Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
810 Reviews Found

Review #51, by ohmymerlinDerailed: cuatro

23rd December 2015:
Okay the way you described the Weasleys Sunday lunch is exactly what it's like with my own family. Every few weeks we try to get together and it basically ends up with that exact scenario and I just love how you write all of them. They all feel so real and it honestly feels like I'm in the room with them!

omg Teddy getting his own taste at not being able to find his daughter hahahahahahahahaha THAT'S A CRACK UP I LOVE IT

and Harry boasting that he was ten thousand! HARRY THAT WAS NOT A GOOD THING YOU WERE WANTED DEAD

And oh Carlotta, I'd be dazzled by Louis too. You wrote that so well hahahahaha

Bloody idiot Teddy, drawing attention to the fact that Lucius talked to Carlotta. I do like how you made Hermione say, "What an idiot!" I can COMPLETELY imagine it!

And omg Molly WHY MUST YOU LACK SO MUCH TACT

How stupid is she, 'oh yeah let's just insult Muggles even though there are Muggles in this very room lol'

I do like the point Rose makes, but unfortunately it's too difficult :(

And naw, look at all matured James fussing over Carlotta worrying and not telling him he's SUCH A SWEETHEART AND I LOVE HIM A LOT

NEXT CHAPTER :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: I've never had a massive immediate family so I have no idea what it's like to have a Sunday lunch with so many people, but I can only imagine it's absolute carnage in the best way. It's bad enough trying to keep track of them all to write them into the fic, ha.

Ha, yeah, Harry's ransom was offered by someone who wanted to kill him and probably wouldn't have paid up anyway, so in that sense James' auction was so much more impressive! But Harry isn't going to confess to that.

Oh my days you have no idea how fun it is to write Louis and how hilarious it is from Carlotta's POV. Poor thing.

I think Teddy was typical tactless male here! Poor guy, he didn't mean any harm! And yes, Hermione's "what an idiot" was said in exact Emma Watson film style.

THANKS FOR REVIEWING!


 Report Review

Review #52, by ohmymerlinDerailed: tres

22nd December 2015:
HELLO AGAIN

I said I'd review Sunday but Sunday proved to be strangely busy and I've been sick with a head cold (so my brain has just been whirring mush) but I'm FINALLY BETTER TO GIVE YOU MORE SCREAMY REVIEWS

Lucius and his cronies are slimeballs. I don't care how much money they're throwing at Lily and the Squib foundation, I don't trust them.

and omg thnak gOD FOR THE PARENTS. I'm so glad that they came to the rescue and shooed Lucius away. They're quite right in not trusting Malfoy.

Also, can we have an auction for James where I can buy him too pls? That would be an excellent offer that I wouldn't be able to refuse. I just love the way you write him and I HAVE TO STOP MYSELF FROM BEING TOO ATTRACTED TO HIM FOR GOODNESS SAKES ELLIE

I feel so bad for Maddie and Cato, their schedules are both so demanding and they really don't have much time together which is really sad! They need to have more time together but they've both been working so hard on their careers it'd be such a stupid move to push it to the side.

And lol at the surname thing. i like how you've constantly kept that going on throughout both novels, haha!

Anywho, I'll get on to the next chapter!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Total bunch of Slytherin slimeballs. You are not wrong to not trust them! (Too many negatives in that sentence whoops)

I AM SORRY I CAN'T HELP THAT JAMES IS TOO PERF. Ugh one of the reasons why I love writing him from Carlotta's perspective is that he tended to put himself down a lot and think badly of himself, but Carla sees all of the good and absolutely adores him and he is just so pure-hearted and I think it really does come across from the perspective of someone else, especially a someone who puts herself down a lot and therefore thinks he's too good for her. Silly Carla. BUT yes let's have a James Potter auction and I will win cos author rights. ;)

The surname thing is never going to go away, ever! Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #53, by ohmymerlinDerailed: dos

15th December 2015:
HELLO

YOU SAID YOU LIKE SCREAMING SHOUTING REVIEWS AND EVERY TIME I READ CARLOTTA AND JAMES TOGETHER I FEEL THE NEED TO SHOUT AND SCREAM BECAUSE THEY ARE SO BRILLIANT I LOVE THEIR RELATIONSHIP SO MUCH YOU WRITE THEM SO WONDERFULLY

and omg the bit where Carla described James' looks was so nice. Can you just have a full chapter dedicated to Carlotta staring at James dreamily?

(Or maybe don't because then I will cry because HE DOESN'T EXIST)

BUT WHHHYYY DOES LUCIUS MALFOY WANT TO RUN A SQUIB FOUNDATION THING WHAT ON EARTH (well not 'run' but you know what I mean)

i'm thinking maybe he's trying to get back into peoples' good shoes but I just can't fathom why he would do that. I mean, it's awesome that he funds it and if it was at someone else's house, he could have attended but to HOST IT?!

Like Ginny was saying, there's sometimes nothing you can do to change the past. He's got to just realise he did wrong, and do as much as he can to make it right, but he's also got to realise some of his own boundaries.

But omg teacher James is so hot. I can't help it. I get really attracted to men when they care about kids/act paternal and when you were writing him about him ranting and worrying about the kids and the fact that he introduced the Unicorn League WAS JUST SO SWEET I HONESTLY WANTED TO CUDDLE HIM AND SQUEEZE HIM REALLY TIGHTLY

I loved this chapter and I'll probably be delayed in giving you another review but I WILL BE BACK BECAUSE I LOVE THIS STORY SO SO SO SO SOS OS SO SO MUCH ♥ ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: HI HI HI YAY SCREAMING SHOUTING CAPS LOCK REVIEWS XD XD XD

Haha, I had to put that bit in about Carlotta ogling James. So much of Rails was consumed by James' love for Carlotta's legs, and I figured that as physical appreciation ABSOLUTELY works both ways, that Carlotta should have her moment of admiration for James' appearance. Both of them are into each other for far more than just looks ... but James is just too dang good-looking!

Maybe I'll just put in a bit in EVERY CHAPTER where Carla is checking James out.

And he totally does exist. At least that's what I keep telling myself when I find myself falling in love with one of my own fanfic characters. Well at least we're all broken-hearted together. :P

Yup, peculiar decision from Lucius Malfoy to get involved in Squib stuff! Does he have purely good intentions, or is he playing a game? WHO KNOWS.

THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL REVIEW. :)


 Report Review

Review #54, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: epilogue.

15th December 2015:
I love Essie I love her

I love all of them I know but Essie holds a very special place in my heart I love her so much

AND I DID NOT EXPECT A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN LEO AND AUGUST (heh Leo is a star sign that's mostly in August wAS THAT A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR) but OF COURSE you'd add that bit in I love it

Honestly, Elisabeth, this is one of the best stories I've ever read. I've never loved a story this much and especially one on such a wild ride with updates almost every three minutes it's like that doctor who episode 'blink and you die' but instead of death it's just 'blink and you need to catch up on 27 chapters'

This is truly an amazing story and they felt so REAL and it was really raw at times but it's one of the best stories on this site you're such a brilliant writer and you have such a distinct style in writing and I feel like nothing can compare it to this.

I absolutely adored this story and think you did an amazing job on it. I love it so much ♥

9009368640086913957*941/10 ;) ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #55, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-six.

15th December 2015:
this wa sthe chapter when I really thought IF THERE IS NOTHING GOING ON BETWEEN ESSIE AND LYS WHEN THEY'RE OLDER I WILL EAT MY SOCK

recovery is nice it is so nice and you wrote it so lovely and there were still moments where my heart ached (especially the parts about Luna) but you have the BEST dialogue ever and it's so blunt and to the point and I LOVE it

soz for the terrible review but it's almost midnight and I need to be up at 6 am tomorrow and work with insane children

 Report Review

Review #56, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-five.

15th December 2015:
why do you do this why why why wh y w h y

do u hate us

I want to squish everyone. I want everyone to be okay and NEVER HAVE ANY PROBLEMS EVER BUT I CAN'T BECAUSE THEY'RE FICTIONAL

Also lol nice TFWMS nugget in there (regarding Al and Scorpius)

But ugh I'm trying to hold in my tears and OH, LYS WHY. It's never the answer and just uughhh

How do you have everyone (mostly) happy and cheerful one chapter and the next chapter you rip our hearts out and stomp all over them in spiked stilettos?

Oh wait I know why, BECAUSE YOU'RE SUCH A TALENTED WRITER YOU ARE HONESTLY PHENOMENAL. ♥

 Report Review

Review #57, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: nineteen.

15th December 2015:
yes I love this

I love this so mcuh

I love Neville and I love how that their get togethers are basically getting drunk and complaining about things and THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS LITERALLY with one of my mates every time we get together we get drunk and either complain about our colleagues or some of the children at work (we work at different spots) and you got it SO SPOT ON SO PERFECT

I loved this chapter I love this whole story you are such a wonderful writer omg

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #58, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: seventeen.

15th December 2015:
YES LUCY

YES GIRL YES

LUCY YOU ROCK SO MUCH

I LOVE HER I LOVE LUCY I LOVE HER SO MUCH AND I LOVE HOW PROTECTIVE SHE IS OVER LYS I LOVE HER

I am in such agreement with her because thankfully I had an excellent education about alcohol and other decisions at school but my friends who didn't because they went to different schools have ended up as messes or being too scared to drink. (They went to Catholic schools so I can kinda understand the fear about it but IT SHOULD NOT BE LIKE THAT)

Anyway, I love that Lucy is super passionate about these things and she's willing to snap at her Dad over something as important as this and I really really really loved it.

Also, I don't know if I've mentioned it before, but my HC is that Percy works in the same department and I wrote it in one of my fics and I could not believe that you had the same idea great minds think alike eyyy

(or fools rarely differ but let's go with the former yeah?)

I really just want to remind you again that I love Lucy. I love her. I l o v e her

 Report Review

Review #59, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: fifteen.

15th December 2015:
I LOVE SUPPORT FROM TEACHER FRIENDS BECAUSE THERE'S NOTHING LIKE THESUPPORT YOU RECEIVE FROM THE OTHER PEOPLE WHO KNOW THE HELL YOU ARE GOING THROUGH BUT it's really not that bad because you LOVE doing it and yOU JUST WROTE THIS WHOLE CHAPTER AND THE WHOLE BAR SCENE SO WONDERFULLY

And omg Harry has become a wise old wizard it weirds me out to see that he is OLDER than thirty seven and he's considered old, because I've never really read him in that type of light, really only as dumb teenager Harry or father!Harry and this is so cool

Loved loved loved this chapter ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #60, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: eleven.

15th December 2015:
oh my god

innuendos

I forgot how many were in this chapter and i LOVE EVERY SINGLE ONE OFTHEM I KEPT DOING WEIRD LAUGHS AND MUM KEPT GLANCING OVER AT MY LAPTOP TO SEE WHAT ON EARTH I WAS DOING but she just saw a bunch of words and seemed to get bore dlol

but omg

the thirsty innuendo

the apparaition one

and TRYING TO TEACH LORCAN APPARATION OMG

(I know I've spelt those wrong both times but I am too lazy to fix it)

And ESSIE GETTING DRUNK OFF BUTTERBEER OH MY

And omg ofc Leopold is queer. Of course. I shouldn't have expected anything less but I loVE IT HAHAHA

and I am reminded how you said you live for drinking games as plot devices and I am so glad that we are on the same page it is so fantastic and I will never tire of it

I loved this chapter and I love all your characters just like I love you

10/10 yes

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #61, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: nine.

15th December 2015:
Hello I am finally here and I can't promise that they'll be decent reviews and constant (because I've already read it tbh) and you got a lot of my reactions from twitter (that were not 12+ lol) but I AM HERE

Okay can I just say you write Essie SO SO SO SO SO WELL.

(You write all your characters well tbh but I really just love the way you've written Essie it's just woah)

I love how you call good ol' Leo McGeez it's so great and ESSIE DOESN'T COMPLETELY HATE HIM WHICH I LOVE

(And I think it was about here where I legit thought 'hmm when Lys and Essie are older and both adults and over the age of consent, I would like to see them give it a shot with each other)

OKAY NEXT FEW CHAPTERS (because I'm going to re-read basically)

10/10 ofc

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #62, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Don't Let Go

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

AWW! I love reading from baby Lily's perspective! Again, you have an excellent knack for writing in a child's perspective! I love the way you wrote the two. I especially loved how you wrote Petunia was acting a little stuck up because she was at school and Lily wasn't, but at the end of the day Petunia still cared so much for Lily. I just love the way you've written their relationship, it's so beautiful ♥

(I'm stubbornly ignoring the annoying reminder that tells me that they won't always be like this)

I really, really loved this chapter. I know I've only read two chapters but this is already my favourite. I love how well you write and how real it all feels! Especially in how you wrote Lily trying to ride a bike for the first time, and I know that most people have had that experience and you really managed to capture the nervousness and excitement that comes from riding a bike.

You really nailed this chapter and I can't wait to read more! I'll probably be back tomorrow but now I have to sleep :P

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello again sweetie!

I have no words for this review, honestly. I just want to quote the whole thing back to you like "can you believe a person said this about my work?!?" (The answer is "No, I can't believe it" :P)

I have to admit, this is probably my favorite chapter in Beyond Repair so far - if you read on, I hope you will not be disappointed! Anyway, the fact that you are even interested in reading on makes me so happy!

Seriously, THANK YOU!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #63, by ohmymerlinlow tide: a meditation

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

Ouch, my heart. I feel so sorry for George and I love the methodical way you've seemed to write him. But I also like how he wasn't completely miserable or despondent, he was just stating as if it was a fact. It's just something that happened.

It makes my heart ache, but it's also nice to finally read a one-shot about George after the war that doesn't make me want to tear my heart out.

I like that Angelina and Lee are with him though. And they were just doing simple friends things but (maybe I'm reading too far into this) but you can tell that it really means a lot to George. He's still got a lot of healing to do, but with his friends by his side, it seems like he can get through it.

I loved this one-shot. It flowed so nicely and was so lovely to read (even with the occasional chest grab because it makes me so emotional), and I really love your writing. You're such an amazing writer ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla! Thanks so much for stopping by and reviewing ♥

Thank you, I really appreciate all that you've said here, especially what you said about it not making you want to tear your heart out but it kind of makes your heart ache. That's exactly the feeling I was going for - grief that's a bit dulled by the passage of time and easier to manage, but still present as the memories of Fred are equally uplifting and painful to remember.

This is probably the most honest fic I've ever written, and the easiest to write for that reason, as behind the guise of these characters it was essentially me finally coming to terms with my cousin's death.

And yes, I love what you pointed out about the way they're just doing ordinary friend things but it's so important to have them there. Lee and Angelina both suffered a huge amount when they lost Fred too, because they were two of his best friends, and so they're just kind of all grieving and healing together. I don't think you're reading too far into it. Much of this is meant to be open to interpretation :)

Gah, thank you so much for this kind review and omg, you are too nice ♥


 Report Review

Review #64, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Daddy's Little Flowers

14th December 2015:
Hey, Renee! I meant to review for the Hot Seat but I was a bit delayed, unfortunately!

Nevertheless, I am here and I AM SO KEEN TO READ THIS OH MY GOD.

Petunia and Lily stories are one of my weaknesses. I love them so much.

Already, the opening chapter is so strong. Leaving seeds of resentment in their relationship and it's sad that that's how their relationship is but you've already written it so magnificently. Also, you're awesome at writing from a child's perspective. I know a lot of people struggle with it but you wrote it so well!

I couldn't help but feel sorry for Petunia though. It's not like her parents were intentionally making her feel bad, but the way you wrote that scene made my heart break a little bit.

I can't wait to read on! You're such an awesome writer!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Aw, yay! I haven't received many reviews on Beyond Repair lately (probably because I haven't updated in ages :P) so I was really happy to see this!

I felt sorry for Petunia, too - I mean, I don't *like* Petunia, but she isn't evil. She's a pretty normal person in many ways, and I am hoping to win some sympathy for her throughout this piece. I'm glad you felt that.

Awww, thank you Kayla! You are too sweet!! (BTW, don't even worry about being late to the hot seat. I am like a MONTH late for them, so... yeah, not judging!)

xoxo
Renee


 Report Review

Review #65, by ohmymerlinAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

14th December 2015:
Heya Kristin! I meant to review your stories for the Hot Seat but time managed to run away from me. So I'm here with your delayed reviews now!

omg the way you write Bellatrix is phenomenal. Holy moly. You wrote that low, evil voice so well and I'm so amazed. I know you're a fantastic writer but OMG THIS IS JUST A WHOLE NEW LEVEL.

And the way you had the three girls talking about the bug was so true to their characters. I just love the way you wrote that whole scene. It matches perfectly with their canon personalities and I could really see the scenario playing out. I especially loved reading about Bellatrix's disdain about her sisters. The way you wrote that she thought she was better than them was so perfect. You really captured that sneering arrogance.

Plus, the lil bit about Rodolphous was so interesting! I always wondered why we never seemed to hear about him but you managed to weave it in effortlessly.

And ooh who is this mysterious woman? Is it just an original character or did you have someone specifically in mind?

And omg the way you wrote Bellatrix's loyalty to Voldemort was wonderful. I loved how you compared it to lightness, because for them it was their happy place where they felt free. I truly loved that bit.

I loved the whole one-shot, actually. You're one of the best writers on this site, I swear!

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Haha, Time does that! For something that doesn't have any legs it sure does run fast. :P

ASDLKJFA, thank you so much! She was such a difficult character to approach writing and really get into her mind, and she's so fascinating because she's so strong-willed and staunch in what she stands for, and I think that in other circumstances she could have been such a different person. /tangent, anyway thank you so, so much! I'm so glad you like this portrayal of her. and gah thanks, I'm blushing!

I loved writing that scene with all three sisters, as I think it shows a lot of who they will become. Ahh, thank you! I'm so glad you could visualise the scene.

I'm glad to hear Rodolphus' absence made sense too. He's a pretty average sounding person in the books, nothing that makes him stand out above the rest of the Death Eaters, and to someone who is so attracted to power like Bella is, he would seem kind of blah. :P

The woman... well, I didn't have a specific name in mind, I liked leaving her anonymous :P

Thanks! I'm glad you liked that. Despite that she's going insane in Azkaban, she does have some really interesting observations :p

OMG I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO SAY TO YOUR LAST COMMENTS ASKJDFKLAJSDLKJFAWLKDJAF just THANK YOU, I'm so flattered! *hugs* ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #66, by ohmymerlinLying Josephine: Brave Face, Kid

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

OOH THE PLOT IS THICKENING! I was wondering how she'd become 'Lying Josephine', because I couldn't imagine George ever asking her but I love the way it's all panned out!

Again, George's emotions were just ugh... ♥ My heart literally broke when the letters weren't sent and George just broke down over it. I do feel so sorry for Josephine though as well because she'll just take it. She just accepts the abuse that's hurled at her, and George always apologises but she shouldn't have to go through that. It;s like she's just going through with it and won't stand up for herself because she likes him so much but COME ON JO, STAND UP FOR YOURSELF.

I don't blame George for lashing out, but he needs to release his anger in a healthy way that IS NOT ON JO.

(I kinda want to snuggle Jo in a cocoon of protectiveness and warmth WHERE NO ONE HURTS HER EVER)

The way you write emotions is so phenomenal. You're such a talented writer, and I always knew it, but actually reading your work makes it so much more obvious and it's like 'HOW DID I NEVER READ THIS BEFORE!?'

Also, I know this was a few chapters ago, but the snow globe incident was also so emotional and moving and GOSH DARN IT TANYA YOU'RE SO FANTASTIC AT MAKING ME WAN TTO SNUGGLE GEORGE AND JOSEPHINE AND THE WAY YOU WRITE THEIR HEART BREAK IS NOTHING I'VE TRULY EXPERIENCED AND YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO MANY THINGS.

So many.

And I don't know why I get this vibe, but a lot of your story feels like a song. It flows so nicely and they bounce off each other so well and everything matches so perfectly, but it truly feels like something musical.

Probably because you write music but there's nothing I've ever read that flows so well. It's hard to explain but hopefully you get the gist of what I'm trying to say?

This was such an amazing chapter, again. I'm so excited to see how George and Josephine's relationship develops, and how she interacts with the rest of the Weasleys (will they make her come out of her shell a bit?)

I'm also really looking forward to seeing how the story progresses! I don't want to pressure you and annoy you but I really can't wait to read the next chapter, hehe!

10/10 again ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #67, by ohmymerlinLying Josephine: Eye of the Storm

14th December 2015:
TANYAAA

I meant to review for the Hot Seat but real life has been a bit of a pain lately! I know I haven't reviewed every single chapter but these last two chapters seemed to have less reviews and I thought that was an ABSOLUTE TRAVESTY so I decided to review them ♥

Okay, first of all, I LOVE THE WAY YOU HAVE WRITTEN THIS WHOLE NOVEL. JUST PHENOMENAL. I LOVE THE DYNAMIC BETWEEN FRED AND JOSEPHINE, AND THIS CHAPTER WAS SUCH A HUGE STEP WITH 'COMMUNICATION' BETWEEN GEORGE AND JOSEPHINE.

I put the communication in quotes because Josephine doesn't seem to talk much does she? Also, can I just say that I love how you've made her so quiet, yet so powerful? You've written her phenomenally and I feel like I can really relate to her. The way you write her quietness is so moving, I just adore it. I truly adore it. Just like I adore you ♥

And ugh, George's emotions about how he could have been the one who died were just so painful and raw. I feel so sorry for him, but you've written his frustration at being pitied so well. I can totally see him being frustrated that his family are being like that, and it's not like he hates his family, but I can see him being torn between not wanting any sympathy and wanting to keep talking about him.

But omg... the way you write Fred ♥ It's perfect. I also just love how you've written him not fussed about Josephine's quietness and he accepts it, not bothering too force her to talk. He makes her comfortable and I think that's just so sweet.

And the poo items hAHAHAHAHAHAHA THAT WAS THE BEST. I CAN SEE FRED AND GEORGE SITTING IN THIER OFFICES/ROOMS AND GIGGLING ABOUT SELLING LITERAL POO.

I loved this chapter so much and I love this story so much! I'm so excited to see a chapter seven soon (hopefully? ;))

10/10 ofc any other score would not be true to the story

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #68, by ohmymerlinSea of Love: II

3rd December 2015:
CAAASSIEEE

THIS IS SO SWEET AHHH

I LOVE IT SO MUCH! THEY'RE GETTING MARRIED!! Also, does this mean Clementine and Al's story is going to end up after Hogwarts where we FINALLY GET TO SEE ROSE AND SCORPIUS TOGETHER?!

But back to the actual point of the chapter, Scorpius' nervousness was so adorable and I love how much he and Rose care for each other. The way you write romance is so beautiful and Rose and Scorpius are just shining beautiful people that I love so very much.

And omg Draco's lil speech ♥

I loved this chapter so much! I'll hopefully be back soon :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: KAYLAAA!
Hooray for weddings! As for Clementine and Al's story... You'll just have to wait and see! (But honestly I haven't decided if I want to end it when they're still in their seventh year, or jump ahead and show them more in the future.)
I liked showing Scorpius before the wedding, since so many romance movies and novels show the bride getting ready. I thought it would be fun to switch it up a little and show the groom!
Aw, I'm so glad that you love the two of them so much.
I really liked writing that moment between Draco and Scorp! I like writing their father/son relationship a lot.
Thank you for the wonderful review Kayla! You're spoiling me with how sweet these are!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #69, by ohmymerlinKeeping Vigil: Keeping Vigil

3rd December 2015:
Hello fellow Kayla! I still get thrown off guard when I see people saying 'Kayla' and it's not to me. Not many people I know share our name so it's super bizarre!

I thought it would be the perfect opportunity to review your story for Day Three of the Advent Calendar seeing as we sometimes talk on twitter but I've never (ashamedly I admit) have actually read your stories! For some reason I thought I had but apparently not!

Remedying that now!

So like this made me cry. A lot. Like a lot a lot.

HOW COULD YOU DO THIS TO ME?! HAVE THEIR HEAVEN IN THEIR COTTAGE BUT WITHOUT BABY HARRY AND BOTH OF THEM SUFFERING SO GREATLY OH MY GOD NO AND EVEN WHEN SIRIUS DIED HE DIDN'T GET TO BE WITH THEM IN THE AFTERLIFE OH MY GOD IT'S SO SAD

*takes a deep breath*

I'm sorry for my outburst but this has made me feel things that I have never felt before. It was so sad! Written so so so so so beautifully but sooo sad!

Lily's heart ache over Harry made MY OWN heart ache. And James' blank angst was just so upsetting. But then how he fell apart at Sirius was even sadder. AND THE FACT THAT HE STILL TRIED TO PROTECT PETTIGREW JAMES NO MY BABY NO PLEASE DON'T DO THAT STOP BEING SO BEAUTIFUL AND WONDERFUL

Just ugh ♥ This was a really heartbreaking and heart wrenching piece and you wrote it fabulously. The simple: "But now she misses her baby boy" was just omg... ♥

So, it's safe to say I loved this one-shot! I think you did an amazing job of it and am so glad to have read and reviewed it! You made my heart hurt but it was in a good way so don't worry ;)

10/10 ofc

- your fellow Kayla :D

Author's Response: HI fellow Kayla! :D I know exactly what you mean. I know some Mikaylas, but I think you're actually the first other Kayla I've met!

OMG... I want to apologize for making you cry, but at the same time, this story is definitely supposed to be sad :')

Quick thing - James witnesses Sirius' arrest, not his death. Still haven't quite figured out how to clear that up, but I'm working on it.

Anyways, don't apologize for your "outburst". It's amazing for me when people have strong emotions about/because of my work, and I definitely love hearing about it! :D

Thank you so much for the amazing review :) Sorry for making your heart hurt, though (but also, I'm kind of not ;) )

-also Kayla


 Report Review

Review #70, by ohmymerlinSea of Love: I

1st December 2015:
Hello again!

This was such a cute introductory chapter! I just love how much Rose cares for Scorpius and how much Scorpius cares about his work. My heart just melted when he was with the kids and reading and opening the presents he received from them.

I just noticed one tiny thing but it's hardly anything:
Roseís prefect handwriting.

I think you were meant to say perfect here ;) Happens to everyone!

I really loved this chapter and I can't wait to read more! You're the absolute QUEEN of romance and everything I've ever read of yours never disappoints! YOU'RE SO AMAZING ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!
I'm so glad you liked this! I really liked Rose and Scorpius, and wanted to write them some more, so decided to do a little fluff featuring the two of them! I think their relationship is very sweet, so I'm glad you thought so, too.
Thank you for pointing out that typo! I didn't even notice it!
Oh my gosh, I might be blushing! Thank you! You're the queen of lovely reviews!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #71, by ohmymerlinStronger: Stronger

1st December 2015:
Hello again!

Aw, this was really sweet! I really love the way you write Scorpius and how caring Draco is for his son! I really loved the father/son relationship you wrote in this. It was really sweet and I think super accurate. I was surprised that he never told Scorpius about his history, especially since he was so heavily involved but it also makes sense not to tell an eleven year old that his father was a Death Eater.

But the way you wrote Draco's heartbreak over him finding out was really emotional! I adored the way you wrote that, you seemed to do it so perfectly!

And omg his poor mum! I feel so bad for them!

And the way Draco was so accepting of Rose was just beautiful &hearts: Of course he'd be shocked but the fact that it was all for Scorpius' happiness was beautiful ♥

Loved loved loved this one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi again!
I think the Malfoy family is really fascinating, so I loved getting to explore them some more in this story.
Aside from the fact that Scorpius is so young, I think Draco doesn't tell him about the war because he regrets what he did. He's ashamed of the person he was back then, and doesn't want his son to think differently of him once he knows what Draco did during the war.
Because the Malfoys are so close, it's really hard for Draco to tell Scorp everything, and the fact that Scorpius is so understanding is really comforting for Draco as a father. His son isn't ashamed of him, and still really loves him, and that's really important to Draco.
Astoria had a really hard time during the war, which I wrote about in my one-shot Princess, if you're interested in getting more of her backstory. The scene where Scorp sees his mother waking up from a nightmare was one that I really wanted to get right. Scorpius is seeing something that terrifies him, but I think it says a lot about him that he still wants to go back to his mother and help her, even if it means seeing something so scary again.
Again, the Malfoys really love each other, so in the end Draco just wants his son to be happy.
Thank you for the wonderful review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #72, by ohmymerlinOh My Darling: 6

1st December 2015:
Hey, Cassie! I'm a bit delayed here with my review but OMG

THEY TALKED ABOUT THEIR FEELINGS!!! AND THEY'RE KIND OF STARTING SOMETHING (albeit slowly but of course they're doing it slowly, it's THEM)

And ooh, what's happened to Clem's parents? HOW DARE SOMEONE AS INNOCENT AND PRECIOUS AS CLEM HAVE SOMETHING SAD ABOUT HER. I DO NOT WANT THIS TO HAPPEN.

But I am EXTREMELY curious!

I really love how you write Clem and Lizzie's friendship. I think you write that really beautifully, and the fact that you said that they sometimes act too old for their age was awesome. Teenagers, especially ones nearing adulthood, have an uncanny tendency to try and act older than they are and not savour their youth.

Welp, that made me sound like a grandma.

But the point remains, I liked that you added that lil bit in.

And omg I love Rose so much. She's steadily becoming one of my favourite characters. I love her no nonsense thing she's got going on!

And Scorpius is adorable. I love how fond he is of Ewan already! SUCH A BABE.

Anyway, Cassie. This was another wonderfully adorable story! I think you did so well with it! I absolutely adored it!

10/10 ofc ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!
YAY FEELINGS! I'm really glad you liked that part of the chapter. It took me a really long time to get something that I actually liked, and I changed it about a million times before I actually posted the chapter. But getting a positive response from you is really reassuring!
Chapter 7 is up, and you'll find out what happened to Clem's parents then!
Clem and Lizzie are a lot of fun for me to write. They don't seem like people who would naturally be friends, because they're so different, but they're extremely close and protective of one another. They both act older than they are, so I like the moments where they act like teenagers, too.
I love Rose, too. She's very independent and isn't afraid to speak her mind! I love writing Scorp, too.
Thank you for another lovely review!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #73, by ohmymerlinWickerman Wizard: ACT I - Nosferatu

1st December 2015:
Hello, I'm here from my review thread!

You first asked about the summary and: yes. Wow. That's an amazing summary. It really draws the readers in. If you want to appeal to readers, maybe a banner might also help? It shouldn't be a contributing factor but it is. Colours just naturally attract attention. TDA is always a good choice to get your banners from :)

I always struggle to read archaic prose (I had to read Frankenstein like four times to understand it at all, and then another time to actually enjoy it) and this was no different, but I really admired the way you wrote it. It's definitely not the way you write, it's just my brain really struggles to process it.

I'm a bit confused as to who the stranger is and I REALLY want to know. I loved that element of mystery you have underlying the whole thing and omg the way you wrote the priest was phenomenal. I really felt like I was reading something medieval and your descriptions are so phenomenal. It really felt like I was right there in the story with all these characters.

The way you described the dehydration though... omg... amazing. It made me reach for my own water you wrote it that so well.

Also, I love how you've set it up: "Act I" and all that. I LOVE IT. I really love unique fics and yours is so unique. I would definitely read on if there were other chapters and it would take me a while to understand it completely (I'm probably going to re-read the chapter again later on because admittedly I did wake up at 6 am and I've had a long day) but I would definitely read on. It's such an intriguing story and I have just GOT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS!

The way you described the magic was also just woah. You make it feel real, and alive.

I don't understand any of the other fandom things so I did feel a bit lost and confused about some of it, but that's just because I haven't read/seen those things.

But this is honestly the most interesting opening chapter I've ever read. You've definitely got the readers hooked! It's so refreshing to see such a different style of writing.

Feel free to request again :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello, and thank you for the review!

I'm relieved to hear that the summary is satisfactory. I've taken your advice and created a rough banner that I hope serves well until I can ask for more professional help, I'm a little nervous about asking.

Mm, well I'm sorry you had trouble with the prose, I feared that might happen.

I don't want to actually name the MC in-story, but the line about eyes 'like evergreen springs' was what I hoped to be a subtle answer, given how many stories feature 'emerald eyes' and the like. This iteration of Harry Potter is definitely not our canon example.

Re: Priest/water; wonderful! :D I've heard one of my readers say that the struggle for water was the true nemesis, would you agree with that perspective?

That's also a relief, I'm very happy you would and plan to read on as this continues!

For the most part the only truly other fandom material is the mention of Anduriel, with the Morrigan I took some of the real world myth and tweaked it some to fit the setting. I'll try to provide more context going forward on the aspects I'm bringing in to minimize confusion.

Thank you again for a great review!


 Report Review

Review #74, by ohmymerlinRecipe For Detention: It All Started With Puffskein Poo

1st December 2015:
Hello again! I'm here from my review thread, again :P

I really liked this one-shot. I love the relationship between Sirius and Lily. It's one of my favourite things to read, the friendship between them two. I've always thought they'd get along by themselves and I think you've written the relationship super well.

I definitely truly understand the depth of their relationship. You conveyed it super well. I loved how well they got along, and I loved that Sirius was so blunt with her. I think he's an extraordinary blunt man and he's got no time for nonsense when it comes to Snape or if it affects James.

The story flowed really well, I never really felt pulled out of the story at all. The only thing was some of the dialogue. It just felt a bit too forced sometimes, and what I find helps me is saying it out loud because we usually talk very colloquially and not very formal, especially with mates.

I thought you kept them quite well to their canon personalities. I especially loved Lily's mischievous side. You often see in fanfic that Lily wasn't mischievous so to see that cheeky side of her (because Slughorn did say she was cheeky!) and I especially loved how she was so willing to prank Filch, haha! And as I said before I love how blunt Sirius was. I always felt like he was a 'no nonsense' person.

I definitely loved this one-shot, and I think you wrote it super well! I'm so glad I got to read it ♥

Feel free to request again!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello!
I'm so sorry about the mix up and it's so nice of you to stop by for two reviews!

Sirius Lily friendship is my favorite! I always imagined them to be quite close, especially after we saw the letter she wrote him in DH - there was so much comfort in that letter if you know what I mean.

Yes, I have read many fics where Remus plays the role I have put Sirius in - being Lilys confidant and maki get introspect, but when I saw the challenge I couldn't picture anyone other than Sirius for this! As you said, his bluntness would make him the ideal person to make Lily think.

I'm always worried about dialogues since I'm not a native English speaker. I'll definitely keep your advice in mind when I write the chapters from now. I'll also revisit this chapter and see how I can improve the dialogues

Yes!!! I did keep in mind Slughorn Sai she was cheeky. That totally killed the quasy-Hermione vision of Lily that everyone put her in after the OotP scene. I mean, James wouldnt have loved her if she was a boring goody two shoes!

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading it and I appreciate your feedback! Once again, I'm sorry for the mix up with the link!

Love,
~Ysh


 Report Review

Review #75, by ohmymerlinOnce Upon The Marauders: The Untold Story: Signed, Sealed and Delivered.

30th November 2015:
Hello! I'm here from my review thread! Well, I noticed you linked this story and I read it all, reviewed it and I was looking back on your post to see any areas of concern that I hadn't addressed, I realised you linked the wrong story! I don't mind reviewing it though, hopefully you don't mind receiving an extra review ;)

First of all, I love the opening paragraph. I saw it in the NaNo thread and loved it then, and I am so glad that it's from this story. It's one of the strongest openings I've ever read and if this was a published novel you can guarantee that everyone would always be quoting that. It'd be on the Tumblr gifs, people would have fanart of the Marauders with that quote. It's point blank my most favourite thing ever.

I really liked how you set the chapter up, with everyone getting their letters and their parents' reactions. It was definitely an intriguing way to start a story!

The way you described Fleamont was also just perfect. Just brilliant. It was such a vivid image and for a second I had to remember that he was only fictional!

I also really liked how you made Peter's childhood. It makes his behaviour much more understandable in his adulthood. I think you really managed to nail that one down.

However, one thing popped up that sounded a bit odd:
'gladdened when she looked relieved'

That sounded very strange. Maybe change the word 'gladdened' to pleased? Or just glad?

But other than that, I think you did a marvellous job on this chapter! I really enjoyed reading it!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Oh no! I'm so sorry about the mix up in linking :-( I would love any feedback, of course! Thank you for reviewing :D

Awww that's the highest praise I've gotten for my opening passage! To have it being popular over tumblr is always the dream! I'm so glad you feel that way!

Yes Fleamont is my favorite parent as well. I always thought James, if he had lived, would have turned out that way. WHY DID THEY HAVE TO DIE?? *sniff*

TBH Peters passage wasn't included in the primal version, and then a review swap with Chiara pointed out that I needed to explore him as well. It is point blank the hardest thing I have had to write owing to my complete disgust of him for breaking them up :(

Yes thank you so much for pointing that out, I'll change it right away!

I'm so glad you enjoyed it Kayla! Thank you so much for stopping by!

Love
Ysh


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>