Reading Reviews From Member: HappyMollyWeasley
  
240 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HappyMollyWeasleyConstant Vigilance: Nymphadora

6th February 2016:
Hi Anja!

Itís Molly again, back for the second review of our swap. Although this time Iím writing as my self instead of Molly WeasleyÖ ;)

Wow! You're awesome in drawing up a character and a story set in just a few lines! This story, although very short, shows that youíve got a lot of talent. You allow us right into the mind of Tonks, letting us see all her uncertainties and her flaws, and the tension you build up here is almost palpable. It must be very scary indeed to come home to a flat that smells and feels different to what it did when she left. I would have been scared to death if it was me!

Iíve never before thought about this ship. I have to admit that the ship disturbs me a little, because of the age differenceÖ But they're both adults, so I will manage. Itís not up to me to decide who Tonks falls in love with anyway, and who knows, maybe this ship will grow on me now when Iíve discovered its existence?

/Molly

 Report Review

Review #2, by HappyMollyWeasleyNine Years: November 1st, 1991

6th February 2016:
Hi!

This is Molly with a review for the Gryffindor Review Battle, Team Red!

Oh, I love this story so much, and it felt great returning to it. Your Lee is a wonderful person, and I love how he interacts with Fred (and George). Having read your first chapter, and keeping that sadness in mind when reading the rest of your story makes this more powerful and important.

I love how George and Fred, and Alicia too, sticks together to help Lee when heís being bullied. Thatís very much in character, because Fred and George were not only pranksters, but also very compassionate and often taking care of others too. Snape, on the other hand, is as bad as alwaysÖ

Lee must be brave asking Cedric Diggory out, seeing that Cedric was handsome and popular. But as much as I feel sorry for him being rejected, Iím rooting for Lee and Fred now (actually to the point where I might adapt this as head canon!), so Iím a bit glad he didn't start dating CedricÖ Evil me.

The part with the Maraudersí map is great too! I love how it helps comforting Lee! That part of the chapter is funny, and it feels comforting and reassuring, because we know that Lee will feel alright again.

/Molly

 Report Review

Review #3, by HappyMollyWeasleyForever in my Heart: Molly

6th February 2016:
Hello dear!

I was most surprised to find a story written from my own point of view on your authorís page, so of course I had to choose that one! But I have to say that it was with mixed feelings, and much doubts I started reading, because reading about that day brings up lots of sad feelings and anxieties in my heart and mind. My boggart used to a dead loved one, and yes, the hardest thing in life. Losing a child rips the heart into pieces.

I started reading, and youíve really done a great job in telling it from my point of view. (Did you ďborrowĒ my journal or something?) I remember fighting for my life, and for my family's lives too. Oh, how naÔve of me to think I could manage to do so without dark spells. But that was before, and now itís after.

But I do want to correct you at one thing: I was worrying about Percy too. When I knew one of my loved ones were hurt, I thought of Percy too. Sure, I didnít know at the time that he was in the battle, but it was wartime, and I had all my children in my heart on every given moment. Percy, my sweet little boy, who always did what he thought right.

One thing you did get right what that I knew in my heart that the worst had happened. I felt Fred dying, and that pain in my chest has never again left. Itís still there, but as the years have passed it has become a part of me.

And you were right about that if there was one thing worse than losing a child, it was losing one of two twins, because that also meant the cruelty of leaving George alone. My darling George, who has never been totally whole again. My poor baby boys.

That day was the worst in my life, and youíve captured it so wellÖ Hearing Ginnyís scream when she thought Harry was dead, and youíre right about how confused I felt because I knew that I would feel it in my heart if he had died tooÖ And the relief knowing that he survived. I couldnít have take it if anyone more didn't survive.

But I have to ask youÖ How on Earth did you know about me and Lily, and our agreement to look after each otherís sons? The thought of her taking care of Fred makes it easier to cope. Because itís still hard, and I still feel numb and broken.

Thank you dear, for telling my story, and thank you for doing it so well! I have to read Lilyís story too now of course!

/Molly ;)

 Report Review

Review #4, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: The Secret of Kappaís Egg

5th February 2016:
Hi Kenny!

Itís Molly here, finallyÖ Iíve got some time off today, and hope to spend it reading, reviewing and writing. :)

Now we're talking!!! Even if I didnít know that you're from Japan I could tell from your writing that youíre very familiar with the surroundings. The scene in the temple, and the descriptions of it, and of Hana and Dogen are so vivid and they make me see the scene before my eyes.

I absolutely loved the reference to the Hungarian Horntail tattoo! Fabulous!

I also loved meeting Newt Scamander! I didnít think of the possibility for him to still be alive, but thatís a great plot idea. His house full of magical creatures sounds wonderful! I only wish Hagrid could visit tooÖ Newt seems to be sharp still, and I wonder what part heíll be playing in this story later on.

Now I canít wait until reading about Draco and Vincent, as well as reading about where those missing pages are, and more important, what was written on those pagesÖ


/Molly

 Report Review

Review #5, by HappyMollyWeasleyNine Years: September 1st, 1989

17th January 2016:
Hi Emma!

Itís Molly with the review for our swap. (But I donít think Iíve got a chance to write a proper review, because I canít help myself from fangirling over this! I absolutely adore this story so far, and I canít bring myself to find anything critical to say about it.)

First I have to tell you that I normally donít like ďFirst Year SortingĒ stories, so then I understood that this would be the theme of this chapter I was a bit disappointed. But you did this brilliantly, and I really loved the chapter.

Leeís mother seems to love him dearly, and though I clearly see that she might be doing the wrong thing when encouraging to seek comfort in food, she's also great telling him to be proud of who he is, and that itís not a bad thing to be different. Thatís what Iím trying to teach my children too.

Tonks is wonderful, and I was delightfully surprised to meet her here. Sheís caring and funny, just like sheís supposed to be. Sheís totally in character here. Seeing her and Charlie, and Percy, through the eyes of Lee was both entertaining and cute. Percy is perfect too!

And now heís going to meet Fred and George. I feel as nervous as Lee at this point, not knowing if they're going to like each other or not. (I know that they will eventually, of course, but I donít know how their first meeting will be.)

ďHalf an apricot jam sandwichĒ! I love it! Thatís so much reminds me of Ron meeting Harry, and Iím sure itís intentional. The Weasley children have their own problems to deal withÖ I love their first meeting, and I can't wait for reading more! I have to read your story Nym too of course. (But unfortunately duty calls, so it wonít be right awayÖ)

Thanks for the swap, and thanks for sharing this great story with us! Please tell me if you would like another swap sometime!

/Molly

Author's Response: Molly! Thanks for another lovely lovely review!

I don't much like Sorting stories either, and didn't actually plan this chapter until after I'd written lots of the others, but I wanted the first time Lee met Fred to stand out in his memories. It's a big moment for him and I couldn't resist writing it.

ALSO writing this meant I got an excuse to write Tonks and Charlie, who I loveee. I'm glad you enjoyed them.

Lee's mother's difficult, because I didn't actually intend for her to be giving him food and encouraging an unhealthy relationship with food, but then that seemed very natural when I started writing it. I think you're right, she's very well intentioned and loves him a lot, but she's making the wrong choice here.

I wanted to make it reminiscent of Ron - I thought Molly probably sent all her sons off with disappointing sandwiches for their lunch on the train.

Thanks again for the swap, and for such a kind review.

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #6, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Flight before Halloween

16th January 2016:
Hi Kenny!

Itís Molly againÖ Itís always nice to come back to this story. Iíve said it before, but I have to tell you once again that I think youíve done a great job in balancing the different plots and storylines here, as well as on keeping them work together. My personal favourites are the plot concerning the Hogwarts kids, and also the fairytale. Iím not (at least not so far?) as caught up in Harryís story. Thatís probably because I love reading about friendship and love, but not so much the mystery genre.

That being said, I also have to admit that I canít wait to read about Harry attending Lunaís partyÖ I think thatíll be interesting! I also enjoyed the moment with Harry and the kids in the Great Hall. Although short itís a father/son moment, so Iím not surprised you wrote it well! I also like that Harry seems to have put the old differences between him and Draco away, at least to some point. Draco seems more stubborn, and wonít trust Harry. And now Draco is in Japan! I have a feeling youíre going to make that part of the story extraordinary!

I love the Tengu story in this chapter. Itís beautifully written, and romantic too! I want to read more of that story!

Please tell me if you would like another swap once youíve got more chapters up!

/Molly

Author's Response: Thank you Molly, for your encouragement. It may be categorized as AU depending on readers, but I tried not to be far away from the HP world.
I understand your feeling for mystery and your favourite genres. How about thinking like this; mystery takes a role as spice to friendship and love. You may feel friendship and love stronger with mystery. Just my opinion.

Talking of Luna's party, I tried my best. The next chapter will be up soon. I hope you'll enjoy the scene.

Yeah, the scene at the Great Hall is short but Harry is on mission, you know, he is hiding from public eyes and investigating the case. Yeah, I have to add more description at the scene from mystery approach. Thank you for pointing it out.
I tried writing Harry's care towards Scorpius. There may be spots to be added more later.

I'm happy to know you like the Tengu story. In my country's folklore, they are not so romantic at all but I blended it with Scottish folklore and naturally it turned to be romantic.

Yes, I'll offer review swap again. :)

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #7, by HappyMollyWeasleyAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: An unexpected guest

16th January 2016:
Hi Chiara!

Although I would like to see Jimmy confronting Peter, Iím kind of happy he didnít do it at Kingís Cross. It would be devastating to do such a thing in publicÖ One can argue that Peter isnít his real father, and that he truly belongs with the Potters. But Peter is the only family he has got, and heís the man who has been there for him all his life. I think he'll always be his father in that sense. Iím both curious and terrified for what that upcoming confrontation will bring.

I love Mary Pettigrew. Every scene with her so far have been full of emotions, and she has really been brought to life in the past chapters. Her son has been hiding a lot from her, apparently. It can't be easy for her to discover thing after thing she didn't know about him. I also like that sheís totally honest with her feelings. She doesnít have much in common with Peter in that way. She seems very brave, and has confidence in who she is. As I told you earlier, I really wish for Jimmy to meet her, and for them to find each other. She would need a loving grandson as much as he needs a grandma.

Thank you again for swapping with me, and please tell me if you would like to do it again sometime.

/Molly

Author's Response: Hi again, Molly! :)

No, having that conversation in public isn't a good idea. It won't be funny when/if it'll take place... And I do agree with you. Peter is still the man who raised him and that will never change, whatever happens.

I must say that I like Mary a lot, too! It can't be simple to be Peter's mother... Yes, she is very honest with her feelings. I'm still not sure if/when/how she'll meet Jimmy. They would have a sweet relationship, I'm sure.

Thanks to you! I always love our swaps! :)
I'll let you know when I'll manage to do another one. Right now I'm really full to the brim...

Lots of love, hugs and kisses!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #8, by HappyMollyWeasleyAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: In death of Silvia Lupin

16th January 2016:
Hi Chiara!

This is Molly again. Nobody can argue that Iím fast in reading and reviewingÖ.

I think it was great to compare Jimmyís curiosity with how James and Sirius once tried to make Remus confess. That was a good parallel, which both shows a bit of the background story, but also shows similarities between James and Jimmy.

Oh, poor Remus! Itís always terrible to know that a loved one is going to die. Although we all know that it's going to happen sooner or later, we never want to admit it or think about it until we are forced to do so.

The scene between Mary and Silvia is so beautiful, and so sad. Itís also very believable, and it makes me want to cry. This kind of moments make me emotionally involved with a story, so theyíre really important to my reading. Itís perfect, in itís heartbreaking way, to follow their interaction through playful nostalgic bantering, to forgiveness and to the final goodbye. Itís just like life itself, captured in these few paragraphs.

I also like the interaction between Remus and Mary. Iím glad she was there and that she could pass on the message. To hear that his motherís last words was about her love for him must, to some extent, be comforting in this sad situation.


/Molly

Author's Response: Hi, Molly!
Finally here to answer your reviews (sorry for the lateness, I've really been terribly busy...)

Oh, I'm glad you liked the parallel! James and Jimmy do have a lot in common. By the way, I'm working (very slowly) at a sort of prequel centered on the relationship between Remus and Peter. If you're interested...

The death of a loved one is never easy to accept. It's always simpler to deny that is going to happen... Poor Remus, indeed... I'm always so cruel to him...

I'm glad you liked Mary and Silvia. To be honest I was really doubtful about how I wrote that scene, so I'm very happy to know that it made you feel so emotional (well... I'm sorry I made you cry...)

Yes, I suppose it was a little consolation for him. It was good for him to have Mary there. At least he wasn't completely alone.

Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It really brightened my day! You are awesome!

All my love!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #9, by HappyMollyWeasleyHarry's First Christmas: Harry's First Christmas

15th January 2016:
Hi Heather!

This is Molly from the forums, reviewing fort the Gryffindor Review Battle. I love Christmas stories, so I just had to read yours.

This was a mixture of different feelings and moods. Part of the story is really funny and cheerful, but knowing what's going to happen later makes it sad. I love how you have drawn parallels between Harry and Teddy. Harry will be the one who really can understand Teddy as he grows up.

Itís so sad to read this through Remusí eyes. He thinks about Harry who grew up as an orphan, and about his own child. Iím glad he doesnít know what we know about his future. The very last part of your story is the strongest in my opinion. It's so full of emotions.

I really like the point you are making about James and Lily changing their way of living because of Harry. They are wonderful parents, and although theyíve both been dedicated to the fight against Voldemort they now priorities Harry. BUT, and this is important to me, they are still involved in the fight, although in a different way. Because of the prophecy (which they might still be blissfully unaware of?) their part in the fight against Voldemort actually is loving and taking care of their son. This hurts me so much. And yet, itís so beautiful.

Oh, and wouldnít it be hilarious to see that picture of James and Remus!!! It would be the most amazing banner ever for this storyÖ :-D

/Molly

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it, thanks for reviewing!
This really was a bit of an emotional rollercoaster. Since this was a Christmas story, I don't know how well I portrayed that they were still involved in the fight, but just the fact they're living life to the fullest despite Voldemort's threat, you're right, is beautifully sad.
It was great to write from Remus' point of view both in the past and "present" It gave him much more dynamic than we really see.

I've been lazy with the Banner requests, I probably should get on that at some point. It would be a great banner though :)
Thanks,
Heather


 Report Review

Review #10, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Freshwater Plimpies

13th January 2016:
Hi Kenny!

Iím back again (although later than I thoughtÖ). I like Neville in this story. Itís absolutely in character for him to have lunch in the greenhouse rather than wasting time on walking to the Great Hall.

Scorpius seems so compassionate, especially compared to Flint and the other Slytherin students. Iím glad he seems to befriend Albus and Rose, and that he dared to confide in them too.

Although I love reading references to canon events (like the Hippogriff for instance), I think you should carefully choose the right places to include them. Donít get me wrong here, I like reading them, but sometimes it takes the focus away from your own story. I actually didn't understand why the Hippogriff story was brought up here, or why the Buckbeat events made them change the curriculum. If it was up to me I would either elaborate or skip it altogether.

I liked the scene at the Scamanderís. Luna is a marvellous character, and I suppose her family would be very special. Rolf seems very enthusiastic too.

Iíll keep reading (but it's late now, so youíll have to wait for the next review.)


/Molly

Author's Response: Thank you again, Molly!

Your advice is very helpful. I'll edit about the scene of Hippogriff later.

As Kevin's advice is always in my mind, I try not to write easy good relationship among new trio, Rose, Albus and Scorpius. So I tried to add twists and turns till they get friends each other.

I always have a vision where Neville works in the greenhouse so you could catch my image, I'm very happy.

I enjoyed writing about Scamander and Luna. It's hard sometimes to create new relationship and characters. But the authors on the forums including you are doing great job on your stories, so I tried hard as you. I'll be back to yours as well.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #11, by HappyMollyWeasleyAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: Theories and apologies

9th January 2016:
Hi Chiara!

Itís Molly here, finally, with the first review of our new swap. You did a great job with the opening scene here. The atmosphere is so dense that you almost can touch it, and youíve described the different charactersí reactions and feelings very accurate.

Ron is more clever than we usually give him credit for, as he deducted the truth from Jimmyís story and the scene at the Potterís. And Jimmy donít know what to believeÖ Who could cope with that truth anyway?

Iím not surprised that Hermione would work it out, as Hermione is Hermione after all. And it all makes sense, just like she says.

So Peter has a mother, a loving mother who genuinely cares about him. Thatís great! I really hope she can play an important role in the story later on. Jimmy needs grownup he can trust and who understands him too.

Iíll keep reading! /Molly

Author's Response: Hi, dear Molly!

Sorry I haven't got to your reviews yet... This has been a bit of a crazy period... But hopefully I'll manage to read and review at least one chapter tomorrow!

Oh, I'm so glad you enjoyed this chapter, because it's one I'm a bit unsure of... It's so great to know the feelings of all the characters in the beginning came out well outlined!

Yes, Ron is quite clever. Personally, I've always thought that he was. He's just too rash and stubborn most of the time...

Poor Jimmy... He is quite confused at the moment, and he will be for some time... It is definitely a hard truth to cope with...

Ahahah! Yes, obviously Hermione would work it out! ;) She wouldn't be Hermione otherwise!

I'm glad you liked Mary Pettigrew. She's far from perfect, but she does love her son deeply. I'm not sure if, when and how she'll interact with Jimmy. I suppose we'll see...

Thank you for the awesome review! Can't wait to hear your thoughts on the rest! And once again, sorry if I haven't got to your story yet...

Much, much love!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #12, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: The First Victim

7th January 2016:
Hi Kenny!

So, this chapter starts a bit different from the other so far. It starts with a totally new setting, but I understand that youíll link the parts together later on. The Muggle world seems to be involved in this tooÖ

It canít be easy to teach your own child in school. I think most parents would have trouble marking exams and being absolutely fair (although I suppose many would make their own child work even harder than the othersÖ). But wizarding Britain is not very big, so I guess the Malfoys didn't think they had any other option.

I like that youíre including Rolf Scamander! Thatís a great idea!

I know I said that your Albus are very different from mineÖ But no, theyíre actually very much the same with their grumpy temper! Albus seems to want to be misunderstood.

I also find a small typo: beacon in stead of bacon.

/Molly

Author's Response: Hi, Molly! Thank you again for coming back.

Yes, as you noticed, I put the scene becaue...I've been itching to let Harry enter as an Auror.

Hmm... your point is right. Imagining to teach my child at the same school, it must be difficult among the other students. Yes, making their own children work hard is difficult indeed.

Naturally I felt it was necessary to have Scamander enter. So it seemed to work out, right?

It's really interesting to read the other author's characterization about Albus and Scorpius. I'll be back to the next chapters of yours as well. Thank you for your insightful review, Molly!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #13, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Two Tribes

6th January 2016:
Hi Kenny!

Iím finally here again for the fourth out of six of the reviews of our swap. I have to say that Iím impressed by the amount of thought and time you must have spent on building this story, and to link the different parts together. Itís very clever to include snippets from different books and essays to let us, bit by bit, find out the story about Kappa. Thatís very elegantly done.

Oh, Neville is still friendly and thinks good about people, and Draco is cunning and using himÖ Iíd almost say that Neville is too naÔve here, but on the other hand, I donít know what has happened between the two of them since the war. If theyíve been colleagues for a long time I suppose that it could make sense for Neville to trust him.

I appreciate that you showed us Draco's doubts and his feelings of guilt. That makes him real, and also so much more likeable to me. He has never been my favourite, and never will be, but I know that heís not an evil character after all. I also like that he remembers Snape, and that he recognised the sacrifices he did.

Neville seems like a really good teacher who really cares for his students. Hogwarts needs teachers like that, and I wish that Harry had teachers like Neville when he was young.

/Molly

Author's Response: Hi, Molly! I really appreciate for sparing time for this. I know you're very busy. Thank you so much!

I posted my feeling on the forums. Your review made my day. Your review told me what I struggled through these chapters didn't fail.

To write about each character is difficult, especially in the language that is not my mother toungue. So the fact that you could catch my intention is the best encouragement. I understand that Egnlish isn't your mother toungue, either but I really feel your kindness and what you wanted to say to me. The other insightful feedback helps me a lot. I hope you'll keep reading and please give me advice from now on.

Kenny



 Report Review

Review #14, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Broken Heart

1st January 2016:
Hi again!

Rose is clever, and she thinks for Albus too at timesÖ Her essay was more about facts, but admittedly far less interesting than Albusís.

Draco is very cunning asking his students to find information he need for himself like that. I wouldnít have guessed that it was because of that he asked them about Kappa in the first place. This also gives a clue where this story will head. (And yes, our stories are very much different from each other, I'll give you that! Although we both write about AlbusÖ)

I liked to read the interaction between Scorpius and Draco. I wonder how it would be to be the son of one of the professors of Hogwarts. It canít always be easy I suppose. Poor Scorpius has a lot of family history to deal with too.

Finding that message to his father must have been very frightening, and I'm wondering if Scorpius is going to keep this to himself or if he'll be confiding in anyone.

/Molly

Author's Response: Thank you for this, Molly! I enjoyed setting the trick since I finished the previous two chapters, so I'm glad you found that.

Writing about the relationship between a father and a son may be my main theme through the most of my stories. If you have time to spare, please check the others sometimes.

House of Malfoy is interesting to write about, isn't it? I think both Draco and Scorp have weakness in determination. I tried writing the difference between Malfoy and Potter. I portrayed Albus just like his father, Harry, maybe I'll add the character from his mother's side.

I should've written more frightening description, I might be too soft in writing about the villains..I may edit the part later.

I'll come back to your story soon.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #15, by HappyMollyWeasleyNine Years: May 1st, 1998

1st January 2016:
Hi Emma! And Happy New Year! It's an honour to me to leave the very first review of this great story!

I really, really liked this story, and Iím going to wait impatiently to read more of it! I love Fred (and George), and also Lee, and I canít understand why I didnít think of this ship before. Itís perfect, but also incredibly sad, because we all know whatíll happen next.

I suppose your next chapter will be about what happened before this, but I would also love to read whatíll happen to Lee after Fredís death.

The Potterwatch is an interesting theme of itself, and also something that we donít know very much about from canon, but adding the thoughts and feelings of Lee makes it perfect for a story like this.

I like how youíre describing Lee here. Weíre allowed to know about his overweight and also a little about how heís feeling about it, but without describing his body in detail. His feelings are far more interesting than his looks anyway. Iíve got a feeling there are a lot more about his feelings to tell, and that weíll get to know more about it later on.

Although Iím happy that Lee and Fred got this short time of love together, right before the battle, itís also breaking my heart.

Thank you for swapping with me, and thanks for sharing this story with us all!

/Molly

Author's Response: THANK YOU for such a lovely review! I'm so so relived that you like it. I've enjoyed writing this so much so it's lovely to have such positive feedback :)

Next chapter we're going back to first year for Lee, but there's lots of him and Fred still to come.

Lee's weight is an issue for him and comes up a lot throughout the story, but I didn't want him to be defined by his body. There's so much more to his life than the fact he's overweight (especially in this chapter, given that they're in a war and everything) and hopefully that comes across.

Thank you so so much for such a wonderful first review :)

Let me know if you ever want to swap again!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Dripping Wings

26th December 2015:
Hi again!

Sometimes itís bothering me when reading a story which includes a second story like this one, but I think this works here. Both the Hogwarts story and the Tengu story are well written and interesting to read.

The story youíre telling about Saki and Shota is great, and it feels like a real fairytale. Youíve got a great way to tell the story, and I'm most impressed by your imagination. Itís beautifully told, but sometimes I would have wanted a bit more showing instead of telling, if you know what I mean. Like: ďThey had a long chat about what each life was like, animals and insects in the mountains. She wanted to talk with him like this forever.Ē This would be a good place to add some more conversation between them, to get the characters more alive to the reader. But the story is strong as it is too, and wasnít it for Roseís question I would have forgotten about the main point for Albus too. He still didnít tell how Kappa produces young ones. So back to Hogwarts, the library and MalfoyÖ

Side note: Iím still fascinated by the concept of wild pears. Althoug pear trees are almost as common as apple trees in gardens here weíve only got wild apple trees and never wild pear trees.


Molly

Author's Response: Thank you again for the insightful feedback, Molly! Your suggestion is right, I'll add more in their conversation.

Talking of the mystery how Kappa produces young ones, it will be revealed later, so please keep reading. :)

Wild apple trees! I've read a story whose title was "An Apple Tree" or something. It's bittersweet romance. Kenji Miyazawa who was born in Tohoku wrote a story, the title is "A Wild Pear". It's beautiful and a heartwarming collection of two short stories. If you can get the translation, I recommend you to read it.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #17, by HappyMollyWeasleyTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Fatherís Old Textbook (Prologue)

25th December 2015:
Hi Kenny!

Itís Molly here with the first review for our swap. I thought Iíd already left you a review for this chapter, but it seems like I havenít after all. But Iíve think Iíve told you before that I like the start of this story.

One tiny little thing about your story summary first: Youíve misspelled Albus name. ;)

I like the idea of Draco Malfoy as a Potion professor. I donít think Iíve read any other story with him as a teacher, so that's an interesting idea.

It seems in character for Ginny to be relaxed about using second hand things. I guess Ron wouldnít be as relaxed, but Ginny is cooler. And I suppose itís one thing to use second hand by choice and another to do it because you canít afford else. (In real life I buy much second hand, because it feels better not to add to climate change, and also to teach my children to do the same.)

I love Hagrid here. Iíve never written him, because I think heís a difficult character to get right, but heís in character here so far.

Iíll keep reading and let you know what I think after the next chapter.


Molly

Author's Response: Hi,Molly! Thank you for review swap! And I thank you again for doing beta on the previous chapter. With beta like you and the other friend's help or kind review, I could edit this. Oops, did I do typos again? I'll check the spell 'Albus' after the validator comes back.

Oh, you do buy second hand? My family do the same. Recently, I feel human-beings produce too much used things on the earth.

I like Hagrid so I enjoy writing about him.

I'll be back to yours as well, Molly!

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #18, by HappyMollyWeasleyL'optimisme: Expressions

22nd December 2015:
Hi! Itís Molly here with the review for our swap.

Itís always nice to return to this story with its nostalgic feeling and its sad narrative tone. The small glimpses of the summer they shared, and the long, cold, hard loneliness that followed.

To see Albus think about Gellert in the same way as Gellert was thinking about him in your last chapter makes me want to interfere with them, to shout at them, to wake them up. Just find each other, make up and be happy together!!! Theyíre both so deep down in their own misery, their own pride and foolishness. How can two of the worldís most clever men be so stupid?

Aberforth is no fool. Heís not always an easy brother, but heís the only one who are brutally honest and who says what Albus needs to hear sometimes. I think thatís very much in character, judging from the little weíve seen of him in canon.

I like how youíve used the two feathers in this story. I couldnít get the point of them really when reading your last chapter, but now it all makes sense. Giving them to Olivander makes them more important than every other feather in the world, because we know what part those wands will play in a totally different story. What I can't explain is that those two feathers were supposed to come from Fawkes. Iím now wondering how, when and if youíre going to tie those ends together somehow.

The other thing that canít leave my mind is the colours of red and lilac. I canít find out how those colours are linked to each other or to the events of the story. Iíll keep thinking about that, trying to get itÖ

Thanks for swapping with me again! I also want to wish you Happy Holidays!


Molly

Author's Response: Hey there, Molly! :) Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you - I'm so glad you still like it! I know it's gone on for a long time now, haha, and it's a very slow story, so it's always so great to hear other people like this! :)

Yeah, it's pretty ridiculous :P They're definitely not as clever socially as they are otherwise, haha, poor boys :P But I think there's a lot of fear, as well, on both sides and a lot of guilt - it's a very difficult thing to admit when you expect not to get anything in return and just to be turned down, you know?

Aberforth is definitely not a foolish guy, at all. He's a lot more socially aware and perceptive than people think he is, and I think Albus is pretty aware of this, too. I'm so glad you like him though - his honesty is incredibly different to the rest of the cast, that's for sure!

Thank you! :D I always wanted to include that in there - since I almost backed myself into a whole with the Fawkes theory, and then had to find a way to rearrange the feathers thing to make it fit :P So yeah, that was kinda the solution. The two feathers thing will (should?) have been explained by now, but if not, it'll hopefully be made clearer in the future ;) (If not, feel free to ask me in a pm and I'll explain it there! :D)

Colours... ah, the colours aren't too important, as such, but I over think these things quite a lot, haha, when I write them with the details, so I wanted to include it like that ;) Don't worry about it! :D

Thank you so much for both the review and for the swap - it was so great to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by HappyMollyWeasleyAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: Christmas

20th December 2015:
Hi again! Iím finally back. Iím sorry you had to wait so long for this. :( Although I like your story very much I canít find the time for reading and reviewing. Real life takes way too much time from fan fictionÖ

I love the idea of Lily having an Apothecary. That suits her perfect, because we know that she was very good at Potions. Oh, poor Remus feeling that he has to depend on charity from his friends. Itís not easy to feel that one has to depend on friends like that. Iím sure Lily wants to help, but itís hard to be in a position where you can't pay back.

How strange it must feel for Jimmy to come home to a new house, and to bring a friend home right then. It's an unique situation to show his friend around a house he hasnít seen himself before. You described this well here, and I like that you tell us about Jimmyís mixed feelings. I was a little surprised by Jimmy having Muggle CDs though.

One thing Iíd like to point out here is that thereís a rushed part in this chapter (in my opinion). Itís the paragraph telling us about the games the boys play, and how Peter sometimes join in, ending with ďFinally Christmas morning arrived.Ē This section would be so much stronger if you showed us some little details of this in stead of just telling us about it.

The Christmas present from Neville is perfect. Iím sure itíll come in handy later on, some way or anotherÖ The Christmas scenes are very well developed, especially the Christmas dinner at the Pottersí. I liked the ďI donít biteĒ part, and my heart almost stopped when Jimmy asked the Potters if they had other children too.

Over all I thought this was a good chapter, and I want to thank you for being this patiently while waiting for my review. I wish you the best of holidays, and hope to swap with you again some time!

Molly

Author's Response: Hi, Molly!
It's absolutely fine, don't worry about the lateness! I know that real life can be really busy at times... :) I'm just happy to have you back here! :D

I'm happy you liked the idea of the Apothecary! :)
Yes, poor Remus... it is really hard for him... no one would be happy of depending on his friends that way...

Poor Jimmy is still trying to adjust to his new life. And, yes, it must be really strange to bring a friend home, when the place is totally new for you, too. Really weird...
I thought maybe wizards might have CDs, too. Or maybe it might be an American thing, I don't know. But I can see why you found it odd.

Yes, I agree. A bit rushed. I didn't want to put too much focus on the days before Christmas, but just give a quick view of them, since they aren't so important for the plot, but I should definitely eexpandthat section a little, also because in later chapters I came up with a job for Peter as a vendor of magical games, and it could be something I should mention here (when I wrote this chapter I didn't know about Peter's commerce yet... :P). Anyway, yes, you are totally right.

It's good to know that you enjoyed the Christmas scenes! Ahahah! I'm also glad I got you by surprise with Jimmy's question. I wanted it to come unexpected, especially for the Potters.

I'm very happy you liked the chapter as a whole! Thank you so much for this amazing review! It's always a pleasure to swap with you! ;)

Much love, and merry Christmas!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #20, by HappyMollyWeasleyAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: Auror James Potter

9th December 2015:
Hello again!

Iím sorry Iím so slow in reading and reviewingÖ But hereís finally the second of the three reviews.

I like this story, and I canít stop wondering how youíre going to develop the plot. I canít really guess whatís going to happen next, and when I try you prove me wrong. For instance: I was convinced James would recognise Jimmy when they met, but he didn't. Itís both clever, and confusing, of you to adding that Jimmy resembles Peter. Iím wondering why that isÖ

Auror Potter and Professor Snape! :-) That was an entertaining conversation between the two of them. I like how James was trying to act as an adult here, or was he reallyÖ? Iím not sure if he mentioned Lily just to rub it in.

The best part of this chapter, in my opinion, is when Sirius and James are duel training. Letting the characters talk while doing something else is a great way to make a story come alive and to make it interesting. This is something I often forget about in my own writing. I think you did this very well here!

I also appreciated the little mentioning of Tonks. I hope sheíll show up later on!


Molly

Author's Response: Hi, Molly!
Oh, there's no rush, take your time! :)

I'm so glad you like the story!!! :) It's great to know that people enjoy it, because I really have been so doubtful about it...
I'm also glad I manage to surprise you! It's great to know that the plot isn't obvious! As for why Jimmy resembles Peter... well, let's just say that Peter is smarter than what people give him credit (except acting foolishly from time to time...)

James was trying to act as an adult, which Snape definitely wwasn't. He's really changed. And when he said he would bring Lily his greetings he meant it in a good way (even if I suppose Severus might not have liked it).
Anyway, I'll confess that I did have a bit too much fun writing that dialogue! :D

I did have a lot of fun writing the duel training scene, too. :) I'm glad it helped making the scene more alive. I'm not sure if Tonks will appear or not. She might. I don't have a primary role for her yet, though.

Thank you so much for this absolutely lovely review!!! Hope to hear from you again soon!!!

Much love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #21, by HappyMollyWeasleyAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: Quidditch, curses and family affairs

2nd December 2015:
Hi!

This is Molly with the first of the three reviews. First I must say that itís good to return to this story. Iíve been busy with so much other things in life lately so I havenít been catching up at allÖ

I like the feeling in this story, and as Iíve told you before Iím most impressed by how youíve managed to change just enough details to make your plot work with canon. The Quidditch game in this chapter is a perfect example of that. You had a really clever solution, as we all know that it must be Neville who catches the Snitch.

I think itís good to get those little glimpses into Snapeís and also the Pottersí life and thoughts, as well as we know what Jimmy is thinking.

The interaction between Jimmy and his friends is present now, and I like it. I was also glad to read that Jimmy and his father talked and that Jimmy was assured of the love of his father. Iím both interested and worried about what will happen to them both later on.


Molly

Author's Response: Hi, Molly!
Welcome back!
I must say, I'm really glad that we're swapping again. Thank you for calling my attention back to it!!! :D

Thank you so much! It's the biggest relief to hear that the story has a good feeling and that the AU elements work fine, not too much, not too little. I'm glad you liked how I built the Quidditch game too. :)

I'm also very glad you enjoyed Snape and the Potters. I'm trying to work on two parallel plots, the children's one and the adults' one. It's a bit difficult to get both parts going, but I'm trying.

They have defined their friendship now, sort of, so it should be easier to work with them together. I'm glad you're enjoying it! And yes, Jimmy and his father fixed things. For now. I can't tell you what's going to happen between/to them. I can't prosime it will be good...

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Getting to your next chapter right away!

Much love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #22, by HappyMollyWeasleyL'optimisme: Sicily

29th November 2015:
Hi!

So, Iím finally here. I watched Mockingjay last night, and to nobody's surprise Katniss saved the world. ;)

Iím happy to finally read your story again. Life has been forcing me to choose other things over fan fiction, but now I'm back again.

Wow! I really love to see Gellertís soft side. I hardly recognised Gellertís voice at first in this chapter, because heís so emotional and compassionate. I was even confused enough to briefly wonder if it was Albus after all. And then I ďheardĒ him again. This chapter brings him alive, because it tells us about who he could have been if things were different. He has been thinking a lot before, but now heís feeling too, and it makes me like him.

I can tell that Gellert actually cares about Albus, and that he loves him, or at least did at some point. Iíve been uncertain about that earlier, thinking that he might just have been using him. Some people uses other peopleís love and affection for boosting their own ego, rather than loving back, and I thought Gellert could be one of those. But after this chapter I think that there was more to their relationship than that.

But I donít like how he looks down at Albusí choices in life. As a teacher myself I feel a little offended by people telling me that teaching is for those who canítÖ ;)

This chapter is one of my favourite chapters in this story so far. This one, and the one where Gellert visits his family. The emotions in these two chapters are almost palpable.


Molly

Author's Response: Hi again, Molly! :) Thank you so much for stopping by - glad you enjoyed the film! :D

No worries about things stopping you from getting to things - RL has to take precedence sometimes! :)

Haha, thanks! :) Yeah, I really wanted to show more to Gellert than just the kind of cold dictator and the passionate revolutionary, you know? And this was kinda the best time for it - so I'm so glad you liked it!

I think Gellert definitely cared about Albus, and still cares about him, but is much, much worse than Albus is at both admitting his feelings and understanding them. I think it's human, and common in all people, but it's definitely a hidden part of Gellert. Secret romantic and all that :P

Yeah, he's very, very rude about people who he doesn't think are 'good' enough, and there's a certain amount of him wanting to antagonise Albus, because he feels the job is way below Albus, you know? But yeah, it's pretty rude either way :P

Thank you so much for the lovely review - I'm so glad you liked it! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by HappyMollyWeasleyA Study in Silver: The Game Is On

27th November 2015:
Hi again!

Oh, this is only getting better and better. How did you come up with this plot, and make it work so well?

Perry is as genius as he is mad, and the idea with a letter which unscrambles when the different tasks have been completed is fabulous. I like how he has predicted everything right, and I really hope itíll work all the way thoroughÖ

I know Iíve mentioned it earlier, but I think your story idea combines Sherlock and Harry Potter perfectly. Perry is as wonderfully crazy as Sherlock, and Roxanne just goes with the flow in a very much Watson-like way. Sheís smart and intelligent, but nobody thinks like Perry/Scorpius/Sherlock. Itís like playing chess with someone who plans several moves in advance.

The way you use the various Weasley-Potter family members in this story is enjoyable to read. We get to know little bits and pieces from their lives, and somehow it makes an interesting and colourful picture of the family.


Molly

 Report Review

Review #24, by HappyMollyWeasleyA Study in Silver: Such Savage Methods

27th November 2015:
Hi!

Itís Molly from the forums again!

I liked this chapter too, and as I wrote in my last review, Iíve trouble finding anything critical to say about it. The plot is genius, and I only wish I could write like you do! Your language flows smoothly, and you keep my interest all way through this rather long chapter.

Itís good to finally know what really happened to Roxanne at St Mungoís. That explained a lot, and I just love how you use that background story in the actual plot in the story.

Roxanne seems to be a really nice and caring person. She doesnít leave Perry alone, although sheís angry and disappointed. I also like that she cares about herself too. She isnít one of those persons who erases themselves to help others. The way she thinks about that every single of us once was a cute little innocent child, and that she uses that thought to be compassionate is beautiful. The world needs more people who think like Roxanne does.

I like your Draco too, and I think heís quite believable here. Heís not a bad person, he was just a kid who was born into a world of hate. Iíd love to see some interaction between him and Perry/Scorpius, but maybe weíll get that later on?

The best quote ever must be:

ďAnd itís not like they have Dementors anymore, so whatís the problem? Get a few tattoos, read some trashy novels Ė a few months in Azkaban is a walk in the park.Ē

Perry is truly unbelievable, and Iím childishly in love with him. :)


Molly

 Report Review

Review #25, by HappyMollyWeasleyA Study in Silver: Meet the Wotters

19th October 2015:
Hi!

Itís Molly here, finally, with the first of the reviews from our swap.

I donít know what to sayÖ I simply canít say anything about this story without sounding like a fangirl. I absolutely adore this story, and Iím happy that I got to read this. I would probably have missed it if it wasnít for our swap, because I stay too much in my comfort zone of romantic fluffÖ

So, okay, letís write a fangirl review! I canít bring myself to any CC at all at the moment, because I canít find anything to complain about. :-)

I love Harry Potter, obviously, but I also love Sherlock. I had no idea that this story would be inspired by Sherlock (I wouldn't actually call it a crossover, though, because itís not really Sherlock but the wonderful Perry/Scorpius. Iím in love with him already!). I rarely read crossovers, because I honestly donít think itís mixing two good things always makes something better. Ice-cream and fried chicken are both tasty, but I donít think theyíre good together. BUT you actually made it work! This ďcrossoverĒ (in lack of a better word) is flawless!

And I canít stop reading. Itís like the perfect mixture of Sherlock and Harry Potter, and I find myself dreaming about the plot in the night. I donít remember when I last found a fan fiction story as good and addictive as this one.

The Wotters are wonderful, all of them, and although Iím a bit allergic to the term ďWottersĒ you use it well here, so I canít even say anything critical about that. Roxanne is so real to me, and the rest of them seem to be a loud but friendly lot.

But what have you done to Perry! I canít stop reading now, I need to see that heís okayÖ I wonít have time for the review tonight, but Iíll write it as soon as possible, I promise!)


Molly, the fangirl

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>