Reading Reviews From Member: MarauderLover7
  
29 Reviews Found

Review #1, by MarauderLover7Tangled Web: Chapter Fourteen: Birthday Cake

18th June 2013:
I found this story the other day and have been so caught up reading it (I'm supposed to be revising... :P) that I haven't left a review yet so I thought I'd better. :)
Firstly, I never read Draco/Hermione stories. I like the idea of opposites attract, and that Hermione and Draco are intellectually matched, but I've never found a story that did them justce as a couple; the characters always seem out-of-character and that took away the appeal (that and there's almost always hating on Ron, who I'm personally rather fond of). I also almost never read WIPs either.
So, that said, I'm not entirely sure what made me click on this story, but I'm so glad I did! :D
You're a very talented writer - your grammar and spelling are pretty much flawless, your plot is captivating and I love what you've done with the characters. :)
Hermione is everything she should be - she's strong and brave and intelligent and her hurt/anger about the whole Ron situation is entirely believable and justified.
I like the way you've done Ron too. He's a git, but you've made him seem that way by emphasising traits he already had and not by giving him sadistic/abusive ones instead. I like that you don't make him seem stupid, or animalistic. You've made him unlikable because of the way he treated Hermione, yes, but he's still Ron. :S You're giving me mixed feelings abiot him, if nothing else, and I sort of hope that (a long way down the line) he and Hermione get back to mutual terms because they were good friends and it would be sad for them to lose that. :S I'm also incredibly pleased that the rest of the Weasleys are still family to Hermione, despite what Ron did; they don't blame her, she doesn't blame them. :)
Draco's great too - I love how he still smirks a lot and can be a bit of a prat, but overall, he's a good person, and I love that he's a Healer. It's a great occupation for him in my opinion, and I like the scenes where he's at work. :) His relationship with Teddy is absolutely adorable (on that note, I love Teddy, and the way he interacts with everyone). :D
Hermione and Draco's relationship is perfect - they don't always get along and they're still both a little bit caught up on their respective ex-partners, but for the most part, they're friends and heading towards more. I really love the way you've got them dancing around each other (they should just admit that yes, they fancy each other) because it makes them seem all the more believable. :)
I like that Harry and Ginny are on Hermione's side, but haven't shunned Ron altogether. You've done a very good job of showing how Harry in particular is torn, and I like that they're both wary of Draco, but are willing to give him a chance. :)
Lastly, as far as characters go, I both pity and am frustrated by Astoria; I don't like her denial, and the fact that she's so interfering, but I do feel sorry for her. :S
The plot is interesting, and well-paced; it doesn't get so slow that I get bored, and it doesn't feel as though you're rushing, either.:)
So those are my thoughts - to summarise, I adore your charcterisation of the characters because they're so believable and real - and I just want to say thank you for writing such an unbelievably good story (and the best Dramione story I've ever read). :) So thank you, and please update soon! :D
Happy writing!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: wow! thank you so much :) this is such an amazing review. I don't know what made you click on my story, either, but I'm really glad you did and I'm even more glad that you love it so much since you don't read Dramione stories.

I try to keep the characters as canon as I possibly could throughout the story. it's hard at times, especially since the plot is what it is, but I think it's important to keep that shadow of themselves because their characters are already so well developed. Hermione is Hermione because of her intelligence, stubbornness and strength. And Draco is Draco because he could be an arrogant prat most of the time. if I didn't leave those traits then the story wouldn't be about them.

Ron (and Neville) are my all time favorite HP characters. and I actually ship Ron with Hermione in the books (but the fanfiction world is dramione all the way). and with Ron, he already has inherent flaws that I wanted to just amplify in this story. Because Ron is the ultimate guy to me. He's not an idiot by any means but he has a one track mind. I love what I could do with him in this story because he's so mendable.

and I'm so so so so so glad you think the pace isn't too fast or slow. it's been my biggest struggle because I want to keep the story moving without seeming too rushed because of the time frame.

thank you again for the wonderful review :) I really, very much, appreciate it. I hope you enjoy the rest of the story because I will continue updating regularly! I promise!!


 Report Review

Review #2, by MarauderLover7Muggle Studies: Summery and Summary

11th June 2013:
I don't think I've ever laughed so hard through a story! :P
I loved Archie - he was funny and sarcastic and just a little bit mean (though his heart's in the right place). I imagine that's why you picked Robert Downey Jnr for the banner...? :P
I loved the nicknames - it's nice to see the students from a teacher's perspective - and I particularly liked that - while they featured - the Potter/Weasley clan weren't the main focus of a story set in their era. That said, I was a huge fan of the way you presented Freddie and Dom and also Hugo, the endearing little oddball. :P The other students were great too - even the annoying ones like Kevin and Elliot grew on me. :)
I also liked Sinistra as Headmistress - I'd never considered that possibility - and I loved Boot and Corner's bromance. :P
Well done on a well-written, hilariously funny story! :D
MarauderLover7.

 Report Review

Review #3, by MarauderLover7Tooth in the Brain: tooth in the brain

10th June 2013:
This gave me chills. :P Ginny was downright creepy lingering in the niche at the end! :S
It's an absolutely beautiful piece of writing - I thought Ginny and the twins were perfectly characterised, and I liked the way you built on Pince.
It was fascinating to see Ginny's motivations - I liked the ambiguity about which of her actions were hers, and which were Tom's, and that you made her a victim without making this a sob-story. It was real, which makes it all the sadder, I think, since Ginny's only eleven. :S I really liked the way that she tried to protect Harry.
"You let him be, he hasn't done anything" really stuck with me. It makes Ginny seem older, and it's nice to see her watching out for Harry instead of it being the other way around.
All up, it's an excellent story, and quite haunting - I've still got goosebumps! :P
Thank you for writing this!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Hello! Aww, this review absolutely made my day ♥ It was such a surprise to receive so many wonderful compliments, so thank you very much for taking the time to read AND leave a review ♥

I'm so glad you thought the Weasleys were well-characterised; characterisation is such an important aspect for me in oneshots. And yeah, it's pretty ambiguous about which actions are of Ginny's own free will and which are Tom's - I'm so happy you picked up on that. And yeah, I'm not fond of too much angsting about in fics as well - I tried to convey Ginny's emotional state through the action of the story.

Once again, thank you so much for reading this and leaving such a great review ♥

-teh


 Report Review

Review #4, by MarauderLover7When the Axe Fell: When the Axe Fell

3rd May 2013:
Firstly: I love the banner. :)
This is a fascinating idea for a story, and you write wonderfully; I was getting goosebumps.
It's also nice to know a bit more about a minor character - I've never read a story about Nick before, and it was interesting to get your take on it. :)
I can't decide who I feel worse for - Nick, or the executioner. :S This part in particular was so powerful:
"Death was inches away and the thought of it shook him to the core. He didn't want to die."
Well done on an excellent story. :)
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Hello!

I love my banner too! The artists over at TDA are just amazing, and I was so excited when I saw it.

This review actually just made my day, because it was completely unexpected and you wrote one of my favourite stories on this site!

I'm so happy that you enjoyed this story. Minor characters are my favourite, and I've never read about Nick either, so I couldn't resist writing this story when I got the idea for it. The executioner was a character who wrote himself completely, and I ended up feeling very sorry for him, which I hadn't expected. I'm so pleased that you felt something reading this, because that's exactly what I wanted to do with it.

Thank you so much for a lovely review!

Sian :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Mess up, with Hufflepuff

5th April 2013:
Brilliant chapter! :D
Haha, Fred should keep his nickname; Ginger Spice is classic! I'm curious to see whether Sirius will stay as Padfoot, though; will his Animagus form change, or will he go by a different name? 'Blackie' could be funny... :P I don't see James being a stag Animagus. I think he's too different to the original James to have the same form, but I could be wrong. Are you planning to make then Animagi? I can definitely see Fred as a bird or a squirrel (something small and energetic! :P). Sirius would be able to help them learn if they wanted to, wouldn't he? Or would he have another mature moment and decide they're too young?
I'm also really interested about your take on the Map's creation and was sort of hoping James might be able to get more information out of Sirius about it. Will they make another one? Or will James 'miraculously' find it?
Sirius' response to Kreacher being alive is interesting; I'm not quite sure where you're going with it, but I'm curious. :)
I'm also interested to see when James will slip up and tell Sirius that he knows; it was a close shave with the Map and Sirius was clever enough to work out the Polyjuice Potion and the whole Teddy-Vic thing... It's only a matter of time, surely?
Oh no! James is James again! McGonagall will be torn between being furious and impressed, I think and same with Neville. Maybe Sirius could pretend it was just a prank? :P Either way, I sense a letter or visit from Harry and Ginny in the near future. I wonder what Lily and Al will think... :P
Anyway, brilliant work and I'll read the next chapter when I've got the time! :D
Keep writing!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thank you! :D

Ginger Spice will definitely make a come back. xD Even if Fred doesn't like it.

I'm not too sure currently if I will or won't make them Animagi, but I have toyed around with the idea. I'm just not completely dead set on one or the other. Haha

You'll find out more about Sirius though in later chapters and about his Animagus form. As for whether he would help them, I could see him going either way. However, that would only work if he admitted to being an Animagus or even Sirius Black.

I have plans for both the current Map and even a new one. Only problem with James "finding it" would be Sirius' name. But I can assure you the Map makes it's appearance in later chapters. Sirius doesn't give too much away, but I have thought about the creation of the Map and will probably have Sirius explain more later on down the road.

Haha, I can't wait to bring Kreacher in as well and see what happens.

James has had a few close calls. I can't really say Sirius has because James already knows his big secret. But Sirius only worked out Davison was James after he saw the feather. He didn't work out the Polyjuice Potion on his own entirely. But Sirius is cleaver, you're right and James isn't the best at hiding things from him.

I promise Teddy and Victoire will be together. You'll just have to wait a little longer there. :)

Haha, you'll just have to see what happens in the next chapter soon. :)

Thank you for the review!
Taz


 Report Review

Review #6, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Christmas with the Potters (and Weasleys)

17th March 2013:
Sorry it's been so long between reviews! You wouldn't believe how busy I've been! :/
But, business aside, this was a brilliant chapter. There was so much going on that I had to read it three times to be sure I'd got it all. :P
"Leave it to Ron to be the last one here when he lives down the road." Good old George. :P And typical Ron. I loved the part about him shoving the kids through the Floo, as well. :P
Dom was... interesting. I don't know what to make of her yet, but Sirius is intrigued and that intrigues me too. :)
I love that Sirius went to talk with Teddy - it's so nice to see him filling little roles that Remus would have if he was still around - I'm sure Remus and Tonks appreciate it, wherever they are. :)
I loved the furry little problem reference, particularly because James is fully aware of the implications behind what he's saying. :P
Poor Teddy's so moody, but I can understand why. I hope things are patched up with him and Vic soon.
'"Teddy's in there!" Lily hissed.
"Good, he can listen too." James knocked on the door.' For some reason, this reminds me - immensely - of Hermione and Ron's bickering. :P I suppose it's not surprising when you consider that they're family, but still. :P
I'm intrigued about this new plot development, too. Ginny was great by the way, being her usual self, even if it is to the Minister. Am I right to assume 'Smith' was Zacharias? At first I thought Kingsley was there because he'd somehow found out about Sirius, but now Death Eaters are being attacked? :O Wow. Not something I saw coming. Does that mean there will be more of the Malfoys? I'm interested to meet Draco, Astoria and Scorpius. :P
So, to repeat myself: very busy, very good chapter. :P
I'll read the next one when I have the time. :)
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Oh don't worry! It's been crazy on my end too. So not to worry! I completely understand.
I'm glad that you read it a few times. I did add a lot into this chapter - but there are also so many characters that I could reference. I do have to say that the Ron scene was probably one of my favorites to write. I tried to think of the most Ronish way to enter the scene. So I picked late, leaving a house over, and shoving his kids threw the fireplace to make it 'on time.' Hermione bickering at him was just the cherry on top. :)

Haha, you'll see Dom more in the chapter coming up. She will be more involved once she starts school though. :)

The furry little problem reference was something I've been wanting to sneak in there for a while. It doesn't have the full effect it did for Remus. But Sirius would still find it funny coming from the new James with comparison to Remus's son. But yes, James did do it because he knew Sirius would get the reference and he was actually probably a bit reckless saying that and Sirius was careless for laughing. It was still a fun scene though. XD

They do have a Hermione/Ron tone there. I intended it more to be James not listening to his sister - when typically he does - but it did come off that way. ;)

Haha, I have a feeling that Ginny meeting Kingsley how she did would affect her attitude toward him in the future. She respects and like Kingsley dearly, but her husband and family comes first - meaning she would probably be this way to anyone. It just happens she knows Kingsley.

Yes, you are correct. Zacharias is Smith. I was was wondering if someone would catch it. He doesn't have a major part, but I did want another familiar face. I picked him because of his history with Harry and Ginny.

I thought about having Kingsley find out - but if he did/does he would probably go for an indirect approach and not involve the Ministry if possible. So this was just plot development - because Harry can not possible have a normal Christmas.

There will be more of the Malfoy's - but that will be later on. :) I can assure you that there will be lots of interesting development there. ;)

Thank you! And don't worry! Take your time. My updating rampage is about to fall back a bit, because I'm off break and have two exams coming up. Haha.

Thank you for the review!

Taz


 Report Review

Review #7, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Meet the Potters

6th March 2013:
I loved this chapter! Finally Sirius gets to meet the family! :D Albus was as I imagined - I love his interactions with James. :P Lily was sweet too - I liked that she hugged Sirius before bed. :)
Ginny and Harry were good too - it was nice to see them back, and I like that Ginny's still as fiery as ever. :P I want Harry and Sirius to talk, damn it! :P The suspense is killing me! :P
I feel so bad for poor Teddy, but now that Ginny knows, hopefully she'll sit him down and they'll talk it through. :)
"Something made me believe that if I punched his Grandson hard enough that the other James would feel it beyond the grave." This had me laughing so much! :P
I like that Sirius is aware of the differences between the James', and that he doesn't mistake one for the other. I wonder if the first James would be jealous that his grandson and best friend are so close and that he's dead - that would probably be harder to watch than Harry growing up without him and Lily - or if he's just happy for them. Probably just happy, but I'm not sure... :S
I loved the mirrors! :D I love the parallels you're drawing between the friendships. :)
I'll be back for more tomorrow! :D
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: I'm glad you like it. :D
I love writing for Albus and James. James loves to tease him and Albus does a really good job of taking it and worry about it to a point he's over-analyzing everything too much. Albus is a fun character though. I'm looking forward to the second year for James because Albus will be starting. :)
Lily was kind of hard for me to come up with - because I imagine her to be spoiled by her brothers - or James at least. I finally decided that she would be a mix of James and Ginny more with a dash of Lily to throw off Sirius and counter her brothers even at a young age.
I like Ginny and Harry and I kind of wish they were in the story more but it's hard to incorporate them at school - so this was a nice change in pace. I like them both mature and grown up because I would think that like you said "Ginny's still as fiery as ever," and Harry well, he's gotten a lot more life experience.
Haha, I'm sorry that you didn't get them to talk. They talked a little bit, but not what you were wanting. :P
I think you'll like the next chapter - addressing the Teddy issue - but I'll let you read that tomorrow. :)
Haha, I'm glad you like that line. I'm sure Sirius wanted to test that theory, but he would probably have a hard time explaining to the rest of the Potters why he punched James.
I'm glad you notice that Sirius can separate them in his head. It's something that James is completely worried about and stressing over - not that he would actually voice that - but he wants to be friends with Sirius all on his own and not his relation to his Grandfather.
I'm sure the first James is a little sad to miss his best friend - but at the same time he would be happy that he is alive and well. I think Harry growing up without parents would be a little harder - but at the same time he grew up with Sirius - however Sirius isn't replacing him, instead he's gaining another friend. He misses James and I'm sure that James understands that he can't mope around forever. :)
But you're right that is an interesting question. :/
I'm glad you like the mirrors. It took me a while to think of a gift that would be a perfect parallel between James and James and hit Sirius where it hurt...okay that sounded meaner than I wanted it to be. But it was suppose to be a sweet sad moment for Sirius - reminding him of James, but not too much.
I'll look forward to tomorrow to see what you think of the other chapters. :)
Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! :D
Taz


 Report Review

Review #8, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Confessions of James Potter

6th March 2013:
Interesting chapter. :) I like the whole James-Eric situation. Very clever. It's impressive that a first year could come up with something like that. :)
I hadn't thought about that! How long does Sirius have? I assumed he'd just live out the rest of his life from this point, but maybe that's not right. :(
Oh no! I sense trouble for Teddy and Victoire. :S Hopefully it's reparable. :S
I liked that James didn't resort to hexes straight away, like James the first would have. It's nice that they're so similar, yet also very different.
Lowesly... he's up to something, I think, but I don't know what, yet... Hmm...
I suppose I'll have to wait to find out. :P
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thank you! I was thinking of all the ways to get James on the team first year in the most interesting way possible. I thought of it because in the six book Draco stole the potion from Slughorn and then I figured - well, Slughorn would probably not change that much and still show six years that - James was just lucky enough that he didn't put it away. James came up with it on the spot while it took me time to figure out how to get him on the team. James didn't really think of it by himself but he did have help. He knew he wanted on the team - just not how.
As for Sirius - James just brought up a good point. He doesn't know much about how Sirius got there or even why. Not that Sirius knows anymore, but it's just a point that I thought would be to have James wonder about.
I'm not going to give too much away there because not a lot is know currently about Sirius' situation and to be quite honest about it I'm not even sure what will happen to him. I have two ideas, and I'm more set on one than the other, but I'm not sure which way I'm currently going at the moment. Pretty much it's open to what I feel like right now - meaning that anything could happen. When I get more into the story and the plot I'm sure that I'll have a more definite ending, but overall I'll let you guess until then. ;)
And yes, there is a little trouble for Teddy and Victoire. :( I'll let you see what happens. That's kind of a common problem I've been running into. I have a lot of points of views I want to express and it's hard to resolve some minor or even major points with so many...but at the same time it's so much fun! :)
It's just going to be a really long story I guess.
I'm glad you like James the way he is. He does have some James the first moments, but I'm trying to make them two different people overall. They were both raised in two different situations and this James also has quite the family unlike James did. I think that they would have similar personalities at times, but James also fears being too much like the first James and is very conscience of him and his Grandfather sharing the same best friend. However Sirius has also changed, so they are both kind of fighting with who they are and are not.
As for Lowsley, he's quite the character and odd at times. But i like that you are thinking about him. :)
Thank you again,
Taz


 Report Review

Review #9, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : The Surprising Talent of Eric Davison

6th March 2013:
Another great chapter. :) I liked the run-through of classes and teachers. Shookwick in particular sounds interesting. :) I'm hoping for a scene from her class in the future. :)
I liked the way you compared Sirius' current role in the group to the way Remus was. It seems like Sirius is finally getting a small taste of his own medicine and Remus is probably laughing himself silly wherever he is. :P
"While her friends were clueless as to what was happening, Victoire quickly caught on and was giggling as she tried to choke Fred. I honestly didn't know if it was from the Juice or if she was just really happy to be strangling her cousin." This was a brilliant line. :) I love how you've invented new WWW products to include in the story. :)
Yay! Sirius is going home! Surely Harry will recognise him? Even if he somehow didn't, I imagine he'd be suspicious and be waiting for Sirius to slip (which seems likely, if he's around Harry). And that'll lead to all sorts of interesting discussions. And I can't wait to see what Sirius makes of Al and Lily and the rest of the Weasley family. It'll be nice to see some more familiar faces. And will Andy be there with Teddy, or is Teddy just with the Potters? I'm keen to see them together too. :)
Keep it up!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thank you! :)
I was going to give a class with Shookwick later. She should be interesting, but I'm wondering where to put it.
Originally, I was going to have Sirius keep his personallity close to how I imagined his younger self was, but it just didn't even out. I figure in comparison to the first Marauders Fred is closer to Sirius, James is kind of like James and Sirius has been put in Remus' position. Trying to keep them out of trouble, but being dragged in anyways and enjoying the ride - for the most part. And yes, I imagine Remus is laughing at Sirius. XD
Aww thank you for the compliment! I was rather fond of that line when I was writing it. It shows a nice cousin-like love between them...or not so much. And of course there are new products! :D George isn't going to stop and his son probably likes to test them.
You'll have to find out about Harry. ;) And Sirius meeting the Weasley clan was fun to write. I didn't get to put in as much as I would have liked to - but I suppose there is always other times. :/
I see you haven't gotten to that chapter where he meets all of them so I won't say who all is there, but I can't wait to see your response. :)
I'm glad you're looking forward to it and thank you so much!
Taz


 Report Review

Review #10, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : James’ Challenge

5th March 2013:
Okay, so Sirius is a bit sad about the map. :P
What is James up to with Davidson? And why is he promising Victoire in exchange for help? I get the feeling neither Vic or Teddy will be awfully pleased about this... :P
Typical Potter using Expelliarmus straight away. It's complex magic for a first year but I'm sure Harry taught his kids that one before they could talk properly. :P Maybe it was James' first word. :P
"After you got knocked out Sirius stood up for you and said something about 'playing dirty' and 'only a child.' He ended up challenging Lowsley to a duel." This was so sweet; I love how Sirius is the perfect mix of older brother and friend to James, and I love how he's still as impulsive as he ever was. :D
Is it Lowesly or Lewesly? It seems to change. Either way, I liked him in Teddy's chapter, but I thoroughly agree with James and Sirius now; he is a bit of a git. :P
I'll be back to read more tomorrow night! :D
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: You'll find out more on Davison next chapter. ;) But basically James is promising a chance with Victoire - because she is quite the catch and as mentioned in Teddy's chapter, this doesn't go unnoticed by most of the boys in the school. But no, I don't think Teddy would like what James is up to. And Victoire would probably be worst.
I thought it was proper that Harry would have already taught his children their first spells. Haha, I like your idea about teaching it to them before they could talk and his first words. That made me laugh. XD But I feel that if James knew any spell it would be what he learned from his father and considering his father is an Auror - James has a bit of an edge. He - unlike Harry - also had school at home and by Hermione and Ginny. Hermione probably didn't encourage learning spells at such a young age - but Harry and Ginny did.
I'm glad you thought that was sweet. It's what Sirius would have done for the past James, but he felt more vigorous about this because this James is only eleven.
And it should be Lowsley. I'll go back and make sure I catch those real quick and update it. Thank you for pointing that out, this chapter and Teddy's was when I was debating on the name so I need to revise those two chapters. I probably didn't see it when I was scanning through, thank you! :)
And yes, he is more likable in Teddy's chapter - but then again Teddy has known him longer and has a higher opinion of him. However, he does come across as a git to James and Sirius and I don't think they are completely wrong either. Lowsley is an interesting teacher.
Thank you for the reviews again and I'll look forward to reading more tomorrow! :D
Thank you,
Taz


 Report Review

Review #11, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : The Good Luck of Sirius Black

5th March 2013:
Another great chapter. :P Poor Sirius, having to repeat his entire schooling career all over again. I imagine once was bad enough. :P
This was great: "I had the pleasure to attend a few, although I tried to get into detentions on the night he held them." Because he's win either way: if he had to go to detention, he missed the parties and if Slughorn arranged for cancelled detentions, Sirius got to annoy whichever teacher was responsible without being implicated. :P
Haha, of course Harry warned James about Slughorn. :P
The map! Oh, poor Fred. :P At least he'll be ridiculously happy when they find it again. I was a little surprised that Sirius wasn't sadder that one of his pranking heirlooms had been lost (I know he'd be relieved, but he and the other Marauders put so much work into that map. :S Haha, James is watching over him... just not the James that he thinks... :P
Awesome chapter. :)
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thank you again!
I'd imagine Sirius is quite put out about that part. He seems okay with James and Fred, but the classes with first year material must be dreadful!
And that's how I always thought Sirius would try to get out of them - he would initially say "Of course I be there old Sluggy!" Then at once hex a Prefect or Teacher to give him detention. And that's how I thought Slughorn would react - trying to cancel Sirius' detention. I think eventually he would give up - finding the young Sirius too troublesome or at least not as interesting as Harry was too him.
Haha, Yes Fred was rather sad over that big lose, but so was Sirius as you mention in your next review. Although he is initially happy that James and Fred won't find out he does then realize - like you said - "one of his pranking heirlooms" was gone.
And I'm glad that you caught on to James still having it. ;) Some thought he really lost it until the next chapter.
Thank you so much!
Taz


 Report Review

Review #12, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Teddy Remus Lupin

5th March 2013:
Great chapter. :) Teddy's wonderful and I wasn't at all surprised to learn that he's been dating Victoire for years. :P I loved the part about Dominique, though:
"Also I might have to buy her an Owl for her eleventh birthday and a broomstick for her twelfth. We are still negotiating on that one." Great line. :)
I like the way you've done Teddy - I particularly enjoyed the scene with McGonagall and the Head Boy confirmation letter. :P Teddy seems to be the perfect mix of Tonks' confidence and Remus' fun-yet-studious nature. :)
I thought it was good that you included the part where Sirius is unaffected by the food appearing on the table. I'm also very interested to see what Sirius does in his first Defence class (am I right in guessing that he'll duel Lewesly? And win? I hope so! :P)
I suppose I'll read and find out. :)
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thank you! I enjoy writing for Teddy. He's one of my favorite to write for because of the lack of Remus and Tonks. :(
And I don't think anyone was surprised they had been dating a while, Haha.
I'm glad you mentioned that line though because it says something about Teddy and Dominique (who, of course hasn't been introduced, yet).
I did try to mix Tonks and Remus a lot in him, but mostly the sides that didn't match. For example, Tonks is outgoing side mixed with Remus more studious was interesting to me. Not that I don't think Tonks was studious - I just pegged her more for a girl that crammed before a test.
I wanted to include Teddy's relationship with McGonagall because I kind of expected that his experience would be similar to the first James Potter. Only Teddy had been Prefect before and he didn't prank everyone he came across. I just imagine him as easygoing fun and overall a happy kid. Despite McGonagall's reaction to his hair he is still one of her favorite students and doesn't overlook how the other teachers adore him too.
As for the food, it was something I kind of thought of last minute and added it to that scene. I didn't want him to notice that Sirius was too odd - but I wanted him to notice something.
And I see you already reviewed the chapter when Lowsley meet Sirius and James, so I guess it would be redundant to say 'good theories, wait and see!'
But yes, you are correct about that. XD
Sirius however, realizing that he was still quite up to par with his magical abilities, didn't really initially want to duel him - knowing he would win or at least assuming. He was trying not to draw attention to himself - but that flew out the window...as you saw.
Haha, thank you for the review again!
Taz


 Report Review

Review #13, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : James Sirius Potter

4th March 2013:
"I didn't know he could be so cocky when he looked like he was going to wet himself earlier." Classic Sirius. :P
Another great chapter - I wasn't overly surprised when James sneaked off to eavesdrop, but I was pleased that he did actually pause to consider Sirius' privacy. :)
Fred's threat to the Sorting Hat was great - I think you're right; lots of kids would threaten it (mostly Gryffindors or Slytherins. :P).
I'm looking forward to the inevitable conversation between Sirius and James; I'm interested to see whether James just blurts it out because he can't help himself (like Ginny would) or if he's going to watch the situation (like Harry would).
Keep it up!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Haha, I forgot about that line! I think at the time I thought something along the lines of, "how to describe Sirius..."
Thank you so much! :D
Believe it or not, I actually almost didn't put that scene in there. I was debating with myself at the time and then realized I needed to have it because James did most likely sneak the Map and if one enchanted piece of parchment (the Sorting List) finds out, Map certainly isn't going to lie about this. So then I debated on just having Sirius' point of view and then dramatically relieving that James knew all along in some future chapter, but I went with this because I needed his point of view and it's hard not thinking "This is Sirius Black," when I'm writing for James.
As for the conversation, I'm glad you are looking forward to it and I'll let you see for yourself what's going to happen. :)
Thank you so much!
Taz


 Report Review

Review #14, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Professor Neville Longbottom

4th March 2013:
Yay! Neville! :D I love how sure of himself he is now. I know he was getting to that point in the real books, but to see that he's stayed that way after several years is good. :) The old Neville would never have argued. :P
I also like the fact that McGonagall knew about Sirius being back. You do her character justice that way, because she's not all surprised and sentimental - she's got a chance to consider what's happened first and then act accordingly. I also liked that she trusted the parchment; I've read a few stories where someone goes back/forwards in time and has to convince everyone that they are who they say they are. It's a nice change to not have that. :)
I'm liking it so far - testing comfort zones is clearly a good thing!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Haha, Neville was getting pretty epic at the end of Harry Potter, so I was pretty sure that he would keep that and gain more confidence in himself, but not in a cocky over the top sort of way. Just enough to have great characteristics for a teacher and someone to look toward.
At the beginning stages I had to really consider how to bring Sirius back. I almost went for the whole "new kid" thing - where they just show up at a random year and transferred - but I didn't really like that idea. I kind of liked this, because there are a few ways to tell who he really is but more on that later. ;)
McGonagall is one of my favorite teachers and I'm really glad that you think I did her character justice, because I was trying to convey her emotions and feelings just right. This chapter was almost in Sirius point of view - but that was before I decided it was a good idea to switch perspectives every other chapter. This is when writing third person comes in handy. :)
Overall though I realized I didn't want this to be a story where he had to convince everyone. I would have ran into more problems if I did. :D
I'm glad you like it so far! And as for testing comfort zones, it's good but so much work. XD I enjoy it though.
Taz


 Report Review

Review #15, by MarauderLover7Beyond the Veil : Sirius Lee

4th March 2013:
Very interesting idea. :) I loved the nostalgic tone to the prologue sort of part, and I love Sirius' point of view. :)

"I'm going to kill you James Potter.
I swear it.
I'm going to kill myself, then come and kill you."

And,

"So the full name was Sirius... Lee... Sirius Lee... good Merlin James, if this was your idea of a joke I am going to strangle your grandson. I swear..."

Those were probably my favourite parts in the chapter; you've done a brilliant job with Sirius' characterisation. I also like Ginny; she's exactly how I imagined an older Ginny would be - still herself, but very Mrs Weasley-ish. Teddy's cool too. I love how confident he is, particularly in the part about him going to the Prefect/Heads meeting with colourful hair. :)
I'm intrigued and keen to read more. :)
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Oh my gosh! You read it! Thank you so much! The prologue was so hard for me to write, but so fun at the same time. I had trouble at points, but the ending scene came naturally to me, because I knew that was how it had to end...I just didn't want to write it.
The two quotes were very fun to write. I almost thought of a new first name for Sirius too, but decided this would be a more Jame-ish thing to do (if like Sirius thinks, he had something to do with it).
Thank you so much! I'm so happy that you finally got to read the first few chapters. I had fun writing everyone in the first chapters, but it's very hard to maintain their personalities in later chapters.
I'm glad you are intrigued and thank you so much for reviewing!
Taz


 Report Review

Review #16, by MarauderLover7Time-Turner Mishaps : It Rhymes With Chili

8th February 2012:
This is brilliant. There are a few grammar mistakes, but the way you've characterised everyone (particularly Sirius) makes it so enjoyable I hardly noticed!

I particularly liked these parts:

"He was 6'1 as well; although if asked, Sirius would promptly say he was the taller one, and anyone that said differently was really too short to have an opinion."

and

" "Uh-oh, he's in Lily Mode. James?" said Remus, starting to approach his friend.
"No, that won't work." Sirius said. He then took 3 long strides to James' bed and slapped him across the face.
"Bloody OW! Dammit Black, what the hell?!" "

Please update soon! :)
Keep Writing!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: haha thanks so much! and yeah, i absolutely love writing the marauders, they are just too much fun not to :D im so glad you liked it, next update will be very soon! :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by MarauderLover7The Anatomy of a Bromance: (OF BROTHERS AND SISTERS)

4th February 2012:
This is beautiful. I absolutely love the way you've written this, and the way you've characterised Harry and Hermione. Hermione, in particular, so many authors fail to write properly yet you've done her perfectly, so well done! :D
I love all the banter between Harry and Hermione and the way that you've shown little scenes that J.K. Rowling never included - it's a taste of what we were missing and it's all completely believable.
I love it!
Keep Writing!
MarauderLover7.

 Report Review

Review #18, by MarauderLover7We Never Gave Up: Home Again

3rd February 2012:
Wow! Firstly, I love the banner! :D It's absolutely beautiful.
This is a great story - I love the concept and you've presented it well. :) I read the whole thing in about twenty minutes - you had my attention from Sirius' perspective in the first chapter. :) I absolutely loved the flashback scenes, particularly the ones from early on, since there aren't many stories like that. :)
There were a few little errors, but most of your grammar and spelling is good, which is a big plus - I struggle to read anything that's not correct. :P
I'm excited to read the next chapter - Harry should be showing up in the Hospital Wing any time now. I'm not completely sure how far through Harry's first year this is, but I figure he'll turn up with Ron's dragon-bite, or perhaps unconscious having just defeated Quirrell. :P
Keep Writing!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: The banner? Really? I wasn't really sure how to make it xD
I had the most fun writing the flashbacks, not sure why. Everything just came to me, word after word after word. Might write another one that's going on in that time, or just get a few extra flashbacks.
I do so to xD Sometimes I find myself correcting something if it's bad enough (the spelling!)
Still trying to find out exactly HOW Harry is going to meet James. I'm afraid that it will be rushed, or awkward...
This would be after Christmas. Is it a bad thing that I'm a little confused about it myself? xD

So very happy that you took your time to read it, thank you so much! I guess some of my inspiration comes from you're story that I check for new chapter EVERY day.
I'll keep writing :D
-LittleEllehammer


 Report Review

Review #19, by MarauderLover7It's Actually Love.: L-O-V-E

23rd January 2012:
This is so cute! I absolutely love the ending!
I like the way you've done Lily (her personality is great!), and this story - though short - has an engaging plot. :)
Keep Writing!
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thank you :) its great to get a review like this! Makes me so happy that you liked it :) thanks for the review!

 Report Review

Review #20, by MarauderLover7At the End: Final Scene: At the End

10th January 2012:
Haha, this was really good. I loved the way you wrote the action scenes, and loved the way you characterised Bellatrix - she was just right, I thought. This one had hardly any errors, and I laughed at Dumbledore's line at the end. :P
Keep Writing,
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I am really glad that you like it!
-Fawkes


 Report Review

Review #21, by MarauderLover7Snowflakes: Snowflakes

10th January 2012:
Aww! This story was so cute! There were a few grammar mistakes, but none were too bad. I particularly liked the Polyjuice Potion part. :)
Keep Writing,
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: Thanks for the review. I am glad that you like it. I sent out an update with corrected grammar, and I am just waiting for validation.
-Fawkes


 Report Review

Review #22, by MarauderLover7Midsummer Night's Nighmare: What a pleasant surprise!

8th January 2012:
Are you going to update?! I can't wait to see where this is going? :D I love the playful banter between James and Sirius and I'm also curious about the way Lily and Sirius interact - even while they supposedly hate each other, there are still signs of the brother-sister relationship they'll have later on.
One little thing I noticed was your grammar and spelling - it could be improved in places - but other than that, I loved it!
Please update soon!
Keep Writing,
MarauderLover7.

 Report Review

Review #23, by MarauderLover7Rules of Attraction: A Bet is Made

24th November 2011:
It's awesome - I love the concept!
Please keep writing; I'm curious to see where you go with this! :)
Update soon. :)
MarauderLover7.

 Report Review

Review #24, by MarauderLover7Marauding There And Back Again: Halloween Soirée

24th November 2011:
Firstly, I love this story! I read the whole thing this morning!
I love your characterisation of the Marauders - particularly Sirius. I like that Peter has a bit of personality, but I'm struggling to see why he became a Death Eater if he's as attached to the rest of them as he seems... I like James and Sirius' relationship - it's just how I imagined it, and I particularly liked the piggy-back scene. :P
Lily needs to loosen up a little bit, but she's getting there. And just when James is contemplating giving up on her! :(
Anyway, please update soon! I am thoroughly enjoying your story and can't wait for the next chapter! :)
Keep Writing,
MarauderLover7.

 Report Review

Review #25, by MarauderLover7Operation Happy Ending: Method in the Madness

23rd November 2011:
I love this story! I love the way you have characterised the Marauders and the girls - their personalities are just the way I think J.K. Rowling would have wanted them to be! :)
I also love your writing style - third person, but you still put quirky little one-liners in there to show exactly what the characters are thinking. :)
Please, please update soon!
Keep Writing,
MarauderLover7.

Author's Response: This review absolutely made my year. Thankyou, you are the loveliest! I will never get tired of people reading my story let alone loving it! Haha I guess my quirky writing style says a lot about my own weird personality.

Update is coming very soon (chapter is going into queue tonight!) and I really hope to hear what you think of Chapter Ten!


T


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>