Reading Reviews From Member: Gabriella Hunter
  
748 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Gabriella HunterBroken Memories: The Spiral Staircase

28th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! I thought that I would stop by and seriously apologize for not being around sooner with this. Real life has been such a pain lately.

Sigh...

Anyhoo, this! Now, I am a serious fan of this story. I really love what you're doing with your characters, there aren't alot of stories that would be willing to talk about grief like this. What you're showing is that time can have a toll just as much as the pain, it was nice to see the different perspectives on the memorial with George/Angelina.

I think that we had another mind meld here because my Angelina had never even thought of going back to Hogwarts after the War. She also never helped to rebuild it and wanted nothing to do with that part of herself but here, your Angelina is showing so much growth of character. It's clear that this is painful for her but she's making slow progress towards healing. I think it's curious that she didn't tell Logan about Fred and the rest of the Weasley's and I wonder about how much depth their relationship has.

Now, George isn't doing very well at all and I'm so worried about him. I think that he really needs some sort of reawakening but I don't think it's going to happen anytime soon. He seems to be threatened or afraid of Angelina healing faster and regaining her life but I just don't know what that might mean for their friendship.

I liked that you showed how close they were during school and the changes that happened between them during the War. You could feel the affection between them, which is something alot of Georgelina stories lack. I understood them both so much more in those early flashbacks so it made the ending so powerful! Ah, I can't wait for the next chapter. Keep me updated!


Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #2, by Gabriella HunterAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: A new friend

28th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie stopping by with our swap, sorry that it took me so long. I thought that I would have more time this week but I've moved and various adult things got in the way.

Anyhoo!

I think that you've got some interesting characters showing up here. I really like how you swapped roles here in this story, Jimmy turns out not to be the lightning bolted hero! It's great to see that you gave it to Neville instead and I love what you've done with him, he's not this timid little guy. He's got some spunk in him and I like the fact that he and Jimmy were able to make some kind of friendship blossom between them. I didn't really expect it but I think that they'd balance each other out, Jimmy needs someone who's going to be honest and loyal. I think Neville would do well to have someone who isn't afraid to be around him and I'm curious to know how their friendship grows.

I wonder when Jimmy is going to find out more about his real parents. I don't know if he should really give up hope that he isn't his father's biological child though, I thought that was kind of a leap for someone his age but I'm curious to know the truth. There was a conflicting thought in the back of his mind about the entire thing and I do hope things get better for him!

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #3, by Gabriella HunterAreopagitica: Affiche Rouge

28th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap! I am so sorry that this is late but I was moving and my job decided that I was going to be busy for the next few days. Hahahah.

So, this was quite the intense little chapter, I caught my breath half a dozen times! I think that you've got some powerful word choice going on here, you can feel everything that your characters are going through. I thought it was a nice little touch to include Skeeter's deplorable article in the beginning. It helped to show just what was going out in the world and how the Ministry was trying to cover everything up.

Skeeter's writing came off as terribly cunning as always. I could almost smell the brimstone coming through my laptop so by the time we're introduced with Ginny and Neville, I was fuming a little. Ginny is such a strong character to write and while I don't have much experience with her yet, I really love what you've done with her. She's strong, compassionate and brave but you give her such vulnerability towards the later half that you can still see that she's still growing. The war is taking its toll on everyone but she's so much better than what she believes. I honestly think that it was difficult to read how Amycus slapped and used the cruciatus curse on her though, I knew it was coming but man, that was tough.

The backstory that you gave for Ginny, Neville and Luna was great too. You did great job showing the passage of time through their experiences and I was especially impressed with the bit about the Quibbler. That's a detail that we know from DH but to see how it works inside of Hogwarts during this time was a great little homage, I think.

The ending to this! Ah, it was so powerful and reeked of rebellion but it was fantastic! The trio has now made it on the black list and I'm scared what might happen to them next! D':

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #4, by Gabriella HunterThe Monopoly on Honour: The Virtuous

23rd July 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I'm sorry that it's late. I wasn't going to skip you or anything because that wouldn't have been cool. I always try to get through my review thread quickly but real life was like, "What about your job?" and you must know how annoying that is. Hahahah.

Anyway..

So, it's been a long time since I've read this story but I DID remember it. There were a few details that escaped me a little but the power of it was something that I never forgot and I'm blown away by how deep this is. I already commented in the past that I really enjoy your characters and this world that you've created, we're getting everything from the villain's POV and that's always something unique and special.

I especially loved the opening scene with the Guild. They walk in believing that they're doing the right thing but in reality, they're merely just one more obstacle that they've created for themselves. If that makes any sense.

I think that I was really impressed by how you wrote their meeting with Lucius. There's something so slimy about that little git but I absolutely adored his characterization. He had all of that old world elegance, greed and corruption but at the same time, he was predatory and almost charming. They all were prepared to do battle, even while sipping their wine and dishing out the sassiest bit of sarcasm like professional hit men. Totally adored the way you hinted at how something wasn't quite right with the Guild right off the bat, I'm especially shocked with Ron's behavior.

*Inhale*

What kind of horrible little snot has he turned into?! Why hasn't he been fired? He was so hot headed and cruel that I almost didn't recognize him but I think that you showed very well what might happen with revenge. You either turn into a hero, or you turn into your nightmare.

So, I suggest that you re-request soon so I can find out what happens next. The second half of this, the very ending...sounded so ominous and these mysterious new characters brought me a chill.

Great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: GABBIE!!! HIHIHIHIHI!

Yeah, I know how annoying RL can be, so don't worry about it at all!!! I just had to reply to this review - I woke up and saw this and was like OHMYGODYOUREAWESOME!!!

You remember my story? Merlin, that's such a compliment, thank you :) Writing Lucius, especially, is SO MUCH FUN - I think I got slightly carried away writing this chapter, and yes, that was one of the main reasons I was so excited when I first came up with the idea for Monopoly - we're going to see things from the other side, as it were.

The arrest was always going to go wrong, wasn't it? Take people like the Malfoys and back them into a corner and they're going to lash out. The Guild is... complicated, for lack of a better word. I think it's got to the point where I'm not entirely sure what is going on - especially with Magnus. Although, I will say that I don't think he would have sent Alicia in if he wasn't certain she could handle it - and I think we see that in the chapter. Even though she's frightened, she holds her ground. Right thing versus reality - yes, there's a lot more of that coming up, especially in the next chapter - Magnus and Kingsley are going to have a little chat!

As I've said before, I absolutely love writing Lucius. I find him quite easy to write, probably because I have quite a dry sense of humour, so coming up with Lucius-esque jokes isn't hard for me. But old world elegance and villainous charm - panache - is exactly what I'm going for with Lucius. He is sort of in his element here, isn't he?

Yeah, Ron. I know. I don't think he's a bad person necessarily - I just think he's letting his emotions cloud his better judgement, and I think the real question is: what the hell are the Ministry doing letting him be there? I promise, there is a very good reason for all of this.

I'm happy you liked the Lady of the Night! Ominous and mysterious. Precisely - they're quite the wildcards :p

I cannot wait to have your thoughts on the next chapters!!!

Celi xxx


 Report Review

Review #5, by Gabriella HunterMistaken for Strangers: James Meets A Girl

23rd July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review and I am SO sorry that this is late! I've been doing adult things and bee SUPER busy, I haven't even written anything in a month! D':

So, I enjoyed this so much. It's always great reading a story about James and I personally really love what you're doing with him here in this story. There's something so charming and awful about him all at once--awful meaning that he's an impish little thing but that just makes him all the more interesting, I think. There were certain aspects about him that I thought you wrote about very well: I've never really seen James written as kind of the peace maker for his cousins and I enjoyed seeing him helping Al, Rose and Lucy in the best way that he could. It showed that underneath it all, he's more mature than people would immediately think and I hope we see more of that later on.

I also enjoyed the sassy quality to his POV, I couldn't help but smile throughout most his observations. I was dying when he kept mentioning the pranks that he and Fred were getting into (They just kept getting bigger and more elaborate as the story went on), it was a great way to show not only their bond, but the passage of time.

This mystery girl! I thought the first time James meets her was interesting. There was no fanfare or amazement from this girl whatsoever and I liked that James realized that he may be a bit big headed for EXPECTING it. That was a part of his personality I didn't think you would really show much but it humanized him well.

Albus being awkward with girls? Huh. Sounds like the Albus I wrote in my story, "A Wedding." And I loved that entire section, the two brothers are not alike and you wrote that well without beating me over the head with it and their relationship was very authentic.

Who is this Ravenclaw girl? James seems awfully curious about her! I wonder if it has more to do with the fact that she doesn't care who he is than anything. Hm.

Molly and Victoire hate each other? Gasp!

That ending...I think I was roaring with laughter at the entire thing. First of all, Fred is horrible and secondly, James's last thought was just too hilarious. I seriously think that you did a great job with humor and I'll be waiting for a re-request!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Thanks for the review, Gabbie! I'm glad you enjoyed it and found it funny! :) And I'm happy to see your impressions of Al and James-- I think my ideas of them are coming across here, which is exciting.

Thanks again for the review!

--J


 Report Review

Review #6, by Gabriella HunterAll the truth about Jimmy Portman: The Sorting

18th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie dropping by with our swap and I'm sorry that it took me a minute! :D

So, Jimmy got more more than one little surprise here! I like that you've weaved canon into this so easily. You're not really delving too deeply on who that person is or why they're important, which is a nice change. I'm sure that if they make a difference in the story, it won't be until later. Hermione, Neville and the others are there but I was focused on what was going to happen with Jimmy and what a shocker!

The Sorting Hat always gives out some interesting facts, doesn't it? I'm curious about what it was saying and what it might mean! Jimmy's father might not be his father? What is this madness?! I was a bit confused at first because I thought that this was delving into some time-travel type stuff but that couldn't possibly be true. This isn't a Next Gen so we're not talking about Harry here but...does that mean James is his father?! So many things are happening here, I'd love to know more!

This was a good chapter, keep it up!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello again, Gabbie! :)
Oh, no need to apologize! Thank you so much for the swap!!!

I'm happy I got you by surprise! It's great to hear, because I feared everything about this story was just too obvious and foregone. And I'm really glad you like the fact that none of them looks like a straightforward hero. I'm still planning their roles in what's to come, but I'm keeping the children's dimention the best I can.

The Sorting Hat does give out interesting facts... ;) Things will clear out pretty soon anyway. In a couple of chapters you should find most answers to any question you might have at the moment! :)

So glad you enjoyed the chapter! Thank you so much again for the lovely review!
With love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #7, by Gabriella HunterRabbit Heart: 2. Trusting Hearts

18th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap! Thank you so much for the great review you left for "Grey"! It meant a lot to me, I hope to see you around again. :D

So, I read this a long time ago and yet, I was still able to remember almost everything. I didn't even have to go back and catch up on what I missed! I was already in love with Wren and I could understand her very well but this chapter, especially the beginning just tore at my heart.

I never really saw Augusta Longbottom as a very emotional woman but seeing her crumbling like this was hard to read. It's always difficult to write scenes like this because you know that it's coming from a very private place. Seeing a loved one fading away or even just really ill, takes a lot out of a person and I liked how you wrote that with Wren. She's moved to a whole new area and is out of touch with herself, nothing has that familiar "spark", which makes her being with her Gran all the more painful.

I liked that you weaved in canon so wonderfully here. The information about Frank and Alice was hard to take but you didn't focus so much on that, some writers can really jerk you away from what's happening right NOW but you chose not to. Wren didn't even really think too much about her father's parents but you can tell that there was love there too for them. I do wonder though, what's going to happen to poor Gran in the next few chapters and I thought the details you added in about the potions muddling her mind was a great affect. It seems like there's a lot that Muggle and Healer medicine just can't cure. :(

So, Dillon. I'm going to be honest and say that that little boy gave me the creeps. I just got this really weird feeling about him--he's up to something, obviously but I'm not sure if it's malicious or not. Wren was such a great support for him and it was nice seeing her smile and be a little happy but then we've got that darn bunny at the end.who walks around with a basket of adorable baby bunnies? Like...there's a whole other story there and I want to know more about Dillon's precious Mummy. Ah, I just have this weird feeling that something isn't right...

But on a whole other note, this was great! Your pace was awesome, your characters are realistic and powerful and it's just all sorts of awesome.

Thanks for the swap!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response:

Hi Gabbie!

Ah, chapter two has a lot of heartbreak in it with Augusta's condition. I didn't want to belabor the point. I think it spoke for itself as Wren's difficulties merged with Augusta's. A 95-year-old friend of my mother's told me that growing old is not for the weak at heart. Things start falling apart. There's a lot of frustration when the body doesn't work the way it ought to, not to mention the physical pain. Something always hurts. For Wren's Gran, it's also affecting her on the inside, a place where no one can reach.

Dillon is a special little boy. His rabbits are relevant and you should definitely trust that weird feeling you have. Good instincts should never be ignored.

Thanks for the lovely review! The revisions are up, so if you get the chance to skim through that first chapter again, let me know.

Pix


 Report Review

Review #8, by Gabriella HunterTengu and a Daughter of Ninja: Fatherís Old Textbook (Prologue)

14th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and I'm really sorry that it's taken me so long! I have been ridiculously busy with grown up things and it's a major pain. Hahahha.

So, this was a pretty short chapter! I was disappointed that it didn't last long but I felt like it moved just a tad too fast. I would have liked to have gotten used to Albus and Rose before the actual story began with Hagrid towards the end. What I do like is that your Albus isn't this super confident kid and he's just trying to make the most of the situation he's in. Going to Hogwarts for the first time can't be easy and it's totally unfair that Scorpius and his father have room to bully him in the same place. Like, what?! I'm curious to know when Albus is going to use that Bat-Bogey hex on the little bully though but I'm glad that Rose was there to be a calming force for him.

Draco Malfoy as Potions master? That's something I don't see very often and it's very refreshing! :D

I wonder what story Hagrid is going to tell Albus though. It sounds like it's going to be pretty interesting though! I'll be looking forward to the next chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi, Gabbie. I'm glad the things around you seems to go well.

I set Rose, Scorpius and Albus to start Magical Creatures' Tale here and I don't know which way to go yet. So everhthing is wrapped in mystery..haha. But I have vague concept in my mind, which will lead the story, so I'll be happy if you keep reading this story from here.

Talking of Draco, I have a plan to set him as the key person of this novella. Harry may enter later...

I'll ask you to leave review from here, again. I hope this story will be longer as I keep writing.

Kenny


 Report Review

Review #9, by Gabriella HunterFair Agony, Fair Madness: Chapter I : The Burrow

14th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums with your review, I'm sorry that this took a minute. I've been really busy and things have been crazy lately!

So, I thought about this story a while back and was wondering what had happened to make your main character split off from the family. There are so many good little clues here in this chapter that have me curious, Lily seems like a very cheerful and upbeat sort of character and I enjoyed being in her mind. It was great to see the family through her eyes and there are some great underlying tension here and there. I was wondering why Victoire was upset, why Hermione seemed so cranky and what was going on with Albus. I feel like they might all be connected and I'm eager to find out more, it's apparent that Albus has vanished like this more than once. What I do really enjoy is the fact that your family dynamics are really strong here, you can see how much Lily loves her family but you also, from the very beginning, know that it doesn't last.

What added to this was the sense that Lily was speaking in past tenses in the italic section. I understand that something major happened and I really want to know what it was, five years is a long time to go without seeing your family you know. I also loved the addition of Scorpius into this chapter and how normal it all appeared, you didn't need to go into this overly detailed thing about how he was friends with Albus. He simply was there and that spoke volumes.

I do wonder what's going to happen once they actually find Albus though. Are Lily's feelings for Scorpius deeper than that of a big brother? Hm...that's also got me wondering. Hahaha.

Great chapter, I'll be back!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi there,

Thank you again for doing this :hug:

I really loved writing this chapter and I spend a lot of time writing my chapters so that I can have the full effect I want.

I love the fact that I was clear enough about Lily's character you actually felt it through the chapter and that is something that's making me grin right now.

I also love that you liked my description of the family and the general mood in the burrow.

Whatever confusion or questions you have will surely be answered in the next chapters, chapter 3 being currently under construction. But I hope you will come back for more ^^

Much Love,

DaaOne


 Report Review

Review #10, by Gabriella HunterA Spoonful of Sugar: Twenty

13th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie dropping by with another review for you! I thought that I would come and attack this immediately because I love this story and what an emotional ride!

I actually like that you started this chapter from Louis's POV. It was nice being able to understand where his love for Darcy came from and what its grown into. I think that was the best part of this chapter besides the middle, you were able to see that Louis wasn't just having a casual affection for his girlfriend. He seemed so much more mature and sure of himself and I think that really played into part later on when he realized that he loved her.

I think that the fact that you added just a little snippet of flashback here proves how much Louis had grown. Max and Gabbie (Hehehehe, little me!) were great additions and they brought up some good points too. Louis was being really childish in his attempt to get Darcy's attention and the fact that he sought her out later because he needed her really showed how much their relationship has changed.

Gah, I was really upset reading about Darcy's confession to Louis. I was worried that she wouldn't let him near her but the moment between them was so tender and perfect that I had to take a deep breath. The feels were extreme...I was able to understand a lot more about Darcy here and I think that Louis finally reached into a vulnerable part of her that she would never have let him see otherwise. I'm worried about Dean too but I hope that all works out!

So, this was a powerful and beautifully written portion of this story and I can't wait to see what happens next!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #11, by Gabriella HunterStori Ophelia: Stori Ophelia

13th July 2015:
HEllo!

This is Gabbie dropping by finally with a review for you! I was really grateful to finally get the time to read this, I've been so busy lately that I haven't had the energy to even get on the site much!

So, I really enjoyed this. It's always great reading about the birth of a character and I think that you captured the worry, fear and love very well. The first paragraph from Rose pretty much sums up what I've heard women say about expecting their first child. There was so much sass and worry in her POV that I could immediately connect with her. I could really see that she was unsure what was happening to her body and because she wasn't due for quite some time, it came off as realistic. I was overdue when my mom had me and my brother was premature so this really struck a chord in me, which is always a good thing.

What I absolutely adored was the relationship that you built with Scorpius and Rose. You could tell that there was a lot of love there and while you didn't go into a lot of detail, their love for each other was authentic. It didn't seem forced or highlighted more than the birth of their child, which gave this a nice balance.

I was really worried about Stori when she was born! It's always so risky having a baby so early and the complications that you included are actually real things that can happen to babies that are premature. I was scared for a while but I'm SO relieved to know that she was all right in the end. Scorpius and Rose stayed strong through the entire thing but I really appreciated the moment when you had Scorpius ask, "What if?" that's something no parent should have to consider but it really made your story have more depth. :D

And the ending...I can't stop squealing about it! It was beautifully written and I felt all fuzzy after reading it. Rose is a strong woman and I think that Stori will be a lot like her from what I've already seen. :D

Great job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie!
I'm so glad you enjoyed this! It was a lot of fun for me to write, even if it was a challenge. It's really reassuring to hear that you thought Rose's POV was realistic. Like I said in my A/N, I'm not writing from experience, since I've never had a baby, but I was born 14 weeks premature, so I took what I've been told about my own birth and tried to apply it to the Wizarding World.
I love writing Scorp and Rose as teenagers (in Oh My Darling), so writing them later in life when they're married was a blast. I think they have a really cute relationship, if I do say so myself. I'm glad you thought it didn't overshadow the main point of the story, though. I was really careful not to do that.
I would imagine that in a situation like that, regardless of how positive you're trying to be, some part of you would always ask the scary questions.
Of course I had to give this story a happy ending! I'm glad it made you get the warm fuzzes :)
Thank you so much for the lovely review, Gabbie! It was so nice to see you around here again, because I always love hearing what you think of my work!
Cassie :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Gabriella HunterA Weasley Vacation: On Their Way

11th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! I thought that I would get to this rather quickly because I wasn't sure when I would have the time to get to it. I've been ridiculously busy and it's such a pain!

So, we're back with Hugo and the gang. I have to say, his sassiness is only amplified by ten thousand in this chapter and I seriously love everything to do with it. Hahahah. I think that his commentary on his various family members is great, they're all so different and unique that it's fun to see them through someone else's eyes.

Holland! I didn't expect that at all. I sort of thought that Arthur would be interested in going somewhere completely random but this was a nice surprise! I have a feeling that things aren't going to go his way though and I'm really eager to find out more about all of the family. Hugo and the rest didn't seem all that enthusiastic about it though but I really think that they might have a nice time if they'd make sure everyone had their diaries. Hahahaha. I'm curious to know more about Albus's obsession with Muggle things, it's actually pretty hilarious to see him being the only one excited about the trip. It adds to the awkwardness of it all and Hugo's just perfect.

The amount of sarcasm in this one chapter could drown a small village. Hahahah. I do wonder what's going to happen once the actual vacation starts!

Great chapter! My only CC would have to be spacing out your dialogue a bit more so it won't seem like one character saying five different things.

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey!

I can't tell you how glad I am that you liked it. Plus, you were too kind, it made me grin like an idiot, reading your review haha. All my chapters are going in the edit for the dialogue to 'spread' better. I'll be back with a re-request. I really do hope you like my story!!

Alec


 Report Review

Review #13, by Gabriella HunterGame On: Wizard Chess Club - StarFeather - Gryffindor

11th July 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! I'm happy to finally be able to leave you a review for this story. :D

So, I was wondering what was going on with this story and I'm curious to know if you're going to continue. Ron is usually not a character that people really write about like this and I'm actually pretty happy what you've done here. I think a lot of people forget that he was actually good at chess while reading the HP books but this is a trait that I'm glad that you added here in this.

Apparently, there's far more going on in this story than mere chess. I don't know why but I had a feeling that this was like an invisible battle that was going on between Ron and his opponent. It was a pretty intense read, I think because while I don't know anything about chess, you gave enough information about it that I was sucked into the story.

I think that you have a few grammar things here and there but other than that, you've got a great story here. :D

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #14, by Gabriella HunterEqual Measure Good and Bad: Hearts are broken, Lives go on

11th July 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! I'm sorry that this is a little late, I'm still going through a move and I've been busy. Tis not what I would rather be doing, you know!

So, you introduced a few new characters in this chapter and I'm very curious about Tom Brady. I know that he is going to be an important fixture to this story, we met him previously, I believe but now he seems to have more purpose. I get the feeling that his interest in Stonehenge isn't merely academic. Hm..

I loved that you started this chapter out on such a happy note. I always like reading about the relationship between Harry and Ginny, they don't really get much love but I like how you developed their relationship here. You gave us a little backstory but enough for us to grasp the fact that Harry has not only matured, but found someone to depend on.

I also liked the contrast that you made with Draco and Harry here. Harry cooked a meal for his wife while a beaming house-elf prepared Draco's, it's those little touches that continue to give your story depth. Draco and Harry are still separated by class and the past, which is something that I'm really eager to see developed later on. I'm also worried about this meeting that Goyle wants with Draco, I'm pretty sure that it's not going to go well, it kind of made my skin crawl...

Ginny has nightmares? What an interesting little character trait to include! I think that form of PTSD is great for someone who faced such horror and I really liked that you had her spending time with Ron too. That's not a sibling pairing we see very often and speaking of, I LOVED the way you wrote his relationship with Hermione. They were playful, stern and comfortable with one another but I think this current job is going to build a rift between them.

The case itself is getting stranger too, I'm eager to know more about it. The wards didn't work? What is going on behind the scenes? I am really anxious to find out and that ending just tore me up a bit! Bill crying is just too much and that quote...ah, my heart kind of shattered but it was very powerful.

My only CC's really would be to be careful of repeating the same sort of descriptive narration and you should add a few spaces in your dialogue so it won't seem like the same character is speaking a thousand times.

Other than that, nice job!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Thanks Gabbie... Your reviews make me feel good about my writing... :)

Tom Brady is not a big character in this story. He is just a muggle who had an interest in the Stonehenge (something like a potrayal of how we muggles perceive it to be.)

I guess we writers always add some bit of ourselves into a character and Draco is that character for me. Draco and Astoria are a huge pairing for me to be honest in this novel.

The ending was my version of a cliffhanger. I absolutely love them and I love to keep the reader guessing. ;)

As for the dialogue issues, many people have raised this with me and I shall to rectify these in the chapters I write. I just didn't understand what you meant by repeating the same kind of descriptive narration. If you could just PM me what you meant by that, it would be swell.

Again a hearty thanks for another amazing review Gabbie.

Much love,

Penn


 Report Review

Review #15, by Gabriella HunterThe Lark and the Nightingale: Chiara Nightingale

10th July 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap! I remember that we swapped a while back and we need to get back into the habit! :D

So, I totally dig the Romeo/Juliet portion of this first chapter. I'm not the biggest fan of that particular play but I really like how authentic it felt, the Italian that you included just made the world seem bigger. What's so tragic about this is that it might actually play a part later on in this story and I'm wondering how exactly you're going to do it. Chiara and her friends are pretty cheerful but I have a feeling that's about to end. Any mention of James and his pals just makes me wince with sympathy for anyone who has to deal with them for too long. Hahaha.

I do like though that you seamlessly time hopped, your transition was pretty good. There wasn't an abrupt leap from the beginning to introducing your main characters so I really liked that, I'm curious to learn more about them all though but I'm sure that you'll do that later on.

Lily and James in the same room does not need to happen but I'm sure it will. I also loved the little nod to the HP books when you mentioned her falling out with Snape. We all know how that turned out but I wonder if you'll change that up a little here. Hm...very curious.

Anyway, I liked this and I'll be stopping by again so don't worry! :D

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey Gabbie!
Yes, we definitely have to swap more often!!! It's a way to keep me reading, too, because I'm such a horrible reader...

Oh, I'm so glad you liked the Romeo and Juliet part, even if you are not a great fan of the play (I am...)
Authentic sounds like a huge compliment, so thank you! And I'm happy you liked the Italian. I was truly scared about it, but most people (those who reviewed, at least) seemed to appreciate it, so this makes me very happy!!! :)

It will play a part in the story. You'll see if you keep reading, no spoilers here... I can tell you that Chiara's life will get pretty complicated soon. And yeah, the Marauders have that effect. I think I have a bit too much fun writing them... :P

Thank you so much, I'm glad you felt the transition worked well.

James/Lily/Snape... A classic... My story is mostly canon-compliant (or at least I hope it is), so there's really no great surprise on that front. But we'll see what happens...

Thank you so much for the amazing review! I really hope I'll see you here again soon!

Much love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #16, by Gabriella HunterSaving Severus Snape : i.

10th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swapped review! I find it strange that I've seen you lingering around here and there but have never checked out many of your stories. What a shame! I'm here to make up for it though!

So, this was a pretty interesting read. I don't really get into time traveling stories much but I like the idea behind this one, it's clear that I wasn't the only one who thought Snape's death was more than just a tad unfair. I liked that you had this being Hermione who came to this conclusion, it shows that her mind wasn't completely worn down with battle and death. I also like that her relationship with Snape wasn't much of anything, leaving room for her to bond with him in the past more easily. I know that Snape was unpleasant but he never quite victimized Hermione the way he did the boys. I feel like that really may have warped how she might have thought of him, including of course the fact that he passed away so awfully.

I'm not sure what that sounds like and I hope it makes sense. Hahaha. Anyway, I wonder how Dumbledore somehow knew that Hermione would be conflicted about Snape? He was pretty amazing but he seemed to be ahead of everyone at least three or four steps. Was he regretting his decision to involve Snape the way he did? I always wondered about that but now Hermione is in the past with no clue how to move forward. I do hope that the past Dumbledore will know what to do and what about the boys? Hermione will be gone for a while, I'm sure (That letter hinted as much with all of Dumbledore's sly wit) so I'm curious to know what's happening on their end. :D

Anyway, this was really unique and I'll be stopping by for the next chapter!

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #17, by Gabriella HunterOutsider: Friendship and Freak-Outs

5th July 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review! I'm sorry that it's taken me so long to get back to you with this, I'm currently in the middle of a move and have been super busy. My apologies!

So, we're back to Dudley again. I'm impressed by the time jump that you gave in this chapter, I was unsure how you were going to do that but it was nicely done. I think some people are a little scared of doing that in stories but you just came right out and did it, which was nice. It actually made Dudley's fear of magic even more distinct, he waited for five whole years with Nora displaying signs before he finally accepted that it wasn't going away. Now, he came off as a tad paranoid but there was something a little sad about it all. I know that he wants to do what he feels is right for her but at the same time, that fear is going to hold them both back.

I honestly wasn't surprised when he burned the letter but he should have known that that wasn't going to be end of it. I also liked that Nora isn't just passively sitting by and NOT being angry at her father for what he did. You have given her some spunk, which is great and on a whole other note, I really appreciate the fact that you've made her racial identity a prominent topic.

There isn't a lot of diversity in the archives and when there is, biracial children or minorities are kind of sidelined. There are a lot of issues that I've experienced as a Black woman that many people kind of sweep under the rug when it comes to stories. The general racism and trying to find your place in the world were expressed beautifully through Nora. I simply adore what you've done with her character here, she's not ashamed of who or what she is.

Anyway, Baz! Now, he seems like spunky little guy and I'm really curious about him. I'd love to know more about his backstory and I like the instant friendship that he has with Nora. I'm glad that you were able to have them clicking so nicely, he seems like he would be good for her and vice versa.

Now, that ending...poor Dudley. He doesn't know what to do but he can't control everything Nora does or try to deny what she is now. I'm wondering what will happen next!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi Gabbie! And no worries about lateness, it's perfectly fine. :)
Haha yeah, Dudley is quite paranoid, but he learns to deal with it eventually. After all, he loves his daughter too much to shut her out completely despite her magic.
And yes, Dudley is pulling a classic Vernon throughout this chapter.
Diversity was one of my main reasons for writing this story. I myself am both Pakistani and Indian, and I just feel like people of my race are pretty much ignored in all types of media. Not only that, but a majority of next-gens, especially on this site, have white female main characters.
As for Baz, he is quite an interesting fellow...but first appearances can be deceiving. ;)
Thanks again for the lovely review!!


 Report Review

Review #18, by Gabriella HunterA Weasley Vacation: Meet the Weasley's!

5th July 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and I'm so sorry that it's so late. I was actually in the middle of a move and it's been really hectic lately so I haven't been able to do much for you guys. :(

Here I am though!

I really like that you've written this story from Hug's POV. I don't see many stories that feature him as a main character and this was a nice change, I like the way he's written too. He's sarcastic and witty but at the same time, I get the sense that he can pick up on the little things more than the others. I'm not sure why but I thought that was pretty interesting, I would have liked a bit more detail on him and some of his cousins though. I felt like this opening chapter was good at setting them all up but I would have liked a bit more description. What year are they all in? Does Hugo have any hobbies? Even just a general description of what he looks like could go a long way but he has a great personality so I think that might just be a little nitpick. I especially liked the fact that you have Rose, Dom and the others all so nervous about going on this vacation. Idiots with wands, eh? That doesn't sound good! Hahaha. I wonder what kind of trouble they all get into...

Now, I LOVE that Albus is seriously into Muggle things like his grandfather. I thought that was a nice little detail that fleshed him out more since we didn't get to really see him here. I do like James and while we didn't get to see some of the other cousins, I can tell that you've given them some great little quirks. I'm rather curious about where they're going and what prompted this trip though. Hm...

As far as CC's go, you've got a few grammar things that you can sweep through easily. Hugo says at one point, "Rose, Dom and me." When it should be "Rose, Dom and I." And some of your dialogue should be spaced out more so it doesn't turn into a giant paragraph. Other than that, I like the pace and I'm curious to find out what happens next! Lorietta and Hugo, huh? I'm going to keep my eye on them...

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hey there! Well I'm glad you left your thoughts, regardless of that you were a bit late! Really appreciate the review:)

The reason I didn't give more detail on Hugo/his cousins was that this was a very introductive introduction chapter. So yeah, it was just setting up the main plot and characters, I wasn't going to overload the readers with a shit ton of information immediately, I wanted rather to give away info about the characters as you read on, so at the end you really feel like you know everyone.

Also its Loriette* instead of Lorietta, but I'm very glad you're excited for my story! I'd love for you to read what's next! Hope you have no problems against me re-requesting a review for further chapters ? :)

Alec


 Report Review

Review #19, by Gabriella HunterFair Agony, Fair Madness: Prologue

21st June 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review and I am SOOO sorry that this took a minute! I have been busy and real life was being a jerk. Like, why?

On to this! Your story has a really interesting edge of darkness and mystery. I love a story like that and I'm going to try and piece together everything as I go on. I can't help but wonder what's going on here and I'm hoping that you'll be dropping by little hints here and there for me to pick up on. :D

It's always great seeing Albus in a story and this version of him appears awfully laid back. I've seen a lot of stories where he's shy, awkward (Like mine) or this big Quidditch hunk so this is a nice change. I do wonder what kind of memorial they're talking about here...also, I'm not sure if you're doing this on purpose or not but I would like to know who your main character is. I think just a little sentence or paragraph explaining that would clear up a lot of things but not detract from the mystery that you're setting up. You've got a dark history or some awful past that I'd love to read up on but I think that you need to make it clear who this story is about, just a little. It doesn't have to be anything fancy or broad either, I just need a person to visualize but I am curious as to what the trouble is all about. Why not go back for the memorial? What happened between them all that she would avoid her family? Hm...so many questions.

I thought that this was a good fast-paced first chapter too but a little more detail about their surroundings/clothes and things could help juice it up a little more. There was this little grammar thing that you could take out too: "Since I know no one of these people" should just be "none". That's all that I spotted though so don't worry about it!

Haunt my thread again!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hello there !

Thank you so much for the review and I'm happy you liked my prologue. About the main character, I thought about it and I'm going to drop a few hints within the chapters, until my character is ready to come clean *winks*. But I won't make the guessing game dull, so no worries about that !

The prologue was meant to set up the mood for the story, a general context that's not too specific. But hopefully with the next chapter things will start to clear up.

About the grammar remark, I've already went on and edited that part but I'm still waiting for the edited version to be validated.

I'm happy you liked this first chapter and I hope you'll come back for more !

Thank you for the review
xo
DaaOne


 Report Review

Review #20, by Gabriella HunterPermission: Start Running

21st June 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with our swap and what is this madness? We've never swapped before?! What? Tsk, tsk. Well, I'm Gabbie and it's a pleasure to meet you!

So, this was pretty fascinating. I could never write in second person like this, I'm awful at it and I think that you crafted this whole world so well. Getting into Lucius's head and feeling his fear was just too much for me at some point, it made me feel so icky. I think that you wrote this very well though and I wanted to be able to sink right into this story. It's brilliant.

Lucius is a very unlikeable character and I know that he's not the easiest person to write and that's one of the reasons why I love him. I know that his cowardice and fear are elements to his personality but at the same time, his cunning was so beautifully illustrated here. I was blown away but the hissing, pressing threat that was looming over his shoulders...that was some powerful writing.

Throughout this entire thing, Lucius remained a coward though. He has absolutely no dignity and I loved that you didn't stray away from it, he's a selfish person and his fears of being ridiculed forever are more painful to him than being killed by the Dark Lord! I mean, you can tell that he's TERRIFIED but at the same time you know that his pride is eating him alive too.

So...just...wow. I am in love with this! I hope you ask to swap more often! :D

Enjoy the crazy stories on my page!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #21, by Gabriella HunterIvy Manor: Ivy Manor

20th June 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with your review for our swap. I'm sorry that I didn't get to this sooner but real life came in the form of my computer kind of dying. I am tempted to cast it into the abyss...

But anyway, this! I think that this was a really unique story. We hardly ever get to hear anything about side characters in the HP world but this is just a really great way of broadening the stories and universe. I firstly really love the idea of Harry and Ginny on vacation together (I always figured that Ginny would be into horses too so that was a nice touch, she's not all about Quidditch, apparently.) I like reading stories where they're prominently displayed as a couple without so much grief.

I'm sure that it'll get in the way but it's great to see them supporting one another and staying strong. I wasn't sure what this story was going to be about as I read but I'm really blown away with this world that you created, it's also refreshing to see that Harry wasn't the center of this. It's a sad look at Frank Bryce, who we all remember from the books and I love the background that you gave for him. He came back from the world war only to lose his life years and years later instead of being recognized for all the good he'd done. That was the most powerful part of this story for me, we don't ever consider who we're losing during the bad times.

Now, what struck me was the fact that Harry went to Ivy Manor. Ugh, I think that he was incredibly brave but at the same time, I can only imagine what it must have been like for him. Ginny remained with him and stayed by his side even while he faltered and the ending just wrapped this up nicely.

So, great one-shot! Also, thank you a bunch for the wonderful review you left for Grey! Look for my reply soon!

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Hi, Gabbie! Thank you for stopping by.

I really like your writing style, so I'm happy to join your review swap. Let's do this again. :)

Your insightful review is brilliant. I also like your writing style to create the original characters in your story.

Talking of Ginny riding on a horse, it was natural to think of, 'cause her Patronus is a horse, and as you pointed out, she's a very active woman.

I'm always amazed by your enriched words of your stories and reiviews.

Responding this, I'm struck with awe. Because I realize now that we can create any characters through Harry Potter world.

Thank you very much!

:)Kenny


 Report Review

Review #22, by Gabriella HunterBroken Love: Chapter 1

19th June 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie stopping by with this random review for you! I thought that I would be wandering back over here eventually anyway to stalk some of your stories and this caught my attention. :D

Ah, I wonder how you were able to write this story without collapsing in a pool of feels. I don't think I've written much about dysfunctional relationships but you've done this very well. We all know that this isn't an easy thing to write and to create a whole story around it is pretty hard. I think that you've given a lot of elements to Lily's relationship with Lysander, you go up from anger to sadness and heartbreak all in one one-shot!

Lysander and Lily seem like they have a strong history of this sort of fighting. It makes me sad and I would have liked to have known why it was this way. I really think that I was interested in knowing more about their relationship, what was it that had them tied together? I feel badly for Lily though but at the same time I want to shake her a little. Lysander seems bad for her in a thousand ways and he sure knows how to manipulate her into doing what he wants.

I really despise men like this and I wonder what's going to happen with Lily. I can't help but think that it could escalate into something really bad if she doesn't get help. What really struck me at the end was how she knew what kind of situation she was in, that just broke my heart. Very powerful writing though and if you were to continue this, I'd be all over it! :D

My entry for the Angst Galore Challenge is called "Grey" if you were interested in reading about Draco Malfoy crying. Hahaha.

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #23, by Gabriella HunterIt's All In Your Head: Chapter One

19th June 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums dropping by with a random review! Well, it's not very random considering that I was asking for something awesome to read. :D

So, you've captured my interest with this story right off the bat! I hardly ever see stories featuring Lorcan or Lysander and when I usually see them popping up, they're more of a secondary character. I like that you've made Lorcan the focus here and I'm eager to see what you're going to do with his character. I'm already getting the sense that he's a dedicated and serious kind of person but may I say that he reminded me of Percy Weasley? The entire little bit about him glowing over his Head Boy badge just made me squeal a little. I wonder if he has a rather pompous opinion of himself? I would fall in love with him even more if he did. Hahaha.

*Ahem*

I'm sensing that not everything is good at his home. Of course, we're not sure what might have happened before this but I'm getting the feeling that Rolf and Lorcan don't really have much to do with one another. Perhaps they have fallen into a numb sort of acceptance? Or maybe they've merely grown distant with one another? I wonder what happened, though I have my suspicions right now about it...

Apparently you've changed the gender of Lysander in this and I'm really curious! I don't think I've seen this done before and I'm really, really eager to find out more. I wonder what she's like and if their relationship is as forced, Lorcan was obviously not very happy about the news. :D

I liked this so keep me posted! >:)

Much love,

Gabbie

Author's Response: Yay, my first review for this story!

Now I have to hold my tongue and not answer all of your questions right away, which is tempting...

I suppose there is a bit of a connection with Percy, but Lorcan does have a very different personality. Yes, he may be a bit pompous, but not necessarily for the same reasons. The way I see it, Percy is very ambitious and his pompousness comes from a place of feeling superior to others based on social power. I see Lorcan as really very intelligent, to the point that he actually feels isolated from others.

I'm definitely glad to hear that you like Lorcan. He's not always very likeable in the coming chapters, but part of my aim with this chapter was to get readers invested in him before we get to that point.

Chapter 2 is done and I'm working on chapter 3 this weekend, though I'll probably update Rules of Motherhood first, because I'm so flattered at the good attention it's getting. I'll update this soon though, so check back!

Thanks,

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #24, by Gabriella HunterOnly a Dream: Only a Dream

19th June 2015:
HELLO!

This is Gabbie stopping by and leaving sporadic reviews for you awesome people! I thought that I would give myself a break from angst and hop on over to this because it looked all fluffy and feel-goody. :D

I really love it when people write about a younger Harry. It's such a nice contrast and we get to see how different he is from his relatives while getting into his head more. It's always nice to know that he had such a vivid imagination too and writing from the POV of a five year old is pretty darn brilliant. I don't know how you managed to do that! I was thinking of doing the same with Teddy Lupin at some point but I'm kind of anxious.

What I really liked about this was that even though Harry is being treated horribly by his relatives, he has so much hope. I love that you've written him this way, he's so alone but at the same time, he wants to be a hero. He wants to be loved so badly and that just breaks my heart, he can't even remember anything about his parents but clings to the hope of them. ;__;

I liked that you mixed Harry's imagination with what was happening in his real life. You could really understand what it was like to be him and especially compared to Dudley. It was sad to know that he was isolated like a bad thing and it's hard not to want to scoop him up and run away with him.

Now, the thing that I liked besides Harry's innocence was the thing about his own hero. I like that he thought of who I can only assume to be Dumbledore, being this mystical, powerful person there to save the day. The fact that Harry still remembers, even when he think it's a dream just makes my heart swell up. :D

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review

Review #25, by Gabriella HunterBetrayal: Chapter 4: The Request

17th June 2015:
Hello!

This is Gabbie from the forums here with you review and I am glad to be back. I was really impressed with the way you wrote this chapter, I finally got a few questions answered and the dynamics of your characters are certainly interesting.

I really could feel the animosity coming from the group too. I wasn't sure what was going to happen but I cringed when I imagined how awkward it must have been for the former friends. It's clear that Meredith isn't going to let some of the past go and I was really just dumbstruck by the fact that both sides of the arguments were so dark. Sirius and his group believe that she betrayed them and while information was given to Voldemort, Mereditch feels equally betyrayed by THEM for not believing her innocence. I'd like to know more about that, to be honest but I'll also say that Meredith wasn't very likeable in this chapter and I'm not sure if that was on purpose. I'm not sure if she's just hiding from her true feelings or not but when she broke down a little at the news of their friend's deaths, that was a moment of realism for her. I felt like she was showing her true self. I'd like to see more of that.

I liked the way you wrote James, Sirius and Remus too. They felt very distinct and weren't relying on some of the more generic things that I've seen around. They're all worn out by the war and have no idea what might happen and I liked that you didn't have them all glowing, handsome beasts with tragic eyes. That would have taken away from the realism of this story but here's what I loved the most: The flashback.

It gave me a real idea of who they all were before the war changed them. I can see the immaturity and snarkiness in each of the characters, which helped to emphasize how different tehy were in the present so great job on that!

I do hope that Meredith will be able to work with the guys in order to save her sister. I'm really worried about that and what else they might discover about one another. :D

Thanks for the read!

Much love,

Gabbie

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>