Reading Reviews From Member: Beeezie
  
540 Reviews Found

Review #26, by BeeezieClementine: Clementine

12th July 2014:
Aw - this was really sweet!

I love the way you captured Fleur. I do think that as the series went on, especially as she and Bill became involved in the Order and suffered losses in the war, she gained some depth and became a little less shallow overall, but this presentation seemed perfect for the Fleur we met in GoF. And, I also thought that it was perfect for someone in this position in general - I think many of us can tend to fixate on fairly insignificant things when we're attracted to someone (or just under pressure in general), especially clothing. Her stress about whether wearing an apricot dress would be too obvious because he has orange hair was perfect.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hey there - thanks so much for dropping by! :)

Thank you! :) I'm so glad you liked Fleur - I really like her as a character because, like you say, she reveals she's so much more than the stereotypical beautiful, stuck-up girl, so I tried to present her as something more than just beautiful and haughty and confident. Haha, and definitely - it took me a while to settle on that scene (it seemed a bit trivial to me, tbh, at the beginning) but it seems to work fairly well, so I'm so glad you liked it!

Thank you so much for the review - it was so great to get! :)

Aph xx


 Report Review

Review #27, by BeeezieThe Writing Desk: Alohomora

11th July 2014:
Wow.

There is so much caught up in these 500 words that I don't even know where to begin.

First: I loved the boggart. I loved it because we saw it torturing Molly Weasley in a very similar way in OotP as it did Sirius here. I'm not sure whether that's a coincidence or whether this boggart revels particularly in portraying horrible deaths, but either way, it's a really interesting parallel.

But more than that - wow, did I feel bad for this boggart. I'm pretty sure that we're not generally supposed to feel bad for dark creatures, particularly not dark creatures who torture our favorite characters, but I really, really did. It had been locked up in that desk for who knows how long when Sirius let it out, and presumably it was locked there for decades more until Molly tried to tackle it. I don't know how self-aware boggarts are, but that just seems like such a terrible, lonely existence.

Second: I thought that your take on Sirius's mother was very, very creepy. From what we heard about her in the books, I can absolutely see her keeping the desk (and the boggart) around out of family pride, and to me, that's just the sign of such a deranged psyche it's difficult to fathom it.

Third: This illustrated perfectly how boggarts, which can be pretty straightforward to deal with in a classroom, are much harder to take in the real world. When one jumps out at you and startles you as this one does to Sirius, it's hard to deal with it. (Not that I'm really sure how one could make the sight of your loved ones laying there dead funny in the first place.)

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #28, by BeeezieTwo Letters: Rite of Passage

11th July 2014:
Aw, this was a really cute little story! I almost never read Rose/Scorpius stories that aren't at least a little romantic in nature, so this was a really nice change of pace. I liked the reference to what Ron said when Rose and Scorpius started at Hogwarts, along with the implication that he's said the same thing many times since.

And I also liked the way you characterized both Rose and Scorpius. Scorpius's insecurity was really sweet - I felt bad for him that he was so unsure of the strength of their friendship before they talked that he was a little afraid of what would happen to their friendship if their marks were radically different. Rose, on the other hand, was really sure of herself and headstrong, and it might me smile. I thought that it was great that you avoided the stereotypical all Es/Os for either of them - with the marks they were talking about, they're certainly good students, but there's no danger of a Mary Sue kind of dynamic.

Great job. :)

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Yeah, this was a fun story to write. I really wanted to challenge myself to write friendship without that hint of "something more" that you often see in fanfiction. It was also important to me, as you pointed out, to have neither Rose nor Scorpius scoring perfect marks or abysmal marks. I think they deserve a little normalcy with parents as famous as theirs, don't you?

Thanks for your kind review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #29, by BeeeziePlaying Pretend: The Last Remaining Fan

11th July 2014:
I never liked Lockhart - I don't think many people did - but this was heartbreaking. It's horrible to watch someone lose themselves. It would have been one thing if, without his memory, Lockhart had turned over a new leaf... but he didn't. He was just left as this hollow shell, with most of the personality of the Lockhart we knew but literally none of the substance. I can absolutely see how once the last vestiges of his old life faded away, he would do the same. The imagery of him reading and appreciating each letter he'd gotten before throwing them away was just so sad - my heart went out to him.

Terrific job.


House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: This is probably my worst nightmare. Like--not exactly, obviously, but the general idea of slowly losing yourself and just having endless days of depression ahead until it's time for you to go. I think he really outlasted the life he created for himself and it was probably best for him to bow out quietly like this. I'm really happy to hear that the emotion was palpable and the story caused you to look at Lockhart differently.

Thanks for your sweet review!

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #30, by BeeezieClandestine: Crescendo

11th July 2014:
Wow.

You managed to sweep so many difficult, intricate, complicated emotions up into this. I loved how you depicted Rose's relationship with Lily - there was so much jealousy and disdain mixed in with affection and what almost felt like a sense of duty to her family. I couldn't quite figure Lily out in this, which I loved - I wasn't sure whether she was intentionally trying to seem superior to Rose, or whether it was all in Rose's head.

Either way, though, my heart did go out to Lily. It's terrible to feel like all the time and effort you put into a relationship has been wasted, and I think it absolutely can lead to someone forgiving something horrible, like being called a Mudblood. Lily's comment about not wanting her parents to know screamed so loudly of "keeping up appearances," and it really made me sad for her.

Great job.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I feel like there is always someone who has to step back, take one for the team, and so on. (Usually that person is me. Sigh.) I figured it would be hard for Rose to live in the shadow of her cousin, much like Petunia had to live in Lily's shadow in canon. I really meant for all the characters to be a bit nebulous in terms of your perception of them and their motivations, so it's cool to see all that come out for you.

On the other hand, yeah, it's hard not to feel sorry for Lily. Honestly, she should have some self-respect and send Scorpius on his way, but she just doesn't have it in her to do so. I think it's hard for her to accept that he could be so backwards, that he really didn't fall that far from the tree.

Thanks for your lovely review :)

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #31, by BeeezieHeart's Desire: Beauty

11th July 2014:
Oooh, I love Lavender stories like this.

The start of it feels so quintessentially Lavender as we knew her in the books. The daydreaming, somebody-my-prince-shall-come little girl playing dress up, who sees men as something to manipulate and "fix" - yeah. That was perfect. And it didn't come off as malicious to me here, any more than it did in the books - just naive.

I always think of Lavender as having been scarred by Greyback similar to how Bill was, just I really liked this version, too - the idea that she wishes she'd been scarred is really sad but horribly realistic in so many ways, and I love how you describe her using make-up and props to keep up appearances.

But the way the moon and the potion affected her - yes. I think we've all had experiences where somehow we suddenly saw things in a radically different way, and the way you described it sent a shiver up my spine.

You are an amazing author. You really are.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I kind of see Lavender's trauma as trapping her. Her mind is still stuck in the past, where everything was nice and fluffy and she still had a bright future, and she can't accept that now things have just /changed/. She's between identities and she doesn't like having to work so hard to figure it all out. It would be a large burden to bear.

You're so sweet! I'm glad you liked the story, particularly all my little details, and I really appreciate your review.

-Amanda


 Report Review

Review #32, by BeeezieAnachronous: In a Man's World

11th July 2014:
This was a really interesting take on Andromeda and her family!

I felt like your initial description really was the classic, stereotypic middle child, but you took it so, so much further. I loved the idea of Andromeda initially being a peacekeeper and then later being the target of joint hatred and resentment - even when she left the family, she helped unite her sisters. I really liked that take, because throughout the books, we see snatches of conflict and discordance between the sisters - not just with Andromeda herself, but between Narcissa and Bellatrix as well.

I also loved how you depicted Andromeda after she married Ted - in this, she truly was both a product of her environment and trying desperately to escape from it. The struggles she had with simple household tasks and interactions was perfect, as was her sense of emptiness when she realized that there were so many things that Tonks wouldn't get. It was almost as though she didn't quite know how to be a mother with the shallow, surface stuff removed.

My heart really went out to her toward the end - it was a heartbreaking glimpse of a character who I find endlessly fascinating. Thank you; it was a beautiful read.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #33, by BeeezieThe Lucky Girl: The Lucky Girl

11th July 2014:
It was really interesting to read this right after Anachronous! I'm not sure if in your head-canon they're connected, but when Tonks started talking about her mother, I could hear Andromeda's voice from Anachronous, and it was a really interesting way to fill in some blanks that Tonks touched upon but didn't really expand on, particularly when it came to Andromeda's relationship with Ted.

Regardless - this is primarily about Tonks, and not her mother. And I thought that you did a great job at showing her in this moment. I loved the insight and advice from both of her parents and how she took it to heart - I could really get a sense of Ted and Andromeda's personalities and background solely from the advice they gave her, which was really cool. I also loved the brief mention of Charlie - from what little we see of him, I can see him and Tonks getting along wonderfully.

The conversation Tonks had with Arielle was also lovely. For a moment, I was afraid that it would turn really sad - she wasn't going to get a letter because she was a Squib, or something - but instead, it was just a nice way to showcase a little more of Tonk's personality, and it was perfectly handled.

You really managed to give off a really strong sense of who Tonks is as a person in a very limited amount of time. Great job.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #34, by BeeezieRule Breaker: The Siege

11th July 2014:
Well, that was complete and utter pandemonium.

I'm not very good at writing complete and utter pandemonium, but you do not suffer from the same difficulty. This chapter was fast-paced, frantic, and riveting, but I never felt confused about what was going on. You managed to fit so many interactions into a relatively small amount of words, and I can't believe I have stop here!

I loved the little interactions with this - between Hermione and Fred and George, between Hermione and Mrs. Weasley and Ginny, between Hermione and Mad-Eye, between Hermione and Snape... I really thought that you captured those relationships - and the relationships as they might be in a super stressful situation like this - well.

One minor piece of CC, though - you talk about people escaping the castle, but I don't think you explicitly say how they're getting out. I would have liked to get a bit of a clearer picture of that, as well as a better picture of how many people were left afterward to defend the castle.

Overall, though, excellent job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello once again (fourth to last time, oh my gosh!)!

I'm so happy that you thought I wrote pandemonium well! I never know if I'm pulling off that fast-paced writing well. I'm really happy it worked here. I worried in this chapter about doing too much. I didn't want it to get ridiculously long, but I also didn't want to leave anything out, and there were a lot of people I kept thinking: "Oh! You should show up!" It was stressful, to be honest. XD I'm glad you liked it, though! And I'll edit to add in a better explanation of how people are fleeing! Thanks for pointing it out! :)

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #35, by BeeezieRule Breaker: End of the Term

11th July 2014:
It's always sad to say goodbye, but this situation gives it a bit more gravity than most goodbyes, and I thought that you covered that perfectly toward the beginning of the chapter. You didn't dwell on it, but you acknowledged it, which was perfect.

It was actually really sad to hear Harry acknowledging that he and Ron might not survive the war. I do think he's wrong about how much being good at magic really helps you when it comes down to it, but at the same time, I think everyone can think of at least three or four times over the course of the series that Hermione's magical knowledge and skill kept them alive.

I was happy to see her insisting that she would join him and Ron on the quest to find the last horcrux and kill Voldemort, but I do think that it would have felt more genuine if there hadn't been a lot of instances over the course of the year where Hermione sat out of their mission in favor of Theo or Draco. I don't think you really needed to write a lot of scenes about it, but I would have liked to see more mentions of her going off with them or quick summaries about what they'd done or even just thoughts from her about balancing this with the rest of her life. As it is, there just isn't enough, so here, when she says she'll go, it doesn't have the same force that it could have.

Otherwise, though, this was a great chapter. :) I loved Professor McGonagall's brief show of affection toward Hermione - I thought that it was very much in character. Ican't wait to see what happens next.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello again!

Ahh...goodbyes. I'm feeling so nostalgic about this story right now. I'm so sad that it's coming to a close. I feel like I'm living these final chapters alongside Hermione, and it totally sucks. It hurts! I don't want to write what I know I have to write. I've come up with my death-list (how morbid!), and I can't even bring myself to start chapter 49 because of some of the choices I've made (I'll leave it at that.). Point is, yes, goodbyes, they're a thing. ;) I'm glad you liked how Harry and Hermione discussed his possible death. I wasn't so sure about that conversation, but I wanted someone to really verbally acknowledge his/her mortality, and Harry has always seemed morbid enough to be the one to do that. As for Hermione's insistence to accompany them on the Horcrux-hunt...I completely agree with you. I'm so bummed about agreeing with you, but I totally do. The previous chapters haven't done Hermione's dedication to their search any justice, and I can't even begin to think how to remedy that. I'll have to come up with something, though...We'll see. And finally, I'm fantastically happy that you liked McGonagall's brief moment with Hermione. She's usually so stoic, but I wanted that second of softness to show through. That was important to me. Thank you again for everything. This is so amazingly helpful.

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #36, by BeeezieEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Luna

11th July 2014:
Oh, ouch.

I'd never given much thought to how the events of CoS would affect how Ginny was perceived by her classmates, but now that you've brought it up - of course it would. Given how much time she spent possessed by Voldemort, I'm sure she wasn't making a lot of friends, especially since she seemed to be withdrawn and quiet the rest of the time. And then, of course, she was kidnapped into the Chamber itself, and when she came back for her second year, she already had to play catch up because everyone else had established their friendships the year before.

Given how odd Luna was perceived to be all through her Hogwarts career, I can definitely see their friendship getting its initial start because some nasty girls in their year were gossiping about them (though it did seem a little odd that twelve year olds would be talking about mascara and people looking "boyish").

The little snippet about the Department of Mysteries was also terrific. You captured both Ginny and Luna perfectly, I think - I could practically hear Luna's voice in my head talking about her earrings while Death Eaters swarmed around them. Ditto the bit at the Battle of Hogwarts, and I absolutely loved the ending part, where Luna discovers that Harry and Ginny's daughter is going to be named after his mother and her.

This was beautiful. Great job.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello again.

Wow - THREE fantastic reviews. Thank you so much! My new head canon is that Ginny and Luna are/were best friends from Hogwarts. I had so much fun writing this (I feel like I was trying to PROVE that they were best friends through this story - haha).

I know that Ginny was often described as "popular." But she is rarely mentioned as being with any other girls (Gryffindor girls) except Luna. Most stories have Ginny being best friends with Hermione. I think they were friends, but Hermione was really, really busy with studying - and keeping Harry and Ron out of trouble.

I also always felt kind of bad that all of Harry and Ginny's kids were named for people who were important to Harry. Of course he would want to honor his loved ones that would never be around to meet his children, but I mean honestly, can Ginny at least have ONE MIDDLE NAME TO PICK???

Thanks again, I loved all of these reviews from you!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #37, by BeeezieEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Fred

11th July 2014:
I love the way you handled the aftermath of the war in this one-shot - because you're absolutely right! Voldemort getting defeated ended the war, but it didn't end the suffering. I can definitely see why Ginny thought that once the war was over, everything would be okay... but it wasn't. I don't think it would have been even if Fred hadn't died, but especially since he did, the war probably won't ever really, truly end for her. It certainly won't for her mother - the metaphor of each of them being stuck in giant bubbles that they couldn't pop was both brilliant and incredibly, incredibly sad.

Fred haunts the house they grew up in together - there's no way around that. And, I thought that it was really, really interesting that you depicted everyone else as basically spending as much time out of the house as possible. It's a great way of subtly acknowledging the fact that everyone grieves differently.

However, while I thought that you did a great job at portraying the grief, I also felt like you did a terrific job at portraying the beginnings of Ginny being able to cope with it. The idea that she would use flying - something that both she and Fred loved to do - to help herself process his death was ingenious, and I thought that Harry's appearance at the end was a great example of how a simple affirmation of life can help people to process the deaths even of those closest to them.

This was a great one-shot.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Thanks so much for this lovely review! I was so relieved to see that you liked it. Grief is always tricky to write. It is easy to land to far over the mark or fall just short of believable. I think this is the piece that I worked the hardest on, of the three.

So glad you liked the part with Harry! That just came to me and I thought it might be a bit over the top with fluffiness for a dramatic piece, but I just couldn't take it out. I think that Ginny AND Harry needed each other to overcome their own demons from the war and I really liked that I found a way to show the very beginnings of that.

Thanks again, Branwen. This review made my day!


 Report Review

Review #38, by BeeezieEvent Three - Ginny's Story: Ginny and Arnold

11th July 2014:
I really don't read enough fics about the time Ginny, Neville, etc had at Hogwarts while Harry, Ron, and Hermione were off searching for the Horcruxes. It's a side story that actually really intrigues me, so I was really happy to see that this was about it. (I'm trying to review all the Ravenclaw entries, at the very least. We'll see how successful I am!)

I thought that you covered Ginny's emotional state with amazing insight. This was such a stressful time for her - she had no idea whether her (ex-ish)-boyfriend, brother, and close friend were okay or even quite what they were doing, and I can absolutely see that uncertainty being made a million times worse because the people around her would assume that she did know more about the situation than she really did.

That her poor mood started because her pet bit her also struck me as really realistic. When you're under a huge amount of stress, it really doesn't take much to set you off. But I also liked that it was resolved, to some extent, when she was able to take concrete action to that end - I feel like paralysis and feeling helpless are often even more debilitating than the situation itself.

A little bit of cc - I wasn't sure that it was necessary to have a "Steven Creevey." It's certainly possible that there was a third Creevey brother, but given that the Creeveys were Muggleborn, it seemed unlikely that a third brother would also happen to be a wizard - and are we sure that the Creeveys were around Hogwarts in DH, anyway? I know Colin died, but I always assumed that he just came back because he was summoned by the DA coins, not because he'd been there from the start.

That's super minor, of course, and overall, this was an excellent story! I just thought I'd point that out. :)

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello!

So sorry that I'm just getting to this. The house cup is now over and I am freed up a bit. I'm so glad you liked this. I had to write it under a deadline (obviously) and I know it isn't my best work, but I agree that there is definitely a story to be explored about those that were left behind at Hogwarts during the Trio's seventh year. Especially for Ginny. I know that a lot of people don't think of her as a brave character or worthy of Harry, but I think there is a different kind of bravery at being the one who has to stay behind and "hold down the fort." Ginny was fabulous at this.

The reason that I created Stephen Creevey is because I needed a reason for Colin to want to hex Ginny. He was so affable that I thought the only thing that would make him angry enough was for her to lose her temper with his little brother. Dennis Creevey was only a hear behind Colin and Ginny and I didn't think Colin would be as protective of him. I'm actually not sure about the Creeveys being at Hogwarts during that year... you may be right about that.

Thanks again!

Beth


 Report Review

Review #39, by BeeezieBlackbird: A Tale of Misery

11th July 2014:
Huh. I can see that this is theoretically a WIP, but I actually think that it stands really nicely as a one-shot. I never see anything written about Myrtle that's not centered around her death or being a ghost, so this was a breath of fresh air and really made me look at the character in a way I hadn't before.

Your description really is lovely. I can see how it's evolved over the years, having read some of your more recent fics, but even here, it was spellbinding. Toward the beginning of the fic, it really threw me into a setting that I hadn't ever really thought about before - but she was alive around that time, wasn't she?

The depiction of Myrtle as being bullied before going to Hogwarts as well as during her time there was heart-breaking (I feel like I use that word a lot with your fics, but it's only because it so often applies!), but totally plausible. Kids who are targeted by bullies are often targeted over multiple settings - it's not like wizards and muggles play by such different rules.

Great job. And the quote? It was perfect.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #40, by BeeezieForever, The Twinkling Dust: Tick tock. Tick tock.

11th July 2014:
I'm back!

Your one-shots really do kill me. I loved the repetition of the clock ticking in this - I could practically hear it in the back of my mind as I read! It really helped lend this creepy, unsettling air to the narrative that, given the situation, was so, so appropriate.

I felt like the disjointed stream of consciousness from Rose - the statements that didn't really make sense - came off as heartbreakingly genuine, and I felt so strongly for the people around her who were trying to comfort her even though they clearly didn't know what she meant. The brief interaction with the girl - Zabini - was also absolutely chilling; I felt so bad for Rose, who clearly wasn't able to communicate what she wanted to about this girl who wasn't really sad at all.

Which makes me wonder about her motives, but that didn't really need to be touched on here. It was perfect the way it was.

This was lovely and sent a shiver up my spine. Amazing job.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

 Report Review

Review #41, by BeeezieThe Pitch: The Pitch

11th July 2014:
I loved this one-shot.

Gideon and Fabian showing up to help take Fred on past the veil was kind of reminiscent of Lily, James, Sirius, and Remus doing the same for Harry in DH (though death doesn't quite stick with Harry like it does for Fred). That's one of my favorite scenes in the book, because the symbolism is so strong and the emotional impact so intense, so that semi-mirror was a really positive thing for me. Your using Gideon and Fabian to this purpose really helped to hammer in how terrible the First & Second Wizarding Wars were and how much they hurt families across multiple generations - Gideon and Fabian are people that Fred should have grown up knowing, not people he only recognized from photographs, and all three died too young.

But while that undertone to the one-shot was kind of sad, the story as a whole didn't come off that way. It was more cheerful than I'd have expected of a tale that ultimately comes down to untimely demise, but that worked for the characters, especially since Fred has always used humor to cope with difficult situations.

This was a lovely job. I love your Weasley one-shots.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I like to imagine Gideon and Fabian were twins, though it's not established in canon. I think Fred would need to talk it out a bit before he moved on. Twins are so different and he and George were such a unit. Having to split up would be very hard on both of them.

War destroys lives, even when it doesn't kill you. And it really did a number on Molly's family. No wonder her boggart is her family dead :( From the admittedly sketchy and contradictory canon evidence, Gid and Fab probably died when Fred and George were toddlers/preschool age, so they wouldn't really remember their uncles. Only from their mom's stories.

By the time I wrote this story, I was slightly less upset about Fred being killed. I swear you can see my grief process in early one-shots XD I wrote a lot about Fred's death. It bothered me a lot *snuggles my twins together*

Thank you so much for reviewing! (Go Ravenclaw!)


 Report Review

Review #42, by BeeezieRule Breaker: Aftermath

11th July 2014:
Wow - I'd forgotten that Hermione hadn't even been able to check in and see if her parents were still alive. I actually kind of wish that had entered the storyline a bit more before now - maybe either in a conversation with Theo or Ron, or maybe even one of her Slytherin friends. While everyone else is stressing about their life circumstances, I think Hermione should have pointed out at some point that she's facing a pretty terrible and stressful situation, too.

I did love that she talked about it a little with Draco, though, and I was equally gratified to see that he responded in kind. I'm glad that breaking with Voldemort and the Dark Arts didn't also involve breaking with his family, because while I do understand that the two are closely connected, I also feel like one of Draco's major avenues toward redemption is the love he's always felt from his parents.

At first, I wasn't sure how I felt about McGonagall's party idea, but on reflection, I've decided that I really like it. Hogwarts became a battle zone in DH, but that was because of the Carrows - in HBP, which I think Rulebreaker aligns with more closely overall in terms of tone, there was certainly some of that 'school-is-not-the-real-world' sentiment.

Still loving this!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: I'm definitely going to work Hermione's parents into this storyline more. As I've mentioned before, I've tended to forget certain things throughout the story (since it is SO FREAKING LONG), and when I edit (soon soon soon!), I want to fix that. Thanks for pointing it out! I had a big choice to make about whether or not to make the Malfoys stay "evil," but I wanted to do something a bit different, and didn't really want Draco to have to lose them. I think Narcissa at least proved her love for her son very early in the canon series, and Lucius's "affection" came through towards the end, and I wanted to showcase that. How they'll react to how much Draco has changed...that's to be determined. But I didn't want to get rid of them completely. I felt that was a bit of a cop-out. I'm glad you like the party idea! I needed it to set up the rest of the story (WHICH IS COMING TO A CLOSE SO SOON), so I felt it was necessary. I'm glad you don't hate it! ;)

Thanks again for a fantastic review!
--Emily


 Report Review

Review #43, by BeeezieRule Breaker: NEWTs and News

11th July 2014:
Hmm. I'm not sure about your having Hermione decide not to go to the Chamber with them. I get that Draco and NEWTs are important to her, but it seems like a huge departure from her personality to let that overwhelm the real mission. She's always been capable of making sacrifices where necessary, and especially since nothing plot-important happens as a result of her not going, I feel like you could have just as easily faded out with her going down to the Chamber with Harry and Ron as with her going to bed with Draco.

Otherwise, though, this was a solid chapter. I liked the way you depicted the NEWTs, and I also appreciated the throwback to HBP where Tonks's patronus changed because of her feelings about Remus. However, I also really liked that Hermione seemed pretty unwilling to talk to Draco about it - that felt very genuine to me.

And then, of course, EVERYTHING HAPPENED. Onto the next chapter, because WOW what a cliffhanger!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello (again)!

I'll think about what you mentioned with Hermione going to the Chamber. I guess I'd never really considered it, but it's something I should really decide on since the implications are quite large. But I'm glad you liked the rest of the chapter, especially the ending! :D I was happy about that, even though it was honestly a pretty last-minute choice.

Thanks again!
--Emily


 Report Review

Review #44, by BeeezieOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
I love that you referenced Minerva's backstory at the beginning of this - it brought the entire story very round-circle in a lot of ways, and really explained why she was so good at filtering herself (which she clearly managed to do throughout the books, most notably in OotP and HBP). I can definitely see how being a Muggleborn/Halfblood would be an advantage on that front in general.

I also loved the way you depicted Minerva's and Pomona's friendship. I never thought of them as being about the same age, but it's certainly plausible, and I love thinking of their friendship stretching back that long.

I loved the interaction with Fred and George. You captured their voices perfectly - I can totally see them nitpicking and claiming that canary creams didn't necessitate wand use. But it ended up being to the best that she took it... I would have loved to see the look on Umbridge's face.

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

Author's Response: Thanks! I read somewhere on Pottermore (I think) that Minerva and Pomona were friends in their school days, or at least knew each other. And Pomona, being a Hufflepuff, would absolutely go the extra mile to be loyal to both the school and her co-workers. I have Hufflepuff friends, and trust me, I do NOT cross them! They're great people to have on your side in tough times, as the seventh book clearly showed.

 Report Review

Review #45, by BeeezieA New Moon: A New Moon

10th July 2014:
Oooh, you captured Slughorn perfectly. The name dropping, the taste in food/drink, the belated realization that Wolfsbane shouldn't really be mixed with alcohol... but he's also uncomfortably perceptive at times, as shown when he recognized Remus's tension.

I loved seeing some of the side effects of the Wolfsbane, particularly so soon after its invention - I'm assuming that potionmakers may have been able to find a workaround to the awful aftertaste in the future, but not then, not in the early days. I loved seeing, though, that at the end of the day, despite all the discomfort, this really did make Remus happier. (I don't blame him. Losing your mind the way he's described as losing it must have been torture.)

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review!! :D i'm glad you enjoyed it!

 Report Review

Review #46, by BeeezieHPFF United Collaboration: The Quidditch Ban

10th July 2014:
Oh, James and Sirius. I feel kind of like McGonagall wanted to be talked into allowing Quidditch from the start, though - in the books, at least, she was always a huge supporter of the Gryffindor Quidditch team. I did think that they were really ingenious about their efforts, though (I don't care what McGonagall and Regulus say, I liked the essays!), and I loved that Regulus ended up sticking his nose in, too - it was a great reference to the fact that he'd also been on a Quidditch team, which was briefly mentioned in canon, and it was also a nice way of showing some complexities in Sirius and Regulus's relationship that often weren't really touched on in the books themselves.

I especially loved that you had Madam Pomfrey, who is always complaining about injuries to students, become an advocate for the most dangerous activity in the school. It was definitely a good bit on cunning on Regulus's part!

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

 Report Review

Review #47, by BeeezieHow I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

10th July 2014:
I love a good parody, especially a good parody involving Lockhart.

This was hilarious. Both your writing style and the subject material have me cracking up. You really captured Lockhart's voice perfectly - he was just so intensely self-satisfied that it felt like I was reading CoS all over again.

I also loved how you included some of the more minor characters who might have had some contact with Lockhart - I especially enjoyed Gladys, who I've always really wondered about. How on earth did she find Lockhart to be so fascinating that she spent so much of her life writing letters to him? This definitely provides some explanation, which I really enjoyed. And I loved seeing James's reaction to him - I can totally see him reacting with such disdain and irritation.

Hilarious, and a great story.

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7 (McGonagall tells Lupin he should be wearing black, not lilac)

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much, I am so glad this was entertaining and that it sounds like Lockhart! I had SO much fun writing this in Lockhart's voice :D And I'm quite flattered to hear that this was like reading CoS over again!

I loved adding in those minor canon characters - Gladys, the perpetual fan from the books, seemed like an ideal friend/admirer for him at Hogwarts :D I'm glad it seemed logical! And it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed James' cameo as well.

Thank you so much for your review and I'm really glad you enjoyed the story!! :D


 Report Review

Review #48, by BeeezieTwins and Marauders: ~One~

10th July 2014:
(I'm not sure that this counts for Decree #7, because Lupin isn't one of their professors right then, but since he is a professor, I thought it was worth a try!)

I loved the housekeeping part of OotP, so one-shots that delve further into it always entertain me. I suspected that might be particularly true of a one-shot you wrote, because I've tended to really enjoy them, and I was right!

I've always wondered when (or if!) Fred and George found out who Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot, and Prongs were. I always suspected they must have at some point - what with Harry's Patronus and Sirius's nickname and Remus being a werewolf - and I've always wished we could have seen it.

You describe it exactly as I'd imagine it would happen, right down to their being taken aback (and kind of disgusted) that Pettigrew was part of the Marauders. I loved this - and I loved Remus, responsible(ish) to the last.

Amazing job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

Author's Response: Totally counts, cause he was a professor! And his firing was so unfair. Stupid Snape.

I liked the siege on Grimmauld Place, too. It was funny to think of Molly making them all clean and de-infest the rooms. She's such a homemaker, the house probably horrified her when they all moved in.

I can't imagine it never came up! Fred and George staying with Sirius and Remus, they would have had to mention the map at some point, I don't know I just feel like that had to come out at some point. Obviously not in front of Molly or she would've tried to confiscate the map ;)

Thanks so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #49, by BeeezieRule Breaker: Looming

10th July 2014:
Huh. I actually really liked the way you approached this - I feel like with this sort of fic, there's always a danger of making Hermione too much of a resource for McGonagall. Instead, though, you've put Hermione (and Draco, sometimes) and McGonagall in a position where there are things that Hermione wants to know that McGonagall can't tell her. I can't really express how important I think that is - we saw it happen over and over throughout the books, even as the trio got older, that there are some things that they're just not privy to, because they're not Dumbledore. I also liked that while the theory Hermione and Draco came up with did turn out to be right, it wasn't something that McGonagall needed explained to her - she is a very bright witch, after all!

I also really liked the way you developed Harry and Ron's reactions to Draco in this chapter. Harry had already started to thaw, but now Ron has, too. As I said before, I think that it's totally plausible that it would take Ron longer to do so than Harry, but I'm glad it's started to happen at last.

Great job!

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Education Decree #7

Author's Response: Hello there!

I'm so happy you understand Hermione's relationship to McGonagall and the people "in power." Hermione's brilliant, yes, but the adults DO still have sway over what they will and won't tell the "students." For me, that separation was really important. I don't do it enough, but I want to emphasize that Hermione and her friends, as mature and intelligent as they may be, are still only 16/17/18-years-old. They're practically children, and I think that sometimes people (myself included) can forget that. And I'm glad you liked Harry and Ron, since, as you know, they're tough for me to write. Thanks for another great review!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #50, by BeeezieRule Breaker: The Quidditch Cup

10th July 2014:
Yeah, Quidditch can definitely be tough to write. I think you did a great job, though!

So much of this chapter was Quidditch, and I don't have much to say one way or the other about it (other than what I've already said), so this probably will be a bit of a shorter review. (Which, as a Ravenclaw, I hope you will forgive me for. :P)

I really liked the way Hermione reacted to Theo's revelation. The cold shoulder is completely, 100% appropriate. I also generally liked the way her friends reacted to it. I can, unfortunately, see Ron advocating forgiveness, because Ron has made some pretty poor choices over the course of the books. I would have liked to see a little more outrage from Harry, though - he's always tended to take that sort of thing really seriously, and it seemed a bit out of character for him to be so mellow and stoic about it.

Oh - this is related to the last chapter, but since I forgot to mention it then, I thought I'd mention it now. I was interested that Garrett was probably the least hostile of all of her Slytherin friends thus far, especially since, IIRC, Theo mentioned that Garrett was his best friends in one of the first chapters. I'd actually pegged Garrett to be the one to talk to her civilly if anyone would, though I have no idea why.

Good chapter! I'm sad I'm nearing the end. :(

House Cup 2014 Review - Ravenclaw

Author's Response: Hello once again!

I'm glad you think I wrote the Quidditch scene well! I pretty much hate writing Quidditch. I feel repetitive and boring and awful. :P I'm glad you liked Ron's reaction, and I'll tweak the other ones to make more sense. ;) I really need to balance my explanations of the Slytherins and Gryffindors thoughts/personalities/etc. I keep falling too far to one side and not giving the other enough attention. Dang!

Thanks again!
--Emily


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>