Reading Reviews From Member: hedwigs_theme
76 Reviews Found

Review #1, by hedwigs_themeImperfect: Imperfect

12th June 2013:
Hey it's me from the review battle.
Wow! I don't know what to say, this is just so good! It's short but so sweet

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed the story. :) Hope to see you around again sometime!

 Report Review

Review #2, by hedwigs_themeThe Society: No Turning Back

6th December 2012:
Hi it's potterweasleygranger from the review thread here to give you a review.

This is a great start to what seems like a mysterious, angsty story that seems to have a creative plot.

Firstly, I love your description. I've read many stories that never have enough description or and I've read many that have way too much that it gets boring. However you have written the perfect amount of description so that the reader can picture everything in his/her head and not get bored. You are to be commended for this!!!

I also really like your OC's name Persephone Fay. They are both unusual names (although I understand that Persephone was a character in Greek Mythology) and fit together well!

I know that this chapter was probably meant to be short for effect but however, I became really sucked in and was enjoying the story and then suddenly it was over! I think that maybe for your next chapters, you should try to up the word count byt a little bit more!

Lastly, I LOVE your last sentence, "it was time". One of my favourite things is when an author uses the technique of keeping the reader 'hanging" which I'm sure who have heard of before. I love how you use that technique here because seeing that made me automatically think "time for what???" "what's going to happen next, I want to read on!" And that is how you attract more readers!!! So congratulations on the usage of that :D

Overall a wonderful start to a mysterious story and I will come back to read on (when I find the time)!


Author's Response: Thanks so much for your review!!

I'm glad I made you want to read on, and I hope you find the time to do that quite soon!! I really tried to make the first chapter seem very suspenseful and dark. Sorry it was so short, but it actually started as something I just started writing one day, and then it turned into an actual idea. I wrote it as it came to me, and that was how it needed to end to set up for the next part. :)

Thanks for your lovely compliments!!


 Report Review

Review #3, by hedwigs_themeFlash: Albus Edition: Zoom!

10th November 2012:
Hey it's potterweasleygranger from the challenge. I am so sorry for how long I have taken to r and r your story and post the results of the challenge (which will be up ASAP) but I have been very busy with school and everything.

Anyway, for your review:

This was a great story! You made sure that it fitted the criteria of the challenge really well and came up with a very creative idea to incorporate Super Speed. Congratulations on successfully completing my challenge :D

Your description was good and I like the way you portray Albus both in the dream and out. I particularly liked the ending as it was so sweet :)

Overall you did a fantastic job in the difficult challenge and thankyou for particpating!

 Report Review

Review #4, by hedwigs_themeMuggle Studies: iPod Injuries

4th October 2012:
HI I'm here from the review battle.

You are an amazingly talented writer whose stories always blow me away. Once again, after reading this chapter I'm in awe. You can write so many different genres so well and I loved the humor in this chapter, it's really good :D

You wrote your OC Archibald really well and described his interests and personality very well. I would of liked to see more physical descriptions but that can come in later chapters :)

I also found your characterisation of Lily different. I normally find her to be the more enthusiastic child out of her brothers, cousins etc. but I like how you made her unique!

I loved the Franklinstein bit... How did you come up with that?

You have a really great plot going on so I can't wait to read the next chapter!

Thankyou for providing such a brilliant read.

10/10 and I shall add you as a favourite author :)

Author's Response: Hey there Hedwigs_theme! Thanks for this lovely review! You really are very lovely (those first lines are making me blush quite a lot, so I hope you're happy - we have a very red AC on our hands)

And Awwh, I really do love Archie so I'm glad you like him too. I'll have to add some physical descriptions in at some point, I think, because I'm not sure whether I ever actually do that... hmmm.

Bah, I've always thought Lily II would be quite the... well, quite haughty and cool. Maybe that's just me.

AHHAHA, Franklinstein... there are a lot more o those namey things to come, my friend.

Thanks or being so lovely! Really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by hedwigs_themeWatering Petunias : Wither

2nd October 2012:


Before I begin with this review, I just want to apologize because this one-shot was so good that as hard as I try, I really can't find any faults, so this review will probably be just me raving!

This story is so unique, I haven't read anything quite like it before, ever! It has such an interesting plot (how on earth did you come up with something like that!) and fantastic metaphors, which I love.

I loved your characterisation of Petunia, it was perfect! I honestly don't know how you did it though because she is really difficult to write :0

Your quotes were beautiful, especially this one in particular:

The truth is the world is so full of dirt and grit that it is near impossible to avoid it. You can try. You can clean and you can scrub until your skin is red raw with the effort, but that will not change the fact that your parents are dead and your sister is dead and magic is real and you are still not a part of it. You can scrub until the whole world is sparkling, but there will still be mountains of crap that you cannot move.

And once it has all been cleaned, you find yourself looking for it again, just to wash it away once more.

Lastly, I can't believe you thought of Muriel for the Dursley's to live with of all people! It made it very interesting.

I hope you actually understood some of that what with all of my raving :D


Author's Response: Oh thank you so much Hedwigs theme! I'm so glad that you liked my little one shot enough to stop by and review (its something that I find every so every so important).

Plot... well, I was given 'Petunia' in the unquiet mind challenge and it just kicked my brain into gear and, well, this sort of thing is something I'm really interested in (not to get into too much detail, as it's very much a family/self centered interest) and well, yeah... then I just had to write and I'm really glad I did! :)

Muriel/Petunia friendship is just... I REALLY want to write about it at some point. But I reckon that they'd want to fob the Dursley's off on someone fowl and... there's Muriel ready with open arms(ish) ;)

Thanks for a lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #6, by hedwigs_themeObsessed: Reputations

25th July 2012:
Yay Amy got sorted into Gryffindor :)

Hello again, me from the review thread!

This chapter was just as good as the last one, packed full of humor, fantastic description (again!) and much more :) You wrote it incredibly well so good job.

I love how you included that first bit at the start where Andy becomes a death eater, a great addition. It left me feeling very sad that Amy had been put in such a horrible position. Poor thing :(

Once again, your description of everything, from the looks of Lily and Steph, to the sight of the Great Hall was amazing ( I wish I could describe as well as you)!

I think I noticed a few grammatical errors and also noticed that you called Fawkes an it, when personally I would call Fawkes a him.

Your characterisation of Lily was perfect. I loved the arguements that 'Red' and 'Black' (I love those nicknames) had. I also really liked reading the bandage scene, it was very humorous and overall a sweet scene to read.

Congrats on another great chapter!

Keep updating this, your doing great!

 Report Review

Review #7, by hedwigs_themeObsessed: Boys

25th July 2012:

I am so sorry that it has taken me so long to complete this review, I've just been so busy and distracted now that school has gone back.

Anyways, I'm finally here now here it is:

I really like this so far, the description is fantastic and the plot, intriguing. Your characterisation of the marauders is perfect. You really captured James and Sirius' funny side along with James' longing for Lily and was that a hit of a crush forming that I saw/read (whatever) from Sirius! I love how you call Peter Mouse-Boy and Remus' characterisation is also really well done.

You should also be commended on your first and last sentences. First sentences should be interesting adn enough to suck the reader in, whilst last sentence should be suspenseful, making the reader want to read the next chapter. You two sentences certainly fit both of these catagories! :D

As I stated above, your description was really fantastic, truly I can't really comment on anything there.

Honestly, you did such a good job, and did you really make that CI and banner???
10/10 and off to the next chapter, soon!

 Report Review

Review #8, by hedwigs_themeThe Founder's Sorting: The Founders Sorting

21st July 2012:
Hahaha! This is really good!

Hi I'm here from the review battle.

I really enjoyed reading this short but sweet one-shot of yours. You portrayed the founders really well and I like how you gave the hat some of the spotlight. Who would of thought that hat's could be that cunning :)

I love all of the arguing between Salaazar and Godric, it's just how I imagined their relationship.

Well done with this :)


Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed this one-shot. I remember that it was a lot of fun to write! :) I've always thought that Salazar and Godric would make an interesting pair. I've been thinking of writing something about that. After the millions of other plunnies have been cared for... Hah, hah. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #9, by hedwigs_themeLetters to Astoria: Table for tw-five ?!

18th July 2012:
Hi I'm here from the review battle!

I really enjoyed this first chapter, it's a fantastic and intriguing intro to what seems like a wonderful story with an interesting plot. There are a couple of things that I would like to commend you on:

1. Description: I loved your description of Astoria's looks, the picture that was 'painted' in my mind was georgeous and so perfect.

2. Humor: I can't remember whether you put this as one of you genres, but I loved the little bits of humor you added into this, mostly in the conversation between Astoria and Draco.

3. It was very smart to change from Draco to Astoria's POV. I found it a very interesting part of your story and a great addition! Well done.

I noticed a few (as in 3 or 4 so not a big deal) grammar errors but I assume that they are most likely just typos, so don't stress over them or anything.

In conclusion, this was an extremely enjoyable read, so keep up the good work and good luck with future chapters :)

Author's Response: Hi! :D
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it! :) Thank you so much! :D
Actually Astoria's description was one of my favorite parts of the chapter to write! I'm so happy you liked it and it had that much of an effect.
Humor is not actually one of genres but I do like to add a little bit here and there and I'm really happy to hear you picked up on it and enjoyed it!
I'm glad you enjoyed her POV. I really like writing from Astoria's pov and I plan to do it some more throughout the story.
I'll have to keep an eye out for those! :P
Thank you. :D And thanks so much for the lovely review! :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by hedwigs_themeYou : You

6th July 2012:
oh :( Poor Dom.

This is such an emotional story, I feel so sorry for the girl (I'm assuming that's Dom, right?) she shouldn't have been treated that way.

Aside from the emotion, which was fantastic (and sad) by the way, I really loved your last sentence:

" Because no girl can ever forget the only boy they ever loved. You were my first and last love."

It's a great way to finish off a story.

Another thing I love about this, is the fact that this one-shot is only 750 words. It's so short but so sweet and it's really good that you managed to get your message across to the reader within that amount of words, without making it seem like a really bad and abrupt ending.

If I could give you CC on one thing, it would be the flow. To me, your sentences didn't seem to completely flow properly into one and other ( if you know what I mean). I think that maybe you should go back over this and just have a look at your sentences, mostly the ones at the start. They are quite short and as I have already pointed out, just don't flow as nicely as they could.

Other than that small CC, everything else was good!

Great job and thanks for requesting a review, I hope I have helped :)


Author's Response: Thanks so much for this review. I'm so sorry that it took me months to reply.

I wasn't too sure about the flow, so thanks for your suggestions on it and I'm glad you think that I got the message across to the reader with such a short amount of words. I felt that it didn't have enough words, so that was great to hear.

Thanks again for your review,

 Report Review

Review #11, by hedwigs_themeMy Not-So-Imaginary Friend: I: Welcome to My Life

5th July 2012:
Hi It's pwg from the review thread!

I really enjoyed reading your story, it has a very interesting plot and you wrote it very well.

I think that this story definitely has potential and you should absolutely continue writing this because it's very interesting.

As you used OC's as your two main characters, I can't say too much on your characterisation, but I loved how you characterised Benjamin, making him Pureblood obssessed. The characterisation of Remus and Marta was also very good.

I love the idea of this story, it's very unique. How did you come up with something like this??

I look forward to reading more of this in the future!


Author's Response: Hi there!

I'm glad you enjoyed the first chapter! It really gets moving after I get Benjamin and Marta properly introduced (both to the reader and me as I wrote it). Benjamin has a whole lot more to him than what meets the eye.

I actually got an inkling of this story from a small thing I did in a previous fanfic I wrote here. I turned that thing into an imaginary friend, made the imaginary friend opposite of what one would normally expect, and gave him a history that would only work in the HP universe. Thus, Benjamin was born.

Thanks for picking this story and I hope you continue as the story unfolds!

 Report Review

Review #12, by hedwigs_theme730 Whispers: one for each night

5th July 2012:
Hi I'm here from the review thread (potterweasleygranger).

I really enjoyed reading your story, it's incredible!

I love the way you wrote this. It's so unique, in fact I've never read a story like this on HPFF yet!

I wish I could be more helpful in this review but as hard as I try, I can't find any constructive criticism to give you. I guess that's a good thing :D


Author's Response: Thank you! I'm glad you liked it ^__^

 Report Review

Review #13, by hedwigs_themeBefore They Fall: Head Boy and Girl

5th July 2012:

So I wrote this really long review last night, basically full of compliments, and was just about to post it when my computer's internet kinda decided to stuff up and all of my review got lost :(

I will try and relay as much of what I said yesterday in this review as I can but I may forget something.

This was your best chapter yet, I loved it! Your description was way way way better and I loved your characterisation :)

I loved how you wrote McGonagall. You have absolutely no reason to be worried about her, I could pratically hear her voice in my head saying the words that you wrote and the characterisation was genius! Dumbledore was also really good, especially with description!

Your characterisation of Lily and James was awesome, James as a funny guy who knows how to be sensitive when necessary, and Lily who has feelings for James but won't admit them.

"What do you know...? He’s even overbearing in portrait form" I love that sentence, along with many other witty comments that you had your characters say!

(Will save now just in case my computer stuffs up again!)

Did you really write those song lyrics? Because they are really clever!

Overall, I think that this chapter really shows how good a writer you are! Keep up the great work and good luck in your next chapters!


Author's Response: So, I think I must have forgotten to push that pesky submit button because I really thought I replied to this! Anyway, thank you so much for your review!

I am so happy you like my characterizations so far, I am really getting close to Lily and James so that makes it even more important for me to really do them justice.

Yay! Dumbledore and McGonagall are really terrifying, I'm so happy you liked them!!

I am happy the comment come across as witty, they sound that way in my head, but I never know if it's just me who thinks that or not ;)!

Yes, I wrote the lyrics, I actually had to write an entire song to try and get a few lyrics out, haha! Thank you, poetry is one of my passions so I had a lot of fun being able to incorporate a but of that similar style into this.

I am so happy you liked this chapter, and sad to say that I think our reviewing relationship is coming to an end :( as everything beyong this goes over the 4,000 mark.

Thank you so much for your wonderful reviews, I will be sure to request for one shots or anything that falls under the 4,000 words in the future! You are a great reviewer!


 Report Review

Review #14, by hedwigs_themeDay Moonlight: Dead

4th July 2012:
Hi it's potterweasleygranger from the review thread.

Is this really your first novel in first person and your first angst in English?! Because it's really good :)

The characterisation of Lavender was really good and I loved the way that you added simple things like Parvati or Trelawney that remind the reader of her life at Hogwarts.

I also loved the mystery and angsty feeling of the story. They are actually two of my three favourite genres and you wrote them immensely well.

Definitely keep going with this story because it seems like you have a great plot going!

Good luck with future chapters,


Author's Response: Hey there!

Thank you so much for leaving this review.

I get really nervous when experimenting with writing but it's turned out to be really fun! I'm so happy you think it's good.

The plot in itself is really angsty so I'm trying to make it less heavy when writing it, but it's awesome to hear I can do it :)

Lavender will keep changing, hopefully I'll see you again soon :P

Thank you again and sorry for the extra-late reply!

 Report Review

Review #15, by hedwigs_themeThe Time of Day: The Time of Day

4th July 2012:
Hi it's potterweasleygranger from the review battle!

Wow this is a really beautiful one-shot, that you wrote incredibly well, putting in lots of emotion and description.

I'm kind of speechless right now (or whatever you call it when you can't think of what to write because you have just read an amazing story) so I'm finding it hard to write a constructive review :) so sorry about that!


Author's Response: Thank you so much. I'm really glad you liked it.

 Report Review

Review #16, by hedwigs_themeMemory: Memory

28th June 2012:
Hey it's me from the review thread.

This is a really beautiful story, with great romance and angst. Well done...

Flow~ I have know idea why you are worried about flow, it's absolutely fine, great in fact.

I think that it would be a good idea to possibly put a line of some sort (even if it's just ...) between Snape's memories and Harry's real life.

I really love how you managed to get your message across to the reader without using 2000+ words. Though keeping it short can be a risk because I find that sometimes, when the author makes it too short, I am left with a empty feeling, kind of wanting more. I did not get that feeling with your story!

Thankyou for the great read!


Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review! I'll definitely take your suggestion into account. :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by hedwigs_themeThrough His Eyes: The First Meeting

28th June 2012:
Hi it's me with another review.

So I think that one of the best things about this chapter is your description, especially of your characters. This is very good, as I have seen many authors who do not pay enough attention to description (me included).

Firstly, I noticed more of that switching from past and present tense again, so you might want to either get a Beta reader or have a look through yourself.

Also, I noticed some typos in the story, like when you called Lucius a "She". But don't worry about that too much, I've done that before as well!

I also think that you could've possibly slowed down the pace of the lesson, as I felt that it moved very quickly and the flow was a bit er, jumpy.

I also really enjoyed reading the conversation between Sage and Lucius in the library, and your characterisation of both Madame Pince and Lucius!

Keep up the good work :)


Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review!
I appreciate it! I did find a beta for this story so I hope the future chapters are a lot better than this one ^_^

Thank again!

 Report Review

Review #18, by hedwigs_themeThrough His Eyes: Lucius Malfoy

27th June 2012:

So you did a good job with this chapter, though I have a few things:

During this story, you switched alot bewteen past and present tense. This can leave a reader feeling confused, so be careful.

Second, towards the end of the story, you were talking (or rather writing) about Lucius being on the train, then suddenly he was at Hogwarts.

Other than those 2 things, your story was really good and it seems like you have an interesting plot brewing, so keep up the good work :)

Author's Response: Thank you for the review! I shall look over those things again!

 Report Review

Review #19, by hedwigs_themeIt Doesn't Have To Be This Way: Us

27th June 2012:
Wow! This is such a good, emotional one-shot. I am actually disappointed that it isn't longer because it was so good :)

Reader Interest~ It isn't possible for this to not be interesting! I'm serious, wow!

Characterisation~ You showed a new side of Oliver that I haven't really ever though about before, but I really liked it.

Flow & Plot~ The flow is fine and the plot is really great.

Description~ I love all of the description. Right from the start you described everything, and it's great to see that in a story. I loved the amount of description of not only the setting and your OC's appearance but also of her emotions.

Overall an amazing story, I am in awe!


Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad to hear so! Sorry bout the length, but thats just how it ended up(;

Thank you for such a kind review and I'm glad to hear you enjoyed it. I was terribly worried about this one-shots quality, but I think I can rest assured now, and I want to thank you for that! Thank you so much!



 Report Review

Review #20, by hedwigs_themeBefore They Fall: Hogwarts Express

27th June 2012:
I agree with your AN, Lily couldn't of just suddenly changed her mind about James, and you did a great, yet sad job of writing how you thought it should happen, which works really well. (I hope that makes sense :) )

I also really like the amount of emotion that you put into this chapter, alot more than the last. Your description of Lily's feelings was better to.

Overall a really good chapter.


Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review, I'm happy you liked this chapter. I'm even happier to say the descriptions should keep getting better and better! Except for 3, which is currently under edit, seriously don't even glance at it until tomorrow!!! ;)!

Thank you for your review!!

 Report Review

Review #21, by hedwigs_themeBefore They Fall: Sirius Black

26th June 2012:
This is really good for your first fanfiction :)

I love your last sentence (in a sad way), it's just so... dramatic!

Emotion~ The emotion was good, especially with Lily (obviously).

Grammar~ I think that I noticed a few mistakes (nothing major) but it would be good to make sure (otherwise it's just my tired eyes!)

Flow~ The flow seems fine at the moment and the plot seems really interesting :)


Author's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review! I combed through it thank I have everything (errors wise) taken care of :)!

Thank you so much!

 Report Review

Review #22, by hedwigs_themeThe Curse-Breaker Who Loved Me: In Which Bill and Fleur Make a Decision—Separately

24th June 2012:
Another really enjoyable chapter!

I am still a bit confused in how the weasleys became so rich but I guess in a story with no Voldemort, anything can happen

Good luck writing more chapters for this story, I can't wait to read them!


Author's Response: It's AU. I'll try to explain more in further chapters. Thank you for reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by hedwigs_themeThe Curse-Breaker Who Loved Me: In Which There is a Ball

24th June 2012:
Hi I'm here from the review thread.

I really like where your going with this, so please keep adding chapters!

I like your characterisation of Fleur and her family although I was missing her French accent. I also like the posh was she speaks especially: "two-and-twenty".

Also, how did you come up with the idea to make the Weasley's rich? It's an interesting idea but it felt strange when they were talking all posh, it just doesn't suit them.

Overall, this was a great chapter and I can't wait to read more.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing!

I can't write the French accent and it would be terrible. I am sparing you. I did slip in a bit of posh accent in there because this story is somehow going to straddle modern wizard times with 19th century Victorian era :P I didn't realize until Chapter 3 that I'd set myself up that way!

The Weasleys being rich are described in the last chapter. They take the place of the Bridgertons as in the Bridgerton Series by Julia Quinn (the other book that this story is based on). It's an AU, let's say :P

 Report Review

Review #24, by hedwigs_themeGrowing Up Weasley: A Very Hairy Christmas

18th June 2012:
I love the spider bit! I wish that actually was written into the books because it's so creative! On to the next chapter.

Author's Response: I did take this from a mention in canon, although expanded on it quite a bit -- who knows what JKR was actually thinking? I'm very glad you liked my interpretation of it, though!

Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review on this -- I'm really, really glad you did. It means a lot to me. :) Hope to see your name back around here soon! ♥

 Report Review

Review #25, by hedwigs_themeTraitor: Prologue

17th June 2012:
Wow this is so good, even though it's short :) I really hope you add more chapters because this could turn out to be a really amazing story!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>