Reading Reviews From Member: Gabriella Hunter
  
688 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella HunterA Disaster In The Making: Mr. Evans

27th May 2015:
HellO!

This is Gabbie from the forums FINALLY getting to our swap and I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long. I haven't forgotten about you!

So, this was a neat way to start this story. I haven't read many stories that talk about Lily's parents and definitely not opening a chapter, so this was pretty unique. I like that Lily's father is the one who has to handle all of the responsibility when it comes to his daughter's choice in boyfriends. That's usually something the mother would handle and it made the absence of their mother even more poignant. I know that this isn't a sad story but that's something I think made this stand out, Petunia's dislike of Lily filling in the void. The two sisters are obviously nothing alike but it's clear that a lot has changed over the years and I'm curious to see how this Christmas will go.

I'm a little worried, actually...

I liked the brief mention of Vernon here too, I'm sure that he and James will not be the best of friends. Haha. I did like that Lily's father knew OF James though, it would have been a bit much if Lily had just dragged him home. The fact that Lily hasn't mentioned that they're together only makes this more awkward and a little funny, I'm really eager to see how they interact!

I didn't spot any CC's that you need to worry about and I love the ominous ending to this chapter. Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella HunterBurning Inside: The Perfect Servant

27th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! It's so good to be back reading your work, you've always been one of my favorite authors. I kind of want to sit in a corner and try to force some awesomeness out of my own stories...I'll get there eventually. Hahaha.

Anyway, Bellatrix. I'll admit that I've never been a fan of her character and I usually choose not to read stories about her but this was so fantastic that I might reconsider that rule. I thought that you chose to write about mental illness and sadism as rather bold (I applaud you for that because some writers are awfully squeamish about things like this), it's refreshing to see something so raw dominating the archives.

I am not sure how you were able to get inside of Bellatrix's head so well but I was completely engrossed in all of her actions. The first scene is so graphic, bloody and horrifying but you wrote it so smoothly (And without any pretense) that I was hanging onto every word. I loved the descriptions that you gave to Bella's actions too, the "fire" that raged in her body while she tortured her victims. The joy that she got out of their suffering leans towards sadism/psychopathic tendencies and I'm amazed that you managed to write it without flinching.

I actually loved that scene the most, I thought her attraction to Voldemort fit in well with what we already knew. There was so much devotion and even lust there that I got chills but once Voldemort showed up, I was unsure where this was going. I'll admit that I'm very immature and when I read the word "Naked" I giggled.

Ignore me.

Anyway, I thought that the transition from Voldemort to her father was brilliant. I'd always wanted to see more from Bella's interactions with her family and while I think that she fears her father, I got the feeling that her pride was the most important thing. A prideful fool is a horrible thing, apparently but I loved the grittiness of it and the fact that she's thrust back into reality by Sirius's goading.

Two family members with completely different views on "pure" magic. That was a great parallel, actually and that ending...man, it had such an ominous ring to it and I wanted to leap into the story and stomp on that flame. Hahahaha.

Anyway, I know that some people would be put off from the graphic nature of this and the violence but I thought it was amazing. I would love to read more mature stories like this on the archives and while I've touched on some issues (Strippers, sexuality and depression) I have yet to even attempt something this gritty.

So, wonderful job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gabriella HunterThe Wrinkles of the Road: Rose. --- A Weasley Family Saturday.

26th May 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and because I don't think we've been properly introduced, it's lovely to meet you! :D

So, I don't read much Scorpius/Rose even though there are a thousand stories on the archives. I could never get into this pairing much but I like what you've done with the characters here, they don't seem to be forced onto each other simply because of the "Bad Boy"/"Good Girl" angle that I've seen.

Now, I like that maturity that you've given Rose and the fact that you started this chapter with family and ended it discussing family. That's actually something that I found very well-done, I'm not sure if anyone else caught the parallels between the beginning and end.

Rose loves her family and it's made clear in the first few paragraphs. We get a lot of detailed information about her and I feel like I know her pretty well and enjoyed the discussion she had with Albus too. The cousins that you introduced so far all have distinct personalities and I really like that you've done that--usually in a story, they're just a sea of faces but I feel like I would know them well after continuing with this story. Anyway, I thought that the idea for the DCB was a neat addition to this story, Rose isn't written like this often.

I also love Healer James! :D

I do think it's a bit dangerous but I think that might be resolved somewhere down the line. Now, I know that you wanted more input on Scorpius and Rose's relationship and I have to say that that I like them as a couple but I sense a bit of distance between them. I'm not sure if it's intentional, since they haven't gotten past some issues but I think that they work together.

I'm worried about Scorpius's insistence on Rose meeting his grandparents though. I can understand both of their POV's but I wonder if he's having second thoughts? There was some hesitation in his behavior that I picked up on but that might have been done on purpose. I'm curious to see what happens with these two, I wonder if they'll be able to stay together if things start to go wrong.

Anyway, I liked this! I didn't spot any CC's that should worry you so don't worry about that. Feel free to re-request!

Much Love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella HunterAtonement Is Coming: A Surprise Announcement

26th May 2015:
HELLO!

I'm back! I bet you're getting really tired of seeing me show up, eh? Well, too bad! Hehehe.

I thought that I'd continue reading this story since I loved the first chapter so much (You have free reign to try That Night if you wish but anything that captures your interest is fine) and I really enjoyed this. The fact that you have brought a little happiness and joy into this story oddly made what happened previously more ominous and threatening.

I know that danger is on the horizon and yet, I feel like this small moment of peace will be the first and last for a while. I did like seeing Harry and the gang once again, I liked the choice of home that you gave Ginny and Harry too. You usually see them all hoarding in Godric's Hollow but this is really different and gives him the solitude that he deserves.

I also liked that you included some small hints of trauma. That's not something we see very often, Hermione's nightmares are a good example of things not just being swept under the rug. I wrote about PTSD a little in one of my stories (This is Angelina, I think) and it's good to see that brought back up again. After everything that they've seen, it had to be tough going back to their lives.

With the addition of James in Harry's life, he can finally start moving his family towards a better future but remembering the dead during their dinner added a touch of sadness. I thought it was really well-written though and I think you handled his brief moment of depression well.

Can't wait to read more!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella HunterOh My Darling: 1

25th May 2015:
Hello!

I'm back! I thought that I would pop on over here and give your new story some love. I still need to catch up on The Fourth Daughter and A Spoonful of Sugar too but you'll be getting reviews on those later in the week. My review thread isn't very full so expect more than one! :D

Clem seems like a different sort of girl for you and I like her! I haven't read a story about a bookish type girl in a while and she seems slightly introverted too. It's refreshing to see that she's interested in her studies and not salivating over boys but I have a feeling that certain things are going to be out of her control, especially with that ending. Hehehe.

I like that you didn't put too much detail in this first chapter though, you can slowly build up your world without crushing us with information. We're pretty sure who Clem is by this point, though I think she prove to be pretty fascinating later on. I liked Elizabeth and the contrast she gave to Clem too, I'd like to know more about their friendship in the future and see how it holds up when trouble starts. ;)

You shouldn't stare at people you know, unless you want Albus Potter's attention. Heheheh.

I'll be back!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella HunterAtonement Is Coming: A Shadowy Threat

25th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie and you should be used to seeing my name around after all the swapping we've done this past week. Hahaha.

I thought that I would attack something a little different for this last swap though and I'm glad that I found this story. I should have checked out your entire author page more clearly because I'm sure that I would have read this sooner. Forgive me! ;___;

Anyway, I find this to be a really unique story, I'm really curious to find out more about what new threat you're building up to. Are they going to be similar to Death Eaters? Why are they attacking and threatening pureblood families? This is a good angle to actually write about because I'm sure that once the War was over, pureblood animosity was high. We don't really hear much about their side of the story so I thought this was a great way to start this story off.

I've read a few stories that have this kind of feel but they're very mysterious. Instead of lingering over the effects of the War, you leap right into the conspiracy and danger, which is a nice change. I'm very curious about this cast of bad guys you've introduced! Penelope Clearwater? Michael Corner? Roger Davies?

I don't think anyone would suspect them at all, which is actually the perfect cover for their plans. I'm not sure what they might be but it's clear that it's been planned for quite some time and the Ministry is no longer safe. I loved how quickly this went and I'm hoping that you'll drop my review thread so I can gush over it more!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella HunterThe Lost Wolf: A Reminder

25th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and its been a LONG time! I was wondering how you were doing and now I see that you've been updating this story like crazy! I have a lot to catch up on but I never forgot this story and was meaning to start back up but never had the time.

Anyway, it's good to be back with Cassie again, I was worried about her after that last chapter. I like that she's so in tune with the world around her, fascinated by the simple things and it makes me a little sad. There was a lot of her life that was taken from her and pushed down while she lived with the colonel and I hope that she'll be able to reconnect with it.

Also, your font is so tiny, it was a little hard to read! ;__;

The mysterious dog that Cassie rescues turns out to be Sirius and I was wondering when those two would meet up. I figured that their paths would cross again at some point but Cassie doesn't know who he is or what he used to be. I'm curious to see how that develops and what might happen next, Sirius has answers that she might need. Memories of her father and their friendship would help her along.

I liked the added flashbacks that you included, we get a deeper sense of Sirius and Remus's relationship with Cassie. It's still shrouded in mystery but I really enjoyed being reconnected to the three of them. That explosive argument between the friends was heart wrenching and I'm really eager to see where you go from here!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella HunterRoxanne and Dominique Weasley and the Chamber of Secrets: The Chamber of Secrets

24th May 2015:
Hello!

Dun, dun, dun! This is Gabbie from the forums with our swap, it's nice to be back reading your stories again! I hope to see you popping up in my review thread again soon!

Anyway, there aren't that many stories that feature Roxanne as a main character. I thought that it was a good change, she's usually side-lined in some of the stories that I read and you never get much personality from her. That certainly isn't the case here though, Roxie is funny, brave and just as naughty as her father and I thought that rounded her out very well. I thought it was a good change to actually make her the older sibling too, usually Fred is the eldest and we're usually not introduced to Roxie until much later, if at all.

I never see Roxie paired with Dom very much either (I liked the differences you gave between them, Victoire and the others) and I loved the dynamic between them, they're very bad, getting their uncles drunk like that! Hahahaha. They'd been plotting this for a while and it was clear that they weren't going to take no for an answer when it came to getting that venom.

Sneaking into the Chamber of Secrets was bold and dangerous! They're lucky that they didn't get into deeper trouble but I have a feeling that these two are used to it. Hahaha. I thought that they were pretty brave to actually take the younger children with them to the chamber though and I loved all of their personalities.

Each of them felt distinct and matched their ages well. You didn't have some of them acting far above themselves (Like a thirteen year old Albus acting like a forty year old) and I enjoyed their antics, they're an awfully cute bunch.

My only CC would be that you don't have to use the numbers for their ages. You can simply write it out normally, it sort of disrupts the flow of the story otherwise but that's just a nosy little thing. Otherwise, I enjoyed it very much!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Thanks for stopping by! I wrote this story quite a while ago, so it's a pleasant surprise to still get a review on it!

I also think there aren't enough stories where Roxanne (and Fred and Dominique and Louis and Lucy and Molly, but I digress) is the main character. I mean, the girl who's George and Angelina's daughter must be quite remarkable! I made her older than Fred too because I thought it would be fun to have a pair of female pranksters in the Weasley family for the younger kids to look up to (even though I'm sure most of their parents would discourage that hero worship, haha). All the infamous pranksters we hear about the canon are male, so I wanted to switch that up.

And the Chamber of Secrets isn't something I hear much about in Next Gen either. But I figured that most kids in that generation would know about these things because even if their parents didn't tell them, I'm sure there'd be some kind of revised Hogwarts: A History or retrospective on the life of Lord Voldemort. At the very least, they'd learn about it in History of Magic, I think. And I'm sure knowing about a secret chamber under the school that housed a basilisk skeleton would excite more than a few eager kids.

As for the other cousins, I'm glad you thought I did them well. I try really hard in my stories to make characters act appropriately for their ages. I don't like the idea of 11 and 12-year-olds acting super mature and such because I don't find it realistic. I mean, what else would 13-year-old boys do when confronted by a giant dead snake than dare each other to touch it?

I'll also be fixing the numbers thing right away! I've written out numbers in all my stories since, but this is sort of an oldie for me, so I haven't fixed it yet. Thanks for pointing it out!

Love,
-Stefi


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella HunterBaby Blanket: Confusion

24th May 2015:
HELLO!

I'm here for our swap and it's good to be back trading stories. How have we never done this before? Shame on us both!

So, I may have just collapsed into a puddle of feels after reading this. I'm not sure what touched me the most because the entire thing is lovely but I really enjoyed that you wrote this from Alice's POV. That's not something that we normally see on the archives and while most of the stories I've read featuring her are quite sad, this actually left me feeling happy. It's clear that she doesn't understand much about the world she's in anymore, she's in a dream-like state that's transported her somewhere else entirely. I like the way that you wrote her illness, it was less heartbreaking but genuine enough to make me nearly cry.

Neville and his family coming to see her for mother's day was nearly too much for me. I'm a complete wuss and by the time Alice napped with the baby (Loved her thoughts about the baby too, very well-done) I was sniffling. I had to clutch my heart towards the ending too, it was a powerful moment for all of them. I wish that Frank would have been able to enjoy this as well but the fact that Alice remembers her son after years and years is enough to give me some hope as well.

Beautifully written and engaging, I have no CC's to offer. :D

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella HunterThe Fourth Daughter: The Moment of Peace

24th May 2015:
Hello!

BOO! Its been a long time since I've dropped by with a review for your story and it feels like a crime. You've left me countless reviews for mine and I have a long way to go before I can catch up!

You left me with a cliffhanger in the last chapter and I'm really glad to see that we're jumping right into the middle of it now. I was really nervous for Dezzy but my heart kind of burst out of my chest when Godric revealed that he loved her too! Ah! I wasn't expecting it and I have no idea what might happen to them after this! This scene was wonderfully written and I'm really happy for them but I'm worried about what her father will think if he finds out. Will he have Godric banished? Killed? What about the competition? What if Dezzy ends up married to some awful jerk? I hope you won't let that happen!

I thought the most touching thing about this chapter was the end. We know so much about Dezzy and her sisters but this last moment between herself and Addie was just beyond sweet. It's strange for siblings to see that they might branch away from one another and I was really touched by how worried Addie was of that. The distance would probably hurt her and it reminded me of Astoria and Emily for a moment. The worst thing is having your family taken away but I think that they'll stay strong, they'll have to with what their father has decreed.

I'll be back for more!

On my end, Abandon misses you and I have a new story up called "A Wedding". There's also a one-shot called Charlotte up there as well and plenty of other things to read! Hope to see you soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella HunterThe unusual tale of Shirley the Squib and Brian the Boggart: The unusual tale of Shirley the Squib and Brian the Boggart

24th May 2015:
HellO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and thanks for the swap! I have never read anything like this before and it was a unique way of looking at boggarts. It was probably the cutest thing that I've read all day to be honest, I had never given boggarts much thoughts but this was really heartfelt and sweet. I like that you switch POVs from the characters in this story too, we get to understand that Brian is not like his family while Shirley is an outcast in her own. It makes their connection and friendship all the sweeter by the time that they meet and I thought that I giggled too much. This reminded me of short stories that I read as a kid and I liked the whimsical feel to this, though I would like to know what happened to them. I hope that they DID travel the world and spend time in a circus, how fun would that be? Hahahah.

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello Gabbie!
Oh, I'm really happy to see you here! Thanks to you!

I'm just so happy that you enjoyed reading this and that you found this cute and original! I really don't know what got into me when I wrote this, and I was so scared when I posted it, but it seems it's been received very well, and I'm just glad! :)

I'm glad you liked the way I portrayed the Boggarts, and the switch in POVs between Brian and Shirley. Yes, they do have a lot in common!

Thank you so much, I'm just so happy that I managed to give this the right tone. And that I had you giggle! It's just so great to hear! :)

Well, the good part of it is that you can imagine whichever ending you like! Oh, yes, I'm sure that would be a lot of fun!

Thanks for the swap and much, much love!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella HunterYear Five: Torture

24th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review, I've really missed you and junk. It's been ages since the last time I left a review for this story but here I am!

I think that it's strange that so much time has passed and I can remember nearly everything about our gang. I didn't have to skim any of the previous chapters to get a grasp of what had happened because it had lingered in the back of my mind all this time. How weird is that? Of course, this is one of my favorite stories on the archive so I may be biased and I did check up on it when I had the time. I couldn't leave any reviews though until now so this is just going to be an awesome day for both of us!

I'm getting really worried about Isobel. I think that she's beginning to spiral even more out of control with her eating disorder, a subject that I think you've handled splendidly well. This is an issue that I don't think a lot of people would be willing to write about but I like that you've made this a very real problem. I think that Isobel's POV is one of my favorites, though I feel like her resentment towards Tristan is somewhat justified (Even though Emily had been with quite a few boys, which was a point that I was glad she realized) I feel like it's stemming from how she feels about herself as well. I'm curious to know what happens later on though and when she'll get some help for her disorder, surely everyone has noticed by now.

Now, I am always fascinated by Tristan and I am really curious to know about his past. Isobel noticed his reaction to the Cruciatus curse and later even mocks him for it a little but I know that there's a deeper story behind that. You've already hinted at that more than once in the previous chapters and I'll keep my eyes wide open for the answer.

I'm wondering how the Tristan/Emily/Laurel triangle will conclude as well. I have a feeling it's going to get nasty...

Now, I like that you've included that Isobel is a good student. She's not just seeking information for the sake of it, she actually enjoys what she's doing. Looking for different angles and other solutions shows that she's far more dedicated to her schoolwork than people would readily believe.

The ending to this chapter was a little ominous and I'm really eager to hop onto the next chapter so I hope you re-request soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie! I have missed you so! Disclaimer: your review is making me flail with joy so I might get rambly and incoherent. I'LL TRY'N STAY COGENT.

It's like, amazingly flattering and SQUEE inducing that you were able to jump right back into this story! That has absolutely made my day :)

I seriously went back and forth SO much about whether or not to write about eating disorders--it hadn't been planned, and just sort of started HAPPENING in the first Isobel chapter (C2). But, it IS a woefully common struggle for teenagers, and I felt like it was something that had to be included. I've known a lot of people who've survived anorexia nervosa, so I worked really hard to portray it as sensitively and accurately as possible (and NEVER glamorize it). As far as the others' perspectives, I can recall that when I was a teenager, it often took people a REALLY long time to figure out that a friend was sick even when it really should have been obvious. It seems almost absurd looking back at how much people just let slip. So yeah, Isobel's friends' slowness to react and general ineptitude at dealing with it is something that is, unfortunately, kinda realistic :(

I'm so glad that Tristan is properly compelling, and also that Isobel's frustration seems justified. I wanted her perspective to seem legitimate, but still not necessarily /convince/ readers to turn on him. Like, I wanted people to feel like they saw both sides, or at least sympathize with where everyone is coming from. Because yeah, Tristan wasn't actually going out with Emily, and she dated loads of boys the previous year. But he's also being a butthead. Everyone's just really messed up and not making the best decisions--that's mostly what's going on.

Hah, I'm just such a huge nerd and had a ton of fun theorizing about magic and their schoolwork and SUPER enjoyed throwing all that stuff in :D

You are such a STAR reviewer Gabbie, thank you so so much for making my day with this wonderful review!

xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella HunterHermione Granger: Prologue: Harry Needed Her

24th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm so sorry that it took me a minute to get back to you. I was sick yesterday and my birthday was going on around me while I was kind of in a stupor. Hahaha. Here I am, though!

I was kind of disappointed that this didn't go on forever. I was really interested in Ron's POV and I enjoyed being in his head, which is something that I didn't think that I would ever say. I know that a lot of people have doubts about Ron's relationship with Hermione but in this one-shot you could see that he loves her very much. I thought that his need to protect her and to give her happiness was wonderfully written and spoke of a devotion that we really don't get to see often. I would have been able to read more about that all day! I would have liked a bit more from Hermione in that scene but the second half of the chapter was beautiful all on its own.

Hermione is a strong character and not the easiest to write for but you captured her perfectly. Even though she's in a lot of pain and can hardly move without remembering what Bellatrix did to her, she's trying to force herself to get better. Harry needs her and she wants things to be over with, she knows what she needs to do. I think that putting this kind of pressure on herself speaks of how much in control of her life she likes to be--her loyalty is also very striking here.

I didn't spot any crazy grammar things and I hope that you send me another request again soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

No apologies! Thanks so much for offering reviews! And thanks for your kind words on this story!

Happy Birthday! And gosh - I hope you feel better soon!

I'm a big Ron/Hermione shipper. And I think the he really, REALLY loves her - even if he wasn't the best at showing it. I'm also of a mind that he got better with that over time ;)

Hermione's loyalty and courage play a big part in this story - I'm glad you picked up on it!

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gabriella HunterBroken Memories: The Velvet Box

24th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm really pleased to meet you and all that junk. Also, it's great to meet another person who writes Georgelina! I feel like you can hardly see them on the archives and there's so much dislike for this pairing.

Now, I've written George/Angelina as well and have two stories up with this pairing but I really like how different yours is. I have never written Fred/Angelina as a romantic couple but I like the element of that in this story, you can tell through the flashbacks and present that their love was very strong. I think that this was a very powerful opening chapter for this story, the sadness and heartbreak is there but there's a hint of something more as well. George was desperately trying to hold on to what could make things right again (By opening the shop again) but he admits that there's no reason to be happy now that Fred is gone. I thought it was heartbreaking and I liked the moments that you included between George/Angelina. They're close friends that are sadly bound together by someone that they'll never see again. I think that you wrote that beautifully and I'm curious to see how your characters evolve later on.

What I found funny about this though was that our Angelina's are quite similar. Although, my Angie doesn't spend much time with George after Fred's funeral, her strength is so powerful. I really love that about how you've written her, she's broken up but she's trying to move forward.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this! I didn't spot too many errors but anything that you spot could just be cleaned up without a fuss.

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie!

Ugh, how horrible is it that this is the first time I'm hearing the ship name "Georgelina"? Just goes to show how unpopular of a ship they are! Truly tragic.

I had to make Fred and Angelina happen in my story because I loved them from the moment he asked her to the Yule Ball. I thought the way he asked her out was so cute and very reminiscent to the way a past boyfriend of mine did it, so I appreciated that. I don't know, I have a soft spot in my heart for these very casual, spontaneous moments. I think it's more romantic when it's all stripped down.

As for George and Angelina, it's a little bit of a challenge to make their relationship seem organic after she was almost engaged to his dead twin. I'm really struggling to make it very certain that George is no consolation prize for her. And for George, I'm really trying to make it seem like he doesn't just keep her around because she reminds him of Fred. They really were close friends before, so it's natural that this tragedy would bring them closer.

And I'll have to check out your George/Angelina fic as well! So great to meet someone who loves them too!

Much love,
-Stefi



 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella HunterFenrir: Fenrir

24th May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm really sorry that it took me a minute to get to this. I've been sick and then it was my birthday yesterday so I didn't have the time to get my reviews done. There was so much cake...

Anyway, I have never read an origin story for Greyback quite like this. I love the POV that you chose for this story and the progression you gave from the man he was to the beast he always wanted to be. I thought that it was really well-done and I've always been crazy about werewolves, you didn't shy away from the blood and evil of it either, which I really appreciate. I think that the brief life that he lived for a time was a little sad, because you knew that it wouldn't last for long and his attempts to stay away from humanity were kind of heartbreaking. There was some semblance of empathy in him then but by the time he had his first kill and beyond, he was gone forever. By the time the Dark Lord returns, he had actually started a new life for himself but the beast was always there underneath. Now, someone else may have written this differently and made it seem as if he was truly repentant of what he did but you didn't go that route. I love that you didn't, actually because it shows what kind of monster he was all along.

Anyway, I really enjoyed this and thank you so much for the read! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello Gabbie! Thank you for taking the time to review this.

I'm glad you liked the blood and darkness of his time as a werewolf. I figured that if anybody enjoyed that and the loss of humanity it would be Greyback (you'd have to to purposefully attack children). When I was trying to figure out what he would be doing in the gap years during Harry's childhood, this seemed like the truest to his character and it is nice to hear that you think along the same lines.

Thank you so much for the review! =)


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabriella HunterA Piece of Heaven: A Piece of Heaven

22nd May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with our swap! I am happy to be here and everything. This was a different read for me, I hardly ever read/write fluff but this was such a nice change!

I really like the way that you wrote the relationships in this one-shot. They feel very authentic and real, you span various topics in this one-shot and I thought you handled it really well. There are so many questions that I would have for a gay couple raising a child in the Wizarding world and I think that you wrote about the issues well. It sounds like something that I have seen and the relationships between Scorpious, Albus and their families was well-written. Not all of them are perfect but no family is and I was touched by how much Albus really loved his family, his daughter and what might happen in the future.

This left me feeling very warm and fuzzy.

Thanks for the swap!

Gabbie

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing, and thanks for swapping with me! It's a great thing with these review swaps that we get to read things we normally would have missed, isn't it?

I'm glad you liked this, and my/Albus's ramblings about his family. I never would have thought just a few moths back that I would write about Harry having grandchildren... :D

Molly


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella HunterAn Inconvenient Repercussion: Chapter 1

21st May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with our swap and it's good to be chatting with you again! I hope to do this a lot more often in the future. Haha.

My goodness. I think that I might be in love with your portrayal of Blaise. I've never read anything like this in my life and while I've made mention of his mother's absence in his life in one of my stories (A Force of Wills) I never quite go into this much detail. This was a heartbreaking read but I feel a strange sense of...peace? I'm not sure what to call it. I know a lot of people who have dealt with neglectful parents and it's a painful thing to see and experience. I think that you showed Blaise's progression as a young boy to a man very well, his thoughts on his mother shifting as he grew and curdling into bitterness. That was a powerful thing to show, as I'm sure not many people would be willing to write about abuse like this.

I had never given Mrs. Zabini much thought outside of my own work, where she's quite horrid but this just portrays her so realistically. There are a lot of parents out there like this and far too many of them abuse their children in order to gain a sense of control. I liked that Blaise was able to find comfort with the Malfoy's, though it could never quite fill in the void that his mother created.

That ending...man, I was not expecting that at all. I have to say that it threw me for a minute and reminded me of how dangerous pain can be, not to mention love. I was sad for Blaise and it hurt to realize that he murdered his mother but the fact that it took so long...well, that's an entirely different discussion altogether. I could go on but I don't want to keep you!

Thanks for the wonderful swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #18, by Gabriella HunterVictoire: The Guard

21st May 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's been far too long since we've talked or swapped stories! Where on earth have you been for Transparent?! I miss you! ;__;

Anyway, I think this was a really different story for you and I'm very impressed. It's darker than some of the other things that I've read from you in the past and I think it suits you! I get a murder-mystery vibe from this first chapter and I'm very intrigued about what might happen later on in this story. I think that you're taking some great measures to keep the audience interested and wanting more. I liked the beginning with Cormac, I got enough backstory about his character and the world that they were living in right now. He must find it hard to be working under Harry and Ron but he seems awfully ambitious and I wasn't sure what was going to happen to him by the end. I was really worried when he went to check on Greyback and Lucius's behavior has me concerned now too. What on earth is going on? What killed Greyback? I'm really curious! I thought this entire section was written very well, it was smooth and descriptive but had a lot of depth.

Now, I have read plenty of stories about Victoire and I really like the way you have her portrayed here. She's an understanding sister and she seems more relatable than some of the other stories that I've read. She's awful in mine but I would actually hang out with this version of Victoire no problem! I thought that her relationship with Teddy was well-written here too. You understand their history together and the little snippets we get about Victoire's home life was perfectly meshed in with their shock over Greyback's death.

I honestly really enjoyed this first chapter and I couldn't spot any mistakes. I think that you're doing a good job and I'll be happy to read future chapters!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella HunterWildest Dreams: fireworks

21st May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's nice to meet you and everything! Let's get this review rolling!

I think that you have a good start with this story going. I was able to really like Arizona from the start, she's pretty hilarious and her character was well-rounded. I like the flow of her thoughts and the quirkiness of it, she doesn't seem like a lot of the other girls that I've read on the archives and it's refreshing to read. I honestly never even gave much thought to people working at Hogsmeade during Hogwarts but this actually was a bright idea! I can only imagine how stressful it is and I thought it showed a lot about her character. The fact that she's willing to work AND study AND dream all at once makes her a neat character. I'm interested to see how future chapters play out!

I liked the introduction to her friends (Shay is a friend, right? Hhahaaha.) and the brief descriptions of her home life. I'm sure we'll learn more about that later on but I'm curious to know more about her mother and why she felt the need to put her in corsets for beauty pageants. Is there more to it than what I'm thinking? Do they have a bad relationship? Hmm...

I'd like to know more about James though! I didn't get much from him aside that he's really good looking and play Quidditch, though I do like his snarky attitude. It balances out Arizona well and I'd really like to see how they clash later on in the future. Hahahaha.

I thought this was a good start and aside from some minor grammar things, it flowed well and your characters are fantastic. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: hiii, gabbie!
thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review! I'm so glad you like Arizona, and the other characters as well. And yesss, shay is a friend aha.
Thank you again! xx


 Report Review

Review #20, by Gabriella HunterIsabella: Thirteen Candles

21st May 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and you're my second official review! It's really good to be back!

I think that this is a really unique way to begin a story, I've never read anything like it until now. I really enjoyed the way you described her surroundings, it painted a bigger picture of her world and felt very authentic. I could see it clearly in my mind and even smell the earthiness around her, which is great! You don't get many stories like that and it's good to see it in an opening chapter like this.

I also do REALLY love the aspects of her culture that you've gotten into this chapter. You're not quite sure where she is when you first start reading but after a while, her world and heritage broaden out enough for you to get a clearer understanding. It's so refreshing to have a little diversity in the fanfic world and I have to say that you wrote it well! Now, everyone knows that turning thirteen is no easy thing for a teen but why is it bad luck in her family? Is it merely teasing? Is it true? Are they cursed? I'm really curious to find out because that ending had my jaw dropping a little bit. Who is this old woman and what could she possibly want?!

As for your concerns, I think that this has a nice flow and is interesting enough to keep me reading. I think some people might want a little more from it, since it is an introductory piece (More dialogue and characters) but I like that you didn't dish everything out here. We still have plenty of time to get to know your main character and I'm looking forward to seeing what you do next.

Great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #21, by Gabriella HunterAgony: Agony

19th May 2015:
Hello!

It's Gabbie from the forums and my long-dead review thread here with your review! I owed this to you for ages and now I'm here after months and months! Forgive me!

I've read quite a few Dramione and it's never been my favorite pairing but I do secretly love stories like this. I enjoy seeing Hermione put into situations where she's not in control and it makes really great character development. I never expected to see her in this setting and I think that I must have fainted a little when I read about her history with Draco. Le gasp! What an interesting little twist! I'm also really into paranormal stuff so I loved that this included vampires! I think that there were some good elements to that and Draco's transformation--it's sad that he was changed against his will. I also liked the details you gave about his condition and what the Ministry was trying to do for them but I don't think it'll work out quite so clean.

Also, Hermione let him bite her! Didn't expect that at ALL!

Naughty, girl... :3

There's so much lost love between them that it was so hard to read the ending especially but I really love what you did there. You gave a hint of what they had and still have but you didn't let it drag on forever, leaving me wanting more. I am stunned that they have a daughter together though and I'm curious about how that will play out later. I'm sure that Draco will want to see his child and I don't know how Ron is going to react to that or if he even knows about their past relationship. Oh, the drama that will unfold!!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie,

Thanks so much for reviewing. Don't worry about it being late. I'm so far behind on my review thread that it's not even funny. I probably owe you one for all I know.

I'm glad you like the story. It's only a one-shot, but it does have a lot of potential to be turned into a novel. I'll have to see what I can do with it. Thanks for reviewing.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella Hunterfelt: Prologue

7th May 2015:
Hello!

I thought that I'd surprise you by leaving this review and here I am! I hope that this isn't coming too late but I'm glad that we're able to get this swap finished up! I really hope we'll see each other around the forums soon.

I really liked the way this was written, it was very smooth and easy to follow. The time jumps and the characters weren't difficult to understand and I think that you showed the nastiness of the pureblood elite very well. It's interesting to see the ancestors of your main characters in this prologue, I wonder if their behavior will seep into Hermione and Draco? I think that would be an interesting parallel. I am really interested and horrified by this law and I hope we discover more about it! I am REALLY keen on knowing how Hermione manages this! It's amazing to find a woman so brilliant speechless and I'm sure that the next few chapters of this story will be very well-done!

I would gush about this more but I've got to run, I hope you let me know when the next chapter is up!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #23, by Gabriella HunterThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Exclamations of Merlinís Extensive Collection of Lingerie

11th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I was wondering what was going to happen with Annett and this chapter didn't disappoint me at all.

Now, I have to say that I am a fan of lingerie. I make Albus Potter in my story (Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince) actually turn everything into panties. Sexy panties. So, needless to say, I was roaring with laughter while Annett was cursing in her mind. I was terrified for her but also cracking up at the same time which is a good thing? I'm not quite sure. Hahahaha.

Anyhoo, Annett's clever mind saved her from being acromantula dinner. I liked that you described them in a way that made them seem very frightening but also eerily smart. They figured that she wasn't a Hogwarts student based off of her clothes (This means that they had thought of eating the students more than once)and even had discussions about whether or not they SHOULD eat her. I found that horrifying. Hahaha.

Now, Annett's clever mind got her out of another quick jam. I always like the bit of science and magic that you incorporate into this story and I was so relieved when she finally got away. I was kind of worried for a moment or two when she was cornered by Albus saved the day. Thank Goodness.

I thought that while she was being bathed in the tub that she would revert back to her human form , to be honest. I thought it would have been hilarious but thankfully for Albus that didn't happen but Annett is feeling attracted to him in a way that worries her. I liked this little tidbit and I'm wondering what will happen with their relationship afterwards. Al doesn't know that she's Fufu (I died laughing at this, he should never name anything.) but I wonder when he'll find out?

I'm really eager for the next chapter too and I hope that she'll be able to save her centaur friend. Don't keep me waiting! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Thank you so much! I am relieved to hear that.

Everything into panties? Bahaha, Gabbie! Oh goodness gracious! It's now on my reading list, actually. I've gone over to your account and taken a peek. ;)

Ha! It is definitely a good thing. I did intend to both terrify and cause laughter! It pleases me to hear that.

Ah, yes. I figured Acromantulas must have a higher thinking capacity as opposed to regular arthropods. I am a huge fan of intelligent, non-human organisms. I am delighted to hear that you like that bit. Horrifying and hilarious are the two things I aimed for with this chapter. :D Thank you!!

Well that really depends on how you look at it, I suppose. Haha! She was already safe from the Acromantulas before he swooped it, but he saved her a lot of trouble by flying her to the castle and healing her, didn't he?

That is an interesting thought and what a scene that would make! But I had to have my fun with Fufu. I really had to. I couldn't resist. No, Al should not name anything. He inherited his naming abilities (or lack of them) from his mother.

Now that's a good question. When? I'll have to keep re-requesting. ;)

Gabbie! Thank you, thank you, thank you! You leave such wonderfully encouraging reviews.

Reciprocated love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #24, by Gabriella HunterDarkened Allure: Fascination

11th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm almost certain that we've never spoken before. It's nice to meet you and thanks so much for the awesome read!

I don't come across a lot of Hermione/Blaise stories and so I was really curious. I ship Astoria Greengrass/Blaise Zabini in one of my stories so this was a refreshing take on a character that I simply love. I was a little miffed to see how short it was though, I thought that it was going to continue on for a minute. Hahaha.

Anyway, what I liked about this is that it set up Hermione's character very well. Spending a night in the library isn't an unusual thing for her but the obvious enjoyment she gets to be alone with her thoughts just made her all the more realistic to me. I'm sure that being around Ron and Harry all the time can get a bit draining but there was some sweet, girlish energy about the way you wrote Hermione that I really loved.

Now, Blaise scared the crap out of me, I'm not even going to lie. Herminoe being alone in the library like that couldn't have been the perfect way to announce himself but just sneaking out of he shadows like that spooked me. I wasn't sure what his motives were but I was stunned by the way he reacted to her. Blaise is mysterious and oddly polite, I really liked that you didn't have him being rude to her at all during this encounter.

The attraction was obviously there and Hermione's reaction to him was very interesting. She was a little confused and scared but felt something during their conversation that I noticed right off the bat. It's obvious that it's not one-sided, at least for right now.

The last line of this chapter was very beautiful, it was filled with a lot of longing and I thought it was a great way to end it. :D

The only CCs that I can point out is the very beginning with Hermione trailing her hands over the books. You don't have to keep mentioning books in every sentence, it sort of disrupts the flow a bit but otherwise, you're fine.

In regards to your concern in your request, I do think that Blaise may have come across as a little TOO intense. I can understand his fascination with her but I think that him reaching out to touch her that way and invading her personal space without much of a reaction from Hermione could have been done a bit better.

Hermione could have asked, "What are you doing?" and it would have flowed a lot better and felt more realistic.

But that's just a little thing, I really enjoyed reading this! :D

Thanks a lot!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #25, by Gabriella HunterChicks Before Broomsticks: Bad Press

8th October 2014:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and it's good to be back! I really should do a quick edit on my review thread though about Slash stories because it makes it sound like I'm not interested in reading them. I'm just not a big fan but I do enjoy the genre...I should have thought that out a bit more before I'd posted it.

So, anyway don't be a little anxious to request from me a Slash story. I'll totally be all right with reading it!

Okay, with that out of the way, I'm glad to be back with Hollie and the group. I wasn't sure what was going to happen after that emotional first chapter but I was glad that Hollie was able to talk to someone about how she was feeling. I suppose she gets drunk quite often and cries a lot because Alec was being really hilarious about it. I have no idea why I want to know more about those past moments though...hahahahaha.

I really loved the way you wrote Hollie's turmoil in this chapter though. There's nothing more painful than watching someone you love being with another person, it's even worse when you're not able to express that love. I think that you had a good balance here though and I was really sympathetic, I can totally understand how that hurts. Hollie held on pretty well though and I'm glad that she was able to open up to Alec a bit and felt a tad better afterwards.

What I wasn't expecting was that Daily Prophet article. Like...what?! It completely shocked me and I am not even certain how I should take it...the Daily Prophet of course is completely rubbish for the way they wrote the article and Avery just makes me want to punch him. He was drunk in front of a bunch of kids? AND he had to hurt Roxanne in the process? Awful!

Hollie was conflicted here about what she should do and I was a little upset that she didn't get a word to Roxanne. I know that it made sense though since they weren't that close but seeing Roxanne so down and knowing how nice of a person she is, was just really upsetting to read. I hope that things resolve in the next chapter though but the team is in a lot of trouble, what's going to happen to them after this, I wonder? Hm.

Once again, though you made Quidditch sound very authentic and I really enjoyed it. The rules of sportsmanship are hard and the life isn't all that it's cracked up to be!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie!

I'll keep that in mind! Thanks for letting me know!

haha! You're the second one that asked about the 'Portree Incident' now.. maybe I will have to have it get brought up in the future.. Alec would be like that and use it as blackmail against her.

Oh, that is good to hear! I definitely wanted her feelings to be realistic, so I'm glad that you got the picture that I was hoping for!

haha.. Well then it certianly did it's job! It was definitely meant to be terrible, published homophobia that the Prophet gets away with because, well it's the Prophet. I want to punch him too. A lot. haha. They definitely took the biggest part of the news and went with that instead of focusing on what really happened!

Well.. as far as things getting resolved in the next chapter.. heh. I will have to stalk your review thread so you can see for yourself! She's definitely conflicted. She's not at the friendship position that Livvy or Nora is at, so she sort of is left out with just her feelings.

Ah, I'm glad you liked the Quidditch! I'm working on chapter four, and there actually ISN'T Quidditch in it. It feels so empty! haha.

Thank YOU so much for the wonderful review! (and sorry it took me a while to reply!)

Julie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>