Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
810 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ohmymerlinOh My Darling: 7

18th January 2016:
Heya, Cassie!

Aw, this chapter was so sweet and I felt so sorry for Clementine who was obviously so scared and nervous but thank goodness Al, Scorpius, and Rose all reacted so wonderfully ♥ I mean, you'd be pretty cruel not to react so nicely but there's always that sliver of doubt!

And omg I feel so sorry for poor Clementine! That sounds HEARTBREAKING and she could have easily been led astray but obviously her brother has had an extremely good influence on her! I'm so happy that even after all she's gone through, she's still such a warm, kind-hearted person ♥

Will we get to see her brother in this fic? I'd love to read about him :D

AND OMG I JUST COULDN'T HELP BUT SQUEE WHEN SHE WAS SO THANKFUL THAT SHE'D FOUND ALBUS. AND POOR ROSE WAS CRYING TOO OMG THEY ARE SUCH BEAUTIFUL CHARACTERS I LOVE THEM ALL SO MUCH ♥

I really loved this chapter, dear! ♥ You're such a fantastic writer and everythig you write is squee worthy, even when it breaks our hearts slightly (why did Clementine need to go through that, huh? :P)

But seriously, I really love this story and your writing. I can't wait to read the next update!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!
I think Clementine can't help but worry about how they'll take everything. She's spent the last seven years with only Lizzie as a real friend, and she really isn't used to reaching out and trusting people, so she's scared that once Al, Rose and Scorp find out about her family, they'll be uncomfortable and push her away.
She had a really hard childhood, but thankfully she's had Alex to stick by her and love her. You will get to see him in the fic, but not for a little while.
YAY I'M SO HAPPY YOU LOVE THEM ALL THAT JUST MAKES ME SO HAPPY TO HEAR.
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It means so much to me!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #27, by ohmymerlinAmnesia: Amnesia

18th January 2016:
Heya, Jayde! This is a belated birthday present! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, BEAUTIFUL GIRL! ♥

Okay. Oh my goodness.

I'm so used to reading fluffy adorable things from you and I saw this on your AP so I was so eager to see how you wrote it and omg Jayde YOU CAN WRITE SUCH THRILLING THINGS. Like I've always known you're an amazing writer but I always see such happiness and adorableness so this was a big change THAT I LOVED.

This story... holy moly, Jayde.

Wow.

Like oh my god.

The way you wrote the pain and then the blankness. It is Lupin, isn't it? (It's almost 1 am here so that could be a factor in me misunderstanding)

Well, I'm going to keep on saying it's Lupin to make it easier :P But the way you wrote Lupin's confusion at being kind of... 'empty' and then the anger from being a werewolf, yet that self-awareness but not really oh my god Jayde there are so many layers to this one-shot and each of them are more fantastic than the other I just really love this story so much

And the way you wrote Peter (I'm assuming) morphing was really interesting. I suppose if you're only a half self-aware werewolf, watching someone shrink would be confusing!

And omg, I felt so sad for him when he thought that (what I'm presuming is) the Shrieking Shack was a prison/torture cell. It's so sad because it would have felt like that and I've never really actually thought about that that much but you just seemed to get it so perfect!

So you can clearly tell I loved this one-shot, Jayde! You're an absolutely phenomenal writer who clearly is not only talented in the beautiful romances but this horror/thriller genre and tbh I don't think that that's very fair, missy! Being good at everything should not be allowed! Plus, you're such a beautiful person so you just seem to have it all! ♥

10/10 dear! Absolutely loved loved loved it ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Kayla, you are just to good to me! Thank you SO MUCH for this lovely surprise birthday review! ♥ *Squishes*

EEEK Kayla STAHP it! *Squees* You're making me blush!

I'm so, SO happy that you think I write thrillers and fluff well! Gah!! *Flails* Thank you SO much for your amazing compliments!

I'll be 100% honest - I was TRYING to not have a character in mind here - I wanted it to be ambiguous. But, inevitably, while I was writing Lupin was definitely in my mind, so big kudos to you for picking up on that!

EEEe! Thank you SO much for your kind words about the emotions and the different layers to the story! I'm so flattered that you like it so much!

Hahah, again, I was trying to be ambiguous, but I definitely had the image of Peter turning into a mouse and shrinking in my head when I wrote that! :P You're the first person who's picked up on that! Excellent intuition!

LOL. The same goes with the place, I had the Shrieking Shack in mind while writing this also :P Get out of my head, Kayla! :D

It's definitely very sad seeing him go through this, and it's something I hadn't really thought of before either, but once I entered the halloween challenge I knew this was the way to go. :D

AWWW! ♥ Now you're going to make me cry with such sweet words! I seriously can't thank you enough for this amazing review, and all your kind words, and the fact that you nominated this in the CR - what did I do to deserve a friend like you?!

*Infinite Squishes*

THANK YOU!! ♥




 Report Review

Review #28, by ohmymerlinFree: Fresh Starts

18th January 2016:
SO I ENDED UP READING THROUGH ALL THE STORY AND I DIDN'T REVIEW EVERY CHAPTER SORRY BUT I COULDN'T STOP MYSELF FROM READING IT ALL

OMG JAMES AND ALIA ARE ADORABLE. I LOVE THEM. THEY'RE SO CUTE AND EVERYTHING WAS SUPER FAST BUT IT WAS SO ADORABLE I LOVED IT SO MUCH

I'm glad everything ended with a happy ending. They both deserve that ♥

This was such an adorable story though! I really enjoyed reading it and I just love the way they interacted. It was so sweet and I just wanted to squish them in a big warm hug tbh ♥

Loved, loved this story! So glad you came back to HPFF and wrote it :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #29, by ohmymerlinFree: ťg tala ekki Ūslensku

18th January 2016:
Hey, Curie! You've probably forgotten but about a month and a half ago you requested a review in my thread and in true me fashion, I'm here abysmally late. Sorry about that!

First of all: OMG OMG OMG OMG JAMES/OC JAMES/OC IS MY FAV THING EVER I SWEAR TO GOD

AND IT'S ICELANDIC WHICH IS SUPER COOL AND INTERESTING I LOVE THAT SPIN! Plus, the language seems HARD! Do you know Icelandic or are you just relying on the trusty mate, Google translate? (ooh rhymes)

Okay, so admittedly I was a bit confused as to why it was suddenly third and then first person. Is there a reason James is in third person yet Alia is in first? It goes really well, which I find surprising because usually it's one or the other, so I'm not really criticising on it, just commenting on it :)

You asked about dialogue. I think you wrote it amazingly! Even the Icelandic sections! I felt like it was a teeny tiny bit forced between Lily and James, but between Alia and James was so nice and easy, it just seemed so natural. I cannot WAIT until they spend more time together! It's going to be so entertaining!

The flow seems to be well. The only thing is the first vs third person thing but I already talked about it before. I really like how you gave us an idea of who James and Alia were without it being forced into our faces. I liked how it just slid in effortlessly in dialogue or their thoughts. It made the story nice and smooth and I really enjoyed it.

OKAY BACK TO SHOUTING.

I REALLY LOVE THE FRIENDSHIP BETWEEN LILY AND JAMES IT'S REALLY SWEET. I'M A COMPLETE SUCKER FOR STRONG SIBLING FRIENDSHIPS AND YOU'VE ALREADY WROTE IT SO BEAUTIFULLY I LOVE IT

AND JAMES IS GOOD LOOKING!!! WELL, OF COURSE HE WOULD BE WITH BEAUTIFUL PARENTS BUT ALIA NOTICED IT STRAIGHT AWAY I LIKE WHERE THIS IS GOING

AND SHE IS WORRYING ABOUT HIM ALREADY (when he was running on the cobblestone) MY HEART MY POOR POOR HEART I CANNOT WAIT TO READ MORE!!

Also, I liked that little tidbit you added! When I went to Europe everywhere had cobblestone and I was CONSTANTLY tripping over it because I'm so used to the smooth, modern roads of Australia! It was a nice little thing that made it feel so authentic!

Speaking of authenticity, have you been to Iceland? I've never been so I don't know if it's perfect, but it sounds like you're getting it spot on. It feels so real and I can picture it so clearly, and I really commend you on your descriptions. You're such a brilliant writer, Curie ♥

So obviously, I really loved this chapter. I think you did a fantastic job and it's really going to draw readers in (aka me)

Feel free to request again!

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by ohmymerlinJust Friends: Change

18th January 2016:
Hey, Aditi! You probably don't remember but about a month and a half ago but you posted in my review thread and I'm finally here! Sorry for the delay!

First of all, this was such a cute story and I absolutely adored it! I've not really seen a Dean/Lavender pairing so it was quite refreshing to read something new!

Okay, you asked about characterisation. I thought you got the characters quite well! But I admittedly did feel like Dean was kinda more... shy in this one but you did explain that with the whole thing of "I don't want to ruin our friendship" and the after effects of the war.

Lavender also seemed to be a bit different, but that could again be attained to that she matured. I kinda always had an idea of her not having much tact, and you definitely wrote that well when Lavender called Dean a moron hahaha! I really liked that bit! That seems so typical of Lavender :P

Dialogue was good! It seemed natural and easy, something that Dean commented on ;) I liked their little bantering.

Plot was great! I'm an absolute sucker for the friends-turned-lovers thing and you wrote that really well! It was cute to see that Dean and Lavender had evolved so much as people but still acted like silly little teenagers with a crush ♥

I really loved this little one-shot and I think you did a magnificent job with it ♥ It was so so so adorable and I think you should totally expand on it ;) Make it a short story collection, have their first house, wedding, first child - you know, the works ;) I definitely wouldn't say no to that hehe!

Anywho, thanks for requesting and feel free to do so again!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by ohmymerlinThe Afterlife: Coccydynia

17th January 2016:
AH

IT'S STARTED ALREADY

HE'S MEETING REMUS AND TONKS OH MY GOD

OH MY GOD

OH MY

DEE

I DIDN'T EXPECT IT TO BE THIS CHAPTER SO EARLY ON OH MY GOD

Before I get back to shouting (yes there will be more shouting DON'T JUDGE ME I'M SORRY) I really love that you wrote Teddy being incredibly offended at Victoire's comments. It's really true, and I don't think he overreacted at all. It was a slip of the tongue admittedly, but I dunno I really admired the way you wrote it. I especially liked that Victoire was the one to seek him out to apologise, which shows that it really was just a mistake but she's intent on not doing it again. I just really liked that bit.

Also, I love how Hagrid is so chill with Teddy. I love him. and FANG IS STILL ALIVE AWWW I'm so glad ♥

Okay, back to shouting:

OH MY GOD TEDDY IS GOING TO TALK TO HIS PARENTS AND FIND OUT EVERYTHING ABOUT THEM BUT THEN IT'LL BE SO UNHEALTHY AND I AM SO WORRIED FOR HIM BECAUSE IT'S SCARY AND TERRIFYING AND FOR A FIFTEEN YEAR OLD BOY WHO'S PARENTS ARE GONE, NOTHING OWULD BE BETTER THAN TO FINALLY MEET HIS PARENTS BUT HE'S GOING TO GET SICK FROM THIS AND I AM NOT READY TO HAVE TEDDY BE SAD

DEE PLEASE TELL ME YOU'RE GOING TO WRITE THIS WITH A HAPPY ENDING I DON'T KNOW IF I CAN HANDLE MY TEDDY TO BE MISERABLE AND SAD OH MY OH MY

OKAY I REALLY LOVE THIS STORY (if you can't tell lol) and I can't wait for it to be updated! You're such a brilliant writer, Dee, and I've always loved reading your things but I've (shamefully) never really read a full novel of yours so THIS IS CHANGING RIGHT NOW I'M ADDING THIS TO MY FAVOURITES I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN AHHH

10/10 of course ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by ohmymerlinThe Afterlife: Gelastic

17th January 2016:
Heya, Dee! I'm here from the Hot Seat! I know I'm a bit delayed but shh :P

omg I already love Teddy. He seems like a kid with a gentle heart and it's so sweet to see his relationship with Harry and Andromeda. I also LOVE Max and Giles. They're such interesting characters and I can't wait to read more about them. Max is so entertaining, I could honestly read a whole chapter or seven on him ;)

I love the name Professor Savage hahaha HE DOESN'T HAVE TIME FOR YOUR NONSENSE.

And Teddy! YOUR REMUS IS SHOWING, TEDDY. I laughed SO LOUDLY at the thought and then I laughed even more when he actually morphed to look more like him hahahahaha THAT IS BRILLIANT

I could so see Tonks doing that as well hahaha like mother like son, am I right?

But as if he didn't think that Savage wouldn't see him? Come on, Ted. Rookie mistake, mate

I am excited to see how his metamorphmagus abilities will come into play in this story. It's such a great talent and if he uses it to make fun of people with it, then he's truly Remus and Tonks' son hahaha

Also, I love Giles' thing of a 'word of the day'. It reminds me of when I was in year 5 and my teacher used to do that. We never had cool words like that (probably because we were eleven) but we always had so much fun with it so I like that lil tidbit!

And bless Teddy's cotton socks for remembering that he'd done a word two years previously. WHAT A BRILLIANT BOY I LOVE HIM

Great chapter, Dee! In love with it already ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #33, by ohmymerlinPermission: Start Running

17th January 2016:
Heya, Karen! I'm here from when you were on the Hot Seat! Sorry for the delay, darl!

Omg this was so interesting! I loved how you wrote this! I kinda felt like it was Barty Crouch talking to Lucius but it could be anyone!

Although, what was the 'dawh dawh dawh' thing meant to be? Is it a like an abandoned bell chime or something? I was just a bit confused on that bit, sorry!

but omg Karen I'm so scared for Lucius. He's not a good character at all, but the way this person was tormenting him and just... leering at him made me feel sorry for the poor guy! I almost got shivers!

Also, this quote: the road most frequently travelled is often the easiest isnít it?

LOVE IT.

I thought it was so fantastic and it just seemed to really nail Lucius' personality. He always takes the easiest way out (bribery etc.) but it always comes back and bites him in the butt!

Oh my golly gosh though... it was so chilling! It gave me the heebejeebies!

Anywho, I really loved reading this one-shot! I think you wrote it really well :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by ohmymerlinPartners in Crime: recruitment.

17th January 2016:
'FIGHT ME'

I ALREADY LOVE THEM

THEY HATE EACH OTHER AND ARE RUDE TO EACH OTHER AND I LOVE THEM ALREADY I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL THEIR SNARKINESS IS MORE FLIRTY THAN HATRED

BUT THE FIGHT ME

IT'S KILLING ME

AHHH

AND AL'S EXCITEMENT AT SERIAL MURDERS BLESS HIS COTTON SOCKS

AND JAMES BEING THE NERDY STEPDAD WHO'S TERRIFIED OF A SIX YEAR OLD REPEATING THOSE WORDS I LOVE HIM

JUST THE 'FIGHT ME' IS KILLING ME, ELISABETH

Totally can picture one of them saying, "Maybe 'fight me' will be our always."

HAHAHA

and of course Al speaks two other languages good on him. It wouldn't be an Elisabeth story without the characters being able to speak languages other than English

AND SCORPIUS IS A SLOBBY GENIUS I LOVE THAT LIL TIDBIT I WANT TO KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT HIM

So clearly I LOVED THIS STORY A LOT A LOT A LOT AND I CANNOT WAIT TO READ MORE OF THESE TWO NERDS

SOZ FOR THE SHOUTY REVIEW I CAN'T HELP IT

10/10 ofc ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by ohmymerlinWrapped in Red: Chapter Four: Wrapped in Red

16th January 2016:
DRACO WAY TO STEP UP THE GAME

LIKE FIVE TO TWENTY SICKLES?! THAT'S RIDICULOUS, DRACO.

Unless he went to some cheap flea market-type thing but I highly doubt that because obviously Draco is insane and decided that the normal rules were too good for him.

And uhh... a bit pressuring Draco holy moly what type of person would do that

BUT OMG THEIR PRESENTS MATCH UP I LOVE IT THAT IS SO SO CUTE I LIVE FOR CHEESY THINGS LIKE THAT THEY MATCH THEY MATCH HERMIONE WILL KNIT HERSELF A SCARF USING THAT WOOL HE GAVE HER AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY'LL BE WEARING THE SCARF AT THE SAME TIME AND WORK IT OUT AND FALL IN LOVE

I can't wait until they find out that their each other's Secret Santa I love it

Another great chapter, Ellie ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Oh Kayla you make me laugh so much. I'm pleased you enjoyed the chapter and I hope you stick around for the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #36, by ohmymerlinWrapped in Red: Chapter 3: Mistletoe Mishap

16th January 2016:
Heya, Ellie! I'm reviewing from the hot seat, horribly delayed of course :P

I'm an absolute sucker for Christmas stories (favourite holiday woo) and so as soon as I saw this one I knew I had to read and review it!

I don't really ship Hermione and Draco together but OMG THAT TENSION IN THE SHOP DRACO TOTALLY HAS HER THEY HAVE EACH OTHER AND THEY WILL FALL IN LOVE PROMISE ME THAT WILL HAPPEN!

The way you wrote this whole chapter is just glorious. I am complete trash for mistletoe being used in every single Christmas thing and I will never ever get sick of it but I just loved your twist on it! It reminded me of Fred and George's fireworks that they set on Umbridge. The more you try to stop it, the worse it becomes haha!

but omg LOL THE PEOPLE WORKING AT THE SHOP WOULD HAVE HAD TO WITNESS ALL OF THAT. It's making me laugh imagining other peoples' reactions hahahaha

And now she's got all this stuff to use to buy Draco's present hehe and so does he and they're going to get each other the best presents and everyone else will probably moan and complain about their presents but Draco and Hermione will love their presents and they will live happily ever after

Gah, I loved this chapter ♥ You did such a great job with it ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: You are fabulous, my friend. Thanks so much for stopping by. I promise I'll get you back on Hot Seat *hides in shame*

 Report Review

Review #37, by ohmymerlinOn Imbeciles and Moody: 1982

16th January 2016:
Hey, girls! I'm here from your ridiculously delayed Hot Seat reviews!

This was so interesting! I loved the dialogue between everyone and the way everyone seemed to be having one conversation whereas Moody was still stuck on his. If only they'd listened though haha!

I think you did really well with Moody! He's a tough character and you seemed to write him so well! I've not really read stories with Moody, and when I do he's always grossly mischaracterised and this is probably one of the first that I've read where he's almost like canon. I just feel like you could have included a few grizzly's here in terms of his description, or growling. I feel like J. K. Rowling often had those two words associated with him :P

But omg the way you wrote the stifling heat was so well done haha! It seemed to be a strange scenario to be in and if you have a spin-off on how that came to be that would be AWESOME. I'd love to read a whole bunch of crazy doxys on the loose haha

How funny that even in the beginning of his Minister-ship, Fudge wasn't listening to reason. But to be fair, no one was listening to Moody. Still, if a powerful Auror is saying he's got a hunch, sure you wouldn't believe him just a little bit! Stupid wizarding world...

Anyway, I really enjoyed this story! It was light and fluffy but just had that tiny bit of serious undertone.

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello! Reviews are reviews, even if they're late.

Thank you so much! This is our first time writing Moody and we were trying to fit it in with the song Sit Down John, but we did our best to keep his (and the other officials') character(s) as canon as possible (as we do with all our works). We figured he would be a little less grizzly when he was younger and more active, but we will remember that if we write him in the future.

Since we wrote this for a challenge we do not intend on exploring this chapter further as of now, but we may remember your suggestion in the future.

This isn't so much a dig on the Ministry of Magic so much as showing that they are all human. If I was just relaxing after a war and were having a really bad day at work, I probably wouldn't want to deal with Moody's hunches either.

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading our new one-shot!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #38, by ohmymerlinThe Swift Death: How it ended

16th January 2016:
no

no no no no

why Jayna why

why do you do this to us

it's so TYPICAL of Ginny to decide to end things on her own terms and I commend you for writing that BUT MY POOR HEART HOLY MOLY

These chapters were short but they were so hard-hitting and in most other cases I would say short and sweet but for you short and HEART BREAKING.

The way you briefly wrote Mrs Weasley was also really impactful. It wasn't big but my heart ached for her. She lost Fred AND Arthur? And now Ginny. Oh why do you do this to us? :'(

I just really hoped that you would pull the carpet out from beneath us and say, "GOT YOU! I WOULDN'T REALLY KILL GINNY! THE POTION IS ACTUALLY A CURE!"

This was such an angsty and heart breaking short story but I think you did a really amazing job of it and I'm glad I had the chance to read it! Sorry for taking forever to get to your Hot Seat reviews but better late than never, right? :P

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by ohmymerlinThe Swift Death: How it progressed

16th January 2016:
First paragraph just broke my heart. Ginny's devastation is awful. Lily won't have her mum to see her off to Hogwarts?! This is heartbreaking argh omg :'(

AND THEIR INNOCENCE. THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE GOING TO BE SCOLDED. OH GOD NO.

WHY, JAYNA, WHYYY??? *sobs*

This chapter is short but that didn't stop me from letting out a sob and crying. The HEARTBREAK. And that Lily just didn't understand what it meant. Oh my god. Why are you doing this? Why do you like this pain? Are you evil?

Well, I know you're not evil but this story is ruining my heart right now I DON'T WANT HER TO DIE THE WHOLE POINT AFTER THE BOOKS WAS FOR ALL TO BE WELL THIS IS NOT WELL

THIS IS NOT WELL, JAYNA. *sobs again*

oh my god, this chapter was heartbreaking. No mother should ever have to go through that, especially NOT GINNY AND HARRY THEY ARE MY BEAUTIFUL BABIES AND NOOO

I loved this chapter, just in case you couldn't read between my screaming lines :P It's just breaking my heart, no biggie :P

I kind of don't want to go on to the next chapter because it's the last and I don't know if I'm prepared for this. I don't know if I can take it.

*presses next chapter anyway*

 Report Review

Review #40, by ohmymerlinThe Swift Death: How it began

16th January 2016:
HEY, JAYNA! I'm here for the delayed reviews for the Hot Seat, I must apologise for being so late! But omg... I saw this and saw that it was for the 'Kill Your Main Character Challenge' and I KNOW I'm going to want to tear my heart out but because I'm a masochist I decided to give it a read haha

First of all: oh god a disease oh no is this going to be like The Fault in Our Stars oh god

no no no don't say that this is about Ginny oh my god no I am not prepared for this NOT GINNY ANYONE BUT HER

*continues reading*

This was a really great first chapter. So was the potion meant to be the thing that kickstarted the disease or was that first 'episode' actually the disease and the healers just made an educated (and incorrect) guess about what had happened to her? Or do we find that out in the later chapters? :P

I really loved the way you wrote Ginny walking into the field. The excitement was almost tangible and I have re-read that section like four times already haha I love it!

I'm so so so scared for Ginny! Your opening paragraph honestly gave me goosebumps you could just FEEL the heartbreak I am so not ready for this story

By the way, I think the name is really cool! I'm no expert in Latin but I think it's a great name. It sounds powerful and almighty, and it kinda is but in a bad way! The scary power!

Anyway, I really enjoyed this opening chapter. You've got me hooked already!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla! Don't worry about it, I think I still have a couple more I have to do.

NO, DON'T YOU DARE BRING UP FAULT IN OUR STARS! I'm still not over the emotional trauma that book gave me.

I'm glad you think this was a good first chapter. This is (thus far) the only multi-chaptered fic that I have completed, so I'm glad the first chapter is a strong one.

Yeah, the stuff about the potion is something that you (sort of?) find out in the next chapters. :p

I also really liked that section. In this fic, a big part of Ginny's character is that she's proud and strong and in-charge, which is why that section is so important. It highlights those traits, and I'm glad you liked it.

If my paragraph gave you goosebumps and made you feel her heart shattering, I think that counts as a victory :p

I'm no expert in latin either. In fact I used google translate to get the name. That's exactly what I was going for, so it's good to know that it worked.

Anyway, thanks for dropping by and for all your kind words!

-Jayna


 Report Review

Review #41, by ohmymerlinThe memories in your biscuits: The memories in your biscuits

30th December 2015:
Ciao, Chiara! Happy hot seat, dear ♥

OMG CHIARA MY MUM'S NAME IS EDDA HAHAHA SHE'S NAMED AFTER HER AUNT, AND THAT'S MY ITALIAN'S SIDE I HAVE LITERALLY NEVER EVER SEEN HER NAME IN ANYTHING EVER SO TO SEE IT IS SO EXCITING AHHH I LOVE THAT EDDA WAS THE ONE TO TEACH MCGONAGALL HOW TO MAKE BISCUITS THAT IS SO SO CUTE!

Okay *deep breath* over my excitement hehe! You can definitely tell you're Italian by choosing that name ;)

Anyway, I really loved this story! I liked how you wrote in second person from McGonagall's perspective. I admit that I haven't ever really read many McGonagall stories but you seemed to absolutely nail it! I really loved this story and that she was more than the stern woman we all REALLY REALLY LOVE

I really like that you made her make her own biscuits! It makes that small: "Have a biscuit" moment so much more meaningful ♥

And omg all the emotions McGonagall felt with all the Marauders was just so HEARTBREAKING ESPECIALLY WITH THE SIRIUS THING ARGH WHY, CHIARA, WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO US

Anyway, I really really loved this one-shot! You did an amazing job with it and I'm so glad I read it :D Hope you're having a good hot seat, dear! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Ciao Kayla! :D
Thank you so much for stopping by!!!

Your Mum's name is Edda? Really? It's not a very frequent name, but it's really cute, isn't it? :) (by the way, I find it so lovely your excitement about it! And I like to put a bit of Italian culture in my stories here and there!)

I'm so glad you liked how I wrote McGonagall's perspective. :) I honestly would've never written a story about her, if it wasn't for the prompt I received for the challenge. Nor would I've ever thought about her baking biscuits. I blame Ellie for everything! :P

I'm quite sure the Marauders left a particular print in her teaching carrier. I agree, the bit about Sirius was really sad...

Thank you so much again, Kayla! I really appreciated this review so much!!!

Un abbraccio!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #42, by ohmymerlinInto The Light: The Start of The Snow

28th December 2015:
Hello again!

Okay, Lily, is it really that bad to be friends with James? He's a bit of an idiot, yes, but his heart is in the right spot and he's a COMPLETE SWEETHEART THAT YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH AND HAVE A BABY WITH WHO ENDS UP BEING THE WIZARDING WORLD SAVIOUR

And omg the conversation where James is asking if Lily's cross sounds so British hahaha I loved it!

So DID James break that bag? Or was it just a strange coincidence that he mentioned that it was a harmless attack and that it had happened earlier?

Either way, Lily should clear it up so she can either apologise to James for jumping to conclusions for the latter, or heavily imply that James should apologise to the first year for the former.

omg Katie the book titles hahahahaha I was absolutely losing it omg I loved them so much

And I can totally relate to Roxanne. As soon as a guy says one bad thing it's a complete no haha but I don't know if I like Fitz (I can't say his first name because my almost brother is called Billy and I just can't say that I don't like him, even if it's in a completely different context :P) he's just rubbing me the wrong way. Lily, LISTEN TO ROXANNE OMG

That last little scene made me want to snuggle with Lily in a completely platonic way because that seems like such a warm environment to be in and I am kinda wishing I was in the same boat as her. Even though I hate winter, I can't deny that that sounds appealing.

Again, I loved this chapter and am DEFINITELY adding it to my favourites! ♥ You're such an amazing writer, girl!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #43, by ohmymerlinInto The Light: Gloom

28th December 2015:
Hey, Katie! Happy Hot Seat! :D

So, I was sure this was an abandoned story because I'd read it a while ago and then sighed when I saw it wasn't going to continue but IT'S UP ANYWAY?! And I remember you making a status about it so hopefully it's not bad that I'm reviewing this instead of your other story? :)

Anyway, omg I love the way you write Lily and James. I'm going to write four reviews worth in this one because I'm a terribly lazy person and didn't review all the chapters.

The way you write Snape is great. He's such a creep and you manage to convey it PERFECTLY and his jealousy is so obvious and so ridiculous and it makes me hate him even more.

James seems like such a sweetheart, even if he is a bit... silly. I don't know if that's the right word, but it's kind of like this dimness/obliviousness to whatever is going on in Lily's head.

Speaking of, is Lily only being friends with James to annoy Snape? And is she planning on doing something mean or are her friends just being overly paranoid?

BUT OMG THEY'RE GOING TO HAVE TO WORK ON PATRONUSES AND THEN THEY'RE GOING TO DISCOVER THAT THEY ARE LITERAL SOULMATES OMG OMG OMG YES YES Y E S

THIS IS WHAT I LIVE FOR. THIS IS ALWAYS THE BEST THING THAT EVER HAPPENS IN FIC AND I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT WAIT UNTIL I GET TO READ THAT CHAPTER

Also, I love Edric and Eliza! They seem like such sweethearts and I'm so curious as to how Lily became friends with the both of them. It's definitely something I'm not complaining about though! They seem to provide some reprieve for her and that's something that's very important!

And Meg seems... intense. I see that she has good intentions but sometimes I feel like she gets them out wrong... I don't know how to completely explain it but I feel like Meg's... intenseness (?) is going to come back and bite either herself or Lily on the bum.

And Mary... I don't know what to think about her. She's certainly interesting!

So I totally loved this story and I'm so glad to see that it's revived (that is if it was ever actually abandoned in the first place :P) and I'm off to read the next chapter woo!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by ohmymerlinKeeping Secrets: Liz's Secret

26th December 2015:
I KNEW IT

I KNEW SHE WAS PREGNANT!

(I feel like I've left a review similar to this before but I could be well imagining it!)

I can sympathise with Liz asking countless questions! I know if I was in her position I wouldn't shut up! And she's quick to forgive! I would've thought she'd be super angry at the two of them for a very long time. I'd be more angry at her mum but marriage is meant to be about honesty, CHARLIE.

Speaking of, I CANNOT wait to see Charlie's reaction to Liz's news!

Also, I'd love to see Charlie teaching Liz about magic! ♥ That's be sooo sweet omg

I'm SO curious as to how the rest of the story is going to go now though! Will they go to London? Will Mrs Weasley find them? (Because we all know she's relentless ehehe)

And Liz totally should not have felt guilty for keeping a secret! It's understandable that she's distracted and it's understandable if she wants to keep it to herself because now all the attention will be on her and she wouldn't have been able to ask her own questions! At least she's got that (mostly) out of the way :D

Anywho, Jayde, this was another amazing chapter! I can't wait to read more, darling! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: LOL Yes, you called it! You said it like 2 or 3 chapters ago! :P

Haha, yes, I think anybody in her situation would have LOTS of questions, and she's already pretty talkative so :P And yes, she seems pretty quick to forgive... *whistles innocently* And yes, I agree, I'd be more mad with the Mom, too, but Charlie definitely should have told her everything!

Haha, I'm planning on working on the next chapter tonight or tomorrow, so hopefully you'll get to see Charlie's reaction soon enough!

Haha awww! You may just get that chance, we'll have to see! :P

I know you've got loads of questions now but unfortunately I can't answer them without giving it all away! :( Just keep reading, lovely! (And give me the occasional nudge to keep writing, if you don't mind!)

I totally agree that Liz shouldn't feel bad, but that's just in her nature. Let's see how things go now that the cat's out of the bag! :D

Thank you again, SO much, for all of your amazing reviews! ♥


 Report Review

Review #45, by ohmymerlinKeeping Secrets: Revelations

26th December 2015:
I'M THE HUNDREDTH REVIEW AW YIS

Heya, Jayde! I'm finally here from your Hot Seat turn and I'm MORE than happy to catch up on reading Keeping Secrets! I'd briefly skimmed over it when you first updated but I never had the time to properly read and review!

Okay, omg LIZ'S FATHER IS MULCIBER?!?!?! WHAT ON EARTH!??!?!

And I couldn't help but laugh at Charlie being so calm that Amelia could KILL HIM WITH A STICK

And Liz's stubbornness not to say wand :P Or just purely forgetting it, but omg it made me laugh at how naÔve she was :P

CHARLIE EXPLAIN ALL YOUR SECRETS, BOY! YOU JUST PROMISED THAT YOU WOULDN'T KEEP ANY MORE AND THIS SECOND SECRET IS PRETTY IMPORTANT YOU SILLY BOY

But omg I'd LOVE to see technology constantly exploding near magical people! That'd be hilarious hahaha

This was a very emotionally exhausting chapter, no wonder Liz was tired! I could really FEEL her exhaustion! You're very good at writing emotions, my dear! ♥

Sorry for the delay in the review but I'll be going to the next chapter now hehe and then I'll be anxiously awaiting for the update ;)

Great work, Jayde! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Kaylaaa your reviews always make my day! ♥

And eeek! This story now has 100 reviews?! Thank you SO MUCH!! *Squishes*

Haha Yes, Liz's father is Mulciber. :P I'm actually secretly pleased that you were shocked by that. :P

And yes, Charlie's a little calm considering the situation, but he's pretty used to it with the war, unfortunately. :(

Haha, I'm not sure if Liz forgot or is just being stubborn, but she's very naive when it comes to the wizarding world! :P

I KNOW RIGHT?! I don't know why Charlie won't just tell Liz what's going on!

HAHA! It would be kind of funny to see the technology explode, but I'm sure it does nothing for Charlie's post-war nerves!

Yes, it was a very emotionally exhausting chapter, indeed! I'm glad and so flattered that you think I wrote the emotions well and that you could feel Liz's exhaustion. You're right, she's got lots of reasons to feel that way!

And there's no need to apologize dear! Thank you SO MUCH for this amazing review! ♥ *Squishes*


 Report Review

Review #46, by ohmymerlinAnd Then There Were None: The Island

26th December 2015:
Ack, Sam I had written almost all of my review but then I'd accidentally closed it so I'm sorry if this seems rushed!

First of all: omg I got chills from that last sentence. That is so freaky holy moly and the whole scene of Andromeda sitting alone in black robes is enough to make anyone's toes tingle! That was such an eerie scene but I absolutely adored it!

OMG WHERE ON EARTH WOULD DENNIS HAVE GOTTEN A GUN?!?!?! DENNIS GUNS ARE NEVER THE ANSWER OMG NO

Lol at Stan's mind. He's really got a one-track mind and he's already starting to annoy me :P I hope he gets murdered eventually hahaha I'm a horrible person aren't I?

Okay, so they all seem ridiculously suspicious of the island and wary of it and I kind of uderstand, but half of them seemed to be worried about it before they arrived and surely if they'd had that instinct, they wouldn't have gone in the first place? I can't help but think they kind of deserve it for being so stupid about it!

"Lol yeah let's go to this weird mysterious island no biggie lel"

And sure they'd keep on going once they found out that they had to surrender their wands! That sounds like an extraordinarily fishy thing to do and if I was one of them, i'd probably tuck my tail between my legs and go back home to safety!

Unless that's part of a plot development hmm??

And uugghh Cho WHY WOULD YOU LIKE THAT POEM THAT IS SO RIDICULOUSLY MORBID AND CREEPY I WOULD NOT BE COMFORTED BY THAT HOLY MOLY?!?! I have a feeling though that the poem is like serious foreshadowing (and if it is bravo to you that is AWESOME) but I'm kind of worried about the whole thing omg so nervewracking, Sam!

Also Trelawney and Rosmerta?? what are u gals doin here

Cho is far too comfortable in this creepy household. DID SHE MUDER THE INNOCENT YOU REFER TO IN YOUR SUMMARY?!

Okay, so I really loved this story! You are an amazing writer! I can't wait until you put the next chapter up :D

Sorry again for the delay in getting your Hot Seat reviews to you!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Ahh, what a fabulously long and all-caps-y review. A mystery writer's dream ;)

I'm glad that last line was so effective! In the original story the corresponding character is reading an ominous bible passage, but that didn't quite fit Andromeda. I did a lot of searching for other doomy quotes, and ended up making one up myself. I'm glad it worked so well!

You may be a horrible person, but I'm not judging. After all, I wrote this story, and however horrible you may be, you are certainly the perfect person to be reading this ;)

Regarding character's worries at this point: They certainly have curiosity about the island and worries, but the worries do not necessarily relate to the island. Yet.

Haha, the funny thing is, so many of our well known nursery rhymes and children's story's are quite morbid, and it's funny how we comforted we can be by something just because it's familiar and it rhymes. Until you, know, murder and stuff happens.

I really love all of your reactions and am so thrilled that you are so interested in this story.

I'm afraid I still don't expect to get the next chapter up for another month at least, but I definitely look forward to writing it, and I hope I'll see you back here to check out what's to come!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #47, by ohmymerlinAnd Then There Were None: The Invite

26th December 2015:
Hey, Sam! I'm finally here to review your stories for the Hot Seat!

This is a super introducing start to the story! What is on this mysterious muggle island hmm???

And omg all your characters sound so interesting and the ones you have written seem to be aligning well with canon! I loved the way you wrote each little excerpt and I'm sooo excited to see how you continue on! I think it's so original!

I know this is a pretty terrible review but I just love every single part so much! I can't think of which part to say I loved best ahh

The way you wrote Cho was so intriguing omg

And the style of your writing is absolutely phenomenal holy moly I live it so much I can't believe I've been missing your work this whole time you're such a wonderful writer I cannot wait to read more ahhh

Sorry for the delay in getting the review to you! I didn't realise it'd been so long since you were on the Hot Seat. Sorry hun!

Ooh and before I forget, sure Andromeda would go on a random muggle island and not know the signature! She lived through two wars and she's got to think of Teddy but she's like yeah lol sure lets go to a random island I'm sure nothing bad will happen!!11!! Come on Andromeda, you're smarter than that!

Onto the next chapter for me!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hey Kayla, I'm finally here to respond to your Hot Seat review XD

I had so much fun picking out characters here. It was pretty much a free-for-all for which characters I wanted to play with/torture. Always fun!

Haha, I love constructive criticism, but I'm certainly not going to complain that you love everything!

I was actually really happy to get a chance to write Cho here. I've always wanted to write her. I feel that she gets the short end of the stick, with people thinking in her in a very two dimensional way, and rarely writing about her in fan fiction. Well, this is certainly something different for her.

Haha, it wouldn't be a horror story if you weren't yelling at characters not to do stupid things... But in defense of my Andromeda, I don't think she's being stupid (at least compared to the other characters?). I think it's true that the wars and Teddy motivate her, but perhaps not in the same ways you suggest.

Can't wait to (re)read your next review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #48, by ohmymerlinDerailed: siete

23rd December 2015:
Ooh that was a tough chapter. I understand Carlotta's parents' frustrations but oh god. That was so hard to read! I have to hand it to her parents for not even just marching down anyway.

I really feel for Carlotta. But she needs to realise that these are her PARENTS so they're going to be a little tough on her and she's just got to deal! There's no options for it!

And omg Lily REALLY needs to learn how to take a break sometimes! I'm glad Carlotta is going to help her run the thing but Lily needs to take a couple of steps back and let everything go at times. But we all know (from the last novel) that she seems to really struggle with that and she likes to PILE EVERYTHING ON AT ONCE

I'm really curious to see how the whole Barca thing is going to pan out! I feel like that's going to be a big chapter! Plus I'm keen to see some Carlotta family interactions! We always see her with the Weasleys and I can't wait to see how different her family is.

I keep wanting to think of suggestions for Carlotta to tell her family but I'm coming up blank! I really don't envy her!

And lol at the fact that she thinks James doesn't really have much to go by. If only they knew! The only thing that seems that could solve that is tell her parents that James is magical and the truth or fake her death but that's a tad too dramatic :P

Anyway, I loved this chapter! I can't wait to read more :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Yeah, this was a tough chapter to write. Poor Carla's gotten herself into a pickle! It's difficult to see what she can do from here, she's damned if she does and damned if she doesn't. I'm looking forward to writing her with her family, I wrote them into Rails to introduce them but they'll have a much bigger part to play in this fic, starting with Barca!

Yeah, Lily's working herself to the bone, poor thing. It's good to have something to work for, but she needs to slow down a bit! Thanks for all the lovely reviews, Kayla! :)


 Report Review

Review #49, by ohmymerlinDerailed: seis

23rd December 2015:
I love how Lily doesn't care that she's stealing paper from the Prime Minister. I doubt he's that keen on that happening but the way she's so nonchalant about it is so great hahaha

And lol I actually didn't understand the whole Quidditch thing at all until Carlotta understood it. It's clever though! I CAN'T WAIT to see that chapter play out, hahaha!

Is Brigid pregnant? Is that why she doesn't want to play? She wasn't drinking apparently since Carlotta's birthday a MONTH ago and that gives her enough time to "be late" and now she's not playing Quidditch hmm...

I really love how James always includes Scorpius! He's such a babe lol

And omg the names hahahaha PLEASE GO WITH GRYFFINS AND DORS I LOVE IT SO MUCH

And AWW SCORPIUS JUST /TALK/ TO ALBUS. TELL HIM HOW SORRY YOU WERE. TELL HIM THAT YOU WERE AN IDIOT AND YOU'RE STILL AN IDIOT BUT YOU'RE NOT A MALICIOUS IDIOT ANYMORE

Just accept Hugo is being a lil idiot and he'll get over it in time but YOU HAVE TO MAKE AMENDS WITH ALBUS OMG

Yes, I am talking to your characters as if they can read this shh

NEXT CHAPTER FOR KAYLA

Author's Response: I love the idea of Lily needing to scribble something down and just using all the PM's fancy paper, heehee. And I think I'd eaten about three bars of chocolate when I wrote about the Gryffins and the Dors! But seriously, try thinking up new team names for a fic. It's HARD. Oh my days I'm already having WAY too much fun with this Quidditch match and they're only planning it at the moment! Bring on the game.

Poor Scorp, eh? You're right, he just needs to talk to Albus! Bless him. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #50, by ohmymerlinDerailed: cinco

23rd December 2015:
LOL RON. I'D PROBABLY WANT A STATUE OF ME RIDING A DRAGON THAT'D BE SO FRICKIN COOL

And aw, James never getting muggle references! Carlotta has got to force him to watch more muggle things! How else will he appreciate her excellent humour?

Oh, Carlotta, she should really stop pushing James to Ingrid. I know she thinks it's for the best but sometimes she's got to be a little selfish and just ENJOY the time she has with him. Yes, he'll be heartbroken if anything ever happened to her but he's happy to spend the time with Carlotta and he's happy to be with her, even with Parky! I understand Carlotta's reasoning, but she's got to be selfish sometimes!

I really love the friendship between Carlotta and Brigid though! They're so sweet together! I love how easily you write it :D

Anywho, next chapter!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Let's face it, it WOULD be a pretty cool statue. Poor Ron.

Ha, I have so many amazing ideas for Muggle references throughout the fic! Let's see how many I can squeeze in, haha.

You've pretty much summed up Carlotta, she needs to just stop trying to push James away and let herself be happy for a while, even if it does mean there's heartbreak down the line ... either it's heartbreak after the end of a happy life together, or it's heartbreak now and sadness after. Poor thing.

I love Carla and Brie's friendship! Bearing in mind where they started out, it's so cute that they're all besties now :) thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>