Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
678 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ohmymerlinTrying not to love you: Chapter twenty-five News

12th July 2014:
Hello!

First of all, Joshua is such a cutie! :') Can I please have twelve of him? :P

And I feel like Gwen has misinterpreted everything between James and that he didn't actually sleep with Sam, although it may seem like that. I am very curious as to what was happening -- maybe he's hatching a plan to somehow prove himself to Gwen and that he's not an idiotic kid? (*crosses fingers* come on James you can do it!)

Wait, I'm a bit confused. What does the prisoner killing the guard have anything to do with Gwen's father? Why are they going to let him out because another prisoner killed someone? Or did I just completely miss it? :P That's probably likely because I did read this chapter a while ago and I quickly reread it to FINALLY review :P

Anyway, this was a really good chapter! I'm surprised Joshua was okay with everything! Even if it doesn't mean anything, she still kissed him and that's technically cheating. But I dunno... maybe I'm just a grudge-holder :P

But Joshua just seems /too/ perfect! What's wrong with him/what's he hiding?! *narrows eyes suspiciously*

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #27, by ohmymerlinAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: Slytherin's Office

10th July 2014:
*gasps loudly*

What I just what how I mean you explained it but what I would have never ever ever picked that out of anything! Talk about a plot twist!

But yay Albus defeated him! It was a bit weird it was with Petrificus Totalus but I guess he'd been alive for so long he just kind of deteriorated. Kind of like Mother Gothel in Tangled!

Poor Albus, thinking he was a murderer :( He isn't because it was out of self-defence and he didn't mean to kill him! He was just trying to protect himself. I WILL NOT ALLOW ALBUS TO FEEL DISTRESSED OR UPSET ABOUT THIS.

Also, poor thing passed out! Too much action for a kid, huh?

Oh, and I nearly forgot to mention but when Albus was swinging the ball and chain around to destroy the Horcurxes, it strongly reminded me of Miley Cyrus' 'Wrecking Ball' :P I really could imagine Al singing it as he destroyed them all, hahaha!

Great chapter! I can't wait to read the next one -- the last one! D':

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Well, it is called "Slytherin's Office"... but yeah, it is meant to be a plot twist.

Your theory is billiant! And actually kind of true! Good for you! (That rhyming was unintentional.)

Yes, Albus certainly was only self-defending and didn't even produce a deadly curse, but he still feels guilty.

Albus passed out from shock. He got hit with the killing curse and survived, while Slytherin got hit with a body-bind and died. That is quite shocking!

I've actually never listened to "Wrecking Ball". I don't listen to most of Miley Cyrus's stuff, but I'll definitely check it out!

The last chapter! *sobs emotionally* But I do have six more books to do, so I'm not done with Albus yet. When I realize I'm only 1/7 of the way done, I feel like crying. But I'll do it, even if it takes me twenty years! Gosh, I hope it doesn't take me that long...

Thank you for reviewing!!


 Report Review

Review #28, by ohmymerlinAlbus Potter and Slytherin's Office: Down Near the Dungeons

10th July 2014:
Hello!

I'm sorry for taking so long to review! I'd read the chapter but I just hadn't had the time to review but now I'm finally here!

GO ALBUS! He made such a great achievement, making that potion especially seeing as he's still only a little fella! I liked that he felt the Potions exam was a breeze. I could practically hear his hair flick once he was walking out of that exam, haha!

Speaking of, you wrote the exams very well! I liked how nervous they got and how Rose studied in her dorm to get away from the boys :P

BUT OH MY GOD GO HARRY YOU GO HARRY YOU CAN DO THIS I BELIEVE IN YOU HARRY

DEFEAT ZAJECFER AND SAVE YOUR SON AND YOUR NIECE AND THEIR FRIENDS BECAUSE YOU ARE HARRY POTTER AND YOU ARE THE BOY WHO LIVED

And that's a mean cliffhanger! But luckily chapter 25 is already out for me so I can happily skip away to the next chapter! Well... not happily but worriedly because I'm so scared who this crazy psychopath will be! D':

I'll be back :--)))

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hooray for using the review to get points for Hufflepuff! I feel TERRIBLE for not doing reviews, but I am kind of busy. Argh!

Yes, I can imagine that at the end of the Potions exam, he made a LOT of people jealous. Ha ha.

I imagine before their first exams they'll be very nervous (I know I was).

HARRY POTTER! HARRY POTTER!

You are SO lucky you didn't have to wait. :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #29, by ohmymerlinStuck in the Middle: Meeting the Family

10th July 2014:
Oh my god, Sam! (DIDN'T WRITE SAME YAY)

WHY ARE THEY SO CUTE TOGETHER OH MY GOD AND GO HARRY FOR BEING THE CHILLEST PARENT EVER HE'S NOT LIKE, "I don't care what you do and who you do it with just don't do it on my couch." Hahahahaha!

I especially loved Harry's reluctance at wanting to visit Dudley, hahaha! He's still the child that we all know and love from the books :') And bless Harry for giving Ollie his laptop so he can skype his family. Always a family man :')

And Ollie's dad is the best! Absolute best! I would quote what he said about James but that isn't allowed, hehe! But Ollie's embarrassment was so cute! It was cute that his dad was teasing him -- as all fathers do with their son's crushes!

And I just love Ollie's cockiness! He's such an idiot but it's so funny and so good, haha!

10/10 of course!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Haha! Harry's had a really long, hard day. He cares even less than he would if it had been his day off. He's all like, "It's your life. Just not on my stuff." :P

I think that Harry, for the most part, had to grow up way too fast, so now that there's no threat of war, there are a lot of moments when he needs to be childish. Visiting Dudley is one of them.

Harry is definitely a family man.

Haha! I do like Fraser. He's so fun. He and Harry will get on just fine. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #30, by ohmymerlinStuck in the Middle: About James Potter

10th July 2014:
AW BLESS OLLIE'S SOUL!

I admired how well he studied for Potions! That boy is DEDICATED. I'm so bad at that so I actually was so amazed at how well he was studying :P

AND EEEK JAMES AND OLLIE ARE GOING TO TUTOR EACH OTHER THEY'RE GOING TO TUTOR EACH OTHER AND SPEND MORE TIME WITH EACH OTHER THAT'S TOTALLY GOING TO END UP AS A SNOGGING SESSION I CAN FEEL IT IN MY BONES!!! !!! !!!

James, you aren't that sly let's be real come on mate you're very obvious :P

Also, Bernard is such an old man name, hahahaha! Of course Dudley would have chosen a name suitable for an eighty year old :P I'm very curious as to what he did though, haha!

I liked James last little thought that he knows he isn't gay but he is wondering if he's straight. So I'm either guessing he's bisexual or pansexual? He definitely likes boys but is it based on gender or other factors? Hmm... *strokes beard thoughtfully*

AND NOW OLLIE IS GOING TO STAY WITH JAMES. If there isn't at least one awkward pre-/post-shower run in or a naked glimpse, I may be a little disappointed to tell you the truth :P

Jokes, I'll love anything you write because I always do. I just love the way you write. It's so direct and to the point and so clear aND I JUST NOTICED YOUR AUTHOR'S NOTE ARE THERE ONLY TWENTY FOUR CHAPTERS WE ARE PAST THE HALFWAY POINT WHAT WHEN DID THAT HAPPEN?!

But of course I enjoyed this chapter! How can anyone not enjoy your chapters, Sam?! (Fun fact: every time I write your name I write 'Same' .-.)

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Haha! Dedicated is one word to use. ;)

Totally. It's like you knew. Are you writing this story? :P

He's so obvious, it's scary. That's how you know how freakishly oblivious Oliver is.

Bernard is a name I could definitely see Dudley call his kid.

He's bi.

I wrote it just for you. :D

Past the halfway point? KAYLA, ITS COMPLETE! :O

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #31, by ohmymerlinStuck in the Middle: Thankful For You

10th July 2014:
Hey, Sam!

Okay, seriously the whole time I was reading this I had a hand to my heart, just cooing at how adorable James was and how much he cared for Oliver! HE NOTICED BLESS HIS SOUL :')

And gah, the dream was just so cute and like Oliver, I just wanted it to be so real! Unless Oliver is secretly a seer and it is a real vision?! :D haha

I seriously can't stop reading this and aww-ing at how cute Oliver is and how thankful he is for his friends and James. It was such a beautiful thing for James to do and it's so clear he really cares for Ollie. Maybe he doesn't know that he fancies Ollie just yet but it's definitely evident that he seriously cares for this guy :') It seriously warms up my whole heart and I just want to get the both of them and squish them in a big hug and cry at how cute they are :'D

Absolutely loved this chapter! Sorry in the delay of reviewing! I just let it slip past and then suddenly you were posting chapter 13 and I freaked out! :P I'm off to read the next chapter! :D

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey, Kayla!

James is so freaking adorable, it sometimes hurts to write because I can't just GET THEM TOGETHER ALREADY!

I wanted it to be real, too.

He does, he really cares and soon he will admit to the love. SOON. :P Until then we have adorable Jollie.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #32, by ohmymerlinHormones: Not Alone

10th July 2014:
[SCREAMS FOR AS LONG AS MY BREATH WILL HOLD BEFORE TAKING A DEEP BREATH AND SCREAMING AGAIN]

OH

MY

GOD

THIS WAS SUCH AN INTENSE CHAPTER! IT WAS JUST SO BOOM BOOM BOOM POW POW POW POW HGFJKCJVBKJNSBJHVDSNK KABLAM

I DON'T CARE IF NONE OF THIS MAKES SENSE FIRST I WAS TRYING TO WRAP MY HEAD AROUND THE FACT THAT OLLIE WAS THE EVIL /W/ITCH THAT WAS SAYING HORRIBLE THINGS TO RYAN?!?!?! WHAT IS HER FILCHING PROBLEM?!

SERIOUSLY WHAT IS WRONG WITH HER?! WHO CARES IF RYAN IS PREGNANT IT IS ONLY A BABY NOT SOME WEIRD MONSTER ALIEN

Although it is Freddie's kid so god knows what she'll turn out to be!

But seriously, I am so disgusted at Ollie's behaviour! And I can't believe James took her back! I would have kicked her in the face! Yes, she didn't know about Freddie's involvement but that's no excuse at all! Hasn't she ever heard the phrases if you've got nothing nice to say don't say it at all or treat others the way you want to be treated?

I'm actually so appalled at her behaviour. I do not like her anymore!

But let's move on from the /w/itchy Ollie and onTO THE FACT THAT FRED AND RYAN BASICALLY HAVE A not-totally-friends WITH BENEFITS SCHEME GOING ON?!

It's never good to get into one of those when someone so clEARLY HAS FEELINGS FOR THE OTHER

I AM SORRY FOR MY EXCESSIVE SHOUTING IN THIS REVIEW I JUST HAVE SO MANY FEELINGS ABOUT IT!!!

And then Parise hit on Ryan?! WHAT IS WRONG WITH THAT UMBRIDGER

(I'm replacing bad words with mean teacher's names btw)

I can't believe he had the guts to say something like that directly to her face! I'm glad Freddie beat him up! Usually I'm like """violence is never the answer~~~""" but in this scenario violence was the answer! And good on Gemma for smashing a plate on him and Ryan kicking him!

And I love how Freddie or Ryan didn't even really care that much that the whole school basically knows that they're in this whole pregnancy thing together!!!

BLESS THEIR SOULS

ALSO, ROXY IS TALKING TO FRED?! YAAAY!

But Scorpius why are you talking like an eighty year old man?! CHAP?! GOLF?!

But although admittedly it was kind of sweet that he cared about Roxy and was willing to pull Freddie away from the Umbridger. I really want to use a mature word but I won't because I do love this site and I don't want to be kicked off!

Also, NICE COMEBACK FREDDIE WITH THE NO QUIDDITCH SPOT JAB! ON YA, MATE!

But I'm kind of scared he's going to be kicked off the team and then that Umbridger will get his spot and James will have to deal with him!

Okay, so I clearly loved this chapter! Absolutely loved it!!! oNE MILLION TRILLION GAZILLION OUT OF TEN FOR YOU

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #33, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

10th July 2014:
Hello again! For the last time... *removes sunglasses as people around boo and throw things at me for that terrible pun that wasn't really a pun*

Haha, but seriously this was such a sweet one-shot. It was sad that he was so happy to be dead, though. Obviously it would have been good reuniting with his brother and best friend but it's kind of sad to see that he'd been waiting for this moment for so long :'(

You opened this up so well! It was so good to see that his King's Cross was the shop when he opened it with Fred :') It shows how close the two actually were!

I really liked how well you managed to get the twins' personalities. They seemed so very canon and real! I especially loved the hug and then the dialogue following. It's great to see that even death and old age couldn't taint their sense of humour :D

Great job on this! I loved all of your entries! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #34, by ohmymerlinSaving George: ...Gone Bad

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so funny! I can't believe Percy would have shrunk all those Wheezes products into the chocolate! It makes me wonder what she could have done that was so bad! And the description of Jenna in the hospital, the American version of Mungo's, made me laugh so loudly (but also feel a tiny bit sorry for!) because it would have been such a sigh to see a long tongue in a beak and the vomiting and fever! I really doubt that they would have ever dealt with that before! I still can't believe Percy would ever do such a thing! It's so out of character for him to do something so rebellious and reckless! Maybe Fred and George did rub off on him :P

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #35, by ohmymerlinA Death Eaters' Worst Nightmare: So Many Laughs

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh my god I have not stopped laughing at this! It's absolutely hilarious! I loved how shocked the Death Eaters were when they found Fred and George "headless" and then the shock they got once they started talking, hahahaha! And then the twins kept Apparating everywhere like they used to do when they were still living at home was just brilliant! So creative and so so so so so funny!

Oh god, then the fireworks and the fake wands had me laughing so loudly! I was also clapping them and cheering for them, hahaha! That would be the strangest raid ever but it would definitely be a memorable one, hahaha!

Brilliant one-shot! It was so funny and so creative! Absolutely loved it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #36, by ohmymerlinHeadless Hats for Snogging People: Room of Requirement

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was such an interesting take on how Fred and George developed Headless Hats! It was definitely a smart idea and it made me laugh! Especially at how scarred Fred was seeing his sort-of-adoptive brother kissing the girl he fancied, haha!

It also made me laugh at how George wanted to make Fred okay with people snogging and then all those posters of the people snogging were up in the common room! That was brilliant! And then I can't believe they sent the Headless Hat to Cho, hahahaha! I don't blame Cho for shrieking when she realised she had no head. That would not be a pleasant experience!

Great one-shot! It was so funny! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

Author's Response: Hi Kay,

Merlin these decrees seem to be the source of reviews for this story. xD But I'm glad you think the humour and dialogue worked. I'm not particularly good with those, so I'm always happy to get reassurance.

Thank you for enjoying it. Keep on for the House Cup!

Love,
Sevvy
*waves hands in the air and whoops*


 Report Review

Review #37, by ohmymerlinOpen at the Close.: Cele-Fred-tion (I)

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was so sweet! I loved that George realised that Fred's funeral would not be allowed to be boring and bland and black, so he organised it in the exact way as he lived. It was such a sweet funeral, and although it was sad, it wasn't sad enough to make me cry which I like!

I think you really captured George's personality and I loved how he kept the connection to the shop and all the products, that was such a brilliant idea!

Especially loved how George called it a 'Cele-Fred-tion'! That was just brilliant!

And you managed to capture Luna's personality spot on, so you don't need to worry about that! ♥

Great job on this chapter! It was absolutely brilliant! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #38, by ohmymerlinThe Ton-Tongue Toffee Incident: The Ton-Tongue Toffee Incident

9th July 2014:
Hello!

I was going to say that there would be no way in the world Snape would fall for Fred and George Weasley's pranks! He's such a suspicious person and for him to trust two pranksters -- and Gryffindors at that! -- would have been overwhelmingly out of character! But I liked that he used that Slytherin cunning to trick Fred into eating it! That made me laugh, haha!

And Fred was very silly to believe him like that! He should have snuck it into his food rather than outright give it to him!

Oh well, it was still a very funny incident! And this is a great first ever fanfiction! I know mine wasn't anywhere near as good as this so congratulations! You wrote it fantastically!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #39, by ohmymerlinShot of Light: Elizabeth

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Wow, that was a very intense chapter! I can't believe how crazy Alecto was! I mean, I always knew she was insane but the way you wrote her was positively senile! I was a little scared but she's only just a character in a story! I couldn't imagine the fear of Hannah and Ernie!

I also can't believe they had the guts to try and annoy her with a decoy detonator! I would not have been that brave! (So yay Hufflepuffs! :P)

It was nice to see that Neville came to help them, though! It's cute how one day they do end up together :') But I feel so sorry for Hannah finding out the Carrows killed her mother. That would not have been fun!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #40, by ohmymerlinLily, I'm a Werewolf. : Lily, I'm a werewolf.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so interesting to read! In my head canon, Remus always told Lily that he was a werewolf whilst they were still in school but I suppose this worked as well! It was funny how that Lily was insulted that he thought she wouldn't have noticed, though! That made me laugh! :P

I also loved how she said the same thing to Remus as James did, his "furry little problem." That was so clever and just proved that they were meant to be, how cute!

I loved the friendship you wrote between Lily and Remus, it was very sweet! Although, I feel like they did proclaim their love to each other a little too much for just friends :P But that's because I hardly ever say emotional outbursts though, so it's probably just a personal bias :P

It was a great read though! I really enjoyed it! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hiya!!

Oh thank you!! I'm happy you enjoyed it! Yeah, most stories do have Lily knowing while they're in school. I, myself, have a fic written where she knows during their 7th year. I was just trying to go for something a little different, and I'm glad it worked out! Haha I'm glad you liked that part! Of course Lily would know. How silly of Remus for not giving her enough credit. If James, Sirius and Peter could figure it out, he should have known Lily would as well.

Oh yay! I wasn't sure about that line at first. I didn't know if people would think it was cheesy or not. I can't tell you how happy I am that you feel that way about her calling it his "furry little problem." :D

The main, and only criticism I've received, is how they regarded one another. It's just how my close, close friends and I speak to each other. I didn't think twice about writing that way. But, after I've received reviews on this, I can see I should maybe tweak that.

I'm so happy you enjoyed it!! Thank you so, so very much for stopping by and for your kind words!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #41, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3: The New Addition: The New Addition

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw, this one-shot was so sweet! It's a truly magical thing getting a pet and I think you managed to capture that perfectly in this one-shot! I especially loved how excited Sophie was over getting the lil crup! I loved how she kept asking her mother when the crup would arrive and then talking about all the names -- that was so cute!

And the name that she landed on, Nibble, was just so cute! It's such an adorable name for a crup! Especially since crups like to eat anything, haha! Very clever!

You wrote this very well! I really loved reading it! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #42, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: Fear Appears: Boggart.

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

That first paragraph was astounding! It was such a powerful opening paragraph to a great one-shot! It really set the tone of the one-shot and described the Boggarts so well!

It was so sad that Victoire's fears were like Molly Weasley's fears in the Order of the Phoenix, all the family members dead :'( But it showed how close they truly are which was sweet. It was also so sad to hear that Arthur died! That's not good!

I'm glad that Victoire did banish the Boggart away! That must have been a relief to see them all walk up and smile again.

This was a really lovely one-shot! I think you wrote it really well but you might want to just give it a once over to smooth it out a little bit ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hello indeed Kayla! :)

Thank you so much! I do try! *blushes*

I know, it kind of broke my heart to write it as a strong lover of the Next- Gen and Victoire herself! And you're right! It's not good!

Me too! My favourite bit too! Everything's okay again!

I know and I shall!

Thank you so much for reading, reviewing and saying such wonderful things!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #43, by ohmymerlinEvent Three : Prompt 3.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was sad. :( I felt so sorry for Sirius and it was so depressing to see him reflecting on the past memories with James and Lily. I really liked the way you described Lily, it just seemed so bright and so crazy -- it was just perfect for her :') I also thought the scene where James tells Sirius that he's going to be a father is brilliant! It's like he couldn't keep it in any longer and just had to blurt it out! It was so cute!

I really liked the way it was set up. Like Sirius was talking to James. It did get a bit confusing at times as to who was speaking, or who Sirius was speaking to but you had a short time frame to write this in so it's nothing a quick edit won't fix!

This was a lovely one-shot. It was a great read!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Ah I'm so glad you liked it, this was the first time I wrote something like this so it's really good to know that there was some success ;p

I need to look over the whole thing because it is missing quite a bit..

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #44, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - A Good Elf: A Good Elf

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Wow, this was such a good story! (That came out sounding INCREDIBLY sarcastic but I swear to you it isn't! I genuinely loved this story!) I loved this point of view of Kreacher. We all knew how much he loved Regulus, his Master Black, but I think you've really managed to capture at how loyal he was to Regulus! It was such a nice thing to see how much he loved him and then he gave Regulus a hug, the little cutie! It was so sad to see Kreacher leaving Regulus to die even though he was ordered to and I felt so sorry for him :'( And then when you said he was weeping in his little room was just awful! I felt so sorry for him! He lost his only friend :'(

No, I agree with you -- Kreacher does show a lot of bravery and compassion! You're completely right! I think anyone who really disagrees with you might not have read the same books as us :P Kreacher was an incredibly brave elf, and I really think you've managed to portray him accurately!

Beautiful one-shot! I absolutely loved it!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #45, by ohmymerlinEvent Horizon: Infinity.

9th July 2014:
Holy moly, Tawi. y r u so talint

Seriously, this was just pHENOMENAL!!! The way you write is just so beautiful and perfect and the descriptions are just so descriptive and the way you write emotions and the unnamed character's fear was just wOaHHH

You've rendered me to not speaking English properly looK AT WHAT YOU DID BECAUSE OF YOUR PURE TALENT

Would you like to share that talent around?

But omg, I'm so in awe of this. It was only a small one-shot but every word was just so powerful and I feel like I've just undergone a spiritual experience, I swear. I keep wanting to copy and paste my favourite quote but I loved every single line! I especially loved the whole third paragraph, the one starting with, "And the smoke intoxicated my lungs." That was just such an intense paragraph and was so vivid and clear yet vague at the same time which is the best type of writing, in my opinion!

And for you to write the poem that this was based on?! That's so super talented! It would be so cool to read it (of course, if you don't want to show it then I completely understand -- it's your work and you have the right to keep it private!) and see even more of your talent!

So is it obvious I absolutely loved this one-shot, Tawi? Because if not, I did! Definitely one of my favourite House Cup entries!

If I could give you eight hundred out of ten, I would! So I'll just settle for ten ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF! TBBAYMBWHAPABYHDBWNOHPWHT!

 Report Review

Review #46, by ohmymerlinMy Brother: The Stages of Grief

9th July 2014:
Wow thanks for making me tear up! It's still morning and I'm crying already! Waaah!

This was so sad! I can't believe how well you wrote Dennis. The anger was so real and then the numbness was also so real. I just wanted to hold him and let him cry it out. And the way he felt guilty about the whole thing was just heart-wrenching! I really "loved" how Dennis knew each and every single day that had passed since Colin's funeral. It showed that it was still tormenting him, months later and it was so sad but it did show their bond with each other.

This was such a beautiful one-shot. You did such an excellent job on it! ♥

Also, before I forget: I LOVE your penname! It's so funny, hahaha!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

Thank you SO much for reading and reviewing! I'm sorry I made you cry, though I AM glad that the story made you feel so much. I really wanted to delve into the feelings of grief that someone would experience after such a devastating loss. I'm glad you liked it, and I appreciate your compliments so much! Thank you so much!

--Emily

P.S. - I'm glad you like my penname! :D I thought of it as a joke before I ever thought I would actually love this site, and now I've grown very fond of it, and it stuck. :)


 Report Review

Review #47, by ohmymerlinThe Precise Hour: Eggs and Owls

9th July 2014:
Hello!

First of all, you're nOT EGYPTIAN?! The whole time I was reading this I was thinking, "Cool! I haven't heard of Egyptian people being HPFF and the forums yet!" And then I read your note and was just like, ???!!! :O (shhh I know those aren't proper emotions/thoughts but let's just roll with it, yeah?) I'm not Egyptian either but you made it sound so authentic and real! Even if there were some errors, a lot of the time each family or community have their own dialect about this sort of stuff! And I have a feeling if you did make any errors, they wouldn't be that horrible!

Also, is Hassan one of the Quidditch refs in the World Cup? (I accidentally wrote House Cup at first, haha!) The name seems so familiar!

The letters were a sweet thing but I felt so sorry for him when she was getting married to someone else! Maybe one day they'll run into each other! I can't believe the brother killed the owl though! That's absolutely awful! I'm so disgusted! D': But it was nice that he got the white pigeon and then he named it after her :') He'll always have a connection with her then!

Great story!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #48, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Dark Woods, Bright Moon: Quiet Man

9th July 2014:
Hey, Maggie!

Wow! This was so amazing! I liked that it was from the thestral's point of view! That was super interesting! But the poor thing seemed to hate himself :'( I guess you would after being only visible to people who have seen death but still! I never really thought about if they'd be self-aware but from this story I'd like to believe that they are! They are meant to be rather smart (good sense of direction) so it makes sense!

I liked how the thestral called Luna (well, I'm assuming it's Luna because you seem to like the Dean and Luna pairing, don't you?) 'Moon Girl'. It's so clever! And I loved that Dean was 'Quiet Man'. If the thestral had met Dean at a soccer/football match, he'd probably say otherwise! :P

Beautiful one-shot, Maggie! 10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Kayla, hi! Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you liked this :) And you know, I never really thought about the thestral being so troubled until you mentioned it. But it's a great point. Being a thestral would be very lonely, I think :/

Yes, you're totally right about Luna! I am such a sucker for this pairing and I just had to throw them in here :D Haha, and you're probably right about Dean and soccer as well! With this story I did want to show him in a more somber moment, though. I'm really glad you enjoyed him and Luna and how the thestral interacted with them.

Thanks again, Kayla! I so appreciate you taking the time to come by and review!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #49, by ohmymerlinLegilimency: Legilimency

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, I just LOVE your writing! You're definitely one of my favourite authors on here! You've just got such a knack for writing, I love it! I especially love at how all your stories are related to each other. It gives me so much happiness, but I'm not too sure why, haha!

Anyway, poor Johanna! Doing/performing Legilimency would be difficult so she shouldn't beat herself up over it! Yes, she was brilliant at Occlumency but it's very different to be the person having their memories intruded on and being the person intruding into other peoples' memories.

It was so cute how Teddy had pictures of Victoire everywhere even though they'd only been dating for three weeks! Bless his little soul! ♥

Teddy definitely had some of the Remus assurance in him in that moment! It was very sweet to see him acting just like his father :')

I really loved reading this one-shot! You did a great job on it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! ♥ That's such a huge compliment, and I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. I'm glad you liked this story so much - I love Johanna and Teddy's interactions, and and I was glad I was able to fit some of them into this HC. :P (Last HC I also wrote a story centered around them!)

Thank you so, so much.


 Report Review

Review #50, by ohmymerlinBecause She Stays: 1.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was... interesting. I've never actually really read original characters being a werewolf but I guess there's a time for everything! I am curious though as to how Sarah and the other girl (I don't think you gave a name) will deal with the upcoming full moon because the other girl is quite clearly human and werewolves aren't exactly that nice when it comes to meeting humans and they don't have the wolfsbane potion! But oh well, it's not part of the story so I shouldn't worry about it, haha :P

That was so nasty of her parents to throw her out because of something she can't control! Yes, she shouldn't have snuck out against her parents' wishes but still! Bad parenting!

This was a lovely one-shot. I enjoyed reading it :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, I probably should have went a little into how that was going to happen into the story... I'm going back and fixing parts of it now (and I will include how she will do the full moon) but I'll just tell you here. I'm think that she stole some chains that she put into her cave wall, tying herself up so she won't get out. I don't know if you have ever seen The Vampire Diaries, but I'm think along the lines of what the werewolves in there did on the full moon.

Yeah, her parents are not the nicest to say the least haha. But I feel like, with all the werewolf prejudice going on in the wizarding world at that time, I could see that many people would view werewolves as just monsters and not the same people they have always been (before and after the bite).

Thank you so much for the review!
Mary


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>