Reading Reviews From Member: 800 words of heaven
  
368 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heavenseventeen, eighteen.: countdown.

13th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I've read Nadia's story waterfall. so I was super excited to read this. And you wrote it for her! So sweet!

This story is great. I just love how repetitive it is. I think it really shows Molly's headspace well. This is her reality and she can't break free. The structure of the story is really quite restrictive as well, and I think that just underscores that point.

I seriously love the use of the rhymes! I think that was my favourite part of this, actually. Totally adored that!

You're very brave to write about such a sensitive topic as this. I feel as if you've captured one viewpoint of suicide very well, and despite this not being your viewpoint, you still have the skill as a writer to show it. That's really great, not only being able to empathise with your character, but also getting the reader to do so as well.

Lovely story, Lo :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heavenMean: The First One

10th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This sounds like a cool story! There aren't that many stories about Molly or Lucy Weasley on the archives, so I'm excited about this one!

I like Lucy so far. She seems like a very normal person. I especially like how close she is with her family, especially her mother. It's rare to see an adolescent character so openly close to one of their parents. I'm looking forward to getting to know her better.

I also like your take on James. He doesn't seem to be the obnoxious popular kid that is usually written. He's still very outgoing, but again, like Lucy, very normal. And I'm eager to learn more about his friendship with Lucy too.

Ooh! Why are Lucy's friends suddenly hanging out with Ravenclaw boys? Does someone have a secret crush? Did someone plot a nefarious deed like MURDER? Who knows? I'm excited to find out!

Lovely beginning :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heaven(the trick is to) keep breathing: deep breaths

8th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Tears. Tears everywhere. Wah!

I love reading Andromeda stories even though she's not written all that often, which I find weird since people are so obsessed with drama and angst, and she's just like this fountain of drama and angst. This was just perfect.

Ah, somehow it's more heartbreaking when you know what's coming. As I read this, I knew how it was going to end, but I still wished that it could be any other way :'( You did a fantastic job of capturing the panic and denial and sadness that Andromeda must have felt in that last day. So beautiful. I also loved the use of second person here. Very fitting!

Really, I don't have much to say, other than I'm still quietly sobbing on the inside. So thanks for that. Lovely read :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heavenSeven: Seven is the most magical of numbers.

6th December 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Gah! I can't believe that I only just found this story! Sirius is one of my favourite characters, and as much as it breaks my heart to read them, I do so love stories that encompass all of his life. This was really great!

I loved the idea of the microfiction challenge! I wish I had the talent (or the time, oddly enough) to participate, but I just adore reading the entries, and yours is just fantastic! First of all, I love that this is 777 words long - let the sevens abound! And that it's comprised of thirteen stories - that most unluckiest of numbers, as well as the next worst times tables (after the seven times tables, of course) - that just makes this so much better!

I especially liked how you didn't dwell on one "theme" I guess is the best way to put it. You included everything, from his parents opinion of him, to his Sorting, to his friendship with the Marauders, to young love, to his devotion to James and Lily. Naturally, Azkaban plays a large role here, and I liked how you focused on his Animagus ability. I think it's one of the best pieces of prose written on the subject I've ever read.

And that ending! OMG. Tears. Tears everywhere.

Loved this! As usual, all your writing is gold :)

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm so excited you like this story! I had such a great time writing it - and I can't really say why I chose Sirius, but he just seemed to fit so well.

Haha - I didn't even think about the times tables - that is too funny!

I was really trying to pull out a different emotion with each chapter/paragraph.

Thanks so much for this awesome review! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this!


 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heavenCliffhanger: Cliffhanger

21st November 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Woah. I'm very impressed that you chose such a sensitive topic as suicide about which to write. It's not an easy topic to read or write, but I think you did wonderfully.

I really liked how you were able to get the readers - us - to relate to the character's death. I assumed it was George, simply because of some of the wording. I also loved the use of second person. It really was far more emotive because of it. And I assumed it was Ron who spoke? Stabs in the dark, of course, but it's fun to guess!

Anyway, lovely work :)

Author's Response: Hi,

It is George who has died and I did write it as Ron, but it could be any brother really.

Thanks for your kind words!



 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heavenAll of Me: Love is irrational

2nd November 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for the Slytherin review swap for October. I'm so incredibly sorry that I'm this terribly late.

I've ever read a Lily/Bellatrix fic before! Mainly because I think Bellatrix is just so inherently... evil and Lily is... well, not. But I really enjoyed this!

Your descriptions were great. There was a simplicity about them and a directness that I really liked. You still captured the mood of the story perfectly though. And writing a songfic! They're a dying phenomenon, but I'm so happy to still come across one. I secretly enjoy them :P And the song was just perfect for this :)

Good luck with all your challenges! Lovely story :)

Author's Response: Hey! No worries, I'm pretty sure October managed to disappear before I'd really noticed it had begun ;)

I'm pleased you like the Lily/Bella, I've not seen one on the site before but I'm afraid it's now my head cannon! I can't seem to imagine them without the other now, even if they only had a little bit of time together,

As it was Bellatrix, I didn't want to loose all of her canon-ness in the fic. So I'm really glad you picked up on it and even more happy that you liked it too. There aren't too many songfics around these days, are there? It's a shame. Haha, I'm glad you secretly enjoy them! Eek thank you so much!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heavenDeath Eaters: Death Eaters

13th October 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

Ooh! This was really cool! I signed up as a maybe for this challenge, but I haven't gotten around to writing anything yet. I'm really looking forward to reading the entries for this challenge, though, so I was super glad to read this one!

Gah! It's hard to pick a fave. They were all really enjoyable, despite how sad and sometimes downright creepy they are. Don't death eaters have half a happy memory between them? I really loved the descriptions in all of them though. Very evocative. Just the thing with Halloween right around the corner!

Thanks for the swap :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks so much! I hope you're able to submit an entry--even if you don't make the deadline, I highly suggest writing MicroFiction. It's great practice, and helps rid of those plunnies knocking on the inside of your skull relentlessly.

Thanks so much!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heavenHurricane Luna: They Fall in a Cave

12th October 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

So it's been a while since I read the first chapter of this story, but here I am again! Finally.

Goodness. It doesn't take much to impress Rolf, does it? Just a pair of modified extendable ears and he's kissing people in pitch black caves! He's more spontaneous than even he realised, I think ;) I just love how exasperated Rolf is all the time, though. I feel a kindred spirit in him in that sense.

And haha, just like Luna to throw in something completely brilliant amongst all her eccentricities. Keeps people guessing, I suppose! And she's quite endearing here. I wonder what her thoughts on that kiss were?

Lovely chapter! I'm excited to see the consequences of that kiss :)

Author's Response: Haha - this review made me laugh so much! I don't think Rolf would've ever mustered up the courage to kiss Luna of his own volition, so I had to contrive it a bit ;)

I'm so glad you like my version of Luna and Rolf - they've been a lot of fun to write. Rolf is really a bit of a misanthrope, and Luna is in her own world. Perhaps they will find some common ground. ♥

Thanks for the review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heavenBehind Darkness There is Stars: A Visit to Grimmauld Place

9th October 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I read the first chapter of this story simply AGES ago, but I remember enjoying it, so I thought I'd give the second chapter a shot as well. It seems though that you may have abandoned this story, which makes me a little sad :(

I'd love to see where Harry, Ron, and Hermione would go as characters through this. You've chosen to write about a really intense period of their lives, but adjusting would be so difficult. It seems especially so for Ron, for whom this is a sort of "first loss". Harry is better able to deal with it because he's seen so much death, and I don't know, but Hermione has always been so... capable.

Also I'm just a sucker for a love story, and even more so when two people help each other out like Ron and Hermione probably would, and then fall in love.

Lovely chapter either way! I hope to see maybe another one :)

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for stopping by! I have not abandoned it but I have major writers block. I started to write Freds funeral but then stopped because I want to make it perfect. Maybe I will write another chapter now since I still am not sure what to do on the next chapter for CDB. :) I am so glad you enjoy it and that gives me the motivation to write more! Thanks again!!! :):)

 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heavenBackground Noise: The Curse of Carkett Close

5th October 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Hahahahahaha! I've been having a pretty horrible day, and this has just made it a bajillion times better! I don't read crackfics, but you're such a wonderful writer, so I was like, it can't be that bad, and I was right! I'm having so much fun!

The craziness of your characters just adds to the charm of this story. There's no way that these people could ever really exist, but that's okay because as Nora knows, other dimensions is where it's at - or at least half of one's soul is at, as the case may be.

I'm looking forward to seeing just what this year has in store for poor Jo. I hope she doesn't die in the next chapter. That would be very not nice :(

Lovely beginning so far!

Author's Response: Oh haaayy. :)

I'm glad I made your crapfest of a day better. :D

You're absolutely right; there's no way these characters are real, but that's why we have other dimensions. And Jo has A LOT to deal with this year. She might die in the next chapter. Or she might not. BUT DEATH IS INEVITABLE, RIGHT?

Thank you!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heavenRun: Run

5th October 2014:
Heya! You requested a review from me about six months ago, and here I finally am! No excuses for the delay, really.

I really enjoyed this story! I love reading Founders era stories, although I don't read them that often.

In terms of characterisation, I liked how you portrayed Rowena. She's sixteen, so you showed her development into an intellectual quite nicely. She reminded me a little of Luna in places, which was a nice touch.

Salazar was a little... creepy. He's clearly used to being an adult and in charge, which makes sense since in the Dark Ages, people didn't really have an adolescence. In that respect, I found that there was a bit of a disconnect between the two characterisations. Salazar readily accepts his role as an adult, whereas Rowena argues that she's too young to marry although sixteen wouldn't be young at all during that time. It also works though since they're teenagers and during that time it's difficult to figure out when you're a child and when you're an adult. So if you were aiming for the second opinion, then it works.

And woah! Salazar just straight up kills him? Hardcore, dude. Hardcore. But I guess he is a pretty ruthless guy, so that makes sense. That was a nice touch. And Rowena realising at the end that nothing has changed was also really nice; neither her feelings, nor he has really changed over the years.

My favourite aspect about this story was the description. It was really lovely and I feel that this era especially really lends itself well to description, where one can be as flowery and whimsical as one's heart desires. A standout piece of description was definitely where you were describing the physical act of running. Very nice!

Lovely story, and I'm very sorry about the ridiculous wait!

 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heavenHow to Fly: How to Fly

3rd October 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

So. Cute. Like oh me gee I am flailing on the floor not sure what to do with myself I have so many feelings.

You managed to convey so much in so few words and that's just really awesome. You never mention a name but I was imagining Hermione and Rose here. I'm not sure if it's in the story description or not, so this might not even be really awesome detective skills at work, but just so you know, I didn't read that, so I'm guessing on your writing alone (which is amazing, if I haven't made that abundantly clear yet).

Lovely work! Really made my Friday night :)

Author's Response: Hey!

Glad you liked this story. I wanted to convey a lot of feeling, but not with anything to heavy or depressing. I'm totally grinning from ear to ear while reading this review. It is Rose and Hermione and I think I did put that in the story description, but I intentionally didn't mention their names in the story itself - good job figuring it out!

So happy I made your Friday night!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heavenDaydreaming: Daydreaming

29th September 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for the Slytherin review exchange for September.

I was going to read one of your older stories, but I'm one of those people who loves to get reviews for a new one simply because I'm so excited to post it, so using that logic, I reviewed this (even though I hardly ever read Dramiones)!

This was a really cute and fluffy one-shot (except for the end because you're just like really, Draco? Really?). I really liked how you portrayed Draco as just your average teenager with average raging hormones. His descriptions of Hermione before the entire snogging session were truly flowery, and something you'd totally expect someone in the throes of infatuation to say.

I did begin to wonder if this was all a daydream because:

a) The title.

b) There wasn't much explanation as to Draco's motivations other than "she's really good-looking OMG how did I not see this before?"

c) Hermione's reactions were very informed by his, which means it's definitely all in Draco's head

I think that those three points actually made it all the better, because then I had this entire "aww yis!" moment when it was revealed to be a rather bizarre daydream and I was all like HA! CALLED IT. (I'm actually this obnoxious about guessing plot twists as well).

Lovely one-shot! Very fun to read :)

Author's Response: OMG I totally forgot about the review exchange! Yikes. But hi! I am very glad this one-shot is getting a bit of attention... although I'm pretty sure if I just wrote Dramonies, all my stories would get attention, lol. If we get paired again, feel free to read an older story though, sometimes it's just as exciting to get a review on something you thought was forgotten.

Anyway, I'm really glad you like this one-shot. It was very fun to write, though also very difficult. I love writing Draco though so it makes me happy when other people like how I portray him.

Yes, I was slightly worried because the title was very obvious, and I didn't want people to know it was a dream until afterward, but I didn't know what else to call it and I was slightly pressed for time so, yeah. I decided just making it so the reader doesn't really know when the dreams begins would have to be enough. I didn't want to it to just seem like Draco was attracted to her because she's good looking. I mean, yes, she's good looking but I wanted him to be interested in more than just that, hence the descriptions of her reading. And as to Hermione's reactions, yeah, they were all in his head, but I tried to keep a little bit of her in there by having dream Hermione question his sanity.

But it's okay that you called it, lol. I love doing that, too, when I read or watch tv/movies.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I will get to reviewing something of yours very shortly, either tonight or tomorrow. I can't believe I almost forgot.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heavenThree: Luna Lovegood

2nd September 2014:
Heya! Here for our review swap!

It's a little pathetic, but I'm still reading through House Cup entries *looks guilty*. I also wrote about thestrals and contemplated writing about Luna, so this is super interesting to me.

I think my favourite aspect of this is that Luna feels lonely. Even though she doesn't really care what people think about her, it must bother her that she doesn't have any friends. I'm glad that she found friendship with the thestral she met.

Gosh! Children can be so mean! I hope that a thestral bites them :P

Lovely stroy! I'm sitting in class right now, so I hope to be back soon for the other two entries :

Author's Response: It's not pathetic at all! There were so many House Cup entries. I don't think Luna and thestrals was a particularly original choice, but there's certainly a lot of potential there for stories.

I'm pretty sure we just all want to hug Luna. She's so lovely and sweet and really wants to see the best in everyone, even when they're not always the nicest to her. Maybe a thestral will bite them. ;)

Thanks for reviewing! This was such a fun review swap!


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heavenLuna : Encounter

31st August 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for the Slytherin review swap! I'm so sorry that it took such a long time for me to get here - real life has been pretty crazy as of late.

I really enjoyed this piece! I also wrote about thestrals and in second person for one of my entries, and is contemplated using Luna as the main character, but decided against it in the end. So I was super intrigued to see what you'd write about since I was also contemplating a story with similar characteristics!

Luna's characterisation is just lovely. I like how she's still recognisably Luna but not as we know her in canon. She's younger, and hasn't quite started to believe everything her father says as true, although you can see it beginning to happen. I love how she feels different from those around her already, though, as well as her empathy; the way she understands how her father feels had me "aww"-ing!

Lovely story!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for such a lovely review, and don't worry about it. You still made the deadline ;)
That sounds really interesting, I shall check out your thestral story when I have a spare moment. They seemed quite a popular choice for the prompts, and I know I've certainly enjoyed reading the interpretations that everyone has of them.
Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked it!
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heavenStarfall: Prologue

12th August 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

Such an intense prologue! I'm always a bit reluctant to use prologues mainly because I suck at writing them and they always end up a bit boring. Having boring chapter ones does not annoy me as much :P

But this is such a fantastic start. Who is dead? Who is alive? Does Voldemort want to raise Harry in secret (can you tell I'm a bit of a Doctor Who fan, because I can totally see a River Song situation arising here)? Has Lily gone stark raving mad giving up her son? Who knows?

Such a wonderful beginning! Voldemort was just the right sort of calculating crazy that I love to hate, and it's so nice to see him clued into what his Death Eaters are up to for a change! Because sometimes it feels as if he has little idea what on earth is going on with his crew. I hope they continue to cause mischief in the ranks though!

I shall be back for chapter two when you post it :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heavenComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

12th August 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

This is a really interesting start!

You've done a wonderful job about setting up Olivia's home life. It's obviously not easy growing up in a family like hers, where one person is trying to pretend everything is okay, whilst all the others know that nothing is okay, nor will it ever be. It informs most of her character so far.

Haha, I kinda had to laugh at Olivia when she called Jason Quidditch obsessed, because it came off as sort of hypocritical, since when she wasn't talking about her family, she was talking about Quidditch. I'm not sure if this is actually one of the most important parts of her life, or if that's just the way this chapter was structured.

I can't really say that I have an opinion on Olivia as yet. I feel as if I must read more of her to understand her better. So far, she has a crazy family who likes to think they're not crazy, and likes Quidditch. Also she seems to only really have two friends (so maybe she's a bit of a loner?).

Lovely start :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you. I've just reviewed your chapter one and LOVED IT (which I'm sure you'll see from my overly enthusiastic review). Thanks for the swap.

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heavenEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Arnold

9th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I was going to read another chapter of Hurricane Luna, but I thought I'd give this a go instead. I don't often read stories about Ginny, and one does not find many set during the seventh book.

I thought this was a really interesting idea, using Arnold's unusual behaviour as a spring board for starting up the DA. Tensions are running high - even the pygmy puffs are feeling the pressure.

I felt as if Ginny's characterisation was a little OOC - but not a lot. Obviously she was under a lot of pressure, and everyone was expecting her to have all the answers when she didn't and on top of it all she wasn't sleeping properly and having a terrible day, but she seemed a little... harsh. But everyone is entitled to have an off day from time to time!

My favourite part of this was the beginning, when you were describing her nightmares and that place between awake and asleep. It was very lovely to read.

Lovely story! I really enjoyed this "a day in the life of a war zone" type of writing :)

Author's Response: Hi hi!

I've been on a bit of a Ginny kick lately, mostly through this story. I'll admit this chapter, of the three is my least favorite. I intend to go through an edit each of these.

Ginny is a character who likes the action. She is a true Gryffindor and an incredibly talented witch at that. However, the role she is forced to play in her sixth year requires patience, silent strength and support for the fellow classmates. Most of this is not in her nature. I tried to show "a day in the life of" when it just gets to be too much for her. I wanted to portray a day where things just got worse and worse and it was the unconditional love of a pet that gave her the grit she needed to pull through for her friends.

Thanks so much for this review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heavenPride and Joy: Pride and Joy

8th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This story looked really cute and the summary was super funny, so I thought I'd give it a go.

I really love the idea of this story! We never really see muggles reacting to their magic kids' crazy lives. Actually, we see the Dursleys but they're a bit crazy and biased so that hardly counts. It was super fun to read Hermione's parents' reactions to her grades!

I love how they're so supportive of her despite having no idea what on earth is going on. I loved her mother's reactions to flying! I had a good giggle, and it's past midnight here so I'm super glad that no one can hear me :P

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hello!

I thought since we didn't know much about Hermione's family life with her parents I would show my own view.

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

~Olivia



 Report Review

Review #20, by 800 words of heavenKiller in Me and the Killer in You: Killer in Me and the Killer in You

6th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

First review! Woohoo! I don't often read Rodolphus stories, mostly because they're scarce to be found, so I was intrigued enough to give this a go.

Oddly, I felt myself sympathising and empathising for Rodolphus. His love seemed genuine and he obviously understood his wife well. It was sad to see him accept that Bellatrix would never love him, but I admired him for sticking through their marriage anyway and wanting to keep her alive. Many people would be driven to anger and hate, especially since they were in Azkaban.

I really enjoyed this look into Rodolphus' mind. His matter-of-fact acceptance of his lot in life and his bad luck in love was so endearing. Even his talk of essentially being assassins was nice to read. I loved that he treats them as part of his life - he doesn't make a big deal out of it. Some people are accountants. He's an assassin for the Dark Lord.

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hello! I figured that not a lot of people would write about him, so I decided to try.

Personally, I find that the majority of Death Eaters, aside from Snape and sometimes Lucius, tend to be portrayed as evil through and through, and not capable of love (which some of them no doubt are). It leaves plenty of leeway for writing without having to stick an AU label on it.

Thanks for the lovely review :)



 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heavenDizzy: Dizzy

4th August 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

I'm sorry I'm a littl late with the review, but here I am!

This was an incredibly adorable and fluffy read. As a teaser for your NaNo novel, it's quite good!

Obviously you couldn't give away all the details, so I was a little confused as to whom some of the OCs were, but I'm sure that'll be cleared up come November. I like Sweets so far - running Honeydukes is quite ambitious!

And OMG Fred! His sense of style is... terrifying. I don't know if it's before it's time or out of the time and space continuum completely! He sounds like he's a lot of fun though. Maybe we'll get to see a slightly more serious side to him in your novel, which I think will be super interesting since he's so crazy all the time!

Good luck for NaNo! This is a lovely introduction :)

Author's Response: Thanks dear!

I realized the OC's probably confused the readers, and already edited a new version to put into the queue :'D so this can be stand-alone. It's almost there!

Yes Freddie's sense of style is quite horrific. But that's what makes him him! You will see a more serious side of him in the future :)

Thanks for the swap!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heavenShelter: Shelter

3rd August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This was a really lovely read! I don't read much Ron/Hermione, even though they're one of my favourite ships, so this was a wonderful treat!

I really liked how you wrote Hermione's experience whilst she was being tortured. She seemed very... Hermione throughout, which is hard to achieve. Torture lends itself well to writing people out of character, but it was very disciplined of you not to go there.

Aww! Ron! You've written him quite mature here, which is really interesting. I don't quite know when the change comes over him, but he does grow up a lot during the last book (maybe after he comes back) and I loved how you showed that here. It was so adorable to read him comforting Hermione and understanding her well enough to be honest with her about the events.

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for the read and review :)

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! It's definitely very reassuring to hear that their characterization was canon, and I'm also very happy I was able to show the more mature side of Ron with this - I think that might have been one of my main motivations of writing this story.

Thanks so much for this wonderful review!

Jackie


 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heavenSummer at the Abbey: Beginnings

30th July 2014:
Heya! Here for the review swap!

Okay, so Doctor Who, Harry Potter, and Downton Abbey are in my top ten fandoms of all time, so understandably, I'm super excited about this story. I don't read crossovers too often, but I'm quite pumped about this one!

Nothing much seems to happen in this chapter, except for the Doctor just falling from the sky unexpectedly into Hogwarts, although this is basically how he introduces himself all the time, it is not out of the ordinary behaviour for him. I imagine that it would be quite the shock to our five Hogwartians however!

I'm most looking forward to how you tie Hogwarts and Downton Abbey together. Obviously, it will be via the TARDIS, since that appears the only machine in sight which can traverse time and space. And the Doctor is fond of a little mischief, which I'm sure the Granthams are quite used to by now down at Downton!

Lovely start. I hope we get to meet Lady Violet in the next chapter ;)

Author's Response: I'm finding that these three fandoms have a lot of overlap which is neat. I seem to have found the trifecta of crossovers!

You're right. Nothing happens in this chapter besides introducing some key players. Though, to be honest, the Downton Abbey characters I focus in on do not appear much here.

The Doctor and the Crawleys go way back as you will see!

Lady Violet is really not a major part of the story or even a minor part. I wasn't sure how to get past the Maggie Smith aspect, because these students would know for sure what McGonagall looks like.

Thanks much!


 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heavenDefine Insanity: Tricky Business

30th July 2014:
Hey, hey, hey! Here for this month's Slytherin review exchange!

I feel so terrible about not being able to leave more reviews on your lovely-looking stories! Especially since you've already left like a bajillion on mine :( Alas, real life has been quite unexpectedly annoying for the past few weeks, but that is neither here nor there.

This first chapter is so. Intriguing. Who is this mysterious person? What is this mysterious letter? What do they want? Why do they want it? If by writing "this is not a prank" do they mean to use reverse psychology, meaning that it is indeed a prank? So. Many. Questions.

Also, I really like Rose so far. I can really relate to her because the symptoms of my stress and anxiety are quite similar, and I totally get how she feels about them. Feelings can be so annoying sometimes!

Hopefully, I shall be back for the next chapter tomorrow! A lovely beginning so far :)

Author's Response: Hi! It's cool if you can't review as much, I was just feeling extra nice. And I do want to continue reading the story. I'm glad you thought this chapter was intriguing. It does leave the reader with the lot of questions, most of which are answered (I think) in the second chapter. And I'm glad you like Rose. I personally can't even remember half of what happens in this chapter because it's been forever since I've looked at it, as I kinda put it on hold way back... it's something I should probably try to continue, but I am barely maintaining my Sirrah novel right now.

Anyway, I do hope you check out the second chapter. And thanks for being my review exchange partner this month!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #25, by 800 words of heavenThe One and Only Lily Potter: Oh, Shut Up, or Insufferable Smirks, Thy Name Wood

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

You are most definitely right - there aren't enough Lily Luna Potter stories out there, and I am glad that you are rectifying this situation.

Lily is quite the character so far! I can't say that I like her exactly, as she seems to be angry for little to no reason at everyone and everything, but that just makes me a hypocrite since this happens to me as well. Perhaps she'll mellow out over the course of the story, or at least, be angry at things for better reasons.

And Sebastian is annoying! But his personality seems a lot more natural than Lily's right now. For some weird reason, his so-far-revealed character traits fit him better, almost as if he's more comfortable in his own skin than Lily. Again, this just leaves more room for Lily's character development which is never a bad thing!

Plot-wise, I'm interested to see where this goes. Quidditch rivalries, especially within Houses are so much fun! And I hope Neville keeps appearing throughout! His brief appearance was wonderful. Nice start :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review, Miss 800! I'll keep your preferences in mind as I'm writing. Dun dun dun... Chapter Two.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>