Reading Reviews From Member: tangledconstellations
  
315 Reviews Found

Review #26, by tangledconstellationsThe Simplest of Words: Regrets

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015 :)

Gah - hey again!

MY HEARTT!! Sirius :( This was such a great chapter, to have Sirius at 'home', like he says, with his friends and surrounded by the things that make him feel the safest. I was so happy when he was there, with his friends - their little jibes at each other and that general air of being carefree and being young - but ugh, it's just so hard that all of his sort of present-tense emotions are with him. It would be so much easier if he could return to that memory sort of be blissfully ignorant. Maybe then it wouldn't hurt him so much. The final paragraph made me feel so sad for him. Your descriptions really let me visualise his hurt - his almost physical pain at the things he knows now and didn't then.

Is there going to be any more of this story? I really like the approach you have taken here, following Sirius through the veil. I hope we can see into his mind even more because I think you've captured his character really well. He loves his friends so much - he is so brave I think, but having him look back on his life, on his weaknesses like this, obviously it must be so hard for him.

This was another awesome chapter, and I really hope there will be more!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #27, by tangledconstellationsThe Simplest of Words: Prologue

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015!

Heyy,

As a self-confessed Sirius fangirl, this was so difficult for me to read! Even in the books, I find it so difficult for me to read Sirius' last moments (especially with Harry all like, 'c'mon, Sirius - he's just behind the veil!' *cry*). It was really unique to be able to read this moment from Sirius' perspective, and kind of doubly heartbreaking that Sirius is aware of Harry's anguish as soon as it happens. Despite this being really painful, though, this was also written really well and gave oomph to his last moments. Maybe it's the perspective, the way we're not quite in Sirius' head but we're in tune to his feelings - it just makes this moment feel really alive, and so when that is taken away from us, especially in the last paragraph when his 'eyelids begin to droop', it feels all the more powerful, and yet all the more inevitable.

I really liked the way this piece was so Sirius. I think you wrote him really well. This is clearly later Sirius, second-War Sirius, after he's spent that long time in Azkaban and has changed. He's aware of everything that's going on, he's not overrun with deep emotions or anything, but he's still very conscious. I think perhaps because it's Bellatrix he's fighting with so passionately its that which is keeping him awake. And it's in his last moments that he realises the importance of the people around him who care about him - which makes the conclusion of this chapter so strong.

This was awesome, and I'm excited about reading on!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #28, by tangledconstellationsA Time of Heartache and Healing: Failure

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015.

Hey,

Well, this was just the saddest thing in the world :( But at the same time, even though this was so sad, it was also so incredibly beautiful because I think you've really captured the absolute depth of despair that a mother losing her child would feel. I can't even imagine it, but it must be so awful, and Molly must feel so, so awful. Almost incomprehensibly so. I think what makes this all the more painful is the fact that she absolutely blames herself. She really feels as though she's let everyone down and even though it's so important for her to remember that her children will grow up and become their own adults, you've shown through this piece that right now, she just can't. That's something that is impossible for her to do.

Having Arthur arrive and join her in the bathroom - I sort of thought this would be the kind of situation where she feels a bit better - but because she didn't feel better and because the pain didn't recede - I think that's what made this so, so powerful. You haven't brushed lightly on the topic, you've really shown how crippling this experience is and that makes it more realistic. It makes me feel like Molly is a real person right in front of me - and the way she even feels guilty being with Arthur, her husband who loves her, it's just so sad. Grief is such a complicated and difficult thing to describe and to pinpoint but in this piece you've done a remarkable job. There's something beautifully human about your writing. This just feels so real and even though its sad, it's incredible, too.

I really like the way you've written this - the descriptions of her tears and sobbing, her emotions - it corresponds to the pacing of the piece, the way time for her slips quite quickly but also slowly. It's as though in a way things are so out of her control.

Crickey - even though this was SO sad it was so beautiful too. Thank you for sharing. This was so beautifully written!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #29, by tangledconstellationsThe Perfect Present: The Perfect Present

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015 :)

Agh, this was just the cutest thing ever! The whole Cho/Cedric romance thing, even though it's only really in GoF (*sob*) is just so cute. I imagine them to be the ultimate keen, awkward couple. Obviously they both really like each other, and I think given their ages they're each others first girlfriend and boyfriend, so I just imagine them to be SO cute and to really mean well when trying to do things for each other. I also loved that this was from Cedric's perspective, because you're giving us more of a character that I think was set up do well in the books - but adding in those missing moments. I love that despite Ron thinking he's a berk and Harry being a bit jealous of him, Cedric is just a really nice guy. And he's not perfect - he doesn't know what's right to get Cho, but he obviously really likes her and doesn't want to get it wrong because he cares a lot about her. This was really lovely to read, and I'm so happy he got the right gift!

I think it's extra special that Cho's gift wasn't just something ordinary like chocolates of jewelry. I think Cedric's dilemma is one that EVERY guy has when he doesn't know what to get the girl he likes for a present, but even though the situation is a relatively familiar one, this piece did feel really personal to them. This was just really lovely to read and gave more insight into their relationship.

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #30, by tangledconstellationsResolution: Resolution

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015!

Hey there,

Ahh, this was great! It was short and sweet but is one of those pieces that enriches my thoughts on the Wizarding World. You've let me think about a character I wouldn't normally consider, and this was just, well, lovely! I really like the tone of this piece, the way it's not too melancholic or not to slow or anything - it is literally a moment of reflection, like your summary says, and yet you've managed to show us a very convincing character, with a whole host of emotions in this moment. Your writing itself is perfect for this piece. I loved the image of her walking onstage, of her silencing the crowd and starting to sing. It was really powerful, really goosebumpy! I could feel the tension in the room - and even though she was beginning to feel tired before, all of that sank away, captured really beautifully with your final like, 'This was what she had been made to do.'

I think you've managed to portray the mind of a performer really well here. I like that she is aware that she's sort of getting exhausted by it all, but at the same time, she is still doing it - she's not nervous anymore, it's become second nature to her. This was super effective, and you subtle descriptions were perfect for the piece as they didn't overwhelm it at all.

I wonder if Mrs. Weasley was in the crowd? :)

This was great!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #31, by tangledconstellationsHeart(less): Heart(less)

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015.

Heya!

Lucius and Narcissa are my all-time favourite canon couple. I really feel like there's a wealth of emotion and so many stories between them, and so, naturally, I had to read this. This was absolutely fantastic, and I am in awe of how effective and powerful this was! I loved the structure, the way you stagger their moments, the way some are a few lines long and they transport you to a new place, whereas others are just fleeting little moments. This was honestly like poetry. It reminded me of a broken, jarring movie real - showing moments that aren't quite full, or are... it was just awesome.

I really like the way you've characterised Narcissa here. She's the character out of the two of them that fascinates me the most. I do always see in her a woman who is just so loyal to her family, who has so much faith in the power of the three of them, that it sort of overcomes all other doubts. But at the same time, here she did have doubts. You let her be human, you let her panic and worry - but, the line that got me - through it all she had a 'heart that refused to break'. She is strong, and I love how you've written her so much.

But then this in itself makes me think about your title, and how it ties in to this whole piece. Heartless. Is she heartless? Or has she been hollowed out from everything that has happened to them? I love the way the title adds an extra facet to this piece. It's so cleverly done, and just adds to what I see is the mystery of the Malfoys. Thank you for sharing this on the archive - it was brilliant.

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #32, by tangledconstellationsBall Date: Proposals

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, for the House Cup 2015!

Yayy I love this!

This is such a happy/carefree idea, and Ginny is my absolute favourite so this story makes me super excited. I love that, while Harry and Ron are off whining about the Yule Ball, she actually really secretly wants to go, and I love that the fiery, funny element of her character was present here (especially in her feeling better that Ron had not yet got a date - classic Ginny :P) I also really liked that there was plenty of Hermione and Ginny time. I guess mainly because the series is from Harry's POV it's quite difficult to gauge how close friends they were. I've always imagined that they did hang out a lot and it was sort of really refreshing to just see them talking about normal girl stuff, like what to wear, how to do their makeup, that sort of thing. I'm really looking forwards to seeing more of Hermione's character, as well as seeing how you interpret Ginny in later chapters!

Neville was super cute in this too. It's really interesting seeing him through another set of eyes that aren't Harry's. I like that this first chapter isn't overly heavy. It's a snippet of a canon event that is mentioned only really in passing, so it's a real privilege to have it extended like this. I hope you find the time to add more to this story too because I think this is going to be a really interesting read. Yay for Ginny!

This was great!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #33, by tangledconstellationsStrangers in the End: Where is Home

20th June 2015:
Reviewing for Ravenclaw, House Cup 2015!

Hey there!

I also took part in the Angst Galore challenge, so I was really excited to see you portray ~all the feels~ in this. And you certainly did! My heart is aching!! I thought this was really wonderful, though. It's such a special idea and Alzheimer's is such an awful thing to happen to anyone, and you made this feel very real. In the books, Hermione having to modify her parents memories is just so heartbreaking (maybe because she's just so young when she has to do it) and to have you return to one of the parts of the canon series that I find the most special and important was really, really nice. But sad. EXTREMELY SAD. But I think you wrote the situation in such a way that you did it justice.

I love your writing style - I don't think I've ever really read any of your writing but I will make sure to keep an eye on it, definitely. The whole piece flowed really well and your choice of words maximised the really gentle but powerful feeling throughout this. What really got to me was how careful all of this piece is - how much Hermione cares about her parents is so evident - but you almost undo (in a powerful way, don't get me wrong!) this feeling with the very last line. She is still a stranger - she loves them so much, but she's done this to them. It just breaks my heart.

This was amazing, and I'm so glad I've had the chance to read it!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #34, by tangledconstellationsRediscovery: i. stolen glances

19th June 2015:
Heya,

Wow, this is a super cool first chapter! I love the idea of Scorpius working in a library, it's really satisfying somehow - perhaps because I don't imagine Draco would ever do the same :P I love the way Scorpius spoke here - he comes across as quite sharp and catty, but obviously we know that inside his head he's totally freaking out about not letting on that he was watching Hugo! I suspect this is a guise he's put up - and their quite cutting exchange a moment ago is really exciting, and makes me keen to see how the rest of their interactions will go.

You've set up a number of questions in this chapter, which is always good because now I'm looking forwards to read on. Why is Huge reading up on transfiguration? Is there a reason Scorpius has got a sort of barrier here? I love that already his thoughts are lingering on Hugo though, as though he's drawn to him and he doesn't *really* know why.

This was a great first chapter and I'm excited to see where it will go in c2! Thanks for sharing! :D

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #35, by tangledconstellationsBlind: Blind

19th June 2015:
Heya Vicki!

I've been meaning to swing by and leave you a review after you reviewed High Romance for the BvB! Thank you btw - your review was so lovely! ♥ I'm so bad at responding to reviews because I never know what to say but it made me so happy - thank you loads *^-^*

But okay, THIS. YOU HAVE CREATED SO MUCH EMOTIONAL TURMOIL IN MY HEART RIGHT HERE. I was reading this like, this is so beautiful! Everything is okay! Rose isn't with Scorpius, she's with Teddy (my otp btw!), everything is perfect and I'm so happy for them and they're getting married...and then it hit me that she was just a guest and I was like, noo!! Stop!! And then as I was reading I was sort of like, is it too late for Rose to stand up and be like, I OBJECT!? There's a chance, she can totally take it!! But she didn't and just... ugh :( she loves Teddy so much. And this is so powerful because there's such a boundary here, the way she doesn't want to approach that family/not family issue even though she does love him.

I think what is most special about this is the fact that she doesn't take the chance and she doesn't speak up. She knows what she wants but she doesn't know what *he* wants and to her that's far more important. She is punishing herself for not realising it sooner - but that's so sad because she can't change that. I feel like you've explored her character so much here, even though this was quite brief, and I get a sense of the way she thinks and feels. I really want to read more! As a moment this is so good, but I really think you have such a wealth of emotions tucked in here, and I just want to gorge on them. Hahaha :D

Your writing is as beautiful as it always is. You adopt the tone of this piece so fluidly, and I really do feel like we are seeing this through Rose's eyes. There are so many wonderful hesitations here (which at first I thought were because of Rose's nerves about getting married! Oh how wrong I was!) and so many subtle, powerful descriptions. I love how the whole process of Teddy reaching the altar is quite slow - you've written it in a really meaningful and deliberate way because that is exactly how Rose is seeing it - slowly, because she almost wants it to just come to a *stop*.

Thank you for sharing this. It was really beautiful. But now I need to go and nurse my broken heart back to health... ♥

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #36, by tangledconstellationsMoment of Clarity: In These Walls

19th June 2015:
Reviewing for the BvB battle!

How is it that I'm always in tears when I read your writing? Your writing is such a pleasure to read, you phrase everything so well, and you build up the emotions in just the right way to absolutely break my heart. Normally I'm such a stoical person when it comes to getting emotional over fics, I do like to enthuse but often they don't really *get* to me, as in, I appreciate them fully in the moment. But everything of yours that I've read so far has just got to me so much. I was thinking about Jumping off Swings for days. You write about the really special and sad topics and moments that catch you off guard in the books, but recreate them and embellish them in such a unique way, in your own style. This was amazing, really, really. Thank you for sharing this because it was just wonderful. ♥

I love the way you reveal things here - the way it comes slowly and we too as the reader have this sense of being very disoriented. I was very confused when the blonde girl came in - once I'd realised this was Alice (because at first I was like, is this Lily? Is this in the afterlife?) I was trying to find other people to connect to her, and I really loved being in that position. I loved that I didn't know at what point in time I was reading this (for a while I thought this might be set just after their mission, and that from here on their recovery was going to stop) because it made me hang on to every line you gave me. And the way Neville and Frank, and Nevilles baby and Neville himself - the way they're all sort of interchangeable for a while, and you don't know who is who, because Alice doesn't know who is who just yet... and then it just hits you, so gently and carefully. This was just such an amazing chapter. Once I clocked onto it (maybe I'm slow, idk?) I started welling up, and I was just in absolute awe of this piece. The concept for this piece is so beautiful.

The tone as well is really satisfying - like, you do describe Alice seeing things through a sort of mist, but even before you included that description I definitely got a sense of that. Everything seems blurry, but bright, in this very pure way. I like that, despite Alice not fully knowing where she is, none of this feel claustrophobic - Alice isn't trapped or struggling, she's just sort of slowly coming to terms with everything and very gradually seeing. I think if you had emphasised the walls, the floor, the not-knowing this would have become a very different piece. Instead though, I like the approach you've got here. I feel like Alice is sort of relatively in control here. Even though she doesn't *know* and she's been absent for such a long time, this fic is very empowering because she's starting to understand.

This moment (of clarity!) was amazing to read. It gives me so much hope for the whole family which is something they need, so much. Thank you for sharing this. You've managed to break my heart and put it back together again in about ~3000 words. I am such a fan of your writing -- AND I'm so happy it was you that posted in BvB last! :P Thank you ♥

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #37, by tangledconstellationsShadows of War: Prologue: August 2001

8th June 2015:
Heya!

Swinging by once more the BvB review battle! :D

I was really excited about reading this after reading Jumping off Swings (which you already know how much I loved! ♥). I thought this looked really interesting because I find the Malfoy family fascinating post-war, and I'm looking forward to seeing where you take this.

This was such a great introduction to the story to come. The narrative voice is so fiery and so headstrong but there's also an element of self-doubt in there too. As I assume this is Astoria, I think letting her have that kind of personality is really cool, especially as it's going to eventually blend with Draco's story, too. There are already questions I want answering (why was she disowned? Is Daphne okay?) which is awesome and I feel invested in what's to come. Even though this was a short intro, a lot has been set up and I have a real feel for the style of the universe you're writing in.

I love how reading this chapter feels as though there's going to be an epic story to come. I can feel that there's going to be drama and pain and already I have confidence that you'll guide the reader there seamlessly. I don't know - there's just something really emotive about this intro and it's just incredibly exciting. I think this is a wonderful start and your writing is just beautiful.

Awesome stuff! :D

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hey Laura!

Made me smile to see you back to read another one of the stories I was really proud about writing. This and Jumping Off Swings are some of my most favorite pieces that I have written, so it's great to see people reading them!

Astoria was a character that came quite natrually for me to write. I just kind of knew her attitude towards things, being almost bitter at times and always headstrong. It fit so well with her image in my head. And, of course, her voice being the voice of reason in this is going to be really interesting. I'm not quite sure how things will play out, but the general plot line I'm following should bring up a lot of things.

I also wrote this with the intention of leaving questions, of having people come back and be like, so...initially this was said...how'd it happen? I love cliff hangers and when you get that 'I can't put this down' feeling. Best part about reading and actually pretty fun to write as well!

Really glad you enjoyed this story! It was a fun one to write! Hope to see you back for more (and hopefully my muse cooperates to write more)!

Thanks again for the review!
-Mikaela


 Report Review

Review #38, by tangledconstellationsto the end of time: New Friends

6th June 2015:
Heya!

Thought I'd pop by to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY! :D

I hope you have a super fab day ♥ Here's a review!!

This was a really awesome start to this collection. It's such a nice relationship to explore and I'm really excited to see where you will take the later snapshots :) I've always wondered how Parvati felt when she and her sister were separated. In her shoes I would be pretty terrified - but I love that at the same time it's the catalyst for her friendship with Lavender.

I really liked the way Parvati was quite frightened in this first chapter so a lot of the smaller details go unnoticed - like Dumbledore's speech for example. It's clear that at this point she's probably thinking *omgomg* to herself but that first-year nervousness is in a way really lovely to read.

This was a super start and I can't wait to read more. But most importantly - HAVE AN AWESOME BIRTHDAY! :D YAYYY! ♥

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #39, by tangledconstellationsJumping Off Swings: Moment of Death

6th June 2015:
Hey there,

I'm stopping by for the BvB review battle. But oh my gosh - this had me in tears. I'm not even kidding - this was so beautiful I am actually sniffling a little bit right now. I don't know what to say. This was just so seamless and genuinely astounding and so wonderful. Why have I never read any of your writing before? This was just so incredible and I was so absorbed by this as I was reading it, honestly my heart is aching so so much. Thank you so much for sharing this. This was wonderful. ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

The way you've captured Severus' last moments here is amazing. All of the memories, the snapshots, they weave together so well and so fluidly. The way you move from Severus and Lily being children, to them being adults, the shifts in time - I don't know how you've done it but this just makes sense and there's such an overwhelming feeling of reflection and of time blurring but at the same time there's so much clarity. I'm rambling, I'm sorry! Even though this was a cluster of moments it was so clear and it was so emotive. The order in which you've presented them is really, really effective - and to top it off your writing is just incredible.

One thing I really, really liked was the way his final moments when he sees Harry aren't really prominent - as though he's not really there, and he can just make them out. I think that's the part that struck me and has stayed with me. You've written Severus' character in a far more believable way by presenting who he is made up of all of the decisions and memories from his younger days. It's more convincing and it's more true to his character. You're definitely doing his character justice here. Maybe it was the use of the second person here that emphasised this, I don't know - maybe it was just your beautiful writing. But this was really powerful, and is definitely one of the best, if not *the* best convincing and well-written Severus portrayals I've read. I'm so sorry this review isn't coherent! I just... ♥

Even though this was a collection of moments bound together, I'm glad they weren't rose-tinted - I'm glad Severus died here as a flawed character. Even at the very end (at which point I made a weird gasp-cry sound) things didn't go how Severus would have wanted, he didn't *get* Lily. But she was saying thank you. And he's still, even as he dies, a character that's in-flux.

This was amazing. I'm definitely favouriting and I'm gonna post about this on the forums too because everyone needs to read this! Thank you for sharing ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hello Laura!

I have already thanked you on the forums, but honestly, this review is just so lovely. You have no idea how much this review made my day and you're just so sweet and the fact that you favorited it and advertized it and encouraged others to read it...just thank you so much!

So. This is actually the first story I've written since 2012/2013ish. I have adapted my writing style A TON in those years and spent a great deal of time learning the art of writing in second person. I also love writing intense and emotional things just because capturing those moments gives me a sort of high and I swear I don't do it just for the sake of torturing characters (only sometimes...). But yeah, my entire goal when writing is to make people feel things and see characters in a much different light than they've been seen in the series or elsewhere.

I'm also glad you liked the memories and that they flowed well. I was nervous as I got closer to the end as the line between memory and the current moment got so blurred. I was also a bit nervous about inventing memories he has of Lily because I mean...Snape is an intimidating character. I was terrified I wouldn't do him justice just because he is so complex. Good to hear I've managed my task well enough!

Again, thank you so much for the review! I really appreciate your kind words and I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this! It was a fun write!

Thanks again!
-Mikaela


 Report Review

Review #40, by tangledconstellationsAt The Lake: At The Lake

5th June 2015:
Heyy,

Swinging by for the Review Tag.

First of all, thank you so much for your wonderful reviews on A Single Point in Time. You are SO kind - thank you so much! ♥

I was really interested in this fic when I saw the pairing - how unusual! I was really intrigued as to how you would write these two characters meeting but I must say this piece flows together really well and you made their relationship come across as very convincing. Gabrielle to me is such an odd character because she's sort of there at Hogwarts, with all of these older students, but I think you emphasised that feeling of alienation really, really well in this one-shot. I think in some ways it was that that made Daphne stand out to her all the more - because she was a kind, trusting face. I really think this is why this pairing does work so well in this moment - because the way you've written them makes sense.

As well as this, I love reading the Every Word Counts challenge entries because I think it's amazing how much can be said with so few words! This is another really fantastic example of a really great entry :D Even though there were so few words you've implied different settings and moments, along with a relationship that we don't necessarily see, but we definitely do feel. There's a feeling of backstory, of trust and of a really solid element of romance which I think is really cleverly done.

I really enjoyed reading this - thank you so much for sharing this moment! It was wonderful.

Laura xxx

Author's Response: D'aww, thank you so much!

I always particularly value reviews from writers whose stories I enjoy reading.

All of your feedback is really great to hear. I am so glad to hear that you thought the story flowed well, which was kind of a big risk I took with all the quick jumps in time. I am so glad that you found their characterizations and relationship believable. I am most glad that you said you could really feel the relationship. That was a my primary goal here, and it's pretty challenging to get a reader emotionally invested in 500 words!

I've been reading a lot of Every Word counts entries, and it made me really want to try one myself. I feel that it worked out pretty well and I'm glad you think so too.

Gah, thank you for all the lovely kind words!


 Report Review

Review #41, by tangledconstellationsof news brought by 1am owl: of news brought by 1am owl

5th June 2015:
Heya! Swinging by to review for the BvB review battle :)

I was really interested by the summary for this fic, and this was such a great read! I think you've elaborated on the friendship between Alicia and Angelina brilliantly here. They're two characters I never really read much of so it was really nice to see into their lives here! I also really liked that you started off with the letter, too, because that gave us a really interesting introduction to your mc. I love that magical parents really *do* worry about what houses their kids are in and really *do* care when they get picked for House teams! This was incredibly heartwarming to read, though - a really honest snapshot between two friends and centered around a mother-daughter relationship.

Your writing is really enjoyable here, and I wonder if you'll be writing more with this characters at some point in the future? I think you provided just enough amount of information to get us really interested, and it was clear from the get-go that this would be a chilled, nicely captured moment. My only CC would be to perhaps break up the dialogue a little more with description perhaps, just so we have an idea as to what the characters are up to while they're talking. But other than that I thought the dialogue was great - really snappy and in-character.

This was fab!!

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #42, by tangledconstellationsForest: Forest

5th June 2015:
Heya! I'm reviewing for the BvB review battle >:)

~melts~

This was so, so beautiful! Honestly, this whole piece has taken my breath away, it was just so lovely to read. I love the idea of Lily being very rule-abiding but at the same time very curious, and I think you characterised her brilliantly here. Elia was really wonderful too - I love that she's quite fiery and to-the-point. I think you described their attraction really gently and subtly here, but in such a way that it did take precedence and was really satisfying to read.

I really liked the way you've picked a few moments here to elaborate on - it makes their relationship come across as really gentle and flowing, as though it's made up of so many smaller moments - which I guess is very true to real life! Even though the time in-between these snapshots is only really implied and we don't fully know what they've been up to, you've written it in such a way that it feels very full, if you know what I mean. I think because there was an immediate trusting magnetism in their first encounter it makes sense that they would continue to hang out. Not only that, I love that they've solidified their friendship first before sort of admitting they do like each other. In some ways it makes it feel more meaningful.

Your writing is so lovely, and I can't emphasise enough how much this piece flows! I really liked that things weren't brimming with details, but you've given just enough to capture the imagination. Also, I opened your banner up in a new tab and looked at it while I was reading - this story is just perfect for it! There are a couple of rogue typos/punctuation errors but I think a super quick once over would weed those out. The story itself, though, is perfect :)

I really, really enjoyed reading this! Thank you so much for sharing! :D ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hi Laura! Thanks for stopping by for the BvB battle.

I'm glad you like this story. It was pretty different for me and it took ages to get written (a full two months, ugh) so it means a lot to hear that you think it turned out in the end.

The comments about the little moments was what I was going for. Often in stories you see the big events but life is made up of so many smaller things that are just as important, if not more so.

Thanks for the lovely review! =)


 Report Review

Review #43, by tangledconstellationsThe Morning After: Chapter 1.

1st June 2015:
Heya!

It's me again, reviewing for the BvB review battle! :)

Ah, so you do have another Ginny story! This is good news, and this was another really good portrayal of her character. I liked that this fic showed a more gentle side to her character. I really enjoyed this, especially as I think the after-the-battle moments in the HP series are really interesting. I find it amazing how they were just able to pick all the pieces up and carry on.

What was really nice was the way Ginny sort of knew Harry would be awake and she knew he hadn't slept. I think as a couple they are so in tune to each others feelings and that's because they've been such good friends for so long. This was uber romantic but I do like to think that after such an exhausting battle emotions would be running high! :D

The length of this piece is really good too, because it is just a really pretty, short snapshot. I also really liked that you wrote it sort of from Harry's perspective, because I got the impression that he was just so drained after the battle. That really came across well. I really enjoyed reading this, and like I said before, I do hope you write with Ginny and Harry even more in the future! ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hi Laura!

Thanks again :33 I do imagine that they were drained - Harry especially - and while I agree emotions could be running high, I can also imagine that while that happens, they're too tired to act on it, now that everything comes crushing down on them.

I'm glad you like this one as well and thanks again for the review :3


 Report Review

Review #44, by tangledconstellationsLife-Changing Moments: Chapter 1.

1st June 2015:
Heya!

I'm reviewing for the BvB review battle!

I don't think I've read any of your work before now, which is so silly of me because I really enjoyed this! I think choosing a moment in-battle was a good move, especially for the Every Word Counts Challenge, because the battle must have been so confusing and so vibrant that it would have been hard to really really write a convincing piece much longer than this. This was just awesome! I love that you've really shown us Ginny's priorities here, I love that the battle sweeps past her and we're left with this fiery, headstrong narrator. Really effective!

For me the last line made this piece that much sweeter. Through it all, Ginny is a fighter and she doesn't like being wronged - but you also managed to show the depth of her panic and her fear here as well, alongside that strong character, which just emphasises that she does care so much about Harry.

I'd love to see you write more with Ginny. I think she's an awesome character :) Your writing is really lovely too and I will definitely be checking out more of your stuff.

I thought this was fab! Thank you for sharing!

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you so much! I'm really, really glad you enjoyed this, and that you find this story to be awesome, as I really found it hard to write.

I'll definitely be writing more Ginny stories in the future, that's one thing that's certain.

Thanks again and no problem at all.

Ineke x


 Report Review

Review #45, by tangledconstellationsLike Father, Like Son: Like Father, Like Son

1st June 2015:
Heya,

I thought I would swing by and leave you a review to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY! ♥ I hope you have a fantastic day! :D

This story caught my attention because I love an angsty Draco. You did not disappoint! I thought you delved into his character so well here and I felt for Draco so much. The relationship between Draco and Lucius is so interesting and absolutely breaks my heart, and I love that you've explored it in such an individual way here. I really liked that through it all Draco loves and wants to look after his mother - and yet still feels so confused and angry and frustrated with all of them, the whole family.

Your writing is wonderful and this piece came together so well. There were so many amazing, sharp lines that made me want to hug Draco but overall this was so powerful. Thank you so much for sharing this!

I hope you have a fantastic birthday! ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE BIRTHDAY REVIEW!!

I know most readers aren't sure if they should feel for Draco here or not. Since I'm the writer I'm a bit biased and do think you should feel for him. There are so many lines when I just want to grab him and hug him too. I feel like in general he is a tragic character and I like to ruin his life a little bit. Oops. Anyway, thanks again for the wonderful birthday surprise.


 Report Review

Review #46, by tangledconstellationsLoving Luna: Loving Luna

1st June 2015:
Heya!

I'm here for the BvB review battle!

I absolutely loved this - I thought you captured Luna so well here and I'd love to see you write more of her! She's exactly as I imagine her too, especially as here in this piece she is a little older and she's grown into herself more. I love the idea of her exploring the world, catching people's eye but doing it for herself. That's so Luna.

The concept for this piece is really interesting and so well put together, too. The way you've merged all of these small, fleeting love stories makes the piece really effective because we're seeing them more through Luna's eyes - as brief moments that pass by. While it was sad that some of these stories came to an end altogether they work so well together, because they highlight how different people can be and how much Luna in particular has grown and changed over her lifetime. I really loved the part where Luna wished she could have asked Rex more questions - I love that she becomes more aware of herself and her sexuality - and other people's sexuality and identity - as time moves on. It just worked so well together and to me this whole piece speaks of growing up.

Your writing itself is really beautiful! I think you visually describe Luna herself really well and its clear you know exactly what she looks like in your head. I had a real sense of colour when reading this too - maybe because she visited so many countries, but in each section I could envisage it differently. Reading this felt really vibrant and really alive.

As for Stella, she's such an engaging character to include. I think it's great that she's such a contrast against Luna and that even though she says the wrong thing sometimes she's still just as wonderful and Luna loves her just as much. All of the characters in this one-shot just felt so real as though they were people you've plucked from your life, and this was just so enjoyable to read.

Thank you so much for sharing this - it was really fantastic ♥

Laura xxx

 Report Review

Review #47, by tangledconstellationsEvent Three: Irreparable: Irreparable

1st June 2015:
Heya Charlotte!

I don't think I've ever really read any of your writing before and we've never really spoken so I thought I'd swing by and leave you a review!

This was really, really nice - it was short and sweet and effective, too. What happened to Marietta is really horrible, and I think is one of my least favourite parts of the book, just because, like you've shown in this one-shot, it could have really affected her and would have definitely knocked her confidence. Losing confidence is something that's really difficult to get back.

It's really sad, too, that I can totally relate to the make-up routine she feels she has to go through. I'm sure so so many people can relate, actually! It's stupid because I wear makeup to feel more confident and yet I should probably just embrace how I look without makeup to feel doubly confident - but it's so hard to reach that point!! You showed her dilemma really well here and I think the message of this one-shot is really lovely and really important. I'm glad she was able to overcome her insecurities at the end, because I think that's a far greater achievement than her being able to successfully apply makeup and feel good about her appearance.

This was written really well and it was really nice to read. Thank you so much for sharing this! I hope you write more in the future because I would love to read more of your stuff! ♥

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Hi Laura!

Thank you so much for swinging by and leaving me such a lovely review! ♥ I feel like there are quite a few moments in the book I don't like (mainly because of someone's death) and I'm not sure if what happened to Marietta is one of them for me.. so it's surprising it's one of your least favourite parts. I definitely agree that building up confidence again is not an easy thing to do!

I'm glad you could relate to the story! Despite Marietta accepting her scars and deciding not to wear make up anymore in this story, I have nothing against people wearing makeup to feel confident - it's totally up to the person to do what makes them comfortable and confident in my eyes. Thank you so much for your kind words Laura - I'll have to see about writing more because I always seem to lack time to write another fanfic.. the last few years, it's only been the House Cup that makes me write!

- Charlotte


 Report Review

Review #48, by tangledconstellationsA Study in Silver: The Lodger

31st May 2015:
Hey there lovely!

First of all - this was absolutely awesome. It was such a fresh and fantastic first chapter, and I absolutely loved reading it! Roxanne is such a cool character, and it's really clear that you have such a strong idea for who she is. She oozes individuality and at this point I have one-million-percent confidence in you that in any situation you would provide a coherent and in-character reaction from her. It's so great to have a fic where the lead character is so sort of reliable and very real!

Not only this but you've set up the later chapters really well here. There are still lots of unanswered questions (why isn't she a Healer anymore?) and lots of characters I'm sure we've yet to get to know, but the conflict is definitely starting to emerge and the driving factor of this chapter and later ones is apparent. I love that this is a Sherlock Holmes/Next Gen mash up. I love that the boundaries between the muggle world and the magical world are really blurred. I love all of the similarities you've dotted around this fic. It works really well and gives it a really exciting edge. And I love that Perry is Scorpius! He's such an awkward doofus, it's so great!

A lot of ground has been covered in this first chapter which I think was deffo the way to go. Quite simply you've made this as captivating as it could be! I'm really excited to see how events pan out, especially now that Perry is getting help from Roxanne. I feel doubly invested in this case now that Roxanne is helping. Out of interest, do you know how long this fic will be? Do you have all of the chapters planned out in advance? This just feels really well put together and that's something I really struggle with when writing anything longer than short story length, haha!

Your writing is just fabulous, as ever. You have a really subtly witty way of writing that's very enjoyable to read, and your descriptions felt really unique! I really did feel like I was reading this chapter through the eyes of Roxanne.

I'm really, really looking forward to reading more later on - this was wonderful! :D Thank you so much for swapping with me!

Laura xxx

Author's Response: Ah! Thank you so much! This review is making me flail all over the place!

I'm SO glad about all of your comments about Roxanne! I really, really have enjoyed writing her. I really wanted to avoid making her Mary-Sue-ish, and def didn't want her to come across as author insertion, so I consciously chose to make her really different from myself in various ways. But yeah, somehow I just really KNEW her anyway!

I was so worried about what readers would think of "Perry"! I felt certain that people would HATE reading a story where Scorpius is called Perry, and HATE the character, and blagh. I'm so glad that the awkward doofus is working out :)

So the fic is officially seven chapters with a short epilogue, for a total of eight, and it's all been pre-written (writing multi-chaptered fics as you go is SUCH an intimidating idea to me! I have SO much respect for every author that does it. I always pre-write). Those chapters are still going through last rounds of editing, but updates should be pretty regular. But YEAH, writing the whole thing out in advance of uploading made it so much easier to plot! Honestly I spent a lot of the first draft just stumbling around trying to figure out what was going on, so the original story had tons of plot-holes and reveals that hadn't been foreshadowed. I was basically crashing around in the dark :P But then once I had the stuff down and the plot formed I could go back and smooth it out and pace it and all, and I'm so pleased that you like the finished product!

Guh! Just thank you sososo much! You have no idea how much this review means to me! I'm def down to swap any time :)

xoxo
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #49, by tangledconstellationsGolden Days: What a Time to be Alive

31st May 2015:
Heya!

I saw on the forum that it was your birthday, so I thought I'd swing by to leave you a 'HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!' review! ♥

This was really lovely - I love reading about Harry and Ron being bff's as adults. It's so heartwarming. And this was just so extremely nostalgic! It's a really nice reminder of all the good things that happened to them at school, and it's nice to remember that it wasn't all doom and gloom!

Anyway, I hope you have a really lovely day! Thanks so much for sharing this story, it was wonderful :) And Happy Birthday!

Laura ♥ xxx

Author's Response: Hi there! Thank you so much for stopping by to leave me a Happy Birthday review!

I was feeling really nostalgic as I was writing this to be honest. I haven't read Harry Potter in a really long time and thinking back to all of the shenanigans that Harry and Ron pulled just made me realise why I love this series so much.

Thank you so much for your lovely review it really did add to my day!


 Report Review

Review #50, by tangledconstellationsCost of Redemption: Prologue

31st May 2015:
Heya!

Laura here for our review swap :) Sorry about the slight delay! The weather suddenly turned fantastic yesterday so anything related to sitting-inside was thrown by the wayside :P

This was an awesome first chapter. I've always been so interested in Regulus as a character and I've never really read him in a way that I could relate to. Until now! I think you wrote him wonderfully here - he's so aware of everything around him, especially in that what he's doing is wrong, but at the same time he's still quite content to indulge in it. Even though he was physically sick during the battle he was still willing to go home and to be mollycoddled and praised by his mother - and I think it's really important that you didn't have him change ~too~ much in this first chapter. It's definitely more believable this way, because suddenly shirking all of the ties he has to his family would be so hard, even if he was starting to doubt their beliefs.

The opening to this chapter was really great - it was really vivid and action packed. You're really good at describing very movement filled scenes! That's something I really struggle to do, so, great job! You captured my imagination and I really got a feel for the fight that was going on. The Ravenclaw boy getting caught by the spell was horrific, and yet you wrote it in such a visual and appealing way. The whole scene was just so energetic and engaging and very satisfying to read. At this point, I'm really excited to see where you take this, and what exactly the second chapter will hold.

You really have set up a degree of intrigue surrounding Sirius too - it's interesting to see that Regulus feels as though he was abandoned. It's really easy to forget that Sirius as a character was quite headstrong and probably quite harsh, too, especially towards Regulus. I guess he just had such a strong moral compass that he couldn't understand nor had time for people who did the 'wrong' thing. But for Regulus who was so easily swayed by his parents, having Sirius reject him like that must have been really difficult, and really quite strange. I'm excited to see what happens to the two of them - if they talk, if they ~nearly~ become civil again.

A fantastic first chapter! :D

Laura xxx

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>