Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
825 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterTransparent: Night in Knockturn Alley

24th May 2015:
Oh my goodness. Gabbie, I need another chapter!!! I want to know what happens when they go inside the Green Dragon! This chapter was brilliant, and I flew through it. I got to the end and just wanted more to read!
I love how Teddy and Dom's relationship is changing. Obviously, they have to get closer after some of the things they've gone through together, but Dom didn't have to help Teddy or come with him all the way to Knockturn Alley, but she did. She is really willing to help him, despite being afraid of what might happen. But at the same time, I think Teddy is really going to protect her and watch out for her while they're there.
I'm so curious to see what happens once they get inside! Especially because Dom has to pretend to be Claire Underhill and act like she's madly in love with Teddy. I have a feeling he's pretended to be other people plenty of times, but Dom hasn't, so I really hope she's able to pull it off so they don't get into trouble!
I'm wondering if she'll really be able to convince everyone there that she and Teddy are in love. Speaking of that, when he said to think of Logan Rookwood if she was having trouble feeling it, that just made me really sad. Especially because he sounded kind of bitter when he said it. I really want Dom to be able to do this for Teddy without thinking of someone else, because that means they would be able to get even closer, and I think they really need each other.
This was a fantastic chapter, and I can't wait for the next one!!!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: The Sorting

23rd May 2015:
Hello! I'm back again for the next chapter!
I think this was my favorite chapter yet. I loved your Sorting Hat song! I've never attempted to write one myself, because I imagine they'd be pretty hard to come up with, so good job with that!
With every chapter in this story so far, I really like the way you weave in little details. Specifically with this chapter, during the sorting you mentioned different people sitting with their houses and gave little details about them, even if they weren't major characters. It made me feel like I had more of a complete understanding and picture of what was going on during the sorting.
Harry's here! And from his conversation with Lily that Albus eavesdropped on, I don't think his being here is a very good thing. I wonder what he gave her? I would be so scared if I were eleven and had to protect something valuable like that!
Like the last two chapters, this one has me curious about what's to come!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterTransparent: Glamour

23rd May 2015:
Hi Gabbie!
This chapter was so god! We really got to get into Dom's head some more, which I really like, especially because her relationship with Teddy is changing.
The beginning with Victoire was kind of hard to read. I didn't want them to fight, and could tell how uncomfortable the whole situation was. Particularly when Dom told Victoire that she had stopped being her sister a long time ago. That just seemed so sad to me. I'm wondering if their relationship will ever get better? Also I'm curious about what happened between Victoire and Teddy!
I'm so happy you brought Percy and Audrey into the story! They're always a riot! The line about Percy dragging her off the dinner table was hilarious! I also love the way you've characterized Lucy. She's so wild and fun, and so incredibly different from Dom, but their still best friends, which is wonderful.
And then there's the end of the chapter with Teddy. He's still so mysterious! I can never tell exactly what he's thinking, so I'm definitely just as confused as Dom as to what exactly their relationship is. I thought it was really sweet that he promised to be there for her if she ever needed him, though. I think it shows that he's changing, and can be a better person if he really wants to. I guess that will really be put to the test if she ever asks him for a favor or for help, though.
I'm really excited to see what happens when they actually get to The Green Dragon! I have a bad feeling that something is going to go wrong, but I hope that they at least get the watch back in the process!
This was a really fantastic chapter, Gabbie! I'll be back soon, because I really want to get caught up on this story so I can get back to some of your other ones, too.
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Candies on the Train

22nd May 2015:
Hello! I'm finally back again for your second chapter!
I really enjoyed this! I liked your introductions of more of Albus's cousins, and thought the little interactions between the family members were really well done. I loved the fact that you made Ginny's dialogue similar to Mrs. Weasley's in Sorcerer's Stone. That detail was a nice touch to the chapter and it really made me smile.
I also enjoyed the fact that Scorpius Malfoy came into the story! He's one of my favorite next gen characters, so I was really curious to see how you wrote him! I honestly felt bad for him when James and Fred tricked him into eating the taffy. I was glad that Albus took pity on him and got his brother to give him the antidote. I'm wondering if he and Scorpius will bump into each other again, or if Scorpius will play a larger role later in the story.
And we have some developments with the mysterious dark wizards! I can't wait to find out more about them!
This was a really great second chapter. I'll get to the next one as soon as I can!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Parchment, Quills, and Symbols

17th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review exchange!
I thought this was a great first chapter. I liked how you introduced each member of the Potter family, and gave us a glimpse of each of their personalities. I loved that the three kids were trying to be sneaky and use extendable ears!
I'm really curious about who cast the Dark Mark! Is it Death Eaters or a new dark wizard trying to rise to power? You've definitely got me intrigued!
Great job with this chapter! I'll be back for more soon!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Now we've both reviewed the required amount (that doesn't mean we'll stop). Anyway, thanks for this review, this was the first fanfiction we ever wrote (it took quite a bit of editing before we posted it, after we wrote some short stories). We're glad to hear you're intrigued; that's the point of a first chapter isn't it? You'll meet the culprit later, just keep reading.

Thank you so much for stopping by!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterSomething Unforseen: Something Unforseen

15th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was so interesting to read, after having read your Scorbus stuff! I never would have expected a James/Scorpius story, but I thought it was really interesting! It definitely showed the characters in a new way, which I really liked.
I thought your descriptions of the all the lazy summer days that Albus loves were really great. I definitely agree with him on that, too! I also liked the different present he got for his birthday. I thought the book of jokes was really creative!
Also, Albus's comment about how he's the only one who can't do magic because Lily doesn't count was so funny! That's such an older brother thing to say.
I thought this was a really great one-shot, and you wrote Albus's emotions really nicely. His reaction to the sudden change in his life when he found out about Scorpius and James was excellent, and I liked that while he knew it would take him a while to get used to things, he accepted that things were changing.
Great job on this one-shot, Molly! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for a great swap!

Yes, this story was meant to be somewhat of a surpise. I suppose I surpised myself a little too... It's pretty obvious that I'm a Scorbus shipper, so this is an exception of sorts!


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterPainted : Painted

14th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This immediately caught my eye, and I'm so glad I decided to read it! I thought it was an absolutely gorgeous story. You managed to pack so much emotion and beautiful imagery in 500 words, which is so impressive!
I loved that you started each paragraph with the same sentence. It made each paragraph feel like its own little scene or vignette, with the opening sentence tying them all together.
I also think you did a really nice job covering such a big span of time in so few words. I didn't feel like you were skipping things or jumping around too much, and I loved that you just kept things very simple.
This was such a lovely story, and I'm so glad I got the chance to read it! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I'm really glad that you've read this, too! :)

I was so worried that it might have felt rushed or not enough emotion, so I'm super thrilled that was not the case! I'm happy the repeated line seemed to work, too. That was also something I've never tried before. :)

Thank you so much for this review! This was something completely new for me, so I truly appreciate the feedback and I'm super happy that you enjoyed it! Thanks for doing the swap with me! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterFounders Four: Pillars of the Ages: Chapter Two: Every Beginning is an End

12th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really great chapter! You developed Godric and Ingvar's relationship some more, which was really nice, and gave some more context to why Godric came to him.
I really want to know what the letter said! Hopefully that will be revealed soon...
The second section with Ingvar coming home to see Godric asleep, and remember how he was when he was younger, was really well-written. I also liked the way you showed Ingvar's love for his wife through his concerns for her safety.
I think Salazar has a great relationship with his mother. It's playful and fun, and you can see how much they love each other. The introduction of Salazar's ability to talk to snakes was really well done.
The end was so intense! I knew that it wasn't a deer in the bushes! Hopefully Salazar's family is okay! Especially his mother. Since they just figured out that she's pregnant, I really don't want her to be hurt!
One little thing that you might consider changing- when Ingvar says, "for the most part he so far has it right," it's a little wordy. Maybe if you said something like, "and so far he's been right," it would be a little easier to read? Just a suggestion.
This was a really good chapter, and the ending definitely makes me want to read more! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: It has been edited, mistakes have been fixed!!! YAY!

*clears throat* Anyway, yeah. I love writing back and forth, playful scenes. They're fun to write. And don't worry, more information is coming up...and I can't promise anything. You'll just have to see.


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterBeat It: Beat It

11th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I absolutely loved this. I don't read many stories that focus on Roxanne, so I always think it's interesting to read the different ways that she's written. I love how you've characterized her. She's sassy and confident and knows what she wants. I also adore the fact that even though she's a professional Quidditch player, she's still really feminine and likes getting dressed up. I feel like a lot of stories that include female professional Quidditch players make sports and femininity mutually exclusive, so having the two come together in a character is really refreshing!
Violet was hilarious, too. I love the way she and Roxanne act together, and can tell that they're really good friends, even from just one chapter. I love her name, too!
Jason Turner is quite the flirt! But I agree with Roxanne; his pick-up lines were really bad. I think you've set up his and Roxanne's future interactions really well in this chapter. I wonder what will happen when they actually play each other in Quidditch?
This was an awesome opening! I think I'll have to come back to this soon to see what happens next! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterto the end of time: New Friends

7th May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I love this. I really like that you chose to write about Parvati and Lavender, because I always think it's really interesting to read about minor characters.
I never really thought about the fact that the Patils were sorted into different houses, and they would feel about that. I think it makes perfect sense that Parvati is nervous that they'll be split up. But I'm really glad that she found Lavender as a friend, so she won't be all alone.
I think this was a really great opening to your story. You kept it simple, and I felt like I knew Parvati well by the end of this, but didn't feel like you were bombarding us with details.
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie! Thanks for doing the swap!

I actually came up for the plot for this fic first and then sat back and was like "wait, who can write this about?" and Parvati and Lavender immediately came to mind. I'm so happy they did because this is quickly becoming one of my favorite stories to write!

That part was one of those things where the characters just started to write themselves and I love how it ended up!

Thanks again for doing the swap, I loved reading the review!

Claire


 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterDown Comes The Night: Chapter Six

7th May 2015:
Hi Maggie!
It has been far, far too long since I last read this story, but I'm back now! I have to say, I forgot how quickly I get sucked into this story. I was just so invested in what's happening with Helga, and I was so nervous about her decision to tell Salazar about her blood status that I tore through this chapter and it was over before I knew it!
I thought the beginning of the chapter was really great. I loved that the three women just got some time together, where they could be open with each other and talk about things that Godric and Salazar might not be interested in. I also realized that I keep thinking that they're all in their late twenties if not older, just because they seem so mature, but then Helga said she was nineteen and Rowena said she was twenty-one, and I was really surprised! That just seems so young! (Probably because I'm around that age and couldn't even imagine starting a school and thinking about having kids!)
I thought the debate over sorting the students was really interesting. I was surprised how Godric acted towards Helga! But I loved the Salazar stood up for her. It makes me nervous about how he'll react when she tells him that she's Muggle-born, though...
This was a great chapter, and I'm so excited to get back into this story!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterTransparent: Glass

7th May 2015:
Hello again!
I'm so, so happy that I have time to get back to this story! I love everything you write, but I think this ties with A Force of Wills as my favorite story of yours. I love Teddy and Dom's relationship, and how much it's changed over the course of the story so far. Even though at the start of this it seems like Dom is just an awkward quiet girl and Teddy is a cruel, nasty guy, by the time we get to this chapter, they are both so much more complicated that that. They're just such well-written characters!!!
I was really worried for Teddy at the beginning of this chapter. He's not used to really feeling things so intensely, and I was scared that he would act out because of it! I'm glad he didn't do anything to hurt himself or Dom. And I think the fact that she was there and could talk him down from acting crazy really helped solidify the bond that they're starting to form.
They're joking with one another now! That has to be a good sign... I'm just so fascinated by the way Teddy and Dom interact! I can't wait to see how you develop their relationship further.
I'm really interested to see how this plan of Teddy's works out. The Green Dragon sounds like a scary place, and I'm really impressed that Dom is willing to go there for Teddy!
The end of the chapter was really sweet. I liked that when Teddy went to let go of Dom's hand, she kept her fingers hooked on his. Hopefully that means they can start to feel really comfortable around each other. They both need someone that they can be completely themselves around, and I really hope that they're able to find that in each other!
This was a fantastic chapter, Gabbie! I'm so happy to get back to this story. I'll come back for the next chapter as soon as I can!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HELLO!

I haven't been able to respond to your reviews as often as I would like but here I am now! A lot of people really, really love this story and I'm really glad because I was unsure if it would be received well. It had a rather slow start but I'm so happy that people love it! T-T

I was certain that a lot of people were uncomfortable with the way I had Teddy in this chapter but I think that it worked out all right. The main thing about this story that I wanted to write about was depression and how dangerous it could be if you don't get the help you need or have the right support. It's about discovering the truth in yourself, I guess. It's not an easy thing to write and Teddy's a hard character to get just right. Hahaha.

Dom and Teddy are joking with each other now! I'm trying to get them more comfortable around one another, the story takes a different turn towards this current chapter and I need them to be strong. Hahaha.

Dom would never be able to admit that she likes Teddy more than she does at that moment but you'll see more of how their relationship develops. Hopefully, it won't kill me. Hahaha.

Thank you so much for your continuing support! All of my stories are updated you know and I miss seeing your reviews for Abandon!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: The Rift

7th May 2015:
Hi Gabbie! I'm FINALLY caught up on this story! It's taken me ages, but I did it!
I'm not even sure what to think after reading this chapter!!! So much happened and it was so packed with emotions!
As always, Astoria's family is terrifying. Particularly her father. I'm honestly really worried about how far he's willing to go to get what he wants. I really hope no one ends up dead because of him. But if that did happen, I really don't know how surprised I would be... He did hurt his own children, and kill his son, after all. I was also surprised about how nasty Aradelle got! It made me really sad to read that, because she would only have gotten that way after years of living with the Greengrass family.
I feel so bad for Astoria! She's terrified of her father, has no idea what Malfoy might do to get to her, and can't see any way out of the situation. I really hope that she's able to get away from her father and get Malfoy to stop stalking her... Maybe Ginny, Neville, and Luna can help keep Malfoy away? I'd like to see them help Astoria again.
As always, Blaise is fascinating. His emotional range in this chapter alone was incredibly written. It's obvious how much he loves Astoria (YAY!) but I have a feeling that that love is going to get him into trouble. If anything happens to her, he's either going to get hurt protecting her or do something stupid out of anger... Either way, things wouldn't end well for him!
He was really scary when he got angry! When he was yelling at Aradelle and grabbed her arm, I really thought he was going to hurt her!
The kiss at the end of the chapter was a really nice way to wrap things up. Everything has been so intense and angsty, and Astoria and Blaise just being together, knowing that they have each other to hold onto, helped relieve that a tiny bit. Hopefully they at least get a moment of calm before things get really crazy!
This was an amazing chapter, and I can't wait to see what happens next! Now I want to work on getting caught up on your other stories!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HELLO!

I'm so sorry that I haven't had the time to really answer your reviews but here I am! Hahaha.

Thanks so much for coming back and you have no idea how long it took me to write this. I almost didn't survive. Hahaha. I think that the Greengrass family will prove to be more terrifying as this story goes on and because Maximus controls everything, he can affect Astoria no matter where she is. He hurt his children and killed Leo but there's so much mystery here that you can't understand when it might end.

I feel bad for Astoria as well. There's so much stacked against her and you're not sure what might happen. I think that I like writing her in this situation though because it forces her to be more emotionally diverse and to stay strong. She can't do it alone, however. This is what this chapter was about though.

You'll see Luna, Ginny and Neville again!

I have never written Blaise like this before and I'm so glad that it was able to really show another side of him. He's not the sort of person that breaks down like this and so it took a long time for me to get this just right and I'm so happy with how it ended. He may have to reign in his temper and his love for Astoria if he wishes to stay alive but he has put himself in danger.

I'm going to try and get more fluff into this story to balance out the angst. Things will get crazy but I don't want to wear you guys down with it! Hahhaa.

Thank you so much, dear!

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterFrom Afar: From Afar

3rd May 2015:
Hello! I was looking for something to read, and I'm so happy I stumbled across this!
I love your characterization of Blaise. I think it's great that when he was at school and then fighting in the Battle of Hogwarts, while he was still on Voldemort's side, you could see that he was torn about it. Especially when he made eye contact with Rachel. And I loved the end of this, when he thought that the Slytherin in him was gone and he could be his own person.
I thought Rachel was an awesome character. You didn't try and cram in millions of details about her, but I felt like I knew her character really well by the end of the story. I would love to read more of her and Blaise together!
This was a great one-shot! I'm happy I found it!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterFounders Four: Pillars of the Ages: Chapter one: The Beginning

2nd May 2015:
Hello there! I'm here for our review swap!
I love a good Founders story, and you've got one here! This opening chapter was so, so lovely! It has such a wonderful feeling of nostalgia about it, and your narration style really adds to that. I love that you address the fact that you're telling a story by talking to the reader directly.
The opening introduction of the four Founders was really great, but I liked that after that you didn't rush, trying to give us every little detail on each one. I loved Salazar reading up in a tree, and his relationship with his mother was really nicely done. Godric's characterization is spot on.
I'm definitely going to have to read more of this! I want to see how you write Helga and Rowena! Fantastic job!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you, and Rowena and Helga will both be coming up... Chapter four or six, can't decide how long each will be.

 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterRomeo In Ivory: Icarus in Mourning

2nd May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was so fascinating to read! I loved how you were never explicit about the fact that Teddy was the main character and that he was visiting Rose's grave, but instead you show that to use through your beautiful descriptions.
I loved how the Muses were interspersed throughout the story, and how they commented on what was happening. I felt bad for the youngest one, because she just wanted Teddy to be happy (so did I!), but had to watch him suffer.
Throughout this, I could picture every little detail so clearly, and I loved your descriptions of the rain and the different flowers that Teddy brought.
This was a really beautiful, though sad, story, and I'm so glad I read it! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you so much - I'm so happy you liked it! Yeah, I didn't want to make the characters obvious in this - when I started writing it, I just didn't mention either of their names, so I never did :P It wasn't totally intentional, but I liked it being a little bit more obscure, without stating it.

The Muses were the last thing to get added to this, actually. I really wasn't sure about including them, so I'm so glad you liked them! I love the whole idea of overreaching and meddling with the gods and the punishment which came, so when I had the idea, I just had to include it :P And yeah, the youngest fate really is pretty nice, poor girl - and Teddy gets a terrible lot in this, too.

Gah, thank you so so much for all the compliments - this was such a fun thing to write, and I'm really just so happy other people like it too :)

Thank you so much for the lovely review! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterHarry Potter and the First Mission: Life Still Goes On

2nd May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I really enjoyed this! I thought it was a nice opening chapter that set up where your story is going to go from here. I'm really impressed that you write Harry so well! I've never attempted to write him in a Hogwarts-era story, because I'm afraid I'll mess him up! McGonagall was spot on, as well. I loved Harry and Ginny's conversation, and I'm glad that things are good between them now.
Good job with this chapter! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, Cassie! Thank you for taking review swap.
Not a few authors say it's difficult to write about Harry as a main character, which surprised me. For I know there are lots of good authors, I think they can, including you, of course, Cassie. I'm doing this 'cause Harry in my mind to be continued after the book 7 and the DH movie.


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterAfter: One.

2nd May 2015:
Hello!
So this story broke my heart. I've never read anything about Cedric's family after his death, and I think you've done a wonderful job with such a heavy subject matter. I can't even begin to imagine what losing a child would do to a person, and you've given me a glimpse of that here. And, like I said before, my heart is aching for them. Amos's disbelief and pain and the longing to see his son again just feel so raw and real in this story. This is really a wonderful piece of writing.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I had never even thought about Cedric's family after his death until I got Amos in the challenge, which then made me feel really guilty because how could they not have been destroyed by it. My experience with PTSD is really limited but I really wanted to do it justice, I'm so glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterThrough the Veil: Beyond the Veil

2nd May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I really enjoyed this story! This is the second story of yours that I've read that focuses on Sirius, and I think you write him really, really well.
I thought it was so interesting to read your descriptions of the room he was in before he chose whether to go back as a ghost or to stay. Since JKR only gives us what Harry sees in DH, I loved getting to see what the "waiting room," I guess we could say, would look like for someone else.
The conversation between James and Sirius was awesome. They were both so spot on. And I loved how Sirius noticed how young James really was when he died. The comment at the end about the twins joining the Marauders really made me smile.
Overall this was a really nice story! I'm really happy I picked it to read! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you, I was worried it might be too much. I'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterKiller in Me and the Killer in You: Killer in Me and the Killer in You

1st May 2015:
Hi there! I'm here for our review swap!
This story looked really intriguing, and I'm really glad I decided to check it out!
I loved that you wrote about Rodolphus! I've never read any stories where he is the focus, and I thought your characterization of him was really interesting. I thought it was a really nice choice on you part to make him madly in love with Bellatrix. Especially because he knows that she doesn't return the feelings. I find it really interesting that he stays with her and loves her just as much, even though he is completely aware that she will never love him back. It mirrored her feelings for Voldemort, in a way, which I really liked.
The idea of the inner killers in Rodolphus and Bellatrix being the reason they connect is really frightening...
Overall I thought this was a great story, and it was a really interesting look into Rodolphus's mind! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterCliffhanger: Cliffhanger

1st May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This story was incredible. It was so, so powerful, especially for something so short. You were able to capture a ton of emotion is so few words, which I think is really impressive, because it's very hard to do. This was a really heavy story, but I think you handled the subject matter very well. I liked that you showed how war can affect people years after they experience it, and how just because people think they're okay at one point, that doesn't meant that things will stay that way.
Even though this was a really intense story, I'm so glad I read it. Thank you so much for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

Thank you so much! I'm so happy this worked for you and that it made an impression!

Fin


 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

1st May 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this! I thought you did a phenomenal job writing Bellatrix! I've never tried writing anything from her POV, because I feel like she would be very tricky to get right. But you captured her character perfectly!
I loved that you started with her childhood, and how she was cold and had no pity for anyone, not even her sisters, from the time she was a child. Then we moved to the second section, which was my favorite. I want to know more about this woman that Bellatrix fell in love with! That whole part of the story was just fascinating to me. And the end was wonderful. You definitely got just the right amount of crazy and her obsession with Voldemort was spot on.
This was a really fantastic story. I loved how Bellatrix changed as she got older and started to follow Voldemort. This was a really interesting look into her character, and I'm so glad that I read it! Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! Aw, thank you - that is so wonderful to hear that you think I did well writing Bellatrix! I think she is the most challenging character I've ever tried to write, especially in first person.

I'm glad you liked that first section with her as a child - I felt like she's the sort of character whom no one really imagines being a child, like ever, so it was interesting to write that side of her. And it's great to hear that you found the second part fascinating with the mystery woman :D The third part was kind of strange to write because she's obviously crazy, but wouldn't see it that way from her own POV, so I'm glad that it seemed the right amount of crazy :P

Thanks so much - I'm thrilled you enjoyed the story! Thanks for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterHogmanay: Hogmanay

1st May 2015:
Hello!
I thought this was a really good one-shot. I really liked that you chose to write about New Year's Eve! I feel like I don't read many stories that take place then, so it was a nice change.
I loved all of the little details that you put into this. The descriptions of the houses covered in snow, the singing coming through the pub door, and the light shining through the windows were all really nice. I also liked the little details about how Harry and Ron are both still affected by apparating.
The end of this, when Harry is thinking about Ginny, is really nice. I liked that he wanted to show her how much he loved her, instead of just telling her with words.
Nice job with this! I liked reading it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you for leaving this, Cassie!
The story concept popped in my head when my friend twittered about Hogmanay fireworks. So I thought I can celebrate New Year, too.
Your compliment made my day. I'm not sure if I write Scottish tradition properly, so I consulted my beta who speaks Scottish Gaelic. So I can be confident around this. I'm glad you enjoyed this. :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterMap Makers: Map Makers

29th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I really enjoyed this! I always think it's interesting to read different takes on how the Marauders came up with the idea to make the map, and how they figured out what to call it. I liked that you actually showed them in the process of exploring the castle and figuring the exact location of all the rooms and secret passages.
I thought it was a really nice choice on your part to have Remus and James out exploring together. I feel like James and Sirius are always paired up, so I liked that you went in a different direction with that. I thought their characters were spot on, and I loved the way they interacted with each other.
This was a really great story! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie. *waves*

I'm glad you enjoyed this. I totally had the same thought process you did regarding James and Sirius always being paired together when I wrote this with Remus and James (and, by default, made Sirius & Peter the other exploring pair). I'm glad you thought I did the Marauders justice in this.

Thanks again! =)


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterfelt: Prologue

29th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I really liked this! You've set up your story really nicely, and I thought this opening chapter was a great hook. I'm really intrigued by this parchment, and what it says exactly, especially since it has Hermione Granger stumped!
I thought the beginning was really nice, and I really liked the pacing of it. Then when we switched to present day, the transition was in a good place, and felt really natural.
Overall this was a really good opening chapter. I have a lot of questions, but I think that's good at this point, since they're making me curious about what's to come! (Also I loved that you had a character called Cassie!)
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>