Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
975 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterThe First Time: The First Time

11th February 2016:
Hi Gabbie! I'm here for our review swap!
This was such a good story! You write George and Angelina so well, and the thing I love about your stories that feature them is that you always focus on some new part of their personalities and their relationship that you haven't shown us before. Every story you write about them helps us get to know them better, and this one was no exception!
I thought Angelina's vulnerability was what stood out about this. It was beautifully, beautifully written. She's insecure about herself, and about being so intimate with another person, which I think you wrote very truthfully. It seemed so real that it just made my heart go out to her. That's a really hard thing to deal with, especially when you love someone like she loves George, so the fact that she was able to get past that through this story was really wonderful.
George is the sweetest boyfriend ever! He's so caring and gentle and patient. It's clear that he adores her, and wants to help her see herself the way he sees her. He was just so loving with her! I really enjoyed that.
The ending of this was sweet! I'm so glad Angie agreed to move in with George! Yay!
This was such a wonderful story! I really enjoyed it!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Problems and Solutions

31st January 2016:
Hi Andrew! I felt like reading the next chapter of this lovely story, so here I am with a review for you!
Poor Rose, feeling guilty for making the Quidditch team! If I were her, I'd probably feel the same. It doesn't help that Albus was genuinely congratulating her. She thinks that he should have made the team over her, and when he's nice to her about it, she just feels worse. Thankfully that feeling doesn't have to last too long!
Hooray! Rose and Scorpius are slowly, slowly getting more civil with each other! The fact that it is happening so gradually makes me even more excited for when the nature of their relationship shifts and they start to be nice to one another, and maybe even become more than friends? Rose doesn't get annoyed at every little thing Scorp does now (even if she makes a pretense of disliking him) so I'm going to take that as a good sign!
Albus solution to the Quidditch problem was quite clever! Very Ravenclaw of him. It was also very fair, so I think it showed his Hufflepuff side, too. I would have never thought of the difference between training and practice, so that was very clever on your part!
I like that Rose is trying to learn gobbledegook! Dawnsfirstbloom's explanation to Scorp when he asked what they were doing was too funny! But I bet it embarrassed him and Rose.
The Quidditch try outs were great, and we saw once again that Albus has really inherited his parents' skills! Just because I'm curious- you have James and Albus playing Quidditch, but do you think Lily would be good at it as well?
That boy was being so rude to Stephen! But thankfully Stephen showed him! Hopefully he'll learn his lesson and be a little nicer from now on, but the way he treated Honey didn't show much promise. I thought it was sweet that she wanted a hat, and that Rose would make her one with flowers on it.
That last little moment between Rose and Scorp made me happy! Again, it shows that maybe, just maybe, Rose's thinking when it comes to Scorpius and his family will start to change.
This was a great chapter, with another lovely chapter image! Well done!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterThe Center of the Sun: The Center of the Sun

31st January 2016:
Hi Renee!
Oh my gosh, this story was so good! I blushed a little reading the end though! But it really was well done. I loved Andromeda's character, and I thought you did a really great job showing the dilemma she was facing during this story. She's clearly still pretty close with her family, since she spends time with Narcissa, but she doesn't really share all their views. That in itself is difficult to deal with, but add on top of that that she can't stop thinking about a Muggle-born Hufflepuff, and her family would be really upset if they found out, and she's really dealing with a lot!
Snogging lots of boys won't solve anything since she has feelings for Ted. Oh, Andromeda, just find him and talk to him!
The end was pretty steamy! But written very beautifully. The pacing of the whole story was really nice, and I liked that you just focused on Andromeda and Ted without letting too much other stuff get in the way.
This was really nice, Renee!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! I was so happy to see your review!! I love Andromeda, and I am so happy you liked her too, and that you felt sympathy for her dilemma. I had a really hard time writing this, and I wasn't sure if that part was shown enough.

I know, she's so silly! But eventually she'll figure it out ;)

You thought the end was steamy? Yay yay yay! It always feels awkward writing scenes like that and trying to imagine would it would sound like to someone else. Yay! :D

Thank you so much for your lovely review!
xoxo Renee


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterRoses are Red: Just a Bump on the Head

31st January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
As soon as I saw this on your Author's Page, I thought it looked really interesting! I love ScoRose, and I've never seen a story like this on the archives before, so as soon as I read your summary I knew I wanted to check this out!
This is such an interesting premise for a story. The concept of someone losing their memory and not remembering their spouse, plus thinking that they hate them because they can't remember falling for them, has been done before in pop culture, but I think you use it brilliantly here. I think it makes a lot of sense that Rose would lose her memory from a bad Quidditch accident, and I'm really hoping that the healers figure out a way to get her memory back!
When she was freaking out about Scorpius being in the room, she reminded me so much of her parents! They both have tempers, and Rose really reminded me of Hermione when she wanted to know every little detail about what was going on before answering any questions herself.
I think this story should be really interesting, since Rose is going to have to come to terms with the fact that she and Scorpius are married, even though she can't remember loving him. It breaks my heart a little to think about what he's going through, though. He still loves her, and has to deal with her hating him while she's recovering.
This was a great first chapter! I really liked the way you wrote Rose, Ron was really sweet when he was trying to calm his daughter down, and I loved that you made Parvati her healer. Nice job!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello :)

I'm so glad you enjoyed it! I wanted to write a Next Gen, just because it was something I had never done before or even read that many fics of. But I wanted to do it different :)

I do imagine Rose as a little piece of Hermione, which is why it was so much fun writing her! I especially loved writing Ron, since he was so awkward and funny in the books that he's the perfect dad now. I think that's what I'm going to enjoy the most about writing Next Gen, however, is putting people in there like Parvati to play various roles.

So glad you enjoyed, thank you for the kind words :)

-Becca


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterLa Bête Noire: quand l’étérnité finit.

29th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
Wow. What a gorgeous piece of writing. Really, this was absolutely stunning. I'm not quite sure what to say about it, just that it was beautiful, and tragic, and felt so very real.
I haven't read any stories here that focus on Nicolas and his friendship with Dumbledore, so that immediately caught my interest. And then when I realized what was going on, that Nicolas was dying, this just took on so much more depth.
It seemed simple, and their conversation felt very natural, but it was so clear that there were millions of unspoken things going on beneath the surface. A friendship that had lasted for years and years was coming to an end, and thinking about that as I read this just broke my heart.
I think it was a really lovely touch that Fawkes was there, as well. I really liked how you talked about his loyalty to Dumbledore, and how surprised Nicolas was by it.
I started to cry when Nicolas closed his eyes and Dumbledore and Fawkes sat by his side. And the image of Dumbledore holding his hand as he slowly slipped away... Just stunning.

"Beautiful,” Albus whispers, and there, there is the hitch in his voice, seconds before he goes. “And brilliant, and so very terrible in the end.”

“En vérité,” he breathes. “All the best things are.”


What a powerful way to finish this.
I really can't praise this enough. I'm so glad you offered to swap because it led me to this incredible story!!!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterThe Fortunate Ones: Chapter 1

17th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I loved this! I don't read tons of Marauders era stories, but I really, really enjoyed this! It was a great first chapter that introduced Mary very well. I really like her as an OC. She reminds me of Hermione a little bit, because she wants to learn as much as she can about the Wizarding World before going to Hogwarts. But she's also kind of shy, which I liked. Not many OC's are on the quieter side, so it was refreshing to see that here.
I liked that Mary figures out what she's feeling for Lily pretty quickly. You didn't draw it out, or have her be confused about her feelings. She knows that she likes Lily and thinks she's beautiful, and just have to figure out what to do about her feelings. Does she act on them or ignore them?
I feel bad that Lily and Severus are so disappointed about being put into different houses. It doesn't help knowing how their relationship turns out.
Lily already doesn't like James. That was fast! She's just too mature for his eleven year old boy antics! Haha.
This was a great opening chapter to your story! I really liked it. Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterNo Holding Back: I

16th January 2016:
Oh my gosh. This was amazing! I've been eyeing it for a while now, since I've never read any Theo/Lavender, and was really intrigued, and as always, your work has blown me away.
One thing about your writing that I absolutely adore is how flawed your characters are. They all have such rich histories, and are so complex and utterly human. They're all far from perfect, and it makes them very easy to relate to. They seem so real, even when they live in a fantastical world filled with magic.
Poor Lavender. I never really liked her character in the books, but I feel really bad for her here. She has to deal with people staring at her scars all the time, and just wants to get away from that. I don't blame her for being hesitant to walk into a room a people who will probably focus more on her scars than who she is as a person.
And I feel just as bad for Theo. His hesitance comes from a different place, and his insecurities are more emotional than physical. It's definitely hard to see someone you used to be in a relationship with, and I totally understand why he isn't exactly eager to walk through that door.
One thing I loved about this was that you didn't make one person's pain more valid than the other's. Lavender and Theo are hurting for different reasons, and their anxiety stems from very different places, but my heart went out to them both because you wrote them so honestly, and without any judgement.
I loved the way they interacted with each other, and I really want to know more about the past that they share! What were they like as little kids who played together? And what was it like for them when that relationship changed during their Hogwarts days?
The end of this was really well done. So many things went unsaid, but they really didn't need to be voiced out loud for either character to understand the other.
This was such a great story, Connor! I really, really enjoyed it. It was great to get back to your wonderful writing!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Moaning Myrtle

16th January 2016:
Hello! It's been a while, but I'm back for more of your wonderful story!
I really enjoyed this chapter. Rose, Albus, and Kenway really reminded me of Harry, Ron, and Hermione in their early years of Hogwarts, and this whole chapter just made me feel very nostalgic.
I thought it was really interesting that Albus doesn't know much about the Battle of Hogwarts. I can definitely see Harry focusing on the good times he had at school and not talking much about the actual war. It's not something he'd want to relive, and Albus is also only 11, so I'd imagine that Harry is waiting to tell him everything since he's so young.
I wasn't expecting Myrtle to make an appearance! Her characterization was really great. I wonder if her bathroom will be big enough to practice spells in?
I hope that Rose, Albus, and Kenway can learn to protect themselves! And that they get Molly's book without things going too crazy!
Just so you know, there's a new chapter of A Spoonful of Sugar up!
This was a great chapter!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello again! It's great to see you again.

Yes, this chapter was very much like the books. We wanted to add some family conflict to Albus' life because he has a good family; but we imagine Harry wouldn't tell his children the amazing things he did, which we could see as frustrating, especially for Albus since he looks most like Harry. Oh, and Albus is 13 by the way, he's in his third year.

Thank you! Myrtle was difficult to write because she's this odd combination of up-in-your-face and staying-in-background, so it is a relief to hear you liked her. And her bathroom will have to do.

Thanks for keeping up with this! It means a lot!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterNine Years: September 1st, 1989

15th January 2016:
Hi Emma! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a great second chapter to your story! I liked that you jumped back in time, so we could see how Lee and Fred first met.
I thought you did a fantastic job providing us with some of Lee's backstory. We know that his father was a Muggle and his mother is a witch. I love that his mother was in Hufflepuff. Maybe I'm just biased because it's my house, but I thought it was great that Lee wasn't starting school with a bad opinion of Hufflepuffs.
Tonks! I love that you included her in this! I forgot that she'd still be at school when Lee and the twins started, so it was a really nice surprise to see her included here! I thought her characterization was spot on! I really liked that she was friends with Charlie, too. That's definitely something I could see happening.
The first meeting between Lee and the twins was really sweet. He's insecure about how he looks and is worried that he won't find someone nice to sit with, and in one moment the twins get rid of all his worries! It was really nice to see that he had a connection with Fred from the time they were young, even if it hasn't developed into something romantic yet.
This was a great chapter! I love you characterization of Lee, and am really enjoying this story. Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie! I just got to your review, embarrassingly late - sorry sorry!

Thanks again for such a kind review though. I'm glad you liked the time jump. I spent a long time trying to figure out what order to put these chapters in, but I thought it would be nice to go back to their first meeting after the intensity of wartime in chapter one.

Love Hufflepuffs :)

Thanks for another lovely review. Let me know if you want to swap again!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterI Hate Care of Magical Creatures: I Hate Care of Magical Creatures

12th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was such a great story! I really loved it. I really like reading about Lorcan and Lysander, because everyone who writes them has such a different take on their characters.
This is definitely the first time I've read a story where one of the twins was really good at Care of Magical Creatures, and the other wasn't. I thought it was a really nice choice on your part, and it makes me really curious about the things that Lysander is good at that Lorcan isn't.
Poor Lysander, always ending up in the hospital wing! I agree with Roxanne, he should just tell his parents that he doesn't want to do Care of Magical Creatures anymore. Even though he thinks they'd be confused or disappointed, I think they'd understand. His mother, especially.
The end of this was really sweet. The little romance that developed just felt so natural and real.
Have you written any more stories about Lysander and Roxanne? If not I think you should!
Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I haven't written more about them, sorry. I knew I didn't want to write the twins as being identical, and that one had to be good with animals and the other not so much. Lysander is not so much scared of disappointing Luna and Rolf as he is of just having them not understand. He wants to go his own way.

I'd never seen a Lysander/Roxie pairing before, but it seemed to make sense to me.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it because romance is not my strong suit and it feels good to have written something that someone thinks feels natural and real.


 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterHitched: Act I

12th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was wonderful! I thought you did a really great job writing Tonks. I realized as I was reading this that I'd never read a story that focused on Remus and Tonks's relationship, so this story was a really nice change from what I usually read.
I thought Andromeda's reaction to her daughter telling her that she and Remus were engaged was really interesting. She clearly wants the best for her daughter, but I also think that scene showed that she could never completely escape some of the values that she was raised to believe. She hasn't met Remus, but she still judges him because he's a werewolf, even if she's only doing so to try and protect her daughter.
The scene between Tonks and her father was so sweet. I loved it. He was so gentle with her, and it was so clear that he absolutely dotes on his little girl. It was one of my favorite parts of the chapter.
I liked that Tonks convinced Remus not to worry so much about what other people think of their relationship by reminding him that their love is all that matters. It was really sweet and really important for him to hear, I think.
Kingsley's best man speech was really great. I loved that he talked about Remus causing some trouble with James and Sirius back at school, and that he talked about how Tonks showed him that he was worthy of love.
Molly had the sweetest reaction to finding out Tonks was pregnant! I thought you did a great job showing the mixed emotions that she had in that scene. She's happy that she and Remus are going to have a baby, but also worried that it's not the right time, or that Remus will react badly. It wasn't all happy and fluffy, which I thought was very realistic.
I thought this was really great, and I really enjoyed reading it! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks Cassie. Remus and Tonks are one of my favourite ships and I am so happy that you liked it so much. Another chapter shall be coming up soon so do be on the look-out.
:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Quidditch Tryouts

10th January 2016:
Hello Andrew! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really excellent chapter. I always like reading chapters that focus on Quidditch, because I find them hard to write, and always really admire people (like you) who can write them well.
I really liked the way you structured this chapter. We got to see the full Quidditch try-outs, and see the way Olivia runs her team, but still got Rose's feelings about it all throughout the chapter. She has some sass! I was surprised that she talked back to Olivia during try-outs, because it could hurt her chances of getting on the team, but I guess her one-on-one conversation with Olivia took care of that!
Olivia definitely does not seem like someone I wouldn't want to mess with. She takes her team very seriously, and doesn't tolerate any kind of back talk. She's tough, and isn't afraid to hurt people's feelings or step on too many toes. She does what needs to be done to put together the best possible team for Gryffindor.
I figured Rose would do better at her Seeker try-out than her Chaser one. Just because she said she was a better Seeker from the start. I was wondering how you'd handle the fact that Albus was so good, since he's in every house. I feel bad for him, since he can't play Quidditch at all. Maybe he'll be a reserve Seeker for all the houses or something? Just so he gets some chance to play?
I liked the interactions between Rose and Scorpius in this chapter. She seemed like she was tolerating him more, and she even teased him a little when she hit his arm, even if he didn't necessarily take it that way. And he was a little less formal with her, which was a nice change in how they'd been talking. I'm hoping that this means that they can be more open to being around one another, and can eventually be friends! (Or more than friends?)
Also, I wanted to tell you that your chapter images are stunning! I hadn't seen them before, and went back to look at them all. They're just beautiful! I can't believe you painted those yourself. I have no talent when it comes to visual art, so I always really admire people who do!
This was a great chapter! I'm looking forward to reading more. Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the swap, I always like swapping with you because: one, I like reading your stuff; and two, you leave me such wonderful reviews.

I found going into this chapter to be a bit daunting. I needed to say all this stuff about the quidditch trials, but I knew that it might be a lot for a reader to chew through. So as I was going, I had to explore a bit about the personalities of the characters. For instance, the character of Olivia was not really planned except that I knew I wanted her tough, very quidditch orientated and to be a daughter of the Wood we knew of from the books. All of that stuff you mentioned came from putting what I wanted in that situation and letting the logic of it develop her character.

Yep, Rose is a good seeker, but Albus is just in a class of his own. We shall have to see what becomes of his seeker dreams shan't we ... actually you won't have to wait that long; there is a solution to be found and it will be along very soon.

The relations between Rose and Scorpius will be an ongoing dynamic; it will be up and down as the years progress. For now it has entered the stage where Rose has to get over her knee-jerk dislike of him that happens every time she sees him, and get on with him straight after. She has no choice really because, being friends with Albus, it means that she will be seeing a lot of him, like it or not. You will notice that he becomes less formal as a direct relation between Rose being less obnoxious towards him.

Thanks for the praise of the chapter images. I have really tried to keep them in keeping with the chapters. I really hope that I will be able to keep up the standards to which I have set myself.

As always it was a pleasure swapping with you. As of this chapter the story as a whole has had 5536 reads and this chapter has had 204, thank you all.



 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterThrough The Darkest: A Case Worth Waiting For

10th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was a really great first chapter! I really enjoyed it, and I think it sets up your story really well. You do a nice job of introducing your main character without getting bogged down in too much description. It's weaved in throughout the chapter, so we can focus on the plot while also getting information about Cress.
I thought the opening of this chapter was really great. It was mysterious and left me with questions, so I want to keep reading to get some answers. I'm assuming the woman was Ginny, but what potion was she getting, what does it do, and why did she need it? Is that the reason she went missing? Did she want to disappear, or did she know she was going somewhere that might me dangerous when she left a note saying she might not come home? You've definitely got me curious!
I like Cress as a main character. Her choice of a career shows that she's tough, and can handle difficult situations, but her conversation with Hermione also shows that she's compassionate, and remembers that she's dealing with really people who are going through something really sad.
Oh, she's going to talk to Teddy! I bet that will be interesting.
You've definitely piqued my interest with this story! Your opening chapter is great, and I really enjoyed it! Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterNine Years: May 1st, 1998

9th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was excellent. I don't read many Hogwarts era stories, but I really, really enjoyed this. I loved that you chose Lee and Fred as the focus of the story. I haven't seen many stories with Lee as a main character, so that was a really nice change from what I usually read!
I thought it was great that you brought Oliver and Katie into the story. I never thought too much about what happened to them when I was reading Deathly Hallows, so I reading your interpretations of them and where they are during the war was really interesting! I loved that you had Oliver talk about Quidditch on Lee's show, and how Quidditch players were helping in the fight against Voldemort. It's something that I never considered before, and think it's a really nice detail that adds to the depth of your story.
Lee and Fred's relationship was wonderfully written. It's really believable, and I love that they started as friends before it turned into something more. It's clear that they have real feelings for each other, and are really concerned about one another's safety. I thought it was sweet how Lee was so worried about Fred being out and about when he should be in hiding.
The end of this chapter was really great. It's just enough of a cliffhanger that I want to keep reading, but also wraps up the chapter really nicely.
This was great, and I really enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! Thanks for such a lovely review :)

I've never read or written Lee before, but I'm really enjoying it. I'm glad you enjoyed him.

And I've been desperate to write about Oliver and Katie for ages so this is super fun - I have them together in 'Complicated' but wanted to look a bit into what they were like at school.

Thanks so much for all your thoughtful comments - let me know if you ever want to swap again :)

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterBedtime for Luna: Bedtime for Luna

6th January 2016:
Hello there! I'm here for our review swap!
As soon as I saw this story on your author's page, I knew I wanted to read it, and I'm so glad I did! It was absolutely lovely! I've never read another story here that focused on a character getting ready for bed, but I thought it was really interesting!
I thought this totally fit Luna's character. I'm not at all surprised that she keeps a kneazle for a pet, and loved the mention of garden gnomes being good luck, like her father tells her in Deathly Hallows.
The moment with her sons was so sweet, and I loved that they were all snuggled up together. Luna talking to her mother about Rolf while she brushed her hair was absolutely lovely, and she and Rolf together were really cute.
This story just radiated peace, and I loved it! Thank you for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review swap, also! I'm glad you enjoyed reading this. I kinda specialize in writing Luna, and I'm always happy to hear I got her characterization right, as she can be tricky.

So peaceful is what I was going for with this. Happy with her family, missing her mother still, and at peace with her life.

Glad you enjoyed it.


 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterRise of the Phoenix: The Gathering Storm

6th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this was a really interesting start to your story. I like Aurora, and think she's a really interesting OC. She seems very tough, and a little jaded, and I don't see a lot of characters like that, so I find her really intriguing. The way she interacted with Theo, who was trying to keep things upbeat and positive, really showed that she isn't one to force on a happy face just to please other people, and that she'll look after herself first and foremost.
I love that she's a Curse Breaker! I haven't seen that very often in stories here, either, so that's another aspect of Aurora that makes her really interesting to me.
I want to know what happened to her brother! It seems really fishy to me that no one knows anything about how or why he died. Was he in the Order maybe? And got killed by Death Eaters, so the Ministry is trying to keep it quiet? That's my guess!
I was not expecting that train ride to go the way that it did! It seemed totally normal (except for the crazy storm outside) and turned into something totally intense!
Am I correct in assuming that the werewolf was Greyback? The way he went after that little girl was so creepy and terrifying! I'm glad he didn't hurt her! And it's a relief that the girl's father and Theo were both fine.
One little thing that I thought was really nice was how you incorporated 1970s fashion into the story. I loved that Aurora seemed a little unsure of the clothing and hairstyles that the Muggles were sporting.
I do have one little CC for you. There are some sections here that are all dialogue, and I think you could expand them a little by adding some description. Just so we know what's going on in Aurora's head while she's talking to Theo. Otherwise this was a really nice chapter.
Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi, sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I apologise, been a lot on. I am delighted you agreed to a review swap, I am reading through a couple of your pieces now.

Thanks for the lovely and constructive words.

I appreciate that you were able to buy in to what I wrote, both in terms of its setting and relatively dark story.

Also Aurora is a joy to write, so the praise is great, thanks :)

I agree about the dialogue issue. Problem I have is that I find it dialogue REALLY HARD, so what I tend to do is construct it like a play and then bolt it on to my story. But that has problems - as you have smartly recognised.

I may go through and give this chapter a bit of edit, slim it down a bit and perhaps move some of the description into the conversation. Currently writing chapters 6 and 7 right now so we'll see.

As for plot details - no comment :)

Cheers for all the words, I will get back to you with my review of your work(s) within the hour. Pleasure to do this :)

Best,

Nick


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterSupernova: Fire Alarm

6th January 2016:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was excellent. I really, really enjoyed it. It's a really short first chapter, but it totally sucked me in to the story you're telling. I think your OC is wonderful, and I really want to learn more about her. What is she going to do with the time she has left? How are the Wizarding World and magic going to come into the story? This is definitely and intriguing start, and it really sets up your story well.
I love the idea of a person who doesn't have a lot of time left to live going out with a bang. Instead of trying to stretch out the time she has left, but be bedridden for all of it, Amanda is going to live the rest of her life to the fullest, even if she doesn't have a lot of time left to do so. I really admire her for that, because it has to be terrifying, knowing that you've got less than a year to live.
This was a really wonderful start to your story. Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: Threats

27th December 2015:
Gabbie! Hello! It's taken me far too long to get back to this story but here I am!
THIS CHAPTER. I feel like every chapter of this story gets more and more intense, and I just get more invested every time you update it. The whole conversation between Blaise and Draco was terrifying. I seriously thought Blaise was going to kill him! Draco can really be an awful person, and I don't blame Blaise for hitting him after some of the things he said!
I was surprised that Blaise warned Draco about Maximus and the rest of Astoria's family. I don't know if it was because they used to be friends (sort of?) or if he just thought it was the right thing to do, but I really liked that you chose to have him do that. I think it says a lot about his character. He HATES Draco after what he's done, but he gives him fair warning anyway. It's very noble of him.
I'm really nervous about what Draco will do in retaliation of Blaise's claim to Astoria, though. I really hope he doesn't get Death Eaters involved!
I thought the end of this chapter with Astoria was really great. We got to get back into her head a little bit while she just sat with her thoughts, and had a moment of calm after so much chaos.
It nearly broke my heart when she was thinking about how much her brother has changed. I loved his character at the beginning of this story, and he's not that person at all now. It's really tragic, and just shows how toxic their father is to all of them.
The end with Blaise was sweet. She saw him sleeping and hoped that he could have a moment of peace.
This was a great, if really intense, chapter! I can't wait for more!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterLying Josephine: Nice to Meet You

5th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! I'm back with another hot seat review for you!
This was another wonderful chapter! I think every new chapter I read becomes my favorite. I'm getting so invested in Josephine's character and there are so many things about her that I want to know! I'm definitely hooked on this story!
I loved reading Josephine's interview with Fred. Their personalities are so, so different that it makes for a really interesting dynamic between the two characters.
I felt so bad for Josephine when she sat in the chair and it farted! I wouldn't expect anything less from the Weasley twins, but I know that if I were in her position, I would be just as embarrassed! I'm also pretty shy (though not as shy as Josephine is), so if something like that happening to me I would blush like crazy and not know what to say!
I thought the fact that Josephine rehearsed what she was going to say in her interview was so relatable. I've definitely done that before!
I was not expecting George to come in! And poor Josephine's feelings were so obvious to Fred. I'm glad that he agreed not to tell George in the end, though. He can really see that Josephine does love him, and I think it says a lot about him that he's not going to interfere, but also that he won't lie to his brother if George asks about Josephine's feelings.
I know I said this before, but I have to say once again how incredible the dialogue in this story is. You do so much in the interactions between Fred and Josephine, even though she hardly speaks. It's really amazing that he can read her so clearly, and I love the way they communicate with each other, with him speaking so much and her so little.
I never really thought about the shop opening back up for the first time after the war, but I'm really not surprised that it was so crowded. It got so popular so quickly that I bet people were waiting for it to open again. But I bet Josephine had a hard day with so many people around.
I can't wait to continue on with this fantastic story! I also added it to my favorites!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterLying Josephine: Promises, Promises

4th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! I'm back to leave you another hot seat review!
Oh my gosh, this chapter was even better than the last one! We got to know Josephine a little more, which was lovely. She's a brilliant OC. She's really different from all the other characters I've read on this site, and I love her already. I think she's fascinating and I want to know more about her! You've hinted at something happening to her family, so I'm definitely curious about that. Am I right in saying that that's part of the reason she doesn't talk much? I thought making her so quiet was a really nice choice on your part, because while it may cause some people to overlook her, I think it makes other people pay even more attention to her, to try and figure out what she's thinking.
The way she and Fred interacted was so fantastic. He does all the talking, but in no way is it a one-sided conversation. Just because Josephine doesn't say much out loud doesn't mean that she's not responding to Fred and letting him know what's on her mind. They're really sweet together and I think it's great that he wants her to tell George how she feels. He knows that if she takes that chance it could lead to her being really happy, and will give her a little push towards that happiness if need be.
Fred's funeral was so sad. I was not ready for the pictures by his casket! I think it's so wonderful that there were pictures of him with his family there, so they can look at them and remember the good times they had with him.
My heart broke a little when Mrs. Weasley and George were crying together. I can't even imagine what they must be going through, and if I were in Josephine's position I think I'd feel the same way she does. Like I was intruding on a private moment.
Josephine's goodbye to Fred at the end of the chapter was so sad. But I think it's wonderful that she said she'd keep her promise to him. It shows the strength of their friendship, and how important he was to her. She's willing to step out of her comfort zone because it's what Fred wanted.
This was a fantastic second chapter! I can't wait to keep reading!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterLying Josephine: Introduction: Boxes

4th December 2015:
Hi Tanya! Happy hot seat!
This was such a sad opening chapter! But I'm also really intrigued! I want to know more about the main character and her relationship with Fred. And, of course, I want to know what she lied about and why she started lying in the first place. I'm assuming that it just started out as a little white lie, and then spiraled into bigger lies, but I'll just have to keep reading and see!
I haven't read tons of stories that take place right after the war ends- usually it's been a few years- so I'll be really interested to see how that impacts your characters. The whole Wizarding World is trying to cope with losing people they loved and also rebuild since Voldemort has been defeated.
This was a great introduction to your story, and I'll definitely be back to read more!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterTransparent: The Green Dragon

22nd November 2015:
Gabbie, I need more of this! You picked the most interesting spot to end this chapter! It's the perfect cliffhanger, because I have to know what's going to happen next!
I could totally picture everything inside the Green Dragon. I can't blame Dom for wanting to look around and stare at everything in a place like that, where everything is so luxurious and grand! Hopefully she didn't look to naive or out of place, though. She has to make people believe she wants to be there.
She hasn't had to be too lovey with Teddy yet, even though he did sneak a few kisses, but I have a feeling that she's going to have to really work to make people believe that she's his fiancee and wants to be with him.
I think Teddy seemed very protective of her, and it was almost sweet to see the way he was looking out for her. He knows that she's nervous and is trying to make things as easy for her as possible.
OH MY GOSH TIBERIUS. I have to know, does this take place before or after the events of Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince? And he's the one with the pocket watch! I'm so intrigued! I just need more to read!
I hope you update this story soon! I absolutely love it! I think that aside from A Force of Wills, this one is my favorite. I just love Dom, and think the way she and Teddy's relationship has developed is fascinating.
This was an amazing chapter and I can't wait for more!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for attacking this chapter right away! That makes me so happy because I wrote this all at around five in the morning so there were a few things that I wasn't sure about. :D

I had a lot of trouble picturing the Green Dragon, I couldn't quite get the image that I wanted for some reason. I looked at a lot of pictures of gentleman's clubs (not strip clubs, mind you), mansions, dance clubs and even mansions to get the feel of this place just right. There are still a ton of details about it that I didn't write but I think I will in the next chapter.

I think the appeal of the Dragon is that everything is so shiny and new, it's impossible to NOT be distracted. I don't think Dom was prepared for that but whether or not she fits in will be something that I play around with in the next chapter. I wanted this one to be longer but because I was so sleepy, I decided to cut it short. On the plus side, I get to do more in chapter thirteen!

I didn't get a chance to have Dom being very lovey dovey with Teddy yet but that will come into play soon too. He snuck in a few kisses but they'll really need to be more convincing if they want people to believe that they belong there.

Teddy is doing the best that he can at the moment, he's trying to protect Dom but at the same time he has to put on an act too. I honestly think that he cares about her more than he's willing to say, they had quite a few little moments in this chapter that hinted at how he might feel.

TIBERIUS! A lot of people haven't been reading Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince so seeing him again won't come as a surprise. This story takes place a year before Albus Potter and the Dark Lord's Prince. I may be wrong but it might actually be two, since Abandon takes place a year before it as well. Hm.

Anyway, Tiberius is the one who has the pocket watch! The details as to why and how are things that I'll include in the next chapter but I plan on updating soon! I hope you like the next chapter too, it's going to be pretty intense!

A Force of Wills is next!

Thanks so much!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterRuins: Ruins

20th November 2015:
This was absolutely brilliant, Gabbie. This was a really, really wonderful piece of writing. I just wish there was more! I saw that they story is complete, but I definitely think you should consider writing Pansy and Draco again, because you've written them brilliantly so far!
I loved Pansy's character, in particular. She's so obnoxious when she's at school, that I've always found her really annoying, and the fact that you could change my opinion of her shows how well-written this story is. She's not the girl she was when she was younger, and has turned her back on her family. That it itself has to be so incredibly difficult, but then you see her struggling financially as well, and working to keep a roof over her head and food on the table, and it just shows how far she's come.
I loved the way she and Draco interacted. She still cares about him, even if she doesn't have romantic feelings for him anymore, and really wants to see him get better for his family. He was really nasty to her, but the fact that she didn't back down says a lot about her character.
The way she interacted with Benjamin was so sweet. I loved that she was able to calm him down, and it was so sweet that she came to love him so quickly. I thought it was really wonderful of her to decide to help Draco. She can see that he has potential, and that he could be happy if he works for it, and she's going to help him get there, which is amazing.
This was a really fantastic story. It's definitely one of your best!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you a ton for stopping by and leaving me this great review, I was so worried about this one-shot! I have been thinking about extending this but I've got so much going on that I don't think that I'll get a chance anytime soon. I had never written Pansy before so I was scared that it would be pretty hard but she turned out to be a really great character! Her dynamic with Draco is just so wonderful to write.

It's not a perfect relationship but that's what I like the most about it.

I think that Pansy has been through a lot since the War was over. She had to grow up quickly and with the relationship that she has with her parents, she really didn't want to end up regretting never following her dreams. I wanted to go into more detail about how hard she had to struggle to stand on her own two feet but it would have taken too long and I think that I'll save that for another story.

Pansy still cares about Draco but I don't think that they're anywhere near romantic. I figure that she just wants to be a loyal friend because she knows that he has potential to be a great person.

I really love the moment that Pansy had with Benjamin too. Her love for him was what sparked her need to make sure that Draco got better and she wants to be there to make sure that it happens. The three of them have this chance to be a real family and I wanted to leave this one-shot on a hopeful note.

Thanks so much! :)

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterAlmost: Almost

20th November 2015:
OH, MY HEART. GABBIE WHY DO YOU ALWAYS DO THESE THINGS TO ME? IT'S JUST TOO CUTE AND I CAN'T HANDLE IT.
I love the way you write George and Angelina together. One of my favorite things about this story was that we got to see them when they were still at school together as teenagers, which is a time in their lives you haven't explored as much as when they're adults. It added yet another layer to their relationship, which I thought was really wonderful.
The thing I loved most about this was the fact that they're still friends at this point. They aren't romantically involved, and have never talked about their feelings for one another, so they just keep being friends, even if they do like each other. You show George struggling with his feelings, especially towards the end, and I think that that captures this whole period in their lives really well. He loves her, and he knows that he loves her, but he isn't going to tell her because he's not completely sure how she's going to react.
I thought it was so sweet when he noticed that she'd done her hair differently and she started blushing. I love that you give Angelina these softer, more vulnerable sides, especially when she's around George, because we so often see the tough parts of her in JKR's writing.
This story was so wonderful and sweet, and I just loved it.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

It's always so great to see you, Cassie! You're the best and I'm so happy that you liked this one-shot! :D

I like writing George/Angelina a lot but I've never really written them like this before. I never got a chance to explore this side of their personalities so it was a fun challenge for me to write them in a way that showed how innocent they were. I think that you can really see how close they are in this one-shot too, you know that George loves her of course but you can see more of their friendship too.

George struggling with his feelings for Angelina is actually something that I think has bothered him for a while. I play around with it in The Two of Us (Another story) and it's clear that he's scared of not only being rejected but just not being strong enough to love her completely.

Hahaha. George noticing that her hair is different and the little things just shows how attuned to her he is. If Angelina started wearing new perfume or socks, he would probably notice too.

Angelina is actually pretty sensitive and I really wanted to show that she's not just this tough, spunky girl. She's a normal girl with normal struggles and her guard is only down when she's around George. Her vulnerability around him softens her enough for you guys to see just how gentle she is underneath it all.

Thanks a ton for this awesome review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterEternity: Eternity

15th November 2015:
Hi Jayde! I'm here for the November Review Exchange!
THIS WAS SO CUTE. OH MY GOSH. I loved every second of it. I thought you did a wonderful job writing Harry and Ginny. They went through so much when they were younger and fighting in the war, that I always love it when people write stories about them that just focus on their love for each other, and keep things simple.
This story was so sweet, and Harry is such a kind, loving husband! He gave Ginny such a meaningful gift, and it's clear that it's something she's going to cherish for the rest of her life, and it's something that they can add to as their lives together go on, and their love just continues to grow.
I loved your descriptions of the different pictures in the book. I could really picture every milestone for the Potters, and I loved that Ginny got to relive all those happy memories.
The end of this was just the cutest thing! Lily was so adorable! I think the sweetest part was when she asked if she could have some of Ginny's breakfast. You did a great job writing such a young child!
I think this story was so lovely. You did an amazing job showcasing Harry and Ginny's love for each other, and kept things short, sweet, and simple. You didn't overdo it, and really let their love shine through and take center stage. You did a wonderful job with this!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie!! *Squeals* THIS REVIEW MADE MY WEEK! THANK YOU!!

This is actually my first attempt at Harry/Ginny, so I'm really glad you think I did a good job with it! I'm a sucker for a Harry/Ginny also - they really DID have to overcome a lot of obstacles to be together!

This was actually my first attempt at pure fluff, also, and it was for a fluff challenge, so I'm happy you thought it was sweet! I'm so glad you liked the gift, also!

Thank you SO much for your comments about the description! I'm so flattered! And your comments about little Lily as well! ♥

I am SO happy that you enjoyed this and I just can't stop squeeing about this review! THANK YOU!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>