Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
795 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ohmymerlinInto The Light: The Start of The Snow

28th December 2015:
Hello again!

Okay, Lily, is it really that bad to be friends with James? He's a bit of an idiot, yes, but his heart is in the right spot and he's a COMPLETE SWEETHEART THAT YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH AND HAVE A BABY WITH WHO ENDS UP BEING THE WIZARDING WORLD SAVIOUR

And omg the conversation where James is asking if Lily's cross sounds so British hahaha I loved it!

So DID James break that bag? Or was it just a strange coincidence that he mentioned that it was a harmless attack and that it had happened earlier?

Either way, Lily should clear it up so she can either apologise to James for jumping to conclusions for the latter, or heavily imply that James should apologise to the first year for the former.

omg Katie the book titles hahahahaha I was absolutely losing it omg I loved them so much

And I can totally relate to Roxanne. As soon as a guy says one bad thing it's a complete no haha but I don't know if I like Fitz (I can't say his first name because my almost brother is called Billy and I just can't say that I don't like him, even if it's in a completely different context :P) he's just rubbing me the wrong way. Lily, LISTEN TO ROXANNE OMG

That last little scene made me want to snuggle with Lily in a completely platonic way because that seems like such a warm environment to be in and I am kinda wishing I was in the same boat as her. Even though I hate winter, I can't deny that that sounds appealing.

Again, I loved this chapter and am DEFINITELY adding it to my favourites! ♥ You're such an amazing writer, girl!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #27, by ohmymerlinInto The Light: Gloom

28th December 2015:
Hey, Katie! Happy Hot Seat! :D

So, I was sure this was an abandoned story because I'd read it a while ago and then sighed when I saw it wasn't going to continue but IT'S UP ANYWAY?! And I remember you making a status about it so hopefully it's not bad that I'm reviewing this instead of your other story? :)

Anyway, omg I love the way you write Lily and James. I'm going to write four reviews worth in this one because I'm a terribly lazy person and didn't review all the chapters.

The way you write Snape is great. He's such a creep and you manage to convey it PERFECTLY and his jealousy is so obvious and so ridiculous and it makes me hate him even more.

James seems like such a sweetheart, even if he is a bit... silly. I don't know if that's the right word, but it's kind of like this dimness/obliviousness to whatever is going on in Lily's head.

Speaking of, is Lily only being friends with James to annoy Snape? And is she planning on doing something mean or are her friends just being overly paranoid?

BUT OMG THEY'RE GOING TO HAVE TO WORK ON PATRONUSES AND THEN THEY'RE GOING TO DISCOVER THAT THEY ARE LITERAL SOULMATES OMG OMG OMG YES YES Y E S

THIS IS WHAT I LIVE FOR. THIS IS ALWAYS THE BEST THING THAT EVER HAPPENS IN FIC AND I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT WAIT UNTIL I GET TO READ THAT CHAPTER

Also, I love Edric and Eliza! They seem like such sweethearts and I'm so curious as to how Lily became friends with the both of them. It's definitely something I'm not complaining about though! They seem to provide some reprieve for her and that's something that's very important!

And Meg seems... intense. I see that she has good intentions but sometimes I feel like she gets them out wrong... I don't know how to completely explain it but I feel like Meg's... intenseness (?) is going to come back and bite either herself or Lily on the bum.

And Mary... I don't know what to think about her. She's certainly interesting!

So I totally loved this story and I'm so glad to see that it's revived (that is if it was ever actually abandoned in the first place :P) and I'm off to read the next chapter woo!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #28, by ohmymerlinKeeping Secrets: Liz's Secret

26th December 2015:
I KNEW IT

I KNEW SHE WAS PREGNANT!

(I feel like I've left a review similar to this before but I could be well imagining it!)

I can sympathise with Liz asking countless questions! I know if I was in her position I wouldn't shut up! And she's quick to forgive! I would've thought she'd be super angry at the two of them for a very long time. I'd be more angry at her mum but marriage is meant to be about honesty, CHARLIE.

Speaking of, I CANNOT wait to see Charlie's reaction to Liz's news!

Also, I'd love to see Charlie teaching Liz about magic! ♥ That's be sooo sweet omg

I'm SO curious as to how the rest of the story is going to go now though! Will they go to London? Will Mrs Weasley find them? (Because we all know she's relentless ehehe)

And Liz totally should not have felt guilty for keeping a secret! It's understandable that she's distracted and it's understandable if she wants to keep it to herself because now all the attention will be on her and she wouldn't have been able to ask her own questions! At least she's got that (mostly) out of the way :D

Anywho, Jayde, this was another amazing chapter! I can't wait to read more, darling! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: LOL Yes, you called it! You said it like 2 or 3 chapters ago! :P

Haha, yes, I think anybody in her situation would have LOTS of questions, and she's already pretty talkative so :P And yes, she seems pretty quick to forgive... *whistles innocently* And yes, I agree, I'd be more mad with the Mom, too, but Charlie definitely should have told her everything!

Haha, I'm planning on working on the next chapter tonight or tomorrow, so hopefully you'll get to see Charlie's reaction soon enough!

Haha awww! You may just get that chance, we'll have to see! :P

I know you've got loads of questions now but unfortunately I can't answer them without giving it all away! :( Just keep reading, lovely! (And give me the occasional nudge to keep writing, if you don't mind!)

I totally agree that Liz shouldn't feel bad, but that's just in her nature. Let's see how things go now that the cat's out of the bag! :D

Thank you again, SO much, for all of your amazing reviews! ♥


 Report Review

Review #29, by ohmymerlinKeeping Secrets: Revelations

26th December 2015:
I'M THE HUNDREDTH REVIEW AW YIS

Heya, Jayde! I'm finally here from your Hot Seat turn and I'm MORE than happy to catch up on reading Keeping Secrets! I'd briefly skimmed over it when you first updated but I never had the time to properly read and review!

Okay, omg LIZ'S FATHER IS MULCIBER?!?!?! WHAT ON EARTH!??!?!

And I couldn't help but laugh at Charlie being so calm that Amelia could KILL HIM WITH A STICK

And Liz's stubbornness not to say wand :P Or just purely forgetting it, but omg it made me laugh at how nave she was :P

CHARLIE EXPLAIN ALL YOUR SECRETS, BOY! YOU JUST PROMISED THAT YOU WOULDN'T KEEP ANY MORE AND THIS SECOND SECRET IS PRETTY IMPORTANT YOU SILLY BOY

But omg I'd LOVE to see technology constantly exploding near magical people! That'd be hilarious hahaha

This was a very emotionally exhausting chapter, no wonder Liz was tired! I could really FEEL her exhaustion! You're very good at writing emotions, my dear! ♥

Sorry for the delay in the review but I'll be going to the next chapter now hehe and then I'll be anxiously awaiting for the update ;)

Great work, Jayde! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Kaylaaa your reviews always make my day! ♥

And eeek! This story now has 100 reviews?! Thank you SO MUCH!! *Squishes*

Haha Yes, Liz's father is Mulciber. :P I'm actually secretly pleased that you were shocked by that. :P

And yes, Charlie's a little calm considering the situation, but he's pretty used to it with the war, unfortunately. :(

Haha, I'm not sure if Liz forgot or is just being stubborn, but she's very naive when it comes to the wizarding world! :P

I KNOW RIGHT?! I don't know why Charlie won't just tell Liz what's going on!

HAHA! It would be kind of funny to see the technology explode, but I'm sure it does nothing for Charlie's post-war nerves!

Yes, it was a very emotionally exhausting chapter, indeed! I'm glad and so flattered that you think I wrote the emotions well and that you could feel Liz's exhaustion. You're right, she's got lots of reasons to feel that way!

And there's no need to apologize dear! Thank you SO MUCH for this amazing review! ♥ *Squishes*


 Report Review

Review #30, by ohmymerlinAnd Then There Were None: The Island

26th December 2015:
Ack, Sam I had written almost all of my review but then I'd accidentally closed it so I'm sorry if this seems rushed!

First of all: omg I got chills from that last sentence. That is so freaky holy moly and the whole scene of Andromeda sitting alone in black robes is enough to make anyone's toes tingle! That was such an eerie scene but I absolutely adored it!

OMG WHERE ON EARTH WOULD DENNIS HAVE GOTTEN A GUN?!?!?! DENNIS GUNS ARE NEVER THE ANSWER OMG NO

Lol at Stan's mind. He's really got a one-track mind and he's already starting to annoy me :P I hope he gets murdered eventually hahaha I'm a horrible person aren't I?

Okay, so they all seem ridiculously suspicious of the island and wary of it and I kind of uderstand, but half of them seemed to be worried about it before they arrived and surely if they'd had that instinct, they wouldn't have gone in the first place? I can't help but think they kind of deserve it for being so stupid about it!

"Lol yeah let's go to this weird mysterious island no biggie lel"

And sure they'd keep on going once they found out that they had to surrender their wands! That sounds like an extraordinarily fishy thing to do and if I was one of them, i'd probably tuck my tail between my legs and go back home to safety!

Unless that's part of a plot development hmm??

And uugghh Cho WHY WOULD YOU LIKE THAT POEM THAT IS SO RIDICULOUSLY MORBID AND CREEPY I WOULD NOT BE COMFORTED BY THAT HOLY MOLY?!?! I have a feeling though that the poem is like serious foreshadowing (and if it is bravo to you that is AWESOME) but I'm kind of worried about the whole thing omg so nervewracking, Sam!

Also Trelawney and Rosmerta?? what are u gals doin here

Cho is far too comfortable in this creepy household. DID SHE MUDER THE INNOCENT YOU REFER TO IN YOUR SUMMARY?!

Okay, so I really loved this story! You are an amazing writer! I can't wait until you put the next chapter up :D

Sorry again for the delay in getting your Hot Seat reviews to you!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #31, by ohmymerlinAnd Then There Were None: The Invite

26th December 2015:
Hey, Sam! I'm finally here to review your stories for the Hot Seat!

This is a super introducing start to the story! What is on this mysterious muggle island hmm???

And omg all your characters sound so interesting and the ones you have written seem to be aligning well with canon! I loved the way you wrote each little excerpt and I'm sooo excited to see how you continue on! I think it's so original!

I know this is a pretty terrible review but I just love every single part so much! I can't think of which part to say I loved best ahh

The way you wrote Cho was so intriguing omg

And the style of your writing is absolutely phenomenal holy moly I live it so much I can't believe I've been missing your work this whole time you're such a wonderful writer I cannot wait to read more ahhh

Sorry for the delay in getting the review to you! I didn't realise it'd been so long since you were on the Hot Seat. Sorry hun!

Ooh and before I forget, sure Andromeda would go on a random muggle island and not know the signature! She lived through two wars and she's got to think of Teddy but she's like yeah lol sure lets go to a random island I'm sure nothing bad will happen!!11!! Come on Andromeda, you're smarter than that!

Onto the next chapter for me!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by ohmymerlinDerailed: siete

23rd December 2015:
Ooh that was a tough chapter. I understand Carlotta's parents' frustrations but oh god. That was so hard to read! I have to hand it to her parents for not even just marching down anyway.

I really feel for Carlotta. But she needs to realise that these are her PARENTS so they're going to be a little tough on her and she's just got to deal! There's no options for it!

And omg Lily REALLY needs to learn how to take a break sometimes! I'm glad Carlotta is going to help her run the thing but Lily needs to take a couple of steps back and let everything go at times. But we all know (from the last novel) that she seems to really struggle with that and she likes to PILE EVERYTHING ON AT ONCE

I'm really curious to see how the whole Barca thing is going to pan out! I feel like that's going to be a big chapter! Plus I'm keen to see some Carlotta family interactions! We always see her with the Weasleys and I can't wait to see how different her family is.

I keep wanting to think of suggestions for Carlotta to tell her family but I'm coming up blank! I really don't envy her!

And lol at the fact that she thinks James doesn't really have much to go by. If only they knew! The only thing that seems that could solve that is tell her parents that James is magical and the truth or fake her death but that's a tad too dramatic :P

Anyway, I loved this chapter! I can't wait to read more :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Yeah, this was a tough chapter to write. Poor Carla's gotten herself into a pickle! It's difficult to see what she can do from here, she's damned if she does and damned if she doesn't. I'm looking forward to writing her with her family, I wrote them into Rails to introduce them but they'll have a much bigger part to play in this fic, starting with Barca!

Yeah, Lily's working herself to the bone, poor thing. It's good to have something to work for, but she needs to slow down a bit! Thanks for all the lovely reviews, Kayla! :)


 Report Review

Review #33, by ohmymerlinDerailed: seis

23rd December 2015:
I love how Lily doesn't care that she's stealing paper from the Prime Minister. I doubt he's that keen on that happening but the way she's so nonchalant about it is so great hahaha

And lol I actually didn't understand the whole Quidditch thing at all until Carlotta understood it. It's clever though! I CAN'T WAIT to see that chapter play out, hahaha!

Is Brigid pregnant? Is that why she doesn't want to play? She wasn't drinking apparently since Carlotta's birthday a MONTH ago and that gives her enough time to "be late" and now she's not playing Quidditch hmm...

I really love how James always includes Scorpius! He's such a babe lol

And omg the names hahahaha PLEASE GO WITH GRYFFINS AND DORS I LOVE IT SO MUCH

And AWW SCORPIUS JUST /TALK/ TO ALBUS. TELL HIM HOW SORRY YOU WERE. TELL HIM THAT YOU WERE AN IDIOT AND YOU'RE STILL AN IDIOT BUT YOU'RE NOT A MALICIOUS IDIOT ANYMORE

Just accept Hugo is being a lil idiot and he'll get over it in time but YOU HAVE TO MAKE AMENDS WITH ALBUS OMG

Yes, I am talking to your characters as if they can read this shh

NEXT CHAPTER FOR KAYLA

Author's Response: I love the idea of Lily needing to scribble something down and just using all the PM's fancy paper, heehee. And I think I'd eaten about three bars of chocolate when I wrote about the Gryffins and the Dors! But seriously, try thinking up new team names for a fic. It's HARD. Oh my days I'm already having WAY too much fun with this Quidditch match and they're only planning it at the moment! Bring on the game.

Poor Scorp, eh? You're right, he just needs to talk to Albus! Bless him. Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #34, by ohmymerlinDerailed: cinco

23rd December 2015:
LOL RON. I'D PROBABLY WANT A STATUE OF ME RIDING A DRAGON THAT'D BE SO FRICKIN COOL

And aw, James never getting muggle references! Carlotta has got to force him to watch more muggle things! How else will he appreciate her excellent humour?

Oh, Carlotta, she should really stop pushing James to Ingrid. I know she thinks it's for the best but sometimes she's got to be a little selfish and just ENJOY the time she has with him. Yes, he'll be heartbroken if anything ever happened to her but he's happy to spend the time with Carlotta and he's happy to be with her, even with Parky! I understand Carlotta's reasoning, but she's got to be selfish sometimes!

I really love the friendship between Carlotta and Brigid though! They're so sweet together! I love how easily you write it :D

Anywho, next chapter!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Let's face it, it WOULD be a pretty cool statue. Poor Ron.

Ha, I have so many amazing ideas for Muggle references throughout the fic! Let's see how many I can squeeze in, haha.

You've pretty much summed up Carlotta, she needs to just stop trying to push James away and let herself be happy for a while, even if it does mean there's heartbreak down the line ... either it's heartbreak after the end of a happy life together, or it's heartbreak now and sadness after. Poor thing.

I love Carla and Brie's friendship! Bearing in mind where they started out, it's so cute that they're all besties now :) thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #35, by ohmymerlinDerailed: cuatro

23rd December 2015:
Okay the way you described the Weasleys Sunday lunch is exactly what it's like with my own family. Every few weeks we try to get together and it basically ends up with that exact scenario and I just love how you write all of them. They all feel so real and it honestly feels like I'm in the room with them!

omg Teddy getting his own taste at not being able to find his daughter hahahahahahahahaha THAT'S A CRACK UP I LOVE IT

and Harry boasting that he was ten thousand! HARRY THAT WAS NOT A GOOD THING YOU WERE WANTED DEAD

And oh Carlotta, I'd be dazzled by Louis too. You wrote that so well hahahahaha

Bloody idiot Teddy, drawing attention to the fact that Lucius talked to Carlotta. I do like how you made Hermione say, "What an idiot!" I can COMPLETELY imagine it!

And omg Molly WHY MUST YOU LACK SO MUCH TACT

How stupid is she, 'oh yeah let's just insult Muggles even though there are Muggles in this very room lol'

I do like the point Rose makes, but unfortunately it's too difficult :(

And naw, look at all matured James fussing over Carlotta worrying and not telling him he's SUCH A SWEETHEART AND I LOVE HIM A LOT

NEXT CHAPTER :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: I've never had a massive immediate family so I have no idea what it's like to have a Sunday lunch with so many people, but I can only imagine it's absolute carnage in the best way. It's bad enough trying to keep track of them all to write them into the fic, ha.

Ha, yeah, Harry's ransom was offered by someone who wanted to kill him and probably wouldn't have paid up anyway, so in that sense James' auction was so much more impressive! But Harry isn't going to confess to that.

Oh my days you have no idea how fun it is to write Louis and how hilarious it is from Carlotta's POV. Poor thing.

I think Teddy was typical tactless male here! Poor guy, he didn't mean any harm! And yes, Hermione's "what an idiot" was said in exact Emma Watson film style.

THANKS FOR REVIEWING!


 Report Review

Review #36, by ohmymerlinDerailed: tres

22nd December 2015:
HELLO AGAIN

I said I'd review Sunday but Sunday proved to be strangely busy and I've been sick with a head cold (so my brain has just been whirring mush) but I'm FINALLY BETTER TO GIVE YOU MORE SCREAMY REVIEWS

Lucius and his cronies are slimeballs. I don't care how much money they're throwing at Lily and the Squib foundation, I don't trust them.

and omg thnak gOD FOR THE PARENTS. I'm so glad that they came to the rescue and shooed Lucius away. They're quite right in not trusting Malfoy.

Also, can we have an auction for James where I can buy him too pls? That would be an excellent offer that I wouldn't be able to refuse. I just love the way you write him and I HAVE TO STOP MYSELF FROM BEING TOO ATTRACTED TO HIM FOR GOODNESS SAKES ELLIE

I feel so bad for Maddie and Cato, their schedules are both so demanding and they really don't have much time together which is really sad! They need to have more time together but they've both been working so hard on their careers it'd be such a stupid move to push it to the side.

And lol at the surname thing. i like how you've constantly kept that going on throughout both novels, haha!

Anywho, I'll get on to the next chapter!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Total bunch of Slytherin slimeballs. You are not wrong to not trust them! (Too many negatives in that sentence whoops)

I AM SORRY I CAN'T HELP THAT JAMES IS TOO PERF. Ugh one of the reasons why I love writing him from Carlotta's perspective is that he tended to put himself down a lot and think badly of himself, but Carla sees all of the good and absolutely adores him and he is just so pure-hearted and I think it really does come across from the perspective of someone else, especially a someone who puts herself down a lot and therefore thinks he's too good for her. Silly Carla. BUT yes let's have a James Potter auction and I will win cos author rights. ;)

The surname thing is never going to go away, ever! Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by ohmymerlinDerailed: dos

15th December 2015:
HELLO

YOU SAID YOU LIKE SCREAMING SHOUTING REVIEWS AND EVERY TIME I READ CARLOTTA AND JAMES TOGETHER I FEEL THE NEED TO SHOUT AND SCREAM BECAUSE THEY ARE SO BRILLIANT I LOVE THEIR RELATIONSHIP SO MUCH YOU WRITE THEM SO WONDERFULLY

and omg the bit where Carla described James' looks was so nice. Can you just have a full chapter dedicated to Carlotta staring at James dreamily?

(Or maybe don't because then I will cry because HE DOESN'T EXIST)

BUT WHHHYYY DOES LUCIUS MALFOY WANT TO RUN A SQUIB FOUNDATION THING WHAT ON EARTH (well not 'run' but you know what I mean)

i'm thinking maybe he's trying to get back into peoples' good shoes but I just can't fathom why he would do that. I mean, it's awesome that he funds it and if it was at someone else's house, he could have attended but to HOST IT?!

Like Ginny was saying, there's sometimes nothing you can do to change the past. He's got to just realise he did wrong, and do as much as he can to make it right, but he's also got to realise some of his own boundaries.

But omg teacher James is so hot. I can't help it. I get really attracted to men when they care about kids/act paternal and when you were writing him about him ranting and worrying about the kids and the fact that he introduced the Unicorn League WAS JUST SO SWEET I HONESTLY WANTED TO CUDDLE HIM AND SQUEEZE HIM REALLY TIGHTLY

I loved this chapter and I'll probably be delayed in giving you another review but I WILL BE BACK BECAUSE I LOVE THIS STORY SO SO SO SO SOS OS SO SO MUCH ♥ ♥ ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: HI HI HI YAY SCREAMING SHOUTING CAPS LOCK REVIEWS XD XD XD

Haha, I had to put that bit in about Carlotta ogling James. So much of Rails was consumed by James' love for Carlotta's legs, and I figured that as physical appreciation ABSOLUTELY works both ways, that Carlotta should have her moment of admiration for James' appearance. Both of them are into each other for far more than just looks ... but James is just too dang good-looking!

Maybe I'll just put in a bit in EVERY CHAPTER where Carla is checking James out.

And he totally does exist. At least that's what I keep telling myself when I find myself falling in love with one of my own fanfic characters. Well at least we're all broken-hearted together. :P

Yup, peculiar decision from Lucius Malfoy to get involved in Squib stuff! Does he have purely good intentions, or is he playing a game? WHO KNOWS.

THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL REVIEW. :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: epilogue.

15th December 2015:
I love Essie I love her

I love all of them I know but Essie holds a very special place in my heart I love her so much

AND I DID NOT EXPECT A RELATIONSHIP BETWEEN LEO AND AUGUST (heh Leo is a star sign that's mostly in August wAS THAT A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR) but OF COURSE you'd add that bit in I love it

Honestly, Elisabeth, this is one of the best stories I've ever read. I've never loved a story this much and especially one on such a wild ride with updates almost every three minutes it's like that doctor who episode 'blink and you die' but instead of death it's just 'blink and you need to catch up on 27 chapters'

This is truly an amazing story and they felt so REAL and it was really raw at times but it's one of the best stories on this site you're such a brilliant writer and you have such a distinct style in writing and I feel like nothing can compare it to this.

I absolutely adored this story and think you did an amazing job on it. I love it so much ♥

9009368640086913957*941/10 ;) ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #39, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-six.

15th December 2015:
this wa sthe chapter when I really thought IF THERE IS NOTHING GOING ON BETWEEN ESSIE AND LYS WHEN THEY'RE OLDER I WILL EAT MY SOCK

recovery is nice it is so nice and you wrote it so lovely and there were still moments where my heart ached (especially the parts about Luna) but you have the BEST dialogue ever and it's so blunt and to the point and I LOVE it

soz for the terrible review but it's almost midnight and I need to be up at 6 am tomorrow and work with insane children

 Report Review

Review #40, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: twenty-five.

15th December 2015:
why do you do this why why why wh y w h y

do u hate us

I want to squish everyone. I want everyone to be okay and NEVER HAVE ANY PROBLEMS EVER BUT I CAN'T BECAUSE THEY'RE FICTIONAL

Also lol nice TFWMS nugget in there (regarding Al and Scorpius)

But ugh I'm trying to hold in my tears and OH, LYS WHY. It's never the answer and just uughhh

How do you have everyone (mostly) happy and cheerful one chapter and the next chapter you rip our hearts out and stomp all over them in spiked stilettos?

Oh wait I know why, BECAUSE YOU'RE SUCH A TALENTED WRITER YOU ARE HONESTLY PHENOMENAL. ♥

 Report Review

Review #41, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: nineteen.

15th December 2015:
yes I love this

I love this so mcuh

I love Neville and I love how that their get togethers are basically getting drunk and complaining about things and THIS ALWAYS HAPPENS LITERALLY with one of my mates every time we get together we get drunk and either complain about our colleagues or some of the children at work (we work at different spots) and you got it SO SPOT ON SO PERFECT

I loved this chapter I love this whole story you are such a wonderful writer omg

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: seventeen.

15th December 2015:
YES LUCY

YES GIRL YES

LUCY YOU ROCK SO MUCH

I LOVE HER I LOVE LUCY I LOVE HER SO MUCH AND I LOVE HOW PROTECTIVE SHE IS OVER LYS I LOVE HER

I am in such agreement with her because thankfully I had an excellent education about alcohol and other decisions at school but my friends who didn't because they went to different schools have ended up as messes or being too scared to drink. (They went to Catholic schools so I can kinda understand the fear about it but IT SHOULD NOT BE LIKE THAT)

Anyway, I love that Lucy is super passionate about these things and she's willing to snap at her Dad over something as important as this and I really really really loved it.

Also, I don't know if I've mentioned it before, but my HC is that Percy works in the same department and I wrote it in one of my fics and I could not believe that you had the same idea great minds think alike eyyy

(or fools rarely differ but let's go with the former yeah?)

I really just want to remind you again that I love Lucy. I love her. I l o v e her

 Report Review

Review #43, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: fifteen.

15th December 2015:
I LOVE SUPPORT FROM TEACHER FRIENDS BECAUSE THERE'S NOTHING LIKE THESUPPORT YOU RECEIVE FROM THE OTHER PEOPLE WHO KNOW THE HELL YOU ARE GOING THROUGH BUT it's really not that bad because you LOVE doing it and yOU JUST WROTE THIS WHOLE CHAPTER AND THE WHOLE BAR SCENE SO WONDERFULLY

And omg Harry has become a wise old wizard it weirds me out to see that he is OLDER than thirty seven and he's considered old, because I've never really read him in that type of light, really only as dumb teenager Harry or father!Harry and this is so cool

Loved loved loved this chapter ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #44, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: eleven.

15th December 2015:
oh my god

innuendos

I forgot how many were in this chapter and i LOVE EVERY SINGLE ONE OFTHEM I KEPT DOING WEIRD LAUGHS AND MUM KEPT GLANCING OVER AT MY LAPTOP TO SEE WHAT ON EARTH I WAS DOING but she just saw a bunch of words and seemed to get bore dlol

but omg

the thirsty innuendo

the apparaition one

and TRYING TO TEACH LORCAN APPARATION OMG

(I know I've spelt those wrong both times but I am too lazy to fix it)

And ESSIE GETTING DRUNK OFF BUTTERBEER OH MY

And omg ofc Leopold is queer. Of course. I shouldn't have expected anything less but I loVE IT HAHAHA

and I am reminded how you said you live for drinking games as plot devices and I am so glad that we are on the same page it is so fantastic and I will never tire of it

I loved this chapter and I love all your characters just like I love you

10/10 yes

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #45, by ohmymerlinHaversham Westley's School for Boys: nine.

15th December 2015:
Hello I am finally here and I can't promise that they'll be decent reviews and constant (because I've already read it tbh) and you got a lot of my reactions from twitter (that were not 12+ lol) but I AM HERE

Okay can I just say you write Essie SO SO SO SO SO WELL.

(You write all your characters well tbh but I really just love the way you've written Essie it's just woah)

I love how you call good ol' Leo McGeez it's so great and ESSIE DOESN'T COMPLETELY HATE HIM WHICH I LOVE

(And I think it was about here where I legit thought 'hmm when Lys and Essie are older and both adults and over the age of consent, I would like to see them give it a shot with each other)

OKAY NEXT FEW CHAPTERS (because I'm going to re-read basically)

10/10 ofc

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #46, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Don't Let Go

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

AWW! I love reading from baby Lily's perspective! Again, you have an excellent knack for writing in a child's perspective! I love the way you wrote the two. I especially loved how you wrote Petunia was acting a little stuck up because she was at school and Lily wasn't, but at the end of the day Petunia still cared so much for Lily. I just love the way you've written their relationship, it's so beautiful ♥

(I'm stubbornly ignoring the annoying reminder that tells me that they won't always be like this)

I really, really loved this chapter. I know I've only read two chapters but this is already my favourite. I love how well you write and how real it all feels! Especially in how you wrote Lily trying to ride a bike for the first time, and I know that most people have had that experience and you really managed to capture the nervousness and excitement that comes from riding a bike.

You really nailed this chapter and I can't wait to read more! I'll probably be back tomorrow but now I have to sleep :P

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello again sweetie!

I have no words for this review, honestly. I just want to quote the whole thing back to you like "can you believe a person said this about my work?!?" (The answer is "No, I can't believe it" :P)

I have to admit, this is probably my favorite chapter in Beyond Repair so far - if you read on, I hope you will not be disappointed! Anyway, the fact that you are even interested in reading on makes me so happy!

Seriously, THANK YOU!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #47, by ohmymerlinlow tide: a meditation

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

Ouch, my heart. I feel so sorry for George and I love the methodical way you've seemed to write him. But I also like how he wasn't completely miserable or despondent, he was just stating as if it was a fact. It's just something that happened.

It makes my heart ache, but it's also nice to finally read a one-shot about George after the war that doesn't make me want to tear my heart out.

I like that Angelina and Lee are with him though. And they were just doing simple friends things but (maybe I'm reading too far into this) but you can tell that it really means a lot to George. He's still got a lot of healing to do, but with his friends by his side, it seems like he can get through it.

I loved this one-shot. It flowed so nicely and was so lovely to read (even with the occasional chest grab because it makes me so emotional), and I really love your writing. You're such an amazing writer ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla! Thanks so much for stopping by and reviewing ♥

Thank you, I really appreciate all that you've said here, especially what you said about it not making you want to tear your heart out but it kind of makes your heart ache. That's exactly the feeling I was going for - grief that's a bit dulled by the passage of time and easier to manage, but still present as the memories of Fred are equally uplifting and painful to remember.

This is probably the most honest fic I've ever written, and the easiest to write for that reason, as behind the guise of these characters it was essentially me finally coming to terms with my cousin's death.

And yes, I love what you pointed out about the way they're just doing ordinary friend things but it's so important to have them there. Lee and Angelina both suffered a huge amount when they lost Fred too, because they were two of his best friends, and so they're just kind of all grieving and healing together. I don't think you're reading too far into it. Much of this is meant to be open to interpretation :)

Gah, thank you so much for this kind review and omg, you are too nice ♥


 Report Review

Review #48, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Daddy's Little Flowers

14th December 2015:
Hey, Renee! I meant to review for the Hot Seat but I was a bit delayed, unfortunately!

Nevertheless, I am here and I AM SO KEEN TO READ THIS OH MY GOD.

Petunia and Lily stories are one of my weaknesses. I love them so much.

Already, the opening chapter is so strong. Leaving seeds of resentment in their relationship and it's sad that that's how their relationship is but you've already written it so magnificently. Also, you're awesome at writing from a child's perspective. I know a lot of people struggle with it but you wrote it so well!

I couldn't help but feel sorry for Petunia though. It's not like her parents were intentionally making her feel bad, but the way you wrote that scene made my heart break a little bit.

I can't wait to read on! You're such an awesome writer!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Aw, yay! I haven't received many reviews on Beyond Repair lately (probably because I haven't updated in ages :P) so I was really happy to see this!

I felt sorry for Petunia, too - I mean, I don't *like* Petunia, but she isn't evil. She's a pretty normal person in many ways, and I am hoping to win some sympathy for her throughout this piece. I'm glad you felt that.

Awww, thank you Kayla! You are too sweet!! (BTW, don't even worry about being late to the hot seat. I am like a MONTH late for them, so... yeah, not judging!)

xoxo
Renee


 Report Review

Review #49, by ohmymerlinAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

14th December 2015:
Heya Kristin! I meant to review your stories for the Hot Seat but time managed to run away from me. So I'm here with your delayed reviews now!

omg the way you write Bellatrix is phenomenal. Holy moly. You wrote that low, evil voice so well and I'm so amazed. I know you're a fantastic writer but OMG THIS IS JUST A WHOLE NEW LEVEL.

And the way you had the three girls talking about the bug was so true to their characters. I just love the way you wrote that whole scene. It matches perfectly with their canon personalities and I could really see the scenario playing out. I especially loved reading about Bellatrix's disdain about her sisters. The way you wrote that she thought she was better than them was so perfect. You really captured that sneering arrogance.

Plus, the lil bit about Rodolphous was so interesting! I always wondered why we never seemed to hear about him but you managed to weave it in effortlessly.

And ooh who is this mysterious woman? Is it just an original character or did you have someone specifically in mind?

And omg the way you wrote Bellatrix's loyalty to Voldemort was wonderful. I loved how you compared it to lightness, because for them it was their happy place where they felt free. I truly loved that bit.

I loved the whole one-shot, actually. You're one of the best writers on this site, I swear!

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Haha, Time does that! For something that doesn't have any legs it sure does run fast. :P

ASDLKJFA, thank you so much! She was such a difficult character to approach writing and really get into her mind, and she's so fascinating because she's so strong-willed and staunch in what she stands for, and I think that in other circumstances she could have been such a different person. /tangent, anyway thank you so, so much! I'm so glad you like this portrayal of her. and gah thanks, I'm blushing!

I loved writing that scene with all three sisters, as I think it shows a lot of who they will become. Ahh, thank you! I'm so glad you could visualise the scene.

I'm glad to hear Rodolphus' absence made sense too. He's a pretty average sounding person in the books, nothing that makes him stand out above the rest of the Death Eaters, and to someone who is so attracted to power like Bella is, he would seem kind of blah. :P

The woman... well, I didn't have a specific name in mind, I liked leaving her anonymous :P

Thanks! I'm glad you liked that. Despite that she's going insane in Azkaban, she does have some really interesting observations :p

OMG I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO SAY TO YOUR LAST COMMENTS ASKJDFKLAJSDLKJFAWLKDJAF just THANK YOU, I'm so flattered! *hugs* ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥


 Report Review

Review #50, by ohmymerlinLying Josephine: Brave Face, Kid

14th December 2015:
Hello again!

OOH THE PLOT IS THICKENING! I was wondering how she'd become 'Lying Josephine', because I couldn't imagine George ever asking her but I love the way it's all panned out!

Again, George's emotions were just ugh... ♥ My heart literally broke when the letters weren't sent and George just broke down over it. I do feel so sorry for Josephine though as well because she'll just take it. She just accepts the abuse that's hurled at her, and George always apologises but she shouldn't have to go through that. It;s like she's just going through with it and won't stand up for herself because she likes him so much but COME ON JO, STAND UP FOR YOURSELF.

I don't blame George for lashing out, but he needs to release his anger in a healthy way that IS NOT ON JO.

(I kinda want to snuggle Jo in a cocoon of protectiveness and warmth WHERE NO ONE HURTS HER EVER)

The way you write emotions is so phenomenal. You're such a talented writer, and I always knew it, but actually reading your work makes it so much more obvious and it's like 'HOW DID I NEVER READ THIS BEFORE!?'

Also, I know this was a few chapters ago, but the snow globe incident was also so emotional and moving and GOSH DARN IT TANYA YOU'RE SO FANTASTIC AT MAKING ME WAN TTO SNUGGLE GEORGE AND JOSEPHINE AND THE WAY YOU WRITE THEIR HEART BREAK IS NOTHING I'VE TRULY EXPERIENCED AND YOU MAKE ME FEEL SO MANY THINGS.

So many.

And I don't know why I get this vibe, but a lot of your story feels like a song. It flows so nicely and they bounce off each other so well and everything matches so perfectly, but it truly feels like something musical.

Probably because you write music but there's nothing I've ever read that flows so well. It's hard to explain but hopefully you get the gist of what I'm trying to say?

This was such an amazing chapter, again. I'm so excited to see how George and Josephine's relationship develops, and how she interacts with the rest of the Weasleys (will they make her come out of her shell a bit?)

I'm also really looking forward to seeing how the story progresses! I don't want to pressure you and annoy you but I really can't wait to read the next chapter, hehe!

10/10 again ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>