Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.






Reading Reviews From Member: Gabriella Hunter
  
921 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Gabriella HunterLace And Paper Flowers: Bomb Shield

1st May 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums once again here for our swap! This is the third and final one, sadly but this was so much fun. :D

I was curious about what this story was about because the title didn't give me any hints, which is nice. I also saw that this was for the Quill and Ink challenge! I was going to enter this but my workload was a little too much at the time.

Second person is so hard! I don't know how you were able to do this without going crazy. Iv'e never really attempted it with much success but what I like here is that you were able to convey so much emotion in such a short amount of time.

You could feel the history through your heroine's eyes and I got the chills. Abuse of any form is a difficult thing to write about but you've really done a great job of showing how it damages children.

It's not always an outward thing and I know from personal experience that a lot of what you wrote for your OC is true. Loud noises, particularly shouting is hard to get used to after growing up in a place like that.

I may not have experienced everything here but there were a ton of things that rang true for me and I'm proud that you've written this.

Thanks for the awesome swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #27, by Gabriella HunterIn The Shadows: Broken

30th April 2016:
Well, well, well!

This is Gabbie showing up for the second part of our review swap! It's great to be back and I saw that there are a ton of other stories that I need to read. Let me know if you want to swap again! I am totally down.

So! I don't read enough Ginny fics. I don't know why because I think she's a great character but I tend to forget about her.

It's a shame because there are so many good stories out there, including this! I always like reading a fic that really delves into who she is as a person. Not relying on the fact that she's a tough, pretty girl is a relief to read. :D

I like these stories where she's vulnerable and afraid because we get to see so many different levels to her. There's this softer side to her that I would love to see more often and I really enjoyed that here. She's got so much going on in her head, the darkness that she can't really chase away is always there.

I'm not sure if the little whispers in her head are just from her experience with Tom Riddle's diary or a mental illness but you wrote it so lovely. It didn't bog the story down but gave Ginny depth and great emotional range, I was able to follow through her life so well and it was like I actually knew her. :D

I also don't read enough stories that talk about what she might have really been going through mentally/emotionally while the Carrows took over the school. It's some tough stuff to go through and she was really young, despite the fact that she's so tough.

What I really loved about this is that she was so close to breaking and then Luna came, like a breath of fresh air. There's something about Luna that always makes me happy and the following scene between them was perfection.

I always start to grin when I read scenes like that because I'm just that sort of pervy person but in all honesty, this was so romantic, tender and emotional. It was beautifully written too and the ending just sums up how I felt about it.

Great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #28, by Gabriella HunterIncandescence : Boom

30th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums stopping by with the first review for our swap!

Thanks so much for agreeing to read some of my stuff! Also, I hope that you're doing much better. :)

Oooh, this story is about Percy. You have no idea how quickly I clicked on this! I am going through a Percy thing right now and I love reading stories about him, you hardly ever see him on the archives.

I really, really love that you've chosen to use PTSD for this story. That's really not something that we see a lot of and we certainly hardly ever see it with Percy. I know that quiet a few people don't like his character but I always wondered what it must have been like for him after the War.

I'm pretty sure that he would have been pretty broken up afterwards because he was there when Fred died. What's very great in this story is that you start this story off on such an innocent note. You can practically feel all the love during the firework scene and get a really good idea of how far the family has come.

I wasn't sure what role Percy would play in this but I think you did a nice job in your introduction of him. It seems such a typical Percy-like thing to do, having him struggling to get paperwork done. I like that you added some subtle things about his PTSD, from the lack of concentration to the difficulty he was having writing.

I've never actually seen fireworks used as a trigger before but it really makes a lot of sense. I'm sure that the boom and crack of them would be similar to spells, not to mention the colors.

Each boom was perfectly linked to Percy's distress and the moment when he finally broke down was written powerfully. I got worried and thought that he might take too much of that potion, especially after he blames himself for Fred but the ending still left me sad.

I was hoping that someone was going to walk in and help him but the fact that he was alone in such a vulnerable state really made his PTSD seem more real. I think that you did a brilliant job with this piece and more people should read it. It's tastefully done and sheds light on an issue that I don't think people are ready to see.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #29, by Gabriella HunterThe Fourth Daughter: The Wedding

30th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie again! I'm really happy to be all caught up on this story, I hope you update soon because you've left me wondering what's going to happen next! Ah, cliffhangers.

So, this! I think you had a really great mix of happiness, worry and foreshadowing. We get such a good feeling from the fact that Clara is going to get married that we almost forget about the fact that the other girls might marry someone that they don't love.

That was the one thing that was looming over this entire chapter. While everyone was celebrating and happy with the upcoming wedding, I couldn't help but wonder if everything would work out for them all.

I think that Clara is really lucky that she married Edward. They seem perfect for one another and I do like that you made a slight point of mentioning that his parents weren't the best people. A little dose of reality was good, I think so the chapter didn't seem like it was too far fetched.

I hope Clara will be all right though and visit often! I'm now worried about Dezzy. Is she sick? Whatever happened to that creepy bracelet that Salazar gave her? Did she ever take that thing off? I don't know why I think her health and the bracelet are connected. Hmmm.

It was actually nice seeing Salazar again though, I was wondering when we would! He's juts as mysterious as ever and I'm hoping we get to learn more about him. I'm surprised that Dezzy didn't tell him about Clara's wedding but at the same time, I think that it was for the best. There's something about Salazar that makes my skin crawl, I'm not sure if that was what you were intending but I'm just never very sure of him.

I'm hoping that Dezzy and Godric will be able to be together though. I'm worried that things won't go well for them! He might have something up his sleeve though but that ending makes me wonder. Will Dezzy be forced into a loveless marriage?!

Great chapter, once again! Hope you update soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #30, by Gabriella HunterThe Fourth Daughter: The Second Suitor

30th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums and stuff with your review for our swap! It's been way too long since I've read this story and I'm so happy to be back and seeing how far you've come with it!

Thank you for the lovely reviews you left for Sanctuary and Transparent. There are a few more new stuff on my page if you wanted to check them out! I still want to head back to Oh My Darling and A Spoonful of Sugar. :D

So, this!

There were some lovely moments in this chapter and I can't believe that it's taken me this long to start reading it again. I absolutely love Dezzy and the way you've set up her world, it still has this great fairy tale vibe that is simply addictive.

I will admit that I was nervous about this second suitor. I didn't know what to expect and I thought he was going to be like that old guy but Lord Hastings was so pleasant! He was the sweetest person in the world and I thought you wrote him so well.

He came off as so awkward and nervous, I think it really helped establish him. Dezzy got along well with him too, which is a good sign of how he'll treat Clara. I thought his attraction to her sister was done well, you didn't elaborate on it but you could see what he liked about her.

The cuteness overload was nearly too much!

And then we have Dezzy and Godric, who couldn't get more adorable if you tried. I was sighing all dreamy reading that scene and I really hope that they get to be together towards the end.

Godric really loves Dezzy and he's already got his mum spoiling her. Hahaha. I can't wait to see more of them!

Ah! That ending! I was kind of scared for a second because I seriously thought that this was going to end on a sour note but you just blew all that worry out the water. Hahaha.

Clara is getting married! Squeal.

Lovely chapter, the pacing was great and your dialogue was wonderful. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #31, by Gabriella HunterThief: Scones And Jam

27th April 2016:
Hello!

Congrats!

I am so proud of you for achieving your goal! I don't think that I would have been able to do it but you've really shown your talent here. I'm just still trying to process it all. Doing so many different challenges has only proven that you're a versatile author and deserve all the praise!

*Hug*

So, Romilda Vane! I don't read any fics about her and I think that's kind of a shame. Underrated characters are great to write and you've really done something special with her.

You've chosen a dark setting for this story though and I tense up whenever I'm reading about how awful the Carrows are. I imagine that Hogwarts is the worst place to be right now but I honestly like that Romilda has some optimism through the whole thing.

Just the hope that she might be able to help her friends gets her so far. It's balanced out so nicely with her fear too, you can understand that she's very scared but there's that Gryffindor spirit too.

I wasn't sure what she would end up doing in order to get food. I thought for a moment she would just grab a large sack and run out of the kitchens but I really liked that you didn't do that. Hahaha. We get some good personalities from the house-elves, who are often overshadowed and you give them so much compassion that it's impossible not to love them.

I think that Romlida's plan did show a bit of recklessness but at the same time, it was the only thing that could have worked. This doesn't really have a happy ending, exactly because I'm freaking out about what happened to her but at the same time I feel like it held this wonderful hope. :D

Thank you for the awesome review!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #32, by Gabriella HunterTraitorous Hearts: Behind the Bleeding Walls

27th April 2016:
Hello! >:3

I am so sorry that it took me so long to stop by with a review for our swap! Man, life has been kicking my butt lately. I got a weird stomach thing for a second and my laptop died last night! What's up with that?

I'm going to be honest and say that I would probably debate offering up my soul in order to binge read this story. I've wanted to delve back into it for ages now but things kept getting in the way so I'm so happy to be back.

What's strange is that it doesn't take much to get back into this either. Some stories either stick with you or they fade away but what's so lovely about this is that it's so rich and detailed that it would be like, impossible to forget I'm in love with it.

Anyway!

I really loved the way you opened this chapter, I've never started one this way. It seamlessly goes from various POVs without a hitch and you also give us some darn good exposition. Hogwarts sounds like a grim place and I could really feel that while I was reading. You took a much more nuanced approach than I did because in A Force of Wills, I'm just like:

"Everything sucks and people are gonna die, yo."

What's great about what you've done is that I can see through Astoria's eyes so perfectly. I think that with all of the information that she has and all of the secrets that she must keep, it must be difficult to find a safe place. The gossip about the missing and dead students just really added a nice touch to this as well.

There's this sense of emptiness about Hogwarts now in the students and the grounds. You can breathe it all in and what's great about this is that the Slytherins are aware of how fragile they are. They're not safe.

So, shut up Pansy.

The looming threat was hinted at but not overdone like some stories tend to be when it comes to the eventual Battle. The disgust, relief, fear and dismay were written beautifully but I'm going to tell you what my favorite part of this is:

Astoria admits to not being a perfect person.

Can I just hug your face? I get so sick and tired of these main characters being written like they're made out of gold. I want to see them make mistakes and what makes your Astoria so darn fantastic is that she admits that she is NOT without faults. She's glad to be alive and knows that it's wrong to feel that way when someone else might have died in her place.

Also, that's another twin moment! My Astoria is in denial but she does admit to not caring about that sort of thing later on. She also kind of gets kidnapped in the dark too! Zing!

Draco!

Gah, I friggin' love your Draco. He's such a complex character! I like how you haven't made him into some tragic hero too just because he helped Astoria, he's still looking out for number 1 when it all boils down to it. I like that he's not selfless here, he's really afraid about what might happen and although he does show a few moments of regret, you can tell that if he had a choice, he would always pick himself.

I loved the similarities between the pair and I hope that we get to see them together again. I think that Draco might have some other problems going on though and he should be more careful about eavesdropping on his nutty aunt. I wonder where she's off to? Bella is taking her role as Grand Jerk too seriously, I believe but that entire scene was written beautifully by the way. You describe hateful, evil people so well and Draco's narration is simply superb.

I just hope he doesn't get eaten or something.

I'm not sure when this story might take on a more romantic note, considering how both of these character are but I like that Astoria has made Draco feel off balance. She's lingering in the back of his mind and I'm curious to see what might happen when he does meet her again.

So, this was a wonderful chapter as usual and I'm glad that I've started reading again! We need to swap more!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! This review is wondrous!

Also, don't worry about it at all. Seriously. What with all your computer craziness *and* getting sick. Besides, we have the evil twin curse of "every time we go to do a review swap, RL does something and we get slowed down". It's chill. We both know we're good for it.

Oh gosh, Gabbie! I'm so, so flattered! But you don't need to offer your soul, or your firstborn, or anything in that realm. You might decide you want them later ;)

I'm so glad that it's easy to slip back into it. I've been worried about that since hiatus. It's really good to know that you were able to pick it back up without a problem.

*blushes*

I mean, "Everything sucks and people are gonna die, yo" is still a pretty good summary of what's going on ;)

You're definitely right. Astoria doesn't have anywhere right now that she can go and feel like it's a refuge. She's in a very lonely place right now, for sure.

I really wanted to portray Slytherin House during this period partly because I think it would be such an impossible place to be. Not everyone was pro-Voldemort, but while I imagine the other Houses could openly discuss issues with the Carrows/Voldemort, that would not have been safe in Slytherin House. Everyone had to keep their fears and doubts all bottled up. Some people in that room are legitimately horrible. Some of them just don't know what to say, and don't want to be caught saying the wrong thing. But they really aren't safe.

Ugh. *Please* tell Pansy to shut up. I get more annoyed with her every time I have to write her. ick.

*Hugs back* Yay! I'm so happy that you approve of Astoria's moral grey areas. I know there are people who only like those golden heroes, but that's not what this story is about. Like, the Harry Potter books are great, but one thing about Harry is that he doesn't often have to really *try hard* to do good. And that aspect of his character is less interesting to me. I wanted Astoria to *struggle* with right and wrong. Sometimes she does the right thing, sometimes she doesn't. Often when she *does*, it's against her primary instincts. And really, on the occasions that she *does* do the right thing, I think it's almost a bigger deal because it isn't easy for her. I want her growth to really be a process, and I'm really glad to have readers that are on board for that.

Kidnappings in the dark = ~twin connection~ :D

Thank you! That means so much to me. Draco has definitely been a tricky character to work with. His primary concern has always been himself and his family. He had a...deviation there with Astoria, and frankly he hasn't even figured out what the heck was going on with that. But yeah, I didn't want it to be like, "I did one single not-awful thing and immediately everything has changed. Now I shall be an unproblematic fave!" Does he have a conscience? Yes. Does he have regrets? Absolutely. Is he still for the most part focused on himself and his family? Oh yes.

I want him to grow and all, but it's early days yet, and he's still very much himself.


Draco definitely needs to watch out for Bellatrix. She is very bad news.

"You describe hateful, evil people so well" -- Why thank you! Haha ;)

"I just hope he doesn't get eaten or something." -- I'm gonna be honest. I smiled all through this review, but this actually made me laugh out loud.

Ah, the romance. We'll get there. They're on each other's minds, but there is definitely more to come before it quite qualifies as an out-and-out romance. At this point, they're basically both going over it in their heads all the time being like, "Okay, like, are they screwing with me? Or did we have a ~moment?" Draco is actually more of a hopeless romantic than Astoria, which has been pretty fun to play with so far.

Thank you so much for this FANTABULOUS review, and I'm looking forward to more review swaps! You're the best evil twin a girl could hope for! :D

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #33, by Gabriella HunterLess Than: Less Than

25th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's been awhile! What's up with that? I would totally like to hear from you more often, I've missed your work! :D

Hannah! I don't read enough stories about her and I certainly haven't read enough that feature her and Neville. That's a real shame because I think you could do quite a bit with their characters, which is nice to read.

This is a pretty upsetting topic to write and I've never read anything like it before. Infertility is something that affects millions of people and I'm glad that you actually wrote this, it makes the magical world feel so much more real. I was always curious about how issues like this were handled in the Wizarding world and you've done a nice job of exploring it.

I don't think that it was too gritty or dark, it just fit well in this world. You didn't need to elaborate on Hannah's pain because you've written her feelings just so beautifully. You can feel how much it hurts her and the emotions you convey were just so amazing to read. Denial, anger, sadness and envy for that one thing she would never have.

I don't think a lot of people really think much about how that affects women. Hannah so clearly wanted a child and to be unable to have children must have hurt so terribly. I can't even imagine the pain but I think you've done a great job of showing that inner struggle of trying to be all right when you just want to crumble.

I could understand why people wouldn't want to read this story but I have to say that you've done a great job of bringing this issue to light. It was written with empathy and tact, which is something that is sorely lacking when it comes to these sort of issues.

Hannah's worries about Neville possibly leaving her felt genuinely raw. I wasn't sure what would happen when they were able to talk but I'm so happy that she didn't keep it a secret from him. Neville was understanding and upset by the news but he's still there for her. He's ridiculously lovely and I think that Hannah needed to hear from his own mouth that he was there for her no matter what happened in the future. :D

So, upon reading your AN I have to say that you are very brave for speaking about this. It's a personal story written from your heart and that is the most precious thing of all. Thank you for writing this and just know that I'm wishing you all the best. :)

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #34, by Gabriella HunterOnce Upon The Marauders: The Untold Story: 2nd Year - Hogwarts Express, Take Two

23rd April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's been too long! What's up with that, man? :D

I hadn't forgotten this story and I'm happy to be back reading it and I see that you have quite a few chapters going on. Keep them coming!

I think I liked this chapter the most because you showed various POVs and experiences. No one had the perfect summer, really and I think that really says volumes about this story. I kind of think its unrealistic to have children being perfect in every situation. I enjoyed reading about Adhara's conflicting moments with her family, only to realize that there was nothing wrong with her at all.

Lily's POV was a delight as well, she's so optimistic and you get a good insight into her mind. She's slowly losing a little bit of her connection to the Muggle world. I like that there was a brief moment of uncertainty before she accepted that it was all right to be a part of both. NOW, I am extra curious about that news report! Who's out there stealing bodies?

I really enjoyed Andromeda's letter to Sirius, I think it was very well written. You managed to capture her personality so well in such a short amount of time while also giving away some meaty exposition. Her backstory is so sad too, its' a shame that her family couldn't have been more open minded and I wonder if we'll get to see her in this story or not.

I felt pretty bad for Sirius though, he's going through quite a bit. His parents are terrible for treating him so badly, especially his mother but I felt kind of badly for Regulus. He seems like the sort of person who just doesn't like conflict and I kind of hoped Sirius would have been a bit nicer towards him, especially when he winds up being in Slytherin later.

And in the slimy clutches of Lucius Malfoy. Blegh.

Speaking of, I really got a chill down my spine when Sev was talking to that bunch. We all know the dark path he goes on later but the beginning of it just really makes me tense. Sev's possessiveness when it comes to Lily is a bit unsettling as well but I like that you've included darker aspects to the children, it gives them more depth.

I just hope that Sev doesn't hang around with Lucius and his lot too much but I'm not sure if that's going to work out. ;__;

So, that ending! Bitterness from Sirius and poor James just not understanding what's going on. I think he and Lily were the only two people who were genuinely just happy. He was confused by Sirius's attitude, I think but otherwise he was pretty all right with everything. I'm interested to see if Sirius will open up to him later but until then, I shall wait for you to re-request!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #35, by Gabriella HunterThe Next Great Adventure: Chapter 3: The Beginning

22nd April 2016:
HELLO! :D

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review! Thanks so much for posting this in my review thread because I really wanted to catch back up on it! :D

So, I've said this before but I really like your take on the afterlife. Even though these characters have passed on, there are still these little rules here and there that just really fascinate me. You're not saying that they're going crazy over here on the other side, they're just carrying on and I really love that.

The reunion with Harry and Dobby was the sweetest thing in the world. I was hoping that there would be alot of hugging and such but I like that you pressed on with the plot too. I think you portrayed their emotions really well, so well in fact that I just kept forgetting that the were dead. ;__;

I also like that you've given a bit more information on the weighing of the wands. It sounds like what the ancient Egyptians used to do with human hearts to determine if they were allowed into heaven. Pretty darn interesting! Weighing Dobby's heart though kind of gave me the chills and I can understand why Harry got a little nervous afterward.

But what's lovely though is the reconnect between them. Harry gave some great insight into what the family has become since Dobby's death and I really enjoyed that brief moment of peace. I also really love that there are two new sets of Fred and George around. Hahaha.

But now I'm nervous...they're back at Hogwarts and I wonder if we'll see familiar faces? What if something goes wrong? Agh, I really hope you update soon, this was a really good chapter! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #36, by Gabriella HunterThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

21st April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the lovely review you left me for Sanctuary. It was so nice to see after a rough day!

So, I'm immediately curious about this. I think that your summary has got my mind going in all sorts of directions and I'm not sure where this story i going to go. I love that though because I sense that there are going to be a lot of twists and turns as we go on, judging from the first half.

I wonder what Ginny is up to and why she left? Has she gotten involved with the wrong people? I'm really curious about this because her running away like this seems so out of character. I suspect darker things at work here and I'm really eager to find out what's going on, if there was a person or situation that snatched her away. :3

I think you did a good introduction for your main character too. I feel like Cress is a determined sort of person and can see through a lot but at the same time, I wonder how she got involved with the case and what she's already solved. Does she have a good reputation? I do wonder about that and on a different note, I think it's really interesting that you have Hermione being a focal point in this first chapter.

I was for sure that you were going to have Cress talking to Harry first. Hmmm. I'm curious to see how their meeting will go now!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello Gabbie! Thanks for stopping by! I really loved Sanctuary and it makes me smile to know that I managed to make you feel good with that little review. :)

I'm so glad you found the summary intriguing! I was getting worried a few days ago that maybe it wasn't captivating enough so it's good to know that it made you curious about the plot!

That's the mystery! I hope you decide to come back to find out all the answers. :D

Cress is currently the favourite character I am writing. Her responsible nature and how she keeps her emotional side hidden from everyone is what I love the most to write about, I'm happy you liked her too!

Teddy is the other protagonist of the story and future romantic interest of Cress. :) Also in this story, Harry is in denial and emotionally shattered after Ginny left so I couldn't make Cress meet him first.

Thanks a lot for leaving the review! It really made my day!

Love,
Ashwini :)


 Report Review

Review #37, by Gabriella HunterHot Mess!: Weasley Blood is Always Thicker Than Water

20th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review! It's been a while since I read this story and it's nice to be back!

There aren't alot of stories about Percy on the archives and that is a shame. He's one of my favorite characters and I love reading different versions of him, yours is high on my list. I like that you've kept him virtually the same, though there are these moments when he touches on his own grief that switch it up a bit.

I'm not quite sure what's going to happen with Percy and his position at the Ministry but I have a feeling that it won't go the way he plans. I also have this weird feeling that he's going to meet up with Audrey again in another unexpected way at this event that they're planning. He found that shoe in his office and that is like a bad omen, I suppose. Hahahahahah.

I like that Percy feels slightly uncomfortable and not at ease whenever he thinks about Audrey. That just makes me wonder how their relationship will eventually begin. :3

So! I have to admit that my favorite part of this chapter was the second half. I'm always happy to see how people envision WWW's after the War and it's always great seeing George/Angelina. They're not a couple here, I don't believe but the fact that you've included her just makes me happy. What I also love is this unique and funny way you have the joke shop right now, the descriptions of it were very easy to visualize.

I think that Angelina working there is a good thing too because she genuinely seems to care about George and the shop. I feel like there's something else going on there BUT I'm a huge Georgelina shipper so don't be surprised. Hahaha.

What's interesting here too is that Percy admits that he's not quite comfortable being there. I figure that it's the same for when he's around his family, which is pretty upsetting. What is lovely is that he asked George to be his best man! The same thing happens in my universe (Percy was George's best man when he married Angelina) so nice twin moment!

I thought the reflection of Fred and George's visible and mental decline were brilliant. I've never actually written about George after the War, dealing with Fred's loss. I don't skip over it, really but it's spoken of through other characters so it was great seeing this George still shaken up. I think that you've done such a lovely job of showing grief and the lasting effects it has on everyone, it's not an easy thing to write.

Ah! I will mention here that Percy's brief moment of feeling guilty for Fred's death just struck home. I can't imagine how that feels but I'm thankful that you included it, it gave him a sense of humility and realism that I think I needed to see.

What's upsetting here is that I want to see the whole family back together but I wonder if it'll actually happen. Katherine doesn't seem like the kind who will want to change her plans and I don't think she really likes the Weasley's. Hmm. I'm curious to see how that all works out.

Now, the last bit of this chapter left a bittersweet feeling. Percy understanding what his brothers were trying to do with the joke shop now that Fred is gone just really, really tied this all together. It was a nice way to end the chapter, I think and focusing on family for a little while was the right thing to do in my opinion.

I actually really enjoyed this, I didn't spot anything that you needed to worry about. There are a few spelling errors and stuff but other than that, this was a nice addition to your work!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #38, by Gabriella HunterWhere Our Voices Sound: Beneath The Surface

19th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie dropping by for our swap and thanks so much for the lovely, lovely review for Sanctuary. Oddly enough, the edited version was validated a while after I responded to it. Hahahaha.

So, this! I was going to fall upon TH like a starving harpy but I decided to check this out instead. I'm going to save TH for another time but feel free to stuff that into my review thread. :D

Little Mermaid feels all up in this! I had a thought of doing a short story based on this as well, so weird twin connection once again. Mine would have been quite different from yours though but man, this is pretty darn amazing! I love, love, love this detailed and fleshed out world that you've given Vivienne's life.

I never think too much about the mermaids in the Lake because I'm usually making jokes about giant squid babies using the kids as volleyballs. Ahem. I think that you've got something so detailed and creative here, it's beautiful to read. I was sucked in from the first sentence and swooning at all the loveliness of it.

I think you did a good job setting up Albus and the others too. I was kind of wondering what the heck they were doing at first because, hey, jumping off of things is not cool. I like the inclusion of this being some kind of test to get into an elite club though, I haven't seen that much.

I especially never see it with Albus and an OC, we're usually bombarded with Albus/Scorpius fics so I thought this was a great change. And just like I thought, jumping off of things is not cool! Man, these kids are insane but I was so worried about Tristan, I thought he was going to be singing the farewell song a little early! Gosh.

What's great here though is that Viv just so happened to be nearby and her curiosity about the human world was pretty enlightening. She feels like an "other" among her own people and I think the descriptions you gave her and what she went through, along with the backstory have painted a very unique character.

I'm glad that she saved the boys though, I would have freaked out if things had gone in a darker way. On that note, I am happy that you did NOT have her getting her tongue snatched out like in the original story. Cause, that is not cool. What I am curious about though is her father and why her mother decided to keep it a secret. Viv's anger was justified but I do love that there's a price for what she wants, like in the original story.

I just hope she doesn't turn into sea foam.

I also hope she finds her prince.

Also, for whatever reason I totally want to play in Tristan's hair. Like...all that blonde hair must look really nice and I demand fan art.

Anyway, I also loved that you've taken the Next Gen kids away from familiar stereotypes. Rose is a breath of fresh air and can I tell you how much I love your Roxy? I NEVER see her in fanfics and aside from the story I wrote (And abandoned for a while), I never see her being used as a main character. Thank you for that!

Fred was a nice addition too and thank you, thank you for not having him being this goofy, dumb bloke. I've gotten tired of seeing that trope, it rubs me the wrong way. Anyway, Albus is a sweetheart and I love the bond between him and Tristan. It's great to see that they're so close.

Viv's arrival was so dramatic and intense! I adored that and pictured it all in my mind so clearly. I do love that she doesn't magically know English but her arrival has caused quite a few questions. I do wonder what's going to happen next and how she'll even begin to explain herself. O__o

You've left this on a cliffhanger and when you get the second chapter up, let me know! :D It was a little long but because I tend to write super long chapters, that didn't bother me. ;)

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie!

Haha, thanks for checking this out! And I will be sure to take advantage of that review page after we do our swap this weekend!

Our twin connection is alive and well :D

I love this story. I really do. It's not abandoned, but it's temporarily on hold while I focus on finishing TH and WitS.

I *do* like your Giant Squid Volleyball Idea.

I'm glad that Tristan's fate kept you on your toes! I don't think I'd ever given the mermaids in the lake much thought, before I signed up for this fairy tale challenge. When I was assessing my options, this just seemed like the perfect thing! And when I thought about how they couldn't sing above the ground, it felt so perfect for The Little Mermaid! I liked the twist it puts on it.

I hope she doesn't turn into sea foam, either! These aren't small stakes, for sure!

Tristan would be delighted to hear that. But I don't suggest you tell him. The boy's got a big enough head as it is. The last thing he needs is more compliments :D

Your welcome! I'm actually really glad you said that. WOVS definitely has a bigger cast, and you're right. Now that I think about it, Roxy gets left out a lot. So now I'm gonna try my best to make sure that, when I pick this up again, she remains an active character with some decent screen time. I really like her, and I agree--we don't see enough of her.

Haha, Fred's a bit of a prepster here, with his secret society stuff. I thought it would be a fun twist on the character. He's definitely got his silly moments, but he's not stupid.

Albus is a sweet little Mermish-speaking cinnamon role and I love him. He and Tristan *are* good friends to each other, and I love that about them.

I know that this is super long! It should have been split into at least 2 chapters, but I needed to get it through the queue before the challenge deadline. And now I don't want to change it until I get another chapter up, bc I don't want people to think they're seeing a new chapter there and be faked out.

Ack. I really do need to visit this world again, soon. So much to do!

Thank you for the lovely review, evil twin. And for the swap!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #39, by Gabriella HunterThe Unmarried Weasley: The Unmarried Weasley

17th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I'm sorry about the lateness. I was doing swaps yesterday and then real life got crazy. :D

Wow, this was a long piece but it was worth the read and I really loved it. I think that you've spaced out the time lapses so well here and I love that each part changes significant things about Charlie and Tonks's relationship.

I have never given them much thought before but I like the idea of them as a couple. I wish that we knew more about that or if it's even canon but I think that you working this into why Charlie never marries is excellent. There's this beautiful history between them and the heartbreak from both sides just makes me all tingly.

Charlie is usually kind of an underused character in the archives but I always thought he had some great potential. I like him here, he's blunt and compassionate and unsure of himself in moments when his emotions get the better of him. I also just adore your version of Tonks, this is more of how I pictured her in my head while reading the HP books.

I like that the two bounce around one another so well and know one another inside out. Charlie's acceptance to loving her, becoming angry and losing her were written so wonderfully. I think that Tonks has this problem with becoming emotionally invested in other people, perhaps out of fear but I like that you played around with that.

I was so upset by this ending and the fact that no matter what happened, things never quite worked out for them. It always felt one-sided during certain moments and Charlie not getting the chance to propose or even explain while Tonks dumped him was kind of harsh. Like...dang.

Anyway, that ending was bittersweet as I don't know what. I can understand why Charlie didn't want to have her there but at the same time, he loved her and their friendship mattered too much to him. Hearing Tonks collapse and break down about really, truly being in love with someone must have hurt and that last line just kinda shattered my soul. Just...beautiful writing on your end.

My only CC would be that this is kinda chunky so you might want to break up a few parts and make this a short story. I think that would help smooth it out more but otherwise, great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #40, by Gabriella HunterRise of the Phoenix Volume I: Nocturnal Illusions

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks for the awesome swap! I intended to read at least three or four chapters but real life has gotten in the way so I'll have to call it a day for now.

I think you did a great job writing the suspense and pain in this chapter. It's pretty long but you do a great job of getting into Aurora's mind and twisting her fear. I think I was most impressed with how you handled her emotional range while she was talking to Hagrid. I was surprised by their friendship but delighted by the history between them and at the same time, I loved how it bounced back from friendly banter to awkward emotional breakdowns.

I feel like Aurora, in her position has every right to be upset. She doesn't really know what's going on now that she's better but I can imagine that it feels like being pulled on multiple strings. The people around her know more or less than she does at this point and I think Hagrid, whom you wrote wonderfully, did a good job of visually expressing that point.

I wasn't sure what Dumbledore wanted out of Aurora and I think you wrote his lines amazingly well, he has such a great presence here but I can't shake off this feeling of foreboding. Not sure what's going to happen next but with Voldemort's mounting control, anything is possible right now.

I thought that Aurora was going to be introduced to the Order but that didn't happen! Agh. I am wondering what the heck happened to Rupert though, it sounds like a massive Ministry cover up and I wonder if we'll find out the truth soon. I'm curious about this orb that Dumbledore wants Aurora too look into, it has to be something interesting indeed if Dumbledore couldn't even figure it out. Hm.

You've left me with a lot of questions but as usual, your characters are rich and your flow is amazing to read. :D

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie,

Wow cheers for the lovely review.

Basically the real world kept me horribly busy so unfortunately I had to delay all the reviews I owed for weeks.

I am so sorry it took so long to get back.

Cheers for the swap, your words mean a lot.

Nick :)


 Report Review

Review #41, by Gabriella HunterRise of the Phoenix Volume I: An Unusual Party

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for agreeing to this swap with me! I was honestly going to check back on this story today and now I can read a few more chapters ahead! :D

I have to say that politics will never be my cup of tea but I like how you've weaved all of that in for this chapter. Fudge is clearly only interested in tidying up the problem to save his own skin and I really just wanted to shake him. I can't believe he just disregarded Aurora like that! It doesn't surprise me, given what we know about him but I think it was a great nod to the books.

Theo was a pleasant introduction, despite what we were lead to believe about him earlier. He seemed genuinely upset about Aurora and he was rightfully angry with the Ministry and their officials for being so late. I hope he'll cool down eventually but I'm super, super curious about Kingsley's brother for some reason. Never read a story with Kingsley having a sibling and I kind of got a slight lump in my throat that I hope isn't going to wind up being something bad.

I'll just have to keep reading to see though, you've done such a great job introducing new characters and bringing more information to a story we already know.

I will say that seeing so many familiar faces and hearing about certain people who are no longer in the HP stories (Alive) really made me upset. I don't want to focus too much on that but it was like looking at that old photograph Sirius showed Harry, I can understand why he thought it was kind of grim.

Anyway, Dumbledore! I have never in my life attempted to write him before because he terrifies me. I'm not sure how you were able to capture him so well but you've done a wonderful job! I do wonder what his business with Aurora was before the train was attacked though but I figure we'll learn that in the next chapter so I'm going to hurry on and read it.

Thanks for the great chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie,

I read the first three chapters of Transparent and will have a review up A.S.A.P

Annoyingly RL has taken me away from a computer for three days and I can't review until tomorrow morning as its 2.40 am over here.

So I am sorry about that. They will be up very soon though ok?

Your commentary and feedback is really heartening to read. You are so intelligent with what you write both in your reviews and novels.

I hope my tardiness doesn't put you off further swaps in the future.

This is a one-off error by me.

Nick


 Report Review

Review #42, by Gabriella HunterA Happy Memory: The Swan

16th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! :D

I don't think I've come across very many Cho stories on the archives and I'll never understand why. I think that she's a good character and even though we don't know much about her after book five, I always thought she should have been explored more.

I think that you've chosen to write about Cho's depression, love and conflicting feelings for Harry in a really mature way. I loved the flow of this one-shot and you really got to understand more about how Cho was feeling after Cedric's death. People kind of brushed over that afterward, I'm not sure if it was because they were so young and couldn't possibly know what it was like to really "love" someone but I can imagine how much that hurt.

Going through all of that and then being thrust into Hogwarts with Umbridge couldn't have helped matters, especially when her parents don't want her to tell the truth. There's a moment that I love from Cho though, she's clearly unsure about speaking out against her parents but at the same time, there's this childish urge to please them too.

I think a lot of people tend to forget that Harry and the others, despite what's going on in their lives are still kids. Cho seems to have grown up with a loving family and being told to lie, even though it's wrong must be difficult for her to accept after losing Cedric in such an awful way.

Now, I will say that your flashbacks were lovely and helped give more depth to the story. I think that they were fleshed out beautifully and your descriptions are wonderful. Just lovely, lovely writing and I could sense how much Cho cared about Cedric and vice versa. We rarely see that on the archives and I think you ended this perfectly, it left me with a hopeful feeling. :D

Couldn't spot any CC's either so great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Yeah I really love Cho, but I know a lot of people don't. I don't think she's understood as much as she should be, and that's why I chose her for this challenge, to share my idea of the sorts of things she went through after Cedric.

Thank you so much gorgeous! Your reviews are always amazing and very much appreciated ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by Gabriella HunterThe Silver Lining: The Test Begins

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the swap! I don't believe we've swapped before and if that's true, it's lovely to meet you and stuffs.

So, I don't really like reading/reviewing chapters for a story that I haven't read through but I don't think there's anything wrong with that today. You can always post the first chapter in my review thread later on. :D

I'm getting the feeling that this story is quite AU? I read the summary to get a better idea of it and it sounds really interesting. I think a girl like Willow would have some great experiences that a lot of people wouldn't be able to understand, considering her background.

I think it's interesting to include Ron and the others in this too because I like seeing how they're written in an AU setting. Certain details are changed but their core personalities are the same, I believe and that's the fun. I would have liked to have known more about Willow but I think you've established her character well in the previous chapters.

Right now, though...I'm wondering if she'll accept Ron's feelings for her and what their family will have to say about it. Hm. You've left this on an interesting note and because I'm not quite sure where you're going with it, I can't really offer much else but just know that you can swap with me again anytime! :)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Link me to your thread in a message on the forums and I'll be glad to post it there for you once I learn how to work the link coding. Thank you for your review! I love how you were nicely critical. I had mean comments on this story before that discouraged me from updating it. I know now not to let that stop me though. I hope you will read the whole story through!

 Report Review

Review #44, by Gabriella HunterIris: Found

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie here for our swap! I don't think the two of us have met or swapped before so it's nice to meet you and stuff. I do believe you posted this in my review thread and I was just about to get to it today so this makes me happy! :D

So, what an interesting story you've created. There are so many elements to it that I think are really unique and curious. I was impressed by the dark and bloody opening to this chapter, I certainly didn't expect it but that's a powerful way to start a story.

You're not sure what to think and the only thing you want is for the main character to make it out of this crazy situation all right. What makes this really, really curious is the fact that it all felt so real and Charlotte knew that it was--only to wake up and see that it was a dream.

I'm very, very suspicious about the entire thing, to be honest because the pain she felt and the blood is just too clear. Her mother seems like some kind of ghoul, I'm not quite sure what her deal is but I'm certain that she's hiding something. I think it's interesting here that Charlotte has spent her entire life in the forest but she knows that there's still some good in the world, I feel like her mother was trying to purposefully stomp that out of her.

I didn't believe her story about Charlotte cutting herself, the dream was too vivid and it doesn't explain why certain parts of her story make no sense.

I'm actually really curious about Charlotte and her mother. I wonder if she used to be a Death Eater? She says that all witches and wizards are evil, that Harry Potter was some kind of killer but she uses and teaches magic to Charlotte? Hm. Something about that is very fishy to me and I kind of wanted to smack that drink of evil out of Charlotte's hands and shake her a little.

What is that stuff?!

Demon blood?!

There are SOOO many curious things about this and I'm really interested in finding out the mysteries. I think you did a good job of building suspense though and adding little clues here and there, I started to suspect that Charlotte lived in the Forbidden Forest the moment she found that bottle of firewhiskey.

What makes this even more curious is the fact that she sees James, I'm assuming playing with a Thestral. That leaves me asking more questions! What is he doing there? Who died around him? Why is he alone?

Is Beast okay?!

You left this on a good cliffhanger and with all the other things you've started for this story, you have my attention. Update soon!

CC wise, there are a few words that you repeated and a comma here and there would help smooth over a few paragraphs. Otherwise, great start to this!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: What an absolutely amazing review!! all these compliments are making my smile grow by the second! I can't thank you enough!

I couldn't agree with you more everything about this first chapter makes you question everything and become suspicious! All I shall say is that dream may be foreshadowing later chapters... just a little peak there :)

I love that you brought up the drink that Charlotte was made to drink! I won't tell you what it is exactly but it does play a big part in the story! But I do like the idea of demon blood >:)

All these questions and some shall be answered next chapter which is currently in the queue! We get a fair amount of James as well in it!

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write this!

I'm currently reading through one of your stories and will be sure to post a review very soon.

Ella


 Report Review

Review #45, by Gabriella HunterThe Gifts: Neville: The Three Broomsticks

12th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and sorry for the lateness. Real life has been a pain in my behind lately and I've hardly had the time to sit down and read/review.

There needs to be more Neville/Hannah stories on the archives because I would seriously love to read more about them. Neville is one of my favorite characters in the series so I thought reading a story from his POV was very interesting.

I've seen stories that feature him as a main character but we don't get much romance from him. That has always bothered me because I'm sure that he and Hannah have like, the purest romance ever.

What I really enjoyed about this is that Neville is so brave, confronting his feelings for her. He knows that he might not succeed but at the same time, he needs her to understand how much he loves her and that just says volumes about him.

I like that this changed a little bit with Hannah actually taking the lead and Rosmerta's letter was just too perfect. I think that maybe there should have been a bit more information about how Hannah and how she was faring after the War but other than that, I think this was a really good piece.

Like...I wish Neville would propose to me! I would seriously faint or something but Hannah is one lucky girl. Their confessions to one another were so genuine and sweet, I don't know how they got through seven years without melting into each other. :3

As for CC: I think there are a few paragraphs were you've missed a few words here and there. Your flow is good, maybe a little choppy towards the end but you've done a great job regardless. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: HELLO GABBBIE!

It's fine that it's late, I don't really mind!

I totally agree with you! Hanville is canon, so you'd expect quite a few, but I've never really heard of anyone writing Hanville who is on the forums, until 800 came out of the woodwork when I officially called myself a Hanville shipper!

Again I agree. Most stories about Neville are alternate Boy-Who-Lived, and so you dont really see much romance, especially because at Hogwarts they are in different houses.

Coming back now and re-reading it, I do realise that I kinda just plonked Hannah there, and so I probably will in the future go back and rewrite it.

I think we all would like that! Matthew Lewis is so freaking hot omg! Hannah is definitely lucky and if I was a witch I would definitely have sent them my congratulations when they got married.

OMG. I really missed words? Whoops. Again, another thing i'll address when I go back and rewrite it (or get a beta).

Thank you!

Caity
x



 Report Review

Review #46, by Gabriella HunterCausatum: Harry

12th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and sorry for the lateness!

So, this was interesting! I think that you've done a good job here showing the cost of war and talking about a Harry with mental health issues. We don't really see that often in fanfic and I really loved the fact that you didn't shy away from the ugliness of it.

I think that having him hear voices and referring to them as demons is really symbolic. It gives me chills to think about it and you've also strayed away from a happy ending with this chapter too. Even Ginny, or who I'm assuming to be Ginny, isn't enough for Harry to heal and he slumps further into darkness.

Powerful stuff! I honestly wouldn't worry much about having less dialogue because I think your descriptions are great and Harry's POV is written wonderfully. It's dark, uncomfortable and vulnerable all at once and that is a great thing to have in a story with this kind of theme.

Good job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #47, by Gabriella HunterThe Next Great Adventure: Chapter 2: The Transportation Office

11th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I was wondering if you had continued this story and I'm so happy that this chapter is up!

I really love this idea you have too, it's very unique, I don't think I've seen it before. I think that there are so many great ideas to what the afterlife must be like and I just adore this idea of being tested.

The journey isn't over yet and the fact that Dobby is your hero just makes this stand out even more. How many stories are out there that focus on him like this? I liked that you really got into his character here and I was so anxious for him to succeed. The fact that the afterlife has so many rules and seems to parallel the living world is genius!

We usually don't see much of this but I liked that you've got your world so clearly figured out. Dobby of course breaking the rules and punishing himself is a good nod back to the HP books as well and I think it was brilliant to include that he couldn't quite remember magic well.

Did we get an Olliivander cameo?

Will Charlie and Hannah show up by the end of this story? I'm super curious. ;__;

Now, I'm just worried that something might go wrong before he can get to Harry! I can't imagine how heartbreaking it would be if both of them failed, so this naturally means that you have to make another chapter!

Thanks for the enjoyable read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #48, by Gabriella HunterLove, Not War: Captive

11th April 2016:
Hello! >:)

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I can't tell you how exciting it is for me to back and reading this! Thank you a thousand times for the great review you left for "Grey". It was beyond fantastic and I've missed you a ton! *Squish*

I fell right into this story from the very first paragraph and even though it's been a while since I've read this story, I remembered nearly everything from the previous chapters.

I was so happy to see that you were back to updating again too!

I didn't even need to do a refresher on anything that had happened because this story was just so rich and addicting. :D

So, the first part of this chapter really had me tense with fear for our heroes! I didn't know what was going to happen and I was terrified that Voldemort was just going to break through the wards and kill the whole family.

I think that you did a great job building the suspense in this moment too, especially how you wrote Draco and Roxie. I liked that we got just a bit more from them on the possibility that they might become a couple or close friends later on.

Draco has every right to be concerned about the situation that he's in too and I really loved the way you wrote his conflicting emotions.

I was so nervous for them and unsure what was going to happen next but I think I freaked out when Roxie went out there! It's so reckless of her but I have to say that she's got guts.

I relaxed a bit more when Arthur and the others said that there were a lot of spells around the house though but I still got a bad feeling. When you switched over to Voldemort's POV, I was really, really freaking out!

I have to say that you wrote him very well here too. He's a character that I've personally never written because he's so complex but I liked the balance of coldness, evil and conniving attitude that you gave him.

That's not an easy thing to write at all and I could feel the Death Eater's fear when they were around him. It was almost painful! The fact that Percy is still following them makes me so angry but at the same time, I think it's great stuff for the plot.

The betrayal, arrogance and doubt that's going through Percy at this moment is really compelling to read. I thought that he would come to his senses during this but it seems like he's going to stubbornly stay where he is. That bothers me and I hope that his family doesn't completely give up on him the way Percy has given up on himself.

But on to the last few bits of this chapter! What?! I didn't think that Roxie would get captured when I realized that she was well protected near the house but that fire ruined everything! Fire is bad!

Voldemort is such a hideous beast too, thinking that he can guilt Draco into surrendering in order to free Roxie. I do wonder what the family will do though now that she's been kidnapped! I can't wait to read more about that later on but for now, Roxie is stuck locked in a place with Lucius Malfoy!

I thought that his reveal was excellent! He's this broken down caricature of his former self and the desperation coming from him just felt so real. I thought the fear and bravado in Roxie was well-done, though I do wonder what the two of them will do now that Lucius has revealed himself. Hmmm.

Anyway, thanks for the awesome chapter and I hope I see you around again soon! This was such a delight to read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #49, by Gabriella HunterNine Years: May 1st, 1998

8th April 2016:
HELLO! >:)

Girl! Where has this story been my entire life and why haven't you stuffed this into my review thread?!

*Insert heavy breathing cat meme here*

I saw on the forums that you needed a review or two and I thought that I would stop by. I love your work and I wasn't sure what I would end up reading but I'm so happy that I decided to read this! It's so unique on so many levels and just perfection.

Okay, let me calm down for a minute.

Phew!

So, you tackled so many things with this story and I'm not even sure where to start. First, you've shown an interracial relationship, discussed body image AND created a couple that I never would have imagined together!

I could go on for days about that aspect of this story but I'll focus on the rest. I think that you have such a lovely, lovely way of luring the reader in. I was hooked on the very first sentence and think that dumping us all in the middle of the War, in such a grim setting was a bold choice.

Lee as a main character is funny, compassionate and honest. I hardly ever see him featured in stories much but I love what you've done with him. He seems like a real, fleshed out young man and the pressures he's going through just seem so real.

I always wondered what it was like for Lee and the others while they were on teh run and you've filled in that gap wonderfully. Oliver and Katie were great introductions as well and we had a twin moment! My Katie and Oliver wind up married in my story (This is Angelina) and end up having a daughter named Leanne, whom they named after Lee! Hahaha.

Anyway, I wasn't sure where the story was going for a minute because I was so absorbed in their sorrow. I was really happy to see Fred make an appearance and you've written him so perfectly! He's got this great sass and wit to him that I've never been able to capture, you're magic!

When it comes down to the two of them, Lee and Fred, I was just blown away. It felt natural, sweet and just downright adorable. Their banter was layered with humor and friendship, which is always nice to see and although that ending just kind of stepped on my heart--you wrote that entire thing with so much darn skill that I'm blown away.

Amazing job!

I'll be back! >:)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! Thank you so much for such a lovely lovely review. And thanks for the shout out on the forums! I feel very attached to this story and am so glad you enjoyed reading.

I've never read a story that focussed on Lee so it was quite nice to have pretty much a blank slate to work with. I hope I've done him justice.

And yes to Oliver and Katie! I always have them ending up together. One day I might get around to writing their story because I love them.

Thank you for liking Fred! I find him quite tricky to write because he's got such a consistent, developed voice in the HP books, but I'm glad you liked him here.

Thanks again for such a kind review! Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #50, by Gabriella HunterAreopagitica: Trojan Horse

8th April 2016:
HELLO! >:)

Thank you a ton for the lovely review that you left for Marry Me! You already know who this is! *Dances around to disco music*

Argh, what are you doing to me?! I don't think I can take it! I've been waiting ages for this chapter to come out and I'm so happy that you've started writing again because this is one of my favorite stories. I was so tense reading this, you did such a good job of layering the impending fight!

I like the varying POV in this chapter too, I thought it was interesting to start this off from Clio's. I mean, when do we ever get an owl's perspective on anything? What I liked here though was the innocence in her observations, she knew something was wrong and the only thing she wanted was to see her Luna. It really makes me hate the Carrows more when they take something personal from the kids and defile it, simply for the sick pleasure it gives them.

Totally not cool, man.

And then we have our little band of fighters! I don't see Ernie or Susan being used often in fanfics but I like that you included them here. It was great to see the others through their eyes and I was seriously worried about Parvati. You really took an interesting turn with her character, I think.

You had me thinking that when they rushed to save Dobby that Parvati, because of how weak she was, would be the first one captures. I liked the twist that you went with! And poor Padma! The Carrows are terrible and I got the chills reading that particular sequence.

The following fight with the Slytherins and later the Carrows themselves was very well written. It was bloody, desperate and I could just feel the Carrow's hatred for the children. Writing this sort of thing isn't easy either, so well done!

But that ending! Parvati, I think has a valid reason for being angry with Ginny and the others but I don't think they're going to have time to sort through it right now. Seamus needs them and argh, my heart kind of stopped beating for a minute! How could you?!

Update soon! Like, tomorrow or I'll get ya.

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>