Reading Reviews From Member: SkyEcho
  
85 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SkyEchoTrue Romance: Live and Let Die

12th July 2014:
Hi Rose!

I was laughing so hard when Rose was hiding from Ginny!
It was so cute to see Albus so excited, getting ready for his date with Brandon :) You describe the restaurant really well - super fancy and romantic. I liked how you also included how unsure Albus is about how to act in such a formal place. Oh no.. Brandon never showed - how awkward for Albus - but I'm sure it has to do with work or something. Oh no, DID something happen to him??
Albus' reaction turning to anger makes sense. As he really likes Brandon, being stood up can bring up a whole host of insecurities.
Wow - I wasn't expected Scorpius to turn Albus down. Good for him. Ohh ok spoke too soon lol. It's nice that they feel so happy and comfortable with one another - though, completely understandable at feeling guilty as well. I hope Corbin doesn't lose it when Scorpius tells him. Wow so many turns - so they're still kind of in the same pattern - unsure what they want from each other. Ohh no.. another cliffhanger! Brandon!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: haha, I'm glad you liked her hiding out scene. It made me giggle to write it :D

Al is quite cute as he's preening for his date. I was definitely thinking of my first time at a fancy restaurant when I was describing Al's uncertainty. hum hum hum, you'll have to find out what happened.

Scorpius tried to turn him down and then failed. They definitely deserved to feel guilt for their weekend tryst.

It's a cliffhanger fest!!!

Thanks for the awesome review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #2, by SkyEchoTrue Romance: In the Waiting Line

12th July 2014:
Ahh she went to see Scorpius! I liked how the opening lines kind of insinuated they had slept together...only to reveal that they literally slept together haha. I liked how Scorpius was able to reveal the truth about himself and their relationship - and that during he wondered whether their friendship could sustain that revelation. I hope so - and I think Rose is the kind of person who would definitely understand.
I loved watching Albus with his grandparents :) It was so cute to hear about how Arthur knew Molly was the one for him!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the opening! I wanted it to have that funny twist of seeming like they slept together without the sex bit. His big reveal there will be a bit of a strain for them - at least for Rose. Arthur and Molly were delightful to write! I'm happy you liked seeing them and learning how Arthur figured out his love life.

Thanks for an awesome review!
-Rose


 Report Review

Review #3, by SkyEchoTrue Romance: Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

12th July 2014:
Hi Rose!

It makes complete sense that Scorpius would feel a little conflicted about Corbin leaving. Corbin seems rather possessive and I can definitely see him getting really jealous, should Scorpius choose Albus over him. It'll be interesting to see how this all plays out!
Haha I laughed at Albus trying to be all smooth and subtle sitting on Brandon's lap. The archive encounter with Brandon had me cheering! A date :)
Ohh the fight between Rose and Hermione! You've done a good job of portraying this in a way that allows the readers to see both sides. No one is out to hurt the other, but in the heat of the moment, it can be hard to watch your words. Rose brings up a good point about the others being able to do what they like and enjoy. Hopefully Hermione sees it! Hmm I have no idea where Rose ran off to! Maybe to stay with Albus? What a cliffhanger! Great chapter :)

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: I'm really glad that you're conflicted about Corbin. I mean, he is a bit jealous and possessive but we're still learning a lot about him. That's just his outer layer. More comes out later.

Albus is trying to be a smooth operator. He doesn't quite pull it off but still manages some kissing. :D

I'm really happy that no one seemed entirely unreasonable between Rose and Hermione. This i sjust a mini-cliffy. There are worse ones later on

thanks so much for an awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by SkyEchoThe Brave at Heart: Counterstroke

10th July 2014:
Hi Kristin!!

This chapter was great! I'm really enjoying the developing friendship between Remus and Melanie. And I look forward to reading more about the prank war haha.
I love how Melanie isn't afraid to stand up for herself, or others she feels are being treated unfairly. It was interesting to see Regulus here and I like how we get a sense of how truly different the brothers are. It was nice to see some support for Melanie at the end!

I'm really enjoying your story so far and can't wait to find out what happens next :)

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi Kristen! :D

Thank you! I really loved developing their friendship as it is such an unlikely one. The prank war does return in the next chapter I believe.

Melanie's not that brave, but she is kind of easily goaded into things and is sometimes too honest, has a smart mouth :p I'm glad you liked Regulus' appearance too - I figured he had to show up at some points as he's in the same house as Mel.

It means so much to me that you are enjoying the story, thank you SO much!! I really appreciate the review! ♡


 Report Review

Review #5, by SkyEchoLying Josephine: Breakable Girls and Boys

10th July 2014:
Hi!!

I was so happy to see that another chapter had been posted :) This is easily one of my favourite stories! I absolutely love the interactions between Jo and Fred. It's so clear how they simply just 'get' one another.
Your description of the gift Fred made for George is wonderful. It's revealed slowly, almost like how I'd imagine Jo to be taking it all in. I love the idea of a snow globe coming to life when you shake it - and the jokes add that much anticipated Fred-ness haha.

The description of George in the crowded shop really tugged at my heart! And Jo's constant uncertainty about going after him and checking on him is so endearing. You've done a great job of showing the reasons why she's acting so out of her comfort zone, yet still having her remain true to her character.

Aww it is heartbreaking to read just how lost they are with their grief. This chapter was so good! I can't wait to find out what happens next!!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #6, by SkyEchoEvent Horizon: Infinity.

10th July 2014:
Hi!

This has to be the most unique piece I've read in a very long time! I absolutely loved it. I'm in awe of how you've managed to create something that is both so abstract, yet relatable, so beautiful and haunting, so jarring and yet so melodic all at the same time... Your structure matches your content perfectly. I like that the narrator remains unnamed. Your whole story is so well written, but my favourite line has to be ..."inside I felt the world collide at the stars a thousand miles per hour, leaving a trail of stardust in its wake."

Overall I thought this was amazing and I really enjoyed reading it :)

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #7, by SkyEchoEvent Three: Dark Woods, Bright Moon: Quiet Man

10th July 2014:
Hi Magnolia Magic!

This was so beautifully written. I loved the way you described the story from the thestral's point of view. Using the threstral for this prompt was really refreshing to see - as the association with death often fosters the connotation with darkness. Yet, your lines "endings and beginnings, death and life. One follows the other" makes such a poignant statement about these creatures, and the grieving process. Even as a reminder of loss, they can also help facilitate a new beginning. It was so sweet to see both Luna and the threstral wanting to help Dean. My favourite part has to be where the threstral senses Luna's feelings for Dean and wishes he could smile. I loved the ending!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #8, by SkyEchoEternity : I

9th July 2014:
Hi SilentConfession!

I really loved this! I liked that you gave tiny clues as to what was up with Seamus, but didn't rush the revelation. This was such a unique and well-written story. It flowed so nicely, was funny, and was so refreshing to read. I especially liked the dynamic between Dean and Seamus. It was awesome to see their friendship still intact and still able to joke around with each other. It was interesting (and hilarious) to read all the different theories about the door. Aww and what a great ending. Dean and Seamus - off on another adventure together.
This was fantastic!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #9, by SkyEchoFred and George's Lollypops: Langlock Lollies

9th July 2014:
Hi!

I really really enjoyed reading this! Your use of quick dialogue throughout this piece is a pleasure to read - especially In the beginning - it really worked to showcase just how sick everyone was of Hermione and Ron's arguing! I love the way you write Fred and George - so true to character and always hilarious to read :) Ohh and nice work with the little foreshadowing to the Harry - Ginny / Ron - Hermione romance that is yet to come.
I loved hearing about all the ideas Harry gave them, like the ones conveniently inspired by Dean when he was dating Ginny. Wow the idea for the Harry Potter candies was absolutely brilliant!
I really enjoyed reading this. It put a huge smile on my face :)

*House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #6*

 Report Review

Review #10, by SkyEchoEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: Adolescent Escapades

9th July 2014:
Hi MileyMalfoy!

Yay - a story about Puffs!! I loved that you started this story with a threat of detention. It instantly grabbed my attention. I think you did a wonderful job portraying the friendship between Hannah and Susan. You definitely get into the most trouble, and end up participating in the least thought out plans with only your closest friends haha.
I'm also wondering why Susan would just take the necklace off and leave it on the couch... I like the idea of an animal that can find shiny things. I could definitely use a niffler myself :) This may just be my own curiosity speaking, but I kept hoping for more description about what the niffler looked like.
I love how shocked Hannah is every time she realizes Susan hasn't really thought things out. She definitely should not let her be the brains of the plans anymore haha. I'm happy the necklace was found and that your story ended on a positive note.

Great job!
*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #11, by SkyEchoI am, I am, I am: I am, I am, I am

9th July 2014:
Hi!

The beginning of your story really grabbed my attention! I really liked how you gave little pieces of information away without really going in-depth regarding Rose's situation. There was something so poetic, and haunting about this piece. I loved your imagery. The comparison of the violent waves as her constant companions speaks volumes about the depths of trauma, hurt, depression - the darkness. When she made her way to land, I really liked the way you described how she negotiated and experienced this new terrain: that it took some time to experience it for what it was, without the comparison of where she was before. Overall, I thought this story was fantastic. Incredibly unique and a pleasure to read.

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #12, by SkyEchoEvent Three: Frightened Little Beings : Frightened Little Beings

9th July 2014:
Hi LadyL8!

I believe this is the first story I've read that had Charlie in it - so I was super excited to see that you had written a story about him for this challenge :)
I think you captured the young brother dynamic at the zoo perfectly. It was interesting to see how differently they reacted to seeing the dragons - especially Charlie's displeasure and disappointment at seeing them confined.
Your description of Charlie being captivated by the Swedish dragon was so well done. It was so cute that the dragon keeper let him name the dragon!
Aww I loved how you included the part at the end about Charlie reflecting on that day at the zoo.

Great job! I really enjoyed reading this :)


*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #13, by SkyEchoEvent Three: Life Goes On: Life Goes On

8th July 2014:
Hi ohmymerlin!

What a powerful opening to your story! I think I'm still in awe of how well it was written and how haunting it was. Susan comes across as incredibly relatable and I instantly felt for her. Being confronted with someone else's fear of their death is not only a scary thought in and of itself, but also a situation that many of us would find ourselves at a loss for words. Her reaction came across as realistic, and I liked that.
The nightmares and being consumed with finding the spell that killed him all speak to her unresolved guilt. You've captured the aftermath of trauma really well here and my heart really went out to her.
It was so nice to see Parvati here and I'm happy that Susan was able to confide in someone (as it seemed as though this was something she kept bottled in). Sometimes letting someone in, to help, is the greatest act of courage in overcoming something. Your story shows this.
I just have to say how much I loved reading this. It was emotional, and honest, and truly well written. I loved it!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for this amazing review! You're so sweet! I don't know how I can possibly respond to this, it's just such a beautiful review! hfkjddhfjkfdkjjk ♥

Just... thank you! :D

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by SkyEchoEvent Three - All Quiet on the Post-War Front: heavy bones

8th July 2014:
Hi teh!

Wow - the beginning of this chapter had me completely hooked! The factual description of Hannah's mother's death really fits with the numbness of those left behind. The fact that Hannah, like many others, is drifting after the war is incredibly realistic. I really liked how you described Hannah feeling found when she enters the pub.
Haha I love the One Dimension reference.
The conversation between Dean and Hannah really captured the different layers of emotion and reactions found after living through such trauma. This was so well written. Your writing is a pleasure to read :)
I really loved this chapter and can't wait to read the rest of your story!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by to read and review! I did indeed describe Hannah's mother's death and the war in general in a rather matter-of-fact tone. I'm fond of stating things straight without too much drama sometimes. Hannah finding the pub is like finding something to anchor herself to.

Aww, thanks for your lovely comment on the conversation between Dean and Hannah! I'm not very good at writing these sorts of moments between people, so your lovely words mean a great deal to me!

Thank you so much once again. *is blushing at your compliments on my writing!*

-teh


 Report Review

Review #15, by SkyEchoDestiny: Destiny

8th July 2014:
Hi Keyty!
I was so happy to see that you had written a Hagrid story :) I love that you've given us a glimpse into his childhood and the influence his father had on his love of magical creatures.
The lines about his time with Lily and James separately really work to show the depth of their connection to Hagrid without needing to spend a lot of time describing it (a tough task when there's a word limit, right?). Your line, "He was the first to know when Lily began to reciprocate James's feelings" - tells us everything we need to know :)
It was really interesting to get the back story on how Hagrid trained Fluffy - and just how it came to be that he was the one guarding the stone. Ending with his desire to find a hippogriff egg was absolutely perfect.
I really enjoyed reading this!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #16, by SkyEchoEvent Three - The Elder Song : The Elder Song

8th July 2014:
Hi!

You have such a lovely way of describing the scenery. It's a pleasure to read :) This is the first story I've read about Rolf and I really enjoyed your portrayal of him. The way you reveal information about him is done really naturally. He is a Hufflepuff with a love of nature, yet he is also incredibly brave and scholarly to seek out this mysterious beast.
The idea of music as a kind of magic is such a beautiful notion. It was interesting to see the connection between Adarmam's race and the dementors. I really enjoyed reading this. Great job!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Thanks so much!
I believe music is the closest thing we have to actual magic.
Thanks agian!


 Report Review

Review #17, by SkyEchoEvent Three. Twin Time With Adventure: Twin Time

8th July 2014:
Hi ScoroseOTP!
I really liked how you explored the relationship between Molly and Lucy - especially with them being twins and being sorted into different houses. Although they are polar opposites, you did a good job of showing us how they balance one another - how they are good for one another.
I did notice a few grammatical things that could definitely be sorted if you requested a beta to look it over (little things like punctuation, dialogue style, missing words).
I really liked that they have their little ritual for entering the forest. It made me wonder whether about their Twin Time -it is just random time spent together? or is it more structured where they set aside time to spend with one another? You gave us a glimpse of the adventures they already had together and it made me want to know more!
Aww the unicorns :) Even the thought of a baby unicorn makes me smile. It was great they got to experience such a rare moment like that together.
Overall, I really enjoyed reading this. Great job!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hey SkyEcho!
(really cool name by the way)

Thank you! I think that those two would be very different but that shouldn't mean that they aren't good for each other. In fact, it's just like they say, 'opposites attract'. (It's scientifically proven).
I know... I need to re-read and sort it all out and I will do when I get the chance.

My mind created so many different scenarios for Twin Time when I thought about it so I couldn't help but add a few ideas in there. I like to think that they do this whole thing a lot. Like when they're feeling homesick or actually feeling unwell. Or if they're having a lazy day or a study day (like this one). Situations like that, so mostly random but with a designated time for a least once a term (decided at the start of the term).

The unicorns were adorable and really great to describe and write about! :)

Thank you again for reading, reviewing and saying such lovely things!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #18, by SkyEchoClaw: An Owl, a Hat and a Train

8th July 2014:
Hi!

The beginning of the story really worked to grab my attention. I loved that it was strictly dialogue and it came across as a realistically funny conversation that many adults would be having with their children before sending them off to Hogwarts. The line about the owl had me laughing :)
You write humour very well. I immediately liked Rose and her narration just made the story flow.
I liked the interactions between this next gen trio. You've portrayed Scorpius in a different way than I've seen in other fics, so that was refreshing. Having them worried about being split into different houses makes a lot of sense. I enjoyed Scorpius' attempts to define the houses as a way to show them that he could only be placed in Gryffindor.
Ohh that Skeeter girl is so rude! I can imagine how it would be hard for the children to have such famous parents - so I liked that you addressed this here.
Oh my goodness- the throw up! LOL And what a twist at the end!
You've created a really interesting start to your story here. Great job!

*House Cup 2014 Review - Educational Decree #3*

Author's Response: Hey!

I am so glad that you are liking my story! Your review has really made my day. This is my first novel-length fic, I hope that it works out okay, and your review has given me a lot of encouragement!

Thank you so much,
snufflesthedog


 Report Review

Review #19, by SkyEcho(Event Three) Moony's Memories: One.

8th July 2014:
Hey HeyMrsPotter!

I loved this story! The beginning really grabbed my attention and the description was so beautifully written. It was so nice to see the boys racing through the forest together in their various animal forms :) It was so interesting to have access to Lupin's thoughts in his wolf form and I liked the way you incorporated an explanation for that.
You write the interactions between the boys really well. I laughed at their inside joke while apologizing to McGonagall. It definitely seems like something they would do!
Oh wow - the last section really got me. It was so sad, yet so beautiful.
I absolutely LOVED this story!
*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've been wanting to write a marauders story for a while and I'm glad I got the chance to with with House Cup. The part with their jokes and McGonagall was definitely my favourite part to write :)

Thank you again for such a lovely review!
Dee :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by SkyEchoUnusual : Unusual

8th July 2014:
Hi Kira!

I really really really enjoyed reading story! This was the first story I've read from Griphook's POV - it was so interesting to see things from his perspective. Your line about his shame in being rescued by the 'wand-carriers' was so well written. Ohh Harry and Dobby - the way you structured Griphook's observations and thoughts as he watched Dobby's grave being dug really worked to show not only how they cared for Dobby, but also Griphook's realization of this caring. The ending was beautiful. I like that we get some hope that Griphook might be embarking on a new way of thinking about friendship. Overall, I thought this story was fantastic!

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #21, by SkyEchoA New Moon: A New Moon

8th July 2014:
Hi emmacweasley!

I really enjoyed your story :) Your interpretation of Lupin as a magical creature was really creative. I don't read many stories that include professor slughorn, so it was nice to see him here. I think you did a great job with his character.
The part where Lupin wonders about a safety on his wand was both funny and intriguing. I could definitely see that as part of someone's political campaign haha.
I loved the interactions between the boys. I always love reading stories that focus on their friendship :) I liked that you included some information about the potion and the side effects. I could see how Remus would be replaying those facts over in his head. It was really interesting to read about the transformation and I liked how the reader, like Remus, was able to experience it for the first time. I loved the ending.

*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for the kind review! I'm so glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by SkyEchoEvent Three -- The Firework-Maker's Daughter: Songbird

8th July 2014:
This was such a unique and refreshing read! The beginning really drew me in and the line about the fwooper being a mother once really tugged at my heart! It was so interesting to read about a magical creature that I had never heard of. I loved the interaction between Roxanne and the bird. The way you portrayed their connection was lovely to read and I instantly liked Roxanne. When Roxanne came back at night, I let out a little cheer. The ending was brilliant. Your writing has a nice flow and this story left me feeling so happy.

*House Cup 2014 Review*

 Report Review

Review #23, by SkyEchoHouse Cup Event Three: Until The Very End: Until The Very End

7th July 2014:
*House Cup 2014 Review*

Wow what a beautiful story! I think you captured the essence of a true friendship really well. I loved the beginning, and watching the instant friendship blossom between Hannah and Simon. The secret mailbox was too cute and Simon finding a rock that looked just like his dad put a huge smile on my face.
As Simon was a muggle, I wondered whether the distance and inability to belong to her world would prove to be too big of a challenge for their friendship... and I was so happy that theirs is a friendship that lasted a lifetime :) I liked that Simon was able to come visit her and learn about magic. This story really works to show the comfort and sense of peace that you feel when you find a true best friend.
Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!
I love writing little kids, because they have such a wonderful view of life, and writing little kids in the wizarding world is even better! Haha.
I wanted one half of the pair to be a muggle after I picked the prompt I was going to write for, because I thought it would really highlight the fact that they were staying friends despite really big differences in their lives. They were able to trust and learn from each other, which was really fun to write.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for the sweet review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by SkyEchoTrue Romance: Such Great Heights

7th July 2014:
Hi!

I really enjoyed this chapter! It was so interesting to get more information about the work your characters do. As Rose was portrayed as such a free spirit in the prequel, it made perfect sense that she would feel trapped in a ministry job. Her reluctance to quit, for fear of upsetting her mom is completely realistic and understandable. I hope she follows her dreams of starting her own wizarding travel company :)

Ahh the romantic triangle (or is is more of a square if we factor in Scorpius' other love interest??)! You did a really good job of showing how conflicted Albus is when it comes to Brandon and Scorpius. That really came through when Rose was questioning him about who he wanted to date. As a Albus- Brandon fan, I was a bit surprised at how I was rooting for the Scorpius kiss! The description leading up to it was fantastic.

With the line where Brandon is reviewing the Wyatt - is the word, case missing there? I stumbled over that and wasn't sure. Oh no.. the last line left me with a bit of a pit in my stomach. Nothing is going to happen to Brandon, right???

Can't wait to see what happens next!
*House Cup 2014 Review*

Author's Response: HI!!

I'm so excited you came by for the HC!!!

It's good that Rose's personality stood out as not quite jiving with her role. I dunno, I wanted part of it to be carry over from PI but also what we see of her in TR. there's more development there as the story rolls on!

I think it's more of a square now. It may take another shape soon too. Yay! I'm glad his conflict came through and wasn't just irritating. Um, it'll get irritating soon though. hehe, I'm happy I got you to root for that kiss ;)

oh, yeah, I'm missing the word case after Wyatt. Thanks for pointing that out!! I CAN'T PROMISE ANYTHING WHEN IT COMES TO THE HEALTH AND SAFETY OF MY CHARACTERS.

Thanks for a wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #25, by SkyEchoSynergy : Synergy

27th June 2014:
Hi Infinityx!

Wow - this is the first story I've read from an animal's POV and I absolutely loved it! I liked that you chose a Buckbeak scene that we're all familiar with, yet reworked it into something new. It really worked to offer explanations for Buckbeak's behaviour. Overall, I think you did an awesome job addressing the prompt. Thank you for doing the review swap with me. This was such a unique and refreshing read!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>