Reading Reviews From Member: AlmostInvisible
  
55 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlmostInvisible Remember the Slytherins: the world hanging upside-down

13th November 2013:
A good writer should be able to make their readers feel what their characters feel. Have them feel every emotion that they are reading off the page, be it anger or happiness, bitterness or ectasy. If they are skilled enough writers, than their words should be able to magic their readers away with their words (pun intended).
You have done all of this.
All the anger, all the frustration, everything that the characters are feeling, I'm feeling.
It's kind of strange, actually. Here I am, previously in an alright mood, I decide to read some chapters of this story and BANG, I am irritated and rather angry because of words on a page.
When I think about it, it's actually pretty amazing. A little creepy, that your words can have such an impact on my mood; but it's still interesting.
Anyway.
The fic itself.
Right.
I was really quite annoyed and angry with Harry in this chapter (the entire novel, really, but I digress). I mean, how can he doubt his sons when one of them is lying, bruised and broken, on a hospital bed?
One of the things that I do when I read is that I like to put myself in the situacion, I like to imagine what I would say if I am in the story. Something that I would have really liked to tell Harry in this particular chaper goes something like this: "With all due respect, Mr. Potter, what do you actually know about predudice? Personally, I mean. Because I an drawing a blank on a time where YOU were persecuted because of something you believed in or because of who you were. Persecuted and nearly completely alone, I add. If I remember correctly, you may have had times when you were nearly alone, but you always, always had the support of somebody high up (Dumbledore) or a secret support group somewhere (Potterwatch radio show). So, really, what are you basing your judgement on?"
Anyway.
It was this line, "No. I don't see. The only people who do are you lot. The Slytherins. So sorry if I have difficulty believing the words of a sixteen-year-old who doesn't know true prejudice," that really made me angry and then prompted my outburst above. I have more of a similar nature and may comment them on other chapters at a later time.
Sorry about this being so long.
I have had a lot of feeling about this fic for a while and thought that at least some of them should be aired out.
Fantabulous job, my dear. Thank you for sticking with this and not abandoning it. My head might explode if you do.
Thank you.

Author's Response: I don't even know how to respond to this. I am so floored and honored by your response, I can't form words to even begin to address this review.

I can honestly tell you, though, I have been on the same emotional journey writing this. I have cried, and I have sat there fuming at the things that I am making these character do. Sometimes I have to bury my attachment to them in order to be able to continue with the plot.

Trust me, the Harry Issue is far from over. And the next chapter is in the queue! So look for that. Thank you so much for the simply amazing review.

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #2, by AlmostInvisible Wooing a Wizard, A Muggle's Approach: Chasing

20th October 2013:
CUTENESS OVERLOAD.
SERIOUSLY, SO. CUTE.

Moving on, I like how you chose to do a Muggle-Wizard romance, and not even using a Wotter as a main character or love interest! Fantastic, if I do say so myself.
Keep up the lovely work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I hope you continue reading my story once I add more chapters.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AlmostInvisible Logarithmic: (3)

18th October 2013:
This fic is great! I like how you're using canon characters that are so often forgotten. To be honest, it took me a second to remember Eloise Midgeon at all. Anyway, I have decided that I like this story and plan on keeping up with it. Fantabulous job! :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Eloise is fun to write because there is so much bare canvas to work on. I'm very happy you're enjoying the story so far :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by AlmostInvisible My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend: X: Imaginary Friend or Imaginary Fiend?

19th September 2013:
AH
THIS. THIS.
SHE'S SUCH A SMARTYPANTS.

This is fantastic! This is the chapter we have all been waiting for since the ending of My Not-So-Imaginary Friend!! And it's awesome!
Sorry that's its been so long since my last comment. Summer, the beginning of school, it's all so crazy. But now I can go back to commenting on all the wonderful prospective chapters of this lovely fic. Great job and I'm excited to see what happens next! :)

Author's Response: I know, I had been waiting too to write this chapter since deciding to make the sequel! It's a relief that Sally-Anne knows (generally) what's going on with her!

Oh, don't worry about apologizing! I should apologize for taking over a month to respond to your review! I understand real life happens. I hope you can be patient for the updates. Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm really glad you still like it!


 Report Review

Review #5, by AlmostInvisible A Force Of Wills: Bound

18th September 2013:
DUDE. THIS IS FANTASTIC.
WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT?
I've never really been much of a shipper, especially uncanon ships, and neither have I ever been one for Hogwarts Era fics but this story has given me a new look on things.
You characterization is amazing, the characters themselves seem so real, it's awesome. You have made something great. It's a real shame that some people haven't read this fic because they are missing out on an adventure.
Thank you and update soonly. :)

Author's Response: Hello!

*Blush* Well, this is a really great surprise! Its nice to meet you, I'm Gabbie! Gosh, for a while I was thinking that no one was really reading this fanfic because there hasn't been a lot of reviews for it in a long time but this just made me so happy. I could almost cry! D':
Bwhaha, I have an idea for what happens next but a certain blonde boy is going to get in the way. Hehehehe.
You know, I haven't been much of a shipper myself but I LOVE George/Angelina and made two stories with them on my page because they're my bias. Hahahaha.
I'm really glad that you like this story, it really means a lot that I've switched you over or helped you get into something you'd never really liked before. Or something? Hahah.
Oh, stop. These characters are so HARD to write for, trust me...this chapter did NOT come to me easily. I cried and ate a lot of chocolate writing this one and thank Merlin it turned out all right in the end. Phew!
I think there are so many fics out there that mine sort of gets pushed aside but I'm grateful for every review or read I get, it makes me feel really honored. :)
Thanks so much for your review!
Much love,
Gabbie

P.S.: I have no internet at home so updates will be really slow and I have five other stories that need updates too...so its gonna be awhile. D':


 Report Review

Review #6, by AlmostInvisible When They Fell: The Bones Crew

24th August 2013:
I can tell that you put a lot of work into this, because it is obviously well planned and thought out. Plus, it is really quite great. This fic is different from most of them, and it really is an angst without all the unecessary cliches. I like this, please don't give up or anything, you have something special here.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading this :) I feel really bad, because I didn't really plan this out at all, I just write each chapter as it goes, but I did put a lot of thought into it if that counts for anything. Don't worry, I don't plan on giving up anytime soon. Thanks for the lovely review.

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlmostInvisible Sectioned: {promises}

15th August 2013:
This story is creepily beautiful.
Intruiguing plot synopsis, haunting memory scenes, not entirely romance centered, and a mystery.
I'm looking forward to the rest.
Fantastic job so far.
Keep it going.

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlmostInvisible The Pineapple Conspiracy: Chapter 3

19th June 2013:
It is a bit slow but thats alright because you are still setting up the story. I think that what you have going is pretty darn awesome and I hope to see it continue. The pineapple aspect should be interesting. Please keep going with this, I'm rather curious!

Author's Response: Thanks! I've been terrible at updating, but hopefully will get around to it eventually!

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlmostInvisible Crime and Punishment: In The Art Of Returning

17th June 2013:
To be honest, it's been so long since I have read this story
that I pretty much forgot nearly all of the characters other
than Charlie and James. Well.
Other than the fact that I had minor trouble with the
rememberings, I still kinda remember the plot so that's
good. Great job, and it will be nice to have you back. And
it's good that you didn't die in a freak accident or something
equally terrible. :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by AlmostInvisible My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend: IX: Grades Aren't All That Important

7th June 2013:
Oh. My. Gosh.
THE TENSION BUILDS.
I really, really enjoyed this.
And I also like how whenever Sally-Anne is in Hogsmeade everybody assumes that she's been expelled. Troublemaking is just in her genes, I suppose ;)
And I'm wondering when Benjamin will finally snap once he puts more pieces of the puzzle together. Will her turn mean and violent like with Marta? So many questions...
Anyway.
Fabulous job, like usual. And great work with keeping the Hogwarts era canon. :) That makes me so happy. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: The next chapter. The next chapter is going to be awesome!

Good to know you're still enjoying the story! Of course, Sally-Anne is only curious while her father actively caused a lot of trouble in his youth! :) The apple doesn't fall far from the unknown tree, right?

Ooh, Benjamin is going to-! No, I can't say it! But you should know that when I get excited about what's going to happen to a character, it's most likely not going to be a good experience for them (but it will be a good reading experience for us!).

Thank you for another lovely review! I aim to please! ;)


 Report Review

Review #11, by AlmostInvisible If Only By Blood: Chapter 3

28th May 2013:
This is really quite an interesting tale you've created here. I admit, I wasn't sure what I would find here, but I am glad that I read this. Like I said before, this is fascinating, I've read a number of Next Gen fics and none of them have portrayed Albus quite like this. It's not a bad thing at all, originality is a refreshing quality in fanfiction, home of the irritating ships and cliches. Nice work! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by AlmostInvisible Fear: Fifth

27th May 2013:
Do it's kinda like a mental Hunger Games? Minus all the murder, I hope. This is pretty cool, keep it going for sure! By the way, I'm glad you made this an OC/OC dominant fix because there really aren't enough of those around. Great job! :)

Author's Response: I'm keeping my lips sealed but that's kind of it, kind of not it. I don't know. I've left it for a year and I'm so sad I feel really awful but I'm coming back to it soon, I hope! If school doesn't drown me in work sigh. Expect another chapter up soon!
I know, there really aren't enough, thank you so much for the review! This was kind of one of the things that motivated me to start again.
- Zara xo


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlmostInvisible My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend: VI: Masterpieces Take Time

28th March 2013:
Ahhh!! The plot thickens! So good! What's up with Benjamin? Will Sally-Anne ever get the story from Prof. Lupin? So many question, to be answered later. Keep on rockin', girl! :)

Author's Response: I felt like I should rub my hands together like an evil genius while writing this chapter. All of your questions will be answered later on in the story! (Of course, you know that!) Thanks for reviewing! It's going to get even better really soon!

 Report Review

Review #14, by AlmostInvisible My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend: V: Always an Interesting Halloween

5th March 2013:
Wow!! Great job on this! Like I've said before, I'm not really A fan of Hogwarts fanfics, but you are doing a fab job keeping it canon. And Padfoot has made an appearance! And this bit with Crookshanks was entertaining, he isn't a ver nice cat. Can't wait to see what happens next!! :)

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear you're still enjoying the story! (Hogwarts era is still intimidating me.) Thank you for sharing your appreciation! It was fun writing Padfoot- I hope I made it clear enough that he recognized Sally-Anne as Marta's daughter. I will definitely try to post a new chapter before April! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by AlmostInvisible So, Listen...: April 1996

19th January 2013:
Ohmigodness this is really quite amazing. Between this chapter and the previous chapter I just had tears rolling down my cheeks. Granted, that's not always saying a lot because it doesn't take much to make me cry, but it was very beautiful and touching and sad. I'm not really sure how you managed to make me feel so sad, but you did and it was pretty cool. Anyway, this is a very sweet story and you did a lovely job. :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much. :) It's the highest compliment on one's writing to hear that it produced this kind of effect in others. Strange as it is to say, nothing makes me happier than hearing that a sad chapter made a reader cry! Means I did something right. :) Thank you for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlmostInvisible My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend: II: Every Professor Has Their Quirks

10th December 2012:
"Those who don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it." FORESHADOWING. I wonder what Lupin will do now that he knows that Sally-Anne can see Benjamin as well. And I think it's really cool how she can draw notes as pictures. I really can't draw, at least not quickly. Anyway, another great chapter!! Can't wait till next time! :)

Author's Response: Too much foreshadowing? It's one of my favorite lines and holds too true for her family. Lupin will certainly have to be careful, both because of Benjamin and because he doesn't want to scare a student. I had actually wanted Marta to be good at art, but I never had a chance to flesh out that skill in Friend, so I reassigned it to Sally-Anne here. Thank you for sharing these thoughts! They are much appreciated!

 Report Review

Review #17, by AlmostInvisible My Not-So-Imaginary Fiend: I: Back to Hogwarts

10th November 2012:
Yay for the story!! :D I rarely read Hogwarts-era stories so this is something new for me, too! I am really excited and curious for this lovely story, because, these are pretty original and it's awesome to read something that actually has some thoughts going into the plot. Kudos to you for being different! Also, this interests me 'cause Sally-Anne is in her third year and just about every fanfic on this site is about the character in their final years at Hogwarts. And I'm just wondering if Remus will recognize her or something. So, until next chapter. :)
P.S. You're forgiven

Author's Response: I hate to admit, but I don't really read many Hogwarts-era stories either (authors who specialize in Hogwarts-era, forgive me!). But I wanted to keep writing Benjamin so I'm conquering my fear of writing in the same era as the Golden Trio. And I agree with your other comment about practically every story being fifth through seventh year based (to which I am guilty of doing myself until now). By writing in third year, this story will be different in that it won't be romance-driven. I actually have a mostly clear vision of where I'm going, so worrying about the plot won't be a problem. As for Remus, you'll definitely get an answer by the next chapter. Thank you for reviewing (and sorry it took me sooo long to respond!)!

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlmostInvisible Goodbye James, Hello Derek: 18: From Letters to Words

3rd November 2012:
Hi! This story is a whole lotta fun to read. :) I really like the spazzy Sirius and the witty, sarcastic Remus. And I think my favorite part of this chapter is when Sirius' hair is turned pink. And when everybody notices that he still has a pink spot. Good stuff there. Anyway, thanks for the chapter! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you like reading this story! Pairing Remus and Sirius in a battle of wits, albeit an unfair fight, helps me move the story forward just because I love seeing what they'll do next. I used the pink hair prank back in the first three chapters and couldn't resist using it again. Thanks for letting me know what you like!

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlmostInvisible Lost at Sea: The Map

2nd November 2012:
Please continue with this story!! I like it a lot and hope that you will post more chapters! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by AlmostInvisible Hello, My Name Is...: Little Ol' Chap

1st November 2012:
HA! That kid... So amusingly oblivious/ignorant of how simple stuff works. Brown eggs aren't defective, personally, I've always thought that they are much cooler than white eggs. Anyway, another fun chapter! :D

Author's Response: haha, thanks for the awesome review! hope you keep reading!

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlmostInvisible Hello, My Name Is...: A Chappie

1st November 2012:
Cool story, brah! ;) Pretty excited to see James' story. Nice to see how incredibly modest he is. hehe To the question... Hmm.. Amortentia. Probably cookies, minty stuff, and chocolate :) I'm going to go read the next chapter, so I'm out! :D

Author's Response: I'm excited to write his story! thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by AlmostInvisible Turning the Tables: Epilogue: This is the Story of Us All

27th October 2012:
Thank you thank you thank you!! You've done it! You've finished it! Yay! Thank you so much for not ever giving up, even though you had your doubts, I have really enjoyed being with this story through the last several chapters and knowing that my reviews are helping and encouraging. :) As for a sequel, I am totally ok with not having one, this is awesome enough. Thanks for the ride! :D

Author's Response: I know! I finished! Still can't believe it half the time, because this story was like... my life.

And of course I didn't give up! I had put too much effort into this story to ever do that, despite my doubts. And yes, your reviews definitely helped me continue. I definitely wouldn't have finished without the amazing encouragement I got :)

I'm happy you're okay with not having a sequel! But yeah so I kind of started one anyway... I don't think I'll post it, since it kind of ruins a lot of stuff that happened in this story, but I might end up posting it anyway for my own enjoyment.

Thank you so much for reading the story :)
-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #23, by AlmostInvisible The Long Lost Tale of Mrs. Pettigrew: The Day After

23rd October 2012:
Reading this story makes me really like Peter as a character, which makes knowing how he turns out really quite depressing. I also really like Aly, and am excited to see their relationship grow, but sad that it started for all the wrong reasons. Otherwise, great job! Please keep updating this! I only just started reading this and I'm already excited for more! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review,

It means a lot when I open up my profile to find a new one even when I haven't updated in like a month.

I'm glad you like Peter. That means I've been doing a good job. And honestly, I think its a bit more than depresssing knowing how things end ;).

I've been working on the next chapter one word at a time. My life has been crazy lately, and I simply have had to put this on the back burner for a little while. I hope to have the next chapter up really soon though, so fingers crossed :)

Thanks again
-BW


 Report Review

Review #24, by AlmostInvisible Turning the Tables: You're Gonna be the One that Saves Me

11th October 2012:
What a great story!! I can not wait till the epilogue comes out! Thank you for posting this even though you were sick, I think this chapter, the last official chapter, was well worth the wait. Thanks again. :)

Author's Response: Thank you I'm so happy you like the story! And since it took me wayyy to long to respond the epilogue is already out and the story is officially over. Thank you for sticking with it and reading it and for reviewing :)

-Rebecca


 Report Review

Review #25, by AlmostInvisible Learning to Live: November 2025

20th September 2012:
I like where you're going with this! Very creative! Please keep writing this! :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>