Reading Reviews From Member: PolyJuice_
  
154 Reviews Found

Review #1, by PolyJuice_Here Comes the Flood: Here Comes the Flood

18th March 2014:
Blackout Battle ~ Redo 1/1

*gasps in shock* ohmygoshthiswasamazing. Seriously! I've never thought about Blaise, heck /any/ of the Snakes joining with Dumbledore's Amry, but now that you say that it makes sense! Why not? Slytherin doesn't necessarily mean evil - I should know. :P

But ooh, I loved this. You've made it completely believable, especially about the part where he's all 'ooh, mudbloods can die, I don't care, I want HONOUR and JUSTICE for my family!' Because, he totally wouldn't just sympathize with them. But then, as the story goes on I loved how he watched Luna get taken and goes through that whole struggle.

AAAH. This was simply amazing. You should write a sequel, I'd love to read it! Or a companion from Luna/Neville/Ginny!

Liz

Author's Response: Hi Liz!

I'm so happy you liked this! I'd had the idea in my head for a while and when the task of writing about Gryffindor and Slytherin came up for the blackout I thought it was a great opportunity to write it. I really wanted to show that there could have been many unsung heroes in the war, and that they weren't all in Gryffindor!

I'm so happy you thought it was believable, too! Blaise has to be really careful to protect himself and he can't be seen to care too much for anyone, so revenge seemed like a plausible reason for him to want to join. I'm glad you liked the way that evolved, too, and that spending time with the DA members made him see things differently.

Thank you for such a brilliant review, it means a lot to me!


 Report Review

Review #2, by PolyJuice_The Simplest of Words: Prologue

18th March 2014:
Blackout Battle ~ Redo 2/2

Hiya, oh my gosh. This just brings up all the feels. You're such a powerful writer that reading something about Sirius's death just makes me wanna curl up in a ball, eat chocolate and cry.

I'm a little curious, what spring day are you talking about? I'm probably completely insane and it's right there, but where's that from? Canon? (ijustknowi'mmissingsomethingomgi'mstupid)

But oooh, I liked the way you brought bits from JKRs stories into this, making it all the more realistic. Honestly, you're gonna ruin me, talking about Sirius seeing Harry crying. Sheesh. You can't make a person feel all this, they'd explode! :P

Anywho, I loved this story to bits, can't wait to go read chapter two!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #3, by PolyJuice_I'll Love Her Enough For The Both Of Us: Life changing news

18th March 2014:
Blackout Battle ~ Redo 1/2

Aaah, Tammi. You're such a fantastic writer. You're right - I really never read pregnancy stories from the father's point of view so it's really neat you've done this.

So far I'm totally loving where you're going with this story, however I feel like the amount of times Louis and Freya say each other's names makes it awkward. Almost half of their dialogue they're adding in names. I dunno, that might just be me, but I find it breaks up the flow a bit.

I'm really excited to see what's gonna happen to them, the pair of them are already such a cute couple. Aaah *squishes them* I just love your characterization of Louis in particular. You always read about spoiled gorgeous player Louis so this is a nice refreshing change.

Anywho, loved this story, can't wait to read more!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #4, by PolyJuice_Bravery and Courage: Bravery and Courage

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for HPFF Forums~

"Lavender's Luscious Lashes." Oh my goodness. Can I start out by saying I would totally love love /love/ to know the back story behind this? :P Sounds absolutely fascinating, haha.

I loved the way the two parts tied in together as almost mirrors of each other. Very neat way to write this. Oh, poor Rose. You and Scorpius sure have a roller coaster of a relationship, don't you? *sighs* But you're so cute together!

I really liked Neville in this. It brought forth all the issues he dealt with throughout the Harry Potter books, and just shone a bit of light on how he changed. I like the way you described it as "not waking up one day and deciding to be brave." It really shows how far Neville's come since the battle.

Anywho, fabulous story. I loved the dynamic between Rose and Neville. :)

Liz

 Report Review

Review #5, by PolyJuice_Sillage: Amarok and Helenus

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for HPFF Forums~
Review 10/10 (YES! LAST ONE! FINALLYYY!)

Wow. This was simply brilliant. You have such amazing talent for presenting images to your readers. This whole story was just one mass of scene in my head - something you unfortunately don't come across very often in fanfictions. Even with such descriptions you managed to not bog us down with too much detail.

I loved your characters. Both were well rounded and we could see the likeness to each other even in the brief dialogue given. Blind, eh? That's not something I expected. I like how you incorporated it, but did not have the whole story revolve around it.

Any way, absolutely wonderful story. It definitely suited the song you were given. I'm blown away. :)

Liz

 Report Review

Review #6, by PolyJuice_Close To the Dragon's Fire: Close to the Dragon's Fire

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for HPFF Forums~
Review 9/10 (SO CLOSE I CAN ALMOST TASTE IT)

OH MY GOD. YOU'RE KILLING ME. THE FEELS. OH LORDY. I'M GONNA START SOBBING HERE. YOU BROKE ME. This was simply wonderfully done. I've never read a story about this from Alice's POV and it was amazingly written.

I love the way her brain registers that /this/ boy is important, that the name /he/ gives her - Mum - is important. It's just so head-canon of Alice to value her son more than anything in the world. You explained her need to give Neville the sweet wrapper so beautifully, I'm never gonna read that chapter from OOTP the same ever again.

THIS STORY HAS BECOME MY HEAD CANON.

Anywho, on top of a wonderful plot this was written so fantastically well. Great read!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #7, by PolyJuice_Shiver: (I love you)

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for HPFF Forums~
Review 8/10 (ALMOST THERE!)

OH MY GOODNESS. THIS WAS FAR TOO CUTE FOR WORDS. I'M JUST GONNA ASDFGHJKL; ALL OVER
THE SCREEN, K? K.

I loved the banter between these two. *smacks them on the head* You're both in love,
accept it. You'll be in love and have cute babies forever and not die by the hands
of Voldemort. If only. :( Haha.

Your writing in this is really wonderful, it tells a whole relationship's worth of a
story in only a few hundred words, which is absolutely fabulous.

There are a few errors here such your/you're used wrongly a few times, and odd
punctuation here and there, but all in all pretty good. I'd go back and edit it
again. :)

Liz

Author's Response: Wow thankyou so much you seriously have no idea how much this means to me! aha I was going to give up because I didn't think it was very good. yeah aha I posted like a first or second draft and REALLy need to go back and edit it, but really, you have no idea how much it means to me that you took the time to give me really good feedback, thankyou so much!
I haven't read any of your stories, but im going to now! Thanks again!
xx sarah


 Report Review

Review #8, by PolyJuice_The First Day of the Rest of My Life: One Shot

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for HPFF Forums~
Review 7/10

Aw this was so cute and fluffy! I've read many Romione marriage stories but this is by far one of the cutest - especially considering we really only had one half of the pairing in this one-shot!

I loved the way you characterized them. It's so like Harry and Ginny to just rush into marriage and then panic about whether or not it was right, and have everything all happy happy sunshine later on, just as it's so Hermione and Ron to wait until they're settled down.

I really liked how Kingsley married them. That's not something I've seen before, but having you write that...it actually makes a lot of sense. (Oh gosh, I'm thinking now "especially because there aren't a lot of father-figures left alive, now are there?" OH GOD LIZ. YOUR MIND. IT'S MAKING ALL THESE FEELS.)

Anywho. I loved this story! Great job!

Liz

Author's Response: Thank you so so so much for the review! I'm glad you liked the one-shot! I find that I actually have Kingsley marry a lot of people in my stories :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by PolyJuice_The Simplicity of Beginings and Ends: A Much Better Name

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for the HPFF Forums~
Review 6/10!

Oh my gosh! For such a short story you managed to capture a whole relationship's worth of cute! You managed to pretty much tell the tale of who Romione is. From Ron forgetting their anniversary (Oh Ron, you're an idiot) to Hermione's nervousness about him having not proposed yet this felt almost canoncial.

Ron's proposal speech was just totally adorable. He's just such a dork, isn't he? Anyway, in so few words you made me realise why Romione is so many people's OTP. It makes me wonder how JKR could say their relationship was her personal wish-fulfillment. Especially when writes like you come along and make me love them!

Ah well, what can you do? :P

Liz

 Report Review

Review #10, by PolyJuice_The Flame: The Flame

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for the HPFF Forums~
Review 5/10 (Heck yeah, halfway there!)

Aw, this was very cute! It did, however make me wanna go eat my weight in chocolate. This whole challenge for the HPFF Forums just has made me review such sad stories and I'm not sure I can take much more without becoming a puddle of feels. Your story is no exception.

I love how, from the start, Cho is thinking of Cedric. The little bits of insight into their relationship was just so adorable. You really made me believe that she had loved him. Which makes this whole situation so much worse. Poor girl. Heading straight from her boyfriend's death into a massive Wizarding War. *pats Cho on the head*

Anyway, this was great writing of yours, on top of a fantastic plot. Well done!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #11, by PolyJuice_Limbo: Choices Spirits Make

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for the HPFF Forums~
Review 4/10

Just a quick note - I'd go to The Dark Arts, the sister site for HPFF for a banner. They're the ones behind all these wonderful graphics floating around on the site. The chances of you getting a banner by simply requesting in your summary are pretty low. Just thought I'd let you know. :)

Anyway. This story was really very cool. I've never thought of the afterlife as something like this with jobs and choices. But now that you've written it it actually makes a lot of sense! It's neat that they all got to meet up at Hogwarts. Typical Fred being ten minutes late, haha. Though it'll be a long while until he gets to go with George... (Kinda reminds me of Rory waiting for Amy in the Pandorica episode. Oh my. Trust me to relate everything back to Doctor Who, hahaha)

I really liked everything about this story, from the fanastic writing style you've got, to the smart-alecky Fred, to Sev chosing Lily yet again.

Great work!

Liz

Author's Response: Thanks very much for the review and the suggestion! I think at some point I might edit the one-shot because it was originally supposed to be just about how Tonks met Lily in the afterilfe. haha

 Report Review

Review #12, by PolyJuice_Firsts: Firsts

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle for the HPFF Forums~
Review 3/10

Aw, this was so cute! I've seen many stories of firsts and they've all been done in a certain way, and this was a nice refreshing change. Instead of massive time jumps that don't flow, yours kind of...melts into each section from the last.

Hmm, melts was the wrong word. :P

Anyway, I just loved the relationship between these two. It was so adorably fluffy, there should be a law against being this fluffy, haha.

I liked the idea of The Grey Lady loving music and letting in other students to play for her. It's a really neat idea and something that The Grey Lady would totally do canonically.

Anywho. Fabulous story all 'round!

Liz

Author's Response: Hello,
Oh, thanks so much!
Tatia


 Report Review

Review #13, by PolyJuice_Beginning of the End: Never Let Go

14th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE FOR THE HPFF FORUMS~
Review 2/10

OH MY LORDY. THIS REVIEW IS GONNA BE IN CAPS BECAUSE YOU MADE ME FEEL ALL THE FEELS. THROUGHOUT THIS CHALLENGE FOR THE HPFF FORUMS I'VE COME ACROSS ALL THESE WONDERFUL STORIES WITH CHARACTERS I NEVER LIKED IN CANON, WITH WONDERFUL AUTHORS WHO MADE ME LOVE SAID CHARACTERS. YOU ARE NO EXCEPTION.

EXCEPT THEN YOU KILLED THAT CHARACTER. HOW COULD YOU, YOU MONSTER? SHE LEFT POOR OLIVER, AND PAVARTI, AND ALL HER OTHER FRIENDS! AH. SO SAD. AND WHAT ABOUT THAT POOR CHILD? SHE'S GONNA GROW UP THINKING SHE MADE LAVENDAR KILL HERSELF! SHE'S GONNA GROW UP IN SELF-HATE TOO. OH MY GOSH.

Okay, enough shouty-caps. But seriously. Aah, you're making me sad here. :(

In addition to a great plot, your writing is absolutely superb. Nothing I could critise.

Anywho, I loved this to bits! great work.

Liz

Author's Response: OMG YOU JUST MADE MY DAY WITH ALL YOUR SHOUTING AND THE FEELS. SERIOUSLY, THANK YOU!

Okay, I'm gonna stop with the caps, just because it hurts my eyes. But read the rest of the response as though it's in caps. :D

Really, this was such a wonderful review to read after a pretty bad day, and it completely lifted my spirits!

I'm so sorry I killed her off, but it had to be done. And I know I haven't stated it outright 'cause I wanted to leave the readers with some questions, but she takes Oliver with her in the end. Don't kill me please! *hands out chocolates*

Aw, thank you so much!! I was actually very nervous to put this one shot up because it's the first time I've written in this POV and setting, so I didn't know how it would turn out. Then seeing this review just made me squee so much! It completely dissipated my fears and THANK YOU SO MUCH!

I hope you come back to read something else! :D

~Erin


 Report Review

Review #14, by PolyJuice_Playing Pretend: The Last Remaining Fan

14th March 2014:
Blackout Battle~ 1/10

Ooh, this was really neat! I've never read a story like this before and I was pleasantly surprised!

This was a really neat take on the Gilderoy we saw at Mungo's in OOTP. I never really considered his condition - I've always skimmed past his parts because I can't stand him.

You wrote him so that I actually liked him. He's endearing! Haha. I love the way you told of him getting his books under his bed, and slowly forgetting he wrote them. It was so good in a horrible way! :P

Oh my gosh, though, that last bit about the book? You killed me with feels. *accuses*

Anyway, absolutely fantastic story,

Liz

 Report Review

Review #15, by PolyJuice_The Great Traits of a Gryffindor: The Traits of a Lion

14th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATLLE~

OH MY GOODNESS. WHY HAS THIS NOT BEEN REVIEWED MORE TIME? ONLY FIVE? *gasps*

This is absolutely amazing. It's been a long time since a fic has just made me feel the feels you are giving me right now. I'm probably sounding like a ditz but it's truee~

I loved each and every section. The way you tied in a section of canon and brought in your own elements was excellently done. Each and every part was both uniquely your own and canon-seeming.

The part about Natalie McDonald. *squee* AW.

I think my favourites were Slughorn's (because oh my gosh, you did the best Sluggy ever) and the Honesty one.

You definitely have a knack for characterizations.

*bows down before you*

Anywho, once again, great job!

Liz

Author's Response: Aw Liz, you're making me blush... I tried to pull of cannon as best as I could. I am glad you liked Slughorn, he is quite an easy character actually. Thanks PolyJuice, but there is no need to bow dear. I hand out my socks to elves just like everyone else, one at a time ;) But seriously though, this whole characterization thing is after years at it, and I still need to work on it more...
XOXOXOXO,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #16, by PolyJuice_Before It's Too Late.: Chapter 1.

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ (Just an extra one for insurance!)

I've not read the one-shot, but after I'm back from work I think I'll give it a go as I loved this story so far! (This works fine as a standalone, though. I understood all. :) )

Aw, I loved that Neville's kids are called Frank and Alice! That's so sweet!

I really enjoyed reading about all your characters - they're all well rounded and thought out, rather than flat like a lot of characters are.

Uhoh. The summary for this story tells us it's cancer, but all the same I'm on the edge of my seat for poor Alice! Even though it's about her back, I'm glad it's not soley cancer focused, and there's more to each of their lives than that. IT gives it a more realistic feel. I can't wait to see where you're going with this and have added it to my currently reading so i can check up on it!

 Report Review

Review #17, by PolyJuice_Spread Your Wings: Chapter 1.

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 20/20! (YES! LAST ONE! *wipes sweat off brow)

Aw! This was so cute! After spending most of the battle reviewing sad stories this was a refreshing change! Especially as this was as well written as it is! I loved the way you wrote these two girls. It almost made me feel like one of them, chattering away about their new boyfriends.

I can't wait until the next chapter. This is going to be a great story, and it'll be hilarious to see this date of Lily's, not to mention the blind date set up for Annie!

Homeschooled, eh? Interesting, I never thought about the boys being homeschooled, but when you say it, I guess it makes sense. Very Luna-like. makes me wonder what kind of education they're getting! Haha!

Anyway, great job!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #18, by PolyJuice_You. (Me).: You. (Me).

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 19/20 (AH. I'M ALMOST THERE!)

This is the second Every Word Counts story I've run across during this battle! You guys are amazing, I could never put this much emotion and plot into 500 words. *bows down*

Sheesh, this was totally powerful. It left me wondering who it was about right up until the end. Your word choice was phenomenal and I could see every line of her face that you described, every thing he saw, i saw too. Great work!

But not only the physical side, I loved the way you talked about her emotionally, too. It makes me wonder about their backstories, and I for one, would love a prequel. Winkwink!

Anyway, I loved this so much! Great job!

Liz

Author's Response: Ah, thank you so much! Trying to put all of the emotion into such a short story was one of the big challenges I faced when I decided to do it, so I'm glad that you think it worked.

I really wanted to leave the reader guessing about who the protagonist of the story was, even though it was only short. I'm pleased you liked the description in this and that it allowed you to picture her in your mind! And it's brilliant that you loved the emotional side of this too - I definitely wouldn't rule out a prequel!

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #19, by PolyJuice_Nightmare: Nightmare

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 18/20 (SO CLOSE!)

Uh oh, even before reading this story the summary has me on edge. It looks like I'm in for a sad ride, and after the other 17 stories of this battle I'm not sure I can handle too much more sad!

Aw! Okay, that's it. I'm officially a pile of tears. This was gut-wrenching. it was written very well and it really made me empathize with Snape - something I don't say too often for obvious reasons, haha.

I liked the way you tied in Charity. It brought it in with all the thinks JKR has said and wrote and made this seem all the more canon.

I loved the way you portrayed Snape as not a horrendous bad guy, but not a sweet guy either, just as himself. As nothing more than Snape. It's not something you see often ; either they villanize him or they rationalise his actions, which is a nice refreshing change.

Anyway, I loved the story, and am holding you accountable for all the heart break you caused me!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #20, by PolyJuice_Killian Earhart Vs The Weasleys: Chapter 1 : The Opponent

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE 16/20 (ALMOST THERE!)

Awesome start to this story! Poor Hugo having to keep that secret from Lily and spend all that time worrying and hiding from her just to have her show up to the meeting anyway. Silly guys, telling Hugo it was a boys-only meeting! Clearly there's some communication issues!

Although, I feel really sorry for the poor boyfriend. He's gonna be in some serious trouble when the guys (and Lily) get a hold of him.

I can't wait to see what you have in store for Killian Earhart, and I'm excited to see where you take this story, it's got lots of potential to be a fun and hilarious ride!

Anyway, all in all I liked everything about this story, your characters were fab and well rounded. Great job!

Liz

 Report Review

Review #21, by PolyJuice_Changing Paths: A Different Kind of Departure

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 16/20

Ooh, I liked this story. The relationships between characters was really fun to read. They all seem well rounded, rather than flat. Such drama in the first chapter, eh? This'll be exciting to see where it goes! I can't wait to see where you're taking this story - it'll be fun to see.

The bit at the start about days and months was intersting, it gives us a nice insight as to her character without actually telling us anything. It was a neat thing to add. Throughout the story you have little bits there that indirectly tell us things about the characters which I really like.

Anyway, awesome chapter here!

Liz

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you like it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by PolyJuice_Complicated: Complication #1

13th March 2014:
Blackout Battle~ 15/20

Ooh, I liked this story! I can't wait to see where you're going with this. I loved her relationships with everyone around her, her friends and her boyfriend. It's interesting to see that she doesn't like to swear, and she's the last one to lose her v card.

It'll be interesting to see what happens on this date of hers. I can't see it going too well - these things never do, haha.

I'd suggest using the word said more, and other adjectives less. Using "I cried" "I mumbled" "I whined" every sentence distracts. If you use said your brain glosses over the word said and gets to the juicy parts of the sentence. If you use other words too much it distracts from the meat of the sentence and takes the focus off the important.

Anyway, it was a good first chapter though and I really enjoyed the dynamics of your characters.

Liz

 Report Review

Review #23, by PolyJuice_Makes Me wonder: The Only Chapter

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 14/20

OH GOOD FLUFFY STORIES! This whole battle I've been reading sad things and there's not much more room in me for sadness. :p

Aw, those two are just so cute! It makes me wonder about their past! I'd kill for a prequel. Winkwinknudgenudge. You're right, this was pure fluff and I loved it all the way.

The way Rose is just so calm about taking off her clothes, when really, I'm sure, she was worried about it all the way. Although she wouldn't have had any reason to worry. It was obvious Scorpius wanted her the minute her saw her in that shop!

Anyway. That was so very cute! I loved ut!

Liz

Author's Response: Hello :)

Haha! I know what you mean. when you're so drowned in angst that you need something to pull you out of it and assure you that happiness exists? :p Been there.

Woah. Thank you :) I'll consider writing one, maybe.

I'm glad you found it cute and funny. Thank you so much for your kind words, and for this review :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by PolyJuice_Goodbye: Ron

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 13/20

I'm back for more feels! I'm ready for whatever sadness you and Ron throw at me! Away I go to read!

Okay, now that I've actually read the chapter I'm not so sure I can hold up to my statement. That was absolutely gut-wrenching.

I loved all the little references everywhere abut the teddy bear, the joke shop, Ginny wanting to elope (that would be so typical Ginny) it really tied in to everything JKR has said and my own personal headcanons.

It was cute that Ron was still coming to Fred, even so long after his death. I'm glad he was marrying Hermione - whatever JKR has revealed since! :P

Anyway, that last bit about Fred. Oh Lordy. You're just trying to rip out my heart, aren't you? It's nice to think he was watching all those happy times.

Liz

Author's Response: Hi! I'm glad you liked it, and it fit with your headcanons :) Yeah, I think even after losing him, Ron would still go to his older brother for advice, even if he wasn't able to answer. I'm definitely a Romione/Hinny shipper- my penname makes that point a bit I suppose. I'm still in denial about that article. Anyway, I'm glad you liked it, and thanks for reviewing!
~Sara


 Report Review

Review #25, by PolyJuice_Goodbye: Ginny

13th March 2014:
BLACKOUT BATTLE~ 12/20

Aw, this was so good! You wrote this in first person which was a really hard thing to do, but you managed to pull it off and it turned out to work really well in your favour. I could practically feel everything as you were writing it. Your choice of words were so powerful, I completely empathised with Ginny.

I can't believe this is only six hundred some words, it seemed like both too short, but just the right length. On one hand I wanted more, and on the other it seemed to fit it well, and you brought forth everything that needed to in the short space you used.

This is completely heart breaking! By the end of this battle I swear I'm just gonna be a mess of tears.

Anywho, this was absolutely fantastic! Nice writing, I can't wait to see where you're going with this next chapter.

Liz

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much. I find it a lot harder to write in third person than first actually-at least with the girls. Ginny especially I relate with a lot, so 1st person is easier to write with her than like, Percy or someone.

I'm glad you liked it! Thanks for the review!
~Sara


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>