Reading Reviews From Member: CassiePotter
  
891 Reviews Found

Review #1, by CassiePotterWhen I Go Out With You: You Didn't Look 'Round

5th July 2015:
ERNIE WHY? Hannah was so happy and then he had to go and kiss Norma! I also didn't like how he just dismissed Hannah when she brought up polyamory. I know Susan said he was capable of having an adult conversation, but I'm not so sure. I think he's back to being unlikeable, though. And he was so nice for the first part of this story! Well, I really hope that Hannah can move past this and be happy. I'm also curious to see if Neville comes into the story! And if he does, how.
This was another really great chapter, Sam!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Yup, there are the reaction feelings.

I hope that the "change" of Ernie seemed believable. I know that it was a very strong contrast to chapter 2, but because I am writing Susan's direct experience in the moment, it works for me.

The original prompt for this story was to write about Hannah's poly relationships with Susan and Neville. I chose to add Ernie in, and save Neville for when she was a little less broken.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #2, by CassiePotterWhen I Go Out With You: It's A Happening World

5th July 2015:
I'm back again for another adorable chapter! Susan and Hannah make me so happy. Things just seem so simple with them, because they just fit together so well. I loved Susan's outlook on life, too. I think it takes a really special kind of person to appreciate how beautiful life is, and I loved that Susan could help Hannah see that here. She actually reminded me a little bit of Luna in this chapter! I'm a little nervous about how Ernie will react when Hannah talks to him, though.
Great job on this chapter, Sam!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Waking up to more lovely reviews from you is a great way to start the day!

Hm, I think that is a kind of good comparison between Luna and Susan. They are both very calm and accepting about the world around them. Plus, in my headcanon, Luna is poly too.

You are not wrong to be worried about Ernie. Which you already know by now. I'm off to see you reaction to that.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #3, by CassiePotterWhen I Go Out With You: Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows

4th July 2015:
I'm back again!
This was so much fun. I loved the playfulness of it. And I really, really liked the way you wrote Ernie! I never really had an opinion of his character in the Potter books, and the characterizations I've read of him in fan fiction have been rather stuffy, so it was really refreshing to see him written as someone funny and joyful.
I thought he and Hannah were so cute together! I loved how comfortable they were around one another.
Again, you wrote a really wonderful chapter, while keeping it really short. I'm impressed how complete you're able to make them feel when they're so short!
Great job with this!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Oh wow, you reviewed another chapter before I could respond to your first review! That plus all that I was able to get validated tonight makes it a really awesome day.

I'm glad that the playfulness of this really came across! I was trying to mimic the style of the songs with each chapter, and Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows has such a distinctive exuberant sound to it.

Oh yay, I made you like Ernie! Yeah, he's not very likeable in the books. And possibly not always very likeable in this story. But for this chapter, and Hannah's experience of what is happening right now, he is very likable.

I love short chapters. It is a really fun challenge to make myself only say what really needs to say, and it keeps me from rambling and focus on the action.

Yay, so glad you like this!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #4, by CassiePotterWhen I Go Out With You: Fools Rush In

4th July 2015:
Hello! I saw you post about this story over on the forums and wanted to come check it out!
This was some seriously beautiful writing. I think Hannah Abbott is such a character that a lot of people tend not to write about, but I wish more people would, because there are so many directions you could take her in.
I loved how you were able to capture Hannah's relationship with Susan, as a friend throughout their time at school, and how her feelings towards her have changed now that they are seeing each other again for the first time in years. It felt so natural, and it really made me happy to see that Susan's feelings were the same.
This was just such a sweet little chapter, and I really enjoyed it. And the fact that you were able to tell so much in so few words is really amazing.
This was so lovely, and I'm really glad I came to read it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so much! It's really lovely to have somebody review this right away.

I am really glad that you enjoyed this chapter and my characterization of Hannah. I have never really thought about writing Hannah before, but I was given the prompt by Kapa, and got all the inspiration.

This chapter seemed to flow out of me really naturally. I could really feel the things Hannah did, and am glad that I got them across well with so few words and such little dialogue.

I really wanted to approach each chapter of this story as snippets from Hannah's dating life, and I'm glad you think the length of this chapter works well.

Chapters 2-6 are actually already posted because Erica is amazing! I felt so ahead, and I suddenly have to go write more, haha XD

Thank you so much for your review!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #5, by CassiePotterOutsider: The Unexpected Visitor

4th July 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was such a great opening chapter! Your story looks really interesting, and this chapter definitely has me intrigued.
I know that the rest of the story doesn't focus on Dudley, but I actually really liked that he was at the center of this chapter. I think it gives some good background, so when we meet his daughter later on, we know what kind of life she had up until this point.
I really like how you wrote Dudley here. We can see that he's changed, and that he's not the same bully he was growing up, but at the same time, he didn't do a complete 180. There are still things about him- like the way he reacted when Harry said Nora had to go to Hogwarts- that call to mind the way he used to be. I liked that you made a point of saying that Dudley wasn't a good person, but he was better than he used to be.
I also loved the way Dudley and Harry interacted. There was the perfect amount of awkwardness between them, and I loved the little bit of sarcasm from Harry.
This was a really great start to a story that looks really interesting! Thank you so much for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by CassiePotterA Weasley Vacation: Meet the Weasley's!

3rd July 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
This was such a fun opening chapter! I loved that you chose to write from Hugo's point of view. Like you said in your Author's Note, it's not something that's done too often, so I was excited that you chose Hugo as your narrator when I started reading.
I liked the way all the cousins interacted. You could tell that they were all close, but certain cousins were closer than others. Like James and Fred being very close, and Hugo, Rose, and Dom sticking together.
I loved that Albus inherited Arthur's love for Muggles! I've never read him characterized that way, but I really liked it and thought it worked well!
I think the idea of all of the Weasleys, Potters, Scorpius, the Longbottoms, and the Scamanders going on a Muggle vacation can NOT end well. Some kind of crazy magical shenanigans have got to happen sooner or later!
There was one little CC that I noticed- James says who is his favorite niece when talking to Dom and Rose, but he should say cousin if he's referring to them.
Other than that, this chapter was really great. It was funny and so original!
Thanks for the swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

Yeah I edited the 'nieces/cousins' mistake of mine, I'm not a native speaker and messed up there. I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter though, I hope you'll perhaps read on!

Alec


 Report Review

Review #7, by CassiePotterThe unusual tale of Shirley the Squib and Brian the Boggart: The unusual tale of Shirley the Squib and Brian the Boggart

3rd July 2015:
Hi Chiara! I'm here for our review swap!
This was so, so much fun. And so unique! I've never read anything like it before!
I loved that you wrote about two people (or beings, I guess I should say, since boggarts aren't really people) that find happiness and companionship in each other because they're different from their families. I loved Brian's character. He seemed so happy and curious, and I liked that even though his father worried about him, his parents weren't mean to him because he liked to see sunshine and wanted to get out of the attic.
I felt really bad for poor Shirley, though. I can't imagine what it would be like to be turned out of your own home at only seven years old, especially when your twin is getting love and praise.
But the end was very sweet. I'm glad Shirley and Brian were able to live happily together.
I really enjoyed this, and thought it was such a fun story!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!
Thank you so much, I'm really happy you liked this, and that you found it so original and funny! I wanted to do something different for the Children Story Challenge and then the idea for this just popped into my head. I'm just so glad you enjoyed it!

I had so much fun in personalizing the boggarts, and Brian in particular was so much fun to write because he is just so un-boggart-ish! Ihihih!

I know... Poor Shirley... Being ostracized by her own family because she was born without magical powers... But I think it would happen in a Pureblood-obsessed family... In the end the boggarts were more "human" than the humans.

I'm so glad you enjoyed the ending. I wanted them to be happy together and to find their place in the world, even if in an unusual way!

Thank you so much for swapping and for the kind words!!!
With love,
Chiara


 Report Review

Review #8, by CassiePotterPermission: Start Running

3rd July 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
So this was one creepy one-shot! But I thought it was a really fascinating look at Lucius's character. I don't read many stories that focus on his character, so this caught my eye right away.
I liked that you took some time to talk about Lucius's trial, and how he was able to get out of going to Azkaban. I always just assumed he turned in some of the other Death Eaters, and was rewarded for giving names, but I think your idea fits much better. I can totally picture him trying to claim that he was put under the Imperius Curse, and then bribe his way out of jail after a not-so-convincing performance.
I thought second person worked really well for this story, and loved the somewhat playful tone you used in your narration. It made it so much creepier! One line that stuck with me was this one-
Cats love to play with their food first and what fun that would be stalking, pouncing, tormenting, turning loose, only to do it all over again!
That just gave me chills!
I thought this was a great one-shot, even though it made my skin crawl a little bit!
Thank you for the swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by CassiePotterSunshine and Cauldron Cakes : Sunshine Elixir

2nd July 2015:
Hi Stefanie! I'm here for our review swap!
This was so much fun. I loved every second of it! I think you do such a great job of writing Scorpius and Rose, and loved that you wrote about Ron and Scorpius meeting for the first time.
I felt really bad that Scorpius felt so guilty for hitting a bludger at Rose! If I was in his position, I'd feel awful, too, but since he and Rose said Quidditch didn't affect their relationship, I don't think she'll hold it against him.
Rose was hilarious on those pain killers! I could totally picture her getting all giggly. I thought it was really funny when she said Scorpius was great at snagging and started talking about what he looked like without his shirt. But I think Ron's reactions were the best part. If the way he acts around Ginny when she starts dating in HBP is any indication, JKR makes it clear that he's really protective when it comes to the women in his life getting boyfriends. So the fact that he was freaking out so much about Rose dating Scorpius made so much sense! But I liked that he almost complimented Scorpius in the end.
This was such a great one-shot. I really enjoyed it!
Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi Cassie!

Thanks so much for the review!

I love protective Ron, so I just had to write about him meeting Rose's boyfriend, especially if that boyfriend were a Malfoy and it were under the worst possible circumstances.

And he does give an almost sort of compliment to Scorpius at the end, because if nothing else, Ron recognizes Quidditch skill when he sees it. I just want to write a million stories about the interactions between Scorpius and Ron as this relationship progresses, Ron is the absolute best.

Thanks for reading!

Stefanie


 Report Review

Review #10, by CassiePotterShenanigans and Hi-Jinks: Missing the Hogwarts Express

2nd July 2015:
Hello! I'm here for our review swap!
I really loved this. As soon as I read your summary I got really excited because I've never read a story that focused on Fred and Victoire being really close. I feel like people always write Fred and James as best friends, so this was really new and refreshing.
I loved the banter between the two of them. They had such a fun, easy relationship that I felt like I knew them as soon as I started reading. I really enjoyed their argument about who made them late for the train. It's such a sibling/best friend argument to have!
I loved how you set up Teddy and Victoire's relationship. They already seem really close, but adding in the little detail of Teddy have three pictures of Victoire showed that there could be something more there. It felt really natural, and you didn't go overboard talking about Teddy or Victoire having feelings for the other. It was just a nice introduction to what might happen later on in the story.
I thought this was a really great opening chapter! I loved the chemistry between Fred, Victoire, and Teddy.
Thanks for the review swap!
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by CassiePotterThis is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste: The Heat of the Moment

2nd July 2015:
GABBIE WHY DID YOU END THE CHAPTER THERE. I need to know what happens next and if Percy uses magic and Audrey finds out he's a wizard!
Before I word vomit some more about the end of this chapter, I'm going to jump back to the beginning for a minute. I loved the way Percy and Audrey ate pizza together and just hung out a little bit, getting to know each other. It was such a sweet thought, and I liked that you kept things pretty simple there.
I really liked when Percy started talking about his family. I wanted him to keep telling Audrey about them, though, because I was curious to see how he'd describe all his siblings! But I liked that he said his mother would have gotten along with Audrey's mother. I loved that you named her Lucille! Now we know how Lucy and Molly II got their names :)
AND THEN THE END HAPPENED. I was wondering when Joseph Wring would be back, and as soon as he came into the chapter I knew that things were going to get really intense really quickly. I just hope Percy doesn't scare Audrey too badly when he goes after Joseph. Things were finally starting to be good and sort of normal between him and Audrey!
This was a brilliant chapter, Gabbie! Let me know when you have something new up for me to read!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you so much for stopping by again, I'm really sorry that I don't have anything else for you to read. I've been busy lately but there are plenty of things on my flashdrive that are nearly done. It's weird that half of them are so close to being finished... I just haven't had the time to complete any of them and it sucks! Hahaha.

Anyway...

I'm not quite sure what I'm going to do with the next chapter. I know that it went in a completely different direction originally but I may make some subtle changes here and there.

Audrey and Percy eating pizza while talking about their lives was just something that I think this story needed. I made a huge deal about their attraction to one another being physical that I kind of ignored the emotional aspect of it in the original. I wanted you guys to see that they actually DID care about one another and that there was a chance for them to be so much more in the future.

Percy doesn't like to talk about his family but the fact that he did with Audrey, proves that he might be willing to open up. I wanted to leave that conversation open for more because I haven't even gotten to that part in the story on my flash drive yet so it's still pretty much new. I didn't want to add information that I wasn't sure that I would use. Hahaha.

I think Molly and Lucille would have gotten along great! Oh, yes. Molly and Lucy get their names from two very well-loved mothers, I'm glad that you picked up on that! Lucille "Lucy" Weasley is actually something that no one has noticed and the fact that Molly is named after Percy's mother was just something that I always thought was very sweet. It says a lot about him as a person, I think.

YES. The ending! Joseph Wring was destined to show up again and even though I thought it through more, I still feel like I should have built it up more. I'm not sure what Percy might do to him but it's not going to end well for his face. Hahahahaha.

Thanks so much for the review! :')

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #12, by CassiePotterThis is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste: Rich Expectations

30th June 2015:
Hi Gabbie!
Whoa, this chapter was intense! So many feelings! And Percy and Audrey FINALLY TALKED ABOUT THEIR FEELINGS AND ACTUALLY GOT SOMEWHERE IN THEIR RELATIONSHIP. Those two are so stubborn that sometimes I just want to take them by the shoulders and shake them.
I have to say, I was actually blushing a little bit reading all that kissing in the beginning of the chapter! I was surprised things got that heated so quickly! And in the middle of an alley! At least someone didn't accidentally come upon them in the middle of everything! But I was happy that they actually acknowledged that they both wanted the other. But then Percy had to go and say that they shouldn't have done it and that he's bad for her and all that. I'll tell you one thing- I'm SO HAPPY that Audrey finally put him in his place and told him to just suck it up and let himself be happy! If they'd just let go a little and be together then they could be so happy together! Ah so many feelings.
I loved that Percy walked her home. And then when they got to Audrey's flat I thought it was adorable that she asked about his favorite color. I agree with Percy, though. Purple can be a manly color!
And then they started talking about movies and pizza and he was so confused and intrigued and it was adorable. I can't wait for him to see more Muggle technology, and for Audrey to be introduced to the wizarding world. I want her to meet Molly! I think they'd have a great time getting to know each other.
This was a great chapter, Gabbie! I'll try and come back soon for the next one!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: HELLO!

Thank you so much for stopping by again and I'm so RELIEVED that you liked this chapter so much! I had to have Percy/Audrey talking about their feelings eventually and I'm SO glad that their relationship actually went somewhere. It was kind of going down the same road but forcing them into a small space in the dark just brought all of those pent up feelings out. :3

You have no idea how much I was blushing while writing that kissing scene. I wasn't sure that I was doing a good job but I'm so glad that it turned out okay. God, could you imagine if someone had stumbled upon them making out like that?! How embarrassing! There was no way that they could deny that they wanted one another but you're right, Percy DID ruin it by taking a step back and being insecure. He's almost as bad as Audrey when it comes to that. Hahahaha.

The thing that I love about Audrey is that she's very blunt. She's not the sort of person that isn't going to say what's on her mind and her telling him to suck it up is just her style. Hahaha.

Percy's a gentleman. I don't think he would have been able to NOT walk her home and I'm glad that they were forced to bond once again, no matter how embarrassed they were.

Bwhahah, purple is NOT a manly color!

Isn't Percy cute?! Like, I just want to squish him because he's so adorable! I actually sketched a picture of him debating about what he thought movies were and it was hilarious.

Audrey will find out more about Percy's secret life soon! :D I promise!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #13, by CassiePotterSirius Ate My Homework: Did you say that you ate my homework?

28th June 2015:
Hi Tammi!
Oh my goodness. This was so much fun to read! It was such a creative idea, too! You managed to take a classic excuse that has been used tons of times in pop culture and make it something totally new and exciting.
I thought the Marauders had fantastic chemistry in this. Sirius teasing James when he was already so riled up was hilarious, and I also loved the way Remus and Peter fit into the mix.
One of my favorite parts was when Remus told James not to hit Sirius in the face because he'd whine about it all night. That was just so funny, and seemed exactly like something Sirius would do.
I loved the fact that McGonagall didn't even react when James told her that Sirius was the one who ate his homework. I bet by this point, all the teachers are used to the Marauders (but particularly James and Sirius) getting up to all kinds of shenanigans, and not much would surprise them by now.
This was just such a fun story. It really made me laugh!
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by CassiePotterWhere My Demons Hide: There is nowhere we can hide

28th June 2015:
Hello!
This was such a great one-shot. I loved the way you wrote Blaise here. It was fascinating to read how conflicted he was, because he wants to be a better person, and wants Ginny to help make him a better person, but at the same time he knows deep down that it's never really going to happen. He's surrounded by too much darkness, with his friends all being Death Eaters, and even she can't drag him away.
I loved the use of first person, and thought it worked really well here. Since Blaise's feelings are so complicated, first person really helped me to get inside his head while I was reading. I also LOVED your song choice! I thought the lyrics you picked worked perfectly for this.
Overall, this was a really great story. You wrote a really complicated narrator, which I loved.
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by CassiePotterAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Valentine's Day

24th June 2015:
Hello again!
This was such a great chapter! I loved all the craziness of Valentine's Day. Louis is such a ladies' man! That really made me laugh. Especially when he accidentally asked Lucy to Hogsmeade!
I loved that Ella's mother made cookies for the Potters/Weasleys. Also, Ella just seems really sweet and kind.
Oh my goodness! Destruction in France, an arrest, and a mysterious Dark wizard leading the group behind the attacks! This is getting more intriguing by the minute! I can't wait to find out more about all these new developments.
It was great to get back to this story for a bit! Nice job on this chapter.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: We had the idea to have Louis always be with some girl and when we started writing this we had an idea to have him accidentally ask Lucy so Molly could attack him.

I (Georgina) loved using Ella and I believe I was enjoying some cookies while writing this chapter so--that's how the cookies made it in there.

And the mystery continues on!

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #16, by CassiePotterForgettable Me: Forgettable Me

20th June 2015:
Hi Tanya!
I thought this story was absolutely wonderful. It was just so relatable. I've definitely had feelings for people who never thought of me in the same way. In the end, though, it didn't matter. I was a better person because of the fact that I had feelings for them, regardless of how they felt about me. I think you captured that beautifully through Marian and her love for Sirius.
I loved that Marian talked about how Sirius brought out both the best and the worst in her. I think that section of this story seems so simple, but the idea behind it is so powerful. It shows that love is a force that can bring out parts of you that you didn't even know you had, and it shows how complex our emotions are.
I loved that Marian thanked Sirius in the end. That she didn't need him to love her back, but was still grateful for making her feel, even if he never knew it.
This was such a great story, and in so few words, too. I really enjoyed it!
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by CassiePotterFeel Again: Feel Again

20th June 2015:
Hello there!
I really, really enjoyed reading this story. I liked the way you wrote James, because he didn't feel forced at all, if that makes sense. He actually seemed really put together considering what happened.
As soon as he woke up, and was told not to move, I guessed what had happened, but was really, really hoping that I'd be wrong. It's so heartbreaking when accidents like this happen, because it's so fast. It was just a split-second in the middle of a Quidditch game, and it changes the course of James's entire life.
My favorite part of this was the end, when everyone (even the Slytherins!) clapped for him on his way out of the castle. It made me tear up a bit, actually. Especially when James saw his family all gathered together. But it really made me feel good when James said he was no longer feeling alone. When you feel like you have people there to support you when you need them, it makes a world of difference.
I really, really enjoyed this. It's different from anything I've ever read, and it really made me see James in a new way.
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by CassiePotterLast Day of My Life: One

20th June 2015:
Hello again!
I'm feeling so many things after reading this. It was really cute, but also really sad at the same time, and I'm kind of a jumble of emotions right now. Part of me is really happy because of how adorable James and Lily were together, and how James was such a good father and loves Harry so much, but at the same time, I'm really sad because I'm thinking about what's coming.
One thing I really loved about this was the way you wrote James. His voice was so great throughout this, because I think you really allowed his age to come through, if that makes sense. Whenever I start thinking about the Marauders, one of the first things I think about was just how young James and Lily were when they died. I think in this story, you were able to show how Lily and James been forced to grow up really fast as a result of the war, and how they have to watch out for each other and for their son, but they're also only twenty-one, and haven't been out of school and living on there own for all that long. For some reason when James was putting Harry to bed, the way he talked to him really showed both of those things for me. Yes, he's a husband and a father, but he's also still really, really young.
This review got kind of rambly, but it's just because this story made me feel so many feelings! Haha. It was a really great one-shot, though. Nice job on this, Sam!
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by CassiePotterTabula Rasa: One

20th June 2015:
Hi Sam!
So I've had my eye on this story for a while, because I've always thought the summary was really intriguing. I'm really glad I decided to check it out, because this first chapter was so good!
I don't read many stories about Colin Creevey, especially ones that take place during the war, when he dies. I thought you captured his character so well here, especially his determination. If he's willing to follow Harry Potter all over Hogwarts with his camera, he's got to be pretty determined, right?
I think my favorite part about this was when Colin thought about Dennis. I always imagine them to be quite close, so I think it makes perfect sense that the main reason he wants to fight is to make the world safe for his little brother.
At the end of this, when he was hit by the killing curse, Colin's last wish really broke my heart. I think it shows a lot about him that he thinks of his family right before he dies, but it made me really sad that he thought that his father and brother might hate him for dying.
I definitely want to read more of this when you update it, because I want to see how the reincarnation comes into play! This was really great, Sam!
Hufflepuff, House Cup 2015
Cassie :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by CassiePotterThis is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste: Scrumptious

19th June 2015:
Hello!
This was a great chapter! I loved the whole section when Percy and Audrey were sitting in the theater watching the play together. Going to the theater is actually a really intimate experience, because you're in this big dark room sitting really close to people, and it just makes you really hyper-aware of everyone around you. The setting worked really well for this, since both Percy and Audrey are feeling a million emotions at once, and aren't sure how they should act of exactly what they want.
Then there was fighting and yelling, and I was actually really surprised that Audrey didn't hit Percy! He was definitely acting like a jerk, and I can't blame her for walking away, but I was really shocked when he came after her and grabbed her arm!
But then Joseph Wring arrived! I don't remember if he was nasty the first time they met him in the other version of this, or if that was later, but I thought he acted pretty tame for the most part.
And then Percy FINALLY talked about his feelings. I think he and Audrey just need to sit down and be totally honest with one another so they stop getting upset with each other all the time. It's emotionally exhausting for me to read! Haha. But I liked when Percy called Audrey by her first name. And then they kissed! Woohoo!
I think you said they actually talk in the next chapter, so I'm excited for that.
The next chapter of A Spoonful of Sugar is in the queue, so I'll make sure to let you know when that's up.
Great job with this chapter!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by again! The entire thing with the theater was my favorite part of this chapter too. I liked the idea of Percy and Audrey being forced to be that close to one another while also craving each other. You can tell that things weren't going the way either of them wanted but they still WANTED each other. Hahaha.

Audrey was being a tad childish when they were fighting. I was having a lot of fun writing that portion though and I think I might need to have a look at it again because I don't like the fact that Percy grabbed her. It bugs me and I don't want you guys thinking that he's going to abuse her or something.

Joseph Wring arrived! Oh, you're going to get your fill of him in chapter seven so be prepared for that. It's not going to be pretty.

Yes, Percy finally talked about his feelings! He made Audrey listen to him! You know he's serious when he calls her by her first name. I don't think that they could have avoided talking to each other anymore and I'm glad that that kiss happened. :3

I hope you stop by for the second chapter!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #21, by CassiePotterThis is Audrey Tang: The Bad Taste: Sweet and Sour

17th June 2015:
Hello!
I feel like this version of this story is moving much more quickly than the original. I feel like in the other version, they didn't go to the play for a while after meeting one another. But I'm happy that it's already happening!
It does make me nervous for what's to come though. Joseph Wring was not a nice guy, and I don't want anyone to get hurt if they start fighting!
But, like I said before, this version is moving more quickly, which I like, because Audrey and Percy are getting to know each other a lot sooner. I loved how he was fascinated by the TV and wanted to know how it worked. Arthur would be proud! Haha.
I can't wait for them to actually start dating, and I really want Audrey to stop working at the club so she doesn't have to deal with creepy Remmington anymore. Hopefully that happens!
Great job with this chapter, Gabbie!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by again and I hope that you'll stick around for a while longer until I get something fresh up. I'm going to try and get the next chapter of A Force of Wills done tomorrow. I'm torn between that and Transparent right now and Abandon is nearly finished too. I've actually got half chapters on all of them...how lazy am I, right?

Anyhoo, this is moving at a faster pace than the original. I wanted to include a lot more detail about Audrey's life here and I might make some big changes later on too. You should be nervous about what might happen though, I'm sure you remember how awful Joseph Wring was in the original. I've actually put the latest chapter in the queue and I'm dying to know your opinion on it.

It's not quite the same as it was before! Bwhaha, I think Percy would seriously marry that TV if he were able to. Oh, don't worry! Audrey and Percy actually come to an understanding in the sixth chapter about their relationship. I don't really SAY that they're dating but you can obviously tell that they are. Hahaha.

Thanks for stopping by, dear!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #22, by CassiePotterA Deception: To Deceive

17th June 2015:
Hello! I'm here with your review!
I thought this story was fascinating to read. It was such an interesting take on Andromeda, and her relationship with Ted and with the rest of her family.
It made me a little sad that there was so much time when she didn't really love Ted. It's clear that he loves her more than anything, and I wanted Andromeda to learn to return that love, so they could be happy together, but I also really liked reading the struggle she was going through because she didn't have those feelings.
I actually really liked that she was close to Bellatrix, and part of her missed the life she used to have. Because she does date and marry Ted, obviously she doesn't have all of the same opinions about blood status that the rest of her family does, but there were still plenty of things that she and her sisters agreed on and shared.
I think my favorite part of this story was towards the end, when Andromeda finally grew to love Ted, and was starting to feel happier in her life. It was just a great moment of calm before the second war hit and Andromeda lost so much. It really made the pain and bitterness she felt come across that much stronger.
Overall, I thought this was a really thought-provoking story, and a really interesting take on Andromeda's character. I really enjoyed reading it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for stopping by! :)

Thank you - I really wanted to do a different take on Andromeda, and kinda move away from the whole 'she left her family for love' trope, and into something a little darker, and a little more grey, so to speak, where motives aren't necessarily so sweet and simple.
Yeah, I think it's incredibly sad - but I kinda wanted it to be like that :P I sort of wanted it to feel almost wrong for Andromeda to still be there, and for her to be caught between almost what she should feel and what she does, if that makes sense. But yeah, it's incredibly sad for Ted - I treated him pretty roughly in this :(
You know, I have a lot of pureblood-related headcanon, and I've always liked the idea of Bellatrix and Andromeda being so close before Ted and everything, so I'm so glad you liked it! And yeah, I think it's an easy thing to dismiss, but family means a lot and it wasn't just her family, it was her entire life and a whole lifestyle which is pretty huge to give up...
Haha, yeah, that's probably the sweetest part of the whole story :P The only happy part, really... I'm so glad you liked it, though - I wasn't sure how it would seem amongst the other bits, or how it would work with then the birth of the war and so on.

Thank yo so so much for the lovely review - it was such a great thing to get, and I'm just so glad you liked it (I know it's a bit out of the box for Andromeda)! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #23, by CassiePotterThe Right One Comes Along: The Right One Comes Along

17th June 2015:
Hi Katie!
So I know you didn't give me a story to review over on the forums, but I still wanted to come review something for you, and I'm so glad that I picked this! It was adorable!
I loved Frank and Alice's relationship. Stories about friends who end up falling in love and getting married are always so cute, because I think if you're friends with someone first, you have such a strong base for your romantic relationship to build off of. The fact that Frank and Alice are partners at work, too, helps even more. They completely trust one another.
I thought the way Frank was fighting so hard to get into Alice's room and see her was so cute! And the way they each loved the other but never said anything made me laugh.
Their wedding was so perfect! Even though they planned it in about two minutes, I thought it was wonderful. I especially loved that Alice married Frank with her dad's ring.
This whole story just put a huge smile on my face. Have you written anything else about Frank and Alice? Because I'd definitely read it!
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hi! It's so nice of you to do this. :) I'm glad you enjoyed it! Frank and Alice are one of my favorite couples, and one I have quite a lot of headcanon for. I don't have any other stories about them yet, but they'll probably feature in my Lily/James novels quite a bit. And I have a few stories planned for them! There will be more coming :) Thank you so much for the review!

 Report Review

Review #24, by CassiePotterHaunted: X

17th June 2015:
Hello! I'm here with your review!
This broke my heart. I never really thought about how much Hagrid had to deal with when he was growing up, especially with no parents to help him.
The image of Hagrid finding his father lying dead on the floor was just awful. I can't even imagine how horrible that would be, and I feel so sad that he had to deal with that alone. I really wish he could have gotten help, because trying to cope with nightmares and feeling so alone at only thirteen is a terrible life to have to live.
I'm glad that he had Colleen as a friend, so he had someone to care about him and try to convince him to go to Madame Pomfrey for help.
Oh my gosh, picturing little Hagrid (or little compared to when he's grown up) curled up in his dorm with Aragog's egg was simultaneously really sweet and really sad. I loved that Dumbledore was checking on him, and that he let him keep the egg, because he knew it made Hagrid happy. The Shakespeare quote at the end worked really well there, too.
I really enjoyed this, even if it the subject matter was so heavy. It was really well-written, and I thought you did a great job exploring Hagrid's past.
Cassie :)

Author's Response: Hey Cassie,

Thanks for the lovely review.
This fic has shown me how much I love challenges. It's something I never would have written on my own, but I signed up for it and I never back down from challenges...

Writing Angst is addictive. I'll do more of that soon (probably after the house cup)

I'm actually a little mad at Albus Dumbledore for not recognizing the potential danger for Hagrid's future. He should really have acted sooner, and helped in some way...

Thanks again
~Anja


 Report Review

Review #25, by CassiePotterOnly a Dream: Only a Dream

17th June 2015:
Hello! I'm here with your review!
This story was so cute, but so sad at the same time. I always feel so sad thinking about little Harry living with the Dursleys before he found out he was a wizard. But I liked that it this story, even though you talked about the struggles Harry faces while living with the Dursleys, you always showed a bit of a bright spot for him, by talking about his dream.
I thought it was so great that he was dreaming about Hogwarts! If only little five year-old Harry knew that everything in his dreams was real! But it made me sad again when he thought that maybe his parents would still be alive. He just seemed so hopeful, and I didn't want to think about Harry finding out how his parents really died.
I think you did a great job making this sound childlike. I love reading and writing stories about really young kids, because they just have such unique way of looking at the world.
This story was really great, and I really liked it!
Cassie :)

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>