Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
810 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ohmymerlinThe Brightest Blue: The Brightest Blue

11th April 2016:
Heya, Duckie!

I'm finally here! I know I'm horrendously late and I really do apologise! I did read it when I first saw it but then time escaped me and I didn't manage to review it but that just meant I got to re-read it!

Firstly, holy moly. Your imagery and descriptions are out of this world. The way you wrote the connections between colour and sound and magic was just phenomenal. I absolutely adored how you wove in the magic with the synesthesia (that is literally one of the worst words to spell omg I take like 5 minutes to type it out haha). It's such an original way of thinking, I have seen fics where the main character has synesthesia but none of them can even compare to your one! The way you've written it almost made me forget that most magical people don't see colours when they make spells and it felt so natural and real.

I loved that Alice had that silvery lavender colour, it's such an intriguing character and it seemed to fit her really well! And Frank's greenish blue was so vivid and when they kissed I could see the way the colours intermingled and the LITERAL SPARKS FLYING :D

But I was wary the whole time I was reading this because I knew it would break my heart and it did! Bellatrix -- ooh, nice touch about the Cruciatus Curse being black and Bellatrix's voice being that deep red -- cursing them just broke my heart and it made the whole scene even more vivid than it already was.

But the way everything was colourless for Alice afterwards is just heartbreaking. It showed that Bellatrix really ruined the two of them but when Alice saw the blue with Neville it made me tear up because NOTHING can overcome a mother's love and the fact that Neville is still her brightest blue is making me cry now :P

And ooh quickly letting you know that in the scene where Alice is giving birth you write that Neville is holding her hand not Frank :P Easy mistake though!

Just oh my goodness, Sarah! This is one of the greatest stories I've read! You are an absolutely phenomenal writer and this may be one of my favourite pieces on the archive! Just... amazing... ♥ ♥

10/10

Sorry again about the terrible delay!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! No worries about the late review. Real life happens.

I am so glad you liked the imagery and descriptions in this. I've always been more of a dialogue driven writer and tend to gloss over descriptions because I see things so clearly in my head as I'm writing that I forget readers need a bit more to go on. So I really wanted to push myself with descriptions here.

Synesthesia seems almost magical, so it fit really well to weave it into Alice's magic. I'm glad you liked that! I would love to read other fics about synesthesia. I've never seen it used in fan fic. Could you PM me links on the forum?

I wanted Alice's color to be a bit unusual and mysterious, but also bright and beautiful, so silvery lavender worked. Greenish-blue just seemed to fit Frank. I can't really describe why, but that's the color I thought of when I thought of Frank. Haha, I hadn't even thought of literal sparks flying, but yes!

When I first thought up this story I didn't intend for it to span so much time. It was just going to be about Alice's time at Hogwarts, but then as I wrote it, I realized I had to take it further because there was so much that could be done with Bellatrix and what happened after. It was horribly sad to write, but it had to be done.

Having everything be colorless after was also something that came to me late. I'd already written the whole thing without everything being colorless, but then it hit me that since everything else had been taken from Alice, her colors should've been taken, too. So I rewrote it. But of course I left Neville's blue, because of a mother's love.

Ah, thanks for pointing out the typo! I'll go fix it.

Aww, thank you so much! This review means a lot. You made my day. I really appreciate it. :)


 Report Review

Review #2, by ohmymerlinStar-Crossed : Doubt

1st March 2016:
Hellooo!

I'm sooo sorry about the delay in getting this to you! I had a few things going on and when I thought I'd be able to get your review to you, my Internet decided to freak out! I'm so sorry about the lateness of this review!

Anyway, onto the review! :)

First of all, I completely did not realise this story was about Filch! I did read the summary the first time I opened up the story but every time I opened it up again, I just looked for the chapters and it obviously slipped my mind :P So firstly, kudos for writing about Argus! I don't think I've ever read a story about him!

You write him wonderfully in character and I love how Elodie already seems to have the 'Norris' last name, which I admit is something I always wondered about! I always wondered why his cat was called Mrs. Norris and I already love the way you've introduced it! :D

And oh, the way you've described Argus' loneliness is almost crushing! I never expected to feel sorry for him, but here you are making me do so :P

Ooh Harvey seems like a bad sort! I really hope that he doesn't come across Argus or Elodie again. I can't believe he'd hurt them! What a piece of rubbish!

Also, Todd and Argus' friendship is really interesting! How did they meet? Why does Todd seem to be so much more fine with being a squib compared to Argus? Do they often commiserate together?

He does seem like a decent friend, but doesn't really think too much about Argus, he's slightly selfish but fair enough, especially with the people he seems to be dealing with!

And uggghhh the Travers! Already this is getting worrying! But it's going to make me curious to see if you have him support them because in the books he's kind of on the Slytherins side?

AND OOH OOH OOH Are you going to include on how he gets hired for Hogwarts?

You have an excellent writing style! You write so beautifully and you seem to have a knack to keep people wanting more! The way you describe Argus' emotions and the setting he's in is fantastic! It almost feels like a published novel (really the only difference is that I'm reading it on a screen and it's fanfiction haha ;))

Excellent work! I really enjoyed reading it! Sorry again for the delay ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla! That's okay, it's nice to hear from you!

Thank you so much for this absolutely amazing review. I love how you're already reading into the characters. You've really made my day!

Xxxx


 Report Review

Review #3, by ohmymerlinStuck on the Puzzle: It Begins

19th February 2016:
HEYA J

I've admittedly already read all of this but I wanted to review and so here I am :D

ALREADY LOOK AT THE DORKS LOOK AT THEM THEY'RE SUCH BIG NERDS I LOVE THEM THEY'RE SO ADORABLE AND THEIR NICKNAMES ARE TOTALLY ADORABLE AND OBVIOUS BUT THEY'RE NOT GOING TO GET IT AT ALL IT'S SO SO SO SWEET

And look at that Lily, you're already falling for him and being wowed by his beautiful sense of maturity that YOU WILL FALL IN LOVE WITH

Can you write a one-shot of James and Dumbledore sitting in his office listening to a Quidditch match? That would be HILARIOUS, methinks

I really love that already James is asking love advice and IT'S HILARIOUS THAT HE'S ASKING ABOUT LILY TO LILY THAT IS SO WONDERFULLY ORCHESTRATED BLESS YOU

And oh my the adorable nicknames 'Emmy' and 'Rav-Rav' you're killing me here why are they so adorable together I love this story so much so so so much ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: The Picnic

17th February 2016:
Aw :( God I feel sorry for Petunia sometimes! She hd no right to treat Harry or Lily so horribly but you do such a wonderful job of the way she thinks that you can't help but feel so sorry for her!

I LOVED that you used the word 'groovy' ahhahaha it was probably used all the time and it fit so perfectly haha :D I loved that bit so much!

And already Lily is against dark magic aw yis

Snape you absolute creepo why would you think that other people would enjoy making others do something you want! I know you're messed up but come on, dude

And I feel bad for Snape that he too got hurt. I think you portrayed that really well and that he was trying to shove it off. Although, how was it a cursed wound when his dad doesn't perform magic? Or was it his mum? Or is he just saying that to Lily so he doesn't have to show anyone else?

And to quickly answer your fun question haha: I had a bright orange square lunchbox with a big smiley face on it. I LOVED it! It just had the two dots and the smile but it was one of my favourite lunchboxes haha

Did you have any memorable lunchboxes?

And ah! Lily did more magic! And she's already got some control over it! She really is a powerful witch then! I loved how she worried about it but then realised it was exactly what she's going to be doing in Hogwarts! She's basically doing wandless magic already! THAT'S MY GAL

And this line holy moly: cut through Petunia’s thoughts like a honeyed knife.

That was so powerful! You have such a way with words! Your descriptions and the emotions are just so powerful I feel like I'm actually living it! I felt Petunia's heartbreak in my soul and it is so so so sad when she feels so distant from Lily. The two are so close and it's so sad that they end up like the way they do but you're writing it so perfectly and it's flowing so so well

I'm so glad that Petunia realised how creepy Snape was. You can definitely hear it in the tone when she says 'that boy' in one of the books and Harry accidentally thinks that she's talking about James. He is a big creep, Petunia! Thank god you recognised that! If only Lily had realised that earlier!

This is such an amazing story! I love it so much ♥ Thank you for writing it! ♥

WAIT I JUST REALISED THAT THERE'S NO NEXT CHAPTER! Ahhh! I can't wait to read the next update :D I'm sure it'll be just as amazing as the others!

10/10

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Ahahaha, I always feel a thrill when people say they feel bad for Petunia, because I'm working hard to make her sympathetic despite an almost universal dislike of her in the fandom.

Groovy! Yep, gotta make sure readers don't forget it's the 60s! :P I'm glad you liked that word choice - I was afraid it read funny, especially since I don't exactly use that word myself! haha

I think this is Snape being only slightly creepy - I think he mostly just wants to make people leave him alone. And yeah, I totally slipped up with his injury because you're right, it would've had to be his dad - who isn't magic. *hides* I've decided that his dad did it, and then forbade his mother from healing it, and that's why Snape doesn't want Lily's mom to fix it - his mom would be blamed. But that bit doesn't really factor into Lily's understanding, let alone Petunia's.

I had a pink Cinderella lunchbox in first grade that I really liked. I know I must have had others, but that's the one that comes to mind. :)

Yep, Lily is a BOSS WITCH! :D

Aw, thank you! I'm glad you liked that line! And OH MY GOSH, Kayla:
"Your descriptions and the emotions are just so powerful I feel like I'm actually living it!"
--> I HAVE NO WORDS! THANK YOU!

You know, Petunia really doesn't get enough credit for realizing what a creep Snape was WAY before Lily did! I never thought of that.

Kayla, thank you SO MUCH for all of these fabulous reviews - you can't imagine how happy I was to read them, and you always say such amazingly kind things. I'm so so honored that this story has found a place among your favorites. I'll try my best to get to the next chapter soon.

Thank you, sweetie!

Bunches of love!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Light as a Feather

17th February 2016:
*is the worst*

I said I was going to finish this story and I just COMPLETELY BLANKED OUT! Sorry about that!

Anyway, this was such an amazing chapter! I loved how you showed that Lily and Petunia's relationship was never perfect and they had their little tiffs but in the end they always had each other's back. I can imagine the poor girls being scared of Lily's unexpected magic! And holy moly it was such a strong bit of magic! The beginnings of a powerful witch heh ;)

But it was sweet that Petunia protected Lily. We all know that very deep down she cares about Lily! And Lily's anger at the bullies was so sweet! Even though Lily is the baby sister, she still looks out for her older sister! It's such a great relationship between the two but it makes it even sadder that they never ended up speaking ever again :( and that Petunia pretended she never had a sister :( It's so heartbreaking!

But aw :( Even though Petunia had been nasty and Lily could have easily told on her, she didn't! You've really captured Lily's personality here and I love it!

This is honestly one of my favourite stories already! You're an absolutely phenomenal writer, Renee!

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Kayla, you are NOT the worst - in fact you're among the BEST! *hug* I'm so glad you came back to read more!

I think of Lily as having a very protective personality toward anyone she cares about - including Petunia, and that gets her in trouble more than once in her life.

Honestly, I don't think it's possible to write an entirely happy story about the two of them, because there's always our knowledge of their future lingering.

Aw, Kayla! *happy tears* Thank you so much! I'm thrilled you like it, and your encouragement has meant so much to me!

lots of love!
Renee


 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlinExcerpt from the Deposition of Dolores Jane Umbridge: Dolores: Age Fifteen

17th February 2016:
Hello! Happy birthday :)

Oh my...

This was... interesting? And horrifying. And I've definitely got the creeps now!

It was almost... sickening? The way that Dolores acted was truly terrifying because she still had that mixture of girliness and the way she just giggled about things like MURDER?!

Also, it's not just one murder! It's several!! What a nutcase!

This was sufficiently horrifying and you wrote it so well so I admit I'm a tiny bit scared of you now haha :P

*shudders* I really don't think there's anything that'll ever make me like Dolores Umbridge and this fic definitely solidified my hate of her :P

This was an excellent, albeit really freakin' scary, one-shot! I enjoyed reading it (but was also scared out of my wits haha)

Hope you have a great birthday :D

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hey, I'm glad you enjoyed getting the creeps from my portrayal of Dolores. She's a very, very evil person. Even Stephen King said so.

I really think she'd do anything to get ahead and I don't think she'd blink at murder, even at a young age.

And, I'm also glad you enjoyed the scary one-shot of her.


 Report Review

Review #7, by ohmymerlinPartners in Crime: the deep end.

16th February 2016:
YES AL YOU HAVE AN ATTITUDE PROBLEM YOU REALLY DO

OH GOD AL FINDING OUT THAT SCORPIUS HAS PROBABLY KILLED SOMEONE IS AMAZING HE'S BOTH IN AWE AND HORROR BUT ALSO CONFUSION BECAUSE SCORPIUS IS A BIG DORK HOW IS THAT PERSON CAPABLE OF ANYTHING MEAN TBH

And pls Al fight in your pyjamas

out of curiosity: what are his pyjamas? Are they just the boring pants and old t-shirt? Or are they matching? OR IS IT A ONESIE PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF GOD LET IT BE A ONESIE

and yes, Al, you are old. You are an old, old, old man. Look at all the youth surrounding you.

Also, will there please be a great friendship between Al and Brodie. BUT DON'T KILL HIM, ELISABETH, PLEASE DON'T KILL HIM

I'm attached to him already and because I'm attached I am worried very very worried

I also love how Scorpius is so ready to accept Al in his job even though he's had four days training like he does have the relevant experience and such, but it also shows he has faith in him so deep (maybe very very deep) inside that bored, blunt exterior, somewhere inside admires his talent and tHEN THEY WILL LOVE EACH OTHER FOREVER

I can't wait to read the next update omg :D

10/10 ofc

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ohmymerlinDesignated Mum Friend: 2.

16th February 2016:
Hello!

DESIGNATED MUM FICS HOLY MOLY YES

Already, you've got it spot on! People are clearly taking advantage of Lyra's niceness and already it's biting her in the bum because people do what Mai did to her! There's nothing wrong with taking care of others but Lyra has really got to learn that fine balance between taking care of herself and of others!

I really love Lyra, I really do, but she needs to learn to say 'no'. I'm sure you're going to delve into it a lot more later on but I JUST WANT HER TO REALISE IT NOW AND BE HAPPY AND EVERYTHING WORKS ITSELF OUT

But omg the last line broke my heart. "I'm not fine at all"

LET ME HUG YOU, LYRA. I feel so sorry for you and you don't deserve anything bad happening ever because all you're trying to do is make everyone happy WHEN WILL SOMEONE MAKE YOU HAPPY

Although, I do love Lyra's confidence when she asked out Mai! That's awesome! I just love how cool and collected she was, so in that scene we do see that she's pretty confident and charming so hopefully learning to say no will be a bit easier than originally anticipated? :D

Anyway, I really love this story already! I can't wait until the next update :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by ohmymerlinUnder False Pretenses: Plans In Action

16th February 2016:
OMG THIS IS NOT WEIRD HOLY MOLY I LOVE THIS STORY SO MUCH

You don't understand, when James asked Laurel to dance I had to stop reading for a moment and gather myself because THAT'S SO ADORABLE AND MY WEAKNESS IS WHEN GUYS ARE REALLY GREAT WITH KIDS AND JUST THE IMAGE OF THE TWO OF THEM DOING BALLET TOGETHER MAKES ME WANT TO CRY

I LOVE THEM

I LOVE JAMES AND HOW ATTRACTIVE LILY FINDS HIM AND HOW HE'S SO TOTALLY IN LOVE WITH LILY ALREADY OMG I LOVE THEM

You write them so well! Their dynamic is so great and I can't help but flail every time that they basically do anything adorable (so I'm basically flailing the whole chapter hahah) and they're both such vivacious people and everything they do is so great omg

I just love them so so s o much

and omg the way Petunia is so cruel and petty is SO HER but I'm also sad because WHY WOULD ANYONE HURT THE PRECIOUS CINNAMON ROLL THAT IS LILY EVANS

I cannot WAIT until James and Vernon get to talk more. I just loved James' reaction to seeing Vernon for the first time and you have to include a scene where they get to talk hahaha

Anywho, I really really loved this chapter and I can't wait to read the next one! I'm really curious how you're going to muggle-fy the whole Petunia/Lily thing ooohh

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlinChaos Theory: v. the teacups

16th February 2016:
Hello! Happy belated birthday!

This is such an interesting novel! I like how you fixed up the Education system but then it's been mucked right up again! I really like that you've added that Kit is really distressed and freaking out over it (as I'm sure everyone else is as well)

Okay, I already love your characters! They're literally insane and kinda freak me out but I love them so much! They're so vibrant!

I'm extremely curious as to who this Finis group is but I'm sure it will all be revealed eventually ;) Plot twist: it's actually Ala Arias because they knew what the words spelt out and the meaning.

Actually, I'm kinda thinking it is now...

Hmm...

ANYWAY, I just want to say that although I love Lucy, she's so much more negative than I usually would think! Is there a major reason for that or is it just her personality? Intriguing, intriguing...

and omg

I love the biting teacups thing. Holy moly I thought that was so hilarious! It seems so perfect in the HP world and the reaction to the plaster made me laugh so loudly! But wouldn't they have a spell to fix a cut anyway? :P

But omg the salve thing reminded me far too much of my conspiracy theorist uncle and you just NAILED the ridiculous fear that people seem to have when confronted with something that might not be as 'traditional' (in the Wizarding world at least) but infinitely better for you. It really made me giggle when I read that hahaha :P

Anyway, this is a great story! You're a really talented writer :D

Hope you had a lovely birthday, by the way ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ohmymerlinActions Speak Louder than Words: Bereaving: Scorpius and Rose POV

14th February 2016:
So FINALLY I read all of this and I was going to leave you a birthday present but it's really late so happy belated birthday and happy Valentine's Day ♥

But also: NOT HAPPY AT ALL BECAUSE I AM SOBBING I CANNOT BELIEVE YOU KILLED SELENIA I DID NOT PREDICT THAT AT ALL HOW COULD YOU HURT SUCH AN INNOCENT AND BEAUTIFUL PERSON AND HOW COULD YOU DO THAT TO AL?! SELENIA WAS LIKE THE PERFECT MATCH FOR HIM AND YOU KILLED HER WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY

Like I saw the chapter titles in the index and I assumed that Rose had a miscarriage (by the way, I TOTALLY GUESSED THAT SHE WAS PREGNANT! I hardly ever guess things like that so I was super excited that I did haha) BUT THIS IS LITERALLY TEN THOUSAND TIMES WORSE

My heart is ACHING

WHY WHY WHY

And arghhh Stannous is disgusting and creepy and oh god I really do not like him why can't he just leave everyone alone?!

Also is Lawrence the cheeky insider in Mungos? I don't like him, I haven't liked him since day one tbh

Just... I really have no words for this plot twist. I can't believe you did this to us. My heart has literally broken. I don't want to BELIEVE

Anyway, I hope you had a fantastic birthday and got spoilt rotten! And I hope your Valentine's Day was just as amazing ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by ohmymerlinOld Habits Die Hard: Old Habits Die Hard

10th February 2016:
Hello! Happy birthday! (You said your birthday was the tenth but it's the eleventh for me so happy belated birthday from Australia!)

Ooh, this was an interesting ship! I've never read it before but I loved the way you wrote it! Your descriptions are phenomenal. And it's absolutely heartbreaking to see that Regulus knew he was in the wrong but he just felt so powerless to stop it! He's such a powerful character, Regulus, and you seem to really get that part of him perfectly!

This was such a sweet little story (that was a bit heartbreaking as well :'( my poor heart) and I really enjoyed reading it!

Hope your birthday was a good one! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much! :D This is such a lovely review, thank you so so much! :) I thought of the ship a while ago and fell in love, I have more instore for them in my new story so keep an eye out! :)

Thanks again,

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by ohmymerlinSink: Sink

8th February 2016:
Hello! Happy belated birthday!

Holy moly.

The way you write is PHENOMENAL. I just love the way you write your descriptions and the emotions! Every word seems so delicately placed but it's just so perfect! It feels somehow like a painting, every word carefully brushed on and I know that's a really weird metaphor but I can't seem to shake that imagery!

And I don't really go for Dramione (usually but lately I've been expanding) but the way you wrote those two is so interesting! I love that you didn't make Ron this completely evil person and Draco the hero, but they were quite mixed up and both of them had good and bad parts.

And am I right in thinking they kept Obliviating each other? Because that's such a clever little twist! It makes it more canon (which is AMAZING haha I'm an absolute canon nut) and so I'm happier in reading it because it's 100% more believable heh

And ugh the way you described Hermione becoming Granger and Draco becoming Malfoy was so simple but so heartbreaking!

This was a truly phenomenal one-shot! You're a brilliant writer! You seem to be a very talented woman!

Hope you had a great birthday! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the birthday greeting, late as this reply may be. And thank you for the thoughtful review!

Most people have been confused with this story and so, it was surprising to see that you understood EVERYTHING. That's amazing! I just always thought that this story, this story that's been stuck in my head for so long, but was never written until for the challenge, could never be completely understood or written well enough.

Ah! I'm just so happy that someone other than me has understood the gravity of the situation. Hahaha

I'm glad you decided to read this story and thought of it as "phenomenal". :D

June


 Report Review

Review #14, by ohmymerlinOnly Yesterday: Only Yesterday

8th February 2016:
Hello! Happy belated birthday!

This was such a sweet one-shot! I'm an absolute sucker for father/daughter bonds and I'm a strong believer that Ron had a complete soft spot for Rose and you just wrote it so well! It was so adorable to see him in shock that his baby girl had grown so quickly but he was so so proud of her. ♥

I love that from day 1 Rose had noticed Scorpius not in a 'this is my enemy and I must hate him' way but 'ooh who is this interesting shiny person' and Ron pointing it out obviously just drew her more towards him haha!

The way you wrote his nervousness as well was so great! I really feel like you nailed Ron's characterisation here!

I really enjoyed reading this story! It's so fluffy and cute and omg so many emotions ♥

Hope you had a lovely birthday ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ohmymerlinFirewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots: Firewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots

8th February 2016:
Happy belated birthday, dear! ♥ As soon as I saw you had a story that was James/Lily and an entry into the Smut*Tastic challenge I just KNEW I had to read it immediately! So glad I did!

First thing though (I wrote this down before I finished the story haha):

“I have no idea,” James said mildly. “I'm James Henry Potter. I'm pretty sure my grandfather was not called Sodding.”

JAMES YOU CHEEKY BOY IF YOU DO THAT YOU'LL GET HIT IN THE FACE

but omg I laughed so hard when I read that hahahaha I LOVED IT!

And ah yes, as I predicted he did get punched in the face. And even when being brutally beaten, he's still a smart-alec. Which I think is the complete essence of James hahahah

but oMG WHY DID YOU HAVE THEM NOT END UP TOGETHER AHHH DOES THIS MEAN YOU WILL HAVE A SEQUEL ONE-SHOT WHERE THEY HAVE THE HAPPILY EVER AFTER (even though their happily ever after is so brief because of Voldemort)

I really love the way you wrote James. It was such a perfect characterisation of him, especially with that snarkiness! And Sirius omg what a babe I love him so much

This was a great one-shot! I really loved reading it! Hope you had a great birthday, dear ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello Kayla!!

Awww, thank you so much for noticing it was my birthday, and stopping by! So sweet of you!

Ahh yes, I remember you entered a Jily too didn't you? That was a wonderful read!

Hahaa! You predicted that he'd get hit before he did!! Lol, isn't it just like James to go on being cheeky and enjoying watching the other person turn blue in the face?

Awww... I want them happily ever after too, and yes a sequel is in my mind, definitely. I did want them to get together, but where's the fun in that. We all know Lily gives James a run for his money, and it's got to take more than a back alley tryst to convince Lily that James is her soulmate.

Yess... the characterization of James here is my favorite headcanon of him, so I'm really happy that you like it too!

Thank you so much for stopping by, and my day just got a lot better after readinf your lovely review, that's for sure :)

~Ysh


 Report Review

Review #16, by ohmymerlinFall: ....1

8th February 2016:
Hello! This is a belated birthday present :D

This was such an interesting story! I've read a few stories about Helena's death but never something in second person. I have to say, I love that you chose it instead of first or third. It makes it feel so much more real! At least to me anyway :P

I love how well you've portrayed the Baron. He's quite obviously sick in his head and you've written it so well. I especially love the way you described him touching her, it's just so possessive and creepy, no wonder he killed her the sicko!

And ooh the last line was good! A lot of people fall to their deaths but this was a much different fall!

This was a great story! I really enjoyed reading it! Hope you had an excellent birthday ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Awww, thanks Kayla!! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Lea xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by ohmymerlinThe Last Letter from Fabian: The Last Letter from Fabian

25th January 2016:
Hi Kenny! Happy birthday!!!

(it might be a bit early for you but it's officially the 26th where I am and this is the only time I can fit in a review :P)

This was a very interesting story! I never really thought about how if Fabian and Gideon met all of the Weasley kids and it makes sense that they didn't see each other for a while but that just makes it all the more heartbreaking!

You can really sense the fondness they have for one another and it's so sad to think that this is the last letter Molly ever received from her brother. It was bittersweet that he wrote he was proud of Molly - I can just imagine her heartbreak when she read this.

And omg the window thing? I'm guessing that that's their untimely demise? :(

And aw, it's got a link to cooking! I can imagine Molly fussing and taking care of her brothers, and it's sweet that it can be related back to cooking :)

This was a really cute one-shot, but also sad because you know they're going to die! :( But it's very well written! :D

Good luck in the challenge and hope you have a great birthday!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! Thank you so much for my birthday review!

Yes, I set Fabian and Gideon had met Molly's children except Ginny. After I got your review I explored the search engine and I found LovlyRita's story. I thought I should've set the story like her, she let them die before Fred and George were born.

Yeah, I intended the sad situation as we all know. Without teh's story challenge, I didn't think of the plot at all.
Eh, well the window things, I should add more description in the first sentences with Nick's insightful review.
As we know Molly is good at cooking, I wanted to write about her skill here, too.
Thank you again for your generosity. :)

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #18, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Sailing

25th January 2016:
HELLO! I AM FINALLY HERE TO FINISH OFF THE STORY :D

omg the fierce protectiveness of both sisters is JUST SO CUTE AND ADORABLE AND YOU WRITE KIDS SO PERFECTLY AND GET INTO THEIR MIND SO WELL! THEY JUST HAVE THIS AMAZING IMAGINATION AND YOU WRITE IT SO SO SO WONDERFULLY THAT FOR BASICALLY ALL THE CHAPTER I FEEL LIKE THEY ARE ACTUALLY ON THE BOAT IN THEIR ROOM

AHHH

This is such a beautiful chapter and the way you wrote their bond as magic is just beautiful. It's sort of heartbreaking as well though because you know how they end up and it's just accompanied with so many mixed emotions :P

I loved this chapter! Again, you're an amazing writer and I can't believe I'd never realised it before!

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: You know, the art of review writing really doesn't get enough credit. You were able to write this so that it truly put the biggest grin on my face and I could just feel your excitement when I read this. How do you do it? *hug*

You are very nearly too kind to be allowed. Thank you so much for reading my story and leaving such wonderful reviews. Your reactions are so amazing to read! I hope you do read the rest because I would love to hear your thoughts.

Awww, you're making me blush!!

Thanks again dear!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #19, by ohmymerlinThe Misfortunes of Misunderstandings: Primus

21st January 2016:
Hey there! I noticed it was your birthday from the birthday review thread over at the forums and I'm here to give you a belated birthday present! :D

At first when I read the summary I thought it was a story about James and an OC getting together and I'm such a diehard Jily fan but I was like... I'll give it a go...

SO GLAD I DID

Christine is so snarky and cheeky and I'm really enjoying reading her voice! I love the confusion of the two James' as well! It happens ALL THE TIME in real life but I hardly ever see it and it always so much confusion and you just reflected it so well omg ahh

Haha, I like that the owl is called Macca! In Australia we call McDonalds Maccas so that made me giggle a bit :P

Sirius is already adorable. I love him already. I like that he's nice and warm and he's already flirty with Chris YES YES YES

I feel like James is a bit too mean but that could be because Chris was annoyed at him and we are reading from a very biased point of view! But I'm also James (Potter) trash so it could be my own bias hahaha

I love the cheeky trick Sirius did in detention. It's so harmless and innocent but still so HIM, if you get what I mean?

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this story! I hope you had a good birthday ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ohmymerlinA Tale of Three Children: Muggle-Born

21st January 2016:
Hi there! I'm here from my review thread :)

This is such an interesting premise! I was really intrigued by the summary and the way you've started it is really clever! I admit the whole time I was reading it I was thinking, "You've written him as twelve... Hogwarts kids start at eleven... That's an odd thing to forget hmm..." But then it was revealed to be after the war! I've never actually read a story about the kids who were meant to be accepted but never did so already I'm loving it! It's such an original and refreshing concept!

Just two tiny things:

"We are pleased to infor you that you have been accepted at Hogwarta School of Witchcraft and Wizardry."

You just forgot the 'm' on the word 'inform' and accidentally wrote 'Hogwarta' instead of 'Hogwarts' :) But they're simple mistakes that I always do as well haha (I actually did it twice when writing this sentence :P)

Your grammar was good, nothing stuck out for me! I like Joey so far, and he hasn't really had much development so there's not much I can comment on there but he's very realistic already! I like how you wrote his confusion and rationalisation of the magical world, it was really typical! Whenever we see something out of the ordinary we generally rationalise it and it was so cool to see that reflected in the story!

It DEFINITELY fits canon! As I said before, I was about to say something about his age but you had that all under control haha ;)

And you said it was your first time writing prose, and it definitely doesn't seem like that! The story flowed really nicely and naturally, it didn't feel rushed at all and it still had that element of excitement we all got when we first found out Harry was a wizard as well!

This is an excellent opening chapter and it really draws the readers in! Great work! ♥

Feel free to request again! :)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by ohmymerlinWrapped in Red: Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

21st January 2016:
Hello! This is a belated birthday present!

OMG

OMG OMG OMG

So last chapter was like... super steamy and can I just say I LOVE THE WAY YOU WRITE THOSE SCENES! YOU'RE AMAZING AT IT!

BUT OMG OMG

NO

DRACO IMPERIUSED HERMIONE?! WHY?! WHY WOULD HE DO THAT?!

DRACO WHY

Also, I love how you've had it match up with canon (for the most part) and it fits in so well, so effortlessly and I know what happens, but like I want to know what happens between her and Draco! DO THEY FACE OFF? OMG I NEED TO KNOW, ELLIE!

But the way you portray the 'Darkness' and fighting for and against it is fantastic. They really are two polar opposites but they're just caught in the worst situation ever and omg nooo

I like how you've got Draco obviously vying for Harry in these little scenes just because he's scared and he knows what can happen this is so important to me omg

Ugh, I know most of this review was just shouting but I really don't have many words for it! I loved it so much! I want to know what happens next! WILL THEY BE OKAY? WHAT WILL HERMIONE DO UNDER THE IMPERIUS CURSE?! DRACO PLEASE DON'T LET HER HURT OTHERS FOR THIS OMG

Anyway, as you can probably tell, I really loved this chapter! I can't wait to read the next update! You're such an amazing writer, Ellie ♥

Hope you had a great birthday ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Naw Kayla, I feel all speccial inside now! You're so sweet. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the fic and I promise I'll udpate again soon. As for what he'll be doing to Hermione under the Imperius curse. we'll just have to wait and see *winks*

 Report Review

Review #22, by ohmymerlinPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.4 -- 'Most Drunken House Elf'

20th January 2016:
Heya, Karen! This is a delayed birthday present!

So I really love the way you write Barty! I love the obviously good relationship between his mother and him (which then makes her sacrifice all the more sadder) and the comparison between the terirble one between Barty Senior and Barty Junior!

And I know I shouldn't laugh, but I totally did at Barty getting Winky drunk :P It's such a typical teenage boy thing to do and you wrote it so well! Especially with the guilt and shame afterwards.

I really love your style of writing, it's so unique and I'm so excited to see how Barty and his parents interact in the present times! It's certainly going to be interesting! Is this when he goes to Voldemort? Ooh, Barty is such an enigma and I just adore your characterisation of him! You can tell he's (mostly) a good kid but he obviously either gets led astray or he runs right into the hands of the Death Eaters after a particularly nasty incident between him and his father. I'm so worried for him, and his mum because she doesn't deserve to have a son be a murderer and a husband that's... well... Barty Senior :P

Anywho, Karen, hope you had a lovely birthday dear ♥ I really enjoyed reading this story :)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by ohmymerlinThe One and Only Lily Potter: There's no Place like the Pitch

19th January 2016:
Hello there! I noticed from the Birthday reviews! thread on the forums, it was recently your birthday! So this is a belated present :D

This was so interesting! I really love Lily's point of view, even if she is an angry heathen never to be crossed! :P But she's obviously a complete softie who cares deeply about all her family, that lil broom bit just proves it. Characters who are hateful and evil on the outside but complete snuggle monsters on the inside are my weakness and you've already made me love Lily a whole lot because of it ♥

I've not really read fics where Dom and Lily are the same age so I'm really curious as to how that's going to go! Also, her and Al's relationship is adorable. I'm a big sucker for strong sibling friendships and I'm already loving their dynamic!

Okay, now Wood. He's... interesting. He's not really been that outrightly nasty to Lily so I don't know if she just hates him on the principle of not getting the captain's badge, or there's something else underlying it? I'm also wondering why he didn't put her on the team. She's obviously a good player. Maybe he's not going to let her on the team with the attitude she has, which is, quite honestly, completely fair!

I cannot WAIT to see how they slowly progress hehe

Am I right in thinking that something will happen between the two of them? I LIVE for stories where the couples originally hate each other and you've already set it up so well I can't WAIT until they're snogging each other in secret broom closets pLEASE LET THAT HAPPEN

But omg the way you described Lily flying and her obvious love of it was gorgeous. Your descriptions and emotions are phenomenal. I could feel how elated Lily was in the air and it was so nice to see her relaxed and happy for once.

Of course, I have a feeling that that's going to change after this chapter but hopefully she gets on the team again! Or maybe Wood pulled a Steve Harvey a la Miss Universe 2015 and wrote the wrong name down? ;)

And omg the 'not me' line... I could just feel Lily's heartbreak and despair. That was really crushing, and it was only two simple words but I could just feel Lily crumbling. I really feel for the girl, even with her insane attitude problem ahaha :P

I really, really loved this story! I love the witty banter and angry dialogue already ♥

Hope you had a great birthday! ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by ohmymerlinRise of the Phoenix: The Gathering Storm

19th January 2016:
Hi there! I noticed it was your birthday the other day (courtesy of the Birthday reviews! thread on the forums) and so as a belated birthday present, I thought I'd come by and read your story :)

This was a really interesting first chapter. It was action packed and had so much information, but it wasn't that overwhelming! Aurora seems to be an interesting character and she and Theo seem to have a really interesting relationship.

Can I just ask why the dialogue is in italics though? I got a bit confused thinking it was maybe a flashback or they were enunciating every single word :P

I felt so sorry for Aurora though :( It must suck that her brother passed away! Is she by chance related to Dorcas Meadowes?

I really love the way you write your descriptions. They were really well done and I really felt like I was there with them, especially when they're on the train.

omg a werewolf attack?! Is this the work of Voldemort already?! And was it Fenrir? That werewolf must be pretty gutsy to attack a bunch of muggles in a muggle environment in the middle of the day. Or he's just insane :P

Anyway, I enjoyed reading this chapter! Great work :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you. What a lovely surprise.

Cheers for the feedback, it is really helpful.

The heads-up on the dialogue is useful, I am still mulling over the presentation of it all so its helpful to know.

As for Dorcas, no comment :)

Really happy you were able to invest in the story.

Cheers,

NPE


 Report Review

Review #25, by ohmymerlinHow to Become Minister of Magic: A Guide: Election Night

19th January 2016:
Hello! This is a belated birthday present. I've actually had your story favourited and I read it, but I cannot seem to remember when and for how long for the life of me!

Can I just say you absolutely got Harry's obliviousness perfect? He's such an oblivious person (as we see MANY times in the books haha) and I love that even after all these years, he's still the oblivious idiot ♥

I really love the premise of this story. I haven't really read any political fics and you've written it so well! The way you write all the characters and how they're all just as power hungry as each other is... woah. They're all so sneaky and underhanded but they pull you in each time and I keep wondering what Laney is going to do!

I'm so torn between Laney! I'm like OMG YES YOU GO GIRL BE THE FIRST FEMALE MINISTER OF MAGIC BREAK DOWN THE SEXISM IN POLITICS AND KICK BUTT

but then I'm also torn because how could she do that to James? How could she be so cruel? That's just so awful and it's going to be so ugly when it all comes out AND LOOK AT THE SWEET AND PRECIOUS JAMES ALL HE WANTS IS TO MAKE HER HAPPY AND HE'S SUCH A SWEET, INNOCENT, CINNAMON ROLL WHO DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE TREATED SO NASTILY OMG LANEY WHY

And omg Louis. He's such a creep and a sleaze but... I love him a lot. I can't help be attracted to the bloody guy. It's that mysterious allure that gets me every time I think :P How can he do that to his own cousin? It's just so cruel! Family first, mate! How could you do that to the sweet cinnamon roll that is James? WHY

It sucks about Laney's family, I'm hoping they eventually get proud of her again but why are they like this? Why? She's such an achieving woman, surely they aren't proud of her already! She's just killing the game! She's already the Wizog of Kent! And even if she didn't get it, just to be elected is a pretty amazing achievement!

Anywho, hope you had a lovely birthday, dear ♥ I'll hopefully be back soon!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>