Reading Reviews From Member: SpringSinger19
  
67 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SpringSinger19Mask: Mask

25th January 2012:
This was wonderful, terribly sad, but wonderful. You captured all the emotions perfectly. I felt as if my heart were breaking right along with Marlene's. I've felt a lot like her before, and I think many other girls have to. I just wanted to comfort her the entire time. She was being so awful to herself :( but I did love her ending revelation. It was perfect.

I also loved how you described James. He acted just as I thought he would. Slightly oblivious to other people's feelings.

This was perfect

Author's Response: Wow thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed it, I worked hard on it to try and make it seem realistic, I'm glad it worked! :D Thank's for your great review!! :D

-June


 Report Review

Review #2, by SpringSinger19A Stone Memorial: Pennies in a fountain.

25th January 2012:
This was so lovely :) I'm so glad I read it. I loved your writing, I loved the concept and the POVs were wonderful. Everything wound together wonderfully and you could relate everything so perfectly. I loved the metaphors. Just wonderful. I think you should write more angst. you have talent for it!
Aurora

Author's Response: Wow! This review has totally made my day, I feel so proud, and generally amazing. It's such a lovely review, thanks a whole heap! I will have a go at some more angst, but i must admit, it intimidates me a bit :)
Thank you again!
Charlie
x


 Report Review

Review #3, by SpringSinger19Knock on Wood: An Overcrowded Ride

23rd January 2012:
another wonderful chapter! :) I loved the beginning and I really am interested in learning more about the al-hannah-fred friend dynamic. how did they become friends? oh and I loved the background you gave about Hannah and her first year! It was nice to know a little more about her. The rest of the chapter was lovely as well. I kind of got lost in it and that was great :) I'm actually rooting for a fred/hannah right now. I just don't like scorpius. why would he kiss her when he's in a relationship with someone else? just doesn't seem good to me. lastly, I'm a bit confused as to how scorpius figured out that hannah had feelings for him..? did he just assume? anyways, another great chapter! I'd love to read more :)
aurora

Author's Response: Fred/Hannah? I wish Hannah would be that smart. But then again, I wouldn't have anything to write about! ;D

Al/Hannah/Fred... That's a good thing to keep in mind. I have chapter 3 written, but I'm always going back and editing before posting. To hear the words "I got lost in it" put a huge smile on my face, so thank you so much!!

I think that's my problem, (when writing this) is my dislike of Scorpius. He kissed someone while he's dating Rose, he's not the best person in the world. He's arrogant, and that leads me to your question, about how he found out. He assumed, and went with his teenage boy brain. Hannah's loved him for so long, she wouldn't refuse. Well, not yet.

More will be on the way, thanks for the lovely reviews!!


 Report Review

Review #4, by SpringSinger19Knock on Wood: Rome Forever

23rd January 2012:
I love this so far :) I really like Hannah (although I'd love to see more of her personality) and I like the premise of the story. Your writing flows very well and you know how to keep a reader interested! I think the prologue was great and I'm curious as to what the history is between Scorpius and Hannah. I also loved the fact that Rose isn't really friends with Hannah. That may be random, but I feel like all these love triangle stories involve friends. I just really liked that twist :) I also like Fred a lot! I want to see more of him! and less of Scorpius. haha :) anyways, great chapter!
aurora

Author's Response: Aw, thanks so much :) I like writing Hannah a lot, she's the first oc I've ever written, so it's a little new to me.
I tried to touch on the history of the two in chapter 2, so hopefully it makes more sense. That was also what I used the prologue for, to set up the characters feelings for eachother. So I'm glad to hear you like that, as well.
I totally agree with the 'love triangle'. I always sort of thought (in these situations) "Well, why wouldn't Rose know her best friend is sneaking off with her boyfriend?" If they were that close.
Anyways,
I love Fred, and I'm SO glad you said that. He's my favorite character, besides Hannah. You'll get a lot of him for sure.
Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #5, by SpringSinger19Still Delicate: The Other Side of Normality

18th January 2012:
Incredible :) as I said, I'll miss this story so much!

this POV made me cry. I could really identify with Scorpius as I recently just had someone very close to me pass on. and oh dear, you can't just throw away Scorpius now and let Rose marry Tom now! ;) that would be cruel! haha, either way, I can't wait to see how this story ends! great chapter

 Report Review

Review #6, by SpringSinger19The Albatross: The Rickety Walrus

14th January 2012:
This story is lovely so far! :) I'm falling in love with the Rickety Walrus right alongside Lily! haha :) I think the characterization work you are doing is great and the world around Lily is interesting, fun and new!

This line "Lily did not know who Mario was, or why he and his friends were driving cars in such strange places, but it was quite addicting nonetheless" made me laugh out loud :)

Oh and even as a avid Rose/Scorpius shipper, I think this Lily and this Scorpius would be wonderful together ;) just a suggestion! haha

anyways, I really hope you write more. this story is brilliant and you have done a great job of incorporating all the elements required!

Author's Response: That line has gotten a few comments by reviewers, and I'm really glad for that, because it's exactly how I think a witch would react to a game like MarioKart. (Which really is so addictive... I love that game, haha.)

A few people have also made that comment about Lily and Scorpius... I hope it doesn't disappoint you, but they actually don't end up together. Scorpius is 100% head over heels for Rose. Lily's like a little sister to him. He can just understand where she's coming from, because he spends a lot of time worrying about Rose and Albus, too. :) (Actually, as a Rose/Scorpius shipper, you might enjoy my story "Curiosity Is Not a Sin." It's set in the same next-gen world, a few years earlier. :P)

Thank you so much for your review! I'm really glad you're enjoying it so far, and I've actually got chapter 3 ready to put into the queue as soon as what I have in there is validated. :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by SpringSinger19The Albatross: Home Sweet Home

14th January 2012:
This was a absolutely wonderful chapter. I can tell you put a lot of time and effort into it and that is greatly appreciated!

I loved Lily. I loved how careful she was and how worried she could get. I liked that you made her different from the rest of her family! That was refreshing. I was also very interested in Albus after the descriptions. He seems very much like a real person, undefinable. Not really one thing or the other.

I loved her escape. It was wonderfully written and I practically gasped when you introduced the readers to Edwin. That was very clever :) I like him too, he seems very much a normal muggle. I like that you didn't make him the mirror image of his father either but had him maintain a slight fear of magic. I hope you expand on his friends too, and the whole muggle world about Lily :) I'm very interested in the premise and beginning of this story! Can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I definitely did put a lot of work into it, and right now it's one of my favourite stories I have posted. I'm really, really glad that you agree. :) As soon as I saw this challenge, I knew that I wanted to include a Dursley cousin, and I'm glad that Edwin came across as real and interesting (since he'll be a pretty big part of the story!).

Thank you again for the review, and I'm really glad you liked it!


 Report Review

Review #8, by SpringSinger19Unravel Me: Unravelling

14th January 2012:
Awww, I wish there were more! :) This is so wonderful and lovely. I am really rooting for Dominique. I feel bad for her, even though she has made so many mistakes. Again, the writing of this chapter was perfect. I thought you did a wonderful job of wrapping up the story.

This was perfect!

Author's Response: Awww :) Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it. Your reviews were so sweet! :)

 Report Review

Review #9, by SpringSinger19Unravel Me: Cinderella

14th January 2012:
Ohh this was wonderful again :) I love your writing. This was again, believable and sweet. The beginning description about her room was wonderful. And Dominique is continuing to grow on me, as is Brad! However, be careful with him ;) he seems a little too perfect right now. I'd like to see some of his imperfections!

Again, great chapter! Can't wait to see more!

Author's Response: You're right, I should probably fix Brad up with some more imperfections. Thanks for the tip! :)

Thank you so much!


 Report Review

Review #10, by SpringSinger19Unravel Me: Thank You, Come Again

14th January 2012:
Hey dear! :) Sorry this has taken so long, but I'm here to review!

This chapter was amazing! I instantly fell in love with Dominique. She was sweet and likable. Your writing also flows very well :) You know how to transition and write things that the reader really relates to and comprehend. I also loved the flaws you gave her and I thought her perspective on magic was fresh! She's just lovely!

Great start! I can't wait to read more!

Author's Response: No problem, thanks for stopping by! :)

Wow, I'm glad you liked it so much! I wanted Dominique to be different from the typical really-awesome-at-everything-and-loves-it character.

Thanks again!


 Report Review

Review #11, by SpringSinger19Her Dark Wings: Her Dark Wings

25th October 2011:
Lovely job! I adored your fluency, vocabulary and concept. you translated your metaphors to your audience well! some need to be a little rethinked - the second paragraph is a bit confusing with the photograph remarks and the run-on sentence. the first sentence is also a bit jumbled. that's my only critique however! great job :) I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review! And you know - you're very right about that sentence. I normally write in much clearer short sentences and putting such a jumble in the beginning of the story was a bit risky (since it could put off the reader). But I kind of at the same time like it like this because it "fits" with the whole jumbled up mess that is Lily's mind. I'll rethink it again when I do an edit though. ;) Thanks again lovely!

 Report Review

Review #12, by SpringSinger19Lost in the Dying Light: Lost in the Dying Light

1st October 2011:
totally knew the banner was your the second I saw it! :) fabulous! just like your writing! I adored the fact that you changed the james/lily dynamic and made it so they didn't fall in love at Hogwarts. That's pretty fresh! at least for me, never seen that before!

your introduction was lovely and hooked me right off the bat. you have a wonderful vocabulary and style of writing. and as you continued, I loved that you added Lily's little observations about James. that was intriguing(:

I liked the reference back to canon too! and Lily's thoughts about Severus. it made me want to cry when she was talking about losing her innocence.

...

^then I got far too wrapped up in reading to provide a detailed analysis/review. it was so wonderful though and it positively broke my heart. I thought there was going to be a blossoming of romance in this but I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of it. I think this is a completely accurate, gritty sort of interpretation that I love. sometimes I think fanfiction authors fluff up the world of Harry Potter far too much, and it's refreshing when I read a story that doesn't do that.

amazing job susan!(: you're incredibly skilled at both the art of graphic making and writing.

you just couldn't leave any talent for the rest of us, could you?(;

Author's Response: That banner was the third one I'd done for this story - the first two didn't fit, but then I went back to another set of folders and come up with something completely different. I'm very glad that you like it - something in the colouring just worked out - but it is rather like my style of earlier this year, so that's probably why it's recognizable. Thanks for the compliment on it! :D

It's great that you liked the introduction! I wrote this story out of order, then rearranged the bits and pieces, finally filling in some of the gaps afterwards, so it felt like a giant mess in my brain, rather than a cohesive story. I wasn't sure whether making them fall in love after Hogwarts would work out, but I'm glad that it did because it better suited the idea I had. Both characters had to grow and develop together, along separate lines, before they could have a relationship. To have them already in love would have made that far more difficult.

It was supposed to be more romantic. *headdesk* It was frustrating when it didn't appear, the focus instead resting on that grittier side - it's all that film noir that I watch, I guess. Yet it is more realistic, like you said, because it is the middle of a war and they get caught up in it. There isn't really room for fluff (which makes it easier for me).

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing this story! It's a great relief that people are enjoying this story and that it isn't the horrible monster I felt it was once I'd finished writing. XD It means a lot to have heard from you! ^_^


 Report Review

Review #13, by SpringSinger19Social Skills: Social Skills

26th August 2011:
Haha I liked this!(: I've never really read a Flint story, so this was interesting to read! It seemed realistic and believable. I enjoyed it! There were a few grammatical errors here and there, but nothing major. Great job!

Author's Response: thank you :) I finally got a chance to answer back your reviews :) It was my first time writing something to do with Flint, and I liked it so you might see him again on this page in the near future :)



 Report Review

Review #14, by SpringSinger19Building Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter Four

23rd August 2011:
This was another very good chapter. I like Katherine a bit better and I also still love Fred and George. Nobody really jumps out at me though. I'd love to love them but I don't :( yet.

However, another thing I'm a bit curious about is - is this AU or are you going by the books? Because I've seen no mention of Harry, Ron or Hermione. Additionally, in their 3rd year, there was no mention of the Chamber of Secrets but now there is the whole dementor thing in their 4th year. I'm a bit confused.

Great job though! You write well, grammatically correct and everything flow well!(: I look forward to reading more!

Author's Response: No this story isn't AU, I don't mention the trio much but they do make appearances. I jumped from their third year to their fifth year. The Chamber of Secrets happened in Harr's second year which would be the twin's fourth year. But I guess I didn't make this clear enough so thank you for pointing it out so I can start the edits. :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by SpringSinger19Building Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter Three

23rd August 2011:
Good chapter again! You are really great at writing quidditch scenes and you also have wonderful flow. I like this story. However, I feel like Katherine’s a bit boring. I’d like to see her expanded. I really want to be interested in her! She’s sweet. I also think she’s a bit too casual concerning her father. It’s probably a sensitive topic and that sort of thing is hard to openly talk about.

You did well writing the interaction with her father. I enjoyed it! And when you wrote about Egil, it made me miss him. If that makes sense...? I really do hate her father though.

And I liked the last part with George!(: I'm excited to see what comes of it all!

Author's Response: Hullo again :) Thank you! I love Quidditch :) So I really enjoy writing those scenes in particular. I think your write Katherine is acting too casual, so I'll change that around. Though when I come to think of it she acts indifferent towards it even though it does hurt her.

:) Thank you I like George too and I wish I could bring Egil more into the story.


 Report Review

Review #16, by SpringSinger19Building Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter Two

23rd August 2011:
Great chapter again! I liked your inclusion of the quidditch! However, I feel like they all act a bit too old for their age. And I feel like Angelina wouldn't simply spill all Katherine's secret (like about her father and her uncle) to anyone, even Fred and George. I like how you portray Fred and George though(: they are very in-character and very enjoyable!

Author's Response: I'll read that up, I mean I haven't been that young in.loads of years jajaja so it does get hard to image myself inside a child's head but thanks for the heads up :) Aww thank I love Fred and George so that means alot to me :)

Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #17, by SpringSinger19At Great Personal Risk: A Little Bit of Chemistry

22nd August 2011:
Great chapter again!(:

I love how you portray Lily. She always seems incredibly outgoing and quick-tempered in all the stories I've seen so it's interesting to see her as a quiet and reserved child. Oh and for some reason, the whole "it's...flexible" thing made me chuckle(: just thought I'd mention that.

I think you're doing a great job so far! I kind of wish it was a complete role reversal. Like...Snape has a snotty (squib?) sibling like Petunia and some girl was vying after Snape's attetion or something...hahaha(: actually on second thought, don't listen to me!

Great job again!

Author's Response: Hey again!

I didn't make it a complete reversal because I thought it would be more interesting to switch up certain elements, add in AU ones, keep a few from canon... you know, really make it my own :)

Glad you're still enjoying it, including my unorthodox portrayal of Lily :)

Thanks! I hope you continue reading!

academica


 Report Review

Review #18, by SpringSinger19At Great Personal Risk: Two Owls

21st August 2011:
Wow.

I loved this. This is such a unique idea(: I am so excited to read more! There wasn't a moment that I wasn't fully enraptured by this. It was intriguing. The beginning was a good intro too, and I was definitely interested by it.

It was odd to see Snape in such a peaceful environment and Lily in such a chaotic one. I can't wait to see how much a reversal this is. Will Lily be in Slytherin. Will Snape be in Gryffindor. Hopefully James isn't asking Snape out al the time! ;) haha

I'm curious as to how this plays out! I want to see some Petunia and I'm wondering if this story ends as a Snape/Lily or a James/Lily. Since I adore James/Lily, I hope it's that but it'd be interesting to see a...Snily? hahaha I guess there aren't many good name mashes for those two(;

Great chapter! I can't wait to see more(:

Author's Response: Hey there!

Well, I can't give too much away, but there are some definite twists and turns in there :) I'm sorry to say that there won't be any Petunia, though. I decided to really change things around and make it my own rather than simply swap the personalities and call it a day; that makes it interesting, you know?

Glad you're enjoying it so far, and can't wait to hear your thoughts on chapter two! :)

academica


 Report Review

Review #19, by SpringSinger19Building Dollhouses In The Sand: Chapter One

20th August 2011:
Great chapter again! I was a bit confused at the beginning, but I may just be tired.

I rather like Katherine. I like the fact that you didn't make her all cliche and super out-going and perfect and Mary-Sue-ish(: it's refreshing.

I also liked the fact that you included smaller characters like Cedric. It's quite interesting. I love to see that.

I thought the fact that she couldn't tell them apart was hilarious, and I can't wait to figure out what really happened with her father, Egil and her mother!

Great chapter!

Author's Response: It's because I'm tired too XD School takes alot out of me :) I'm glad you find good ol' Katherine to be likeable. I love her :) Se's my favorite Oc up to date, I love minor characters plus I think they ground the story. You'll find out what happens soon enough. ;)

 Report Review

Review #20, by SpringSinger19Building Dollhouses In The Sand: Prologue

20th August 2011:
Ahh I adore this(: how come I didn't read it sooner?

Well anyways, I was, for some reason, incredibly worried for Elizabeth and Katherine at the beginning. Like actually, the way I'd feel in a movie. It was weird for me...but good! haha sorry this makes no sense but I swear it's a complement on your writing(:

Even though we barely knew her, I was so sad at Elizabeth's death. Poor Katherine :(

I loved Fred and George. I mean, who doesn't. But they were very in character here. I would've liked to see a bit more originality in their dialogue but hey, you can't have everything!

I'm excited to see what comes next! Great chapter!

Author's Response: lol I don't know why you didn't read this sooner XD I have been told that this is like a movie :)

Thank you :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by SpringSinger19Cheater, Cheater, Pumpkin Eater: Hate: Marina

16th August 2011:
This is wonderful!(: I would give you a nice, long review but I'm far too tired. When you next update (see what I did there?) I'll give you a veryyy long one. But for now, this will have to do. I loved it, it was very clever and I'm so very excited to read more!

 Report Review

Review #22, by SpringSinger19Annabel: Annabel

12th August 2011:
First - thanks for entering(: This was lovely. I enjoyed it and I thought it was refreshing and new.

I loved Louis. He was a little mopey but I guess that's understandable(; I felt so bad for him and it made me so angry at Annabel.

I thought your writing was lovely and you did a great job at the flashback. The entire story seemed realistic. It was a little bittersweet and a bit harsh, but believable. Things aren't perfect in reality and you portrayed that wonderfully. The only thing I didn't like as much was the abrupt ending. I wanted more!

Thank you for the entry!(: I loved it a lot!

Author's Response: Thank you for the challenge :) Of course he'd be mopey, Poor thing really loved Anna :)

It was harsh but it is believable something similar happened to me with my ex :( So this was a bit hard to write.

Maybe later I'll write more XD


 Report Review

Review #23, by SpringSinger19Experimentation: Experimentation

7th August 2011:
First - thanks for entering! Second - this was great!(:

I loved the beginning, it seemed casual and relaxed and believable. Both seemed very in character and I loved it when Seamus cracked that stupid joke. And I positively laughed out loud at the whole 'why do girls like girls?' thing. I don't know why but it just seemed incredibly funny to me! haha(:

And the whole "I was trying to think of something to do" ohh that made me laugh too. I could just imagine this semi-awkward situation between the two.

But the best part for SURE was the encounter with the parents. All that talk of experimenting had me chuckling to myself.

Overall, I loved this. It was hilarious. I loved how casual they acted at the end and I loved how, for some reason, I believed it.

Great job and, again, thanks for entering!!(:

Author's Response: You're very welcome. ^.^

Thank you so much. Haha. It just randomly popped into my head. After you told me who I picked the first thing I thought of was "Seriously? Seamus and Neville? That's incredibly weird. Especially as a couple." And then I thought about it for a few moments. That's when it hit me. Everyone knows that girls are more likely to do it then guys, but why can't guys do it? Haha.

I'm glad that it was entertaining and made you laugh so much. Thanks. :D


 Report Review

Review #24, by SpringSinger19Le Scorp!: This is the chapter that comes after chapter two!

6th August 2011:
I love this.
So. So. So. Much.
10/10

Author's Response: AWESOME POSSUM.

Thank youuu!!!


 Report Review

Review #25, by SpringSinger19Le Scorp!: This is the second chapter!

6th August 2011:
it's Gilderoy Lockhart reborn...hahahahaha oh man I adore this

Author's Response: Gilderoy Lockhart wishes he could be this awesome. FO SHO.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>