Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
954 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterTransparent: The Green Dragon

22nd November 2015:
Gabbie, I need more of this! You picked the most interesting spot to end this chapter! It's the perfect cliffhanger, because I have to know what's going to happen next!
I could totally picture everything inside the Green Dragon. I can't blame Dom for wanting to look around and stare at everything in a place like that, where everything is so luxurious and grand! Hopefully she didn't look to naive or out of place, though. She has to make people believe she wants to be there.
She hasn't had to be too lovey with Teddy yet, even though he did sneak a few kisses, but I have a feeling that she's going to have to really work to make people believe that she's his fiancee and wants to be with him.
I think Teddy seemed very protective of her, and it was almost sweet to see the way he was looking out for her. He knows that she's nervous and is trying to make things as easy for her as possible.
OH MY GOSH TIBERIUS. I have to know, does this take place before or after the events of Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince? And he's the one with the pocket watch! I'm so intrigued! I just need more to read!
I hope you update this story soon! I absolutely love it! I think that aside from A Force of Wills, this one is my favorite. I just love Dom, and think the way she and Teddy's relationship has developed is fascinating.
This was an amazing chapter and I can't wait for more!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for attacking this chapter right away! That makes me so happy because I wrote this all at around five in the morning so there were a few things that I wasn't sure about. :D

I had a lot of trouble picturing the Green Dragon, I couldn't quite get the image that I wanted for some reason. I looked at a lot of pictures of gentleman's clubs (not strip clubs, mind you), mansions, dance clubs and even mansions to get the feel of this place just right. There are still a ton of details about it that I didn't write but I think I will in the next chapter.

I think the appeal of the Dragon is that everything is so shiny and new, it's impossible to NOT be distracted. I don't think Dom was prepared for that but whether or not she fits in will be something that I play around with in the next chapter. I wanted this one to be longer but because I was so sleepy, I decided to cut it short. On the plus side, I get to do more in chapter thirteen!

I didn't get a chance to have Dom being very lovey dovey with Teddy yet but that will come into play soon too. He snuck in a few kisses but they'll really need to be more convincing if they want people to believe that they belong there.

Teddy is doing the best that he can at the moment, he's trying to protect Dom but at the same time he has to put on an act too. I honestly think that he cares about her more than he's willing to say, they had quite a few little moments in this chapter that hinted at how he might feel.

TIBERIUS! A lot of people haven't been reading Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince so seeing him again won't come as a surprise. This story takes place a year before Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince. I may be wrong but it might actually be two, since Abandon takes place a year before it as well. Hm.

Anyway, Tiberius is the one who has the pocket watch! The details as to why and how are things that I'll include in the next chapter but I plan on updating soon! I hope you like the next chapter too, it's going to be pretty intense!

A Force of Wills is next!

Thanks so much!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterRuins: Ruins

20th November 2015:
This was absolutely brilliant, Gabbie. This was a really, really wonderful piece of writing. I just wish there was more! I saw that they story is complete, but I definitely think you should consider writing Pansy and Draco again, because you've written them brilliantly so far!
I loved Pansy's character, in particular. She's so obnoxious when she's at school, that I've always found her really annoying, and the fact that you could change my opinion of her shows how well-written this story is. She's not the girl she was when she was younger, and has turned her back on her family. That it itself has to be so incredibly difficult, but then you see her struggling financially as well, and working to keep a roof over her head and food on the table, and it just shows how far she's come.
I loved the way she and Draco interacted. She still cares about him, even if she doesn't have romantic feelings for him anymore, and really wants to see him get better for his family. He was really nasty to her, but the fact that she didn't back down says a lot about her character.
The way she interacted with Benjamin was so sweet. I loved that she was able to calm him down, and it was so sweet that she came to love him so quickly. I thought it was really wonderful of her to decide to help Draco. She can see that he has potential, and that he could be happy if he works for it, and she's going to help him get there, which is amazing.
This was a really fantastic story. It's definitely one of your best!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterAlmost: Almost

20th November 2015:
I love the way you write George and Angelina together. One of my favorite things about this story was that we got to see them when they were still at school together as teenagers, which is a time in their lives you haven't explored as much as when they're adults. It added yet another layer to their relationship, which I thought was really wonderful.
The thing I loved most about this was the fact that they're still friends at this point. They aren't romantically involved, and have never talked about their feelings for one another, so they just keep being friends, even if they do like each other. You show George struggling with his feelings, especially towards the end, and I think that that captures this whole period in their lives really well. He loves her, and he knows that he loves her, but he isn't going to tell her because he's not completely sure how she's going to react.
I thought it was so sweet when he noticed that she'd done her hair differently and she started blushing. I love that you give Angelina these softer, more vulnerable sides, especially when she's around George, because we so often see the tough parts of her in JKR's writing.
This story was so wonderful and sweet, and I just loved it.
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterEternity: Eternity

15th November 2015:
Hi Jayde! I'm here for the November Review Exchange!
THIS WAS SO CUTE. OH MY GOSH. I loved every second of it. I thought you did a wonderful job writing Harry and Ginny. They went through so much when they were younger and fighting in the war, that I always love it when people write stories about them that just focus on their love for each other, and keep things simple.
This story was so sweet, and Harry is such a kind, loving husband! He gave Ginny such a meaningful gift, and it's clear that it's something she's going to cherish for the rest of her life, and it's something that they can add to as their lives together go on, and their love just continues to grow.
I loved your descriptions of the different pictures in the book. I could really picture every milestone for the Potters, and I loved that Ginny got to relive all those happy memories.
The end of this was just the cutest thing! Lily was so adorable! I think the sweetest part was when she asked if she could have some of Ginny's breakfast. You did a great job writing such a young child!
I think this story was so lovely. You did an amazing job showcasing Harry and Ginny's love for each other, and kept things short, sweet, and simple. You didn't overdo it, and really let their love shine through and take center stage. You did a wonderful job with this!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Other Lessons

7th November 2015:
Hi Andrew! I figured it was about time that I returned to this wonderful story of yours!
I loved this chapter! I think the way you described different ways of thinking while performing different kinds of magic was fascinating. I've never seen anyone compare different subjects to different houses before, so that was a really nice detail.
I thought the was Rose tried different approaches to her Charms practice was really interesting to read. I liked seeing the different effects that different ways of thinking had on her magic.
Scorpius has made an appearance! And his robes turned pink! Oh, Rose. If she keeps letting her feelings and prejudices get the better of her I think she's going to put herself in a sticky situation one of these days. I wish she'd give Scorpius a chance!
I loved the Making Stuff lesson. That was definitely my favorite part of this chapter. I think it was incredibly creative of you to come up with a new class for this story, and it fits with the fact that goblins are allowed to go to Hogwarts.
I adored Professor Dropforged. He seems so kind and you can tell right away that he really cares about his students. He just wants them to enjoy learning about different techniques and making different things. I love, love, love that he made a comment about everything in his class being gender neutral. That made me like him even more than I already did!
I'm really interesting to see what method of fabrication Rose takes a liking to.
This was a great chapter! I really enjoyed it.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello a review back, how lovely.

Your reviews are always so small and so absolutely packed with analysis - I wish I had your ability to do it as well and as efficiently as do you, but I just seem to waffle on. I guess I just must love all the typing. ;)

This story and my other one is packed full of nearly all of my head cannon. There has to be something like this, there has to be. If you want something to float, exactly how do you wish it to float? As you saw in the story there are at least three different ways I could think of off the top of my head. And it seemed to me to be more that 'impose your will upon reality' thinking suited the Gryffies and the 'subtly manipulate reality to your desires' seemed more like those slippery Slytherins.

I'm glad you liked the sequence with Rose. I wanted to put it in, but dreaded that it might come off long winded and boring or too much like a lesson. I am quite relieved that people seem to have responded to it well.

Admittedly Scorpius was asking for it a bit, but Rose's reaction was far greater than it should have been. She should give him a chance, but she's not going to not for a long while yet - the poor boy.

To me it's part of the trade-off: goblins were allowed access to wands, not that the majority of them benefited as only about one goblin per year per age group of the entire population of Great Britain and Ireland can use them; and goblins in their turn shared the secrets to making goblin made stuff, not that it benefited most humans as the ability is mostly innate and cannot be taught.

The wizarding society that JKR gave us is a remarkably non-sexist place. I really believe that it is one of the main reasons that it is so popular with both girls and boys. Your ability and talent is completely divorced from your sex. So I wanted to continue that theme here, to show that those ideals were still alive and well. Also, in my experience, the boundaries of hobbies that were once considered to be bastions of one sex over the other have been blurring for decades.

Rose has already told us that she can sew and knit and crochet, we shall have to see what further techniques she will become proficient in.

Thanks for the lovely review. As of this review there have been 4435 reads on my story in total and this chapter has had 157, thank you all.

 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterOnce Upon The Marauders: The Untold Story: Signed, Sealed and Delivered.

24th October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was lovely! I really, really enjoyed it. I always like reading different writers' takes on the Marauders, especially when they're kids.
I've never read anything like this, where you get to see all of the Marauders getting their Hogwarts letters, so as soon as I started this I was excited to keep reading. I think you've done a great job sticking to cannon, but also putting your own spin on in with things like Sirius's relationship to his family pre-Hogwarts and what Peter's life is like at home. I really enjoyed the scene between Lily and Severus, too, and thought the Milk Duds comment was hilarious.
This story seems really great, and I think you've done a really nice job introducing all of the Marauders.
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked it Cassie :)
I'm trying to get the perfect balance between canon and headcanon, I hope I do justice to every marauder-era fan out there.
Thank you for the review swap too :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterBlue Eyes: St. Valentine's Day 1995

24th October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a great story! I loved it! I don't read a ton of stories that focus on George and Angelina, so I really liked that you chose to write about them.
I felt so bad for poor Angelina because Fred didn't show up for their date on Valentine's day of all days! But then she ran into George and I knew that things would be okay!
I thought it was so great that she and George just walked around Hogsmeade together and went to Honeydukes and had fun. I loved that they were just having fun eating sweets by the fire when they kissed. It just felt so natural and real.
I was a little afraid that Fred would walk in on them and get really bad but was so happy and relieved that things didn't go that way. I also really liked that she and Fred could agree to be friends.
The comparison of Fred to the sky and George to the ocean was gorgeous. It showed their different personalities and the different relationships they have with Angelina, even if they're so similar physically.
I loved this story, and am so glad you asked me to read it! Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: CASSIE! Hello, sweetie!

I am so very glad that you enjoyed the story, and I'm glad you liked the ending because I was afraid people wouldn't find it believable.

Thank you so much for your compliment about the ocean/sky part. That was one of the first lines I wrote. :)

As always, your review was super kind and the swap was brilliant. *hug*

lots of love,

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterThe Next Great Adventure: Happenings

23rd October 2015:
Hi Kaitlin! I'm here for our review swap! I read both chapters of this since the first once was so short, and I'm so glad that I did!
As soon as I realized that Harry was going to die, I was really interested in where you were taking the story after that. I think it was a really great choice to show the afterlife, and explore what you think that would be like. I always think it's really interesting to read different takes on it.
I loved that all of Harry's family and friends and mentors who had passed away before him were gathered together here. It's nice to know that they all found each other again, and that Harry has a chance to do the same. He'll be able to really meet his parents and to see Sirius, Remus, Molly, Arthur and countless others again.
I think it was so sweet that they sent Dobby to go help Harry. Everything they said about his was true. He'd do anything to help Harry, because he loves him so much and is so loyal to him.
I'm really intrigued by this! I want to see what the challenges are that Harry has to face!
This was really great! I loved it! Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterWords and Silence: Words and Silence

22nd October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I really liked this! I think you always do such a great job writing Sirius. I've read a few of your stories about him, and each one adds another layer to his character, which is really great.
I think you did a really nice job with both of the prompts for your challenges in this. You showed Sirius's fear of being alone and also used your proverb really well. The thing about that that I really enjoyed was that you were able to show both of those things throughout the story, even if you didn't say them explicitly until the end.
I think this story really made me think about how sad Sirius's life was. We know that he had fun at school, and that he had friends, and pulled pranks, but sometimes I think we can forget how hard his life was growing up. He was only sixteen when he saw his parents for the last time. You show here that he was emotionally and physically abused by his family, and who knows how often he had to endure that? It's heartbreaking.
Even though this story is so sad, and ends in such a sad place, it's nice to know that Sirius will have some happiness in his future, when he escapes Azkaban and finds Harry and Remus and the Order.
As far as CC's go, I think grammatically this was great! I didn't notice any overused commas, and I thought your pacing was really great.
Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterThe memories in your biscuits: The memories in your biscuits

22nd October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was a really great one-shot! I haven't read many stories with McGonagall as the main character, so I was really intrigued by this when I saw it on your Author's Page. I was also curious how you were going to turn it dark when I saw what challenge it was for!
I loved what you did with this. You showed us McGonagall not only in the time JKR writes her, when Harry is at school, but also when she is younger. I really, really enjoyed what you did with her past. The way you used smaller scenes to make up her character as a whole was really great. We got to know her in pieces, and then put those together to form a whole person.
I loved the memory of McGonagall learning to make biscuits in the Hogwarts kitchens with Edda. It was so sweet, and really made me smile. You can tell that there was a really strong bond between them, which I thought was a great addition to this story.
I was not expecting that dementor to be there! How did it get into the castle? If I was in McGonagall's situation, I'd be terrified! And the memory she was forced to relive was so awful. Seeing a child being tortured, while his mother begs for his life, is heart-wrenching, but then if you add to that that McGonagall also lost a friend, it becomes even more awful.
Thankfully she was rescued in the end! By Snape, if I'm not mistaken?
This was a really nice look into McGonagall's character, and I really enjoyed reading it! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!
Thank you so much for the swap!

I'm so glad you liked what I did with McGonagall! :) She's surely not a character I would've ever expected me to write if it wasn't for the challenge, but I must admit that I'm happy with how this story turned out (and even more happy with how it's been received!)

It's great to know that you liked the memories, especially Edda's (that's my favourite, too! The idea formed in my head and I was just like, yes, that's what happened!!!)

Having to write a dark story set during PoA, Dementors were the first thing that came to my mind (plus, it worked with the memories theme). I think the school defences weren't at their top before the students' arrival? Or maybe the incident is the reason Dumbledore decided not to allow the Dementors inside? I would be absolutely terrified too!

I know... Dorcas' memory was really awful! :'(

Yes, Snape saved her! :) Thankfully!

Thank you so much for the lovely review! Reading it was a really great way to start the day!!! :D

Huge hug!

 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterColors: Blue

22nd October 2015:
Hi Stefanie! I'm here for our review swap!
This was so gorgeous, and so utterly heartbreaking. I love ScoRose, so I was excited when I saw this, and you've totally broken my heart with your beautiful writing.
As I was reading this, I really, really wanted their relationship to work. I wanted them to live and be happy, even if they struggled with money. I wanted them to just be happy with one another. But at the same time I knew that that wasn't how this was going to end. I knew that they were going to fizzle out, and that thought made me so, so sad.
I adored what you did with colors in this. I could picture everything you were describing with such vivid detail, and the way you kept repeating the colors green, blue, and white was a really wonderful way to show us Scorpius and Rose's relationship.
No! Scorpius left! And Rose is alone. I wish things didn't happen that way, but as the story went on, I could see it coming. I think one thing that marks how great this story is is that I knew what kind of ending it was going to have, but I was wishing for it to be something else, anyway. I knew it would end sadly, but you had me so invested in their relationship that I kept hoping for a happy ending.
This was a really amazing story, Stefanie. Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

Thanks so much for this lovely review! It's brought such a smile to my face!

I absolutely adore Scorose, so it was tough for me to write them in such a sad story. I really wanted them to be happy as well, but as you said, there was just no way this could have ended well. They were destined to fail, I think. Everything about them together was wrong, but in a way that I think, maybe in another world, if everything about the circumstances were different, it could have worked out.

The colours was a new thing for me too. I've always used very vivid description of colour, but here, it's the focal point of the story. I picked out the colour palette before I'd even hammered out the whole plot!

Anyway, thanks for your wonderful review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterThe Art of Surviving: Two of Cups

22nd October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was absolutely brilliant. I loved every single second of reading it. I got sucked in right from the beginning, and was hooked the entire way through! Even though it was long, it didn't feel like it. The pacing was really nice, and I actually was kind of surprised how quickly I got to the end.
I think Stephen's character was wonderful. He's such a caring person and friend, and I can definitely see why he belongs in Hufflepuff. I love that you had him and Sophie get to know each other in class, and then bond over their family situations. The way they got to be close felt really natural.
I think the way Stephen and Sophie's relationship changed as they got older was fascinating to read. He grew to love her, and almost didn't realize it, but when he did, he couldn't think about anything else. And, since she was with Justin, he couldn't do anything about his feelings, which is kind of heartbreaking, I think.
I have to admit, even though I knew Stephen was in love with Sophie, I was really surprised when he kissed her! I know that it just kind of happened, and it wasn't premeditated or something that he really thought about as he was doing it, but I still wasn't expecting it. I was also a little surprised at how much of a reaction she had to the kiss, but it made sense later, when we found out she took a hate potion to get rid of all the emotions she was feeling.
I think one of my favorite parts of this was the way you wrote Stephen's seventh year of school. Since Harry, Ron, and Hermione are off looking for Horcruxes in the books, and JKR doesn't tell us too much about what life was like at Hogwarts, I always really like reading different ideas about what the students who were at school were going through.
Reading how Stephen had to use the Cruciatus Curse on Sophie was so heartbreaking. He doesn't want to do it, but he has to, because if he doesn't the pain she'll endure will be even worse. It made me angry at the Carrows for forcing the students to do something so horrible, and also really sad because they had to experience such awful and terrifying things.
The end of this was just so sad. My heart went out to Stephen because he lost Sophie, but I also really admire him, because he was willing to lose her if it would help her heal. It showed how much he truly loved her, because he was always willing to put her first, regardless of how he would feel as a result.
This was so, so fantastic. I definitely want to continue with this story! I love your characters and writing style. You've got me hooked!
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterInstantly: Instantly

20th October 2015:
I know how much you love writing George and Angelina, but I have to say, I think writing them at this age really helped you show different parts of their characters that we haven't seen before. They have an innocence and a wholeness to them that's lost during the war, so the fact that none of that has happened yet really changes the way you've written them here. They don't have any real worries that extend past their Sorting and their classes. They just want to go to Hogwarts, learn magic, make friends, and (in the case of the twins) cause some trouble.
I thought the relationship between the twins and Percy was wonderful to read. Fred and Percy have the typical sibling fights, although Percy takes his responsibility and elder brother duties a bit too seriously, in my opinion.
One thing that really stood out to me throughout this story was the way you make Fred and George so different. Lots of people give them the exact same personality, since they're twins and JKR always writes them together, but I loved that you didn't do that. They're still different people, and you really showed that here. George is more reserved, whereas Fred is almost looking to pick a fight. I think those differences is why they're so close; they can balance one another out.
Oh my goodness, eleven year old Angelina is adorable. She's so shy! I think that was a really nice choice on your part, because it tells you that she grows a lot when you think about how she's has so much fun and can get so silly with George later in life.
The feast scene was so lovely! I think its wonderful that George and Angelina got so close so fast. Even though she's upset because her grandparents passed away, she's able to find someone to help her through it.
WHEN THEY SAID GOODNIGHT TO EACH OTHER IT WAS THE CUTEST THING. Angelina was just so straightforward, and George already knew he loved her! It was fantastic.
Lee's little appearance was perfect, and his character was spot on. I loved that Fred was teasing George. It's exactly what I'd expect a brother to do.
This was a really wonderful story. I adored every second of it, if you couldn't already tell! Please, please let me know when you have something new up for me to read and gush over!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

CASSIE! It's so good to see you and I'm so happy to be giving you something new to read! I have a lot of stories in the works right now so be prepared to get A Force of Blaise, Abandon, Audrey, Albus and my others back! :D

I really like writing George and Angelina this age because I never got the chance to in my other stories. They have so much innocence about them here that I love and it was so great exploring this, all of the bad things that happened during the war haven't touched them yet.

I have this strange obsession with writing Percy and the twins. We never get the sense that they were very close in the HP books and because my Percy and George end up becoming very close later on, I just thought it would be nice to have them acting and behaving how real brothers would.

I think that because I'm going to be making fresh George/Angelina stories as a personal challenge, that I'll include him in all of them somehow. I think the three of them have an interesting dynamic, they're so very different but you can get such great reactions from them.

Percy takes everything too seriously and it causes he and Fred to butt heads. I never thought of Fred and George as being exactly the same just because they were twins and I tried to stray away from that as much as I could. I always thought that George would work better if he were the more responsible of the two, he likes getting into trouble but he'd think things through first.


OMG. I don't think I really pictured Angelina so shy at first until I actually wrote this scene and she's so cute. I think a lot of people write her off as being pretty tough but it's nice to write a softer side of her.

The Feast scene is my favorite part! George fell in in love with her so quickly and the bond that they create during that moment shapes their entire friendship.

The goodnight scene is taken straight from This is Angelina. It's George's secret way of saying "I love you" but what's great about this is Angelina's response. Hahaha. She's not that quick to catch on to it.

I HAD to add Lee. No one-shot with the twins is complete without him. Hahaha.

THANK YOU A TON FOR STOPPING BY! I really appreciate it. I have a new chapter of Audrey up and A Wedding is nearly finished so look out for that!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterA Foreign Affair: Chapter 1

18th October 2015:
Hi Kayla! I'm here for the Hufflepuff review exchange!
This was a great opening chapter! I'm already so interested in where this story is going! As soon as I read the summary I knew that this story was going to be really fun and different from anything else I'd read here, and so far I'm right!
I think Astraia is a great OC. I love that she comes from a big, Greek family, because that's something I've never seen around the archives before. I loved her relationship with her mother, and how the fact that their super close is a great constant in Astraia's life, even if it can be a bit overwhelming sometimes. The moment when her mother walked in the bathroom with her to keep telling her to get a boyfriend was hilarious.
I really enjoyed the descriptions of all of Astraia's siblings, too. They all seem so different, and I think it will make things really interesting when they're all together.
In comes James Potter! I can't wait to read how you write him, since everyone has their own take on his character.
This was a great opening chapter, and I'll definitely be continuing on with this story!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterWishes: Wishes

12th October 2015:
Happy birthday!
I'm came by to leave a birthday review for you!
This story was so sweet! I loved that James wanted to make sure Harry knew how much he and Lily loved him if they didn't make if through the war. The fact that he's so afraid for his family really shows how much he loves them. I thought the letter he wrote Harry seemed just like something I'd imagine James would write. I loved how much it moved Harry, and how much more special it made James Sirius's first birthday.
This was a lovely story. Happy birthday!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterGoodbye, Love, Goodbye: Sirius, Sirius, Sirius

12th October 2015:
I hope you're having a wonderful day so far! I came by to leave you a birthday review and I'm so, so glad I chose this story to read. It was absolutely phenomenal.
You've done such a fantastic job with Remus here. He's so complex and has so many different emotions churning inside him... It was incredible to read. I could see all these different sides of him, as he thought about his love and his lust, his sadness, anger, and regret. He just seemed to utterly human. I really, really pitied him, and wanted him to find happiness, even though I knew this story wouldn't end happily.
I think it's amazing that you were able to make this work forwards and backwards! I can't imagine how long it took to do! I don't think I could do it!
I also loved the way this worked both for Sirius's arrest and for his death. I think it made it all the more poignant, because it means that Remus would have to go through this twice in his life.
This was an amazing story, and I'm just in awe of your writing here! This was truly brilliant!
And again, happy birthday!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: CASSIE!

Thank you for the birthday wishes! You are too sweet! *hug*

I'm so glad you enjoyed the story! It's pretty heavy, and there are definitely a lot of different emotions going on. It makes me so sad to think that Remus had to lose Sirius twice - once to betrayal, and once to death. Poor guy!
Thanks again for the lovely birthday review!

lots of love!

 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterDamage Control: Choices, choices

12th October 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was genius. I've never read anything like it, and as soon as I read the summary I knew that I wanted to check it out! Not many people write stories with Lily Luna as a major character, so that really drew me to this. I think she's a character that people should explore more, because there are so many directions you can go with her.
I think Hero is a great OC. She's witty and smart and ambitious, and I love it. I think the fact that she wants to be the youngest ever Minister for Magic is a lofty goal, but I hope she achieves it!
I loved your descriptions of all the Next Gen Potters and Weasleys. I think what you did with James and Albus was hilarious! I've seen James written as a bit of a playboy before, but you took it even further, which is great. And I've never seen Albus portrayed the way you have him here, and I loved it! It was so original!
This was a great opening chapter, and I really like the plot you've set up and the characters you've introduce. The pacing is excellent and Hero's voice is fantastic.
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hiya!

Awww, thank you *blushes*. Now that you mention it, she does tend to be a side character in most stories although if you want a truly fantastic story starring Lily Luna, I'd highly recommend Out of Time by Violet Gryfindor. You're completely right, which is why I wanted to stretch Lily Luna's character as far out as possible and be completely different and separate from her parents.

My OCs mean a lot to me so I'm thrilled you like Hero. I tried to make her natural but at the same time just a little bit exaggerated to keep things interesting.

Those descriptions were so much fun to write! Yeah, I went the very predictable route with James but I'll try to make him a bit more compelling once he's introduced. Albus is like an extreme Harry with a gallon of Hermione and her S.P.E.W. Thank you for thinking so! I hope you'll still like them once you meet them in a few more chapters.

Thank you so so much for this incredibly kind review :D and for offering the review swap.

 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterIt Comes in the Night: 1

27th September 2015:
Oh my goodness this was adorable. I loved it! I was definitely a kid who scared easily (I still scary pretty easily!), so if I was in their position, I would definitely do what Draco did and ask for the story to stop! Haha. Little Teddy was so cute! It took me a second to figure out that he was Theo though, but I love the nickname!
This was a great little Halloween story, and I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterDevlin Potter: Riddle and Rescue: The Informant

22nd September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was an incredible first chapter! I'm completely fascinated! I've never read anything like this, and thought it was brilliant.
I think Devlin's character is really interesting. He's clearly very intelligent, even for a child so young. And also brave. He's definitely Harry Potter's son, and wants to be brave until the end. That being said, it made my heart break to read the way he was being treated. He's just a child and they're being so horrible to him. At the end, when the Death Eater was saying how they tortured him, I got chills. Really it made my stomach turn to think about.
I love the way you write Harry. He has so much more anger than when we see him in the books. He's suffered even more loss than he did when he was growing up, and it's a whole new kind of suffering. He's lost a child, and can't move past that. I definitely see why he's so angry, but I just hope he doesn't do anything he'll regret because he's being ruled by his emotions.
Sirius is alive! I wasn't expecting that! But it was a really nice surprise! I think he's a great addition to this.
I'm really intrigued by this Death Eater! I want to know how it is! Also, I think it was so interesting how he seemed so interested in seeing Harry prove himself and prove that he loves his son. Definitely not something I'd expect from a Death Eater.
Oh my gosh Devlin isn't dead! I did not see that coming! But it also makes me nervous. Because if he's spent so much time among Voldemort and Death Eaters, and is being tortured, chances are he's changed. I really hope he doesn't have any kind of hatred or rage towards his father because he hasn't been rescued...
This was really, really amazing. I thought it was so original and so captivating! I definitely want to read more!
Thank you so much for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterReasons to Smile: Hugo: When the Future is in Sight

10th September 2015:
I'M SO HAPPY THAT YOU UPDATED THIS STORY OH MY GOSH. I love it, and you're just so good at writing cliffhangers and leaving little intriguing details all over the place that I'm completely hooked and have to know what's going to happen next.
I loved that we got another chapter from Hugo's POV! I love the way you write him, and his chapters are always really interesting, because he always seems to be involved in something really mysterious and probably dangerous.
I think his talk with Emmet was my favorite part of this chapter. He was able to help him realize that he needs to get back on good terms with Lexi, and that he can help her. And then when they kissed it was just so cute!
Ugh this story gives me all the feels. I can't wait for the next chapter. This was brilliant and I'm so happy to be reading this story again!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterWorthy: Rose

9th September 2015:
Hi Renee! I'm here for our review swap!
Oh my goodness this story was wonderful. I thought you did a fantastic job writing Scorpius and Rose! They both had so much depth and I just loved it.
You said in your author's note that you thought this was somewhat cliche, but I honestly didn't think it was cliche at all. It could have been, but it wasn't, because you took Rose in a direction that not many people do. There was passion and romance and fluff, but you didn't have everything go perfectly, which was that made this story so great.
I really loved the way you explored Rose's insecurities. She doesn't feel comfortable in her own body, which I think is something almost everyone, including myself, can relate to. And, on top of that, the guy she loves is really good-looking, and she can't help but doubt herself around him. I've definitely had those thoughts, and they aren't fun, but you wrote them so realistically.
And then when Rose told Scorpius that she didn't feel worthy of him, my heart broke a little for both of them. For Rose because that's an awful way to feel, and for Scorpius because he obviously loves her so much that hearing that has to be really hard for him. But his reaction was so sweet, and he was so loving when he reassured her how beautiful she was.
This was so fluffy and wonderful but also so relatable. I loved it. Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

As always, your review put the biggest smile on my face! I always feel a little iffy about this story - I've actually considered deleting it - so it makes me really relieved that you liked it and don't think it's cliche. :)

Thanks again for all the really sweet things you said - you're the nicest!! :hug:
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterCruel Inheritance: The Morning After

5th September 2015:
Hi Renee! I was in the mood to read something of yours, and I'm so glad I chose this story. It was absolutely fantastic. You did such a phenomenal job writing Sirius, and really showed the complexity of his character. He's rash and arrogant, and sometimes that backfires on him, like it did here, and he has to deal with the consequences.
I loved the role Marlene played in the story. He could be vulnerable around her, and express to her just how much he regretted his actions. I think that says a lot about her, especially if everyone else Sirius is close to is so mad at him. (And rightly so!)
I really loved the end of this story. I thought it was a really poignant moment between Sirius and Marlene, and loved that, like he said, it wasn't romantic. She was just supporting him when he needed it.
The last line completely broke my heart.
This was a really wonderful one-shot, and I really enjoyed it.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie you absolute darling, I am so flattered that you thought of reading my stories! (Although, my stories are a bit dark - I hope you are feeling okay! haha)

Sirius is a character that I don't always like in the books, exactly because he is rash and arrogant, but writing this made me much more sympathetic toward him because I bullied him (well, Marlene bullied him on my behalf) into showing some vulnerability.

Thank you so much for your review! I feel like you read the story exactly the way I hoped people would read it. Everything you said put the biggest smile on my face, and I'm very happy you enjoyed the story!

I hope you're having a great weekend!
xoxo Renee

 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince: Fresh Wounds

5th September 2015:
Gabbie! You always end your chapters with such cliffhangers!
This chapter was so intense! I was so worried that Albus was going to be seriously hurt, and wasn't going to get better. I can't believe he was unconscious for two weeks! His poor parents must have been terrified. You did a really great job with they way you wrote them, by the way. Ginny's worry and her love for Albus were so believable. Ginny is so strong, and seeing her vulnerable like that, because she is so scared for Albus, was really powerful.
I thought it was really cool how you made (I'm assuming) Millicent Bulstrode Albus's Healer! It was a nice way to include some minor canon characters.
I was terrified that Sue was going to be dead but I'm so glad she's okay! And then I was terrified again, because I thought Albus was dying. I really thought you might go there, but I'm really, really glad you didn't. But what actually happened is not that much better. Since he might be infected that could lead to some really hard times for him. Obviously people like Bill show that if you're attacked by a werewolf you can still have a normal life, so I think Albus can get past this, but I'm worried that people are going to judge him if they find out.
I can't wait for more of this! I want Rose and Scorp to come back and see Albus! This was great chapter, Gabbie!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by again, I really like that you're all caught up now. I didn't plan on making the ending such a cliffhanger but I couldn't help it! Muahaha.

I think that Albus has suffered more than an eleven year old has to. I wasn't really sure where I was going with this chapter at first but it's all about the consequences so he's left with more than a few scars. I have never written Ginny that much before but I'm SO happy that she turned out all right! She's so intimidating. Hahah. I tried to think of how my mom would be if she ever saw me in the hospital as an inspiration for her and I'm happy that that scene turned out okay in the end. Phew!

Yes, the Healer is Millicent Bulstrode! I thought it would be an interesting bit of information. She's the meanest Healer in the ward. Hahahah.

Oh, Lord. I wouldn't have been able to kill Sue off like that! I mean, she's only eleven! I don't think that I'll do anything like that with the kids in this story because it wouldn't be right. I mean, I like writing angsty stuff but that would be too much.

I'm not sure if I'm going to have Albus infected or not. I'm toying around with the idea and I've got a few things lined up but we'll see in the end. :D

Thank you for the review!

Much love,


 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterThestrals: Sirius

5th September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this! I've never read a story that used thestrals as a big part of the plot, so this immediately caught my eye, and I was really intrigued by it. I thought it was really cool that you chose to write characters from three different eras, who all have this one thing in common, so I'm definitely going to read the rest of this to see who you write for the Harry's generation and Next Gen.
I thought you did a wonderful job writing Sirius. I'm really impressed that he went back home for Christmas, since he probably wanted to be anywhere in the world but there. It's horrific that he saw his cousin and Lucius torture a Muggle girl to death, and I can't blame him for leaving after that!
One line that stuck out to me was this one- And it must be love, because I could think of no other reason why each person tolerated the other.
It was just so well-written. It shows that Sirius doesn't understand his family, and doesn't understand how they can stand to be around each other, but assumes it must be love because he has no idea what else would allow them to be happy when they were around one another.
This was a really great start to this story, and I'll definitely be reading more! Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterThe Kings and Queens of Hogwarts : Just Another Marauders Day

5th September 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this. I thought the way you started the chapter, by introducing each main character in turn and giving us some information about them, was brilliant. I've never read a story that was structured like that, but I thought it worked really well for this. It was a really original, efficient way of making sure we knew who all of the main characters were, and had a way to tell their personalities apart right from the start of the story. I also thought it was really cool that you picked a song for each of them! I can't think of one for Peter, but if I do I'll let you know!
I love the chemistry between all of the Marauders. I think their relationships and the way they interact make it clear that they know each other well and have been friends for a while, but there is also still tension with things like Marlene and Sirius always getting into fights.
I can't believe they already got into duels with the Slytherins! At least James got Lily and Remus out of detention. I felt bad for Peter and Mary, though. They didn't do anything either!
I think I connect to Mary the most, but I love Dorcas's character, too. I haven't read many stories about her, so I think it's cool that she's such a big part of this one.
This was a really awesome first chapter! I really enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey! :)
Thanks for swapping with me :)

I'm really glad you liked the ways I structured this chapter! :) I loved writing that part and I'm glad you thought it was original! :)I love writing them so I'm glad you though they had chemistry and the relationships I've created between them all :) Mary and Peter didn't get detention because they were hiding, don't worry about them ;) It was just the trouble makers that got into trouble!
I love writing Mary and Dorcas! I think they both describe little parts of me so it's fun to write!

I hope you can come back to the story for the rest! :D

Katie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>