louis tips the balance because I just love Louis and Ava together but Ian has her heart and I'm not sure she'll ever want to take it back.

I kind of hope that she'll be able to say goodbye to him in the future but...I'm not sure that is going to be possible. I love Ava's character so much. She is so exciting and deep ad I have honestly no idea what's going happen next. Your writing is so fantastic, no mistakes at all and so realistically done that I just adore it.

 Report Review

Review #28, by BluebirdBrigadeTrick or . . . Give Me the Candy: Sweet Lollipops

15th July 2013:
I thought this was a really humorous but sweet one shot and I absolutely love the idea you ran with. Lily seemed really free spirited and childish - but in a good way. I liked the element of innocence and there were some really funny lines and comments that grabbed my attention and entertained me.

I loved the writing style, it was awesome and really adorable. So sweet and cute, I loved the way Rose and Lily were so different but they were a really funny duo. I saw absolutely no grammar or spelling mistakes and it was just overall a great story.

Author's Response: First off, I'm glad that you're enjoying the one-shot! It occurred to me that there aren't a lot childish and adventurous Lily's out there so I took the chance to write her a little differently!

Second of all, thank you so much. I tried to show the difference between them as well as I could so I'm glad I got that across.

Third of all, again, I'm really happy to hear that you liked the story and thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #29, by BluebirdBrigadeKnowing: true or not

15th July 2013:
Oh poor Remus, I really felt for him and the way he felt it was almost his duty to the code of friendship not to indulge or show that he cared for Lily in a more than firends way. He seems so unbelievably sad and I couldn't help but really sympathise with him and his unrequited love.

The part where he imagines her walking towards him down the aisle in white rather than James was a really sad moment for me as we see that he can never have her now. She is James's forever and yeah, I just thought it was very haunting and some of the sentences seemed very poetic. Great story and awesome writing!

Author's Response: Thank you so much! This is such a great review ♥
I'm glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #30, by BluebirdBrigadePrisoner 1272: Prisoner 1272

15th July 2013:
What a chilling piece. I really liked it and I really liked some of the short sharp sentence structures that you had going on it just seemed to harsh and really added to the affect of the story.

I felt sad, and to be honest I'm not sure I can pinpoint why! But I loved the style you were writing with and the use of italics helped me differentiate the times and what was happening now and what was happening in the past. Great flow going on and I really love the way you write. Plus I didn't see any grammar or spelling mistakes - lovely short story!

Author's Response: Hello :) Thanks for reading.

I'm glad you thought this was chilling-that's exactly what I was going for :) I understand what you mean by you felt sad, I felt that way when I was writing too, I think I felt sorry for Mrs Crouch.

I'm really glad you liked it, this is my favourite of the stories I've written. Thanks so much for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #31, by BluebirdBrigadeDoes it Happen to Everyone?: Does it Happen to Everyone?

15th July 2013:
Gah!

Totally adored this, so sweet and such a beautiful story. Although I'm not a Harry/Hermione fan, I though the way you made the story your own was really awesome and unique. I think Teddy really found strength in Hermione and I seriously loved that section between Teddy and Victoire that was sooo adorable and omg, he was gonna kiss her - how sweet.

I love how motherly Hermione is towards Teddy, it was was so lovely to read and I could see it playing out in my head. I'd just point out that at one point Teddy refers to Rose as his cousin but he's not cousins with any of them but he could be an honoree cousin :P

Great job!

 Report Review

Review #32, by BluebirdBrigadeDudley Dursley: A Study in Parody: Dudley Dursley's Dancing Delight

15th July 2013:
Ahaha, this was quite funny actually and I think you really did the whole parody element justice! I found Dudley adorable, which is something that I have never before associated with Dudley. Usually he's a boring idiot to me but I thought he was almost childishly sweet here. Vernon and Petunia still remained foul to me however but I don't think that can ever be changed.

I thought the writing in this was great, you had a really nice flow in the story and there were some great moments here and there throughout the story. There were no grammar or spelling mistakes to be seen, I thought it was a great story overall - so well done!

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

This was definitely a fun story to write, especially working out the different dances. :)

I also wanted to show how much he had changed since the Dementor attack and how much he was able to change without the negative attitudes holding him back.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #33, by BluebirdBrigadeShining Star: Shining Star

15th July 2013:
Awww!

Omg, this was so sweet! How amazing of Teddy to do that as a child and really speak out and say how much he misses them and loves them. The thing I'm glad about is that Harry told him, despite the fact that it was uncomfortable, but Teddy was able to remember them - well not literally - but have some kind of idea of them and I think that was very special and you really used some great characterisation here too. Fabulous work.

Harry seemed so lovely and Teddy was just adorable - I just wanted to pick him up and hug him. Loved the poem too, it seemed perfect for the occasion and it was as if it was written by Teddy. Wonderful Job, no spelling or grammar errors to be seen!

 Report Review

Review #34, by BluebirdBrigadeChanged: Changed

15th July 2013:
Wow, this was really sad and I think you made a great choice of putting it in third person as I felt liked I was really able to view her and take her in and understand her emotions clearer. I also liked the fact that there was no dialogue - it almost made it more haunting and hollow because of it and really helped make the angst side of the story more prominent. I just felt so sorry that she'd had to endure it and now suffered even after it.

Your descriptions were lovely too, I really liked the way you talked about how she had cried her heart out because that seemed to true and open and overall, heartbreaking. That last line was really good and sounded it off, great job!

Author's Response: Hi!
I'm happy you were able to understand her feelings. =] I'm not fond of first person at all. It's hard to write first person. I had avoided dialogues just to fit everything in 500 words but looks like it turned out to be good! :P
Aah, relieved you liked my descriptions! I was once so bad at them that a compliment for them means a lot to me.
Thanks for leaving such a wonderful review! :D


 Report Review

Review #35, by BluebirdBrigadeAn Anniversary: Anniversary

15th July 2013:
Well this was just down-right adorable. I really liked this one-shot for two reasons. Reason number one was the way you flawlessly characterised Ron and Hermione - I thought your interpretation was really true to the books and you added cute little quirks that really worked with their personality like the way Ron says 'Er-Mio-Ne' which I found very humorous. Reason number two was your style, it's so lovely and great balance of dialogue and description.

I love the sense of family and love you brought and the last two lines of the fic just totally summed that up. I'm glad they are so happy - they deserve to be after all you they went through. Only CC is see if you can rid of those huge gaps, they were a bit tedious but other than that great job!

Author's Response: Oh thankyou so much for the appreciation! Your review made my day!

I wrote this for a challenge n another site and didn't win so I wasn't sure how readers would take it but seeing that you liked it inspired me to write more cannon :)

I know the gaps are annoying, but it's internet fault for me, it just keeps occurring... Anyways...

Keep reading... :)


 Report Review

Review #36, by BluebirdBrigadeProtégé: Weaknesses and Loyalties

15th July 2013:
Damn, I felt exceedingly sorry for Barty throughout this story - Bellatrix is so vindictive and evil and just...ugh. I didn't like her here but I thought your writing style was super flawless. You had the perfect balance of dialogue and description and I liked the way you put her slinking words in italics so we as a reader could differentiate what was going on and who was saying what.

Damn gurl, your descriptions were beautiful - I was like wow those are some big words and you made it all sound so poetic. Such a great flow as well for the story and there were absolutely no grammar or spelling mistakes that I saw. Brilliant job and well done, lovely read.

Author's Response: Bluebirdbrigade,

First of all, I would like to thank you for reading and reviewing! I'm so pleased to know that you enjoyed reading this, and as a writer, it's the people's pleasure that not only keeps me writing, but having the actual courage to post my work up for others to read. It's a refreshing feeling really--to write my heart out and be able to share it with others.

Barty! Honestly, as much as he had made wrongs in cannon, I love him to death. He's one of those villains that I can't help but coo over, because in reality, I think he was just lost. For some reason, I think he had a sorry childhood, having an overbearing father who gave more of a damn about his work than his own kid, leaving Barty to wander into a pretty crappy walk of life. And from there, things just twisted for the worst.

As for Bellatrix, I have a love-hate relationship with her. I love her dangerous nature, being the one to lead her pack, only second in command to Voldemort is how I think of it. I love how her rather 'eff you!" attitude. But I hate her for killing Sirius. Anywho, I aimed to make her merciless in this piece. It's a shame though that I couldn't make her any darker. I tried to make her more evil and sinister, but validation staff told me that it was too crude for the archives, therefore I had to tone it down a few notches.

Thank you for the compliments on my descriptions! Not to sound cocky, but I honestly pride myself on them; it makes up for my weaknesses on creating suitable dialogue for my characters, which I will admit, I have the greatest trouble on still.

I am just so glad that you enjoyed this! Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review. It really does mean a lot to me.

PhoenixPulse


 Report Review

Review #37, by BluebirdBrigadeCall Me Astoria: Call Me Astoria

15th July 2013:
Well...this was an extremely odd couple that I never would have picked to go together let alone have a affair with each other. But despite the fact that I was a bit like 'woah, did she just--and did he?' I actually really liked it...in a weird way. I usually like stories that are well written and this was definitely a good story.

I think you did extremely well with the dialogue as it can often be tricky for authors and you wrote very realistically, there was at no point in the story where I was like, 'yeah that would definitely have never been said'. You had a great balance of description and dialogue and I like the way you put the memory in italics - it was very clear. Very interesting story!

Author's Response: Thank you for the review.

I wouldn't have normally written this pairing, but when it came up in the pairings in the ficathon I just got this plot bunny and it wouldn't go away.


 Report Review

Review #38, by BluebirdBrigadeMemory loss: Who am I?

15th July 2013:
Aww, this was a really sweet one-shot and I'm glad that Harry was able to regain his memories rather than lose them forever because he is an important character. I love how his friends really tried to support him as much as possible through this traumatic experience and tried to help him with his memories as much as possible.

I'm glad the love of his life was able to bring him back but I was super sad to see that Dudley had died because they were finally getting along and there was no more of that childhood bullying going on between Dudley and Harry. Really loved this story, as CC i'd just go and weed a couple mistakes out but other than that I really liked it!

Author's Response: Thank you, your feedback means a lot! (:

 Report Review

Review #39, by BluebirdBrigadeAn Aerial Approach: An Aerial Approach

15th July 2013:
I sympathised with Wood at the beginning because he was getting stressed out and his plays weren't working and he thought the team thought he was fascist and yeah - he was getting stressed. I'm actually really glad that Hermione came up with a strategy to battle the previous dilemmas. Plus she was really sweet about it and she thought she was going to be told she was just being a know-it-all which is quite sensitive of Hermione but really good as we saw her emotions really clearly and how nervous she was.

I'm glad Oliver tried her strategy out and didn't just dismiss it like someone might and actually says at the end that although he initially doubted her, he's clearly glad he gave it a go. Hermione could totally be the team's strategist now - I reckon she'd be great at it :)

 Report Review

Review #40, by BluebirdBrigadeThe Tea Shop: tea shop.

15th July 2013:
Oh lord, I felt so sorry for her! Poor girl, to have Rita hounding her for information on a guy she fancies. I was a bit disappointed that she ended up telling her the information she wanted to know but Skeeter was threatening her! I know this is a one-shot but I really want to know what happens next! I wonder whether James will find out and he'll get mad. I hope he doesn't get mad...I hope he doesn't find out.

God, I wish this wasn't a one-shot! You should make this a WIP. I thought you made the character really humorous at times and I liked her little internal monologues ad I really giggled when she talked about how Elgar - I think that was his name - was actually a figment of her imagination. Anyway, it was a really good story! Awesome job!

Author's Response: Haha! I know right! Poor Maya! But she fell under the pressure! Rita Skeeter can be quite intimidating when she wants to be. I do plan on making a sequel for this, where we'll see just how Maya tries to get rid of the guilt. Thank you for leaving a review, it is appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #41, by BluebirdBrigadeAin't No Sunshine: One of One

15th July 2013:
Usually I avoid Dramione's like the plague, I just really like the idea of Ron and Hermione. But this one really caught my eye and the summary seemed very mysterious so I took a look. I love your writing style it has the perfect balance of dialogue and description which many authors struggle with. I loved the way you really explored the senses and told their relationship so well - often through subtle gestures and words. It was really lovely to read.

I especially liked the ending and that Draco manned up and was like, 'Stay with me' which is what she wanted to hear. It was such a sweet one shot and I really like the way you explored the romance here. There were no grammar or spelling mistakes that I saw which was awesome too. Overall, a great read!

Maz

 Report Review

Review #42, by BluebirdBrigadeLife is Good: Life is Good!

14th July 2013:
I loved the frienship between Alara and Rachel in this, obviously they are so familiar with one another and their families that even their friend's mum's know their habits. I like the small section where we learn that Alara is a very passionate reader and gets reprimanded for bringing so many books, that was a nice detail. I also really liked the way you incorporated travel into this story - it was a good interesting twist and you held my attention throughout. Very fluffy and very cute with great grammar and spelling :)

Lovely story!
Maz

Author's Response: Thank you! It was a fun little story to write. I have a little bit of backstory on Rachel developed, but not a lot. She's a very intriguing character, and I think she is a very interesting character and I look forward to finding out more about her!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #43, by BluebirdBrigadeVoldemort on Broadway: Chapter 1

14th July 2013:
Oh my god.

Bahaha, this was hilarious! I mean, I knew from when I read the title that this would be something special but you really put a lot of thought into this entry and it was totally entertaining and funny. I really liked the unique and creative spin you put on the whole travel element and it's definitely the most unusual but completely interesting entry that I've seen from anyone taking part in the house cup. I loved the part where Voldie was like 'what did I ever do to you.oh yeah.' Genius.

I didn't see any spelling mistakes here but I think for CC I would say I would have liked to see more of a consistent description. It was sometimes a bit bulky in one area and then totally dialogue filled in the next. But even with this I thought you had some really nice flow going on and I just enjoyed it in general!

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for the review!

I kind of threw this story together quickly to finish it in time for the house cup, so I didnt really get a chance to read through it, but those are some good suggestions.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #44, by BluebirdBrigadeMoney Mania: Money Mania

14th July 2013:
This was a really funny but adorable story. I love the banter that went on between Sirius and James and how Sirius was super bored and was trying to get James to be mischievous with him. I found it super cute that the main reason James didn't want to do any pranking was because Lily didn't like it which you know is a very 'in love' thing to do because you don't want to upset the girl you like. Sirius's responses ad jibes were really funny and very in character and I especially like the part where he decides to force James by making his broom hit him over the head. James's own favourite thing is now clubbing him over the head, brilliant :P

Overall, I really enjoyed this story. I don't think I saw one single spelling error or grammar mistake and the flow of this story was so smooth and just got better and better as it went along. I thought it was really funny and a very interesting idea. I like the way you included the war too, made it seem more realistic and drew my focus a little more too to see the details :)

Maz

Author's Response: First of all, I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond. Even though though the house cup ended a few weeks ago, I'm still trying to catch up on everything!

I tried to make this story a little humorous, so I'm glad you enjoyed the humor! And it definitely helps that James and Sirius are both silly sometimes.

Really? You didn't catch any mistakes? That's great!

I'm glad you enjoyed the mention of the war! Stuff like that is usually on people's minds.

Thanks for the review!



 Report Review

Review #45, by BluebirdBrigadeDon't tease me: 15

14th July 2013:
OMG.

I freaking adored this. I am such a huge Rose/Scorpius shipper and you totally just made my day with this story. This is actually how I really expect them to be! Looking at one another when the other isn't as turning away at the last second when they turn round. Secret glances across the hall - HOW ROMANTIC! *ahem* Anyway, I really loved some of the lines about how his gaze was so piercing and how she calls him the ice prince. I loved the way you made this story into sections and showed how their relationship grew. I would have liked to see one stage before he starts 'seducing' her where they actually speak to one another and maybe they laugh together but realise what they are doing and shut up, which would make them sad. I'm totally going off on a tangent here but I seriously loved this!

Great story!

Maz

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for reviewing! I'M SENDING YOU INTERNET HUGS! *hugs* I'm so pleased you enjoyed it! Look out for more Rose/Scorpius stuff by me!! I love them too!! :-)

P.S Cool username! :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by BluebirdBrigadeSwept Away: Swept Away

14th July 2013:
Well first up, I loved the way you incorporated the theme of travel into your story to go alongside the HC prompt, it was very unusal and interesting and creative. The use of time travel was really cool and I couldn't help but think of Marty McFly from Back to the future - which I love. I loved the descriptions you used and the way you talked about the janitors and the epic mess ahaha, it was really well done.

The flow of this story really worked well and I couldn't help but think that this would be a great story to podcast. You explored so may different writing techniques and I thought the dialogue, for me, was super realistic. Overall, it was a great, lovable story with no grammar or spelling mistakes that I saw! Great Job!

Maz

Author's Response: Thank you! It's nice to hear that you think the story was creative, and that the descriptions were good :) I'm glad you liked the time travel aspect too. Someone else mentioned Back to the Future in their review as well and to be honest I didn't even think about that as I wrote it, but I can see why you made the connection!

I'm glad you thought the dialogue was realistic - that was the part I was most unsure about, actually. And I'd never thought about how this would work as a podcast, hmm. It's an interesting idea! Thank you for such a lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #47, by BluebirdBrigadeWhat It Is To Love: What It Is To Love

14th July 2013:
This was a wonderful story of motherhood and was really kind and sweet! I was totally in love with this story ad the way you wrote it because gah, the kids sound totally adorable. I love the way Molly loves her kids so much and indulges their dreams like parents should but at the same times keeps a watchful eye over them to make sure that they don't get into too much trouble. Like the way she cares over little Ron and wants Fred and George to not mess about with him so much. I love the last paragraph about cherishing motherhood, it really brought the story to a close and for me it just seemed all the more lovable. There were literally no grammar or spelling mistakes that I saw and I just totally enjoyed this story! Awesome job x

 Report Review

Review #48, by BluebirdBrigadeHer Only Choice: Her Only Choice

14th July 2013:
Wow, you really delicately told a very serious topic and is an issue in today's society. I love the way you explored the dialogue and you had some great descriptions about the bruises and the scars and how much of an impact they had on her on the inside. She is clearly quite damaged after what she has been through and I felt truly sorry for her. I really sympathised with Lily and hoped that she would find the strength to make it through. The ending was sad and harsh but delicately done.

As CC I'd say work a little on your grammar as there was a little bit of confusion in your tenses. There were times when you lost focus but you brought it back and it was an enjoyable read :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the constructive critism, nobody ever tells me the flaws -.- so
I have nothing to work on.
I'm glad you liked it even though it was dark, and sinister...
Thanks for staying with Lily until the very end,
Nadia


 Report Review

Review #49, by BluebirdBrigadeAge of Peace and Times of Joy: Christmas Reflections

14th July 2013:
This was a very sweet podcast and really brought about the sense of unity and family and how important it is that we stick together. I loved the description you brought to the story and the way Molly talked about each person in her family and her voice shone through really realistically too. I felt really warm by the end of it because it's clear that even with a very diverse and almost dysfunctional family that Molly loves each and every one of them and that was really lovely to read. Such a heart warming and beautiful story and she really summed it up at the end of the story 'I'm so happy that we're all here together.'

Superb story, barely any spelling or gammar mistakes and I loved the style you wrote with!

Maz

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I really enjoyed writing this story. I wanted something more than just names and ages. I really wanted each of them to seem realistic, especially the children.

The last lines of the story were the hardest for me to write. Tears were freely flowing as I tried to bring the story to a close. :)

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #50, by BluebirdBrigadePhantom from my past: The only one.

14th July 2013:
This was such a sweet and beautiful story filled with heartache and trust issues and James constantly trying win Lily back. I like the way you wrote about Lily's hurt, it was really realistic and sad at the same time. I really felt for her and sympathised with her because of the betrayal she felt but at the same time I was rooting for James to win her back. I thought the dialogue was very strong, although maybe a little heavy, and you really brought humour and drama to the piece and I love the way it ended on a good note as I am a sucker for romance and you really brought the element of love along with a bit of scandal which had me so intrigued.

Really loved this story, it was a very exciting read and I'm so glad that John was pushed out of the picture and James got back in ahah :P

Maz

Author's Response: Hello Maz :)
THANK YOU SOO MUCH.
First off I'm glad you enjoyed my story. Yeah. I personally found John annoying too, which is very weird of me because its a character I created. :P

Dialogue, yes. I always thought dialogue was my strength. And so, yeah. I do tend to over do it a bit. I focus on my 'drama' element through it.
Its James and lily. It HAD to have that lovey-dovey sort of ending. I wouldn't imagine it another way. :p. I initially decided to write this piece because I wanted to write a stroy with an happy ending.

Thanks, again. :)
Kate.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>