Reading Reviews From Member: TheImaginator
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Wisdom and Cats

23rd December 2011:
Sweet and funny, especially the bit with the name. And such a good name, too!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like the name! I'm quite a fan of that name myself :P

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Responsibility

23rd December 2011:
OK, I really liked this. Not too sappy, and I love the idea of them flatting together. Good work!
And wow, quick updating! Although I'm so busy I barely have to time to read one...

Author's Response: Oh good! I like to keep things as free of sap as possible. Yeah, I have too much time on my hands these days...:P Thanks for the review :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Reality

20th December 2011:
Short and sweet. Nice. And the way you showed her doubts was very well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #4, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Reconciliation

16th December 2011:
That last line...you are responsible for one broken keyboard and new cup of butterbeer. I swear, this couldn't be any funnier if it tried.
Good chapter, and I'm glad that Cassie and her mum are reunited again.

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Actually, Things Could Be Worse

16th December 2011:
Hilarious, as ever. And I love that you referenced what a major deal HP is in the wizarding world. It ties this in with the series, in a nice way.
And your definition of Ravenclaws? I reckon that pretty much everyone on the internet would be sorted into Ravenclaw, if that was the case. Love it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: International Relations

16th December 2011:
Yep, this chapter was good. Too short, but still good. I had to go and read the final chapter because I'd forgotten what had happened between Henry and Adelaide. I love the Kiwi-isms that still pop up, and why kick a moo cow- I laughed so hard at that. And at the Beehive. Which sort of came out of nowhere. I can't really see the connection between Hufflepuff and bees, though...
Good chapter, and update soon.

 Report Review

Review #7, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: This Went Downhill Quickly

6th December 2011:
Whoa! I did not see that coming! Although I find it hard to believe that Hogwarts would ever kick a student out for getting pregnant, I get the feeling that this fic is a little AU when it comes to the school.
So, wait, her parents live in Godric's Hollow? I really need to read your other fic explaining their background.
Good chapter.

Author's Response: AU Hogwarts? That's an interesting theory. In reality there is no information about teen pregnancy in canon, but so many fics have made Hogwarts absolutely fine with the idea that it seems to have become canon in it's own right. There's no way as far as I see it that the school would condone sexual relations between students, but beyond that, Hogwarts is not equipped to deal with pregnant students. All schools would expect a pregnant student to leave at some point before she has the baby. How else does Hogwarts come across as AU? I always try to stick to canon, so I'd be interested what made you think that.

The other fic doesn't have enough chapters to really explain anything yet. I know exactly what happened with her parents, but it's just a matter of getting it on paper and that particular story is my absolute favourite, so I need to feel like I'm doing it justice. That information probably isn't essential to understanding this story, but like I said, I have the whole story in my head, so you're welcome to swing by my MTA if you have further questions. Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheImaginatorDawn: It's Not Over

6th December 2011:
So, so sorry I haven't reviewed yet, I've been majorly busy. So, wow, DE still around, and Ron apologizing, and Ginny and Hermione being awesome, and the final line *squee*.
Anyway, I loved this chapter, and I look forward to the next update.

Author's Response: Don't fret. You are one of my most loyal reviewers, so I wasn't worried. And, just saying, I am in love with this chapter too!

 Report Review

Review #9, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Spreading the News

23rd November 2011:
That's very funny. I can't imagine an older brother talking to his younger sister about sex, though. I mean, I'd expect him to just say something about how Cassie is pregnant, not inform sis about their going on's.
Still, a good chapter, and hilarious, as ever. It was interesting to learn that Cassie's mom infiltrated the Death Eaters. NIce, subtle backstory.

 Report Review

Review #10, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Operation Parent

23rd November 2011:
Owh Moi God. That was extraordinary.

 Report Review

Review #11, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Being Proactive

19th November 2011:
Yay, you finally updated! This chapter was brilliant as usual. Rory is an interesting character, I hope we see more of him.
So James and Cassie finally got together! Hmm, I can't help but wonder if he really does love her. I'm happy for them, and all that, but...
I can't wait until they tell the parents. Please please please update as soon as possible.

Author's Response: Thank you! I quite like Rory, and he will definitely be coming into the story more in later chapters.
You raise a few interesting points, but you'll have to wait and see :P Aren't I cruel?
I will update soon. The next chapter is sitting on my computer waiting to be put up, but two in one day is a bit of overkill :P Check back again tomorrow, the next chapter should be up by then! Thanks for the review :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheImaginatorDawn: Gawain Robards

19th November 2011:
The bit with Teddy was so cute and unexpected, I laughed. Really nicely done. The funeral was quite well done, with Harry's emotions and everything.
Now, the one bit that stood out was Ron getting angry. I would have thought that after everything that they've gone through, he wouldn't be so angry about Harry and Ginny. I'm pretty sure that he would have given it a thumbs up, in fact. I mean, sure, he's be angry at Harry for breaking her heart, or whatever, but not furious.Harry is his best friend, and he'd surely understand Harry's reasons for doing so. I dunno, it just seemed a bit over the top.
All round, a good chapter, as usual.

Author's Response: Hmmm. I'll have to go back and look at the whole Ron and Harry and Ginny scene. Maybe I'll have Ron come to his senses and apologize to Harry.
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Head. Buried. Sand.

6th November 2011:
One word: UPDATE! Oh god. Ginny's reaction. I just want to read it right now. This chapter was hilarious. Good on her for not staying with James. That's exactly why I like this girl. She's such a fantastic protagonist.

 Report Review

Review #14, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Gryffies

6th November 2011:
How do you do it? This chapter is delicious, as ever. I'm afraid I'm guilty of a certain crime- despite verbally protesting against rugby, I watched the final. God, that bit was hilarious, and sums up New Zealand PERFECTLY.
I love love love the Griffyndor students. They are nearly as funny as Georgia. I love the bit about the names. A.S.P. has a nice meaning behind it, thought.
Erm, that's all. Brillo chapter, as ever.

 Report Review

Review #15, by TheImaginatorDawn: Padfoot

6th November 2011:
It would probably be best to keep it shorter chapters and random updates. that way, there's less time between chapters.
I loved this chapter. I think that the bit about Padfoot is really good writing- it just pulls together all the emotions that Harry has about Sirius's death. I don't know, it just really worked.
The bit about Harry getting his own house is interesting- I think it shows that he's grown up, but I still am a supporter of him and Ron and possibly Hermione flatting together. I don't know if it would work out, but I also like the idea of him staying at Grimmauld house. Or would be rent another one while it is sorted out?
Anyway, good chapter, and I'm looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you! (Takes a bow and grins) You will just have to wait and see about what happens with the house. I have things planned (evil laugh).

Random updates it is! It looks like we have a consensus so far.

As always, thanks for your review. :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheImaginatorDawn: Gringotts

26th October 2011:
One, WOW, this is such a good chapter. Your writing and characterization has really taken a step up, although some of the things that Harry says to the goblins sound a little too demanding for him. Otherwise, really good.
Two, I had no idea that the Potters were so rich! Good for Harry, and James note was really funny.
Three, well done you for thinking about how the goblins would react. Really good.
Four, I don't think that any wizards would be in doubt that Voldy is dead. Especially not in Diagon Alley. I expected street parties and stuff. But that's just me nitpicking, really.
One more nitpick...
'one wizard ejaculated loudly'
I know that it has several meanings, but if there is an alternate word, use it. I'm sorry, but that is not a good verb to use.
Nitpicking over!
Anyway, loved this chapter- it was really easy to read and really entertaining. Keep it up and update soon!

Author's Response: You are so awesome. Let me just say that. :)

Thanks for being honest, it helps me be a better writer. I'll have to go back and reread and change.

:)


 Report Review

Review #17, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Orientation

15th October 2011:
This is such a fantastic chapter! Very funny, and I think I may be closer to understanding the intricacies of the Family Tree [yes, with Capitals!]. I did have to look it up on JKR's website, though:)
So.Adelaide and Henry are finally getting somewhere! You wrote that really well, the awkwardness and the humor and the relief and everything. You truly are a brilliant writer!
Hufflepuff common room= hilarious. Of course they wouldn't have a password. Of course it would smell like cookies.
I think you owe me a new computer, however, because when I read Professor Badass I split food all over my keyboard and now it's refusing to talk to me. You. GENIUS! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that they call Neville that! It's like he's made this transition from punching bag to war hero in a cardigan to PROFESSOR BADASS!
I am truly speechless. PLEASE write more soon!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm quite pleased with this chapter, to be honest. Particularly Adelaide/Henry. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and...just, thanks :D
I'm sorry about your keyboard, but PROFESSOR BADASS! Punching bag to war hero in a cardigan to PROFESSOR BADASS! An excellent summary of Neville's life :D
Thank you thank you thank you! I'm trying to shove one of my other WIPs through validation because I finished it a year ago and I want it posted, but as soon as I have a bit more of that up I'll update Southern Cross. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by TheImaginatorDawn: Goodbye for the Last Time

14th October 2011:
Yay! You finally updated! This chapter was really good, I loved Fred's funeral, I swear, I was nearly crying. It was so sweet so so very true. Well done!
And good on Harry for putting Rita in her place. I so pumped my fist in the air. Gosh, she's a real mosquito.
And the bit with the little girl was sweet.
All in all, nice chapter!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm glad you liked the funeral, I wasn't really happy with it. The next chappies already written, but I'm going to wait about a week before I post.

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

2nd October 2011:
Brilliant! Okay, I'm going to go through it.
First: The opening bit, when they're talking about Quidditch teams and stuff, is a bit confusing. Just because I didn't know which houses they are all in. It was quite well-written though, because I imagine that Adelaide is confused, too!
Secondly: Very, very funny Diagon Alley bit. I love the way you show the differences between the countries, and it's very interesting seeing Hermione act like Mrs Weasley. [I dunno, it just seemed like she was quite similar to that exalted mother-hen!}
Thirdly: Big, big round of applause for sneaking in a Christchurch memorial. That was quite touching and just plain nice.
Fourth: Henry in Hufflepuff? Is he like the NZ Cedric Diggory? You know, nice, hot, not outstandingly bright...anyway, poor Adelaide. I can understand her worries! I hope she finds a nice Griffindor friend.
Best quotes from the chapter:
" Hmm," the Hat said. " Where to put you?"
Ohmygod you talk!

and

"Ohmygod it's a castle!"

and

"It's in Monopoly!"

Very true!

I keep thinking that the Kiwi's would know about all of this from reading the JKR books, and then I remember, oops, they're actually wizards.

Good on Neville, aye? Head of House...WTF, Malfoy is head of Slytherin? Ooh! Interesting...I wonder if he's as stern as Snape, or a complete pushover. Are you going to do a canon Malfoy? I'm very curious to see how you do him.
All in all, a good chapter, and i look forward to more!
PS> Love the chapter name!

Author's Response: It was meant to be confusing, it's one of those moments where you just meet people and they suddenly launch into gossip and you have no idea who any of these people are. Everything will start to come together later on though, I'll introduce the masses of Weasley-Potters nice and slow :P

I'm glad you enjoyed the Diagon Alley bit! I really enjoyed it, especially being able to go into more detail about the wizarding world in New Zealand, and particularly Kororareka.

I've been looking for a place to slip in a mention of Christchurch - it just doesn't seem right to not have one in a NZ fic written in 2011 - and I'm glad it works where it is.

Henry is in Hufflepuff, but I'm not sure if I would call him the NZ Cedric Diggory - he's not incredibly gorgeous (he's never had a girlfriend, remember) but Adelaide definitely finds him attractive. He's not very academic, but he's not dumb either - I think he underestimates himself. I quite like him, actually. Must write more of him :P

When I read the HP books I saw Kings Cross Station and thought OMG THAT'S IN MONOPOLY.

I've actually done something very sneaky here. There's a wee sentence as they're all boarding the train which mentions Scorpius' mother getting on the train because she teaches...Professor Malfoy is actually Astoria, and she teaches Charms :P

Thanks for the review! :)



 Report Review

Review #20, by TheImaginatorOatmeal Squares : Powdered Butter

27th September 2011:
It's so nice to read GinnyXHarry stories. This was quite sweet, although sometimes the dialogue sounded a bit rushed. And oatmeal cookies without raisins? How-what- I'm speechless.

Author's Response: I hate raisins in my cookies! Yuck when I eat junk food I don't want fruit or nuts in it!

I'm glad you liked it though, and I love Harry and Ginny more than anything so I will keep writing them!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #21, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Welcome to Britain

25th September 2011:
Yay, another chapter! It wasn't quite as funny as the other ones, but I loved the display cabinet with the book and 'cigarette lighter'. I also love all the differences between the Kiwi's and the Brits. Very well done.
Percy, Minister of Magic? What the-? That's...original. But okay.
Aunt Muriel was hilarious. So, why does Rose have a portrait of her in her bedroom?
I would have liked more of what Adelaide thought of the Malfoys- it felt a bit sudden with them because you barely mentioned them.
Hermione and Ron were spot on, and Hugo seemed like your average teenage boy.
All in all, another brilliant chapter. I can't wait until you update. This story is so good!

Author's Response: Thanks! There is a slight change in the story now that Adelaide's in Britain, it's definitely a new environment and there's not quite as much opportunity for fun, especially when she's getting used to the place. Going to Europe for the first time when you're from NZ is mindblowing, I speak from experience :P
I needed a Minister of Magic. Percy fits the bill, I reckon. He seems a minister type :P
Auntie Muriel is in the spare bedroom, because the family really didn't want her around, but if they put her in a box they'd never hear the end of it, so they put her in the spare room and try not to have guests :P
It was a bit sudden, but in all honesty Adelaide wasn't paying much attention to them, she was just trying to take everything in.
I'm glad I got Ron and Hermione well characterised, I'm always a bit nervous dealing with canon characters, so that makes me happy :) Thanks heaps for the lovely review, I'll update soon!


 Report Review

Review #22, by TheImaginatorGame On: Chapter 4

21st September 2011:
I'm cringing for Harry, I really am. Good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: TheImaginator,

Me too, actually. Especially since I know what's coming up next(; Thank you!

Btw, your name? Awesome.


 Report Review

Review #23, by TheImaginatorThe First Time I...: The First Time I Spoke

21st September 2011:
I really like this. It's more original than most Rose/Scorpius stories, and I like the whole Harry reaching out to Scorpius thing. It's sweet.

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheImaginatorSnape Goes to the Store to Buy a Pickle and Some Toilet Paper: ...

21st September 2011:
They should have put this in the movie. I- I'm speechless.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm smiling like an idiot that made me so happy:) I'm so glad you liked it!!
-Arya


 Report Review

Review #25, by TheImaginatorTrain Wreck: Coping Mechanisms

19th September 2011:
Yay, James is slightly redeeming himself! I really liked this chapter, although I kind of doubt that there'd be a councilor at Hogwarts. It doesn't seem right, somehow.
But, hey, really good chapter! Can't wait for the next one!

Author's Response: Thanks! I know there aren't counsellors in canon, but they seem pretty standard for schools these days and I can't help but feel the Next Gen Hogwarts might have embraced the idea a bit more. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>