Reading Reviews From Member: ohmymerlin
  
795 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ohmymerlinThe Last Letter from Fabian: The Last Letter from Fabian

25th January 2016:
Hi Kenny! Happy birthday!!!

(it might be a bit early for you but it's officially the 26th where I am and this is the only time I can fit in a review :P)

This was a very interesting story! I never really thought about how if Fabian and Gideon met all of the Weasley kids and it makes sense that they didn't see each other for a while but that just makes it all the more heartbreaking!

You can really sense the fondness they have for one another and it's so sad to think that this is the last letter Molly ever received from her brother. It was bittersweet that he wrote he was proud of Molly - I can just imagine her heartbreak when she read this.

And omg the window thing? I'm guessing that that's their untimely demise? :(

And aw, it's got a link to cooking! I can imagine Molly fussing and taking care of her brothers, and it's sweet that it can be related back to cooking :)

This was a really cute one-shot, but also sad because you know they're going to die! :( But it's very well written! :D

Good luck in the challenge and hope you have a great birthday!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi, Kayla! Thank you so much for my birthday review!

Yes, I set Fabian and Gideon had met Molly's children except Ginny. After I got your review I explored the search engine and I found LovlyRita's story. I thought I should've set the story like her, she let them die before Fred and George were born.

Yeah, I intended the sad situation as we all know. Without teh's story challenge, I didn't think of the plot at all.
Eh, well the window things, I should add more description in the first sentences with Nick's insightful review.
As we know Molly is good at cooking, I wanted to write about her skill here, too.
Thank you again for your generosity. :)

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #2, by ohmymerlinBeyond Repair: Sailing

25th January 2016:
HELLO! I AM FINALLY HERE TO FINISH OFF THE STORY :D

omg the fierce protectiveness of both sisters is JUST SO CUTE AND ADORABLE AND YOU WRITE KIDS SO PERFECTLY AND GET INTO THEIR MIND SO WELL! THEY JUST HAVE THIS AMAZING IMAGINATION AND YOU WRITE IT SO SO SO WONDERFULLY THAT FOR BASICALLY ALL THE CHAPTER I FEEL LIKE THEY ARE ACTUALLY ON THE BOAT IN THEIR ROOM

AHHH

This is such a beautiful chapter and the way you wrote their bond as magic is just beautiful. It's sort of heartbreaking as well though because you know how they end up and it's just accompanied with so many mixed emotions :P

I loved this chapter! Again, you're an amazing writer and I can't believe I'd never realised it before!

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: You know, the art of review writing really doesn't get enough credit. You were able to write this so that it truly put the biggest grin on my face and I could just feel your excitement when I read this. How do you do it? *hug*

You are very nearly too kind to be allowed. Thank you so much for reading my story and leaving such wonderful reviews. Your reactions are so amazing to read! I hope you do read the rest because I would love to hear your thoughts.

Awww, you're making me blush!!

Thanks again dear!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #3, by ohmymerlinThe Misfortunes of Misunderstandings: Primus

21st January 2016:
Hey there! I noticed it was your birthday from the birthday review thread over at the forums and I'm here to give you a belated birthday present! :D

At first when I read the summary I thought it was a story about James and an OC getting together and I'm such a diehard Jily fan but I was like... I'll give it a go...

SO GLAD I DID

Christine is so snarky and cheeky and I'm really enjoying reading her voice! I love the confusion of the two James' as well! It happens ALL THE TIME in real life but I hardly ever see it and it always so much confusion and you just reflected it so well omg ahh

Haha, I like that the owl is called Macca! In Australia we call McDonalds Maccas so that made me giggle a bit :P

Sirius is already adorable. I love him already. I like that he's nice and warm and he's already flirty with Chris YES YES YES

I feel like James is a bit too mean but that could be because Chris was annoyed at him and we are reading from a very biased point of view! But I'm also James (Potter) trash so it could be my own bias hahaha

I love the cheeky trick Sirius did in detention. It's so harmless and innocent but still so HIM, if you get what I mean?

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this story! I hope you had a good birthday ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by ohmymerlinA Tale of Three Children: Muggle-born

21st January 2016:
Hi there! I'm here from my review thread :)

This is such an interesting premise! I was really intrigued by the summary and the way you've started it is really clever! I admit the whole time I was reading it I was thinking, "You've written him as twelve... Hogwarts kids start at eleven... That's an odd thing to forget hmm..." But then it was revealed to be after the war! I've never actually read a story about the kids who were meant to be accepted but never did so already I'm loving it! It's such an original and refreshing concept!

Just two tiny things:

"We are pleased to infor you that you have been accepted at Hogwarta School of Witchcraft and Wizardry."

You just forgot the 'm' on the word 'inform' and accidentally wrote 'Hogwarta' instead of 'Hogwarts' :) But they're simple mistakes that I always do as well haha (I actually did it twice when writing this sentence :P)

Your grammar was good, nothing stuck out for me! I like Joey so far, and he hasn't really had much development so there's not much I can comment on there but he's very realistic already! I like how you wrote his confusion and rationalisation of the magical world, it was really typical! Whenever we see something out of the ordinary we generally rationalise it and it was so cool to see that reflected in the story!

It DEFINITELY fits canon! As I said before, I was about to say something about his age but you had that all under control haha ;)

And you said it was your first time writing prose, and it definitely doesn't seem like that! The story flowed really nicely and naturally, it didn't feel rushed at all and it still had that element of excitement we all got when we first found out Harry was a wizard as well!

This is an excellent opening chapter and it really draws the readers in! Great work! ♥

Feel free to request again! :)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by ohmymerlinWrapped in Red: Chapter 9: Dark Sky Days

21st January 2016:
Hello! This is a belated birthday present!

OMG

OMG OMG OMG

So last chapter was like... super steamy and can I just say I LOVE THE WAY YOU WRITE THOSE SCENES! YOU'RE AMAZING AT IT!

BUT OMG OMG

NO

DRACO IMPERIUSED HERMIONE?! WHY?! WHY WOULD HE DO THAT?!

DRACO WHY

Also, I love how you've had it match up with canon (for the most part) and it fits in so well, so effortlessly and I know what happens, but like I want to know what happens between her and Draco! DO THEY FACE OFF? OMG I NEED TO KNOW, ELLIE!

But the way you portray the 'Darkness' and fighting for and against it is fantastic. They really are two polar opposites but they're just caught in the worst situation ever and omg nooo

I like how you've got Draco obviously vying for Harry in these little scenes just because he's scared and he knows what can happen this is so important to me omg

Ugh, I know most of this review was just shouting but I really don't have many words for it! I loved it so much! I want to know what happens next! WILL THEY BE OKAY? WHAT WILL HERMIONE DO UNDER THE IMPERIUS CURSE?! DRACO PLEASE DON'T LET HER HURT OTHERS FOR THIS OMG

Anyway, as you can probably tell, I really loved this chapter! I can't wait to read the next update! You're such an amazing writer, Ellie ♥

Hope you had a great birthday ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Naw Kayla, I feel all speccial inside now! You're so sweet. I'm so pleased you enjoyed the fic and I promise I'll udpate again soon. As for what he'll be doing to Hermione under the Imperius curse. we'll just have to wait and see *winks*

 Report Review

Review #6, by ohmymerlinPocket Watch #1 -- Bittersweet Homecoming: 1.4 -- 'Most Drunken House Elf'

20th January 2016:
Heya, Karen! This is a delayed birthday present!

So I really love the way you write Barty! I love the obviously good relationship between his mother and him (which then makes her sacrifice all the more sadder) and the comparison between the terirble one between Barty Senior and Barty Junior!

And I know I shouldn't laugh, but I totally did at Barty getting Winky drunk :P It's such a typical teenage boy thing to do and you wrote it so well! Especially with the guilt and shame afterwards.

I really love your style of writing, it's so unique and I'm so excited to see how Barty and his parents interact in the present times! It's certainly going to be interesting! Is this when he goes to Voldemort? Ooh, Barty is such an enigma and I just adore your characterisation of him! You can tell he's (mostly) a good kid but he obviously either gets led astray or he runs right into the hands of the Death Eaters after a particularly nasty incident between him and his father. I'm so worried for him, and his mum because she doesn't deserve to have a son be a murderer and a husband that's... well... Barty Senior :P

Anywho, Karen, hope you had a lovely birthday dear ♥ I really enjoyed reading this story :)

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by ohmymerlinThe One and Only Lily Potter: There's no Place like the Pitch

19th January 2016:
Hello there! I noticed from the Birthday reviews! thread on the forums, it was recently your birthday! So this is a belated present :D

This was so interesting! I really love Lily's point of view, even if she is an angry heathen never to be crossed! :P But she's obviously a complete softie who cares deeply about all her family, that lil broom bit just proves it. Characters who are hateful and evil on the outside but complete snuggle monsters on the inside are my weakness and you've already made me love Lily a whole lot because of it ♥

I've not really read fics where Dom and Lily are the same age so I'm really curious as to how that's going to go! Also, her and Al's relationship is adorable. I'm a big sucker for strong sibling friendships and I'm already loving their dynamic!

Okay, now Wood. He's... interesting. He's not really been that outrightly nasty to Lily so I don't know if she just hates him on the principle of not getting the captain's badge, or there's something else underlying it? I'm also wondering why he didn't put her on the team. She's obviously a good player. Maybe he's not going to let her on the team with the attitude she has, which is, quite honestly, completely fair!

I cannot WAIT to see how they slowly progress hehe

Am I right in thinking that something will happen between the two of them? I LIVE for stories where the couples originally hate each other and you've already set it up so well I can't WAIT until they're snogging each other in secret broom closets pLEASE LET THAT HAPPEN

But omg the way you described Lily flying and her obvious love of it was gorgeous. Your descriptions and emotions are phenomenal. I could feel how elated Lily was in the air and it was so nice to see her relaxed and happy for once.

Of course, I have a feeling that that's going to change after this chapter but hopefully she gets on the team again! Or maybe Wood pulled a Steve Harvey a la Miss Universe 2015 and wrote the wrong name down? ;)

And omg the 'not me' line... I could just feel Lily's heartbreak and despair. That was really crushing, and it was only two simple words but I could just feel Lily crumbling. I really feel for the girl, even with her insane attitude problem ahaha :P

I really, really loved this story! I love the witty banter and angry dialogue already ♥

Hope you had a great birthday! ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ohmymerlinRise of the Phoenix: The Gathering Storm

19th January 2016:
Hi there! I noticed it was your birthday the other day (courtesy of the Birthday reviews! thread on the forums) and so as a belated birthday present, I thought I'd come by and read your story :)

This was a really interesting first chapter. It was action packed and had so much information, but it wasn't that overwhelming! Aurora seems to be an interesting character and she and Theo seem to have a really interesting relationship.

Can I just ask why the dialogue is in italics though? I got a bit confused thinking it was maybe a flashback or they were enunciating every single word :P

I felt so sorry for Aurora though :( It must suck that her brother passed away! Is she by chance related to Dorcas Meadowes?

I really love the way you write your descriptions. They were really well done and I really felt like I was there with them, especially when they're on the train.

omg a werewolf attack?! Is this the work of Voldemort already?! And was it Fenrir? That werewolf must be pretty gutsy to attack a bunch of muggles in a muggle environment in the middle of the day. Or he's just insane :P

Anyway, I enjoyed reading this chapter! Great work :)

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you. What a lovely surprise.

Cheers for the feedback, it is really helpful.

The heads-up on the dialogue is useful, I am still mulling over the presentation of it all so its helpful to know.

As for Dorcas, no comment :)

Really happy you were able to invest in the story.

Cheers,

NPE


 Report Review

Review #9, by ohmymerlinHow to Become Minister of Magic: A Guide: Election Night

19th January 2016:
Hello! This is a belated birthday present. I've actually had your story favourited and I read it, but I cannot seem to remember when and for how long for the life of me!

Can I just say you absolutely got Harry's obliviousness perfect? He's such an oblivious person (as we see MANY times in the books haha) and I love that even after all these years, he's still the oblivious idiot ♥

I really love the premise of this story. I haven't really read any political fics and you've written it so well! The way you write all the characters and how they're all just as power hungry as each other is... woah. They're all so sneaky and underhanded but they pull you in each time and I keep wondering what Laney is going to do!

I'm so torn between Laney! I'm like OMG YES YOU GO GIRL BE THE FIRST FEMALE MINISTER OF MAGIC BREAK DOWN THE SEXISM IN POLITICS AND KICK BUTT

but then I'm also torn because how could she do that to James? How could she be so cruel? That's just so awful and it's going to be so ugly when it all comes out AND LOOK AT THE SWEET AND PRECIOUS JAMES ALL HE WANTS IS TO MAKE HER HAPPY AND HE'S SUCH A SWEET, INNOCENT, CINNAMON ROLL WHO DOESN'T DESERVE TO BE TREATED SO NASTILY OMG LANEY WHY

And omg Louis. He's such a creep and a sleaze but... I love him a lot. I can't help be attracted to the bloody guy. It's that mysterious allure that gets me every time I think :P How can he do that to his own cousin? It's just so cruel! Family first, mate! How could you do that to the sweet cinnamon roll that is James? WHY

It sucks about Laney's family, I'm hoping they eventually get proud of her again but why are they like this? Why? She's such an achieving woman, surely they aren't proud of her already! She's just killing the game! She's already the Wizog of Kent! And even if she didn't get it, just to be elected is a pretty amazing achievement!

Anywho, hope you had a lovely birthday, dear ♥ I'll hopefully be back soon!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by ohmymerlinOh My Darling: 7

18th January 2016:
Heya, Cassie!

Aw, this chapter was so sweet and I felt so sorry for Clementine who was obviously so scared and nervous but thank goodness Al, Scorpius, and Rose all reacted so wonderfully ♥ I mean, you'd be pretty cruel not to react so nicely but there's always that sliver of doubt!

And omg I feel so sorry for poor Clementine! That sounds HEARTBREAKING and she could have easily been led astray but obviously her brother has had an extremely good influence on her! I'm so happy that even after all she's gone through, she's still such a warm, kind-hearted person ♥

Will we get to see her brother in this fic? I'd love to read about him :D

AND OMG I JUST COULDN'T HELP BUT SQUEE WHEN SHE WAS SO THANKFUL THAT SHE'D FOUND ALBUS. AND POOR ROSE WAS CRYING TOO OMG THEY ARE SUCH BEAUTIFUL CHARACTERS I LOVE THEM ALL SO MUCH ♥

I really loved this chapter, dear! ♥ You're such a fantastic writer and everythig you write is squee worthy, even when it breaks our hearts slightly (why did Clementine need to go through that, huh? :P)

But seriously, I really love this story and your writing. I can't wait to read the next update!

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hi Kayla!
I think Clementine can't help but worry about how they'll take everything. She's spent the last seven years with only Lizzie as a real friend, and she really isn't used to reaching out and trusting people, so she's scared that once Al, Rose and Scorp find out about her family, they'll be uncomfortable and push her away.
She had a really hard childhood, but thankfully she's had Alex to stick by her and love her. You will get to see him in the fic, but not for a little while.
YAY I'M SO HAPPY YOU LOVE THEM ALL THAT JUST MAKES ME SO HAPPY TO HEAR.
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It means so much to me!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by ohmymerlinAmnesia: Amnesia

18th January 2016:
Heya, Jayde! This is a belated birthday present! HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY, BEAUTIFUL GIRL! ♥

Okay. Oh my goodness.

I'm so used to reading fluffy adorable things from you and I saw this on your AP so I was so eager to see how you wrote it and omg Jayde YOU CAN WRITE SUCH THRILLING THINGS. Like I've always known you're an amazing writer but I always see such happiness and adorableness so this was a big change THAT I LOVED.

This story... holy moly, Jayde.

Wow.

Like oh my god.

The way you wrote the pain and then the blankness. It is Lupin, isn't it? (It's almost 1 am here so that could be a factor in me misunderstanding)

Well, I'm going to keep on saying it's Lupin to make it easier :P But the way you wrote Lupin's confusion at being kind of... 'empty' and then the anger from being a werewolf, yet that self-awareness but not really oh my god Jayde there are so many layers to this one-shot and each of them are more fantastic than the other I just really love this story so much

And the way you wrote Peter (I'm assuming) morphing was really interesting. I suppose if you're only a half self-aware werewolf, watching someone shrink would be confusing!

And omg, I felt so sad for him when he thought that (what I'm presuming is) the Shrieking Shack was a prison/torture cell. It's so sad because it would have felt like that and I've never really actually thought about that that much but you just seemed to get it so perfect!

So you can clearly tell I loved this one-shot, Jayde! You're an absolutely phenomenal writer who clearly is not only talented in the beautiful romances but this horror/thriller genre and tbh I don't think that that's very fair, missy! Being good at everything should not be allowed! Plus, you're such a beautiful person so you just seem to have it all! ♥

10/10 dear! Absolutely loved loved loved it ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Kayla, you are just to good to me! Thank you SO MUCH for this lovely surprise birthday review! ♥ *Squishes*

EEEK Kayla STAHP it! *Squees* You're making me blush!

I'm so, SO happy that you think I write thrillers and fluff well! Gah!! *Flails* Thank you SO much for your amazing compliments!

I'll be 100% honest - I was TRYING to not have a character in mind here - I wanted it to be ambiguous. But, inevitably, while I was writing Lupin was definitely in my mind, so big kudos to you for picking up on that!

EEEe! Thank you SO much for your kind words about the emotions and the different layers to the story! I'm so flattered that you like it so much!

Hahah, again, I was trying to be ambiguous, but I definitely had the image of Peter turning into a mouse and shrinking in my head when I wrote that! :P You're the first person who's picked up on that! Excellent intuition!

LOL. The same goes with the place, I had the Shrieking Shack in mind while writing this also :P Get out of my head, Kayla! :D

It's definitely very sad seeing him go through this, and it's something I hadn't really thought of before either, but once I entered the halloween challenge I knew this was the way to go. :D

AWWW! ♥ Now you're going to make me cry with such sweet words! I seriously can't thank you enough for this amazing review, and all your kind words, and the fact that you nominated this in the CR - what did I do to deserve a friend like you?!

*Infinite Squishes*

THANK YOU!! ♥




 Report Review

Review #12, by ohmymerlinFree: Fresh Starts

18th January 2016:
SO I ENDED UP READING THROUGH ALL THE STORY AND I DIDN'T REVIEW EVERY CHAPTER SORRY BUT I COULDN'T STOP MYSELF FROM READING IT ALL

OMG JAMES AND ALIA ARE ADORABLE. I LOVE THEM. THEY'RE SO CUTE AND EVERYTHING WAS SUPER FAST BUT IT WAS SO ADORABLE I LOVED IT SO MUCH

I'm glad everything ended with a happy ending. They both deserve that ♥

This was such an adorable story though! I really enjoyed reading it and I just love the way they interacted. It was so sweet and I just wanted to squish them in a big warm hug tbh ♥

Loved, loved this story! So glad you came back to HPFF and wrote it :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ohmymerlinFree: ég tala ekki íslensku

18th January 2016:
Hey, Curie! You've probably forgotten but about a month and a half ago you requested a review in my thread and in true me fashion, I'm here abysmally late. Sorry about that!

First of all: OMG OMG OMG OMG JAMES/OC JAMES/OC IS MY FAV THING EVER I SWEAR TO GOD

AND IT'S ICELANDIC WHICH IS SUPER COOL AND INTERESTING I LOVE THAT SPIN! Plus, the language seems HARD! Do you know Icelandic or are you just relying on the trusty mate, Google translate? (ooh rhymes)

Okay, so admittedly I was a bit confused as to why it was suddenly third and then first person. Is there a reason James is in third person yet Alia is in first? It goes really well, which I find surprising because usually it's one or the other, so I'm not really criticising on it, just commenting on it :)

You asked about dialogue. I think you wrote it amazingly! Even the Icelandic sections! I felt like it was a teeny tiny bit forced between Lily and James, but between Alia and James was so nice and easy, it just seemed so natural. I cannot WAIT until they spend more time together! It's going to be so entertaining!

The flow seems to be well. The only thing is the first vs third person thing but I already talked about it before. I really like how you gave us an idea of who James and Alia were without it being forced into our faces. I liked how it just slid in effortlessly in dialogue or their thoughts. It made the story nice and smooth and I really enjoyed it.

OKAY BACK TO SHOUTING.

I REALLY LOVE THE FRIENDSHIP BETWEEN LILY AND JAMES IT'S REALLY SWEET. I'M A COMPLETE SUCKER FOR STRONG SIBLING FRIENDSHIPS AND YOU'VE ALREADY WROTE IT SO BEAUTIFULLY I LOVE IT

AND JAMES IS GOOD LOOKING!!! WELL, OF COURSE HE WOULD BE WITH BEAUTIFUL PARENTS BUT ALIA NOTICED IT STRAIGHT AWAY I LIKE WHERE THIS IS GOING

AND SHE IS WORRYING ABOUT HIM ALREADY (when he was running on the cobblestone) MY HEART MY POOR POOR HEART I CANNOT WAIT TO READ MORE!!

Also, I liked that little tidbit you added! When I went to Europe everywhere had cobblestone and I was CONSTANTLY tripping over it because I'm so used to the smooth, modern roads of Australia! It was a nice little thing that made it feel so authentic!

Speaking of authenticity, have you been to Iceland? I've never been so I don't know if it's perfect, but it sounds like you're getting it spot on. It feels so real and I can picture it so clearly, and I really commend you on your descriptions. You're such a brilliant writer, Curie ♥

So obviously, I really loved this chapter. I think you did a fantastic job and it's really going to draw readers in (aka me)

Feel free to request again!

10/10 ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by ohmymerlinJust Friends: Change

18th January 2016:
Hey, Aditi! You probably don't remember but about a month and a half ago but you posted in my review thread and I'm finally here! Sorry for the delay!

First of all, this was such a cute story and I absolutely adored it! I've not really seen a Dean/Lavender pairing so it was quite refreshing to read something new!

Okay, you asked about characterisation. I thought you got the characters quite well! But I admittedly did feel like Dean was kinda more... shy in this one but you did explain that with the whole thing of "I don't want to ruin our friendship" and the after effects of the war.

Lavender also seemed to be a bit different, but that could again be attained to that she matured. I kinda always had an idea of her not having much tact, and you definitely wrote that well when Lavender called Dean a moron hahaha! I really liked that bit! That seems so typical of Lavender :P

Dialogue was good! It seemed natural and easy, something that Dean commented on ;) I liked their little bantering.

Plot was great! I'm an absolute sucker for the friends-turned-lovers thing and you wrote that really well! It was cute to see that Dean and Lavender had evolved so much as people but still acted like silly little teenagers with a crush ♥

I really loved this little one-shot and I think you did a magnificent job with it ♥ It was so so so adorable and I think you should totally expand on it ;) Make it a short story collection, have their first house, wedding, first child - you know, the works ;) I definitely wouldn't say no to that hehe!

Anywho, thanks for requesting and feel free to do so again!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ohmymerlinThe Afterlife: Coccydynia

17th January 2016:
AH

IT'S STARTED ALREADY

HE'S MEETING REMUS AND TONKS OH MY GOD

OH MY GOD

OH MY

DEE

I DIDN'T EXPECT IT TO BE THIS CHAPTER SO EARLY ON OH MY GOD

Before I get back to shouting (yes there will be more shouting DON'T JUDGE ME I'M SORRY) I really love that you wrote Teddy being incredibly offended at Victoire's comments. It's really true, and I don't think he overreacted at all. It was a slip of the tongue admittedly, but I dunno I really admired the way you wrote it. I especially liked that Victoire was the one to seek him out to apologise, which shows that it really was just a mistake but she's intent on not doing it again. I just really liked that bit.

Also, I love how Hagrid is so chill with Teddy. I love him. and FANG IS STILL ALIVE AWWW I'm so glad ♥

Okay, back to shouting:

OH MY GOD TEDDY IS GOING TO TALK TO HIS PARENTS AND FIND OUT EVERYTHING ABOUT THEM BUT THEN IT'LL BE SO UNHEALTHY AND I AM SO WORRIED FOR HIM BECAUSE IT'S SCARY AND TERRIFYING AND FOR A FIFTEEN YEAR OLD BOY WHO'S PARENTS ARE GONE, NOTHING OWULD BE BETTER THAN TO FINALLY MEET HIS PARENTS BUT HE'S GOING TO GET SICK FROM THIS AND I AM NOT READY TO HAVE TEDDY BE SAD

DEE PLEASE TELL ME YOU'RE GOING TO WRITE THIS WITH A HAPPY ENDING I DON'T KNOW IF I CAN HANDLE MY TEDDY TO BE MISERABLE AND SAD OH MY OH MY

OKAY I REALLY LOVE THIS STORY (if you can't tell lol) and I can't wait for it to be updated! You're such a brilliant writer, Dee, and I've always loved reading your things but I've (shamefully) never really read a full novel of yours so THIS IS CHANGING RIGHT NOW I'M ADDING THIS TO MY FAVOURITES I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN AHHH

10/10 of course ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by ohmymerlinThe Afterlife: Gelastic

17th January 2016:
Heya, Dee! I'm here from the Hot Seat! I know I'm a bit delayed but shh :P

omg I already love Teddy. He seems like a kid with a gentle heart and it's so sweet to see his relationship with Harry and Andromeda. I also LOVE Max and Giles. They're such interesting characters and I can't wait to read more about them. Max is so entertaining, I could honestly read a whole chapter or seven on him ;)

I love the name Professor Savage hahaha HE DOESN'T HAVE TIME FOR YOUR NONSENSE.

And Teddy! YOUR REMUS IS SHOWING, TEDDY. I laughed SO LOUDLY at the thought and then I laughed even more when he actually morphed to look more like him hahahahaha THAT IS BRILLIANT

I could so see Tonks doing that as well hahaha like mother like son, am I right?

But as if he didn't think that Savage wouldn't see him? Come on, Ted. Rookie mistake, mate

I am excited to see how his metamorphmagus abilities will come into play in this story. It's such a great talent and if he uses it to make fun of people with it, then he's truly Remus and Tonks' son hahaha

Also, I love Giles' thing of a 'word of the day'. It reminds me of when I was in year 5 and my teacher used to do that. We never had cool words like that (probably because we were eleven) but we always had so much fun with it so I like that lil tidbit!

And bless Teddy's cotton socks for remembering that he'd done a word two years previously. WHAT A BRILLIANT BOY I LOVE HIM

Great chapter, Dee! In love with it already ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by ohmymerlinPermission: Start Running

17th January 2016:
Heya, Karen! I'm here from when you were on the Hot Seat! Sorry for the delay, darl!

Omg this was so interesting! I loved how you wrote this! I kinda felt like it was Barty Crouch talking to Lucius but it could be anyone!

Although, what was the 'dawh dawh dawh' thing meant to be? Is it a like an abandoned bell chime or something? I was just a bit confused on that bit, sorry!

but omg Karen I'm so scared for Lucius. He's not a good character at all, but the way this person was tormenting him and just... leering at him made me feel sorry for the poor guy! I almost got shivers!

Also, this quote: the road most frequently travelled is often the easiest isn’t it?

LOVE IT.

I thought it was so fantastic and it just seemed to really nail Lucius' personality. He always takes the easiest way out (bribery etc.) but it always comes back and bites him in the butt!

Oh my golly gosh though... it was so chilling! It gave me the heebejeebies!

Anywho, I really loved reading this one-shot! I think you wrote it really well :D

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by ohmymerlinPartners in Crime: recruitment.

17th January 2016:
'FIGHT ME'

I ALREADY LOVE THEM

THEY HATE EACH OTHER AND ARE RUDE TO EACH OTHER AND I LOVE THEM ALREADY I CANNOT WAIT UNTIL THEIR SNARKINESS IS MORE FLIRTY THAN HATRED

BUT THE FIGHT ME

IT'S KILLING ME

AHHH

AND AL'S EXCITEMENT AT SERIAL MURDERS BLESS HIS COTTON SOCKS

AND JAMES BEING THE NERDY STEPDAD WHO'S TERRIFIED OF A SIX YEAR OLD REPEATING THOSE WORDS I LOVE HIM

JUST THE 'FIGHT ME' IS KILLING ME, ELISABETH

Totally can picture one of them saying, "Maybe 'fight me' will be our always."

HAHAHA

and of course Al speaks two other languages good on him. It wouldn't be an Elisabeth story without the characters being able to speak languages other than English

AND SCORPIUS IS A SLOBBY GENIUS I LOVE THAT LIL TIDBIT I WANT TO KNOW EVERYTHING ABOUT HIM

So clearly I LOVED THIS STORY A LOT A LOT A LOT AND I CANNOT WAIT TO READ MORE OF THESE TWO NERDS

SOZ FOR THE SHOUTY REVIEW I CAN'T HELP IT

10/10 ofc ♥

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by ohmymerlinWrapped in Red: Chapter Four: Wrapped in Red

16th January 2016:
DRACO WAY TO STEP UP THE GAME

LIKE FIVE TO TWENTY SICKLES?! THAT'S RIDICULOUS, DRACO.

Unless he went to some cheap flea market-type thing but I highly doubt that because obviously Draco is insane and decided that the normal rules were too good for him.

And uhh... a bit pressuring Draco holy moly what type of person would do that

BUT OMG THEIR PRESENTS MATCH UP I LOVE IT THAT IS SO SO CUTE I LIVE FOR CHEESY THINGS LIKE THAT THEY MATCH THEY MATCH HERMIONE WILL KNIT HERSELF A SCARF USING THAT WOOL HE GAVE HER AND THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY'LL BE WEARING THE SCARF AT THE SAME TIME AND WORK IT OUT AND FALL IN LOVE

I can't wait until they find out that their each other's Secret Santa I love it

Another great chapter, Ellie ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Oh Kayla you make me laugh so much. I'm pleased you enjoyed the chapter and I hope you stick around for the rest of the story.

 Report Review

Review #20, by ohmymerlinWrapped in Red: Chapter 3: Mistletoe Mishap

16th January 2016:
Heya, Ellie! I'm reviewing from the hot seat, horribly delayed of course :P

I'm an absolute sucker for Christmas stories (favourite holiday woo) and so as soon as I saw this one I knew I had to read and review it!

I don't really ship Hermione and Draco together but OMG THAT TENSION IN THE SHOP DRACO TOTALLY HAS HER THEY HAVE EACH OTHER AND THEY WILL FALL IN LOVE PROMISE ME THAT WILL HAPPEN!

The way you wrote this whole chapter is just glorious. I am complete trash for mistletoe being used in every single Christmas thing and I will never ever get sick of it but I just loved your twist on it! It reminded me of Fred and George's fireworks that they set on Umbridge. The more you try to stop it, the worse it becomes haha!

but omg LOL THE PEOPLE WORKING AT THE SHOP WOULD HAVE HAD TO WITNESS ALL OF THAT. It's making me laugh imagining other peoples' reactions hahahaha

And now she's got all this stuff to use to buy Draco's present hehe and so does he and they're going to get each other the best presents and everyone else will probably moan and complain about their presents but Draco and Hermione will love their presents and they will live happily ever after

Gah, I loved this chapter ♥ You did such a great job with it ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: You are fabulous, my friend. Thanks so much for stopping by. I promise I'll get you back on Hot Seat *hides in shame*

 Report Review

Review #21, by ohmymerlinOn Imbeciles and Moody: 1982

16th January 2016:
Hey, girls! I'm here from your ridiculously delayed Hot Seat reviews!

This was so interesting! I loved the dialogue between everyone and the way everyone seemed to be having one conversation whereas Moody was still stuck on his. If only they'd listened though haha!

I think you did really well with Moody! He's a tough character and you seemed to write him so well! I've not really read stories with Moody, and when I do he's always grossly mischaracterised and this is probably one of the first that I've read where he's almost like canon. I just feel like you could have included a few grizzly's here in terms of his description, or growling. I feel like J. K. Rowling often had those two words associated with him :P

But omg the way you wrote the stifling heat was so well done haha! It seemed to be a strange scenario to be in and if you have a spin-off on how that came to be that would be AWESOME. I'd love to read a whole bunch of crazy doxys on the loose haha

How funny that even in the beginning of his Minister-ship, Fudge wasn't listening to reason. But to be fair, no one was listening to Moody. Still, if a powerful Auror is saying he's got a hunch, sure you wouldn't believe him just a little bit! Stupid wizarding world...

Anyway, I really enjoyed this story! It was light and fluffy but just had that tiny bit of serious undertone.

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Hello! Reviews are reviews, even if they're late.

Thank you so much! This is our first time writing Moody and we were trying to fit it in with the song Sit Down John, but we did our best to keep his (and the other officials') character(s) as canon as possible (as we do with all our works). We figured he would be a little less grizzly when he was younger and more active, but we will remember that if we write him in the future.

Since we wrote this for a challenge we do not intend on exploring this chapter further as of now, but we may remember your suggestion in the future.

This isn't so much a dig on the Ministry of Magic so much as showing that they are all human. If I was just relaxing after a war and were having a really bad day at work, I probably wouldn't want to deal with Moody's hunches either.

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading our new one-shot!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #22, by ohmymerlinThe Swift Death: How it ended

16th January 2016:
no

no no no no

why Jayna why

why do you do this to us

it's so TYPICAL of Ginny to decide to end things on her own terms and I commend you for writing that BUT MY POOR HEART HOLY MOLY

These chapters were short but they were so hard-hitting and in most other cases I would say short and sweet but for you short and HEART BREAKING.

The way you briefly wrote Mrs Weasley was also really impactful. It wasn't big but my heart ached for her. She lost Fred AND Arthur? And now Ginny. Oh why do you do this to us? :'(

I just really hoped that you would pull the carpet out from beneath us and say, "GOT YOU! I WOULDN'T REALLY KILL GINNY! THE POTION IS ACTUALLY A CURE!"

This was such an angsty and heart breaking short story but I think you did a really amazing job of it and I'm glad I had the chance to read it! Sorry for taking forever to get to your Hot Seat reviews but better late than never, right? :P

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by ohmymerlinThe Swift Death: How it progressed

16th January 2016:
First paragraph just broke my heart. Ginny's devastation is awful. Lily won't have her mum to see her off to Hogwarts?! This is heartbreaking argh omg :'(

AND THEIR INNOCENCE. THEY THOUGHT THEY WERE GOING TO BE SCOLDED. OH GOD NO.

WHY, JAYNA, WHYYY??? *sobs*

This chapter is short but that didn't stop me from letting out a sob and crying. The HEARTBREAK. And that Lily just didn't understand what it meant. Oh my god. Why are you doing this? Why do you like this pain? Are you evil?

Well, I know you're not evil but this story is ruining my heart right now I DON'T WANT HER TO DIE THE WHOLE POINT AFTER THE BOOKS WAS FOR ALL TO BE WELL THIS IS NOT WELL

THIS IS NOT WELL, JAYNA. *sobs again*

oh my god, this chapter was heartbreaking. No mother should ever have to go through that, especially NOT GINNY AND HARRY THEY ARE MY BEAUTIFUL BABIES AND NOOO

I loved this chapter, just in case you couldn't read between my screaming lines :P It's just breaking my heart, no biggie :P

I kind of don't want to go on to the next chapter because it's the last and I don't know if I'm prepared for this. I don't know if I can take it.

*presses next chapter anyway*

 Report Review

Review #24, by ohmymerlinThe Swift Death: How it began

16th January 2016:
HEY, JAYNA! I'm here for the delayed reviews for the Hot Seat, I must apologise for being so late! But omg... I saw this and saw that it was for the 'Kill Your Main Character Challenge' and I KNOW I'm going to want to tear my heart out but because I'm a masochist I decided to give it a read haha

First of all: oh god a disease oh no is this going to be like The Fault in Our Stars oh god

no no no don't say that this is about Ginny oh my god no I am not prepared for this NOT GINNY ANYONE BUT HER

*continues reading*

This was a really great first chapter. So was the potion meant to be the thing that kickstarted the disease or was that first 'episode' actually the disease and the healers just made an educated (and incorrect) guess about what had happened to her? Or do we find that out in the later chapters? :P

I really loved the way you wrote Ginny walking into the field. The excitement was almost tangible and I have re-read that section like four times already haha I love it!

I'm so so so scared for Ginny! Your opening paragraph honestly gave me goosebumps you could just FEEL the heartbreak I am so not ready for this story

By the way, I think the name is really cool! I'm no expert in Latin but I think it's a great name. It sounds powerful and almighty, and it kinda is but in a bad way! The scary power!

Anyway, I really enjoyed this opening chapter. You've got me hooked already!

- Kayla :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by ohmymerlinThe memories in your biscuits: The memories in your biscuits

30th December 2015:
Ciao, Chiara! Happy hot seat, dear ♥

OMG CHIARA MY MUM'S NAME IS EDDA HAHAHA SHE'S NAMED AFTER HER AUNT, AND THAT'S MY ITALIAN'S SIDE I HAVE LITERALLY NEVER EVER SEEN HER NAME IN ANYTHING EVER SO TO SEE IT IS SO EXCITING AHHH I LOVE THAT EDDA WAS THE ONE TO TEACH MCGONAGALL HOW TO MAKE BISCUITS THAT IS SO SO CUTE!

Okay *deep breath* over my excitement hehe! You can definitely tell you're Italian by choosing that name ;)

Anyway, I really loved this story! I liked how you wrote in second person from McGonagall's perspective. I admit that I haven't ever really read many McGonagall stories but you seemed to absolutely nail it! I really loved this story and that she was more than the stern woman we all REALLY REALLY LOVE

I really like that you made her make her own biscuits! It makes that small: "Have a biscuit" moment so much more meaningful ♥

And omg all the emotions McGonagall felt with all the Marauders was just so HEARTBREAKING ESPECIALLY WITH THE SIRIUS THING ARGH WHY, CHIARA, WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO US

Anyway, I really really loved this one-shot! You did an amazing job with it and I'm so glad I read it :D Hope you're having a good hot seat, dear! ♥

- Kayla :)

Author's Response: Ciao Kayla! :D
Thank you so much for stopping by!!!

Your Mum's name is Edda? Really? It's not a very frequent name, but it's really cute, isn't it? :) (by the way, I find it so lovely your excitement about it! And I like to put a bit of Italian culture in my stories here and there!)

I'm so glad you liked how I wrote McGonagall's perspective. :) I honestly would've never written a story about her, if it wasn't for the prompt I received for the challenge. Nor would I've ever thought about her baking biscuits. I blame Ellie for everything! :P

I'm quite sure the Marauders left a particular print in her teaching carrier. I agree, the bit about Sirius was really sad...

Thank you so much again, Kayla! I really appreciated this review so much!!!

Un abbraccio!
Chiara


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>