Reading Reviews From Member: potter_nerd
  
39 Reviews Found

Review #1, by potter_nerdHow to Draw Almost Anything: How to Find Employment

18th July 2012:
Aaahhh! Can I say that I'm just SO GLAAD that you decided to write this!! I dropped by hoping for an update on Blunderland and then I see this. And then ofcourse I had to give it a read.
And its has Scorpius, wooo. :D I love your version of Scorpius, mainly because he's not the charming womanizer he's portrayed as in other fics. And even though he sorta resembles the three other Scorpius-es that you've written, he's a little different at the same time.
I like. :)

Author's Response: thank you so much! I'm a big fan of scorpius, heh. I realise recently that I'm not really a next-gen writer so much as a scorpius writer. scorpius is my name (well, no it isn't) and scorpius is my game. (and, yeah, they are all kind of the same. except this one is a little less...naff. this one's got a bit of success in life, ahaha).

thank you very much! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by potter_nerdWelcome to Blunderland: { 10 }

16th June 2012:
Awwies. Floral is so cute that I can't bring myself to diss it. I still ship Florp (because I always tend to support the underdog and Scorpius fits the bill pretty accurate.) And I hope he gets his act together soon. :>
Anywhoo Best Lines:

"The middle one stands for betrayal,' he said.

The little cynical version of myself that was now living in my head went oh, I wonder if the other runes stand for Flora, Fauna, Scorpius, and Albus.
Love the part with the runes by the way."

Also,

"I promise. I mean, you can stay in your robes if you want, just that it gets a bit steamy in here. Wow, that sounds wrong,' he added. 'I meant…'

Bahahahaha. I laughed so much!

Thanks for a great chapter.
xx

Author's Response: underdogs are the best sort of dogs! hee, glad you liked it and thank you for reviewing ♥

 Report Review

Review #3, by potter_nerdetc. etc. (and life goes on): A Lesson in Persuasion

12th June 2012:
Sexual tension here, sexual tension there, sexual tension everywhere. xD
Clemence should hurry up and realize that she needs to get together with Albus. Cause she's just in 'deniaaal.' *sings*
''Girls who are well-versed in LaFolle's profound observations of romance might coo, Sometimes you hate someone so much that you fall in love with them, because that's infallible logic. Maybe if I start a hot enough fire, it'll start shitting ice cubes.''
Epic Lines right there. If I had an award, I'd give it to you right away.
Anywhoo, thanks for the fast update and all!
xx

Author's Response: I'm like Oprah, just throwing around all that tension.

Oh oh oh, I must make a campfire song out of it. That can be Pickett's next project. D-E-N-I-A-L SONG~

I loved writing that bit, hee. ♥ thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #4, by potter_nerdWeather for Ducks: Tea, Custard Creams, and a Cat

12th June 2012:
Ohmymerlin, I totally saw that coming. I mean, the Rose knowing Mary Sue thing because of the Alexander guy. There was this bit last week when I spent around an hour or so trying to figure out suitable endings for some of my favorite fanfics (yes, you conclude rightly that I have no life.) and I sorta guessed that Rose might have previous erm, relations with Mary Sue. I FEEL LIKE A GENIUS FOR WORKING THAT OUT. :D
Oh and Rose-knitting Prentice? Can we start shipping them already? Prose?
Also, Mary Sue-Felix? Hahaha. :D
Just wondering..
Brilliant chapter as usual.
xx

Author's Response: haha! it didn't even occur to me to write that subplot in until I was halfway through the story - but I needed something to show rose had changed so, bam, plot twist. (out of interest, how else do you see this fic ending? because you should know that it's through total zombiepocalypse yup yup that is totally what happens)
there might be a clue in the fact that I cast them as karen gillan and arthur darvill...
thanks for the review! :D ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by potter_nerdWelcome to Blunderland: { 09 }

10th June 2012:
Whoaaa. WHAART? Scorpius-Fauna?
B..b...but he totally belongs with Flora! I refuse to ship them even though 'Sauna' is like the most zoomified ship name ever.
''Yeah, go on, let's rub it in the wounds of our friendship.''
I don't understand how you come up with such brilliant lines. XD
Cliffhanger much?
And thanks for the brilliant chapter.
xx

Author's Response: sauna! oh, there are more florp shippers than I thought, then (I really /have/ to make a proper tally for this...)

coming up with 'brilliant' lines is what I call derping at a keyboard, my friend...

thank you for the lovely review :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #6, by potter_nerdWelcome to Blunderland: { 08 }

4th June 2012:
Well that was.. awkward. O_O And that's putting it lightly.
Scorpius making a move on Flora was the last thing I expected. I thought he would have talked to her or something, he didn't seem like the type of person who would have kissed a girl who is taken. But weirdly enough, I like it.
I reckon I'm like the only person in here who even ships Florpus. (is that what it was called?) And I'm ready to go down with that ship if required. (NOOES.)
I miss their moments though. All this awkwardness in the air. *sighs* And poor Flora.

Great chapter as usual and thanks for the mega fast update. ^_^
xx

Author's Response: heh, I'm inexorably attracted to the more awkward things in life.
baha! you may be the only florp shipper remaining, my friend...
thanks for reviewing & glad you liked it (besides the awkward!) ♥


 Report Review

Review #7, by potter_nerdThe Letter That Never Came: The Letter That Never Came

2nd June 2012:
Short and sad. I think you could have expanded it a little, made it more descriptive. But its perfect as it is so maybe not. I haven't read any stories on Arabella Figg before so I can't compare, but this is beautiful and tragic at the same time.
I can even identify with her. I not even embarrassed to admit that I waited for my owl on my eleventh birthday too.
Beautiful writing.
xx

Author's Response: Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #8, by potter_nerdThe Thinkery: Well, This Is New

2nd June 2012:
Abandoned? WHHAAAT? NOOO.
I just saw the status right now. I'll admit there's a distinct lack of a plotline, but this is way better than most stories I've read. Also, you write so well. I would love to read anything you wrote. Honestly!
If you ever think of taking this up again, remember there's someone supporting you and willing to read what you write.
xx

Author's Response: I'm sorry for abandoning it! You're right, there was no real plotline, but I appreciate the support!

 Report Review

Review #9, by potter_nerdDominique: Four.

2nd June 2012:
Ouch. Feeling bad for Scorpius. The poor girl obviously loves him, she should just hurry up and realize it already.
About Lysander/Dom- not much to say, Lysander hardly spoke. So.. moving on to the next.
Good work.
xx

Author's Response: Oh Scorpius... the thing is she doesn't actually love him. She loves her fiancee, so it is much worse for Scorpius.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #10, by potter_nerdDominique: Three.

2nd June 2012:
So that's who Noah is, Rose's fiance. And I thought Rose and Scorpius were a couple in this fic. Multiple stories, I like.
Lysander's funeral jokes were harsh. A bit too harsh maybe? I didn't except Dominique to laugh along. But then again, I'm the sort of person who adores angst. (Which is undoubtedly weird) And my version of grief would be a lot more.. prolonged.
And thats all I got to say.
xx

Author's Response: Yes, multiple sub-plots. I like. And yeah, Lysander is like that - very darkly comic, very rude, and sometimes people don't appreciate it. You've got to remember that Dom and Lysander were best friends before he went travelling, and so she would be used to it and might find it funny. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by potter_nerdDominique: Dreams and Conciousness

2nd June 2012:
Faults of a dead man? Awkward to discuss, true all the same. It's like Dom had this perfect picture of Lorcan in her mind and Lysander's making it slowly crumble to dust. I like how you've described it.
But lust for the other twin only hours after one passed away? A little too soon maybe?
Nice angstyyy chapter.
xx

Author's Response: That's Lysander favourite topic of conversation, it's just a little taboo after the whole murder scenario. I did have doubts about the lust stuff, but you've got to remember that Lorcan and Lysander look very similar, and Lysander did like her all the way through school and she knew about it blah, blah blah. Thanks for reading and reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #12, by potter_nerdDominique: At a Loss

2nd June 2012:
I think you've described Dominique's emotions really well. The sadness, the pain, sorrow, frustration- everything. The only thing I found a little odd was Lysander's reaction. It's obvious that he doesn't like his brother, but I wouldn't expect him to be so.. cocky? when his brother's on his deathbed.
I like the story line, Lorc/Dom/Lys isn't all that uncommon but I've never read one like this.
Nice chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I tried really hard to get the grief across - usually it's around for one chapter and then BAM they are all right... but Dom's grief plays such a massive part in this story that it is difficult to avoid.

Lysander hated Lorcan, hence the cockiness.

Thanks for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by potter_nerdOxygen of Happiness: The Brink

2nd June 2012:
''Muggles were still there, but an odd spark, a woman never growing old, soft, bodiless voices whispering in the wind…I thought perhaps India had seen it before. India was never surprised, merely politely curious.''
You write beautifully. I don't have any other words to describe it.
I haven't read any stories on either of the Patil twins before, so I can't compare, but I have to say that you really nailed Padma's character.
Are you an Indian by any chance? Because your descriptions were perfect. And it's not scattered at all.

 Report Review

Review #14, by potter_nerdWelcome to Blunderland: { 07 }

1st June 2012:
I'm so glad you changed the girl portraying Flora. To be honest, the earlier one was nothing like the Flora in my head.
I wasn't expecting Flora and Albus to get together this soon but there's obviously more to the plot huuh?
What surprised me is Scorpius's reaction. I was expecting him to clam up like a clam and become jelly. But I prefer your version a thousand times over mine.
Albus was pretty zoomified. He's been crushing on her since fifth year!? WHAAAT. Awwies. :3
Still shipping Florp though.
Thanks for the great chappy.

Author's Response: I know! the original picture of LDR I had on the first banner was pretty perfect, but I hit a bit of a snag when it came to making chapter images, hence the decision to recast. and, yes, don't worry...there is /plenty/ more to this fic, lolol. and Scorpius' reaction...er, just wait until chapter eight (yikes).
thanks so much for reviewing! ♥


 Report Review

Review #15, by potter_nerdWeather for Ducks: Elektra and Felix

1st June 2012:
''Good evenings, like all good salads, start with a foundation of Lettuce.''
THAT. Is a classic.
Since there's so many things I loved in this chapter I'm just going to list them for you:
- The extended salad metaphor in the middle.
- Lettuce randomly sprouting glitter.
- Elektra Lovelace- quirky.
- all the 'Collarbone Fluff'.I'd pick it over one armed shelf fixing smut any day.
-and everything else that you've written. Yeah, that's about it.
Ooh, and Rose is coming. That's one unexpected twist. Like, mega unexpected.
Speaking of mega, I just remembered that you updated blunderland. Enough rambling on my part, thanks for the great update! ^_^

Author's Response: haha, thank you! I have rather missed my extended food metaphors (they're kind of a next level of crack). also, lololol - collarbone fluff vs one-armed DIY smut! you can expect more in the vein of the former and very little in the form of the latter, thankfully (:
thanks for reviewing + I'm glad you liked it! ♥


 Report Review

Review #16, by potter_nerdBreathless: The Beginning of the End...of my life.

17th May 2012:
I think this story is hilarious, and I love Adele- snarky, cynical, sarcastic- you got it. Albus, well I didn't really get his character all that much but since he rarely spoke in this chapter I'll just wait till the met one until I judge. Thats right, judge. haha.
Criticism? yes I've got some. I'm just going to say that the story line is a little too far fetched. The whole Draco's-life-or-Harry's sounds a little too unbelievable.
All the characters appear much too indifferent about the fact that someones life is at stake.
Handsome rich boy marrying beautiful rich girl

 Report Review

Review #17, by potter_nerdHappy Apathy: In which a day is quite bad.

16th May 2012:
I like the part where Edith gets mad on that Gryffindor bloke who's crushing on Pheobe and Albus tells her that its normal for a fifteen year old. I don't even know why. It just seems like something Edith would do. Edith-y. Good work for a filler.
xx

 Report Review

Review #18, by potter_nerdHappy Apathy: In which Ed is harshly critiqued.

16th May 2012:
I don't quite know what to say. Um.. Ed's different. She's proved that quite clearly in this chapter. And Albus, well he's not the quidditch bloke I though he would turn out to be, and I'm glad.
This story is nothing if not authentic. And thats a rare sight. Great chapter. :)
xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by potter_nerdThe Art of Doing Nothing: Lamb Stew

16th May 2012:
I like James, yeah I kinda do. So, more interaction with James in the next chapter? :) Scorpius, I don't even know. Still an oddball of sorts. Lorcan, I think I would like. And thats about it. Nice chapter here, update soon. :)
xx

 Report Review

Review #20, by potter_nerdThe Art of Doing Nothing: Rory's Cornbread

16th May 2012:
Rory's weird. There's no doubt about that one. But oddly enough, all this weirdness is rather endearing. Scorpius, I don't even know. He's an odd ball isn't he. She never did figure out why he was there at the bar that night, so I'm predicting we'll find out soon enough. Him being one of the main charcters and all. Oh and just something you might want to correct- it's Scorpius, not Scorpious. Jusst Sayyin. Another prediction- I bet the new girl is the Mary Sue you mentioned. Am I right? :)
Enough predictions for now, haha. Great chapter.
xx

 Report Review

Review #21, by potter_nerdHappy Apathy: In which the Story Begins

16th May 2012:
I like it! It's different from most of the other next generation fan fics- except for the Scorpius-is-s-man-whore cliche. I like Edith a lot actually. She reminds me of Artemis Fowl (a series by Eoin Colfer if you don't already know) She's got the whole professional, cucumber cool, mastermind stereotype going. :)) Good starting as it goes.
xx

 Report Review

Review #22, by potter_nerdThe Thinkery: Life is Good

5th May 2012:
Okay, Amethyst Rosier. Another OC. Kinda curious about her backstory. I mean, if there's one.
Nothing much to say, anyway. Great chapter as usual! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #23, by potter_nerdThe Thinkery: I Am Potter

5th May 2012:
'I have to stop myself laughing when I hear there’ll be an exam on Dad at the end of the semester.

I have to owl him about this.

He’ll be horribly embarrassed.

It’ll be great.'

LOLOLOL. XD
Anyway Kingsley a professor? not as weird as I thought it might seem. It fits actually. Just going to read on. By the way, just remembered the mystery Hogwarts student, wonder who that might be.

Author's Response: Glad you're enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #24, by potter_nerdThe Thinkery: European University of Sorcery

5th May 2012:
Wow, Wizarding studies. I love the courses you've written down. Bound to be loads more interesting that the muggle ones. I'm kinda envious of Lily and the others right now, haha. :)
Great Chapter! xx

Author's Response: I want to take those courses myself, not going to lie. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #25, by potter_nerdThe Thinkery: First Impressions

5th May 2012:
'Nope, I'm on the Acropolis.

I'm on the freaking Acropolis.'

Not surprised, honestly. :D
Oh, and new peeps! Aussies at that. good going!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>