Reading Reviews From Member: missclaire17
  
208 Reviews Found

Review #26, by missclaire17Big: How to train your cousins

13th September 2013:
Hello! This is Claire here, with another review!

This is such a brilliant idea! I've never really read a short story collection, but this is such an imaginative idea, and I'm glad you decided to write it.

I loved the way that you describe Victoire. Being the oldest in a long string of cousins was probably not easy, and I can see Victoire being roped with babysitting duty many times. There was the perfect amount of caring and bossiness in Victoire. It was good of her to spend an entire afternoon with her cousins and Teddy and being responsible for them. Part of the reason why I always loved Teddy and Victoire together is because they were probably always the ones in charge, but with so many cousins, that would have been difficult.

This was wonderfully written, and we see so little of Victoire sometimes. Wonderful! :)

Author's Response: Thank you Claire! You spoil me!

Thank you very much, I'm so pleased you like it! I must admit, I have a soft spot for short story collections :)

Victorie is awesome! It must suck being responsible for so many little cousins and siblings, and having to come up with fun stuff for them…but I can imagine her having the creativity of Bill and the bossiness of Fleur. I agree, Teddy and Victoire probably helped each other out a lot :D

Awhh thank you so much! This review is so lovely! It made my day!

Sophie :D


 Report Review

Review #27, by missclaire17How I Die: How I Die

13th September 2013:
Hello Sophie! :)
It's Claire here with a review for you! First of all, I loved the way that you included the prompts in there. I know many times whenever an author is required to put in a prompt, it may sound kind of awkward or out of place, but I think you did it excellently here.

Also, I love how you have different "versions" for how Tonks died. Reading this is like reading what a monologue in Tonks's head would be like, and I absolutely loved it.

Your one-shot actually made me kind of sad when I think about Teddy and how he is an orphan to be raised by his grandmother. It's been a complete cycle, and war makes casualties out of innocent people. You did an excellent job of portraying the pain of Tonks leaving her son all alone but keeping Tonks' personality and voice in the whole thing.

Such a wonderful one-shot! I'm really glad you decided to participate in August's Gryffindor Writing Challenge!

xoxo,Claire

Author's Response: Hiya there!

Thank you, I found the prompts highly amusing, and really good fun to weave in to a plot. Thanks, I tried hard to make it all fit together!

I wanted to show different sides to how she died, and I love Tonks so much, she's so brave, and met such a tragic end.

It's hard to say this without sounding evil, but I think it's good I made you feel sad! Thank you! To not even have your son for a year, and have him taken away, I thought it was quite like Harry himself, actually. Andromeda would be such a cool grandma to have though, she's not a bit like uncle Vernon!

Thanks for dropping by!

Sophie :D


 Report Review

Review #28, by missclaire17Off the Rails: fifty-three

13th September 2013:
AH YOU'RE BACK! :D
When I saw that you updated, I'm not going to lie. I squealed with the new update.

JAMES WON HIS FIRST CAP! Oh gosh, I was feeling nervous just waiting for the game to begin with him. I always figured that James would play this first match, and I think he did fairly well. I don't think he'll play in the next game, and the Canada game is the big one.

McLaggen sounds like such a Quaffle-hogging jerk sometimes. I mean, he's a professional! No matter what, I'm glad that they won! First game for England, first cap, and they won!

I'm excited for the rest of the World Cup. Quidditch is getting more and more intense! How many more chapters do you have left before this novel is finished?

And don't worry about the lack of updates. I know what it is like to be so busy that you can't update. I'm just glad that you're back! :D

Author's Response: I am back! Sort of. The next chapter is proving troublesome but hopefully I'll get somewhere with it in the next couple of days.

Hmm, I'm intrigued by your theories on what games James will play! Not that I'm going to tell you if you're right or wrong though, you'll have to wait until the time comes. McLaggen is a TOTAL jerk, in both Quidditch and life. The apple doesn't fall far from the tree! He'll get his comeuppance in time.

I'm pretty certain I know how many chapters are left of this fic, and there aren't too many to go now. I don't want to give an actual figure though, in case it changes (which it's likely to do, knowing my writing!) but I THINK it will be less than 70 chapters. Don't quote me on that one. Thanks for reviewing, it's really nice to know you're still reading! :)


 Report Review

Review #29, by missclaire17The Spider's Web: Malfoy Place

12th September 2013:
Ah Jenny, you're killing me! *just kidding xD*
It's really sad, about the strain between Scorpius and Draco. Lily is obviously trying to be as neutral as she possibly can, but knowing that Draco was there when all those people were murdered and when her aunt was tortured obviously didn't warm her up to him that well. But knowing how much Draco hated being a Death Eater, and how he was forced into it, and how affected Draco was, it's sort of sad the way that Scorpius views his father. He thinks his dad is this big horrible Death Eater like Lucius, so he doesn't want any part of that. Yet, I don't think neither Scorpius or Lily (I say Lily because she was there and saw the whole thing) really understands what Draco went through. It's part of the reason why Astoria stays with her husband instead of trying to fix things with her son; she understands what Draco went through but Scorpius doesn't. AHHH IT MAKES ME SO SAD :( It makes me so sad because if I were Draco, the things that Scorpius said would hurt me too, and obviously the only way I could deal with it is through anger. So sad, that the Malfoys are so broken up and torn up like that. I always saw the Malfoys as one solid unit, even if they had their arguments and their hardships, they were still one. I really hope that the two of them can work things out in the end.

I can definitely believe that Malfoy Manor is haunted; I had always been torn between wondering whether Draco and Astoria would move out or whether they would stay in Malfoy Manor. To me, both would make sense. However, for the purposes of this story, the fact that they moved out (and their home is as grand as I would have expected it to be) made perfect sense. Draco cares for Scorpius far more than Scorpius will realize, in my opinion. Or maybe that's just because I have sympathy towards anyone who went through the war, especially so young.

Awesome chapter, even if you did make me sad xD

Author's Response: Nooo Claire! But the Malfoys/Scorpius estrangement had to happen :P

Yeah, it is sad. I'm glad you could understand Lily's viewpoint and how Draco was on the opposite side to her parents during the war, and so wouldn't exactly feel kindly to him. And yes, Scorpius perhaps paid more attention to what those schoolchildren said about his father and reached his own conclusions, thus wanting to be as different from him as possible. Draco reacts with anger because he just doesn't know what to say to his son and is perhaps still a little too above apologising.

Good! I want it to be believable so I'm glad you think their moving out is. And he does indeed, but Scorpius is too blind to see it. Lily is just touching the tip of the iceberg when it comes to Draco and Scorpius!

Thanks for reviewing Claire and I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D


 Report Review

Review #30, by missclaire17Conspiracies: Ain't It Fun

11th September 2013:
I get that Melody is upset, but the truth is, what James is feeling makes sense. Melody isa rookie. Since James is (should be) innocent, I think that he thinks the entire thing isn't worth it because he knows that he is going to be proven guilty in court. Not to mention, what more could he do? Being the one accused of murder doesn't exactly make one very positive, so I can compeltely understand why James acts the way he did to Melody. Honestly, I don't think he was that arrogant at all. The entire case is almost helpless; rather than acting like an ungrateful child, James has given up. Not to mention, if it were me, I wouldn't feel reassured that Melody is a rookie. I think her own over-worked state mixed with how important the case is makes her think that she should get more gratitude from James, which she should. But looking from both points of view, neither of them know each other, James has probably given up, and Melody is a rookie. I think that it can't be helped. James would have done to be more thankful, but I don't think Melody quite understands James's point of view. Of all the brilliant lawyers, his dad and his aunt hires a ROOKIE? If I were Melody's friend, I would tell her that she needs to be more understanding. Everything is done with reason; if she really wants to get anywhere, she needs to understand why his family is so adamant about James not being guilty. Only then can she find the truth. She's completely stuck, so when you're stuck, it's better to find another way.

Author's Response: I think Melody just took his reaction the wrong way and took it to heart, rather than for seeing it for what it was - James giving up. I think deep down she agrees with James about her being rookie - she doesn't have much confidence in herself and I think James pointing it out just hit a sore spot.

You're right, she doesn't understand his point of view, she has never been in that situation herself and she has no idea how to put herself in his shoes. All in all, she just took his words to heart and you know what it's like when you're not feeling confident about something and then someone goes and points it out - it hurts.

Thank you so much for your review! It means a lot

-Vicki


 Report Review

Review #31, by missclaire17As Love Grows: New love, old rivalries

9th September 2013:
I love how Lily was teasing James. She reminded me of Ginny, how Ginny always loved to have a good laugh and how sometimes she reminded me of an extension of the Weasley twins.

Snape just needs to give it a rest! I can see him continuously trying to bother Lily though, especially after she and James started to date. I'm glad to see that he got what he deserved at that time (detention xD)

I've been reflecting a lot about Lily's character because I just reread OotP. We see how James clearly was a flawed character (though that makes me like him more) and how Harry sort of found solace in how nice her mother was because Lily blowing up at James in Snape's Worst Memory seemed perfectly reasonable. I had read a Tumblr post a few days ago describing Lily and James's relationship so ever since I was reading OotP, I started to think a lot about Lily, and this is my conclusion: I actually think that Lily's wish to see the best in people (had it not been for her good senses) would have been her downfall. Many people said that was Dumbledore's (especially after Snape killed him), but it obviously wasn't because Dumbledore knew who to trust. The difference, I think though, with Dumbledore and Lily is that Lily, at this point and even when she died in my opinion, might have (at times) tried to see the good in people too much. She stuck with Snape for ages after it was obvious what a bad apple he was, and because of her determination to see good in Snape/see Snape become good again, I think it caused her to neglect on the good points that James (and his friends) had for a very long time.

Anyways. That was a bit unrelated, but the last bit with Remus and Sirius saying that to Lily is definitely something that is an important part of Lily's character, but I also think that it's something that, had Lily lived longer, would have been/might have been costly to her if she wasn't careful.

Author's Response: I can definitely see Lily teasing James. I don't think Harry/Ginny is the same as James/Lily but I do think Lily and Ginny had some similarities.

Yeah, Snape needs to get over it and realize it was his fault and not James's or Lily's that Lily doesn't like him any more. Good thing he god what he deserved.

Oooh good point about Lily! I think you're absolutely right. Snape was a friend so she stuck by him thinking he would do the right thing even when it became more clear he wasn't. Snape's Worst Memory shattered that illusion. And it definitely could have blinded her to James's good qualities. Once she was no longer friends with Snape, she'd be able to see the good qualities in the Marauders.

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #32, by missclaire17Faith, Hope, and Charity: Faith

4th September 2013:
Hello dear (:
I really love how this chapter is titled faith and is dedicated to Remus and Tonks. There are a lot of pregnancy stories about James and Lily when they first had Harry, but I love to read pregnancy stories from others who had a baby during the war like Remus and Tonks & Alice and Frank Longbottom. Not to mention, the fact that Remus is so worried about whether Teddy will be a werewolf is a very real worry that is added to the worry that Remus already has of having a child with Tonks.

I loved it when Tonks said: If we live our lives waiting for the next what-if well never live at all, Remus!. It reminds me of that quote JKR had about how if we live so cautiously, we already failed. The way that Tonks reassured Remus really made the title very fitting.

Wonderful job writing this (:

Author's Response: Hello! Thanks so much for stopping by! And for reading this little story! Not many people take a peek at it. (I think the title might scare them, LOL.)

I've never written for either Remus or Tonks before this (or after for that matter) but this story just kind of jumped into my head fully written. That doesn't happen to me much and it was a really nice feeling. I was very afraid to post it, because of the religious undertones. I didn't want to offend anyone, but everyone has seemed to like it.

Never read many pregnancy stories, but I just think Tonks and Remus story is SO tragic, even more so than James and Lily to an extent. I'll admit right now that I have NOT glanced at the new information put out by JKR on him. But, he spent his whole life trying to do good, be accepted, find a place - and he finally finds love and a family, and he barely gets a year with them. :(

I'd forgotten that quote by JKR, but that's exactly the feeling I was trying to evoke. Thanks!

And thanks so much for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #33, by missclaire17The Spider's Web: Secrets

2nd September 2013:
I'm genuinely surprised that Hermione doesn't like Lily. Seeing as Hermione and Ginny are such good friends and Hermione doesn't seem like the type, I'm really surprised that Hermione would act like that. However, I suppose that everything has its secrets.

I don't think it's that hard to tell that Rose has an interest in Scorpius though I'm not sure if it goes vice-versa (I hope so. I love ScoRose. WAIT IS THIS GOING TO BE A LOVE TRIANGLE?!)

I can't tell if Bridget was genuinely surprised that they didn't know their next case was about Malfoy Manor. I can't imagine what could possibly be so important in there though. I'm a big fan of Next-Generation Draco Malfoy when he has become a reformed man. He is definitely not my favorite character by far but I love the Malfoys in the Next-Generation. I like to think of them as really being quite different, so hearing that Malfoy Manor needs to be investigated makes me sigh sadly a bit xD

I'm very excited for the rest of this story! Jenny, I have to tell you that you're a brilliant writer. Seriously, you are. Your diction is absolutely amazing and the way that you describe everything without overloading it with too much description is an art that I am still trying to learn, but YOU have accomplished it amazingly. You really are such a good writer! (:

Author's Response: Hi Claire!

I figured that with such a big family there must be a little animosity in there somewhere, so this is my interpretation of it! ;) this dislike does become more relevant towards the end of the story though... and maybe Rose is just being weird or maybe there is something there? Read on and see ;)

I can say that Bridget is actually surprised, and thought that Ernie had already told them what their case was. :) the way I'll be writing Draco is perhaps... not what people are used to? (I don't know, I don't read a lot of stories with Draco in!) so I don't know if people will like it but we'll wait and see!

Aww Claire *hugs* seriously thank you so much! That means the world to me. I can only hope to improve!

Thanks for reviewing lovely!


 Report Review

Review #34, by missclaire17The Seams: By Way of Sorrow

29th August 2013:
Hello dear! I apologize, first of all, for not reviewing last chapter. Secondly, congratulations on the Dobbys! Third, I see that you have edited the chapter!

I still love this chapter! We're exploring a bit more of Eileen's past and we learn that her family has been murdered(?). You wrote the imagery in this chapter so well that I can imagine everything as Eileen saw it. Such a wonderful with that, especially in the scene when Eileen was at the cemetery.

I definitely think that Tobias was working extra shifts to give her that Christmas present. The way that he said he had been working extra shifts and then giving her the present later just gave it away, in my opinion xD Just put that out there so that Eileen knows why he's so busy and then when she sees the present, without him saying so, she'll be able to put two and two together (rather like how Snape does).

Eileen fights the desire to cry, thinking that the only way Tobias will ever know her dearest mother is by touching an object she once possessed. Is Eileen subconsciously hinting at the future they might have together? For her mother to meet him, it would mean that things are getting serious. I think Eileen may be subconsciously looking towards the future because Eileen has such a connection with him? I love that thought.

I can definitely imagine that all of the feelings that Eileen has been feeling this day definitely can cause her to break down. I think Eileen has been lonely for too long, and she really does need someone to be there for her.

Somehow, I sort of imagine that a bit like Snape. He just keeps everything to himself. His secret of Lily has been such a secret that only Dumbledore knows and meanwhile, he just keeps everything to himself until it all builds up and explode.

Wonderful chapter (:

Author's Response: Hello darling! Thank you so much for another wonderful review (and don't worry about not reviewing the last chapter-as long as you enjoy it, I'm happy). Oh thank you! I was so, so ecstatic and I'm still kind of in shock about it. Yes, I did edit. Don't know what I was thinking put it up without doing this edit. That's crazy for you!

Yay! Glad you still like it! Murdered? Well, I don't want to say yea or nay, but they're dead, for sure! :P

Yes, ma'am, you hit the nail on the head. He was working extra shifts to be able to afford the earrings. It is just so precious and sweet, I awww'd the entire time I was writing it.

I'm so happy you caught onto that. I was hoping a reader or two would see the connection there. She doesn't realize it quite yet, but she is looking toward the future WITH HIM. There's something there she can't explain and may never be able to. When you know, you know. That's my theory.

I think that Eileen, like all of us, like Severus, just reached that point of total mental and emotional exhaustion. Life takes a lot out of us. For Eileen, she couldn't stay strong. It was too much. Poor thing. Severus and Eileen are alike in that way. Strong to the core, but so filled with secrets they think must be kept so, it does build up and explode.

Thank you again for the wonderful review! As always, I appreciate it so much! ♥

Shelby


 Report Review

Review #35, by missclaire17Faking It: And Then Came a Hogsmeade Weekend

28th August 2013:
Oh my gosh. I have to tell you. I'm a HUGE Lily/Lysander fan. Lily/Lysander, Lucy/Lorcan (well, in this case it's Molly), and all four of them and Hugo are best friends together. So yeah. I'm a HUGE Lysander and Lily fan.

BUT I TOTALLY SHIP LILY/CASPIAN. OH MY GOSH PLEASE GIVE THEM A HAPPY ENDING! Seriously, I love them so much. And I love Caspian. He's seriously so sweet.

I'll be awaiting your next update! (P.S. I love how protective Hugo and Lysander are xD)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #36, by missclaire17Conspiracies: That Green Gentleman (Things Have Changed)

28th August 2013:
Hello! I love a good detective story such as this. I also find it hard to believe that James would murder anyone, even if the case against him is strong.

I like the reasoning that Harry and Hermione had for picking Melody to be the detective. At first, I was feeling unsure why Melody was chosen but then they stated that she WAS unbiased, and thinking back, it makes a lot of sense.

I think that Adelaide and Shane were involved. My imagination is running wild and I'm thinking that they had an affair, Archie found out, violence ensues, Archie dies, Adelaide and Shane pin the entire thing on James.

I hope that everyone works out well for Melody and James! (:

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you for reading and reviewing this story!

I'm really glad that you've understood the reason Melody is involved. I was unsure at first whether it would be clear to the reader and whether the idea of a rookie cop helping in the investigation was too far fetched but I'm glad you've understood it! With her age and her not really being involved with the Potter's during school or any other time, I believed she was the perfect unbiased candidate to pick. She has no hidden agenda!

Ah, well I can't confirm nor deny your ideas but I'm glad you've given the story time to come up with a theory!

Again, thank you so much for reading and leaving me a wonderful review, I really appreciate it!

- Vicki


 Report Review

Review #37, by missclaire17Truth Will Out: Breathe.

27th August 2013:
oh my gosh, so I was browsing through the thread in the forums for Story Title Help and I saw your story, and decided to check it out.

I'm so glad that I decided to read it! It seems crazy, Frank Longbottom being the one responsible. I can certainly understand why the Potters and Weasleys act like the way they do to her because if I thought Samantha did it, then I would too. I think it's even worse that it's FRANK. Like, not because of who his parents were but because he's a FRIEND of theirs. I think its horrible.

Anyways. Awesome chapter. I'm really glad that she has told SOMEONE about what really happened. I like that it's McGonagall (and Dumbledore's portrait) that she trusted in. I believe that "truth will out" as well.

I'll be waiting for your next update ^^

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I'm glad you decided to check it out :)

I'm working on Ch.2 now. I gave in to peer pressure (haha) and am extending this to show Frank's POV and some of the aftermath from Samantha's POV.

I really don't think there is anything that would ever justify why Frank did what he did but yes, ch. 2 will definitely give more of a background story.

Thanks again for the lovely review. Hope to hear from you again soon :)



 Report Review

Review #38, by missclaire17Composure: eight.

26th August 2013:
You definitely have NOT disappointed! What a brilliant idea for a date! I'd to have a guy take me out on a date and do that. It seriously sounds so brilliant. It's not too cheesily romantic, and it's not too boring. It's just perfect, and VERY adventurous. I like it! (: The Gryffindor in me that aches for an adventure is very satisfied lol

I think it's so funny how Evie always asks why people think she and Eoin are a couple when they distinctly act like a couple. Not to mention, they sort of basically live with each other. I wonder what Freddie and other men would think about that. I know that I'd raise my eyebrows and ask why they aren't dating already.

That last question that Freddie asks Evie is very interesting. Obviously they don't know each other very well, but he thinks her of peculiar. I think that is a rather heavily loaded question. It's not just a simple question about your current state of mind because I think true happiness and joy is a bit more long-term than the present.

Awesome chapter! I'm glad that they ventured into Muggle London ^^

Author's Response: This review is just far too lovely and kind! I'm so glad people seem to like the concept, I was a bit hesitant about it because in some ways it seemed very normal but in others it just seemed... Freddie-esque. I love adventure, and placing characters in one is my next favourite thing ;)

I have to admit, I adore Eoin and Evie. Eoin was just supposed to be a side character who filled out the friend role, but he seems to have wormed his way in and morphed into a permanent feature?! Jammy boy. I think it's definitely going to be interesting :P

Thank you, thank you for your lovely review, it's made my day!


 Report Review

Review #39, by missclaire17As Love Grows: Head Boy and Head Girl

24th August 2013:
Hello dear (:

First off, I like how in the beginning with talking to the Prefects as Head Boy and Girl, Lily wasn't all serious and trying to take over. I've read some stories where she does this, and I'm glad that you portrayed her like any other normal girl, who laughs at a joke and is easygoing with her friends.

One advice: I don't think that Remus would call Snape by his first name, and after the whole Mudblood incident, I'm not sure Lily would either. It's rather ironic of Snape to say that James is showing Lily off as his prize when that would be what Snape would do himself.

(:

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!
I don't think Lily was all bossy like Hermione, I think she'd laugh and find it amusing that James was talking of responsiblity. She has a sense of humour, or she'd never date James!

Oh, good point! I never thought of that. I'll take that into consideration. Yeah, that's exactly what Snape would do, but he thinks James is the one flaunting, which of course he isn't. Snape only gets worse, I can guarantee you!

Thanks for the review, glad you like it :)


 Report Review

Review #40, by missclaire17Narcissa's Choice: Narcissa's Choice

20th August 2013:
In the end, I think everything worked out perfectly for Narcissa. She and Lucius really loved each other, they have a son that they both really love, and after the War, I think their familial bond has only strengthened.

But in perspective with this moment at Narcissa's graduation with Andromeda appearing, it seems as to me that she made the wrong decision. I hated seeing how Druella turned her own daughter away. I could see what Narcissa was thinking, about spurning her family, and to me, it only made me think that Andromeda is so brilliant and amazing for what she's doing. She would let her family come see her daughter, but her family doesn't want anything to do with her. Hearing her own father say that her daughter shouldn't live has got to hurt. With that in mind, it's almost easy to see what Narcissa was thinking. At the same time, I just feel so horrible for Andromeda because I think she would have let her family come see them, and I think that given the chance, she would reconcile with them if they wished to. I just always hoped that after the war, Narcissa and Andromeda will reconcile and be sisters again, properly.

I loved that bit with Lucius at the end because it shows how he really does care for Narcissa, even from the beginning. Of course, that care grows into deep love over time. This really was such a wonderfully written one-shot! (:

Author's Response: You could say it worked out well, I suppose. They loved each other and their son, but they also put him through some horrible things because of what they chose to do.

So yes, maybe she did make the wrong decision here. I agree, Andromeda is so strong for breaking out of all of this, but of course, she still loves her family and she still wishes that they would come around. However, they never did. Narcissa just wasn't as strong as Andromeda here. I like to think that the two of them made up after the war as well! :)

Yes, Lucius really did care for her, as we could tell in the books, so it will grow deeper. I am so happy that you liked this one-shot! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts on it with me, and for leaving all of these reviews! They made my day!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by missclaire17Molly: Molly

20th August 2013:
This was absolutely BRILLIANT! I think that Percy's first child being named Molly showed more than the fact that his brief betrayal didn't destroy his relationship with his mother but also that he really learned the value of his family as well. I think that being named Molly had a lot of significance and I'm really glad that you decided to write this!

It was really wonderfully written, and I'm glad that you put in the bit about how Percy really believed that he was forgiven at this point in time because this is when he realized how he felt about his daughter. He'd forgive her no matter what, and so it made it far easier to see how his mother would forgive him.

Awesome job (:

Author's Response: It seems like you've decided to spoil me with reviews... well, I'm definitely not complaining ;)

I am so happy that you liked this one-shot! And you're right, naming his daughter Molly also says a lot about Percy's (newfound) family values.

Thank you so much for those kind words. Yes, the point was for Percy to finally understand the unconditional love that a parent feels for his or her children. I am glad it came across, and again, so glad that you enjoyed this. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!!!


 Report Review

Review #42, by missclaire17The Globetrotting Garden Gnome: The Globetrotting Garden Gnome

18th August 2013:
This was by far one of the most brilliant one-shots I've ever read. I mean, how many people would get the idea to write in the point of view for a GNOME?!

That was brilliant though. The gnome's voice was perfect, and I loved the way that the gnome described the things that we know. It would have been even better if you added a bit about Crookshanks in there because Crookshanks loved gnomes since he hadn't seen them before. Either way though, this was brilliant.

There are very few one-shots that I've read that are genuinely creative and original. This was one of them. And I'm so glad that you chose George and Angelina! I love them (:

Awesome job writing this one-shot!

Author's Response: Wow, I am SO happy that you liked the idea of this one-shot. At first, I thought it was a bit too weird... but then I just went with it. The idea came to me as I wrote a George and Angelina wedding chapter for one of my WIP:s on the site, where I included the gnome choir. Then those gnomes were just stuck in my head, and this idea came to me! :)

I had completely forgotten about Crookshanks! I'm definitely going to try to find a way to include him, thank you so much for suggesting it.

Thank you so, so much for your kind compliments! I don't think I can tell you how happy it makes me that you thought so well of this story!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #43, by missclaire17Carpe Diem: Let The Boy Bashing Begin

17th August 2013:
That was the PERFECT opportunity to tell James that he was being an idiot. I loved it. Frankly, that sort of thing was probably how I imagined Lily Evans always wanted to insult James Potter (the first). Waiting for an opportune moment and whenever he wasn't on his best behavior, she'd insult him lol

I think you did your best. I'm not sure that James would have said "Hufflepuff" simply because of his parents and because Teddy's mum (Tonks) was a Hufflepuff and all that but I think you managed it just fine. You got the point across and I think more of the rudeness came from his friends. James's last comment just set her off.

I loved the update! I have a feeling that things are gonna start getting crazy next chapter!

(Btw, I loved that bit with Teddy. I simply LOVE Teddy and Victoire together... *SIGH*)

Author's Response: Thank you. I thought it was a good opportunity as well. I also had no other idea of how to do it. I get what you mean with the Lily Evans and James I, it does seem like a very them thing.
I understand the whole James not saying Hufflepuff, but my thoughts were that he's been so engulfed by fame, and popularity at Hogwarts, that he hardly listens to his father any more. He is quite a selfish person. it's my plan to have Albus a lot nicer.
I think things will go wild next, and hopefully we should get Rose in all her Chick glory in.
Thank you again for the lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #44, by missclaire17What Makes Me smile: Surprise

16th August 2013:
LOL the ending was so hilarious, despite everything. "Scruffy was hot."

Wait, I'm lost! Hold up a minute! Why is she running from the authorities? I mean, running away from home technically isn't a crime, right? or is it the whole magic in front of a Muggle, if she hexed one of her mom's boyfriend?

This is why I said Cora needed human interaction though! In a situation that she should have gratefully accepted her situation, she was instead being ridiculously stubborn and angry. Lack of human interaction will do this to you! (in my opinion xD)

Author's Response: It is not a crime but if you are underage and there is nothing wrong with your home life the Police have an obligation to bring you home, at least in the America's I imagined that her father would have asked her tutor for help having the "magical police" look for her as well.

 Report Review

Review #45, by missclaire17What Makes Me smile: Monsters in the Dark

16th August 2013:
Mr. Howard and Coraline having somewhat of a working relationship with each other is nice. Although Sirius really is a human, Cora still needs human interaction.

Ah, bad guys (LOL my name for them is just so... kid-ish). They're bound to come sooner or late, and I'm glad that Scruffy was there to protect Cora at the end. Honestly, those men disgust me. And hitting a girl? Really? As if your character wasn't bad enough already!

Author's Response: Don't worry I call them bad guys too!

 Report Review

Review #46, by missclaire17What Makes Me smile: Secrets

16th August 2013:
I love how Cora went to work so hard to buy her sister a card. If she had been put in a House, I'd put her in Hufflepuff based on that fact. (of course her courage for standing up to her mother's boyfriend is very Gryffindor but running away for her own safety can be seen as very Ravenclaw or very Slytherin).

HMMM! SCRUFFY LEAVING! I mean, obviously Sirius is going to return to his human life. I'm still curious as to what point in his life Sirius is at. I love that either way, he's staying with her. He knows she needs him and instead of doing something like try to take her in, he just stays and be a loyal and good companion.

I think it's interesting that Cora has an inclining that Scruffy has secrets. In the end of the day, even though Sirius is an Animagus, he still a human and bound to human emotions, etc. As much as he may act like a dog, his humanness just comes out of him!

Author's Response: Thank you for making house suggestions, I've been agonizing over this for the longest time. I've been really torn with putting her in Slytherin because Coraline on the run really fits the bill, but when she's in a normal setting she's much more of a gentle Hufflepuff, I'd be interested to know what you think as the story progresses as to where she should go.


 Report Review

Review #47, by missclaire17What Makes Me smile: An Unlikely Friend

16th August 2013:
Hi! Claire here! (:

First off, We humans philosophies and over analyze everything.
It should be "We humans philosophized and over-analyzed everything". Just the spelling and keeping everything in past tense! ^^
And, Mummy can neither flu nor apparate me to London, it should be "Mummy can neither Floo nor Apparate me to London." (Both should be capitalized (in my personal opinion) and Floo is spelled with two O's instead of an U) ^^

Second of all, I'm really curious as to what year this is taking place. Why a black mangy mutt with grey eyes (that I'm seriously taking to be Sirius xD) is out alone on the streets, hurt, and sounding to be worse for the wear. I suppose, though, that this is after the Marauders graduate from Hogwarts.

I'm surprised that Cora's mum's familiy didn't just cast her off as soon as they found out she was a Squib. Based on what Sirius said, it sounded like that was the general practice. Irregardless, I can see why magic is such a sore spot with her mum. I suppose this explains why Cora never actually went to a Wizarding school.

And also, I'm curious as to where her mother and her siblings live. Since her dad lives in England, I'm guessing that maybe her mother and her siblings live in Ireland, Wales, or Scotland? Because Luther got accepted to Hogwarts? I'm STILL curious why she left her father's place, though her father leaving her mother doesn't give me the best impression of him.

I love how Scruffy/Sirius out of the little bits that we've seen him already has hints of Sirius's personality. Not to mention, I love how he's just staying with her, acting like a loyal pet.

Author's Response: Thank you again for the review, especially the grammar bit!

 Report Review

Review #48, by missclaire17What Makes Me smile: The Last Time I Smiled

16th August 2013:
Hello! This is Claire again.

Something I did want to ask for clarification. It made sense when Cora told her mother she wasn't going to return home because she was with her Muggle father in England. However, why did she leave her father's house? Why doesn't she stay with him during the summer rather than live on the streets?

I find it interesting that she went to a Muggle school and got tutored in magic rather than attend Hogwarts or a magical school. Perhaps the reason for that will be explained in the future? A home-schooled magical teenager is very rare, I think.

It's hard, being a teenager. It's even harder to put up with a dysfunctional family and running away. I feel horrible for Cora, and honestly, I hope her life turns for the better soon.

Author's Response: Yeah she later finds out that he wants to fight for custody of her and she is torn between choosing to live with her Dad or her Mom so she runs away.

 Report Review

Review #49, by missclaire17What Makes Me smile: Prologue

16th August 2013:
Hello! This is Claire, for the Gryffindor Reviewing of the month! ^^

Before I get started, just one piece of advice: format the paragraphs so that 1) they aren't indented and 2) nothing is centered. It looks slightly out of place and makes it slightly harder to read. Just my suggestion.

Now! It's very intriguing the correlation between Cora's nightmare and what was actually happening to her mother. I'm wondering whether it's foreshadowing and whether Cora has some ability or another to be able to tell the future. OR perhaps the nightmare is a product of her worst fears, translating into her sleep.

The man obviously isn't Cora's father, or else he would have been addressed as such. I take it that he's some sort of step-father or her mother's boyfriend. I think either way, it's horrible that he's so violent to her. It does make the summary more understandable though.

Another advice: look over your grammar. It's nothing a re-read or a beta wouldn't be able to fix. For example, "Coraline now knowing an intervention was necessary, stumbled out of bed and in to the hall. She forced open the door to the room across from her own." You should have a comma between 'Coraline' and 'now'.

^^

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much for the review and for the grammar thing, I always miss really simple mistakes like that one, and I will make sure to follow your formatting tip!

 Report Review

Review #50, by missclaire17Composure: seven.

16th August 2013:
Ah! Silent reader! I've been waiting for a new update before revealing myself (don't know why).

I find the entire interaction between Harriet, Evie, and Eoin (does she prefer Eva or Evie...?) really hilarious. I mean, it's mainly just Evie and Eoin, how they do conduct sexual activities together (I'm not sure what's 12+ and what's not so I hope you get what I mean xD) but at the same time, theyr'e just friends. It's a really interesting relationship they have going on. Not to mention, the fact that Tom had just left suddenly, really jerk-like makes me wonder whether Evie's love life is in the current state (excepting the fact that she's going on a date with Freddie) because all the guys she that are/were her boyfriend(s) are jerks or because Evie herself is slightly emotionally unavailable. She sometimes gives me the impression that she almost is for some reason.

I think Freddie is going to surprise her and do something very romantic. I'm sure Evie is expecting some date that isn't very romantic but I think it'll be somewhere romantic but very visible. That seems like Freddie's style. He knows how to treat the ladies but he wants to be seen while doing it.

Anyways, I can't wait for the next update!!
(btw, I love how all of your stories's banners and summaries are very minimal but catching!)

Author's Response: YOU EXIST! People actually read this, oh dear lord! I don't even know, I switch between Evie and Eva, she introduces hereself as Evangeline so I suppose anything goes :P

You have no idea how glad I am people like Eoin/Evie/Harriet because I personally adore the three of them and they're so... ahh, I don't know. I love throwing Eoin and Harriet together because they're so different, and Evie's just a bit like whaaat.

Ooo that's interesting about Freddie ;) Well I'm not going to give anything away but it's definitely going to be a bit different. We shall see! I've got a couple of other stories to update, but then Composure's right up there. The next chapter is half done so it shouldn't be long!

Thank you, I am so rubbish at summaries. I panic and end up with one line, so I'm glad they actually attract people in! Thank you so much for your lovely lovely review you amazeballs person


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>