Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
671 Reviews Found

Review #51, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Together: Together

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, I was loving this that Lily was yelling and shouting at Severus,
scolding him for what he had done to Harry because no one
deserves to be treated like that and he never saw Harry as Lily's son
only as James' and I love that you incorporated that into there
because he was always so overcome with jealousy that he didn't try
to think of Harry as someone he could have had a connection to but
instead treated him the way he treated James.

But then it annoyed me that Lily kind of -- well not forgave him but
went to him instead of James. I think if she was truly angry she'd
never speak to him again because that's just not one does when
someone treats your son like that.

But oh well, this is your story! It's just that I've never been that fond
of the Snape and Lily pairing so it's probably just a personal bias :P

But you wrote this very well! I think you got Snape's personality on
point and Lily's personality up until she ran crying to him. But again,
personal differences.

I also liked how Lily said she'd have a word with Petunia once she
died as well. That was a nice little addition!

Anywho, this was a great story (even with me kind of disagreeing on
the latter half) and I think you wrote it very well! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #52, by ohmymerlinFlung Salt: an absence

8th July 2014:
Hello once more!

Oh wow, this was an emotional chapter! I felt so sorry for Parvati! She lost her best friend and they didn't even get to have the funeral Lavender would have wanted :( And I liked that they were making daisy chains together. It just seems so THEM and I could really imagine them sitting out in the grounds in the warm sun lazing about :') It's sad that they won't be able to do that though! D':

Oh, the scene with her running out of the church was just so emotional and sad :( I felt so sorry for her. I just wanted to give her a hug! D:

Again, your descriptions are just flawless. You've got an amazing talent! And random question, are you a graphics-y person (clearly I am not) because from the way you write it seems like you are. Especially when you describe colours or the surroundings, it just seems very graphic-y!

This was a wonderful short story collection! I think you definitely grasped Parvati's personality perfectly! This was an amazing job! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #53, by ohmymerlinFlung Salt: sargasso sea

8th July 2014:
Hello again! Ooh, this was interesting! I love the way you described everything and although I generally hate when authors are vague, I really liked this sense of vagueness! It was a bit confusing but it suited the story so well!

I really, really, reaaally loved the image of Dumbledore rubbing sunscreen into his beard. That may have been the best part of this one-shot, hahaha!

Jokes, the best part of this one-shot was definitely the descriptions! Absolutely loved them! I really loved the way you described the fourth dream with all those colours! It was such a vivid image and it just seemed a bit apocalypse-y (I know that isn't a word shhh) so is it meant to be foretelling the war?

Anyway, this was a brilliant one-shot! 10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #54, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Constructive Criticism : Constructive Criticism

8th July 2014:
Ooh, this Runespoor was very wise! I loved all the clever statements that came from it and I loved at how the heads kept kind of arguing with each other! That was rather humorous! :P

I also really loved the 'stardust in her veins and venom in her eyes'. That was such a strong phrase. If this was a famous novel or movie, that quote would be quoted everywhere in my opinion! It was just such an amazing quote!

The heads were slightly sarcastic, it definitely made me laugh! :P

Also, loved the little history lesson with serpents and the connection to the Dark Arts! Was that all canon information or did you make it up? Because it sounded like canon, and the names were so clever! If you did make it up, wow! You're definitely creative!

This was an amazing one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #55, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - The Plans We Make: The Plans We Make

8th July 2014:
Oh, that was so sweet! Poor Hermione freaking out! I can imagine her going crazy with the planning on that holiday to France that you briefly mentioned! After all, I remember reading about her dreaded study timetables for O.W.L's :P Also, I liked how Harry hadn't seen Hermione that nervous since waiting for her N.E.W.T results. That seems very Hermione-esque!

I loved that they made bets trying to work out what Ron would do but they were both wrong! He didn't freak out, he stepped up and acted like a man :') Bless!

I also laughed at how Hermione used the wrong 'your' and Harry noticed immediately :P What a good friend-basically-brother to Hermione haha!

This was a great one-shot! It was so sweet! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Thank you so much for such a sweet review! I'm glad that you enjoyed reading it:).
Even though Ron stepped up, I imagine that there was still a fair amount of freaking out ;)

Thanks again!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #56, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - Saving Teddy: Saving Teddy

8th July 2014:
Oh my god. I have never laughed harder! This was SO FUNNY! Seriously I'm going to be giggling about this all day at work today!

I knew it would be about a spider but I never realised how much I'd laugh because of it! I loved how he was getting all Auror-like for this and then all his training went out the window, hahahahahahahahahahaha

I especially loved at how he was thinking that they could just move house rather than the logical thing of either killing it or banishing it, hahahahaha! That would be just too easy! :P

Also loved at how Ron was 'thwarted' by his daughter's smarts! Even though she was only four, she still had Hermione's brain and that could often be still smarter than Ron's adult brain hahaaha :P

Also, nice touch with the wingardium leviosa ;)

Afterwards he was acting like he defeated all of Voldemort and his Death Eaters on his own! He's so silly and dramatic but that's why I love him! :P

Also I loved the last line where he displayed 'an unusual moment of cliched fatherly wisdom'. That was just brilliant!

10/10! Best story ever! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: YAYAYAY!
I don't write much humor, so knowing that you laughed is really great :D

I totally relate to Ron's irrational behavior when facing a spider. (shudders).

I love Ron, too. He's pretty much the best thing ever, as far as I'm concerned.

Thanks so much!! This was a really fantastic review!!


 Report Review

Review #57, by ohmymerlinEvent Three-Into the Flame: Charlie's Test

8th July 2014:
Hello!

It's funny, I never really perceived Charlie ever having a sexuality. I always just imagined his one true love is his dragons but I did like the little addition of Erik. It was sweet :')

I CAN'T BELIEVE HE JUST LET HIMSELF BE BURNT LIKE THAT! HE COULD HAVE /DIED/! If Molly ever found out she'd kill him herself with her own fire breath! How idiotic can Charlie be?!

Anyway, I loved the way you wrote Charlie's excitement and nervousness at finally properly meeting a dragon (even though he let himself get burnt like that the silly boy!). It felt very real and I was so excited for him, less nervous because I thought he'd totally have it all under control but apparently not! :P

This was a really funny one-shot. It definitely had an unexpected twist but it was still very funny and very sweet seeing how much Charlie loved his dragons, haha! :P

Great work!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey!

That's funny, because for me, I always sort of just knew that Charlie was gay.

Charlie isn't an idiot, like you said, he's just madly in love with those dragons!!

I'm glad that I was able to surprise you with the ending a little bit!!

Thanks again for reviewing!

-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #58, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Overcoming Azkaban: Prompt Two

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, poor Sirius! My heart just broke for him! It would be hard seeing your dead best friend every day and it not actually being him :'( I think you wrote Sirius' sadness extremely well and not too over the top. I liked the bit where Sirius starts to finally notice that Harry IS NOT James and he goes to the attic to laugh about the fact that Harry doesn't have the annoying habit of ruffling his hair. That was so brilliant! It was also so sad that when Sirius would first look at Harry and be reminded of when he was in Azkaban and his memories haunting him :'( It's so unfair that he was put away for that long D': But it was a nice ending that he finally understands Harry is his own person and that one day he won't look at him and see James, but he'll see Harry :')

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: I know, but you gotta love those Sirius feels ;) It's sometimes the little things that make the biggest difference and I liked that it was just a simple habit (or lack thereof) that changed his whole view on a person. It must have been heartbreaking for Sirius to see his best friend everyday who really isn't his best friend. Thanks again!
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #59, by ohmymerlinHead Girl Evans: Lily

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

The first thing I started singing when I read the last line was Beyonce's song, 'Who runs the world? Girls!' Hahahaha! Just thought you'd be interested to hear that! :P

I loved how determined Lily was to show all those nasty Purebloods what THEIR place was! She's definitely a hard worker and I'm so glad that all her hard work paid off!

I also loved how James was so cute and supportive. Especially loved the line: "Lily Evans has entered the building, watch out Hogwarts."

That was great!

Lily's pride in being picked Head Girl was so endearing! I just wanted to pick her up in a big squishy cuddle and congratulate her, haha!

Ooh, nearly forgot to say but THANK YOU FOR NOT MAKING LILY CAUSE A FUSS THAT JAMES WAS HEAD BOY! I have read SO MANY James and Lily fanfictions where Lily acts like she's eight years old when she finds out James is Head Boy alongside her and I am so happy that you made her act mature and reasonable about it! It was such a beautiful thing to read! :')

Great one-shot! Absolutely loved it! And Lily, YOU GO GIRL! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Oh my gosh that song actually fits this incredibly well, I hadn't even thought of that.

Well I mean, living in a time like that she definitely had to be tough considering so many people in the wizarding world were actually turning against her kind of people during the time. I think James would've always been supportive of Lily as long as the things that she did didn't result with her dead.

I think anyone would've been really proud to be chosen for the position of Head Girl or Boy but it probably meant more to Lily than it usually would've to anyone else.

OH MY GOD I'VE SEEN THAT SCENARIO WHERE LILY COMPLETELY FLIPS OUT WHENEVER SHE FINDS OUT THAT JAMES IS HEAD BOY AND IT'S JUST LIKE "GIRL, CALM DOWN HE HASN'T KILLED ANYONE!" Like come on, Lily was a smart and collected type of girl, she wouldn't blow her top over something this simple and it's never stated in canon that she hated James, just that she wasn't afraid to call him out on his bullying. I always figured she'd be shocked at best and then just go with the flow instead of stomping her feet like a child.

Thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #60, by ohmymerlinThree: Narcissa Malfoy

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Ooh, this was an interesting piece! First let me say that you got Narcissa's speech and body language so on point! She was so formal and stiff, and it was so perfect of her! I think you really nailed her in this piece!

I was so sad when she shut down Andromeda! Andromeda was being the bigger person and putting their differences aside but Narcissa just acted like a haughty pureblood witch! (And I don't mean witch as in a magical female, but a nasty person!)

The scene between Lucius and Narcissa was also written very well! It was interesting to see how self-sacrificing Lucius was and it showed how much he truly loved Narcissa and Draco. Although I didn't find it that sad that he was rotting away in Azkaban. He deserved it, in my opinion. Yes he was acting for his family and stuff but oh well.

So I think you wrote all of these stories very well! I definitely enjoyed reading all of them!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #61, by ohmymerlinThree: Pansy Parkinson

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was a very interesting take on Pansy. I thought it was very interesting that you made her like this and although I don't necessarily agree with it, I can't help but think that it actually makes sense in terms of Pansy in the books! Especially when you said she whined but tried to keep it out of her voice because she tended to whine all the time in the books but it was cool to see that maybe she didn't really mean to at times, it just came out!

And it was good to see that she was mature about the break up but that she still wanted to be friends with Draco. I think that was very grown up of her and not the Pansy we knew from the books!

I felt so sorry for her when she was saying she had no friends. And I didn't want to feel sorry for her so that must mean you've got some serious talent, haha! :P

Great job!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #62, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: The Price Of War: The Price Of War

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

I felt so sorry for Susan! I didn't realise what was happening but then when you said she was blind, it made so much sense! It was a very interesting post-war affliction to have but it's quite good!

It was also clever that Dean also had the same thing happen to him, poor kid :'( It was clever that Susan realised it by the hand shuffling thing to hold her hand. I didn't get it at first but then when I re-read it I noticed that little part and realised. Very clever!

The opening paragraph was written so well, Lotte! I thought it was so powerful!

Great one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF!

 Report Review

Review #63, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Frightened Little Beings : Frightened Little Beings

8th July 2014:
Hey, Lotte!

This was such a cute little one-shot! I loved how Charlie was such a sourpuss because of Bill. Although, Bill was actually older than Charlie. But it is fanfiction so you can do whatever you want with it, haha! :P

Although, I noticed there were quite a bit of errors. I think if you just read through it again, you'll pick it up. They were probably typos though, so don't stress out about it too much! And we did have a time frame to do this in so it's completely understandable!

Anyway, it was so cute how much Charlie loved the dragons! Also, I loved the name Elsa! Was that inspiration from a certain movie that came out about half a year ago? ;) (side note: HOW HAS IT BEEN THAT LONG SINCE IT CAME OUT?!)

Anywho, I loved this story! I think you did a great job on it! GO HUFFLEPUFF! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #64, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: At Night's End: The sun sings lullabies.

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was an excellent exploration of friendship! It's such a creative new pairing, Luna and Ollivander! I absolutely loved it!

You wrote Ollivander so wonderfully, it really felt like J. K. Rowling wrote him! (Are you secretly her and not telling us? :P)

And oh my god. The way you described Ollivander making the wand was just breathtaking. It was so delicate and you could just tell it was Ollivander's one true love ♥

It was so lovely that part of the reason that Ollivander loved Luna so much is that she reminded him of his own daughter. That was so sweet!

I really loved this one-shot. I think you managed to capture Ollivander's personality so perfectly and the way you write is just so magical. I love it, absolutely love it.

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #65, by ohmymerlinMy Tears Are Becoming A Sea: aflame

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Holy moly.

Wowza.

This was MAGNIFICENT. (I nearly wrote Maleficient there hahaha)

The amount of detail in your descriptions and the metaphors and similes and the repetitiveness (I know I'm sounding like a 15 year old's English essay but shh) was just so powerful and effective and just made me ache for McGonagall.

I loved the fire metaphor. And I especially loved the word 'aflame'. It's such a beautiful word and so delicate and wow I just can't believe how amazing this one-shot is!

The small soliloquy of her parents was also so well done. I loved the anguish that you described from both of them. Well... it wasn't really anguish but you know what I mean!

I don't know what else to say except at how much I loved this piece! You wrote it so beautifully!

Anything less than a 10 would be just wrong! There's no doubt you deserve anything less for this. Seriously, congratulations on being such an amazing writer! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hello! Omg Kayla lbr i think you're the one who deserves congratulations for being an amazing reviewer! Ahh you don't sound like a fifteen year old's English essay trust me!! This is a totally magnificent review and it made me smile sooo much ♥ ♥ thank you so much for the adorable review!!!
Astrid
x


 Report Review

Review #66, by ohmymerlinA Last Goodbye: A Last Goodbye

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, this was so sad! :'( Poor Ron, losing his best friend! You wrote his misery and his annoyance at the wizarding world very well! I could imagine a grumpy old Ron yelling at them telling them to sod off or something, haha!

You wrote Ron's emotions beautifully though and it was so sad to read how much he ached for his best friend :'( :'(

I especially loved the second person prose. It made it feel so much more personal and hit us so much harder :'(

I especially loved at how you managed to get Ron's language so perfectly, '(insensitive gits)'. It just gave it such a /Ron/ feel which is brilliant! Loved the part where he thought his grey hair gave him sophistication and maturity and Harry made fun of him! That just seemed so typical of their relationship, hahaha!

Brilliant one-shot, Lauren! You did a magnificent job with this! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #67, by ohmymerlinA Glimmer of Light: What's in a Name?

8th July 2014:
Hey, Lauren!

Aw, this one-shot was so adorable! Look at cute lil Neville doting on baby Alice and being all worried already! Bless! :')

I loved loved loved the scene with Alice senior when she first meets baby Alice! And then the way she hurried to give her a little wrapper was just so beautiful :')

Also, the way you described how Neville was still disappointed every time he visited and it hit him with lead was just so sad and so powerful. I felt so sorry for Neville because it would be so hard for him. I think you wrote that part extremely well!

This was a wonderful one-shot. I absolutely loved it ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #68, by ohmymerlinMeeting Norberta: Reunion

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so good! I absolutely loved it! I really loved at how even though Hagrid had been through all the safety principles, he just got so excited at seeing Norberta and broke all of them at once, haha!

It was so sweet seeing how happy he was at finally seeing his 'baby' and that 'Mummy' and dragon were reunited again, hahahaha! :P

I found it so sweet that all Norberta wanted was love and Hagrid was the only one who was brave enough to give it to her, haha! And I really liked the tiny additions with Charlie. He's such a great character and I loved his dialogue! :D

Really great one-shot, Lauren ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #69, by ohmymerlinForbidden Wanderings: A Surprising Encounter

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so good! I think you've really managed to capture Dracos' personality here and I especially loved the connections between him and the thestral! I loved how he was so filled with self-hatred at his younger self being naive and wanting to become a death eater and now that he is one, he just hated it. It was a very nice touch. You could really see the bitterness and contempt he holds for himself which is sad but it's very true of him, especially in the Half Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows!

I also liked that you added that thestrals have a good sense of direction! I nearly forgot about that so that was so clever!

Great work on this one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it and the interaction between Draco and the thestral. I think Draco really gets a reality check in his last two years at Hogwarts, and I think it really changes him. Thanks for the review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #70, by ohmymerlinSynergy : Synergy

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw this was so sweet! I LOVED that it was in Buckbeak's point of view and that he didn't like Draco Malfoy and his 'friends', haha! I really loved the way you made him love Hagrid so much! And then of course he liked Harry! It was so adorable seeing Buckbeak so happy that Harry was so excited to ride and go flying on him, haha! I just loved it!

The way you described Buckbeak flying was so good! I could almost imagine /I/ was flying! It was so good! I especially loved when Buckbeak wanted to 'test Harry's endurance', hahahaha! Oh well, at least he loved it! :P

This was a brilliant one-shot! I absolutely loved it! Great work! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #71, by ohmymerlinAll Black and Full of Bones: All Black and Full of Bones

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so lovely! I think you've really captured Luna's personality so well in this one-shot! I loved her soliloquy on death and that for her it meant her mother, and that wasn't necessarily a bad thing! I think that was such a good little paragraph and so true of Luna! It just really reflected her personality!

I loved all the descriptions that you gave! They were so beautiful and it just gave me an image of Luna in the forest that made me want to paint it if I had any artistic talent :P

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

Author's Response: Hello again Kayla!
Thank you so much! I'm really happy you felt that it reflecting Luna's personality, I just feel she would both take comfort in things that may seem strange to others, but also I think she's a rather optimistic person who would seek to make the best of anything - and the best of the thestrals is her mother.
I know what you mean! I constantly get painting/drawing urges, but I'm not very good at either!
Thank you for such a lovely review -hugs-


 Report Review

Review #72, by ohmymerlinFlung Salt: a single gesture

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was so beautiful and touching! I just adore how you started this off. It was such a blunt way of starting it but it just did its job :)

And the descriptions you wrote were magnificent. I loved how you described the thestral, it was such a nice way and Parvati's apprehension at first was very well written! But then it was so lovely to see that she eventually came to like (?) it, and even gave it a little bit of food -- how sweet!

I absolutely LOVED that last line! It was a great way to end such a wonderful story! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #73, by ohmymerlinThree: Luna Lovegood

8th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so cute! I found Luna to be so endearing and it was so cute that she named the thestral Pegasus! ♥

The poor girl was being made fun of! That isn't very nice! :'( The people were so mean but she was so blase about it, which was good, I guess!

I really liked the way you described the thestral, it was like it wasn't a bad description and the way Luna was talking to it almost made it cute, haha!

She's such a gentle character Luna and I think you've written her perfectly here. You've managed to capture her mystical-ness and I didn't feel like it was too over the top which a lot of people seem to do sometimes! Great job! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #4

 Report Review

Review #74, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3 - A as in Sexuality: Chapter One

8th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was so good! Not many stories have a representation of asexual characters and I like that you made Dorcas be asexual. I've never ever seen her as asexual but I've also never seen her with a boyfriend or girlfriend. It actually makes so much sense in my head, haha!

I think you really wrote her nervousness and fear extremely well! It would be scary for anyone to come out and especially seeing as her parents reacted negatively, of course she'd be terrified!

But her friends weren't idiots and they accepted her/didn't seem to mind it at all, which was brilliant! :D

Loved this story! It was a very interesting take on the first prompt but I liked it! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #75, by ohmymerlinEternity : I

8th July 2014:
Hey, Zayne!

Oh, how I love Seamus! Interesting twist having Seamus be a ghost, it made me actually gasp when I finally worked it out, haha!

It was so great that even though Seamus is a ghost, he and Dean are still best mates. True friends don't notice small things like death, haha!

And oh how I loved Dean's nonchalance that he just randomly died and came back as a ghost. Dean doesn't have time to worry about silly things such as being a ghost, Dean has things to do! :P

Loved this one-shot! You did such an amazing job of it! 10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!!

hahaha, is it bad that i'm pleased I took you by surprise with that? I'm glad you liked their friendship. It was a lot of fun to write them, even with one of them being a ghost. It was sort of nice to play with those dynamics and how Seamus would be if he were a ghost and how'd he react to different situations. He became quite matter of fact and perhaps a little insensitive to death itself. But I suppose once you've faced death it becomes less of an enormous fear.

Again with Dean and his death. It just seemed really natural that he simply just keep going. All that mattered really was his crossing over and the fact he was again reunited with his friend and yes, he has far more important things to do like figure out what that silly door is doing than worry about his death. :)

Thanks for your review! I appreciate your words so much!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>