Reading Reviews From Member: 800 words of heaven
  
361 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heavenDaydreaming: Daydreaming

29th September 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for the Slytherin review exchange for September.

I was going to read one of your older stories, but I'm one of those people who loves to get reviews for a new one simply because I'm so excited to post it, so using that logic, I reviewed this (even though I hardly ever read Dramiones)!

This was a really cute and fluffy one-shot (except for the end because you're just like really, Draco? Really?). I really liked how you portrayed Draco as just your average teenager with average raging hormones. His descriptions of Hermione before the entire snogging session were truly flowery, and something you'd totally expect someone in the throes of infatuation to say.

I did begin to wonder if this was all a daydream because:

a) The title.

b) There wasn't much explanation as to Draco's motivations other than "she's really good-looking OMG how did I not see this before?"

c) Hermione's reactions were very informed by his, which means it's definitely all in Draco's head

I think that those three points actually made it all the better, because then I had this entire "aww yis!" moment when it was revealed to be a rather bizarre daydream and I was all like HA! CALLED IT. (I'm actually this obnoxious about guessing plot twists as well).

Lovely one-shot! Very fun to read :)

Author's Response: OMG I totally forgot about the review exchange! Yikes. But hi! I am very glad this one-shot is getting a bit of attention... although I'm pretty sure if I just wrote Dramonies, all my stories would get attention, lol. If we get paired again, feel free to read an older story though, sometimes it's just as exciting to get a review on something you thought was forgotten.

Anyway, I'm really glad you like this one-shot. It was very fun to write, though also very difficult. I love writing Draco though so it makes me happy when other people like how I portray him.

Yes, I was slightly worried because the title was very obvious, and I didn't want people to know it was a dream until afterward, but I didn't know what else to call it and I was slightly pressed for time so, yeah. I decided just making it so the reader doesn't really know when the dreams begins would have to be enough. I didn't want to it to just seem like Draco was attracted to her because she's good looking. I mean, yes, she's good looking but I wanted him to be interested in more than just that, hence the descriptions of her reading. And as to Hermione's reactions, yeah, they were all in his head, but I tried to keep a little bit of her in there by having dream Hermione question his sanity.

But it's okay that you called it, lol. I love doing that, too, when I read or watch tv/movies.

Thank you so much for this lovely review! I will get to reviewing something of yours very shortly, either tonight or tomorrow. I can't believe I almost forgot.

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heavenThree: Luna Lovegood

2nd September 2014:
Heya! Here for our review swap!

It's a little pathetic, but I'm still reading through House Cup entries *looks guilty*. I also wrote about thestrals and contemplated writing about Luna, so this is super interesting to me.

I think my favourite aspect of this is that Luna feels lonely. Even though she doesn't really care what people think about her, it must bother her that she doesn't have any friends. I'm glad that she found friendship with the thestral she met.

Gosh! Children can be so mean! I hope that a thestral bites them :P

Lovely stroy! I'm sitting in class right now, so I hope to be back soon for the other two entries :

Author's Response: It's not pathetic at all! There were so many House Cup entries. I don't think Luna and thestrals was a particularly original choice, but there's certainly a lot of potential there for stories.

I'm pretty sure we just all want to hug Luna. She's so lovely and sweet and really wants to see the best in everyone, even when they're not always the nicest to her. Maybe a thestral will bite them. ;)

Thanks for reviewing! This was such a fun review swap!


 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heavenLuna : Encounter

31st August 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here for the Slytherin review swap! I'm so sorry that it took such a long time for me to get here - real life has been pretty crazy as of late.

I really enjoyed this piece! I also wrote about thestrals and in second person for one of my entries, and is contemplated using Luna as the main character, but decided against it in the end. So I was super intrigued to see what you'd write about since I was also contemplating a story with similar characteristics!

Luna's characterisation is just lovely. I like how she's still recognisably Luna but not as we know her in canon. She's younger, and hasn't quite started to believe everything her father says as true, although you can see it beginning to happen. I love how she feels different from those around her already, though, as well as her empathy; the way she understands how her father feels had me "aww"-ing!

Lovely story!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you very much for such a lovely review, and don't worry about it. You still made the deadline ;)
That sounds really interesting, I shall check out your thestral story when I have a spare moment. They seemed quite a popular choice for the prompts, and I know I've certainly enjoyed reading the interpretations that everyone has of them.
Thank you very much. I'm glad you liked it!
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heavenStarfall: Prologue

12th August 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

Such an intense prologue! I'm always a bit reluctant to use prologues mainly because I suck at writing them and they always end up a bit boring. Having boring chapter ones does not annoy me as much :P

But this is such a fantastic start. Who is dead? Who is alive? Does Voldemort want to raise Harry in secret (can you tell I'm a bit of a Doctor Who fan, because I can totally see a River Song situation arising here)? Has Lily gone stark raving mad giving up her son? Who knows?

Such a wonderful beginning! Voldemort was just the right sort of calculating crazy that I love to hate, and it's so nice to see him clued into what his Death Eaters are up to for a change! Because sometimes it feels as if he has little idea what on earth is going on with his crew. I hope they continue to cause mischief in the ranks though!

I shall be back for chapter two when you post it :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heavenComplicated: In Which Christmas Is Not The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year

12th August 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

This is a really interesting start!

You've done a wonderful job about setting up Olivia's home life. It's obviously not easy growing up in a family like hers, where one person is trying to pretend everything is okay, whilst all the others know that nothing is okay, nor will it ever be. It informs most of her character so far.

Haha, I kinda had to laugh at Olivia when she called Jason Quidditch obsessed, because it came off as sort of hypocritical, since when she wasn't talking about her family, she was talking about Quidditch. I'm not sure if this is actually one of the most important parts of her life, or if that's just the way this chapter was structured.

I can't really say that I have an opinion on Olivia as yet. I feel as if I must read more of her to understand her better. So far, she has a crazy family who likes to think they're not crazy, and likes Quidditch. Also she seems to only really have two friends (so maybe she's a bit of a loner?).

Lovely start :)

Author's Response: Aw thank you. I've just reviewed your chapter one and LOVED IT (which I'm sure you'll see from my overly enthusiastic review). Thanks for the swap.

Emma x


 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heavenEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Arnold

9th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I was going to read another chapter of Hurricane Luna, but I thought I'd give this a go instead. I don't often read stories about Ginny, and one does not find many set during the seventh book.

I thought this was a really interesting idea, using Arnold's unusual behaviour as a spring board for starting up the DA. Tensions are running high - even the pygmy puffs are feeling the pressure.

I felt as if Ginny's characterisation was a little OOC - but not a lot. Obviously she was under a lot of pressure, and everyone was expecting her to have all the answers when she didn't and on top of it all she wasn't sleeping properly and having a terrible day, but she seemed a little... harsh. But everyone is entitled to have an off day from time to time!

My favourite part of this was the beginning, when you were describing her nightmares and that place between awake and asleep. It was very lovely to read.

Lovely story! I really enjoyed this "a day in the life of a war zone" type of writing :)

Author's Response: Hi hi!

I've been on a bit of a Ginny kick lately, mostly through this story. I'll admit this chapter, of the three is my least favorite. I intend to go through an edit each of these.

Ginny is a character who likes the action. She is a true Gryffindor and an incredibly talented witch at that. However, the role she is forced to play in her sixth year requires patience, silent strength and support for the fellow classmates. Most of this is not in her nature. I tried to show "a day in the life of" when it just gets to be too much for her. I wanted to portray a day where things just got worse and worse and it was the unconditional love of a pet that gave her the grit she needed to pull through for her friends.

Thanks so much for this review!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heavenPride and Joy: Pride and Joy

8th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This story looked really cute and the summary was super funny, so I thought I'd give it a go.

I really love the idea of this story! We never really see muggles reacting to their magic kids' crazy lives. Actually, we see the Dursleys but they're a bit crazy and biased so that hardly counts. It was super fun to read Hermione's parents' reactions to her grades!

I love how they're so supportive of her despite having no idea what on earth is going on. I loved her mother's reactions to flying! I had a good giggle, and it's past midnight here so I'm super glad that no one can hear me :P

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hello!

I thought since we didn't know much about Hermione's family life with her parents I would show my own view.

I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

~Olivia



 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heavenKiller in Me and the Killer in You: Killer in Me and the Killer in You

6th August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

First review! Woohoo! I don't often read Rodolphus stories, mostly because they're scarce to be found, so I was intrigued enough to give this a go.

Oddly, I felt myself sympathising and empathising for Rodolphus. His love seemed genuine and he obviously understood his wife well. It was sad to see him accept that Bellatrix would never love him, but I admired him for sticking through their marriage anyway and wanting to keep her alive. Many people would be driven to anger and hate, especially since they were in Azkaban.

I really enjoyed this look into Rodolphus' mind. His matter-of-fact acceptance of his lot in life and his bad luck in love was so endearing. Even his talk of essentially being assassins was nice to read. I loved that he treats them as part of his life - he doesn't make a big deal out of it. Some people are accountants. He's an assassin for the Dark Lord.

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hello! I figured that not a lot of people would write about him, so I decided to try.

Personally, I find that the majority of Death Eaters, aside from Snape and sometimes Lucius, tend to be portrayed as evil through and through, and not capable of love (which some of them no doubt are). It leaves plenty of leeway for writing without having to stick an AU label on it.

Thanks for the lovely review :)



 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heavenDizzy: Dizzy

4th August 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

I'm sorry I'm a littl late with the review, but here I am!

This was an incredibly adorable and fluffy read. As a teaser for your NaNo novel, it's quite good!

Obviously you couldn't give away all the details, so I was a little confused as to whom some of the OCs were, but I'm sure that'll be cleared up come November. I like Sweets so far - running Honeydukes is quite ambitious!

And OMG Fred! His sense of style is... terrifying. I don't know if it's before it's time or out of the time and space continuum completely! He sounds like he's a lot of fun though. Maybe we'll get to see a slightly more serious side to him in your novel, which I think will be super interesting since he's so crazy all the time!

Good luck for NaNo! This is a lovely introduction :)

Author's Response: Thanks dear!

I realized the OC's probably confused the readers, and already edited a new version to put into the queue :'D so this can be stand-alone. It's almost there!

Yes Freddie's sense of style is quite horrific. But that's what makes him him! You will see a more serious side of him in the future :)

Thanks for the swap!

-Leigh


 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heavenShelter: Shelter

3rd August 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

This was a really lovely read! I don't read much Ron/Hermione, even though they're one of my favourite ships, so this was a wonderful treat!

I really liked how you wrote Hermione's experience whilst she was being tortured. She seemed very... Hermione throughout, which is hard to achieve. Torture lends itself well to writing people out of character, but it was very disciplined of you not to go there.

Aww! Ron! You've written him quite mature here, which is really interesting. I don't quite know when the change comes over him, but he does grow up a lot during the last book (maybe after he comes back) and I loved how you showed that here. It was so adorable to read him comforting Hermione and understanding her well enough to be honest with her about the events.

Lovely read :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for the read and review :)

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! It's definitely very reassuring to hear that their characterization was canon, and I'm also very happy I was able to show the more mature side of Ron with this - I think that might have been one of my main motivations of writing this story.

Thanks so much for this wonderful review!

Jackie


 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heavenSummer at the Abbey: Beginnings

30th July 2014:
Heya! Here for the review swap!

Okay, so Doctor Who, Harry Potter, and Downton Abbey are in my top ten fandoms of all time, so understandably, I'm super excited about this story. I don't read crossovers too often, but I'm quite pumped about this one!

Nothing much seems to happen in this chapter, except for the Doctor just falling from the sky unexpectedly into Hogwarts, although this is basically how he introduces himself all the time, it is not out of the ordinary behaviour for him. I imagine that it would be quite the shock to our five Hogwartians however!

I'm most looking forward to how you tie Hogwarts and Downton Abbey together. Obviously, it will be via the TARDIS, since that appears the only machine in sight which can traverse time and space. And the Doctor is fond of a little mischief, which I'm sure the Granthams are quite used to by now down at Downton!

Lovely start. I hope we get to meet Lady Violet in the next chapter ;)

Author's Response: I'm finding that these three fandoms have a lot of overlap which is neat. I seem to have found the trifecta of crossovers!

You're right. Nothing happens in this chapter besides introducing some key players. Though, to be honest, the Downton Abbey characters I focus in on do not appear much here.

The Doctor and the Crawleys go way back as you will see!

Lady Violet is really not a major part of the story or even a minor part. I wasn't sure how to get past the Maggie Smith aspect, because these students would know for sure what McGonagall looks like.

Thanks much!


 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heavenDefine Insanity: Tricky Business

30th July 2014:
Hey, hey, hey! Here for this month's Slytherin review exchange!

I feel so terrible about not being able to leave more reviews on your lovely-looking stories! Especially since you've already left like a bajillion on mine :( Alas, real life has been quite unexpectedly annoying for the past few weeks, but that is neither here nor there.

This first chapter is so. Intriguing. Who is this mysterious person? What is this mysterious letter? What do they want? Why do they want it? If by writing "this is not a prank" do they mean to use reverse psychology, meaning that it is indeed a prank? So. Many. Questions.

Also, I really like Rose so far. I can really relate to her because the symptoms of my stress and anxiety are quite similar, and I totally get how she feels about them. Feelings can be so annoying sometimes!

Hopefully, I shall be back for the next chapter tomorrow! A lovely beginning so far :)

Author's Response: Hi! It's cool if you can't review as much, I was just feeling extra nice. And I do want to continue reading the story. I'm glad you thought this chapter was intriguing. It does leave the reader with the lot of questions, most of which are answered (I think) in the second chapter. And I'm glad you like Rose. I personally can't even remember half of what happens in this chapter because it's been forever since I've looked at it, as I kinda put it on hold way back... it's something I should probably try to continue, but I am barely maintaining my Sirrah novel right now.

Anyway, I do hope you check out the second chapter. And thanks for being my review exchange partner this month!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heavenThe One and Only Lily Potter: Oh, Shut Up, or Insufferable Smirks, Thy Name Wood

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

You are most definitely right - there aren't enough Lily Luna Potter stories out there, and I am glad that you are rectifying this situation.

Lily is quite the character so far! I can't say that I like her exactly, as she seems to be angry for little to no reason at everyone and everything, but that just makes me a hypocrite since this happens to me as well. Perhaps she'll mellow out over the course of the story, or at least, be angry at things for better reasons.

And Sebastian is annoying! But his personality seems a lot more natural than Lily's right now. For some weird reason, his so-far-revealed character traits fit him better, almost as if he's more comfortable in his own skin than Lily. Again, this just leaves more room for Lily's character development which is never a bad thing!

Plot-wise, I'm interested to see where this goes. Quidditch rivalries, especially within Houses are so much fun! And I hope Neville keeps appearing throughout! His brief appearance was wonderful. Nice start :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review, Miss 800! I'll keep your preferences in mind as I'm writing. Dun dun dun... Chapter Two.

 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heavenThe Only Exception: Noticing

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Lucius/Narcissa is one of my favourite ships and I am so incredibly happy at finding this story! A story about Lucius and Narcissa! Starting as teenagers! While they're at Hogwarts! Woohoo!

I really like Narcissa's voice. She's young, but there's this sense of self awareness and maturity that can be a product of adolescence, especially at seventeen/eighteen. I like how she's very much aware of the kind of person Lucius is, but still can't help her feelings for him. Attraction is such an awkward thing, no?

And all the little mentions of the Black family are awesome! They're such a great bunch of crazy kooks I can't wait to meet some of them!

And Lucius. Of course I want to see more of Lucius. He's walking the line between rebel without a cause and reluctant gentleman rather well at the moment. I wonder which side of him will win when he's around Narcissa?

Lovely first chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!

I'm glad you found it. It's almost finished, so if you like it enough to continue you don't have to wait very long. :)

I'm glad you like Narcissa. It took me a little while to get her right, you know? But a like who she is and how she's turning out, so it's fun to write her. :)

Crazy kooks? Haha! Yes, they are. :D

Lucius will be back, but it's mostly about key moments in Narcissa's life, so he's not a main character. If you can believe that. :P

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heavenwaterfall.: truth be told.

25th June 2014:
For some unfathomable reason I am finding this just now. This is actually so perfect! I love it to bits and pieces (like, seriously). Amazing stuff!

500 words really suits what you want to get across here. We don't spend much time in Molly's headspace because I think she doesn't like spending much time in her headspace. It felt like a complete story. The pacing was just fantastic! I especially loved all the parentheses (I do love me some parentheses) and the single word sentences really suited Molly's way of thinking.

And onto Molly herself! I was laughing, reading this. She's so amusing, and I love that she doesn't see herself as sick. She just sees herself as herself and doesn't understand why they want to change her. I loved this take on mental health!

Lovely story! And the water molecule references were pure gold (or should I say... Au?)!

 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heavenUntil the End: Together

25th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Wah! I love Fabian and Gideon stories, but I avoid reading them for the same reason I avoid reading Fred and George ones: THE TEARS MY HEART IS BLEEDING.

I love the way you've written this, showing their tight bond over the years. They always seem to do everything together, and obviously mischief and madness are on top of the list! I felt sorry for poor Molly; she must have had an eventful childhood with two elder brothers like that!

McGonagall's cameo was just perfect, especially her comment on joining the English aeronautical duelling club. Now I want to write a fic about it...

That scene with Fred and George was just heartbreaking. You know what's coming for both pairs, but it reminds you that there's good in the world, as well as bad.

Lovely story! I'd say go Ravenclaw, but that would make things awkward :P

Author's Response: I'M SORRY FOR YOUR BLEEDING AND CRYING HEART - except that I wrote this just to be sad... all you people left such sad stories in the queue that I had to come back with my own.

Ah! I'm so happy that i managed to show their closeness and fraternal bond. It was tough to give them such breadth with a word limit like the one we had. If I had more space, Iw ould have shown Molly holding her own with them. I don't think they were just torture for her but she eventually got to be theier equal (a bit like Ginny wtih all her brothers).

If you write a fic about that - I'll definitely read it!!

In my head, I like them spending time with Fred and George - for the irony and sadness as well as the idea of them passing along their ways.

Thank you so much for a lovely review!! haha, it's okay to be awkward with the house cheers. :P

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heavenThe Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy: The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

25th June 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

As always, your writing is full of description and creepiness! I think I've read your Edgar Allan Poe story at least three times - I keep coming back every time I need a creepy fix! This was just awesome!

I absolutely loved all the Irish folklore! It reminded me of all those stories I used to read when I was young about mischievous faerie folk and the mercurial elfin people. And the banshee fit in quite well with it all, even though she didn't feel as if she did. I think her jarring presence is exactly what made her such a perfect fit for the landscape of this story. She's surrounded by death, and by extension, grief. It showed the flip side of all those folk tales - you cannot have light without the dark.

And the Seamus twist! Totally awesome! It was very believable for me - there's like zero things about Seamus in canon except his "proclivity for pyrotechnics" and "me dad's a muggle - mam's a witch" so this interpretation of his biggest fear fit right into one of those gaps! Awesome stuff as usual :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Have you really? Haha, that's awesome - I'm glad it's creepiness stuck with you, I do love writing my creepy one-shots. :P

I'm so glad you liked it and all the Irish references. It was so fun to write - I've wanted to write this story for a while and this gave me the perfect outlet. I'm pleased you liked the banshee and how she fit with the landscape as well: though she's a dark figure, she longs for the light, and it's not her fault that she's linked with death. In a way, she's like a guardian of the family, but nobody can see it that way. It made me quite sad for her!

Ah, I'm so pleased! Haha, oh Seamus, well it was fun to expand on him and try and fit this story into canon and even add to canon in a sense.

Thanks so much for the review, lovely!


 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heavenHC Event 3 - Serpent of Slytherin: Prompt 1 - The Magical Creature

24th June 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

Okay, I said that I'd post this tomorrow, since I have to study for an exam, and therefore, should sleep BUT SLEEP IS FOR THE WEAK. Also I wanted to read some of your lovely writing!

I found the idea you were writing super interesting when you were discussing it in the Pit, so I couldn't resist. I am not disappointed! The basilisk reminds me of an enthusiastic puppy... that enjoys drinking the blood of humans, but she only lives to please her mother, and there's something inately sad about that. It's clear that neither Slytherin nor Riddle truly seem to care for her, despite their affinity for snakes, seeing her more as an emblem of defiance and a weapon to wipe out those who are "tainted".

The basilisk takes this rather well - if I abandoned my dog for that long, he'd get pretty sad. I loved the voice you gave her! There was the innocence that one associates with animals, as well as this super creepy overture because - well, she's still a basilisk and they're legend is terrifying. I think it was a good marriage of these two opposing ideas!

On a final note, I just loved how you've opened this with all that anatomy! I'm studying anatomy right now so I was jumping with too much excitement because I recognised all the terms. It was almost as if I were revising...

Lovely story. AND GO SLYTHERIN!

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heavenVoldemort on Broadway: Chapter 1

20th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I haven't read one of Voldemort's adventures in a while, and I was in need of a laugh, so I was so happy to be able to tag you in review tag. I'm very glad to say that this has definitely made my night!

Ah, poor Voldy! How completely rude of Justinian Beaverton to go ruin his life like that, leaving Voldemort in a fix. And what a brave soul (or what's left of it) he has to travel to the New World to try his luck.

It gives me great joy to know that Voldemort scored the part of Zacharias Smith. Zacharias Smith deserves no less than the Dark Lord himself, and Gilderoy Lockhart as Voldemort is just pure casting brilliance on Ron, Hermione, and Harry's part.

I have no idea why the crowd is so excited that Gryffindor will win the Cup in the middle of the Battle of Hogwarts, but whatever. Musicals are a little strange like that! Lovely story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Voldy and Zacharias totally deserve each other, and who could resist the awesomeness of Kenneth Branaugh?

I had to fit my little bit of Gryffie propaganda in there at the end! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #20, by 800 words of heavenThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

19th June 2014:
Hey, hey, hey! Iím back for chapter two! Who says Iím procrastinating studying for my exam? Not me at all! But seriously, I am enjoying reading this story, so itís not just the procrastination that has brought me back.

I find Abigail and Michelleís relationship very interesting. I had a friend like Michelle, whoíd get angry with me over the weirdest of reasons, and it drove me up the wall. I can understand why Abigail is reluctant to let Michelle out of her life though, and thus puts up with her. Sheís her only friend and loneliness is a lot more terrifying a prospect than having a friend with such odd mood swings.

I was a little confused at first why Michelle chose to make James and Abigailís rather mundane encounter such a big deal. It was obvious in the first chapter that it wasnít a case of Abigail loving the popular boy Ė whilst he might be popular, them not being friends was more because they just moved in separate circles than anything else. But then it was revealed that Abigail used to have a crush on him, and things started to make more sense. Michelle really is quite obnoxious about it all, though. Sheís turning into a character that I love to hate. She is keeping Abigailís life interesting so far, so thatís something.

And thereís so much room for Abigailís character to grow! Yay! Being a pushover can be tough, but oh, how it makes for excellent character development fodder!

And woohoo! Plans for plans to make life-changing decisions! Yay! Once again, I hope I shall be back for the next chapter soon :)

Author's Response: HEYY!!! I'm so glad that you're back for the next chapter! And I'm so so happy that you're enjoying it so much! :D Haha I hoped that you studied for your exam though.

A lot of people have had a friendship like Michelle and Abigail's. I had the exact same friendship and I understand her reluctance as well, it's hard to get out of, especially when you feel like you'll be alone without it.

Oh yes, that is why Michelle is reacting that way, she doesn't want Michelle and James to end up going off with each other and leaving her alone, especially because a guy isn't paying her any attention either. She is very obnoxious.

She is a pushover, but hopefully being around other people will give her the strength and courage to not be.

Thank you so so much for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heavenThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One Where James Knocks Me Down

17th June 2014:
Heya! I'm here for the Slytherin review exchange!

So I've had my eye on this story for a while now, and this month's review exchange gave me the perfect excuse to finally start reading it. Also, I just wanted to say that it was incredibly difficult for me to even choose a story in the first place since you've written 32 (what a number). What amazes me even more is the number of reviews you've posted! I'm so impressed (and slightly inspired)!

So I really like the start of this. No real idea about a plot yet, but I'm not too fussed. First chapters don't always have to include plot for me. Abigail seems very... normal, which is oddly refreshing to read. It's nice to see just normal people doing normal things for once! But I'm sure this year has a lot of craziness in store for her, since she felt the need to say that this year was going to be uneventful - definite sign of eventfulness to come!

Possibly my favourite thing about this chapter is the little details. You've revealed a lot about who the characters are in off-hand comments and very natural bits of description (I'm incredibly jealous :P ). I particularly loved the description of the comic books. I love comics, but I can't read them for some strange reason (except Tintin, but I make many exceptions for Tintin) but I feel as if Wizard comics would be easier to follow.

Lovely start! Hopefully I shall be back soon to read on :)

Author's Response: Heya!!

I am so glad that you chose to review this story and that it had caught your eye! I know! I've written so many haha, I want to see how many I can write. :P I absolutely love reviewing! I want to get in the top 10 reviewers on the site. :P

I wanted to have Abigail as a normal girl, I didn't want to have her as crazy or too clumsy and ditsy. She does have a lot of things happening in the year to come, she really thought that it was going to be uneventful.

Awww, thank you *squishes you in a tight hug* I'm so glad that you can connect to Abigail's love of comic books. :D

Thank you so so much!


 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heavenFix: Fix

13th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Usually I don't go for Draco/Pansy because they're often written whilst they're still in Hogwarts and are both obnoxious brats, but I really enjoyed this!

I love how you've chosen a different time period in which to write this. Things are definitely more interesting now that they're out of Hogwarts and trying to get their lives together. This piece reads as if Draco has things more together than Pansy (although he's a bit delusional about Pansy's "love" for him and he's still pining, but minor details really). It's great to see Pansy in a different place than where she was in Hogwarts - reigning supreme.

I also love how this is written from Draco's point of view. You don't often get a Draco who's so aware of what he's feeling, especially love of all emotions. And that he's the one pining away for unrequited love is also a pleasant change. Often it's Pansy one sees in this situation, but it's wonderful that Draco can feel the pain of lost love as well!

Awesome work :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heavenThe Wizarding World War: Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

13th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Woah! What a start! I'm super intrigued to see where this story goes. I don't usually go for war stories, but I'm pleasantly surprised to say that I'm looking forward to reading this one :)

I like the way that you've set up Wizarding society in China. The wizards there seem to be a little more open about their magic, holding meetings of war and rebellion in squares, and the Muggles appear to be aware of their magic, at least to some extent.

And ooh! Rebellion! Conquering Europeans (for a pleasant change :P )! Lin Wang! What on earth is going to happen next?

Awesome stuff :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :) I hope you keep enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heaven16 and Homeless: I was always welcome at the Potters'

1st June 2014:
Heya! I saw this on the forums, and I decided to drop in and take a peek!

This was so incredibly adorable! Sirius is my favourite character, and I absolutely love reading stories about his friendships with all the boys, especially James. Their bond is lovely, and I thought that it was just wonderful the way you explored that here.

I really liked the way that James didn't even give a second thought to Sirius living anywhere else but at his home. He understands Sirius quite well, and his love for him comes through quite strongly here. And I actually laughed at the way he broke the news to his parents - hilarious!

The only (small) criticism I have is that I'd love to have read some more description. A lot of things were "said" which could quite easily be "shown", just to bulk up the description. I hate description, and I always have to make a conscious effort to include it in my writing, so I get how difficult it is. Just a suggestion, though!

Lovely story, and good luck on your first challenge :)

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm so glad you decided to stop by and take a peek! :)

Aww thank you so much!! I absolutely adore Sirius, as well. Truth be told, I think I have an unhealthy crush on a fictional character. ;) I love the dynamic between the 4 boys horribly. And I, as well, love the relationship between Sirius and James. I am so happy to hear that you feel I did a good job at showing their bond!

I feel that would have been exactly the way it happened. I don't think James would think twice about telling Sirius he'll just live with him. I always imagined that James's parents would have thought of Sirius as another son. I'm so happy you liked the way James brought it up to his parents! I would be lying if I said I didn't chuckle a bit while writing that. So I'm thrilled it made someone laugh!! XD

Ah, yes. Description... It absolutely kills me. It has been so long since I've written anything. Before this past January, I have not attempted to write in over a decade. I'm trying to get back into the swing of things. I'm still somewhat reluctant and embarrassed to post my stories. I will definitely try to become a little better with that.

Thank you so much for reading! I truly appreciate all of the kind words!! :) And thank you for wishing me luck! You're terribly sweet!

xoxo - Meg


 Report Review

Review #25, by 800 words of heavencardiograph: prologue

28th May 2014:
Heya! I'm here reviewing for the Diversity Challenge!

This is such a lovely start! I'm really excited to see where you take this. Since this is your first fanfic, I understand how nervous and excited you must be about it! I cannot wait to see how things pan out, in the story and for you :)

You've chosen quite the weighty theme! Terminal illnesses, be they cancer or something else (I don't think it was specified? Might've just missed it), can be exhausting for those who are going through them with the patient, and Lucy's feeling of freedom really struck me. I could really empathise with her; her claustrophobia, her acceptance of the weather, the physiological manifestations of her grief.

I'm really super excited about this story! There's so much potential here, and I wish you the very best on this brand new endeavour! Good luck :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I guess it is thematically quite heavy. I didn't specify what happened to Audrey, because I didn't really feel like it was important (that sounds kinda odd, but I didn't want to get into treatments etc. etc. etc.) I kind of feel like it was cancer, but I'm not sure, I guess the reader will have to decide!
I'm so glad you empathised with Lucy, and thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>