Reading Reviews From Member: mrsdeanthomas421
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by mrsdeanthomas421Keep Warm: O Come All, Ye Faithful

22nd November 2015:
This story is wonderful...your characterization is fantastic and the plot is developing so nicely. This chapter had me laughing out loud while also exploring some pretty solemn topics. I can't wait to see where this goes next. Keep up the good work- you've got one loyal reader in me!

 Report Review

Review #2, by mrsdeanthomas421Traitorous Hearts: An Admirable Thing

12th July 2015:
This story is really amazing- I'm not usually a fan of Hogwarts gen stuff but Astoria's story is too good not too like. I love your depiction of Hogwarts at this time. You portray the fear and uncertainty perfectly while also managing to show hope- I always admired that in JK's writing and I think you have really captured that feeling here. Please keep updating!

Author's Response: First, thank you so much for reviewing! I'm so glad that you enjoy Carrow era Hogwarts. I was really interested in it too. That was actually one of the things I was most excited about when I decided to write about Astoria. We get such a small glimpse of what Hogwarts must have been like during the 7th book, but it's clear that for Neville and Ginny and everyone who stayed there, there was a lot of intrigue and danger. Everything you need for an interesting story!

Thank you so much--that is an incredibly lovely compliment, and I really appreciate it! And I totally intend to keep updating! Thanks again : )


 Report Review

Review #3, by mrsdeanthomas421Fluorescent Adolescent : labradors, hedgehogs

23rd June 2015:
TEAM MIKEY. TEAM MIKEY. TEAM MIKEY. I don't think I have ever shipped something so hard, so the lack of Jeffy in this chapter made me smile, but I also loved seeing more of Effy as a person, not a person in a relationship. The Al/Effy kitchen convo gave me all sorts of warm feelings- they are so good for eachother (as friends, of course). I was really pleasantly surprised to see the Aspen/Scor relationship come to an end with a fizzle rather than a bang- with Aspen's personality it would have been easy for you to go with the nasty breakup road but I appreciated the rawness and simplicity of her quiet breakdown with Effy at her side. I may or may not have a character crush on Teddy Oliver after only a few sentences so good job with him :) oh and if Effy and Mikey decide to get kinky on Valentine's day just know I would not be opposed in the slightest (I have a feeling I'm just going to have to enjoy whatever happens between them, if anything, while it lasts). I loved this chapter as always and will be checking religiously for an update!

Author's Response: well first of all i love dean thomas so i'm really appreciating your username! as in he's such a great, underrated character, so yeah. go you!
ahhh, where do i begin! i am, to begin with, so thrilled you back effy and james together- the whole love/hate lover/enemy dynamic has been used so much in fanfiction i'm constantly scared i'm overdoing it, or running too close to cliche. so that comment really resinated with me, thank you!
i too really like teddy oliver, and i'm glad you like him too, especially enough to comment on him. and regarding aspen and scorpius's relationship: i originally had effy walk into rose & scorpius kissing in the owlery but i scrapped that all together, because does that really ever happen? i mean, maybe on tv? perhaps in real life, but i've never heard of it. as a teenager, i really try hard not to write teenagers acting in ways myself or my friends wouldn't, you know?
anyway. thank you so much for such a kind and encouraging review. ch14 is in the queue, and hopefully it doesn't disappoint! xx

 Report Review

Review #4, by mrsdeanthomas421The Wild Youth: Blaze of Quidditch

6th June 2015:
the quidditch confrontation was the funniest thing I have read in a while and I already love Finn! I am loving the return of the gang to Hogwarts, yet this has alao solidified my anti-James feelings lol (I always seem to like the underdogs). keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #5, by mrsdeanthomas421Fluorescent Adolescent : wild horses

2nd May 2015:
this story is fantastic. I honestly don't like James all that much, but I really appreciate how you have managed to craft a human, and therefore flawed James and not the stereotypical perfect first son of the Potters. I do however love effy- she has distinct independence and of course Ravenclaw intelligence. I love your portrayal of Effy's friendships with Mikey, Liam, Albus, etc.- it is refreshing to read some strictly platonic guy/girl relationships.
Effy/Mikey is secretly my favorite thing ever, so I was interested to read this:
"My permission to let Jasmine snog one of my best friends felt weird as they tumbled out of my mouth. I thought about giving Jasmine permission to snog Albus, and it just didnít feel as strange."
Can it be that there are feelings rumbling about? Or are they just so close that the question made her uncomfortable??
Great job and keep up the good work!

Author's Response: i am SO glad you like this (also dean thomas is definitely one of my favourite characters. so very cool username. i'm a fan)
i'm really happy you're telling me your honest opinion of james. he's not meant to be a two-dimensional "lad with a heart (and six pac and brain and kindness and charisma and everything else under the sun), i've tried really hard to make him as real as possible- so the fact that you don't like him really proves that! thank you!
but i'm super stoked that you like effy. in previous chapters she was meant to be this sassy pretentious ravenclaw girl (urgh so cliche 2013 bea what u on) but the more i write the more i find i'm injecting little parts of myself into her? and just the fact that you ship effy/mikey! all i can say is watch this space. you definitely do not have an inkling for nothing.
thanks again for such a great review! xxx

 Report Review

Review #6, by mrsdeanthomas421Impact: Ramification

9th March 2015:
I just read this entire story in one sitting and it is honestly fantastic. Your take on nextgen is so refreshing- I feel like even though we have so many options with how to deal with nextgen characters people begin to confuse common interpretations with canon. I adore your characterization- Albus is unique, but spot on at the same time and CeCe is one of the few multi-dimensional original characters that I have come across in fanfiction. I think Louis is my fav character of all. His dialogue and idiosyncrasies are quite frankly hilarious. I rarely laugh out loud while reading but I do every time with him- in a weird way he actually reminds me of Luna in that he is so good at easing tension. I suspect this story is about to get a lot darker and I think he will continue to be a perfect balance for that. Your foreshadowing and plot development are spot on as well- I have just enough information to keep me interested and your development of the Al/CeCe relationship is really well done. I also really appreciate your attention to smaller characters and plotlines; Ally Longbottom seems like such a cutie, I am extremely intrigued by Avery, and I would love to learn more about the James/Al dynamic. Overall it just seems as though you have a really strong grasp of where this story is headed. I am so excited to continue reading, although if Scorp goes away for a long time I am going to be incredibly depressed. Keep up the awesome work!

Author's Response: Oh my gosh...your review pretty much made my entire life. I really wanted this to be different from a lot of Next Gen stories, and I'm so happy that you think I managed that while staying true to the characters. I also desperately want to hug you for your assessment of Cee-Cee. She's been a lot of work, but I've generally been pleased with the result so far. I love your comparison of Louis to Luna as well--that's definitely a big part of his role in the story, and I'm glad I'm not the only person to find him hilarious. :) Your kind words about the foreshadowing and plot development mean so freaking much to me--I've been really worried about whether I've been doing too much or too little with respect to those aspects of the story. I also didn't want to turn the Al/Cee-Cee relationship into a cliche, so I'm glad you think it's developing well. As far as the minor characters and plotlines go, I like to think that everything has a place in this story, which means there are a lot of moving parts, but it IS all adding up to something in the end. I actually have many of the later chapters already written, so I feel like I have a pretty strong grasp of where I'm taking everything and I'm super happy that came across to you. I really hope you'll keep reading to find out what happens to Scorp (and everyone else of course--I even have some good Al/James stuff coming up!) and keep leaving amazing reviews. :)

Seriously, though--thank you so, SO much! Xo

 Report Review

Review #7, by mrsdeanthomas421Pureblood: Love and War

18th February 2015:
I thought my eyes were deceiving me when I saw you had updated. I love this fic and am happy ro hear you are continuing! I love Alex as a strong female protagonist and am excited to see where her story takes her. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Aw I'm happy that you're happy! I really want to finish this story soon. Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #8, by mrsdeanthomas421Porcelain Hearts : Seven Sharp, Willoughby

7th February 2015:
I love this story. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope to have the next chapter up soon!

 Report Review

Review #9, by mrsdeanthomas421Shadowplay: Twenty-Two: A Changed Place

4th January 2015:
I love this story. Aislin as a protagonist is a breath of fresh air and your depiction of Remus is exactly how I have always imagined him. Thank you for writing an original, cliche-free fanfiction. I can honestly say it is one of the first ones I have read in a while and I cannot wait for more. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review! I'll try to pull out all the stops for the remaining chapters (23 should be up by next Sunday)!

 Report Review

Review #10, by mrsdeanthomas421Pandemonium: Thirteen

30th November 2014:
I just read this entire story in one sitting! The fact that I now have to actually wait for a new chapter is quite frankly depressing, so please update soon! I have read so many Marauder's era fics, but your take, specifically your portrayal of Sirius, is fresh and unique. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Oh wow! You're awesome :D

I'll try and get the next chapter up this week for you! I'm glad you like my take on the marauders and their era.

 Report Review

Review #11, by mrsdeanthomas421Upping The Ante: Live A Little

10th September 2014:
So happy to see you have updated! Love the ravenclaw team dynamic- you have really captured each of their personalities so well in only three chapters. At the moment I am loving me some Alex duo,,,excited to see where that might go although I have a feeling Alex likes Xandra more than she can ever like him ;) Please keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thanks for the wonderful review! And yay, thanks so much for the wonderful comments!

Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by mrsdeanthomas421The Girl from Slytherin : The End

1st September 2014:
Thank you so much for such a brilliant, original story. I love Tor/Terry with all my heart and I cannot wait to see where their new journey together takes them! This is genuinely one of my favorite hpff stories of all time and you deserve so much recognition for your ability to craft such a well though out, intriging story. Keep up the good work!!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

No, thank you! Thank you for reading and enjoying the story and leaving me such a lovely review. It really means so much to know that people are enjoying the story and the characters. I'm so honoured by every word you've said here and it's so encouraging and lovely.

I've been working on the sequel and am so excited to start posting it! Thanks so much again, your review really means a lot! ♥

 Report Review

Review #13, by mrsdeanthomas421The Girl from Slytherin : The Carrows

1st June 2014:
It feels almost horrible to write great job on such a gruesome chapter, but honestly this chapter and the story as a whole are so well written. The internal struggle of Tor has been developed so nicely and I cannot wait to see what comes next. I miss Terry and am praying that he makes an appearance (even just in a letter!) sometime soon. Please update soon and keep up the good work! I get so excited when I see a new chapter.

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ah, thank you so much! :) It means so much to me that you're enjoying the story, and Tor's struggles and how she's changed throughout the story. I really love writing it and it's very lovely to hear when people are enjoying it.

Terry won't stay gone forever, I promise! :) I'm working on the next chapter now and hope to have it up in a week or so, fingers crossed.

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! ♥

 Report Review

Review #14, by mrsdeanthomas421Moonlit Meetings: The Winter Chronicles

18th May 2014:
you cruel, cruel soul. you get me interested in James/Serena only to put a stop to it!!! ah. but so so good. i love to hate alexei. jerena is not going down without a fight! great job as always

Author's Response: mrsdeanthomas421,

I really do live to put my characters (and readers!) through misery! ;) Jerena, huh? Nice. :) Thanks so much for taking the time to rate/review, it means the world to me that you keep leaving such lovely reviews! It totally makes my day. Thanks so much! I'll try my best to update soon(ish).


 Report Review

Review #15, by mrsdeanthomas421Moonlit Meetings: Just Wait and See

10th May 2014:
I just rediscovered this story and as much as my Jily heart resists it there is something about the way you write James and Serena that is too good not to root for. I am so not pleased with Caspar at the moment but I am sure he will come around. Please please pleaase update soon!

Author's Response: mrsdeanthomas421,

Well thank you very much! :) I get a certain pleasure out of writing their story--it's just so interesting for me. Also, I agree about the Casper thing (for how could I not!)--he's being a right pain in the butt. I'll be updating soon, hopefully! Stay tuned! Also, I'm really glad you rediscovered this story. :D Serena thanks you for your review.


 Report Review

Review #16, by mrsdeanthomas421The Perks of Being a Sociopath: Everyone has their limits

13th March 2014:
I just found this and read the entire thing in one sitting- it's fantastic! Olivia is not your stereotypical female protagonist and I am loving the development of Remus. Please keep updating! Great job

Author's Response: Hey there, thanks so much! You're way too kind haha. The next chapter is still with my beta reader, but I should get it back any day now so you won't have to wait long :) Thanks again for you wonderful review and I hope you'll keep enjoying the story!

 Report Review

Review #17, by mrsdeanthomas421Against the Waves: Dinner with the Malfoys

2nd February 2014:
I had favorited this story ages ago and just rediscovered it now! I am praying that you haven't abandoned it because now I am hooked! I personally love to see Scorpius paired with someone other than Rose- your take is original and fresh. Please update soon!

 Report Review

Review #18, by mrsdeanthomas421Moonlit Meetings: The Other Boyfriend

27th December 2013:
I just went back and reread the entire story and it is amazing how much your writing has improved! I was interested from the very first chapter but I am now officially obsessed. As much as I love Sirius the James/Serena dynamic is just too good to not root for. You've got me scared for what Alexei has up his sleeve though. Great job and please update soon!!!

Author's Response: mrsdeanthomas421,

I definitely know what you mean! I started this story about... wow, seven years ago? That's a long time. >_< And my writing pretty much sucked when I first started. It's been a ton of fun to grow with this story.
Thanks so much for reading/reviewing! I'll try my best to update soon (I'm already a good chunk of the way through writing the next one! ;])

 Report Review

Review #19, by mrsdeanthomas421Star Crossed: Eternity

15th April 2013:
OMG. That's all I have to say. And that it made my day when I saw you updated. I was trying to come up with a ship name for Regulus and Adrienne but I am stumped! Pleaaasse keep updating!!!

Author's Response: aw, thank you :) glad you liked it!

I know, I've tried, you've tried, every other reader has tried - we just can't seem to do it! Maybe it will come - but with their names it seems unlikely!

Regulus likes to be proper and use full names anyway - maybe it's for the best ;)

Updates are on their way :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by mrsdeanthomas421Tug Of War: Brave

10th January 2013:
so good. Please update! and I am liking Luke :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by mrsdeanthomas421No Ordinary Nutter: Of Nutters and McGonagallís Fanclub

2nd December 2012:
so so good. This story is so original and I am so excited to see where it is going! please update soon!

Author's Response: i'm glad you like it, and the next chapters already in the queue. fanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by mrsdeanthomas421And All That Jazz: Echoes, Lies, And All That Jazz

15th January 2012:
hey! this is great! keep updating pleasee:) and btw I love your banner- who made it?

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'll definitely be updating soon. I made the banner myself! I'm very proud of it :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login