Reading Reviews From Member: SkyEcho
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SkyEchoA Tale of Star-Crossed Lovers: In Which Draco Malfoy Becomes A Pirate

3rd April 2014:
You truly do have a talent for writing humour! This was so much fun to read. And even with all of the crazy elements, it all made complete sense! I loved seeing Draco as a Muggle and laughed so hard at the exchanges between Draco and Lyra! "You left footprints on my toast, that's disgusting," Draco insisted. "Why can't you learn to make toast properly?" This has to be my favourite line - though there are quite a few more that I just loved as well :) Your Princess Bride quote was integrated perfectly. It worked with your story and I could actually see Hermione saying that to him as she stomped on his foot (super high stilettos and all!) I enjoyed all the little nods to fan fiction cliches, romance movies and history... And I just about died when I saw "and nobody put Draco Malfoy in a corner." Too good! I'm happy that true love saved them all and no one had to end up at the bottom of the ocean. This was so awesome and I absolutely loved it! Great job :)

Author's Response: Aww haha thank you! I am glad (and, maybe, a bit surprised) that it made complete sense! :p Sometimes I have to just get the silly drivel out of my brain before I can go back to writing real fics haha, and that's kind of what happened here.

Haha, I'm so glad you liked Lyra and Draco's bickering, I loved writing them :p Thanks about the quote, too! Man, I really want to watch that movie again, I haven't seen it in ages.

I think every parody needs some amount of cliches, they're just too fun :D I'm glad you liked the references to movies and history too! I couldn't resist getting a dig in at Titanic especially, because true love or not, that door was big enough for two, am I right?! :p

Thanks so much for your review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #2, by SkyEchoIt's a Date: It's a Date

20th March 2014:
This was such a cute story! I loved we get a bit of their history - like that Hannah had a crush on him when they were at Hogwarts together :) It just adds to the romance of them finding each other again. I thought you captured the nervousness and awkwardness of a first date really well. The dialogue and the descriptions were perfect. Having them discuss House secrets was really interesting. The ending was super sweet. I really enjoyed reading this!!

 Report Review

Review #3, by SkyEchoNeville, Wait!: Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

20th March 2014:
I really enjoyed reading this! I have a huge soft spot for Neville and am always thrilled when I see a story that focuses on him. I just breezed through this. Your writing has such a wonderful flow. I thought your characterization of Neville was very well-done. I LOVED seeing him in the classroom and really enjoyed seeing him as a professor, interacting with the students.
Aww Neville asking out Hannah was just too cute! They do seem a perfect match for one another - and you do a great job of showing that through Hannah's ability to ease his insecurities. The ending put a huge smile on my face!

Author's Response: This was such a lovely unexpected review :D I'm SO pleased you enjoyed it, my current multi-chapter fic is very serious so it was nice to write something a little more lighthearted. Neville and Hannah are so adorable, I wish we'd seen more of them in the books!

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by SkyEchoA Spoonful of Sugar: One

17th March 2014:
Hi Cassie!

I really enjoyed reading this :) The beginning really captured the hectic rush to catch the train. It was a great start and also came across as realistic. It's definitely how I'd imagine I'd arrive at the station. Your chapter flows really well and I'm already looking forward to finding out more about your characters. I like Darcy - and I especially enjoyed reading her interactions with Louis. It makes me wonder about their history. Whether something happened to spark her dislike for him...or if it's just a matter of clashing personalities. I think if you included some of Darcy's thoughts during her conversation with him on the train, that might be a good spot to offer some insight into their back story.

Aww I liked the inclusion of Lysander having feelings for Lucy. I really hope he tells her! (and that she feels the same way!)

I can't wait to find out what happens next :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by SkyEchoGame Over: Chapter 6

16th March 2014:
I am in awe of your story! If I didn't know that this was written in part for the 5 Elements Challenge, I wouldn't have thought that you had to add in some random things. Your incorporation of them was seamless. And keeping to the 500 limit in every chapter??! I never felt like you were cutting corners or that I was lost without the extra detail. This was action-packed, suspenseful and very well-written. I loved reading this! All the best for the challenge :)

Author's Response: Wow, thanks!

I love the Five Elements Challenge! I entered it a few years ago, and it's so exciting trying to fit all the prompts into the plot, finding connections, etc. Thanks so much for the wonderful compliments! I'm glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #6, by SkyEchoPure Intentions: Red Balloon

18th February 2014:
Aww I'm sad the story is over, but I liked the ending! Please let me know if you decide to write a sequel!! As much as I loved Brandon and Al together, he made the right choice with Al. The little hints you provided through the chapter really worked to give us the context for Brandon's decision.
What a cute moment between Harry and Ginny. I really liked that :)
I was so happy to see the Albus - Scorpius ending. How lovely for them to release the past and make a new start as friends.

Author's Response: I was sad to end this story. About two chapters in I realized I could have done a novel length story on this but I was going too fast for that. I'll definitely let you know if/when I do a sequel. I have quite a few plot points mapped out in my head but I haven't really answered a key question for myself - who Albus should end up with.

It was hard for me to find a nice reason for Brandon to end things with Al. I knew when I intorduced him that he wouldn't last but I didn't want their break up to be another heartache for Al (at least not something horrendous like Scorpius was). Then I started to add in stuff with Al being a bit too codependent. That's what Brandon caught when Al was giving Cindy advice - he runs to a new relationship rather than shore up his own life.

I'm so happy you liked the ending! It felt realistic to end them at the restart of their friendship. Taking them around to something romantic would take too long but they needed resolution.

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #7, by SkyEchoLove's Silent Night: Love's Silent Night (One-Shot)

18th February 2014:
Hi Pintosmalto!

What an interesting and unique story idea! Charity is really funny - I laughed when she said she loves the textbook she wrote, and at her stories about her 'bus Muggle' haha. Your characterizations of the Dursleys are really good. The slap upside the head and the Valentine's plans for the family really worked to show how awful and lonely it must be for Harry. I liked that we got to see him in this :)
The Valentine's Date was cute - and oh, the twist at the end! Who is that mysterious wizard? And why is he watching her??
I really enjoyed this :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by SkyEchoHer Love: Scars

18th February 2014:
Hi Mauradertimes!

What a great beginning - it really grabbed my attention. I like how you intertwine the present with little windows to Lavender's life before the attack. It really works to provide some context into what she's going through. This is actually the first story I've read that has Lavender as a character and I really found her whole story to be so interesting. Ohh your line, "But all I remember is a horrible night, cut through by flashes of green and the crazed screams of those who fell" - was so chilling. Very haunting.
Your bathroom scene was so well done. Having access to the negative thoughts that plague her really shows just how much more there is to the healing process than fixing the physical wounds. It was completely realistic that she'd avoid mirrors - and I loved how you brought it back to that in the end (with a twist).

The only CC I found was with the word compliment. It should be "...with someone who complements your beauty..."

Your descriptions of her scars were so vivid and detailed, I felt like I could see exactly what her face would look like. The pacing of the whole piece was flawless and I loved the way Juno explained how she feels about Lavender!
I really enjoyed reading this and I honestly wish there was more!

 Report Review

Review #9, by SkyEchoDouble Trouble: A Twin Affair

17th February 2014:
Hi!
Your story left a huge smile on my face! I love the idea of a surprise wedding and I think you created the perfect match for Fred and George with Aziza and Akila.
My favourite part was Fred confusing Mrs. W with the girls' names. Too funny - and that's something I could definitely see them doing.
I laughed at Proper Percy - what a perfect nickname for him haha.
Your story had a great flow with lots of humour and good description. I really enjoyed reading this!!

Author's Response: Hi!!

That's such a compliment! I'm so so so glad that you liked the story and the little details I put into it!!

Thanks!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #10, by SkyEchoJust Walk Away: Chapter One

17th February 2014:
Hi Lindsey!

What a great start! I like how we're thrown right in to the heartbreak. It instantly has me rooting for Rose and Scorpius - and their forbidden love. You've done a good job of slowly introducing some details to give some context to their relationship. Dating for a year seems like a very long time when you're young - and you did an excellent job of showing just how much Rose is wrapped up in her love for him. It's definitely realistic that she'd feel pretty confident stating that he is the one for her.
I liked how you captured the mother-daughter relationship between Hermione and Rose. And I found your characterizations of Hermione and Ron to be spot on! My favourite scene was where they're discussing Rose. Your line, "Hermione's face turned bright red and she then hit Ron with a book, hard" made me laugh :)
I really enjoyed reading this and I look forward to finding out what happens next!

Author's Response: Hey there:)
Thanks so much for coming by and reviewing and I am glad you liked it! I am very glad I am doing well with characterization :D I struggled with that in the past :)
Thanks so much for a sweet review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SkyEchoLove in Three Acts: Act 1: Friendship

17th February 2014:
There's something so wonderful about reading about summer when you're looking at tons of snow outside your window :) With that being said, I absolutely loved the intro and whole theme of love in three acts.
The beginning line, "There was a new rule in the Potter house - never agree to anything James suggests before morning tea" is perfection. I loved it. Mrs. Potter has a lot going on around her with all those boys in her house, yet she can't stay mad at them for long. Very realistic.
Ok on to the theme of the chapter. You captured their friendship really well. The banter between them is really a joy to read.
Ohhh the knee grab on the bus! That moment was worked into the scene seamlessly and came across really well. I could definitely feel Remus' struggle as he tries to figure out what's happening between him and Sirius. And there's that additional layer of wondering whether Sirius' words are more than just jokes ...on top of trying to figuring out his own feelings about everything.
I laughed at Sirius' comment to Peter about sleeping diagonally! Ah the joys of sharing a bed with your friends lol.
I enjoyed the incorporation of magic. Seeing the wall of water and how they guys play off one another was so much fun.
And aww the kiss was so sweet - I especially liked the fireflies :)
What a great start - I can't wait to read the next act!!

Author's Response: I can't imagine living somewhere super snowy. o.o we had snow that lasted 5 hours. that was nice. :) I'm really glad you liked the intro bit. I was feeling quite poetic when I wrote that.

I was worried that the beginning line would give the chapter the wrong vibe but I'm really glad it worked. I could see Mrs. Potter really liking James' friends but find them overwhelming as well.

The knee grab is in my list of things I wished happened to me on a bus with a cute guy. Alas, I have to do on-purpose knee-grabbing. ;) I'm thrilled that Remus' apprehension and doubt about his feelings for Sirius came through. I bet Sirius is one of those friends that just seems flirty all the time anyway.

I'm so glad to rarely need to share a bed with my friends. But, yeah, there's always the bed or blanket hog. :D

I'm glad the water scene was fun to read. I liked the idea of them practicing at dueling (even if it was just a fun water fight) and having Sirius and Remus work well together.

:D :D Okay, the fireflies were total self-indulgance. I'm super happy you liked the kiss! I'll be ending every chapter with a big moment. (spoiler)

I should be working on the next act soon. I have to finish the story by 3/15 (eee!)

Thank you so much for a wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #12, by SkyEchoThe Brave at Heart: Beginnings

6th February 2014:
Hey!!

What a great start :) I think your beginning really captured what it is to be 11. As wonderful as Hogwarts is, sometimes it's easy to forget that these first years are 11 years old...and they're off to a boarding school. You did an excellent job showcasing all of those conflicting nervous emotions through Melanie. I already like her. What I found particularly moving was seeing her question her father's beliefs while using the term, Mudblood - it shows her strength of character and mind, while also subtly reminding us that she is 11 and innocent to a lot of the darker meanings behind what she hears at home.

Now, this may sound odd, but prior to reading this, I hadn't really given much thought to the emotions and pressures these children would be faced with prior to the sorting ceremony. So thank you for exploring an area that is making me think! lol - You've done a fantastic job of showing just how overwhelming it is to make such a big choice - especially when the Houses are so tied to representing personal traits... The anxieties and confusion and insecurities around the characters regarding where they'll be placed felt really authentic.

Your shift in time was seamless and it was wonderful to see the younger versions of the characters we all know so well. It was cute to see James trying so hard with Lily and her having none of it haha.

Melanie is interesting and likeable. I found it refreshing to see Slytherin portrayed from a different angle. I'm so happy I happened across this story because it instantly grabbed my attention and I can't wait to find out all about Melanie's adventures at Hogwarts :)

Author's Response: Eee, thank you so much for such a wonderful review!

I am so glad you like Melanie as a character so far and think she seems like a 11 year old with all her confused feelings about going off to Hogwarts for the first time and being sorted. I am so glad they al seem realistic! I'm glad you picked up on that about the Mudblood thing too, that's exactly what I was going for, openminded but a bit sheltered.

That's wonderful to hear about the time jump too, that it was seamless. Ah thank you! I'm glad you liked James and Lily in there too, they are a lot of fun to write ;)

I am thrilled that you find the POV refreshing and that you're excited to read more! I am so happy you enjoyed it. This review really made my day! Thank you so much ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by SkyEchoPure Intentions: Red Line

30th January 2014:
Your story is so wonderfully captivating! I'm happy to hear that there will be another chapter, but at the same time I'm thinking "there's only one more chapter left???"
While part of me really wants Scorpius and Albus to end up together, the other part is thinking that Savage and Albus are too adorable together they just need to stay together and be happy. I can't decide!
This story has quickly become one of my favourites and I can't wait until the next chapter is posted :)

Author's Response: Ahh! You came back so fast! I've been toying with the idea of a sequel to this story. I can't tell you what it'd cover because that would give away the ending. :D

I'm happy that you're conflicted!! I really like Savage too! and, well, Al is happy with him! I won't give away who ends up where but I need to sit down and write out the last chapter soon! It's all in my head but hasn't made it to the computer yet.

Thank you so much for an awesome review!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #14, by SkyEchoPure Intentions: Red Flags

30th January 2014:
Hi Rose!

This story had me hooked from the first line. I liked that we get a sense of the development of the relationship between Albus and Scorpius. It's left me wondering about their first kiss - I get the feeling that Scorpius made the first move, though Albus is the one with a more sure sense of his feelings.
I feel for Albus! There's already the foreshadowing of heartbreak, but I think you've done a good job of also making Scorpius multi-dimensional so that I don't feel like I need to hate him. He's conflicted and the dinner scene really worked to show just how much pressure he's under. His feelings for Albus are there - which just makes the whole situation that much more heart-wrenching.
I found it completely believable that Draco and Astoria would want Scorpius to marry for appearances and to produce an heir. Adding in Astoria's comments about her own marriage to Draco really made me realize that the idea of marriage as "duty" for these old wizarding families is an area that I haven't really explored in a fic before. You've touched on an interesting thread here and I can't wait to see how it all plays out.
As much as I was hoping to see a different Draco, it's realistic that growing up the way he did would keep a hold on him to an extent. It was nice to see him laughing with Harry - so that gives me hope that perhaps his views and treatment of Scorpius might change.
The ending was so sad, with Scorpius already planning to alter his relationship with Albus when they return to school.
I am so happy that you have more chapters because I am going to just zoom through them - you've really drawn me into this story and I can't wait to read more!

-SkyEcho

Author's Response: Hello!!

Your review has seriously made my day (week)! In my head Scorpius made all the moves up until the actual kiss then he made Albus move in for the kiss. Scorpius (despite how he appears) is just as emotionally involved but is quite reserved about demonstrating those emotions.

I'm glad Scorpius isn't hateable (well, that he's complex at least). I really wanted him to not just be a villan who's playing Albus but to have a rather complicated set of expectations on him.

:D You're one of the few people that's at least understood their motives. I felt a bit antiquated writing that they wanted to keep teh family name alive but it seemed like something the older pureblood families would care about.

I like to think that Draco did change quite a bit after the war (maybe he stopped calling people mudblood and wasn't as obsessed with the dark arts) but for the most part he still has a lot of ugliness in him that comes from being raised in a narrow-minded family, not from being evil. It seemed that Harry and Scorpius would at least form a dinner party depth of relationship. Harry is cordial enough to go to events if invited but probably wouldn't invite the Malfoys over for Sunday Brunch.

The ending was supposed to be sad - but I also wanted to have Scoprius show his tender side towards Albus.

I can't tell you how happy I am that you want to read more!!

Thank you so much for an incredible review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #15, by SkyEchoDramione Lust: In The Library

30th January 2014:
Hi Iellwen!

I enjoy Dramione stories and I think you did a good job of making this encounter somewhat realistic. I think some people gloss over their history and have Hermione forgiving him way too easily and fast - and your take on a more physical moment works. Although you mentioned that you didn't give details on the setting, it doesn't stop me wondering when this happened lol. But perhaps that adds to the mystery of it all :)
I also liked that you included Hermione's thoughts. Your description of Draco moving from something more predator-like to something softer was really interesting. I can almost see Draco trying this out just to see if he could "get" Hermione as in a power dynamic thing, but then seeing the softer side when Hermione responds to him really adds another element into the mix. I liked how Draco straightened out her clothing for her at the end.
Oh and then the gang runs in to save the day! It works and it leaves things between Hermione and Draco as kind of unresolved.
I enjoyed reading this as it was quite different from the other Hermione/ Draco stories I've read.
Thanks for doing the review swap with me :)

Author's Response: Hi SkyEcho! :)

I'm really happy you enjoyed reading it! And that it's not a typical Dramione (hurray!)

I was a bit worried Hermione would come off as easy if she just "went with the flow" and her thoughts were a bit tricky to write. So I'm really glad you liked it^^

Aaah, Draco's softer side... I like playing with the idea of him only being able to show it to Hermione when they're alone^^
Yes, indeed, things were left unresolved. :D

Thank you for the review swap! :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by SkyEchoA Chance Encounter: Imperfections Included

30th January 2014:
Hi Unluckystar57!
Wow - I absolutely loved this! I have a huge soft spot for Neville - so when I saw that you had a Neville / Hannah story, I just had to read it. I enjoyed your portrayals of Neville and Hannah. Both are so real. Neville's characterization is spot on and Hannah's reflections of how the war changed her are so sad, yet incredibly understandable.
The only part that gave me a slight pause was when Hannah thinks about Neville before seeing him. If she had seen him first, or saw something that reminded her of him, it would help that part seem less random. Though with that being said, there is something romantic and fated about randomly thinking about him and then having him walk in... Perhaps adding Hannah's internal surprise at thinking of him at all (especially since he was "hardly a blip on her radar" when they were at school )?
Neville is so sweet. I couldn't stop smiling at his line, "You shine brighter than you know, Hannah." :) And I'm so happy that we got to see Hannah soften towards him. I know this is a one-shot, but you've definitely left me wanting more!
Thank you for doing the review swap with me - I am so happy that I found this story :)

All the best,
SkyEcho

Author's Response: Hi SkyEcho!!

I'm sorry that it took so many ages for me to respond to this lovely review, but I'm here now. :) Thanks so much for the swap!

I was actually a Neville/Luna shipper until I discovered fanfiction, and then writing Neville/Hannah became a sort of ambition of mine. I wanted to see what they would be like together. I'm so glad you thought that they seemed realistic!

Yeah, that part of the story is a bit iffy, and I can see the contradiction!! I might extend this story later on, and I'll definitely give that some thought. I think that there could be a newspaper headline about him or something--that would tie things in better! Thanks for the suggestion!

Awww, I love Neville. He's adorable, and his relationship with Hannah is beautiful, even though in this one-shot, it's only just begun. I actually kind of want more of this story myself! I might turn it into a short story or novella when I find the time. :)

Thanks for the awesome review!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #17, by SkyEchoGame Over: One

29th January 2014:
Hi Pixileanin!

I loved reading this! Your writing has a perfect balance between mystery, action and information. It was quite thrilling to read. I can't wait to find out what James has gotten himself into! Your mention that he had turned down the exit option really grabbed my attention. While I initially felt bad for James, that line just added another layer and a new twist to the story. I look forward to finding out more :)

Author's Response: Hi there!

This is a pretty challenging challenge. :) James has definitely gotten into some hot water. Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad you are interested!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #18, by SkyEchoOf Love and Nargles: In Which I Blush (A Lot)

19th January 2014:
Hi FluffyNargles!
You have an interesting start here. I really enjoyed how you focused on a moment in time between Harry and Ginny. It flowed nicely and you definitely captured Ginny's shy and nervous energy at having a conversation with her crush! Her response at the end was great - very fitting for her personality. I look forward to seeing what happens next :)

-SkyEcho *Hufflepuff, 2014*

Author's Response: SkyEcho, Thanks for reviewing! I really appreciate it :) And for all of your lovely complements, too! I really love Ginny - she's one of my favorite characters - so I have lots of fun writing her. Thanks again and enjoy,

FluffyNargles


 Report Review

Review #19, by SkyEchoEscaping the Acheron: Platform Nine and Three-Quarters

13th January 2014:
Hi Kenpo!

You have a great start to your story here! I think you've really captured the atmosphere after the war really well. It was so sad to read those little mentions of those who've passed - yet the inclusions don't seem forced or out of place. I really loved how you showed the deep bond between Ron and Hermione. When Ron writes the letter to Hermione so that she'll receive it when she gets to Hogwarts, I thought that was just about the sweetest thing :) It was also nice to see Neville in his new leadership role. Hermione must feel a bit out of place with all the new changes - and I like that the reader feels those things right along with her. I can't wait to see what happens next!

-SkyEcho *Hufflepuff, 2014*

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the great review:D

I'm so glad that I was able to convey that much, and that you didn't think it was cliche or over-dramatic.

Neville. I love Neville. I'm really trying to show how he's changed into a leader, but at the same time isn't a completely different person.

I can't say thank you enough times!


 Report Review

Review #20, by SkyEchoWeasley Awkward: Homebound

11th January 2014:
Hi AudenPenelope!

This is such a wonderfully unique story. I already like your OC and her story really grabbed my attention straight from the beginning. Even though she's introduced alongside the news of her breakup, you've showed the reader why she's way better off without Hank. I enjoyed how you gave pieces of background information (both in terms of the breakup as well as throughout the chapter) - without giving away too much. It doesn't drag down the flow of the chapter, yet it gives your characters depth at the same time.

I love Hollis and think you really captured the banter between siblings. I especially liked the grocery shopping scene. It was done realistically and I could definitely picture the small town gossips dishing the dirt on Auden's return. No wonder she was so reluctant to leave the house! I'd feel exactly the same way lol.

Your characterization of Mrs. Weasley was done really well. It's clear how much she cares for Auden and Hollis, as she had been a significant part of their lives growing up. Your line, "I missed the Weasleys more than I missed my own mother," was great. It's interesting how the idea of family can have many layers - and I think your story touches not only on the everyday dynamics of family, but also of the family that we choose for ourselves.

The moment between Auden and Charlie at the end was perfect! It made me smile and I can't wait to find out what happens next :)

-SkyEcho *Hufflepuff, 2014*

Author's Response: Ahh! Thank you so much! I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I can't wait to hear what you think about the next chapters!

 Report Review

Review #21, by SkyEchoAudrey: To Hold Your Tongue

9th January 2014:
Wow this was such a beautifully written piece! I loved the snippets of moments of time - it let me see the relationship progress and left me with a warm fuzzy feeling. It almost felt like watching a photo slideshow of how these two fell in love. The feelings felt authentic and the descriptions of the meetings, dates, wedding etc. were realistic and well-written. My favourite line of yours is: "As she walked past you, you smelled freesias and honeysuckle, a nice change from the overbearing stench of chagrin that dominated your home." Your ending was perfect. You've created such a wonderful story!
*Hufflepuff, 2014*

Author's Response: Hi!

I'm glad you liked it and yay! The little slideshow thing was what I was going for! As if Percy was just reliving all the little moments in their relationship!

And I'm so glad I was able to capture the emotions and descriptions of their 'firsts.'

And I'm so glad you liked that line because I was a little scared people would tell me 'chagrin doesn't smell silly Lo!'

Thank you so much and I'm so glad you liked it and that you reviewed. Thank you so much (again).
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by SkyEchoDrummer Boy: run boy, run.

7th January 2014:
Hi MissesWeasley123!

I really enjoyed reading your story! I thought the structure complimented the content perfectly. It was so poetic to catch glimpses of Teddy and Rose - and the use of dates worked to avoid any confusion. You have some beautiful lines throughout this piece, but the one that stuck out to me was - "His time with her would always be measured in Christmases." *sigh* :)
I also really enjoyed the incorporation of Teddy's thoughts at the end of the sections. My heart totally melted when he thought "I hope I call you Lupin one day, Weasley." They really worked to bring his true feelings forward and they had me rooting for Teddy to reveal everything to Rose!
Your ending was perfect - I liked the touch of humour with the "baby pregnant" exchange.

You've created a wonderful story - and I'm amazed with how you've managed to create such depth to your characters within a one-shot.

Author's Response: Hiya!

LOL, THE STRUCTURE! HA. I'm actually so surprised it turned out okay, because I was POSITIVE it would get rejected or something because I went a bit crazy with coding!

Oh my god, the dates were last minute additions haha. I just didn't want it to seem like minor girl pairing with a man, so I added dates to clear confusion :)

AWH, YOU LIKED THAT LINE? ME TOO ♥

Haha, those parts in italics! Those were fun. I felt like this was just such a different piece for me, because I never write like this, I also never write fluff or romance in this way. I'm so glad you were rooting for him, I was as well.

Oh my god, that pregnant thing. I'm looking back and positively cringing hahaha. But I'm glad you liked it, the ending was a bit rushed though, in my opinion. I just had challenge deadlines -- eek!

Wow, thank you so much. I tried making these characters as different as possible, and am so excited you enjoyed this piece. Thanks for a great swap, this was so much fun to do :)

- Nadia :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by SkyEchoWaltz: Waltz

24th December 2013:
I absolutely loved this! The pattern you weaved through the story was flawless and the incorporation of Rose's OCD and Scorpius' stutter was quite unique. Your characters have depth which allows us to see their inner strength. I thought Scorpius was so adorable and caring towards Rose. The end left with me with a huge smile. What a lovely story :)

Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much, SkyEcho! I'm so glad the pattern of three's worked for you; I was a little nervous about whether or not it would work before I posted! It's also great to hear that you liked my versions of Rose and Scorpius! I was sort of apprehensive about writing them because I know they're a popular couple and I've never written about them before, so I was really unsure if I could pull it off! And yay for happy, fluffy endings! hehehe

This is such a nice review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it; I sincerely appreciate it! And a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you as well!!! :-D


 Report Review

Review #24, by SkyEchoA Selection of Yellow Things, Including Streelers and Mortimer's Socks: Loony

23rd December 2013:
Hi Kristin!

This is my first Luna story - and I absolutely loved it!! I've always liked Luna, so when I saw you had written a story with her, I just had to check it out. And I'm so happy I did :) You did an exceptional job with her characterization. Everything she thought and did just seemed so "Luna." Your story takes something seemingly ordinary, like starting a new job, and turns it into a string of thoughtful, interesting, funny moments. My favourite line is from your OC, "You are correct, I dislike weird things. Among the weird things I dislike are rabbits, adventure sports, and hippies." I thought you portrayed him very well and it was so interesting to see these two different characters interact.
Wonderful story!!

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: Hi Kristen with an E! ♥ :p

What a lovely surprise review! Luna is one of my favourite characters in the series, so it's wonderful to hear that I did the characterisation well, thank you! I do think Luna sees ordinary things in an extraordinary way - it was an interesting experience to write her POV.

Haha, I'm glad you liked that line! He does say very silly things even if he's trying not to be weird. And I'm so happy to hear that you liked Mortimer and enjoyed seeing him interact with Luna! I had a blast writing it as they're complete opposites.

Thank you so much for this review! Merry Christmas to you too :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by SkyEchoNot Normal: {Chapter the Third}

23rd December 2013:
I absolutely loved reading this chapter! It flowed really nicely and I enjoyed the humour throughout. With every chapter, I like Ellie more and more! She's so funny and I can definitely relate to her aversion to physical exercise :) I look forward to learning more about Ben. I thought he came across as a really nice guy - and it's nice to see Ellie so comfortable around him.
Ahh the sorting hat song - really clever way to drop another clue into what's going to happen down the road. I can't wait to find out what happens next!
Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!!

Author's Response: It's so wonderful to hear from you again! I'm glad that you enjoyed it, especially that Ellie is growing on you. I hate physical exercise even more than she does, if that can be believed. Ben has more in store for him - but yes, essentially he's just a really nice guy!

The Sorting Hat always creeped me out, and it seemed like the perfect vessel for some good ol' foreshadowing.

Happy Holidays to you too, and thanks for reviewing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>