Reading Reviews From Member: EvannaBlackthorn
  
34 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EvannaBlackthornForever Yours: "I don't hate you, no..."

7th October 2012:
First of all, I love your song choice. I love Rise Against too and this is one of my favourite songs of theirs. I love how you applied the lyrics to this situation and this couple. Also your writing is lovely and it really did pull at the heartstrings. I just wish it had been longer!

Author's Response: EvannaBlackthorn,

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments! I really wanted to do a songfic for Rise Against, because so much of their songs are politicaly lyriced, it's usually hard to pull off. So I'm really glad that I applied this song accurately towards the couple. And I'm also glad I was able to pull at the heartstrings. It's usually hard for me to pull out raw emotions I intend for readers to feel in my writing, so I'm very glad I accomplished it. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

PhoenixPulse


 Report Review

Review #2, by EvannaBlackthorn"This May Be Fatal": The Plot Thickens

7th October 2012:
What an interesting concept! I've never seen anything like this before, its very original. I have to admit, reading the first chapter I was kind of confused about where it was going and I'm glad I kept reading to find out. It's really intriguing. You're writing is also very nice, you seem to have a natural flow and the different character perspectives (in this chapter particularly) were very well written.

Looking forward to see where this will go, keep up the good work! :)

Author's Response: *grins* Whew. I'm so glad it flowed well for you!

Haha, that's always my biggest fear - that it makes more sense in my head than it does for everyone else. X)

Thanks a lot for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #3, by EvannaBlackthornCarelessness: Lost in Darkness and Distance

6th October 2012:
Wow. I'm pretty much lost for words. Its so heartbreakingly beautiful. I feel you portrayed the characters very well. I am not a fan of slash but this was done so tastefully that it seems plausible. Also I think the ending was really interesting and totally seems believable. I think some punctuation would have helped to make it easier to read but other than that I quite liked it! :)

Author's Response: I am an absolute characterisation obsessive, so I've tried to keep the characters and their relationships as natural and, yes, tasteful as possible - up to, y'know, the ending. The punctuation thing was kind of meant to be like that, with the whole super-frantic stream-of-consciousness thing, but I'll consider maybe making it a bit easier to read. Thank you for your review! :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by EvannaBlackthornIn Walks Trouble: What You Waiting For

28th July 2012:
Hehe~ I really enjoyed reading this!
Theres one or two little typos and missing words like curls in the beginning but nothing major! :P I loved all the little references like Elena being the sensible one (its a dire job but somebody's got to do it! ;)), the whole dislike for the color yellow, the threat about cutting of the curls.. All that! And of course, mentioning that Lyra wants to do something in medicine and that Maia is an always happy person! She's cheekier than I think Mello is IRL but it's pretty funny. I can't wait to see how you develop the whole Elena-Scorpius-Rose love triangle and I'm liking this tension between Layla and a certain Potter boy! ;) Looking forward to see how that works out too... Maybe their love of pranks will bring them together? Anyways, update soon! :P

Author's Response: Thank you so much :)
Ya I hadn't really edited it properly. :P
Exactly someone has to be responsible, I couldn't resist putting in the colour reference :L :L
Ya Melly is abit different but someone has to be mental with me :L :L
I thought you'd like the love triangle thing, Im actually looking forward to writing that one :P Yeah that "tension" plays a big part, You'll just have to wait and see how that plays out :L:L
Thanks for the review, means alot. :D


 Report Review

Review #5, by EvannaBlackthornThe Blossoming: A Cake For Freddie

18th July 2012:
Aw, this is so sweet. I love how you described the controlled chaos of Molly's kitchen and I really like your characterization of her. I also think it's really cute that being a parent has softened Percy up some. The only problem I have is that I think Molly might be a little more emotional when thinking of Fred but I like the fact she changed the icing. Molly and Audrey's conversation and the end was really sweet too and you really portrayed Molly so well.
Overall, this is a really pleasant read. Good luck with writing the rest of it! :D

Author's Response: Thank you, I'm glad you thought this chapter was sweet!
In terms of Molly's reaction, I think she is very emotional - but it's been a few years since Fred died and I don't think she'd burst into tears every time she thought about him. There would, no doubt, be times when all she'd want to do is cry and shout and curse the world for taking her son- but that's not a sustainable way of living and I think that there are times when one mourns a loved one where your sadness is much more quiet, and even accompanied by a smile! For me, the cake was one of those moments.

Thanks for your comment on the conversation with Audrey, I wasn't sure about it when I was writing it but I think it turned out okay!

Thank you for tagging me and reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by EvannaBlackthornSeeing Double: I

17th July 2012:
I'm back again! :D And I'm finding myself at a loss of things to say that I haven't already said so forgive me if I'm repeating myself.
I thoroughly enjoyed the prologue before and I enjoyed this chapter just as much if not more! It's so well written that I find myself doing a Molly and getting completely taken in by it. The characterization is brilliant, I especially liked Molly's conversation with Louis and her musings about her cousins. And the ending. Its just so amazing. I will definitely be back to read this story again (hopefully sooner than the last time), so please keep going because it really is fantastic.

Author's Response: Hey again! It's so great to see you back :D

Thank you so much! I don't really have a huge family myself, so it was a bit difficult to try and capture how people think about their relatives O.o Louis is funny, lol. You'll see a lot more of him in future ;)

Thank you so much for the lovely review!

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by EvannaBlackthornThe Madness Within: Chapter One

16th July 2012:
First things first... How have I not reviewed this? I added it to my favorites ages ago! Ops. For the extremely late review, I apologize. :P
Second things second, Why the hell have you not updated it yet? lol Honestly. Get writing! :P
So far I quite like this and I really love the characterization of the sisters. Andromeda is brilliant and Bellatrix and Narcissa are very believable. And TED. Gah. I love your Ted already. I'm really interested to see how you'll build up his and Andy's relationship as well as how you'll write the change in Andromeda's relationships with her family because of it, especially with her sisters whom she seems very close to.
And thank you for the dedication! ;) Now you have to keep writing this and I will pester you to do so the next time I see you so yeah, get writing! :P lol

 Report Review

Review #8, by EvannaBlackthornMasquerade: A . . . Charming New Roommate

3rd May 2012:
I'm back again! XD
Lemme just say, I'm really liking you're characterisations so far, I mean your Draco is perfect. I'm a little worried about Ron though, I don't understand why him and the others are mad at Hermoine. But other than that I enjoyed it, Snape swearing was just too funny! XD Will defo be reading more to see what scenarios you throw Draco and Hermoine into. :)

Author's Response: Ah, yay! I've always worried my Draco characterization was a bit cheesy. It's lovely that you're liking it!

About their anger, you'll find out soon enough! It's meant to be vague right now :) It will all make sense eventually, haha. And I'm glad you liked the Snape part! Just my attempt at inserting a little humor in :P

Thank you thank you thank you for the lovely feedback! It's much appreciated!

Bri, xx


 Report Review

Review #9, by EvannaBlackthornShattered: Mirror Mirror on the Wall

2nd May 2012:
It's very well written and I really enjoyed reading it. Writing in the second person is tricky and terrible if done incorrectly, but you have done it beautifully. Honestly, I can't find anything to critic.

Author's Response: Thank you. Tis was actually written in first person POV, it just kind of sounds second person because the mirror is talking to Petunia.

 Report Review

Review #10, by EvannaBlackthornMasquerade: A Drunken Fever

2nd May 2012:
This is a simply excellent opening! I must admit, I generally stay away from Dramoine fics, but for this one, I think I'll have to make an exception. It's incredibly well written and one of the things I like the most is that it's believable, something that is sadly missing in most Dramoine fics. I loved it and will definitely be reading more as I can't wait to see how this story unfolds. :)

Author's Response: Aw, I'm glad you liked it! :) Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback. I'm glad it seems believable, as that's always been a worry of mine when writing this story. I hope you come back to read more!

Bri, xx


 Report Review

Review #11, by EvannaBlackthorn(she was lost): Hurting

2nd May 2012:
Wow, this is very nicely written. You capture Dominique's pain brilliantly and I really enjoyed reading it. I think its quite relate-able, as there are times I think when we all can feel as Dom does in the story (although perhaps not to the same extent). The ending is beautiful, I love it. Good luck in your challenges. :D

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for this review :D. Aww, you think so? That means so so much to me :3 Yes, well I suppose in any sad story you can never quite feel the /actual/ pain, but hopefully I got the emotion across.

Thanks!
x


 Report Review

Review #12, by EvannaBlackthornThe Boy Who Killed: It Will Have Blood, They Say; Blood Will Have Blood

2nd May 2012:
Oooh this is amazing! The mystery and the suspense is perfect, I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat while I read it! I absolutely adored your characterisation of all the characters, Hermoine in particular was brilliant. And the way you've captured the trio's relationship as well as Harry and Hermoine's friendship is wonderful, you've written so well. I really can't wait to see where this story is going, please update soon! :D

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I've had trouble with my characterization of Hermione for a while as I feel I never do it justice, but its good to hear that you think I did a good job with it.

Thanks for the great review!


 Report Review

Review #13, by EvannaBlackthornRonald's Box: Finding the box

2nd May 2012:
Nice opening, short and sweet. I really liked it, can't find anything to critic. Looking forward to reading more and seeing what's in those letters. ;)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, I'm glad you liked the opening chapter! It is short when you compare it to the lasts ones that have been validated... Good times...
I hope you'll enjoy the letters and what is coming; I hope to see you again, telling me what you thought of it :)
Thanks again for taking the time to review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by EvannaBlackthornSomewhere In Between: this is pouring rain, this is paralysed

2nd May 2012:
I've never read 'In Full Circle' but I'll definitely be checking it out after this. I liked how its written. Writing in the 2nd person can be disastrous if done incorrectly but you've made it work here, and written it very well. I also like the ominous mood it brings to the story. I really enjoyed this, keep it up! :)

Author's Response: Hi! I love writing 2nd person, it's something I've gotten used to a lot. I agree that it can be disastrous if not done properly. I didn't think it was that omnious, but more melancholy. I'll have to re-read it to see what you mean.

Thanks for reading my little one shot! I hope you like 'In Full Circle' when you do get to it :)

Enjoy your weekend!
Lia


 Report Review

Review #15, by EvannaBlackthornRaining: 'Train Ride', Seventh Year.

2nd May 2012:
Awesome first chapter, I really enjoyed it! I loved everything about it, the characters, the descriptions. Amazing. One thing I noticed though is there's a sentence when you say "Oh no, thought Rose" instead of Amelle. Other than that, I really liked it and I look forward to reading more! :D

Author's Response: Oh yeah! I forgot to edit that! I was writing and Rose/Scorpius at the same time as the chapter so that's why it's there! Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #16, by EvannaBlackthornTongue Tied: Anatomy of a Hufflepuff

2nd May 2012:
Good opening chapter, was a nice read. Calliope is a very interesting character (with a very cool name ;) ) and I really like how she isn't one of those typical, outgoing OC's that are usually written about in Marauder fics. Also really enjoyed her views on being a Hufflepuff and her crush on Remus is soo cute. I can't wait to see what other situations you throw them into! ;)

 Report Review

Review #17, by EvannaBlackthornSweet Disposition: The Group in Black

2nd May 2012:
Cool opening Lexi ! ;) I always enjoy your Marauder fics and this one is no exception. There's a few little typos but a quick edit will fix that. I've said this before and I'll say it again, I love how you write Sirius. And it's an interesting twist at the end, having them end up in Godric's Hollow. I'm really intrigued to know what's gona happen there. Update soon ok?!

Author's Response: Just for you Evanna ;) :L Yes I actually know what to write with this one, so prepare for updates. :D Think I'vs finally over come my massive writers block XD I've said it before ... I love Sirius! The Godric's Hollow bit plays a big part in the rest of the story. Hopefully it will turn out as planned XD

 Report Review

Review #18, by EvannaBlackthornRunaway: Runaway

2nd May 2012:
Amazing first chapter, really very interesting. The concept is great, I don't think I've ever seen anything like it before. The characterisation is brilliant as well and I love how you seem to know all of the Order too. Nice research on your part. So far so good, this story seems set out to be another brilliantly addictive one and I can't wait to read the rest of it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by EvannaBlackthornMemory Dust: Living in a Lie

2nd May 2012:
This is a very interesting concept. I think you've written it very well, its a very good opening to the story. One thing that bothered me was that Harry seems a little bit too indifferent to the fact his two best friends are missing/possibly dead. You give a really nice reason for it, which I liked, but I would have found it more believable if he had showed a little more emotion, even something subtle like his eyes darking in pain every time they're mentioned or something. Overall though, I liked it and I'm really interested to read more. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by EvannaBlackthornPortraits of Courage: James Potter

2nd May 2012:
Wow.. Once again, I'm left awe-struck at the quality and sheer brilliance of your writing. I must ask, where are you finding these quotes? They're amazing and I really like how each one fits each chapter and each character so well. I know I have said this before but I am in forever in love with your characterisation and I adored the little bit at the end where Minerva feels like James and the others are her own children. I personally, always thought she was particularly found of them so its nice to see that here. I love the last line as well... It's almost heartbreaking. Once again, awesome work and I can't wait to read the next chapter! :D

Author's Response: Thank you! I actually just did a google search for quotes about courage and found some excellent ones that really just spoke to me about each of the characters. Eee, thanks. I'm so pleased that people are enjoying my take on these characters. McGonagall is definitely a difficult character but it's been a lot of fun playing with her. I imagine she was very fond of them as well, despite their penchant for mischief. I hope you come back to the next chapter soon. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #21, by EvannaBlackthornOn: On

30th April 2012:
That was a wonderful read, a lovely piece of writing. I really enjoyed it! What I loved the most was how you captured the emotions of the characters. And you made little Teddy sound so cute too! :3

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you liked it, I really enjoyed writing it :) Little Teddy was intersting to write since I've never written someone at that age before, so I'm happy he came off sounding well. Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #22, by EvannaBlackthornMaybe I'll Be A Rocketman: Maybe I'll Be A Roketman

24th January 2012:
Ahh... I love this. I loved it when I first read it and I love it now too. I just wish it was longer ! ! XD

I really loved how you wrote George and Angelina, you characterised them quite well and your descriptions are better than ever. I especially liked when you described the room;

'It showed signs of originally being decorated by males but the vase of flowers on the table, the scented candle giving off a vanilla scent on the mantel piece and the little trinkets that decorated the room showed a woman's influence along the way.'

I thought that was very nice and it was what really drew me into the story.

One thing that I found slightly irking was the huge spacing, just something to think about if you ever decide to edit it in the future.

Overall I loved it and I think you did a great job with it (considering the whole astronaut thing! XD). Please write more George because it would be a shame if you didn't. :)

Author's Response: Well atleast I know your doing constructive things while your sick :P.
Yeah I was reading it yesterday and the spacing was really far apart so I'm re submitting it to get it shorter. :D I think I could always descibe, I just chose not to :L Starting to like George more and more so look out for more of him especially the one I was telling you about. ;)
That astronaut thing... I nearly had a melt down from that :L
Thanks for reviewing. Glad you liked it XD


 Report Review

Review #23, by EvannaBlackthornThe Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin: The Adventures of Mary Sue Slytherin

24th January 2012:
This is pure brilliance ! I enjoyed reading every single bit of it.
I love how you've taken all the typical crappy things about fanfiction and have just turned them on their heads and made them hilarious ! You had me laughing throughout it all, your sense of humour is awesome. I also love your witty descriptions too. Very, very nicely done. Keep up the excellent work ! :D

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reviewing! This was pretty much all the fanfic sterotypes thrwon togther into one.

 Report Review

Review #24, by EvannaBlackthornAlibi: Perfection

16th January 2012:
I really really enjoyed that. :D I love the descriptions and I love the new take on Lily's character. It was such a nice twist to have Petunia as the magical one at the end. I'm really interested to see where this story is going. Overall an awesome job !
Please keep writing. :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I hope it was a surprise xD I will definitely update this soon!

 Report Review

Review #25, by EvannaBlackthornCrimson Reality: Part I: We Cannot Die

16th January 2012:
Really interesting idea. I really liked reading the story and I thought it was quite well written. I also love the relationship between Rose and Scorp. Can't wait to read more ! :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! I'm overjoyed that you've liked this chapter and that you think it was written out well.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>