Reading Reviews From Member: Mariano_Pingitore
  
12 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Mariano_PingitoreGrowth: dull as dirt

23rd May 2014:
Excellent work! Merope is a wonderfully intriguing character, I loved this story!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much for taking the time to read and review! ♥ This really means a lot to me, and I'm glad you enjoyed the story! Merope is indeed a very interesting character, and it's a little sad that she isn't explored much in fanfic compared to other characters. Thank you again! ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #2, by Mariano_PingitoreHarry Potter and the Forgotten Enemy.: Chapter 2: Escape!

30th December 2012:
Hey, I just found your story and started reading it! It seems quite an interesting point of view, although I should at this point express my views on this chapter: While I like the way you string words together, cause it certainly shows you're an accomplished writer, I really believe Gridelwald escaped a little bit too easily. If he had been capable of using wandless magic for all those years he could have escaped sooner, or was he afraid of Dumbledore when he was alive? Perhaps that would be the smoothest explanation though it is not hinted in the chapter. Anyway, the story has gripped me already and I'll continue reading it ASAP.

(by the way if you go to my author's page you'll find but a single story with two chapters that haven't been updated since May. All I can say is that I had a rough year, but I intend to continue the story in 2013 (I have the first 10 chapters hand written, waiting for my lazy self to type them up.)

Cheers!

Author's Response: I always had it in my head that Grindelwald gained the use of wandless magic because he knew that if Voldemort came while he was still stuck in Nuremgard, he'd die, so he had to escape. Sorry if that wasn't clear.
Thanks for the compliments, and the review in general, and I'll be sure to check out your story :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Mariano_PingitoreRolling Stone: Chapter 17

1st June 2012:
Thy will be done, o great one! If kind reviews are what your will beseeches, kind reviews are what you be getting.

I'm sorry for my little, quite possibly incorrect digression but it was really something I needed to do! I've been away for so long and now I'm trying to get back on track and at least it's been nice to have a couple of new chapters of yours to read. I like how the story is developing. Ron's character gets nastier and nastier by the minute, he's just plain awful! You'll see I went for a totally different angle in my story, my Ron will surprise more than one! (well, he will whenever I type my manuscripts and upload them! =P)

I hope to get bark on good working rhythm and I'd love to keep on reading this story! kindest regards!

Author's Response: Good to hear from you again, amigo, and I'm glad you still like the story.

I didn't think Ron was getting nastier, just more and more stupid and desperate.

The next chapter won't be too long, but there is something I have to finish first.

Thanks


 Report Review

Review #4, by Mariano_PingitoreRolling Stone: Chapter 15

27th April 2012:
That was a nice redemption for Narcissa. I wonder what will be Draco's reaction when she finally passes away, I hope he doesn't revert to his 'old self' out of grief. Anyway I liked it and it is quite a change for me to be reading a story chapter by chapter, I've grown accustomed to reading complete stories all the time.

My first ff is up! The first chapter is already uploaded and the second one is in validation. It will be developing slowly at first because it takes over exactly after the end of Deathly Hallows and there is much to do but eventually it will get pace. If you have the time please take a look at it and tell me what you think. Thanks a lot =)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Mariano_PingitoreEclipse of Time: How to Say Goodbye

14th April 2012:
On the whole, I loved your story! I feel I have exhausted myself reviewing the chapter were Fawkes dies and I think I can't do any better than that! I'll be surely perusing your other stories! =) Thanks a lot for the universe you created, for the emotions you moved me into and for your commitment to the story all the way through!

 Report Review

Review #6, by Mariano_PingitoreEclipse of Time: Fire Falling, Shadows Calling

14th April 2012:
I'm writing this review long after your story is finished (although I have not reached the ending yet). I had, until now, seen no sense in reviewing any chapter but the last. Seeing that the story was finished, I intended to give a full review of the whole novel after I had finished it. However, this chapter moved me deeply. I always suspected Fawkes was going to die, from the moment he told Harry that he could die to grant his, for want of a better word, owner, the gift of life. It saddens me no less, however. The intricate ways in which every Harry Potter story, albeit not "official" moves every fan is only of JKR's making. Her skillfulness in portraiting characters is only too great that we readers bond with them much more that we care to admit. I have no shame to admit I cried for Fawkes, as I have cried for Sirius, Dumbledore, Dobby and Fred in the "official" HP stories. We all feel a little betrayed when an author takes away from us a character we wished to live on, but I think it is that treat that makes the story even more deeply touching. One can always hope for a happy ending but, to put it somewhat in Harry's terms, it would have been foolish to think that every good, kind and loyal being would see through the whole tale. It is pain when I read it, and hope too. The fact that I can bond so much, even with a piece of a fantasy shows me I am human, I can feel, I can love. I will not be as thick as to say that I feel protected by love in the way Harry is in the story, but it would be foolish not to note that Voldemort and his forces represent every bit of our inner demons: The fear of death. I can only thank you for my tears. I hope you were able to move a lot of people like you just moved me.

 Report Review

Review #7, by Mariano_PingitoreChildren of the Legends: Chapter 3

13th April 2012:
Wow, so many exciting things mounting here! Added a pint of mithology and suddenly you have me drooling all over! It's a pity it is on hold, but seeing I can't really blame you, what with RS and the fact that you probably have a life =P

Loved this! I hope some day you could continue it!

BTW I have submitted the first chapter of my first ff! It's still on validation but I would be thrilled if you read it when it's validated! =) Thanks a lot for the inspiration!

Author's Response: Yeah, RL does get in the way sometimes. That and too many stories partly completed.

Thanks for leaving this review.

I'll certainly read/review your story. How could I not?


 Report Review

Review #8, by Mariano_PingitoreA Parting Well Made. Part Two.: A Parting Well Made. Part Two

8th April 2012:
I liked it! It was, perhaps, a little bit too "pink and fluffy". Hmmm I'm not sure about that description but it seemed a little like a fairy tale. I'm hoping for the next in the series to see how will Ron react to the births and to get some light on Malfoy's strange attitude! Keep it up! (I'm still waiting for the next chapter of Rolling Stone! =D)

Author's Response: Hello again. I'm not planning to take this one any further. Sorry.

You're still waiting for chapter 15 of RS. Sadly, so am I. It's slow going, I'm afraid.

Did you register on the forums yet?

Thanks for your comment.


 Report Review

Review #9, by Mariano_PingitoreHarry Potter and the Chinese Book: Finding the Future

8th April 2012:
I totally loved your story. There's a lot more than meets the eye. I think you showed total understanding of the essences of the characters and it is beautifully written. There's love in all forms, joy, understanding, maturing. There's adventure, there are memories, there's nostalgia but there's always that sense of moving forward. It totally gripped me, from start to end, I devoured it in two sessions of extensive, almost maniacal, Hermione-ish reading. I'll surely be adding it to favourites and will be perusing what other stories you may have penned. Again, awesome work, thanks a lot!

Author's Response: Mariano,

Thank you, I'm pleased you enjoyed the story, really pleased that the emotional themes were effective. I have started another story but first I'm editing this one to incorporate readers' suggestions. Not sure when I'll get back to the new one. It is spring here in the American high dessert and between work and the needs of our fruit trees, "spare time" is getting rarer.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #10, by Mariano_PingitoreHarry Potter and the Chinese Book: Chapter 2: Closing the Circle

6th April 2012:
Ok, I may be becoming a bit emotional but tears cascaded down my cheeks the whole chapter. You gripped me, sir, you really did. I wish I could stay and continue reading but I need to go, plus I really don't want to keep on crying. What's wrong with me?

Author's Response: Mariano,

I don't think anything is wrong with you. Even knowing it is fiction, we love Fred, we admire Remus and Tonks and want them to be happy. Regardless of our age, the loss of a child like Colin and the grief we know his parents feel moves us because we're human and can feel with them.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #11, by Mariano_PingitoreHarry Potter and the Chinese Book: Chapter 1: Tears of Sorrow - Tears of Joy

6th April 2012:
You got me weeping from the get-go, you did. I am really keen to continue reading this story, the start is really promising (and I'm not talking about the plot, hardly anything has happened, but you seem to be able to accurately depict the feelings of the characters and the end of the chapter with Molly and Arthur acting as parents of them all was very touching. I hope the rest is as good as this!

Author's Response: Thank you Mariano,

The story mostly revolves around feelings, four really fine young people, who have bravely faced real trauma, search for the rest of their lives. So the plot doesn't move at lightning speed. It will move eventually but for now I tried to establish who they are and what they want for their futures.

Bill


 Report Review

Review #12, by Mariano_PingitoreA Parting Well Made. Part One: We'll smile indeed

6th April 2012:
I had written a review for this but it is not here! D=

Anyway, I created an account, like you suggested. Straight to bussiness:

I'm not at all fond of a Canon Based Harry/Hermione love story. I just feel JKR gave us plenty of signs of the Ron/Hermione story and, even though I know you're not too fond of Ron, I would have found it easier to take if you had deviated a little bit from the original story. Anyway, it's me feeling unconfortable, not you making a mistake so I'll just have to suck it up.

I think the weirdest thing I find here is: 'I don't want to die a virgin'. Sincerely I feel it completely un-Hermione-ish, but then again, it may be just me.

Anyway, would it be too rude to bother you running some ideas through you? I really am moved to write by reading your stories and have some topics that I would like to explore, but could really use some advice from an accomplished writer such as you. What say you?

Author's Response: Well done for joining HPFF. When you get on the forums, look me up. Any help you need, I'll be glad to give and if I can't there are plenty of people who can.

If you think I'm an accomplished writer, I thank you, but look around the archive, there are writers there that blow me away.

One tip, don't get hung up on Canon. The majority of stories are outside the canon of JKR.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login