Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
679 Reviews Found

Review #76, by ohmymerlinA Glimmer of Light: What's in a Name?

8th July 2014:
Hey, Lauren!

Aw, this one-shot was so adorable! Look at cute lil Neville doting on baby Alice and being all worried already! Bless! :')

I loved loved loved the scene with Alice senior when she first meets baby Alice! And then the way she hurried to give her a little wrapper was just so beautiful :')

Also, the way you described how Neville was still disappointed every time he visited and it hit him with lead was just so sad and so powerful. I felt so sorry for Neville because it would be so hard for him. I think you wrote that part extremely well!

This was a wonderful one-shot. I absolutely loved it ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #77, by ohmymerlinMeeting Norberta: Reunion

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so good! I absolutely loved it! I really loved at how even though Hagrid had been through all the safety principles, he just got so excited at seeing Norberta and broke all of them at once, haha!

It was so sweet seeing how happy he was at finally seeing his 'baby' and that 'Mummy' and dragon were reunited again, hahahaha! :P

I found it so sweet that all Norberta wanted was love and Hagrid was the only one who was brave enough to give it to her, haha! And I really liked the tiny additions with Charlie. He's such a great character and I loved his dialogue! :D

Really great one-shot, Lauren ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #78, by ohmymerlinForbidden Wanderings: A Surprising Encounter

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so good! I think you've really managed to capture Dracos' personality here and I especially loved the connections between him and the thestral! I loved how he was so filled with self-hatred at his younger self being naive and wanting to become a death eater and now that he is one, he just hated it. It was a very nice touch. You could really see the bitterness and contempt he holds for himself which is sad but it's very true of him, especially in the Half Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows!

I also liked that you added that thestrals have a good sense of direction! I nearly forgot about that so that was so clever!

Great work on this one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and the interaction between Draco and the thestral. I think Draco really gets a reality check in his last two years at Hogwarts, and I think it really changes him. Thanks for the review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #79, by ohmymerlinSynergy : Synergy

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw this was so sweet! I LOVED that it was in Buckbeak's point of view and that he didn't like Draco Malfoy and his 'friends', haha! I really loved the way you made him love Hagrid so much! And then of course he liked Harry! It was so adorable seeing Buckbeak so happy that Harry was so excited to ride and go flying on him, haha! I just loved it!

The way you described Buckbeak flying was so good! I could almost imagine /I/ was flying! It was so good! I especially loved when Buckbeak wanted to 'test Harry's endurance', hahahaha! Oh well, at least he loved it! :P

This was a brilliant one-shot! I absolutely loved it! Great work! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #80, by ohmymerlinAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so lovely! I think you've really captured Luna's personality so well in this one-shot! I loved her soliloquy on death and that for her it meant her mother, and that wasn't necessarily a bad thing! I think that was such a good little paragraph and so true of Luna! It just really reflected her personality!

I loved all the descriptions that you gave! They were so beautiful and it just gave me an image of Luna in the forest that made me want to paint it if I had any artistic talent :P

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

Author's Response: Hello again Kayla!
Thank you so much! I'm really happy you felt that it reflecting Luna's personality, I just feel she would both take comfort in things that may seem strange to others, but also I think she's a rather optimistic person who would seek to make the best of anything - and the best of the thestrals is her mother.
I know what you mean! I constantly get painting/drawing urges, but I'm not very good at either!
Thank you for such a lovely review -hugs-


 Report Review

Review #81, by ohmymerlinFlung Salt: a single gesture

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was so beautiful and touching! I just adore how you started this off. It was such a blunt way of starting it but it just did its job :)

And the descriptions you wrote were magnificent. I loved how you described the thestral, it was such a nice way and Parvati's apprehension at first was very well written! But then it was so lovely to see that she eventually came to like (?) it, and even gave it a little bit of food -- how sweet!

I absolutely LOVED that last line! It was a great way to end such a wonderful story! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #82, by ohmymerlinThree: Luna Lovegood

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so cute! I found Luna to be so endearing and it was so cute that she named the thestral Pegasus! ♥

The poor girl was being made fun of! That isn't very nice! :'( The people were so mean but she was so blase about it, which was good, I guess!

I really liked the way you described the thestral, it was like it wasn't a bad description and the way Luna was talking to it almost made it cute, haha!

She's such a gentle character Luna and I think you've written her perfectly here. You've managed to capture her mystical-ness and I didn't feel like it was too over the top which a lot of people seem to do sometimes! Great job! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #83, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3 - A as in Sexuality: Chapter One

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so good! Not many stories have a representation of asexual characters and I like that you made Dorcas be asexual. I've never ever seen her as asexual but I've also never seen her with a boyfriend or girlfriend. It actually makes so much sense in my head, haha!

I think you really wrote her nervousness and fear extremely well! It would be scary for anyone to come out and especially seeing as her parents reacted negatively, of course she'd be terrified!

But her friends weren't idiots and they accepted her/didn't seem to mind it at all, which was brilliant! :D

Loved this story! It was a very interesting take on the first prompt but I liked it! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #84, by ohmymerlinEternity : I

8th July 2014:
Hey, Zayne!

Oh, how I love Seamus! Interesting twist having Seamus be a ghost, it made me actually gasp when I finally worked it out, haha!

It was so great that even though Seamus is a ghost, he and Dean are still best mates. True friends don't notice small things like death, haha!

And oh how I loved Dean's nonchalance that he just randomly died and came back as a ghost. Dean doesn't have time to worry about silly things such as being a ghost, Dean has things to do! :P

Loved this one-shot! You did such an amazing job of it! 10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!!

hahaha, is it bad that i'm pleased I took you by surprise with that? I'm glad you liked their friendship. It was a lot of fun to write them, even with one of them being a ghost. It was sort of nice to play with those dynamics and how Seamus would be if he were a ghost and how'd he react to different situations. He became quite matter of fact and perhaps a little insensitive to death itself. But I suppose once you've faced death it becomes less of an enormous fear.

Again with Dean and his death. It just seemed really natural that he simply just keep going. All that mattered really was his crossing over and the fact he was again reunited with his friend and yes, he has far more important things to do like figure out what that silly door is doing than worry about his death. :)

Thanks for your review! I appreciate your words so much!


 Report Review

Review #85, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Moments of Impact: He is Your Moment of Impact

8th July 2014:
Nooo :'(

You wrote Harry and Ron's friendship so beautifully and it just makes me so sAD THAT YOU MADE HARRY DIE WHY WOULD YOU DO THIS?!

The amount of affection I felt from Ron towards Harry was incredible. You're extremely talented at writing emotions and I think the choice of second person was brilliant. It just made this one-shot so much more personal and it really topped it off.

And seeing Ron being so devoted to Harry was just so perfect. I also loved the reiteration of 'moment of impact'. Because that's what Harry and Ron's friendship really felt like. It wasn't smooth sailing, it was a very big bang all the time. Those three little words were so powerful and just so true of their friendship.

Absolutely beautiful one-shot, dear ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hehe, what can I say, I'm evil ;) Aw, thanks, I'm glad you thought I did a good job :P Yeah, there moment of impact was seemingly so ordinary, but if Ron hadn't met Harry on the train, his whole life may have been totally different. Thanks again, lovely!
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #86, by ohmymerlinThe Passing: glory days, lifetimes, friendships past

8th July 2014:
Oh, this was such a moving one-shot. It was so sad seeing Sirius and Remus together. It was like that their relationship couldn't ever be restored fully after the years that had past and all the mistrust that they held for one another but their joint mourning of James and Lily, and sympathy for Harry ruled it out.

Does that even make any sense? :P

I just think you wrote them so well. It made me tear up when they were talking about their memories and this line was just so heartbreaking: "At twenty-one, Remus lost all of them."

Oh, that was like a punch to the gut :'(

Beautiful one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #87, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3 - Secrets: Prompt 3 - Friendship

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Ooh, this was a very interesting take on the friendship prompt! It's so creative and I really loved reading how Draco thought Luna was insane, haha! :P It was funny seeing his internal thoughts at this batty, yet extraordinarily friendly, girl! Poor bloke doesn't know what to think!

And it was sweet that that one act of kindness that Luna showed him was the reason he hesitated in confirming whether or not that was Harry in the Malfoy Manor in the Deathly Hallows. Very nice touch if I say so myself!

This was a great story! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #88, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: It Means Something To Us: Something's Up

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was sweet! I love reading stories about the trio and I really think you wrote their friendship well!

However, remember in my last review I talked about commas and full stops? The same mistakes have been repeated here so you might just want to give it a little read over ;)

I also think it would be good if you added a little more description about the story. It might make it a bit clearer :)

But I really liked this story. I loved how Hermione was acting very mothery to Harry! It was so sweet and gave me a giggle, ahaha! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF! :D

Author's Response: Hey Kayla!

Thank you! I must say, writing this was a real challenge because it's the Golden Trio! But I'm glad you liked it!

I really will spend more time with punctuation checking next time!
Okay, I'll think about that too :)

I'm really glad you liked it though! I thought that was quite entertaining and Hermione like!

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #89, by ohmymerlinIf You Asked Me Now: Who Is It?

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

YAY! I love relationships between mother and daughter. I myself have a super strong one so whenever I read these types it just makes me so happy!

The way she was explaining everything was just so brilliant. I loved that at the time she never really realised that her mum was her best friend, but it was only until she was older (which is the exact same in my case!) and the love that Lily feels for Ginny is just so beautiful I want to get them together and give them a big squishy hug!

I also loved the little snippets of her and Harry's relationship as well! That was just so cute and I loved that she was his little girl :')

This was such a brilliant one-shot! I loved it so much! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review!
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #90, by ohmymerlinWho Killed Lucy?: Ruptures and Punctures

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh my, this is so sad! Poor Lucy D': How old was she meant to be when she died?

You really captured the emotions of Audrey and Percy, it made me so sad to read them. All they wanted was Lucy to be alive :'( It was so sad seeing them crumble and I just wanted to squish them into a hug.

The metaphor with Molly of cracking was so poignant, such a vivid moment in my brain and I just want to applaud you for how you wrote this whole one-shot. The slight repetitiveness made it feel so real and so harsh.

It was a bit sickening that the aneurysm was compared to a child's birthday party but it just made us (the readers) realise that Lucy was only young and she didn't deserve to die and just woah this piece is so powerful oh my god

It's such an amazing one-shot. Congratulations on being such a fantastic author! :P ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #91, by ohmymerlinRiddikulus: Riddikulus

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so sad to see poor McGonagall break down. I'd never thought about it before but of course she would feel like all those young and innocent deaths were because of her. I admire you for writing a more emotional side to McGonagall. That could not have been easy but I personally think you completely pulled it off!

I loved Winky, she was so cute and it was so adorable to see how much she admired McGonagall. And her shock at McGonagall asking to sit with her was just precious! ♥

You did a wonderful job on this one-shot! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: I figured that would be the only thing that could break McGonagall. I'm so glad you liked this! I knew Winky/McGonagall was an odd pairing, but they seemed to balance each other out.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #92, by ohmymerlin a goodbye in three parts: Today

8th July 2014:
Oh, that was so beautiful! I've got such a soft spot for Dean and Seamus and I think you wrote them so well and I love that Dean was so close to Luna. It was such a lovely story, albeit very emotional bECAUSE LUNA DIED *cries and wails* but it was beautifully written. The eulogy Dean wrote for Luna was just so beautiful (I know I've used that word heaps but I can't think of anything else at the moment :P) and it just gave us an insight to how much he truly loved Luna :')

So clearly, I adored this one-shot. I think you did an amazing job of it and I loved the last line where he remembered Luna telling him that he was added to the ceiling and then she was in his heart, ack! SO BEAUTIFUL! ♥

I also loved the formatting of this one-shot! It was just magnificent! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #93, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: And Lasts Forever

8th July 2014:
Aw, that was such a lovely ending! It made me tear up but it was so beautiful to see that their friendship lasted that long and they still loved each other so much ♥

You wrote this story so beautifully! I'm so glad I got to read it! And ahh, they got in trouble for the mighty niffler incident, haha! They weren't THAT sneaky, huh? ;)

It did give me a giggle that both of them preferred the peace and quiet to their jumping grandchildren, haha! It was a nice little touch! :D

This was an absolutely brilliant story! You wrote Hannah and Susan so well! Good work! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #94, by ohmymerlin(Event Three) Moony's Memories: One.

8th July 2014:
Oh, Dee! You made me cry!

First of all, let me just say that I absolutely ADORED those puns that they were telling McGonagall. It made me laugh so loudly! They were so clever and witty, and no doubt would the boys often make sneaky jokes like that all the time! I reckon even in exams they would have snuck things in there to see who would pick it up, hahahaha!

Oh, but it was so sad as well! Especially when Remus was talking to Harry :'( And then the last section when he was talking about Teddy made me very emotional. Poor baby!

You wrote Remus extremely well! I absolutely loved this one-shot, Dee ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF!!! :D

Author's Response: Eeep! Sorry for making you cry, Kayla! (though I take that as a HUGE compliment!) I totally agree about them making sneaky jokes, I think they'd definitely be that audacious.

When I was writing the ending for this, it just made me feel so awful for Teddy all over again. I don't think I'll ever forgive JK for killing both of his parents :(

Thank you so much for this gorgeous review, Kalya!!


 Report Review

Review #95, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: It Comes From Within

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so brilliant! I really felt the fear Susan and Hannah had during the whole time and although I knew that they survived, I couldn't help but get very scared for them. This IS fanfiction so there could have been a small chance you were feeling a bit evil I guess :P

I loved how close the two girls were! It was so sweet to see how much they cared for one another and I think you really wrote their friendship justice! I loved it! ♥

Great work!!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #96, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Can't Keep A Good 'Puff Down: Adolescent Escapades

8th July 2014:
Hello!

YAY FOR PUFF PRIDE! :D #HufflepuffREPRESENT! :P

Hahahaha, I loved this one-shot! I thought it was so funny how Hannah and Susan just decided to ruin the Hufflepuff common room to find a necklace! Why wouldn't they have used Accio? It would have been MUCH easier for them! :P

I love how you wrote the Niffler! I thought it would be so cute wiggling and sniffing out little treasures, hehehe! And poor Hannah, having to deal with Susan's crazy plans, haha! I loved the clean up plan :P I like to use that with my own parents but now that I'm older I just get in trouble :(

Great one-shot! So good to see some Puffs in the stories! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #97, by ohmymerlinRunning into Weasley: Running into Weasley

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Naw, this was so sweet! I was trying to work out what prompt this was but when I read the author's note, it made complete sense! Nearly all the stories of prompt 2 that I've read have been angsty so it was a refresher to see a cheerful one-shot! :D

And aw, Rosalia was so cute! That sounds so much like my aunts name (yeah, we're Italian ;)) so I kept going to say her name rather than Rosalia whenever I was reading it :P It's literally only one letter different!

And Louis was so cute! I'd love to see an alternate version where he tries to keep asking her out, it'd be so adorable! :D

I really loved this one-shot! You did a great job on it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey hon!
Thanks so much for the review! This story prompted me to start writing a novel that when I'm done will probably be one of my favorite pieces of writing.
xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #98, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Luna

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Naw, this made me tear up! But these were happy tears! I love reading stories where Ginny and Luna are best friends and this did not disappoint!

And can I just say that this line:

"Oh! That's good!" Luna seemed excited. "I don't think I'm mad either."

made me laugh SO LOUDLY! :D I could not stop chuckling at that! It was the most Luna thing she could ever say, in my opinion!

I love how close Luna and Ginny were, and I especially loved the scene where Harry is alive and Luna and Ginny are hugging and all Luna tells Ginny is that Harry is alive because that's just all she needed to hear. It was such a poignant moment.

I absolutely loved this story! You did a fantastic job on it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla,

Can I just say that this review was... THE BEST!!! I'm so glad that you liked this story and that it made you tear up. I really thought about Ginny and Luna and even went back through a few of the books to read scenes with them in it. It is in my headcanon now that they were indeed best friends. They are written together frequently and are fighting together in most of the major battles.

I really like writing Luna - she is so flaky and fun and free! Thanks for all the compliments about the story - I really like this one the best too!


 Report Review

Review #99, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Fred

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, that was so beautiful. It made me tear up, I admit it, but it was so good to see her connection to Fred is the reason she ended up wanting to become a Quidditch player! It was so sweet to see that although she lost her brother, she would always have a strong connection binding them together :')

When she was talking about when she heard the crack and she expected, hoped it was Fred, it just made my heart ache. I think anyone who's lost anyone knows that feeling and although it wasn't a major line or anything, it was very powerful and just felt so emotional.

And naw, that cute little scene at the end with Harry! I found that just a bit adorable! ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla,

First off - thanks for all of these lovely reviews. I really appreciate them. I want to re-edit each of these stories because I know they aren't my best work. Many people have commented on the part where Ginny thought that Fred was back. I think you're right - that does happen quite a bit when you lose someone. It's almost as if your mind doesn't want to accept that they are gone and it plays tricks on you. Glad you liked the scene with Harry - it just came to me and I thought it might be a bit much, but I really wanted to use it anyway.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #100, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Arnold

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Poor Ginny, she just wasn't having a good day, huh? And I'd never thought pygmy puffs had teeth but oh well, it served a good purpose for this story!

I can't believe Colin though! As if he'd attack someone from behind! That's absolutely awful and especially in those times people would not need their friends advancing on them! What a naughty boy! And it was interesting to see how much Ginny held a grudge to them for something that they could not help (such as having their family closeby) because although Ginny was rather smart and had common sense, it was obvious that sometimes her temper got the better of her and this one-shot proved it!

But yay! Arnold gave her the idea of resurrecting the DA! He had an ulterior motive the whole time ;)

Great work! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

Thanks for this awesome review! Yeah, I kind of needed Arnold to have teeth for this one. I think the only way Colin would attack was under extreme duress. Everyone was stressed out because of the war and he saw Ginny attack his little brother - that was inexcusable. Especially considering Ginny and Colin were good friends! She just can't hold her temper some times. I was so glad you liked the idea that she resurrected the DA. Ginny needed something to channel her emotions in a more positive way. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>