Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
976 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterAll In: All In

19th May 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the May review exchange!
I thought this was a great one-shot! I've never read anything that focused on Ginny and Seamus as a couple, so that was really interesting and refreshing to see here. I liked that you switched back and forth between their points of view, and that we got to see both sides of the story equally. I also thought the small appearances from Lee and Harry were very well done. It showed the relationships that each had with Ginny really nicely. Lee is closer to George than Ginny, but still cares about her and wants to be sure that she's doing okay. Harry still loves her, and has history with her, but in the end just wants her to do what will make her happy, which I really admire. I loved that you didn't write him as jealous or petty. I was wondering how he'd play into the story if Ginny was with Seamus, but I loved that there wasn't any bad blood there, even with his feelings for Ginny.
I thought the way you wrote Seamus's father was really interesting. I'd never thought about his home life before, so the fact that he has a Muggle father with whom his relationship isn't the greatest was a really interesting addition to this story.
I thought this was great, and I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

Thank you for your lovely review! I have quite a bit of one-shots focusing on Ginny/Seamus if I piqued your interest, but I just really love the pairing for some reason. I always felt like they'd be good together.

Yeah, I always felt like Lee would be like another brother to Ginny, especially since she gets along well with the twins. And Harry, above all, would want to see Ginny happy, even if it's not necessarily with him. He didn't strike me as the type that would be jealous or petty, especially after the war, y'know?

The relationship with his father is actually something I picked up out of the books, really a small detail and it's something I really enjoy exploring in my Seamus stories.

Thank you again for the lovely review! Glad you enjoyed it.

~Jill


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterThe Two of Us: Tension

12th May 2016:
Hi Gabbie! I'm here for our review swap!
This was an awesome opening chapter to this story. You write some really wonderful George/Angelina, and I think that with every story you write about them, you make their relationship even deeper and more complex. I love that you've taken so much care to add all these layers to their friendship, and how they develop feelings for one another and eventually get together.
Another thing that I think is really fantastic about this is the way you wrote Fred and George. I know I've said this before, but you really make sure that you don't take their personalities for granted, which is wonderful. Yes, they're twins, and yes, they're incredibly close, but that doesn't mean they aren't individuals. You've given them each a unique personality, which I really love. Also, you've shown that they're human and that they don't get along all the time. So many people think of them as a package deal, and can't ever imagine them fighting. I thought that this really shed some light on the fact that they'd have disagreements just like anyone else, even if they are so close. I think the fact that they have so much in common could actually cause some fights, like you wrote here.
I really loved George and Angie's interaction in this. She's so sweet to him, and they obviously care about each other, even if George doesn't want to admit his feelings, and might occasionally push her away because of them.
Lee was great, too. I'd love to see more of him as this goes on. And Alicia and Katie! They're such protective friends, it's awesome.
This was really wonderful, and you left it in such a tense spot! I need more!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by with this wonderful review and agreeing to swap! :D

I really love exploring all of the different moments that George/Angelina go through. They don't become a couple for so long and it's interesting to see new things about their relationship. I think that it's so easy to get lost in the idea of them being in love rather than simply writing it.

Fred and George are really hard to write and I'm never sure if I'm doing them justice or not. I don't think I've seen many or any stories of the twins fighting so I wanted to play around with that here.

I'm pretty sure that they didn't get along all the time. I just keep in mind that they're not the same people and each have different ways of viewing the world.

Fred is a lot more carefree than I think George is. George is obviously a bit more stubborn and childish, which is something that he doesn't quite shake.

I'm happy that you liked the bit with George and Angelina! I was worried about that section in particular. Hahah. She's really, really sweet towards him and it's obvious that he's spoiled. George sometimes loves her so much that he can't face it, which is why he pushes her away.

Lee will show up in this story quite a bit because Fred and George will go through a brief moment of not talking to one another. Alicia and Katie will be around too, they're the grouchy guardian angels that everyone needs. Hahaha.

I'll try to get that second chapter up!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterSanctuary: Sanctuary

30th April 2016:
Hi Gabbie! I'm here with another review for you!
This was really wonderful! I liked getting a look at where Percy and Audrey end up a little while after they start dating, since they're still in the early stages of that in This Is Audrey Tang.
Poor Percy has had such a hard go of it. I wish that it could be easier for him to be back with his family, and that he didn't blame himself for Fred's death. I can't even imagine how tough that would be to live with. But thankfully it seems like Audrey can help him through with both his family and his guilt.
I'm always a little surprised by the way Percy and Bill act around each other. You've definitely taken Bill in a direction that I've never read before, and it makes things super tense whenever he and Percy talk. I loved that George broke up their fight and helped them see sense, though. He seems like he'd be the peacemaker of him siblings now that Percy has come back to the family.
The scene at the end of this with Percy and Audrey in her flat was really well done. It was sweet, and you could tell how much they love each other, even though they don't really say it outright. Audrey isn't one for too much emotion and mushy stuff, which I love. But when she does show her love for Percy it's really impactful.
This was a great one-shot, and I really enjoyed reading some more Percy and Audrey!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by with another review, I totally appreciate it. I really enjoyed swapping with you, we should do it again soon! I still need to catch up on a lot of your work.

This was really fun to write because there are so many things that have happened in between this story and This is Audrey Tang. It's obvious that the couple has moved forward in a lot of ways but at the same time, you still get to sense that they have a long way to go.

I have never actually written Percy being in this in between stage of healing. I had always intended to but just never got around to it. I think that he would probably blame himself for Fred's death and I take into account that he was there when eh died. They never really had a chance to put all of their bad blood behind them so I would imagine that that would bother him.

I think Audrey is really good for Percy, she understands him and doesn't try to force him to be like he was. I think that's why he was having such a hard time reconnecting with his family.

Yeah, I feel like I've really taken Bill away from being a friendly character. He feels completely different but I've always said that he and Percy had a pretty volatile relationship. I explain Bill's feelings more in another story but at the moment, I don't think he and Percy will ever get past their differences.

George is a total peacemaker, he can't stand to see anyone fighting. He's probably the main one breaking up fights between his siblings

I couldn't really have Audrey and Percy being too mushy but I think that I showed how much they loved one another regardless. They don't seem like the type to actually say it, at least Audrey doesn't so I'm glad that that came across well. Audrey is afraid of revealing too much about her feelings towards Percy but I think her words say it all. :)

Thank you for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterTransparent: Unlucky

28th April 2016:
GABBIE I NEED THE NEXT CHAPTER. THAT CLIFFHANGER IS TOO MUCH! EVERYTHING IS SO INTENSE AND I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!
Seriously, this chapter was AMAZING. I think this might be my favorite one yet. I felt so nervous for Dominique the whole time she was talking to Tiberius, because it seemed like he was going to look into her eyes and be able to guess everything that was going on. He really is terrifying, and I'm so impressed that Dominique was able to stay composed while she was talking to him! I think I would have been shaking and crying if I were her!
I LOVE Teddy's character development. He's changed a lot over the course of this story, and I think it's because Dom is bringing out some of the better parts of him that are buried down inside somewhere. He seems much more human, and is showing vulnerabilities that I don't think he would have ever admitted to at the beginning of this story.
Dom has changed to, and I think it's also for the better, even if she's taking crazy risks like this. She's so much stronger than people giver her credit for, and I really admire her.
OH MY GOSH THEY KISSED. YES. That moment was so tender and sweet, even though the circumstances were so frightening. I think Teddy really does care for her, and she for him, and I think that moment really showed it. They both let their walls down a little bit.
AND THEN TIBERIUS HAD TO COME AND RUIN IT. WHY. I just want to kick him! Don't ruin the sweet moment and take Dom away from Teddy! Don't do it Tiberius!
And now she has to go and dance with him, and that can't end well at all. I'm really terrified for her! I hope Teddy gets his father's watch back soon so they can just get out of there!
This chapter was absolutely brilliant. I adore this story and can't wait for more! I want more cute Teddy and Dom moments now that they've had this one!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterBlack: Black

20th February 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really great story! I've never read anything about Walburga before! Or Abraxas, for that matter. It was a really interesting choice to write about her on your part, because we know so little about her character. I love reading and writing minor characters like this because you can take them in so many different directions!
I felt bad for Walburga, since she was being forced to marry someone she didn't like. I would hate that, and I think it gives some reasoning behind the way she turned out when she got older and had children. She was stuck in a marriage with someone she didn't love, so the fact that she turned out to be cold and not very loving (to Sirius, anyway) makes a lot more sense.
I wish she could have had more time with Abraxas! She only got those few moments with him, and he didn't even learn her name! He seemed so nice, too! It makes me want to read a lot more about their relationship. Do they ever meet again or get closer? Does Orion ever realize that Walburga has feelings for Abraxas?
I loved that you focused so much on eyes. They can really inform your opinions and impressions of people, and the cold eyes of Orion versus the warm brown ones that Abraxas has really tells us a lot about their characters, I think.
This was a really lovely, and really unique story! I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterBreathe No More: Breathe No More

18th February 2016:
Hello! I'm here for the Hufflepuff review exchange!
This was a really amazing story! I loved it! It was so unique and the writing style was incredible! It really made it feel like I was inside Victoire's head as I was reading.
I thought you did a really great job giving us information about Victoire and helping us get to know her character without overloading us with description. You wove the details in as the story went on- so we know roughly how old she is, that she plays quidditch, that she loves Teddy- but they didn't take away from what was happening to Victoire. The focus was still on the fact that she's claustrophobic and shut in a tiny space.
I loved the way you made the sentences really fragmented when Victoire was freaking out. It made it feel very real, and I actually got really nervous for her! I feel so bad that she was locked in there when it made her so scared. And she stopped breathing at the end! I hope someone found her soon after that and got her to wake up!
This was an excellent story, and you did a lot in a really short piece. I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie,

Omg! Thanks so much for the review it makes me feel so good that you liked it! I actually was having doubts about the style and so many people have praised it! Thanks again


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterThe First Time: The First Time

11th February 2016:
Hi Gabbie! I'm here for our review swap!
This was such a good story! You write George and Angelina so well, and the thing I love about your stories that feature them is that you always focus on some new part of their personalities and their relationship that you haven't shown us before. Every story you write about them helps us get to know them better, and this one was no exception!
I thought Angelina's vulnerability was what stood out about this. It was beautifully, beautifully written. She's insecure about herself, and about being so intimate with another person, which I think you wrote very truthfully. It seemed so real that it just made my heart go out to her. That's a really hard thing to deal with, especially when you love someone like she loves George, so the fact that she was able to get past that through this story was really wonderful.
George is the sweetest boyfriend ever! He's so caring and gentle and patient. It's clear that he adores her, and wants to help her see herself the way he sees her. He was just so loving with her! I really enjoyed that.
The ending of this was sweet! I'm so glad Angie agreed to move in with George! Yay!
This was such a wonderful story! I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Cassie, it's so great to see you again! I really miss swapping with you, we need to catch up because I've got new stuff for you to read and I miss all of your stories!

This was my favorite Georgelina story to write so far because it really shows not only how far George/Angelina have come but the vulnerable sides to them that we don't get to see.

I try to show a different angle to their relationship with every one-shot that I create and this one was very personal. Angelina's struggles with herself and how she feels about moving forward in their relationship are very understanding things. I'm sure a lot of people have had reservations about this sort of thing (I shall not go into the naughty details) and the fact that I was able to convey that really makes me proud.

Angelina has a lot of insecurities and I was so happy that she felt real. George understands her so well that you get to feel how much he cares about her. He can break past any barrier and I think that came across so wonderfully in this chapter.

George makes me so happy! He's caring, gentle, compassionate and he's got that great sense of humor. He would probably do whatever he could to prove it but Angelina only needs to hear the words. :)

Yes! They're planning on moving in together! I think that I'll make another one-shot about that particular thing but because they haven't moved in together by the time Angelina gets pregnant with Fred, it's clear that it'll be quite a while. Hahahaha.

Thank you a thousand times over!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Problems and Solutions

31st January 2016:
Hi Andrew! I felt like reading the next chapter of this lovely story, so here I am with a review for you!
Poor Rose, feeling guilty for making the Quidditch team! If I were her, I'd probably feel the same. It doesn't help that Albus was genuinely congratulating her. She thinks that he should have made the team over her, and when he's nice to her about it, she just feels worse. Thankfully that feeling doesn't have to last too long!
Hooray! Rose and Scorpius are slowly, slowly getting more civil with each other! The fact that it is happening so gradually makes me even more excited for when the nature of their relationship shifts and they start to be nice to one another, and maybe even become more than friends? Rose doesn't get annoyed at every little thing Scorp does now (even if she makes a pretense of disliking him) so I'm going to take that as a good sign!
Albus solution to the Quidditch problem was quite clever! Very Ravenclaw of him. It was also very fair, so I think it showed his Hufflepuff side, too. I would have never thought of the difference between training and practice, so that was very clever on your part!
I like that Rose is trying to learn gobbledegook! Dawnsfirstbloom's explanation to Scorp when he asked what they were doing was too funny! But I bet it embarrassed him and Rose.
The Quidditch try outs were great, and we saw once again that Albus has really inherited his parents' skills! Just because I'm curious- you have James and Albus playing Quidditch, but do you think Lily would be good at it as well?
That boy was being so rude to Stephen! But thankfully Stephen showed him! Hopefully he'll learn his lesson and be a little nicer from now on, but the way he treated Honey didn't show much promise. I thought it was sweet that she wanted a hat, and that Rose would make her one with flowers on it.
That last little moment between Rose and Scorp made me happy! Again, it shows that maybe, just maybe, Rose's thinking when it comes to Scorpius and his family will start to change.
This was a great chapter, with another lovely chapter image! Well done!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi back, I felt like responding to your wonderful review, so here I am.

If it were anybody else, she might not feel so guilty, but that is one of my Rose's weaknesses: she genuinely loves her cousin Albus. And when he's his normal, generous self and congratulates her, it makes her super guilty.

That's right, they are slowly getting happier with each other. Or should I say Rose is, because I dare say if Rose wasn't so knee-jerk nasty to him, then he might be a lot more polite to her. Not that he's not polite to her, he is to a fault, but he sort of uses it as a weapon against her - much to her annoyance. I am also sorry to say, though her attitude towards him will change over the years there will be a lot of ups and downs along the way.

I like to think that it showed all of the sides to Albus's character. It was Slytherin of him to come up with such a sneaky plan. It was Ravenclaw of him to discern the real difference between Practice and Training. It was Hufflepuff to make the solution so inclusive. And it was Gryffindor to confront Sixth/Seventh years with it (on only his second week there - something that I would have never been brave enough to do at eleven).

As for me knowing the difference between training and practice: during my formative years I played a fair amount of team sports (mainly Aussie Rules) and individual sports (mainly Squash) so I know quite well the differences between the two.

Rose trying to learn gobbledegook is merely her way of trying to stay even with Albus and Scorpius. Though in time I hope that she finds that it is as much to connect with her best friend as it is anything else.

I'm glad you liked what Dawnsfirstbloom said to Rose, but it was delivered sotto voce, so Scorpius probably didn't hear it.

All the Potter kids are Quidditch kids. Lilly will be good too, if not for any other reason than her brothers are and she will drive herself to be as good as them. We have not really seen her yet in my story, but my Lilly thinks that she has a lot to prove.

That boy's rudeness to a House-elf will have ramifications, don't you worry. As to Honey, I like to think that it was the last straw. She might have been thinking of her freedom before but that boy's dismal treatment of her tipped her over the line. And as for the hat, crocheted roses are Rose's speciality ;)

I have to throw some moments of the two of them connecting in, here and there, I have to dangle the hope that things between them will get better ... someday; it is meant to be a Scorose after all.

Thanks again for the wonderful review as always. As of this response the story as a whole has had 6137 reads and this chapter has had 217; thank you all.


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterThe Center of the Sun: The Center of the Sun

31st January 2016:
Hi Renee!
Oh my gosh, this story was so good! I blushed a little reading the end though! But it really was well done. I loved Andromeda's character, and I thought you did a really great job showing the dilemma she was facing during this story. She's clearly still pretty close with her family, since she spends time with Narcissa, but she doesn't really share all their views. That in itself is difficult to deal with, but add on top of that that she can't stop thinking about a Muggle-born Hufflepuff, and her family would be really upset if they found out, and she's really dealing with a lot!
Snogging lots of boys won't solve anything since she has feelings for Ted. Oh, Andromeda, just find him and talk to him!
The end was pretty steamy! But written very beautifully. The pacing of the whole story was really nice, and I liked that you just focused on Andromeda and Ted without letting too much other stuff get in the way.
This was really nice, Renee!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! I was so happy to see your review!! I love Andromeda, and I am so happy you liked her too, and that you felt sympathy for her dilemma. I had a really hard time writing this, and I wasn't sure if that part was shown enough.

I know, she's so silly! But eventually she'll figure it out ;)

You thought the end was steamy? Yay yay yay! It always feels awkward writing scenes like that and trying to imagine would it would sound like to someone else. Yay! :D

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterRoses are Red: Just a Bump on the Head

31st January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
As soon as I saw this on your Author's Page, I thought it looked really interesting! I love ScoRose, and I've never seen a story like this on the archives before, so as soon as I read your summary I knew I wanted to check this out!
This is such an interesting premise for a story. The concept of someone losing their memory and not remembering their spouse, plus thinking that they hate them because they can't remember falling for them, has been done before in pop culture, but I think you use it brilliantly here. I think it makes a lot of sense that Rose would lose her memory from a bad Quidditch accident, and I'm really hoping that the healers figure out a way to get her memory back!
When she was freaking out about Scorpius being in the room, she reminded me so much of her parents! They both have tempers, and Rose really reminded me of Hermione when she wanted to know every little detail about what was going on before answering any questions herself.
I think this story should be really interesting, since Rose is going to have to come to terms with the fact that she and Scorpius are married, even though she can't remember loving him. It breaks my heart a little to think about what he's going through, though. He still loves her, and has to deal with her hating him while she's recovering.
This was a great first chapter! I really liked the way you wrote Rose, Ron was really sweet when he was trying to calm his daughter down, and I loved that you made Parvati her healer. Nice job!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I wanted to write a Next Gen, just because it was something I had never done before or even read that many fics of. But I wanted to do it different :)

I do imagine Rose as a little piece of Hermione, which is why it was so much fun writing her! I especially loved writing Ron, since he was so awkward and funny in the books that he's the perfect dad now. I think that's what I'm going to enjoy the most about writing Next Gen, however, is putting people in there like Parvati to play various roles.

So glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words :)

-Becca


 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterLa Bête Noire: quand l’étérnité finit.

29th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
Wow. What a gorgeous piece of writing. Really, this was absolutely stunning. I'm not quite sure what to say about it, just that it was beautiful, and tragic, and felt so very real.
I haven't read any stories here that focus on Nicolas and his friendship with Dumbledore, so that immediately caught my interest. And then when I realized what was going on, that Nicolas was dying, this just took on so much more depth.
It seemed simple, and their conversation felt very natural, but it was so clear that there were millions of unspoken things going on beneath the surface. A friendship that had lasted for years and years was coming to an end, and thinking about that as I read this just broke my heart.
I think it was a really lovely touch that Fawkes was there, as well. I really liked how you talked about his loyalty to Dumbledore, and how surprised Nicolas was by it.
I started to cry when Nicolas closed his eyes and Dumbledore and Fawkes sat by his side. And the image of Dumbledore holding his hand as he slowly slipped away... Just stunning.

"Beautiful,” Albus whispers, and there, there is the hitch in his voice, seconds before he goes. “And brilliant, and so very terrible in the end.”

“En vérité,” he breathes. “All the best things are.”


What a powerful way to finish this.
I really can't praise this enough. I'm so glad you offered to swap because it led me to this incredible story!!!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 1

17th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this! I don't read tons of Marauders era stories, but I really, really enjoyed this! It was a great first chapter that introduced Mary very well. I really like her as an OC. She reminds me of Hermione a little bit, because she wants to learn as much as she can about the Wizarding World before going to Hogwarts. But she's also kind of shy, which I liked. Not many OC's are on the quieter side, so it was refreshing to see that here.
I liked that Mary figures out what she's feeling for Lily pretty quickly. You didn't draw it out, or have her be confused about her feelings. She knows that she likes Lily and thinks she's beautiful, and just have to figure out what to do about her feelings. Does she act on them or ignore them?
I feel bad that Lily and Severus are so disappointed about being put into different houses. It doesn't help knowing how their relationship turns out.
Lily already doesn't like James. That was fast! She's just too mature for his eleven year old boy antics! Haha.
This was a great opening chapter to your story! I really liked it. Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterNo Holding Back: I

16th January 2016:
Oh my gosh. This was amazing! I've been eyeing it for a while now, since I've never read any Theo/Lavender, and was really intrigued, and as always, your work has blown me away.
One thing about your writing that I absolutely adore is how flawed your characters are. They all have such rich histories, and are so complex and utterly human. They're all far from perfect, and it makes them very easy to relate to. They seem so real, even when they live in a fantastical world filled with magic.
Poor Lavender. I never really liked her character in the books, but I feel really bad for her here. She has to deal with people staring at her scars all the time, and just wants to get away from that. I don't blame her for being hesitant to walk into a room a people who will probably focus more on her scars than who she is as a person.
And I feel just as bad for Theo. His hesitance comes from a different place, and his insecurities are more emotional than physical. It's definitely hard to see someone you used to be in a relationship with, and I totally understand why he isn't exactly eager to walk through that door.
One thing I loved about this was that you didn't make one person's pain more valid than the other's. Lavender and Theo are hurting for different reasons, and their anxiety stems from very different places, but my heart went out to them both because you wrote them so honestly, and without any judgement.
I loved the way they interacted with each other, and I really want to know more about the past that they share! What were they like as little kids who played together? And what was it like for them when that relationship changed during their Hogwarts days?
The end of this was really well done. So many things went unsaid, but they really didn't need to be voiced out loud for either character to understand the other.
This was such a great story, Connor! I really, really enjoyed it. It was great to get back to your wonderful writing!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Moaning Myrtle

16th January 2016:
Hello! It's been a while, but I'm back for more of your wonderful story!
I really enjoyed this chapter. Rose, Albus, and Kenway really reminded me of Harry, Ron, and Hermione in their early years of Hogwarts, and this whole chapter just made me feel very nostalgic.
I thought it was really interesting that Albus doesn't know much about the Battle of Hogwarts. I can definitely see Harry focusing on the good times he had at school and not talking much about the actual war. It's not something he'd want to relive, and Albus is also only 11, so I'd imagine that Harry is waiting to tell him everything since he's so young.
I wasn't expecting Myrtle to make an appearance! Her characterization was really great. I wonder if her bathroom will be big enough to practice spells in?
I hope that Rose, Albus, and Kenway can learn to protect themselves! And that they get Molly's book without things going too crazy!
Just so you know, there's a new chapter of A Spoonful of Sugar up!
This was a great chapter!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello again! It's great to see you again.

Yes, this chapter was very much like the books. We wanted to add some family conflict to Albus' life because he has a good family; but we imagine Harry wouldn't tell his children the amazing things he did, which we could see as frustrating, especially for Albus since he looks most like Harry. Oh, and Albus is 13 by the way, he's in his third year.

Thank you! Myrtle was difficult to write because she's this odd combination of up-in-your-face and staying-in-background, so it is a relief to hear you liked her. And her bathroom will have to do.

Thanks for keeping up with this! It means a lot!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterNine Years: September 1st, 1989

15th January 2016:
Hi Emma! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a great second chapter to your story! I liked that you jumped back in time, so we could see how Lee and Fred first met.
I thought you did a fantastic job providing us with some of Lee's backstory. We know that his father was a Muggle and his mother is a witch. I love that his mother was in Hufflepuff. Maybe I'm just biased because it's my house, but I thought it was great that Lee wasn't starting school with a bad opinion of Hufflepuffs.
Tonks! I love that you included her in this! I forgot that she'd still be at school when Lee and the twins started, so it was a really nice surprise to see her included here! I thought her characterization was spot on! I really liked that she was friends with Charlie, too. That's definitely something I could see happening.
The first meeting between Lee and the twins was really sweet. He's insecure about how he looks and is worried that he won't find someone nice to sit with, and in one moment the twins get rid of all his worries! It was really nice to see that he had a connection with Fred from the time they were young, even if it hasn't developed into something romantic yet.
This was a great chapter! I love you characterization of Lee, and am really enjoying this story. Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie! I just got to your review, embarrassingly late - sorry sorry!

Thanks again for such a kind review though. I'm glad you liked the time jump. I spent a long time trying to figure out what order to put these chapters in, but I thought it would be nice to go back to their first meeting after the intensity of wartime in chapter one.

Love Hufflepuffs :)

Thanks for another lovely review. Let me know if you want to swap again!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterI Hate Care of Magical Creatures: I Hate Care of Magical Creatures

12th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was such a great story! I really loved it. I really like reading about Lorcan and Lysander, because everyone who writes them has such a different take on their characters.
This is definitely the first time I've read a story where one of the twins was really good at Care of Magical Creatures, and the other wasn't. I thought it was a really nice choice on your part, and it makes me really curious about the things that Lysander is good at that Lorcan isn't.
Poor Lysander, always ending up in the hospital wing! I agree with Roxanne, he should just tell his parents that he doesn't want to do Care of Magical Creatures anymore. Even though he thinks they'd be confused or disappointed, I think they'd understand. His mother, especially.
The end of this was really sweet. The little romance that developed just felt so natural and real.
Have you written any more stories about Lysander and Roxanne? If not I think you should!
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I haven't written more about them, sorry. I knew I didn't want to write the twins as being identical, and that one had to be good with animals and the other not so much. Lysander is not so much scared of disappointing Luna and Rolf as he is of just having them not understand. He wants to go his own way.

I'd never seen a Lysander/Roxie pairing before, but it seemed to make sense to me.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it because romance is not my strong suit and it feels good to have written something that someone thinks feels natural and real.


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterHitched: Act I

12th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was wonderful! I thought you did a really great job writing Tonks. I realized as I was reading this that I'd never read a story that focused on Remus and Tonks's relationship, so this story was a really nice change from what I usually read.
I thought Andromeda's reaction to her daughter telling her that she and Remus were engaged was really interesting. She clearly wants the best for her daughter, but I also think that scene showed that she could never completely escape some of the values that she was raised to believe. She hasn't met Remus, but she still judges him because he's a werewolf, even if she's only doing so to try and protect her daughter.
The scene between Tonks and her father was so sweet. I loved it. He was so gentle with her, and it was so clear that he absolutely dotes on his little girl. It was one of my favorite parts of the chapter.
I liked that Tonks convinced Remus not to worry so much about what other people think of their relationship by reminding him that their love is all that matters. It was really sweet and really important for him to hear, I think.
Kingsley's best man speech was really great. I loved that he talked about Remus causing some trouble with James and Sirius back at school, and that he talked about how Tonks showed him that he was worthy of love.
Molly had the sweetest reaction to finding out Tonks was pregnant! I thought you did a great job showing the mixed emotions that she had in that scene. She's happy that she and Remus are going to have a baby, but also worried that it's not the right time, or that Remus will react badly. It wasn't all happy and fluffy, which I thought was very realistic.
I thought this was really great, and I really enjoyed reading it! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks Cassie. Remus and Tonks are one of my favourite ships and I am so happy that you liked it so much. Another chapter shall be coming up soon so do be on the look-out.
:)


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Quidditch Tryouts

10th January 2016:
Hello Andrew! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really excellent chapter. I always like reading chapters that focus on Quidditch, because I find them hard to write, and always really admire people (like you) who can write them well.
I really liked the way you structured this chapter. We got to see the full Quidditch try-outs, and see the way Olivia runs her team, but still got Rose's feelings about it all throughout the chapter. She has some sass! I was surprised that she talked back to Olivia during try-outs, because it could hurt her chances of getting on the team, but I guess her one-on-one conversation with Olivia took care of that!
Olivia definitely does not seem like someone I wouldn't want to mess with. She takes her team very seriously, and doesn't tolerate any kind of back talk. She's tough, and isn't afraid to hurt people's feelings or step on too many toes. She does what needs to be done to put together the best possible team for Gryffindor.
I figured Rose would do better at her Seeker try-out than her Chaser one. Just because she said she was a better Seeker from the start. I was wondering how you'd handle the fact that Albus was so good, since he's in every house. I feel bad for him, since he can't play Quidditch at all. Maybe he'll be a reserve Seeker for all the houses or something? Just so he gets some chance to play?
I liked the interactions between Rose and Scorpius in this chapter. She seemed like she was tolerating him more, and she even teased him a little when she hit his arm, even if he didn't necessarily take it that way. And he was a little less formal with her, which was a nice change in how they'd been talking. I'm hoping that this means that they can be more open to being around one another, and can eventually be friends! (Or more than friends?)
Also, I wanted to tell you that your chapter images are stunning! I hadn't seen them before, and went back to look at them all. They're just beautiful! I can't believe you painted those yourself. I have no talent when it comes to visual art, so I always really admire people who do!
This was a great chapter! I'm looking forward to reading more. Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the swap, I always like swapping with you because: one, I like reading your stuff; and two, you leave me such wonderful reviews.

I found going into this chapter to be a bit daunting. I needed to say all this stuff about the quidditch trials, but I knew that it might be a lot for a reader to chew through. So as I was going, I had to explore a bit about the personalities of the characters. For instance, the character of Olivia was not really planned except that I knew I wanted her tough, very quidditch orientated and to be a daughter of the Wood we knew of from the books. All of that stuff you mentioned came from putting what I wanted in that situation and letting the logic of it develop her character.

Yep, Rose is a good seeker, but Albus is just in a class of his own. We shall have to see what becomes of his seeker dreams shan't we ... actually you won't have to wait that long; there is a solution to be found and it will be along very soon.

The relations between Rose and Scorpius will be an ongoing dynamic; it will be up and down as the years progress. For now it has entered the stage where Rose has to get over her knee-jerk dislike of him that happens every time she sees him, and get on with him straight after. She has no choice really because, being friends with Albus, it means that she will be seeing a lot of him, like it or not. You will notice that he becomes less formal as a direct relation between Rose being less obnoxious towards him.

Thanks for the praise of the chapter images. I have really tried to keep them in keeping with the chapters. I really hope that I will be able to keep up the standards to which I have set myself.

As always it was a pleasure swapping with you. As of this chapter the story as a whole has had 5536 reads and this chapter has had 204, thank you all.



 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

10th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really great first chapter! I really enjoyed it, and I think it sets up your story really well. You do a nice job of introducing your main character without getting bogged down in too much description. It's weaved in throughout the chapter, so we can focus on the plot while also getting information about Cress.
I thought the opening of this chapter was really great. It was mysterious and left me with questions, so I want to keep reading to get some answers. I'm assuming the woman was Ginny, but what potion was she getting, what does it do, and why did she need it? Is that the reason she went missing? Did she want to disappear, or did she know she was going somewhere that might me dangerous when she left a note saying she might not come home? You've definitely got me curious!
I like Cress as a main character. Her choice of a career shows that she's tough, and can handle difficult situations, but her conversation with Hermione also shows that she's compassionate, and remembers that she's dealing with really people who are going through something really sad.
Oh, she's going to talk to Teddy! I bet that will be interesting.
You've definitely piqued my interest with this story! Your opening chapter is great, and I really enjoyed it! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie! Thanks for stopping by! :)

I'm so glad you liked the first chapter. :) I really tried to do the best that I can with keeping the descriptions minimal but still capture the mysterious feel.

It was fun to read your theories but I guess you'll have to read further to know the answers. :D Keep guessing though!

Thank you so much for leaving a review! I really hope you'll come back for more! :)

Love,
Ashwini :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterNine Years: May 1st, 1998

9th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was excellent. I don't read many Hogwarts era stories, but I really, really enjoyed this. I loved that you chose Lee and Fred as the focus of the story. I haven't seen many stories with Lee as a main character, so that was a really nice change from what I usually read!
I thought it was great that you brought Oliver and Katie into the story. I never thought too much about what happened to them when I was reading Deathly Hallows, so I reading your interpretations of them and where they are during the war was really interesting! I loved that you had Oliver talk about Quidditch on Lee's show, and how Quidditch players were helping in the fight against Voldemort. It's something that I never considered before, and think it's a really nice detail that adds to the depth of your story.
Lee and Fred's relationship was wonderfully written. It's really believable, and I love that they started as friends before it turned into something more. It's clear that they have real feelings for each other, and are really concerned about one another's safety. I thought it was sweet how Lee was so worried about Fred being out and about when he should be in hiding.
The end of this chapter was really great. It's just enough of a cliffhanger that I want to keep reading, but also wraps up the chapter really nicely.
This was great, and I really enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! Thanks for such a lovely review :)

I've never read or written Lee before, but I'm really enjoying it. I'm glad you enjoyed him.

And I've been desperate to write about Oliver and Katie for ages so this is super fun - I have them together in 'Complicated' but wanted to look a bit into what they were like at school.

Thanks so much for all your thoughtful comments - let me know if you ever want to swap again :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterBedtime for Luna: Bedtime for Luna

6th January 2016:
Hello there! I'm here for our review swap!
As soon as I saw this story on your author's page, I knew I wanted to read it, and I'm so glad I did! It was absolutely lovely! I've never read another story here that focused on a character getting ready for bed, but I thought it was really interesting!
I thought this totally fit Luna's character. I'm not at all surprised that she keeps a kneazle for a pet, and loved the mention of garden gnomes being good luck, like her father tells her in Deathly Hallows.
The moment with her sons was so sweet, and I loved that they were all snuggled up together. Luna talking to her mother about Rolf while she brushed her hair was absolutely lovely, and she and Rolf together were really cute.
This story just radiated peace, and I loved it! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review swap, also! I'm glad you enjoyed reading this. I kinda specialize in writing Luna, and I'm always happy to hear I got her characterization right, as she can be tricky.

So peaceful is what I was going for with this. Happy with her family, missing her mother still, and at peace with her life.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterRise of the Phoenix: The Gathering Storm

6th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was a really interesting start to your story. I like Aurora, and think she's a really interesting OC. She seems very tough, and a little jaded, and I don't see a lot of characters like that, so I find her really intriguing. The way she interacted with Theo, who was trying to keep things upbeat and positive, really showed that she isn't one to force on a happy face just to please other people, and that she'll look after herself first and foremost.
I love that she's a Curse Breaker! I haven't seen that very often in stories here, either, so that's another aspect of Aurora that makes her really interesting to me.
I want to know what happened to her brother! It seems really fishy to me that no one knows anything about how or why he died. Was he in the Order maybe? And got killed by Death Eaters, so the Ministry is trying to keep it quiet? That's my guess!
I was not expecting that train ride to go the way that it did! It seemed totally normal (except for the crazy storm outside) and turned into something totally intense!
Am I correct in assuming that the werewolf was Greyback? The way he went after that little girl was so creepy and terrifying! I'm glad he didn't hurt her! And it's a relief that the girl's father and Theo were both fine.
One little thing that I thought was really nice was how you incorporated 1970s fashion into the story. I loved that Aurora seemed a little unsure of the clothing and hairstyles that the Muggles were sporting.
I do have one little CC for you. There are some sections here that are all dialogue, and I think you could expand them a little by adding some description. Just so we know what's going on in Aurora's head while she's talking to Theo. Otherwise this was a really nice chapter.
Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I apologise, been a lot on. I am delighted you agreed to a review swap, I am reading through a couple of your pieces now.

Thanks for the lovely and constructive words.

I appreciate that you were able to buy in to what I wrote, both in terms of its setting and relatively dark story.

Also Aurora is a joy to write, so the praise is great, thanks :)

I agree about the dialogue issue. Problem I have is that I find it dialogue REALLY HARD, so what I tend to do is construct it like a play and then bolt it on to my story. But that has problems - as you have smartly recognised.

I may go through and give this chapter a bit of edit, slim it down a bit and perhaps move some of the description into the conversation. Currently writing chapters 6 and 7 right now so we'll see.

As for plot details - no comment :)

Cheers for all the words, I will get back to you with my review of your work(s) within the hour. Pleasure to do this :)

Best,

Nick


 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterSupernova: Fire Alarm

6th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was excellent. I really, really enjoyed it. It's a really short first chapter, but it totally sucked me in to the story you're telling. I think your OC is wonderful, and I really want to learn more about her. What is she going to do with the time she has left? How are the Wizarding World and magic going to come into the story? This is definitely and intriguing start, and it really sets up your story well.
I love the idea of a person who doesn't have a lot of time left to live going out with a bang. Instead of trying to stretch out the time she has left, but be bedridden for all of it, Amanda is going to live the rest of her life to the fullest, even if she doesn't have a lot of time left to do so. I really admire her for that, because it has to be terrifying, knowing that you've got less than a year to live.
This was a really wonderful start to your story. Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: Threats

27th December 2015:
Gabbie! Hello! It's taken me far too long to get back to this story but here I am!
THIS CHAPTER. I feel like every chapter of this story gets more and more intense, and I just get more invested every time you update it. The whole conversation between Blaise and Draco was terrifying. I seriously thought Blaise was going to kill him! Draco can really be an awful person, and I don't blame Blaise for hitting him after some of the things he said!
I was surprised that Blaise warned Draco about Maximus and the rest of Astoria's family. I don't know if it was because they used to be friends (sort of?) or if he just thought it was the right thing to do, but I really liked that you chose to have him do that. I think it says a lot about his character. He HATES Draco after what he's done, but he gives him fair warning anyway. It's very noble of him.
I'm really nervous about what Draco will do in retaliation of Blaise's claim to Astoria, though. I really hope he doesn't get Death Eaters involved!
I thought the end of this chapter with Astoria was really great. We got to get back into her head a little bit while she just sat with her thoughts, and had a moment of calm after so much chaos.
It nearly broke my heart when she was thinking about how much her brother has changed. I loved his character at the beginning of this story, and he's not that person at all now. It's really tragic, and just shows how toxic their father is to all of them.
The end with Blaise was sweet. She saw him sleeping and hoped that he could have a moment of peace.
This was a great, if really intense, chapter! I can't wait for more!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by and everything, it's always lovely hearing from you! I should really start writing that next chapter so we can chat again!

I think that the more I write this story, the more intense it's going to get. The events that I'm really eager to write are coming up and to be honest, this story is almost halfway finished. I don't think that I'll go over thirty-something chapters with it because we're so close to everything boiling over!

Anyway!

Blaise and Draco's conversation was going to be a little different. I actually included Pansy at some point but I just thought that it would be more interesting to leave it to the boys to hash this out. Draco says awful things and Blaise is not really that patient when it comes to him. He's pretty noble but at the same time...he's not the sort of person you need to make angry.

Blaise doesn't want Draco to get hurt even though he hates him, he felt like it was the right thing to do. He doesn't want Astoria to be in the middle of anymore pain and it's also a warning that things won't go well for Draco if he continues to threaten them.

Oh, Draco has something planned. He's a conniving little jerk. Hahaha.

I wasn't sure what I was going to do about the ending because I wrote three separate ones but it's always great being in Astoria's head. She processes things so differently than Draco and I toss in quite a bit of foreshadowing too, which is also great. >:)

Astoria was going to sleep next to Blaise at the end of this chapter but the sofa was too small and she would have fallen off. Hahaha.

Thanks for the review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterLying Josephine: Nice to Meet You

5th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! I'm back with another hot seat review for you!
This was another wonderful chapter! I think every new chapter I read becomes my favorite. I'm getting so invested in Josephine's character and there are so many things about her that I want to know! I'm definitely hooked on this story!
I loved reading Josephine's interview with Fred. Their personalities are so, so different that it makes for a really interesting dynamic between the two characters.
I felt so bad for Josephine when she sat in the chair and it farted! I wouldn't expect anything less from the Weasley twins, but I know that if I were in her position, I would be just as embarrassed! I'm also pretty shy (though not as shy as Josephine is), so if something like that happening to me I would blush like crazy and not know what to say!
I thought the fact that Josephine rehearsed what she was going to say in her interview was so relatable. I've definitely done that before!
I was not expecting George to come in! And poor Josephine's feelings were so obvious to Fred. I'm glad that he agreed not to tell George in the end, though. He can really see that Josephine does love him, and I think it says a lot about him that he's not going to interfere, but also that he won't lie to his brother if George asks about Josephine's feelings.
I know I said this before, but I have to say once again how incredible the dialogue in this story is. You do so much in the interactions between Fred and Josephine, even though she hardly speaks. It's really amazing that he can read her so clearly, and I love the way they communicate with each other, with him speaking so much and her so little.
I never really thought about the shop opening back up for the first time after the war, but I'm really not surprised that it was so crowded. It got so popular so quickly that I bet people were waiting for it to open again. But I bet Josephine had a hard day with so many people around.
I can't wait to continue on with this fantastic story! I also added it to my favorites!
Cassie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>