Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
740 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterLife Was Meant to Be Easy Now: An Awkward Dinner

1st March 2015:
Hello!
I read Albus's Story a while ago, and just reread it (in two days, actually) and had no idea there was a sequel until now! I'm so excited for this! I love that this story is from Scorpius's POV, since we got Al's side of things in the first story. I love the way you write them both, and I think they balance each other out so well.
I thought it was really interesting reading this scene from Scopius's POV since we got it once before from Al's. It made things more tense, since Scorpius is so nervous about how his parents are going to react. I thought his mother was great, since she was really trying to make Albus feel included and was putting in a good effort. Draco, on the other hand, was obviously really uncomfortable, and I thought the fact that he wasn't trying to talk to Albus at all really raised the tense atmosphere during the dinner.
I loved the last moment of this chapter when Scorpius and Albus kissed in the snow! I'm really hoping that they can get past people talking about them and just be happy!
This was a really nice first chapter, and I'm really excited to read this story! I'm so happy you're writing more of Albus and Scorpius's story. 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi!
Thanks for reading and reviewing! I'm honoured that you actually remember and re-read Albus's Story!

It's fun to read from Scorpius's POV this time. He's very different from Albus, I think.

I wasn't sure about repeating the first (or last?) chapter from another POV, but I do think it works.

Thanks for a lovely review!


Molly


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterAriana: Ariana

26th February 2015:
Hello! It's Cassie here for our review swap!
I thought this story was so good! I love reading different takes on this moment, because we don't get a totally straightforward account of the circumstances around Ariana's death in Deathly Hallows. I thought the fact that you wrote about how Ariana feels prior to her death, and how she and her brothers are living now that both of their parents are gone was really interesting. I thought the scene when she described what the boys did to her was really awful. It was really, really haunting.
I think you did a really great job with this story! I definitely felt all the emotions running throughout it, and it all felt really intense. 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for the lovely review. =) I'm glad you liked how I portrayed Ariana. Given her mental state after she was attacked, I felt like it was a fine balance. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterPride and Scorpius: Well met on the Hogwarts Express

26th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this story looked really interesting as soon as I saw it in your Author's Page! I love Pride and Prejudice, so I had to come check this out!
I thought this was a great opening chapter. You set up your three main characters very nicely, and I thought you did a really nice job mixing dialogue, action, and descriptions of everything that's going on. I was hooked all the way through the chapter and was really surprised how quickly I got to the end!
I think Albus is my favorite character so far, because he's just so kind and happy! He seems like he'd be a really good friend. I also love your characterization of Scorpius! Since this is based on Pride and Prejudice, and Rose is the Lizzy of the story, then Scorpius would be Darcy. Since Darcy isn't particularly like able in P&P, I was afraid that Scorpius would be overly nasty, but I loved that he wasn't mean at all.
Rose seems like quite the firecracker, and her thought process was so well done! She approached everything very logically, and it really reminded me of Hermione.
This was a really nice start to this story, and I really enjoyed it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi there,

I love P&P too and think it is one of the best romances in the English language. I hope that Miss Austen is not spinning in her grave from the liberties I am taking with her plot line.

Thank you for the lovely and encouraging words - I'm glad you found the chapter so engaging.

Albus is going to be the emotional heart of this story I believe. As the story progresses we will see that neither Rose nor Scorpius will be honest with their feelings - Scorpius because he is not brave enough to express them out loud and Rose because she doesn't know what she feels. Albus is kind and it is a major point when it comes to his sorting. The Albus I am trying to portray is very much like his father, except just imagine how Harry would have been if he came from a family that was loving and nurturing towards him.

Yes I decided upon a Scorpius who is not a proud and arrogant pureblood. I wanted to show as much about himself as his father. If Draco had truly repented of his past actions, then I don't see that any son of his would come to Hogwarts too full of himself.

Rose is Lizzy and Scorpius is Darcy, but I'm afraid, for poor Rose's sake, that it is she who has both the vices of Pride and Prejudice. In P&P Darcy had to overcome his pride so that he could be worthy of the love of Lizzy. Meanwhile, Lizzy had to get over her prejudice, the result of a far too casual an acquaintance with Darcy. In my story it is Rose who has to overcome both. The first to fall will be her pride in a scene (already written) which will occur in her second year (about chapter eighteen or so). Scorpius on the other hand will change, he has to grow up from the frightened timid boy we first see on the train.

Thanks, I tried to get her logicality across. Her initial father-borne prejudice is not the overwhelming factor in her dislike of Scorpius as you saw. Rather she wants to start afresh, but everything she sees of Scorpius just builds up the structure of a new prejudice which is all of her own devising. Everything about him just drives her up the wall, like fingernails down a blackboard. She is too young and naive too know how to deal with Scorpius - especially compared with her rambunctious cousins (Albus is a notable exception to the rest of them, but she doesn't see yet how similar Scorpius is to him, just with a different background).

Thank you for the swap and the great review.

Andrew.
Oldershouldknowbetter.


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterinfinite (we swear): post life

26th February 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I thought this story was really interesting to read! I've never read anything like it. The only stories I've read that are kind of similar focus on Lily after her death, so I loved that you focused on James, and how he looks down not only on Harry but also on his friends as the years pass after James has died.
I think you did a wonderful job putting real emotion into this story. When James was watching Harry laugh and said that his death felt worth it, it nearly broke my heart. Being able to see your child but not touch them or speak to them has to be the hardest thing in the world, and I really felt for James in that moment.
I loved the flashback to the Quidditch match at the beginning of the story, and thought you did a great job capturing the relationships between the four boys. Overall I just thought this story was really great. Nice job! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterThe Best Day of My Life : The Best Day of My Life

20th February 2015:
Oh my gosh, that actually made me cry. That was one of the sweetest stories I've ever read. I love reading Scorpius/Albus so I was really excited when I started reading and saw that that pairing was a big part of the story!
The way you characterized them was wonderful. I thought that they balanced each other out really well, and love that Scorpius literally pushed Albus into talking with his parents because he knew that Albus would feel better once he had talked to them.
The dinner scene was so well written! And I did not see that plot twist coming AT ALL. The whole time I was thinking that Al was going to tell his parents that he's gay and then he said he wanted to start a business with Scorpius and I did a double take! I had to read it again to make sure I got it right the first time! Haha, Once they really started taking about it, though, I thought you showed Al's passion for opening the hospital beautifully.
And then the end happened and I cried. That proposal was so lovely! And then fact that Scorpius was going to propose, too, was awesome! I just wanted this story to keep going! It was a wonderful read. Thank you so much for asking me to review it! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

20th February 2015:
Hello! It's Cassie here with your promised review!
I thought this story was absolutely wonderful. I love writing minor characters myself, so I think it's awesome that you chose to write about Eloise!
I felt so bad for her at the beginning of this. To be bullied so badly can seriously affect someone, and it made me really sad to see how people's cruel words made Eloise see herself as inferior. But then Justin stood up for her! Good for him.
I wasn't sure where things would go after that, but then when he came and sat with her in the common room I just got really happy! He genuinely wanted to talk to her, and was being so kind. Plus, he got her to come out of her shell a little bit when they started playing Wizard's Chess.
But my favorite part of this story was when Justin convinced Eloise that she was beautiful. My heart just got so happy in that moment! He was able to make her see that she should have confidence in herself, no matter what other people say, which is a wonderful, important thing for people to remember. Also, the fact that it positively change the way she saw herself was a lovely way to end the story.
This story just made me feel really warm and fuzzy, and I'm SO happy you asked me to review it! Lovely, lovely work! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie,

Thank you so much for leaving me such kind words. It fills my heart with happiness that your enjoyed the story, particularly because this was my very first go at writing fluff.

I love minor characters myself. It provides you with an interesting person, but a lot of room to develop them the way you want. Throughout the HP books, every time someone would mention Eloise, I couldn't help but imagine a quiet, shy girl who was downtrodden. When I wrote this I really wanted to develop that a bit.

And finally, Justin was really my catalyst for inspiring the growth in Eloise. Ideally, she would've been able to inspire it in herself, but a lot of times in life I think people have a hard time seeing the best in themselves.

Again, thank you for brightening my day with this lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterNumb: I Am Your Worst Nightmare

20th February 2015:
Hi Sam!
So I really loved this one-shot. I'm not totally sure who William is (probably because I'm really behind on Reasons to Smile) but I was able to follow the story, anyway.
I think my favorite part of this was your description of William as a little boy. I was really able to picture that, especially when he's hiding in the closet with his toy soldiers.
I loved that you brought Hugo into this, because I've really enjoyed your characterization of him in your other stories. Reading him as a kid was really cool.
And Theo is back! The fact that he's a huge part of this story without being physically present for almost all of it was a really cool choice of yours. Since I've read him mostly in his role as Lexi's father, I really loved getting to see what he's like when he's working! It was a new side of him that I hadn't seen before.
This story was really great, and I thought it had great pacing! It also just reenforces the fact that I need to get caught up on Reasons to Smile! Hopefully I'll be back to that very soon. Great work, Sam! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterSeven: Seven is the most magical of numbers.

20th February 2015:
What a fantastic one-shot. As soon as I saw this in your Author's Page, I was immediately intrigued! I think the concept of writing the paragraphs in multiples of seven is a really cool idea! I would never have thought to do that, that's for sure!
I love the way you were able to capture Sirius's entire life in such a short story. I really felt like I knew him throughout the entire story. Seeing him go from a young boy to the day he dies was really interesting, I loved the way you were able to put in so much emotion to this story, as well. James and Lily's deaths stood out, in particular. His reaction of just the word no three times seems so simple, but you've written him in a way that those three words carry so much pain and anger and grief.
Overall I thought this was a brilliant story. I've never read anything like it, and am so happy that I got the chance to read it! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Cassie!

Thank you so much for offering to review! And this is sooo sweet! I did work really hard to get all of the paragraphs to exact multiples of 7.

It really amazes me that each review of this story says that a different paragraph stood out to them - and it really makes me smile :)

Thanks again Cassie!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotter(Soul)Mates: Prologue: Mates

20th February 2015:
Hi Amanda! I'm here with your promised review!
I thought this was a wonderful opening to your story. I loved that you chose Hermione as the focus for it, especially since this chapter had some very funny moments, and Hermione is so often characterized as being really serious.
Your description of the changes happening inside the Burrow after the war were lovely, and I could really picture everyone going from being jovial and happy to being subdued.
George and Lee were a riot! They make quite a pair, and they really livened things up as soon as they were introduced into the story. I thought that everyone going out to the Leaky Cauldron was a great way to end the chapter. You can really feel how close they all are, and I loved that you were able to show a moment of fun for them all since everyone has been so affected by the war.
While I was reading the very end of the chapter I thought that it reminded me of How I Met Your Mother and then you said in your author's note that it was one of the inspirations for this story! I love that show, so I think a similar vibe with Harry Potter characters will really make a great story! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! I really appreciate the kind words, and I'm happy you understood what I was trying to convey. I think Post-War fics are often weighed down by sorrow, and I've explored that myself. With this story, though, I wanted to take another route. I wanted to see friends band together to get themselves through the tough times.

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterReasons to Smile: Albus: When Time Passes By

20th February 2015:
I want to know more about the gang members Albus is looking for... You have me so intrigued as so what he's up to! Who did he go see in that office building? Why is the case with the gang personal? Hopefully I'll get some answers soon!
The end of this chapter was so sweet. It's clear how much Albus misses his family and that he wants things to go back to normal, so fingers crossed everything doesn't implode before then! I'm really excited to find out more about what's going on with Al, and I really hope that Lexi is understanding once he finally tells her everything.
If you're still reading my story Holding On, there's a new chapter of that up if you'd like to check it out. I can't wait to get back into this story! Great work, Sam! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterTransparent: Empty

18th February 2015:
This chapter was so brilliant. I LOVE the way you write Teddy! Especially because he's so different from the way I've written him. I have him as this really nice, stand-up guy and every time I read him in this story it just reenforces how different your version is from mine. He's so incredibly complex, and I can't imagine how much stuff is going on in his head in this chapter, in particular. You can tell that selling his father's pocket watch is something he really regrets, and I am really hoping he's able to get it back. Seeing the much more human side of him in this chapter honestly made me pity him, so I think that's why I want him to succeed in getting the pocket watch back. Although, if he does get it then the bargain with Dom is off... Now I'm wondering where the story will go if that happens! You've got me so intrigued!
The end with Victoire and Dom was really interesting, too. Victoire really gets on my nerves, which I think it intentional because of how mean she can be, but I'm hoping that if she ever finds out what Dom has done for her that she'll start being nicer!
I'm really excited to keep reading this story! Your characterizations are so unique, and I love it! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: Need

17th February 2015:
So I don't even know where to start with this chapter. So much just happened and I'm feeling so many feelings right now! AH.
I thought Draco's interactions with his former friends was fascinating, but his little conversation with Pansy was definitely my favorite part of that scene. Throughout it all you can see him trying, and failing, to hang onto this image of being cool and collected and above everyone. He can't boss them around anymore and they all know it. I think the fact that he's trying to use information to keep some kind of status among them is really interesting, and I can't wait to see how the relationships among that group progress. Like I said before, his conversation with Pansy was wonderfully written. She's able to touch a part of him that he doesn't want to think about, because that part knows that Pansy is right, and that he's going to do a lot of damage that can't be undone if he keeps doing crazy things to get to Astoria.
Then we go back to our trio of rescuers! You wrote them fabulously! Luna, in particular. You really managed to capture the wisdoms that she has because she's so honest in the way she interacts with people. I definitely got the childlike sense of wonder that JKR gives her in the way you write her! I hope she, Ginny, and Neville come back into the story. They added this wonderful spark to things, because they're all so different from one another and from Blaise and Astoria. It's really cool getting to see how Astoria reacts to them, as well.
AND THEN THE END HAPPENED AND MY HEART MELTED. Blaise is so, so in love with Astoria. I just know it. And I know she's worried that he doesn't love her as much as she loves him but he just has to! He's so good to her, and he wouldn't be that protective if he didn't really love her. Also when he called her darling I squeeled a little bit inside. It was such a perfect little moment.
I can't wait for more of this! I know it took me AGES to read this chapter but I'm sticking with this story until the end. It's one of my favorites, both of your work and on the site as a whole, and I just want to know what's going to happen!!! On my end, there's a new chapter of The Fourth Daughter up and I have a new Hannah Abbott one-shot up, too! Incredible writing, as usual, Gabbie! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotter2% Cotton, 98% Boyfriend Material: Puns

17th February 2015:
Hello!
I saw you post about this over on the forums and wanted to come give it a read, and I have to say, I loved this one-shot! I thought it was hilarious! I thought your choice to make James a little dorky was really funny, because he didn't come off as this arrogant jerk (or as Lily would say, toe-rag) which is how I see him written a lot. I thought the fact that he asked Lily out using a pun was really cute, and I loved her reaction, too. But I have to say I think my favorite line from this whole story was when James said that Moony would be a better boyfriend than Sirius, I just thought that was really funny for some reason!
Overall I thought this was a great, lighthearted story, and I had a really fun time reading it! Really wonderful writing! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Oh my goodness hello! I'm so glad to hear that you loved the one-shot (and thank you so much for leaving a review!)

The default setting for James seems to be that he was this arrogant jerkface, which, I'll admit, I've written him as a couple of times, but after spending so much time on tumblr, I've taken a more dorky approach to his character.

Thank you so much for absolutely awesome review!


 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterWhen It Matters: When It Matters

23rd December 2014:
Hello!
I thought this was such a wonderful story! I love Scorpius and Rose together, and I thought you wrote them so well! I liked that Rose was a Ravenclaw, because I mostly read stories where she's in Gryffindor. Scorpius and Albus's friendship was so well done! I'd like to read more of that! They seem like they're really close, and I loved how well they could read each other. The end of this story was so beautiful. I loved how simple it was. They exchanged presents and a lot of their feelings went unsaid, but it worked really well. They could each tell what the other was feeling, and they didn't necessarily need words to express everything that was going on between them.
This one-shot was really lovely and I'm so glad I read it! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePottera little bit of coolness.: a silky dress and a happy birthday.

20th December 2014:
Hi! It's Cassie here with your promised review! :)
I think you have a really interesting start to a story here! I like Joel so far. I think it's nice that you have her characterized as a bit plain and someone who doesn't care for too much fuss about clothes and her birthday and whatnot without having her be really angsty and hating every second of it. It's not something I see much of. She just seems quiet and not likely to draw too much attention to herself, which I liked. I wish I had gotten a little more information about her family, but I'm assuming that's coming in later chapters?
There were just a few little typos I noticed, but they weren't enough to take away from the story at all. One was "Mum gilded through the room" and I think you meant "glided" and the other was in the next full paragraph and you said "she was a firm as her husband" and it should be "as firm as."
Other than that you have a nice opening chapter! I like your writing style and I like Joel a lot! Great job! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello Cassie. Thanks for reviewing. :)

Thanks! I think I made a mistake in the opening chapter, saying that the character is Joel. She's actually Rose. It's been edited now. I've changed the "glided" error too. Thank you for stopping by. Much appreciated!

Missy


 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterReasons to Smile: Alexa: When Ultimatums are Made

18th December 2014:
Sam, this story is so intense! I haven't read it in so long and wanted to get back to it, but I forgot how bad things were! I really want to know what's going on with everyone, though. What happened in January? I need to keep reading and find out! Also, I just want to grab Al's shoulders and shake some sense into that boy! Poor Isaac and Gracie :( They need their dad! I can't wait to find out more of what's going on with them all. Also, on my end, I'm working on the next chapter of A Spoonful of Sugar so hopefully you'll get some more Darcy and Louis soon! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Intense is definitely one way to describe this story. More news is coming through as the chapters go on, in fact most are just about posted. Just a couple of chapters and we'll go from having secrets to learning to live with them.

Thank you so much for leaving a review, Cassie!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterA Force Of Wills: Monster

15th December 2014:
GABBIE OH MY GOODNESS THIS CHAPTER.
I forgot how intense things were for Astoria and I was so nervous for her throughout this entire chapter. Once I started reading I could look away because I just had to know what was going to happen next!
I honestly was really surprised at how far Malfoy is willing to go to get what he wants! I thought that he would back off a little or just keep making empty threats but seeing how much he terrifies Astoria really makes me anxious for her. I'm really worried that Malfoy is going to do something horrible to her or Blaise!
I was really surprised to see Ginny, Neville, and Luna at the end of the chapter but I loved it! You wrote all three of them so well, and now I'm really hoping you bring them back into the story! Maybe they can help Astoria and Blaise run away together so they can get married and ride off into the sunset to live happily every after? I hope so, but I have a feeling that's not what's going to happen.
I'm SO happy Blaise is ok, considering everything that's happened! I was so worried about him! He's just so sweet to Astoria and I love the way you write him so much! He's definitely my favorite character in this story.
This was a fantastic chapter and I'm so glad that I have time to get back into your stories! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterReasons to Smile: Albus: When the Damage is Done

17th July 2014:
I don't want Al and Lexi to fight! They're so cute together and when they don't get along it makes me sad. Can't you just make them be a happy little family with Isaac and Gracie and have everyone live happily every after? I'll keep my fingers crossed, but if I know your writing like I think I do, there's a lot more drama before things get better. Great work as always, Sam! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: I don't want them to fight either, but they have to for a while. I'd love to make them a happy family, well have to find out soon. :)

Ooh, there's always drama. ;)

Thank you so much for leaving a review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterRose-Coloured Glasses: Real beaches have sand

17th July 2014:
Hi Jo!
I thought this was a really interesting opening chapter! I actually really like Jean so far. She's snarky and sarcastic and does her own thing, and I think throwing her back in with her relatives is going to make things really hectic and crazy for everyone! (Especially with Vic and Teddy's wedding coming up!) I really liked Dom, too. Even though Jean hasn't seen her in a while and Dom seemed upset with her at first, she did help her sneak her stuff in and make sure they could set up a surprise party for her. I want to see more of those two together, because they have a really interesting dynamic!
That scene with Teddy on the beach was really unexpected! I have a feeling things are going to get really awkward between those two with Jean thinking about Teddy so much before his wedding to her sister. Haha.
I really enjoyed this! You have a nice, strong opening and set up you characters really well! 9/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie!

Aahhh you're so sweet :'D Thank you so much for the kind review!! I'm glad you like the character dynamics. I have a lot of un writing Jean, I'm glad ou like her, and we'll be seeing a fair share of chaos with her thrown into the mix ;)

Thank you so much for taking the time to review this! I hope you stay tuned :)

Cheers,
Jo


 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterIn The Red: Sirius and Severus

13th July 2014:
Hello! It's been a while since I've been on your Author's Page, huh? I thought it was about time I checked up in Beth!
This chapter was so awesome! I loved the meeting in the first part. One of my favorite things about your stories (and this one in particular with the Order and the Death Eaters) is all the minor characters you write. They're all so unique and you have a wonderful way of putting in little details that make me want to know everything about them!
The news about Caradoc Dearborn is really disconcerting! It makes me nervous for everyone else in the Order... I'm also worried about Remus now, too! If he's looking ill two weeks before the full moon that doesn't sound good!
I agree with Beth, it's weird that two of her friends are pregnant when they're all so young! Speaking of, I can't wait to see baby Harry and baby Neville! :)
I loved the end of this chapter so much! Severus is one of my favorite characters that you write, because you give him so many different sides! Since he realized that he cares about Beth, I'm curious to see what he does about it, and if he ends up telling her what he overheard!
This was a great chapter, and I'm so happy to be back with Beth and the gang! 10/10
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterGlass: Glass

13th July 2014:
Gabbie this was incredible! I am so blown away by the quality of this story! Teddy has always been one of my favorite characters that you write, because the way you characterize him is so unique, and this totally reinforced that feeling for me! He is so complex, and has so many sides to him that he doesn't let people see. I find him really fascinating because you've done such a wonderful job making his character so detailed!
Getting some insight into his thoughts in Dominique was awesome! I love how much she vexes him, especially because she isn't even aware of it. They're both just trying to deal with one another, and it's so interesting to read that dynamic! Reading this after having read the chapters of Transparent that are up, it's funny to see that Teddy sees Dom as annoying and arrogant which is just like the way she views him! They are so much more similar than they realize and I can't wait for them to realize that so you can explore that some more. Speaking of those two, when are you going to tell us what Teddy did to her to make her stutter? I'm so intrigued, especially because Dom totally blames Teddy and he thinks things are partially her fault.
I loved reading Freddie and Teddy together! They have a fantastic friendship, and their dynamic is another that I just adore. Teddy isn't easy to be around, and yet Fred is still really close to him while maintaining his own sense of fun and happiness. The differences between the two are so huge, but they can still be like brothers, and I really love that. Hopefully Freddie can get through to Teddy at some point and actually get a real reaction in return, since Teddy tends to shut down and get angry whenever feelings come up.
I loved getting to know more about Teddy's feelings towards his grandmother! I hadn't thought about how hard it would be for him growing up with someone who's been affected by so much tragedy. It was really interesting to me that his parents' deaths and his grandmother's sorrows is a lot of what surges his hate for Benjamin. The depth to that is so well done!
The end of this story was most definitely my favorite part. I was actually really worried for Teddy when he started walking out into the water, and I really didn't expect Dom to go after him like that! And once she did show up, I never thought he'd come back to shore with her waiting there for him. I loved the connection they had at the end of the story, and that it made Teddy see Dom differently. I can't wait to see how that change affects them in the future!
This story was absolutely phenomenal, Gabbie! This was really brilliant writing! Wonderful, wonderful job! 10/10
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello there!

I'm sorry that its taken me such a long time to reply to your review, I've been pretty busy and everything lately for some horrible reason. Hahaha.

I'm glad that you liked this so much because I wasn't sure if this would go over well, I had thought that I was pushing the limits a little too much with this one. Teddy is a difficult character to write for and I wasn't sure if this would go over well and it took me a long time to finish writing this. I actually wrote this over two months ago if you can believe it!

I wanted to get into Teddy's head and see how he feels about Dom since we always get her side of things from reading Transparent and its funny how they're so similar. He finds her so aggravating and annoying and she thinks the same thing about him, its an interesting look into their future relationship I think. Neither of them will like how similar they are but I can't wait to write those scenes, I sort of have an idea for a major part in the next chapter but I'm still fleshing it out. D':

I will explain what Teddy did to make Dom stutter in the next chapter I think, so many people kept asking me about it and it needs to be done. Hahah.

Fred and Teddy are basically blood brothers, there's not too much that they wouldn't do for each other. I wanted to do a bit of a contrast to show just how different they were and what sort of turmoil was going through Teddy as he talked with Fred, who tends to be the sort of person anyone can just lean on. I think that no one can really get through to Teddy besides Fred but even he can be pushed back when Teddy feels like he's being threatened.

I hadn't explored Teddy's feelings towards his grandmother much but I thought that growing up in a place with so much grief couldn't have been healthy all the time. And, of course, it is a major reason for why he hates Benjamin but that's a story for Abandon, I didn't have too much time to put it into this story. Hahha.

Teddy's near-suicide was difficult to write because I wasn't quite sure if I would be able to go through with it. I am glad that it was so well-received, however and I hope that you all will forgive me for scaring you nearly to death. Hahaha.

Dom's reluctance to leave Teddy changed something between them and I think both of them were surprised by it. They're in for some surprises...

I think that I'll have to mention this in the next chapter for Transparent too, just to clear up a few things about it since it is a companion piece.

Thanks so much for your review, as usual, you're the best! :')

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

11th July 2014:
Hello!
This story was so wonderful. You write Remus and McGonagall incredibly well, and I loved seeing how their relationship changes throughout the story. One of my favorite details you added into the story was Remus not being able to call her Minverva. That was so funny to me, especially because I'm the daughter of a teacher, and while I call so of my teachers by their first names, my friends think it's the oddest thing, so I get why Remus would feel weird about it! Haha. The moment where Remus and McGonagall hugged was really lovely. It's so rare for her to show her softer side, and I think if it was going to make an appearance around anyone, it would be Remus! That moment between them was really nice to read, even if they were comforting each other over a loss that they both shared. I thought this story was absolutely fantastic, and I'm so glad that I read it! Wonderful job! 10/10
Cassie :)
*House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterEvent Horizon: Infinity.

9th July 2014:
Hello!
This was so interesting to read! It was unlike anything I've come across before, and I really enjoyed that! I liked that you never named the character. It added to the sense of mystery I got while reading this, and kept me intrigued throughout the entire story. The descriptions of the narrator's nightmares were gorgeous, and so vivid. The image of the never-ending road and the cakes covered in cracked icing stuck out to me in particular. The way the narrator feels like she can't escape her nightmares is really realistic, and I loved the way you captured her relief when she finally does wake up. I thought this was a really beautiful piece, and I'm so glad I read it! 10/10
Cassie :)
*House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotter(Event Three) Moony's Memories: One.

9th July 2014:
Hello!
You did a wonderful job with this story! I always love reading stories that are focused on Remus, because he was always my favorite of the Marauders. The memory you wrote was fantastic, because all four boys and McGonagall were spot on! I loved their puns, and the fact that McGonagall herself was trying not to laugh when they said that they'd been jumping into the Black Lake naked. I think you did a wonderful job taking their friendship and having it carry through the rest of the story, even though Remus has lost his friends by the end. The fact that those memories are still so alive in him is really wonderful. I thought the end was brilliant, too. Your description of Remus seeing the curse coming towards him while time slowed down was gorgeous. This was a fantastic story, and I really enjoyed it! 10/10
Cassie :)
*House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi, Cassie! My sincere apologies for how late this reply is!

I'm so glad you like this story, I really enjoyed writing it. The puns were definitely my favourite part, rubbish humour is the best type of humour :p

Thank you so much for all of the lovely compliments, Cassie!

Dee :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterWordless: Wordless

9th July 2014:
Hello!
I'm so glad I read this story! I thought it was really interesting to read about Hannah, because I also wrote about her. I loved your take on her life, and how she and Susan stayed so close over the years. The fact that Hannah has just lost Neville and is so devastated over it shows how much Susan means to her by the way she stays with her and is just there, not trying to make her do anything she's not ready for. Their friendship was beautifully written, and I had such a clear image of them sitting together. I loved the way you described how their lives played out after the war, and how they were constantly there for one another. It was such a realistic friendship, and it felt so natural, that it made everything in this story that much more poignant. This was a wonderful story, and, once again, I loved the way you wrote Hannah! 10/10
Cassie :)
*House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

I really enjoyed your story about Hannah too, so it was great to get this review and see what you thought about it!

I'm really pleased that you thought I captured the friendship between Hannah and Susan well. I felt so mean writing about Neville's death but I'm glad it seemed realistic for Susan to be the one there for Hannah when it had happened.

Thank you so much for this great review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>