Reading Reviews From Member: TearsIMustConceal
  
15 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TearsIMustConcealMoney Can't Buy You Love: Instability

5th September 2013:
Hi, here from the review battle!

This is the first time I have ever read something about Blaise Zabini so I was immediately intrigued as to how you had portrayed him and I was not disappointed at all.

The first thing I felt for him was pity. Growing up, flitting from one father figure to next and not having that proper role model to look up to must have been tough. The instability he has dealt with explains why he would be so confused, so in two minds over his own relationships. Abandonment is something very hard to deal with and his issues about love and everything else are completely founded.

For a one-shot based on family, it's particularly good because you've gone down a different route. Instead of looking at the perfect, loving family, like The Weasley's or looking at not having family at all, like Harry, you've looked at a family that people can relate too. Sure, not everyone's mother has had eleven husbands but a lot of people, including myself, can relate to having to let someone new into their lives. It's a hard and confusing time so to do it eleven times must really mess up your emotional stability, something you have really shown here and done it well.

His doubts about marrying Katrina fit perfectly with what he has been through. After seeing marriage after marriage being only business deals, rather than for love, of course he would have some doubts to as whether true love can actually exist. I love also that although his mother is to blame for his issues, she is also the one to help him in the end, to show him that once upon a time, she did believe in love and I think that's really nice that she can make him believe that a true love does exist.

Anyway, I absolutely adore this. Your writing is amazing and for something that is out of your comfort zone, you've done a really great job.

Good luck with the challenge!

Author's Response: Hi TearsIMustConceal, thank you so much for the fantastic review! Sorry it has taken me a few days to respond!

I've not read a Blaise story before either, and I certainly wouldn't have thought I could write one! I was very nervous about posting this so I am so happy you enjoyed it and were not disappointed with my portrayal of Blaise :D

When I got Blaise for the family challenge the first thing that came to mind was the fact that his mother had been widowed (under suspicious circumstances) 7 times by the time Blaise was in 6th year. As the challenge was to explore what family meant to the character and how it influenced their personality/character, I thought this past was perfect! How could the instability and inconsistency of having so many stepfathers not have an impact on someone?! As you said, having to let one new parental figure into your life is hard and confusing enough, let alone eleven ad most of these at such a young age! I am relieved and glad you felt I portrayed Blaise's emotional instability well.

I am so happy that you loved that his mother was the one to help him in the end. The wedding photos on the mantelpiece and the one of his mother and biological father's wedding day was the first scene I thought of when planning this fic, and the rest was written around it. I wanted Blaise to have a happy ending and I felt that knowing his mother did once know how to love would help him make the right decisions to get that happy ending :)

Thank you so much for your review it has made my day and put a massive smile in my face :D

Haronione ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by TearsIMustConcealHow I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

2nd September 2013:
You had me at the first line!

Honestly, that first sentence and the rest of that first paragraph had me in stitches and I was immediately hooked. I knew when I was reading a one shot about Lockhart that I was in for some laughs but this completely exceeded expectations and I'm so glad I came across it!

I don't think you could have portrayed Lockhart any better than you have, he is absolutely perfect here. I can't see me ever reading another Lockhart story and it being as good as this. You've got his character down so well. I want to hug him, to be one of his followers but at the same time I want to hex him and his perfect hair! I love that you have expanded him; the hair potions, the discovery of his favourite colour, it's nice to see a depth to the shallow, self absorbed character we see in Chamber of Secrets. His ridiculousness is such a key factor and you've really nailed that in this. Just mentioning the fact that he spent his time admiring his reflection with his lilac hat on whilst he was in potions is so simple but genius!

You're writing is amazing, it flows perfectly and it just makes me want to read on and on. This is truly an amazing one-shot, probably one of the best I have ever read and I am so glad that this was recommended on the forums!

Author's Response: sknd;jnhjkhs THANKS! This was such a nice surprise review! ♥

I'm so glad you thought the portrayal of Lockhart was perfect - you are too nice! When I read the books I was always struck by how infuriating Lockhart was, in a really hilarious way. And translating that into his POV means that he doesn't pick up on a lot of things, like others' perceptions of him.. which was pretty fun to write. I'm not really sure he has much depth - he's still quite shallow and self absorbed! But you're right, he certainly doesn't see himself that way! ;)

I'm thrilled that you liked the story so much! Your review was such a pleasure to read. Thank you!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by TearsIMustConcealCosmically Clueless: I. God's Practical Joke

31st August 2013:
It is so refreshing to see James in a different light! Don't get me wrong, I do enjoy the usual portrayal of him and I am guilty of writing him in that way but wow, it's good to see him a bit differently. I love the element of him being clueless about girls and oblivious to their. And his affectionate side is endearing, the song about his dead dog? It makes me want to hug him.

I loved the opening so much, you're writing is absolutely amazing! It flows perfectly and the conversational element really works. And Augusta, what can I say? I absolutely love her, she has the perfect combination of sarcasm and wit and does it in a way that isn't horrible. She's intriguing and already loveable and I really can't wait to read more of what she has to say about James and life in general.

I can't wait to read the next chapter which I am definitely doing after this!

Author's Response: Haha, I don't blame you at all! We all have our weak spots for hot guys being hot and/or arrogant and/or perfectly aggravating and/or perfect. I've written my fair share of them in the past too ;) But yes, it's always fun to do something different with a character's fanon image and derpy James is no exception. He's such a sweetie but so, so dumb. (And hot. Never discount the hot).

Ahh thanks so much! I'm glad it all works. My first-person, as I'm sure lots of first-person in fanfic is, tends towards the conversational and snarky and kind of dumb, so I'm glad it works for the story and for Augusta. Who in every respect is my baby, so I'm very happy to hear she isn't horrible! Let's just say she thinks rather highly of her intuition and her observational skills, and she's right as much as she is wrong. Shenanigans!

Thanks so much for such a great review and I hope you continue to enjoy~


 Report Review

Review #4, by TearsIMustConcealCarpe Diem: Let The Boy Bashing Begin

30th August 2013:
I reckon it comes down to the person on whether you would get offended by it. And how it's said, sometimes being called stupid can hurt if it's said in a certain way. Ridley's a Hufflepuff and they usually get called stupid for no reason at all so I can understand her anger about that and I can see why she kicked off at him!

Great chapter, by the way! I can't wait to see what happens in the next chapter!

Author's Response: I think any Hufflepuff would feel a certain degree of anger at being called stupid, and Ridley was just looking for something to get angry at.
Thanks for the review


 Report Review

Review #5, by TearsIMustConcealCarpe Diem: Hogwarts Is a High School (Duh?)

30th August 2013:
Considering this was a prologue, it was really pretty amazing! I'm hooked already!

I love the way you have written this, it's really interesting and gives the reader enough information to leave them wanting more!

I can't wait to read the next chapters!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it. I wasn't sure how to start off the story originally, but I am pleased with the prologue.

 Report Review

Review #6, by TearsIMustConcealInsomnia: Unanswerable

25th August 2013:
I absolutely love this story, which shows since I have just read all four chapters and now want more!

Emmeline is mystery to me! One minute, I feel like I understand her, with her talk about being self conscious and her worries about going to the dinner but then there is the whole 'she gave up magic' and she won't explain why and it makes me really want to know more about her and I love that about her!

Also, your writing is amazing. The story flows all the way through each chapter and it makes me want to read more.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Oh, what a lovely review! I'm blushing. ^_^ I have a lot of PW to catch up with, but hopefully I can get another chapter up at some point. :3

 Report Review

Review #7, by TearsIMustConcealNotion.: White Noise

25th August 2013:
Ah, i've been waiting for chapters and then I have few to read all at the same time!

I absolutely adore Callie, I don't think anything will ever change that. Everything she does, I love. She's just amazing.

This chapter was sooo good, the story definitely needed a lighter chapter and this was perfect. Only Callie could get herself into the situations she does, I couldn't imagine being under the bed...actually I refuse to imagine it, I would be completely disgusted as both Callie and Lily were!

Your chapters always flow so well and I love how funny the story really is, I would love to be able to write a comic story but alas, I find it impossible so in the meantime I will just continue to read Notion and laugh in inappropriate places (a habit I have when I read this)

Can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: This is most likely the loveliest review I think I've ever had! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a long, complimentary review. I'm so very glad my humour comes across (I do wonder sometimes if anyone will get my jokes!) and I'm also so very glad you're still reading and enjoying the story. Thank you again for taking the time read and review this story x

 Report Review

Review #8, by TearsIMustConcealUndertow: Chapter Three

19th August 2013:
Three chapters in and I can already sense it's going to be just as amazing as Over the Edge! Your imagination is incredible, if I had only half of it, I would be a happy girl! As always, I am still in love with Viktor and Rose and your writing is just pure heaven! I swear, you could re-write the dictionary and everybody would read it!

So excited for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #9, by TearsIMustConcealMuggle Studies: Summery and Summary

19th August 2013:
I CAN'T BELIEVE I WON'T HEAR ANY MORE OF ARCHIE'S HILARIOUS GOINGS ON AT HOGWARTS!

(I also can't believe that you completed it ages ago and I never even realised!)

As much as I am sad that Archie's time has come to an end, the last couple of chapters were amazing! (the only good thing about forgetting to check back on this story was to have about 5 chapters to read in succession!)

If I could have voted, I would have voted Archie best teacher (and president and prime minister and whatever other important job there is in the world!). I will miss sarcastic comments, his hilarious puns and absolutely hysterical nicknames, I fear I will miss them a lot.

And now onto your amazing writing skills. I am in awe that you were able to write a story that was entirely humourous from start to finish, that is no mean feat and for that, I bow to you and your greatness! (I believe I would love to steal your writing skills and humour) I think no other funny story will ever compare. And as for your Dobby nominations, they are well deserved.

ARCHIE FOR BEST ORIGINAL CHARACTER!

Even though I am now sad, I am really happy you enjoyed writing this hilarious story...the names of the students was the one thing that tickled me the most, often making me laugh rather loudly in the library. (being english, Katie Price will always be my favourite name haha).

And so, I say farewell to Archibald Penrose but he will always be my favourite character and if JK ever wrote more books, I would definitely petition for Archie (and RDJ because I see no one else ever being able to play him) to be included because I reckon JK might just be a bit jealous that she never came up with him first.

 Report Review

Review #10, by TearsIMustConcealOver The Edge: Chapter 21, Epilogue: Rose Weasley

4th February 2013:
My heart is completely melting here! The ending is so sweet and cute and ugh, i loved it! I'm so happy they're together and with nothing to stop them or get in the way (well, if you forget the fact they will be on the run but that is just a little hitch!)

I didn't think it was possible to love Viktor anymore but you have proven me wrong! I kind of knew he would take the blame because he loves Rose too much to let her go down for it but the way you have written it is just amazing.

And as for Rose, you have completely turned my opinion of her around. I never used to like Rose an awful lot and used to avoid stories with her in, usually because of the cliche of her and Scorpius together (i'm being hypocritical because i put them together in my story but that's another matter!) so when i came across this story, i was so reluctant to read it as it was Rose centred but it was one of the best decisions i have made! You've made me like Rose and i think only a really awful Rose story would make me change my mind again!

While i'm upset that this story is over, i'm so happy you finally finished it and you should be really proud of it! Your writing skills are just incredible and i could definitely read your stories over and over again. I would most definitely recommend this story to anyone and i can't wait to read more of your stories!

Congratulations on an amazing story!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Tears! I'm so glad you liked the ending, and the story overall. I tried to make Viktor "worthy" of the sacrifice Rose would have to make to be with him in the end. And it's so cool to hear that the story changed your opinion of Rose a bit. I tried to write her in a way that I really thought a person raised by Ron and Hermione might turn out.

Thank you again for reading. I plan to start working on After We Fall again now that I've finished this one if you're interested. And thank you for the wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by TearsIMustConcealOver The Edge: Chapter 20: Regina McFey, Part II

28th January 2013:
AH!

I'm completely and utterly speechless at this moment in time. Words cannot comprehend what is running through my head.

I did not expect it to be Regina, i had completely forgotten about her! But now i remember her and i hate her. HATE HER I TELL YOU!

I can't believe you've done it again. Two cliffhangers in a row? I feel like boycotting this story but i have no willpower whatsoever, i am seriously addicted now.

This chapter was seriously amazing, i've read it twice now and i am still jumping up and down with anticipation for the next chapter. How dare Regina try to kill Rose! Just because she can only get fame by writing saucy novels for bored house-witches doesn't mean she has the right to do that!

I'm going to stop ranting/praising your amazing skills and i am now eagerly awaiting the next chapter. Update soon!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad it was a surprise! I was hoping people wouldn't see it coming but at the same time sort of think back and go, yep, she's evil enough for it. Sorry about the second cliffy in a row, though. Hopefully you can forgive me since the next chapter is the last one and all questions will be answered.

Thank you for such a nice review. The rough draft of the next chapter is already written, and I hope to have it posted in the next few days!


 Report Review

Review #12, by TearsIMustConcealOver The Edge: Chapter 19: The Intruder

26th January 2013:
NO!

You can't leave me hanging like that!

Apart from the cliffhanger, i loved it although it does make me sad that the book is finally written, i feel like it could mean that any minute and their relationship could fall apart and i don't want that to happen because i am now an avid Rose/Viktor shipper! But then i'm glad because Rose will finally have her book out and i want her to do well...conflicting feelings here!

I also want to know what Viktor's surprise was...you're getting mean by leaving these things untold!

Amazing writing, as per usual. Your skills make me unbelievably jealous! Can't wait for the next chapter! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Tears. It is a little sad that the book is written, but it's also supposed to be a really exciting time for Rose. So many possibilities in front of her. And it makes me so, so happy to hear that you like the pairing. I know it's a bit unusual, but I always hoped that by the end, readers would be routing for them as a pair.

Gah! Sorry for all the cliffhangers with this one. And the ones in the chapter that follows! But thank you so much for the review. I'm so happy you're enjoying the story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by TearsIMustConcealMuggle Studies: Parashoot-me-now-please

26th January 2013:
So, i have just read all 8 chapters in succession and i am seriously hooked. I haven't laughed that much whilst reading a story in a long time, i enjoyed having aching stomach muscles because it was so completely worth it. The muggle references are hysterical; James Herriot, Thomas Hardy, DH Lawrence, Katie Price (if that one was intentional, then i salute you!) ...i absolutely love spotting them! This story is so witty and amazing that i need more. More i tell you!

I may have just become a little obsessed with Archibald!

Ps - Your writing is incredible! :)

Author's Response: This review properly made me grin and announce to my flatmates the glory of humanity. Thank you! I loved slipping in all those references (and that one was intentional) and I'm so glad you appreciate them! More soon :D

 Report Review

Review #14, by TearsIMustConcealOver The Edge: Chapter Seventeen: The Man in the Suit, Part II

15th January 2013:
This story is absolutely amazing! Why i have never read it before now, i don't know but now i have and i don't want to stop! Usually i'm not the biggest fan of Rose and most Rose stories annoy the hell out of me but this is a different story! I would never have even imagined Viktor Krum and Rose together but they work so well! And i love the fact she is naive but can still hold her own in the world! And as for Krum, well i would happily be in Rose's position. I'm so glad he is flawed and not perfect, it's the flaws that completely draw me to him. Anyway, enough of my rambling, i love this story (if you hadn't already guessed) and i can't wait to read more!

PS. You're writing is amazing! :)

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much, tears! I'm so glad you're enjoying the story. I think they are both pretty flawed characters, but in a way, I think that makes them well-suited for one another. I'm glad you're enjoying them as a pair.

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a nice review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by TearsIMustConcealWhy?: Snow in December

31st December 2012:
I don't usually read Percy/OC stories but i was pleasantly surprised by this and i find myself wanting to read more!

I absolutely love the letters at the beginning, it's a refreshing change to a beginning of a story and i think it immediately says a lot about the character's, especially Penny and the way she feels.

I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this lovely review. Your comment on the letters was really welcome as I was rather concerned about whether or not they were distracting from the story.

Charlie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login