Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
671 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ohmymerlinA Death Eaters' Worst Nightmare: So Many Laughs

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh my god I have not stopped laughing at this! It's absolutely hilarious! I loved how shocked the Death Eaters were when they found Fred and George "headless" and then the shock they got once they started talking, hahahaha! And then the twins kept Apparating everywhere like they used to do when they were still living at home was just brilliant! So creative and so so so so so funny!

Oh god, then the fireworks and the fake wands had me laughing so loudly! I was also clapping them and cheering for them, hahaha! That would be the strangest raid ever but it would definitely be a memorable one, hahaha!

Brilliant one-shot! It was so funny and so creative! Absolutely loved it! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #27, by ohmymerlinHeadless Hats for Snogging People: Room of Requirement

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was such an interesting take on how Fred and George developed Headless Hats! It was definitely a smart idea and it made me laugh! Especially at how scarred Fred was seeing his sort-of-adoptive brother kissing the girl he fancied, haha!

It also made me laugh at how George wanted to make Fred okay with people snogging and then all those posters of the people snogging were up in the common room! That was brilliant! And then I can't believe they sent the Headless Hat to Cho, hahahaha! I don't blame Cho for shrieking when she realised she had no head. That would not be a pleasant experience!

Great one-shot! It was so funny! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

Author's Response: Hi Kay,

Merlin these decrees seem to be the source of reviews for this story. xD But I'm glad you think the humour and dialogue worked. I'm not particularly good with those, so I'm always happy to get reassurance.

Thank you for enjoying it. Keep on for the House Cup!

Love,
Sevvy
*waves hands in the air and whoops*


 Report Review

Review #28, by ohmymerlinOpen at the Close.: Cele-Fred-tion (I)

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was so sweet! I loved that George realised that Fred's funeral would not be allowed to be boring and bland and black, so he organised it in the exact way as he lived. It was such a sweet funeral, and although it was sad, it wasn't sad enough to make me cry which I like!

I think you really captured George's personality and I loved how he kept the connection to the shop and all the products, that was such a brilliant idea!

Especially loved how George called it a 'Cele-Fred-tion'! That was just brilliant!

And you managed to capture Luna's personality spot on, so you don't need to worry about that! ♥

Great job on this chapter! It was absolutely brilliant! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #29, by ohmymerlinThe Ton-Tongue Toffee Incident: The Ton-Tongue Toffee Incident

9th July 2014:
Hello!

I was going to say that there would be no way in the world Snape would fall for Fred and George Weasley's pranks! He's such a suspicious person and for him to trust two pranksters -- and Gryffindors at that! -- would have been overwhelmingly out of character! But I liked that he used that Slytherin cunning to trick Fred into eating it! That made me laugh, haha!

And Fred was very silly to believe him like that! He should have snuck it into his food rather than outright give it to him!

Oh well, it was still a very funny incident! And this is a great first ever fanfiction! I know mine wasn't anywhere near as good as this so congratulations! You wrote it fantastically!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #30, by ohmymerlinShot of Light: Elizabeth

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Wow, that was a very intense chapter! I can't believe how crazy Alecto was! I mean, I always knew she was insane but the way you wrote her was positively senile! I was a little scared but she's only just a character in a story! I couldn't imagine the fear of Hannah and Ernie!

I also can't believe they had the guts to try and annoy her with a decoy detonator! I would not have been that brave! (So yay Hufflepuffs! :P)

It was nice to see that Neville came to help them, though! It's cute how one day they do end up together :') But I feel so sorry for Hannah finding out the Carrows killed her mother. That would not have been fun!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review Decree #6

 Report Review

Review #31, by ohmymerlinLily, I'm a Werewolf. : Lily, I'm a werewolf.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was so interesting to read! In my head canon, Remus always told Lily that he was a werewolf whilst they were still in school but I suppose this worked as well! It was funny how that Lily was insulted that he thought she wouldn't have noticed, though! That made me laugh! :P

I also loved how she said the same thing to Remus as James did, his "furry little problem." That was so clever and just proved that they were meant to be, how cute!

I loved the friendship you wrote between Lily and Remus, it was very sweet! Although, I feel like they did proclaim their love to each other a little too much for just friends :P But that's because I hardly ever say emotional outbursts though, so it's probably just a personal bias :P

It was a great read though! I really enjoyed it! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hiya!!

Oh thank you!! I'm happy you enjoyed it! Yeah, most stories do have Lily knowing while they're in school. I, myself, have a fic written where she knows during their 7th year. I was just trying to go for something a little different, and I'm glad it worked out! Haha I'm glad you liked that part! Of course Lily would know. How silly of Remus for not giving her enough credit. If James, Sirius and Peter could figure it out, he should have known Lily would as well.

Oh yay! I wasn't sure about that line at first. I didn't know if people would think it was cheesy or not. I can't tell you how happy I am that you feel that way about her calling it his "furry little problem." :D

The main, and only criticism I've received, is how they regarded one another. It's just how my close, close friends and I speak to each other. I didn't think twice about writing that way. But, after I've received reviews on this, I can see I should maybe tweak that.

I'm so happy you enjoyed it!! Thank you so, so very much for stopping by and for your kind words!!

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #32, by ohmymerlinHC Event 3: The New Addition: The New Addition

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Aw, this one-shot was so sweet! It's a truly magical thing getting a pet and I think you managed to capture that perfectly in this one-shot! I especially loved how excited Sophie was over getting the lil crup! I loved how she kept asking her mother when the crup would arrive and then talking about all the names -- that was so cute!

And the name that she landed on, Nibble, was just so cute! It's such an adorable name for a crup! Especially since crups like to eat anything, haha! Very clever!

You wrote this very well! I really loved reading it! :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #33, by ohmymerlinEvent 3: Fear Appears: Boggart.

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

That first paragraph was astounding! It was such a powerful opening paragraph to a great one-shot! It really set the tone of the one-shot and described the Boggarts so well!

It was so sad that Victoire's fears were like Molly Weasley's fears in the Order of the Phoenix, all the family members dead :'( But it showed how close they truly are which was sweet. It was also so sad to hear that Arthur died! That's not good!

I'm glad that Victoire did banish the Boggart away! That must have been a relief to see them all walk up and smile again.

This was a really lovely one-shot! I think you wrote it really well but you might want to just give it a once over to smooth it out a little bit ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hello indeed Kayla! :)

Thank you so much! I do try! *blushes*

I know, it kind of broke my heart to write it as a strong lover of the Next- Gen and Victoire herself! And you're right! It's not good!

Me too! My favourite bit too! Everything's okay again!

I know and I shall!

Thank you so much for reading, reviewing and saying such wonderful things!

ScoroseOTP
Emz xxx


 Report Review

Review #34, by ohmymerlinEvent Three : Prompt 3.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was sad. :( I felt so sorry for Sirius and it was so depressing to see him reflecting on the past memories with James and Lily. I really liked the way you described Lily, it just seemed so bright and so crazy -- it was just perfect for her :') I also thought the scene where James tells Sirius that he's going to be a father is brilliant! It's like he couldn't keep it in any longer and just had to blurt it out! It was so cute!

I really liked the way it was set up. Like Sirius was talking to James. It did get a bit confusing at times as to who was speaking, or who Sirius was speaking to but you had a short time frame to write this in so it's nothing a quick edit won't fix!

This was a lovely one-shot. It was a great read!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Ah I'm so glad you liked it, this was the first time I wrote something like this so it's really good to know that there was some success ;p

I need to look over the whole thing because it is missing quite a bit..

Thank you for the lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #35, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - A Good Elf: A Good Elf

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Wow, this was such a good story! (That came out sounding INCREDIBLY sarcastic but I swear to you it isn't! I genuinely loved this story!) I loved this point of view of Kreacher. We all knew how much he loved Regulus, his Master Black, but I think you've really managed to capture at how loyal he was to Regulus! It was such a nice thing to see how much he loved him and then he gave Regulus a hug, the little cutie! It was so sad to see Kreacher leaving Regulus to die even though he was ordered to and I felt so sorry for him :'( And then when you said he was weeping in his little room was just awful! I felt so sorry for him! He lost his only friend :'(

No, I agree with you -- Kreacher does show a lot of bravery and compassion! You're completely right! I think anyone who really disagrees with you might not have read the same books as us :P Kreacher was an incredibly brave elf, and I really think you've managed to portray him accurately!

Beautiful one-shot! I absolutely loved it!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #36, by ohmymerlinEvent Horizon: Infinity.

9th July 2014:
Holy moly, Tawi. y r u so talint

Seriously, this was just pHENOMENAL!!! The way you write is just so beautiful and perfect and the descriptions are just so descriptive and the way you write emotions and the unnamed character's fear was just wOaHHH

You've rendered me to not speaking English properly looK AT WHAT YOU DID BECAUSE OF YOUR PURE TALENT

Would you like to share that talent around?

But omg, I'm so in awe of this. It was only a small one-shot but every word was just so powerful and I feel like I've just undergone a spiritual experience, I swear. I keep wanting to copy and paste my favourite quote but I loved every single line! I especially loved the whole third paragraph, the one starting with, "And the smoke intoxicated my lungs." That was just such an intense paragraph and was so vivid and clear yet vague at the same time which is the best type of writing, in my opinion!

And for you to write the poem that this was based on?! That's so super talented! It would be so cool to read it (of course, if you don't want to show it then I completely understand -- it's your work and you have the right to keep it private!) and see even more of your talent!

So is it obvious I absolutely loved this one-shot, Tawi? Because if not, I did! Definitely one of my favourite House Cup entries!

If I could give you eight hundred out of ten, I would! So I'll just settle for ten ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

GO HUFFLEPUFF! TBBAYMBWHAPABYHDBWNOHPWHT!

 Report Review

Review #37, by ohmymerlinMy Brother: The Stages of Grief

9th July 2014:
Wow thanks for making me tear up! It's still morning and I'm crying already! Waaah!

This was so sad! I can't believe how well you wrote Dennis. The anger was so real and then the numbness was also so real. I just wanted to hold him and let him cry it out. And the way he felt guilty about the whole thing was just heart-wrenching! I really "loved" how Dennis knew each and every single day that had passed since Colin's funeral. It showed that it was still tormenting him, months later and it was so sad but it did show their bond with each other.

This was such a beautiful one-shot. You did such an excellent job on it! ♥

Also, before I forget: I LOVE your penname! It's so funny, hahaha!

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

Thank you SO much for reading and reviewing! I'm sorry I made you cry, though I AM glad that the story made you feel so much. I really wanted to delve into the feelings of grief that someone would experience after such a devastating loss. I'm glad you liked it, and I appreciate your compliments so much! Thank you so much!

--Emily

P.S. - I'm glad you like my penname! :D I thought of it as a joke before I ever thought I would actually love this site, and now I've grown very fond of it, and it stuck. :)


 Report Review

Review #38, by ohmymerlinThe Precise Hour: Eggs and Owls

9th July 2014:
Hello!

First of all, you're nOT EGYPTIAN?! The whole time I was reading this I was thinking, "Cool! I haven't heard of Egyptian people being HPFF and the forums yet!" And then I read your note and was just like, ???!!! :O (shhh I know those aren't proper emotions/thoughts but let's just roll with it, yeah?) I'm not Egyptian either but you made it sound so authentic and real! Even if there were some errors, a lot of the time each family or community have their own dialect about this sort of stuff! And I have a feeling if you did make any errors, they wouldn't be that horrible!

Also, is Hassan one of the Quidditch refs in the World Cup? (I accidentally wrote House Cup at first, haha!) The name seems so familiar!

The letters were a sweet thing but I felt so sorry for him when she was getting married to someone else! Maybe one day they'll run into each other! I can't believe the brother killed the owl though! That's absolutely awful! I'm so disgusted! D': But it was nice that he got the white pigeon and then he named it after her :') He'll always have a connection with her then!

Great story!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #39, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Dark Woods, Bright Moon: Quiet Man

9th July 2014:
Hey, Maggie!

Wow! This was so amazing! I liked that it was from the thestral's point of view! That was super interesting! But the poor thing seemed to hate himself :'( I guess you would after being only visible to people who have seen death but still! I never really thought about if they'd be self-aware but from this story I'd like to believe that they are! They are meant to be rather smart (good sense of direction) so it makes sense!

I liked how the thestral called Luna (well, I'm assuming it's Luna because you seem to like the Dean and Luna pairing, don't you?) 'Moon Girl'. It's so clever! And I loved that Dean was 'Quiet Man'. If the thestral had met Dean at a soccer/football match, he'd probably say otherwise! :P

Beautiful one-shot, Maggie! 10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Kayla, hi! Thanks so much for the lovely review! I'm so glad you liked this :) And you know, I never really thought about the thestral being so troubled until you mentioned it. But it's a great point. Being a thestral would be very lonely, I think :/

Yes, you're totally right about Luna! I am such a sucker for this pairing and I just had to throw them in here :D Haha, and you're probably right about Dean and soccer as well! With this story I did want to show him in a more somber moment, though. I'm really glad you enjoyed him and Luna and how the thestral interacted with them.

Thanks again, Kayla! I so appreciate you taking the time to come by and review!

--Maggie


 Report Review

Review #40, by ohmymerlinLegilimency: Legilimency

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, I just LOVE your writing! You're definitely one of my favourite authors on here! You've just got such a knack for writing, I love it! I especially love at how all your stories are related to each other. It gives me so much happiness, but I'm not too sure why, haha!

Anyway, poor Johanna! Doing/performing Legilimency would be difficult so she shouldn't beat herself up over it! Yes, she was brilliant at Occlumency but it's very different to be the person having their memories intruded on and being the person intruding into other peoples' memories.

It was so cute how Teddy had pictures of Victoire everywhere even though they'd only been dating for three weeks! Bless his little soul! ♥

Teddy definitely had some of the Remus assurance in him in that moment! It was very sweet to see him acting just like his father :')

I really loved reading this one-shot! You did a great job on it!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Oh, thank you so much! ♥ That's such a huge compliment, and I can't tell you how much I appreciate it. I'm glad you liked this story so much - I love Johanna and Teddy's interactions, and and I was glad I was able to fit some of them into this HC. :P (Last HC I also wrote a story centered around them!)

Thank you so, so much.


 Report Review

Review #41, by ohmymerlinBecause She Stays: 1.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was... interesting. I've never actually really read original characters being a werewolf but I guess there's a time for everything! I am curious though as to how Sarah and the other girl (I don't think you gave a name) will deal with the upcoming full moon because the other girl is quite clearly human and werewolves aren't exactly that nice when it comes to meeting humans and they don't have the wolfsbane potion! But oh well, it's not part of the story so I shouldn't worry about it, haha :P

That was so nasty of her parents to throw her out because of something she can't control! Yes, she shouldn't have snuck out against her parents' wishes but still! Bad parenting!

This was a lovely one-shot. I enjoyed reading it :)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Haha, yeah, I probably should have went a little into how that was going to happen into the story... I'm going back and fixing parts of it now (and I will include how she will do the full moon) but I'll just tell you here. I'm think that she stole some chains that she put into her cave wall, tying herself up so she won't get out. I don't know if you have ever seen The Vampire Diaries, but I'm think along the lines of what the werewolves in there did on the full moon.

Yeah, her parents are not the nicest to say the least haha. But I feel like, with all the werewolf prejudice going on in the wizarding world at that time, I could see that many people would view werewolves as just monsters and not the same people they have always been (before and after the bite).

Thank you so much for the review!
Mary


 Report Review

Review #42, by ohmymerlinWhat's an Offside?: Offside

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

Oh, I just loved this, hahaha! Even though I've known soccer/football for my whole life (my younger brother's played it for about eleven years, my cousin even longer, and I usually try to go to their games) I still do not understand the offside rule :P And even though you were describing it quite clearly, I'm still confused hahahaha :P But oh well. Maybe one day I'll get it :P

The way you wrote their confusion was so funny! I especially loved how James was asking stupid questions just to annoy Dominique :P

I think you wrote this one-shot so well! It was so funny reading all the confusion and Dominique and Hannah's frustration :P Although, it makes me wonder how Dominique got to know and love football so much seeing as her family is mainly compromised of magic people!

Oh well, you made it work though! :D

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Oh, offside. It's definitely a little complicated, and the linesmen always seem to get it wrong anyway. :P

This is definitely where the word limit did me in, though. This was about 1000 words longer before I realized that I'd gone way over the limit and would have to cut it down, and one of the things I cut was how Dominique got into football in the first place. (It was basically through Hannah, who Dominique was friends with prior to them starting Hogwarts and whose father is Muggleborn, if you're still curious.) I'll probably add that back in, because I definitely see how it's a bit confusing.

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #43, by ohmymerlinFriends & Equals: When the Time is Right

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Ooh, this was a really interesting take on the friendship prompt but I think you really made it work! Death didn't seem too bad. He didn't seem like an evil overlord who's job was to take pleasure in all the people dying :P I like how you made Ignotus and Death reflect that 'and the third brother greeted Death like an old friend'. It's such an interesting plot and I really enjoyed reading it!

The scene where Ignotus passes the Invisibility Cloak to his son was also so good! And slightly sad :'( But I liked that you showed the Cloak slowly being passed through the generations, that was very clever!

Great one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla,

Thanks for stopping by to read and review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story I wrote for the friendship prompt, it was a lot of fun to write and became very personal to me over the course of writing it. I wanted to show that Death could be seen in a more positive light, and I'm glad I got that point across well.

I'm really glad you liked the scene with Ignotus and his son. I wanted to incorporate the cloak because it's such a huge part of the HP world. Thanks again for stopping by and leaving such a lovely review!

-- Fae


 Report Review

Review #44, by ohmymerlinEvent 3 - Will-O'-The-Wisp: The Forest

9th July 2014:
Hello!

You wrote Dean so well! He felt so very canon! I loved the little allusions to his family and that he was the cute big brother reading bedtime stories :') It gave me the most adorable vision of Dean and his younger sisters!

I liked that the will-o'-the-wisp or pixie was kind of teasing him! It was sweet to see, it was almost like she (or he) knew that Dean used to read all about them! And she or he led Dean to Ted and Griphook, like Snape's Patronus led Harry to Ron! :D

This was an interesting version of how they all met and grouped together but it's very interesting and believable! But props to Dean for realising that Ted and Griphook were also on the run. I know if I was in his shoes I'd probably just cry from fear and not realise anything, haha!

This was a great one-shot!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #45, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Over the Bridge: The Bridge

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was so sweet! I really enjoyed reading about how they were young! I loved how Petunia was so fond of Lily and that she just knew Lily was special! :') I also really loved the line that hardly any other kids went to the park! Mainly because whenever I was out with my cousins, the four of us would (we actually still do) dread seeing other people our age and having to talk to them/play with them :P I don't know if you intended it to be that way but that's what it came across as but it was sweet because it was like they just wanted it to be the two of them forever :')

It was so clever of you to relate Harry's "death" to Petunia's death here. It was similar, but not so much in the way that it wasn't creative. I liked how hers was the park they would always play in together. That was a very nice touch.

Beautiful one-shot! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review

Review #46, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: One Promise: One Promise

9th July 2014:
Hey, Charlotte!

This was so sweet! I really loved the way you wrote Lucy and Raisa! People always say opposites attract and they did attract here! I thought this was a wonderful friendship to write about, especially the way you were saying how it was like it had only been yesterday that they had spoken. Those friendships are so wonderful to have and you portrayed it excellently! I can relate to Lucy how she got so nervous and then chiding herself later for being silly because there are just some friendships that are so strong that not even five years can taint it :')

I would offer some critique but I don't think you need any! It was such a wonderful one-shot! Absolutely loved it and I loved both your characters!

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!

Aw, thank you! I'm so glad you liked the friendship portrayed between Lucy and Raisa here. I didn't even intentionally think about the saying opposites attract, but yes, I do think it's true in some circumstances, such as this one! It's definitely so lovely to have friendships that really do last forever, and that's what I wanted to depict here.

Thank you so much for all the compliments and for leaving me such a generous review! :)

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #47, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Broken Noses and Percy Shelley: Broken Noses and Percy Shelley

9th July 2014:
Hello again!

This was such a wonderful one-shot! I loved the exploration of Crabbe and Goyle! It put them in such a new light and I liked that you acknowledged that they both were aware that they weren't smart! So many times I've read stories with those two and the authors have made them so much smarter than they actually are so it was a refresher to see their canon selves!

I loved that you made them actually not like Draco! I doubt anyone -- no matter how dumb they are -- would ever appreciate that sort of treatment. I liked that you added that in! I really loved the boxing scene though! I remember in the books Harry mentioned something along those lines so I just loved that little addition!

And the water and fire metaphors were absolutely brilliant! Loved loved loved the allusion to Crabbe's death! That was so brilliantly written! Oh, it was just... I don't know how to describe it but it was sort of... melodic? Haha I have no idea how to explain it but it was just so beautiful! ♥

The use of second person was so perfect! It just made the whe thing so much more emotional and personal ♥

I also liked the use of Percy Shelley! I've only ever read like one of his poems but I remember I really liked it. I also heard that the woman he married was a rather famous author, am I right? ;)

Haha, anyway, loved this one-shot! Absolutely breathtaking! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for your review!

I'm glad that you liked my portrayal of Crabbe and Goyle. I didn't want to break from canon too terribly much, but I did want to give them a little bit of depth, hence Goyle's poetry and Crabbe's boxing. :)

Yeah, Draco was pretty awful to them, and they were supposed to be his best friends! They can't help but resent that. :P Haha, really? In the books? I thought I just made the boxing thing up... But if I accidentally managed to stumble upon something from the books and write about it subconsciously, then I'm okay with that! :D

Awww, thank you so much! I thought that Crabbe would be the fiery one since he died in flames. And took up boxing. :)

I'm really starting to like second person a lot. It's a fun PoV to explore!

Percy Shelley is my Romantic-era homeboy. Ever read "Prometheus Unbound"? It's fairly awesome. I highly recommend it! And yes, Shelley himself was quite famous, but he had a whole slew of famous in-laws: his wife, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, was the author of Frankenstein, and Mary's mother (who was also called Mary) was the author of "A Vindication of the Rights of Women" and other early texts that inspired the feminist movement in some ways. :)

Thanks so much!!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #48, by ohmymerlinEvent Three: Misunderstood: Misunderstood

9th July 2014:
Hello!

This was a brilliant one-shot! I can't believe how well you managed to get Remus' personality! It was so spot on! The way he thought and the (rare) moments he talked was so /him/ and seemed so canon and real! I felt so sorry for him when he was saying he was hiding so he wouldn't hurt anyone. Even though he was starving and in pain and all alone! Even though he's the one that's suffering, he still thinks of others in front of him. That was so perfectly in character!

The scene with Dumbledore's was brilliant. I loved that he used the same line ("You brave, brave man") when he was talking to Harry in the afterlife in the Deathly Hallows! That was a nice little parallel there! I also liked that he tried to reassure Remus that although some people thought he was a monster, Dumbledore clearly did not think that.

And then Remus saying that Hogwarts was still his home was so touching :') I really loved that part!

Such a beautiful one-shot! Great work! ♥

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much! I am SO afraid of writing canon characters, but I really enjoyed exploring Remus's personality and seeing if I could get it right. I'm super happy that you thought I did it! :D Yeah, I definitely thought that he would be the type to put other people's safety over his own happiness/safety/well-being, so his reasoning for hiding away from society made a lot of sense to me.

Yes! I'm so glad that someone caught that! I intended for Dumbledore to act as a comforter and guide, much like he does for Harry in the afterlife. And the old wizard has had several years to try out his encouraging material on other people before Harry. I would like to think that he's said "You brave, brave man" to several people, Remus included. :) No, Remus is not a monster, but he probably still thought that even after he got married to Tonks, unfortunately, :/

Hogwarts is home to those who are wandering or lost. Remus is one of those. He found a good niche in the castle. :)

Thanks so much for your lovely review!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review

Review #49, by ohmymerlinEvent 3 ~~ I believe you.: I believe you.

9th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was so sweet! This is the first time I've ever read a story about Ernie and Stan, the cute little knightbus duo, haha!

I admit, for about the first half of this story I thought when you were talking about Ernie you were talking about Ernie MacMillan and I thought it was such an odd pairing to write about but you seemed to be making it work and then suddenly it just hit me you were talking about Ernie the Knightbus guy and it just made this one-shot all the more better! :D

I think you wrote their friendship really well and I loved how fatherly Ernie was being to Stan! It was so sweet!

You chose such an interesting pairing to write about, it was such a creative idea and you really made it work! As I said before, this was the first one-shot I'd read of the pair of them so it's safe to say you've definitely left a high bar for the others to match up! ;)

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

Author's Response: Thank you! I've never read a story about those two either, but I was thinking about rarer pairs of friends (for event 3) and also looking for a slightly darker plot (I was going to do Dobby and Winky but couldn't manage it because I just wasn't in the zone to be able to write those two), and suddenly I landed on Ernie and Stan. I do rare characters. The more unusual the better.

I can't say much other than thank you, I'm so glad you liked it!

~ Leo xx


 Report Review

Review #50, by ohmymerlinEvent Three - The Auction of Firenze: The Auction

8th July 2014:
Hello!

Oh, this was such an interesting story! I absolutely loved it! The idea of Firenze once being a statue was so creative and so very believable! If someone had just mentioned that to me I probably would have scoffed but reading this one-shot I find it hard to believe it wasn't actually canon, haha! You've just got a way of writing that makes it seem so true and real!

I loved that Abraxas was so upset that his descendants would be in war and I especially loved how Firenze said that there were no winners in war. It was such a powerful quote and if you had a fandom, people would be writing that all over their Instagrams and Tumblrs hahahaha!

I loved their little friendship together. It was so sweet and I could just imagine a white-haired young man and a massive centaur bent down studying Astronomy, ahaha!

Brilliant one-shot! I absolutely loved it! ♥

10/10

- Kayla :)

House Cup 2014 review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>