Reading Reviews From Member: banshee
  
615 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bansheeAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

21st January 2015:
Hey Kristin! Happy hot seat day!

I've been meaning to check this story out for a while now, so I'm glad I got the time to be able to!

I always adore your level of detail in your writing. Right from the first few sentences you set up the scenery and just give the reader this interesting and original topic to go into. You never really think of Bellatrix and how she became the person she was before she was Voldemort's second in command, and it's neat to see her younger.

I really liked the characterization you developed with the beetle in the first part of the story. How there was the teasing and then Bellatrix just sort of comes through and destroys the fun, and how she goes on to talk about how the characterizations sort of stick with them from that moment of their life.

This might be kind of a random thing to comment on, but I love your word choice throughout this story. You just always have this way of stringing words together that is so eloquent that the story just flows so wonderfully.

The second part with the woman that Bellatrix fell in love with was really wonderfully tragic. It seemed like they really worked well together, for the fact that Bellatrix remained her own self all the while that they were together. Unfortunately she was already arranged a marriage with Rodolphus... It sort of makes you think how much the moments in her life had help in shaping her, or if she was sort of pre-destined to be on the path.

I really thought it was interesting how you left the woman unidentified throughout the story, and how she constantly seemed to hold a spot in the back of Bellatrix's head.

Bellatrix always seems like such a tricky character to grasp writing but I think you wrote her so true to her personality here. Your writing is always so enjoyable to read, and this was definitely no different!

Lovely work, Kristin!

Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie!

Wow, thank you, that is such a compliment that you like the detail in my writing!

I'm so glad you liked that first part with the beetle and that you thought it developed their characterization. She does destroy the fun haha! And yeah exactly that scene was meant to kind of symbolize their personalities and the things that stood out about them even as they got older.

aw, thank you I'm so flattered that you like my word choice and that it flows well, that is so wonderful to hear!

I love your analysis of Bellatrix and the other woman's love - I don't think I'd heard it described as 'tragic' before, but there definitely is that aspect to it in the way it ended. I'm glad it made you think too! I love it when writing makes me think ;)

You would be correct in that statement, she is definitely a tricky character to write - so I'm just thrilled that you thought this worked. Gah, thank you so much ♥ I really appreciate it!

thank you for this amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by bansheenot like other girls: one.

21st January 2015:
Ah I am already so excited for this!

Truth time: I was scrolling through the recently added stories and saw the title for this and had a little huff of irritation because that saying bothers me, but then I went and read the summary and saw it was by you and got SUPER excited. Like SO excited.

So of course I had to read it.

I really love how you instantly established their friendships and characterizations. Especially Charis' personality and how she interacts with her friends and the people around her.

I can't wait to see where this one goes!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #3, by bansheeThe Rejects: iii.

21st January 2015:
Hey Aimee! Happy (late) Hot seat day!

I'm so excited for this, but first off congratulations on being made a TA! *celebrates with you*

I am kind of in love with Hazel from that chapter image. haha

Hehe, I love her being scared of her prospective teammates. It's hilarious that she wants them on the team and she's terrified of talking to them :p

I really love Maddie. The way you write her, she's such a wonderfully realistically flawed character and it makes her relateable. And her friendship with Dominique makes for a really lovely dynamic that is so incredibly sweet to read.

Can I ship Maddie/Hazel? Well I'm going to. A little. (until someone else comes along. haha) I know you probably have other plans but I just love Hazel and want her to stomp all over the people that rejected her Quidditch career with high heel shoes.

Reading through her handing out her "welcome to the team!" little moments, I can't help but want to know so much more about each one of the characters, and I can't wait to see what you have in store for them.

I got a good little chuckle at the broken fourth wall in the moment with Professor 'Umbridge'.

I love your chapter length, how you give the reader enough time to get into the story and the characters and what's going on before it ends. And the part at the end about Maddie in the Gryffindor boy's common room was HILARIOUS and I am still chucking as I finish writing this.

I'm just so excited to see where you're going to go with this and what you have in store for the characters in the upcoming chapters. Will definitely be checking back!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #4, by bansheeNot My Type: Square One

18th January 2015:
OH MY GOD OLIVER WOOD YES I DIDN'T EVEN THINK OF WHO YOU WERE GOING TO USE BUT OMG ALL OF THE YES.

ahem.

But even for Seth, physical attraction does very little in the end; he needs to get to know a person before he can make any kind of judgement on types and such. -- demisexual representation ftw ♥

Okay, so I'm sitting at Barnes and Noble right now and there's this guy sitting next to me streaming Breaking Bad (because he's a selfish pancake and doesn't think other people need internet) and he keeps STARING BECAUSE I CAN'T STOP SMILING RIGHT NOW.

I'm like.. not even a little surprised that Theodore Nott is in this?? hahahah

I love how you work all of the little plot lines with Seth's friends in. It just instantly puts us into this familiar world and makes all of the characters so instantly fleshed out. And how it's connected to the first book!

AW DID OLIVER LEARN FOR HIM. I guess I'll see you in the library later for our tutoring lesson. -- like.. I hope you can understand how much that little moment broke my heart. I mean, I can completely understand Seth saying it and thinking that no harm would come from it, since he wouldn't have any other reason to assume that Oliver could understand him. But still!

I can't even be upset because I asked for it, didn't I? dang.

I just want to know so much more about them. Seth'd better apologize! With his face. and Oliver's face.

This was so wonderful. ♥

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WRITING THIS YOU WONDERFUL PERSON ♥

Julie

Author's Response: ALL OF THE YES, POPULAR QUIDDITCH BOY COULDNT NOT BE OLIVER WOOD!!!

What a selfish pancake. *shakes head at him*

It's me we're talking about. I don't think anyone is surprised anymore when Theo Nott so much as pops his head around the corner in one of my stories, let alone becomes a minor to main character. He just needs to exist. But I kept him at a distance this time. I needed him for job prospects. :P

I'm glad you like the extra info on the friends and how it connects to the first book, because I couldn't help myself. Everything must connect.

Aww, did he? Unless I write a sequel, we may never know...oh, I definitely understand, it broke my heart, too. And Seth's... a little bit. Oliver just didn't deserve that.

Seth'd better apologize! With his face. and Oliver's face. - best response ever.

I'm so glad you liked it! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by bansheeYou Know I Love You, Tonks: Our Valentine's Day

16th January 2015:
Hello, Freda and Georgina!

Remus and Tonks is one of my absolute favorite pairings so I had to come check this out for your hot seat day!

I think you did a really lovely job translating Remus' feelings in this story. I always picture how apprehensive he is as part of one of the big bumps in his and Tonks' relationship, and it was neat to see how you played that out here.

I really love how quickly Tonks puts him in his place though, with the one liner, and the way it resonates with him afterwards.

The after effects of the 'Bill moment' with the two of them was so sweet! I love how you've written Tonks here, and how she knows she could definitely handle herself around him, but she chooses to be with him anyway.

I'm absolutely smiling like a loon right now. GOD I LOVE THEM. ♥

Through the part about Tonks not taking him back into loving arms, I really think that's such an important part of their relationship, and I was really happy to see how you wrote that here. Their relationship is sort of built on imperfection, but through everything it's perfect in their own way.

I just loved this whole thing. It was such a sweet reminder about why I loved this ship so much, and I'm so glad I got to read it!

Keep up the lovely work you two!

Julie

Author's Response: Hello Julie!

They're one of our favorite couples too.

Thanks, we wanted to bring that across.

That was something JK Rowling actually had her saying, as I read about on Pottermore. I wanted to show Remus' reaction to that.

I (Georgina) love Tonks and really related to her. Great to hear I did her justice!

As do we. Apparently we're good at making people smile ridiculously. Huh.

We wanted to bring across the whole not-a-perfect-romance thing while at the same time a-perfect-couple. I think we managed.

Thank you so much, your review was so encouraging! That we will continue writing.
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #6, by bansheeSprained Wrist: Sprained Wrist

13th January 2015:
a;slkdjf I'M SO EXCITED FOR THIS!

AH THEYRE SO ADORABLE! (this is going to be all freaking out capital letters, just to warn you) And I love that they're playing little kiddie Quidditch and JAMES PUPPYGUARDING THE GOALS. *cries*

JAmes is SUCH an instagator! I it just SO fits. Seriously. hahaha

Little Julianne here just fits her character from Through The Black so much. She's so resiliant, just refusing to get her mother even though she obviously hurt herself enought to probably warrent it.

I love SO SOO much that their parents seem like they are close and James is automatically invited over for lunch. SO CUTE. It's kind of sad since they (the parents) don't seem like they get along really well in the actual story (well, maybe just the dads), as if the war kind of seperated them.

Mrs. Potter immediately rounded on James. - I MEAN.. do we really, reallly blame her? hahah

I noticed one kind of nit-picky thing, you started out using 'mum' and switched to 'mom' half way through.. I don't think it really matters either one you use, but it is just noticable when they switch :P

THEY GET GROUNDED AND THEIR PUNISHMENT IS NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE EACHOTHER. OMG I love it. HOW ADORABLE.

I LOVED THIS SO MUCH, CLAIRE. ;alksdjfjd This was so cute! They were SO like their older versions, and the mothers being friends, and just all of it was SO WONDERFUL. Thank you so much for writing this so I could read it!

*hugs*

Julie

Author's Response: Ahhh, I'm so glad you liked it!! It was so much fun to write!

I loved trying to throw in things from Through the Black and make everything connect. And writing them as kids was such a fun challenge! And actually being able to write Julianne's mom was the best, especially with Mrs. Potter.

Haha, yes, the punishment was inspired by Scott and Stiles from Teen Wolf :P It was too good an opportunity to pass up!

I'm so glad you loved this so much!!! This really made my day!!


 Report Review

Review #7, by bansheea silver morning: parchment & crystal

12th January 2015:
WOOT I'M HERE!

AW, Andy! That's so sweet of you! *hugs* I am absolutley sure that I am going to love this story. From the - very little, mind - you've told me about it so far, I am already so excited!

Okay, I would not be that relaxed if there was a spider in the room with me. I would be freaking out, let's be real. But I really liked the imagery it created, and how Fred flinched when Hugo started talking, as if he was snapped out of his own mind.

Andy, your writing just always fills me with this joy when I get to read new stuff from you. You just have this style of stitching words together that's so elegant, that it makes me smile so much. I can feel what Fred's feeling in his nostalgia thinking about Scorpius. It just completely washes away that I'm reading, and instantly creates this amazing picture. It's so beautifully bittersweet how it starts out seemingly a happy thought, and then turns sad.

;alskdfj SCORPIUS AS A QUIDDITCH PLAYER♥ - In my writing and research of the different Quidditch teams, the Montrose Magpies have become a favorite of mine. I love the sleek little black and white bird as their mascot. I'm rambling and getting off topic, but LOVE.

I definitely like how you managed to bring Fred from his thoughts of a random moment with Scorpius, to Hugo bringing them up with the poster/autograph. That Hugo already has written out. What a goob.

Fred's sarcasm at Hugo is BEAUTIFUL.

At the end of the 'parchment' part, I'm left with SO much curiosity. Like, I just have to know what happened? Were they an item? Are they? Were they an almost? Is Scorpius happy with being drafted right out of school? Is he happy with his random saying a catchphrase and a humor device in Fred's dad's shop? Is he still close with Fred? THIS IS AMAZING. *reads on*

Fred napping on the desk and Scorpius with his Prefect badge. #otp. AND THE SNARKY BANTER. My heart.

I think you should re-title this story: How to fall in love with a boy over twenty porcupine quills. Give or take six. Heheh. I don't know how you managed to make me ship them SO QUICK but I flipping love them.

Woo, Ravenclaw Scorpius! (I took a guess after we talked that you'd have him there) AW AND FRED SPILLS HIS JUICE OVER THE LOOK a;lskdfjjsd

So, this review is going to be nothing but incoherent babbling.

It is as easy as falling, this thing that happens. - This story is just so easy to get lost in, and that's what I'm doing as I read. It's just inspiring and is making me want to know so much more about the pair. I loved this moment, where they're sort of challenging at first and then they both sit and the conversation just comes so easy to them.

Scorpius is reading, a strand of hair falls into his eyes and he sweeps it away with the corner of the book, not his hand - I 'awwed' out loud. And did that adorable sigh thing. Just. GAH.

The way you describe Anxiety and Depression is so filled with truth and honesty. And I really like how Fred's isn't just solved from having Scorpius around him. It doesn't just go away because you're in a 'something' (or, what they are) and I really think you described that so elegantly. You described an actual anxiety attack so real, too, with the starting from nothing and building, that it made it so much more meaningful. Especially the part about him wanting to hide it around Scorpius.

The ending with the two of them was just so open for interpretation that I love it. I'm going to go ahead and say that I need you to write another 100k words about them. a;lkdfj I can't even articulate how amazing this was.

I need to know how they end!? Do they meet up to "get Hugo his autograph"? Do they get coffee and reminisce and fall back in their something love? a;lskdfj *sobs*

*Incoherent babbling* I LOVED THIS SO MUCH. Seriously, this was so much more than anything I expected and I am just amazed by the whole thing. Beautiful work, Andy!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #8, by bansheeTraces: prologue.

8th January 2015:
I just need to start this out by saying A MILLION TIMES YES♥ And know that I am not going to apologize for the excessive amount of capital letters this will have.

IS SCORPIUS GOING TO BE CONNOR WALSH!? *hyperventilates* It isn't even possible to be this in love with a character this quickly.

I CAN'T. IT'S SO PERFECT.

I need this story so much, almost as badly as I need the show to come back on. I absolutely cannot wait for more and will definitely be stalking this.

(and wondering who will be casted as Oliver... :D )

FABULOUS!

Julie

Author's Response: DON'T EVER APOLOGISE FOR EXCESSIVE CAPITAL LETTERS. EXCESSIVE CAPITAL LETTERS ARE THE BEST. CASE IN POINT.

and YES SCORPIUS IS MY CONNOR WALSH. i was really surprised at how easily that happened as well, i wasn't sure about assigning each character a corresponding HTGAWM character (and admittedly I don't think I have an Asher) but yeah scorp just kind of nailed it

YOU'LL SEE WHO OLIVER IS IN LIKE THE NEXT CHAPTER except again its not a perfect adaptation because his oliver is in the law firm too but YEAH. YEAH YEAH YEAH

the next chapter should be up in a couple of days because when i start writing something i kind of don't really stop so keep checking back and thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by bansheeThrough the Black: Gryffindor Versus Ravenclaw

8th January 2015:
Yes! two new updates :D

I know I mentioned this in a previous review, but I really like how one of the subplots about the war is focused around Julianne's dad, and his general views from the other side of the coin. I think it's such an interesting topic, because there would have to be people on both far out sides, with all of the opinions in between.

Fright escaped Ivory’s grasp and sprung at Peter with her claw out. - OH GOSH. It's because.. omg I love it. HAHA! (I also need you to know that I am reading this in a public place right now and am DYING from trying not to laugh out loud)

It's so relateable, that whole part about career selection. It creates so much extra unnecessary stress just like in the muggle world, to make kids choose the career they want for 'the rest of their lives' at such a young age. I love how you put that in here!

AW, FLITWICK! How sweet of him helping her focus on her talents!

Julianne and Lily paired together! Oh jeez, this could end very badly.. I am really hoping for a good ending between Julianne and Lily in the end, but for now their disdain is very entertaining. And I love that Julianne told Sirius not to go easy on her :)

I love how everything that happens can be traced back in some way or another to James and Julianne's friendship. In the moment with Sirius finding her on the map, and her knowing about the cloak, and her attitude towards Lily.. their friendship creates such an amazing foundation for the entire story. (speaking of.. I am very eagerly awaiting that requested one-shot about them :D )

OH ADORABLE! The teasing about 'The Marauders' - I love the originality. Because usually you see the trope where the whole school knows them as these superior, above the rules and uses it as an honor badge, but to have it be something EMBARRASSING to them is SO CUTE.

DETENTION FOR KISSING IN THE LIBRARY♥ OH TEEN ROMANCES WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO MY HEART!? I love them so much. And I love that Sirius is just SO entertained by it. But they were really NOT being very careful. James could have walked up at any time!

"Well, if we're going to say we did it, we might as well…" - what a terrible influence. hahaha!

Oh, Cameron. Little adorable Quidditch nut. They're all so wonderful teasing him! I love the banter between the teammates, and you /know/ I love Quidditch, so you have to know how much I loved reading you writing it here! Knowing that they had to score SO much to beat Gryffindor is already a lot, but then to have the weather on top of that!

THEY WON OMG YAY! I'm so happy :D

Aww, I just was wrapping this up and saw your note at the bottom! I am so in love with this story, Claire, and am happy to throw these reviews at you! I will be moving on to the next chapter ASAP!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey, Julie!

I'm glad you like the whole thing with her dad, I was a bit unsure of it at first, but it seems to be working really well!

Hehe, that was one of my favorite parts to write in this chapter, I was grinning the whole time I wrote it.

I actually wrote the career scene way earlier than the rest of this chapter. I was just really interested in careers other than being a Healer or work in the Ministry and I figured Julianne would be the most likely to NOT want those jobs. I just loved writing that part so much.

I actually do have a plan for Julianne and Lily that hopefully culminates in a certain scene much, much later on, so don't worry, something good does come out of all of this haha.

I can't take credit for the "Marauders is a secret" thing. I read a fic that did the same thing and they made a good point that the nickname isn't actually used anywhere but the map, so it would make sense that it would actually be a secret.

Them getting the detention was so much fun to write. Basically this chapter was my favorite to write, all of the little details were so much fun to figure out.

Ah, I'm so glad you liked the Quidditch match, coming from you that means a lot! Cameron is still my little baby and I love the whole team.

I really do love all your reviews, they make my day whenever I see them!


 Report Review

Review #10, by bansheeSticks, Stones and Emotional Breakdowns: Chapter 1

8th January 2015:
I WANT TO BE THE FIRST REVIEW SO BAD. I still need to read the ending to tddup but I wanted to read this SO BADLY.

You don't even know how excited I am for this. Well, you do. But I'm going to say it again.

James and Ameila are still so adorable. They're just the cutest things ever. I loved the moment when she heard the kids first. SO MUCH AWWS.

NO, JAMES, he wasn't sleeping. Hahahah!

I love his t-shirt. I love it so much. I would absolutely love to see Scorpius accidentally wearing it without realizing, just because he detests it SO much.

FAMILY NEWSLETTER. OH MY GOD. IS THIS EVEN REAL. (no, Julie, it's fanfiction.) I CAN'T.

The whole process of James asking Hugo and Scorpius, and Scorpius and Hugo just balancing each other out was fantastic. They're so adorable. I LOVE THEM SO MUCH.

OH MY GOD IF YOU DON'T MAKE HUGO's TERRIBLE PROPOSALS A REOCCURRING THEME I WILL BE SO UPSET. SO upset, Tammi, and you don't want that on your conscious.

I AM A PUDDLE OF FEELS. I love this so much. I want it all, all of the love and adorable family newsletters and wonderful things for this universe.

I can't wait to read more :D ♥

Julie

Author's Response: YOU ARE!!! YAY! The excitement was that strong!

I do know :P I'm excited to see what you think of the chapters :D

Could they ever not be adorable? :P

Oh no, Hugo was definitely not sleeping hahaha.

:O SCORPIUS SHOULD SO WEAR THAT T-SHIRT! It would be the biggest shock of his life!

Oh yes! The family newsletter is real! I can't believe that Fred thought that it would stay nice and family friendly hahahah.

:D I love them too! They're so made for each other!

They are going to definitely be a theme in the story! How could it not? Oh Hugo, why are you so terrible at proposing? I definitely don't want to know that I was the one to make you upset!

Aw I'm so glad that you enjoyed it so much! More will have to be written soon! :D


 Report Review

Review #11, by bansheeWhat next?: Red Nose, Red Fur

8th January 2015:
Andy I'm here! (and this wasn't exactly after, but by now you know I get distracted by the internet a lot)

SO AWKWARD THOUGH. And Scorpius just does NOT help with his comments. Like.. if I sit and think about what the worst thing that Scorpius could say in that situation, that would definitely be in the top five.

I definitely feel like it wasn't Scorpius' intentions, though. I don't know if I one hundred percent trust him, but his confusion seemed pretty genuine. I'm not sure if that was your intention or not, or even partially, but that's the sort of impression I got.

I really like how you described Jonathan when Rose is talking about his strangers/friends. I feel like it's a really Hufflepuff thing. Or maybe I just relate to him a little too much :p It felt like a Hufflepuff thing, to keep your friends close.

'And, as it turns out, we are both very passionate about spellwork' -- Rose... Okay. Rose. Passionate isn't the best word choice. It's just.. not. okay. hahah

You have Jonathan and Rose so well fleshed out here, that I absolutely feel the heartbreak from both of them. It was so sad to read the sort of numb feelings Rose was having, and her reaction (or, lack-thereof) to seeing Malfoy the second time. In addressing what you mentioned when I asked yesterday, I really think that her reactions are genuine. I don't really like when a character can just instantly process things and goes off yelling. I love that she's SO lost in her own head for the few moments of walking with Scorpius behind her, and when things process for her she finally turns and addresses him.

I don't even know how it's possible to love AND loathe their bickering on the staircase SO much, but I do.

I would probably find his laughter quite charming... - oh jeez.

'As if you do.' - This reaction, I found a little bit odd on its lonesome. I think it might be more effective if she also said something along the lines of "How would you even know that?" or something to negate how well Scorpius thinks he knows her. Maybe both of them, so it still transitions into the next challenging sentence from him? If you'd like, of course!

light on those old floorboards - 'the' old floorboards?

Ah, you can just feel the moment Rose pushes things overboard. And you can feel how she just instantly regrets saying it.

I need you to know that I am reading this in public right now, and I am trying to hide my laughter that SCORPIUS GAVE ROSE A CLOWN NOSE. OH MY GOD♥ I seriously panicked at first. I thought he did something like super BAD and subtle, like her nose was just going to start bleeding and never stop or something, and then IT WAS A CLOWN NOSE. *cries*

'Perhaps,' he lilted. ♥ I just need to tell you how much I love this response.

I will blame my lack of sleep on the fact that I didn't catch that BRILLIANT joke with the circus and the clown nose until Scorpius said it. But that was BRILLIANT, Andy.

I just can't even articulate how much I enjoyed this chapter. The heartbreak! The spells! The banter! *sighs* LOVE IT. I can't even BEGIN to imagine what's going to happen next.

This was so good. For real.

Keep up the amazing writing, dear! I can't wait for more!

ttyl!

Julie

Author's Response: Julieee!

Finally responding to reviews! And I really can't be the one to judge anyone for being distracted by the internet! :D

Yes, very awkward! Do you know how much time I spend coming up with the most awkward things my poor characters could say? A lot! Sigh.

But the thing you said, about not believing it was intentional - thank you! Yes, I'm so glad you thought so. I mean, if I ever want this to be ScoRose, it couldn't have been intentional because I wouldn't let them end up together, haha. :D

Yay for relating to Jonathan! I agree about it being a Hufflepuff thing. Like, I always thought Hufflepuffs would be friendly, but not friendly with just anyone. So yeah, I'm glad you saw it as a 'house' trait. :)

Hahah, like I said, I love making it awkward. But you should understand, god knows you don't make it easy on your characters, haha.

Aahhh, thank you so much for that whole paragraph you wrote! It was something I was really insecure about so to hear this sort of reassurance from you was the best thing! Thank you, Julie, you know how much I value your opinion! :)

Yay for loving and loathing the bickering! They're like these annoying creatures but I'm still fond of them myself. :P

Thank you for the CC! I will fix the things you pointed out, and as for the line Rose says, I agree it sounds weird and thank you for your suggestion! I will definitely change it.

Hahah, I'm glad it made you laugh! And haha, Jules, in what world is a never-ending nosebleed subtle?! XD

Awww, I'm really glad you liked that line!

It's really not meant to be caught until Scorpius says it so it's all good! But ah, thank you, I'm so so happy you thought it was funny!

I do hope to have the next chapter up... soon. I hope!

Anyways, Julie, thank you SO MUCH for this review and all the other awesome reviews you've left me! I love hearing your opinions and you always have such cute reactions to everything! Thank you again! *hugs*

Andy


 Report Review

Review #12, by bansheeof monsters: Tap, tap, tap.

7th January 2015:
Hi, Emmi!

At this point it isn't accurate at all for me to say this is for your Hot Seat review, but I definitely wanted to come and check this story out!

I don't even know how to begin to describe this, except eerie. I love the way you formatted it, with the taps in between every paragraph. It gives it this level of sort of poised insanity that is so creative. (DESCRIPTIONS ARE HARD. THIS IS WONDERFUL.)

I love how you captured Voldemort's - or, Tom here, I suppose - arrogance here. When I read him, I always love reading that snide characterization, and I think you wrote it so well here.

This was so stylistic and creative. I normally don't read things like it, but I'm so glad I did as it was very enjoyable! Also, congratulations on winning SOTM - this definitely deserves the recognition!

Lovely work! :)

Julie

Author's Response: Hey Julie! Thank you for your review! I'm so, so sorry it took me this long to answer this, I've been in London and only just got back (I'm actually writing this on the plane :)).

I'm glad you found it eerie, since that was what I was aiming for! I'm rather fond of the formatting myself, so it makes me happy you liked it as well. Also, it's great that you like the description since I try to avoid it as much as I can! :)

Tom's arrogance was surprisingly easy to write. I suppose it comes naturally to him. ;) I'm glad you liked the way I wrote him!

Thank you again for your compliments and for reading and reviewing this! It means so much to me!

- Emmi


 Report Review

Review #13, by bansheeThe Expectant Follower of Always: The Second.

23rd December 2014:
Hey Emz! Happy Hot Seat Day!

Aw, what a sad start for Echo! I'm glad that Albus made it happen like he said, though. It's way to hard and unfair for both of them to stay in a relationship where one of them isn't happy.

Jesus, I thought I loved books; I could not imagine carrying thirty of them. hahaha! My back would DIE! Thank god for that Immobulus charm, for sure!

Oh, jeez. Rose, you are not subtle! lol. Except, of course, to Albus, who continues to eat his breakfast and NOT notice the things happening around him.

"We're on number six not seven" she insisted.
"Six" I claimed.
"Seven" she repeated and this went on for a while until Avery stepped in,


I just happened to notice, but they're both arguing for the same number there. Unless she's doing it on purpose, because she then switches her argument to number seven. And thank god for Avery stepping in and stopping them before they ruined the potion.. though, I'll have to read on to see if that happens :p Also: Eres finally realizing his undying love for Avery - I think you meant 'her' ;) (I did get momentarily excited for a slash pairing, though :p)

I said in a very girly insult. - :( She's the girl and is being more mature than he is, so I'd swap that adjective. That sentence she said before she walked off, about the love potion smelling like Albus broke my heart a little bit for her. It's so hard to be dumped when you still have feelings for someone.

And there was that bang of guilt again - bang would work, but I think you meant 'pang'.

And a strangely familiar smell I couldn't decide the origin of - hehe, I wonder what this could be. Maybe it's always... :D

I think I pointed this out in my last review, but I noticed a lot of sentences again that were missing punctuation, and a few dialogue tags that didn't have commas, for if you edit.

I am glad that you are making him actually feel remorseful about it! It gives him a chance to grow before new and better things can happen for him.

Oh jeez, I think Aberforth would absolutely CRY if he knew what was going on in the Hogs Head in his absence. I bet that makes for some fun Hogsmeade visits, though! LOL!

Aww, I had my suspicions about the love Potion and it turns out I was right! How sweet! I wonder what that means now, if Albus realizes he's in love with her, or if he goes through a bit of denial.. Hmm! Can't wait to figure out what happens next!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #14, by bansheeLetters to loving you: Of Friends, House Elves and Surprise Dinners

23rd December 2014:
Woo, some Neville POV! I love how he's immediately hesitant to go and talk to Harry when he's with Draco, because (obviously) of Draco's past. I'm wondering if that's going to change as the chapter goes on though! *reads on*

Oh no! Professor Sprout! But that's so wonderful for Neville, getting to go right into teaching like we know of him from the epilogue. I immediately thought of him working with her to learn as much as he could before her time is up, and just aww! So sad and sweet. And Harry's reassurance to Neville was so wonderful.

I can definitely understand Neville (and Ron!)'s negative thoughts against Draco. I think he (Draco) has a long path of asking for forgiveness ahead of him and it'll be interesting to see what he has to do to gain that from some of the people he bullied all through school. But I think it's true to form of Harry that he would be the bridge that connects the two forces together.

Ginny's POV! Oh wow, Ginny and Harry are already engaged! It seems like they're so young still! Though I read somewhere that war will do that, give you the push to get together maybe quickly and hastily. We'll see!

Hmm, so Draco and Ginny are both studying medicine type things..

Little bit of CC for you, if you don't mind! In the part where Harry and Ginny are talking and discussing the party and inviting Draco, try adding in some descriptions of body language, or some descriptions of the tones of voice the two are using. Even a little bit of inner monologue about Ginny; what she's thinking, what Harry's doing, just something to give an indication to the feel of the conversation. Those things will help wrap the reader into the scene and help them be able to picture what's going on besides the conversation.

Aw, Harry is SO sweet to Ginny. It didn't even really feel like an argument, so I love that he's just doing it because he loves her so much.

Another adorable chapter! It's nice to see the characters adjusting to the after the war times so well. I think it's interesting how you chose to tell the story of Harry's day (well, afternoon) here through the eyes of Neville and Ginny instead of just going right to Harry's point of view.

It almost feels as though it's the calm before the storm though.. (especially because I saw the title of the next chapter :p )

Nice work!

Julie

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing... made my day! And thank you for the pointers, i'll go back and edot the formatting for sure. I'll try to edit the part in Ginny's perspective if i have time.
This fic starts out all fluffy, but there is still a little trouble to come..
Thank you again !


 Report Review

Review #15, by bansheeLetters to loving you: When things begin to change

23rd December 2014:
Back for more!

It's such a lovely, freeing moment to see Draco getting rid of all of the things that reminded him of his father. And then to eventually just move out of the place all together because it's got too many bad memories.

Strange thing was I didn't even dread having to talk to him for two hours - hehe, strange thing indeed..

Short and sweet! It was really nice to see Draco go to apologize to Aberforth, and Harry's reassurance towards Draco.

Moving on!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #16, by bansheeLetters to loving you: After the war

23rd December 2014:
Hi! Your review on my story really made my day, so I wanted to stop by and return the favor!

I like how you sort of throw us right into the action with things being at Draco Malfoy's trial with his mother. It really gives Draco this sense of hopelessness to start us out. And how heartbreaking, that Narcissa wants to take the complete fall for Draco! It really fits well with her character.

Yay, Harry! In my own head I always sort of figured that he would be there at the Malfoy's trial, and would remember and be grateful for the things that Harry had done.

And now Harry and Draco are put to work together :D I'm wondering what will happen with that... hehe. I would have loved to see a little bit of bickering between them, but I'm glad to see they decided to be adults about it and talk through their differences.

It's got to be horrifying to see the crash victims for Draco. It's exactly as you've described though; Draco's definitely seen death caused by the killing curse, but it's got to be so much worse seeing the real pain behind it.

It's great to see Draco taking an interest to healing, after having all of those things happen. It's something to get his mind off of both of his parents being in Azkaban, and having basically life to himself now. Who knows what he could accomplish.

So, one tiny thing on formatting before I run off to the next chapter! Some word processors (such as Microsoft Word) like to add extra formatting in as you write, so the large spaces between the paragraphs happen when you are posting from there. when you are posting chapters, if double space them (I use shift+enter, and it gives an 'unformatted' space) and then you use the 'paste as plain text' button, that will eliminate that and make things easier on the reader. On the staff tutorials account, there is a better explanation than this one! lol.

Anyway! This was a really neat first chapter!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #17, by bansheeI See You. : Prologue: Missing.

23rd December 2014:
Hi! Happy *late* Hot Seat Day!

Aw, good old teen angst. I love that the narration is aware of it, versus just being oblivious to the attitude issues. But I am in Ginny's shoes also, and worried!

I always sort of head-canon Harry as being the more malleable parent, but I never really put it together that it could/would be because of the Dursley's. I thought that was such a nice little touch!

It's such a terrible place to be in when Harry and Ginny want to be 'lenient' parents, but when something doesn't feel right. I want to just say 'they should listen to Ginny!' but it doesn't work like that and it made Ginny and Harry's characterization shine.

I love the way that the first part of the story is told as if it's being narrated as a story. It's neat!

The second half is SO heartbreaking! It's every parent's worst fear, and Harry is the last person that it should be happening to.

SO.. I got my hopes up a lot (like, A LOT) when I read that this was tagged with slash, and saw that two of the 'main characters' you had listed were James and Teddy.. Because you know I love the ship, but then my heart dropped a little when I read "Teddy and Victorie's house" - Maybe there is still a shred of hope for me? Maybe? hehe.

I can't wait to get some James point of view. I love that you're writing a blind character as well, and I'm so excited to see what you will do with this story! This was such a grasping introduction. I will definitely be back for more!

Julie

Author's Response: Hello Julie!
I'm gonna start at the end and say sorry, because it is not Teddy/James. If only it could work in this story, but I see Teddy/James as more of a happy pairing and sadly this story isn't that. It is a James II/ OC. Which the OC will appear in the next chapter whenever I sit down to writie it :p

I've always thought that living with the dursleys would have some effect on Harry when raising his kids and the one that showed here was that he would be lenient on them, but also not spoil them like Dudley.

Thanks Julie for your review! :D I actually have an idea on how to start the next chapter, and I have a week off soon, so hopefully I will get it done then :)

Merry Christmas!
-Kyle


 Report Review

Review #18, by bansheeAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: The Rising Wizard

22nd December 2014:
Hi! I am... really.. late for your Hot Seat day, but I am finally on vacation and here to read!

I really liked your introduction paragraph. I thought it instantly created this beautiful visual of a summer outside, just to have it immediately destroyed by the visual (invisible visual? heh) of the men in the cloaks showing up.

THE CHILDREN! And the bunny! Not the bunny! lol. This is so instantly attention grabbing!

These men so far, I really am morbidly enjoying their characterization. I find it interesting that they call Voldemort (I'm assuming) 'Tom' ,and that they both seem to have that twisted viewpoint that killing Muggles is fun, and Muggles are unnecessary.

I love your style of writing for this, as if someone is telling this as a story.

The idea that Zac (which I will now exclusively call him, hah!) already has the mind set that he is SO much better than Voldemort is so entertaining, especially considering the older man calls him out for copying Voldemort on a lot of things.

This was such a captivating beginning! I was really pleasantly surprised when I got to the bottom and read that this was your first novel! It has this certain promise to it that it's going to be really good! I am worried for James and Albus for sure! Maybe Zac will be like Voldemort again and at least wait until Albus is done with his school year to attack ;)

Wonderful first chapter!

Julie

Author's Response: Do you think I would really complain about you being late for the Hot Seat Day? I'm just pleased I have another review!

It's surprising the number of people grieving for the bunny. Yes, I had to kill the bunny. You should be lucky it's not a more important character.

Zac feels a bit let down about Voldemort. As he accurately explains, Voldemort had so much potential, and then got beaten by a seventeen year old boy. In Zac's mind, that's pretty pathetic. He wants to be Voldemort done right.

Voldemort was very supporting of Harry's education by waiting until the end of the year to attack. *grins* I have a feeling Zac will be supportive of Albus's education as well.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #19, by bansheeDream Catcher: Patronus

22nd December 2014:
Hey Maggie! I am like... yikes.. three.. four days late for your Hufflepuff Hot Seat day, but I am slowly catching back up! One day I will finish DCTN, when I have time to go back and re-read. But this one looked good, with Quidditch and Next Gen, so I had to check it out!

I also really love that you've decided to use Molly in this fic! She's such an under-loved character and I think she has so much potential.

Onto the story!

I really loved how you introduced us to Molly with all of her memories in her exam. We got to see those bits and pieces of her and the things she thinks of to make herself happy, all wrapped up in the introduction. I thought it was really creative! Especially the part about the Cannons, how it sort of introduces her playing for them.

This was a really nice introduction chapter! I love that her Patronus is a panda bear. That's so original! I can't wait to see how that translates into her personality.

I can't wait to read more of this!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #20, by bansheeThrough the Black: Nothing Is Immune

21st December 2014:
Yes, new chapter! :D

The cute little touches are SO perfectly wrapped into the dialogue. Julianne is - so far - wonderful at acting casual. I was worried for a bit that Sirius would be the one that would be 'too casual' but I love sort of seeing that myth overturned.

Hehe, for some reason, I have a feeling Remus' mother isn't really sick...

I love that their bickery dynamic doesn't change now that they're in their relationship. Julianne still manages to hold her own in conversations with Sirius, and even though she has those totally understandable blushing, cute moments, she still is level headed through the 'new relationship glow'. I loved Sirius' excuse for walking with her :D

The part where Julianne talks about Scott, and what is going to happen was so meaningful. It's exactly true, though, what'll happen to Scott as the time goes on. I really love when you throw those little 'war' details in to the story, and remind us that there really are a lot of other things going on besides romances and Quidditch.

I like that you've done a little bit more explaining about Lily and Julianne here :) It sort of feels like Julianne knows that Lily may have some feelings brewing for James, and that it all goes back to Julianne and James' friendship, and them being fiercely defensive of each other.

God, after the Scott moment, it's got to be absolutely terrifying for any one of the students to get letters like that. I'm still wondering what's up with the cousins, though, considering she said she hasn't seen them in forever.

Yay empty classroom kisses! hehe.

Aw, James' birthday! Is it going to be in the next chapter?? Too cute. I wonder if James will find out on his birthday... ohh jeez I can't wait to read it! Julianne and Sirius are too adorable.

Wonderful chapter, Claire! I can't wait to read more! Have a good holiday, too!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey, Julie! Glad you liked it!

Julianne's ability to hide her emotions fairly easily is actually a big part of her character, even if she slips up more than a few times haha. And she spent three solid years with a huge crush on him and managed to keep it from almost everyone, so I figured she'd have a bit of practice. And with the way that JK writes Sirius, I'd always figured that if he had ever fallen for someone, he must have fallen for them hard because that's just his personality.

The part about Scott was actually a last minute addition, but it fit in so well with what was going on in the world at the time and offered a perfect spot for some more development for Julianne and maybe even some foreshadowing? :P

One thing that has gotten more and more important as I've been writing is emphasizing the fact that Julianne is not mean. She can be rude, blunt, and almost offensively sarcastic, but she's never mean. And I think that really plays a part with Lily and her. Obviously she's going to be on James's side, but she also is not going to push Lily to do something she knows isn't right. Plus, I hate when Lily is magically in love with James seventh year after hating him for so long, so she had to start developing feelings for him at some point.

After looking back, the cousin thing was extremely vague and I'm not sure how well it worked for the plot point I was getting at haha. But there was a little part that did foreshadow something...

And I didn't put James' birthday into the story because I couldn't figure out how it really furthered the plot besides Julirius fluff :/ Not that that would be bad exactly, but I just couldn't figure it out.

Next chapter is already in the queue! And happy holidays to you too!


 Report Review

Review #21, by MoonyxlunaFiery-Haired Queen (Inseparable): Fiery-Haired Queen (Inseparable)

18th December 2014:
Happy Hot seat day, Jayde!

YOU DON'T EVEN KNOW.. Annabel Lee is my FAVORITE Edgar Allan Poe poem (I'm a sucker for the romance. sigh). I'm so excited for this!

Taking that poem and making it into a Snily is SUCH a good idea. It translates so well to the poem with the idea of them being young and in love, and sort of being blinded by that 'love'.

I have sort of a love/loathe for Snily as a ship, so I love that Severus blames fate here for taking Lily away from him and sending her to James' arms, versus understanding the fact that it was his own actions.

I really like how you create that separate world for the two, and how Severus can't really seem to look past that and into the big picture.

In his dying moments, Snape creates peace for himself and I think it was really beautifully written. Whether or not their 'kingdom' has been destroyed or not, it's sort of tragically lovely that he can create that for himself in the end.

This was lovely, Jayde!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #22, by MoonyxlunaNeville, Wait!: Mumbling Mimbulus Mibletonia's

17th December 2014:
Dee! I am late for your hot seat day but I am here now! (stupid work)

I have to admit that the banner drew me to this one. It's so pretty! So yay for that doing its job :p

I love reading Neville as a teacher, and this was definitely no exception. I love the internal voice you give him here, how he just knows exactly what's going to happen with his students the second they get to the classroom, and how that happens exactly. It made me laugh!

He hope they would pay close attention today - I think you meant 'hoped' if you edit :)

Ah, I feel like the Mimbulus Mimbletonia lesson would bring such a sense of nostalgia to Neville. And it definitely helps that his student then immediately proceeded to bring up Harry Potter! lol. I really liked that Neville didn't seem too embarrassed here, that you've sort of written him grown up from his childhood insecurities.

I thought it was SO cute that Neville could see himself and Hannah in the two students of his. I'm smiling like a loon right now :D And that it motivated him to take the extra step forward and actually GO to The Leaky Cauldron to visit her!

Their conversation was so sweet. I love how nervous you wrote Neville, and Hannah seemed to be fantastic at holding her own in conversation; perhaps because she was in her comfort zone at The Leaky Cauldron? Either way, very cute! And it was neat to see how his fear bubbled up a little bit and caused him to run away rashly, before Hannah had to stop him.

This was SO CUTE. I just may have to find the sequel! Lovely work, Dee!

Julie

Author's Response: Julie :D Your lateness is nothing compared to mine, don't worry! The banner is beautiful, I'm so envious of all the talented TDA members.

I'm so glad you liked Neville, he's one of my favouite characters in the series and I so desperately wanted to get him right. I wanted to keep his Neville-ness but show that the war and adulthood had changed him, I'm thrilled that came across.

I hope you found the sequel, and that you enjoyed it if you did! Thank you so much for the gorgeous review (and for pointing out the typo, I have no excuse not to fix them now that I'm a TA)

Dee :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by MoonyxlunaBound by Love: Things Least Expected

16th December 2014:
Hey Karen! Happy Hot seat day!

I love the imagery you create with your first few sentences. Just the idea of the plants as curtians made me smile a lot!

His little thoughts about his wife and their readyness to have kids was really sweet. I'm going to cross my fingers for Hannah Abbot that their kids are in Hufflepuff! lol

This is kind of just me being nit-picky, but I noticed in the first sentence it said how Professor Sprout left the place neat and tidy, and then when Neville sits down he's staring at a bunch of clutter not knowing really where to start. They sort of negate each other, just in case you edit! :)

Anyway!

That was SO SWEET of Neville's grandmother to hold on to the book after all that time. Gosh this is just so adorable so far! I love the little mention of the gum wrappers, too, from the book. I just read one of those Harry Potter conspiricy theory articles where it said Neville's mom was communicating to him through the wrappers. Anyway! I love seeing little details like that in people's stories; it makes it that much more real.

His mother's letter was so bittersweet, especially when he turned the page to see the gum wrappers. I can't even imagine how hard it must be for Neville to finally have something from his parents for so long of having nothing.

This was really lovely, especially when I got to the bottom and realized it was your first story! So yay and congratulations for that!! It's making me smile for sure!

Julie

Author's Response: Heyllo Julie! Thank you so much for dropping by! :-)

Thank you! I always do try to paint as nice a picture as I am able, especially when it comes to settings, so I'm happy that it came across nicely as well as made you smile! :-)

That letter from his mum was very hard to write and I had to re-do it several times before I was happy with it, not only that but I wanted to make sure I could do as much justice to her from the get-go as I can.

Thank you so much again for the read and review--I'm really happy you enjoyed it! :-)

Karen xoxo

P.S. -- with a conspiracy theory like that, I do not think I -want- to know exactly what she'd be saying to him lol

P.S.#2 -- Thank you also for the congrats! :-) :-) :-)


 Report Review

Review #24, by MoonyxlunaLying Josephine: Breakable Girls and Boys

15th December 2014:
Hey Tanya! Happy hot seat day!

I have to start out by saying how sad I am that I haven't read this sooner! I really have enjoyed reading up to here so far. Fred and Josephine's developing friendship in the previous chapters has been so fun to read. I love how their conversations are seemingly so one-sided, but at the same time they retain this balance in their friendship where Fred can basically argue himself in circles with Josephine's facial expressions. It gives her such a neat characterization, because where she's really quiet, she has such a prominent voice through the chapters I've read so far, that even when she's not speaking she's still being brilliantly characterized.

Another thing I have particularly loved have been a lot of your one-liners in this story so far. There have been a few times where the truth in some of your sentences has been very awe-inspiring, and they stay with you as you keep reading.

The formatting of each of the chapters has been really neat, how you start each one of them off with a little happy part from the past, where we see the two happy and bonding, and then the second half is the 'present day' of the story where we see Josephine out on her own and trying to cope with things. I am so curious on how things are going to play out in the upcoming chapters!

Anyway! On to this chapter!

Their friendship is absolutley fantastic. I love how Fred can read her expressions so well, and all of the snark she manages to give him through her eyebrows is fabulous. That gift was so adorable! I feel like you captured a side of Fred that authors rarely do, just through the gift; the large part of his personality is the laughter, but that's not the only part of him, and it was sweet to see some of those emotions poking through in that part.

That, and the 'poke poke poke' was hilarious.

I am SO looking forward to some interactions - in the 'past' part of the story, or the 'present' - between Josephine and George. That one little moment during her interview was NOT enough!

The one sentence George says over the microphone, I think the word 'weary' just perfectly describes how he has to be feeling. That day itself has got to be so overwhelming, emotions wise, to George, and to have it be that busy probably doesn't help.

Yay, she's a Hufflepuff!

Well, just rip my heart out with the Christmas gift against the wall.

That whole scene was so emotional, and I feel like it set the dynamic between the two of them into motion. It was so well written and definitely left me needing more! I've become very attached to this in a short amount of time, and I can't wait to read more of it!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #25, by MoonyxlunaA Tale of Star-Crossed Lovers: In Which the Rest of the Story Is Revealed

14th December 2014:
This was wonderful.. I need to go watch Monty Python and the Holy Grail again now.. lol!

Ron's whole narrative voice was so entertaining. I love the random Muggle things he keeps in his pocket, and that you still included some of the characterizations that he gets in Dramione stories.

And the Mongolian yurt man returns! hahaha.

This was SO entertaining. I really want a whole story about Mad-Eye Moody having a cooking show.

Fantastic!

Julie

Author's Response: Omg wow all these reviews from you today, you spoil me! Thank you!!!

So glad you enjoyed Ron's narrative voice and the random Muggle things. I always see characters with Muggle mobile phones in fics and it confuses me, haha.

Genghis Khan the yurt man saves the day! Or at least saves Ron from getting lost in his own house.

Ahaha, funny you should ask about the cooking show story, because it exists! XD It's called Death Eater's Kitchen, the only story on my AP with a worse banner than this one :p

Thanks so much for your review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>