Reading Reviews From Member: Shindig
  
97 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ShindigClash: Sugarcoat

14th October 2012:
I thought I reviewed for this chapter before, but I guess I didn't send it. The first time I read it, this chapter had me sobbing. Sobbing, I tell you. I hope Freddy comes back. It was an upsetting chapter. I saw you'd won the dobby and I'm really, really happy for you. You deserve this so much, and I've been reading this story since I started reading hpff, like two years ago. I'm not sure how long ago, but this story wasn't very long. It at least draws for my favourite. Sometimes I actually use it as a reference for when my first personing when I'm having trouble with it. You are fantastic and I really hope you start to post another next gen monster novel after this one. Congratulations. You deserve it.
Shindig :D

 Report Review

Review #27, by ShindigNo Solid Ground: You've Got Something, Call It Anything Thing You Want

11th October 2012:
No! Agh she shouldn't lie!

 Report Review

Review #28, by ShindigSeer: V

11th October 2012:
GAH when is she going to tell him?

 Report Review

Review #29, by Shindig30 Days of You and Me: Town

9th October 2012:
GAH. Dripping scorpius. Agh. Delectable.
We do, you know, have ketchup over here. We aren't in the Middle Ages any more.
I liked the beginning bit when she hides behind him before saying she's there. The exploded bit reminds me of when I'm trying not to laughs and make unattractive snorting noises.
I think scorpius is supermegafoxyawesomehot.
I love him.
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Hi there! I didn't mean to say YOU didn't have ketchup. I meant to say SCORPIUS doesn't use ketchup. haha :) Thank you so much for the review! You definitely accurately described Scorp.

 Report Review

Review #30, by ShindigCheating the Bet: Here It Goes Again

2nd October 2012:
GAH CLIFFHANGER I AM SO SO SO ANNOYED RIGHT NOW! Gr.
Anyway. An otherwise brilliant chapter!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Haha. Thanks. I've been trying to write, but I've been really busy, so I warn you; this will take a while :( Sorry, but thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #31, by ShindigThe Sky Thief: The Sky Thief

27th September 2012:
I like it. It's sweet, and it isn't too cliched or fluffy. I really liked the end bit about it being a real ending. At first, I had a bit of trouble following the time skipping, though. Just a thought.
Shindig :D

 Report Review

Review #32, by ShindigIn The Black: Joining Up

23rd September 2012:
Wow! So, I started reading this story two hours ago, and I must say that you are fantastic! I'd definitely read an original fiction book by you. Your writing style is phenomenal and I really, really like your character development. Beth is so much like a person now, it's unbelievable. The only thing is, sometimes I find it a little difficult to read because the paragraphs are quite thick. Other than that, it's fantastic!

Author's Response: Hey! Okay, so you should know that this review absolutely and totally made my day -- thank you so much for leaving it. :) I can't believe you read so much in two hours, too! That takes commitment!

I'm so, so glad you're enjoying the story. ♥ And your comment on original fiction just... I am so, so, so flattered by that! I hear what you mean about thick paragraphs; that's something I'm trying to work on. But it's great to hear you're warming up to Beth so much!

This seriously made my entire month. Honestly. I cannot ever, ever thank you enough for this review! Hoping to hear from you very soon, and if you ever felt like continuing on, that would be fantastic, too!! :3 You're awesome!


 Report Review

Review #33, by ShindigBeing the Other Woman: Class Reunion

19th September 2012:
Wow. This is a brilliant start to this story. I love it! It's original and I really like your writing style.
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Awh, thank you Shindig ;D.

 Report Review

Review #34, by ShindigBreaking the Quidditch Code: A Complete and Utter Joke

18th September 2012:
Ehrmagerd. Oh my GAWD. MISTRESS. Like. Agg.
So. I'm not going to really comment so much on the chapter. I don't understand the end part really. But the rest was brilliant. In writing skills anyway. Everything else was upsetting. Agh. I don't mean it like that. It just was upsetting to see him getting crushed and denied. Like, if you remember my long ranty teen pregnancy review (that seems like forever ago, doesn't it) this was the reason I hated them. I mean, pregnancy is longer and you get the ruining of their lives over a longer period, but they can pick up after it. I know Ryan can and will. James had it all set out, so prepared, his future was solid since when he was very young. The thought of it when it hit him when mr Flynn told him he couldn't was really awful. It was. However, there was still a hope that there'd be a flaw in Flynn's plan, a problem, and it could be sorted out. Now, I do know you don't like the generic plot, but I sort of wanted that to happen. Also, when James is thinking about it, some of the most poignant points of when it actually happens are mentioned but not as sharp or painful. Yeah, I found the chapter when James collapses extremely upsetting. But this one sort of finished off the job. Like if someone you knew got a type of cancer with a 5 percent survival rate, you'd be devastated. After a while though, you'd realise that there was a chance that they'd make a comeback and survive, and it just had to because there had to be a happy ending. You keep your hopes very high up until you almost believe it's fact. This chapter was like when the person finally dies. All those far fetched hopes I depended on went out. Now, I'm not saying this affected me as much as someone dying, but it was a very eye opening chapter.
The fact that bink, a friend he hoped the best for but never really expected to get it unless he had as well, got it killed me. It really did. I don't know whether that or the fact that avery got it, the girl he was supposed to go with, devastates me. Him seeing his friends go where he wanted to be was so, so painful and so poignant. It completely dawned on me that James might not get his happy ending. It probably finished the job.
The lily thing. I'm not sure about it. I don't know whether you've set us up to believe he'll get it or if he actually will.
I get that you like twisting plotlines. It's fantastic and really original. It's enjoyable and not cliche. In writing this I've sort of ended the job myself. I can accept that James might not get it. The thing is, if he doesn't, I won't be able to read this story for a while. I can't deal with too much depression at once. So I'd let the sequel go on a while before i started to read it.
My imagination is running wild with things James might do if he doesn't get onto a team. If he doesn't, it is definite in my mind that his friendships with avery and bink would disintegrate. So, theres my opinion.
You did a phenomenal job on this chapter, Janice.
Tell Seth well done for getting this fantastic chapter dedicated to him as YOUR HUSBAND!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Whoa. Spacing, woman. This is a WALL OF TEXT.

The end part was foreshadowed, but will make complete sense at the beginning of the next chapter.

I definitely know what you mean about that shred of hope and the generic happy ending. I know people crave that, especially in fanfiction. But you know it's not real. That's not always how things work. But it does sometimes. I don't like to follow that path becuase in so many instances it creates a forgettable story. And I'm kind of conceited. I want people to remember my stories. To come back to them and reread them. And if I just had James get a letter because surprise - David Flynn was making it up - you'd be happy at the time but then look back and think... well, that was convenient. And lame.

The lily paragraph. That is EXACTLY what you should be thinking. I want you, as the reader, to wonder what I'm setting up. Am I setting up that James will find a way, or that he will find something else?

I want to bring much more reality into fanfiction. Too much of it you can see coming a mile away and I am well aware of the risks. Trust me. I get fewer reviews than a lot of other people simply for that reason. And that is a risk I am willing to take.

Thank you so much for the wall-of-text review! i hope you enjoy the rest of the story and its sequel!


 Report Review

Review #35, by ShindigThe Puzzling Prattlings of a Pulchritudinous Potions Professor: End With A Snape

16th September 2012:
This story is probably the funniest one I have ever read. Like, ever. It made me almost pee my pants. Ahahah so funny.
Shindig :D

 Report Review

Review #36, by ShindigTurning the Tables: Some Nights

15th September 2012:
I did like it. I mean, Id like to see more bailey/Corinne bonding time, and I want to see her and her mother interact. But her and james' relationship improved a lot this chapter and I just thought it was really good.
Shindig :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the chapter! As for the Bailey/Corinne and Mum/Corinne interaction that will be brought into play in the next chapter. But yes, you're right! Her and James did have a big improvement in their relationship :)

Thank you for reviewing!
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #37, by Shindig30 Days of You and Me: Fish

9th September 2012:
Wow.
Near nudity/gawking. Check.
Accidental straddling. Check.
Point where I actually laugh out loud (worm in the tree). Check.
Scorpo coolness and general sexbomb ness. Check.
Rose marries a fish. Check.
Rose somehow manages to heft a fish that in real life would weigh around forty pounds and slap scorpo with it. Check.
Mistress makes me hungry. Check.
Frustration with scorpo's complete lack of style sense. Check.
Hugo annoys me with his Annoyingness. Check.
Descriptions of having a friend who is far more attractive than you are making deep connections. check.
Scorpo's marriage jokes make me melt. Check.
Scorpo is gorgeous and snarky. Check.
I think that's it.
Hope you had a great wedding hun!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Look at all those things I fit into one chapter! Aren't you impressed?

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #38, by ShindigHonour Among Thieves: death, wolves and there isn't a plan

9th September 2012:
Oh. My. God. He DIED! YOU KILLED RICHIE! ugh. And LILY is a werewolf! Agg! NOT expecting that. Who killed him? I want to know who's alive! NEED TO KNOW. Update soon please!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: I know. I'm sorry :( The guy that killed Richie was the leader of the Fraternity, and the Upstairs Murderers identity is as yet unknown. :P

And yeah, Lily is a werewolf. Unexpected, huh? :P

Thanks so much for the review, I'll try to update soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #39, by ShindigBeing Summer: The One with Some ScoRose

7th September 2012:
OMG. I sort of realised she was probably preggo last chapter when she was ill and they were talking about it, but she CHEATED? With ANTONY GOLDSTEIN? AND THE PLOT THICKENS. DUN DUN DUNN. Ooohh and there's a chance of condom unbreaking! I was laughing after they broke up a little because after the initial shock and heart break, I started thinking 'The condom broke!' and it was funny. So. They're going on their date! Omg. And penny. Oh penny. You IDIOT. Why THE HELL would you get back with him? The pred bubble was going so well! Ugh. Can we have lots of JAMMER snogging next chapter? I miss the snogging. NEway (I am just so cool with my abbreviations) I lurved the chapter, Ellie.
Love,
Shindig :D

Author's Response: first off, sorry that the response for this took so long! i have no excuse for the amount of time everything is taking me. but it's half term now so i'm making sure that i catch up. yes, she cheated with jack's dad. summer's mum and dad were cheating at the same time without the other parent knowing. oh god, i've only just thought about it like that, and now i'm laughing like a mad person. yes, con and dom broke. it's a shame. and penny isn't back with kane, she's still with fred, because they're doing pretty well right now. ahaha, if you like the jammer snogging then i'm pretty sure you're going to enjoy the next chapter :D quite a big revelation in that one :) thank you so much for the review!

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #40, by ShindigClash: Lights

2nd September 2012:
Oh. My. God. I think I reviewed this halter already but I saw the new chapter and I had o read it again. And OMG HE'S EXPELLED AHAHAHHAHAHAGEYEKHRIARU
Shindig :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by ShindigJust Rose: Epilogue

27th August 2012:
SEQUEL? hajdkshdjdkrsisjhjsjah
Yes! Woo! I sort of hope Victiore finds someone.
So excitteedd agh!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: I'm so excited for the sequel!! I wasn't planning on it, but I decided I had so much more story left to tell and I wasn't quite ready to leave Rose behind just yet :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #42, by ShindigLove Rules: Love rule #15

26th August 2012:
AGH! why do you keep torturing me with tantalising Updates and THEN they aren't actually chapters? Why would you DO THIS TO ME?! WHAT HAVE I DONE TO YOU? *cue sobbing and general hysteria*
I love this story and I've been waiting for an update for AGEESSS. so please please update. I'm glad she's starting to get help.
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Ooooh I'm sorry, don't hate me!!

It's just, every time I reread the first few chapters of this story, I cringe and see ten ways to make it better. So I change things, fix spelling and grammar, generally annoy moderators and readers with continous updates... forgive me!

Love Rules will be the next of my stories to be updated with a new chapter, as soon as the latest chapter from another story is up :) thanks so much for being so dedicated to my story! I really appreciate it, and the review too.


 Report Review

Review #43, by ShindigPrinsass: May or May Not

26th August 2012:
Wow! Really liking this one! The idea is fantastic and I have to say, I love Lily's sass already. Maybe the Hermione nerdiness is overdone slightly, but I love the idea. Does she go to Hogwarts? How does she do magic?
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Haha, I've got a lot to work out. I'm glad you like it! Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by ShindigThe Time of Cupids: Walk of Shames and Dysfunctional Endings

22nd August 2012:
Holy cow. HOLY FREAKING COW, my friend.
HES IN LOVE WITH HER! And greyson is so lovely but I hate him cus he means jamoria doesn't happen. Never mind James, I am the confused one right now. I like greyson. AGH.
Can you update this one just as often? Please? Because I need to see what will happen. Now. Hdudhdisdhj.
How long will it be until they get together? Like in chapters? I can't wait! Holy hluffenschlaff.
Shindig :D

 Report Review

Review #45, by ShindigLemonade: On Honesty, Trains, and Pretty-Darn-Obvious Crushes (and James)

18th August 2012:
Ah I facepalmed so bad when she said "you had me at together". I honestly had to squeal with embarrassment for like a minute before I could continue. And I'm loving Sex-on-Legs Louis. I'm pretty sure at the moment I'm a Loumon shipper. This story makes me laugh like every two lines. And lily is one of my favourites. She makes me laugh more.
Shindig :D

Author's Response: haha wow no Jamon? you might be the first! :D thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #46, by ShindigHormones: Rings of Smoke

9th August 2012:
Holy cow, that was a funny chapter. I want to marry Freddie. I think thats about it.
Yep,
Shindig :D

Author's Response: I wouldn't psas up that opportunity, that's for sure! Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #47, by ShindigThe Potter Boys and the Enchantment of Redheads: Chapter Twenty Four: The Talk

9th August 2012:
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! you updated! Finally. And that was a great chapter. N'aww poor elaquay. But yes. Do you think you'll update more often?
Shindig :D

 Report Review

Review #48, by ShindigBeing Summer: The One at the Ice Skating Rink

5th August 2012:
Woot woot! JAMMER IS HAPPENING!
More snog scenes please! Thats about all I have to say. Fantastic chappie!

Shindig :D

Author's Response: YEPS, THEY ARE FINALLY GOING.
ahaha, erm... there might be some in the next chapters. not sure. depends if i write one :D thank you!

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #49, by ShindigModel Student.: Psychos, Greek Gods, and Evil Children.

3rd August 2012:
I like this story. It's interesting. Keep it up!
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Will do! :) Thanks

 Report Review

Review #50, by Shindig30 Days of You and Me: Trust

31st July 2012:
So, I reviewed an hour ago after seeing this new story updated and I thought I would give it a try. I was fascinated by the fact that the pure fluff had a base to it. It wasn't too fluffy, but enough shirtless scorpius for it to classify as a fluff. Now I check if you updated anything and realised you wrote it. So there you go. Amazing story. I really like the fluff so far.
Shindig :D

Author's Response: Haha! I'm glad you liked it. That's hilarious you read it without even knowing it was by me. Hope you like the rest of it!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>