Reading Reviews From Member: Ron 4 Hermione
  
271 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Ron 4 HermioneKeeping Secrets: Revelations

31st August 2015:
Hey,

I was so happy to see this was updated, It's such an amazing story!

Your portrayal of Charlie is amazing, and it's just as good in this chapter! I love the way you write him looking after Liz, especially when he was telling her about her dad. But in the same way I also love how Liz is exactly the same to Charlie, like when she realised her mum could kill Charlie and she jumped to his defence. It's so touching and the way you write it is beautiful!

I was also glad to see more of Amelia in this chapter, and to have more things explained. Especially the way that it happened, it was nice to see her and Charlie come to, not an agreement, but an acceptance of sorts. It must have been hard for her to eventually have her daughter know all of this after she'd kept it from her for so long.That twist with Mulciber was also pure genius, but poor Amelia and liz, I can't be easy for them to now know (or have it confirmed) that he's in prison now.

You make these characters feel so real, it's easy to empathise with them and feel what they're going through.

This is another great chapter; and now I'm excited to see how Liz finds out/reacts to his other secret! Great job! :D

- Shaza

 Report Review

Review #2, by Ron 4 HermioneBeyond Repair: Don't Let Go

12th August 2015:
Me again! :P

Another brilliant chapter, I love the way you show the progression of the relationship between them as they get older. It's totally realistic, and I think that's one (of many) reasons why this is such a great read! I love how Petunia starts to become a little more resentful, it's great foreshadowing and really sets the tone for what's going to come. It also makes it more realistic because I don't think Petunia would just hate her sister for being a witch if she completely loved her beforehand.

I love how you make such a simple muggle thing, like learning to ride a bike, into something, that because of Lily, has hints of magic in it. It's an interesting idea and makes for a great read! I love how simple it is but it is really effective and works really well.

Another great chapter, it's a brilliant story! :)

- Shaza.

Author's Response: "I don't think Petunia would just hate her sister for being a witch if she completely loved her beforehand"

^THIS. This is exactly what compelled me to write Beyond Repair. In the books, it's clear Lily loves Petunia enough for Petunia's cold shoulder to hurt. And that love had to come from somewhere, and the cracks in it had to come from somewhere. I think there's a lot of complexity between them that usually goes unexplored, so I'm trying my best to put a spotlight on that and really make sense of their relationship.

Everything you said about this story was so nice and really made me smile!
Thank you!!
~Renee


 Report Review

Review #3, by Ron 4 HermioneBeyond Repair: Daddy's Little Flowers

12th August 2015:
Hey there, decided that since I read them I may as well leave a review! :)

This is such a cute start, I especially love the way you write how Petunia sees things, especially her parents. Children do tend to idolise/see their parents as perfect, especially if they were treated well and I think that comes across beautifully in this.

I love how you have the jealousy coming through as well, I think just over all you write Petunia really realistic and it's definitely something I can see her doing.

This also makes me sad though, because Petunia already has this jealous streak and since we know that her reaction to Lily being a witch isn't positive, it makes me sad that moments like this don't last and it ends the way it does! :'(

Anyhow, I love the story though, and I don't think I've read a story about the sibling relationship between them when they were young so great idea, and you've written it amazingly too!

- Shaza :)

Author's Response: Hi Shaza!

It was so lovely of you to leave these reviews! Thank you!!!

I'm glad you thought Petunia seemed realistic. And thank you very very much for the kind things you said!! You're the best!

~Renee


 Report Review

Review #4, by Ron 4 HermioneHow to Fix Your Sibling (The Art of Getting Even) : Chapter 2

27th July 2015:
Hey.

So I like the start of this, especially how it's two people each writing a different person. That's really effective, especially because it means that the characters are going to have such different, distinctive tones of voice.

Aww, can i just hug both your main characters so far, I'm a twin so I can relate to siblings being really annoying and stuff! I think you've wrote it in such a convincing way, and I also love how they both have the same problem, but it's also diffeent at the same time. I'm also interested to see how the become friends and start to work together, because not only does it seem like they don't know/like each other, they are also in what are typically seen as the rival houses, so this should be fun.

A great start, looking forward to more chapters!

- Shaza :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Ron 4 HermioneMonochromatic: Just Lying There

27th July 2015:
Hey!

Wow, what a story. This has me hooked, I just read through the first three chapters and now I can't wait for the next one! Such an interesting story, I'm really enjoying it.

The plague idea is an interesting one, and I love the way you've written it. The two different time parts, it's almost like two stories in one but it works really well and I think you've written it really well as well. It's really effective in adding to the mystery of the story as well.

I love the characters too, especially Cara and David. I think the fact that they're almost opposite in the way that you've wrote them (her being weighed down by her past and him being more happy and carefree) make them seem really real and realistic. Especially when you write them together.

I do have a whole lot of questions, but I guess I'll just have to wait for the next chapter! :P Which I am really looking forward to reading, can't wait to see what happens next, it's a great story so far!

- Shaza

 Report Review

Review #6, by Ron 4 HermioneThat's What You Do: That's What You Do

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- house cup 2015!

Hey there, this is such a well written fic. I love the ongoing narrative while you show us different memories, its really effective as a way of writing and you do it really well!

I love your characterisation of sirius as well, especially since its not even his point of view. You show him as a type of playboy but it fits in with what we already know about him and it works really well. The characterisation of the girl is just as good, the idea that someone would let someone cheat that many times but you explain it so well that you can see where she's coming from!

A great fic! :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by Ron 4 HermioneMoney Mania: Money Mania

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- hufflepuff

Hey there, what a cool fic! I love fics were the mauraders are just having pure adventures and this was really nice. I love your characterisation of them both, especially James because you can see him growing up when he talks about the war and Vodlermort but then at the end, when he grins, he is still a joker, still someone who is going to have fun with their mates. It's great.

I love the idea as well, collecting money from different countries- genius! And I love how you've wrote about it as well, it seems really realistic, especialy with the different types of money used.

This was a really nice fic to read, good job with it! :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by Ron 4 HermioneKnowledge (to know, or not to know?): to know, or not to know?

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there, this is such an interesting piece! It feels almost poetic, especially the last two lines with the cogs turning. And her screaming is such an exciting place to end it on, the story is complete but it leaves the reader wondering. It's a really effective ending.

I love the idea that her thirst for knowledge turned her, well I guess evil, but I don't think that's the right word. Especially consdiering her mother also had a love of books. I wonder if she blamed herself for it? If she encourages her reading, unaware of were it was going? There is so much potential in this, it's great. It's such an interesting concept as well, I don't think I've seen it on here before and I love how you managed it, especially in so few words. It really is a great read! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by Ron 4 HermioneThe Namesake : The Namesake

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, this is such a nice story! You've done a great job with it and I think you managed to get the mix of emotions right! I love that you' had that bit of backstory to how George and Angelina first started dating/got together after Hogwarts. I think it just really helped make George naming his son Fred a bit more, especially since they met again on the anniversary on his death. It was a nice link there! Loved the firework part! It really is something Fred would do!

The end got me, when george was talking to Fred about him being a dad, so sad but I think it was a nice conversation, i could definitely see him doing that. I always imagine that he talks to Fred all the time and I think it was really nice in this fic.

It is a really well written fic, I enjoyed reading it! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by Ron 4 HermioneDays Like This: Day's Like This

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, aww this was so sweet! I love your characterisation of Rose, it's amazing! I think people forget that even if your tough, things can still hurt and get to you and I think you did a great job of showing that! You made her so human, especially when she wiped her nose on her robe (:p) because it's only a small detail but it really does just make her that little more relatable and human!

I'm glad Rose got a happy ending, and I love that it was at the 5 year reunion because I can just imagine that since you wrote scorpious wanted to kiss her for a while, I can imagine him having a crush on her in school and not saying anything, which just adds to the adorableness of the whole fic! It really is a great read! :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by Ron 4 HermioneIf You Want To: If You Want To

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, I love the originality of this piece. It would normally be the other way round so I love that you've switched things up! The way you portrayed them is amazing as well, because even though it's not how they're normally portrayed, it still fits their character. I love it, it's perfect!

I love how much of a gentlemen James is as well, because although he was a bit of a jerk he obviously had to grow up to get Lily and I think you showed exactly how much he had matured and how much he actually cared for Lily by being a gentlemen and not kissing her when she was in that state.

This is a really nice fic and I think you've done a great job with it! It's a great read :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by Ron 4 HermioneCowardice: Cowardice

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, this is a great fic! I don't normally read much founders but this was really good. The idea of a Helga/Salazar ship is really interesting, I don't think i've read it before but you write about it so convincingly that I can see it. Especially with the sad ending of Salazar just leaving. It's definitely realistic.

I love the way she died too, refusing to open her eyes! It's perfect because I know some people see her as weak because she founded hufflepuff but I don't think that's true and the way you've wrote about it in here is perfect! Refusing to open her eyes, not wanting to die that way, it's a really nice part that says so much about her!

This is a great fic, I really enjoyed it! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by Ron 4 HermioneYet: Yet

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there, aww this is such a cute story. I always think of Lily/James being really cute and adorable together and you've wrote that perfectly. Your characterisation of them is amazing, from the joking around (love the 27 and a hlaf minutes to do the hair part aha) and then to the more peaceful stuff like the bit at the end.

This song as well, it's a great song and I think it goes really well with what you've written. It's incorporated beautifully into the whole fic and it works wonderfully. Especially for James/Lily, I think you picked a great couple to use with this. :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by Ron 4 HermioneRemnant of a Muggle Life: Dancing

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there and oh wow, was really happy to find this happy fic about James/Lily and then you go and throw in that song/ the last line! D:

It was written really well, you did a great job on this and I love your characterisation of both James and Lily. I could really see this happening, especially James not liking muggle music because he wouldn't have grown up with it. The dance at the end was so cute, you wrote it really well. Not too detailed, but enough so that we still knew what was happening (and how adorable they were being together :p) I especially liked the part about lily persuading James to join in, I think that characterisation was spot on and I don't think you could have written it any other way!

This is such a great fic, you've done a really good job on it and I really liked it! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by Ron 4 HermioneLinger: Linger

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, wow I don't know what exactly it was but this fic really hit me (in a good way tho!) You went through her thoughts and feelings really well, even tho it's a short fic I still felt like what you wrote was enough to make me sympathise with her! And then the bit about the husband made me remember who she was and oh wow, it got like ten times sadder. How she must have felt just sat there, waiting for her husband, you got that through perfectly! I really felt for her.

I loved the way you went through her life as well, it just reminds you that her life was once ordinary and now she's all caught up in this war and she could potentially be stripped of who she is because of it. It really reminded me of how innocent people were cuaght up in the war too because sometimes I think it's easy t forget when the book only focuses on Harry and those around him.

Anyway, I really loved this fic, I think you've did a great job with it and it's wrote beautifully! :)

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! I loved exploring Mary's character, because she's always interested me, even though she has a pretty small part in DH. I always felt really bad for her, because she has to go into her trial alone as a result of Harry, Ron, and Hermione's plans. I think that really fits with what you said about innocent people being caught up in the war. Mary didn't do anything, and the trio don't even know she exists, but she gets caught up in their plans, anyway.
Thank you so much for the review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Ron 4 HermioneGame On: Headless Polo - Jayna - Hufflepuff

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there, this is amazing! We all know about the headless hunt from Nearly headless nick but to take it into the future with characters we know is really interesting and makes for a great read!

I love your writing style, it makes this fic exciting and fast paced which really suits the game. The style of the commentators is also written really well! You write about the match in such a fun, exciting way, with the jokes, the biased and the comments on the match, it really does remind me of the quidditch commentary from the books! I love the part at the end, with Lee and Mcgonagoll, it made me laugh so much.

I really love this fic, it's a great quick read and you've did an amazing job with it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Ron 4 HermioneThe Missing One: The Missing One

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there, this is a nice little fic (I think I started Keeping secrets when you first started it, gonna have to go and finish it). I love your characterisation of Molly, since she's such a mam figure, I can imagine her doing this and getting really worried about were Charlie is.

Although this fic is sad, the last part makes me think that she still has some hope and I really like that, because I think she wouldn't be able to bring herself to think the worse about her son's and I think that came through nicely, especially in the part you said she goes to Romania every day!

This is a great fic that I really enjoyed reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Ron 4 HermioneExit Wounds: Exit Wounds

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, wow this is a powerful one-shot, especially since it's so short. You manage to get across some quite powerful thoughts and made it feel really personal even though we don't actually know who it is. I think that makes it stronger tho, the fact that you haven't told us who the character specifically it. It gives an air of mystery to the piece which adds to the tension and importance of it.

I think you've got the thought process of the person written really well, thinking that they're alone and that no-one will want them and then going through and thinking that it shows they're weak. I think you've shown that really well, especially since it's such a sensitive subject.

This is a really good read, great job with it! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by Ron 4 HermioneSunflower: Sunflower

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff

Hey there! This is a nice little fic that shows just what Luna was like and the effect she could have had on those around her. I think you've got Luna's characterisation pretty good, I love the metaphor of the sunflower, it works really well! It fits so well and sounds just like Luna.

I was wondering if you had an idea of who this was, or if you just chose a character from Ravenclaw?? Either way it's still a really good read, and even tho it's short, I think it's a great length for demonstrating just how much of an effective Luna had on people, it reminds me of the effect she had on Harry with the threstrals. Also, I think the other person is really realistic because like you wrote, Luna really is a rare gem and most people do just tend to follow others and do what others want and so I think that that part is also really realistic.

This is really written, and a really nice idea for a story. Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by Ron 4 HermioneThe Monster Within: I will always be a monster

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there! Wow, this was such a great read, it went from being really sad to slightly more cheerful and I loved it! I definitely think you managed to convey how Remus would be feeling when he changes, it sounds both painful and you've managed to get across the sense that he's used to it and knows exactly what to expect, which I guess he would.

I love the last section, when his friends are there as this makes it a little less sad because at least he's not alone and has people to spend his time with. The last line was particularly striking, because even though all his friends have changed he still thinks he a monster and this is so in character because we know he thinks this even when he's an adult.

I also really love that you've included Peter because some fic's don't but he was their friend at Hogwarts and I think that it's important that he is so that was a nice addition!

Overall,this is a great fic that I really enjoyed reading! :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by Ron 4 HermioneThe Badger's Den: The Badger's Den

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff!

Hey there, this is such an interesting idea and perspective to take! I love that you've wrote it from the perspective of the hufflepuff common room, I don't think I've read anything quite like it before! It works really well tho, you've written it really well and I love the atmosphere you create about the hufflepuff common room. The descriptions you use are amazing, I especially like "It has lost the earthy glow it normally possesses when scorching flames warm laughing students." and it makes it seem like the huflepuff common room is a really fun, happy place to be (which is totally is :P ).

You also manage to create a feeling of loneliness and I guess that would happen in the summer holidays, although it makes me feel sad for the room (now I didn't think I'd ever feel sad for a room aha). The last line also stands out for me "Hello, my old friends. Welcome home to the Badger's Den." Just the use of old friends, and welcome home really seem to emphasise how friendly and welcoming hufflepuff would be and I think you've really captured the feel of the house. Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by Ron 4 Hermionelow tide: a meditation

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015-Hufflepuf

Hey there, this is both really sad and really peaceful at the same time. This is such an interesting fic, it's just a normal day to day fic of George but of course it's twinged with sadness because he's the only twin left. I think this is a really realistic portrayal, he's not sat in tears all the time, but he hasn't forgotten Fred, even when he's out with his friends. This seems especially pertinent for Fred and George since they were always together, and so as you've shown, everything George does has memories of when he did it with Fred.

I love that you've chosen to set this at a beach, it gives it an almost peaceful feel which is rare in fics that look at the loss of Fred with George but I think you've made it work really well! This is a really great fic, and I think you've written it beautifully! Gonna add it to my favourites! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you, I am really glad you enjoyed this fic and that you found it simultaneously sad and peaceful - I was definitely aiming for that. I'm also glad to hear you found it realistic. I think that George would be kind of a mix of emotions as he is sad that Fred is gone, yet mostly all of his memories of Fred are happy ones so it's a kind of blend of the two. I'm glad you liked that, thanks!

The sea seemed like the perfect setting to write as it really just exemplifies the theme of cycles and change and time that I wanted to touch on - besides, I love the ocean and was living near one when I wrote this ;) It's great to hear you liked the element of peace in the story - George's thoughts in this are largely based on my own experiences of coming to terms with grief over time. And wow I'm so honoured that you added it to your favourites! Thank you! This was a wonderful review, thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Ron 4 HermioneOne Word: One Word

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff- House cup 2015!

Hey there, this is such an interesting idea to take on this. I love how you take it down to such a simple concept "one word", and how that effects on everything else. I think your last line sums it up best, "One word. Gods, but that one word meant everything". I think this is such a realistic take on this too because it is true that words can have such a major impact, even just one word.

I loved how you kept it mysterious right up until the end, I think that made the fic also really effective because instead of thinking about the word and what we already know about lily/Snape, the reader is left to think about the effects words can have, even just one.

I definitely enjoyed it, I'll also be sure to check out the spin-off, this was a really great fic that I enjoyed reading! Great job :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by Ron 4 HermioneMagic Carpets in Goblininstan: A Magic Carpet Ride

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff

Hey there, this is a really great story! I love this paring, they're so cute together and I love this fic of them, you write them really well!

The idea of the ride being Ron's idea was definitely believable, I can just imagine Neville asking for help and Ron making wild suggestions like this :P Poor Neville. The idea that Neville would try to get it so perfect and then end up with it all going wrong/off-plan is perfect for him, bless him!

The proposal tho!! That was amazing, him just shouting at Hannah about how much he loves her, and then her getting really excited!! Aww, this is easily one of the cutest fics I've ever read!

An amazing fic that you've wrote perfectly! Great job! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by Ron 4 HermioneRomulus and Remus: Romulus and Remus

20th July 2015:
House cup 2015- Hufflepuff

Hey there, this is such an interesting idea for a story. I love fics that have Remus in them and this one is just as good! I think you've got his grief shown perfectly, the fact that it's took a few years and then that he still can't look at certain items around the house, I think it demonstrates just how hard it was, especially since he lost so much.

Wow, that ending! I loved it, it was a great surprise, and then it makes the story into a great explanation for why he chose that name. It's a lovely idea from that, and I think it really reinforces just how much of an impact the book had on Remus if he still remembered it all those years later. Loved that link!

This is a great story, I think you've did a great job on it! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>