Reading Reviews From Member: True Author
278 Reviews Found

Review #1, by True AuthorThe Lucky One: Madness

12th November 2015:
Hello! It's Ashwini with your review for the challenge! Sorry for being so late! I hope you'll understand. :)

Wow, this was certainly very surprising. When you picked the lyrics and the character a different plot had popped into my mind and I was quite sure you were going to write exactly the thing I had on my mind. But it was refreshing to read something so unexpected and so good! I loved it!

Now coming to think of it, it had never really occurred to me that Luna would have a taste of fame too after the war. If you think of it, Luna has the potential to be quite popular with her quirky personality and attitude. Well done with the plot!

I think you captured the dark side of being famous perfectly. It seems like a dream to most of us, but of course being well known is not as great and fun as it seems. It can get a little irritating sometimes and I can understand what she was going through in this story. You did an amazing job with describing her feelings. They were real and vivid.

The lyrics! Aren't they beautiful? This song is one of my favorites from Taylor and the words are simply outstanding. "Everybody loves pretty everybody loves cool" was my favorite lyric from the fifty lyrics I picked for the quote challenge and I think you have done a wonderful job with it.

So overall, I simply loved this story! It's beautiful and I can easily sympathize with Luna. You have managed to get under her skin perfectly. I feel too bad for her. What happened to her was too terrific and made me think about how we often discuss such "scandals" about different celebrities in real life too. Quite an original story! Amazing!

Ashwini :D

PS- Sorry for being late again! I hope my little review makes up for it! Bye!

 Report Review

Review #2, by True AuthorTaming the Dragon Tamer: [one]

5th May 2015:
Hi there! Here for our review swap! :)

First of all, I'm terribly sorry for leaving this review so late. My schedule is kind of hectic at the moment and although I did think I have time to leave a couple of reviews, an unexpected test came my way. I hope you understand!

Well, I'm still not really comfortable with LGBTQA genre as I reside in a country that is entirely too traditional and conservative. But I've loved some of the stories here and I like yours as well. I loved both Charlie and Christopher here and I can't wait to know what happens next.

Also, Christopher sounds like a completely unique character not only because he is a man on a wheelchair but also because his nature sounds quite original as well. :)

It was a good start!


Author's Response: Hi!
First of all, I really wanted to apologize. I realize now that my review to your story might have come across much much harsher than I intended it to. I'm really sorry and I enjoyed reading it.

Thank you for the lovely review here. I didn't even think about cultural differences making people uncomfortable with certain topics, and I'm glad you helped me realize that this is still an issue.
I guess it really depends on how you grow up, but I'm so grateful that you still found kind words for a story that goes against your background and is way out of your comfort zone.

Thank you so much

 Report Review

Review #3, by True AuthorFounders Four: Pillars of the Ages: Chapter one: The Beginning

1st May 2015:
Here for the swap! :)

First of all, I must say that you have a great potential as a writer. Your writing style is unique and your descriptions are pretty well too. I hope you keep practicing and you can definitely get a lot better!

This is the first Founders fic I am reading since like forever. I have read a few one shots but this is probably the first multi chaptered fic. Well, I'm not familiar at all what the old England was like so I don't relate to Founders era all that much, but your story is pretty understandable and easier to understand for me than the other few fics.

This definitely wasn't the Salazar Slytherin we all imagine and I would like to congratulate you for that. You're breaking stereotypes here and I think you should continue doing that. :D

Great story overall!


Author's Response: Happy to see what I went for worked, getting rid of the stereotypes was one reason I started this, and you should definitely read more of these. I find this era fascinating.

Thank you for the review. :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by True AuthorBruises: Terror

20th April 2015:
Hey Kaitlin! I'm here for our review swap!

I'm terribly sorry for not reviewing this story for so long. I did have some free time that day but unfortunately I had some college stuff to catch up with. RL is quite busy lately. I hope you understand!

Oh. Wow. I mean your story has really left me speechless. I have no idea what I'm going to write in this review. Just wow. I'm shocked. How can someone do this to their daughter for God's sake! That's too horrible!

You totally deserve a round of applause for writing this one shot. It was so so beautiful and effective that I'm in kind of a daze. I think the way you wrote this in the format of different days did the trick. I was assuming all along that Caroline must have met some accident and then by the end I was just blown up!

I think this is an amazing take on how the Muggle world sees the magical world. I sort of knew that some parents wouldn't have been happy to let their kids go to Hogwarts or any magic school actually. But I hadn't considered it to be this awful. Now I find this extremely believable.

Please please write a sequel to this! Or do you already have it up? If so I'm going to check on your AP. If not, please write one! And if you ever do don't forget to shoot me a PM. I'll be the first person to review. ;)

But seriously. I'm in love with you. And your story. Really great job, Kaitlin!


Author's Response: Hey Ashwini,

No worries on the time frame. I understand that real life doesn't always allow us the time we want.

The concept of what happens in this story is pretty horrifying, but it is something that has happened in history. Ice pick lobotomies were used to treat things that were viewed as personality disorders in fairly recent history. For example, if a woman was too outspoken or a child too problematic. Sadly, this type of stuff happened on more than one occasion.

Thank you so much for such kind words. I'm glad that the story worked for you.

I think as with almost anything, the reactions to magic would be incredibly varied. I'm sure there are people that would view it as devilry or something bad.

I have been asked if I plan to write a sequel to this or not and the honest answer is that I don't know. This one was a pretty draining story to write and I don't know if I could do a follow up justice. If I do happen to write one, I will be sure to let you know though.

Thanks for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by True AuthorOh My Darling: 1

10th April 2015:
Hi there! :)

Hmm, this seems like an interesting start! I have no idea what this story is going to be about as you haven't revealed much here in the first chapter, but I actually like it. I personally like to keep the plot secret as long as I can ;) so I think you did a good job here. This was a mere introduction to your protagonist and I liked that. :D Clem seems like a deep and thoughtful character (just like a Ravenclaw!) and I can't wait to see where you take her!

As for Albus, this is a fresh take on him. Usually James is a casinova and Albus is the good guy, so I'm glad you're trying out something new here. :D I assume this is going to be a romance between Clem and Albus from your summary and I'm VERY curious about how you're going to bring such opposing characters together in a story.

Your title and summary are pretty interesting. I hope you update soon! I'll try my best to return when you do. :)

Good luck!


Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!
True, there wasn't too much plot revealed, but I really wanted to first chapter to set up some of our principle characters. I want people reading this to feel like they know Clementine (and later Albus) well. She's is a pretty stereotypical Ravenclaw, but hopefully that will change as the story goes on.
I'm so glad you liked Albus! I wanted him to be different from the way I read him most of the time. When I first started this story, he was more of the quiet, nice guy, but in the end I decided to take him in a different direction. Not that he isn't nice, he just has a bit of a reputation for partying.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! Thank you for the review!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by True Authornotes on freefalling.: sunbeams

8th March 2015:
Hi there!

Whoa, this story was quite... foreign to me. Though I'm not against it or anything but I've never read an LGBTQA story before, so this was the first time I did it. But anyways, this was certainly a good piece of writing! :)

Hmm, I never really imagined Draco and Astoria having a perfect married life either. I always thought they would get divorced at some point or I thought their marriage was more like a compromise. So this story made sense to me.

I liked both Parvati and Astoria here. They're both unique, have their similarities and differences, and they were kind of cute together.

Oh and your writing was so nice! It was all warm and sunny ;) lol does that even make sense? Just know that I loved it!

Great job! Maybe I should start reading LGBTQA after all. :D


Author's Response: hi ashwini! wow, i can't believe you've never read an lgbtqa story before! the idea of THAT is so foreign to me, ahaha, i've been reading and writing them since i was like eleven! well i'm very happy to be your introduction to the genre ;)

i've honestly not thought much about astoria before i wrote this story. i often pictured her and draco in an unhappy marriage, probably an arranged marriage, but i usually figured they'd stay together in that old fashioned sort of way even though they weren't too happy. really i've only thought of her as a mother to teenage scorpius before this, so writing her so young and completely different to my usual picture of her was so much fun!

i'm glad you liked parvati and astoria together! i really don't think i can ship them with anyone else after writing this, haha.

thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #7, by True AuthorPainful Bliss: Prologue: Beginnings

7th March 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!

Oh, I think I have seen you around a while ago! I even think I have been through some of your stories. But I'm really not sure.

Anyways, I loved this! I have never read Draco/Astoria before, but I think this was quite intriguing. Your version of Astoria is very refreshing and nice to read. I like that you mentioned her flaws right away instead of painting a picture of perfection. That's really smart of you. I like that he found her interesting in spite of her flaws and imperfections. :)

Wow, your writing style is absolutely stunning! It matches well with the mood of your story and it is very very vivid. And the line- "A girl that giggles is afraid to reveal her real smile" was so powerful that it made me think for a moment or too. I LOVED it. I always wondered why giggly girls sound so fake and probably this was the ultimate answer. ;)

I'm intrigued! I'll definitely be back for more!


Author's Response: Hello! Thanks for stopping by.

Yes you probably have. I'm reposting old stories but this story I never actually posted the entire thing so it's fun to see the responses from old and new readers.

No one is perfect. I wanted to show that right away. I'm sure Astoria doesn't think Draco is perfect but we don't get her point of view. I've been on plenty of first dates (well not plenty) and it's like you're examining the person. I do it anyway and you're looking for little ticks and little scars here and there. You check out their body language and try to decide if it meshes with yours. So Draco notices and accepts her flaws. It's not a big deal to him anyway. It shouldn't be.

I'm glad you liked my style. I get mixed reviews for the prologue because it switches different tenses but it's supposed to be like that. I have my reasons! So it's always nice when people like it right off the bat.

I can say the next chapter their relationship changes completely. Don't throw any tomatoes at me if you read on! Haha!

Thanks for the great review.

 Report Review

Review #8, by True Author(4) States of Matter: Weary Heart of Mines

27th February 2015:
I'm so happy to see another chapter up! I remember reading the first one a while ago and you really got me hooked. :)

Wow, the first part was so beautifully written. I especially love the last part where she is at Snape's place. But I loved the second part as well. It was VERY intriguing and the Jily fluff caused butterflies in my stomach. :D So cute! I'm always torn between Jily and Snily so I'll just say I loved both here!

Hmm. I still cannot guess what is happening. Why these people are targeted? Who is doing all this? Is this the first time James and Lily saved themselves from Voldemort? I don't know! There are lots of guesses. Now that Remus and Sirius are (probably) trapped, I'm pretty sure things are going to be more interesting.

Great job so far! I'll try to stop by once you post another chapter! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by True AuthorBirthday Gift: Birthday Gift

13th February 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap! :D

I know you would rather have a review on your new
stuff, but I'm not comfortable with slash and I
had already reviewed Grief and Love. I hope you
don't mind! :)

Haha, I loved this! I kind of knew that this was
what Rowling was hinting at but it was never
confirmed of course. But you have managed to
capture Ginny's state of mind perfectly. I was
feeling kind of bad for her from the beginning
because I knew that Ron was going to open the
door. :P Poor Ginny! But anyways, her emotions
were very well written and sweet.

The descriptions of their kiss were sooo
beautiful! Aah! Hinny feels! ;)

Great job overall!


Author's Response: Hi! Don't worry, I love getting reviews on any story!

Thanks for this review swap! I'm glad you like this scene. It's one of my favourite moments in DH. I would love if Harry's and Ginny's relationship were a bigger part of the books, so I love missing moments and such with H/G.

 Report Review

Review #10, by True AuthorA Single Point In Time: 1981

10th February 2015:

This is definitely an interesting concept for a story. I'm really glad I came across this story as I'm always looking for such original ideas and fresh concepts. :D You have great potential, I hope you do your best with this story! :)

Dumbledore! I like how this starts with him, just like the books. He's basically the most vital character for this story now that I think about it. Everything that happened during the period you have chosen was literally one or another part of his plan. So you beginning the story with him makes perfect sense to me.

It was very wise of you to make this a short chapter. I have a feeling that if this chapter would have been more descriptive it might have seemed a little boring. This was to the point and really good.

I absolutely LOVE the ending sentence! OMG I'm getting all the Snily feels. :S Please please please write a chapter from Snape's PoV (and add lots of Lily feelings into it). :P

Great job so far! I'll be sure to come back for the next chapter. :)


Author's Response: Heya!

Thank you so much for the review! I'm really relieved you liked Dumbledore because I was so nervous when I was writing him. For some reason it feels like such a big deal if I get him wrong! And I'm also really glad you liked the length. I like it too and I agree that if I carried it on it would just get quite dull. And besides, I'd sort of said all I wanted to say for him. There's not a lot that Dumbledore can change at this point, after all.

Ahh! The last line! Thank you! I felt so sad when writing it, it makes me think of that scene in DHp2 where Alan Rickman just totally tears my heart out of my chest ugh D'; writing a scene from his POV is actually such a good idea and I hadn't thought of it! Thank you! I'll make sure I do! :D

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #11, by True AuthorChai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Zebras, and a Surprise

9th February 2015:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap! I'm so so sorry for leaving this review so late, but I had to go out of town urgently. :( I hope you understand! Real life likes to play evil sometimes. :(

Anyways, now onto the review.

I only just realised that this one shot has a prequel! This one did make sense to me, but I'll be sure to check the other one when I have some more time. :)

Aah, chai! I simply cannot spend a day without it. And I'm pretty sure that I'm no exception. We Indians literally live for chai. ;) And reading this is making me want to go and make a cup of it right now. Huh. Maybe I will!

Aww, Neville and Hannah were so cute together! I would really love to know when and how they will realize that they are in love with each other. :) They seem to make a really good couple as they understand each other so well and know so much about one another.

Your take on Hannah was very refreshing and new. She is always assumed to be a quiet and shy girl somehow, but I don't think she was like that. We just didn't get to know her very well during the books. So I liked that you've done something different. I loved her characterization here. Also, your Neville was just our dear old Neville from the books, but even though he was the same, he was more mature too. Great job with that!

Your descriptions are seriously good. I literally could picture it all happening. Writers are always told to 'show not tell' and I think this one shot was a good example of it. Amazing!

This was a great read! Now let me go and make myself some chai. ;) Thanks for swapping! It was fun! And again sorry for the wait.


Author's Response: That's alright. Real life comes first :)

There's four of them in the series, but I want each of them to be able to be read separately. I'm pleased that it made sense without you needing to read the first one.

Chai is life. It is the blood that runs in my veins. Along with cricket. And yes, drink all the tea!

There are two more stories in the series, so there's heaps of Hannah and Neville cuteness. Those two tell stories later on in their relationship. And I'm glad that they seem to make a good couple. Chemistry can be a little difficult sometimes when two characters get along as well as these two.

I wanted to add a little dimensionality to Hannah so that she could stand as a character without the need for Neville. I'm glad you liked it! And if Neville reads as canon that's all I really need!

My descriptions were good? OMG. This is amazing. I'm going to remember this review forever. I'm terrible with descriptions, so this means a lot.

Thank you for the lovely review :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by True AuthorCold Blood: It begins with pink

30th January 2015:
A murder mystery! I wouldn't have looked at any of your other stories even if you hadn't told me you wanted this one to be reviewed anyways. I absolutely love mysteries! Writing them can get a little boring because of the intricate planning required, but reading them is simply fun!

Anyways, this chapter was pretty intriguing. Especially because the victim is Umbridge. I mean, usually in murder mysteries the victim is so good that no one would want to kill them. But here, it's Umbridge and who wouldn't want to kill her? Even I'm kind of glad she's killed ;) Haha, so that's what I liked about it. There are so many that you can blame. That will surely help with keeping the readers hooked.

Wow, you really know how to write in second person PoV. I'm trying it for a one shot and it gets very difficult sometimes. I hope I'll be able to do it right!

Hmm. Lone black hair? Interesting! I'm thinking about all the dark haired characters from the series. I want to know who did that! The person who did it seems very cool with killing people off. I can't help but think the murderer seemed a lot like Bellatrix to me. Playing with people before killing them off. I wonder if that's possible. Probably not! :P But that's the only one I can think of right now.

I would definitely love to read a little bit more about Harry and Ginny's married life. Is it possible for you to extend the scene in this chapter a little bit? I think it will be a nice relief from the scariness of the first scene and it will be rather cute to read. :)

Overall, I did find it interesting. I'd love to come back for more! Thanks for swapping!


 Report Review

Review #13, by True AuthorLegacy: Legacy

29th January 2015:
Can I say that this was one of the sweetest things that have ever happened to me? :D

I'm so sorry for not reviewing this before! I saw your post for me last night only.

Wow, I wanted to read this for so long! The Founders era is somewhat a mystery as there isn't much revealed about the four of them in the books so I always find it fascinating. I used to think about this plot a lot and I even tried writing this but it turned out to be kind of terrible because I hardly know anything about what life was like at that time in England. But I'm just glad I decided to suggest it to you! You did justice to the plot I must say. So much better than what I would have written. :D

I loved your characterization here. Especially I find Helga very believable. I always imagined Helga to be just like this. Caring, thoughtful and constantly doubting herself. Also her and her husband's natures compliment each other very well and their interactions were so sweet! I loved them together!

I'm glad you chose Helga to be the last one of them to remain. I don't think any of the others would have thought so much about this. But this plot goes well with Helga's character. I love it!

The title is so great! It's kind of made for this story, don't you think so? It suits perfectly. And I was very touched by the closing scene. It was so beautiful that she died in the arms of her loving husband. :'( So amazing! I feel too bad for him though. They really did love each other.

I also liked that the one who will keep their legacy safe is not Helga's daughter or son. That would have been quite boring. But this makes a lot more sense. You crafted Aeres well and she does seem like a good person to be trusted with Hogwarts.

So basically, this was pretty awesome! I got to read something I've been looking for a while and I still can't believe you did this for me. Thank you so much!


Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!

Aw, I'm so happy that you liked this and that you don't think I completely butchered your idea - it was such a great plot and I was terrified that you were going to hate this completely. But I'm glad I didn't ruin it for you! (Although I'm sure your story would be amazing!)

I love the Founders era too! I haven't read or written a lot about them, and although I know a bit about that time in general from our history lessons at school, but I really like trying to include little details to enrich these stories so it's closer to the time.

When I was trying to decide which of the Founders would be the last one to remain, Helga was the one I chose almost instantly. I've written about Godric and I couldn't imagine Rowena making such great decisions after her daughter left, so I felt like Helga was the one to make sure that their legacy was continued. And I'm so pleased that you liked their characterisation!

I couldn't decide on the title at first, but within a few paragraphs of starting to write the story it was settled on. I couldn't think of anything that fit better - I'm really glad you like it too! I love her husband too, I really felt like Helga deserved someone as sweet and loving as Owain.

I didn't think that it would be handed down to one of Helga's children - I feel like if it had been, the decision would have been so much easier and she wouldn't have worried over it as much. I'm pleased you liked Aeres as the person who takes over!

Thank you so much for this fantastic review, Ashwini! It really means so much to me that you liked this story, thank you again for suggesting the idea! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by True AuthorVictoire: The Guard

29th January 2015:
Hi there! :D

Whoa, so mysterious! I cannot breathe! I simply love reading this type of stories and this is certainly an interesting one. I'm literally forcing myself to type this review instead of going to read the next chapter. Unfortunately, I have some other reviews pending and I also have to respond to the lovely review you left me, but I'll definitely come back for more soon. :D

I cannot believe Ron did that to Cormac. Did he really do that or is it just a misunderstanding? I don't know what to think! Also the scene was terrible. In a good way of course! It sent chills down my spine. Especially when Greyback laughed. Creepy. :O

It does make sense that Greyback's death means so much to Teddy and Victoire. I totally sympathise with them. :(

I LOVE that they say "Tom Riddle" now instead of Voldemort or You-Know-Who. That's something our golden trio would definitely try to do isn't it? I simply loved it. Nice detail!

Omg why is that girl screaming? What does it have to do with Greyback's death? Looks like I'll just have to be patient and come back for chapter two ASAP!

Great job so far! It was fun swapping with you!


Author's Response: Hello!

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading.

The Ron/Cormac dynamic is supposed to be a combination of Ron being a bit stroppy and childish, and Cormac being an unreliable narrator who sees what he wants to see. Cormac wants to think that he's on guard duty because of a grudge rather than because it's what he's suited to do. But it's not an important factor in the story, and it's something I'm contemplating editing because lots of people have questioned it.

And yay! Creepy is definitely good.

I thought the 'Tom Riddle' thing would be a really good development in wizarding society, and is definitely something the trio would push for. They want people to understand that Voldemort was only human.

Thank you so much for the swap and for the lovely review!

Emma x

 Report Review

Review #15, by True AuthorGrief and Love: Grief and Love

21st January 2015:
Can I just say that this story is simply amazing? :D

Because it is! It was all just so beautifully written and it's so believable. Just wow. I really loved everything about this story. I could almost feel the sudden calmness after such a long and exhausted war. The effects of the fighting and the almost unexpected victory were perfectly captured. I especially liked that everyone was sleeping and crying. That was needed, I understand it. :( I liked that you didn't make them too happy or too grieving.

Oh my, my, why would you do this to me? I absolutely CANNOT handle that George accidentally said "We saw that coming." THIS MAKES ME CRY. I WANNA CRY. OMG WHY DID FRED HAVE TO DIE. I'M SUCH A MESS OF FEELINGS RIGHT NOW.

Excuse me. :P I just love them too much to bear to see them apart.

Anyhow, I love love love the sweet moments between Ron/Hermione and Harry/Ginny. Gah, so cute! :S :D I especially liked how Ron and Hermione were as a new couple. Uhh. Too cute.

But you know what the best part is? It all made sense. I can see this all happening right after the chapter before the epilogue. It was that canon. Great job with that! :D

This was really good! I had fun swapping with you!


Author's Response: Thanks for a lovely review! I'm glad that you liked this one shot! It was my very first fic. :-)

 Report Review

Review #16, by True Author(4) States of Matter: Lights Out

17th January 2015:
Hello there! Here for our review swap!

Let me get started by apologizing for the wait. Real life is kind of busy at the moment. I hope you understand! :)

Wow, this sounds super interesting. I'm already guessing what might have happened and I just can't figure out where this plot will be heading. So basically, great job with the suspense! I'm already hooked which is very important for a mystery story. And especially for the first chapter.

Oh Jily! I'm really looking forward to some VERY sweet and hilariously fluffy interactions between the two. I loved how Lily is feeling 'comfortable' and her thoughts about him are perfectly written. I also loved how Sirius thought that 'Prongs must be over the moon.' It was such a nice little detail! It showed how much James really is into Lily and how Sirius knows basically everything about it. It says a lot about James's feelings and his friendship with Sirius.

You also have some great dialogue here. The first part of the Remus-Sirius conversation was very wisely written. The friends were completely themselves. I loved it!

I can't wait to find out what is going on in there! Let me know when you update this. Maybe we will do another review swap?

Great job so far!


Author's Response: Hey, Ashwini!

No, of course! RL definitely got in the way of me updating another chapter. Pesky thing.

I'm going to be honest. I literally have no idea. I'm making it up as I go along and writing eventual points I want to hit sometimes along the story. So you probably have more idea than I do!

There will definitely be fluff! I love my fluff, but I also love my dark angsty pain so I'll try to blanace it off. You don't know how happy I feel reading this lovely concise review ok I'm smiling too hard.

It's so nice to hear you say that about the dialogue! I definitely struggle there.

Will be sure to do so!

♥ ♥ ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by True AuthorForty Percent: Forty Percent

12th January 2015:
Hello there! :)

I liked how you have used the prompt you had been giving here. For some unknown reason, I always get scared when I think about writing a pregnant character (which I have never done) so I kind of like it when other people do it and do it well. It is way too difficult to understand and write about the mindset of a pregnant woman so I really love that you chose to do it and did it so well. :)

Your characterization was never out of place. Harry and Ginny seemed completely themselves even though we have never read about this kind of situation happening to them during the books. The topic was too sensitive and you handled it in a great way without harming the characters. Great job with that really!

I would just love to see some more description to this. A few more words wouldn't damage the short sweetness of this one-shot and would make it a lot better I think. Just add a few more descriptive lines between the dialogues of the argument. Describe their body languages and try to reflect their current state of mind through those descriptions. This will add a good emotional quotient to everything and it will be even more touching to the reader. Hope this made sense! I just wanted to help out a little. Sorry if I sounded harsh or something!

This was definitely a nice read! Thanks for the review swap and let me know if you're interested in doing another one. I'd love to do so!


Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for reading my story! :) I really appreciate your kind words. I have never written a pregnant character before, and I have never been pregnant myself, so it was a bit of a challenge for me. I'm glad you liked the way I wrote Ginny!

Wow, what a compliment! It means so much to me that you say my writing matches the characters in the books. Thank you :)

I totally understand the call for more description. Lately I have been experimenting with writing for visual mediums (plays, screenplays), so I get that comment a lot. I'm trying to hone both sets of skills, so I guess I need to focus a bit more on details and descriptions when I'm writing for prose. Thank you!

Thanks for the swap! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by True AuthorUpping The Ante: The Bouncing Properties of Dimes

12th January 2015:
Hello there! :)

I had been planning to read this story for a while so when I saw this on your Author's Page I took the chance and decided to give it a go. I really like your title- it's quirky, interesting and it kind of made me want to read this story. And can I say that your banner is absolutely gorgeous? :D

This was definitely an enjoyable read. I loved the fun, normal and cheery kind of atmosphere in which this story is set. I could clearly imagine it all happening easily. Your descriptions were really great, never too much and never too less.

Great characterization so far! Alexandra is a likable narrator. She seems strong and sweet at the same time, which is different in a good way. I also kind of loved Charlie. She's so unique! I can see myself liking her a lot more in the future chapters. :)

Whoa, I'm curious about the romance factor in this story now! Is this story about the Alex duo? But then I'm also seeing some Alexandra/Sirius sniff coming. I'm intrigued! It was genius of you not to give out the pairing just yet. It's making me want to read the next chapter which I surely will!

It was also quite hilarious. I loved the color changing beard idea. Good one! I wonder if I am going to see any James/Lily in this story. I know this is Alexandra's story, but I never fail to fall in love with Jily. They are so adorable!

Will be back for more! This was a fun swap, maybe we should do another one? Let me know if you want to!

Ashwini :)

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!

Thank you for this absolutely wonderful review!

Lo ♥

 Report Review

Review #19, by True AuthorDo you believe in love?: She was beautiful, and he was a goner.

9th January 2015:
Aww, this was so cute! :S I'm always hungry for fluffy Jily stories and whenever I find one like this, it just literally makes my day. And so did this one. :D I just can't help but feel butterflies in my stomach right now!

Anyways. Now to the review.

Your versions of James and Lily were kind of different from what I have read so far. But you know what? I think it was a great touch. It was very refreshing and new. I just loved it. :)

I like how you set this up on one question. And that too- "Do you believe in love?" So romantic!! I'm not a big fan of fluff and romance actually, but when it comes to Jily I make all sort of weird stuff about it. Like actually reading fluff which I don't like much. Because Jily and fluff are ONE. ;)

Great read!


Author's Response: Thankyou very very very much your support and encouragement is what keeps me writting on here and it means the world to me! have a BEAUTIFUL day, i love you very much xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by True AuthorMortality: Mortality

9th January 2015:
Oh god, this was one of the most heartbreaking stuff I have read recently. You literally made me cry, Curie! AND you made me want to write a story about Arthur and Molly right away. Uhh.

But seriously. This was truly beautiful. So thick with emotion and so true! This one-shot totally blew me away. You know it's a lot different that your old stuff. I'm surprised that you wrote such a sad and tragic one-shot AND you wrote it with so much beauty. I love you for that! You stepped out of your comfort zone with so greatly. :) You go girl!

The descriptions were so gorgeous. It was like you were painting a picture in front of me. Your writing style has somehow changed and I'm just loving the new one.

I loved how the son who came to take her back was Ron. I don't know why, but I really found it touching and it felt like you did it on purpose. Like you did it for a deeper meaning or something. Probably it was just a coincidence, but that's what I think!

Great job, dear! Love ya!

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by True AuthorGravity Happens: radiance

26th December 2014:
Oh my God, this is so not fair!! You gave me ALL the Jily feels I didn't even know I had!!! :S Now I want to jump around imagining them together in Hogsmeade and I', GRINNING right now and my roommate thinks I'm crazy. Huh.

Jokes apart, but I DID love this so much. :D James and Lily are one of my most favorite ships from Harry Potter and only because I love them like this I don't ship Snape/Lily.

You did such a great job in describing every moment, practically every moment from both of their PoV that it feels real to me. Perhaps that's because Lily's point of view seemed completely hers and James's was no ones but his. The characterization was lovely and I loved the way you highlighted the similarity between their feelings but the differeneces in the ways they think about them.

I also liked that you didn't end this one-shot with their first kiss. That would have been quite typical. But this ending is just too cute for me to handle. And I love it.

Definitely the best read of today or maybe of ever!

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by True AuthorTwo: A Perfect Blend: Blended Christmas

20th December 2014:
Hello Carla! I know I'm reviewing one of your old stuff, but I have already reviewed Seven and Fall. And also, I just adore ScoRose! :)

I like how you have showed the contrast between Rose's and Scorpius's Christmas in the first two parts. The first part was so happy, warm and beautiful that it made me feel kind of pleasant. And then reading about Scorpius's Christmas was like entering a cold place all of a sudden. You did a great job with that! And it makes me kind of sad. :(

I love that you slipped in that James sneaked the Marauder's map out of Harry's desk. It gave a nice touch of canon to the whole plot. Well done!

Poor Scorpius! He must have enjoyed Christmas actually for the first time in his entire life. I feel too bad for him.

Oh God the ending!! It gave me ALL the feels. :S I love love love that she took him to The Burrow and I hope they don't have a quieter Christmas but rather a lively and happy Christmas at The Burrow. ;) I think a sequel would be a great idea!

Merry Christmas!


Author's Response: Hi, Ashwini.. First off, thanks for all your reviews. :D I am so sorry it took me so long to respond. But know that I love you! :)

Anyway, I don't mind at all that you're reviewing Two. It's one of those stories that I love and I think it's just so much to read and write Christmas.I'm glad you like the way I've written about their Christmases. I've personally had experience with both of the Christmases I've portrayed so the story is near and dear my heart. :)

Mhm, yes! I love sneaking in little bits of canon because of all the love and respect I have for JK. She rocks all my socks. :D

I'm glad you had feels at the ending. It's what I really wanted. It was clear to me that Scorpius was going to get a BURROW Christmas and, no, I think that's what they're going to keep doing till forever and ever. :D I didn't write a sequel but I wrote a SORT OF? prequel. It happens in the same universe anyway. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by True Authorfall.: fall.

22nd November 2014:
Hello Carla! I'm here for our review swap! :)

Wow, such a beautiful story! I could almost feel all the leaves falling around me while I read this. You have described the season with great ease and the way you asociated the season with Teddy and Rose's story was also great. It nearly brought me to tears and made me feel sorry for the two of them.

I liked that you kept us guessing who these two people are. It was a good choice not to begin the story with their names. And the way you revealed that it was Teddy, saying that his eyes turned into some different color was very very innovative and effective.

Teddy and Rose! Such a fresh ship. I read it for the first time as I usually prefer Rose and Scorpius but I liked it. It was strangely believable and made sense to me. Good job with that!

I know you said that the blank spaces are because of the text editor, but I think they make this kind of effective. They go along well with this story, at least I think that! I'll advise you not to edit them out. :)

Overall, this was a fresh, sad, romantic and beautifully described story! I like the idea of asociating seasons with genres. I might enter the challenge myself it it is still on the forums or otherwise I'll make sure I read all the entries. :)

Great job! It was fun swapping with you! I hope we do more swaps in the future. :D


Author's Response: Hi, Ashwini!

First off, sorry it took such a long time to reply to this review. *hangs head in shame*

I'm glad the sensory details of the story worked for you. It was as I had hoped -- the feel of leaves falling around me has always been one of life's top experiences and I wanted to bring that into my story.

While I am sorry that I nearly made you cry I have to be honest and say that I am happy that it did because, OMG, that's exactly what I wanted people to feel. These two characters, I feel so sorry for them and what I did to them and I wanted others to sympathize with them on that score. And since you mentioned that you did, it made me happy since I feel I accomplished my goal.

I've not edited out most of the blank spaces (frankly, I'm fed up trying to deal with them so ugh.) Glad you say they work though!

Super fun swapping! So sorry, again, that it took me so long to respond


 Report Review

Review #24, by True AuthorSeven: 7:00 AM

19th November 2014:
Hi there! :)

First of all, even though it's very random, I just have to say that you make EXTREMELY GORGEOUS banners. You really do! I've seen your work over at the Dark Arts and I've always loved it. Especially your banners. You have a unique and beautiful style. I'm thinking about requesting one from you in the future! :)

Okay. Now on the review.

This story was completely new for me I must say! I usually don't read non-canon ships, especially the strange ones like Severus/Hermione, but this story seemed interesting and it's always okay to try something new once in a while. So I decided to give this a go, and I'm glad I did!

I like your overall concept of this story. I'm curious to see how you write all the chapters revolving around number seven. I liked the first chapter so far and it seems like the rest of them would be quite good too. I'll surely come back for more. :)

Whoa, this ship is really very new to me. I've never even read Draco/Hermione stories as I love Ron/Hermione and I never read Snape/OC too, let alone Snape/Hermione. I've liked just one Snape/OC trilogy in the past, but this was also interesting and great. :) It did make me uncomfortable ;) but your writing style is good.

And you are writing this story for NaNo? Great! I know how hard this NaNo thing is as I'm currently struggling with it too, but I hope you complete this novel and win NaNo!

Great job and good luck!


Author's Response: Hi, Ashwini! :)

Thank you! :) I love love love making graphics (banners in particular.) I am glad you love my style and I am always free for requests although I would sometimes have one I'm currently doing.

Lols. Yes. Thank you.

Oooh, I am sorry? that I made you read a non-canon pairing. I will be honest and admit that I LOVE LOVE LOVE non-canon pairings and Snamiones, in particular, have been intensely fascinating for me. :) And I'm glad you tried something new! I love trying new things.

The number seven. Yes, well, that was the idea when I was doing NaNo and, now, in retrospect I think that I might have just been grasping at straws. Who knows, lol. In any case I will just swing with it although I am a horrible updater. HAHA.

No Dramione? WOW. I love Dramione. -inserteyerollhere- HAHAHA, prolly obvious since I mentioned I love noncanons. HAHA. I can imagine how it would make you feel uncomfy. I'm glad you think the style is good though. I doubt the other chapters will live up to it but at least chapter 1 is ok. haha

I didn't finish the novel, sadly. (might reach 80k words) but I did finish NaNo so there's some good news. Hope you did too!

Thanks again, dove.


 Report Review

Review #25, by True AuthorMisappropriated: Misappropriated

19th November 2014:
Hi there! :)

Honestly, you have a wonderful banner. It kind of drew me here to read this story even though it was kind of long. I don't usually read stories so long, but this time I did, and I truly don't regret it!

Aah, Remus Lupin! I just literally love him as a character. He's one of the most interesting characters JKR created in the series. Even in the third book, when we didn't know much about him, I kept wondering about his past. He seemed like a deep and interesting character even back then. I think you really do understand him and you have done a great job here with his characterization. He seems real and canon.

I don't know why, but I don't really believe Remus going and telling Dumbledore his theory about Peter being the one to betray James and Lily. Lupin confessed in Prisoner of Azkaban that he didn't tell Dumbledore that Sirius was an unregistered animagi. And I also don't think that he will suspect Peter as they were best friends too. So I'll suggest that you should keep the part where Remus meets Dumbledore, but just don't make Remus take Peter's name and telling that they were animagi. The rest of it sounds good. Because if Dumbledore knew Sirius was a dog, he would have made his staff and maybe even aurors to look for a big black dog in the neighbourhood.

But it's just my opinion! Otherwise this seemed like a nice new take on canon and would make a great AU story if you don't want to change it the way I suggested. :)

But I just LOVED the way you write your characters. Remus and Sirius both were believable and perfectly themselves. The dialogue between them was very good, with all the awkwardness and remnants of their old friendship captured well. You also managed to write Dumbledore and I admire you for that! Literally! I've tried to write a one-shot about him like five times and I never can write him. He is quite difficult to write, especially his dialogue. Great job with that!

I hope my suggestions didn't sound rude or harsh or anything! If so, I just wanted your story to be a little more canon and believable. :)

It was fun swapping with you! PM if me if you'd like to do more swaps in the future. :D


Author's Response: Hey Ashwini,

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked the story. I know what you mean about the bit with Remus telling Dumbledore, but it came to me that he might consider it. After all, it's just as believable as Sirius ratting them out. And the bit about the Animagi just made sense to me to have him finally admit it, simply because there would be no other way Dumbledore would entertain the idea of Sirius being innocent without some reasoning behind how Peter could escape. =)

I will definitely take you up on review swaps again in future!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>