Reading Reviews From Member: True Author
  
273 Reviews Found

Review #1, by True AuthorGrief and Love: Grief and Love

21st January 2015:
Can I just say that this story is simply amazing? :D

Because it is! It was all just so beautifully written and it's so believable. Just wow. I really loved everything about this story. I could almost feel the sudden calmness after such a long and exhausted war. The effects of the fighting and the almost unexpected victory were perfectly captured. I especially liked that everyone was sleeping and crying. That was needed, I understand it. :( I liked that you didn't make them too happy or too grieving.

Oh my, my, why would you do this to me? I absolutely CANNOT handle that George accidentally said "We saw that coming." THIS MAKES ME CRY. I WANNA CRY. OMG WHY DID FRED HAVE TO DIE. I'M SUCH A MESS OF FEELINGS RIGHT NOW.

Excuse me. :P I just love them too much to bear to see them apart.

Anyhow, I love love love the sweet moments between Ron/Hermione and Harry/Ginny. Gah, so cute! :S :D I especially liked how Ron and Hermione were as a new couple. Uhh. Too cute.

But you know what the best part is? It all made sense. I can see this all happening right after the chapter before the epilogue. It was that canon. Great job with that! :D

This was really good! I had fun swapping with you!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Thanks for a lovely review! I'm glad that you liked this one shot! It was my very first fic. :-)

 Report Review

Review #2, by True Author(4) States of Matter: Lights Out

17th January 2015:
Hello there! Here for our review swap!

Let me get started by apologizing for the wait. Real life is kind of busy at the moment. I hope you understand! :)

Wow, this sounds super interesting. I'm already guessing what might have happened and I just can't figure out where this plot will be heading. So basically, great job with the suspense! I'm already hooked which is very important for a mystery story. And especially for the first chapter.

Oh Jily! I'm really looking forward to some VERY sweet and hilariously fluffy interactions between the two. I loved how Lily is feeling 'comfortable' and her thoughts about him are perfectly written. I also loved how Sirius thought that 'Prongs must be over the moon.' It was such a nice little detail! It showed how much James really is into Lily and how Sirius knows basically everything about it. It says a lot about James's feelings and his friendship with Sirius.

You also have some great dialogue here. The first part of the Remus-Sirius conversation was very wisely written. The friends were completely themselves. I loved it!

I can't wait to find out what is going on in there! Let me know when you update this. Maybe we will do another review swap?

Great job so far!

Ashwini

 Report Review

Review #3, by True AuthorForty Percent: Forty Percent

12th January 2015:
Hello there! :)

I liked how you have used the prompt you had been giving here. For some unknown reason, I always get scared when I think about writing a pregnant character (which I have never done) so I kind of like it when other people do it and do it well. It is way too difficult to understand and write about the mindset of a pregnant woman so I really love that you chose to do it and did it so well. :)

Your characterization was never out of place. Harry and Ginny seemed completely themselves even though we have never read about this kind of situation happening to them during the books. The topic was too sensitive and you handled it in a great way without harming the characters. Great job with that really!

I would just love to see some more description to this. A few more words wouldn't damage the short sweetness of this one-shot and would make it a lot better I think. Just add a few more descriptive lines between the dialogues of the argument. Describe their body languages and try to reflect their current state of mind through those descriptions. This will add a good emotional quotient to everything and it will be even more touching to the reader. Hope this made sense! I just wanted to help out a little. Sorry if I sounded harsh or something!

This was definitely a nice read! Thanks for the review swap and let me know if you're interested in doing another one. I'd love to do so!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you for reading my story! :) I really appreciate your kind words. I have never written a pregnant character before, and I have never been pregnant myself, so it was a bit of a challenge for me. I'm glad you liked the way I wrote Ginny!

Wow, what a compliment! It means so much to me that you say my writing matches the characters in the books. Thank you :)

I totally understand the call for more description. Lately I have been experimenting with writing for visual mediums (plays, screenplays), so I get that comment a lot. I'm trying to hone both sets of skills, so I guess I need to focus a bit more on details and descriptions when I'm writing for prose. Thank you!

Thanks for the swap! :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by True AuthorUpping The Ante: The Bouncing Properties of Dimes

12th January 2015:
Hello there! :)

I had been planning to read this story for a while so when I saw this on your Author's Page I took the chance and decided to give it a go. I really like your title- it's quirky, interesting and it kind of made me want to read this story. And can I say that your banner is absolutely gorgeous? :D

This was definitely an enjoyable read. I loved the fun, normal and cheery kind of atmosphere in which this story is set. I could clearly imagine it all happening easily. Your descriptions were really great, never too much and never too less.

Great characterization so far! Alexandra is a likable narrator. She seems strong and sweet at the same time, which is different in a good way. I also kind of loved Charlie. She's so unique! I can see myself liking her a lot more in the future chapters. :)

Whoa, I'm curious about the romance factor in this story now! Is this story about the Alex duo? But then I'm also seeing some Alexandra/Sirius sniff coming. I'm intrigued! It was genius of you not to give out the pairing just yet. It's making me want to read the next chapter which I surely will!

It was also quite hilarious. I loved the color changing beard idea. Good one! I wonder if I am going to see any James/Lily in this story. I know this is Alexandra's story, but I never fail to fall in love with Jily. They are so adorable!

Will be back for more! This was a fun swap, maybe we should do another one? Let me know if you want to!

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by True AuthorDo you believe in love?: She was beautiful, and he was a goner.

9th January 2015:
Aww, this was so cute! :S I'm always hungry for fluffy Jily stories and whenever I find one like this, it just literally makes my day. And so did this one. :D I just can't help but feel butterflies in my stomach right now!

Anyways. Now to the review.

Your versions of James and Lily were kind of different from what I have read so far. But you know what? I think it was a great touch. It was very refreshing and new. I just loved it. :)

I like how you set this up on one question. And that too- "Do you believe in love?" So romantic!! I'm not a big fan of fluff and romance actually, but when it comes to Jily I make all sort of weird stuff about it. Like actually reading fluff which I don't like much. Because Jily and fluff are ONE. ;)

Great read!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Thankyou very very very much your support and encouragement is what keeps me writting on here and it means the world to me! have a BEAUTIFUL day, i love you very much xx

 Report Review

Review #6, by True AuthorMortality: Mortality

9th January 2015:
Oh god, this was one of the most heartbreaking stuff I have read recently. You literally made me cry, Curie! AND you made me want to write a story about Arthur and Molly right away. Uhh.

But seriously. This was truly beautiful. So thick with emotion and so true! This one-shot totally blew me away. You know it's a lot different that your old stuff. I'm surprised that you wrote such a sad and tragic one-shot AND you wrote it with so much beauty. I love you for that! You stepped out of your comfort zone with so greatly. :) You go girl!

The descriptions were so gorgeous. It was like you were painting a picture in front of me. Your writing style has somehow changed and I'm just loving the new one.

I loved how the son who came to take her back was Ron. I don't know why, but I really found it touching and it felt like you did it on purpose. Like you did it for a deeper meaning or something. Probably it was just a coincidence, but that's what I think!

Great job, dear! Love ya!

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by True AuthorGravity Happens: radiance

26th December 2014:
Oh my God, this is so not fair!! You gave me ALL the Jily feels I didn't even know I had!!! :S Now I want to jump around imagining them together in Hogsmeade and I', GRINNING right now and my roommate thinks I'm crazy. Huh.

Jokes apart, but I DID love this so much. :D James and Lily are one of my most favorite ships from Harry Potter and only because I love them like this I don't ship Snape/Lily.

You did such a great job in describing every moment, practically every moment from both of their PoV that it feels real to me. Perhaps that's because Lily's point of view seemed completely hers and James's was no ones but his. The characterization was lovely and I loved the way you highlighted the similarity between their feelings but the differeneces in the ways they think about them.

I also liked that you didn't end this one-shot with their first kiss. That would have been quite typical. But this ending is just too cute for me to handle. And I love it.

Definitely the best read of today or maybe of ever!

Ashwini :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by True Authora little bit of coolness.: a silky dress and a happy birthday.

21st December 2014:
Here for our review swap! :)

This was a sweet chapter and I liked the simplicity of it. I liked that you didn't give too much away just in the first chapter. That's something I opt to do in my WIPs too. It's a good way to keep a reader hooked.

I think you meant to write 'Happy birthday dear Rose' in the first paragraph instead of 'Happy birthday dear Joel'. At least I assume the narrator is Rose!

Great job! I want to know where you take this story. :)

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini.

Thanks for stopping by. I've just left your review for the swap now.

Aww, thanks. In glad you though that it was sweet - I really wanted people to get that impression. I was worried that it might come across rather heavy. That really made my day. Yeah, simple is what I do really. I'm not much of a good writer so I stick to simplicity for most of my stories. Yup, I didn't want you to really be clear on Rose's personality just yet because I wanted you to guess for yourself and change opinions for the first few chapters. I hope that I didn't give too much away.

Yes, I noticed that as soon as it was validated. I edited it yesterday. Spell check corrector drives me insane sometimes.

Anyway, thanks for the review.

Missy


 Report Review

Review #9, by True AuthorTwo: A Perfect Blend: Blended Christmas

20th December 2014:
Hello Carla! I know I'm reviewing one of your old stuff, but I have already reviewed Seven and Fall. And also, I just adore ScoRose! :)

I like how you have showed the contrast between Rose's and Scorpius's Christmas in the first two parts. The first part was so happy, warm and beautiful that it made me feel kind of pleasant. And then reading about Scorpius's Christmas was like entering a cold place all of a sudden. You did a great job with that! And it makes me kind of sad. :(

I love that you slipped in that James sneaked the Marauder's map out of Harry's desk. It gave a nice touch of canon to the whole plot. Well done!

Poor Scorpius! He must have enjoyed Christmas actually for the first time in his entire life. I feel too bad for him.

Oh God the ending!! It gave me ALL the feels. :S I love love love that she took him to The Burrow and I hope they don't have a quieter Christmas but rather a lively and happy Christmas at The Burrow. ;) I think a sequel would be a great idea!

Merry Christmas!

Ashwini

 Report Review

Review #10, by True Authorfall.: fall.

22nd November 2014:
Hello Carla! I'm here for our review swap! :)

Wow, such a beautiful story! I could almost feel all the leaves falling around me while I read this. You have described the season with great ease and the way you asociated the season with Teddy and Rose's story was also great. It nearly brought me to tears and made me feel sorry for the two of them.

I liked that you kept us guessing who these two people are. It was a good choice not to begin the story with their names. And the way you revealed that it was Teddy, saying that his eyes turned into some different color was very very innovative and effective.

Teddy and Rose! Such a fresh ship. I read it for the first time as I usually prefer Rose and Scorpius but I liked it. It was strangely believable and made sense to me. Good job with that!

I know you said that the blank spaces are because of the text editor, but I think they make this kind of effective. They go along well with this story, at least I think that! I'll advise you not to edit them out. :)

Overall, this was a fresh, sad, romantic and beautifully described story! I like the idea of asociating seasons with genres. I might enter the challenge myself it it is still on the forums or otherwise I'll make sure I read all the entries. :)

Great job! It was fun swapping with you! I hope we do more swaps in the future. :D

Ashwini

 Report Review

Review #11, by True AuthorSeven: 7:00 AM

19th November 2014:
Hi there! :)

First of all, even though it's very random, I just have to say that you make EXTREMELY GORGEOUS banners. You really do! I've seen your work over at the Dark Arts and I've always loved it. Especially your banners. You have a unique and beautiful style. I'm thinking about requesting one from you in the future! :)

Okay. Now on the review.

This story was completely new for me I must say! I usually don't read non-canon ships, especially the strange ones like Severus/Hermione, but this story seemed interesting and it's always okay to try something new once in a while. So I decided to give this a go, and I'm glad I did!

I like your overall concept of this story. I'm curious to see how you write all the chapters revolving around number seven. I liked the first chapter so far and it seems like the rest of them would be quite good too. I'll surely come back for more. :)

Whoa, this ship is really very new to me. I've never even read Draco/Hermione stories as I love Ron/Hermione and I never read Snape/OC too, let alone Snape/Hermione. I've liked just one Snape/OC trilogy in the past, but this was also interesting and great. :) It did make me uncomfortable ;) but your writing style is good.

And you are writing this story for NaNo? Great! I know how hard this NaNo thing is as I'm currently struggling with it too, but I hope you complete this novel and win NaNo!

Great job and good luck!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi, Ashwini! :)

Thank you! :) I love love love making graphics (banners in particular.) I am glad you love my style and I am always free for requests although I would sometimes have one I'm currently doing.

Lols. Yes. Thank you.

Oooh, I am sorry? that I made you read a non-canon pairing. I will be honest and admit that I LOVE LOVE LOVE non-canon pairings and Snamiones, in particular, have been intensely fascinating for me. :) And I'm glad you tried something new! I love trying new things.

The number seven. Yes, well, that was the idea when I was doing NaNo and, now, in retrospect I think that I might have just been grasping at straws. Who knows, lol. In any case I will just swing with it although I am a horrible updater. HAHA.

No Dramione? WOW. I love Dramione. -inserteyerollhere- HAHAHA, prolly obvious since I mentioned I love noncanons. HAHA. I can imagine how it would make you feel uncomfy. I'm glad you think the style is good though. I doubt the other chapters will live up to it but at least chapter 1 is ok. haha

I didn't finish the novel, sadly. (might reach 80k words) but I did finish NaNo so there's some good news. Hope you did too!

Thanks again, dove.

--Carla


 Report Review

Review #12, by True AuthorMisappropriated: Misappropriated

19th November 2014:
Hi there! :)

Honestly, you have a wonderful banner. It kind of drew me here to read this story even though it was kind of long. I don't usually read stories so long, but this time I did, and I truly don't regret it!

Aah, Remus Lupin! I just literally love him as a character. He's one of the most interesting characters JKR created in the series. Even in the third book, when we didn't know much about him, I kept wondering about his past. He seemed like a deep and interesting character even back then. I think you really do understand him and you have done a great job here with his characterization. He seems real and canon.

I don't know why, but I don't really believe Remus going and telling Dumbledore his theory about Peter being the one to betray James and Lily. Lupin confessed in Prisoner of Azkaban that he didn't tell Dumbledore that Sirius was an unregistered animagi. And I also don't think that he will suspect Peter as they were best friends too. So I'll suggest that you should keep the part where Remus meets Dumbledore, but just don't make Remus take Peter's name and telling that they were animagi. The rest of it sounds good. Because if Dumbledore knew Sirius was a dog, he would have made his staff and maybe even aurors to look for a big black dog in the neighbourhood.

But it's just my opinion! Otherwise this seemed like a nice new take on canon and would make a great AU story if you don't want to change it the way I suggested. :)

But I just LOVED the way you write your characters. Remus and Sirius both were believable and perfectly themselves. The dialogue between them was very good, with all the awkwardness and remnants of their old friendship captured well. You also managed to write Dumbledore and I admire you for that! Literally! I've tried to write a one-shot about him like five times and I never can write him. He is quite difficult to write, especially his dialogue. Great job with that!

I hope my suggestions didn't sound rude or harsh or anything! If so, I just wanted your story to be a little more canon and believable. :)

It was fun swapping with you! PM if me if you'd like to do more swaps in the future. :D

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hey Ashwini,

Thanks for the review! I'm glad you liked the story. I know what you mean about the bit with Remus telling Dumbledore, but it came to me that he might consider it. After all, it's just as believable as Sirius ratting them out. And the bit about the Animagi just made sense to me to have him finally admit it, simply because there would be no other way Dumbledore would entertain the idea of Sirius being innocent without some reasoning behind how Peter could escape. =)

I will definitely take you up on review swaps again in future!

xx-Wolfgirl


 Report Review

Review #13, by True AuthorSacrifice: Of Nightmares, Returns, and Reunions

28th October 2014:
Hi there! Here for our review swap! :D

First of all, I'm sorry this review took so long. I've just started a new term at college so I was really busy for a couple of days. Also with NaNo coming up, most of my free time was being spent on planning.

I love AJ's feelings in this chapter. It was good to see how Hogwarts is like a much safer home to those who don't have a really great life. Like AJ. Her situation is quite tough and I like how brave she is. The dream at the beginning reflected some of her fears and insecurities which she does not express to anyone. It was a nice touch, I loved it! :)

Wait a minute. Didn't Crabbe die in Deathly Hallows because of Fiendfyre? :| How can he be the caretaker then?

The Headmistress's speech was so different from Dumbledore's and so McGonagall style! Haha, it was well written.

Great job!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi!

The wait was fine. You had to wait for my first review, so understood! Good luck in NaNo and College!

Thanks for the kind words. As for Crabbe, I entirely forgot about that. I'll change that. But I'm sure it's not the first time someone who died in the battle popped up in Next Generation. ;)

Thanks!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #14, by True AuthorSeven: Seven is the most magical of numbers.

25th October 2014:
Hi Beth!

Let me say something I noticed! Your story has exactly seven reviews while I'm typing mine. :D You may think I'm crazy. I just wanted to tell you. ;)

Anyways, this was quite a touching story. I wish I could change the way Sirius's life went after James's death! I feel too sad for him. And he lost Dorcas too? Oh my God! That man really deserved a happy ending. :( And you expressed this in a beautiful way.

Wow, I think I'm in love with the way you use words! There were some sentences I especially liked, for example- "It is a sunless summer in hiding with only Harry’s bright eyes to lighten the days." Such a wonderful quote! You describe the scene where he escapes from Azkaban in a very believable way. :)

Did you write this in just 777 words purposely or is it just a coincidence? If you didn't do it on purpose, I would really suggest you make it a little longer. :)

Great job! It was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!

Thanks so much for this review - and thanks for doing the swap!

Haha - that's so funny about the 7 reviews! I did intentionally make the story 777 words, and each paragraph also has a multiple of 7 words in it, so I sort of went overboard with the 7 thing!

I really liked writing about Sirius's escape from Azkaban - I tried hard to convey what it felt like to finally be free after so many years imprisoned.

Someone else suggested that I make it longer too! I'm not sure. If I did, it would have to be a completely separate story, because I'm really happy with this one so far.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #15, by True AuthorSacrifice: Of Beginnings, Aurors, and Torn Photographs

23rd October 2014:
Hi! Here for our review swap! :D

I like your plot setting and characters. AJ and her siblings are really having a tough time, as you explain in the chapter, and that makes everything even more interesting. Now I'm curious about what you are planning to do next. Are you going to focus on how AJ struggles with her situation and all the responsibilities? Or will it focus on her love interest? :)

Your characterization is very believable. I'd just suggest you to give some qualities to each of her siblings so that it will be easier to recognize who is who. I got messed up with all of them and their names. Make them stand out individually. I think it will make it easier to understand the plot too. :)

Aww, the end was so touching. :'( You portray the love between the siblings very strongly and vividly. I think that's the best part of this story. It's great that you're doing something different and original!

Great story!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi, Ashwini!

Thanks so much! The siblings will be easier to depict in the upcoming chapters. I did all I could to make the recognizable but it's a challenge! :)

Thanks so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #16, by True AuthorWar: Stubborn

19th October 2014:
Hi! I'm here with your challenge review! I'm so sorry this took so long... The exam I was preparing hard for ended yesterday so I'd surely leave your six prize reviews in this week. :)

I loved this story from the first time I read it. Remus/Tonks is my most favorite couple from the books right next to Ron/Hermione. I especially love to read about the hard patch they went through before they got married. SO this story was a perfect read to me!

You've captured Tonks's feelings wonderfully. Her pain, sadness, her love and hope is too real. She is a complex character and you've written her with great ease. And the most important thing is how the title I had given suits so perfectly to the plot. :D

Kudos for writing this all in just 500 words! I've tried it and I know how hard it it! I had to edit my one-shot five times to make it 500 words exactly. :P

Lovely story!

Ashwini

 Report Review

Review #17, by True AuthorLuna : Encounter

19th October 2014:
Hi there! :)

I just LOVE reading about young characters and you have a beautiful banner and summary. I couldn't help but peek in. And I'm so glad I did! Luna Lovegood is one of my most favorite characters from the series. She's completely unique, bold, so herself and we end up liking her despite her weirdness. And you've managed to get this all perfectly. :)

I can certainly believe she would have encountered a thestral like that. It's totally like her to find out such a creature and try to go meet him instead of running away. She seems so different as a child too! The references to her father's weird names for things was very well placed, by the way.

And the end is just so sad! Only Luna can accept that she sees things that other people don't. Remember how Harry freaked out when he heard the Basilisk in the second book? ;)

Great story!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi!
Thank you, again, for another super review. I am grinning so much. Wow. I'm amazed that you think I've written your favourite character that well!
I'm glad it was believable, and that you enjoyed reading it. I do indeed remember! Although he seemed pretty calm about the smaller snakes in the zoo during the first book. Well, I suppose he didn't know that it was a basilisk... Just that he was hearing things... And nobody believes him. It seems to be a recurring theme throughout the books that - nobody seems to believe Harry an awful lot :P
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #18, by True AuthorHow Long Will I Love You?: As Long As The Stars Are Above You

19th October 2014:
Hi! I'm here with your prize review! :)

This is just so beautiful! I'm full of Romione feels right now. I just love love love both of them and I love this beautiful song and I love you for writing this! :D

All these moments are completely adorable. I couldn't help but smile like an idiot as I read this. Aren't they too cute? And the lyrics suit them perfectly. It's just believable that their love probably WILL last that long.

My favorite moment was the last one though. It's so well-written and full of feelings. It's cute!

Really adorable! Loved this!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!
I'm so glad you liked it! I'm not usually a Ron person, but the song really worked and yeah. Stuff happened :P aww you're too sweet! I love you for reviewing this, so I guess we are equal ;) Hermione and Ron are really cute together, I have to admit. I adore Ellie Golding, her songs are just so great and the lyrics in this are so beautiful. Eek I'm glad you like this :D
Once again, thank you!
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #19, by True AuthorLost Lullaby: From Fire to Ice

19th October 2014:
Hi! I'm here with your challenge prize reviews! I've reviewed this story for now, but if you want the rest of the reviews on any other story you can PM me and let me know. You still have two reviews left! :)

Wow, what an interesting concept. It's very very hard to write such characters but you've done a really great job, I must say! I've also written a story where my protagonist is in Azkaban and I know it's pretty tough. You are very good and grammar and vocabulary too. I wish I was as good at it as you are!

Hmm... I can't figure out what Lily must have done to end up in Azkaban. :O And it was so "Harry" to turn up there to meet his daughter. I liked that. I just think you should make clear who your protagonist is or at least who Harry is. I understand that it would spoil the feel you want to create. But maybe you can say that the patronous was a stag? That would be really great. :D

Wonderful story! I would love to come back for more!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Oh that's a great idea about the patronus! Yes, I wanted it clear that it was Harry and Lily without really saying it.

It was so hard to balance getting all the concrete details in and making the situation clear while still keeping Lily's perspective the same. I'm not sure I accomplished that as well as I hoped, but I'd like to go back to this for a few rounds of edits.

Thank you so much for the lovely review! I always enjoy getting feedback and critiques. I will definitely use some of your suggestions if/when this story gets a few rewrites. :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by True AuthorDizzy: Dizzy

30th September 2014:
Hi! First of all, I'm so sorry for the wait! My WiFi was working all weird since weekend and I had little time left for reviews too. Blame sudden inspiration for the next chapter of my WIP too!

Wow, so much sweetness in just a one-shot! I don't always like fluff, but it's really nice to read something like this once in a while. I've read a couple of dark one-shots and three chapters of a mystery story recently and it was delightful to read something so sweet. :)

Aww, Freddie and Sweets are so cute together!! I just loved the bond they share. It's perfect. And no place was better than Honeydukes for this story! :D

Oh and I liked the idea of "Resurrection stones". Pretty clever. :) I just wish it was a little longer!

Great story! It was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi, Ashwini!

It's no problem, really, for the wait. You got here, and that's what counts.

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Your comments and compliments are all greatly appreciated! :D I wish it was longer too, honestly, but I don't want to get too carried away before NaNo.

Thanks so so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #21, by True AuthorComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

20th September 2014:
Hi there! :)

I must say that you have a very interesting first chapter here. It doesn't give the reader a much clear idea about what the main plot's about or anything like that. You simply introduce the narrator and her family problems. I really liked that. It's made me very curious about what will happen next! And the way you connected it all to Christmas was a nice touch.

Whoa, who would've thought her mother was no one but Pansy Parkinson? :O I was very surprised to read that she was Pansy. But I think it all makes sense. I can imagine her marrying someone else and not really getting over Draco. I also imagine Draco not marrying her by the way. :) It's all believable! That's really great. :)

So is there going to be something between Scorpius and Olivia? I can't tell. But I'd like to have some romance in here. And I also hope Olivia and her cousin would get along well with each other. That girl sure deserves some happiness! I hope you give loads to her!

Great story! It was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hi Ashwini!

It's really great to hear your thoughts on this chapter. I'm glad you enjoyed it and it caught your interest.

Pansy Parkinson's definitely still hung up on Draco, but I think it was obvious they never would have ended up together. I don't think Draco would have wanted to base his life around the choices he made in school.

There's definitely not something between Scorpius and Olivia, other than intense friendship. But there will be romance later :) (when we meet Al Potter) and Olivia's relationship with her cousin definitely changes too.

Thanks for the swap!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by True AuthorReincarnation: Remember

13th September 2014:
Hmm, this seems to be getting more interesting as I read on! I like that you are using Rheas instead of Rose. It makes sense as that's who Rose is going to be. And Rhea lies easily? That's intriguing!

I liked that you wrote the flashback part again. It's easier for those who haven't read the prequel. And it's correct to write it I think.

At some moments I was confused if you were writing from Rose's PoV or Rhea's so I think you should make that a little clear. :)

Great chapter!!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hey Ashwini!

Really, Rose and Rhea are confused to actually who they are, so I decided to take Rhea, as like you said, it makes more sense.

Thank you for that review!

~Sana


 Report Review

Review #23, by True AuthorFanged Revolution: Chapter the First

13th September 2014:
Oh, this was creepy! Vampires always freak me out and scare me to death, I don't know why. :P But there was something about the way you described this one that made it all scarier. But in a nice way of course! Everyone likes to read a scary story once in a while! :D

I'm very curious about what is going to happen. I can't wait to see who the young woman was and why she would be a trouble for Nightstalker (good name by the way!). I like that you kept the first chapter short. This makes the story even more interesting.

And I love your banner! It's bloody gorgeous! :D

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hello!

Scary stories are good once in a while (or all the time, depending on taste).

The young woman will be a lot of trouble for Nightstalker. He's a vampire who is active at night, so I thought it a fitting name.

I'll pass your compliment about the banner on to the artist who made it.

Thanks for the lovely review!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #24, by True AuthorReincarnation: Back

13th September 2014:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap!

I'm so sorry this took so long! I was away from home with limited internet connection and I need quite some time to read a story and write a review. This seemed an interesting story, as I sort of do believe in reincarnation to some level, so I wanted to read and leave a review properly. :)

I just LOVE your writing style. It's very unique. Lots of people around here describe every little detail and like to read that type of stories, but I like short ones better. I like that you don't describe too much about the scene or just anything. And this style works perfectly for Reincarnation. :)

Whoa, Scorpius is such a jerk! :O I read this chapter first and I was all confused. I couldn't imagine Scorpius doing something so terrible that a dead person would come back to take his revenge. Then I went back to the prequel. And OH MY GOD. I hope Rose gets her revenge! What happened to her was horrible.

I'm quite interested about this Rhea too. Who is she? Why did she die? And there are going to be some problems when someone familiar to her is going to run into Rose. This is quite intriguing.

I had always thought that reincarnation begins from another birth, but I like this angle too. Will surely come back for more!

Random question- Are you Indian? Sorry to ask you, but there is a very popular tv show here which is based around this plot. It's not reincarnation, but it's basically a girl taking revenge for what happened to her sister. And her sister suffers what Rose has suffered in this story. So I thought you might have got some inspiration from there. :D

Good job! It was fun swapping with you!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Hey Ashwini! Never mind the lateness, just glad that you are here! (And you've got like, 3 unanswered reviews as per my investigations)

So much sweetness in one review HAS to be made illegal.

More about Rhea is coming up! Just keep on reading, and you'll find out! :)

Answer to your random question- No, sorry, I'm not an Indian. I'm an American-Maldivian. But currently, I'm living in India. :) Are you talking about Paanch, the one that comes on V TV? My friends talk about it, but I've never seen it. Now that I'm familiar with Hindi, I'll be sure to watch it!

Thanks for that lovely review and it was a great swap!

Sana


 Report Review

Review #25, by True Authorbloom.: bloom

9th September 2014:
Wow, this was so amazing that I don't really know what to say. You made me feel so many things in just a one-shot that I can't figure out where to start...

Well, I'm so glad you wrote this. We often forget that some small characters like Madam Pomfrey are also humans and they might have a story too. Now I've really started to see not just her, but so many other characters from a different point of view. It's great that you are doing something so unique. Well done! :D

Some of your descriptions were just too beautiful. I couldn't handle them. Like that scene where Marigold is born, everyone's happy and then oh my god, she dies!! Those emotions and that shocking death! That scene surely is my favorite. I also liked how that rowdy girl changed into a woman when she holds her baby in her hands. It was very touching.

Another amazing thing was the way you made her get interested in the medical field. It's just so realistic that a woman like Poppy would desperately want to know what exactly was wrong with her baby and tries her best to do so. It was very very believable.

Oh, I really hoped she and Dewey would end up together! :( I sort of knew they wouldn't, but I always hoped. They make such a perfect couple. They balance each other out. But alas! I think what happened was for the best...

Overall, this was one of the most wonderful stories I have ever read. And the summary is beautiful too! I'm definitely going to read other stories on your author page. I loved your writing style!

I usually don't read one-shots over 5000 words and I'm also kind of uncomfortable with slash, but I'm very happy I gave this story a go. Now maybe I won't judge stories by their length and the ratings!

Well done! It was fun swapping with you and thanks for your review on Through The Darkest!

Ashwini

Author's Response: Awh thank you, I'm really glad you liked it!

I love writing about minor characters for precisely that reason. In canon they're just used to further the plot or whatever without being given much of a chance to have their own personalities or lives so being able to humanise them and work with what's essentially a blank slate and try and see how they would end up where they do in canon - it's just so much fun for me.

I tend to stream-of-consciousness write which is why I think there's a lot of abstract description, and I'm so so glad you like it! The scene with Marigold was actually one of the easiest to write, because by then I was so in Poppy's head that it was like I was feeling it all with her, and it totally just came out - I didn't even edit it at all.

I didn't plot much from the start but I knew that I wanted her to get into the medical field after losing Marigold... it actually took a much different path than I had originally thought it would but I'm happy with the result, ahaha.

Awh, I couldn't make her and Dewey end up together, sorry ;) Realistically tragic romances are kinda my thing :P I love the idea that they were probably soulmates, but being soulmates doesn't always mean you'll end up together. The world just got in the way. I'M PROBABLY REALLY MEAN BUT I LOVE WRITING SITUATIONS LIKE THAT.

I really hope I've managed to change your mind a bit about slash ratings on fic! Some people can be uncomfortable reading it because it seems unfamiliar, but really, a same-sex romance is just the same as any other, and if a fic's written well enough you won't even focus on the fact that the couple are same-sex.

Thanks so much for this awesome review!!

~Maia


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>