Reading Reviews From Member: GingeredTea
  
126 Reviews Found

Review #1, by GingeredTeaDoing the Right Thing: Doing the Right Thing

27th August 2014:
This was a really great one-shot (and side-story to a much larger one, it seems). For this reason, you chose to really jump in to the mess of it all, and I admit I love that type of entrance.

You took Draco and really expanded on his character from the series, getting into his head and showing his thought pattern. I appreciate that it was concise and on-point, fitting Draco's count-down and 'simple' directions. Your flow, characterization, dialogue, thoughts, and descriptions all fit well with the mood and length of your story.

I loved it. :)

Thank you for the great read - we should do this again sometime so I can figure out what happens in bigger story.

 Report Review

Review #2, by GingeredTeaComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

25th August 2014:
If I'm being honest, I wouldn't have normally trudged through the beginning of this story (I'm bad that way), but then I would have missed what became an interesting story (I suspect I lose a lot of interesting stories to this ADD tendency of mine). I liked where you took this near the end and was eager to see where you would begin this 'missing' mystery.

Thank you for the lovely read, and now I'm going to hit the "next chapter" button if you don't mind, because you have me curious. :)

Author's Response: Aww thank you, I'm glad I made you want to read on, even if it's not the kind of thing you usually read.

Thanks for taking the time to review,

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #3, by GingeredTeaLumos: Chocolate Galleons

15th June 2014:
Okay, so the plot picked up a bit. There were still areas were the dialogue for two characters was in the same paragraph, so you may want to look into that.

I still feel like all the negative characteristics of the Trio are sort of expanded in this story: Harry's temper, Ron's temper, etc. I'm having a bit of trouble finding their reactions believable. Ron took great strides at the end of the books to understand it wasn't all about impressing his family, etc. etc. I don't see that represented at all. Did events happen differently in your story?

The tattoo was an interesting touch and I assume will come up later in the plot. I did notice your flow and dialogue was better and you did a good job incorporating some plot arcs.

Thank you for the read! :)

Author's Response: Thankyou! Yes, I know things are a little OC for now, but everything will be explained later. :) Thanks for the review. Yes, you might just be right about the tattoo, nobody seems to remember it but it'll play a big part...

 Report Review

Review #4, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: The Tangled Web We Weave

14th June 2014:
The idea that one would need to be 'studious' to avoid family really made me laugh, because it made me really analyze how big the 'family was' and that made me realize how 'studiously avoiding' really did fit. Sorry for the long rant about one word, but it was really a perfect choice. :D

As a teacher who sometimes has to deal with permission slips and 'so-and-so is going to take little Timmy home today' sort of notes (and then the matter-of-fact moment where you ask that person to see their license because no, it doesn't matter that the child knows them and calls them the right name), really made me appreciate what Neville went through before he conceded to having one person make the request for all of them.

Oh my, you too this very serious moment between Hugo, Ron and Hermione and managed to make me laugh. Ron's comment about sleeping in the bed next to Hermione was simply so RON! :D

You transition from one joke to another, tempering the seriousness of both scenes.

"It had given the guard just enough pause for one of the Aurors to stun him. Harry and Terry both agreed that the older they became, the more uses they found for Luna’s peculiar beliefs."

I loved that!

You did a really brilliant job with the Harry and Hermione scene. Setting him up to be physically near her and then describing his slight tensing as she worried about not getting well and he thought of how she might not walk - that was a great setup.

You write an older Trio very very well.

Uncle Harry playing keeper made me laugh!

"“You imperiused the muggle who killed Potter’s wife? Seriously?” Nott couldn’t help himself. She offered a slight nod from beneath her hood."

The plot thickens! What is up? Who is she? Pale and blond. Did Mrs. Malfoy really die? Luna? No way, right?

Author's Response: Hi! Today seems like a good day to answer reviews. I'm getting ever so far behind.

I'm glad you liked Harry's studiousness. It's been a long time, but I think I actually remember trying a few different words there before I settled on that one.

Given that Neville was a family friend and also a very practical sort of guy, I just had it figured that he eventually would have accepted somebody speaking collectively for Molly and Arthur's family.

Poor Hugo is caught in the middle of the mess. He can't really *make* his father do anything, but he's giving it the old college try.

Everyone can learn something useful from Luna if they listen closely enough. ;)

I really enjoyed writing the Harry/Hermione scene because it's the sort of physical closeness that a lot of fan fic authors shy away from for some reason. I don't get it. They've been friends for over 50 years by this point. A few hugs are too be expected, I think.

The pale, blond woman will be revealed in good time, as will the truth about her involvement in Ginny's murder. If I told you now, it would spoil the fun. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #5, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Fortunes

14th June 2014:
I never really thought of how one would write a female Voldemort. Reading this, I'm now not sure how I'm going to like a female Voldemort. She sounds as cruel as him but with control over her temper. It was Voldemort's lack of control and lack of key knowledge that was his downfall; this lady seems to have what he was lacking, and that worries me.

I have a feeling Harry is going to regret this little hesitation: "Harry thought it over. He would have preferred to keep at least one of the better duelists on the security detail, but he wasn’t sure how to suggest it without giving away the true nature of the mission. “That sounds fine,” he replied."

Harry always did feel lost without something to do - something large and dangerous to get near and "kill".


You managed to capture Harry as a no-non-sense boss, and did a brilliant job. :)

I love how you started the chapter with the concept of 'fortunate' and ended it there as well, illustrating so well the perceptions of good and bad from different sides of a war. :)

Brilliant chapter. Can't wait to read the next one. :)

Author's Response: I think you've got a pretty good feel for her already. Where Voldemort was half-mad, she's as cold and calculating as you'll ever find. What she lacks in raw power, she makes up for with meticulous planning and an almost effortless ability to manipulate people.

Harry might well regret that. At this point, he doesn't realize how much danger the Malfoys are actually in.

That's just Harry's mental makeup. I think he gets very uncomfortable if life is too boring for too long.

This chapter was all about fortunes and misfortunes. With one or two exceptions I can think of, I don't name my chapters until after they're written. Usually I can find some common thread running through each one or something that it reminds me of.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #6, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Strange Bedfellows

11th June 2014:
I always mean to do a rolling review, but then I get sucked right into your story and end up halfway through before I realize I should be noting my reactions. LOL

That said, I was really impressed by your description of the sisters shopping. My amazement probably has to due with the fact that I hate shopping and therefore wouldn't ten know where to begin describing someone who does. Kudos to you!

The way you write Daphne rushing to tell Astoria something, then forgetting as she admires the dress she picked out for her sister had me laughing.

The scene with Hermione had me on the edge of my seat, and that's probably where I forgot about the review - swept into the story. Will Hermione make a full recovery?

Harry just seemed so Harry here, making everyone worry with his worry.

Then you transition into the Astoria Flint scene and you have me on the edge of my seat again. Draco came at just the right/wrong time. I have a feeling Astoria might have managed a bit more gracefully without him, and maybe with them thinking she could still sway Draco. Her demand/order at the end made me smirk.

Harry speaking to the portraits was a nice breather between the chaos otherwise filling this chapter.

Then you jump right back in with Draco and Harry. I was tense as I read the paced but still dramatic conversation.

I loved this line. “Come to turn yourself in, Malfoy?” Harry said, startling him.

OMG, YOU ARE KILLING ME WITH LAUGHTER! TORTURE! "“Well done, Malfoy,” Harry replied coldly. “You’ve really come a long way, you know? For a moment there, I thought you were going to call my niece a mudblood, and I was about to remind you how it feels to be a ferret.”"

This was an awesome chapter! I wish I had more time review this, but work has been crazy right now. I'm really enjoying this. :)

Author's Response: Rolling reviews are harder than they seem. If I manage to successfully write one, it's not usually a good sign for what I'm reading. ;)

Shopping is probably the only hobby that Astoria and Daphne have in common. They're about as different as sisters can be, but they both have a weakness for retail therapy. Daphne much more than Astoria, obviously. She's also rather easily distracted.

Hermione has a long, difficult recovery in front of her. All throughout this story, I tried really hard to portray war for what it really is. People get hurt. And when they get hurt, they don't just bounce back the next day like they always seemed to at Hogwarts.

I imagine that Harry was a really good boss in most dimensions, but yes, he's really getting on everyone's nerves in that scene. Fortunately, he has Ron and Susan to rein in his less productive managerial tendencies.

Astoria definitely had Flint going before Draco showed up. She was also right at the point where she was going to have to knee him in the unmentionables, though. Draco and Astoria make a good team, even if he's not really willing to admit that he needs the help.

Isn't the Headmaster's office always a bastion of serenity? You know, unless you've just discovered that you're meant to die. ;)

Even if they did learn to tolerate one another and even behave somewhat cordially in the interest of their joined families, I highly doubt that Draco and Harry ever came to *like* one another. The animosities and the philosophical differences just run too deep. It was a lot of fun, writing their bickering and subtle displays of alpha behavior. Even in their sixties, they can't let go of the rivalry.

Your review was very enjoyable! Thanks so much!


 Report Review

Review #7, by GingeredTeaTo Prevent An Unfortunate Series of Events : This is your mission, if you should choose to accept it.

10th June 2014:
This is not typically something I read (although I do like time travel fics), but it was interesting. It is really cliche so far, but that's alright. People like what they like, and I can't tell you how many cliche fics I've read and really enjoyed. :)

You really got into the flow as you went along. I think your introduction could use a bit of work.

Sirius and James' seem so immature, but then they aren't Harry, and they aren't part of the war yet.

I'm interested in seeing where this goes. :) I'll come back.

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm glad you decided to read this one, it's my favorite that I've written, so far. :) I really enjoy time travel fics, myself. Although, mostly all that I've read had someone ending up in the 70's by mistake. Either a potion backfiring, a spell gone wrong or something along those lines. I'm relatively new to the whole fanfic experience - reading and writing it - so I honestly don't know many of the cliches yet. I kind of just had the whole story pop into my head one day.

Introductions, I'm finding out, are not one of my strong points. Hopefully with writing more they'll become better.

I always pictured James and Sirius kind of goofy. Sort of Fred and George like before the war really started. They didn't have the problems and hardships that Harry grew up with. Well, Sirius did in a way, but not to the extent of Harry.

Thank you for reading and reviewing! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!! :)

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #8, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: A Friend Indeed

7th June 2014:
You lulled me into such a sense of pleasantness at the beginning of this chapter; outlining how Draco basically restored his life, how he came to experience the true love for a child through his grandchildren, etc. etc. and then you brilliant flip all this niceness on its head!

Marcus Flint is up to something. I wonder what he's after.

"“Oh, that?” he tried to keep his voice calm. “He was from Gringotts. They’re very eager to get that paperwork resolved.”" Draco's still not very good at lying, is he? LOL

The conversation between Astoria and Hermione was exquisitely written and I loved the aloofness that Astoria tried to maintain and Hermione gently basically telling her 'I can't do anything if you're not going to give me anything'.

The scene at Records was AMAZING!

And the ending, with Draco so terrified for Astoria was really an unfair place to end. ;-)

Author's Response: Hi, there!

In my own mind, I figured Draco's life would have turned out basically alright, subject to certain ups and downs. He is very happy with his family, but Narcissa's inability to manage the family finances has left him in a difficult spot.

Marcus Flint is up to several things, as you'll soon see. :)

I would modify that statement slightly to say that Draco's not good at lying *to Astoria*. As you'll see later, he's fairly adept at lying to other people.

I imagine basically all conversations between Hermione and Astoria as negotiations. It comes naturally to Astoria because of her aristocratic pureblood background and Hermione is a no-nonsense kind of person when she's annoyed. She's definitely getting annoyed by the end of this conversation. ;)

Magical records! The first duel scene that I wrote for HPFF. I'm always kind of partial to it, so I'm glad it played well for someone who knows a bit about writing duels.

Ha! Fair has nothing to do with it. :p

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Those Who Don’t Learn From History

26th May 2014:
Once more, this was a brilliant story. As someone who has tried to write Harry as a guest teacher - I give you many many gold stars.

This whole chapter was jam packed with information, although I'm still itching to know what happened to Ginny. I liked how you didn't make Harry's grandson super great at dueling.

The scene with Dennis - I could see how much that would bother Harry and what he did to rectify such a misunderstand/lack of information as both brave, brilliant and a bit rash (a perfect Harry plan).

Professor Binns...why don't they just move the classroom and professor Binns can just talk to an empty room? I honestly feel like from cannon description he wouldn't know the difference!

Brilliant chapter! Thank you for the chance to swap!

Author's Response: I can't tell you how much fun I had writing the whole dueling lesson. It was one of those times I could really indulge my love of writing action scenes and also give Harry a rare happy moment in the sun. I really can't stand stories where every member of the Potter and Weasley family is automatically a super-talented duelist and automatic Auror material. Harry's grandchildren are having to work for it like anyone else.

Keep an eye on Dennis as the story goes on. Harry opens his eyes to some unpleasant truths in this chapter. Dennis is sort of a microcosm of a wizarding world that's become complacent and naive about the dangers of dark magic.

Interesting you should say that about Professor Binns. Try to remember that thought when you make it to chapter 40. ;)

I'm glad you enjoyed it! Thanks to you for the swap, as well!


 Report Review

Review #10, by GingeredTeaPure Intentions: Red Rose

26th May 2014:
I've been thinking about this story. I saw you made a sequel and I admit, I'm just on chapter two but already glad to know it will be continued!

I loved this line, and nearly chocked on the grape I was eating. For reward I got an odd look from my cat.

"“Do you know if Rose is single?” It was supposed to be a casual question, something not to be read into, but Al jumped on the question like James onto a broom. "

You really take Albus and Scorpius to a new level for me as a reader. Your presentation of them is just without flaw - they seem real and relatable and somehow you manage to take a story that is centered around slash and make it about so much more. This story just engulfs me, which is why I have arrived at the end and and am itching to press the "next chapter" button! :D :D

Thank you for the wonderful read!

Tory

Oh yes, to answer your question from last chapter, I don't usually read next gen (although it is growing on me) or slash (although I have read some, when the plot just can't be missed). So far, your Al/Scorpius is my favorite. :)

Author's Response: I can't tell you how exciting it is to me that you like this story! Especially since you're just warming up to Next-Gen and slash isn't quite your thing. :D haha, I'm glad you didn't choke at that part... I would have felt bad.

I like to think that their romance and sexuality is secondary to the larger story going on. In all the slash I've written, it's more about people than sex so their orientation is usually not a huge focus.

Thank you for a wonderful review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #11, by GingeredTeaLumos: Temper

26th May 2014:
So I really like this introduction! One issue I'm having a terrible time with is that the dialogue isn't on it's own line - so it's a bit hard sometimes to tell who is talking.

Harry seemed very OOC to me. During Horcrux hunting, he really reeled in his tempter (and managed to guard his mind against Voldemort). When he approaches Voldemort at the end, it is with a cool determination.

This Harry seems like a much younger OCC, unless you want to argue that he has some sort of trauma from he war, in which case I think putting that upfront may help. How old is he? How long since the war? Is his mind still jumbled? His instincts still fresh in his mind (making it more plausible he might lash out). Is he wallowing in his grief still? All of these things, if true, would make his actions more plausible - but only if the reader is aware they are influencing him.

It's an intriguing plot and I am eager to see how the two 'worlds' progress in the story.

Author's Response: Thankyou for your review! Yes, the first chapter may seem a little OOC BUT there is a reason for all of this. It's all for the plot! It seems to be the main issue. :(

In saying that, later chapters introduce a few different things that are happening here.

Thanks for r+r!


 Report Review

Review #12, by GingeredTeaBeautifully Destroyed: Beautifully Destroyed

25th May 2014:
This was a really beautifully written story! I really enjoyed your slow reveal of Regulus as her lover, the stories flow, and the dramatic yet gently unfolded ending.

There were a couple places where your sentences left an idea kind of hanging, like here: The silence drummed into her chest, the snow rendering her senses, melding colour and sound into one.

What did the snow render? Render into what? Sound and color into one? If so, they need to be more closely linked.

And this one: He would gingerly place it on down and gasp, sweat gleaming on his brow.

Place the mark down? or something on the mark?

Thank you for the lovely read!

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review! It really helps me to know that people are paying attention to the story and its flaws.

 Report Review

Review #13, by GingeredTeaClose Your Eyes: Fading

24th May 2014:
This was a very warming and beautiful story. At the same time it was terribly upsetting. You did a wonderful job with your first person perspective, a great job of flow, and a wonderful job of characterizing both Tonks and Remus (through her), perfectly.

I did notice one mistake. "The winds are beginning [there] wild dances through the shattered walls" There should be 'their'.

Thank you for the wonderful read! :)

Author's Response: Hello! I know I'm too late for responding this review.. I'm so sorry! :(

Thanks! I'm not usually comfortable with writing such stories, so I'm really happy you enjoyed this. I was going to write this with second person PoV actually, but I just couldn't get myself to do so... I'm glad you thought that worked!

Yeah, I know that awful mistake...! I just never had time to correct it. Hopefully I will edit it soon! :D

Thanks for the lovely review!!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #14, by GingeredTeaThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: i. the plan [or] five nerds face a life of hedonism

23rd May 2014:
This is very far from what I normally read. I'm usually dark, angsty, etc. etc.

That said, this was brilliant. You characterized the next gen crew so very differently (especially Albus and Scorpius). That, in itself, added something amazing to the story. This had me laughing, smiling and all around making my boyfriend give me odd looks over the top of his book!

The introduction was perfect. Ron and Hermione - just how I would imagine them arguing, especially from different rooms. The way you entered your other characters into the story - also a great job. Scorpius differentiated himself from his father the moment he smudged his face with ash, letting me know, without anything else necessary, that is is not a traditional Malfoy. Albus - not flying? You also made me know he's going to be VERY different than I would expect. Rose is about the only one who is portrayed at all typically - like her mother, at least so far.

Your ending was just brilliant and had me in stitches.

Can't wait to read more! Please swap with me again soon! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this, despite it not being what you normally read! (and prompting laughing, smiling and odd looks is definitely a good sign)

Ron and Hermione's relationship is built on a solid foundation of bickering, and I had to include that somehow. I do make a point of going against the established Next Gen stereotypes - putting them all in Ravenclaw, Scorpius being a bit undignified, Albus not able to fly. Rose is quite similar to her mother, but I've tried to steer away from the "crazy Rose has a temper problem" trope I see a lot of in Next Gen.

I'm glad you enjoyed it and yes, we should definitely swap again!


 Report Review

Review #15, by GingeredTeaWhat Are You Doing Here?: What Are You Doing Here?

23rd May 2014:
This was a really cute story!

The introduction was a little shaky - I wish I had, had more information in the beginning. First year? second year? The fact they were talking about 'new professors' threw me for a minute when I had thought they were first years, then I realized, yes, they were.

Jacob was a twist, unrealistic but super cute in a story. His mum's response at the end was hilarious - but did make me wonder if SHE was a witch (what was useful about his trip, if not that he brought back wand?).

Your characterization was really good for eleven year olds - light and night serious. The dialogue was not eloquent, but that fit nicely with your characters (that's a compliment, just to be clear).

I laughed as I read parts, and it was sweet and fun without being so fluffy that I fell asleep. :)

Thank you for a wonderful read!

 Report Review

Review #16, by GingeredTeaPure Intentions: Red Flags

21st May 2014:
So first I'll just say I SO don't normally read this type of thing. I felt like taking a risk today and thought of the skill with which you had written the Myrtle story I just reviewed. I'm glad I took the risk with you - this was, as I am going to now assume for all your stories, well executed!

I found no mistakes and entirely enjoyed this atypical read for me! :D I'll definitely be back for more!

Author's Response: Whoo! I'm glad you're willing to step outside of your comfort zone. Is it slash, romance, or next-gen that you're usually against? :) It means a lot to hear that you've enjoyed this so far. Thank you for such a kind review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #17, by GingeredTeaInvisible in Death: Ghostly Day

20th May 2014:
This was brilliant! It had me laughing, and falling into serious silences.

You entrance was perfect and the orientation you provided was just enough without making it feel drawn out. I loved wondering "when is she going to be in the bathroom" and that you didn't choose to go there immediately.

I felt terrible for her, but also laughed when she materialized to Olive.

Brilliant and very impressive.

Thank you for the awesome read!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the awesome review!! It's really great to hear that it was a good pace and was both funny and serious. :D Writing the scene where Myrtle materialized in Olive's room was one of my favorite bits of the story - very satisfying.

 Report Review

Review #18, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Losses

20th May 2014:
I read this chapter a while ago - probably between essays - but it is just wonderful how it all stayed with me. I just had to read the first line or two, and I knew exactly where I was.

The way you entered into the chapter was wonderful - showing us a Harry we more easily recognize. Diligent, emotional but strong. I could sense him looking around the court room and knew exactly where his eyes were landing based on your descriptions. It flowed as if it were a movie in my head.

The way you broke from the courtroom and the family reunion to the scene between Percy and Harry was brilliantly orchestrated. Harry asking Hermione and Ron if they knew how much they meant to him, and Ron's sincere but casual (which is what Ron has always seemed to me when he isn't being hot-headed) response was about as perfectly Ron as I have encountered!

The scene itself with Percy was...perfect. I'm not sure how else to say it.

"“You know what we’re here to discuss,” replied Harry, regarding his brother-in-law levelly."

I could see Harry doing that, see his expression.

And then when Percy described the killing curse and Harry doubted - as Harry always does - the evilness of Tom, that was also so...Harry.

To end it with a discussion between those we lost - Lily, James, Sirius, Dumbledore - it left me wiping at my eyes as I scrambled to read on.

Thank you for such a brilliant read. As always, this was a beautifully written chapter! :)

Author's Response: Hi, there! Sorry for the embarrassingly long delay in responding.

I'm glad the courtroom scene was easy to visualize and it was easy to imagine Harry sitting there. Several of the small details in this scene turn out to be rather important later, so I hope they stick with the reader.

Ron is pretty tricky to write, so it's gratifying to hear that he sounded right. You can't make him too soppy or it just doesn't work in my experience.

Keep Harry's discussion with Percy in the back of your mind as the story moves forward. I don't want to give away too much, but there's a lot more going on with Percy than meets the eye.

The conversation between the portraits wasn't in my original draft. The idea hit me while I was editing the chapter. I have to say, I'm rather pleased with how it turned out.

I'm happy that you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by GingeredTeaCrossing Delicate Boundaries : Positive or Negative

20th May 2014:
Okay...this is weird because I was JUST here, but I'm here again - so lets do a retake. LOL

The opening was a little confusing for me, and I would really have liked a little more orientation. Like the bit about her biting her nails and worrying all day.

This isn't the sort of story I typically read, but since it's the one you linked to, I'm reviewing this one.

The paragraph spacing really distracted me (I have a terrible problem correcting it sometimes too). The dialogue seemed a little off between them and Hermione seemed a little out of character - I've never known her to not just tell Ron how it is, except that she likes him, and since they obviously know that already, it seemed weird she didn't just tell him/yell at him/ etc.

Your summary is intriguing, but I felt, overall, this chapter needed more foreshadowing.

Thanks for the review swap! :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks so much for the swap! I am sorry you didn't like the beginning of the story. It is going to get better! I had a hard time coming up with a plot. But now I have one so it should go pretty well! Thanks so much.

 Report Review

Review #20, by GingeredTeaAlways, For You: A new Kind of Dream

19th May 2014:
So your introduction had me mesmerized. As Louis wakes up, you still had me firmly in your grasp. There was a sense to the writing that gave it a imaginative quality - I could see it all in my head, which I truly loved. Then, you introduced Victorie, and their dialogue quickly seemed to degrade into something not-quite-fitting. You've described this terrible nightmare. Louis has woken up, gasping for air, rushing to the toilet and vomiting. Victorie comes in - great - but then they start bantering, and it just felt like the story really shifted all of a sudden, leaving me reeling. If it's so normal for Louis maybe I would understand, but I'd see want a transition at that moment like 'it was so normal for him, and so normal for Victorie to find him in this position, that he found it easy to be pulled into her banter and banish, at least for the moment, the nightmare from his mind'. OR, as I just read " Vic and I have always, for the most part got along fairly well, and after the dreams originally started happening, she knew how to distract me and get my mind off of them."

Author's Response: Thanks! I loved writing the dream. I kinda understand what you mean about Victorie and Louis, but it's just what they do :) Maybe that is what you were trying to say with that last bit? - Thanks again
kyle


 Report Review

Review #21, by GingeredTeaRabbit Heart: Hearts and Spades

19th May 2014:
You have a way of making completely innocent things sound so very creepy. These bunnies are creeping me out.

I loved how you managed the interaction with Albus - I just felt that flowed fabulously! Scorpius and Albus are hilarious together. You did a good job expressing Albus' distraction about Wren. The photograph was an interesting tidbit that has me curious.

Mostly, I'm wondering if this rabbit (or the boy behind it rather) is intentionally keeping Wren from loving someone else. Furthermore, I'm assuming Albus' rabbit is in such a bad state (and Albus is in such a good state), because he disabled the boys charms on the rabbit?

:) It feels good to be back!

Author's Response: Welcome back!!

Innocent things sounding creepy... I like that description! Maybe it can be my trademark or something one day. :P

I believe that Albus and Scorpius together in this fic are my favorite characters. They're so easy around each other, and extremely fun to write. Albus is indeed distracted by Wren, the poor guy.

That is a good question about the rabbit and its connection with Wren's ability to feel. I had a version of this story in my head at one time that made that the main conflict, but it ended up being too difficult to pull off.

Anyway, I'm glad you're still reading and you've come back for another chapter!

Thanks for the lovely review!

Pix


 Report Review

Review #22, by GingeredTeaThrough Time and Magic: Chapter One

13th May 2014:
Just started this and am hooked. The beginning was a little difficult to snap into, but that slipped away quickly and I became engrossed. :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by GingeredTeaRabbit Heart: Heart To Handle

12th May 2014:
OH MY GOODNESS. I loved this chapter. I actually read it a big ago, when I was supposed to be writing an essay. I told myself "read it, work a bit, then review", but of course the review got lost in the onslaught of more homework.

Anyways, what is up with Wren? Is Dillon borrowing her magic? He's cute and creepy...

I wish Wren felt better.

This chapter has really gotten me interested! What will happen. What is Dillon doing? I loved the line:

"Could you bring some food for me?" he asked the woman.

The woman acted like she hadn't heard him, still cooing at the little rabbit in her arms.
Oh, that's right. It didn't work quite like that. "

BUT, on that note, it should be: "Could you bring some food for me?" [H]e asked the woman.

The question mark ends a sentence, so you start with a capital afterwards. I bet you know. I do and still do it all.the.time. ;)

Lovely chapter. I know I owe you one more review. I will try to slip it in this week, but my classes end on the 16th, so I may end up doing it after that. :)

Author's Response: Hey, you're back!

No, you really should do your essays before you read chapters... unless you're taking a well-deserved break... in which case, read on! :)

I feel for Wren too. She really should start feeling better soon. It's been so long. On the other hand, if she DID start feeling better, I'd have to come up with something else to move the story forward. Hmmm...

Thanks for the lovely review! I'm so glad you're still coming back to my story! Good luck with classes!



 Report Review

Review #24, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Any Sufficiently Advanced Technology

21st April 2014:
One moment he's that relaxed eccentric Harry having dinner with his best mates and a cute kid. I thought you'd introduce something dramatic like a fist, but instead you chose to sneak it in and leave me breathless. The fact that a boggart, something Harry has never had great luck with, revealed this truth to us is something of a brilliant writing strategy. Harry not finding anything funny about his wife's death - you portrayed it so well. I just can't say enough good things about how you maneuvered through that scene!

A muggle gun? I'm so very intrigued.

I loved your portrayal of Hermione and Ron (and their...proclivity toward fighting). This Percy thing is interesting.

Harry explaining it to the child was heartbreaking. What's up with Percy? Why does Harry care so much about Percy?

I'm sorry this isn't longer. But I really really want to read the next chapter before I fall asleep. :) Review you again soon!

Author's Response: Hello, again!

I'm glad you liked the boggart. Like you said, I didn't just want to drop that plot point in bluntly because it didn't seem like the kind of thing that anyone would be eager to discuss. The boggart felt like a perfect way to introduce a bit of the circumstances surrounding Ginny's death without having it be some mopey flashback scene.

There are a lot of details regarding Ginny's death that have yet to be revealed, however. Some won't come out until the very end of the story. ;)

I'm pleased as can be that you like Ron and Hermione. Out of all of the canon characters, I found them the hardest to age realistically because Hermione was always mature beyond her years just as Ron tended to be immature for his age.

What's up with Percy? Well... you'll soon see. And you'll see more and more. Percy's troubles are actually very integral to the plot of the story.

Don't sweat the length, I really appreciate the review. This one, as it turns out, is #999 for the story. :)

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #25, by GingeredTeaHarry Potter and the Conspiracy of Blood: Everything That Ever Mattered

21st April 2014:
Hello! I'm here for our penciled in review swap. :D

" sat in his comfortable muggle lawn chair, admiring the sunny autumn day. He took a long sip of ice water before he continued to tell his wife about his day." This is a Harry I am going to have to adjust myself too. A relaxed Harry is always hard to wrap my head around, but it is kind of pleasant at the same time, you know? :) I like how you start the story (considering the last chapter is somewhere closer to the end, I assume in terms of timeline), with a Harry that is so different from what we left the series with. It is sort of puzzling but like a gulp of fresh air. The ease with which you jump into all the names and relations and what-not all while maintaining dialogue that sounds real impresses me. I sorta have to introduce my own characters a couple at a time so that I don't confuse them all... O_o

"A 64-year-old man sitting in an old plastic lawn chair under a shade tree, sipping water out of a sport bottle. “Some muggle supper club is missing its most prominent eccentric,” he mused to himself." Sounds about right...that's what I was thinking!

The aspect of Ginny - whoa that was a whole bunch of drama to begin a story with. :( It almost made me cry! I am morbidly interested in how she died and why Harry feels all this guilt (okay, Harry ALWAYS feels guilty, so that's not as critical to my curiosity).

Great story! Great Chapter. I'm off to the next one. If i can finish the review before I conk out, you'll see it soon, if not before bed tomorrow. This chappy was short compared to mine, so I think a 2 for one deal is in order. :)

Author's Response: Hola! I really enjoy your reviews! They always make my day.

I think a lot of readers take a few chapters to mentally calibrate to the Harry presented in this story. He's much older than we normally see him. He has a large family with school-age grandchildren and he's approaching the twilight of his Auror career. In many ways, he's reached a point in his life where he's enjoying the fruits of everything he fought and suffered for as a young man.

You're correct that the prologue occurs near the end and this is really the start of the story. I'm really pleased that Harry's dialog sounded real to you. This chapter was tricky to write because I did want to deliver a certain amount of back story without having it sound stilted.

It's funny, I sort of pulled the term "supper club" off of Google without understanding much of what it actually meant. I guess it worked alright.

Deciding to not have Ginny be a part of this story was the single hardest decision I made. I love Harry and Ginny together and I always felt bad about leaving Harry without her. In the end, I think it worked well, though. I hope I get to see what you think about it.

I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>