Reading Reviews From Member: Gabriella Hunter
  
910 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella HunterLike Sunflowers: Like Sunflowers

11th February 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie here, stopping by to be all awesome and stuff and gush about your writing! There are a ton of things on your page that I need to get back into but I don't have a lot of time lately so I just decided to pop on over here.

This story has your characteristic sweetness and charm, I was really in love with it from the beginning. It's a shame that I won't be able to chat long but I really enjoyed the relationship that you made for Hannah and Neville. It was very sweet and genuine, I was able to really love them together and I really, really wish that I could chat longer but I've got to run. Thanks for the lovely read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella HunterFirewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots: Firewhiskey and Dragonbreath Shots

11th February 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! Argh, I've really missed you and I hope you will forgive me for being kind of absent lately.

So...yummy.

I am so upset that I never got a chance to participate fully in the Smut*Tastic Challenge because this is SO totally up my alley (No pun intended. Hehehe) but I am having a lot of fun reading these stories!

I honestly really love the fact that you've chosen to show a very different version of Lily here. We usually see her being so hot tempered but I like the idea of her being kind of out of her element, cranky and just plain miserable. It's very realistic and she seems like someone we've all been friends with at a certain time.

I think that you weaved in her background and the secondary characters so brilliantly. I can almost breathe this whole setting in and see exactly what she sees. I think that your version of Sirius and James were great too, they have the same prankster quality about them but there's maturity as well.

There's this wonderful banter between the three of them together and I really enjoyed Lily's conflicted feelings about James. The attraction is there and you can practically taste it but while she's drinking, getting a bit tipsy and craving him, James is doing the same. I wanted them to do something, of course but I love that you didn't rush into anything and this story has such a nice plot.

James nearly being beaten up of course is something that I think we've all read before but the way you've done it is brilliant. He's so witty and annoying but there's just something so endearing about him. He's so soft towards Lily and the fact that they talk about their mutual attraction for one another and deny that it would ever mean anything, just makes me love the eventual scene more.

As someone who reads smut on a daily basis and enjoys writing it from time to time, I have to say that this was beautiful. It wasn't overly descriptive or graphic but the way you brought them together, in the heat of the moment just really made me appreciate your writing. It's lovely, down to every last detail and you break down every sensation so well.

I read it twice and I am not ashamed to admit it. Haha.

*Ahem*

Now, this story doesn't exactly have a happy ending but there's this HOPE that things will get better or that they'll admit their feelings for one another. It left me anxious for more and I hope you pick up on this at some point because I'd love to know what happens to these really unique, passionate characters.

Thanks for the fantastic read! ;)

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gabriella HunterPitfalls for the Unwary : Run

2nd February 2016:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks for the swap! I haven't been on much lately on the forums so I don't think we know one another but it's great to meet you! :)

So, this is going to be a deliciously fresh AU? I love these sort of stories because they're so unique and this has got me really curious. I blew right through this first chapter and if I had the time to get my review thread back up, I would suggest posting in there so I could continue with this. I think your writing style is very detailed and your version of Hermione has some great new qualities to her.

She's aware of her own weaknesses and afraid for her life but she's SO strong and I really love that about her. Running from Snatchers in the first scene is a powerful way to start a story, it's filled with action and intrigue, I rarely set up a chapter this way so great job! I was following along with every little moment of this and totally biting my nails through the whole thing.

I cringed when Hermione was captured and sort of grimaced at Greyback and his crew. Gross, man. I'm terrified for Hermione and worried about the others but you've left this on a great cliffhanger and I can't wait to see what you've done next.

This chapter itself was really short though but I don't think it needs much else to it, if you were worried about that. A little more detail here and there would be nice but I wouldn't worry about it!

Thanks for the exciting read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella HunterFree: ég tala ekki íslensku

9th December 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I don't think we know one another so it's a pleasure to meet you! :) I'm always lurking around the forums so you may have seen me around.

I'm really intrigued by this story! It's got a really unique feel to it. I firstly never see stories that feature James as being a reporter even though I think it's an AMAZING idea. he would be brilliant at it, I don't know why I've never seen that before but I really love what you're doing with his character. He seems charming, funny and pretty nice. I'd like to know more about him as the story progresses but I'm not picky.

His relationship with Lily was great too, we didn't get to know more about their family life or anything like that but you've set this up nicely, there's a lot of information we can gather later. I'm really, really going to have to hug you though for adding some diversity in this!

Alia Sato is Japanese? I could be wrong of course but I am so thrilled to be seeing some diversity on the archives. I try my best to include as much as i can so it's nice to see other authors branching out too and when it comes to her, I'm super curious. Why is she out in Iceland? (Great setting, by the way. I've never seen a story based here) I'd love to know more about her, she and James already have a great banter going on. I feel like she might have her own secrets though but I'll wait and see about that. :)

The only CC that I can offer is just to look through and snag a few words that you repeated. "His eyebrows eyebrows" was one that I spotted but other than that, you're off to a nice start!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella HunterThe Lark and the Nightingale: Wherefore art thou, Remus?

9th December 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I just read your review for Albus and I am so sorry to say but it's just going to get more ridiculous from there. Hahaha.

I'm patiently waiting for another chapter to Jimmy Portman but decided that I would read up on this because I liked the previous chapters so much! :D

So, Chiara has finally begun to realize that she has feelings for Remus. I'm actually kind of stunned that it happened so quickly but on the other hand, I'm glad that she can understand her feelings for him so well. It goes to show you that good things are right in front of you sometimes, you know. Haha. What's interesting about this is that she isn't fighting her feelings for him and she isn't even trying to deny it at this point.

I honestly like the fact that both Chiara and Lily are sort of in the same boat. Lily is starting to like James more but Chiara just has a feeling that Remus is hiding something from her. Lily won't admit that she likes James of course and Chiara believes that Remus may not feel the same way about her.

What's great about this is that you get a great dynamic between the two girls and their personalities really shine through. I think that you introducing something a bit darker for this story is actually a bold move, I hardly ever read Remus/OC stories where the girl suspects that he's a werewolf. Or at least, hiding something really dangerous from them. I like this idea and I'm awfully curious about what's going to happen next.

Remus saying "I love you too" just kind of made me squeal but at the same time, he runs away before Chiara can even react. That isn't going to sit well with her and now that James and Sirius are saying that he's "ill", Chiara is going to find out the truth sooner or later. I'm super excited for the next chapter, I thought your pacing was great and your characters are very well fleshed out. The story is progressing slowly but I like the development we're getting with Chiara and the others so nice job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey, Gabbie!
Yes, I know... I'm still doing horrible with updating Jimmy... I have the next chapter written, but I'm just not happy with it. I need to fix a few things, but I'll let you know as soon as it's up (and then we can do another swap :P)!

I'm glad you're enjoying this story too! It's really the most dear to my heart!

Yes, I know... That was quick... A lot of people pointed that out, but I really didn't need Chiara questioning her feelings for too long (besides, she'd always loved him, she just had never realized.) ;)

Lily and Chiara are sort of in the same boat! :D It's good to know that you enjoyed their dynamics and that their characters came out well! Chiara has no idea what's wrong with Remus, she just feels that something is off about him. Remus' furry little problem will be central for the plot, but you'll have to wait... Another three or four chapters at least...

We know Remus... He's too scared of getting involved in a relationship... But he can't deny his feelings forever (especially if Sirius has something to do about it. Little spoiler :P But I'm sure you won't mind)

I'm so happy you enjoyed the chapter, and that you're curious about the next! :)
Thank you so much again for the gorgeous review!
Much love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella HunterSilent Snow: Silent Snow

9th December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! :D

I had some trouble picking this time around because I remember reading your story, Revival and really liking it. Maybe I'll stop by again soon. Hm. I haven't read much Dramione lately so I thought this would be a nice change. :D

I wasn't sure what time frame you would use because I often see stories about them during Post-War. They're either graduated or trying to move forward so I like that they were still in school, Hermione was determined to get her education as well and that didn't really surprise me at all. I like here that you show that she's grown quite a bit, she acknowledges that there are things the other students wouldn't understand about her and it hints that she may have been lonely.

I of course knew that this was going to be a Dramione but I like the way you introduced Draco. He was kept mostly a mystery so even though I KNEW it was him, Hermione's descriptions highlighted how different he was and that almost made me believe that he was completely different. If that makes sense?

I liked that Hermione was the one to actually make a move and I thought that inviting him to Hogsmeade with her was actually pretty nice. It was very sweet that she wanted to spend time with him like that and I thought their interactions together were great.

Draco wasn't brimming with anger, he actually seemed grateful to be there with her and what really stood out to me was the fact that he didn't bring up their past history together. I thought that showed some major growth with him too and by the end, I was all warm and fuzzy. I thought you ended this on a sweet note and I'm glad that I stopped by!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Gabbie,

Thank you for the kind review!! IT really made my day :) I always feel a sense of accomplishment when people who say they don't read Dramione come by and read my story. I feel so honored that you would take the time to read it and to review it! Thank you :)

I love post war Draco, I think he calms down a ton, and Hermione is just herself.

Thanks for stopping by.
Frankie


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella HunterBlind: Blind

9th December 2015:
HellO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with you review and thank you so much for the amazing one you left for Lovely and The Two of Us. They really made me feel better about everything, considering that I was going through a bit of a slump. *Hugs*

So, this!

I really, really want you to write more stories with Rose and Teddy. I loved this idea of them having a connection but never quite making anything of it,I thought you did a very clever job of making me believe that Rose was the one who was getting married. The wording and descriptions that you used were beautiful and I could feel how much she loved him, so I was totally shocked when I found out that Teddy was marrying someone else.

I thought that was such a nice twist!

What's interesting here is that Rose is bombarded wit her true feelings at her cousin's wedding. I don't even know what that must be like for her, surrounded by family and knowing in her heart that if she had simply said something, she might have been in Victoire's place. I do wonder though if Teddy loved her too but in this story, we mostly get her side of things so it's left me pondering it for a while.

I think that the moments you had with the two of them were beautiful. You could understand why Rose loved Teddy so deeply and underneath her own longing, I could sense that they were actually close. I'm curious though about what happened between her and Scorpius but I think that would have taken away a little from what Rose was feeling.

I do feel bad for Scorpius though...

On a whole other note, it was SO heartwrenching when Rose let Teddy go and stood aside. Teddy just seemed to be bundling with nerves and everything but Rose was breaking up on the inside. She acknowledges that it was her fault for never saying anything but man, that ending was very painful. Teddy and Victoire will be happy but she'll just be holding all of her emotions in. ;__;

So, this was a lovely read and thanks a ton for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie, thank you for the swap!

Awww, you're very welcome! They were absolutely amazing and I really enjoyed them! You're an incredible writer so i'm glad they made you feel a bit better!

Oh if I could, I would only write Rose/Teddy stories forever, i heart them so much! Thank you! I'm really proud of that - so many people have commented that they believed it was Rose and Teddy getting married so i'm so glad that the twist worked! I work really hard on descriptions and that coming from you, the queen of decriptions, it really means a lot!

I felt like that in such an emotional setting, a revelation like that would spring on someone with heightened emotions! I think he does, at least I like to believe that he does, even just a little bit but he's comfortable with Vic and Rose has never showed any interest, at least directly, so he would never make the jump unless he knew for certain.

I was going to explore it but it took a couple of paragraphs and the story lost it's flow a bit so I took it out, I might explore it one day though!

Me too, but i'm a Rose/Teddy shipper for life!

It is but I felt that Rose loves him so much, she would never ruin his happiness, even if it kills her on the inside! She's just too nice!

Thank you for the review and the swap!

-Vicki


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella HunterGoodbye, Love, Goodbye: Sirius, Sirius, Sirius

7th December 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I had some trouble deciding what to read because all of your stories sounded amazing. I settled on this and wasn't disappointed in the least, it's truly beautiful! :D

I have never read a story that featured Remus and Sirius like this and I totally dig it. I think that they would actually make a good match and what I really, really loved was just how powerful Remus's thoughts were. You could feel how much he loved Sirius and just the added back and forth was just wonderful.

I got so much depth and knowledge about their relationship and although I'm not sure if it ever moved beyond what Remus desired (I had a feeling that it could have, if he had said something), their love for one another was palpable. The descriptions that you used were eloquent, flowing and just plain lovely. I melted into it and the progression of time was just so nicely done.

Remus matured and his feelings became something that he couldn't deny. Love, love, love. That was the one word that went through my mind the entire time, you could practically feel it in the air and so it made the ending all the more painful. Doubting someone you cared about and believing the worst in them could be possible has to be the worst. I honestly believe that that is almost as awful as losing Sirius. I thought the ending was a bit sad but it fit the narrative well.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie :)

Ah, so this was your first WolfStar? Yeah, they are pretty addictive! I'm glad you dug it.

It's wonderful to hear how much the love comes through for you in this piece. It's almost more like a poem than a story, and it was really important to me to illicit a strong emotional response.

Don't you just feel so bad for Remus when he thought Sirius was a murderer? That would be terrible, and even more so if they were in love.

Thank you so so much for the amazing swap.
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella Huntercrying lightning: day tripper // an adventure of slight extremes

6th December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap, I totally didn't forget about you! I read this story a while ago and I was wondering what you was going to happen next so I'm glad to be back!

I'm really sad to see that Lily and Petunia are now so estranged. I always thought Petunia was too hard on Lily and wondered if their relationship would have ever mended if they had really tried. Petunia is the sort of person, I think that would hold a grudge forever and I really liked the beginning of this because we get a clear sense of time and how much their relationship has changed.

You can tell that they're not close but what was so painful, I think was the fact that their mother noticed it.I wish that she had said something to Petunia or that we had gotten a bit more out of her character but the silence sort of proved that there was nothing they could say. I like this version of Lily too, she's meticulous and neat instead of hot tempered and loud like I've seen her written before.

I'm curious to know more about her too and what is this villain at the end of the chapter up to? I'm wondering who he is and what sort of drama you have in store for this story. I hope you update soon and Happy Holidays! :)

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella HunterEqual Measure Good and Bad: A Break in Pattern

6th December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I am so sorry that this is late! I really hate never giving you guys your reviews quickly but real life was such a pain and then I got backed up on my own writing. I hope you can forgive me!

It's been a minute since I've read the last chapter and I had to go back and check over some things before delving into this one but it seems like this is just getting pretty complicated! I feel like every time I think I know what's going to happen, something else completely derails me. It's really good writing though because you pull us along on a great ride, I like being able to guess what might happen next and being wrong isn't so bad sometimes. Haha.

I will say that the dynamics you have for the couples is very good. Harry and Ginny come across as very affectionate and strong while Ron and Hermione have more depth to them than I've seen. I really like their relationship in particular because it's not full of bickering and angry words, you can see how much they care about each other. They truly balance one another out.

When it comes to the mysteries surrounding their culprit though, the plot thickens. The centaurs are up next? What will Kingsley do? He seems at a loss right now and I just have this strange feeling that things are going to happen too quickly for him to stop. I do hope the gang figures it out though and we got more details and revelations here, I think there were too many for this one chapter but you can easily spread them out in the next one.

Power Portals sound very dangerous and why on earth would anyone want to make another Elder Wand?! If this person is a foreigner, I just have to think that they were a supporter of Voldemort during his reign of terror. It's gotten me really curious though and just as a side note: I think that adding Hermione's trauma was excellent. For some reason, people always gloss over the fact that she was tortured at Malfoy Manor but I thought her conversation with Astoria and the healing that followed was beautifully written.

Speaking of healing, it was nice to see the Weasley/Potter clan. I like all the detail you added into the scene but I honestly believe that a few things could have been left out. It kind of disrupted the flow a little but other than that, you've left me with another cliffhanger! What does Draco know? I have to find out!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Thanks Gabbie for another great review. You have been one of the first people in the forum to take an interest in my story and I always look forward to reading what you have to say about it.

I know there has been a huge gap between the two chapters and I am sorry for the same. My story lost direction for a while but its back on track once more. :)

I always love to keep the readers on their toes and its great to know I am doing it so well with this story. After all, the greatest fun of life is the unknown, isn't it? ;)

It's true I have devoted quite some time exploring the dynamics of the various couples, especially Ron and Hermione. Somehow it seems, not many people are fans of this pairing, never understood why. Ron is the best person to balance the obsessive and overly-virtuous streak of Hermione with just a dash of common and wizarding sense.

Kingsley has been Minister for nearly 23 years now and he was also an auror before so he has an idea how the dark side works. His job is to simply plan. He can't execute this plans into action. Also, this was the first time he got an actual briefing about how everything stacked up. Also remember this is just the third day since the cursing of the Stonehenge. But you are right, a lot is happening at too fast a pace.

About Hermione's trauma, I really find it strange that not many people look at it more seriously. She was tortured pretty roughly and it had to leave some marks on her psyche.

Again, I wanted to give the feeling that although on one side, everything is going downhill for Harry and the rest, life is also moving at a steady pace. That life has both good and bad moments. This was also a huge theme in this chapter for me and I tried to address that.

About Draco, well you shall just have to wait and watch now, won't you?

Thanks for a great review Gabbie and hope the further chapters continue to keep you this interested.

-Penn


 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella HunterAreopagitica: Glavlit

4th December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums stopping by with your review and I'm so sorry that this is late. Real life has been such a pain and I thought I was moving and then some junk happened. :p

So, it's been a while! I was really interested in this story and curious about what you were going to do next. The beginning of this chapter with Crabbe was very impressive, I have never really seen him written with so much character before. He actually seems like a real person, he's not just sitting in the background scowling and causing trouble. He has this disturbing, fanatical view of the world and there's also this obvious need for him to be seen and noticed. He's probably so used to being under Malfoy's boot that he jumps at the thought of being his own man. I thought his comments about Tracey Davis were interesting too, he wants to not only impress the Carrows but it's clear that he has his eye on her. I'm not sure if that will go anywhere from the way she clearly ignored him but I sense that he's going to do something stupid in order to get her attention.

I am glad that Luna, Ginny and Neville are still in hiding. It's a shame that the other students are suffering so much though but I thought you balanced that out well with the shifting POVs. We went from Crabbe to Tracey Davis smoothly and I have to say that she's a cunning little brat. I'm wondering if her plan will work though and now I'm worried about who might get hurt if it goes wrong.

I really love the idea of following the students this time around, especially Seamus and the others because we never get their side of things.Seamus is a character that I always wondered more about and I like that you really give him life.

Hogwarts is such a bleak place right now and this chapter had such a great flow to it. I can feel all of the tension, picture everything clearly in my mind and your characters continue to have wonderful depth while your descriptions remain fantastic. I'm worried though about Parvati (On a side note: Lavender and Parvati were well fleshed out and their friendship came across as very genuine) and if she'll even be able to make it through the Dobby rescue.

It's all a trap that I think is about to boil over and i'm really anxious for the next chapter. I hope you update soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello Gabbie!

Sorry it took me so long to respond to this, I've been swamped with schoolwork lately! I hope you're doing well :)

Thank you so much for your kind words about this chapter! As you've noticed, I'm sure, I've been working on it for a while, just trying to work out the kinks in the plot a little.

I really enjoyed writing from the perspective of Tracey and Crabbe. They're both loathsome characters, but they are sort of interesting to work with. Tracey's definitely smart, she knows exactly how to find them while people like Crabbe are just sort of blundering around. But you're right, he's definitely out to prove himself.

I think we got a glimpse of Crabbe's need to prove himself in the Battle of Hogwarts, so I kind of wanted to explore that. He wants to impress the Carrows, Tracey, and I'm sure maybe even Voldemort himself. I mean, I'm sure Crabbe has Death Eater ambitions.

Lavender and Parvati's friendship was also such a fun part of this to write. I'm so into their relationship right now, so I was thrilled to get the chance to explore it here. You've definitely going to see more of the dynamic between Seamus, Lavender, and Parvati.

I can't wait to share the next chapter with you! It's still in the very early stages, but I'm getting there!

Thanks again for the review Gabbie!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella HunterIntemptesta Nox: The Cracked Mirror

4th December 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and I'm super sorry that this is so late! I have been weirdly busy so I hope you don't mind this rambling review. :D

Wow, I have to say that this is really fascinating! I really love your writing style. I can picture everything in my mind so clearly and your descriptions are horrifying but so lovely. The way you opened this chapter really set up the rest of it, I felt like I had spiders dancing down my back the entire time.

I oddly don't read many stories that deal with horror like this so I am super excited about this story. I think that you really set up the mood for this first chapter, it was a strong introductory piece and while there are still a few questions that I have, I'm really impressed. Aislinn was an Unspeakable but lost her sister and a bit of her sanity but I'm wondering perhaps if she's psychic? There were a lot of mentions of moments that took her away from reality but that might just be all in her mind.

There was this feeling that I was sinking into this and I loved it! I'm not quite sure how Aislinn is able to deal with it though, it seems like she's been haunted by her work as an Unspeakable for a long time. I'm curious to know what happened to her sister too (Grisly imagery was wonderfully written by the by) and what her real mission for Dumbledore must really be.

Did she have an image of the Battle of Hogwarts before it would even happen? I'm super curious about that, her mind is fractured in ways that i don't understand but I think the details you dded about her life really fleshed her out. It seems bleak and painful but she knows her weaknesses too, though I'm pretty darn worried about that ending. The message from her sister sounded awful too, as did the image she got of Snape and Lily. What exactly is happening, I wonder?

I think that you've started something pretty unique though and you left this on a great cliffhanger. I think your writing is strong, Aislinn was cleverly left as more of a mystery by the end and I'm really eager to delve more into the plot. ;)

Thanks for the read!


Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello Gabbie!

I am so glad you liked this chapter and had spiders dancing down your back. I had hoped to accomplish two main things in this opening chapter aside from creeping out folks: to make the reader question Aislinn's grasp on reality and to leave unanswered questions about what happened to her. You're right, she is haunted by something she experienced, and you get to see why as the story progresses. I will say that what Aislinn saw was not an image of the Battle of Hogwarts, nor was it anything to do with the Chamber of Secrets. If you want to know exactly what fractured Aislinn's mind, I'd encourage you to read on - the story is now complete. There is a reason for all the grisly imagery ...

Anyways, thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a wonderfully constructive review.

:hugs:

~Alexis


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella HunterKeeping Vigil: Keeping Vigil

4th December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks for agreeing to swap with me! I don't think we've ever chatted before so it's nice to meet you! ;D

I haven't read many afterlife stories because they always make me really sad but I think that instead of relying on the grief that follows death for the living, you've focused on the dead really well. I have a weird idea of what heaven might be like, if it's really there in the way we all think but I like this idea you have. I've heard that ghosts go back to the place where they passed and I like this idea that heaven for Lily and James is their own home.

It seems somewhat cruel though and I can understand why Lily was upset about the empty crib. Of course, it's great that Harry isn't with them in that place but I don't think a lot of people really focus on the sadness that would come with losing her baby. Lily can't hold him anymore and although she can watch him grow, it's not really the same as seeing it there in person.

I think that you had a lot of good elements in this though, with how fragile heaven turned out to be. It seemed okay for a while but the pressure and disconnect from their loved ones took its toll. I like this version of James here too, we never see him breaking down with grief much. Losing Sirius and Peter was probably like having his heart ripped out.

The argument that they had was written well too and so realistic. I think a lot of people can relate to just blurting out their anger at the oddest moments and I could really picture it in my mind. Nothing was the same of course and while I'm glad that they let out their frustrations, it makes me wonder if they'll be able to spend an eternity together. I loved how open ended that was because we're never really sure of anything, even in death.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! OMG, so sorry that it's taken so long to respond to this.

Death stories in general are so sad :( But I had the plunny and wanted to write it, so this happened haha.

I'm glad this version of the afterlife is one that you found interesting. It definitely is kind of cruel, though. I think the creation of these heavens is probably quite objective - it's wherever you were happiest, and emotional baggage isn't taken into account.

I like to think that James and Lily would be able to spend an eternity together. They'd be able to work disagreements out :) But it is really open-ended, and up for interpretation.

I'm glad you found some good elements in this story, and thanks for swapping with me!

-Kayla


 Report Review

Review #14, by Gabriella HunterWhen Love Hurts: When Love Hurts

4th December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's great to be stopping by! Have we ever swapped before? I can't really remember but I totally think we should do it more often! :)

This was pretty darn lovely and tragic. I wasn't expecting half of what happened to actually fall into place and you surprised me more than once while I was reading.

I honestly don't see a lot of Rose/Teddy stuff on the archives for some reason but I really like the idea of them. I don't know how they would work, really but I like the idea here that Rose's feelings for him started out as a simple crush before becoming something stronger. I'm not sure if it was a genuine love or more of what she wanted love to be but I thought you wrote it very well.

I like this version of Rose too, she's very authentic and has her own voice. She's not strict on herself or holding a hot temper, she seems just like any real girl and I loved that. Her conversation with Dom in the beginning showed her age really well and I liked the progression of time you used here. She matured, faltered and grew up so much in just a few paragraphs.

I have to say though that the person I felt sorry for the most was Scorpius. I kind of just want to see another version of this tale from his POV and I'm seriously hoping that he ended up getting married to someone else. I feel like he had everything stacked against him too, Ron didn't like him and there was always Teddy in the background.

Teddy, himself is written well and he seems like such a nice guy up until he and Rose start their affair. I was honestly on the fence with that because it struck a little too close to home but I think you wrote the lust, confusion and denial that comes along with this kind of relationship brilliantly.

On a side note: Victoire is a strong woman because I certainly wouldn't have still married Teddy or had anything to do with him, baby or not. I do wonder how their relationship fared after all this though but I feel like that's another story.

Anyway, Scorpius breaks up with Rose and what I think was excellent for you to include was her guilt. She knew what she was doing WAS wrong but was swept away by the promise of love. I think that the ending here proves just how awful things can be, Rose became a bit bitter and determined never to love again. Her advice to Teddy's daughter is cynical and pretty depressing but I think that it fit with how her character grew throughout the story.

All in all though, this was a great piece and I'm so happy that I stopped by!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! Sorry it's taken so long to respond! I don't think we have but I definitely agree that we should more often!!

thank you! I hope it was a good surprise! Rose and Teddy bring out my tragic feels!

There isn't a lot of it but I am in love with the pairing but in a tragic sense because in reality, I struggle to see them actually together - they just scream tragedy to me!

Thank you! I love writing Rose - she's such a complex character to me so enjoy writing her in so many ways! I'm glad you could see her mature throughout the story - that was my main concern, trying to capture her voice at the various ages and make it realistic so I'm glad it worked!

I really felt for Scorpius because he's always the one who suffers, especially in mind when it comes to these two! But I would love to write a Scorpius POV so watch this space!

Thank you! I'm glad you think I wrote it well - it's obviously a hard theme and something that happens every day so I knew I had to tread carefully and make it seem realistic but not too sympathetic because they are doing something wrong at the end of the day.

I wouldn't have either but I feel as though she's a resilient character and after a talk with Fleur, she'd find the strength to over look it all because she loves him. and yes! I would love to explore that too, so you never know!

I had too. In my head, she never wanted to hurt anyone, especially not him and she does love him, just not enough and not like she loves Teddy. I don't think Rose would maliciously hurt anyone so I wanted to get that across. It is but I chose to end like that because of the quote I had to use, which was quite cynical itself so I had to make it fit. I'd like to think one day she'd find happiness again though.

Thank you so much for the amazing review!!

-Vicki


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella HunterEye of the Beholder: Eye of the Beholder

1st December 2015:
HELLO! >:)

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for requesting this for me!

I saw that you were worried about if this had come across as too harsh but I honestly think that you have done a brilliant job. I've entered this challenge as well but was having some trouble with what I wanted to portray when it comes to weight and I'm proud of you for showing this side of it.

It was hard to read at some points because this touched on a part of me that I was struggling with but that alone is a reason why I think I love this so much. Dealing with depression is always hard but being the subject of bullying because of your weight and even being suicidal are all very real issues.

Touching on this doesn't mean that you're necessarily being too harsh but I think that it's something that needs to be discussed. Millicent as your main character comes across as so tormented and so lonely that I just wanted to reach out and make all of her pain go away. Her inner thoughts and the voice in her head were powerful and you showed all of the different levels self-hate can take.

Doubting herself and being overly conscious of everything just says so much about what she's been through. This was a very real situation that a lot of girls go through and while I wish that there had been a happier ending, I'm glad that you ended it where you did.

Kevin sounds like a wonderful guy but Millicent needs to figure out her beauty first before I think she can accept him. I would love it if you continued this but until then, thank you so much for the wonderful read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie,

Thanks so much for taking a look at this for me. I really wanted to delve into the darkest parts of self-loathing with this fic, based on my own experiences and the experiences of others. I was worried that - knowing how horribly critical I can be of others and of myself - it would come across incorrectly. I didn't want it to seem like a personal judgement of people who struggle with their weight.

I'm really pleased you enjoyed the fic. I'm not sure I could justice to the finer points of depression and self-loathing in an extension beyond this one-shot, so I probably won't be continuing on with it from here, but I'm happy you liked the story!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing for me. *hug*

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabriella HunterNot My Own: The Switch

1st December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and it's nice to meet you and stuff! I don't think we've talked before this so please make sure that you stop by my review thread often! :D

This is a pretty unique idea for a story, I've seen some variations of this but they were never done so cleverly. I like that we're getting this story from Remus's POV first but I wonder if that's going to last through the rest of the story or not. I get the feeling that this might be a bit of an AU type of deal and I'm really excited.

I think that you wrote Remus really well here, he comes off as a tragic hero. I can feel his pain and understand all of the things that he's trying to do, which was another thing I liked: The bit of canon about him being the scapegoat for the Order, I thought you weaved that into this brilliantly.

Remus has been through a lot and he's constantly in war with his own body. I was wondering what would happen with his meeting with Dumbledore too but I never would have expected something like a Vicissitudo charm. Bravo for coming up with such an exciting new spell! I've never heard of it before but you made it sound like some archaic form of magic that I could totally see happening in the actual HP world.

My only thing is what will happen to Remus now that he's taken James's place. The physical differences between them and how they would handle their new lives was really fascinating to me. :D

My CC would be to go through this carefully and make sure that you're not repeating the same words over again. I think that if you smoothed out a few of your paragraphs, they wouldn't come off so choppy but other than that, I think you're off to a good start!

See you again!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Thanks Gabbie for the review. We actually have talked a wee bit. I'm the crazy person who pounced your profile page because of your Sailor Moon icon.

I shall be sure to stop by your page again though! I really enjoyed and appreciated the review. There are so many things I need to do with my story now to help make it better and improve it more but there is so little time and it is crazy. Why can't the world just stop and let me write and edit till my heart is content? (Oh and read stories as well while I'm at it!)

I'm glad you liked the start of things though! It is especially heartening that I was able to convey the charm as believable. It was something I questioned in the past but not too much as the story would not happen without it, so being re-assure helps loads!

As for the differences between them it is explored a bit more in the next two chapters which I'll probably be stopping by your thread again some time for a chapter 2 review.

Thanks again for the lovely review and sorry it has taken me as long as it has to get back to you!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella HunterBroomstick Races: Bittersweet

1st December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and thanks so much for the one you left for A Force of Wills! :)

I thought that I would have a hard time deciding what to read because you always have such great, unique stories on your page. I saw this at the very top and thought I'd give it a try, I had heard a lot about this challenge and wasn't able to participate but I'm happy to have read this!

I don't think that I've ever seen this pairing anywhere on the archives, first of all. I think it's really out of the blue but what's so wonderful about it is that it's very unique. I don't know when this would ever happen or why no one has ever thought of it before but this was wonderful! Now, I'm pretty sure that everyone knows that I'm a huge George/Angelina shipper but I honestly would love to know more about Ginny/Angelina.

Certainly didn't expect to love this as much as I did because I never thought the two of them could blend so well. What I really enjoyed though was the fact that you portrayed grief very well, there are so many different sides to it but I liked how honest Ginny was. She didn't want to talk about the loss of her brother, even if people meant well so I know that racing with Angelina must have been just the thing she needed. It proved to show that you can find joy in the most unlikely people and I think the ending of this, the description of the kiss...just very lovely, lovely writing. :)

I'm so happy that I stopped by!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #18, by Gabriella HunterThe Worst: A Ray of Light

1st December 2015:
HELLO! :)

This is Gabbie here for the final part of our review swap and it's been a great ride! I flew through these chapters and absolutely loved this story. :D I think you did something special here with your characters, your plot and the grittiness to just how quickly things can fall apart.

We usually don't get this side of Dominique in a lot of stories, she's often portrayed as being just the bad girl with a cocky attitude. It's nice to see here, through this thing that she's tough, sensitive and possesses real vulnerability. I loved her to death and I was tense while I was reading this chapter because I didn't know what was going to happen.

I was surprised by Delilah and how collected she was in the very beginning. It takes a really egotistical person to do something this cruel and I have to say that Dominique handled herself pretty darn well. I would have knocked her out like a true OG but I love the way you had the scene unraveling. I only wonder what's going to happen next, Jones revealed her motivation for hurting Dominique (God, in front of everyone like she was the one who was suffering) but was is there left to do? Jones will be taken to jail of course but I feel like there's one last thing that could go wrong. Hm. Maybe that's just me.

Jones is selfish and cruel but Dominique reacted to it with anger and hurt. I can't even imagine how she feels and I think that although her temper sparked and she nearly lost control, she handled herself well. I want to believe that things are going to get better for her because that ending was just lovely but I'm going to keep my fingers crossed until the next chapter.

Thanks for the read! ;)

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella HunterThe Worst: Meetings and more.

1st December 2015:
HellO!

This is Gabbie stopping by for the fifth part of our review swap! I'm really happy to be continuing with this story so let me know when you want to do another swap because I really love this story. :D

Dominique is not the sort of person you need seeking revenge on you. I have to say that she surprised me here with how determined and strong she was. Not that she hadn't been during this entire thing but you got the sense that she got her life back, she was in control again and I winced when I thought about the damage she was going to do. Hahaha.

Once again, the mystery just keeps on deepening and I feel like we're only scratching the surface. I want to know why Jones had her attacked and what her motivation was for doing this. Dominique isn't going to let anyone stop her from finding out either and I was clenching my teeth when she and Teddy went to confront Young. That didn't go the way I planned at all though, I thought there would be a fight but what happened ended up making the situation even more complicated. Young agreed to Teddy's terms (Teddy's such a nice guy but I found it funny that Dominique was annoyed by it) and his backstory is actually pretty sad.

No one asks for this life and from the was he was living, I was really upset to see that this could easily become Dominique's life if her family didn't support her. It was a scary thing to see and I wonder if she'll ever consider going to a pack or at least learning more about herself.

Now, this ending and the introduction of new characters just makes me wonder what you've got planned. Dominique has confronted her boss and even though she hasn't told Harry about what she's discovered, I think this is going to turn into something that the entire family will find out. I do have to wonder though if her meeting with Jones will end on a good note.

Guess I'll just have to find out! ;)

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #20, by Gabriella HunterThe Worst: Decisions and Discoveries

1st December 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie again for the fourth part of our review swap, I have two more chapter to go and I hope you won't mind me gushing and such! :D

This was a great chapter and it was extremely intense, I don't know how you were able to do it! I love Dominique and Teddy together, they're not the perfect couple that other authors would portray but they seem real because of all their pain. I think that they seem like a couple that I would meet at some point but what a horrible thing to happen to Dominique!

I didn't think that she would actually go through with the procedure. I'm glad that you didn't go into detail about what was actually done to her though because I don't think I would have been able to handle it. I think that is actually a very realistic thing to put into this fic because I don't think I've ever even come across it before. I love this reminder that the Wizarding world isn't that different from ours.

Now, though I can't help but think that things are about to get really messy. Dominique had the right to be suspicious about the night she was attacked and I remember being curious about it as well. Someone actually did this to her on purpose and I can't believe her own mother had something to do with it! I have to reign in my anger because I want Dominique to go up to that woman and punch her in the throat but she's way calmer than I am.

I really like how strong she is too and with this revelation, I wonder what will happen next!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #21, by Gabriella HunterThe Worst: More Bad News

1st December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie here for another review and I am going to keep on reading this because I HAVE to know what's going to happen next! I'm going to try and get the other three done tonight.

So, it seems like Dominique has the worst kind of luck in the world. I am really baffled by how much this girl can go through in just one day! People say that I lay on the angst but this is really intense! I don't think I would be able to handle it if I were Dominique. I was happy to see that Teddy wasn't there to break up with her or anything, I was really worried about that from how the previous chapter ended.

Teddy is just this wonderful guy though and he's so supportive of Dominique. I wondered what was bothering him of course but the fact that he's still there for her is just so great. I got a bit more from their relationship here too and I'm honestly just trying not to swoon because you give us such good insight into what their relationship is like. I do agree with him about her boss though and I hope that resolves itself in a way that doesn't have Dominique losing her job or becoming some kind of joke to her co workers.

Hm.

On to this other news! What?! Oh, my God! This is horrible and I just want to pluck Dominique away and hug her! I do like the medical analysis that you gave for her condition. That's not usually something we see but I have to admit that I was curious about whether or not female werewolves were infertile or not or could even have children. ;__;

Poor Dominique.

Ugh. My emotions are a mess but I'm heading towards the next chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: You've made me so happy with all these reviews. Thank you so much!

She does have the worst luck, doesn't she. Haha I am glad you're enjoying the angst!

Teddy is wonderful, but there's a big flaw in him - maybe you'll see it later xP

Her condition is terrible.

I am so happy you're enjoying the story!! Sorry that I caused your emotions to be a mess.

Love!


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella HunterThe Worst: Reflecting and Brooding

1st December 2015:
HELLO!

I'm back for review number two! I feel really badly for Dominique and I like that you explore the anxiety, doubt and fear that comes along with her condition. I think that's a pretty bold move because a lot of authors would just skimp over the unpleasant details. It's not very realistic to have a character suffer some sort of trauma but not have some kind of damage afterward.

I have to commend Dominique for trying to be strong though but I hope she won't continue to isolate herself from her family. I know how it feels to hear hollow words of comfort but I'm sure that her family cares about her. Perhaps she'll just need to realize that on her own and I must admit that I was surprised by the visit from her boss. I honestly thought it was going to be one of her cousins but you did a good little twist right there.

Ms. Jones had me doing wary from the moment she breezed in, I could tell that there was something phony about her. I can't believe that she wants to make money off of Dominique's pain! I feel so badly for her and thought that she responded to the woman's badgering really well. She's quite professional for someone so young and I hope that she doesn't end up being used by her boss. I kind of wish that she hadn't agreed to it but I can tell that she doesn't like just sitting around and it's clear that she's passionate about her job.

The flashback was a lovely break from the angst of this chapter and I enjoyed the backstory you included for Teddy and Dominique. I don't see a lot of stories that feature them as a couple (Lord knows that I haven't done it yet) but I like how sweet their relationship came across. Teddy really sounds like a great guy and while I could understand Dominique's hesitation, I was happy that Fleur gave them her blessing.

So, with the flashback in mind...with Dominique upset over the physical changes in her body, Teddy's sudden appearance made me tense up! What on earth is he doing there and what's wrong? She hasn't been answering his owls but I feel like something else has made him snap.

I'm super eager for the next chapter!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Thanks a ton once again for such a nice thoughtful review!

I am happy you liked that I explored all the emotions she was experiencing. And glad you liked the twist with the boss too. She's not a very nice person xP

Flattered that you like the flashback and found their relationship sweet. Thanks a lot!


 Report Review

Review #23, by Gabriella HunterThe Worst: The Worst Had Happened

1st December 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! I'm really sorry that I'm so late but I hope you like my reviews!

It turns out that I had actually read the first chapter of this a while back but never had the chance to continue. I was so excited when I recognized it though and I'm so happy that I'm finally able to get back into this! :D

I remember from the last chapter that Dominique was attacked and I really like what you've done here, having the curse put her in a fever. Dream sequences are a great way to pull a reader in, I think and you did a good job with showing Dominique's confusion and fear. I was scared that she might have hurt herself or was trapped somewhere but it turns out that something almost as bad happened.

I can't really imagine what it had to be like to learn that you had turned into a werewolf, have no clue what was really going on and have everything change around you. I think you wrote Dominique's family really well too, you get a great sense of how close they are and their personalities came across very well. I personally have never really written Fleur or Bill much but I love the dynamic you have here, Fleur is sometimes written as being very emotionless but her reaction to Dominique's condition was spot on.

I think any mother would have broken down after hearing this kind of news and I love the support that you've shown in Bill. I write him as being kind of a bad father in my own story (Transparent) but it's nice to see this softer side of him. I can tell that Dominique's bond with her sister is strong too and I can't wait to see more of their dynamic.

Now, I feel pretty bad for Teddy. Dominique is going through a lot of course but I don't think it was exactly fair of her to lash out at him that way. I don't know if they'll be able to repair the damage but it had to hurt Teddy just as much to know the truth about his father. Becoming a werewolf sounds like something that can be tamed but Dominique is quick to realize that the journey won't be easy.

So, great chapter and I shall be moving forward!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for reading and reviewing!

I am pleased you liked the dream sequence, and felt I wrote all of their reactions well.

Thank you for your lovely comments!


 Report Review

Review #24, by Gabriella HunterThe Lark and the Nightingale: The Muggle Studies project

27th November 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review and all that stuff for our swap! Thanks for the awesome review you left for Albus! I hope you enjoy the following Halloween chapters. Hahahaha.

I read the first chapter of this a long time ago and it's good to be back! I haven't really had the time to go back and check it out though but I really like this. We hardly ever see stories like this about Remus and an OC that's actually the main part of the story, I think that's such a relief.

Chiara is pretty spunky, which I think is a good contrast to go along with how reserved Remus is and they make a nice pair. I do wonder though if their relationship will becoming something deeper by the time the play comes around. I hope that she gives up on Corner! Ugh, I can totally see why Remus doesn't like the guy but maybe we'll learn more about Mr. Perfect s we go along? I kind of want a scene with him and Chiara for some reason, she'll have a chance to see how he really is.

This chapter flew by for me to read and I was actually pretty darn upset by that! I really like your characters and although there aren't any chunky paragraphs, I can picture the scenes well. Lily and James are so cute together and the little one liners from Sirius were great. I'd like to see them all together soon but let's talk about that play!

Lily and James have amazing chemistry, I see and I think that her opinion of him is really changing. I noticed that Chiara and Remus were super charged with each other and nearly kissed! Yes! Now, what on earth is Chiara going to do in order to pretend that they may NOT have more to their friendship?

Hm.

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi, Gabbie!
Oh, I'm so happy you decided to come back to this story! It's my most loved one (even if not my best, probably) and it's so great to hear your thoughts on it!!! :)

Well... Remus is the love of my life (if only he was real...) I love writing stories that focus on his character, especially romance! :)

Oh... Everyone hates Corner... I keep telling people that he's not that bad, that Remus' opinion of him is just a tiny bit biased (you know... Something called jealousy...) but no one believes me... Chiara and Remus work definitely better as a couple, though. And she will forget about Matthew soon enough. ;)

I'm glad you liked the characters and their relationships. And Sirius is just so fun to write! I love him! It's good to know that the flow was good as well. Thank you for your praises! :)

Jily is the best, don't you agree? Yes, she's already softening towards him. Alice's prediction might turn out to be accurate! ;) As for Chiara and Remus... We will see...

Thank you so much for the swap and the amazing review!

Tons of hugs, love and kisses!
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #25, by Gabriella HunterMissed Connections: Missed Connections

24th November 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with your review for our swap! Sorry that it took me a minute to get to this but I was trying to write and then when that didn't work out, I sulked and watched some anime.

I'm here now though!

Wow, what a great story. I have to say that I am constantly blown away by you guys on here, I haven't read a story like this in a long time. It spans so many lives in just one chapter and I'm kind of reeling from just how joyfully beautiful this was. I honestly don't have enough words.

I like the differing POVs that you have going on here with Scorpius and Rose. We get a great sense of who they are as people and I really love that you span their emotional growth so well. I'm not sure who matured more because that would be an unfair thing to say, considering that they both went through a lot but you conveyed it all so wonderfully.

As a side note though: Holy crap, Hufflepuff Rose and Scorpius are the best! I have never seen them put in this House! You're awesome for that, this one detail makes your story very unique.

Anyway, I think the jumps in time were great too because you get a different idea of where they were in their lives. The subtle changes in them both as the years go on were a great way to show how strong their friendship was. I was SO sad when Rose went away for the first time and Scorpius's marriage took me by surprise too but I think that was a clever writing trick on your part.

I didn't expect it, my heart kind of died and then life just went on like it would in this situation, with the love still there. I think that having Scorpius's wife die, Rose marry someone else and THEN finally open up about their feelings for one another was pretty realistic. Love doesn't just fall into your lap when you want it to and it certainly takes a lot of courage to say what you feel. It's not the moment that matters, it's the heart behind it all.

So, with that I have to say that this was delightful. Thanks so much for suggesting it!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

This story has been such a long time in the making! It's been quite difficult getting that emotional growth right because in this story Rose and Scorpius grow older than I am. They experience things that I'm still years and years off from experiencing - like marriage, death, parenthood, just growing up in general really. Each section is short, but a lot of them come from longer bits I wrote, so there's a lot of emotional background to this that just isn't here. It was challenging writing those kinds of feelings.

And Hufflepuff Rose and Scorpius! As I was writing this, I left their house blank. I knew that I wanted them in the same house, but it wasn't until I'd written most of the story that realized that their loyalty to each other through all those years, that unbreakable friendship no matter what happened to them was distinctly Hufflepuff.

It was a lot of fun to write about their whole lifetimes. They grew up together, they watched each other get married to other people, Scorpius became a father, he became a widower, Rose got divorced. Lots a not-very-fun real life stuff. Their path to each other was long and complicated, but they made it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review Gabbie!!

Stefanie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>