Reading Reviews From Member: OctoberBlueMoon
  
22 Reviews Found

Review #1, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 8

23rd May 2012:
I love the banter between Snape and Jade. So awkward for Snape, but Fred is pretty attractive :)
I was so happy to see you had updated! Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I do feel a bit bad for Snape. I'm sure he loathes feeling that attraction for Fred coming from Jade but personally, I love it. Let's hope Jade is able to keep her emotions more to herself now, or Snape might end up witnessing some vomit inducing teenage love scenes.

 Report Review

Review #2, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 7

18th May 2012:
Really really good - good length to the chapter (long enough to be worth the wait, short enough to read in class without the teacher noticing a glazed look :) ) You've woven it into the novel well, which is all ways a plus, and your style of writing is very engaging. Detention with Snape! Can't wait to read about it!

Author's Response: For right now, there is a close tie to the books and I'm glad you're enjoying that. I'm a bit worried about how far from the books year 6 and 7 are going to be though. I'm sure some people aren't going to enjoy it as much, but I hope others will >_<


 Report Review

Review #3, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 6

13th May 2012:
Really really good - I'm glad you're updating again. I wonder why Jade wasn't affected, and what happened with Draco?

Author's Response: You won't find out fully until the next story, for both items. And yes, sorry about the very long delay with this chapter.

 Report Review

Review #4, by OctoberBlueMoonBeyond the Shadow: Meet the Family

12th May 2012:
Brilliant - lots of lovely details and homey dinners and all that sort of stuff. I'm looking forward to more Support Group - really curious about Kate!

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! The next few chapters will be very Teddy & Victoire centric, but there will be more Kate stuff after that. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 5

28th April 2012:
Sounds like Jade's year is off to a fantastic start (note sarcasm). The incorporation of the Weasley twin's dialogue works well - comic relief and all that. I'll be curiousto see how fake Moody treats Jade - will she be his favourite because of her parents' identity? I'm looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: I don't think Crouch Jr. actually...befriended the Lestranges, it was more of a "well we all want the Dark Lord back, this is how we do it" idea. And the fact that Jade's been living with the Malfoys, who Crouch hates for abandoning Voldemort. And she's also a Gryffindor. I'm not sure, maybe if she had been a Slytherin Crouch would have liked her, he certainly wouldn't of shown it though. Well, either way they meet the next chapter and you can see how they act. I think I need to go back and add some more Moody in this story. Hmm...

 Report Review

Review #6, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 4

24th April 2012:
Brill, brill, brill, brill, brill! I love the tete-a-tete's with Fred. No, I love the whole story full stop! :) Update soon!

p.s. a query - when is it that Harry/Ron/Hermione first meet Bellatrix? is it in the fourth or the fifth book? Because had it been earlier, they would already know that Jade was Bellatrix's daughter, wouldn't they?

Author's Response: They are going to learn about Jade's parents in this story. Harry a bit sooner than the others (Harry in Dumbledore's pensive). Actually meeting Bellatrix, that will happen near the end of fifth year.
I'm still following the timeline of the book while adding a bit here and there, changing small details. Near the end of this story will be the biggest addition so far.


 Report Review

Review #7, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 3

20th April 2012:
Ah! Cliffhanger! I really want to read the next chapter.
The blossoming romance is really cute (Jade is so oblivious!) and you've managed to work her into the story line well.
Two thumbs up.

Author's Response: Thanks xD
I imagine growing up at Malfoy Manor would make Jade and even Draco oblivious to romantic/loving feelings. Lucius certainly didn't shower them in affection and Narcissa wasn't much better. I think she would have been more concerned about keeping them safely away from Lucius.


 Report Review

Review #8, by OctoberBlueMoonCold as the Sea: Cold

18th April 2012:
I think you've managed to capture the feeling of Azkaban very well - the coldness, the hopelessness. What must have been a difficult story has turned out very well indeed.The metaphor of the sea was great. Poor Hagrid! He had to live for months in that place!

Author's Response: Hi!!! thank you so much :D
That was pretty much what I was going for, and the metaphor felt a little difficult to work with at times, so I'm glad you liked it! Yes, poor Hagrid- people need to appreciate him more.

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #9, by OctoberBlueMoonBetween Here and Somewhere: New Recruits

14th April 2012:
Good amount of action in this chapter, and it was clever to have Lupin unsure of Prof. Banks, so you can make him either good or bad in the long run. Putting Janine in Sytherin but making her seem a nice person was great - the poor Sytherins get a bad name but there has to be at least one decent person among them. Really good writing :)

Author's Response: Exactly! At this point in the story I'm not sure where I'll go with Banks, but it is open for him to be either good or bad. The Slytherins do get a bad name but they're not all bad. I really wanted to portray that in this story since its during the first war. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: A Death Eater's Daughter: Chapter 1

13th April 2012:
Oh dear, is that Fred? Is it Fred? Suspense!
Victor sounds like a nice guy. I'm liking the extra information about Jade's past, how she met Dimitri etc. This sounds like it's going to be a great sequel. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: I always thought Victor would have to be nice. He's at Durmstrang, a school with no muggle borns, getting fawned over by Karkaroff, and yet he still ask Hermione to the Yule Ball, despite the fact that Karkaroff would hate her. I thought he deserved a little extra time.
Also there's going to be little bits of information about Jade throughout this story, but for the full picture, third story in the series which I'm currently working on. (b'-')b


 Report Review

Review #11, by OctoberBlueMoonAlbus Potter and the Lost Legacy: Gryffindor's Goat

10th April 2012:
Hoorah! Great update. One wonders about poor little Elsie Willinson, and hopefully John and Kaden won't completely blow up the castle!
Sorry if this is too picky, but my only criticism would be that Malfoy is a bit too flat - he seems one dimensional, just being mean, mean, mean. Does he have any redeeming qualities?
This chapter was brilliant.

Author's Response: Elsie certainly is an interesting character. You'll find out more about her later. Nope, John and Kaden won't blow up the castle. Malfoy does have redeeming qualities and they'll start to show through later on in this story. The story is from Al's perspective and Al doesn't go looking for Malfoy's redeeming qualities, even though they are there. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by OctoberBlueMoonBeyond the Shadow: Stay the Night

10th April 2012:
It made me so happy to see a post! I hope school is going well for you. The rating - it was 10/10 and probably still should be, but I allowed myself to be biased - I can't say I liked the love scene (at all sorry, I'm not a fan of such), but you did it very well, so the rating should have been higher I guess. Besides from that, this chapter was amazing - the support session was worth most of the wait - I'm really curious about Kate! Keep up the good work :D

Author's Response: It's going well! In the final stretch now. Sorry you didn't like the love scene. I'm not much for writing romance, which is why I didn't delve further into it, but this story is partially romance. Glad you enjoyed everything else! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 21

10th April 2012:
Great ending! Will Snape and Jade make up? I can't wait to see!!!

Author's Response: Responding to last three reviews at once.
Battle of Hogwarts, hmm...that will be interesting but very different from the one in the books. 6th year and onwards the story will become much more alternate universe.
Dumbledore is so hard to write, he's brilliant so he knows there's something off about Jade but he doesn't underestimate her either. So he's slowing picking her apart. After spending so much time with the Malfoys and just all of the unsavory people Jade's met, Dumbledore would probably intrigue her.
And Jade and Snape making up, well you'll have to read the next story. (b'-')b The waiting time is 3 days so unfortunately it will take a bit more time to add chapters.


 Report Review

Review #14, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 20

10th April 2012:
The scene at the end is such a Dumbledore thing. You've really captured the characters, in this chapter and all the proceeding.

 Report Review

Review #15, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 19

10th April 2012:
Brilliant! I love the tete-a-tetes with Snape. And Fred is so cute - I'm not looking forward to the Battle of Hogwarts :(
But this chapter is so good!

 Report Review

Review #16, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 18

2nd April 2012:
Yay! This post is very good - Jade is starting to reveal some secrets here. Only thing is:
"And may I remind you, I'm and Lestrange who lived with the Malfoys nearly all my life", about 2/3 down - should it be [a] in stead of [and Lestrange]?
Other than that, great. :D

Author's Response: D: *changes* thanks xD yeah, sometimes I miss something lol. Thanks for the review (b'-')b

 Report Review

Review #17, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 12

28th March 2012:
Naww... Fred is so cute! I'm very curious about the Seer - looking forward to your next update!

 Report Review

Review #18, by OctoberBlueMoonBeyond the Shadow: The Funeral

27th March 2012:
Hey! I realize you probably don't know me (well, duh! it's an internet site) but I just wanted to say this fanfic is brilliant. I really hope you continue it, because it's totally worth it (and your readers have been waiting several months). Just a request, no obligation - would you be able to update, at least once more, on the 27th of October? It's my 18th birthday, and I'm Australian (though my name's not Amy :) ) I'd love it if you could, because your writing is something special. Thanks - and again, wonderful work!

Author's Response: Aww, thanks so much! I'm glad you enjoy my stories so much. I actually just updated the other day, so be sure to read! Weird coincidence, October 27th is Amy's birthday, too. So I'll definitely try to update that day! Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 11

23rd March 2012:
I really love the connection between Jade and Snape - I think you've done it very well - it doesn't clash with Snape's character in the books at all. The whole (sort of) split personality with Jade/ her father could have gone really wrong, but you've made it work, which must have been pretty difficult. Two thumbs up!

Author's Response: It is very hard for me to keep Snape in character. So I'm glad to hear you think I'm doing a good job. Also about Jade and her father, he's in Azkaban now, so that keeps him mostly subdued. Imagine what happens when he's freed 5th year. Mood swings galore @_@

 Report Review

Review #20, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 10

20th March 2012:
Brilliant! The trick on Percy really made me laugh. You've got a great story idea going - it fits into the original books and everything. Please keep posting!

Author's Response: One of the hardest things is fitting a fanfic into the books. Thankfully this year Jade doesn't have too much interaction with Harry and Ron. Mostly just Hermione and the twins, a little bit of Ginny. Fourth year (which I do have nearly completed) and onwards there will be more changes as Jade interacts with more people.
Glad you're enjoying the story and thank you for the review (b'-')b


 Report Review

Review #21, by OctoberBlueMoonJade Lestrange: Chapter 9

19th March 2012:
Your story is great, please write more - very interesting idea!

Author's Response: Whole story is already done, just takes a couple days to get validated, so check back every few days (b'-')b
Glad you're enjoying it, thanks for the review.


 Report Review

Review #22, by OctoberBlueMoonBeyond the Shadow: The House that Built Me

22nd December 2011:
Dear GryffinDuck,
I have to say that you must be my favourite author at HPFF, and of your stories, this is my favourite so far. However, please, please, please, please continue to update! It's understandable that you must have a lot of other stuff on your plate, but I (and I'm sure the rest of your readers also) am dying of curiosity! If this 'review' sounds rather selfish, please disregard it - I'd also like to compliment you on your use of Australia - I couldn't find any errors, apart from one in another story on cereals (we don't have Lucky Charms over here, as far as I know - FruitLoops are our most unhealthy cereal). Thankyou so much for publishing your wonderful stories, merry christmas, new year, and God bless you :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! That means so much to me, that I'm your favorite author here. I am definitely still updating. Unfortunately the next chapter in this story is giving me some issues and this past semester was the craziest yet. Luckily the semester is over so I'll be able to devote some time to getting that chapter to cooperate.

I loved setting this (and In Moonlight's Shadow) in Australia. I want to visit there some day and setting these stories there was a way to sort of vicariously do that without actually going. Some day I'll get there! A beta I used to have pointed out the Lucky Charms thing and I changed it, but must have missed a mention. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you, too! Thanks so much for reading and reviewing. :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login