Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
798 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Hatís for House-Elves

24th April 2015:
I saw that you posted about this chapter over on the forums, and came right over to read it!
I loved this chapter! I thought it was so sweet that Rose went to introduce herself to the house elves. I have to say, I thought it was really interesting how you wrote the elves! I liked that you further developed Hermione's efforts to help house elves, so we could see that all her passion and work actually accomplished something! I'm intrigued by your comment in your Author's Note about Blinky's speech patterns... She reminded me of both Dobby and Winky... so maybe one of those two? That's my guess!
The Slytherin snakes were hilarious! I never would have thought that there would be actual snakes in the common room, but I can definitely see why Albus doesn't like them! I wouldn't either!
This was a really great chapter, and I loved that Rose got to spend some time with Albus. Great job, Andrew!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterEvent Three - All Quiet on the Post-War Front: and all the years between

19th April 2015:
Hi teh!
I just finished the rest of this story, and wanted to leave a review for you!
I think this was my favorite out of the three chapters. I loved the beginning, with the contrast of the Muggle and Wizarding worlds, and how Hannah didn't see the appeal of football compared to a sport like Quidditch. I'm surprised the iPad didn't draw more attention! Haha.
The end was also really lovely. Dennis's character is really intriguing, and I love the friendship between Dean and Hannah.
Overall, this story had a really nice feel to it, and I liked how you focused on the three characters separately before bringing them all together in the end. Great job with this!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie!! ♥ ♥

You're really spoiling me with all these lovely reviews! But I'm so, so happy you decided to come back and finish reading this short story collection. It's probably one of the few completed chaptered things on my page. Also, this last chapter was definitely my favourite out of the three to write, because there were parts that were so silly, and I just loved the three of them together. Perhaps I shall write more short pieces - more drabbles, really, on these three and their precious friendship.

I don't think I've ever enjoyed writing friendship as much, and I'm quite pleased with how these three characters turned out.

And teeheee, football and iPads and overenthusiastic sports fans. :P I wrote this while the FIFA WOrld Cup was going on last year, and so there are a couple of references in it that are in context with that (vampire footballers and the like).

Thanks so much once again, Cassie! ♥ Your reviews are always the loveliest and the warmest, and I'm so lucky to receive them!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterThe Sorting of Albus Severus: Chapter 1

18th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I think reading stories about Albus being sorted are always really interesting, so I decided to check this out! I think you did a really nice job capturing his excitement as his first year of Hogwarts gets closer, and I liked that you started way before September. It gave us a little more time to see Albus's excitement grow until he gets his letter. The transition from excited to nervous was also really well done.
I loved your descriptions of the boats and the Great Hall! I never really thought about how uncomfortable those boats could be until now. I don't imagine it would be a very relaxing first trip to Hogwarts in those tiny boats! I thought you captured the magic of seeing the Great Hall for the first time really well. I loved that it was more than Albus could ever imagine it to be before he saw it.
I never expected him to go into Hufflepuff! Being a Hufflepuff myself, I was really excited. Haha. But I've never read a story where Albus was put in Hufflepuff or Ravenclaw (I put him in Slytherin), so this was a really nice change from what I see a lot.
This was a really great opening chapter! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! Thanks for taking the time to review this story. I'm glad that you liked the description and Albus's discomfort with those little boats. (Which I can only imagine would be even more uncomfortable for poor Hagrid!) Having Albus be a Hufflepuff never seems to be considered an option, so I decided to explore that a bit. I am not a Hufflepuff, but as you will see in the next chapter I have a great respect for the house! =)

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterYet: Yet

18th April 2015:
Hi Katie! I'm here for our review swap!
I love, love, loved this. It hit very close to home for me, because the first time I seriously dated someone, I knew I loved him for a long time before I said it. At a certain point, you just know, and can feel it in everything you do when you're with that person. It sounds cheesy, but that's how it was for me! I thought you captured that feeling beautifully.
I loved how playful Lily and James were with each other. Especially when she messed up his hair. Haha. They just seem so totally comfortable around each other, which is really wonderful to read.
Even though this story was really short, I thought it was a great piece that showed one little moment of their relationship. Also, it fit really well with the song lyrics!
Thank you again for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterUnexploded Bombs: The Question

18th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
As soon as I read the summary for this story, I was really intrigued! And you definitely didn't dissapoint with the opening chapter! I think it's always interesting reading stories about Harry and Dudley when they're adults. I like that you have them getting along and keeping in contact with one another. That's what I like to think would happen after Dudley's change of heart in Deathly Hallows.
I'm so interested in what's going on with Vernon's death! What's in Harry's room that could have killed him? Especially since Harry didn't leave anything dangerous or magical there... You've definitely got me asking questions about what's going to happen, and have given just enough information to keep me interested.
This was an awesome first chapter! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie,

Thanks for reviewing so quickly for the review swap. Im glad you liked the story, and I hope you went ahead and read Chapter 2, so that it would all become clear. Perhaps no one has written this situation before, but it seemed not improbable that something like this could have occurred, and it was really interesting to write Harry and Dudley after all these years, still kind of awkward and uneasy in each others company, but slowly feeling their way back to some sort of resolution for all the hard years.

Vicki


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterStronger: You and I NOTHING!

18th April 2015:
Hi Kaitlin! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was awesome. I love reading stories about the Scamanders, because everyone writes them do differently. I loved your take on him. I could feel how frustrated he was before he even physically entered the story. I also really enjoyed that this was told from Albus's POV. It's really interesting to read a character who has commitment issues finally realizing that he's found the one, particularly when that person doesn't love him back anymore. It breaks my heart a little, because in a way Albus set himself up for failure by breaking up with Lysander so many times before.
I thought this story was super intense and a really good read. Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterLoyalty: Loyalty

18th April 2015:
Hello again!
This story was really different from the last one, but I enjoyed it just as much! I think reading them back to back really highlighted the differences between Helga and Salazar. He's totally focused on self-preservation and getting what he wants, whereas she's ready to sacrifice herself for her friends.
I loved the struggle he's dealing with in this. You did a really great job showing how torn he feels, since he did let the monster out, but also had a moment where he almost killed it. I think his thoughts about Helga loving him were really fascinating, because I don't get any sense that he ever loved her back. He knew about her love, but also knew that it was very one-sided, since he didn't reciprocate the feelings. Another moment that stuck out was when he considered going to Godric and begging for forgiveness. That really stuck out in my mind.
This was a really nice sequel to Cowardice! I loved getting Salazar's side of things after seeing Helga's.
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterCowardice: Cowardice

18th April 2015:
Hi Leigh!
I saw your post on the forums the other day about the sequel to this story, which I fully intend to read, but I had to come check this out first!
I love what you've done with Helga here. You've picked a very dark moment to write, but I think it makes all the good qualities she has stand out more. She's incredibly brave to face the Basilisk without just giving up and looking at it, and I think it's wonderful that she does it out of loyalty to her friends.
I feel awful that she's been betrayed by Salazar. But I think you do a nice job showing just how serious that betrayal is when Helga says she hopes Salazar dies at the hands of cowardice. Helga is known for being kind and accepting of everyone, so to feel that way about someone, especially someone she was once close to, really shows the gravity of the situation they're all in.
I thought this was really well done, especially because it was so short! Now, I'm off to read the sequel!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterRemember My Last: Remember My Last

17th April 2015:
Hello!
I thought this was an amazing one-shot! You wrote Dumbledore wonderfully. I think he's one of the trickiest characters to get write, but you definitely captured his personality in this story. The dialogue with the portraits in his office was spot-on, as well. I really enjoyed getting to see this moment, since we see Petunia receiving the letter, but JKR doesn't tell us anything about Dumbledore writing it.
Nice job on this! I really enjoyed reading it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! =)

Thank you for taking the time to read and review this story. Your comments about my portrayal of Dumbledore and the other former headmasters & headmistresses has brightened my day. I am glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks again! =)


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterTidal Wave: Tidal Wave

17th April 2015:
Hello! I saw your post about this over on the forums, and came to check it out!
I thought you did a fantastic job writing Pansy. We don't get much of her from JKR aside from the fact that she pines after Draco all the time, so getting inside her head a little bit, especially when Draco is off with Hermione, was really interesting.
Her banter with Ron was really fun to read. There was just so much anger inside both of them, that when it came out in sarcasm and insults, it made for a really entertaining conversation!
I think the last paragraph of this was my favorite. It summed up Pansy's character beautifully, and let us know that this wouldn't be the last time she was with Ron, even though she tells herself that it's a mistake.
All in all, I think you did a wonderful job with this. Pansy's emotions come through really strongly, and her character is very well-written. Nice job!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie!

Thanks so much for reviewing for me. I'm glad you think I captured her character well, I was a little worried that I might mess it up. I was worried about the ending too, as I wasn't sure if it was a little too cliche/predictable. Thanks for checking it out for me =)


 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterJumble: HodgePodge

12th April 2015:
Hi Kaitlin!
I really enjoyed this! I thought you did a brilliant job writing Harry! I don't write him often, because he always gives me a hard time, since I want to get his character right, but I thought you did an amazing job with him!
I loved the premise of this story. I could feel the spring sunshine and the wind and could completely imagine the feeling of freedom that Harry had while he's flying. And I loved that when he landed, it was so Oliver could offer him a spot on his Quidditch team! It makes perfect sense, since Harry was so good at it in school, and loves it so much.
This was a great story! It was simple but you really got all of Harry's emotions across. Well done!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie,

I'm glad you enjoyed this.

Harry wasn't too hard for me to write, but I was just writing about his love for flying which wasn't too bad. It would be a different story writing him in a relationship or writing a longer scenario.

I'm glad that the imagery came across well. Since it's mostly descriptive paragraphs I was worried that it wouldn't be exciting to read.

I too thought it would be appropriate for Oliver to be the one to bring Harry back to Quidditch. I think he was definitely impressed with Harry back in their school days.

Thanks for the review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterRenewal: Renewal

11th April 2015:
This was absolutely wonderful. It was such a lovely, heartwarming story, and it really made me smile!
I thought the beginning was great, with Professor Sprout reflecting on the war and how they are all trying to rebuild after so many losses. I loved that you chose her as a main focus in this story, since she isn't written about too often.
I love her idea to have a celebration for Hogwarts's 1000th anniversary! I thought it was awesome when all the other teachers started chiming in with their ideas, and everyone was getting really excited to have something positive to look forward to.
The end of the story was a really nice conclusion. It left me feeling hopeful for the future, and felt like a nice ending for the story, but at the same time I could feel the excitement for what's to come.
I'd love to read a story about the actual anniversary party itself! I think that would be so much fun! This story was really great, and I'm so happy I found it! Thank you (again) for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, Cassie. Thank you for writing me a review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. I wrote it a couple of years ago for a "Milestone Challenge", in which the characters were celebrating some sort of milestone, and a party had to be involved. Some of the entries were regular love stories that happened to be set in the milieu of someone's birthday party (but which could have just as easily been set anywhere). But I wanted the milestone and the party to be crucial features of the story, and "Renewal" was the result. (Unfortunately, it didn't win the challenge.) :(

It seemed reasonable that, even with magic to repair the physical damage faster than Muggles could have done it, the psychological damage would be longstanding, and that it would be a struggle to get past it. And doesn't it seem odd that no one at Hogwarts has ever suggested some kind of special observance for their thousand-year anniversary? Someone else also said that they would like to read about the anniversary party, but that would be a big job to write!

I enjoy writing about the professors, who deserve to have their stories told more fully, and we see several good hints of Professor Sprout's character in canon. You can see more of her in "Greenhouse Seven" and "Dark Enough To See The Stars".

It was fun to do a review swap with you. Thanks for proposing it.

Vicki


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterTiny Animals: Tiny Animals

11th April 2015:
Hi Vicki! I'm here for our review swap!
This story was so, so well done. You wrote Harry and the Dursleys wonderfully! I thought their characters were spot on with canon.
I loved your descriptions of Harry and Aunt a Petunia getting everything ready for breakfast and then for Christmas dinner. I could picture the China plates, the glasses, and all the food they were making.
I loved the section with Laura Prentiss! She seems really spunky, and I liked her a lot! I wish she had been able to get Harry his presents, though. I want to know who submitted his name! Someone from Hogwarts, perhaps?
The end of this story was probably my favorite part. It was simultaneously really sweet and really sad. I could picture little Harry playing with all of his animals, and loved that the ones he had hinted at the Marauders' animagus forms.
The last paragraph of this story was beautifully written. It made me want to give Harry a hug and assure him that he'll have friends and a happy Christmas next year!
This was a lovely story, Vicki! Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, Cassie. Thank you so much for this lovely review. I'm glad that you thought I did the Dursleys well.

The descriptions of the Christmas meals and the decorations were taken from internet information about British Christmas customs, including the Queen's Christmas speech, although I don't know if she really gives the speech in the morning or the afternoon, but for the story it had to be in the morning!

You know how it is, when you write something and then later, when it's finished, you see things in it that you didn't do on purpose but which seem important? I felt that way about how Harry's day turned out. In the beginning, he thought that Christmas was going pretty well (by his standards), but in the end he ends up back in the cupboard without any dinner. At first I wondered if this story was just another cliche everything-goes-badly-for-Harry-at-the-Dursley's-house story, but then I got to thinking that perhaps the Dursleys, in their animosity towards Harry, deliberately looked for something to take offense at, so that they could prevent him from having a good day, and that that had been their intention all along, that he should end up back in the cupboard. So by throwing him into the cupboard without any dinner, they were just staying true to their own characters.

Laura Prentiss was an interesting character to write. What an experience for her. I don't know who submitted Harry's name, but I'm guessing it was someone from his school, since few other Muggle people knew him. I doubt that anyone at Hogwarts knew what was going on.

You are the only person who has ever mentioned that the tiny animals (two dogs, a deer, a mouse, plus also cats and a maybe-bear) foreshadow the animagus forms of the Marauders (a dog, a wolf, a stag, and a rat) that Harry will learn about later. Yes, that was on purpose. And the brown pasteboard box, set on end at the side of the white handkerchief to represent a house and a snowfield, foreshadows the Hogwarts castle up north in Scotland where they all live together. So there was a bit of mysticism here. Like you, I wished I could tell Harry that these things predicted a happier future for him soon, an unexpected way out of his present nightmare.

Thank you so much for this review.

Vicki


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterA Story for Bedtime: Up the stairs to Bedfordshire

11th April 2015:
This. Was. So. Cute.
Honestly I'm just sitting here grinning because this story made me so happy! I love, love, love the way you wrote Ron here! I can definitely imagine him doting on his little girl, telling her stories and flying her around the room.
He was a really good story teller! All hail the Weasel King! Haha. And Rose was adorable. You've done a great job capturing the spirit of a small child in this story.
I think I mostly loved this because I always wanted to be a princess (and still do!) and because Rose's relationship with Ron is a lot like my own relationship with my father.
Overall this was a really sweet story, and just made me really happy! Great, great job!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterClose Your Eyes: Bad Dreams

11th April 2015:
Hi Sam!
I felt like reading something of yours, and this caught my eye while I was browsing your Author's Page. I really loved this first chapter! I like Nicky and Maxxie, and I can already tell that they have a great relationship.
Nicky's dreams are really disconcerting, though... I wonder why she keeps having them? And what those whispers are about? I hope she tells Maxxie about them eventually, so she doesn't have to deal with them alone.
Kieron Nott, you say? This should be interesting to read! Especially since the other times I've read them together in your stories, Dominique is a boy and they're dating. I can't wait to see what you do with them in this story, when Dominique is a girl.
This was really great! I'm already hooked!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterFaith: change.

10th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this. Faith is a fantastic character! She's spunky and sassy, and I love that she's trying to make her own way in the world, without depending on her family for money.
I think her relationship with Austin is awesome. You can tell how close they are, and that they've been friends for a long time. They're totally comfortable with one another, and it's really refreshing to read a relationship like that between a girl and a guy.
It's got to be an eventful story if there's a breakup in the first chapter! I thought it was funny that her girlfriend's name was Cassie, since that's my name, especially because she seems like the complete opposite of me. Haha.
I have a feeling living in their new flat is going to be interesting... Hopefully that can at least get it fixed up a little!
This was a really great opening chapter! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I'm so glad you liked Faith so far! She's been developing in my head over time and I was so excited to finally get her down on paper. Her friendship with Austin is SO important to me. This story is a lot of things, but one of the most important is definitely that it's a friendship fic.

Oh, it's a really, really eventful story. I'd hope that you aren't too much like this Cassie :P She doesn't seem to be a favorite of the reviewers so far.

The new flat is horrible, but certainly interesting haha. Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterZabini: Boy

10th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I adored this. I think Blaise is such an interesting character, since JKR tells us almost nothing about him, and I love what you've done with him here. It has to be really hard have lots of step fathers, but it's even more sad that they have all died.
I thought it was really interesting that they're all referred to as fathers, and not stepfathers, and it makes me think that Blaise was somewhat close to them all. Also, I really liked your choice to make one of them a Muggle. Since JKR writes Blaise as a Slytherin, and one of Draco's friends, I loved that you did something different and didn't make his family really prejudiced against Muggles.
This was a really great story! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I'm glad you liked it :) Every story I've read featuring Blaise portrays him so differently, probably because Rowling gave us so little to go on, and so everyone fills in the gaps with different words. I'm pleased you liked my version though.

I wondered how everyone would react to the muggle father part. I know it's not exactly conventional, but there is reason for it which should turn up later on. I don't think all Slytherins were pureblood fanatics, even if they pretended to be.

Thank you!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterWhat The Heart Wants: The Light

10th April 2015:
Hi Ashwini! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this story was so lovely. You did a wonderful job writing Ron and Hermione, and I thought both characters were extremely true to canon. I loved the way Hermione's feelings for Ron grew gradually over time, and that she thought about them and about him, but didn't let it take over her life. She still worked hard and did well in school, not letting a guy become her focus in life. I thought your description of how she missed his breathing was really lovely. It's a simple, but very powerful moment.
I also thought the end with Ron was very well done. It made me so happy that he thinks she's the most beautiful when her hair is wild and she's feeling determined instead of when she's in a dress with her hair done.
This story was really lovely to read, and just left me feeling really happy. Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi there! Thanks for stopping by!

I LOVE Ron and Hermione right from the first book and I think I kind of understand them in a weird way. So it was very easy to write this sweet little moment between them which was so important for the plot of the books. :D I'm happy you enjoyed reading this as well!

Yes, Ron never took over Hermione's life, which is basically what happens in real life. When you become each other's life in a relationship, the thing hardly ever survives. Ron and Hermione respect their differences and give each other enough space so I find that that's why their love lasted for so long and probably forever! :D

Aah, that's my favorite bit too! I purposefully included it to emphasize that Ron loves her as she is and not only when she is all dressed up and when her hair is slick and shiny. :) so happy that worked!!

Thank you so much for leaving a lovely review! It was fun swapping with you! :)

Ashwini


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterDisclosure: Bonding with the Pages

10th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this! I always like reading stories about Ginny writing in Tom's diary. I've seen so many different takes on how she gets drawn in and eventually possessed by Tom, but I've never read anything about her first discovering the diary before. I really loved the way you had her totally focused on something else before finding it, but then as soon as she does, all of her focus goes to the diary. And her urge to write in it was really clear. I also loved the way Tom introduced himself!
This was really awesome. I only wish it was longer! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi! Great! :D

I'm glad that you loved this! Yes! This would like be my headcanon until something better comes along. Hehe. It is interesting, capturing those missing moments. And Ginny is one of the vital ones that leads to how the series are what they are now.


Thank you! I did enjoy writing Tom! I look forward to getting the chance to write him again. ^_^



Ahh. Well, if I ever decide to write a longer version of this, I'll let you know. ;) I'm glad you enjoyed this.

Thank you too for the review swap! I enjoyed your first chapter of your story by the way! Your characters are amazing!




- Asphodel


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterEternity : I

10th April 2015:
Hello! I'm here from the Hufflepuff review tag!
I loved this story! I really like stories about Dean and Seamus, but I don't read too many of them, so as soon as I saw this I had to read it!
It took me a little while to realize that Seamus was dead! First I just thought he was really old, but then when he said his hand passed through Dean's, it clicked. But I love the fact that they're still so close regardless.
And what better way to get two old friends together again than a mystery? I thought it was sad that Dean died at the end, but I liked that he stayed as a ghost, too, so he and Seamus can keep going on adventures. I wonder what Harry would do when the showed up at the Ministry! I'd like to read that story, too! Haha.
I really enjoyed this! It was a really fun piece to read.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Than you so much for your review! I'm glad you caught on he's a ghost, eventually. I feel like I've confused some people so it's good to hear I wasn't being too ambiguous with it. I just don't think a ghost would think about being a ghost all the time (Myrtle or Nearly Headless Nick being the exception).

I'm glad you enjoyed this little tale. This was completely out of my comfort zone. I don't typically write stories like this at all with a strange mystery of a door bringing two best mates together again. I don't know what Harry would do, however, he'd probably be retired by this time so their memories are clearly a little faulty :D

Thanks for your lovely review!


 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterJust the Way You Are: Just in Need

8th April 2015:
Just like with every chapter, I have a new favorite. This chapter was just SO GOOD. I love Joshua so, so much! I think he's dealing with everything remarkably well, and that he's not trying to hide from people so they don't talk about him.
I have to say, I love how sassy he is! He seems like he always has a comeback, and I thought that his conversation with Queen really showed that.
I really enjoyed the section with Madam Glass in the hospital wing. She seems really lovely. Both kind and tough, because she just really loved the kids at Hogwarts. I hope she comes back into the story soon!
Erik seems awesome, and Theo was mentioned quite a bit in that part of the chapter! Is he going to play a bigger role in the story? He just seems to pop up everywhere! I do know he's a favorite of yours, so it makes sense!
Connor has me really intrigued! Especially since he talked to Josh, and apparently really isn't one to talk to everyone he comes across. I'm really curious to see how his relationship with Josh develops.
As always, I absolutely adore Jeremy. He just might be my favorite character in this story!
Fantastic job with this chapter, Sam! You'll have to let me know as soon as you've got a new one up!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterReasons to Smile: Alexa: When Some Secrets Come Out.

8th April 2015:
That was quite the jam packed chapter!
I loved the beginning with Xavier and Lexi. Their relationship is always so fun to read, because they're so comfortable around one another. I love the way they joke with each other, but can still be serious and read each other super well.
And then there's the dinner. I had no idea AJ was Theo's! Maybe if I went back and reread Silver Linings, I'd pick up on the clues, but I definitely didn't put them together the first time around! I'm glad Kieron doesn't think Theo willingly cheated on his mother, though.
I'm really intrigued by the talk about AJ and Kieron and something that might have landed them in jail! I'm excited for you to come back to that, and I can't wait to see how Kieron's control issues factor back into the story.
This was another amazing chapter, Sam! I can't believe I'm finally caught up with this story!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterEvent Three - All Quiet on the Post-War Front: heavy bones

7th April 2015:
Hi teh! I felt like stopping by and reading something of yours!
I have absolutely no idea why I didn't read this sooner, but I'm so glad I finally checked it out! I love the way you write Hannah! She had to get through losing her mother, failing her N.E.W.T.s and being unemployed, but managed to find her pub in the end. I loved the description of her locket, and how it helps her stay close to her mother. It makes her loss all the more tragic, I think.
I didn't expect Dean to show up! But I think he's wonderfully written as well. I don't read many stories that show him after the war, but you've really made me think about how it could have affected him.
The end of this was really great. I could definitely picture Hannah and Dean sitting on the bench together on the quiet street.
This was really well-done, and I'll definitely be back for the rest of this story!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! thanks for such a lovely surprise review!! ♥ Thanks for being such a completely wonderful person, my dear. ♥

This was written for the House Cup last year, and I don't think I've ever looked back at this story since then. I've always loved writing about the Hogwarts students, and Hannah and Dean are such interesting characters to explore. Hannah definitely was a bit aimless after the war, which wouldn't be a huge surprise given how much the war had taken from her. I'm glad you like the locket bit; it was something I wasn't too sure of when I wrote this.

And I'm glad the ending struck a chord with you. I like that scene quite a bit: the two of them together in the bus stop at night.

Thanks again, Cassie, for taking the time to visit my author's page yet again and read another one of my stories. ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: An Afternoon with Hagrid

7th April 2015:
This chapter just made me so happy. You write Hagrid so, so well! I've never written him myself, but I'd imagine he'd be pretty difficult to write well, so nicely done!
I loved your descriptions of his house, and how it was rebuilt after the war. I thought it was really great that it looks mostly the same, so it still feels cozy and familiar, but it more functional for a half-giant and all of his magical creatures. I loved all the rooms that weren't visible from the outside.
I thought it was so cool that Scorpius was so good with Fangetta! Honeslty, I just love Scorp and Albus more and more every time they come into the story.
But poor Rose! She just wanted an afternoon at Hagrid's with Albus and Dawnsfirstbloom but got so caught up in Scorpius being there, that I can't help but think it ruined it a little for her. Hopefully not too much, though. And hopefully she'll learn to like Scorpius soon! Everyone else does!
Your author's note really made me smile! The reviews are well deserved, because this is a great story! I'm glad the three I left you made your day :) Take your time responding to them. Great job with this chapter!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I have a bit of time, and I know it's out of order, but I have to respond to this review because you being so happy made me happy.

I've found I like writing Hagrid, the challenge is certainly to give him his accent but not to make him sound like a simpleton. He has that gruff bravado and he sometimes doesn't want to hear what people are trying to tell him for his own good. we will see more of him in a few chapters to come when the kids have their first lesson with him. JKR established the fact that most lessons with Hagrid that she describes in detail don't end well - I certainly aim to uphold that tradition.

As I said in my comments at the end, I always thought that was mean of everyone to make him live in a rude shack after he had been cleared of his supposed wrongdoing. I wanted something magical and you have put my thoughts into words more clearer than I have been able to; that was my exact intention to have it be cozy and familiar but nicer for him. He still leaves his bedroom door open and doesn't make his bed, but that's just Hagrid.

Yes Scorpius being good with animals will be a real bonding thing with him and Dawnsfirstbloom - all the others have their webs of 'attraction' and that will be the main one between her and him. I might explore it sometime, or maybe not, but I feel that Scorpius had a pet dog at some point in his childhood and it was one of the brightest points in what was otherwise a bit of a miserable time. It also cements Hagrid's regard for Scorpius too; anyone who loves animals is OK in Hagrid's book.

Albus and Scorpius together will be, I think, the emotional heart of this story. Scorpius' rise from someone who believes himself worthless and Albus' generosity of spirit will leaven out Rose's dislike, or that's what I hope I will be able to achieve.

When she could ignore his presence, she did have a wonderful time and mostly she could ignore him or at least his presence didn't weigh too heavily upon her consciousness. I am so sorry, but she will not come to like Scorpius anytime soon, there is going to be a lot of stuff that happens between them in the years to come - some good some bad.

I love your reviews. They are not long, but they are not too short either. I must admit to using excessive wordage - I love to hear myself ... type? You employ what you say to me well - just pithy little comments that are to the point and say nothing more than what you want them too. As much of it is praise directed towards myself, I of course enjoy your reviews immensely.

As of this review my story has a combined 1040 reads and this chapter has 95 - thank you so much everyone.


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterReasons to Smile: Albus: When the Bad Mood Hits Everyone

6th April 2015:
So many things are happening... It makes me really sad that Albus feels like Lexi is leaving him! Hopefully he'll find out why she's being distant, and they can get close to one another again.
I feel like as soon as we start to learn something about Adam and these mysterious criminals Al wants to find, someone comes along and makes him concentrate on other things. I just want answers!
No! Xavier and Cody can't start fighting! Who's going to be the cute happy couple if they fight? They just need to be together and then spread their love to Al and Lexi so everyone is happy!
Hopefully I'll get some answers and some of these problems will be solved soon! Great chapter, Sam!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Yeah, so many things are happening. And poor Albus. But have faith. I'm not so cruel.o

Someone always comes to take them away. But just wait - chapters 13 and 14, there won't be anything to hold them back. I promise.

I don't want Xavier and Cody to fight either. I wonder if I can fix that...

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>