Reading Reviews From Member: SiriusAura92
  
32 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SiriusAura92The Chosen One: The Unbreakable Vow

29th June 2014:
Hey,
Considering it's your first story, you've done a good job. I would strongly recommend adding in some more finer details such as Characteristics and the environment we're in.

I'd also suggest just sticking with the star border * when changing scene as opposed to just writing down where the scene is taking place.

Definitely keep it up and take the story to wherever you want, whether you put in one, two or ten stories! You're the author and the one in control.

Hope this helps,
SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I've had trouble trying to keep the star border on one line, and I've always had a hard time with descriptions/characteristics so I will definitely work on that. I really appreciate your review :)

Melissa


 Report Review

Review #2, by SiriusAura92War by Moonlight: THE MISSING MUGGLE

12th May 2014:
I think you've got a really interesting start to your story. You write incredibly well (Though watch out for odd typo Eg Pork Chops) and add some really nice details to your environments as well.

I think you could've made more of the Prologue and maybe kept it going until Voldy did kill Scrimgeour but it was still a really nice piece of writing and a great way to open.

I'll definitely be back to find out what happens next.

Keep it up!
SiriusAura92

 Report Review

Review #3, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : Two Masters

16th April 2014:
Ah, the plot thickens.
I really found the first part of the chapter in particular really interesting. Though I can't decide whether he's talking to an Acromantular or if he's the spider equivalent to a Parsalmouth. Either way I really like how you built up Casimir in such a short span of time so well done!

Can't wait for your next installment!

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thanks for another insightful review, you always ask me the question that I find I most need to answer for myself. I think Casimir is my favorite character to write in this story, because he's dark and twisted. In answer to your question about his conversation, I think it's kind of both, but I left it a bit ambiguous because I haven't completely decided yet if he shares this affinity with all spiders or just the acromantula. I'm excited for my next installment too, because I honestly only have a hazy idea of what is going to happen in the next couple chapters. I'm just going to let it come to me.

Love always,

FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #4, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : Mind Games

8th April 2014:
Another really good chapter.
In fact I think I prefer this cave scene to the last one as it feels a lot more personal to Draco than the last one did Hermione. (I'll have to go back and have a re-read of it though to make sure but that's what I get from first impressions.)

I really cannot wait to find out more about this cave and it's enchantments.
Well done again and looking forward to your next update!

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Well spotted! Yes, Draco's experience in the cave is much more dramatic and personal, care to guess why? My new chapter should be validated sometime today, and our heroes will have a moment to discuss this, but the mystery won't be solved just yet. Other things are stirring in this story right now. Thanks for sticking with me, your insight is always so valuable.

-FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #5, by SiriusAura92American Wizardry: An M.D.I. Wizardís Journey: Gathering the Team

9th March 2014:
I really enjoyed this!
I've always wandered what the Ministries of other countries did during the war against Voldemort.
It's written really well and beautifully detailed.

I maybe would've liked a bit more detail on his selected thirty but I'm guessing it's all in due course (It is only the first chapter).

I'll definitely be back when the next chapter's up!
Keep up the great work!

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

Details on some of the thirty will be available in the next chapter. :)

Thank you very much!
LEP:)


 Report Review

Review #6, by SiriusAura92Liar: Prologue

7th March 2014:
This is a really nice little intro.
It sets the mood for what I suspect the rest of the story might be like, it fits the time nicely and you've already got me hoping this man makes it home.

Looking forward to reading on and can't wait to see how you mix the Wizarding world into things.

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm so glad! I was really worrying that I hadn't framed the time era correctly, or that my characters wouldn't be realistic enough, but I'm feeling very reassured now :)

I can assure you that I have a plan ;)

Thank you again for such a nice review :)
~JHWRJL


 Report Review

Review #7, by SiriusAura92The Last Battle: Minerva McGonagall

6th March 2014:
Hey,
It's not a bad chapter but I feel as though you could've gone a lot further with it such as actually following her through the battle rather than ending it before.

Also, the spacing of the paragraphs kind of makes it look a bit messy.

But, like I said, it's not bad. It follows the book nicely and you've got a nice focus on Minerva's thoughts/feelings it just could've done with a bit more fleshing out.

Hope this helps
SiriusAura92

 Report Review

Review #8, by SiriusAura92Fallen Redemption: Seduction

25th February 2014:
Another great chapter!
I'm really interested in these artifacts Voldemort brought from Egypt (I love stuff like that!!).
I have my suspicions with Seamus though.

I'm really enjoying where this is going and you're absolutely right, it's your FanFic to do with as you please. And a great one at that!

Can't wait for your next installment!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm not sure what you mean when you say you have your suspicions with Seamus, though. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #9, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : Into the Dark (Part 2)

23rd February 2014:
HEY!
Sorry for being so quiet lately!

I am loving how dark you're making this! It contrasts really well with the earlier romantic chapters and I'm hoping there's more like it.
I also like that you're giving Hermione more action scenes but I would like to see Draco share a bit more glory (All due course I'm sure but just something to keep in mind).

Characters- Amazing
Detail- Amazing
Creepiness- Perfect!

Cannot wait to find out more about this cave.
Hope you had a great Christmas!

SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I plan more creepiness from here until the end, it's so much more fun to write than the fluffy romantic stuff.
I struggle a lot with writing Draco, I feel like he is really a weak person, but I know that he only works for Hermione if he finds his inner strength. I think I need to write about his inner discovery of his strengths in order for it to be believable. I don't really buy it when people write him as this big hero that saves Hermione, I think she's actually tougher than him. Thanks for sticking with me even though I've been slow lately!


 Report Review

Review #10, by SiriusAura92Fallen Redemption: Closeted

1st February 2014:
Hey!
Another really nice chapter!
I really like that you don't over do it with the fluff but instead add in a bit of comedy to the mix.
Loving it so far and I really hope there's more Ron/Malfoy back-chat :P

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! Working on getting the next chapter up!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SiriusAura92Fallen Redemption: Billy

19th January 2014:
Yay! Glad to have you back! :)

Author's Response: Thank you :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : Fight and Flight

4th December 2013:
Hey! Sorry I haven't been reviewing as much lately.
Firstly, the past two chapters are really well written. I think writing (as you put it) artsie has its own place and works better for some chapters then it does for others.

I also like the way your slowly allowing bits of the old Draco to seep through though, if I were Hermione, I'd probably punch him again for what he said!

One thing I have noticed though (and this is me being really picky!) is that there seems to be a fair amount of 'Oh I shouldn't/should've done this/that' moments cropping up. I just don't want that to come up TOO many times and become a fly in the ointment.

In all two very nicely paced chapters with some great action.

Btw, it's nice to see I'm not the only one who uses the Nimbus 2020 in their story! ;) haha!

Can't wait for the next installment! (And don't worry if it takes a while, if you've got other stuff going on, of course it takes priority)

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thank you for your helpful and honest review. I've seen the Nimbus 2020 in several stories...but I did kind of borrow it from you, glad that's ok! It seems to be the logical next model.

As for Hermione's indecision, you are right, and I will pick that apart in future edits (I like picky authors). If I'm honest with myself, those moments are manifestations of my own self-doubt, which is one of my character flaws. I need to remember that Hermione is a little stronger than me in that area. I think you'll see in chapter 8 that she gains some confidence, and that's all I'm going to say! ;)


 Report Review

Review #13, by SiriusAura92The Nightingale's Lament: The Nightingale's Lament

26th November 2013:
Wow! ...That's it really haha!
This is a stunning piece of writing and the whole going back and forth really illustrates the PTSD that Vicky is going through perfectly.

Now, if you excuse me, I'm off to go find the biggest box of tissues I can find and mourn Colin all over again.

10/10!!

Author's Response: This review... wow, thank you so much! I'm really pleased that you thought I showed her pain effectively and while I'm sorry that I made you sad, it also means that I'm doing my job, so I'm kind of not as well, haha!

Thank you for this review!!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #14, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : The first step

10th November 2013:
I'm struggling on what to say. It's a truly brilliant chapter! I seriously can't praise it enough. It's beautifully written and expertly paced.

I really like the new-styled characters you're creating and I really hope we get an insight into what made Malfoy so different (All in due time I'm sure!).

Can't wait for the next chapter! Though make sure you're well ahead of what you're posting. You never know when you might want to go back a change something... Ah, who am I kidding, you don't need to change anything. Next chapter please! :p

Well done again and keep it up!
SiriusAura92 :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, really. It makes me so excited to get reviews, and this one is completely heartwarming.

I am trying really hard to keep ahead, but I'm actually stuck at the moment. It's not exactly a block, it's just a lack of time to really work out my ideas. I promise I will keep posting excellent chapters though, I have a couple that are just waiting to go.

Thanks for your support, it means so much :)

-FawkesFelicis


 Report Review

Review #15, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : Reflection

4th November 2013:
Wow! There's the detail I was looking for! (Took me ages to learn to write in little details... Jealous!)
Anyway, this is a great chapter and I can see why you like it so much.

Lovely piece of writing and I can't wait for your next installment!

(Btw, if you have time, my first HP fan-fic is coming to an end and I'd love for some feedback before I start releasing it's sequel. It's not the shortest so I'd quite understand if you can't fit it in.)

Looking forward to your next chapter!

Author's Response: SiriusAura92,

Thank you SO MUCH! Your feedback means a lot to me. I am so glad that you gave me that hint, it's helping me a lot. I would be really glad to read your fic, I'll do my best to fit it in.
Again, thank you!


 Report Review

Review #16, by SiriusAura92Foreign Affairs : Up too late, and out of luck

29th October 2013:
This is a pretty impressive story.
You could probably do with just a bit more detail in the description of environment and characters but apart from that, there's not much wrong.
I think you did the action in this chapter quite nicely and your detail into Hermione's emotions is just right and isn't too overbearing (which I've seen happen too many times).

In all, I really enjoyed this and I'll definitely be back!

Well done!
SiriusAura92 :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind review, this is my first one ever.

I really can't stand overly fluffy writing, either. I agree that I could use some more fleshing out of my characters and places, thank you for that tip!

Please keep reading and reviewing, I have some big things planned for this story!


 Report Review

Review #17, by SiriusAura92For The Greater Good: The Wand of Destiny

8th September 2013:
Hey,
This is a really impressive intro!
I must say, even compared to your intro of 'The Dark Mark', the detail in this just makes it so much more interesting to read.

I like how you're building up Gellert's character and I'm interested to see your take on his feelings about Dumbledore.

Great Job!
SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thanks! This story's nearly done - one chapter awaiting validation (should be up some time tomorrow), then one more after that, and it'll be complete. Then I can get back to TDM. I hope you enjoy the rest! I prefer looking at the people, exploring their thoughts and opinions, to going into lots of detail about physical stuff and really exciting plots. Feelings about Dumbledore - well, there's a bit, if not as much as there could be.
Glad you like it!
Leonore


 Report Review

Review #18, by SiriusAura92Free: I'm sorry, Mother

7th September 2013:
I really enjoyed this.
I think you captured Barty Jr's character very well with the way he thinks of both his Master AND his mother.

I know it's mentioned that McGonagall tried to stop the Dementor or at least object loudly to it but I guess it makes sense that Barty wasn't in the position to notice much else.

Great job and defo keep it up!
SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thank you very much!! :D

 Report Review

Review #19, by SiriusAura92Pandemonium: November Fools'

6th September 2013:
This is so completely mad... I LOVE IT! haha!
I thought the idea of Fudge loving romance novels was a funny idea at the start but then the Heads started dancing and Flitwick slapping students with fish. It's just... there are NO WORDS!

I really hope you do more chapters because they are great fun.

Well done!
SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Haha thank you very much! The prompts for this challenge were crazy so I thought I might as well make the story as bizarre as possible :P There should be two more chapters on the way :)

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by SiriusAura92Fallen Redemption: Vacation

3rd September 2013:
Another great chapter!

I did have a worry that you would tease us with the prospect of seeing Harry again and drag it along (a trick I've seen other authors use and am not a fan of) but I really like the pace your story is progressing.

Poor Draco. I love how you've changed his character and the way you've done it too. Now I see him as a 'heart in the right place but brain... not so much' kind of guy. Though I am surprised at how (for lack of a better term) kill happy he is and the fact that the nurse's death involved leaving blood behind really makes me shiver.

Can't wait for the next chapter and feel better soon :)
SiriusAuar92

Author's Response: Thank you! Yeah, I try not to drag people along unless it's necessary to the storyline. I'm glad you're liking his character, sans the killing of course. The next chapter should be up soon!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by SiriusAura92How I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

2nd September 2013:
Reading this in Kenneth Branagh's voice is probably the funniest thing that's happened to me on this site haha!

Love this, I think you got Lockhart's character down perfectly.

SiriusAura93

Author's Response: Haha, perfect! That would be a lot of fun. I'm so glad you liked my characterisation of Lockhart! Thanks so much for reading and for your review, I'm happy that you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #22, by SiriusAura92The Dark Mark: The Third Task

1st September 2013:
This is a really interesting concept. I really like the idea of following one of the bad guys for once and considering this is you first ever story, it's not badly done.

You could do with putting a bit more detail into stuff like the environment and character description (as we still don't know what Ravvena looks like).
Once you get on top of those, I'm pretty certain you could bring out a really great story!

I hope you continue this as I'll certainly be coming back to this :)

SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thank you for your response - my first review! Actually I'm not sure what Ravenna looks like myself but I'll try to develop her further as the story goes on - her personality, at least. I've already written a lot of it, and it's waiting to go up - the next chapter should be out in a few days.

Thank you again, and enjoy the rest when it comes out.


 Report Review

Review #23, by SiriusAura92Fallen Redemption: Charade

28th August 2013:
I'm really getting into this!
Throughout all of the chapters, you have a really good knack of both giving enough information to satisfy and yet hold enough back to bring readers back.

I thought Voldemort was written really well here. I wasn't expecting him to come to the party but you made it work really well.

Can't wait for the next chapter

SiriusAura92

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Voldemort is one of the characters in the Harry Potter world that I feel the least confident writing, so I'm glad he was believable and that you thought he was written well. And thank you so much for the compliment about my writing! I'm still learning, but I'm doing my best :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by SiriusAura92Fallen Redemption: Azkaban

4th August 2013:
Hey,
This is a really nice intro to what sounds like could be a great story. Great pacing, nice focus on the emotions at the start.
Maybe could've done with some small explanation of what happened and what went wrong but I guess you'll most probably get to that in due course.

Really hope to see more of this story soon.

SiriusAura92
:)

Author's Response: Thanks! And yes, there will be more details in coming chapters about that. Glad I peaked your interest!

 Report Review

Review #25, by SiriusAura92The Honorable Slytherin: The Honorable Slytherin

20th July 2013:
Hey,
This is a really interesting concept. You could have done with a bit more detail in descriptions of characters, environments and just a bit more of his past (like why did he have to use an Unforgivable Curse- thats quite a big thing to do even if he is just pretending to fit in).

But I would be interested to see more of Manny. Like I said this is a pretty neat idea of character and I bet you could have some real fun coming up with some of the choices he'd have to make.
If you do, I suggest you start with a prequel and really build yourself a character.

Hope to see more! Defo keep it up
SiriusAura92 :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>