Reading Reviews From Member: 800 words of heaven
  
349 Reviews Found

Review #1, by 800 words of heavenThe One and Only Lily Potter: Oh, Shut Up, or Insufferable Smirks, Thy Name Wood

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

You are most definitely right - there aren't enough Lily Luna Potter stories out there, and I am glad that you are rectifying this situation.

Lily is quite the character so far! I can't say that I like her exactly, as she seems to be angry for little to no reason at everyone and everything, but that just makes me a hypocrite since this happens to me as well. Perhaps she'll mellow out over the course of the story, or at least, be angry at things for better reasons.

And Sebastian is annoying! But his personality seems a lot more natural than Lily's right now. For some weird reason, his so-far-revealed character traits fit him better, almost as if he's more comfortable in his own skin than Lily. Again, this just leaves more room for Lily's character development which is never a bad thing!

Plot-wise, I'm interested to see where this goes. Quidditch rivalries, especially within Houses are so much fun! And I hope Neville keeps appearing throughout! His brief appearance was wonderful. Nice start :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the kind review, Miss 800! I'll keep your preferences in mind as I'm writing. Dun dun dun... Chapter Two.

 Report Review

Review #2, by 800 words of heavenThe Only Exception: Noticing

26th July 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Lucius/Narcissa is one of my favourite ships and I am so incredibly happy at finding this story! A story about Lucius and Narcissa! Starting as teenagers! While they're at Hogwarts! Woohoo!

I really like Narcissa's voice. She's young, but there's this sense of self awareness and maturity that can be a product of adolescence, especially at seventeen/eighteen. I like how she's very much aware of the kind of person Lucius is, but still can't help her feelings for him. Attraction is such an awkward thing, no?

And all the little mentions of the Black family are awesome! They're such a great bunch of crazy kooks I can't wait to meet some of them!

And Lucius. Of course I want to see more of Lucius. He's walking the line between rebel without a cause and reluctant gentleman rather well at the moment. I wonder which side of him will win when he's around Narcissa?

Lovely first chapter!

 Report Review

Review #3, by 800 words of heavenwaterfall.: truth be told.

25th June 2014:
For some unfathomable reason I am finding this just now. This is actually so perfect! I love it to bits and pieces (like, seriously). Amazing stuff!

500 words really suits what you want to get across here. We don't spend much time in Molly's headspace because I think she doesn't like spending much time in her headspace. It felt like a complete story. The pacing was just fantastic! I especially loved all the parentheses (I do love me some parentheses) and the single word sentences really suited Molly's way of thinking.

And onto Molly herself! I was laughing, reading this. She's so amusing, and I love that she doesn't see herself as sick. She just sees herself as herself and doesn't understand why they want to change her. I loved this take on mental health!

Lovely story! And the water molecule references were pure gold (or should I say... Au?)!

 Report Review

Review #4, by 800 words of heavenUntil the End: Together

25th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Wah! I love Fabian and Gideon stories, but I avoid reading them for the same reason I avoid reading Fred and George ones: THE TEARS MY HEART IS BLEEDING.

I love the way you've written this, showing their tight bond over the years. They always seem to do everything together, and obviously mischief and madness are on top of the list! I felt sorry for poor Molly; she must have had an eventful childhood with two elder brothers like that!

McGonagall's cameo was just perfect, especially her comment on joining the English aeronautical duelling club. Now I want to write a fic about it...

That scene with Fred and George was just heartbreaking. You know what's coming for both pairs, but it reminds you that there's good in the world, as well as bad.

Lovely story! I'd say go Ravenclaw, but that would make things awkward :P

Author's Response: I'M SORRY FOR YOUR BLEEDING AND CRYING HEART - except that I wrote this just to be sad... all you people left such sad stories in the queue that I had to come back with my own.

Ah! I'm so happy that i managed to show their closeness and fraternal bond. It was tough to give them such breadth with a word limit like the one we had. If I had more space, Iw ould have shown Molly holding her own with them. I don't think they were just torture for her but she eventually got to be theier equal (a bit like Ginny wtih all her brothers).

If you write a fic about that - I'll definitely read it!!

In my head, I like them spending time with Fred and George - for the irony and sadness as well as the idea of them passing along their ways.

Thank you so much for a lovely review!! haha, it's okay to be awkward with the house cheers. :P

-Rose


 Report Review

Review #5, by 800 words of heavenThe Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy: The Banshee of Clan O'Kennedy

25th June 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

As always, your writing is full of description and creepiness! I think I've read your Edgar Allan Poe story at least three times - I keep coming back every time I need a creepy fix! This was just awesome!

I absolutely loved all the Irish folklore! It reminded me of all those stories I used to read when I was young about mischievous faerie folk and the mercurial elfin people. And the banshee fit in quite well with it all, even though she didn't feel as if she did. I think her jarring presence is exactly what made her such a perfect fit for the landscape of this story. She's surrounded by death, and by extension, grief. It showed the flip side of all those folk tales - you cannot have light without the dark.

And the Seamus twist! Totally awesome! It was very believable for me - there's like zero things about Seamus in canon except his "proclivity for pyrotechnics" and "me dad's a muggle - mam's a witch" so this interpretation of his biggest fear fit right into one of those gaps! Awesome stuff as usual :)

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Have you really? Haha, that's awesome - I'm glad it's creepiness stuck with you, I do love writing my creepy one-shots. :P

I'm so glad you liked it and all the Irish references. It was so fun to write - I've wanted to write this story for a while and this gave me the perfect outlet. I'm pleased you liked the banshee and how she fit with the landscape as well: though she's a dark figure, she longs for the light, and it's not her fault that she's linked with death. In a way, she's like a guardian of the family, but nobody can see it that way. It made me quite sad for her!

Ah, I'm so pleased! Haha, oh Seamus, well it was fun to expand on him and try and fit this story into canon and even add to canon in a sense.

Thanks so much for the review, lovely!


 Report Review

Review #6, by 800 words of heavenHC Event 3 - Serpent of Slytherin: Prompt 1 - The Magical Creature

24th June 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

Okay, I said that I'd post this tomorrow, since I have to study for an exam, and therefore, should sleep BUT SLEEP IS FOR THE WEAK. Also I wanted to read some of your lovely writing!

I found the idea you were writing super interesting when you were discussing it in the Pit, so I couldn't resist. I am not disappointed! The basilisk reminds me of an enthusiastic puppy... that enjoys drinking the blood of humans, but she only lives to please her mother, and there's something inately sad about that. It's clear that neither Slytherin nor Riddle truly seem to care for her, despite their affinity for snakes, seeing her more as an emblem of defiance and a weapon to wipe out those who are "tainted".

The basilisk takes this rather well - if I abandoned my dog for that long, he'd get pretty sad. I loved the voice you gave her! There was the innocence that one associates with animals, as well as this super creepy overture because - well, she's still a basilisk and they're legend is terrifying. I think it was a good marriage of these two opposing ideas!

On a final note, I just loved how you've opened this with all that anatomy! I'm studying anatomy right now so I was jumping with too much excitement because I recognised all the terms. It was almost as if I were revising...

Lovely story. AND GO SLYTHERIN!

 Report Review

Review #7, by 800 words of heavenVoldemort on Broadway: Chapter 1

20th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I haven't read one of Voldemort's adventures in a while, and I was in need of a laugh, so I was so happy to be able to tag you in review tag. I'm very glad to say that this has definitely made my night!

Ah, poor Voldy! How completely rude of Justinian Beaverton to go ruin his life like that, leaving Voldemort in a fix. And what a brave soul (or what's left of it) he has to travel to the New World to try his luck.

It gives me great joy to know that Voldemort scored the part of Zacharias Smith. Zacharias Smith deserves no less than the Dark Lord himself, and Gilderoy Lockhart as Voldemort is just pure casting brilliance on Ron, Hermione, and Harry's part.

I have no idea why the crowd is so excited that Gryffindor will win the Cup in the middle of the Battle of Hogwarts, but whatever. Musicals are a little strange like that! Lovely story!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Voldy and Zacharias totally deserve each other, and who could resist the awesomeness of Kenneth Branaugh?

I had to fit my little bit of Gryffie propaganda in there at the end! Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #8, by 800 words of heavenThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One With The 'Supportive' Best Friend

19th June 2014:
Hey, hey, hey! I’m back for chapter two! Who says I’m procrastinating studying for my exam? Not me at all! But seriously, I am enjoying reading this story, so it’s not just the procrastination that has brought me back.

I find Abigail and Michelle’s relationship very interesting. I had a friend like Michelle, who’d get angry with me over the weirdest of reasons, and it drove me up the wall. I can understand why Abigail is reluctant to let Michelle out of her life though, and thus puts up with her. She’s her only friend and loneliness is a lot more terrifying a prospect than having a friend with such odd mood swings.

I was a little confused at first why Michelle chose to make James and Abigail’s rather mundane encounter such a big deal. It was obvious in the first chapter that it wasn’t a case of Abigail loving the popular boy – whilst he might be popular, them not being friends was more because they just moved in separate circles than anything else. But then it was revealed that Abigail used to have a crush on him, and things started to make more sense. Michelle really is quite obnoxious about it all, though. She’s turning into a character that I love to hate. She is keeping Abigail’s life interesting so far, so that’s something.

And there’s so much room for Abigail’s character to grow! Yay! Being a pushover can be tough, but oh, how it makes for excellent character development fodder!

And woohoo! Plans for plans to make life-changing decisions! Yay! Once again, I hope I shall be back for the next chapter soon :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by 800 words of heavenThe Adventures of Abigail Higgs and Potter Boy: The One Where James Knocks Me Down

17th June 2014:
Heya! I'm here for the Slytherin review exchange!

So I've had my eye on this story for a while now, and this month's review exchange gave me the perfect excuse to finally start reading it. Also, I just wanted to say that it was incredibly difficult for me to even choose a story in the first place since you've written 32 (what a number). What amazes me even more is the number of reviews you've posted! I'm so impressed (and slightly inspired)!

So I really like the start of this. No real idea about a plot yet, but I'm not too fussed. First chapters don't always have to include plot for me. Abigail seems very... normal, which is oddly refreshing to read. It's nice to see just normal people doing normal things for once! But I'm sure this year has a lot of craziness in store for her, since she felt the need to say that this year was going to be uneventful - definite sign of eventfulness to come!

Possibly my favourite thing about this chapter is the little details. You've revealed a lot about who the characters are in off-hand comments and very natural bits of description (I'm incredibly jealous :P ). I particularly loved the description of the comic books. I love comics, but I can't read them for some strange reason (except Tintin, but I make many exceptions for Tintin) but I feel as if Wizard comics would be easier to follow.

Lovely start! Hopefully I shall be back soon to read on :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by 800 words of heavenFix: Fix

13th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Usually I don't go for Draco/Pansy because they're often written whilst they're still in Hogwarts and are both obnoxious brats, but I really enjoyed this!

I love how you've chosen a different time period in which to write this. Things are definitely more interesting now that they're out of Hogwarts and trying to get their lives together. This piece reads as if Draco has things more together than Pansy (although he's a bit delusional about Pansy's "love" for him and he's still pining, but minor details really). It's great to see Pansy in a different place than where she was in Hogwarts - reigning supreme.

I also love how this is written from Draco's point of view. You don't often get a Draco who's so aware of what he's feeling, especially love of all emotions. And that he's the one pining away for unrequited love is also a pleasant change. Often it's Pansy one sees in this situation, but it's wonderful that Draco can feel the pain of lost love as well!

Awesome work :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by 800 words of heavenThe Wizarding World War: Prologue : The Wizarding Hemispheric Conflict of 1979

13th June 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Woah! What a start! I'm super intrigued to see where this story goes. I don't usually go for war stories, but I'm pleasantly surprised to say that I'm looking forward to reading this one :)

I like the way that you've set up Wizarding society in China. The wizards there seem to be a little more open about their magic, holding meetings of war and rebellion in squares, and the Muggles appear to be aware of their magic, at least to some extent.

And ooh! Rebellion! Conquering Europeans (for a pleasant change :P )! Lin Wang! What on earth is going to happen next?

Awesome stuff :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :) I hope you keep enjoying it :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by 800 words of heaven16 and Homeless: I was always welcome at the Potters'

1st June 2014:
Heya! I saw this on the forums, and I decided to drop in and take a peek!

This was so incredibly adorable! Sirius is my favourite character, and I absolutely love reading stories about his friendships with all the boys, especially James. Their bond is lovely, and I thought that it was just wonderful the way you explored that here.

I really liked the way that James didn't even give a second thought to Sirius living anywhere else but at his home. He understands Sirius quite well, and his love for him comes through quite strongly here. And I actually laughed at the way he broke the news to his parents - hilarious!

The only (small) criticism I have is that I'd love to have read some more description. A lot of things were "said" which could quite easily be "shown", just to bulk up the description. I hate description, and I always have to make a conscious effort to include it in my writing, so I get how difficult it is. Just a suggestion, though!

Lovely story, and good luck on your first challenge :)

Author's Response: Hiya! I'm so glad you decided to stop by and take a peek! :)

Aww thank you so much!! I absolutely adore Sirius, as well. Truth be told, I think I have an unhealthy crush on a fictional character. ;) I love the dynamic between the 4 boys horribly. And I, as well, love the relationship between Sirius and James. I am so happy to hear that you feel I did a good job at showing their bond!

I feel that would have been exactly the way it happened. I don't think James would think twice about telling Sirius he'll just live with him. I always imagined that James's parents would have thought of Sirius as another son. I'm so happy you liked the way James brought it up to his parents! I would be lying if I said I didn't chuckle a bit while writing that. So I'm thrilled it made someone laugh!! XD

Ah, yes. Description... It absolutely kills me. It has been so long since I've written anything. Before this past January, I have not attempted to write in over a decade. I'm trying to get back into the swing of things. I'm still somewhat reluctant and embarrassed to post my stories. I will definitely try to become a little better with that.

Thank you so much for reading! I truly appreciate all of the kind words!! :) And thank you for wishing me luck! You're terribly sweet!

xoxo - Meg


 Report Review

Review #13, by 800 words of heavencardiograph: prologue

28th May 2014:
Heya! I'm here reviewing for the Diversity Challenge!

This is such a lovely start! I'm really excited to see where you take this. Since this is your first fanfic, I understand how nervous and excited you must be about it! I cannot wait to see how things pan out, in the story and for you :)

You've chosen quite the weighty theme! Terminal illnesses, be they cancer or something else (I don't think it was specified? Might've just missed it), can be exhausting for those who are going through them with the patient, and Lucy's feeling of freedom really struck me. I could really empathise with her; her claustrophobia, her acceptance of the weather, the physiological manifestations of her grief.

I'm really super excited about this story! There's so much potential here, and I wish you the very best on this brand new endeavour! Good luck :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! Yeah, I guess it is thematically quite heavy. I didn't specify what happened to Audrey, because I didn't really feel like it was important (that sounds kinda odd, but I didn't want to get into treatments etc. etc. etc.) I kind of feel like it was cancer, but I'm not sure, I guess the reader will have to decide!
I'm so glad you empathised with Lucy, and thank you so much for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #14, by 800 words of heavenThe Flesh of the Servant: Coward

27th May 2014:
Heya! I'm (finally) here for the Slytherin review swap!

I was going to read a chapter of Everto (I'm woefully slow at reading that story - it's absolutely terrible of me), but then I saw this one, and you cannot believe the happiness it gives me. SIRIUS IS ALIVE!

I liked your characterisation of Peter. I kept on thinking "OMG, he's such a Slytherin. How on earth did he end up in Gryffindor?" Maybe you need a special sort of bravery to betray your friends - that takes guts, in a really twisted, sort of way.

I also loved how you highlighted just how much of the story would not have happened if Peter Pettigrew had not escaped that night, and find his master. Voldemort is really nothing without his followers, especially Peter. That would also mean that the story would have ended as a trilogy :P

Oddly, this piece had me pondering the fine line between coincidence and fate. Obviously, for the purpose of plot progression, Peter had to escape that night, so you could argue that it was fate. But the way you've written this piece highlights that a lot of it was just coincidence. Harry's stunning spell actually hit Peter, and he was doomed. Who would've thought?

Awesome story! Please write another, where Sirius is alive and well (I'll try and contain my inner Sirius fangirl, I promise)!

Author's Response: Hey there!

^.^ Hooray, Sirius is alive!

While in Everto I catered more to Peter's Gryffindor side, his character development turned out slightly different in this (if only to fit the needs of the story). Betraying your friends kind of does take some strange, sordid sort of bravery, doesn't it?

I spent a great deal of time going back through (from the end of PoA until DH) and rereading what Peter's escape had influenced, I kept coming up disappointed (other than, you know, bringing back Voldemort). It seems that he really didn't have much of an influence on, well, anything else really...so I wanted to play that up as much as I could.

Since Peter is the one who could speak to rats, receiving the information about the shadow of Voldemort's whereabouts, I really played up the idea that maybe Voldemort didn't come back. Of course, that caused some controversy amongst reviewers (about other means of Voldemorts return) ^.^.

Thanks for the lovely review! Sirius being alive and happy seems to be the main focus of many of the reviews -- and I definitely can't blame anybody for that! (Fangirls aren't meant to be contained!)

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #15, by 800 words of heavenHurricane Luna: They Meet in a Tree

24th May 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I really love reading Luna/Rolf stories, although I don't do it nearly often enough. I really adored this one - very fluffy and lovely!

I really liked the way you characterised Rolf. Usually he's shown as being somewhat like Luna - a little wacky, but I like how you took his wackiness in a different direction. He's a scientist, not a believer in fairytales. Evidence is the air he breathes. And his desire to establish his name, different to that of his grandfather, is the blood that pumps through his veins. The kind of single-minded ness and concentrated for the type of science Rolf does is rather suited to ambition, and I really liked this rather well-rounded look at Rolf, even though the story is less than two thousand words.

I also felt as if I really knew all about the firds by the end of this! You included some lovely details about them, so that they were really part of the story, and not merely a plot device.

Can I get a sequel please? I'd love to read more about these two and how they finally fall in love and go on lots of wacky adventures and discover all the firds!

Author's Response: Hi!

Wow. Thank you for such a lovely review! I'm so glad you noticed Rolf's character traits. I pictured him and someone who could have equally been sorted into Ravenclaw, Gryffindor or Slytherin and, as such, never felt like he belonged anywhere.

I was really worried about the extreme details regarding the firds, but people seem to love it. This is going to be a novella and chapter two is already up! Each chapter has a different magical animal and different location. I would love to know what you think!

Thanks so much!

~Beth


 Report Review

Review #16, by 800 words of heavenjust like all those times before: just like all those times before

17th May 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Woohoo! All the challenges! And in so few words! I really loved it. The use of second person here was really awesome, because there were parts of this story where I couldn't tell if it was Fred talking, or George. I think that's my favourite part of this story - some bits are really quite ambiguous as to whom this situation applies. I think a lot of it works for either of them, and that is even sadder because they're still so close.

It was really interesting to see Fred so... bitter here. The post-Fred stories I've read so far have George as really sad and angry (which is totally understandable) and Fred as like this sort of guardian angel from beyond death who is immortalised as a prankster and very happy dude, who just wants his brother to be happy as well. It was interesting reading Fred's anger on the issue for a change!

Awesome stuff, and good luck with all the challenges :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by 800 words of heavenForever and a Day: Forever and a Day

7th May 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Aww! So cute! I think I'm reading all your cute stories through review tag :P This was just so adorable.

I really like how you used motherly love as opposed to romantic love. It is not the kind of love I expected with this song, but it fits rather well. It's as if the lyrics of the song are questions Angelina is asking herself, and she's answering.

I felt a little teary at George's reaction. Of course he'd think of Fred. And Angelina is so wonderful in her support! It was a nice, subtle touch, reminding us of their relationship.

Lovely to read :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by 800 words of heavenA Basket Full of Love: Easter Egg Hunts

6th May 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

Oh this was such a lovely one-shot! I really enjoyed reading it. It's a little strange thinking about the Next Gen kids having kids. What would they be called? Next Next Gen, perhaps?

Victoire seems to really enjoy being a mother - very hands-on, but still strict. And OMG Mrs Weasley is still alive and kicking? She's like the next Dumbledore in that respect. You know she'll just live forever ;)

Lovely to read, and I really adored the things you highlighted about Easter as a holiday. Very nice work :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by 800 words of heavenA Dragon's Rose: Two

6th May 2014:
Hello again!

I'm loving this story more and more - and it's only chapter two! I really adore Rose. I hadn't realised that she was still in school. Missing class in the last year can have a huge impact, even if it is for a trivial reason, but she's lost someone close to her, and that's bound to have a bigger impact on her.

I completely understand where she's coming from about life after school. It's a very scary decision, but the pressure is high. I love how Charlie's passing has given her clarity and helped her to make a decision with which she is happy.

Also, OMG NEVILLE IS ADORABLE! He reminds me a lot of Lord Raoul from Protector of the Small(is that accidental? I don't know). They're both great mentors, and I'm really happy that Rose feels comfortable enough to go to him in the first place for help, and that she also eventually opens up about her issue. Neville's understanding and practical support is just fantastic.

I also really liked Albus' reaction. It's probably a typical reaction that Rose will be getting often. It also showed how much Albus cares about Rose - he doesn't say it, but he's concerned that she's making a rash decision because of her grief. He's trying to rationalise her choice and help her in the way he knows how, and whilst that's not what Rose is looking for, he totally gets points for trying with me :P

Moving on!

Author's Response: Sometimes I think the death of a loved one can give you a sort of clarity. It makes you think about life in a different way and gets your priorities straight.

I didn't intentionally make Neville like Raoul, but now I'm squeeing because he totally is. That makes me so ridiculously happy. He's like this slightly dorkier version of Lord Raoul and now I love him even more. :D I always figured Neville would make great professor anyway since he'd been kind of teased and stuff at school.

Albus is sweet. He's a teenage boy and doesn't know exactly how to help, but he's sweet. It's the thought that counts, right? And he gets a little better about what she needs later on.

Thanks for reviewing and creating such an awesome challenge! Now I need to go reread every book Raoul was ever in...


 Report Review

Review #20, by 800 words of heavenA Dragon's Rose: One

6th May 2014:
Heya! I'm finally here to review your entry to my challenge! I wanted to review it for last month's Slytherin review swap, but I felt bad for reviewing something that I should already be reviewing. Sorry about the wait.

This is such a fantastic start! I've only read one of your other stories, and that was just a short little drabble, so I'm really looking forward to seeing you build a longer story.

Rose is wonderful in this chapter. She's realistic, and her grief is palpable and very understandable. Obviously, she and Charlie were very close, and his loss will affect the entire Potter-Weasley clan. It'll be interesting to see Rose cope with this grief through her mission to save Voriel.

I can see the dragon keepers causing a lot of mischief and mayhem (of the bad kind) in the future. They're very secretive, and tension seems to be rife. It'll be a lot of fun to watch Rose win them over, which I imagine will be necessary if she wishes to help this dragon.

Awesome stuff!

Author's Response: Yay! I'm glad you like it! When I got the quote I was sitting there wondering what I could do with it. Then my mind went instantly to Charlie. If it's animals, it's got to be Charlie.

For some reason, I often like to imagine Charlie and Rose were close. I dunno why. It's not the most realistic head canon since he was probably closer with Bill's kids, but it seems so right.

The dragon keepers were fun to write. They didn't play a huge role, but I spent loads of time researching them and dragons and figuring out there different personalities.

Thanks for reviewing! :D


 Report Review

Review #21, by 800 words of heavenDetox: Regrets

5th May 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

It’s been a really long time since I read this story, and I’ve missed it :( I really need to get better at regularly reviewing stories, because I know how much I love feedback and it sort of makes me a horrible author for not doing the same. But, anyway! I am here!

Draco’s worry about being recognised and his struggle to get readmitted to Hogwarts made me think of something. It must be so difficult for people who were on the “losing” side of a war. A lot of the time, these people were not directly involved in the conflict, but are still negatively associated with it. I love this aspect of the story, how it makes me think about the repercussions and aftermath of big calamities. The struggles and bigger themes are very applicable to daily life, and that’s a real pleasure to read.

I remember you mentioning in my last review that this wasn’t going to be a “Draco getting better” story, and with Draco’s symptoms of PTSD, I think I have a better understanding of where you might be taking this character. I love how you’re portraying him as more complex, blurring the lines between “good” and “evil” as they are, making him far more human. It’s obvious that he hasn’t given up in all his beliefs from before the war, be they good or bad, and I’m really looking forward to his ensuing struggle with those beliefs being challenged by others and himself. I think the biggest drawcard for me about this story is that I really want to know where he ends up at the end. What is he going to be like?

The extreme reaction of Minerva McGonagall really has me as surprised as Draco. They really don’t like him, do they? I can understand limiting his interaction with the student body in order to facilitate the recovery of the students, for which he is partially responsible, but McGonagall’s reaction… threw me. At first, I was like, “what? No! This isn’t the McGonagall I know and love” but then I was thought that she’d also lost people for which she cared, and after all, she is human. She’s allowed to grieve and be angry.

For some reason, I had an insane fit of giggling at the mental image of Isadore’s crazy cat lady aunt.

Oh, my goodness! I love the way you write Slughorn! He’s a little self-absorbed and very materialistic, and I’m just fangirling over the way you show these characteristics in his speech and mannerisms. So awesome!

Ooh! Clandestine meetings between Astoria and Draco! I’m sort of excited and anticipating awkward teenage communication, but also at the same time dreading the possible second-hand embarrassment. Especially now that we know that Astoria fancies Draco… And Draco is also quite the awkward turtle. Lots of chances for second-hand embarrassment to look forward to!

Author's Response: Hi, there!

I'm glad the story made enough of an impression that you remembered it. I'll take that as a compliment. :)

I tried really hard to paint a realistic picture of what life was like for the losing side of the war. Far too many post-war stories have Draco continuing to behave exactly the way he did before the war with no consequences whatsoever. (Or worse still, becoming a completely different person.) I'm sure that even the old, pureblood families who didn't support Voldemort experienced a certain amount of backlash. Too many people suffered too much for that not to have happened.

It isn't going to be *solely* a Draco getting better story, although I hope you'll see his character make some progress by the end. He is definitely suffering from PTSD after his own fashion. I believe that it affects everyone differently, and one of the biggest symptoms in Draco's case is uncontrollable bursts of anger. I'm really glad that you don't find him to be purely "good" or "evil", but rather a mix. That's exactly what I was going for. By the end of Deathly Hallows, I did think of him as a very complex character. He was mostly able to differentiate between right and wrong but he'd been conditioned his entire life to believe that his father's beliefs were right, no matter who got hurt.

At this early point in the story, I imagined McGonagall being in a position where she was nurturing a very fragile recovery at Hogwarts. So many people lost their lives before and during the final battle and the school, itself, suffered so much damage. If JKR had written in the epilogue that Hogwarts was converted into a memorial to those killed in the war and a new school was opened, I think most readers would have accepted it. Emotions must have been very raw during that first year back. I bet nearly every corridor in the school held an awful memory for at least one or two students. Into this touchy, emotionally charged situation, the school's Governors have just decided to inject a young man who personally fought for Lord Voldemort along with his entire family. If I was McGonagall, I would have been beyond furious.

Lots of witches and wizards keep cats as familiars. I just decided to throw in a touch of crazy, old muggle lady in Isadore's aunt's case.

I think you're the first reader to comment on Slughorn, and I'm glad you liked him.

Yes, there is a clandestine meeting coming up very soon. I hope you enjoy it!

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #22, by 800 words of heavenYou Don't Love Me On The Battlefield : Run Away Because You Don't Love Me

4th May 2014:
Heya! So I'm here reading and reviewing this story on a two-fold mission. Part 1: I visited *coughstalkedcough* your page today and thought that this was a splendid opportunity to read and review more stories, especially those of fellow Slytherins. Part 2: I vowed to read and review all the Speed Dating entries, and obviously, that never happened, so I am here, reviewing this story to repent for my procrastinating sins.

I've read about one and half "sections" so far, and I really like the way you've set the story up. I really love the idea of writing about a relationship by its defining moments in a sort of reminiscing way (I hope that sentence made sense). Rose, even at age eleven, appears to be quite perceptive and headstrong, which totally validates her Sorting into Ravenclaw for me. She's not only in that House because she inherited her mother's smarts. There's more to her than meets the eye. It's probably a totally irrelevant or at the very least, not very significant characteristic, but I like how there's still some sort of justification in her characterisation so early, rather than just putting her in the House for the sake of being "different".

I'm with Rose on this one - Scorpius does come off as being unfriendly in that little snippet of a scene from the beginning of their second year. You can be an observant know-it-all with a tendency to come off as slightly stalkerish because of this, but you don't have to be so snooty about it. But I must forgive Scorpius for this - he's twelve after all, and I'm totally like this anyway :P

Ooh! What happened in fourth year? It sounds incredibly mysterious and intriguing! Perhaps the companion story offers some answers?

Oh, I just love a good old love-to-hate relationship. There are some people in the world who simply exist to annoy you, and one garners the strangest of pleasures from annoying them back!

Woah, woah, woah! Where on earth did that kiss in sixth year come from? I'd pegged Rose as many things - jealous was not one of them! Why was she so jealous all of a sudden? Was it just one of those moments where your brain does things for no apparent reason? I'm hoping it's something more than that obviously (my ScoRose shipper heart requires nothing less).

BE STILL MY SCOROSE SHIPPER HEART. OH NO WAIT. IT CAN’T. BECAUSE IT IS LYING ON THE FLOOR IN LITTLE TINY PIECES. Why Scorpius WHY?!?!? Things were going so well (sort of)! You could have had it all (sort of)! If not for yourselves, then think of your diehard fans like me!

Anyway, I really enjoyed reading this story. I hope the review isn't too incoherent. I'm not the most articulate of people on the best of days, but my cold is exacerbating the situation :P Lovely job! Toodle pip!

 Report Review

Review #23, by 800 words of heavenEel Slime: Eel Slime

30th April 2014:
REVIEW TAG!

I reviewed this story because Fred and George and prank shenanigans, but also no reviews on a story kinda makes me sad :(

I love your characterisation of the twins! It's totally spot on. The prank they played was rather clever, and showed their ingenuity and their mile-wide streak of mischief, but it wasn't overtly harmful - all in good fun. No one really likes Mr Filch, and it was just such a happy bonus that Mrs Norris got drenched! She's one creepy kitty. Their dialogue was actually fantastic - probably my favourite aspect of this little fic. It was very realistic and quite natural.

Your descriptions were also lovely. They fit in well with the tone and style, but offered the right amount of visualisation to make the scenes come alive in my head. That little side story about Filch and Snape and the soot was totally awesome!

And of course, Dumbledore. Slightly scary, as always, randomly turning up when you least expect it in dead silence. I think you really captured his wisdom, as well as the obvious fact that he understands young people quite well. I loved how he acknowledged that the twins were clever, but still advised them to be mindful of the ramifications of their pranks.

Overall, awesome stuff! I'm really glad I read this :)

Author's Response: Thank you for such a lovely review, and for commenting in such detail on this short little story. I'm glad you picked this one to read, because one-shots don't get as many reviews as chaptered stories even when they're obviously enjoyed by readers, and I really appreciated all the great feedback you shared.

The hardest thing for me about writing Fred and George is keeping the humor at the needed level - so when I run out of humor, the story needs to end. I hoped the readers wouldn't be disappointed that the mischief-makers got caught, but that was the easiest way I could think of to bring the story to a tidy end when I ran out of humor for the twins. But I also wanted it to feel like a satisfying end and not just an abrupt stop, so finding the right ending was the hardest part for me.

I'm always delighted to hear that my characters are in character, because that's one of the main things that make me enjoy (or not enjoy) the fanfic stories I choose to read. That and well-worded vivid descriptions, so I was glad you mentioned that as well. And I'm really glad you thought Dumbledore was okay. He's one of the characters I love to write - and read - so I really try to give him the proper feel.

I'm glad you enjoyed this story, and thanks for such a marvelous, thoughtful, and detailed review. I really enjoyed reading your response!


 Report Review

Review #24, by 800 words of heavenOf Potions and Troublemakers: Of Potions and Troublemakers

25th April 2014:
Heya!

Aww! I'm so sad that this is just a one-shot! I really want to see how their relationship develops. It's one chapter and I'm already shipping them :P

Ah, I can totally relate to Padma. I'm always anxious about quizzes, and whilst I don't understand that single-minded focus on a career path, I totally get wanting to get good grades.

I can see Declan being a mellowing influence on Padma as their relationship grows (which it shall in my head since it's a one-shot). Maybe she'll rub off on him, and he won't get into so much trouble. Or maybe, he'll totally take advantage of her prefect status so that they can spend hours after curfew in secluded corridors...

I got way into this story, I think ;) But that's the mark of good writing, no? You definitely had me sucked into Padma and Declan's little world (and shipping them like crazy, even though they literally interacted for like five minutes). Alas, my shipper heart shall desperately hope for some continuation...

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it! I had a lot of fun writing this little piece of fluff. Probably wouldn't have even thought of it if it hadn't been assigned for a challenge, but I'm so glad it was.

I was never going to continue this further, but in my head they do continue to date and learn from each other and just generally be happy people. Because I say so. And why not.

I think what I wanted from this was just to make them two very real characters, especially Padma. And she is a Ravenclaw after all. Thanks so much for the lovely review! It made my day and put a smile on my face. :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by 800 words of heavenHow to Become Minister of Magic: A Guide: Let's Make a Deal

25th April 2014:
REVIEW SWAP!

This story sounded super interesting. Politics! Female Ministers of Magic! More politics! Woohoo!

Oh, I love how old-fashioned Wizarding society as a whole can be. It must be so frustrating for muggleborns to come into this world, and at first they think everything is all so fantastic and awesome, but NO. Wizards haven't even invented alphabetising spells. Someone didn't think this plan out properly.

Who doesn't need to sing the alphabet song to know if "K" comes before or after "J" from time to time? Mr "Well it's a good thing I'm his personal assistant" is too condescending and superior by half.

Oh, all the caricatures! Mr Truman sounds like a hoot! A real slime ball of a hoot, but a hoot all the same. I love reading about characters like him. It's quite entertaining to watch them get destroyed. Hopefully, it'll be Laney's stiletto-ed heel that does the destroying ;)

Oh, everyone is so sneaky-sneaky in this place! Of course, what else was I to expect when it's a story about someone aiming to become Minister of Magic? Politics and sneaky-sneaky were bound to pop up left, right and centre. You can tell that I am not at all cut out for the sneaky-sneaky world of politics, since I refer to such practises as "sneaky-sneaky" :P

A wonderful first chapter! Good luck with the next one :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! Yes, I feel like wizards are too deep routed in their own ways rather than getting new technology. It never made sense to me about all the magic making things go haywire like so many other fics have. I mean, look at Arther Weasley, he worked all day with muggle things like technology and he didn't have too many problems. And the Weasley's radio. Yes, it may be magical, but it is still at least based off a muggle radio. And if they can have a magic radio, then why not a magic TV or computer!

Sorry, just went off on a rant that doesn't really pertain to this review... oops. Yes, Louis isn't supposed to come off as warm and inviting as a kitten... he is more like a cactus in that regard :P. I did quite enjoy writing about Mr. Truman- although I hope I never have to have a boss like him in real life :/. Yes, yes, everything is quite, as you put it, "sneaky- sneaky" ;). Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>