Reading Reviews From Member: HappyMollyWeasley
  
149 Reviews Found

Review #1, by HappyMollyWeasleyPrimus: elegaics.

25th April 2015:
Oh! This was the sweetest thing I've read in ages! I can't stop smiling and I'm all warm and fuzzy now! They're both so sweet, and they're so sure about each other, and so confindent in themselves, despite their youth. I loved this!

Molly

 Report Review

Review #2, by HappyMollyWeasleyTaming the Dragon Tamer: [four]

20th April 2015:
I like this chapter very much, and I don't think it's confusing. The story about David and Charlie only gets more sad. I hope Charlie will tell his parents about him, maybe it could in fact help a little... I like the thought of them fighting side by side. How terrible to lose David and Fred on the same day.

Molly

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words.
I'm really happy you liked this.

I actually have the next chapter almost done, it should be up by the end of the week because I'm a little busy right now.

I hope to hear from you then ;)

Thanks

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #3, by HappyMollyWeasleyTaming the Dragon Tamer: [three]

17th April 2015:
Oh! Why can't Charlie just allow himself to be happy... :-(
I really hope this isn't the end of this story...

Author's Response: I'll tell you a secret: I love happy endings.
There's at least 7 more chapters to come...

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing


 Report Review

Review #4, by HappyMollyWeasleyTaming the Dragon Tamer: [two]

17th April 2015:
I like Don! I hope he'll succeed in his attempts to help Charlie...!

Author's Response: I like Don too. He is so observant.
He is also very successful in everything he tries...

Thanks for R&R, it really means a lot.

~Anja


 Report Review

Review #5, by HappyMollyWeasleyTaming the Dragon Tamer: [one]

17th April 2015:
Oh! This is great reading so far! I really like this first chapter, and I can't wait to read more of this!

I can totally see Molly fussing over him, so it was probably a wise decision not to go home... But poor Charlie, he lost his boyfriend because he was afraid to tell his parents. I do feel for him,


Molly

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading. It means a lot to me that you like this because I've fallen for this pairing so hard... It has completely taken over my head.

Molly definitely would fuss a lot...

Charlie was much younger then and didn't know any better. He regrets that happened...

Wait and see... maybe he has learned from his mistakes...

Anja


 Report Review

Review #6, by HappyMollyWeasleyBreathe: i. Consequence

11th April 2015:
Hi Kayla!

I'm tagging you from the Gryffindor Review the Person Above You thread.

I like this, rather short, first chapter or prologue. You capture my interest right from the start, and I would love to read more. I feel for Sirius, writing that letter. I think most people could recognize the feeling of wanting to say something in a letter (or in an e-mail or text message), but not knowing how to get it right. You post it, or owl it, and don't know wether to feel relieved or to cringe about the thought of it...

I imagine that the prank is the one with the Whomping Willow? It would fit well into canon if that's the case. I don't get the word 'queer'. Snape said it, but to whom? Sirius? James? Remus? I guess that'll be explained later on. Back in those days 'queer' was a quite rude word, wasn't it? (Compared to now when people use is about themselves.)

Remus... He's special to Sirius, isn't he? I hope Sirius will write to him too.

The mention of James' Indian relatives is something I enjoy. It doesn't contradict canon in any way. There's so much we don't know about James Potter and his family.

I'm looking forward to reading more of this story!

Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly! Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

I'm glad you liked this! It really is more of a prologue than a first chapter - although I do admit that my chapters tend to be quite short. That said, the chapters I have prewritten and ready to post are all over 1000 words.

You're right - queer was an extremely rude word in the 70s. It was largely considered a slur, and the movement to reclaim it was only just beginning. As for who it was directed to, it will all become clearer in the next chapter.

It's actually crazy how much we don't know about the Potters! I went to look up James' parents names to use in this fic, and we don't even know them! I hope JKR does a Pottermore extract on them soon :(

Thank you again for the wonderful review!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #7, by HappyMollyWeasleyFaith: change.

7th April 2015:
Hi Joseph!

I thought I'd just leave you a short note telling you that I've read this first chapter, and that I like it. I really feel for Cassie... I know how it is to be a girlfriend wanting to move in with your love. (The difference between us is that I succeeded in my attempts to move in with my boyfriend eventually, but she had to face a break-up instead... Poor Cassie!)

I've never read next next gen before! That's an interesting era! We don't know anything about this era, so I guess you could decide just about anything here.

I like Faith and Austin, and their interactions. They seem to be really good friends, and their talking keeps the chapter lighthearted, and the pace fast. It's on the boarder to feel rushed, but for a first chapter that could be a good thing I think.

"Molly"

Author's Response: Hi Molly!

Thank you so much for this review :) I'm interested in your interpretation of Cassie. You actually made me think of her in a whole new way. I can empathize a lot more with her now that I see things from her perspective. I don't necessarily like her, but I do see her side of things.

Next Next Gen has given me so much room for conjecture about what the world might be like at this point in time. That's been one of the funniest parts of writing this story!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by HappyMollyWeasleythe woman who married a star and bore a hero: the thunderbird

7th April 2015:
Hi!

This is Molly with the review for our swap. :-)

What a beautiful portrait of a mother's love! Kendra is just amazing the way you write her. I love how she's accepting that her feelings are different towards her children. Albus is special to her, due to special circumstances. She loves all three children, but they are all different, and she can't treat them the same. Some people would nog admit those feelings, but she does.

She seems to be a very intelligent character, which makes sense, seeing what her son will become. I admire Kendra's way to accept things as they are, and in the same time analyse them and reflect upon them. She is stronger than most people, and she has to be. The Dumbledore family's tragic destiny hurts me when I think about it. There's so many layers in this family story.

I think it's really amazing how well you let Kendra's ethnic origin fit into the things we know from canon. It works very well together.

The title of this story is just beautiful. That, and the box, could make me cry. Kendra says it's for her daughter when she marries. But then, life wants something else. And Kendra adjusts. She gives it to her son instead. And she says it for him when he find someone he loves. Not when he marries a girl, because she knows her son. I love that.

Thanks for sharing this lovely story with us!

Molly

 Report Review

Review #9, by HappyMollyWeasleyLove Was Made for Me and You: L is for the way you look at me (Pt. 2)

6th April 2015:
Attack post, round 3

Hi!

A good thing with this game is that I get to read stories I would have missed otherwise. I'm not usually a Scorose reader, and I tend to skip stories about the next gen sorting. But I have to say that I do like this story so far. The interaction between the cousins is refreshing and entertaining. You give the reader quite a lot of information in these two first chapters, but still it isn't too much, so I don't become bored.

Scorpius in Gryffindor is unexpected, both to me as a reader, and to him. And to his parents...! I wonder what Draco will think about this. I love how Scorpius reacts by sitting a bit apart from the others. Will he keep his distance, or will he find friends in Gryffindor?

I think the second part of this chapter felt a little rushed. I would have loved to get to know more details of the sorting and the character's reactions to it. But otherwise, it was good.

Molly

Author's Response: Molly!

I'm probably going to say this for every single review for this absolutely terrible, there's-a-reason-why-its-abandoned story. *Cringe!*

Oh! I'm glad you liked the interactions between the cousins though! I definitely tried to keep that vibe for my other stories and between other characters. Hopefully I succeeded in that.

For some reason I've ALWAYS imagined Scorpius in Gryffindor. Just as many have imagined Al in Slytherin. I guess I'm that Gryffie idealist who thinks that everyone should be in Gryffindor 'cause Gryffies are cool! It just seems like a natural twist from what I've seen before.

I think I'd always imagined that Draco would try his best to bring up Scorpius in such a way that he would be a better person than Draco was...and in doing so, inadvertently helped Scorpius develop the traits that would lead him to Gryffie-dom.

Thanks so much for your kind words!
LL


 Report Review

Review #10, by HappyMollyWeasleyDobby: The Paid Elf: Dobby: The Paid Elf

6th April 2015:
Attack!

This was my first experience in reading a Dobby fic! I have to say that this was a charming and heart-warming little story. Dobby is in character, and I enjoyed reading it.

When I first read the books I wasn't much of a Dobby fan to be honest, but he sort of grew on me. I didn't feel much when he died in the book, but it sort of hit me watching the films. Harry digging the grave at the beach is one of my favourite scenes. (although I've got quite a lot favourite scenes from the films...) Dobby is a hero, and a very selfless one too.

I think it was a great idea to write about how Dobby ended up at Hogwarts. Dumbledore is a kind man, but we knew that, did'nt we?

Molly

 Report Review

Review #11, by HappyMollyWeasleyNym: Into Focus

4th April 2015:
Hi!

This is an attack post!

I've never read this ship before, but it actually works! Usually Charlie is pictured as ace or gay in fanfiction, but we know very little about him, and he might as well be in love with Tonks. It could explain why he chooses a lonely life abroad.

This is a beautiful story, although sad. Part of me was wishing that it would be an AU story with a happy ending, but I'm glad you followed canon. Poor Charlie. His love is married to someone else, and then she dies.

You did a great job with Charlie's emotions. I can feel what he is feeling.

Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly :)

Thanks for such a kind review. It's canon that Charlie and Tonks were in the same year at Hogwarts so I've always kind of thought something could have happened between them at some point. What we know of Charlie seems quite similar to Tonks, and I picture them as at least very good friends.

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading :)

Emma xoxo


 Report Review

Review #12, by HappyMollyWeasleyMeeting Norberta: Reunion

4th April 2015:
Hi!

This is a jailbreak post!

I like this one-shot very much. Hagrid is in character, and I think you wrote him well. (Personally I avoid writing him, because of his accent, but you did great with that!)

I love how Norberta remembered Hagrid, and that he believes it, although nobody else does. I bet they changed their minds about that...

You let us wonder for a minute before Norberta calmed down, but then I found myself close to tears. Hagrid really loves all creatures.

This is a unique story. I would never come up with this idea, but it's really brilliant!

Molly

 Report Review

Review #13, by HappyMollyWeasleyHow I Met Your Father: Chapter 1: The Weasley Clan

26th March 2015:
Hi! This is Molly with the review from the Gryffindor review exchanges.

This story is great so far! Im impressed by how quickly you got my attention, and how the story keeps me absorbed.

Scorpius and Rose are cute together, and they seem to love their daughter dearly. I also love how you tell all those details about the Weasley's. It's strange though that Val didn't know about how the Malfoy's and Weasley's used to despise each others...

Just as I thought that there's a bit too much background about all the cousins and relatives, Val's pointing out that to Rose. Well done on that! I like how Val's questions helps the story move forwards.

This is an amazing start, and I can tell that you're a talented writer too!


Molly

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks so much for your wonderful review!! I'm glad you liked it.

While I was writing I felt like it was really important to include a background for everyone right off the bat, but as I was writing it sort of became this long, boring rambling that really wasn't any use. That's why I used Val, which is something that I always wished HIMYM had done. I'm glad you think it's a good idea. I was hoping it wouldn't detract from the story at all.

Thanks so much for R&R'ing! You're super awesome!!
LL

P.S. Your review is coming soon! Looking forward to reading your story!


 Report Review

Review #14, by HappyMollyWeasleyBunny Slippers: Neville

24th March 2015:
This chapter was perfect! The chewing gum wrappers makes me cry again. This is beautiful, sad and heart warming, all at once. Neville is a wonderful character too!

I think you did the right thing deciding to re-write this story! It's an amazing story now. I'm going to add it to my favourites!


Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly,

This review seriously made my day! I haven't had too many stories get favorited, so the fact that you thought this was good enough to do so really means a lot!

Thank you again for your suggestions and for reading the changes I made!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #15, by HappyMollyWeasleyBunny Slippers: Kingsley

24th March 2015:
Well, that's was a difference indeed! This re-write is really good! It's not rushed, and it's filled with all those details this story deserves. Wonderful work here!

Poor Alice! After being through the worst thinkable terror she doesn't recognise her child. I've got tears in my eyes now.

I like how you use the bunny slippers here to show how surreal it must feel for Kingsley to sit with baby Neville in his arms at the crime scene.

Something that doesn't make sense to me is that you start this chapter saying that both Frank and Alice are missing from work, but Augusta doesn't show up until much later. Who would have cared for the children if they had gone to work in the moring?

Kingsley and Harry are so much alike, breaking up perfect relationships to protect the one they love. Noble but foolish, if you ask me. Love is the meaning of life, in a way. You can't protect someone by not loving them.

The part about Kingsley's life is still on the rushed side, but seeing that this is about Neville's family in the first place it's alright.

As I said before: This is a remarkable change! Very good!


Molly :-)

Author's Response: Hi Molly,

Thank you a million times for coming back to this and reading the changes! I really appreciate all the advice you gave me and I'm so happy to hear that you like the results. :D

I'm so excited that you noticed the bunny slippers and Kingsley's reaction to them! I imagine something like that would be so surreal and then seeing a happy reminder in the middle of it all would be horrifying.

The part about them running late to work..at the beginning only Frank is running late. When the supervisor speaks to Kingsley he says "Frank should've been here over an hour ago." In my head I imagine Frank leaving for work earlier and Alice going in once Augusta picks up the kids.

Kingsley and Harry are alike in some ways, except Kingsley never goes back to his love. I agree that the reaction is a bit misguided, but I could imagine witnessing something horrible like that could really do a number on someone.

Thank you again for re-reading this! I'm so happy you feel that it's improved!!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #16, by HappyMollyWeasleyBunny Slippers: The Longbottom Family

21st March 2015:
Hi! This is Molly with the review for our swap. :-)

This is a great story, and I liked reading it. The Longbottoms are as important as the Potters, but we know so little about them.

I especially love the first part of your story, because it's full of little details which makes it come alive. You're telling us about how the food smells (This is in fact your businiess, isn't it?) and about what Alice is wearing. This part is very well done, as well as the following part about the torture.

The torture scene is heartbreaking. Your focus on Alice's thought about her children makes is stronger, and also very real. I believe every parent would react in that way. The fact that her children are watching is worse than the torture itself.

The idea of a older brother is good. It could be canon, I suppose, because we know nothing about that.

I was glad to find Kingsley here, that was a nice surprise. He is handling the situation on the crime scene well, and I love how he is concerned about Augusta.

Up to this point the story is very well written, but from the moment Kingsley gets home the story feels rushed. There are lots of information in a very short text, and it feels like a summary in a way. I would love to read about it in more detail (perhaps one chapter about Kingsley's life and one about Neville finding out about his brother?).

The ending is perfect, though. The chewing gum wrappers just makes me cry, it's just beautiful!


Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly,

Thank you so much for leaving me such a helpful, encouraging review! By now, I know you've already seen that I've split this into more chapters like you suggested. It really helped the flow of the entire thing.

Thank you so much again for swapping with me and for your perfect advice!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #17, by HappyMollyWeasleymisguided ghosts: veni.

20th March 2015:
Hi! It's Molly with the review for our swap. :-)

I like this story. It's good on it's own, but it's always something extra with stories fitting into a storyverse. It's good to get some snippets of information about other characters known from other stories.

I can very well picture an alcoholic Ron. It wouldn't be strange at all, because everyone need their way to cope with bad memories. The wizarding world seems to neglect or ignore psychological problems. Look at teenage Harry, everyone just assumed that he could cope, no matter what happened to him. I assume it was the same after the war, everyone just carried on, on their own.

I like the idea of Rose trying to change this. She has an enormous task ahead of her, I'm sure. Hmm... Hating children and jokes. Sounds like a charming man!

I'm sure Rose won't give up just like that, and I'm looking forwards to read the rest of the story. This first chapter was really good, so I've got high expectations now!


Molly

 Report Review

Review #18, by HappyMollyWeasleyBruises : Bruises

20th March 2015:
Hi! It's Molly here with the review for our swap.

I don't read Marauder fics very often, but when I do it's nice to come across something nice like this. Maybe this is an era I should read more.

You put lots of details into the text, which makes your characters come alive. Great job with that!

It hurts me to think about baby Harry, who once was a loved baby with so many good people around him, buying him sweets and gifts. It's terrible that he's going to be not only an orphan, but a neglected child living with unloving relatives. (That's no news of course, but I always feel that is extra notable when I read stories like this.)

And of course it's heartbreaking to think about the others too. Sirius. And everyone. So many people suffering, so many deaths. And poor Emmeline. Where will her life head after this?

This was really a great piece of work, very well done! You made me feel and think, not just read. Thanks!


Molly

 Report Review

Review #19, by HappyMollyWeasleyBack to Black: Epilogue: Time Turner

19th March 2015:
Hi! This review is for the HPFF fundraising, but it's also a note that I like your story.

I've read an embarrassing amount of fanfiction, but I don't think I've ever come across a story starting like this. You've got something unique here!

Everyone here recognise the feeling of longing for the magical world, I suppose. A time turner which helps you to meet Dumbledore himself would be the answer to our dreams... I'm curious where this story will lead.

I love how this story starts realistic, well set in our world. This could be anyone of us, dreaming about magic. (Sadly, no time turner has appeared here so far...)

Molly

Author's Response: thanks so much, that really means a lot! Yeah, I think we all come to this website for the same reason. HP relates to everyone, but I think the people most attached to it are the biggest dreamers. Anyway, I hope you enjoy my story. this is my first one. I've been thinking about this plot for a few years now, so it holds an important place in my heart.

 Report Review

Review #20, by HappyMollyWeasleyPrincess: Princess

19th March 2015:
Hi! This review is for the HPFF fundraising, but also because I wanted to tell you that I enjoyed reading your story.

I like your Astoria, and I can tell that you have given her a lot of thought. Astoria stayed at Hogwarts during the battle, and that has affected her in many ways. I like that you write her like this, especially as the Slytherins often is written as sterotypes, but you don't fall in that trap.

I also like how Draco is portrayed here. He's loving and caring. I guess war changed him quite a lot. He's not that arrogant boy we know from the books, but I still don't feel that he's out of character, because he has been through a lot.

We got to see a few different sides of Astoria's life here, and it makes me wonder what else this story will lead to. So, over all, this was a great start, and I like it so far!


Molly

Author's Response: Hi Molly!
I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote Astoria! For some reason I just couldn't picture her being snobby like some Slytherins were (... Draco), and ended up making her the complete opposite instead. She keeps her head down and doesn't draw attention to herself,
Draco, though a very small part of this story, is one of my favorite parts about it. After what he went through with Voldemort, I just couldn't imagine him living that kind of life anymore. I think he would want to get as far from the person he was then as possible, and would become a kinder person as a result.
I'm so glad you enjoyed this, and thank you so much for the lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by HappyMollyWeasleyMelting Into You: Chapter 1: Hell Hath No Fury

19th March 2015:
Hi!

It's Molly with the review for our swap. (Is this a trick to get me to read Dramione by the way...? It's a pairing I never really understood, but I'm willing to try it out, of course!)

I think Draco is in character here, I could certainly think about him as an young adult fooling around with no thought of tomorrow. The war was hard on him, and he sees his chance to live again. I especially like how he thinks of himself as the victim! :-D

Draco's views of those girls is scaring, but not unlikely. He's not much of a feminist, is he?

Draco's parents are clearly fed up with his behaviour, which is understandable, but they're also quite hard demanding him to marry and produce an heir. Coming from anybody else I would say it was unlikely, but I guess they're really concerned about appearances and such.

This was a great first chapter! Thanks for the swap!


Molly

Author's Response: Hey Molly,

Thanks so much for swapping with me. I didn't realise you weren't into Dramione or I'd have suggested a different fic that was more your speed.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #22, by HappyMollyWeasleyUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

19th March 2015:
Hi!

I know I promised you a review on this story ages ago. I'm sorry about the delay!

I've never read an Eloise story before as I can recall, but she's really a great charcter to explore.This ship is clearly under represented in fanfiction. ;-)

Bullying is a great topic too, as it is both real and common in real life, but not very common in the stories here. I wish you had explored the bullying and Eloise's feelings about it a little more, though, because it felt a litte rushed.

We don't know a lot about Eloise from canon, but I think you did a good job decribing her in this short one-shot. Justin is great too.

I'm glad Justin and Eloise found each other, but it all happend very fast. I wouldn't say no to more bulid up before they kissed.

But over all, this was a sweet story on an important topic.


Molly

Author's Response: Hey Molly,

Thanks for stopping by to review! No worries on the timing!

Almost no one seems to have written about Eloise, but I feel like for such a minor character, there is a ton of potential in her. Ship wise...I'm not quite sure I've ever seen this one before, but Justin is always described as a likable guy, so I figured he would be perfect to fill that role.

Bullying is a fascinating topic and an important one at that! I would've loved to explore it more, but I was keeping the length a bit short because I just wanted it to be a quick glimpse. I will re-read it though to see if there are some ways that I can slow it down a bit.

I hear what you're saying about the build up of their relationship and I may add more details at some point, but again I just wanted it to be a short, fluffy one-shot. Adding some more detail may help though.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave me this review! As always, I enjoy swapping with you!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #23, by HappyMollyWeasleyWicked Games : These Eyes That I'm Staring At

19th March 2015:
Hi!

This review is in support of the HPFF fundraising, but it's also because I have to tell you that I really like your story. It's rare to come across a great story which also is updated a lot!

So, Scorpius has finally admitted his feelings, at least to himself. That's a good start, I suppose, but just as I thought he was going to be honest to Rose he avoids the truth again. His actions will cause heartbreak and sorrow eventually, and he doesn't make it easier for himself either.

I think Albus has developed during the story. He is a caring and thoughtful friend, but he's also clueless. I wonder what he would say if he knew the truth about Scorpius's feelings.

Your story is well-written, and you've got a great plot. I'm looking forward to keep reading!


Molly

Author's Response: Yes, Scorpius is slowly coming to grips (and there's a hint in the next chapter as to why/how) so I hope you keep an eye out for that one! I'm getting more excited for this story as I flesh it out chapter by chapter! Hope you enjoy the rest of it, too. :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by HappyMollyWeasleyWicked Games : I Left My Girl Back Home

16th March 2015:
This is a really good first chapter! I've got so much hope in this story already! Scorpius/Albus is my favourite pairing, and this was very well written.

Poor Scorpius, he's in a really tricky situation. There's no way out without hurting Rose, but he can't hurt himself forever, can he? Albus seems to be very sure of himself, but I like him so far. I hope the Hufflepuff boy doesn't get too involved...

Great work! :-)

Author's Response: Aww thanks so much. I have hopes for this story, too, and I plan on trying my best to make it right. Glad you enjoyed it! ^_^

 Report Review

Review #25, by HappyMollyWeasleyKeeping Vigil: Keeping Vigil

9th March 2015:
OMG!!! What a terrible version of heaven! The fact that they died for their child is the reason for their loss and their pain.

I love this little story, and it made me feel the pain and their love for Harry. I'm glad that they found some comfort in each other, because they'll need it, knowing what will happen later on.

Great job!

Molly

Author's Response: Thank you so much!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>