Reading Reviews From Member: 800 words of heaven
  
322 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heavenGame Over: Chapter 5

14th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I love this story so much! I never have any idea what's going on and it's the penultimate chapter. The plot keeps thickening. I sort of want things to solve themselves, but then I think, nah. I'm having too much fun.

I'm sort of scared of reading the last chapter. I don't want this to end! Where will I get my fix of "what on earth is going on?" (in the best possible way) when this is over? *runs away from possibility of things ending*

Fantastic chapter, as always. You shall be seeing me soon for the final chapter. Or maybe not. But I will be back!

Author's Response:
Hi!

Aww, don't be scared of the last chapter. It's not like I'm going to kill Harry or anything...

I'm thinking of writing more of these things. They're loads of fun!

I'm so glad you're enjoying this story! It means a lot to me that someone else likes it almost as much as I do.

Thanks for the awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heavenPorcelain Hearts : Prologue

13th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

What a fantastic start! All those different sections from different points in their life were very interesting to read.

Ah! Poor James. He sounds like a really fantastic bloke so far, even if he is a little oblivious to his friend's very obvious feelings for him. He just had to go for the party girl, didn't he? It's interesting that you've started this story from "the end" of James' and Bellamy's relationship. Why Hannah's kept Bellamy's scandalous secret for so long is anyone's guess - but I suppose we'll find out ;)

I really love the interactions between the cousins and siblings. They seem very close. I'd love to see them developed in further chapters.

One tiny CC I have to give is that I'd have really liked some description. You've done marvellously in describing the characters' personalities and their connections to each other, but right now they're all sort of floating in white space, if you get what I mean. Just a few little details to ground them in 3D space would be lovely.

Fantastic start :)

Author's Response: Ah, yes! Thank you so much for the review! And I've been meaning to go back and add some description.

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heavenGenerations: The Unexpected Letter

12th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Ooh! I don't read much AU stuff, but this sounded super interesting. Adoption, a family reunion, a mysterious letter from a certain mysterious school, less-than-favourable reactions... I'm definitely intrigued!

I liked that you described what each character looked like. I often forget to write this detail myself, but it is nice to see what the characters look like in my head. And is it just me, or does Matt look suspiciously like a certain boy-who-lived with a lightning scar?

Nice start!

 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heavenJust One Yesterday: The Mighty Fall

10th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This is a super interesting start! I want to begin by saying that I love the way you've set the scene here. Your description was absolutely fantastic, as it was so clean at minimal, yet I had no trouble picturing the physical setting in my head.

Ooh! What an interesting choice of main character! Rodolphus has always kind of fascinated me because it takes a lot of guts to marry a Black, especially a Black like Bellatrix. You're in for a wild ride! I'm super intrigued about how you're going to develop him and (hopefully) make him more complex and interesting than he appeared here. We only met him in passing really, and so far he's just the big bad bully that one would expect.

I'm also looking forward to learning more about Daniel. Again, we only had a very brief introduction to his character, especially since much of his narration was focused on Rodolphus. I'd like to see him come into his own.

Mostly I'm just looking forward to how these two clash and burn. There's bound to be some burning involved, right? Nice start :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I think I can safely say that description is the strongest suit of the both of us and we are a little in love with our description of things, Meghan a little more so than myself I feel xD

You gotta love a death eater with little mention in the books beside the odd fact. I promise you now that these two are very complex people and not so simple once you get to know them and trust me we know them properly xD Rodolphus is more than a bully and Dan will come into his own pretty soon and show that he's not just some 'ordinary' Hufflepuff.

Thank's very much for stopping off and reviewing. There will be burning...lots and lots of burning.


 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heavenThe Wild Rose: Chapter One

8th April 2014:
SLYTHERIN REVIEW TAG!

Okay, so I'm a bit of a sucker for ScoRose, and that's why I chose this piece. Also, I thought Chris Hemsworth as a face claim for Scorpius was an interesting choice, one that I don't see too often. So yes, I also read this story because of the banner :P

I read the first paragraph, and literally my first thought about Scorpius was that he was a serial killer. I have no idea why. Maybe because I've been watching too much Numb3rs. Maybe because one of the genres was horror/dark. Maybe because Rose found Scorpius more interesting than an article about three murdered girls - but then again, if Chris Hemsworth popped up in front of me like that I'd find him more interesting than whatever I was doing.

So I continued and I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the point of viewed swapped between the two of them. I love swapping points of view! I think you've carried that off very well!

My sense of trepidation grows as I keep reading this story. I'm biting my nails - something's about to go wrong, I know it! If your aim was to build tension and suspense, you've definitely achieved that. This line: "I wondered if she would follow me down to the river." reminds me of the song "Come Away to the Water" by Maroon 5 I think, off The Hunger Games soundtrack. He's a serial killer, I know it!

OMG. PLOT TWIST. Okay, so I knew he was a serial killer. Scorpius was giving off serious serial killer vibes. BUT THEN HIS VICTIM TURNED OUT TO BE LILY AND NOT ROSE AND THAT MADE THINGS LIKE TEN TIMES BETTER. So. Good. I loved that ending! Fantastic story :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Argh I loved reading this review!
Hahah, then it was an excellent choice I made! Chris Hemsworth is gorgeous(!) but he also kind of looks like a villain, if he looks serious or angry enough. So I thought he'd be a nice portrait of Scorpius :)

Well, you guessed it right! Scorpius is a serial killer, and a creepy one at that. I wanted to hint that with the headlines on The Daily Prophet and you noticed! Yay! But yeah, if Chris came around I'd loose interest too, haha :D

I am so glad you thought the swapping views went well! They're awfully short and not very descriptive (to add more tension or suspense) so I was a little anxious to see what my readers thought of it. No complains to far. Hehe :)

I have never heard of that song from Maroon 5, I think I'll check it out :) Any song from the Hunger Games are worth a listen ;) :P

Thank you so much for your review! I loved it and I am so glad you loved my very twisted ending! And sorry for not responding to your lovely review any sooner.

Big hug,
Avi


 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heavenGuilt : Guilt

8th April 2014:
SLYTHERIN REVIEW TAG!

It has been ages since I've read something of yours, and since I visited last it feels as if the number of stories available for my immense enjoyment has doubled. Has it really been that long?

Anyway, don't take this the wrong way, but you're a fantastic writer of creepy things. First Sylvia Plath, now Edgar Allen Poe. The creepiness is strong. I love it.

I've only ever read The Raven by Poe, and only because I wanted to understand one of the answers posed to the riddle about what's in common between a raven and a writing desk. I did however read a series where Poe was a character and sufficiently creepy. And there was that one episode of Sabrina the Teenage Witch where her aunts invite Poe for dinner on Halloween because they want to get real spooked. And then there was that super creepy episode of Warehouse 13... Thus, in my obviously vast knowledge of all things Poe, I declare this story a stunning success in creepiness! All rambling aside (who am I kidding, I can't put rambling aside), I felt that this piece really captured the spirit of Poe's writing. Your use of ghosts, such a mainstay of horror and all things creepy, was absolutely fantastic, and the theme tied in beautifully with the quote from the Bible at the beginning. Very ominous quote, that one!

I also loved that this piece explores the ramifications of Draco's actions. I'm being a complete English student (I'm not an English student anymore) and claiming that because the curtains are blue, the character is depressed, rather the curtains just being blue, but I really felt that this piece explored the depth to which the War affected the Malfoy family. I mean, they've been doing shady things for generations - it's written there write in their name, but it's so interesting to see all the crimes catch up with them, and manifest in the Manor as (totally creepy) ghosts. It's just even sadder (and creepier) that Scorpius, who is basically like the only innocent Malfoy at this point in time must bear the burden. It makes you stop and think twice about your actions. Who might I be burdening with guilt they don't deserve? Deep stuff, yo.

Also, I absolutely love word limit challenges! They're ridiculously hard to write, but you've done amazing (as always). Please excuse my greater-than-usual amount of rambling in this review! It was lovely to read :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Ahh, it probably has! :P I have a bit of a... story addiction. I blame the challenges for giving plunnies!

Thank you! That makes me so happy since I love writing these creepy stories. It's true though, somehow two of the creepiest writers have come through in these stories.

Haha, your explanations of your experience with Poe are really making me laugh right now. :P Has he ever been featured in a Doctor Who episode?? Poe is incredibly creepy, and I can only read/think about his work when it's not dark, or else I give myself scary thoughts. Clearly Scorpius could relate to this. :P I'm really glad you thought it did a good job of capturing Poe! I do love him (though not at night) and wanted to do his work justice. The quote from the bible and the idea of inherited guilt just fit so well with the Poe poem, so this piece came together weirdly smoothly.

I like your analysis here, and that's just what I was thinking. The most tragic part of the story is that Scorpius as an innocent young boy is the one who is punished, whether externally or from within his own head, and has a very traumatic life because of this. Haha, this whole burdening future generations and generational sin is (apparently) this big biblical debate, but it did sort of make me take a step back and wonder about karma and what sorts of people my ancestors were.

Me too! I was honestly amazed, because usually I just sit and write and bam, there's a zillion words and run-on sentences. But with this story, it felt complete, and I was thrilled to realize I'd only written 1000. Although it did take some trimming of course, but still. Exciting!

Thanks so much for the amazing review - and no worries, love rambling reviews and rambled quite a bit myself in this response. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heaven(un)censored: Black and Yellow

5th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Well! That was an awfully fast jump into the plot! I have a similar fake girlfriend story (but with Sirius, not Albus) and it took me ages to get to where you got! I'm super excited to see where you take them!

To be honest, I really hate Albus right now. He's mysogynistic and arrogant and there is not much in him that is likeable right now. He probably reckons he's a bad boy, doesn't he? It'll be interested to see his character progression, and what makes him change.

Lara seems like a real people pleaser right now, the way she takes care of her friends. I wonder what more trouble this will lead her into? She already has to fake-date a real jerk!

Excited to see what happens in the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Is the fast plot thing bad? I don't know, I'm not very good at preamble around plots, I love just jumping in. Anyway, yeah you've got Lara pegged, she's the 'mother' of her friends. Thanks for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heavenOut of the Darkness: Into the Sun

28th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I LOVE reading entries for the Every Word Counts Challenge! It's just the coolest challenge ever, and writing a full story in so few words is really difficult and it's just so impressive reading the finished product. It's totally obvious how much time and effort went into each word choice!

I'm sitting here on the verge of tears. Anything with Lily and Harry kind of wants to make me cry because we know how important that bond with his mother is - her love literally saves his life, after all. And this was just so touching and heartbreaking at the same time. There's something a little scary about just how aware of their own mortality James and Lily must have been, and the very real possibility that they weren't going to make it out alive of this war, and that self-awareness really came through here.

Wonderful stuff!

Author's Response: Ah - hehe - shucks! *blushes*


Oh sorry! (Even though it was my intention of touching readers) It is indeed sad to see how the end of James' and Lily's lives will be the beginning of Harry's fate. I'm glad that you can see that! And your words are too much dear! *jumps around the house* Thank you so much! *glomps*


And thanks so much for reading and reviewing!






- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heavenGame Over: Four

27th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Twice in one day! Woohoo! I'm on a roll.

Okay, so I had to read this chapter twice just because it messed with my head so much. It actually took me two goes to understand what was going on - like you had to watch Pirates of the Caribbean 2 and Inception again just to understand what was going on. Don't take that as a criticism. My absolute favourite thing about this story is because it leaves so much unsaid, yet still has all the important bits that make a story - like description and dialogue and everything. I think it's just great how you've used the 500 word limit per chapter as almost a character itself in this story and not let it encumber you. It adds such a unique flavour to your story - very film noir.

And poor James! I'm finally understanding (I think? I say this every time and I'm still wrong) what might be going on - namely, what on earth James actually does for a living.

Only two more chapters to go!

Author's Response: Hi!

Haha! Usually, having to read a chapter twice is a BAD THING. LOL! I hope you weren't too confused. Looking back on it, I probably stretched the limit on how much information I jammed into some of these chapters. This one wasn't as bad as some of the others, but I still felt that wordcount crunch every single time. This story was supposed to be only five chapters long, and I just couldn't do it!

Thanks for another review! I hope that the story becomes more clear as you get farther along... of course that only leaves two more chapters... *is nervous*


 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heavenGame Over: Three

26th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I'm sitting in a lecture right now, so obviously, this was the perfect time to play review tag! It was so lovely to get the chance to tag you again :)

And the plot thickens! So apparently James is working for the Ministry? Maybe? Probably? I still don't really know - that's half the charm. I feel like I'm reading a Jason Bourne film plot - James even looks like Matt Damon for some reason.

Ooh! Matt! What nefarious things have you been up to? Guess I'll have to read the next chapter (or the next... or possibly even the one after that) to find out!

Awesome stuff as always!

Author's Response: Hey! Hope this kept you awake in your lecture! LOL!

Well, James is working for... someone. And I don't mind it if you think he looks like Matt Damon. That would be cool, actually. Do you make banners? hehe.

Matt's definitely been up to something. And yes. Please do read the next chapter and tell me what you think!

Pretty please?

Thanks for the review!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heavenMeddling Aphrodite: She Sits On Her Throne

25th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Oh! I am so excited for this story! I really love Greek mythology, and with the craze for Percy Jackson at the moment (myself included) I'm so glad other people are getting into it too!

OMG! You're just spot on with Aphrodite's character! I love how much you reference from the myths, because they're such a great resource. I feel really bad for Hephaestus and really, only Aphrodite likes Ares :P But you have to admit, Love and War do go hand in hand surprisingly well...

I really cannot wait to see what mischief Aphrodite causes on poor George and Angelina. They're in for the biggest surprise of their love lives! And we get to learn more about Aphrodite's problems too! Can gods undergo character development, I wonder?

Awesome stuff!

Author's Response: Hey there again!

I have found someone who loves Greek Mythology as much as I do, this is brilliant! I just really want a reason to write Greek Mythology and I'm so happy that people are on board with this story!

I'm so glad that you love Aphrodite's character! I'm having so much writing her! Of course, I need to alter the myths a little bit because Aphrodite is actually quite cruel. Everyone just kind of puts up with Ares because he's the god of war. War and Love do go hand in hand quite well, Aphrodite and Ares still have their arguments though so they're just like any couple out there.

I'm quite excited to see what Aphrodite gets up to as well. There's going to be a lot going on (I hope!)

Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heavenComing Home: Coming Home

24th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG.

Aww! This was so cute. I loved getting a sort of "a day in the life of an adolescent Arthur Weasley" look at the character. I liked how you wrote him age appropriately, wrestling with his sister and being embarrassed about Molly and their budding romance. I can totally imagine James and Sirius being a terrible influence on everyone around them - but in the best possible way, of course :P But there were also these hints of the person we know him as - nice to see that his obsession with all things Muggle started at a tender young age. I thought it was a really touching moment when Arthur's reminiscing about his final days at Hogwarts; they're bound to be very emotionally charged. And then it was also really realistic that his younger sister sees him and actually laughs like a crazy person - younger siblings are terrible that way! Awesome stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. Glad you liked it. I've always wondered what Arthur's and Molly's childhood was like so that's why I wrote about this (And for BLONDEbeahaviour's Canon Crazziness Challenge)
Thanks again,
HEG


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heavenValour : The Doubt in the Strength

23rd March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

It's been simply ages since I read a Marauders fic about all the Marauders, and even longer since I read a serious one. I am so excited!

This is a super interesting start! Everything is appropriately mysterious and cryptic, as is fitting for a first chapter, I think. Dumbledore really doesn't like telling people the whole picture, does he? I wonder if that aspect of his personality will come in later on in the story as well.

The character I'm most excited about is Mary. She's the only Ravenclaw, the only one who has no idea what's going on, and she's the only one who seems to be showing the correct emotions in this situation - I'd be terrified and confused, too! Boo all the Gryffindors for pitying her!

Hopefully, I'll be back soon for chapter two! Fantastic start, once again :)

Author's Response: I'm happy you liked it so much! I am very excited to continue writing about Mary, and getting back into the forums is a surefire way to make me write!

Thanks


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heavenErised Stra Ehru Oy: The Mirror of Erised

11th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I haven't read one of your stories for ages, and I really missed your writing! I also love reading entries for the Every Word Counts Challenge - it's so awesome, and you've done a really good job here.

I really love that you've chosen this moment. It's very heartbreaking and real, and I can't help but seeing the parallels between Dumbledore and Harry. They both want their families back; one, who has never known them, and the other, whose wish they didn't know him.

The Mirror of Erised is such a heartbreaking artefact, and I really love how you've captured that. You can't help but be drawn by its lure, even though it'll break your heart every time. I guess that's why people keep coming back to it - except for Ron, of course, who was one of the wisest against it, surprisingly.

I'm sorry for getting a little rambly in this review, but I really enjoyed this! Good luck with all the challenges :)

Author's Response: It's been a while since I've gotten a review from you! Welcome back to my author's page! Aw, thank you so much (I'm smiling like a moron now!)

I'm so glad that you enjoyed the one-shot! Whenever people mention Albus, my mind immediately jumps to what he must've seen when he looked into the Mirror of Erised and I was so glad to finally write something about that.

I've always wondered what I would see if I looked into the Mirror of Erised but I can never come up with an answer. I definitely agree that that's what keeps people coming back to it, wanting to know what their deepest desire is. I never expected Ron to be the wisest either, I was really surprised when I found out about him.

It's not a problem at all that you got rambly, it happens to me as well. Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heavenJust Go With It: Friends

10th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I'm glad I'm back way quicker than I was last time. I missed poor Viktor and his socially awkward ways!

I think my favourite part of this chapter was all your descriptions of the settings. I loved how you took the time to describe The Leaky Cauldron and why it had changed. You, like Viktor thought, didn't have to do that, but you did anyway to show that times had changed and people had moved on. I also loved the little addition of the security check - times have definitely moved on, but it remains to be seen if all this extra caution is good or bad.

It's nice to know that some things never change, like Diagon Alley. And the press. Always after a sensational story! I really sympathised with Vikotr there. He just wants to get away from it all and nurse his broken heart in peace. Is that really too much to ask?

And our main leads have met already! And it's only the third chapter! Yayayay! I'm now really excited to see how you develop their relationship, because you've set it up as a blossoming friendship borne out of mutual benefit, and I can tell that it's going to be a long and winding road ahead for these two! Woohoo!

I completely get that need to mark a WIP "complete". I've never done it myself, but I can imagine it's a good feeling! Good luck with that endeavour, and I hope to be back soon :)

Author's Response: Hi! It was nice to see you back! :D

I'm so glad you liked the descriptions of Diagon Alley! I was a bit afraid that they might seem unnecessary to readers, but I think it's natural that Viktor is comparing what he saw years ago to what he sees now and it was an easy way to show how time has changed. :)

The press will definitely never change! It's still the same in their and out here in our world too. ;) And Viktor has to face the press again!

Yup, our main leads have met! :D I know it's too quick, but the real story begins from now and I thought this much background was enough. Their relationship takes really long time to develope, you see, for both of them like someone else, but the slower the better in love!

I've never marked a WIP completed too! And I truly mean to do that with this story. Thank you so so much for the wishes! Hope to see you back soon!

And yeah, thanks for this amazing review too!

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heavenThe Brave at Heart: Curses and Cheers

8th March 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

It has been so long since I read this story - which always seems to be the case :( I always forget how much I missed it until I start reading it again - which is also always the case :P

And so the prank war begins! I cannot wait to see what the Marauders have up their sleeve! I found it really amusing how she refers to Remus separately from James and Sirius. And Remus had a chance to shine again by showing that he's well aware why his friends go around acting like idiots all the time.

I get the impression that no one likes Snape. I find that a little strange since Slytherins are known for looking after their own, but I guess Snape gives off vibes which mark him as belongin to no-mans-land. Will he be making an appearance throughout the story? I'm excited to see in which direction you take him.

It's wonderful how you've set up Regulus as a follower already. It's a nice way to link him to canon, where he follows what his family expects of him, and thus ends up becoming a Death Eater - and then hating it. Perhaps he'll get to show the other side of him, with all those hidden depths and deep-rooted courage by standing up to Elliot Jasper in some way later on!

It's also interesting how you've shown people of other Houses rally around her despite her being a Slytherin. I guess all bets are off when Slytherins pick on other Slytherins - you know something is definitely wrong with that picture!

The plot thickens! I hope to be back soon(er) :)

Author's Response: Haha, well I haven't been around much lately and I think this must be my first time playing review tag in like a month and a half, so no worries! But I'm glad you like the story enough to miss it, haha.

At this point she has talked to Remus a little, but James and Sirius have had no reason to bother talking with her much - so they're like a whole separate problem, haha.

Well, I don't know if it's that no one likes Snape... I wouldn't see him as really popular, but some people like him. Melanie used to be his friend - this of course is getting to the tail end of their friendship as they've stopped trusting each other now, so really it's probably her slightly biased narration that gives that impression of no one liking him!

I'm glad you liked Regulus in here, and thought it adhered to canon! You know,I kind of wish I'd included him more often than I did in this fic. I like that idea of him standing up to Jasper!

Well, she's not exactly popular, so having support from other houses was a big deal to her. Yeah, I think when there's a Slytherin versus another Slytherin, people would rally around the one that doesn't pick on them!

Thank you so much for your review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heavenUnlikely: Chapter 4: A Day in Diagon Alley

2nd March 2014:
TIME JUMP!

It's so wonderful to see how close the four of them have become! I'm so sad that James is still so prejudiced, but at least he doesn't hate his brother for being in Slytherin. It's understandable and quite realistic that they've drifted apart, though. I imagine it would have happened if Albus had been Sorted into any other House - not constantly seeing someone can create such divides. It sucks doubly that Albus is in Slytherin.

Go figure that Gypsy is hyperactive! I can totally see that precocious eleven-year-old turning into this crazy little ball of energy in four years!

OMG I'm from Australia, so I got so excited reading about Australian Quidditch! As with every sport in Australia, I can imagine no one else in the world being interested in us, as mean as that sounds. Green and gold robes sound perfect, though!

And a budding romance between Scorpius and Rose? So exciting! ScoRose is like one of my ultimate OTPs, so I'm dying to know how their relationship develops :D

Hope to be back soon :)

Author's Response: I couldn't help but throw in the thing about the Australian Quidditch teams being from Australia too! It's alluded to in Quidditch Through the Ages but not too much information about it. :( James still has some growing up to do. He's part way there.

Thank you so much for your reviews. I really appreciate you taking the time to give me your thoughts on my story. Next chapter is in the queue. :)


 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heavenUnlikely: Chapter 3: At the Gryffindor Table

2nd March 2014:
Gypsy seems wise beyond her years - not a bad thing, but I wonder if people gave her grief for being an insufferable know-it-all whilst she waited to grow into it.

James still needs to chill out. Maybe he has in the years since these first three chapters. One can hope, right? And will Regina head down the road of enemies-turned-friends? I can see their dynamic becoming more... complex as the years go on, that's for sure! I'm very excited to see where you take those two strangely prejudiced people.

And yayayayayay! TIME JUMP! Woohoo! Heading onto chapter four to see what's been going on for the past four years :)

Author's Response: Watch out for James and Genie - they'll definitely have a story to tell! In a few chapters time (can't remember which one exactly) we'll find out why they hate each other so much.

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heavenUnlikely: Chapter 2: Unexpected Sortings

2nd March 2014:
Continuing on!

Aww! I feel so bad for Scorpius. He really just wants people to leave him alone and not hate him for his name, doesn't he? Did he have many friends before Hogwarts, I wonder? He seems close to his cousins, so I guess that's something.

It's very sweet and, er... Gryffindor of Rose to realise how much Scorpius needs a friend in the House. James really needs to chill out, but I guess there wouldn't be a story without some drama, and James is shaping up to be quite the drama queen :P

Ah, Albus! Good for him for following his own counsel! He's wanted to be in Gryffindor for as long as he can remember, but he feels that Slytherin could offer him a better chance. And what a scheming Sorting Hat, haha! So manipulative!

Onward to chapter three :)

Author's Response: Poor Scorpius, but I do think it would be hard for him to get people to see past his family name. James is definitely going to cause some issues for them in the future! I think that, throughout Harry's time at Hogwarts the Hat was always encouraging inter-house unity and I wouldn't put it past him to try to enforce it more in the future. As a Slytherin myself, I certainly know the stigma that comes with telling people you're a Slytherin!Hopefully Albus can convince people that Slytherins are not all evil, and bridge the gaps between the houses. :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by 800 words of heavenUnlikely: Chapter 1: The Hogwarts Express

2nd March 2014:
Heya! I'm here to review this for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Bingo!

Well, that was awkward. What a way to start your story! I don't often read stories which start right after the epilogue but I really like this so far. poor Scorpius! He seems like a quiet kid who just wants to read his book and not advertise to the world that he's a Malfoy! It makes feel a little sad for him. And for a twelve-year-old, Rose is pretty clued in to what happens around her. Albus is believably lost in comparison, which makes him quite endearing and cute! James needs to work on his prejudices, I think :P

Interesting start - see you next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your reviews! It made my day to wake up and see four new reviews for my story! You've summed up all my characters perfectly - I tried to make sure that all of them had room for growth throughout the story.:)

 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heavenThe Girl Without A Name: Chapter 1: Prologue

2nd March 2014:
Hello! I'm here reviewing for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Bingo!

Basically, I chose to read this story because its title is fantastic. Totally mysterious! I'm already hooked!

Ooh! It's only the prologue and already so many questions about Bloom! How come she only has one name? Who are her parents? What on earth was she doing in Azkaban, especially if she's only sixteen? Why does she have the Dark Mark? Why is it on the wrong arm? So many questions, so few answers - which I suppose is perfect for the first chapter of a mystery novella!

I'm really interested to find out about the friendship between the Trio and Bloom. Why did they befriend her? Why did they befriend her? Was there a dragon involved (I sincerely hope so. Everything is cooler with dragons :P)? And I'm already a little apprehensive about Bloom and her mysterious and secretive past if Snape of all teachers likes her. I'm not so worried about Hagrid liking her - I think Hagrid likes everyone, especially social outcasts.

I'm excited to find out what happens next :) Let the plot thicken!

Author's Response: Hey, I know that there must be a lot of questions I want to make this story mysterious and slowly reveal the answers about Bloom. I will answer a few in the next chapter. But of course not all of them ;). I was also a little surprised myself about how mysterious she is. But you're right with Hagrid and he will probably become important. Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heavenIntrudamas: Tasks to be Accomplished

2nd March 2014:
Hello! I'm here on a jolly old reviewing jaunt for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Bingo!

I love ScoRose stories so much, so how could I resist this? This was just so silly and fluffy and ridiculously funny, which I absolutely loved!

I liked your characterisation of Rose. She seemed a lot like Hermione, but a little less on top of things in terms of her love life. She's obviously incredibly efficient if she has all her presents and tree and everything organised a full ten days before Christmas - what a solid effort! And I loved how nerdy she is as well, but in a really practical way, trying to grow a plant out of her ceiling. That actually made me really giggle. Now I want a garden hanging off my ceiling, although I'm terrible with plants and hate gardening!

And OMG Scorpius! He's a bit of a loser, isn't he? I mean, he had to go to Ron of all people for help with his love life! That was so hilarious! I cannot actually believe there's someone worse than Ron when it comes to the ladies, which is rather unfortunate for Scorpius! Although to be fair, he got Rose in the end, despite how crazy the plan that he, Hugo and Ron came up with was! At least it worked, right? That's all that really counts :P

And OMG MERLIN CHALLENGE. I CANNOT WAIT.

Author's Response: Hi! Scorose is something I like to read, but haven't wanted to really try my hand at seriously ever (I have a Rose-centered one-shot where she's married to Scorpius, but it's not mainly Scorose) so I'm glad you liked it! I totally wanted to improve my fluff writing skills (in case you couldn't tell I do a lot of dark stuff) and this was a christmas gift so I was just like, why not!

I figured with Rose I'd stick to canonical for the most part, but then give her her own little quirks that made her my character too, you know? It's so typical of her and Hermione to be geeky but not realize how obvious or crazy it is so I just had to have her be prepared 10 days before christmas!

Oh Scorpius, I absolutely loved writing his character! Since we don't get anything in canon about him besides the fact that Ron wants Rose to beat him at everything, there is an infinite amount of possibilities as to how he can be characterized. I chose to make him totally awful with girls (and Rose awful right back with boys) so he'd be wallowing in self-pity for so long until he finally manned up and went to Ron, and that's saying something. He' s sort of like Peeta in this--admiring from afar yet it's still obvious to everyone but her.

And yes the Merlin challenge!! I will try to get the last few details for that finished up here before the weekend and get it posted and people can get started! I'm thinking end of May for the end date, which is when I graduate so yay free time galore to go through everything. I can't wait to see you in the challenge, and thank you for the *AMAZING* review!!! :)
~MadiMalfoy xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heavena simple moment: a simple moment

1st March 2014:
Heya! I saw this on the forums, and I'm going around reviewing for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Bingo, so I thought I'd pop in to check this out!

Okay, let me be honest with you. I'm a super stickler for canon, so it isn't often that I read non-canon ships. That being said, I'm super duper glad that I did read this. I think you've got me shipping a whole new ship now!

Luna is one of my favourite characters, and I'm surprised that you paired her with Ron, but reading this, I can see how they could work. This was just such a sweet little snapshot into their lives and I really loved that. We didn't get any history into how they got to this point, or where they were really going to go from here on out, and I really liked that. It's rare reading stories where it's just about one moment in isolation from all the rest. It was really interesting in that sense.

I also really liked how you mentioned that Hermione and Krum were dating for three years. It showed how all the characters had moved on and how they'd sort of... matured. Everyone was being very mature and adult about the way they handled their relationships - Ron wants to date Luna; Luna wants to make sure she's not ruining her friend's relationship; Hermione and Ron have parted ways amicably. All very realistic! It's this little thing that really made the story for me! Wonderful stuff!

Author's Response: Thank you. I tried to work in some stuff so people would know that, no, Luna and Ron weren't cheating on Hermione, and that everyone was cool with what was happening. Let me say that I'm also happy to have converted you. This isn't something I ship hard, but I do ship it and I think it's kinda cute.

Thank you so much for the review.
~Lily


 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heavenTriwards reborn: A surprising announcement

1st March 2014:
Heya! I'm here for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Bingo - but also to review your wonderful story!

This is a very interesting start. It's short, but it definitely serves as a good introduction. I imagine it would be quite awkward for the Potter kids to have their dad teach Defence Against the Dark Arts. They already have to deal with his fame and general perceived awesomeness in the wizarding community, but now this as well? I'd love to see how they deal with the indignity of it all :P

Ooh! Triwizard Tournament is back on? I have to admit that I love reading about Triwizard Tournaments in Next Gen fics. There's so much excitement and action. And from the summary we know that Lily will be chosen! Poor Harry's going to have a fit - I'm looking forward to that particular plot point being revealed! I also like how you've chosen Lily as the particapant, rather than James or Albus (or even Rose for that matter) who seem to be the popular choices in stories like these. I'm excited to see where you take her :)

Looking forward to the next chapter! See you soon :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much for this kind review. I'm glad that you are enjoying it so far :) I hadn't thought of the fact that it might be awkward for the kids, thanks for the idea!

 Report Review

Review #25, by 800 words of heavenFounding Hogwarts: Normandie

1st March 2014:
Hello! I'm here reviewing for the Gryffindor/Slytherin Blackout Battle!

This story basically has everything that I love reading in fanfics, but never actually read for some reason: the Founders, challenge entries, and 500 words. So obviously, all of this combined just makes for a fantastic story that I couldn't resist :)

I really love this! It was short, but to the point, and I loved how it was written in second person. Stories in second person are rare, but they're just so wonderful to read. I find it difficult to write in this person, so I'm so impressed by the wonderful job you've done!

At first, I thought this was a one-shot but then I actually went and read the story info page and your AN and I am so happy that there are going to be four more installments to come! Yayayayay! More Founders musings! So much to look forward to.

I hope to be back soon :)

Author's Response: Wow!! This review was unexpected, and that made it all the more enjoyable!!

Yes, I like short chapters, too. They grab the attention, but you can read them quickly when there isn't much time for reading fanfiction. :) I am so glad that it caught your attention!

This was my first foray into second person, so it's nice to know that you thought I did well with it! I never knew how I would do with writing from this PoV, but I think that I really enjoy it!!

Nope, this isn't a one-shot at all!! I have four more chapters posted now, which means that it's complete! :D I do hope that you come back to read more!!

Thank you very much for your lovely review!!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>