Reading Reviews From Member: UH60TI
  
37 Reviews Found

Review #1, by UH60TITiny Tim, a Shaggy Kneazle Story: Tiny Tim, a Shaggy Kneazle Story

24th December 2013:
Very nice. I really liked how you placed the story in the "Almost Happily Ever After" universe.

Merry Christmas from the bottom of the world (literally).

Author's Response: Thank you!

It is some years ahead of where I am now. This was totally new, inspired by the challenge. There is a lot more written, but much of it has to be posted in chronological order or it would have spoilers or you wouldn't understand the background.

Meanwhile the next chapter is almost ready. Neither my beta nor I were happy with it. She says I am getting close, but I'm still not quite satisfied.

I'm thinking of making you have to stir some potions backwards, counter clockwise (or is it anti clockwise) instead of clockwise etc. south of the equator.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #2, by UH60TIBad Guys and Broomsticks, an Almost Happily Ever After story: Ch 20 Kreacher Reflects

14th December 2013:
This is the shortest, but I think one of the most informative and thought provoking chapters you have written in either story.

I really like that you took the time and effort to explore the emotional and social side to house elf relationships with wizards. I also really like the way you are showing how Kreacher sees what Harry wants and is trying to hold to those orders.

I have truly enjoyed reading this story and it's predecessor and look forward to more in the future.

You are one of my favorite authors on this site.

Author's Response: Thank you!

I have a few shorter chapters coming.

Most of the both stories have been written from Harry's point of view. I do have a chapter at the start of my fourth story written from several other points of view, and I've just done a challenge story, not yet validated, written from an Original Character's point of view.

Kreacher sees what Harry wants. He is living in the Wizarding world, and spends most of his day thinking in English.

Azalea is thinking in Elfish. She cannot be just Azalea. In Elfish she is Azalea who is Kreacher's mate FOR THE PURPOSE OF HAVING CHILDREN TO SERVE THE POTTER HOUSEHOLD. There just are no words, no thoughts, in elfish for having a mate or doing anything unless it is in service to your master.

What do you do if you can no longer serve your master? It is an almost unbearable existence, like Winky. That's why no one can talk to Harry about it. There are just no words to convey the dilemma.

It's sad.

It will change, but not quickly nor easily.

Jet


 Report Review

Review #3, by UH60TIA Light in the Darkness: Light

17th January 2012:
Once again you have created a masterpiece of a one-shot.

I truly like the fact you use characters that are not a major part of the cannon.

I feel you have captured Luna's voice wonderfully, I see her not losing her spirit and trying to help Olivander as much as she can.

Thank you for a magnificent story.

Author's Response: Hi :) Nice to hear from you again. Thanks for reading and reviewing. I'm glad that you liked this story. Luna is one of my favorite characters, but she's also one of the hardest for me to write, so I very much appreciate your kind remarks about her characterization.

I hope you are still working on your story. I'd really like to read more of it.

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #4, by UH60TIWonderful Christmastime: Wonderful Christmastime

23rd November 2011:
Very nicely done. I liked it a great deal.

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Sorry for the late response. I honestly didn't think anyone was reading my stuff so I wasn't really checking the page too often! I've been working on getting my harry potter fan fiction tumblr page up, if you want to check it out!

 Report Review

Review #5, by UH60TIDragons Awakening: One Hogwarts

22nd November 2011:
EXTREMELY WELL DONE!!

I now know why it was a Dobby nominee.

This was a very well written story. I rewally liked what you did with all the characters and the story line. I was suprised you chose Lilly to turn to the "Dark Side", realize what she had done and betray the Honour Guard.

I really liked the depth of character you achieved. You showcased each kid in their own right and did not make them carbon copies of their parents.

Again, EXTREMELY WELL DONE!! I look forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #6, by UH60TIDragon's Blood: The Widow Sihirbaz

20th November 2011:
Good chapter. I like how you had a familiar face for Percy to find. Having been on a cruise ship, I was astonded to run into a former classmate on the cruise. So this is entirely plausable.

I like the pace of the story so far. Easy to read and follow.

Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: The world really can be a small place! There is going to be more going on with Pansy, so Percy will encounter her again.

Again, thank you for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #7, by UH60TIDragon's Blood: A Cartographic Clue

20th November 2011:
I like the concept here. I also like that you are using Percy as the main character. From what we know about him from the books, this type of assignment would fit his personality perfectly.

I look forward to reading more of this story.

Great start!

Author's Response: I have to admit to a certain soft spot for Percy. I know he's not a particularly well-liked character, but despite how annoying he can be, I do like him. This inspecting and paper-pushing would be right up his alley.

Thank you so much for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #8, by UH60TITogether, Unbreakable: Always

2nd November 2011:
Very nicely done.

Good luck with future writings.

Author's Response: Thank you very much for such a lovely review. I'm glad you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by UH60TIOf Water, Roses, and Victor Hugo.: Because kids should know how they got their names.

27th October 2011:
I really like this story. Well written, well paced and good characterizations.

I like that you had Ron remember that Hermione liked "Les Mis" and he bought her the book. I really liked the way you had Ron transfigure the water into the rose and then realize what he called it. You also did a great job with leaving the ending open ended. If Ron could do that bit of magic, as difficult as it was for him, successfully, then Hermione should really be impressed by his dinner plans.

Keep up the great work.

Author's Response: Thank you, I really appreciate it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by UH60TIFinally Seeing You: Finally Seeing You

22nd October 2011:
I thought this was very well written. GREAT JOB. I lake how you used Hermione and Draco's points of view to tell the story.

This story is very easy to read and keep up with.

Keep up the good work.

 Report Review

Review #11, by UH60TIOh, Hermione!: My Mum

26th September 2011:
I typically don't read other reviews before posting my own for a story, but this time I'm glad I did.

First: I like your writing style and the way you were able to portray the characters in this story. Especially since it is a comedic story. I found myself laughing all the way through it. You have an easy style of writing to read. Very well done.

Second: This is mostly to the other reviewers who have panned this story. This is FAN FICTION, not "IT MUST BE CANNON". If you did not like the story, so be it. However, do not blast some one for making the attempt to write in their style, or plot lines. Provide constructive critisism, or be specific on what you did not like about a story and state why and be nice about it. But DO NOT blast someone's plot line or characterisations. It is THEIR story and NOT YOURS.

I did enjoy this story quite a bit. I look forward to more of your work. Good luck in the future and hopefuly people will take into consideration this is fan fiction and give you good feed back and positive responces.

Author's Response: thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed it. I'd hoped people would.
I'd also like to thank you for responded about other people's reviews: it's very kind of you, and I'm happy there are fan fict souls such as you out there. again, thanks!


 Report Review

Review #12, by UH60TIAlmost Happily Ever After: Magic spaces and drills

26th September 2011:
Jet,

This is the first review I have written for this story but I have read all of it. I am truly enjoying the story so far. You are able to capture the essence of the characters very well. I also like the detail and depth of knowlege you seem to have for the surroundings, settings and atmosphere you have established for this story.

I have found it very easy to read and have it on my favorites list to folow. I actually gave you credit for insight into the lives of the characters in a story I have on this site (WIP).

I did see one glaring mistake in this chapter: In the sixth paragraph from the end when you mention Remus and "Narcissa" it should be "Nymphadora". There are a few gramatical errors as well, but nothing very serious and they do not take away from the story. I suggest you fix the big one though.

Again, this is one of my favorite stories. I will continue to read and enjoy this story as long as you choose to keep writing it.

Thank you for the story.

Author's Response: Thank you for the review. What a stupid mistake! The correction is in the que. I went and read your stories before writing the review. Thank you for referring to my story! I think I'm better than the average story, but certainly not as good as a few of the authors. Mrs_Grainger is, as far as I am concerned, the best. Momotwins is good too, and her take on the next generation is just hilarious.
Sometimes I think the best way to get a review is to make a stupid mistake, or write something that really upsets some people. Thrilled to have a regular reader.
FYI I am at the transition between this story and my next generation story with my writing. I'm finding out that to do a good job of the next generation story I am having to populate Hogwarts with a whole series of students, children of the characters in the original books plus the ones I have invented and more. Lots of work!


 Report Review

Review #13, by UH60TIMemoirs of a Red Headed Witch: The Last Entry

6th September 2011:
MWQ,

I read the full story before I posted a review because it was completed. This is a GREAT story. You have captured the voice of Ginny beautifully. I really liked how you would site JKR and then built your own story around it. VERY WELL DONE!

I hope you continue to write fanfiction or what ever you want to. You have a very special talent.

I was truly suprised to find out how young you were, you write with passion of someone much older. After finding out your youth some things made more sense to me. You seemed to be putting a lot of yourself into your writing. That is why I think you were able to capture all of the passion that Ginny has.

I wish you all the good luck in the world for any endevor you choose. If you put as much passion into anything like you have here, you will do great and wonderous things.

Good luck with your senior year. And anything that comes after.

Author's Response: oh yes, I put alot of myself into ginny. a lot of my teenage angst too. I felt that if there ever was a time to do this, it was now at the age she was during most of the story. thanks so much for reading and having faith in me! I hope you consider me for the dobby's!

 Report Review

Review #14, by UH60TIWhen There Were Two: When There Were Two

10th August 2011:
Nicely done. I like the fact you used Neville and Luna for this piece. I do think it would have been better if they were able to get together in the end. I really like this pairing.

The story is easy to read and well paced. I like that there is not much dialouge in the story. Your discriptions of feelings and mood are spot on.

I look forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much :) this is such a lovely review to get.
I really love Neville and Luna together, and I knew that, even though JKR doesn't explain it, the battle in the ministry may have affected them even if it wasn't explained.
But thank you again :)


 Report Review

Review #15, by UH60TIThe Space Between: The Space Between

4th August 2011:
Very nicely done! This was well written and could easily have been added to the book. I found it to be endearing and charming.

Looking forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Aww thank you so much! If something like this were in the book, I think I might die of happiness... but then I suppose I'd have nothing to write about. So I guess it's good for me, at least. :) Thank you for the lovely review! I'm glad you enjoyed it :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by UH60TIA New Empire: The Battle of Coruscant

2nd August 2011:
Very interesting concept. I would not have put the two series together. However, I like the way you have done it. This looks like it will be an interesting story to read.

You do have a nice way of writing and a great pace in this chapter. It was very easy to read.

I did notice a couple of spelling mistakes, you may want to get a Beta to look over your work, if you don't already have one.

I look forward to more of this story. I think it will be very enjoyable.

Author's Response: Thank you!! Star Wars and Harry Potter are my two favorite things :) And I will look it over and get the spelling fixed. Thanks for reviewing! It means a lot:)
-Arya


 Report Review

Review #17, by UH60TIEmbrace It: Love

1st August 2011:
You have the very special gift of a storyteller. The nightmares continue for a long time. But things get better. Especially with the help of one who loves you.

Thanks for the story.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. And being called a storyteller is one of the best compliments ever, so thank you for that as well :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by UH60TILoony: Loony

1st August 2011:
Very nicely done. Whimsical, cute and very endearing. I like your discription of Luna and her wedding. I also like how you have Neville looking back at his relationship with her.

Very well done. Thank you.

Author's Response: No, thank you. What a lovely review :)

~TFM


 Report Review

Review #19, by UH60TINine Lives?: Prologue

31st July 2011:
Nicely done. I like the way you are using a cat for the point of view. Really interesting.

Now, some issues I saw: when you use "big ones" it should be capatalized like Muggle, Auror, Death Eater ect. I also saw some spelling mistakes. When you use the phrase "human kitten" I think you should stick to "Big Ones", that way you maintain the perspective of the cat.

I like how you have captured the voice of a kitten in the story, just like that of a child. I hope as Rose gets older the cat matures with her. I am sure it will.

Again, very well done.

I look forward to more of this story.

Author's Response: I`m really glad you like the story so far.

I think I`m going to capitalize it from now on and correct it in this chapter. Thank you for that idea. I didn`t thought of doing that.
I`m sorry about the spelling mistakes, I`m not a native English speaker (that is probably not a very good excuse, but it kind of explains the mistakes).
I have the next chapter written, i just have to read it through again.
Thank you again for the review.


 Report Review

Review #20, by UH60TIThe book that started it all...: The book that started it all....

28th July 2011:
Very nicely done. I liked the way you used the Forrest of Dean from DH for the proposal.

I look forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Thank you! I just thought it would be a good place because it's so private.

 Report Review

Review #21, by UH60TIOf Pints and Pigtails: Reacquainted

28th July 2011:
Very well done, as always. I really like how you get into the minds and emotions of characters not normally seen in the cannon.

Love and passion always last a lifetime, even when the years seperate two people.

Agin, VERY WELL DONE.

Reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing :) I'm really glad you enjoyed this story. Neville's my favorite :)

Thank you for continuing to check out my stories. I really appreciate it :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by UH60TIMiss Weasley: Mrs. Potter

18th July 2011:
Well done. I like the feeling you put into this story.

Keep up the good work.

I look forward to more of your work.

Author's Response: Aaah. Thanks so much :) Leanne

 Report Review

Review #23, by UH60TIThe Sacrifice: The Sacrifice

18th July 2011:
Being a combat veteran I can tell you there are things that will never go away. The battle with PTSD (Shell Shock) is the most terrible battle some one will ever fight.

Anyway, to the story. I liked the way this one is written. You have captured the the general essence of what a person can go through after war.

I like how you used Ginny as the one comfort for Harry and how she realized he may not be able to make it through. When she decided to save Harry from himself she made the ultimate sacrifice she could.

The story is captivating, well written and very easy to read.

I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I'm really flattered that you think I've been able to capture some of the post-war effects as its something that I have always wanted to write about. Your review makes me feel really glad to have written this story :)

 Report Review

Review #24, by UH60TIJane: The Problem with Being Logical

15th July 2011:
I like the concept you are working with here.

Very well written.

I look forward to reading more chapters.

 Report Review

Review #25, by UH60TIWhat It Means To Be Loved: Loved

15th July 2011:
I tipicaly don't read Song-Fic. However, I did enjoy this one quite a lot. I am going to try and find the song on the net.

You have an easily readable style.

Now, I do have some critiques. I wish you would have developed the story just a bit more in between the lyrics. I do like the way you used the last line of the lyric set to lead into the next story set but it needed to be more developed.

I really like the concept you had about Rose, this could be taken to a whole other level. And I think you could do it.

I look forward to reading more of your work.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I do think that my writing could be greatly improved but I am still tring to do that. I am much better at papers and such, but I will take into account your critiques. Thank you I am glad you enjoyed it and I hope you find the song it is quite lovely. I will update it soon, hopefully it will be better then.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>