Reading Reviews From Member: banshee
  
624 Reviews Found

Review #1, by bansheeVictoire: The Dream

20th May 2015:
Hello again!

I wonder what it says about the biological pass-down of genetics that Victorie is having dreams about werewolves, and I wonder how much of it is actually from the events. So far we haven't seen any personality traits that would suggest that Victorie has been effected, but I think it'd be interesting.

Anyway!

Same as the last chapter, I really enjoy Victorie and Asher's dynamic. Their conversation and body language flow really well together, and I wouldn't be surprised if something eventually happened between them (even though they say no). You've done a really wonderful, natural job showing us the extent of their friendship, without just dumping the information at the reader.

I love Asher's constant step back from the Wizard world and into the Muggle one. I believe that's a huge flaw with the entirety of the Wizarding world, that they all seem to think that Muggles are sad and useless, and it's entertaining to see that recognized here.

Lol, Marko's definitely got his priorities figured out.

I love Parvati as a Divination teacher :D And I love the idea of the personality change while she's at school. I wonder how much is just fabricated for her own amusement, and how much is personality change/development from 'The Sight' growing in her.

I don't think I mentioned this in the last review, but I looove Hufflepuff Teddy. It's my headcanon and it always makes me grin like a loon.

"The fact other people are sad doesn't undermine your problems," she said quietly. - YES thank you. I wish people understood this!

my two star students wouldn't miss a lesson just for a party. - heh, puns.

The tiny bit of attitude that comes out from Victorie I think really added to her developing characterization. It gives her another layer to her character, and really reminds us that she's still a teenager who likes her privacy.

Well. I'm officially in love and addicted to this story. I so rarely read stories about Victorie, and I feel like her characterization along with your writing really managed to pull me in successfully. I'll definitely be looking forward to updates on this story, and I'm so glad I swapped with you so I got the chance to read it!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #2, by bansheeVictoire: Uncle Harry's Warning

20th May 2015:
Hey again!

Alright, here goes!

So we finished off the last chapter with the girl screaming, which definitely had me clicking immediately forward to get to this chapter.

Professor Corner, the Head of Ravenclaw House - I love little inclusions of characters from Harry's Hogwarts time.

Same as the first chapter, your descriptions are fantastic and your writing flows so naturally. I really find myself being put right into the scene from reading this. All of your original characters so far are interesting. I'm looking forward to learning more about them as I read on. I really like that you've taken the time to give them different class schedules and time blocks; I think it adds to the realness of this story.

I was actually a little surprised that Victorie didn't turn in the paper right away. I'm hoping that Izzy already saw it and they're going to do something about it! I actually thought at first that it was sent to Victorie, and it was about Louis. Intense stuff is happening!

I think the time stamps in the chapters are really neat, and I feel like they add to the story.

hahaha! Wizards make it so hard on themselves without Google. Asher and Victorie seem to have a good a good chemistry together, and their dynamic is really interesting to read so far.

I really like that you have your students doing homework. In the books that was a huge portion of Ron and Harry's time together, and I feel like authors all too often skim over that fact, and it loses some of the general Potter-ness. I think it also provided a nice sort of fluff/filler for the chapter to balance the action/mystery dynamic that the rest of the story so far. A definite success.

Speaking of Potter!

You have a really good knack for writing Harry, from his gestures to the way he talks. I feel like Harry can sometimes be a hard character to capture since we know him so well, and I think you were successful with that.

His hair had turned black to match Harry's - d'awww.

Even though Harry assures Victorie and Teddy not to worry about Greyback's death and it probably wasn't involved, I can't help but feel like they way Lucius had warned Cormac and Greyback laughing while dying, and the pictures are all connected. (Which, I suppose would be the point? hehe.)

I feel like it'd be a very 'Ravenclaw' thing to do to listen to the report and maybe not really realize that it could be hurtful to some other bystanders. That being said, it definitely adds more of that realistic touch that I'm quickly loving so much. The report itself was also really informative as to what's going on with the 'outside world' in the story.

If it wasn't obvious, I really enjoyed reading this. The story has a really excellent pull to it, and it really shows that you've thought a lot out and put time into writing this. It's very good quality writing, and very entertaining and thought provoking. I'm definitely looking forward to reading on!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #3, by bansheeVictoire: The Guard

20th May 2015:
Hey Emma! Here for our review swap! Thanks again for being cool about this taking an extra day; I actually managed to finish a chapter last night so yay!

Comments on chapter one, since I read it anyway.

I love that you used Cormic McLaggen as a character (even if he ends up being a minor one). I hardly ever see him in stories and I love that he and Harry/Ron don't exactly have the best friendship. It made me chuckle.

Your descriptions are amazing. The little prologue at the beginning definitely managed to do its job and pull me right into the story. I'm really interested to see where this is going to go.

I really love Teddy and Victorie's friendship, and I really love the way you've characterized Victorie from the first chapter. It's definitely got to bring some solace to the whole family - Teddy especially included - that Greyback is gone.

I didn't really write as much as I'd like to about this chapter, but do know that I loved it dearly; I thought it was a really good start to this story.

(I just also decided to leave this on chapter one because my chapter two review got kind of long, so yay reviews!)

Julie

 Report Review

Review #4, by banshee(Sometimes) Love: Just Ain't Enough

19th May 2015:
Remus and Tonks is one of my favorite ships, and just reading the summary and the challenge this is for, I want to start with a big old NOPE.

But I'm gonna read anyway because I'm a glutton for punishment (I ship the heck out of Remus and Tonks, so..) and yay review swaps.

/ramble. Let's do this!

Oh, Remus. I feel like it fits him really well that, instead of telling Tonks all of the nice, reasonable points for her staying, he sort of says the blunt line and upsets her. It really fits the entire overlay of their relationship.

Everything hurts and I love it.

You really do such a brilliant job capturing Tonks' emotions as they're arguing. Their relationship is really built on a lot of problems, and it makes everything so much more emotional. And I like (well, as much as I can like) that she does throw it back into Remus' face that he's running away again.

we have the rest of our lives for that but... - *ugly crying noises*

How could you write this!?? It's breaking my heart. I love Tonks' regret after she realizes that Remus would be fighting with less than his all with nothing to look forward to. Remus always has that self-loathing characteristic and I feel like Tonks realizes that once the heat of the moment is subdued.

I don't really read a lot of canon-adjacent stories, but when I read this it really feels like something that actually happened in the books. And it reads like you put time into working through each of their personalities and picking out the best dialogue and prose for every sentence, and it really shows.

The moment where Tonks transforms her hair into a disguise is AMAZING. I can't put it into a good enough compliment, but that's SUCH A GOOD IDEA.

Just heartbroken. All over again. I knew it was going to happen and I'm still sad.

That's not to say I didn't love your writing of it. That half of a second of hope that Remus felt was literally all I needed to be okay with the outcome. *continues to pretend she's okay*

If it wasn't blatantly obvious (it may not have been from all the whining) I really loved this. I so rarely read Remus and Tonks stories anymore, but whenever I do I always get pulled right back in to shipping them, and this was no different. Your writing is amazing.

Lovely work!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #5, by bansheeOnce More: Once More

17th May 2015:
You definitely had me the second you said Scorpius/Albus (weirdly becoming an unexpected OTP, so..) but I just opened this up and kind of want to reach through the computer screen and hug you.

Seriously, I've been staring at your review (and many others. yikes.) ever since you posted it, and re-reading it and having no idea what to say to reply.

Except for illogical keyboard smashes and ugly crying noises, most likely what this is going to be, I'm gonna try to write a review now.

I love all of the details you put into this story. In the beginning you really put the reader right into the scene with Scorpius waking up and getting ready, and it all flows so well together and doesn't feel just thrown in.

He mentally berated himself for thinking 'fluffy cloud' and corrected himself; cumulus - what a nerddd I love him♥♥! You seriously have to know that nerd!Scorpius is like MY THING. (insert ugly crying noises here.)

Aww... Scorpius pining for Rose (and being friends with Albus who defends him, but we'll get back to that) was really bittersweet. I love that he compares it to the protagonists in his books, how the typical start of a "love hate" story doesn't quite happen the way it does in real life.

Seeing him smile, though, when he seems to push himself into the "over it" stage makes me kind of curious as to where the feelings all were. *moving on* Either way, it's nice to see him grasping that she seems stuck in her ways and that his feelings are more than misplaced. It's sort of sad, though, since Rose seems to be pushing away any chance she'd have at even a friendship, romance aside. It really does give a realistic touch to the story, and her characterization, though, especially him seeing something else in her look towards the end. I love when characters have blunt and rash flaws like that; it makes them more interesting to read.

Rose had never had the touch with other creatures that he had - lol, maybe with other humans, too? hahah.

further accentuated it by cutting her hair short -headcanon fulfilled. Seriously. As a girl that recently took a clippers to her bushy impossible hair, I always think that Rose would do the same. #weirdanecdotes

I love Albus and Scorpius' friendship. I feel like it's just so easy between the two of them.

He was beginning to believe it was personality as well as looks that were the deciding factor for him - yay :D

I feel like Scorpius' trains of thought he goes on are really typical of a young person trying to understand their sexuality. It's definitely a relateable moment watching him sort of 'catch himself' thinking about it more and more as he's coming to understand and accept his own feelings. Admitting it to yourself is a huge step and I really like the way you wrote Scorpius doing it.

I liked how you used the Hipogriff lesson and - heh - sort of showed us what could have happened if Draco hadn't decided to be a dumb dumb (in the 12+ language version) and ruined the lesson.

a;lskdfj their blushing and little smiles are so cute. (I warned you. keyboard smashes.)

and then you know a DRAGON because we just can't have our fluff and that's it :D That was super suspenseful and when you warned me about the angst I definitely went 'worst case scenario' in my head and panicked a little. (a lot.)

Nothing like an attack from a dragon to get you to admit your feelings, though.

Angst. I love it and I loathe it. Because a YEAR later and Scorpius is still in the hospital!? Because I want to be all 'awww' and happy for Scorpius and Albus being together, but also oh my god, that's a long time, especially when you think about the fact that it's a magical medical facility. And then Albus having Dragon Pox, and still visiting Scorpius. (very ugly crying now.)

But... the end is so bittersweet! MY HEART. I love that, through everything - and literally, like, everything you threw at them, my god - they still stuck together.

This was incredible. Heartbreaking, and incredible. I can't even begin to thank you enough for writing this, and can't put my praise into words. This was such a great story; I feel like you developed the characters and their world so well in it just being a one-shot.

Amazing work! Thank you so much for writing this!

(yikes I wrote a lot.)

Julie

 Report Review

Review #6, by bansheeElsewhere: Elsewhere

12th May 2015:
Hi! First off, congratulations on winning Hufflepuff's story of the month! I gave this a read during the voting process, but I thought I'd stop back and give it a review as well.

I think you really did a good job in this story capturing James' characterization. I always have thought of him as an extremely loyal friend, and I think in the beginning in the hospital wing it really shines a light on that aspect. I also really liked the internal struggle you wrote about James trying to force himself to think about Lily; I thought it was realistic.

I really like the idea of James being hesitant to forgive Sirius, and only considering after Remus wants him to. I read a lot of where James and Sirius never have tensions in their friendship, and it's refreshing to see that maybe that isn't always the case.

The talk between Remus and James in the library was so adorable. I really particularly like the way that Remus chooses to identify himself, sans labels. It's more about the person than the word, and I think it really fits Remus' character.

I loved Remus' hesitations, especially because it really seemed that he was more worried for their friendship than anything else. The kiss was so sweet and urgent, and then Remus falling asleep with James next to him was so sweet!

The fact that James' feelings for Lily don't just go away is really great. I think when there's a 'crush' the way James had for Lily, even a new relationship doesn't just make that go away, and I really liked that you referenced that in James' little speech.

If it wasn't obvious, I absolutely adored this. I've never read a James/Remus before, and this definitely made me ship them quite a bit!

Lovely work!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #7, by bansheeThrough the Black: Summer Nights

11th May 2015:
Had to.

Ah, into summer! This is so exciting.. especially with the title. Can we expect some Sirius and Julianne singing duets in the bleachers? James and Remus as backups? Peter can be that one weird guy looking up the girl's skirt?

Yeah no okay.

THEY'RE GOING SHOPPING TOGETHER. THIS IS SO DOMESTIC I'M GONNA CRY. YOU FOUND MY WEAKNESS.

Aw, she just completely panics when the old guy thinks they're a couple. When are they going to admit it??

I wonder what's going on with her mother.. It feels like there's an unspoken tension there when Julianne is asking her mother if she wants to go with to The Potter's..

hahaha.. Mrs. Potter FTW. Good old blunt mother.

James, you poor little lost puppy.

It was really sweet that Sirius seemed to instantly reassure Julianne when she was skeptical. They did seem to be at that point in their relationship where it was a lot of secret kissing and 'being friends' when people were around, so it's nice to seem them re-establishing as something more. Or, DTR-ing :p

I love how they give each other ONE cute little smile and James is already whining.

"I also live next door to James. Are you going to ask me if there’s anything happening between us?" - hahaha. nice try sweetie.

I love love love all of this cute fluff stuff, but I still can't shake the feeling that there's something coming up in the next few chapters that I should be worried about. As much as I want to beg you not to do it... I really want to read more!

Brilliant chapter, as always! I look forward to reading more!!


Julie

Author's Response: Yay! You're back!

Yes, the shopping! I had no idea what to do for this chapter, but I figured that shopping together was always a safe bet :P And, as I think you found out, they definitely admit it sooner rather than later.

There is something going on with her mother, but it's probably not what you are thinking...

Ever since I came up with the idea of a secret relationship, I knew that I wanted Mrs. Potter to be the one to out them. And James whining was just too easy. His best friend and his basically a sister have been hiding a relationship from him would definitely make him a bit whiny haha.

I think Sirius is a lot sweeter than a lot of people give him credit for. When he falls for someone and actually falls for them, he does it hard.

Hehe, well, you're not wrong about something coming up ;)

Hope you can come back soon! I love reading your reviews :)

Claire


 Report Review

Review #8, by bansheePast Tense: third.

11th May 2015:
Hey Lisa

I'm in love with this story so far. Steph is so snarky and biting, and all of her friends are so fun to read about.

I love the way Steph talks to Septima. I think they're going to have such a good dynamic with Steph maybe not showing her the same amount of "respect your boss" as Septima may be used to, and it's super entertaining.

I kind of love Connor? Yes, I'll keep an eye on him :D

It's really entertaining when you sit down and think about how inaccurate Hogwarts really was with records, and the fact that every grade learned out of one textbook. Poor first years! lol.

I am definitely looking forward to reading more of this and seeing what you will do with it. I can't even imagine, and that's what makes it so great!

ttyl!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #9, by bansheeA Black Christmas: A Black Christmas

11th May 2015:
Hey Chiara! Since this was nominated for Hufflepuff SOTM, I figured I'd check it out for our swap!

I have to start off on Ted's side. I suppose it's all good to be optimistic, but even not reading the book, family not coming to the wedding really isn't a good sign.

Startled by Regulus's suddent cry - I think you meant sudden here :) I noticed a few more spelling errors and misused words here and there reading. I'd suggest taking another look through or having a quick-beta on the forums take a look (or you could PM me since I'm posted on the Quick Beta thread :p ), just to pick up on some of those things :) I remember you saying you were from Italy so even just having someone work with you on phrasings could be really helpful.

hehe, teenage Sirius is absolutely adorable. I can't stop grinning at his general apathy towards his family and biting sarcastic thoughts directed at his brother.

"She's a Metamorphmagus, you idiot!" Sirius intervened. "Guess you don't even know what a Metamorphmagus is..." - gotta love sibling rivalry. I was almost surprised their mother didn't yell at them for picking fights at dinner. hehe.

There's a super helpful topic on the forums called Everything You Ever Wanted to Know About Dialogue (Diagon Alley - Flourish and Blotts - The Fundamentals) that goes over Dialogue tags, and I'd suggest taking a look at that. It was really helpful for me when I first started writing and learned about properly structuring sentences.

I definitely got a good chuckle out of them asking Ted if his father was a Goblin. I definitely never thought about that!

It seems like The Black's dinner could definitely rival the chaos of some of the Weasley dinner's I've read, all dashed in with some bigotry from good old Bellatrix. I think you did a good job capturing that chaos and the general attitudes that most of the Black family would probably have around someone who wasn't pureblood.

Definitely love the little laugh at the end about presents. Go Regulus! hehe.

Lovely work on this!

Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie!

Eheheh! I know... Poor Ted knew this would end in disaster... But Blacks are stubborn, and Andromeda is no exception, so...

Oh, yes... You're not the first one to suggest it. Maybe I could profit of your help, since you're offering?

Sirius and Regulus were just so fun to write! I wanted them to be the typical older and younger brother, hope it worked out well!

I really don't know where the goblin bit came from, just an idea that popped in my head out of the blue, but I loved it so much, and I'm glad it made you chuckle!

Yeah, pretty chaotic! That's how I wanted it to come out! :)
And well, were I Reg, I would've been more interested in presents, too...

Thank you for the lovely review, I'm really happy we swapped!

Hugs,
Chiara.


 Report Review

Review #10, by bansheeMeals With Muggles : Burgers And Chips

10th May 2015:
Hey Kaitlin!

Oh my god I LOVE THIS SHIP ALREADY. I saw the thread about it a few weeks ago, and I was going to post in it blabbering on about how COOL it would be if the pair of them happened, but then it would have been all fangirling and no context so I backed away and let my feelings slide.

hehe.

He had been thinking about this sandwich all morning long. - I never thought I'd have a moment in life where I'd relate so well to Dudley Dursley. heh.

This might be something strange to comment on, but I really like how you didn't just 'make Dudley thin' or ignore the fact that he's overweight. It's something that's at the edge of his thoughts, when he's moving and even when he's not, and I think that really gives a realistic feeling to his characterization and to the story.

I really completely enjoyed Dudley's reaction to finding out that Marietta had attended Hogwarts. It was hilarious, but at the same time you definitely have to feel for Dudley that some of those things were pretty traumatic! hehe.

(I am kind of in love with this story.)

ARE THEY GONNA BOND FOR THEIR DISLIKE OF HARRY POTTER? omg that's fabulous.

I had to actually have surgery to have it taken off. - ... like.. I never really thought about how he'd get rid of the tail.. dang I almost feel bad? hahaha

If it wasn't completely obvious, I really enjoyed this. I think you managed to give this ship so much credit and really convinced me of how they totally belong together. I loved how you wrote Dudley, and incorporated both of their "Potter-enduced mishaps" into the story.

Brilliant work!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #11, by bansheeThrough the Veil: Beyond the Veil

10th May 2015:
Hello! Here for our review swap!

I've never heard that quote before, but I kind of love it. Just thinking about what you could do with that and the fact that this is about Sirius and angst already has my heart breaking into a million tiny pieces.

BUT, let's begin!

I always think it's interesting reading different peoples' interpretations of what 'beyond the veil' (death in general) actually consists of, and I really like how you interpreted the first few seconds of nothingness for Sirius. I definitely thing - in that scenario - that hearing and seeing Harry's reactions would be at the top of his thoughts.

I really enjoyed all of the details you wrote with him lying in the bed. They were lovely!

All the pain, all the fear, and all anger seemed gone from his features - This is so interesting. Neat. I love the idea that Azkaban was etched out of his expression in the afterlife. It just seems like it is something good that you'd want to happen for Sirius.

….he looked alive again. - #heartbreak

The whole part with Sirius seeing and speaking to James was really heartbreaking. Sirius not understanding what's happening (falling through a veil would really be a confusing way to go if a situation of a conscious afterlife existed) was really realistic, and reading him actually having to be convinced by James that he was dead was super interesting.

Even through the angst of Sirius being unsure of what to do, I still really like that he gets a bit of a happy ending to end up being able to be with James and Lily again. If anyone deserves happiness after a life in Azkaban, it's Sirius.

This was lovely!

Julie

Author's Response: Thanks for this review, I'm extremely happy that you seemed to have enjoyed this! I have to say, it was pretty hard to write, it's good to see that the moments of nerveracking frustration seems to have paid off!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by bansheeThrough the Black: O.W.L.s

10th May 2015:
Hi!

Coming back to this story after not reading it for a while (*hides in shame*) is really like I never left it, and I think it's just because all of the characters are so well written and so well put together, that they stick with you after not reading for a while.

I love how the only reason Julianne has for "Why don't you just ask James" is because she finds Sirius first. Not because they're dating. It just made me grin. I like seeing all of the tiny book details worked into this, specifically in the beginning with the moment where they almost get expelled for tricking Snape.

'Insane' is one way to put the pranks, but really it's got to be scary when people are using unforgivables so quickly AT A SCHOOL.

Says the genius who is doodling ‘Mr. Lily Evans’ all over his paper instead of studying. - oh. my god. a;ldkjf leave me here to cry

Aw, James is actually giving Sirius permission to ask Julianne out!?!? they must be getting really obvious. hehe I love it!!

I really love all of the minor details as the students are together studying. (specifically, asking about Accio) It really gives the story specific details that add to it, and bring the reader right into the magical world.

It was really interesting reading Snape's Worst Memory from the perspective of an original character. I think all of the times I've ever read it in fanfiction, it's either been from Lily's perspective, Snape's, or James', all of whom were directly involved with the incident. I think you did a lovely job capturing the feeling and the shift in emotion from the moment coming from Julianne's perspective. Coming from her, the amusement at the situation was very acceptable and understandable.

"Oh, James," Julianne muttered, too quiet for any of her friends to hear. - This moment was perfect.

I (still, yes) love the dynamic of Julianne and Sirius' relationship. I feel like they just go together SO well, and every moment with them together never fails to put a smile on my face.

REMUS MOMENT = FAVE :D

Seriously, I love this story so much. It's one of my favorites on this site. I realize that this review ended up being nothing but gushing and praise, but you definitely deserve it. Can't wait to read more!


Julie

Author's Response: Julie! I'm so glad that you came back, I love reading your reviews!

Yeah, Julianne may be kind of emotional, but she definitely follows logic more. It just so happened that the first one of the boys she saw was the one that she's secretly hooking up with.

Hehe, that line about 'Mr. Lily Evans' was one of those lines that just comes out when you don't expect it and I had to sit there and laugh about my own line for a minute. And James might possibly have an ulterior motive for why he wants them to get together at that particular time :P

There was only one time that I had read that scene from an outside POV, but the girl was really close to Lily and we still got mostly her reactions. It was fun writing it from Julianne's perspective because she is close to James and Sirius and would have more sympathy for them and defend them than other people may have.

I'm glad you love Sirius and Julianne so much because they are one of my favorite couples to write. And the Remus part has been one of my favorite parts of the entire story. It's not often that I actually laugh at my own writing, but there were definitely some laughs at that one.

Aww, you're really too kind, but I'm so happy that you enjoy the story so much! Thanks for the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #13, by bansheeHistory of a Snitch: Snitch

15th April 2015:
Hey Katie! First off, congratulations on winning the Hufflepuff story of the month!

I love the idea of Lily Evans playing Quidditch. I never really thought about it before, I always just assumed that James and maybe a few of the Marauder boys played, but now that I've read the first few sentences it is an instant head-canon and I really love it. Even if she is resisting in this story it is still head-canoning in my head.

"You have an extra racing broom. Of course you have an extra racing broom," Lily said more to herself than to him. - I'm sitting in public and trying not to laugh out loud at this line. It feels like it just sums up Lily's feelings towards James at this moment so perfectly.

I love love love reading about Quidditch. I really enjoyed your writing of it, especially the commentary towards the beginning. I definitely got a kick out of it! (would it be bad to cheer for Hufflepuff anyway? NAH IMMA DO IT.)

YAY FOR LILY THOUGH!

The transition from the mention at Hogwarts of Snape's emotions to the little fluffy moment where they've been living together and James still has that Snitch was flawless and perfect. Which I realize are synonyms but idc it was fabulous.

OH MY GOD CUTEST PROPOSAL EVER. AH that's so clever I love it.

This was so sweet and fluffy and adorable. I really think you did an excellent job capturing James and Lily's personalities and telling a story about them, all surrounded on the Snitch.

Lovely work!
Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie! Thank you so much for stopping by! And thanks! I am still so surprised by getting story of the month. It was the best feeling!

I've had this scene in my head since about the time we learned that snitches had flesh memories. It just seems so perfect for them!

I'm sorry Hufflepuff had to lose, but IT SERVES A GREATER PURPOSE! :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! It really made me smile. *hug*


 Report Review

Review #14, by bansheeFaith: change.

10th April 2015:
First glance: pretty banner, intriguging summary, and I'm excited for this!

I like how the beginning starts out in the few sentences of calm. from the excitement in the chapter image and the general idea of musical stories being loud, it provides a nice contrast.

I'm immedietly intrigued (synonoms w/e shush) by the fact that her surname is Potter. I saw that she says she's the grandchild, so it immedietly gives a lot of interesting questions. Being the... second generation born after Harry's adventures, I wonder how much the name Potter is still talked about. It adds to the story and pulls the reader in.

I like that you don't spend a lot of time "introducing" us to either one of them. It really puts the reader right into what is going on in Faith and Austin's current situation, instead of spending awkward paragraphs describing each one of them.

She found a piece of paper (parchment is pricy) and scribbled a note down - this kind of feels a little awkward with the parenthesis. I think it'd be okay to just say paper.

why the Wizarding world hadn’t come up with a more instantaneous method of communication already - I MEAN REALLY. haha. and definitely laughing at the astetic. It would be wizards to do that just to distance themselves from muggles. What hipsters. *eyeroll*

“And being bi doesn’t mean that I’m going to cheat on you with a guy.” *thumbs up*. No really though, I'm not going to spend this entire review just quoting things I like. But I like this.

It kind of seems right off the bat that Cassie and Faith are having a rehashed argument, so I'm wondering if there's a little trouble in their relationship that forces them to play out old arguments to avoid whatever's really bothering them. It seems to upset Cassie that Faith won't give her a reason for not wanting to move in, so I'm kind of curious as to what that reason is.

and, breakup. :/ It sort of gives Faith some realistic qualities. She didn't seem too keen on opening up to Cassie, giving her some obvious trust issues that we'll maybe come across again in the future? We'll see!

I love the sort of grunge lifestyle that they seem to be in, and the new flat seems to only add to that style. The sort of struggling performance artist with rich parents is a really neat, under-explored plot line in this fandom.

Heh, definitely laughing at Austin's facial expression. I'd hope the water was working.

Overall thoughts: this is so interesting so far. I feel like you did a really excellent job setting up an introduction for these two, in which seems like we're just starting along with a new chapter in their life. I really enjoyed reading this!

Julie

 Report Review

Review #15, by bansheeHow You Court A...: ...Pretty Girl

19th March 2015:
Ah, another super lovely chapter.

Cedric was so sweet! and I love that it wasn't in a romantic way at all, but just Cedric helping her out because he's a good person. I think that gets so overlooked (honestly, ever since the movies) because he's genuinely a really good person, and I love how you've painted him in that light here.

I have such a great love for this story collection. Each one of these chapters so far has been SO GOOD, and each one of the girls has been given such vivid personalities and characteristics, all while staying under the same theme.

I love this so much! Brilliant work!

Julie

Author's Response: We can't express our gratitude that not only did you move on to the third chapter, but you also reviewed it! Thanks so much!

We love Cedric. Of course he has his faults, but they're not the kind you would normally see. He just knows how to treat people the way he would want to be treated.

Oh my Merlin, thank you so much! You are much too kind and we are so flattered by your kind words.

First we're fantastic and now we're brilliant!

Seriously, thank you so very very much. We are so happy to read your reviews.
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #16, by bansheeHow You Court A...: ...Werewolf

19th March 2015:
THIS WAS SO FANTASTIC.

I love werewolf stories. And I love the idea of people struggling to be okay with their condition, espeically in universes such as the Harry Potter one where it isn't socially accepted in the norm.

So I think you did a really great job narrating Padma in that sense. You can really feel her frustrations as you read this, similar to that of Remus in the books.

I love that Hermione was the one that set them up. And I love the Padma/Krum!! Not a pairing that I've ever thought of before, but I am definitely not complaining! Super super cute.

The relationship between Padma and Parvati was so sweet. It's definitely realistic to see sisters sticking up for each other the way Parvati did.

a;lkdjf I just loved this chapter so much. fantastic work!

Julie

Author's Response: Yay! You liked it!

Werewolves are a very interesting subject you almost have to consider when writing/reading fantasy.

Thank you, we didn't know how best to get the feels across on this one since Padma isn't a real feels-y character.

Good, I was afraid readers wouldn't care for the pairing and move on. I'm glad you thought it was adorable.

Being as close as Freda and I (Georgina) are to each other and the rest of our family, it's almost easier to write family love for us than romantic love.

Thank you so much for checking out our story and leaving this lovely review! We really appreciate it!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #17, by bansheeHow You Court A...: ...Weasley

19th March 2015:
Hey you two!

I'm searching through Hufflepuff stories for nominations, and I absolutely love the premise about a story of girls being shown for humans that experience heartbreak and all that jazz, so I had to go for this.

I don't really know how to put into words how much I loved this first chapter. I wanted to cheer for Roxanne when she refused the first boy. LIKE SO MUCH, YOU GO ROXANNE and not letting him think for one second he'd get away with doing anything that makes her uncomfortable. SO PROUD.

You so rarely read about girls experiencing menstrual pain, but it happens every month and it's something that made this so realistic. I definitely agree with the statement that if a boy can't handle that, he can just go away!

Alright, alright, rambling aside, you have to know how much I loved this story. dEfinitely continuing on!

LOVE IT.

Julie

Author's Response: Hey Julie! First off thank you so much for the Kecker nomination! It's made my day that a couple people have actually nominated us for stuff, and even though we probably won't win anything. (Meaning if we do win something I'm probably going to be bouncing off of the ceiling! X-D )

Glad you found it intriguing! Yup Roxanne is fun to write. Fun fact, we originally had Roxanne in Hufflepuff but we finally switched her to Gryffindor before we posted anything. She da girl!

Yeah, that's all Georgina right here. The original even made me a shade uncomfortable. She passed it to me and said "here do you discretion thing on it" but I left most of it because its supposed to be uncomfortable. Plus theoretically I think a lot maybe the majority of readers are females.

Glad you enjoyed it despite the bittersweet ending. Thanks for the reviews!! :D

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #18, by bansheeNoodles a la Scorpius: Noodles a la Scorpius

19th March 2015:
OH MY GOD ELLIE THIS WAS SO ADORABLE I CAN'T EVEN. I'm dying of laughter. I love little Scorpius! And tormenting Draco and his dislike of shoes and a;lskdfj I loved this so much! SO CUTE!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey Julie!

Thanks so much for reviewing. I'm glad you enjoyed it. There is a sequel coming out soon.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #19, by bansheeNot in the 'Mood': Conspiracy

19th March 2015:
This was SUCH an entertaining read! I think you did an excellent job writing Moody. The part with the stuffed bear had me giggling out loud!

Lovely work! (sorry this review is so short!)

Julie

Author's Response: JULIE! Welcome back!

Thank you very much--getting his character right is crucial for me considering he's got a bit of a role in both Barty and Neville's stories.

LOL Well with Moody being Moody, I had to do something funny and that is what the muses gave me. There were times I couldn't stop laughing myself when I was writing to be honest.

And no worries, thank YOU for the sweet and awesome review--it made my day! :-)

Karen xoxo


 Report Review

Review #20, by bansheeA Spoonful of Luck: Lottery, Landlords and a Lowlife’s Lair

18th March 2015:
I am LITERALLY the worst person on the earth for how long this has taken me to get to. *hugs* forgive me! And know that even though I open at work tomorrow and it is 11:30 at night, I am going to read and give you a constructive review at this very moment!

From your summary alone this is EVERYTHING. This sounds like an amazing television lgbt positive comedy show that should be aired. Plus Alicia Spinnet = YES!

Yes, well, that is what constitutes having a job.- CAN I JUST SAY, OKAY. this sentence, okay, I tell this to people almost EVERY day. ;aldkfj

ahah, I love her. she's so snarky and just FANTASTIC.

While I'm reading this I feel like I'm watching it on television. It's just so vivid and realistic that it makes the picture so real.

If the world expects you to choose a career at seventeen, what other crazy expectations they might be having? - FOR REAL THOUGH. but I think you're missing a word in this sentence? So it'd say "might they be having." - but extremely on point.

I am a freelance Necromancer - I just. I. um. Felix. what.

Quidditch brooms to deliver food to people in the residential area - yeah, so most of this review is going to be me copying text and crying about it. But this is SUCH A NEAT IDEA. This whole 'verse you've created in this first chapter is just brilliant.

Andy, this was amazing. I'm like, INSPIRED and just so happy for this story. I feel like this is going to be just an AMAZING story and I can't wait to read on. As always, fantastic work! I love reading your writing.

(also if you need kitchen horror stories you know where to find me♥)

Julie

 Report Review

Review #21, by bansheeMistletoe Kisses: Mistletoe Kisses

12th February 2015:
Ah, This is so exciting! I love this ship so much from the series and I love seeing them at a younger age!

Oh my god, I'm laughing so much at the breakfast descriptions. Sad day for Scorpius! (I bet it'll be better sooon.)

idiot day parade - aw, Scorpius, we all have those days. hahah

Aw, Scorpius has a little crush and he doesn't want to admit it to Hugo! That's so adorable! Knowing where they eventually get to, it makes me want to read a story of that night from Scorpius' point of view... Of him remembering his little crush and getting together with Hugo. (hint hint)

Their bickering was so adorable, and the kiss was PERFECT. It was so wonderfully imperfectly perfect and it makes me love them that much more.

Maybe he should make it his mission? - Oh no, shipping this x894759348 now.

THIS WAS SO CUTE. I can't stop smiling for real. alkdjf. I want all of the Scorpius/Hugo moments now!

YOU'RE WONDERFUL THANK YOU FOR WRITING THIS!


Julie

Author's Response: I'm so excited that you're excited!! I need to write more and more Hugo/Scorpius because I love them so much! Especially when Hugo is scary Hugo :D

Haha poor Scorpius wanted to have a breakfast, maybe he can have a better lunch?

He does have a crush! He's had it for a while, bless him! I can just picture him staring at Hugo from afar :P Hahahah I'd have to write it!

I CAN'T STOP SMILING EITHER!!! BECAUSE OF YOUR AWESOME REVIEW!! THank you!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #22, by bansheeAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

21st January 2015:
Hey Kristin! Happy hot seat day!

I've been meaning to check this story out for a while now, so I'm glad I got the time to be able to!

I always adore your level of detail in your writing. Right from the first few sentences you set up the scenery and just give the reader this interesting and original topic to go into. You never really think of Bellatrix and how she became the person she was before she was Voldemort's second in command, and it's neat to see her younger.

I really liked the characterization you developed with the beetle in the first part of the story. How there was the teasing and then Bellatrix just sort of comes through and destroys the fun, and how she goes on to talk about how the characterizations sort of stick with them from that moment of their life.

This might be kind of a random thing to comment on, but I love your word choice throughout this story. You just always have this way of stringing words together that is so eloquent that the story just flows so wonderfully.

The second part with the woman that Bellatrix fell in love with was really wonderfully tragic. It seemed like they really worked well together, for the fact that Bellatrix remained her own self all the while that they were together. Unfortunately she was already arranged a marriage with Rodolphus... It sort of makes you think how much the moments in her life had help in shaping her, or if she was sort of pre-destined to be on the path.

I really thought it was interesting how you left the woman unidentified throughout the story, and how she constantly seemed to hold a spot in the back of Bellatrix's head.

Bellatrix always seems like such a tricky character to grasp writing but I think you wrote her so true to her personality here. Your writing is always so enjoyable to read, and this was definitely no different!

Lovely work, Kristin!

Julie

Author's Response: Hi Julie!

Wow, thank you, that is such a compliment that you like the detail in my writing!

I'm so glad you liked that first part with the beetle and that you thought it developed their characterization. She does destroy the fun haha! And yeah exactly that scene was meant to kind of symbolize their personalities and the things that stood out about them even as they got older.

aw, thank you I'm so flattered that you like my word choice and that it flows well, that is so wonderful to hear!

I love your analysis of Bellatrix and the other woman's love - I don't think I'd heard it described as 'tragic' before, but there definitely is that aspect to it in the way it ended. I'm glad it made you think too! I love it when writing makes me think ;)

You would be correct in that statement, she is definitely a tricky character to write - so I'm just thrilled that you thought this worked. Gah, thank you so much ♥ I really appreciate it!

thank you for this amazing review!!


 Report Review

Review #23, by bansheenot like other girls: one.

21st January 2015:
Ah I am already so excited for this!

Truth time: I was scrolling through the recently added stories and saw the title for this and had a little huff of irritation because that saying bothers me, but then I went and read the summary and saw it was by you and got SUPER excited. Like SO excited.

So of course I had to read it.

I really love how you instantly established their friendships and characterizations. Especially Charis' personality and how she interacts with her friends and the people around her.

I can't wait to see where this one goes!

Julie

Author's Response: YEAH honestly that was a very deliberate choice by me because the whole "not like other girls" thing has such strong links to internalised misogyny and this idea that girls are always in competition with one another and femininity is inherently bad etc etc so i kind of relished the chance to turn that on its head a bit (and to hopefully subvert the whole treasure trove of tropes that is the albus/oc ship in general)

thanks so much for the lovely review and i hope it lives up to your expectations!


 Report Review

Review #24, by bansheeThe Rejects: iii.

21st January 2015:
Hey Aimee! Happy (late) Hot seat day!

I'm so excited for this, but first off congratulations on being made a TA! *celebrates with you*

I am kind of in love with Hazel from that chapter image. haha

Hehe, I love her being scared of her prospective teammates. It's hilarious that she wants them on the team and she's terrified of talking to them :p

I really love Maddie. The way you write her, she's such a wonderfully realistically flawed character and it makes her relateable. And her friendship with Dominique makes for a really lovely dynamic that is so incredibly sweet to read.

Can I ship Maddie/Hazel? Well I'm going to. A little. (until someone else comes along. haha) I know you probably have other plans but I just love Hazel and want her to stomp all over the people that rejected her Quidditch career with high heel shoes.

Reading through her handing out her "welcome to the team!" little moments, I can't help but want to know so much more about each one of the characters, and I can't wait to see what you have in store for them.

I got a good little chuckle at the broken fourth wall in the moment with Professor 'Umbridge'.

I love your chapter length, how you give the reader enough time to get into the story and the characters and what's going on before it ends. And the part at the end about Maddie in the Gryffindor boy's common room was HILARIOUS and I am still chucking as I finish writing this.

I'm just so excited to see where you're going to go with this and what you have in store for the characters in the upcoming chapters. Will definitely be checking back!

Julie

Author's Response: Hey Julie! :D

I really tried to create Maddie to be realistic, I didn't want her to end up being some sort of girl who was too overly-awkward because it's not realistic at all.

And you can ship whoever you want to ship! I'm all for multi-ships :) And more from Hazel is coming up soon, get ready for more sassy, Queen Hazel stomping on the world with her stilettos.

Thank you for such a lovely review! And I'm sorry I haven't been very good at the Hot Seat reviewing, I honestly have just not had time to get on this website!

~Aimee xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by bansheeNot My Type: Square One

18th January 2015:
OH MY GOD OLIVER WOOD YES I DIDN'T EVEN THINK OF WHO YOU WERE GOING TO USE BUT OMG ALL OF THE YES.

ahem.

But even for Seth, physical attraction does very little in the end; he needs to get to know a person before he can make any kind of judgement on types and such. -- demisexual representation ftw ♥

Okay, so I'm sitting at Barnes and Noble right now and there's this guy sitting next to me streaming Breaking Bad (because he's a selfish pancake and doesn't think other people need internet) and he keeps STARING BECAUSE I CAN'T STOP SMILING RIGHT NOW.

I'm like.. not even a little surprised that Theodore Nott is in this?? hahahah

I love how you work all of the little plot lines with Seth's friends in. It just instantly puts us into this familiar world and makes all of the characters so instantly fleshed out. And how it's connected to the first book!

AW DID OLIVER LEARN FOR HIM. I guess I'll see you in the library later for our tutoring lesson. -- like.. I hope you can understand how much that little moment broke my heart. I mean, I can completely understand Seth saying it and thinking that no harm would come from it, since he wouldn't have any other reason to assume that Oliver could understand him. But still!

I can't even be upset because I asked for it, didn't I? dang.

I just want to know so much more about them. Seth'd better apologize! With his face. and Oliver's face.

This was so wonderful. ♥

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR WRITING THIS YOU WONDERFUL PERSON ♥

Julie

Author's Response: ALL OF THE YES, POPULAR QUIDDITCH BOY COULDNT NOT BE OLIVER WOOD!!!

What a selfish pancake. *shakes head at him*

It's me we're talking about. I don't think anyone is surprised anymore when Theo Nott so much as pops his head around the corner in one of my stories, let alone becomes a minor to main character. He just needs to exist. But I kept him at a distance this time. I needed him for job prospects. :P

I'm glad you like the extra info on the friends and how it connects to the first book, because I couldn't help myself. Everything must connect.

Aww, did he? Unless I write a sequel, we may never know...oh, I definitely understand, it broke my heart, too. And Seth's... a little bit. Oliver just didn't deserve that.

Seth'd better apologize! With his face. and Oliver's face. - best response ever.

I'm so glad you liked it! Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>