Reading Reviews From Member: Gabriella Hunter
  
955 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella HunterHanging by a Moment: Hanging by a Moment

28th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's so good to be back swapping! I always enjoy stopping by and I only have one more one-shot of yours to check out, which makes me sad. Write more, darn you.

Anyway, this! I've read your other Sinny fics and they were totally out of order. It's good to be back with this though because I can finally understand what led up to them having such a misunderstanding in the other stories.

I love the contrasting POVs in this story especially because their emotions go on such a wild ride. Seamus is initially full of hope and nervousness about seeing Ginny again and that mixes in so well with the sadness over the Burrow. You can really see how everyone is affected by the War and the loss of loved ones.

I honestly love how your Ginny isn't like the other versions of her character that I've seen. She's not so hot headed here and although she's stubborn, she can admit to not feeling okay. Fighting the urge to cry and putting others above herself shows some great maturity on her part but also helps you understand that she needs someone too.

I think this was brilliantly displayed with how her conversation with George went. He gave her some good advise and was so patient with her that I think it helped her realize that she needed to heal as well.

These are the kind of moments that I don't see enough of in fan fic. The siblings don't interact well or at all most of the time after Fred's death and I'm glad to see that George was there for her in the same way everyone had been there for him.

Now, with all the POV changes, you can really get some great depth from the story. We have Ginny from her end and Seamus on the other, never quite getting closer despite the fact that they want to. Ginny confesses everything to Harry (Can I say that he was amazing in this? Mmmkay.) and of course, Seamus walks in on them and storms out, heartbroken.

Ah, the feels.

I have to say that I knew Seamus would storm out but even though I knew what would happen later on, I hoped that they would work it out. The last two scenes were so powerfully written and filled with so much yearning that I could visualize it beautifully.

SO! Amazing job as always and thanks so much for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbe

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! :)

I've been trying to get better about posting more frequently, and I have a one-shot in the works so keep your eyes peeled if you're interested! Haha, I'm so glad you've been enjoying our swaps though.

Ah yes, I really love Ginny (if you couldn't tell?). She tries to be so fierce and brave all the time, but really she's just like everyone else. I love exploring the cracks and how she recognizes she really needs someone too, and I feel like she matured a LOT after the war and dealing with so many things first-hand. I'm glad you agree!

Yep, I figured if anyone could talk to Ginny about healing, it would be George. ♥ I'd like to feel like Ginny's close enough with her siblings - except maybe Percy - that she'd lean on them for support if she really needed it, or they could see through her hard shell and tell her to get over herself.

Aww yeah, I don't normally like writing Harry, but I enjoyed him a lot in that scene.

Thank you so much! I'm so glad that you could visualize it, because I see it in my head as I'm writing and try to paint the picture that way.

Thank you for another lovely review and a great swap!

♥ Jill


 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella HunterThief: Scones & Jam

27th April 2016:
Hello!

Congrats!

I am so proud of you for achieving your goal! I don't think that I would have been able to do it but you've really shown your talent here. I'm just still trying to process it all. Doing so many different challenges has only proven that you're a versatile author and deserve all the praise!

*Hug*

So, Romilda Vane! I don't read any fics about her and I think that's kind of a shame. Underrated characters are great to write and you've really done something special with her.

You've chosen a dark setting for this story though and I tense up whenever I'm reading about how awful the Carrows are. I imagine that Hogwarts is the worst place to be right now but I honestly like that Romilda has some optimism through the whole thing.

Just the hope that she might be able to help her friends gets her so far. It's balanced out so nicely with her fear too, you can understand that she's very scared but there's that Gryffindor spirit too.

I wasn't sure what she would end up doing in order to get food. I thought for a moment she would just grab a large sack and run out of the kitchens but I really liked that you didn't do that. Hahaha. We get some good personalities from the house-elves, who are often overshadowed and you give them so much compassion that it's impossible not to love them.

I think that Romlida's plan did show a bit of recklessness but at the same time, it was the only thing that could have worked. This doesn't really have a happy ending, exactly because I'm freaking out about what happened to her but at the same time I feel like it held this wonderful hope. :D

Thank you for the awesome review!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gabriella HunterTraitorous Hearts: Behind the Bleeding Walls

27th April 2016:
Hello! >:3

I am so sorry that it took me so long to stop by with a review for our swap! Man, life has been kicking my butt lately. I got a weird stomach thing for a second and my laptop died last night! What's up with that?

I'm going to be honest and say that I would probably debate offering up my soul in order to binge read this story. I've wanted to delve back into it for ages now but things kept getting in the way so I'm so happy to be back.

What's strange is that it doesn't take much to get back into this either. Some stories either stick with you or they fade away but what's so lovely about this is that it's so rich and detailed that it would be like, impossible to forget I'm in love with it.

Anyway!

I really loved the way you opened this chapter, I've never started one this way. It seamlessly goes from various POVs without a hitch and you also give us some darn good exposition. Hogwarts sounds like a grim place and I could really feel that while I was reading. You took a much more nuanced approach than I did because in A Force of Wills, I'm just like:

"Everything sucks and people are gonna die, yo."

What's great about what you've done is that I can see through Astoria's eyes so perfectly. I think that with all of the information that she has and all of the secrets that she must keep, it must be difficult to find a safe place. The gossip about the missing and dead students just really added a nice touch to this as well.

There's this sense of emptiness about Hogwarts now in the students and the grounds. You can breathe it all in and what's great about this is that the Slytherins are aware of how fragile they are. They're not safe.

So, shut up Pansy.

The looming threat was hinted at but not overdone like some stories tend to be when it comes to the eventual Battle. The disgust, relief, fear and dismay were written beautifully but I'm going to tell you what my favorite part of this is:

Astoria admits to not being a perfect person.

Can I just hug your face? I get so sick and tired of these main characters being written like they're made out of gold. I want to see them make mistakes and what makes your Astoria so darn fantastic is that she admits that she is NOT without faults. She's glad to be alive and knows that it's wrong to feel that way when someone else might have died in her place.

Also, that's another twin moment! My Astoria is in denial but she does admit to not caring about that sort of thing later on. She also kind of gets kidnapped in the dark too! Zing!

Draco!

Gah, I friggin' love your Draco. He's such a complex character! I like how you haven't made him into some tragic hero too just because he helped Astoria, he's still looking out for number 1 when it all boils down to it. I like that he's not selfless here, he's really afraid about what might happen and although he does show a few moments of regret, you can tell that if he had a choice, he would always pick himself.

I loved the similarities between the pair and I hope that we get to see them together again. I think that Draco might have some other problems going on though and he should be more careful about eavesdropping on his nutty aunt. I wonder where she's off to? Bella is taking her role as Grand Jerk too seriously, I believe but that entire scene was written beautifully by the way. You describe hateful, evil people so well and Draco's narration is simply superb.

I just hope he doesn't get eaten or something.

I'm not sure when this story might take on a more romantic note, considering how both of these character are but I like that Astoria has made Draco feel off balance. She's lingering in the back of his mind and I'm curious to see what might happen when he does meet her again.

So, this was a wonderful chapter as usual and I'm glad that I've started reading again! We need to swap more!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! This review is wondrous!

Also, don't worry about it at all. Seriously. What with all your computer craziness *and* getting sick. Besides, we have the evil twin curse of "every time we go to do a review swap, RL does something and we get slowed down". It's chill. We both know we're good for it.

Oh gosh, Gabbie! I'm so, so flattered! But you don't need to offer your soul, or your firstborn, or anything in that realm. You might decide you want them later ;)

I'm so glad that it's easy to slip back into it. I've been worried about that since hiatus. It's really good to know that you were able to pick it back up without a problem.

*blushes*

I mean, "Everything sucks and people are gonna die, yo" is still a pretty good summary of what's going on ;)

You're definitely right. Astoria doesn't have anywhere right now that she can go and feel like it's a refuge. She's in a very lonely place right now, for sure.

I really wanted to portray Slytherin House during this period partly because I think it would be such an impossible place to be. Not everyone was pro-Voldemort, but while I imagine the other Houses could openly discuss issues with the Carrows/Voldemort, that would not have been safe in Slytherin House. Everyone had to keep their fears and doubts all bottled up. Some people in that room are legitimately horrible. Some of them just don't know what to say, and don't want to be caught saying the wrong thing. But they really aren't safe.

Ugh. *Please* tell Pansy to shut up. I get more annoyed with her every time I have to write her. ick.

*Hugs back* Yay! I'm so happy that you approve of Astoria's moral grey areas. I know there are people who only like those golden heroes, but that's not what this story is about. Like, the Harry Potter books are great, but one thing about Harry is that he doesn't often have to really *try hard* to do good. And that aspect of his character is less interesting to me. I wanted Astoria to *struggle* with right and wrong. Sometimes she does the right thing, sometimes she doesn't. Often when she *does*, it's against her primary instincts. And really, on the occasions that she *does* do the right thing, I think it's almost a bigger deal because it isn't easy for her. I want her growth to really be a process, and I'm really glad to have readers that are on board for that.

Kidnappings in the dark = ~twin connection~ :D

Thank you! That means so much to me. Draco has definitely been a tricky character to work with. His primary concern has always been himself and his family. He had a...deviation there with Astoria, and frankly he hasn't even figured out what the heck was going on with that. But yeah, I didn't want it to be like, "I did one single not-awful thing and immediately everything has changed. Now I shall be an unproblematic fave!" Does he have a conscience? Yes. Does he have regrets? Absolutely. Is he still for the most part focused on himself and his family? Oh yes.

I want him to grow and all, but it's early days yet, and he's still very much himself.


Draco definitely needs to watch out for Bellatrix. She is very bad news.

"You describe hateful, evil people so well" -- Why thank you! Haha ;)

"I just hope he doesn't get eaten or something." -- I'm gonna be honest. I smiled all through this review, but this actually made me laugh out loud.

Ah, the romance. We'll get there. They're on each other's minds, but there is definitely more to come before it quite qualifies as an out-and-out romance. At this point, they're basically both going over it in their heads all the time being like, "Okay, like, are they screwing with me? Or did we have a ~moment?" Draco is actually more of a hopeless romantic than Astoria, which has been pretty fun to play with so far.

Thank you so much for this FANTABULOUS review, and I'm looking forward to more review swaps! You're the best evil twin a girl could hope for! :D

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella HunterLess Than: Less Than

25th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's been awhile! What's up with that? I would totally like to hear from you more often, I've missed your work! :D

Hannah! I don't read enough stories about her and I certainly haven't read enough that feature her and Neville. That's a real shame because I think you could do quite a bit with their characters, which is nice to read.

This is a pretty upsetting topic to write and I've never read anything like it before. Infertility is something that affects millions of people and I'm glad that you actually wrote this, it makes the magical world feel so much more real. I was always curious about how issues like this were handled in the Wizarding world and you've done a nice job of exploring it.

I don't think that it was too gritty or dark, it just fit well in this world. You didn't need to elaborate on Hannah's pain because you've written her feelings just so beautifully. You can feel how much it hurts her and the emotions you convey were just so amazing to read. Denial, anger, sadness and envy for that one thing she would never have.

I don't think a lot of people really think much about how that affects women. Hannah so clearly wanted a child and to be unable to have children must have hurt so terribly. I can't even imagine the pain but I think you've done a great job of showing that inner struggle of trying to be all right when you just want to crumble.

I could understand why people wouldn't want to read this story but I have to say that you've done a great job of bringing this issue to light. It was written with empathy and tact, which is something that is sorely lacking when it comes to these sort of issues.

Hannah's worries about Neville possibly leaving her felt genuinely raw. I wasn't sure what would happen when they were able to talk but I'm so happy that she didn't keep it a secret from him. Neville was understanding and upset by the news but he's still there for her. He's ridiculously lovely and I think that Hannah needed to hear from his own mouth that he was there for her no matter what happened in the future. :D

So, upon reading your AN I have to say that you are very brave for speaking about this. It's a personal story written from your heart and that is the most precious thing of all. Thank you for writing this and just know that I'm wishing you all the best. :)

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella HunterBetween You and Me: Between You and Me

25th April 2016:
HELLO! >:)

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the awesome one you left for Ruins! It was so wonderful and really brightened my day, you should totally check out Lovely next! :D

Read all the Pansy/Draco!

Anyway, this! I am a huge fan of your Ginny/Seamus so I was really excited about this piece! I was curious about how the pair got together and I love that you've actually established a great timeline and history between them.

I've never written much about the Carrows and their takeover of Hogwarts but I love the grittiness of how you've written it. We get a good sense from Ginny's POV that Hogwarts has drastically changed and although you don't get into too much detail, what's being left unsaid really gave me the chills.

I also liked here that you've kept some canon pieces thrown in too, with Seamus and Michael. I was so upset about that part and for a moment I wasn't sure if they would come back at all. Ginny's anxiety and her fear were very well balanced and I think you've really created a version of her that I really love.

Ginny's a hard character to write and you showed some very good range with her. Stubborn pride, vulnerability, fear and love were all handled so nicely and she felt like a real person. Adding Seamus into the mix was a great relief to me because firstly, he came back and secondly.their chemistry is so good! :D

I never shipped them at all before reading your work but I think you've done a great job here. You can sense the connection between them and practically breathe it in. What I really like about this pairing is that they mesh so well too, Seamus seems like the sort of person that Ginny needs. He doesn't brush off her feelings or minimize her pain, he shows her that it's okay to let down her guard.

That's some powerful man magic!

So, I totally loved this and I will be stopping by again soon!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie :D

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie!

I'm excited to see that you've ventured down the Seamus/Ginny path. I really enjoy writing about them, especially since they're so rare in fic, but it just feels natural to me, y'know? They've got a bit of a weird past since Ginny dated Dean and Harry first, but something about them just totally works.

One of my favorite things to do is to pick up on bits and pieces of canon and expand, creating a story around that so I'm glad that you liked it! :) I was worried about how much detail to go into with the horrors of Hogwarts, since that's not really the focus of the story, but I'm glad it seems to be a good balance.

Their chemistry really is great and they tend to write themselves.

Ahh, thank you! They are just so adorable and I can't seem to get enough of them. ^^

Thanks for another great review and swap!

♥ Jill


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella HunterLife on the Run: A Currach on the Shore

25th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap and I'm sorry that this took a minute! I wasn't feeling all too well and life kind of came by and smacked me into reality. Hahaha.

I'm here now though!

Can I just say that it's simply amazing that you've written for three challenges? I don't think that I would ever be able to survive it. I currently entered three and I'm not even sure if I'll get to all of them so this is pretty fantastic of you. The fact that you were able to weave a story around the different challenges is very impressive!

I think that this story has a kind of bittersweet feel to it. We're left feeling like James and Lily will suffer through the same life over and over again, meeting new friends and then being snatched away.

The beginning of this has such a whimsical feel to it and I have to say that my heart wasn't prepared for the ending! I think you did a good job of keeping me on my toes though, I wasn't quite sure what was going on at first and it took a minute for it all to sink in.

I've never been much of a Snape/Lily shipper and I'm not going to say that I read a lot about them as a couple or anything but this was so lovely. Snape comes across as such a nice, tender guy here in his own way. You can really sense how much he loves Lily and it's a different type of love than the one we see from James.

I think you did a good job highlighting that while also making the story darker and more compelling. I was so upset by that ending! So much betrayal and loss all at once! Agh! You wrote it so well though, it really packed a powerful punch!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella HunterOnce Upon The Marauders: The Untold Story: 2nd Year - Hogwarts Express, Take Two

23rd April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's been too long! What's up with that, man? :D

I hadn't forgotten this story and I'm happy to be back reading it and I see that you have quite a few chapters going on. Keep them coming!

I think I liked this chapter the most because you showed various POVs and experiences. No one had the perfect summer, really and I think that really says volumes about this story. I kind of think its unrealistic to have children being perfect in every situation. I enjoyed reading about Adhara's conflicting moments with her family, only to realize that there was nothing wrong with her at all.

Lily's POV was a delight as well, she's so optimistic and you get a good insight into her mind. She's slowly losing a little bit of her connection to the Muggle world. I like that there was a brief moment of uncertainty before she accepted that it was all right to be a part of both. NOW, I am extra curious about that news report! Who's out there stealing bodies?

I really enjoyed Andromeda's letter to Sirius, I think it was very well written. You managed to capture her personality so well in such a short amount of time while also giving away some meaty exposition. Her backstory is so sad too, its' a shame that her family couldn't have been more open minded and I wonder if we'll get to see her in this story or not.

I felt pretty bad for Sirius though, he's going through quite a bit. His parents are terrible for treating him so badly, especially his mother but I felt kind of badly for Regulus. He seems like the sort of person who just doesn't like conflict and I kind of hoped Sirius would have been a bit nicer towards him, especially when he winds up being in Slytherin later.

And in the slimy clutches of Lucius Malfoy. Blegh.

Speaking of, I really got a chill down my spine when Sev was talking to that bunch. We all know the dark path he goes on later but the beginning of it just really makes me tense. Sev's possessiveness when it comes to Lily is a bit unsettling as well but I like that you've included darker aspects to the children, it gives them more depth.

I just hope that Sev doesn't hang around with Lucius and his lot too much but I'm not sure if that's going to work out. ;__;

So, that ending! Bitterness from Sirius and poor James just not understanding what's going on. I think he and Lily were the only two people who were genuinely just happy. He was confused by Sirius's attitude, I think but otherwise he was pretty all right with everything. I'm interested to see if Sirius will open up to him later but until then, I shall wait for you to re-request!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella HunterThe Next Great Adventure: Chapter 3: The Beginning

22nd April 2016:
HELLO! :D

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review! Thanks so much for posting this in my review thread because I really wanted to catch back up on it! :D

So, I've said this before but I really like your take on the afterlife. Even though these characters have passed on, there are still these little rules here and there that just really fascinate me. You're not saying that they're going crazy over here on the other side, they're just carrying on and I really love that.

The reunion with Harry and Dobby was the sweetest thing in the world. I was hoping that there would be alot of hugging and such but I like that you pressed on with the plot too. I think you portrayed their emotions really well, so well in fact that I just kept forgetting that the were dead. ;__;

I also like that you've given a bit more information on the weighing of the wands. It sounds like what the ancient Egyptians used to do with human hearts to determine if they were allowed into heaven. Pretty darn interesting! Weighing Dobby's heart though kind of gave me the chills and I can understand why Harry got a little nervous afterward.

But what's lovely though is the reconnect between them. Harry gave some great insight into what the family has become since Dobby's death and I really enjoyed that brief moment of peace. I also really love that there are two new sets of Fred and George around. Hahaha.

But now I'm nervous...they're back at Hogwarts and I wonder if we'll see familiar faces? What if something goes wrong? Agh, I really hope you update soon, this was a really good chapter! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella HunterHaunting Shadows: Allies

22nd April 2016:
HELLO!

*Moonwalks onto your story* This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review! I am so sorry that this took a minute but I got caught up watching anime and crying about Prince's passing. Hahaha. I'm better now though and I was so excited to read this!

It seems like Cat is beginning to crack beneath the pressure. I'm interested to see how this is going to affect her later on, she's clearly suffering from a lack of sleep. I think her emotions are unraveling and you did such a good job of hinting at this from the very beginning.

Cat isn't quite sure what she saw, Chris's ghost or a figment of her imagination? I don't believe it is but if it's a sign of grief getting the best of her, that would still be very interesting. I'm not sure what she might do about that or who she'll eventually talk to about it. Rob is obviously not in the mood and I'm not sure if they'll break down and have a real conversation about everything.

What I really liked though was that Cat was more real here than I had seen her before, emotionally. I could really understand and ache for her as she went through this chapter. I especially liked that you made it clear that she NEEDED someone, wasn't quite sure who and too prideful to admit that she wished it could be Rob.

That was some lovely darn writing and I'm getting very curious to know what will happen between Cat and Rob in the future. We didn't get any ghostly stuff in this chapter and I liked that it was toned down, making this piece feel very raw. Cat has a lot hanging on her shoulders right now but there is some hope with Fred:

Oddly enough, she seems more receptive to him than the others and that really intrigues me. I'm not sure what that might mean for the future but their interactions are great. He doesn't seem quite so put off by her attitude and honestly gave her some pretty good advice. Isolation is not a good thing but just because he has a ton of siblings doesn't mean that he is incapable of feeling lonely.

I'm not sure if that was your point or if you'll bring it up later but that stuck with me as pretty important. Anyway, this was a great chapter and I'm really hoping that you'll update soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

I know I already told you this already, but thank you so much for this review. It was exactly what I needed to lift my spirits last night! And you know you never need to apologize for being late, I'm just happy that you're reading - and enjoying - it at all :)

You're right, Cat's definitely beginning to feel the pressure and her emotions are starting to unravel, which brings up the questions of what she saw into play. Is she just sleep deprived or is she really being haunted? I'm glad that you liked that the ghost stuff was toned down, I'm trying to find a happy balance for now until we get a bit later in the story.

Yes, she knows she can't do this alone, but she's not really sure who to turn to, y'know? The people she trusts aren't around or are giving her a hard time, so it's a real struggle for her because she knows she put herself in this position.

Thank you! I'm sad to say that Rob and Cat are going to have a very rocky road ahead of them, but I WILL say that they do need each other, just in different ways.

She does seem very receptive of Fred, and that's definitely on purpose. :) And you're right about his loneliness too, there's a reason that he mentioned isolation to her.

I'm glad you caught onto the importance of that last scene ;)

Thank you again for another lovely review and swap!

♥ Jill



 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella HunterThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

21st April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the lovely review you left me for Sanctuary. It was so nice to see after a rough day!

So, I'm immediately curious about this. I think that your summary has got my mind going in all sorts of directions and I'm not sure where this story i going to go. I love that though because I sense that there are going to be a lot of twists and turns as we go on, judging from the first half.

I wonder what Ginny is up to and why she left? Has she gotten involved with the wrong people? I'm really curious about this because her running away like this seems so out of character. I suspect darker things at work here and I'm really eager to find out what's going on, if there was a person or situation that snatched her away. :3

I think you did a good introduction for your main character too. I feel like Cress is a determined sort of person and can see through a lot but at the same time, I wonder how she got involved with the case and what she's already solved. Does she have a good reputation? I do wonder about that and on a different note, I think it's really interesting that you have Hermione being a focal point in this first chapter.

I was for sure that you were going to have Cress talking to Harry first. Hmmm. I'm curious to see how their meeting will go now!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello Gabbie! Thanks for stopping by! I really loved Sanctuary and it makes me smile to know that I managed to make you feel good with that little review. :)

I'm so glad you found the summary intriguing! I was getting worried a few days ago that maybe it wasn't captivating enough so it's good to know that it made you curious about the plot!

That's the mystery! I hope you decide to come back to find out all the answers. :D

Cress is currently the favourite character I am writing. Her responsible nature and how she keeps her emotional side hidden from everyone is what I love the most to write about, I'm happy you liked her too!

Teddy is the other protagonist of the story and future romantic interest of Cress. :) Also in this story, Harry is in denial and emotionally shattered after Ginny left so I couldn't make Cress meet him first.

Thanks a lot for leaving the review! It really made my day!

Love,
Ashwini :)


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella HunterHot Mess!: Weasley Blood is Always Thicker Than Water

20th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review! It's been a while since I read this story and it's nice to be back!

There aren't alot of stories about Percy on the archives and that is a shame. He's one of my favorite characters and I love reading different versions of him, yours is high on my list. I like that you've kept him virtually the same, though there are these moments when he touches on his own grief that switch it up a bit.

I'm not quite sure what's going to happen with Percy and his position at the Ministry but I have a feeling that it won't go the way he plans. I also have this weird feeling that he's going to meet up with Audrey again in another unexpected way at this event that they're planning. He found that shoe in his office and that is like a bad omen, I suppose. Hahahahahah.

I like that Percy feels slightly uncomfortable and not at ease whenever he thinks about Audrey. That just makes me wonder how their relationship will eventually begin. :3

So! I have to admit that my favorite part of this chapter was the second half. I'm always happy to see how people envision WWW's after the War and it's always great seeing George/Angelina. They're not a couple here, I don't believe but the fact that you've included her just makes me happy. What I also love is this unique and funny way you have the joke shop right now, the descriptions of it were very easy to visualize.

I think that Angelina working there is a good thing too because she genuinely seems to care about George and the shop. I feel like there's something else going on there BUT I'm a huge Georgelina shipper so don't be surprised. Hahaha.

What's interesting here too is that Percy admits that he's not quite comfortable being there. I figure that it's the same for when he's around his family, which is pretty upsetting. What is lovely is that he asked George to be his best man! The same thing happens in my universe (Percy was George's best man when he married Angelina) so nice twin moment!

I thought the reflection of Fred and George's visible and mental decline were brilliant. I've never actually written about George after the War, dealing with Fred's loss. I don't skip over it, really but it's spoken of through other characters so it was great seeing this George still shaken up. I think that you've done such a lovely job of showing grief and the lasting effects it has on everyone, it's not an easy thing to write.

Ah! I will mention here that Percy's brief moment of feeling guilty for Fred's death just struck home. I can't imagine how that feels but I'm thankful that you included it, it gave him a sense of humility and realism that I think I needed to see.

What's upsetting here is that I want to see the whole family back together but I wonder if it'll actually happen. Katherine doesn't seem like the kind who will want to change her plans and I don't think she really likes the Weasley's. Hmm. I'm curious to see how that all works out.

Now, the last bit of this chapter left a bittersweet feeling. Percy understanding what his brothers were trying to do with the joke shop now that Fred is gone just really, really tied this all together. It was a nice way to end the chapter, I think and focusing on family for a little while was the right thing to do in my opinion.

I actually really enjoyed this, I didn't spot anything that you needed to worry about. There are a few spelling errors and stuff but other than that, this was a nice addition to your work!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella HunterWhere Our Voices Sound: Beneath The Surface

19th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie dropping by for our swap and thanks so much for the lovely, lovely review for Sanctuary. Oddly enough, the edited version was validated a while after I responded to it. Hahahaha.

So, this! I was going to fall upon TH like a starving harpy but I decided to check this out instead. I'm going to save TH for another time but feel free to stuff that into my review thread. :D

Little Mermaid feels all up in this! I had a thought of doing a short story based on this as well, so weird twin connection once again. Mine would have been quite different from yours though but man, this is pretty darn amazing! I love, love, love this detailed and fleshed out world that you've given Vivienne's life.

I never think too much about the mermaids in the Lake because I'm usually making jokes about giant squid babies using the kids as volleyballs. Ahem. I think that you've got something so detailed and creative here, it's beautiful to read. I was sucked in from the first sentence and swooning at all the loveliness of it.

I think you did a good job setting up Albus and the others too. I was kind of wondering what the heck they were doing at first because, hey, jumping off of things is not cool. I like the inclusion of this being some kind of test to get into an elite club though, I haven't seen that much.

I especially never see it with Albus and an OC, we're usually bombarded with Albus/Scorpius fics so I thought this was a great change. And just like I thought, jumping off of things is not cool! Man, these kids are insane but I was so worried about Tristan, I thought he was going to be singing the farewell song a little early! Gosh.

What's great here though is that Viv just so happened to be nearby and her curiosity about the human world was pretty enlightening. She feels like an "other" among her own people and I think the descriptions you gave her and what she went through, along with the backstory have painted a very unique character.

I'm glad that she saved the boys though, I would have freaked out if things had gone in a darker way. On that note, I am happy that you did NOT have her getting her tongue snatched out like in the original story. Cause, that is not cool. What I am curious about though is her father and why her mother decided to keep it a secret. Viv's anger was justified but I do love that there's a price for what she wants, like in the original story.

I just hope she doesn't turn into sea foam.

I also hope she finds her prince.

Also, for whatever reason I totally want to play in Tristan's hair. Like...all that blonde hair must look really nice and I demand fan art.

Anyway, I also loved that you've taken the Next Gen kids away from familiar stereotypes. Rose is a breath of fresh air and can I tell you how much I love your Roxy? I NEVER see her in fanfics and aside from the story I wrote (And abandoned for a while), I never see her being used as a main character. Thank you for that!

Fred was a nice addition too and thank you, thank you for not having him being this goofy, dumb bloke. I've gotten tired of seeing that trope, it rubs me the wrong way. Anyway, Albus is a sweetheart and I love the bond between him and Tristan. It's great to see that they're so close.

Viv's arrival was so dramatic and intense! I adored that and pictured it all in my mind so clearly. I do love that she doesn't magically know English but her arrival has caused quite a few questions. I do wonder what's going to happen next and how she'll even begin to explain herself. O__o

You've left this on a cliffhanger and when you get the second chapter up, let me know! :D It was a little long but because I tend to write super long chapters, that didn't bother me. ;)

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie!

Haha, thanks for checking this out! And I will be sure to take advantage of that review page after we do our swap this weekend!

Our twin connection is alive and well :D

I love this story. I really do. It's not abandoned, but it's temporarily on hold while I focus on finishing TH and WitS.

I *do* like your Giant Squid Volleyball Idea.

I'm glad that Tristan's fate kept you on your toes! I don't think I'd ever given the mermaids in the lake much thought, before I signed up for this fairy tale challenge. When I was assessing my options, this just seemed like the perfect thing! And when I thought about how they couldn't sing above the ground, it felt so perfect for The Little Mermaid! I liked the twist it puts on it.

I hope she doesn't turn into sea foam, either! These aren't small stakes, for sure!

Tristan would be delighted to hear that. But I don't suggest you tell him. The boy's got a big enough head as it is. The last thing he needs is more compliments :D

Your welcome! I'm actually really glad you said that. WOVS definitely has a bigger cast, and you're right. Now that I think about it, Roxy gets left out a lot. So now I'm gonna try my best to make sure that, when I pick this up again, she remains an active character with some decent screen time. I really like her, and I agree--we don't see enough of her.

Haha, Fred's a bit of a prepster here, with his secret society stuff. I thought it would be a fun twist on the character. He's definitely got his silly moments, but he's not stupid.

Albus is a sweet little Mermish-speaking cinnamon role and I love him. He and Tristan *are* good friends to each other, and I love that about them.

I know that this is super long! It should have been split into at least 2 chapters, but I needed to get it through the queue before the challenge deadline. And now I don't want to change it until I get another chapter up, bc I don't want people to think they're seeing a new chapter there and be faked out.

Ack. I really do need to visit this world again, soon. So much to do!

Thank you for the lovely review, evil twin. And for the swap!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella HunterThe Unmarried Weasley: The Unmarried Weasley

17th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I'm sorry about the lateness. I was doing swaps yesterday and then real life got crazy. :D

Wow, this was a long piece but it was worth the read and I really loved it. I think that you've spaced out the time lapses so well here and I love that each part changes significant things about Charlie and Tonks's relationship.

I have never given them much thought before but I like the idea of them as a couple. I wish that we knew more about that or if it's even canon but I think that you working this into why Charlie never marries is excellent. There's this beautiful history between them and the heartbreak from both sides just makes me all tingly.

Charlie is usually kind of an underused character in the archives but I always thought he had some great potential. I like him here, he's blunt and compassionate and unsure of himself in moments when his emotions get the better of him. I also just adore your version of Tonks, this is more of how I pictured her in my head while reading the HP books.

I like that the two bounce around one another so well and know one another inside out. Charlie's acceptance to loving her, becoming angry and losing her were written so wonderfully. I think that Tonks has this problem with becoming emotionally invested in other people, perhaps out of fear but I like that you played around with that.

I was so upset by this ending and the fact that no matter what happened, things never quite worked out for them. It always felt one-sided during certain moments and Charlie not getting the chance to propose or even explain while Tonks dumped him was kind of harsh. Like...dang.

Anyway, that ending was bittersweet as I don't know what. I can understand why Charlie didn't want to have her there but at the same time, he loved her and their friendship mattered too much to him. Hearing Tonks collapse and break down about really, truly being in love with someone must have hurt and that last line just kinda shattered my soul. Just...beautiful writing on your end.

My only CC would be that this is kinda chunky so you might want to break up a few parts and make this a short story. I think that would help smooth it out more but otherwise, great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #14, by Gabriella HunterRise of the Phoenix: Nocturnal Illusions

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks for the awesome swap! I intended to read at least three or four chapters but real life has gotten in the way so I'll have to call it a day for now.

I think you did a great job writing the suspense and pain in this chapter. It's pretty long but you do a great job of getting into Aurora's mind and twisting her fear. I think I was most impressed with how you handled her emotional range while she was talking to Hagrid. I was surprised by their friendship but delighted by the history between them and at the same time, I loved how it bounced back from friendly banter to awkward emotional breakdowns.

I feel like Aurora, in her position has every right to be upset. She doesn't really know what's going on now that she's better but I can imagine that it feels like being pulled on multiple strings. The people around her know more or less than she does at this point and I think Hagrid, whom you wrote wonderfully, did a good job of visually expressing that point.

I wasn't sure what Dumbledore wanted out of Aurora and I think you wrote his lines amazingly well, he has such a great presence here but I can't shake off this feeling of foreboding. Not sure what's going to happen next but with Voldemort's mounting control, anything is possible right now.

I thought that Aurora was going to be introduced to the Order but that didn't happen! Agh. I am wondering what the heck happened to Rupert though, it sounds like a massive Ministry cover up and I wonder if we'll find out the truth soon. I'm curious about this orb that Dumbledore wants Aurora too look into, it has to be something interesting indeed if Dumbledore couldn't even figure it out. Hm.

You've left me with a lot of questions but as usual, your characters are rich and your flow is amazing to read. :D

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella HunterRise of the Phoenix: An Unusual Party

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for agreeing to this swap with me! I was honestly going to check back on this story today and now I can read a few more chapters ahead! :D

I have to say that politics will never be my cup of tea but I like how you've weaved all of that in for this chapter. Fudge is clearly only interested in tidying up the problem to save his own skin and I really just wanted to shake him. I can't believe he just disregarded Aurora like that! It doesn't surprise me, given what we know about him but I think it was a great nod to the books.

Theo was a pleasant introduction, despite what we were lead to believe about him earlier. He seemed genuinely upset about Aurora and he was rightfully angry with the Ministry and their officials for being so late. I hope he'll cool down eventually but I'm super, super curious about Kingsley's brother for some reason. Never read a story with Kingsley having a sibling and I kind of got a slight lump in my throat that I hope isn't going to wind up being something bad.

I'll just have to keep reading to see though, you've done such a great job introducing new characters and bringing more information to a story we already know.

I will say that seeing so many familiar faces and hearing about certain people who are no longer in the HP stories (Alive) really made me upset. I don't want to focus too much on that but it was like looking at that old photograph Sirius showed Harry, I can understand why he thought it was kind of grim.

Anyway, Dumbledore! I have never in my life attempted to write him before because he terrifies me. I'm not sure how you were able to capture him so well but you've done a wonderful job! I do wonder what his business with Aurora was before the train was attacked though but I figure we'll learn that in the next chapter so I'm going to hurry on and read it.

Thanks for the great chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie,

I read the first three chapters of Transparent and will have a review up A.S.A.P

Annoyingly RL has taken me away from a computer for three days and I can't review until tomorrow morning as its 2.40 am over here.

So I am sorry about that. They will be up very soon though ok?

Your commentary and feedback is really heartening to read. You are so intelligent with what you write both in your reviews and novels.

I hope my tardiness doesn't put you off further swaps in the future.

This is a one-off error by me.

Nick


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabriella HunterA Happy Memory: The Swan

16th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! :D

I don't think I've come across very many Cho stories on the archives and I'll never understand why. I think that she's a good character and even though we don't know much about her after book five, I always thought she should have been explored more.

I think that you've chosen to write about Cho's depression, love and conflicting feelings for Harry in a really mature way. I loved the flow of this one-shot and you really got to understand more about how Cho was feeling after Cedric's death. People kind of brushed over that afterward, I'm not sure if it was because they were so young and couldn't possibly know what it was like to really "love" someone but I can imagine how much that hurt.

Going through all of that and then being thrust into Hogwarts with Umbridge couldn't have helped matters, especially when her parents don't want her to tell the truth. There's a moment that I love from Cho though, she's clearly unsure about speaking out against her parents but at the same time, there's this childish urge to please them too.

I think a lot of people tend to forget that Harry and the others, despite what's going on in their lives are still kids. Cho seems to have grown up with a loving family and being told to lie, even though it's wrong must be difficult for her to accept after losing Cedric in such an awful way.

Now, I will say that your flashbacks were lovely and helped give more depth to the story. I think that they were fleshed out beautifully and your descriptions are wonderful. Just lovely, lovely writing and I could sense how much Cho cared about Cedric and vice versa. We rarely see that on the archives and I think you ended this perfectly, it left me with a hopeful feeling. :D

Couldn't spot any CC's either so great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Yeah I really love Cho, but I know a lot of people don't. I don't think she's understood as much as she should be, and that's why I chose her for this challenge, to share my idea of the sorts of things she went through after Cedric.

Thank you so much gorgeous! Your reviews are always amazing and very much appreciated ♥


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella HunterThe Silver Lining: The Test Begins

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the swap! I don't believe we've swapped before and if that's true, it's lovely to meet you and stuffs.

So, I don't really like reading/reviewing chapters for a story that I haven't read through but I don't think there's anything wrong with that today. You can always post the first chapter in my review thread later on. :D

I'm getting the feeling that this story is quite AU? I read the summary to get a better idea of it and it sounds really interesting. I think a girl like Willow would have some great experiences that a lot of people wouldn't be able to understand, considering her background.

I think it's interesting to include Ron and the others in this too because I like seeing how they're written in an AU setting. Certain details are changed but their core personalities are the same, I believe and that's the fun. I would have liked to have known more about Willow but I think you've established her character well in the previous chapters.

Right now, though...I'm wondering if she'll accept Ron's feelings for her and what their family will have to say about it. Hm. You've left this on an interesting note and because I'm not quite sure where you're going with it, I can't really offer much else but just know that you can swap with me again anytime! :)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Link me to your thread in a message on the forums and I'll be glad to post it there for you once I learn how to work the link coding. Thank you for your review! I love how you were nicely critical. I had mean comments on this story before that discouraged me from updating it. I know now not to let that stop me though. I hope you will read the whole story through!

 Report Review

Review #18, by Gabriella HunterIris: Found

16th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie here for our swap! I don't think the two of us have met or swapped before so it's nice to meet you and stuff. I do believe you posted this in my review thread and I was just about to get to it today so this makes me happy! :D

So, what an interesting story you've created. There are so many elements to it that I think are really unique and curious. I was impressed by the dark and bloody opening to this chapter, I certainly didn't expect it but that's a powerful way to start a story.

You're not sure what to think and the only thing you want is for the main character to make it out of this crazy situation all right. What makes this really, really curious is the fact that it all felt so real and Charlotte knew that it was--only to wake up and see that it was a dream.

I'm very, very suspicious about the entire thing, to be honest because the pain she felt and the blood is just too clear. Her mother seems like some kind of ghoul, I'm not quite sure what her deal is but I'm certain that she's hiding something. I think it's interesting here that Charlotte has spent her entire life in the forest but she knows that there's still some good in the world, I feel like her mother was trying to purposefully stomp that out of her.

I didn't believe her story about Charlotte cutting herself, the dream was too vivid and it doesn't explain why certain parts of her story make no sense.

I'm actually really curious about Charlotte and her mother. I wonder if she used to be a Death Eater? She says that all witches and wizards are evil, that Harry Potter was some kind of killer but she uses and teaches magic to Charlotte? Hm. Something about that is very fishy to me and I kind of wanted to smack that drink of evil out of Charlotte's hands and shake her a little.

What is that stuff?!

Demon blood?!

There are SOOO many curious things about this and I'm really interested in finding out the mysteries. I think you did a good job of building suspense though and adding little clues here and there, I started to suspect that Charlotte lived in the Forbidden Forest the moment she found that bottle of firewhiskey.

What makes this even more curious is the fact that she sees James, I'm assuming playing with a Thestral. That leaves me asking more questions! What is he doing there? Who died around him? Why is he alone?

Is Beast okay?!

You left this on a good cliffhanger and with all the other things you've started for this story, you have my attention. Update soon!

CC wise, there are a few words that you repeated and a comma here and there would help smooth over a few paragraphs. Otherwise, great start to this!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: What an absolutely amazing review!! all these compliments are making my smile grow by the second! I can't thank you enough!

I couldn't agree with you more everything about this first chapter makes you question everything and become suspicious! All I shall say is that dream may be foreshadowing later chapters... just a little peak there :)

I love that you brought up the drink that Charlotte was made to drink! I won't tell you what it is exactly but it does play a big part in the story! But I do like the idea of demon blood >:)

All these questions and some shall be answered next chapter which is currently in the queue! We get a fair amount of James as well in it!

Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write this!

I'm currently reading through one of your stories and will be sure to post a review very soon.

Ella


 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella HunterAll In: All In

14th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I thought that I would hop onto this story because I saw that you had posted something about it on the forums. :D

I really need to rest of this story because this is so amazing. I had never thought of Ginny and Seamus as a couple but I totally dig the idea! I feel like that's a relationship that would be great to explore for various reasons.

Seamus's friendship with Dean, who dated Ginny and the fact that Harry dated Ginny and is still in love with her. That's just the basis for an excellent plot and you've done so much with this! I was really impressed with how strong Seamus and Ginny's feelings for one another were portrayed.

I haven't read the other story that goes along with this but I didn't really feel confused. I think that you wrote everything brilliantly and I could understand both points of view. I loved the idea that there was this vulnerability and insecurity with Seamus, it took a lot of courage for him to accept that and I was proud of him for sitting through his talk with Harry.

On a completely unrelated note: GEORGELINA!!! I am a huge shipper of this couple and I squealed when I saw that you included them, even if they weren't technically dating.

Ahem.

So, I think that my favorite parts of this chapter were Seamus's conversation with Harry and Ginny's breakdown with Seamus at his house.Both were very emotional and had such great range, I thought their dialogue here was very honest and raw. :D

It was a great read! I couldn't spot any CC's so thanks for swapping with me!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! *squishes*

You know, I'm really glad that you decided to read this without reading the other one first, because that tells me that it stands well enough on its own!

Ah yes, that basis is one of the things that I love so much about their relationship, along with their strong personalities, though sometimes they can both be too stubborn :D

Thank you! I agree, I feel like Seamus is very insecure, especially with someone like Ginny because she was in love with Harry for so long, and he's, well, Harry Potter. That's enough to make ANYONE feel insecure, so I'm glad that you could see where he was coming from there.

Ah yes, Georgelina! I'm glad you spotted them ;) You're actually the first one to point that out!

And those were my favorite scenes to write! I'm glad you liked their dialogue because those scenes were so important.

Thank you for the lovely review and the swap!

♥ Jill


 Report Review

Review #20, by Gabriella HunterCygnus Black III and His Three Daughters: Narcissa

13th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks for swapping with me! :)

I honestly never read/review a chapter without reading the whole story first because there are crucial details that I'll be missing. I decided to swap anyway because I thought this seemed interesting and I could always read the previous chapters later for another swap. :D

So, I wasn't able to really follow what had happened that well in the beginning. The who/what/why were hard to grasp but I eventually understood more and was pleased to see that this was about Narcissa.

I never really read many stories about her as a young woman for some reason. I don't think there are a lot out there and that's a real shame, she's got a lot of potential to be a very complicated character. I like here that she's got some vulnerability and uncertainty about her prospects to marriage.

What I really like is that you've shown that marriage for purebloods is very political. Not a lot of it is done for love and it's clear that Bellatrix's marriage is more of a dominate/submissive relationship born out of necessity to keep the lines "pure".

That's more than a little depressing but I think you described it well and your world seems pretty rich and flushed out. Narcissa has a lovely innocence about her that was nice to see and her conversation with Augusta was interesting too. The advice about not being a servant to a husband was spot on and I think the later lessons that Narcissa learns were a good parallel too.

I did think it was interesting to have Narcissa being an informant in the early years of her marriage. It's pretty brave of her and I can understand why she didn't want to be just a pretty wife without her own interests. What's surprising is that she eventually does come to love Lucius and eventually pulls away from being an informant out of fear. I thought that was realistic on her part, considering that we've seen in the HP books that while Narcissa isn't necessarily a GOOD person, she isn't evil.

This was a good chapter and you can always put the other three in my review thread! :)

Thanks!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #21, by Gabriella HunterThe Gifts: Neville: The Three Broomsticks

12th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and sorry for the lateness. Real life has been a pain in my behind lately and I've hardly had the time to sit down and read/review.

There needs to be more Neville/Hannah stories on the archives because I would seriously love to read more about them. Neville is one of my favorite characters in the series so I thought reading a story from his POV was very interesting.

I've seen stories that feature him as a main character but we don't get much romance from him. That has always bothered me because I'm sure that he and Hannah have like, the purest romance ever.

What I really enjoyed about this is that Neville is so brave, confronting his feelings for her. He knows that he might not succeed but at the same time, he needs her to understand how much he loves her and that just says volumes about him.

I like that this changed a little bit with Hannah actually taking the lead and Rosmerta's letter was just too perfect. I think that maybe there should have been a bit more information about how Hannah and how she was faring after the War but other than that, I think this was a really good piece.

Like...I wish Neville would propose to me! I would seriously faint or something but Hannah is one lucky girl. Their confessions to one another were so genuine and sweet, I don't know how they got through seven years without melting into each other. :3

As for CC: I think there are a few paragraphs were you've missed a few words here and there. Your flow is good, maybe a little choppy towards the end but you've done a great job regardless. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: HELLO GABBBIE!

It's fine that it's late, I don't really mind!

I totally agree with you! Hanville is canon, so you'd expect quite a few, but I've never really heard of anyone writing Hanville who is on the forums, until 800 came out of the woodwork when I officially called myself a Hanville shipper!

Again I agree. Most stories about Neville are alternate Boy-Who-Lived, and so you dont really see much romance, especially because at Hogwarts they are in different houses.

Coming back now and re-reading it, I do realise that I kinda just plonked Hannah there, and so I probably will in the future go back and rewrite it.

I think we all would like that! Matthew Lewis is so freaking hot omg! Hannah is definitely lucky and if I was a witch I would definitely have sent them my congratulations when they got married.

OMG. I really missed words? Whoops. Again, another thing i'll address when I go back and rewrite it (or get a beta).

Thank you!

Caity
x



 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella HunterCausatum: Harry

12th April 2016:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and sorry for the lateness!

So, this was interesting! I think that you've done a good job here showing the cost of war and talking about a Harry with mental health issues. We don't really see that often in fanfic and I really loved the fact that you didn't shy away from the ugliness of it.

I think that having him hear voices and referring to them as demons is really symbolic. It gives me chills to think about it and you've also strayed away from a happy ending with this chapter too. Even Ginny, or who I'm assuming to be Ginny, isn't enough for Harry to heal and he slumps further into darkness.

Powerful stuff! I honestly wouldn't worry much about having less dialogue because I think your descriptions are great and Harry's POV is written wonderfully. It's dark, uncomfortable and vulnerable all at once and that is a great thing to have in a story with this kind of theme.

Good job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #23, by Gabriella HunterThe Next Great Adventure: Chapter 2: The Transportation Office

11th April 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I was wondering if you had continued this story and I'm so happy that this chapter is up!

I really love this idea you have too, it's very unique, I don't think I've seen it before. I think that there are so many great ideas to what the afterlife must be like and I just adore this idea of being tested.

The journey isn't over yet and the fact that Dobby is your hero just makes this stand out even more. How many stories are out there that focus on him like this? I liked that you really got into his character here and I was so anxious for him to succeed. The fact that the afterlife has so many rules and seems to parallel the living world is genius!

We usually don't see much of this but I liked that you've got your world so clearly figured out. Dobby of course breaking the rules and punishing himself is a good nod back to the HP books as well and I think it was brilliant to include that he couldn't quite remember magic well.

Did we get an Olliivander cameo?

Will Charlie and Hannah show up by the end of this story? I'm super curious. ;__;

Now, I'm just worried that something might go wrong before he can get to Harry! I can't imagine how heartbreaking it would be if both of them failed, so this naturally means that you have to make another chapter!

Thanks for the enjoyable read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #24, by Gabriella HunterLove, Not War: Captive

11th April 2016:
Hello! >:)

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I can't tell you how exciting it is for me to back and reading this! Thank you a thousand times for the great review you left for "Grey". It was beyond fantastic and I've missed you a ton! *Squish*

I fell right into this story from the very first paragraph and even though it's been a while since I've read this story, I remembered nearly everything from the previous chapters.

I was so happy to see that you were back to updating again too!

I didn't even need to do a refresher on anything that had happened because this story was just so rich and addicting. :D

So, the first part of this chapter really had me tense with fear for our heroes! I didn't know what was going to happen and I was terrified that Voldemort was just going to break through the wards and kill the whole family.

I think that you did a great job building the suspense in this moment too, especially how you wrote Draco and Roxie. I liked that we got just a bit more from them on the possibility that they might become a couple or close friends later on.

Draco has every right to be concerned about the situation that he's in too and I really loved the way you wrote his conflicting emotions.

I was so nervous for them and unsure what was going to happen next but I think I freaked out when Roxie went out there! It's so reckless of her but I have to say that she's got guts.

I relaxed a bit more when Arthur and the others said that there were a lot of spells around the house though but I still got a bad feeling. When you switched over to Voldemort's POV, I was really, really freaking out!

I have to say that you wrote him very well here too. He's a character that I've personally never written because he's so complex but I liked the balance of coldness, evil and conniving attitude that you gave him.

That's not an easy thing to write at all and I could feel the Death Eater's fear when they were around him. It was almost painful! The fact that Percy is still following them makes me so angry but at the same time, I think it's great stuff for the plot.

The betrayal, arrogance and doubt that's going through Percy at this moment is really compelling to read. I thought that he would come to his senses during this but it seems like he's going to stubbornly stay where he is. That bothers me and I hope that his family doesn't completely give up on him the way Percy has given up on himself.

But on to the last few bits of this chapter! What?! I didn't think that Roxie would get captured when I realized that she was well protected near the house but that fire ruined everything! Fire is bad!

Voldemort is such a hideous beast too, thinking that he can guilt Draco into surrendering in order to free Roxie. I do wonder what the family will do though now that she's been kidnapped! I can't wait to read more about that later on but for now, Roxie is stuck locked in a place with Lucius Malfoy!

I thought that his reveal was excellent! He's this broken down caricature of his former self and the desperation coming from him just felt so real. I thought the fear and bravado in Roxie was well-done, though I do wonder what the two of them will do now that Lucius has revealed himself. Hmmm.

Anyway, thanks for the awesome chapter and I hope I see you around again soon! This was such a delight to read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #25, by Gabriella HunterNine Years: May 1st, 1998

8th April 2016:
HELLO! >:)

Girl! Where has this story been my entire life and why haven't you stuffed this into my review thread?!

*Insert heavy breathing cat meme here*

I saw on the forums that you needed a review or two and I thought that I would stop by. I love your work and I wasn't sure what I would end up reading but I'm so happy that I decided to read this! It's so unique on so many levels and just perfection.

Okay, let me calm down for a minute.

Phew!

So, you tackled so many things with this story and I'm not even sure where to start. First, you've shown an interracial relationship, discussed body image AND created a couple that I never would have imagined together!

I could go on for days about that aspect of this story but I'll focus on the rest. I think that you have such a lovely, lovely way of luring the reader in. I was hooked on the very first sentence and think that dumping us all in the middle of the War, in such a grim setting was a bold choice.

Lee as a main character is funny, compassionate and honest. I hardly ever see him featured in stories much but I love what you've done with him. He seems like a real, fleshed out young man and the pressures he's going through just seem so real.

I always wondered what it was like for Lee and the others while they were on teh run and you've filled in that gap wonderfully. Oliver and Katie were great introductions as well and we had a twin moment! My Katie and Oliver wind up married in my story (This is Angelina) and end up having a daughter named Leanne, whom they named after Lee! Hahaha.

Anyway, I wasn't sure where the story was going for a minute because I was so absorbed in their sorrow. I was really happy to see Fred make an appearance and you've written him so perfectly! He's got this great sass and wit to him that I've never been able to capture, you're magic!

When it comes down to the two of them, Lee and Fred, I was just blown away. It felt natural, sweet and just downright adorable. Their banter was layered with humor and friendship, which is always nice to see and although that ending just kind of stepped on my heart--you wrote that entire thing with so much darn skill that I'm blown away.

Amazing job!

I'll be back! >:)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! Thank you so much for such a lovely lovely review. And thanks for the shout out on the forums! I feel very attached to this story and am so glad you enjoyed reading.

I've never read a story that focussed on Lee so it was quite nice to have pretty much a blank slate to work with. I hope I've done him justice.

And yes to Oliver and Katie! I always have them ending up together. One day I might get around to writing their story because I love them.

Thank you for liking Fred! I find him quite tricky to write because he's got such a consistent, developed voice in the HP books, but I'm glad you liked him here.

Thanks again for such a kind review! Emma xx


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>