Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
671 Reviews Found

Review #76, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Moments of Impact: He is Your Moment of Impact

8th July 2014:
Nooo :'(

You wrote Harry and Ron's friendship so beautifully and it just makes me so sAD THAT YOU MADE HARRY DIE WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS?!

The amount of affection I felt from Ron towards Harry was incredible. You're extremely talented at writing emotions and I think the choice of second person was brilliant. It just made this one-shot so much more personal and it really topped it off.

And seeing Ron being so devoted to Harry was just so perfect. I also loved the reiteration of 'moment of impact'. Because that's what Harry and Ron's friendship really felt like. It wasn't smooth sailing, it was a very big bang all the time. Those three little words were so powerful and just so true of their friendship.

Absolutely beautiful one-shot, dear ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hehe, what can I say, I'm evil ;) Aw, thanks, I'm glad you thought I did a good job :P Yeah, there moment of impact was seemingly so ordinary, but if Ron hadn't met Harry on the train, his whole life may have been totally different. Thanks again, lovely!
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #77, by ohmymerlinThe Passing: glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

8th July 2014:
Oh, this was such a moving one-shot. It was so sad seeing Sirius and Remus together. It was like that their relationship couldn't ever be restored fully after the years that had past and all the mistrust that they held for one another but their joint mourning of James and Lily, and sympathy for Harry ruled it out.

Does that even make any sense? :P

I just think you wrote them so well. It made me tear up when they were talking about their memories and this line was just so heartbreaking: "At twenty-one, Remus lost all of them."

Oh, that was like a punch to the gut :'(

Beautiful one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #78, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3 - Secrets: Prompt 3 - Friendship

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Ooh, this was a very interesting take on the friendship prompt! It's so creative and I really loved reading how Draco thought Luna was insane, haha! :P It was funny seeing his internal thoughts at this batty, yet extraordinarily friendly, girl! Poor bloke doesn't know what to think!

And it was sweet that that one act of kindness that Luna showed him was the reason he hesitated in confirming whether or not that was Harry in the Malfoy Manor in the Deathly Hallows. Very nice touch if I say so myself!

This was a great story! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #79, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: It Means Something To Us: Something's Up

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was sweet! I love reading stories about the trio and I really think you wrote their friendship well!

However, remember in my last review I talked about commas and full stops? The same mistakes have been repeated here so you might just want to give it a little read over ;)

I also think it would be good if you added a little more description about the story. It might make it a bit clearer :)

But I really liked this story. I loved how Hermione was acting very mothery to Harry! It was so sweet and gave me a giggle, ahaha! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF! :D

Author's Response: Hey Kayla!

Thank you! I must say, writing this was a real challenge because it's the Golden Trio! But I'm glad you liked it!

I really will spend more time with punctuation checking next time!
Okay, I'll think about that too :)

I'm really glad you liked it though! I thought that was quite entertaining and Hermione like!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #80, by ohmymerlinIf You Asked Me Now: Who Is It?

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

YAY! I love relationships between mother and daughter. I myself have a super strong one so whenever I read these types it just makes me so happy!

The way she was explaining everything was just so brilliant. I loved that at the time she never really realised that her mum was her best friend, but it was only until she was older (which is the exact same in my case!) and the love that Lily feels for Ginny is just so beautiful I want to get them together and give them a big squishy hug!

I also loved the little snippets of her and Harry's relationship as well! That was just so cute and I loved that she was his little girl :')

This was such a brilliant one-shot! I loved it so much! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #81, by ohmymerlinWho Killed Lucy?: Ruptures and Punctures

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh my, this is so sad! Poor Lucy D': How old was she meant to be when she died?

You really captured the emotions of Audrey and Percy, it made me so sad to read them. All they wanted was Lucy to be alive :'( It was so sad seeing them crumble and I just wanted to squish them into a hug.

The metaphor with Molly of cracking was so poignant, such a vivid moment in my brain and I just want to applaud you for how you wrote this whole one-shot. The slight repetitiveness made it feel so real and so harsh.

It was a bit sickening that the aneurysm was compared to a child's birthday party but it just made us (the readers) realise that Lucy was only young and she didn't deserve to die and just woah this piece is so powerful oh my god

It's such an amazing one-shot. Congratulations on being such a fantastic author! :P ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #82, by ohmymerlinRiddikulus: Riddikulus

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so sad to see poor McGonagall break down. I'd never thought about it before but of course she would feel like all those young and innocent deaths were because of her. I admire you for writing a more emotional side to McGonagall. That could not have been easy but I personally think you completely pulled it off!

I loved Winky, she was so cute and it was so adorable to see how much she admired McGonagall. And her shock at McGonagall asking to sit with her was just precious! ♥

You did a wonderful job on this one-shot! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: I figured that would be the only thing that could break McGonagall. I'm so glad you liked this! I knew Winky/McGonagall was an odd pairing, but they seemed to balance each other out.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #83, by ohmymerlin a goodbye in three parts: Today

8th July 2014:
Oh, that was so beautiful! I've got such a soft spot for Dean and Seamus and I think you wrote them so well and I love that Dean was so close to Luna. It was such a lovely story, albeit very emotional bECAUSE LUNA DIED *cries and wails* but it was beautifully written. The eulogy Dean wrote for Luna was just so beautiful (I know I've used that word heaps but I can't think of anything else at the moment :P) and it just gave us an insight to how much he truly loved Luna :')

So clearly, I adored this one-shot. I think you did an amazing job of it and I loved the last line where he remembered Luna telling him that he was added to the ceiling and then she was in his heart, ack! SO BEAUTIFUL! ♥

I also loved the formatting of this one-shot! It was just magnificent! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #84, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: And Lasts Forever

8th July 2014:
Aw, that was such a lovely ending! It made me tear up but it was so beautiful to see that their friendship lasted that long and they still loved each other so much ♥

You wrote this story so beautifully! I'm so glad I got to read it! And ahh, they got in trouble for the mighty niffler incident, haha! They weren't THAT sneaky, huh? ;)

It did give me a giggle that both of them preferred the peace and quiet to their jumping grandchildren, haha! It was a nice little touch! :D

This was an absolutely brilliant story! You wrote Hannah and Susan so well! Good work! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #85, by ohmymerlin(Event Three) Moony's Memories: One.

8th July 2014:
Oh, Dee! You made me cry!

First of all, let me just say that I absolutely ADORED those puns that they were telling McGonagall. It made me laugh so loudly! They were so clever and witty, and no doubt would the boys often make sneaky jokes like that all the time! I reckon even in exams they would have snuck things in there to see who would pick it up, hahahaha!

Oh, but it was so sad as well! Especially when Remus was talking to Harry :'( And then the last section when he was talking about Teddy made me very emotional. Poor baby!

You wrote Remus extremely well! I absolutely loved this one-shot, Dee ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF!!! :D

Author's Response: Eeep! Sorry for making you cry, Kayla! (though I take that as a HUGE compliment!) I totally agree about them making sneaky jokes, I think they'd definitely be that audacious.

When I was writing the ending for this, it just made me feel so awful for Teddy all over again. I don't think I'll ever forgive JK for killing both of his parents :(

Thank you so much for this gorgeous review, Kalya!!


 Report Review

Review #86, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: It Comes From Within

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so brilliant! I really felt the fear Susan and Hannah had during the whole time and although I knew that they survived, I couldn't help but get very scared for them. This IS fanfiction so there could have been a small chance you were feeling a bit evil I guess :P

I loved how close the two girls were! It was so sweet to see how much they cared for one another and I think you really wrote their friendship justice! I loved it! ♥

Great work!!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #87, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: Adolescent Escapades

8th July 2014:
Hello!

YAY FOR PUFF PRIDE! :D #HufflepuffREPRESENT! :P

Hahahaha, I loved this one-shot! I thought it was so funny how Hannah and Susan just decided to ruin the Hufflepuff common room to find a necklace! Why wouldn't they have used Accio? It would have been MUCH easier for them! :P

I love how you wrote the Niffler! I thought it would be so cute wiggling and sniffing out little treasures, hehehe! And poor Hannah, having to deal with Susan's crazy plans, haha! I loved the clean up plan :P I like to use that with my own parents but now that I'm older I just get in trouble :(

Great one-shot! So good to see some Puffs in the stories! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #88, by ohmymerlinRunning into Weasley: Running into Weasley

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Naw, this was so sweet! I was trying to work out what prompt this was but when I read the author's note, it made complete sense! Nearly all the stories of prompt 2 that I've read have been angsty so it was a refresher to see a cheerful one-shot! :D

And aw, Rosalia was so cute! That sounds so much like my aunts name (yeah, we're Italian ;)) so I kept going to say her name rather than Rosalia whenever I was reading it :P It's literally only one letter different!

And Louis was so cute! I'd love to see an alternate version where he tries to keep asking her out, it'd be so adorable! :D

I really loved this one-shot! You did a great job on it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #89, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Luna

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Naw, this made me tear up! But these were happy tears! I love reading stories where Ginny and Luna are best friends and this did not disappoint!

And can I just say that this line:

"Oh! That's good!" Luna seemed excited. "I don't think I'm mad either."

made me laugh SO LOUDLY! :D I could not stop chuckling at that! It was the most Luna thing she could ever say, in my opinion!

I love how close Luna and Ginny were, and I especially loved the scene where Harry is alive and Luna and Ginny are hugging and all Luna tells Ginny is that Harry is alive because that's just all she needed to hear. It was such a poignant moment.

I absolutely loved this story! You did a fantastic job on it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla,

Can I just say that this review was... THE BEST!!! I'm so glad that you liked this story and that it made you tear up. I really thought about Ginny and Luna and even went back through a few of the books to read scenes with them in it. It is in my headcanon now that they were indeed best friends. They are written together frequently and are fighting together in most of the major battles.

I really like writing Luna - she is so flaky and fun and free! Thanks for all the compliments about the story - I really like this one the best too!


 Report Review

Review #90, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Fred

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, that was so beautiful. It made me tear up, I admit it, but it was so good to see her connection to Fred is the reason she ended up wanting to become a Quidditch player! It was so sweet to see that although she lost her brother, she would always have a strong connection binding them together :')

When she was talking about when she heard the crack and she expected, hoped it was Fred, it just made my heart ache. I think anyone who's lost anyone knows that feeling and although it wasn't a major line or anything, it was very powerful and just felt so emotional.

And naw, that cute little scene at the end with Harry! I found that just a bit adorable! ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla,

First off - thanks for all of these lovely reviews. I really appreciate them. I want to re-edit each of these stories because I know they aren't my best work. Many people have commented on the part where Ginny thought that Fred was back. I think you're right - that does happen quite a bit when you lose someone. It's almost as if your mind doesn't want to accept that they are gone and it plays tricks on you. Glad you liked the scene with Harry - it just came to me and I thought it might be a bit much, but I really wanted to use it anyway.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #91, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Arnold

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Poor Ginny, she just wasn't having a good day, huh? And I'd never thought pygmy puffs had teeth but oh well, it served a good purpose for this story!

I can't believe Colin though! As if he'd attack someone from behind! That's absolutely awful and especially in those times people would not need their friends advancing on them! What a naughty boy! And it was interesting to see how much Ginny held a grudge to them for something that they could not help (such as having their family closeby) because although Ginny was rather smart and had common sense, it was obvious that sometimes her temper got the better of her and this one-shot proved it!

But yay! Arnold gave her the idea of resurrecting the DA! He had an ulterior motive the whole time ;)

Great work! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

Thanks for this awesome review! Yeah, I kind of needed Arnold to have teeth for this one. I think the only way Colin would attack was under extreme duress. Everyone was stressed out because of the war and he saw Ginny attack his little brother - that was inexcusable. Especially considering Ginny and Colin were good friends! She just can't hold her temper some times. I was so glad you liked the idea that she resurrected the DA. Ginny needed something to channel her emotions in a more positive way. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #92, by ohmymerlinDragonology: The Dragon

8th July 2014:
Hey, Aditi!

First of all, I LOVE DRAGONS! So I loved this one-shot! And seeing Charlie act all tenderly and caring for the poor lil baby was so heartwarming :') I loved how it was so wary and annoyed at Charlie at first but as soon as he fixed him, he was just like a big baby puppy :'D

I was instantly jealous when Charlie got to pat him! I refuse to believe that dragons don't exist so one day WHEN I finally meet one, I'm going to pat it! But for now I'll just content myself with reading this story!

I think you really captured Charlie's personality well here! He's such an interesting character, especially as we don't know /that/ much about him but he seems very believable here! I was about to say he seemed a bit too serious but then again, it was his first day so it definitely matched up!

Great one-shot!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey! Haha I love dragons too xD I am pleased you liked my one-shot and my portrayal of the dragon. It was cute, wasn't it? I kind of pictured him that way too hehe.

I hope you do get to meet a dragon someday, pat him, and make it out alive xP

Thank you for all your lovely comments!


 Report Review

Review #93, by ohmymerlinEVENT THREE - A Ghoul As a Friend: Finding The Ghoul

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so cute! Poor Albus, not making many friends! :( And I agree, hun! Books make everything seem so much easier but I think we can all agree that although books are cool, real life can be so much better ;)

And bless his little soul, he found a ghoul as a friend! That was such a surprising twist (I admit I didn't actually read the summary, haha!) so it was nice to be shocked! :P It's a bit off that none of the other family members realised they had a ghoul though! Oh well, it can be Albus' little secret, haha!

Great one-shot! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #94, by ohmymerlinPrompt One: Fluffy Oversized Hummingbirds: Fluffy Oversized Hummingbirds

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so cute! I loved Oliver's disgust at all the pink and the perfume, haha! But the poor guy, being thrown off the team and then having to be put in rehab! But a lot of it was his fault so... KARMA! :P

I loved how unwilling and annoyed he was about the Snidgets at first but then he ended up loving them, the little softie! :P

Also, I loved how well you set out the scene! Especially with the clearing, I just had such a vivid image of Oliver standing in the middle of the field with his arms out wide and a happy grin as the lil baby snidgets fluttered around him! If I could paint/draw, I'd totally want to paint that image!

You did an excellent job of this! Good work! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey!

When I thought of writing about Snidgets, I squee-ed for a good ten minutes before I wrote about them. Such adorable little things!

And Oliver is ever the gruff, grumpy Quidditch nut that we've always known him to be. Does he have time for pink-clad, annoying reporters? Not at all. Does he have time for cute little Snidgets? YOU BET HE DOES! :D I felt sorry for him, too, but only a little. I hope that the Snidgets taught him to let some of his anger go. :)

Thank you! I loved the image of the clearing and the Snidgets in my mind, and if I could paint/draw, I would attempt it, too! It makes me happy that you liked it so much! :D

Thanks very much for your lovely review!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #95, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3 - Dancing with Pixies: Not So Bad

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This definitely wasn't garbage! What do you mean?! And I can't believe you wrote it at 1 am! When I write things at 1 am it ends up like a weird version of gibberish so I highly commend you for writing something so creative AND something that actually makes sense! :P

Although, I was very curious as to who's point of view we were in! And how old was he/she?

I really liked the idea of her/him flying by the pixies and actually liking them rather than being scared of them! It was such a cute little thing and even though they dropped her/him, it was sweet to see that the Pixies were also fond of her/him! :D

Great work!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #96, by ohmymerlinSmell the Roses: Smell the Roses

8th July 2014:
Hey, Branwen!

I always adore reading your stories. There's something about your characters and style of writing that I can never get away from!

And of course, you didn't disappoint with this one-shot!

I loved Lucy so much! Working in the Department of Mysteries seems super interesting and I liked that she's just learnt not to ask questions about her work anymore.

The little snidget seemed so adorable! I could almost imagine the little round thing chuckling and then eating out of her hand. You painted a very vivid picture and I just ached to be sitting there next to Lucy, patting the tiny lil thing :'D

I loved how gentle she was with it and how kind she was with the food and stuff! I thought that was so sweet!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Aww, thank you so much! That means so much to me - I'm really flattered that you think so highly of my stories. :) I'm glad you liked Lucy - she's not a next-gen character I've developed so so much, so I'm glad that she came across well regardless.

I'm also glad that you liked the snidget - I really wanted to capture "Aw, cute!", and it seems like I managed it. Yay!

Thank you so much for the lovely review.


 Report Review

Review #97, by ohmymerlinThe Common Welsh Green: Freeing

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw, I love dragons! I refuse to believe that they do not exist and just that they're hiding :P Maybe I'll have to start climbing mountains like Rose and Lily did to find a nest of them!

I loved how stubborn both Lily and Rose were :P It made it clear that they were obviously related, haha!

I loved how delicate Lily and Rose were both with the dragon, healing his/her wing! :') And theEN THEY GOT TO RIDE IT!!! :D I'm so jealous haha!

I loved how Rose said that they weren't their parents because people don't just ride dragons :P That was a nice little touch, haha!

This was a great story! Great job! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #98, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Dependable: Two Beginnings

8th July 2014:
Heya, Emily!

HOW CAN THIS BE YOUR LEAST FAVOURITE?! I'm pretty sure I've read all three of yours now and this is definitely amazing! It made me tear up, thinking of their friendship!

I loved each of the years you described. It was written so well and it flowed so nicely, which in this type of one-shot can be difficult to achieve so kudos!

Also, Parvati I feel you girl. Cramps and other things are no fun at all and although I crinkled my nose at the vivid image, it made me laugh because oh my god it was accurate! And seeing Lavender's jealousy was funny! I remember when we were in year 7 and everyone had gotten theirs and this one girl was so jealous even though we kept telling her that "NO YOU DO NOT WANT THIS!" That little snipped just made me laugh because so many girls are like that! :P

I really loved the relationship you wrote of the two of them. Although it did make me sad that they hated Hermione so much! D': But their first meeting was so funny, haha! I couldn't stop giggling when she was like, "Are you sorry?" hahahaha :P

This was brilliant, Emily! Don't doubt yourself! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #99, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: In the Forest: The Friendship Between Two

8th July 2014:
*holds hand to heart*

Oh, this was so sweet! I just love these two so much and all their dialogue was so perfectly written. I can't believe how amazing this little short story was, it was so perfectly canon it's actually hard to believe you aren't J. K. Rowling in disguise! :P

I'm so curious as to what the mysterious eyes were though, haha! I wonder what could terrify those boys so much that they turn into their Animagi forms and run for their lives, hahaha!

The last scene was so beautiful and sweet! :'D "And brothers for all eternity, too." JUST WOW.

This was one of the rare one-shots of James and Sirius that didn't make me want to curl up in a ball and I love you so much more for that!

This whole collection has been absolutely magnificent and you deserve every 10/10 you get! I've never read a Marauders story this short that I've loved so much! Just congratulations on being such an amazing writer! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #100, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: In the Forest: Dark of the Forest

8th July 2014:
Aw, bless!

Yes, I actually said that out loud much to my brother's dismay (he doesn't like me saying it for some reason, haha!)

You wrote Peter magnificently! You managed to get that nervousness and timidness (is that even a word? :P) we all know he had during school but still showed that he was brave! It also showed that he is an integral part of the Marauders (as he too can also discover a way out!) and many people seem to ignore that if he was a part of the Marauders, he couldn't have been wimpish and sad and a little shadow the whole time so you have no idea at how happy I am at seeing this side of him!

Again, your descriptions of the Forest and Peter's fear were just amazing! You've got SUCH an amazing talent! I absolutely adored reading this piece and I can't wait to read the next one!

10/10 of course! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>