Reading Reviews From Member: 800 words of heaven
  
427 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heavenDraco Malfoy's Dare: The Dare

29th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to leave a review for all the Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15!

So I'm trying to branch in terms of what I read, so I thought I'd try this little story. Draco and Luna sounds like such an odd pairing, so I'm super curious to see how you're going to make it work!

Draco is a right jerk! As are all the Slytherins who play that game, really. As if they have an entire game where the aim is to humiliate the person being dared, and somehow ensure that as many other people are taken down too as collateral damage! I'm actually really looking forward to Draco beginning to like Luna and then his entire plan blowing up in his face. Also, this game goes on for ages, since he has until the end of the year to complete his dare.

Luna was suitably Luna in this. She seemed happy in her own world as usual, but with those flashes of complete understanding as to what was going on around her. And it was so sweet to see that she was just happy finally have some real friends.

Nice first chapter :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heavenOutsider: The Unexpected Visitor

29th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here reviewing all the lovely Slytherins who participated in the House Cup this year!

So this story sounds really cool, and I'm pumped to see where it'll go. I really actually liked that you opened it with Dudley visiting Harry.

Ooh, I like this new Dudley a lot. He seems like a very complex character, thanks to his old bullying days. He's changed a lot, and realised that so much of what his parents told him was a lie, but there are some things that he still believes. I also really like that Dudley isn't shunning the possibility of his daughter being magical because of Vernon and Petunia's teachings, but because of his own bad experiences. It really humanises Dudley, and makes it harder for us as readers to judge him harshly because of it.

Ah, poor Nora! It's so tough being different from everyone else, and sometimes, kids just take a disliking to you for no apparent reason. I can see that it's going to be a tough road ahead for her, especially since she'll be suppressing her magic for the next ten years.

A lovely start :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heavenForbidden Wanderings: A Surprising Encounter

29th July 2015:
Just before I begin the review properly, I want to say something about this line: "Being a Death Eater was not all it was cracked up to be." No, duh, Draco!

Hey, hey, hey! I'm dropping by to shower some review love on my fellow Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15! I visited your page, fully intending to read something newer, and then I came across this story and I was like "oh! This looks cool! Surely I must have read it already, though..." And then I clicked on it AND I HADN'T. This shocks me immensely because:
a) I don't pass up misunderstood Draco stories all that often
b) It's from the House Cup from last year, so by all rights, I should be more on top of things
c) THESTRALS. WHY WOULDN'T I HAVE READ A STORY ABOUT THESTRALS ALREADY.

But there you go. I hadn't. So here I am.

I really liked Draco in this! He walked the line between who he is for the first six books, an arrogant idiot who believes he's the best thanks to his pureblood status, and someone who realises he's not all that special and his sense of entitlement is complete and utter hocus pocus. He doesn't believe in Voldemort, hates the way he and his family are being pressured, and is kind of terrified of Bellatrix because he realises just how insane she is.

But he's still arrogant. He still thinks of himself as a hero. He wants this war to be over, so he can make it a better place. It feels as if his arrogance and privilege have found themselves a new outlet in righteous indignation. It was super interesting to read about him in this sort of "transition phase".

Thanks for the lovely read. I really enjoyed myself, if it was lost somewhere in my ramblings :)

Author's Response: Well, hi!

lol, yes, that line is kind of obvious but... well... it had to be said.

I'm so glad you liked Draco in this. I didn't notice much the transition phase but I also haven't really looked at this since the day I wrote it up and posted it... But yeah, I did want to show a changed Draco who still has some of his arrogant ways but has just been traumatized by all that he used to believe in and look up to.

Again, I'm so glad you liked it! And thank you for this lovely review!

xxNix


 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heavenHeads or Tails: Very Rare Indeed

29th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm dropping by to shower all those Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15 with some review love!

So I don't read many stories with Snape as a main character, and I don't think I've ever read a Snape/OC before. I was pretty excited to give this a go, since it was something new for me.

Snape is a stiff old hag as usual! He's so arrogant, and I felt that he was pretty close to canon. I'm guessing that some sort of relationship between him and Merlaina is going to pop up over the coming chapters, and I'm curious to see how that'll come about. Will she thaw him out, or will she accept him the way he is?

Merlaina seems very intriguing so far. She doesn't need a wand to perform magic, which is kind of a little scary. And she's from America so I suppose she has an accent as well. I'm excited to see what kind of character she'll turn out to be.

A promising first chapter. Thanks for the read :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heavenKrum Lands an Underwear Deal: Krum Lands an Underwear Deal

28th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here spreading some HC 2k15 love to my fellow Slytherins!

Ahahahaha! I clicked on this story because that title is was everything I didn't know I wanted today. I don't know what I was expecting - obviously not what the title said, but this was just too fantastic! It had me giggling like crazy.

Ah, Viktor was just too cute! He was shy and worried about modelling only underwear, but he does it anyway. And the executives were right! His popularity shot through the roof!

It was actually perfect that you picked Hermione to show the effect of the advertisement on the public. That scene between Ginny and her was just very funny. And poor Ron! He's just like "oh no. Not again." I bet you he decides not to go buy the underwear out of spite :P

Thank you for this unexpectedly funny read. It's made my day :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heavenThe Art of Small Talk: Valentine's Day

28th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to shower you in some review love for being such a lovely person during the HC 2k15!

Strangely, I think I've only ever read one story of yours. How is that even possible? Hmm... I must rectify this as soon as possible!

Okay so this was adorable. I loved the way you wrote about Lysander's eating disorder. I felt it to be quite poignant and honest. And as it was written from Scorpius' point of view, it added this extra layer of complexity. I'm just so impressed because you achieved something here in less than 1000 words that I couldn't do if I were given 10 000 words. Just. Gah.

I'm a sucker for Valentine's Day stories, so that this was set then is just an added bonus for me. Everything is just so much more intense on that day for some reason. It's a celebration specifically designed to satisfy the needs of a writer for drama!

Thanks so much for this wonderful story! Don't be surprised if you find me sneaking around on your page in the nearish future :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heavenHey Lily: Snow

28th July 2015:
That second paragraphy with "too many curls". I see what you did there! **smirks*

Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to shower some review love on all Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15!

Aww! This was just too cute! I don't know how Lily and Azalea's relationship will fare in the future, but for now, they love each other, and that's enough.

I really liked reading Lily grow up through the different winters. Each one meant something different, and had a distinct emotional tone. That made each section quite separate from each other, but because they all took place in the winter time, and we got to experience the scene through Lily, it still flowed well. And plus it was in chronological order, so that helped too.

I really loved the descriptions in this! I could imagine everything in my head - and worst of all, feel the cold! That's actually not a bad thing, but I really don't like the cold :P

Could you possibly write a sequel for this story where everything works out for these two? I so want them to be happy and together! Thanks for the lovely read :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heavenRoses: Roses

28th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to shower some love on my fellow Slytherins who participated in the HC 2k15!

Ah, I can't resist a James/Lily story! And this is your first try in the era? Bravo for trying something new! I hope you give it another go - I'd really like to see what you'd come up with.

I really liked the format of this story. You opened it with Harry and then jumped back a long way, before working forward through James and Lily's lives together. I thought it was super effective, and each scene flowed into the other quite naturally. And each of the chosen scenes were quite adorable in their own right.

That last scene though! Gah, now I'm a little sad :'(

Thanks for the really enjoyable read :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heavenThe Last Keepers Of The Light: Chapter One

28th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm dropping by with this review as a thank you for representing Slytherin House so well in the HC 2k15!

Oh. My. God.

Just those last two lines. They take the chapter from "oh, cool intro" to "what on earth is going on? And when is King Arthur making an appearance". This is better stuff than Dan Brown!

Sorry for getting a little too excited there. Let me start at the beginning. This was a really cool intro chapter! And as you may have gathered, that cliffhanger ending is just perfect. I really want to read on and find out what's going on.

And I'm guessing this is set sometime during Deathly Hallows? I'm not sure, but that's the vibe I'm getting. I was really scared when she was taken up to the main part of the Manor. I was like, oh no! She's going to get tortured and Draco's going to be there watching and gah! Horribleness all around! But then Yaxley of all people asks that question O.o

Thanks so much for the fantabulous read! Hopefully I'll be back soon to read some more! Until then, adios :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heavenThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The Love Potion

27th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! Here to shower you in Slytherin HC 2k15 love!

So I thought I'd read more of this than I actually had. The good thing is that I have lots of story. The bad thing is that I have been very neglectful in reading this :(

Ah, I forgot how much I missed Abigail until I started reading this chapter. Her insecurities and shyness are so relatable. Everyone feels a little out of place during their adolescence, but it seems all the much worse for Abigail.

Yeah, I still don't like Michelle. Sounds like a horrible, manipulative person who keeps Abigail around because it's easy. I really hope that Abigail makes some new friends, soon! Especially nicer ones than Michelle. Of course, making new friends is easier said than done.

And oh! Poor James and Abigail! I'm actually really curious to see how James will react once he gets an antidote. His friends sound like right [insert a series of M words here]. At least he has William around, who made sure things didn't escalate too out of hand. But oh no! This has had a such a horrible effect on Abigail's self confidence. Curse you Barry and Elijah! A plague on both your houses!

A stellar chapter, as usual :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heavenPerfect: That is Me.: Perfect: That Is Me.

27th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm here to shower some review love on my fellow Slytherin 2k15 participants because you're all wonderful!

Can I just say how happy I am that not only does your body of work increase the number of Slytherin-centric stories on the archives, but that you also increase the number of stories about Slytherins who are often ignored. I think this is the second Pansy story of yours that I'm reading (and it's weird that I haven't read it already?), and upon seeing it I was just like E. Angie has another Pansy story! And yes, I figured this out when I read your story summary on your author page :P

I really enjoyed this, actually. It's a nice change of pace from most other stories I've been reading recently, where external forces move the plot along. Here's it's just a short character study of Pansy. I really liked that. You managed to give her narcissism and superficial tendencies a depth that she definitely seems to lack in canon! So thank you!

This was a really enjoyable read :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heavenPast Tense: first.

27th July 2015:
Let me just open this review by violently disagreeing with Steph: yes, pomegranates are difficult to eat, but that should not be a reason to dislike them - THE EFFORT IS TOTALLY WORTH IT. The effort is in fact so much worth it, that there's an entire saying about it in Hindi.

Moving on.

Hey, hey, hey! I'm dropping by and showering some review love on all those who participated in HC2k15 as proud members of Slytherin House. I've been meaning to review something of yours for a while now, so this presented itself as the perfect opportunity.

I can't say that I'm very fond of Steph at the moment. This may be because my greatest desire since first reading the Harry Potter series has been to attend Hogwarts, and her complete lack of enthusiasm for the school is just too shocking for my delicate sensibilities. I feel though, that this is rather the point. I most certainly empathise with her, and I look forward to getting to know her better over the course of the next few chapters (when I once again return after an unexplained long absence). I am very open to the idea of revising my views on Steph.

I sincerely hope that once Steph joins the Hogwarts teaching faculty, it does not mean the end of her flatmates' presence in her life. They sound like a fantastic bunch of people. I wish to read more and more about them.

I think the aspect of this story about which I am most excited is that WE GET TO SEE A REHAUL OF HOGWARTS EDUCATION. Does that make me a huge nerd, that educational reform excites me? I don't even care, it's that cool.

Basically, I really enjoyed this first chapter, and I hope to return soon to read more. Also please accept my sincerest apologies for my rather insubstantial review. *disappears in a swish of my villainous cloak and a puff of smoke*

 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heavenA Study in Silver: Prologue: The Lodger

26th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I owed you a review swap from the end of May and now it's coming up to the end of July. The lesson learnt from this? I am a horrible person who sucks at keeping commitments. Hopefully, you are able to forgive me this most atrocious of transgressions, and accept this incredibly late review as a sign of my sincerest regrets.

Okay! So. I am a huge Sherlock Holmes fan. I say this, having never read his works, although the entire series is lying in my bookshelf just waiting for me to ruin their fat paperback spines in my callous disregard of their delicate sensibilities. Basically, I am super excited about this story, and can hardly contain myself to see where you take it. You mentioned in your AN that you don't want to take it in the direction of Sherlock and Elementary, but do your own thing. To that effect, this prologue actually had a distinctly Elementary feel to it, but this may be because I am in love with that show, so things that are probably innocuous, I'm jumping down their throats screaming OMG ELEMENTARY! But it's all good: I have six more published chapters to change my mind, and I am really looking forward to having this story vie for the top spot in "800's fave Sherlock Holmes adaptations" award. (Alas, there is no prize, other than my rather zealous love for it.)

And now to Roxanne. She was actually the element of this story that read most like it was from Elementary - but disclaimer: I am a huge Joan Watson fan. I am so excited to see Roxanne come into her own and do amazing things and tick off the two items on her to-do list. I hope to be printing off "I heart ex-Healer Roxanne Weasley" t-shirts by the end of the next chapter.

For me, a Sherlock Holmes story is often less about Sherlock Holmes, and more about Sherlock Holmes' relationships, and Watson. With that in mind, I am so far apathetic towards Hume. It always takes a while for me to accept the "Sherlock", but I almost invariably do come to love them. I look forward to that happening.

Once again, I am so sorry about this terribly late review. I shall return to read and review the rest of the chapters as soon time allows. And I am almost completely serious about those t-shirts. Until next time! *swishes cape and disappears in a flash of smoke*

Author's Response: Ah! Hello! What a fantastic surprise :) And no worries about not getting to this straight away, I too am known to show up fashionably late to swaps :P

Hah--when I first wrote this I was like "Yay gender-swapped Watson! What an original and unique idea!" and then I was like "OH CRAP ELEMENTARY!" So I watched, and really liked, it--and yeah, def some similarities since both are taking various Holmes elements. I'm also a huge Joan fan (oh man! I JUST realized that both Watson characters are people of color, too! CRAP). Anyway, I hope you find Roxanne reasonably different enough, although this story is similar in that the Watson character is quite a bit more self-possessed than in the original stories. I'm also pretty sure that Roxanne is the most /likable/ character I've ever written. Like, I just REALLY like her. She's really different from myself, but I'd totally hang out with her :)

Yee! This review was something of a masterpiece in itself, and you made me giggle quite a bit, so the wait was TOTES worth it!

Thank you!
xoxo
Roisin


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heavenWhen Arthur Saved Molly: When Arthur Saved Molly

26th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I owed you a review swap from simply AGES ago, but here I finally am, with no valid excuse. I can't remember if you requested a review on a specific story or not, so I just read whatever I felt like. However, if you did request it for a specific story, let me know, and I'll get right on it :)

Ah, I can't resist a Molly/Arthur story. There just aren't enough out there. They're one of my favourite couples in the Potterverse, and I found this to be a really interesting take on their characters.

It's so strange seeing Arthur like this. In canon, he's always a little scatterbrained, but generally cheerful. I don't think I've ever thought of him as being angry and frustrated with his lot in life. But the way you've written him, I can see why he'd feel that way. The first year out of school can be quite disillusioning, and I felt for Arthur. His frustration at the direction his life was taking was quite strong.

And Molly. She almost has this Luna-esque quality about her here. I can hardly imagine her as a free spirit, but I suppose becoming the mother of seven children can change a person. It's not that far a stretch of the imagination to see that she may have been a bit of an oddball. After all, she marries Arthur Weasley, oddball extraordinaire!

Overall, this was a really nice one-shot to read. I especially liked the ending, because even though Molly says that Arthur saved her, I think it's more true the other way around. Thanks for the read :)

Author's Response: Hello, thanks for the review!

I actually don't remember when we agreed to this review swap, but I'm still pleased to get your review! This story is several years old, and I've gotten a strange influx of reviews on it lately (mostly from TAR, since it's one of my shorter stories). I've been thinking about hiding it because it's not a story that I'm very proud of, and I'd prefer people to review other stories.

I like playing with reversing preconceptions of characters, and I kind of played with Arthur here. But to me, Molly has always been a free spirit. She's a Weasley, and she's big a free and passionate. That's just something she can express more clearly before she has seven kids.

I'm always surprised when people say my characters remind them of Luna. I've always avoided writing Luna, because I don't think I can do her justice, so it's kind of funny when people see her in my other characters. Maybe it's time I finally try my hand at a Luna story.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heavenBlackwater Side: Blackwater Side

26th July 2015:
Heya Kenny! I'm so sorry for how long this has taken me, but I thought I'd drop by and review something of yours as a sort of thank you for being such a fantastic Spring Secret Santa! I'm finally replying to all the lovely reviews you left on my stories. And I also wanted to thank you for the story request that you gave me in my Stories Offered thread. It's a fantastic idea and I've been mulling over how to write it - I'll let you know when I come up with something!

Ah, this little one-shot is just too cute. It's so nice to see Harry reminiscing about something so profound even two years later, and also at such a mundane time in his life. He's just going about his business, doing his day-to-day things and helping his best friend navigate the wonders of the London public transport system, when he hears this song that reminds him of Ginny and this moment. It's such a realistic look into the way love works for people, and the simplicity and honesty of this story really appealled to me.

I also loved all the little details you included here. There's an Auror Quidditch team, none of the Gryffindors can keep their desks clean (except Percy, of course), Harry not being bothered about cleaning his desk and just wanting a beer. They really added a lot to the mood of the story, grounding it in reality. And ah, Ron! He was just too cute! I really liked how you've shown him to be quite like Arthur in his fascination with muggle transportation.

Thanks for the lovely read, as well as being such an amazing Spring Secret Santa :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heavenClementine: Clementine

24th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I'm pretty sure I owe you a review swap from a bajillion years ago, and I'm also pretty sure that it was for a particular story, so:
1) I'm terribly sorry for this terribly late review
2) If you know which story I was actually supposed to review, let me know, and I'll get right on it.

Okay, so I came to your page fully intending to review the next chapter of Illuminations, but guess what? THERE WAS NO NEXT CHAPTER. My heart broke. I may have exclaimed in disappointment. My dog looked at me funny before returning to his snoring. Life went on. And I found this story instead.

Ah, I'm a bit of a sucker for these two, although I don't read stories with them as the main pairing often - this may be like, the third one, ever. But I can't resist an Every Word Counts challenge entry! And this was just too cute!

First of all, props to you for writing in second person! It's difficult for me to do, so I am always blown away when someone else does it, and of course, as with all your writing, you do it oh so well. The choice of person works really well here. I find that I talk to myself in second person when I'm unsure of myself in the same sort of way that Fleur was, or when things don't go as I thought they would.

And ah! Bill was so cute! He got her a matching rose! That's adorable! I'm going to expect nothing less from now on, haha! And he asked her out in her native tongue! That's even better. It means so much when someone you like makes that extra effort to connect with you that way. He's a keeper, Fleur! ;)

Thanks for the lovely read, as always :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heavenA Single Point In Time: 1984

24th July 2015:
Heya! I was super excited to see another chapter up - I'm sure it's been published for a while, but alas, it slipped my notice :(

This was an interesting take on Narcissa. I usually read stories where she's written in a more sympathetic light, her character softer and more empathetic than she is here. I know I read stories like that because it's a reflection of my own views of her. So this chapter was definitely out of my comfort zone.

I'm pleasantly surprised to say that I enjoyed this Lady Macbeth-esque take on her character! It suits her, and I think it makes a lot of sense that she's this way at this point in her life. The Malfoys' lives were basically ruined by the way the First War ended, and the lead-up to the second one is still a long way ahead in Narcissa's future. Her observations on womanhood were particularly resonant, and probably my favourite part of this chapter.

A lovely addition to this short story collection, as always. I've come to expect nothing but awesomeness from you! Thanks for the lovely read :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heavenBurning Bridges: Boom

24th July 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I owed you a review swap from several months ago *bows head in shame*. So, um. Here I am! Fifty bajillion years late, with absolutely no excuse!

This story caught my eye because:
1) There aren't many Seamus stories around. Thank you for rectifying that.
2) Battle of Hogwarts stories! Woohoo!
3) SEAMUS IS GOING TO BLOW SOMETHING UP. YAAAS!!!

This was super short, but it worked for what you were trying to achieve here. This is just a tiny sliver of time in a very long and adrenaline-fuelled battle. I really liked the way you showed, through Seamus, that the Battle, for a lot of it, was won by small acts by lots of different people. If these people didn't do these things, then Harry wouldn't have had the time to go through Snape's memories, figure out what he had to do, die, etc, etc.

I could feel the tension in this piece, not just with Seamus, but the press of the background as well. It felt very grounded in the goings-on of the Battle itself, which can be really hard to achieve, especially in so few words.

I also really liked this new take on Seamus as a tactician. Despite his youth and all that imminent danger, he took the time to think things through, and come up with a plan of action that would achieve the most damage. You go, Seamus! *cheers*

This was just a wonderful slice-of-battle, and I really enjoyed it. Thanks for the wonderful read :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heavenWhere Rainbows End: Where Rainbows End

20th July 2015:
Oh, it's been simply ages since I read some Scorose, so I couldn't resist this one!

Ah! They're too cute! I just want to squish them! Come here, Rose and Scorpius, so I can give you a hug. It's so sweet that they've been best friends for so long and that they only started dating after Hogwarts, but they clearly love each other very much and gah! Too cute!

I really loved the way you started this, with Rose reminiscing about her adventures with her grandfather. I think her grandfather and grandmother's love story may have been just a touch more romantic than Rose and Scorpius'. So much sweetness in this story, you're giving me a cavity! And I really like the way you ended it, that last line ties it back to the beginning really nicely.

It's nice to see that the Malfoys aren't horrible people, that they've learnt to be a bit more tolerant, and shock of all shocks, actually learnt to smile. I also loved that little detail about Hinky, and how he gets paid a wage. Such lovely little things in this one-shot that make it so much more enjoyable! Thanks for the wonderful read :)

Slytherin, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #20, by 800 words of heavenSweet Talk: Welcome to Honeydukes

20th July 2015:
Heya! As you already know, thanks to my previous gushing reviews, I'm a big fan of your writing. I've been meaning to read this story ever since you published a one-shot about Sweets and Fred. And thanks to the HC, I am finally here!

Like Vienna, I envy Sweets' secure future. Her biggest problem right now is that she's feeling trapped by the shop, and the expectations that are placed on her by her parents, but I would've loved to have even half an inkling of what life might hold in store for me at her age! But the whole parental pressure thing and fulfilling expectations and rising to the occasion are themes that I can really relate to. I'm looking forward to reading about Sweets stumble her way through them.

I'm also really excited to get to know Sweets better. Man, her holiday plans have me wishing I had holiday plans! I'm so jealous! I hope nothing horrible happens to that trip, like - horror of horrors - it gets cancelled! That would be the worst. But, oh the drama!

And she runs a paper! What doesn't this girl do? I'm sort of excited about seeing how she juggles everything in her life - things seem so crazy! A lovely first chapter :)

Slytherin, House Cup 2015

 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heavenTwisting In The Wind: Free

20th June 2015:
Heya! So I owed you a review swap from like the beginning of May and I am a horrible person, but I am FINALLY here to fulfil my end of the bargain. :/

Wah! Neville/Luna are about the only non-canon ship that I like, so it's horrible to see them sunk like this. But I liked what you did here. I think it's very realistic. Often two people come together for a reason, and as time goes by, that reason disappears. We're always growing, and sometimes, we just to grow towards each other.

It was nice to see how accepting both Neville and Luna were of the end of their relationship. Their was sadness and grief, but also I think a little relief. It felt like a natural end to the description of their shared past you gave us.

I think my favourite part about this little one-shot was that it read like a letter. I can imagine Luna sitting down at a train station, waiting for a train to somewhere later that evening, penning this. And then she'd just burn it, letting the ashes scatter in the wind. Seems like something Luna would do.

Thanks for the lovely read, and I'm so sorry for being so terribly slow with my end of the swap :(

 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heavenThe Defenders: Prologue

20th June 2015:
Hey, hey, hey!

This looks like such an interesting story! I love a bit of mystery, and Victorian mysteries are some of the best out there. Corsets and tophats make everything just that little bit more exciting!

I liked how you started this story with the "it was a dark and rainy night" sort of trope, although the funeral was in the day. I feel rain in London kind of wipes out whether or not it's day or night :P But I think it set the right mood for this story straight off.

I particularly liked how you jumped right into the plot. There was no beating about the bush, no cloaks and daggers, no mysterious men following Clara around everywhere. Just straight to the point. I'm still not sure what The Defenders do exactly, but I think that's the point, since we get to learn along with Clara.

And do I sense the beginnings of a love/hate relationship with Mr Clayton? The "modern" Mr Darcy of Victorian times?

This is a fantastic start to what appears to be a great story. I'll be back soon to read more :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heavenBrother's Blood: Tale of a fool: Brother's Blood

20th June 2015:
Heya! I owed you a review swap from the beginning of May (procrastination is my middle name) so here I am, finally, about three years late.

I haven't read an Albus and Gellert story before, mostly because they're a bit rare, but also because they're always sad and well, sad stories make me sad. This was a lovely change for me though, despite all the angst.

Second person is always a little challenging to write for me, so I'm impressed with what you've done here with Albus. It fits the mood of the story really well - I can imagine Dumbledore just berating himself for being such an idiot about first Gridelwald and then Voldemort.

It was interesting that you chose to focus on Grindelwald and Tom in this. Whilst they're both similar in many ways, their relationships with Dumbledore are just so vastly different that it's never occurred to me that Dumbledore would consider them the same way. It's almost as if it isn't Dumbledore and Grindelwald, but Grindelwald and Voldemort who are the true brothers in blood in this way.

Thanks for the lovely read, and I am so sorry once again for being so late with my review.

 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heaven2% Cotton, 98% Boyfriend Material: Puns

12th June 2015:
Hey, hey, hey! I haven't visited your page in so long! I have much catching up to do! HC is perfect for this.

Ah, Jily. Be still my beating heart. There is very little in the fanfiction world that I love more than happy fluffy Jily. Your writing voice is incredibly well-suited to the genre.

James is just great. His dorkiness would have won me over like two years less than it took him to win Lily, but that may be because I am also a dork and so I tend to gravitate towards my own. And OMG! Sirius. I relate to the Sirius in this fic so much. I am often the put-upon friend, listening to others go on and on about their lovesickness and I'm just like... please let me just sleep and eat in peace. That is all I ask - as does Sirius.

And OMG his surprise! But ten out of ten, that line would've worked on me, so I don't blame Lily. And Remus' reaction to Sirius. Just go away, Sirius. I don't have time for this. Fantastic one-shot!

For House Cup 2015 (Slytherin)

Author's Response: Hey! Welcome back to my page, it has been a while since the last time you were here.

You and I are in the same boat, nothing gets me quite as excited as seeing fluffy Jily stories. I'm also incredibly flattered that you think my writing voice is suited to the genre.

For real though, if James had been that dorky, I don't know how Lily could've said no to him after he grew up a little bit and matured. The dorkiness is just too strong. Sirius comes from my own personal experience, it gets a little tiring having to be loud and force myself in between couples just so they'll shut up tbh with you.

Thank you so much for your awesome review and good luck in the House Cup!


 Report Review

Review #25, by 800 words of heavenUnravel. : Pansy.

2nd May 2015:
REVIEW SWAP.

First of all, let me commend you on the number of challenges that this story is fulfilling. Good luck on them all! Iím so impressed!

Iím actually super happy about all the Slytherin character challenges that are going on at the moment. Itís so lovely to see all the different interpretations of little-written characters, or characters that are often stereotyped in a certain role in stories. I just love this take on Pansy! The way her mind works is different from the norm, and different from what Iíd expect of her. Her almost-obsession with numbers calls to my inner mathematics nerd. But she uses them as a way of controlling her environment, and no matter what oneís position is in society, be they pureblood or muggleborn, I think everyone can relate to that need for control.

But sheís also into fashion! Her thing with numbers doesnít stop her from being creative, or pursuing her career goals Ė itís actually a good thing! Itís also really nice to see that Pansy is so ruthless about it all still. Fashion can often be regarded as being ďgirlyĒ and thus less important, but Pansy is pursuing her career with the same cutthroat attitude that may be seen in the executive boardroom of any company. More power to her!

No! I donít like Pansy at all in the books, but my heart breaks for her here. I empathise with her, her need for perfection, her drive to be the best. I just want to give her a hug and tell her thatís itís all going to be okay, even though it probably wonít.

This was a lovely read. I thoroughly enjoyed this refreshing take on Pansy. Thanks for the swap :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>