Reading Reviews From Member: TheImaginator
  
25 Reviews Found

Review #1, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: International Relations

16th December 2011:
Yep, this chapter was good. Too short, but still good. I had to go and read the final chapter because I'd forgotten what had happened between Henry and Adelaide. I love the Kiwi-isms that still pop up, and why kick a moo cow- I laughed so hard at that. And at the Beehive. Which sort of came out of nowhere. I can't really see the connection between Hufflepuff and bees, though...
Good chapter, and update soon.

 Report Review

Review #2, by TheImaginatorLong Endings and New Beginnings: It's Not Over

6th December 2011:
So, so sorry I haven't reviewed yet, I've been majorly busy. So, wow, DE still around, and Ron apologizing, and Ginny and Hermione being awesome, and the final line *squee*.
Anyway, I loved this chapter, and I look forward to the next update.

Author's Response: Don't fret. You are one of my most loyal reviewers, so I wasn't worried. And, just saying, I am in love with this chapter too!

 Report Review

Review #3, by TheImaginatorLong Endings and New Beginnings: Gawain Robards

19th November 2011:
The bit with Teddy was so cute and unexpected, I laughed. Really nicely done. The funeral was quite well done, with Harry's emotions and everything.
Now, the one bit that stood out was Ron getting angry. I would have thought that after everything that they've gone through, he wouldn't be so angry about Harry and Ginny. I'm pretty sure that he would have given it a thumbs up, in fact. I mean, sure, he's be angry at Harry for breaking her heart, or whatever, but not furious.Harry is his best friend, and he'd surely understand Harry's reasons for doing so. I dunno, it just seemed a bit over the top.
All round, a good chapter, as usual.

Author's Response: Hmmm. I'll have to go back and look at the whole Ron and Harry and Ginny scene. Maybe I'll have Ron come to his senses and apologize to Harry.
Thanks for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #4, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Gryffies

6th November 2011:
How do you do it? This chapter is delicious, as ever. I'm afraid I'm guilty of a certain crime- despite verbally protesting against rugby, I watched the final. God, that bit was hilarious, and sums up New Zealand PERFECTLY.
I love love love the Griffyndor students. They are nearly as funny as Georgia. I love the bit about the names. A.S.P. has a nice meaning behind it, thought.
Erm, that's all. Brillo chapter, as ever.

 Report Review

Review #5, by TheImaginatorLong Endings and New Beginnings: Padfoot

6th November 2011:
It would probably be best to keep it shorter chapters and random updates. that way, there's less time between chapters.
I loved this chapter. I think that the bit about Padfoot is really good writing- it just pulls together all the emotions that Harry has about Sirius's death. I don't know, it just really worked.
The bit about Harry getting his own house is interesting- I think it shows that he's grown up, but I still am a supporter of him and Ron and possibly Hermione flatting together. I don't know if it would work out, but I also like the idea of him staying at Grimmauld house. Or would be rent another one while it is sorted out?
Anyway, good chapter, and I'm looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you! (Takes a bow and grins) You will just have to wait and see about what happens with the house. I have things planned (evil laugh).

Random updates it is! It looks like we have a consensus so far.

As always, thanks for your review. :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by TheImaginatorLong Endings and New Beginnings: Gringotts

26th October 2011:
One, WOW, this is such a good chapter. Your writing and characterization has really taken a step up, although some of the things that Harry says to the goblins sound a little too demanding for him. Otherwise, really good.
Two, I had no idea that the Potters were so rich! Good for Harry, and James note was really funny.
Three, well done you for thinking about how the goblins would react. Really good.
Four, I don't think that any wizards would be in doubt that Voldy is dead. Especially not in Diagon Alley. I expected street parties and stuff. But that's just me nitpicking, really.
One more nitpick...
'one wizard ejaculated loudly'
I know that it has several meanings, but if there is an alternate word, use it. I'm sorry, but that is not a good verb to use.
Nitpicking over!
Anyway, loved this chapter- it was really easy to read and really entertaining. Keep it up and update soon!

Author's Response: You are so awesome. Let me just say that. :)

Thanks for being honest, it helps me be a better writer. I'll have to go back and reread and change.

:)


 Report Review

Review #7, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Orientation

15th October 2011:
This is such a fantastic chapter! Very funny, and I think I may be closer to understanding the intricacies of the Family Tree [yes, with Capitals!]. I did have to look it up on JKR's website, though:)
So.Adelaide and Henry are finally getting somewhere! You wrote that really well, the awkwardness and the humor and the relief and everything. You truly are a brilliant writer!
Hufflepuff common room= hilarious. Of course they wouldn't have a password. Of course it would smell like cookies.
I think you owe me a new computer, however, because when I read Professor Badass I split food all over my keyboard and now it's refusing to talk to me. You. GENIUS! I LOVE LOVE LOVE that they call Neville that! It's like he's made this transition from punching bag to war hero in a cardigan to PROFESSOR BADASS!
I am truly speechless. PLEASE write more soon!

Author's Response: Thank you!
I'm quite pleased with this chapter, to be honest. Particularly Adelaide/Henry. I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and...just, thanks :D
I'm sorry about your keyboard, but PROFESSOR BADASS! Punching bag to war hero in a cardigan to PROFESSOR BADASS! An excellent summary of Neville's life :D
Thank you thank you thank you! I'm trying to shove one of my other WIPs through validation because I finished it a year ago and I want it posted, but as soon as I have a bit more of that up I'll update Southern Cross. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #8, by TheImaginatorLong Endings and New Beginnings: Goodbye for the Last Time

14th October 2011:
Yay! You finally updated! This chapter was really good, I loved Fred's funeral, I swear, I was nearly crying. It was so sweet so so very true. Well done!
And good on Harry for putting Rita in her place. I so pumped my fist in the air. Gosh, she's a real mosquito.
And the bit with the little girl was sweet.
All in all, nice chapter!

Author's Response: Aww, thank you! I'm glad you liked the funeral, I wasn't really happy with it. The next chappies already written, but I'm going to wait about a week before I post.

 Report Review

Review #9, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Hoggy Hoggy Hogwarts

2nd October 2011:
Brilliant! Okay, I'm going to go through it.
First: The opening bit, when they're talking about Quidditch teams and stuff, is a bit confusing. Just because I didn't know which houses they are all in. It was quite well-written though, because I imagine that Adelaide is confused, too!
Secondly: Very, very funny Diagon Alley bit. I love the way you show the differences between the countries, and it's very interesting seeing Hermione act like Mrs Weasley. [I dunno, it just seemed like she was quite similar to that exalted mother-hen!}
Thirdly: Big, big round of applause for sneaking in a Christchurch memorial. That was quite touching and just plain nice.
Fourth: Henry in Hufflepuff? Is he like the NZ Cedric Diggory? You know, nice, hot, not outstandingly bright...anyway, poor Adelaide. I can understand her worries! I hope she finds a nice Griffindor friend.
Best quotes from the chapter:
" Hmm," the Hat said. " Where to put you?"
Ohmygod you talk!

and

"Ohmygod it's a castle!"

and

"It's in Monopoly!"

Very true!

I keep thinking that the Kiwi's would know about all of this from reading the JKR books, and then I remember, oops, they're actually wizards.

Good on Neville, aye? Head of House...WTF, Malfoy is head of Slytherin? Ooh! Interesting...I wonder if he's as stern as Snape, or a complete pushover. Are you going to do a canon Malfoy? I'm very curious to see how you do him.
All in all, a good chapter, and i look forward to more!
PS> Love the chapter name!

Author's Response: It was meant to be confusing, it's one of those moments where you just meet people and they suddenly launch into gossip and you have no idea who any of these people are. Everything will start to come together later on though, I'll introduce the masses of Weasley-Potters nice and slow :P

I'm glad you enjoyed the Diagon Alley bit! I really enjoyed it, especially being able to go into more detail about the wizarding world in New Zealand, and particularly Kororareka.

I've been looking for a place to slip in a mention of Christchurch - it just doesn't seem right to not have one in a NZ fic written in 2011 - and I'm glad it works where it is.

Henry is in Hufflepuff, but I'm not sure if I would call him the NZ Cedric Diggory - he's not incredibly gorgeous (he's never had a girlfriend, remember) but Adelaide definitely finds him attractive. He's not very academic, but he's not dumb either - I think he underestimates himself. I quite like him, actually. Must write more of him :P

When I read the HP books I saw Kings Cross Station and thought OMG THAT'S IN MONOPOLY.

I've actually done something very sneaky here. There's a wee sentence as they're all boarding the train which mentions Scorpius' mother getting on the train because she teaches...Professor Malfoy is actually Astoria, and she teaches Charms :P

Thanks for the review! :)



 Report Review

Review #10, by TheImaginatorOatmeal Squares : Powdered Butter

27th September 2011:
It's so nice to read GinnyXHarry stories. This was quite sweet, although sometimes the dialogue sounded a bit rushed. And oatmeal cookies without raisins? How-what- I'm speechless.

Author's Response: I hate raisins in my cookies! Yuck when I eat junk food I don't want fruit or nuts in it!

I'm glad you liked it though, and I love Harry and Ginny more than anything so I will keep writing them!

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #11, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Welcome to Britain

25th September 2011:
Yay, another chapter! It wasn't quite as funny as the other ones, but I loved the display cabinet with the book and 'cigarette lighter'. I also love all the differences between the Kiwi's and the Brits. Very well done.
Percy, Minister of Magic? What the-? That's...original. But okay.
Aunt Muriel was hilarious. So, why does Rose have a portrait of her in her bedroom?
I would have liked more of what Adelaide thought of the Malfoys- it felt a bit sudden with them because you barely mentioned them.
Hermione and Ron were spot on, and Hugo seemed like your average teenage boy.
All in all, another brilliant chapter. I can't wait until you update. This story is so good!

Author's Response: Thanks! There is a slight change in the story now that Adelaide's in Britain, it's definitely a new environment and there's not quite as much opportunity for fun, especially when she's getting used to the place. Going to Europe for the first time when you're from NZ is mindblowing, I speak from experience :P
I needed a Minister of Magic. Percy fits the bill, I reckon. He seems a minister type :P
Auntie Muriel is in the spare bedroom, because the family really didn't want her around, but if they put her in a box they'd never hear the end of it, so they put her in the spare room and try not to have guests :P
It was a bit sudden, but in all honesty Adelaide wasn't paying much attention to them, she was just trying to take everything in.
I'm glad I got Ron and Hermione well characterised, I'm always a bit nervous dealing with canon characters, so that makes me happy :) Thanks heaps for the lovely review, I'll update soon!


 Report Review

Review #12, by TheImaginatorGame On: Chapter 4

21st September 2011:
I'm cringing for Harry, I really am. Good luck in the challenge!

Author's Response: TheImaginator,

Me too, actually. Especially since I know what's coming up next(; Thank you!

Btw, your name? Awesome.


 Report Review

Review #13, by TheImaginatorThe First Time I...: The First Time I Spoke

21st September 2011:
I really like this. It's more original than most Rose/Scorpius stories, and I like the whole Harry reaching out to Scorpius thing. It's sweet.

 Report Review

Review #14, by TheImaginatorSnape Goes to the Store to Buy a Pickle and Some Toilet Paper: ...

21st September 2011:
They should have put this in the movie. I- I'm speechless.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm smiling like an idiot that made me so happy:) I'm so glad you liked it!!
-Arya


 Report Review

Review #15, by TheImaginatorBehind the Mask: Our Short Forever

18th September 2011:
This story feels quite dark, which I like. I think it's all the thunderstormery stuff. I'm very intrigued as to why Hermione's in Azkaban. Please update soon! I really like this!

Author's Response: it is very dark, and it is only going to get darker from here.
And, yes, the thunder storm was put in there to create an eerie, dark atmosphere in the Burrow, which is almost impossible to do, since it's always full of life in there, haha.

The next one should be out soon! I'm so glad you like this, really. It means a lot to me.


 Report Review

Review #16, by TheImaginatorI love you, you stupid redhead: I love you, you stupid redhead

17th September 2011:
Aww...that's sweet:) In this day and age of so many Lily&Snape shippers, it's nice to find a James and Lily fi where he isn't a douche. Well written- and good song!

Author's Response: Thank you! I had so much fun writing it! I know what you mean about Lily and Snape, but for some reason I just can't stand the thought of the two of them together. I absolutely love Lily and James, and I would hate to see it end up any other way.
Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by TheImaginatorOrigins: Origins

17th September 2011:
I am seriously considering being in awe of your creative writing skills. Which, for me, is rare.
Brilliant idea, hilariously witty, nice ending. I'm also impressed that you go into detail with the mythology aspect of it. A nice alternate theory to religion. Perhaps Artemis and Apollo are the forerunners of Bellatrix, or Voldy?
Best part: "He likes to have ten thousand Dementors chilling in his cave..."
Another 10/10. I don't think I'm going to find one of your stories that doesn't deserve that.

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it, and that you keep going through all my work, even this old one! The mythology was easy because I take Classics and I love it, so it was great fun combining the classical and wizarding worlds :P Thank you so much for the reviews!

 Report Review

Review #18, by TheImaginatorThe Letter That Never Came: The Letter That Never Came

17th September 2011:
I was practically sobbing when I read the summary. I think you do a really good job of showing the emotional aspect of being a Squib. As a child, it must have been devastating. The thoughts of Arabella are perfect, that stubborn, refusing-to-believe that the letter isn't coming mind-set. It's quite heart-wrenching.

Author's Response: I never know whether to thank a reader or apologise when they say it made them cry - but I suppose it's the highest praise I can ask for. Thank you for this review, this story is one of my favourites and I'm glad you found it so powerful.

 Report Review

Review #19, by TheImaginatorPortrait: Portrait

17th September 2011:
This is one beautiful story. I was sniffing at the end. I love the idea of the portraits, it's such a great idea. I love the whole idea behind the story. It's not as funny as your other stories, and it seemed to be written in a slightly different style. I prefer your funny style, but the actual plot of this story made up for it. 10/10!

Author's Response: Thank you! I do tend to write my one-shots and novels differently; my one-shots tend to focus on more emotional things, moments in time, and the novels are where I just go nuts :P These one-shots are more challenging for me to write as well, but I'm thrilled to have you and a reader and that you're checking out my other work! Thanks so much!

 Report Review

Review #20, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: The Formal

13th September 2011:
This chapter is pretty awesome. I am personally thanking god that you haven't mentioned the RWC yet [can I say I'm sick of it?], so anything is good! I absolutely love Georgia and Scorpius, since I don't ship Rose and Scorpius. 10/10. I love the teachers in this story, BTW. Very cool teachers.

Author's Response: *punches fist in air* Yus! Someone else who's sick of the RWC! I've contemplated putting an anti-RWC flag on my car, actually :P Yay for Georgia/Scorpius! And the teachers are awesome, I'm a fan of them too :P

 Report Review

Review #21, by TheImaginatorLong Endings and New Beginnings: Mrs. Weasley

11th September 2011:
Oh no! only two reviews? You don't deserve that! This was my favorite chapter yet, especially the Mrs Weasley bit. It was really good, and I liked how at first they were skeptical about Ron and Harry being friends, and then embracing Harry etc.
Is the cliffhanger payback for all my cliffhangers on Rise of the Riders? Just kidding:) Very good cliffhanger, and I really hope George is all right.

Author's Response: I feel like you because I'm nagging all of my readers to PLEASE REVIEW. So thanks for reviewing me. :)

And I wasn't really thinking of you when I decided to do that cliff hanger, I just thought it was HIGH TIME I had a cliffie. :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: D-Day

11th September 2011:
Another awesome chapter. It's so good the way you put in that argument about Voldemort. It seriously was amazing. Ugh, I can't think of another word. I love this story so much, please update!
'he cuts himself when he sees that half the class have drawn their wands'
Love it.

Author's Response: Thank you! So glad you're enjoying it! Next chapter is in the queue and should be up in a couple of days :)

 Report Review

Review #23, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: The Grass Is Always Greener

3rd September 2011:
Another hilariously awesome chapter. Please, please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! You're in luck, next chapter is in the queue now!

 Report Review

Review #24, by TheImaginatorRon & Hermione: Missing Moments: An Eventful Summer Afternoon

27th July 2011:
Love it! Really good. Ron and Hermione for ever!

 Report Review

Review #25, by TheImaginatorSouthern Cross: Defence Against the Dark Arts

27th July 2011:
I absolutely love this! Please, please write more. The humor is brilliant, and as a Kiwi I get it! Good stuff with Rose and Scorpius, I want to hear more about the New Zealand wizards and witches view on the Battle of Hogwarts and Harry Potter. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm definitely intending to write more, don't worry :P High five for being a Kiwi! :P More of that viewpoint will be in coming chapters. Thanks for the review!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login