Reading Reviews From Member: 800 words of heaven
  
385 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heavenJames Potter's Stupid Journal: The Horror Begins

23rd January 2015:
Heya! I've been meaning to read this story for a while now, and I finally got the time, so here I am!

Ah! I really like this! James is adorable. Sofie is adorable. Albus is adorable. So far, everyone is adorable. And already things are exploding in flashes of light, time travel is very real (and very cool) and James's crush on Sofie is so obvious! Yay for rapid plot progression!

Looking forward to the next chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heavenDreaming of a Paradox: Glimpses

22nd January 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! Whilst I wait for (4) States of Matter to be updated, I thought I'd check out your author page and see what else you have in that wonderful head of yours. This caught my eye immediately.

Founders. Action. Non-linear timelines. I love it already. It feels a little like Doctor Who meets James Bond wrapped in pretty HP fanfic paper, which is all one can ask for, really. I hope that you continue this story - I most definitely am in love. I want to get to know your characters more, especially Scorpius because right now he's such a dork and I have a soft spot for dorks. Lily seems like a boss, and I wish to add more positive adjectives to that list. Helena kind of freaks me out, which is basically Helena's role in my life.

Enough rambling from me, I think! I really enjoyed this. Thanks for the awesome start :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heavena little bit of coolness.: I'm not even sure whether I have Layla.

21st January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Okay, first of all, everyone is just a bit too prejudiced in this chapter. Why all the House hate? Rose says she "can't expect any better from a Gryffindor" and then Hugo's like "I expected you not to like because you're a Ravenclaw" and then Rose is like "I'm not lying because I'm not in Slytherin." Um. Is this going to be something that's explored in the story later on? I don't want to sound like I'm hating on your story, I'm just confused as to where all these stereotypes are coming from, and why they're so callous about labelling the people the way they do.

Also, Arianna is a tiny bit terrifying. But I didn't expect Layla to be so suddenly cruel. It just doesn't seem to fit in with what we know of her and Rose's relationship, like where was the buildup? Why did she suddenly snap at Rose? And I still don't understand why Rose cares so much whether or not Hugo and Layla date.

At last! Rose has come to the realisation that she's quite easy to walk over, although I'm a bit sad about all that self-hatred. I'm also a bit angry because that self-hatred is fuelled by jealousy. But I think Rose is shaping up to be quite the interesting character! I'm eager to see where she goes from here. Will it be a spiral down, before moving back up?

I'm sorry if the review comes off as sounding a bit too critical. I'm just a bit confused about some things. An enjoyable chapter, all the same! It made me think which is always a happy bonus :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heavena little bit of coolness.: a sad Scorpius, and a big box.

21st January 2015:
Heya, swooping in with your requested review!

So your area of concern was that you've been doing a lot of edits, and that you wanted to know what worked and what didn't. I didn't read the chapter before this, so I can't offer a comparison. However, I shall endeavour to provide you with my honest opinion of the chapter as it stands.

I enjoyed this chapter. I'm not quite sure what the plot of the story is, though. Is it a romance? Is it going to involve Rose trying to be cool? I don't know. But if you're in it for the long haul, I don't think it really matters how early the plot is revealed. It takes me ages to get to the point!

It was nice to learn a bit more about the characters, especially the dynamic of their group. Scorpius remains as weird as ever, Albus just wants to be cool, and Layla kind of already is. She also seems to be really concerned with material things, which I think is great for a bunch of Ravenclaws.

Onto Rose. I don't know whether or not I like her. I can see a lot of myself in her, and I definitely appreciate the struggle of discovering what your heart wants and the need to succeed. Right now, she's reading quite a lot like a female Percy, which may be what you're going for. Also, I don't quite understand why she's so mad at Layla for wanting to date (or whatever) her brother? It doesn't seem like that big a deal to me. She likes Layla, and you haven't shown Rose and Hugo to be especially close that she'd want to "protect" him from Layla or anything. If anything, Rose admires her for being so outgoing. However, I do think there's heaps of room for her to grow as a person so that'll make an interesting story all on its own! And who sent the mystery box of mischief-making?

Lovely chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heavenPython: Python

20th January 2015:
Hello! You requested a review for this story all the way in October, and I am finally here to fulfil it. Sorry about the ridiculous wait.

Okay. So I'm not sure about Nearly Headless Nick, but this was definitely creepy enough for me! I've held snakes before and it's always really disconcerting to me how they never feel like you expect them to feel, and because I don't handle them all that often, that disconnect makes my skin crawl. That sort of uncomfortableness was what this story made me feel. (That's a compliment, btw)

You asked specifically about flow, and yes, the piece reads a bit disjointed. To me, this isn't a bad thing since it just adds to the overall feeling of creepiness because the reader isn't allowed to quite settle and feel comfortable in the story. The non-linear timeline just adds to that effect. It definitely worked for me.

I also love how this is written in second person. Everything sounds a little scarier in second person when it's used to that effect, and this was most certainly the case here.

Thanks for the awesome read :) I'm sorry about the insane wait, once again :(

 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heavenMemories: Changes

20th January 2015:
Heya! I'm finally dropping in to fill your review request which you posted all the way back in October. My motto is better late than never, but that kind of wait time is actually atrocious. Sorry :(

So I enjoyed this chapter quite a bit actually. I'm sad to hear that you've abandoned this story, but I'm here to encourage you to continue it! There definitely needs to be more George/Angelina love on the archives, and the period in their on which you've chosen to write this is certainly going to be an interesting take. Fred takes Angelina out for the Yule Ball - and she currently has a boyfriend - so that's definitely going to complicate things for poor George!

I really liked all the characters. You've nailed the Weasley boys, especially Percy. Listening to George's inner monologue was fun, especially since he's so confused about what he's feeling for Angelina. He obviously has a crush on her, but he swings from admitting this to himself and then back to deluding himself that in fact, no; they're just good friends. Angelina was also pretty cool, and I'm looking forward to getting to know her better, as well as learning about this mysterious boyfriend...

This was a lovely start, and I'm sorry for the ridiculous wait. Don't hesitate to post again in my thread for this or any other story (I'll try and be faster, I promise) or if you need a buddy to help brainstorm for this story, feel free to send me a PM!

 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heavenHurricane Luna: They Scorch in a Desert

20th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Aww! I don't like mean Rolf either! Although this was bound to happen. Rolf just isn't made to stand people, and sooner or later, he was going to snap at Luna, despite how amazingly perfect they are together.

I do like how it was partly because of the heat. If they'd gone to the Arctic circle or something, this confrontation almost certainly would have been postponed for another time. But heat brings out the worst in people, I think. Especially Saharan heat. That's the nastiest. I think it's interesting that Rolf believes that "people always leave". He was the one who sent Luna away, and all because she was trying to include him in her life.

Anyway, I'm sure Rolf is going to realise the full meaning of the quote on which this story is based in the next chapter. I both dread and eagerly anticipate the coming (almost certainly angst-riddled) epiphany.

 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heavenDragonology: The Dragon

19th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Ohmigosh! More stories need to be written about Charlie and his love affair with dragons! I'm so glad that I read this (also kinda surprised that I hadn't until now...).

Charlie is such a great dude. He's enthusiastic about working with dragons, and instead of being like this inexperienced puppy, he knows what he's doing - sort of. I definitely wouldn't have entered that dragon enclosure no matter how many books I'd read on them. Injured animals can be terrifying. But he treats the dragon with care and respect, which it recognises and returns - that was a really love touch.

One thing that I really like about your writing is your attention to realism. You could've just said "mountains in Romania" but you specified which mountain range. I remember that even in your fun little Dominique/Teddy one-shot, there's just this beautiful attention to detail which makes your writing all the more real. Awesome stuff :)

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing.

I'm glad you liked Charlie here and his whole interaction with the dragon. I definitely enjoyed writing it.

I love reading little details in stories so I try to put them in my stories too and it's great when they get noticed. Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heavenFanged Revolution: Chapter the First

17th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Okay, so I'm not one to usually read vampire stories (thank you Twilight for squashing a small spark of interest out of existence) but I was intrigued by the premise of this story because vampires are somehow cooler when their stories are set in the past.

I'm looking forward to seeing what you'll do with the historical aspect of this story. It's strangely not something about which much fanfiction is written, so props for being unique too! I can already tell that Ignatius really should've been more careful about on whom he accidentally preys. Draining random humans dry can have the most unexpected of consequences!

Also, I'm excited about getting to know Ignatius better. There wasn't much to his character in this opening chapter other than he tries to be an ethical vampire. Also, I'm super pumped to find out if any research into why some vampires retain their magic. I seriously hope that it comes up later on in the story!

Solid start! Thanks for the cool read :)

Author's Response: Hello!

I don't usually read vampire stories either (for much the same reason) but I have to agree with you. Plus, it gives me so much more creative freedom without having to stick an AU label on the summary.

I plan to use the historical aspect heavily. Ignatius should definitely avoid draining random humans, because (as he knows now) you can never know just who they might be.

Ignatius tries to be an ethical vampire, but, due to the nature of his species, it's not the easiest thing to do. There will be revelations about why some vampires retain their magic.

I'm glad you liked it!

~Olivia


 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heavenVictoire: The Guard

15th January 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

Ooh! A story focusing on Victoire and Teddy with what seems to be a good dash of mystery and suspense! I'm excited!

So I really loved the way you opened the story with that scene with Cormac. It really harked back to the novels themselves, and how they'd almost always open from someone else's point of view and then move onto Harry in the second chapter. Very cool. And I liked your choice of Cormac - he fit rather well as an Azkaban guard, slightly bitter yet still determined. And OMG. The way Greyback died? Seriously creepy.

Victoire and Teddy seem really nice so far. They're already quite good friends which is sweet to see. And I like how you've shown Victoire as this very normal person so far. She's not like this amazingly popular person or this anti-social loner either. I'm looking forward to getting to know both her and Teddy better.

This was a fantastic first chapter! It has me seriously intrigued :)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for such a kind review!

I kind of wanted to fit more into the tone of JK's novels with this one (at least, more than in Complicated), and the POV switch was supposed to link into that so I'm really glad you picked up on it. And I strangely loved writing Cormac as an Azkaban guard.

And thank you for liking Teddy and Victoire! I'm really enjoying them as characters and am already quite attached to them so it's nice to hear that people like them.

I just wanted to let you know I've read your wonderful one-shot but for some reason have some kind of writers block on trying to get a review written for it. But I loved it and am aware that I owe you a review for it so should have it for you in the next couple of days - so sorry about the delay!

Thanks for the swap!

Lots of love,

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heaven(4) States of Matter: Lights Out

15th January 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

OMG I love Jily! I'm slowly getting back into reading them because people are slowly getting back into writing them, and I'm happy at finding this one! This seems like it will be SO. GOOD.

I really loved the first chapter. All your characters came across so strongly and distinct from each other, which can be hard to achieve, first chapter or not, but since you did it in your first chapter that's even more impressive! James! Lily! Mary! Sirius! Remus! REGULUS. So pumped!

And your plot is super interesting so far. Regulus has to do nefarious deeds for all-too-understandable reasons and Snape sucks. Rosier is typically evil. Lily and Mary are in A LOT of trouble simply for being muggleborns. What on earth is James doing there? Sirius probably has this incredibly stupid yet incredibly daring plan to spring them out. He's also unfortunately going to collide with Regulus and that's not going to be pretty AT ALL.

Looking forward to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heavenSubjugo Sempiterne - Forever Under the Yoke: Part 1: Friendship and Betrayal

15th January 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

So I've been meaning to read this story for a really long time. I think you posted this story not long after I discovered what an amazing writer I'd been missing for far too long, but I somehow never got around to it. But finally, here I am!

I really love the premise of this story! Your tone makes it sound like a fable reminiscent of a Grimm's fairytale, and that just adds a whole new dimension to it. It was interesting to see that you chose the personal experiences of two individuals as the basis of traditional servitude of the house elf. What made you choose this road as opposed to another situation?

I just love the way you've set up both characters. I find myself sympathising with both of them: Winifred, because those are the beliefs and opinions that I personally hold, and Hywel because I can see how his traumatic past experiences affect him in the present.

Another point of this story that I really like is the way you used Hywel's friend Rhein to express the general views of the wizarding population at this time in their history. I can see the echoes of what the Ministry believes (especially in OotP); some of the things that Rhein said very vividly reminded me of the "Magic is Might" statue in the Ministry's atrium. I can also see the beginnings of the tensions that lead to the formation of the International Statute of Secrecy. You've touched on so many social issues in such a simple manner: through the story of two friends who are no longer friends. THAT IS AMAZING.

I really liked this first part, and I hope that you'll eventually post the second half, because I'd love to see some sort of conclusion to this tale. Thanks for the read :)

Author's Response: okay, okay, okay, if you're going to start off a review with such high praise, it makes me melt into a puddle of good unable to respond. *hug*

Part of the reason I went with two friends setting off on different paths was because it ddn't focus on how but why this happened. The other thing that put me on this story line versus exploring the magic behind the house elf enslavement in and of itself is the ToS (and not wanting to write a story I couldn't publish). Ulitmately, a story about two people felt more interesting anyway.

I'm thrilled that both characters were likable and relatable. It was easy for me to see Winifred as likable but I wanted to make sure Hywel didn't just come across as a jerk but rather a nice enough guy with a difficult past.

Rhein was just that - my view into the wider world. he does have a darker view on inter-species bonds but he's not atypical. I'm so happy you were able to see a pre-secrecy world and events that might have made it necessary to go into hiding. i do like fitting social issues into stories that aren't about those social issues.

I have a plan to work on the second part in the next few months! I'll be sure to post when I do.

thank you so much for an amazing review!!

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heavenAway From It All: Let's Go

15th January 2015:
Heya! I saw over on the forums that you were having kind of a rough day so I thought I'd pop in and drop a (quick, unfortunately) review!

Ah! I love this ship so much! I think I ship it far too hardcore, but love has no limits I guess. I really enjoyed your portrayal of Victoire. She's so often written as being outgoing and the sort of "golden girl" of Next Gen, by virtue of being the eldest, and as the eldest child myself, I see from where that portrayal arises. But I'm much more like the way you've written Victoire here, so I really related to her - which was a lovely change of pace from other depictions that I've seen (including, strangely, the one I wrote myself).

Gah! Teddy is just the best. He's like this normal kid who's able to socialise with all the crazy Wotters and handle the insanity, but he gets Victoire. It's so wonderful to see him quite naturally understanding of her and the way she is. And I just adore the fact that he's so accepting of her as well - that's super important.

Just. Gah. These two. This story. I now have all the fluffy feels! ♥

Author's Response: Aw thank you so much, you are so sweet!


I was never a huge reader of Tediore until after I wrote this, but after I did so, I think I've consumed the majority of the fic in this archive and AO3, it was an issue at the time, I couldn't get enough!

Portraying Victoire as I did was really important to me because I never really imaged Victoire to be outgoing and the "golden girl", as you say. She never grew up with a lot of family like the younger cousins would have and she was also born itno a family still very much griving from their losses, so having her being outgoing didn't make much sense to me, that was more Dominique in my view. I think also being an eldest child is why I've written her that way.

I love Teddy so much, he's very much the go between with the Wotters and Victoire. He totally gets her and it's because of him that she can still socialise with the rest of the clan.

Thanks you so much, again. I love writing fluff, and now I'm sitting smiling at my computer at work like a complete lunatic! ♥


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heavenAm I A Wizard or a House Elf?: I keep on running out of time.

14th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG!

I was going to read the next chapter of a little bit of coolness. but this story looked a bit lonely, so I thought I'd give this a shot!

I really enjoy reading stories about Dobby, and this was very nice indeed - perfect for a late summer night read. Dobby's dilemma is strangely one to which I can relate, obviously not the house elf or wizard part (I am unfortunately neither), but just trying to figure out who you are, especially when circumstances pull you in all different directions. I really loved that aspect of Dobby! His determination and perseverance and optimism in the face of repeated failure are also admirable qualities, which I found you portrayed excellently.

Dumbledore was a surprise here for me. I expected him to be more supportive of Dobby explicitly, but instead he asked Dobby what he wanted to be, forcing Dobby to make up his mind on the matter. Come to think of it, Dumbledore always has a very roundabout way of doing things, so that actually makes sense. Kudos to accurate presentation!

I have one tiny question: since Dobby speaks in third person, I've always assumed he thought in third person as well. I can see why you chose to write him in first person though, since the story doesn't really work otherwise, but the pronouns become a problem as they're in direct conflict with his personality. What made you choose to write the story in first person anyway?

Awesome story! I really enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heavenGetting Out Alive: Buttered Tea (An Example of Distraction)

14th January 2015:
SLYTHERIN REVIEW TAG.

How long has it been since I visited your author page, Mae? Too long. It's been so long, in fact, that I doubt you even remember that I have ever even read your stories. But fear not - I have, and I shall continue to do so (time allowing, unfortunately).

I thought I'd give this a go since it's been a while since I read a story with characters as young as fifteen. I'm surprised to say that I've sort of missed the angst and drama that being fifteen automatically entails. It reminded me of simpler times. Sigh. But anyway, onto your story!

I really enjoyed this first chapter! Jay seems normal so far; she's your typical teenager with your typical teenage problems trying to figure out who on earth she is, and where on earth she came from. I particularly liked the way you defined her relationship with her mother so succinctly. Since she's on a quest to find her birth father, her relationship with her mother is going to play a big part in her life. I'm sure that will ease off when she returns to Hogwarts for the next year. And OWLs! I am of the opinion that more than NEWTs, they are the be all and end all of academic assessment at Hogwarts. Good luck to Jay!

Another thing: I love the fact that she's Jewish! It's great to see some diversity in fanfics. I'm all for it! I really like how it's quite natural (like it is in real life, really) - she celebrates Hanukkah, not Christmas; she doesn't eat ham, etc. Fantastic stuff! Looking forward to reading the next chapter :)

PS: How does one pronounce Jaylen? Just curious!

Author's Response: Why hello there! :D

Awww, well no matter how long it has been, it's just awesome that you've come around at all! ;) But I'm glad you have, and will (time allowing) continue to do so!

Haha, drama and angst in the same paragraph as simpler times? I'm worried about how how your adult life has been so far! :p No, I'm just kidding! I know what you mean! If my life could be as trivial as 'who's dating who' and 'will I pass this?' now, I'd be a much happier person! ;)

Yay enjoyment! :D I do like Jay, and I like where I set her. I first thought about her being an adult looking for her father, but then I thought - Nah! That's not as fun! Teenager are more supple to angst and experimenting and other things! That'll be way more fun! Also, as an adult, I'd think she'd have a better standing relationship with her mother, and I wanted this relationship with Charmian and her daughter to be like this. I do in fact have big plans for them with Jay looking for her father. :) As for her exams: I know right? You don't pass them owls, then you're just sort of out of luck for the rest of Hogwarts!

The Jewish bit was extremely last minute simply because I was a bit scared to touch the subject. I personally am not Jewish, nor do I have any Jewish friends. The extent I know of it is from television. But, I too am a fan of diversity and practicing it in my writing, so I figured I'd give it a shot. So I took to every writer's best friend: the internet! I even went as far as looking up the Jewish calendar of 2027! ;)

Well, I got the name Jaylen from a childhood friend of mine. We bonded because we both had names that were 'misspelled' for the way they were pronounced. It's pronounced Jay-Lynn. I don't know if this is a popular British name, but it's the year 2027! ;)

Thank you so much for coming back and reading and reviewing! If it has been a while, who cares? You came back! ;) Thank you so much, love!

~Mae


 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heavenHurricane Luna: They Love in a City

13th January 2015:
REVIEW TAG.

Wow. It's been so long since I read and reviewed this story! I'm very sad about how infrequently I read your stories, since I enjoy them so much - especially this one.

Rolf is as adorable and awkward as always, but it's so lovely to see the way Luna is opening his eyes to the world around him. He already sees the world differently to the way most other people do, but with Luna, it's as if he's experiencing a whole new dimension. And the way he slowly opened up to Albus! Oh, my heart! What a cutie (both of them)!

I LOVED the idea of magic being hidden in paintings and monuments, and for some reason, Paris was the perfect city to showcase that. Despite being such an industrial city, it has this way of seamlessly blending its history with its present and future, and that lends itself very well to the idea of magic hiding in plain sight. Excellent choice!

I don't think I've mentioned this before, but this is possibly my favourite Luna/Rolf story. It's just so wonderful to read, because their growing love and affection for each other is so quiet to everyone else, but for Rolf it's this HUGE thing. It's changing the very fabric of his universe, and I absolutely adore that aspect of this story. Awesome chapter, as always ♥

Author's Response: Hi there!

I really didn't intend to take this long to respond to this. But I also wanted to say thanks for recommending my story on the forums! I'm so glad you like it. I really have enjoyed writing both Luna and Rolf... and the animals... and the magic hidden in monuments and paintings... Yeah. I've had a blast writing this story.

Eep! You're favorite Luna/Rolf? Oh my goodness, that is so much to live up to.

Thanks again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heavenTwo Words: Cold

12th January 2015:
Heya! Here for this week's inaugural Hot Seat! I may be back with more reviews if time allows :)

OH MY GOD WHY IS EVERYONE KILLING EVERYONE ELSE IN THIS STORY? I'd love to know your inspiration for this piece! It's fantastically written and I really enjoyed it.

The brief length really works here. It builds tension and mystery effectively, yet you've used your words with thought and care (which really shone through for me) so the story still feels complete.

The first paragraph had me going SERIAL KILLER. So that was pretty exciting for me - I have a weird obsession with Criminal Minds :P The second paragraph had me thinking DRACO HAS PUSHED SOMEONE OVER THE EDGE OMG DID HE DESERVE IT? PROBABLY. The third paragraph had me going IS SOMEONE ELSE DEAD? WOW I THOUGHT THERE WERE ONLY TWO DEATHS IN THIS WHERE DID THE THIRD COME FROM WHO IS DEAD. In the fourth paragraph I went YES. I KNEW IT. IT WAS DRACO'S FAULT. And then the fifth paragraph I was sad. POOR ROSE.

So this story definitely had me excited and engaged! Wonderful stuff!

 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heavenMortality: Mortality

10th January 2015:
Heya! Here for our review swap!

So this made me feel incredibly sad. There were parts where I felt happy when Molly felt happy because it's hard for me not to feel happy when the characters that I read are happy.

But for the most part, this was just incredibly sad, because I sort of figured that one or the other was dead. Molly and Arthur are such a functional unit, and their relationship is one of the few romantic pairings that's steady and constant and healthy in canon, that it's so difficult to imagine one without the other. My heart was breaking for Molly throughout!

I'm really sorry that I don't really have a lot to say about this. I'm just a little overwhelmed right now by my sadness (got to stop using that word). But lovely writing, as always!

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heavena little bit of coolness.: ok, things are getting awkward.

25th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG.

What is with all the cliffhangers at the end of your chapters? This is the second one in twice as many chapters! Argh! It's infuriating.

Okay, is it just me, or does Scorpius seem rather... intense? A ring is a serious commitment, especially if you've only briefly dated the person... who has then dumped you. Scorpius, what on earth is going through your mind, you crazy boy?

I was kind of hoping to get to know the characters a little better in this chapter, but it seemed to be a continuation of your introduction, really. Maybe the next chapter, when we learn Rose's answer perhaps? Or when they go back to Hogwarts.

Excited to see what happens next - and where this story leads :)

Author's Response: Hey again.

I guess that I'm just a cliffhanger-y person, to be honest. Sorry! It would infruate me too, but I know what's going to happen. Does this help?

Yes, glad you picked up on that. Scorpius is supposed to be a bit of a strange character. Very strange. Some secrets about him shall be revealed in later chapters.

It should have really been one chapter joined. I don't know. Maybe I'll edit. Characters will be developed further though. That's for certain.

Thanks for stopping by.

This review was much appreciated,

Missy


 Report Review

Review #20, by 800 words of heavena little bit of coolness.: a silky dress and a happy birthday.

23rd December 2014:
REVIEW TAG.

This story caught my eye since I'm always up for a good Next Gen with a little humour and romance thrown into the mix.

I'm looking forward to getting to know Rose a little better. She seems quite normal right now, just your average teenaged witch who feels a little insecure about herself from time to time. It'll be interesting to watch her grow into herself as the story moves forward.

Ooh! Party time! I hope they have fun - parties are notorious for being the setting for some nasty surprises. Mostly, I just want to get to know Albus, Scorpius, and Layla. I love a story with a good friendship dynamic!

Nice opening chapter :)

Author's Response: Hi there, 800 words of heaven!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review. Yeah, Rose is like the average teenager who feels a bit insecure. You'll see her change throughout the novel.

Thanks again,

From Missy


 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heavenseventeen, eighteen.: countdown.

13th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I've read Nadia's story waterfall. so I was super excited to read this. And you wrote it for her! So sweet!

This story is great. I just love how repetitive it is. I think it really shows Molly's headspace well. This is her reality and she can't break free. The structure of the story is really quite restrictive as well, and I think that just underscores that point.

I seriously love the use of the rhymes! I think that was my favourite part of this, actually. Totally adored that!

You're very brave to write about such a sensitive topic as this. I feel as if you've captured one viewpoint of suicide very well, and despite this not being your viewpoint, you still have the skill as a writer to show it. That's really great, not only being able to empathise with your character, but also getting the reader to do so as well.

Lovely story, Lo :)

Author's Response: Hiya! Oh no... I hope this lives up to Nadia's story's expectations...

I'm glad you like it! And you could get inside Molly's head? That's great in only the best way possible! And the rhymes were the worst - I can't rhyme! :S But that's why I'm so happy you liked them!

I don't see myself so much as brave as willing to not let something that people view as taboo not stop me, but I'm glad you think I am. Despite my being a Gryffindor I'm actually such a 'fraidy-cat! :P

Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Lo :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heavenMean: The First One

10th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This sounds like a cool story! There aren't that many stories about Molly or Lucy Weasley on the archives, so I'm excited about this one!

I like Lucy so far. She seems like a very normal person. I especially like how close she is with her family, especially her mother. It's rare to see an adolescent character so openly close to one of their parents. I'm looking forward to getting to know her better.

I also like your take on James. He doesn't seem to be the obnoxious popular kid that is usually written. He's still very outgoing, but again, like Lucy, very normal. And I'm eager to learn more about his friendship with Lucy too.

Ooh! Why are Lucy's friends suddenly hanging out with Ravenclaw boys? Does someone have a secret crush? Did someone plot a nefarious deed like MURDER? Who knows? I'm excited to find out!

Lovely beginning :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for the review! I'm extremely close with my family (Mum is my best friend, tbh) and I feel like the Weasley family would be super close and so I'm really just writing my own family except varied genders/ages/magical abilities :P And we're all close to our parents, which I know a lot of families aren't so I really love reading and writing stories where people are close to their families :) I'm glad you liked it too!

I was actually so tempted to turn it into a murder mystery but then I had no ideas for that and heaps for troubled friendships so that stuck, haha :P

Thanks heaps for the review! Glad you liked it :)

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heaven(the trick is to) keep breathing: deep breaths

8th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Tears. Tears everywhere. Wah!

I love reading Andromeda stories even though she's not written all that often, which I find weird since people are so obsessed with drama and angst, and she's just like this fountain of drama and angst. This was just perfect.

Ah, somehow it's more heartbreaking when you know what's coming. As I read this, I knew how it was going to end, but I still wished that it could be any other way :'( You did a fantastic job of capturing the panic and denial and sadness that Andromeda must have felt in that last day. So beautiful. I also loved the use of second person here. Very fitting!

Really, I don't have much to say, other than I'm still quietly sobbing on the inside. So thanks for that. Lovely read :)

Author's Response: HEYYY

Oh no. No. I'm terribly sorry! *offers tissues*

I LOVE WRITING ANDROMEDA she's such a fascinating character to play with and like you said, fountain of drama and angst. I'm just glad that you enjoy reading what I write about her because I love her to pieces.

Ugh, I know!! Now I feel like I should write a /the Tonks family lives/ au because Andromeda deserves it. Wah, I'm really glad that you think I did her emotions justice when she was told the news! And yeah, I started this in first person but second person just seemed to fit better, I'm glad you liked it!

Oh no, don't sob! :( Thank you for the lovely review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heavenSeven: Seven is the most magical of numbers.

6th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Gah! I can't believe that I only just found this story! Sirius is one of my favourite characters, and as much as it breaks my heart to read them, I do so love stories that encompass all of his life. This was really great!

I loved the idea of the microfiction challenge! I wish I had the talent (or the time, oddly enough) to participate, but I just adore reading the entries, and yours is just fantastic! First of all, I love that this is 777 words long - let the sevens abound! And that it's comprised of thirteen stories - that most unluckiest of numbers, as well as the next worst times tables (after the seven times tables, of course) - that just makes this so much better!

I especially liked how you didn't dwell on one "theme" I guess is the best way to put it. You included everything, from his parents opinion of him, to his Sorting, to his friendship with the Marauders, to young love, to his devotion to James and Lily. Naturally, Azkaban plays a large role here, and I liked how you focused on his Animagus ability. I think it's one of the best pieces of prose written on the subject I've ever read.

And that ending! OMG. Tears. Tears everywhere.

Loved this! As usual, all your writing is gold :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so excited you like this story! I had such a great time writing it - and I can't really say why I chose Sirius, but he just seemed to fit so well.

Haha - I didn't even think about the times tables - that is too funny!

I was really trying to pull out a different emotion with each chapter/paragraph.

Thanks so much for this awesome review! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this!


 Report Review

Review #25, by 800 words of heavenCliffhanger: Cliffhanger

21st November 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Woah. I'm very impressed that you chose such a sensitive topic as suicide about which to write. It's not an easy topic to read or write, but I think you did wonderfully.

I really liked how you were able to get the readers - us - to relate to the character's death. I assumed it was George, simply because of some of the wording. I also loved the use of second person. It really was far more emotive because of it. And I assumed it was Ron who spoke? Stabs in the dark, of course, but it's fun to guess!

Anyway, lovely work :)

Author's Response: Hi,

It is George who has died and I did write it as Ron, but it could be any brother really.

Thanks for your kind words!



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>