Reading Reviews From Member: AlAndAl
  
64 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AlAndAlMy Summer Of Love: Getting To Know Each Other

20th August 2012:
I knew he was the brother!!! Ahem...sorry for that outburst, but I am here with your review (finally!) I really like this story and I really like that Conner is Irish (stupid accent gets me every time...) wink wink. I am a huge fan of Next Gen so reading this is like Christmas morning for me :) The whole Weasley psycho jumbled insane throw a sock at your face family dynamic is hilarious! I always enjoy reading that aspect of Next Gen.
Keep up the awesome work!
-Allie

Author's Response: Why thank you! :D

I love Irish accents, their lush!
Same here, I love next gen (hence the reason I write it) and I love the Weasleys :D

Thanks for the review
-Potterfan310
Soph x


 Report Review

Review #27, by AlAndAlCatching Fire: Embers

20th August 2012:
I can honestly say that I don't read too much slash. I find it weird to imagine two character suddenly change their sexuality. I did like this, though, because it was playful. It was James and Sirius' relationship in a nutshell. Their connection to each other is very unique and I feel as though this would be natural to them.
This whole experience with reviewing has opened me to a whole new world of eras and ships that I probably would have never read on my own terms. This is a great story & I am truly impressed! Good job!
-Allie

Author's Response: Haha, SSP is addictive :D I first found it strange to imagine two characters changing their sexualities, but James and Sirius together can be very hot, lol.

I'm glad you liked the playfulness :) and that you thought it was natural, so thank you very much for teh review, especially because you probably would not have read this otherwise :)

~Soraya~


 Report Review

Review #28, by AlAndAlMemory Dust: Sleep Don't Weep

20th August 2012:
I have successfully read the entire story and here is your review! I can happily say that this is an extremely unique story. Post-Hogwarts has always been a part of HPFF that I have never ventured into, but now that I've had the pleasure of seeing what this era is like I will definitely be reading more of it.
Ron/Hermione is always such a great pairing. Their bickering and stubbornness always makes it entertaining. They really complete each other!
Their characterization is amazing! Ron is exactly how I'd always pictured him. And I like the different side of Hermione that we see: frustrated and confused. In HP she is neither and always had a grasp on every situation so to see her so vulnerable is unique and I really enjoyed this out of place Hermione. Ginny is Ginny. She is determined and hugely loyal. Harry is well characterized as well, he's humble and realistic.
I overall loved this story. Not once was I tempted to stop reading! It just flowed together so beautifully that it was hard to find anything wrong with it!
There were a few typos, but nothing major. Just make sure that your beta catches those minor mistakes!
Amazing job!
-Allie.

Author's Response: Wow, this review just made my day. I never read or wrote Post-Hogwarts before either, this whole story is one big coincidence that once occurred to me. And yes, Ron/Hermione are amazing, both to read and to write. They make me very happy in my heart, and they're one of my favorite characters, so I tried to keep them as much in-character as possible, so it's SO nice to hear you think I succeeded in that. Hermione is really fun to write, because as you said, I get to explore her more nervous side, which is interesting.

And just wow again, you're so nice and lovely and I'm so so glad you really liked reading it. I felt so bad when I saw everyone, including me, threw all these long chaptered fics at you, that's a LOT of reading. You're amazing for doing it all. Thanks again, Allie, this review just really, really makes me happy.

Liz


 Report Review

Review #29, by AlAndAlLove, Not War: The Letter

13th August 2012:
I was right! I have read this before! I really can feel the desperation in Lucius' letter. You did a good job conveying the emotion of the scene. Arthur and Molly Weasley are such lovable people, you can't help but adore them. You've got strong characterization going on. My very canon mind is loving you right now.

Author's Response: Oh, yay! Have you read ALL of it before tho, ot just the beginning? Either way, I hope you will stick around til the end this time, lol. ;)

Glad you like the emotion in the letter tho. A lot of people have disapproved of Lucius' letter, so it was good to hear something positive about it for a change, lol. I always work hard to get the emotions to come across just right, cuz I feel it's important to try and make the reader 'feel' something when they read. :)

And yes, I love Molly and Aurthur too, haha! who doesn't? You really thot they were to Cannon? Omg, that's so sweet, thank you!! I loved your reviews hun, thank you so much for taking time to read this (again) and review for me! And again, sorry it took me so long to respond. I promise to do a better job of it next time... If there IS a next time that is, lol!! ;)


 Report Review

Review #30, by AlAndAlLove, Not War: Prolouge: Blessed With a Son

13th August 2012:
I actually think I've read this story before! It seems awfully familiar. I'm sure that I have. This is a very unique point of veiw. You don't ever see how Narcissa and Lucius felt about Draco, it is a blind area of HP and this is a very believable way to fill in that blank. It's dark and eerie, but quite amazing.

Author's Response: Have you really? Hmmm. Well did you review it already? Cuz I don't remember hearing from you before... Thanks tho, I am glad you liked my take on Lucius, Narcissa and their son. I actually updated the prologue and completely redid a lot of it, so maybe you read the old one? Idk, lol! Either way tho, I am glad you reviewed and glad you found it amazing, haha! Thank you so much! =)

 Report Review

Review #31, by AlAndAlLove, Not War: Draco's Introduction

13th August 2012:
Ooooh! I love seeing inside the mind of Draco Malfoy. I find him the most complex out of all the characters JKR wrote about. He's not one dimensional in any way he has this side of him that is very difficult to see, so seeing how he thinks is great! The flow was good in the into and it conveyed a lot of emotion. Good job so far!

Author's Response: Hey, sorry it took me so long to respond to you. RL gets in the way of EVERYTHING sometimes... But thank you so much for the review. I am glad you liked my little intro! :)

 Report Review

Review #32, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Camping

13th August 2012:
I absolutely adore this friendship. I like Draco much more than Theo at this point. I've always found his character multi-dimensional and complex. Your writing is still top notch!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for your compliments! I love both Draco and Theo, but I definitely will always like Draco more. He's by far one of my favorites. And I'm really trying to evolve his character into something believable, so I hope I'm succeeding! Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #33, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: December and Death Eaters

13th August 2012:
Ok, this story is actually making me a fan of Dramoine. I'm not usually into that because of my canon mindset. The ending made me shocked, I really didn't see that coming!

Author's Response: Wow! :D I'm so happy that I'm making you a Dramione fan! I've been trying really hard to make this believable, so hopefully that helps make the relationship seem better to people. :] I love it, personally. And I'm glad the ending was surprising. This chapter really makes the plot jump forward. Thanks for another great review!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #34, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Goodbyes and Good Faith

13th August 2012:
Some compacted feelings are being stirred up. I can sense a tense moment between Draco/Hermoine/Theo. Is this possible? Am I just crazy? Is your foreshadowing extremely well done? Answer to all is yes. :)

Author's Response: Hello once more! I'm so happy to see another great review by you. :D Thank you for your kind words. There's definitely going to be tension between the three of them for a long time to come. ;] Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #35, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Making Peace and Promises

13th August 2012:
This a very odd side of Draco. He's almost vulnerable in a way. It's very refreshing to see this dimension of him, considering he was portrayed as such an evil presence in the books. I am starting to run out of things to say to you! This story is excellent!

Author's Response: Hey there! Thanks for reviewing again! Your reviews really make me happy. :] I'm glad you liked this chapter again and I'm happy that you love the story so much. Thank you so much for your compliments. They mean a lot to me. :D

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #36, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: A Place to Hide

13th August 2012:
It was a good idea to have Theo and Hermoine's little lovebird chat, it relieved a bit if the stress and angst. Draco is being friendly...well at least cordial and his character development is excellent. He is a very rounded out character!

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thanks for reviewing once more! I really appreciate it. I'm glad you liked the chapter. I'm trying to keep the characters believable while still moving them forward. I'm glad you think I'm doing well. :D Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #37, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Pandemonium

13th August 2012:
I feel like I should be sad that Terrance is dead, but we never really got to know him that well. We know that he talked to Harry about Quidditch, but he was never really a substantial character. Draco's panic was really well written. There was a new development in the relationship between Draco and Hermoine. A new understanding for one another. The plot is rolling quite smoothly.

Author's Response: Hello once again!

I'm glad that you liked the plot development in this chapter! Their relationship towards one another is definitely changing, which is essential to the story. Terrance was a great guy, honestly, but I didn't want him to be so important that his death rocked the whole school. I wanted him to be another casualty of war, but much closer to home for everyone. Our group of Slytherins is definitely devastated by his death, but not many other people are. It makes sense to me, though I can tell I'm doing a terrible job of explaining it. :P Sorry! Again, thank you for reviewing!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #38, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Hogsmeade

13th August 2012:
Oh, wow! That is some intense stuff! Draco is either really good at sneaking about or he is constantly at the wrong place at the wrong time. Once again, Theo/Hermoine is very sweet. But, I do think that you overuse the phase "rolled his/her eyes". I feel like every second sentence has that phrase. I noticed it in past chapters, I just wanted to wait to see if it was just that chapter or an overall problem. Finding other phrases that apply to the situation would be better and would creat more diversity in the language.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thanks for another great review! I'm really glad that you liked this chapter. Things have definitely blown up here, haven't they? You'll figure out Draco's role in all of this soon. Thanks for pointing out my overuse of that phrase. I'll work on cutting some of those out. :]

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #39, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Carnival

13th August 2012:
Well, Draco is sure being one creepy bloke. Can I safely assume he's a little jealous? I really like Theo/Hermoine. Their relationship is sweet and the way you were it makes it seem so natural. A very strong ending once again, I guess it was just that one chapter that you struggled with. I don't have too much to say about this scene, so I'll just move in then.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thank you so much for another great review! Draco actually has some interesting reasons for being angry about Hermione's relationship with Theo. It'll all be cleared up later, but it's actually a bit deeper than jealousy. ;] I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter and the ending. Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #40, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Plans

13th August 2012:
I refrained from mentioning anything about the Hermoine/Theo ship in my previous review because you know how I get when I talk about ships...giddy and girly and not really thinking straight. Anyways, I think it's a really cute and believable matchup! Theo has a bit of Hermoine in him: the same belief in rules and justice. I have this feeling that I need to hear more about Garrett...he's very mysterious at the moment. I hope to see him in further chapters! I will review the rest tomorrow, because I am very tired and I know that if I continue reading this I won't sleep until 2AM like I did the other night. I get very consumed in good stories. :)

Author's Response: Hi again!

Thanks for another wonderful review! I'm glad you liked this chapter and I'm really happy you like the Hermione/Theo ship! I love Theo, haha. But, of course, Draco will eventually show up more significantly. Garrett will come back too, but he's not as major of a character. I do like him quite a bit, either way. :D Thanks for reviewing!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #41, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: A Sickening Discovery

13th August 2012:
That felt a little anti-climatic. I think you should've lengthened the scene a bit more and tried to really express how frightened it made people. The blood was good, but having someone becoming extremely scared or even a small panic would've tied the scene together better and would've created more of a relief moment when they figure out that it's not human blood. The final scene gave me chills a little bit. Malfoy scares the wits out of me. You really write him exceptionally well.

Author's Response: Hello again!

I'm really glad that you liked another chapter! I'm sorry about the anticlimax...I'll see if I can fix that. Suspense isn't my forte. :P I'll work on that, though! Thanks for reviewing! :D

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #42, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Just a Saturday Afternoon

13th August 2012:
"Snake Pit" "Lion's Den" I laughed at that. Ron took the whole Slytherin hangout quite well, he's still on edge, which I expected, but nonetheless he really embraced it. Now, this ending I really enjoyed, much better than your last. I'm a huge fan of cliffhangers, so you would understand that I am jumping for joy. Malfoy is a very...slippery boy. I can't really describe my feelings for him in any other way. He's like a mist that just floats around causing issues. I'm going to read your next chapter now before this cliffie becomes the death of me.

Author's Response: Hey again!

I'm so happy that you liked the Slytherins hanging out with the Gryffindors. I want them all of get along, even though they normally wouldn't mesh. So I'm trying to show that gradually. The Slytherins aren't bad people and I think that Harry and Ron know that. And I'm quite happy that you like this ending! I love cliffhangers too! :D I hope you like how it turns out. ;] Thanks for reviewing once more. I really appreciate it.

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #43, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: Slytherins

13th August 2012:
Garrett is the kind of character you fall in love with. I'm not going to get started blabbing about ships that aren't even established yet, but GARRETT. Ok, moving on. I liked your interpretation of 'nice Slytherins' it gives Slytherins like myself a little boost of self confidence. I actually have some criticism this time. I felt like your ending was alittle abrupt. It didn't really flow well. Maybe adding something like "I sighed. When will Ron ever learn?" would help close the chapter better.

Author's Response: I'm so happy you like Garrett! I would definitely fall for him if I met him. ;] I like him quite a bit, so I'm glad you do too. And I'm happy you like the idea that not all Slytherins are evil. I never bought that, myself. Hence, Slytherins that are nicer. ;] I'll go check out that ending ASAP. Thanks for the tip and thank you for reviewing again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #44, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: A Broken Vase

13th August 2012:
Oh Draco, you are the epitome of a Slytherin. I am actually impressed by his characterization more than any other character. Awesome job so far! Theo Nott is now plumping up nicely. He seems like a good guy, a realist, no doubt. Seems to have a good grasp on life. I like it. I must say that I am really impressed with the lack of spelling/grammatical errors in this story. When I reread mine I always find a plethora of errors and I'm always surprised at how illiterate I seem. You, on the other hand, are extremely good at imagery and descriptions. I'm still searching for mistakes! Sigh. You are too good.

Author's Response: Hi again!

Aww, thank you so much for all of your compliments. I really appreciate them. :] I'm so happy you like Draco! He'll be changing slowly, but for now he's his obnoxious Slytherin self. ;] I'm glad you like Theo too. Thanks again for a splendid review!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #45, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: The Sorting Hat's Warning

13th August 2012:
The fight between Harry and Draco was very exaggerated, but not necessarily in a bad way. You've kept many of the characters very similar to how JKR wrote them, but you've just heightened a few of their traits. You've made Harry more expressive of his anger towards Snape and Draco. This is a positive as you have began to interpret characters differently. Good work. Onto the Sorting Hat's song: awesome. I quite enjoyed it. Good rhyming and syllable count. I am definitely anticipating an odd outburst from Draco...excellent foreshadowing on your part.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing again! I'm glad that you like the characters. I do try to keep them believable, but they have to change quite a bit as well if I want them to fit into the story. And I'm happy you liked the song! I worked incredibly hard on it. :D Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #46, by AlAndAlRule Breaker: A Predictable Appointment

13th August 2012:
Hello! First off I'd like to admit that Hogwarts Era stories aren't my favorite only because my mind is very canon. Almost too Canon and I find it hard to believe the story, but in all honesty this AU is very believable. There are canon points in the plot that make is flow well from HBP. I can't really criticize too much yet, it's only the first chapter after all, but I really like the ending. Endings are something that I struggle with just because my mind rambles on and on and it's hard to find a breaking point, so good endings are very impressive to me.

Author's Response: Hi there!

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you're giving this a chance, even if it's AU. I normally stick to Hogwarts or Post-Hogwarts when I write, but I'm rather fond of Hogwarts, I must admit. :] I totally understand why you wouldn't be, though. But you're giving this a chance and I appreciate that. Thanks for this splendid review! I love endings. :D I love cliff-hangers, so many of my chapters end with them. I hope you continue to like them. :]

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #47, by AlAndAlAnd All That Jazz: Darkness, Time, And All That Jazz

12th August 2012:
Wow. I feel almost heavy after reading that chapter. There was so much emotion and pain. I don't really think that they'll get together anytime soon. I think she'll get back together with Jett, even for a few years, it'll end, time will move on and then she'll go to James. I'm really excited for the next chapter. Please update soon lovely!

Author's Response: Wow. I didn't mean to make you feel heavy :O But there /was/ a lot of emotion/pain/depressiveness. Interesting thoughts, love, but I'm not spilling anything :P Thank you sooo much for /all/ of the lovely reviews ♥

 Report Review

Review #48, by AlAndAlAnd All That Jazz: Conundrums, Shock, And All That Jazz

12th August 2012:
Hooray! The Jett we know and love is back! I really liked the ending. It was simply and well put together. One more chapter to go. I hope you're enjoying my reviews even if they aren't the most helpful or make the most sense. :)

Author's Response: Hooray for Jett! I really liked the ending too :D I thought it tied together the chapter quite nicely. I am enjoying your reviews very, very much. Don't be silly; I love reading them :)

 Report Review

Review #49, by AlAndAlAnd All That Jazz: Perfection, Paradoxes, And All That Jazz

12th August 2012:
James had a celebrity crush on her! Awww! That's precious. Alex is a real piece of work. Does he just wander the castle looking for lives to ruin or something? Sigh. I hope he gets eaten by the giant squid.

Author's Response: Yes he did! Isn't that the cutest thing ever or what? Yes, that is exactly what Alex does. That's the only thing he does, all day e'ry day. Thanks for the review :D

 Report Review

Review #50, by AlAndAlAnd All That Jazz: Flowers, Flaws, And All That Jazz

12th August 2012:
I was right! I knew it was French! I had to stop reading in the middle of the night because my eyes literally began to hurt, so I'll finish the story now! Haha. Aria needs James. It's almost painful to see them apart, but I'm glad they made up and everything is better between them. I still pity Jett, but I feel like although he cared deeply about her, thy weren't meant to be. Anyhoo. Next chappie awaits!

Author's Response: You were right! It was French! Aww, I'm sorry that I made your eyes hurt. I hope they're feeling better. Yes, she does need him. So much. And they're working on things, which is good. But poor Jett :( It just wasn't meant to happen. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>