Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
708 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterIts a very common crisis: New Year, New Crisis

16th March 2014:
Hello!
I thought this was a great start to your story! I really love how you write James. I got a clear mental picture of him right away, and I think his thought process is really entertaining to read! The thing that really stood out to me from this chapter is the way James interacts with his friends. I think the dynamic between James, Matt, and Fred was really realistic and fun, and they all have really distinct personalities that go together in a really interesting way! This was a great opening chapter, and you've got me curious to see what happens next, so I, going to keep reading! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Thanks for the review! I'm glad to see that you enjoyed it. Its good to see you found James and his friends entertaining.

Since this is my first fic I was so sure it was going to come out stiff and horrid. It's nice to know some people actually are enjoying it.
So thanks (again)

SB


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterTransparent: Sister

15th March 2014:
Hi Gabbie!
Wow this chapter was long! I'm actually kind of tired after reading all the emotions you packed into this chapter! Although, I expect Dom feels a lot worse than I do! I loved how she got to spend some time with her cousins and aunt and uncle at the beginning of this chapter. Life with George and Angie seems like it's the polar opposit of life with Bill and Fleur. I hope we get to meet them soon, because I'm really interested in seeing how you would write them! I love that Teddy got in trouble with George and Angie and that they wrote to Harry and Ginny, too. He deserves it after everything he's done to poor Dom, and they don't even know about that! I wish Molly knew so she could smack him again! He's just so awful, I don't know how he lives with it! I'm also really scared for what he'll do next, because he definitely doesn't understand that there are line she shouldn't cross! Hopefully someone will be able to help Dom! Oh, maybe Logan Rookwood can?
And the after Dom got home I loved how she and Louis were together! The way you write him is so different from how I do, and it's really interesting to read! Your Louis seems really sweet and I really like him already! And then there's Victoire... That argument between Dom and Toire was crazy! I felt so bad for Dom when she found of that Victoire had just gone to a party, and that she's being blackmailed because of what her sister made her do. I really hope Victoire stops being so mean and can realize how lucky she is to have Dominique as a sister! I did feel bad for her during that little moment when she was talking about how much pressure people put on her, but I think she's handled it in the worst way possible, and could really get hurt because of it! But I think she's too mean toDom for me to really pity her... I guess we'll see how she continues to act in future chapters!
This chapter was an amazing, emotional roller-coaster, and I loved it! I'll let you know when I update something, and I'll keep checking back for updates from you! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Cassie, its always a pleasure seeing you back after so long. I'm sorry that its taken me so long to actually update this story, first of all but that doesn't mean I've forgotten about you! Hahaha.
Anyway, I have NO idea why this chapter was so long. It wasn't meant to be but I'll make sure to hold back on the content next time so I don't kill you all with the feels. Hahaha.
Anyhoo, I like writing about the contrasts Dom faces with her parents and her cousins. It puts her life into an interesting perspective and you know how I love writing about George and Angie. They're my bias you know. Hahaha.
I will be writing about Bill and Fleur in the next chapter, hopefully. I've never written them before but I hope it turns out all right. Oh, Teddy is about to get the beat down, especially once his Gran, Harry and Ginny get on his butt. It won't be pretty.
And isn't he just awful? I adore it. Hahaha. I think he's going to realize that Dom can't be so easily bent into what he wants pretty soon. ;)
Teddy won't stoop to Draco creepiness or evil but...he'll be bad. Really, really bad. :3
Louis was a good character to write for this time around. I'd written him before but I scrapped the idea and settled on this instead, he's such a sweetheart.
Victoire, oh, Victoire. She's terrible and I think it showed in this chapter. You can't feel much empathy for her after what she's done but at the same time, it opens up a good dynamic between her and Dom later on.
Victoire is mean to Dom because she's secretly holding back on other, nastier emotions. I'll get to that soon too!
Thanks for this review! T-T
I miss your work! I hope I'll be able to catch up soon!
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterIn Absentia: In Absentia

12th March 2014:
Hello!
I saw that this was for a Jane Austen quote challenge, and I love her, so I immediately decided to check this out! I really, really loved it! I think your take on Ginny and her relationship with Harry was wonderful, and I really liked that we saw it at different stages. I smiled when she remembered the singing Valentine she sent Harry, but also loved how you wrote about what it was like for her when Harry was off hunting Horcruxes. I think you did a wonderful job showing that Ginny misses him, but she doesn't get overly emotional thinking about him. That was very true to her character, and just added to the whole image I got of her. The end of this story was definitely my favorite part, though. I never expected Ginny to be remembering all of this after she died, but finding that out added yet another layer to her character. Again, I loved that she wasn't overly emotional, because her character never struck me as someone to cry at every little thing, and I think Harry being more of the romantic really captured what I think their relationship would be. The pacing of this story was wonderful, and I didn't catch any grammar mistakes, either. All in all, this was really great and I definitely enjoyed reading it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie! Aw, thank you! I am so glad you liked the different stages to their relationship , the silly and the sad and the happy, and that you thought both of them seemed in character - especially concerning each person's romantic-ness. That is so wonderful to hear as I'd never written Ginny (or Harry) before, and I'm so happy that it did sound like them!

Thanks, I'm glad you liked the end - and that it was a surprise, haha. I think it even surprised me when I was writing it. :p

ooh, that's great to hear about the pacing, too - this fic is pretty short so I'm glad to hear it doesn't feel rushed.

Thank you so much for this amazingly nice review! ♥


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterAnywhere: October-November, 1979 - Consequences

4th March 2014:
Hi Sam!
I am really loving this story so far! I love your take on Bellatrix, and I think the way you write her internal struggle is fantastic. She's such a complex character, and I love that you've given her another side for us to see! I'd like to know more about Loren, too. And what's going to happen with the baby, of course! Great work as always! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie!

You give me such amazing compliments, you're so awesome. Thank you! I'm glad you like Bella and I hope you continue to, as well as her decisions in this story.

You will know more about Loren. It's kind of hard to when the story is focused on Bellatrix and is in her PoV, but he will have his moment soon. :)

The baby... now that's a surprise. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterAnywhere: October, 1979 - Riddles

2nd March 2014:
I'm back for chapter two, and I loved it! The way you write Bellatrix and Loren together is fascinating, and I love reading their interactions. He's so confident and the fact that he isn't afraid to talk back to her or be a little sassy is really interesting to read! He definitely has guts if he's going to taunt someone like Bellatrix when he can't defend himself! But the fact that she hasn't snapped yet is also really interesting! I can't wait to see where the pair's relationship goes next! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie!

Loren feels as though he has nothing left to lose, so he's allowed to talk back and be sassy. Unfortunately, for him, Bellatrix isn't killing him like he wants her to. He fascinates her too much.

Thank you so much for leaving a review

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterCivil Conversations: Civil Conversations

23rd February 2014:
Hello!
I really loved this! The conflict between the sisters at the beginning is really interesting to read, because I've always imagined Andromeda to be very sweet, and reading her as someone who has this much anger towards her sister was really different, but I really enjoyed it! I loved that you were able to make the relationship between the sisters feel really real. I could understand why Andromeda didn't want to talk to Narcissa, but at the same time could see why Narcissa was reaching out to her older sister. Also, the way Andromeda starts to forgive her and see the good in her at the end of the story was really nice.
There was one tiny spelling mistake I noticed- you had "that basted war" instead of "that blasted war"
This story was really great, and I really enjoyed it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you! Fixed the mistake. I'm glad their relationship came through properly and that you could see both sides and I've very happy that it felt real to you. Thank you for the review.

 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterBad Blood: Five

22nd February 2014:
I can't believe it was Snape! Even though he said the same thing he wrote in the letter, I honestly was expecting anther curveball so it wasn't him!
This chapter was really interesting to read! I loved the way you wrote Snape, and definitely agree that there's mental illness there. I really liked that you gave his character that aspect, because it made him really fascinating to read after knowing that he committed two murders in cold blood.
This story was awesome, and I hope you write another one with the same kind of suspense that this one had! It was great to get back into your work again! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterBad Blood: Four

22nd February 2014:
I have to go finish this story right now. 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterBad Blood: Three

22nd February 2014:
Oh my gosh. That conversation with Snape... But I don't think he sent the letter, because I think you're trying to make it seem like he did so I'm distracted and won't know who really sent it. Hmmm... I guess I'll just have to keep reading and find out! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterBad Blood: Two

22nd February 2014:
This chapter was even better than the first! I love the dynamic between the four boys, and I think you write them brilliantly! The conversation James overheard was really suspicious, and I can't wait to find out more! Now to chapter three! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterBad Blood: One

22nd February 2014:
Hello! It's been a while, but I'm back to read some of your lovely writing! I thought I'd visit your author's page and this story jumped out as soon as I saw it!
I am so intrigued!!! I want to know who sent the letter and how on earth James is going to find them! I would have no idea where to even start looking, and he's promising to find the person within a week? Well, if anyone's going to do it, it might as well be James Potter! I'm really excited to see where you take this, especially after the end of the chapter! I'm off to read the next one now! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterWords Unspoken: Words Unspoken

22nd February 2014:
Hello!
I am so glad I saw this one-shot! I haven't read a lot of stories that are centered around Petunia, so I was intrigued when I saw this, and you most definitely delivered! You wrote Petunia beautifully, and it made me really sad for her reading all the things she almost says to Harry. I could feel the connection she once had with Lily, and her regret and pain from losing her, even though she tries to cover it up. Petunia felt so real in this, and you gave her character a lot of depth that we rarely see when she is depicted in JKR's writing. This was a great story, and I really enjoyed it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much. You just made my day, f.y.i. I really felt that there was more to Petunia than J.K. Rowling wrote about and I wish she had expanded upon her feelings. Alas, that is not the case, so I wrote it for her :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterThe Safety of the Shadow: Leaving Your Comfort Zone

22nd February 2014:
Hi Sarah!
I thought this was a really beautiful one-shot! I loved that it centered around the shadow of Hogwarts and what that has meant to Rose. It was really unique and interesting to read and I think you did a fantastic job with it! One line in particular that stuck out was "It had seen her laugh and cry, scream, shout, and simply just be."
That was gorgeous! Your writing is really lovely, and I enjoyed this story a lot! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!!

Thanks so much! I'm so glad that you liked it! Thanks so much for leaving a review!! I was a lot of fun to write!

Thanks again hon!

xoxo Sarah


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterHamartia: ....

19th February 2014:
Hello!
I saw you post a link to this story on the forums and came to check it out! I thought this one-shot was really brilliant. Even though it's short, I think the length lends itself really well to the story. The last moments of someone's life, particularly when they're painful and a struggle, are something that seem incredibly brief, yet drawn out. You captured that beautifully, especially in this sentence- "It feels like hours, but you know it can't have been more than mere minutes."
That line had such a powerful simplicity to it, and it really made me feel like I was in the mind of this character, experiencing what she is going through. Overall, I thought this was a really well-written piece, and I'm so glad I read it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I'm so glad you did! I really wasn't super happy with this but decided to post it anyway, so this review and the fact that you liked it means so much to me! You've seriously made my day, thank you so much! :D

- Faith

P.S: sorry for the late response, things have been crazy busy for the last couple days!


 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterDraw, O Coward: Draw, O Coward

17th February 2014:
Hello!
So I read this one-shot and thought it was wonderful. Your descriptions are fantastic, particularly the part about the cloak falling to the ground. It was beautiful and I could picture is so, so clearly in my mind. I loved how anxious the narrator was, and how he was fighting what he had to do. I got to the end and was really glad that I chose this story to read. And then I read the author's note which said to read the story backwards. Which I did. I am really, really impressed! I don't think I could write a story that's brilliant whether you read in from top to bottom or bottom to top! I've never read a story like that, and yours has set the bar very high!
The flow (when reading it both ways) was wonderful, and you did a fantastic job creative such a vivid story in so few words. There weren't any grammar mistakes that I caught, either. This story was really cool, and I loved reading it! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterAnywhere: September, 1979 - Beg

15th February 2014:
Hi Sam!
I loved this! You write Bellatrix really well, because you've definitely captured how crazy and impulsive she is, but you've also given her this other side that's been fascinated by Loren. I love how she wants to understand why he keeps fighting, but how she covers that up to try and intimidate him. I'm really interested to see where you take this, and can't wait to read more Bellatrix! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie!

Ahh, thank you. I'm sure I've got her down as crazy because I'm crazy. :P I'm glad you like the other side to her, I'm trying to keep her in character while also making her 'canon crazy' for the challenge. :D

I hope to finish the next chapter in a day or two. Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterLifeless Diamonds, Porcelain Hearts: Lifeless Diamonds, Porcelain Hearts

13th February 2014:
Hello!
I really loved this one-shot! I haven't read too many stories about Astoria and Draco, but I loved the way you wrote them in this one-shot! The contrast between the faked exteriors and broken interiors of both characters were really well done. I loved seeing that Astoria was desperate for an escape from life, and finally gets it in the end. And Draco's proposal followed by the letter were spot on. I think the fact that they are so similar in all the ways he says makes them a good match for each other, and I can see them really loving each other after this. I only wish the story went on longer! This was really great, and I enjoyed reading it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm generally a Dramione shipper, and when I was assigned this pair for a challenge, at first I wasn't sure what I was going to do. But then I got the idea of Astoria being in a dark place and unhappy with her seemingly-meaningless life, and Draco helping her, and the story kind of just evolved from there.

I do think that Draco would be very messed up after the war, and that was an idea I wanted to explore. I'm so glad that you thought it was realistic!

I love the letter too--I think it's my favorite part of this one-shot, so I'm so glad that you liked it. :)

I'm so honored that you gave this story a 10/10, and that you even wish it were longer! Originally, I thought that this would be the end, but I like them together so much that perhaps I'll write a sequel one-shot. Who knows?

Anyways, thank you so much for your kind words. I really appreciate them!

--TheSortingHat


 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterNED: 1

11th February 2014:
Hello!
I really loved this story! The Princess Bride is one of my favorites, so I loved reading the book and movie quotes that were woven into this story! I also loved the way you wrote Molly! She was really fun to read, and seems like someone you'd want to be friends with! And Teddy stuck out to me, as well. He was really funny, and I loved the way you characterized him! Wonderful job! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi!

Yay! I'm glad you liked it! I love the Princess Bride too, so writing this was amazing! Ergh! Molly is soon becoming my favourite Next Gen character, so I'm glad you liked her! And yay! I'm glad you liked my characterization of Teddy!

Thank you so much for this review! It was really sweet!
Lo:)


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterBig Meanie: Big Meanie

9th February 2014:
Hi Sam!
This was so cute! It was really fun to read, and I loved seeing Al and Lexi as little kids! Al's voice as a six year old was so believable, and I loved that he had an issue with hugging people. Little kids often have things that they're very particular about, and you captured that so well! This story just made me smile, and I'm so glad I read it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey, Cassie!

Albus is so much fun to write, no matter what age, but young Al is such an adorable germaphobe.

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterAt Midnight: Mirage

9th February 2014:
Hi Gabbie!
Wow, this chapter was wonderful! I really didn't know what to expect from this story, since you just started, but I really am loving it so far! Molly feels very, very relatable for me, and I think you've written her incredibly.
I get such a sense of who she is from this chapter, which is awesome, especially since you started right in the middle of the action and wove introductory details throughout. I thought it was really interesting to see her with Teddy, since the only other person I've really seen him with in your work is Dom, and she and Molly's feelings towards him are polar opposites. Reading about him from the perspective of someone who loves him and has had her heart broken by him is fascinating to me, particularly since he's such a jerk to her! But way to go Molly for giving him a good slap! It's quite an empowering feeling to do that when the guy you smack has been acting like a jerk to you!
And then we meet Ethan (even if we don't know his name yet)! Yet another smooth guy that you write so perfectly! You practically had me blushing just because I wasn't sure what to make of him! He just sweeps Molly right off her feet! I hope he isn't just messing with her, though... I guess I'll have to wait and see...
You've got an incredible start to another story that I already love! I can't wait for more! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Its always lovely seeing you again and I'm glad that I finally have the time to respond to your review! Real life has been a real pain and its kept me away from this for too long but now that I have a little time, here we go! :D

Molly is a new type of girl for me, she's not at all like Roxanne and Lord help us she's nothing like Astoria either. I think she's more of a girly girl than the others but there's something so grounding about her, she's very rational, very sharp and she has all of these lovely flaws and challenges that make her amazing for me to write.
I have never really started a story right in the middle of an action scene like this before but it was a great change and of course, we get another look at Teddy through someone else's eyes.
Bwhaha, Dom's feelings for Teddy are seeped with revulsion and it is nice to read about someone who actually finds him attractive and cares about him. I'm not sure how that might play out later on though!
Molly is her father's daughter and well, she has to get her temper from somewhere, right? The fact that she slapped him is such an Audrey thing to do as well, though I'm sure her mother would have punched him...
Anyway, Ethan!!! OMG, Ethan! I love him already, he's going to be such a great character for me to write in the future. He's going to sweep Molly off her feet but things might not go as smoothly as you might want them to. Do they ever, in my stories? >:D
Thanks for another great review my dear!
I have to get back to reading your work too. By the way, Audrey and Albus both have fresh chapters so until I'm back to updating A Force of Blaise and Abandon, check those out if you have time!
Thanks again!
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: Secrets

8th February 2014:
GABBIE. GABBIE OH MY GOODNESS I'M SPEECHLESS.
This chapter... And the end... Blaise... Stori... Maximus... the end with Draco.
Wen this chapter started out I honestly had no idea where you were going to take things, and Stori's father just continued to make me feel so awful! He does so many horrible things with no mercy whatsoever, and I don't understand how he can be so cruel while being so nonchalant about it! And Scorpious isn't any better! The change between how he was at the beginning of this story and how he is now just makes me really horrified! It shows how much control Maximus really has over his wife and children, which is terrifying! I'm so impressed the Stori had the courage to leave when she knows how much her father is capable of!
Then when she and Blaise got to Hogwarts, and he was being so charming and cute and I LOVED it, I thought they were finally going to get some peace! I was curious to see how Draco would come back into the story, but I never expected what actually happened! I thought it was going to be at least a day later, when Stori was alone. I never thought he would attack Blaise and actually drag her out of there!
Speaking of which, OH MY GOSH. I'm really scared for Stori right now, because I don't think Draco understands the concept of "too far." Plus, they were on their way to her private dorm, so there probably aren't going to be a lot of people around, and Draco just covered her mouth so she can't scream, and BLAISE IS UNCONSCIOUS. You have just made me melt into a nervous little puddle of feels!
I can't wait for you to update this story after that cliffhanger, and I hope it won't be too long until I get a new chapter to devour! This story is incredible, and I can't believe how often you keep surprising me while I read it! Just when I think things can't get any worse for poor Astoria, they do! I need more to read!!! Wonderful writing, as always! Please update this as soon as you can! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

I am so sorry that I'm just now getting back to this review. I've been really busy and things have been crazy lately but here I am and this is about to get intense! Hahahahaha.
This chapter too me forever to write, I went through a lot of different versions before I was finally able to get this right. Maximus is just the worst but what's sad is that Scorpious is sort of turning into his father and that was so awful for me to write, especially since he's so consumed with rage.
Stori had to get out of there or else she would have been completely devoured by the insanity that was in that house and I'm glad that she finally got out of there too. I had been wanting to get them out of the house for a while but hadn't quite managed to do it right. I'm glad that it worked out. D':
Oh, Blaise! Isn't he just the most perfectly acharming person in the world? I love him to death. But right as you thought that they might get some peace, things just get worse for them! Muahahahahahaha.
Draco has been going through his own sort of insanity and in the next chapter, he really does show what he's capable of. I hope you won't be too scared...he's just going to be a little naughty, though that could mean all sorts of things with him. >:D
Blaise is unconscious and that means that Astoria is in some serious trouble! How will she get out of this?! Hahahahha. I'm sorry that you turned into a puddle of feels but I was sort of surprised that I was still able to breathe after it was over. HAHAH.
This chapter...the feels...
Anyhoo, I'll be updating this pretty soon so I hope you stay tuned and patient!
Thanks so much, as always!
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterAbandon: After Shock

8th February 2014:
And I'm back! This chapter was even better than the last one! They just keep getting better and better but also more and more intense! If I was Roxanne I definitely wouldn't be able to keep my composure like she's doing now!
I loved the opening of this chapter with Roxie and Molly! They're so fun together, and I love reading them! Their relationship is so, so believeable, both as cousins and best friends. They balance each other out really well, and it makes their interactions really fun!
I feel bad for Molly, since she feels like she'll never find someone who will like her! And because I think she sometimes feels overshadowed by Lucy, even though she's younger. I hope she finds someone who will make her happy!
Speaking of Lucy, she's a riot! I hope we see her again soon, because she's wild compared to the other girls we've met so far in this story! (Except for maybe Victoire) And Dom is one of my favorites, because the way you write her is so interesting and different from any characterizations I've read of her before.
OH MY MERLIN THE END OF THIS CHAPTER. I don't even know what to say about Ben! He gives me chills sometimes, just because I'm so anxious for Roxie! I have a feeling she's going to be alone with him again very, very soon...
This was another wonderful chapter, and I can't wait for you to update this story! I'll let you know when TFD is up and ready for you to read! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Its great seeing you here again with your reviews, they're always so lovely. These chapters were very difficult for me to write but I'm glad that the intensity stayed with you! I was having some trouble with this chapter in particular. It never quite worked up right to what I'd wanted it to be!
Roxie and Molly are so different that its easy to imagine them as best friends, you can understand their love for each other and also what keeps them together. :D
Molly is going through a lot at the moment and you're right when you say she feels overshadowed by Lucy, she thinks that no one will find her attractive. She's got some growing up to do!

Lucy is hilarious! If you were ever wondering who was more like Audrey, then here's your answer. HAHAHA. She's very fun to write for and we see her again, though not as much as I would like but I love her already. She shows up in Transparent soon as well, so look forward to that!
Oh, Dom...she only gets more interesting as this story goes. Just wait until Teddy Lupin gets involved...hehehehe.
BEN!I don't know what to say about Ben either, aside from the fact that I adore him. He's so terrible but he gives me the chills sometimes too, why do I write him the way I do? Am I secretly a perverted man? HAHAHAHA.
Oh, Roxie and Ben see each other again but I'm not sure if I want them to be alone or not. Oh, the possibilities...
Thanks for the review, I'll have to pop on over to TFD soon too. :D
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterAbandon: Crash and Burn

7th February 2014:
GABBIE. WHY ARE YOU SO GOOD AT PLAYING WITH MY EMOTIONS?
This chapter was amazing! I LOVE reading Roxanne and Ben together, because there relationship is so all over the place!
The fact that you put in another flashback is really nice. I think something that stands out about this story is that you show so much contrast between Ben and Roxie as kids and then how they treat each other now that they're teenagers. I love the way that they're friends regardless of their differences, and that they don't care what people say about them. There's this wonderful innocence to them that you capture really well.
And then we have Ben and Roxie as teenagers. It's this fantastic emotional roller coaster that I adore reading. I feel so bad for Roxanne with the way Ben messes with her, but I also pity him. You've given us really small hints at his vulnerability, but he covers it up so well that we rarely see it!
I'm so, so curious about what happened when we went away! You keep teasing us with that but I want answers!
This chapter was really brilliant, and I can't wait to read the next one! I'm working in the next chapter of TFD, and there's a Christmas one-shot that I wrote that I don't think you've read yet if you have any interest in checking that out.
It feels so good to be back to read and reviewing your lovely work! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HELLO!

Its good to see you back and I'm really sorry that it took me so long to get back to this review. FORGIVE ME! Hahahah.
Ben and Roxie's relationship is just one big mess of emotion and I'm glad that I was able to write this scene finally.
The flashbacks are really important to tis story, a lot of people just skim over them but they really show how things have changed between the pair since they've grown up. I want to really play around with that, a lot o what happens in the past sort of hints at what happens in the current chapter.
Ben has a vulnerable side but he's afraid of showing it to Roxanne, for various reasons. He's going to change slowly but surely and I hope you stick around! :D
You'll find out sooner or later what made Ben and Draco leave the country but I've got other things to do first so hold on tight!
I'm going to get to TFD soon, I promise and let me know when ASOS is up too! I miss it!
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterThe Deathly Children: A Funeral

29th January 2014:
Hi teh!
I saw this story in the Hufflepuff Common Room and decided to come check it out! I'm so, so glad I did! I absolutely love it!
I love the letter at the beginning of this chapter! It was so thought-provoking and almost uncomfortable, since Albus is being called out on all of his mistakes and broken promises. We're being forced to think about him in a way that's not enjoyable, because he hasn't grown into the good person we have seen when he's older. It's another perspective on what Albus has done with his life, which is really, really interesting to read in first person!
I also loved the conversation between Albus and Bathilda. He really doesn't want to keep talking to her, and I can just picture how tense and awkward that conversation was for him. The lack of grief is also really striking. I was kind of unsettled when you talked about how he smiled when people started arriving at him mother's funeral... The image of that just made me shiver! Haha.
And then we met Ariana! I adored your descriptions of her! The way you talked about how she can feel the magic in her blood was fascinating to read! I can't wait to see more of her!
This story had such an intriguing start, and you've done fantastically with it! I'll definitely be reading more! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: CASSIE! ♥

Ahh, wow, what a lovely surprise review! Thank you, thank you! I'm so glad you decided to give this story a chance! Awww, your comments have reduced me to a melty puddle - I don't know where to start!

Flawed Albus is definitely what I was trying to write. He can't always have been his perfect twinkling self, as depicted in the books, and he does indeed have plenty of weaknesses. I love knocking characters off their pedestals and really examining them in detail. I'm glad you were unsettled, actually! Not that I like scaring you, but because, I did achieve some sort of effect. This story is going to be an unsettling one, at least for me to write. Albus really does follow his mother's teachings, and he places a lot of stock in facades and public appearances, hence his disapproval with Aberforth.

And I'm excited to write more about Ariana as well!

Thank you for the fantastic review, Cassie! ♥ ♥ I'm so glad you enjoyed this and I hope to see you around again! Much love.

teh


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: Sibling

17th December 2013:
Hi Gabbie!
Oh my goodness. I absolutely adore this story. It is so wonderfully written! I can't get enough of it (not just because I LOVE Blastoria :D), and I'm so excited to see where it goes from here!
I got chills through probably this entire chapter. The beginning with Scorpious was amazing, and the change from how he was in the first few chapters to how he is now is mind-boggling! He was so sweet and caring when we first met him, and now he seems like a completely different person! It really shows what being a part of the Greengrass family can do to someone, and I'm happy that Astoria is trying to get out of there before she's totally stuck!
Then there's Maximus... He is so terrifying. The way that he always keeps this cool composure while toying with the idea of killing people is so scary! You've created such a layered character through that, because we're never really able to tell what he's thinking, and he can say one thing but mean something else entirely! It's a good thing he and Rowena never met... Imagine how scary that couple would be!
I love, love, loved the end of this chapter! The moving engagement rings were a bit unsettling, but it was the moment after that that's sticking with me! We got the reminder that Malfoy is still very much a part of Astoria's life, and I'm really nervous about what will happen when she goes back to Hogwarts! (I have to be honest, I'm also kind of excited just because I love the way you write Draco)
This chapter was really incredible. Your characters are fabulous and the plot always keeps me guessing! I can't wait for the next chapter! I think ASOS is up next for me... I'll let you know when I figure that out! Haha. 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HellO!

I'm glad to see you again and its so great to see that you're still in love with the story, it means a lot to me! Scorpious goes through the most changes aside from Astoria in this story and it was really hard to write for a while because I'd loved his character so much in the beginning. Watching him become slowly more like their father just gives me the chills!
Astoria is trying to get out as soon as she can but there's still so much that she can't let go of, her love for her siblings and mother will be something that she won't be able to forget.
Maximus Greengrass is perhaps the most terrifying character I have right now. I mean, I really have to get into the zone when I'm writing him and its a lot tougher than you might think! Technically, he would be considered a sociopath if you wanted to get a name for why he's so calm and controlled about what he does. There's no real warmth in people like that and its great to write but I sort of have to take a deep breath after writing his scenes.
You'll never be able to tell what he's thinking and it only gets worse from here...
God, he and Rowena would probably be best friends! How horrifying is that?!!
The moving engagement rings will play a bigger part at some point but oh, dear! That ending...Mr. Draco Malfoy is getting ready to show up again and I can't wait to see what you'll think about him! God, I've missed writing him...hehehehe.
Thank you SO much for the compliment my dear and I hope I see you around! Albus, Audrey and Abandon are all up so you have plenty to read until we're able to update again!
Much love,
Gabbie


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>