Reading Reviews From Member: Vanillaberries
  
134 Reviews Found

Review #1, by VanillaberriesCrossing the Borderline: Aaliyah: The Fight

26th March 2016:
Really great chapter! I especially enjoyed the last half, in the train. I get the sense that Albus is somewhat jealous or insecure of the relationship between James and Aaliyah. And I am really trying not to hate you for that cliffhanger!! Can hardly wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #2, by VanillaberriesUnder the Radar: The True Gryffindor

23rd March 2016:
HOLY CR-WTH-AP. And just when they were really making headway! Damn Victoire, you have some balls. Although I have to say, by turning this plot completely over, you've done wonders for your story. It's opened it up in a completely new direction - I love it! I can't wait to see Victoire and Teddy really at war, although I suspect that Teddy will really be the merciless one and it's eventually going to come to a climax where one hurts the other quite badly. Sorry for the rambling - this is just mere reader conjecture and a consequence of what your writing does to me.

Please please update soon! I hate to beg and plead, but I'd read anything you wrote honestly hahaaha. Lovely chapter, as always!

 Report Review

Review #3, by VanillaberriesThe Keeper's Daughter: Happy New Year, Georgiana

23rd March 2016:
Oh darling, can you do no wrong? You churn out these lovely chapters in all your stories, and quite promptly I might add. This chapter was definitely not a disappointment. Especially in the Georgiana and Albus plotline. Although I have to say, I was hoping that Leo and Sophia might have made headway but I suspect there will be a lot more drama where they are concerned coming up soon. (hopefully)

Lovely chapter, as mentioned before, looking forward to reading a new chapter shortly (hopefully again)

 Report Review

Review #4, by VanillaberriesThe Sacred Twenty-Eight Club: A Wilde Night

23rd March 2016:
Well you certainly do NOT let your readers down do you! This was a brilliant chapter - it made me gasp in all the right parts and feel things in all the right places. Scorpius is such a cutie, I just want to protect him. Although I think it would be really interesting to see Rose make an appearance into the story, and perhaps an interaction with them; I'm especially curious as to how you would portray Rose and how Carina would view them together.

Carina and James...they just seem to grow on me more and more. Although for James' sake, I truly hope that Carina sees this as more than merely physical. I get the sense that he's into it more than she is at this point.

I mentioned this in my earlier review, and you responded with a very hopeful reply, but I can't wait to see more of Lily and Levi!! I'm really hoping to see them soon - is it strange that I've gotten so attached to such minor characters in the story and this subplot? A part of me really really wishes to see Levi prove himself to be beyond the sly, scheming bast***, or at least have underlying feelings for Lily but I have a bad feeling that Lily is going to be left heartbroken :( There's not enough happy Lily's on this website sadly.

Please update soon! No pressure, but you have some truly dedicated readers here, who anxiously wait for your chapters. I'm sure whatever you will write further will be remarkable to say the least :)

Author's Response: Thank you! I have plans for Rose to make an appearance in later chapters, most likely through an interaction with Carina.
They definitely see their relationship in different ways, and it may or may not cause some problems in the next couple of chapters.
Levi and Lily are a subplot that I fully intend to follow up on. It will most likely be after the story's Christmas holiday, but it all depends.
Thank you so much! I'm trying my hardest to get the next chapter out in a timely manner!

xoxo
-M


 Report Review

Review #5, by VanillaberriesCrossing the Borderline: Albus: The Letter

12th March 2016:
Damn girl. In all its subtlety, this was one good chapter. Aaliyah and Albus for me truly came off as a really integrated, synchronized couple, and I think that just hints at us how unconsciously they have fallen for each other. I especially love the thought process by which Albus answers the questions, and how some answers surprise both Aaliyah and Lily. Unlike other chapters, this one got me particularly interested in the story of James and Gaby. They seem like a very interesting pair, and I would actually want to know more about them. Please update sooner, I can't wait this long!!!

Author's Response: Aaliyah and Albus are much more comfortable with each other. I think that happens inevitably when you spend so much time together. And have they fallen for each other? Only they know. ;)

I thought it would make his answers make more sense if you knew what he was thinking about before he voiced them. And yes, he surprises both Lily and Aaliyah with a few of his answers. Especially Aaliyah with his memory and observations.

I would love to write a story on James and Gabby (they have a very interesting relationship) but I'm not sure if I'll ever get to it. It's great to hear that you find them intriguing though!

The next chapter is in editing so it won't take too long! And thank you for reading and reviewing! I loved hearing from you again!

~Sama


 Report Review

Review #6, by VanillaberriesThe Human Factor : The One Where Things Are Mended And Broken

10th March 2016:
Wow this may have been my favourite chapter yet, although I think I say that every time. Pippa, in all her flaws, is an exquisite character and somehow your readers find themselves on a long, tiring, immense journey with the characters. Through all her mental issues, we start to slowly the cracks of a vulnerable girl underneath who still has hope. I love all the interactions with the Potter family members - she shares such a different equation with each one of them and that is a difficult thing to find in many stories. I'd like to say my favourite bits of this chapter were her interactions with Lily and Albus; you've turned her relationship with Albus from something completely befuddling to something more relatable. I'm more invested in the character of Albus, and I truly think he can be a helping factor for Pippa's road of recovery. The scene as she tries to drown herself was so shocking, it sent chills down my back. I couldn't tear my eyes away from your words and I was shocked at myself for finding such a devastating scene so gripping.

I look forward to your next chapter, and especially finding out 'he' is (hough I expect you'll make us wait a while longer). Amazing writing, as always - keep it up!

Author's Response: Hello. Wow, thank you, that is a huge compliment. I'm so glad you like it. I'm so glad you think that, it makes me happy. Yes, slowly, the remains of before Pippa, before him, who existed are unearthed. She forgot who she was as all she was focused on was being perfect. Thank you. I'm glad you noticed that, each Potter is very different with how they are with Pippa, so it makes sense that the friendship she creates are different between each one. Thank you, I'm so glad you like those parts, I had a lot of fun writing them, her turning to Albus to forget and actually showing affection to Lily. Thanks! It's a slowly but surely getting there! He still has to change some of his ways and grow, but he could be, you're right because he'd never ask her to be anything less than she is and there would be no need to hide her real emotions underneath a mask. Wow, thank you, that's amazing to hear. I too, find that about myself and I guess it is because we wonder what the characters decision will be, how it will all unfold.

Thanks :) I've already started it. And yes, Pippa isn't ready to confront her past and let go. She isn't ready to say his name in her head yet. Thanks so much, it's been fun reading your review, I was really nervous about posting it, so thanks for your review. I hope you have an amazing day. xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by VanillaberriesCrossing the Borderline: Aaliyah: The Dresses

3rd February 2016:
Oh, this story. I love your writing, I love every character in it - there's not much to say besides that. Is it selfish of me to say that I want more Albus? I know this story wouldn't be as good as it is if you didn't do it your way but the chapters with little to no Albus truly find me missing his presence. Please update soon, I really do look forward to reading the new updates!!

Author's Response: This review really made me smile so thank you so much for leaving it! It always makes me happy when I hear someone is liking the story and my characters.

It isn't selfish at all that you want more Albus. I myself find it hard to keep him out of chapters. He wasn't even supposed to be in this chapter at all but he still ended up making a small appearance. Shows my resilience, doesn't it?

But he sadly can't be in every chapter since he isn't the only person in Aaliyah's life and sometimes I find that I need to develop my secondary characters more. And I always like writing how Aaliyah reacts to him (i.e. when someone brings him up in a conversation) when he isn't around.

I'll try my best to update soon! Most of the next chapter is written so it shouldn't be too long! And there will be a lot of Albus as well!! Thank you again for leaving this! :D

~Sama


 Report Review

Review #8, by VanillaberriesUnder the Radar: The Mission

3rd February 2016:
Now, I have to be honest. When I first started Under the Radar, I wasn't sure whether I quite liked it or got it but I went with it and read each update because I've read your other stories and really liked them! Plus, I am a huge Teddy-Victoire fan and personally, there aren't enough good depictions of them.

That being said, I now LOVE this story. Absolutely head over heels in love with it. I think what makes your characterisation of Teddy so great is that he is so real. He has his flaws, and unlike most other fanfictions - where he's been in love with Victoire since childhood (I am a sucker for that too) or in a love triangle between her and Dom (not such a fan) - this presents something different, something more realistic and believable. After all, Teddy and Victoire came from different backgrounds (in terms of their parents' personalities) so I do love that aspect of your story.

But most importantly, I love your Victoire. She is a bada**. She's fearless, she's cheeky, she's loving, she's grateful, she's kind, she's dramatic, she's interesting, she's enchanting - she's everything I would imagine Victoire to be. I have read a lot of stories involving Victoire but none quite portray her like you do, and with such character unveiling and progression to.

I did think that I would hate Freya initially, and perhaps at times I still do, but somehow you write this story so that I feel sorry for her too. Although I can't sympathise with the whole unable to choose between Teddy and Finn thing. I thought I'd dislike Finn too but you make really grapple to terms with the fact that nobody is to blame in this scenario - they are all victims of the heart.

I cannot wait to see where you take this story; I truly hope you update soon (and The Keeper's Daughter). You write impeccably so, truly, I wish you nothing but the best for your novel.

 Report Review

Review #9, by VanillaberriesTo Capture a King: Detentions and Games

3rd February 2016:
I think you have real potential with this story! I think you are defining the characters just fine, although sometimes I feel you may need to take it a bit slower with the James and Lyra interactions. That being said, the fact that you're enjoying writing this story is the most important thing as happy writer = amazing story = happy readers. And that I definitely am - keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing! I understand completely what you mean about taking it slower with James and Lyra, so far I'm just laying the scene for how these two have kind of interacted their whole lives, growing up together. But there will be more then a few hiccups along their way, I'm sure. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #10, by VanillaberriesThe Sacred Twenty-Eight Club: A Turn of Events

3rd February 2016:
This is a lovely, lovely story. I can't wait to see you bring more to the table. My bets about Scorpius are on Rose, but the dark horse there could be an Al/Scorpius story. I gotta say, I really really really enjoy the snippets of Lily and Levi - please do bring more them into the mix!

Author's Response: Thank you! You'll find out about Scorpius in the next chapter! And Lily and Levi are an important story arc in future chapters!

xoxo
-M


 Report Review

Review #11, by VanillaberriesThe Keeper's Daughter: Yule Dance Marathon

3rd February 2016:
I think what I found most interesting about this chapter was that for once, my main attention was not on Al and Gee. Ofcourse that is not to say you didn't get me hooked when he made his appearance at the dance marathon, but I think that Leo and Sophia really stole the show. I love Leo, I love Sophia...and I can't wait to see where you've taken that storyline. Few authors create OCs that really resonate with the reader and leave them wanting for their own storyline.

Thank you for becoming more regular with your updates - it is really a pleasure to come and see a new chapter, with everything still fresh in your mind! I can't wait for the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #12, by VanillaberriesComplicated: In Which There Are Surprises

22nd January 2016:
You write so impeccably I can't help but be jealous, or rather amazed. You seem to capture the human emotion in such a delicate manner that once one finishes the chapter, it is almost like a sudden rush of feelings fill over.

This chapter was quite the emotional roller coaster, and there were two parts of it I particularly liked. First, I love the way in which you are developing this Scorpius/Rose friendship, or even tentative romance (?) - one can find many representations of Rose and Scorpius but this one, with its simple and brief scenes, just hits the nail on the head and is really refreshing to see.

And then comes the Laura scene. This scene was great. Just plain kicka**. The fact that you could make me, the reader, actually feel sorry for Laura (this was even before she revealed the C-bomb) is phenomenal. Kudos to your writing skills here: they really shine through. I love the way in which you show Ollie has curious yet still begrudging towards the girl. I am really anticipating the next chapter, where hopefully we'll see Ollie in some kind of emotional turmoil and some future scenes hopefully with Laura - she's a fascinating character - and Al as well. I feel like you've created this new hole of potential with the reveal, and I can't wait to see where you take it.

Please update soon, this hopefully won't sound too pressuring but truly when I see you've updated, I blink twice in surprise and shock and then reread the last chapter so I'm fully prepared for the new one!

Author's Response: Thank you!!! This review is just astonishingly lovely - honestly, thank you so much. I'm not even sure how to respond.

I'm so glad you're liking Rose and Scorpius. I know lots of people are keen to see something happen between them, but I don't think it would be doing Scor justice to have him rush into a relationship while Cassie's missing. I'm glad you like their friendship.

And thank you for liking Laura! The more I write her, the more I discover about her. More on her next chapter :)

Have been strangely inspired this week so chapter 24 just went up, not too many more to go now!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #13, by VanillaberriesOphelia: Bellecote

30th June 2015:
Holy crap. This story is so good I love it. It's so unconventional.

 Report Review

Review #14, by VanillaberriesThe One and Only Lily Potter: There's no Place like the Pitch

28th June 2015:
HOLY S***. How is it that I'm two chapters into this story and I'm already so addicted to it and its characters. Your Lily is a great heroine, she's got so much depth to her which we can clearly see at the end of this chapter. And I have to admit, I have a weak spot for guys like Sebastian Wood. I would like to read perhaps more description on him or more about him and Lily's past/relationship/friendship. I also think that perhaps the more emotional scenes could be a little more descriptive so we really connect with Lily's emotions or other characters' emotions. But it's just a small suggestion, and my opinion; I truly think this story has so much potential!
And don't get me started on that cliffhanger. I can't wait to read what reason you've come up with for Sebastian to have left Lily out of the team. It will be interesting to see whether this is short-term or long-term (short-term hopefully considering how much she loves it) and whether the reasons are personal or quidditch based (although I can't see why if she's truly a phenomenal player) I would love to know more about the whole Weasley/Potter clan, although tbh you did go into detail about that in this chapter and it was great!

Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: aaah you're the sweetest :D Thank you so much! I'm glad that you feel invested in the story. Guys like Sebastian Wood are simultaneously the best and the worst. You're totally right with the emotion part, I've always sucked at that. Next chapter, coming soon! ♥

 Report Review

Review #15, by VanillaberriesUndercover Heart: Chapter Eleven

24th June 2015:
I actually thought Lysander would react differently given the end of the last chapter but I like the way you portrayed both his and Dom's responses. The scene where he calls her kid made me laugh...it also made me imagine Lysander mentally cursing himself for saying that! I think what you've done really well in this story is made their feelings for each other appear gradually - it's not just like an on-off switch, especially given their history. I'd like to perhaps see them in a bit more emotional turmoil though ahaha ;)
As for the ending of that chapter, I really really want to know what happens! I hope Lysander doesn't get fired, I like the whole idea of him being this reporter prodigy, especially for a rival paper. However, it would be an interesting turn of events to see them possibly in a different situation together to the current one. I don't even know what my review is saying, I'm just spilling my thoughts on the chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for leaving such a lengthy review! I didn't mind your rambling at all. I really appreciate that you took the time to tell me some of your thoughts about the story so far. I can't give anything away about what's going to happen next, but I do hope to update within the week (if I can get a lot of writing done in the near future) so check back soon!

 Report Review

Review #16, by VanillaberriesUndercover Heart: Chapter Ten

17th June 2015:
I love this story omg! I love that it's a story not set in Hogwarts yet you've created a setting that is so realistic and believable. I also love the fact that you've done a story with two of the lesser written about Next Gen - Dom and Lysander. I think you've characterized Lysander perfectly - the right amount of cockiness, kindness, drive and ambition. Also, I wonder if we'll get to see perhaps a Lorcan appearance or some other NextGen character? And the mystery - I love it! You've made a mystery filled story quite lighthearted but dramatic, which is refreshing from many of the stories on this side! Thank you for writing this, I couldn't stop till I read all chapters, and I hope you update very very soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review! I really appreciate it. I have the next chapter about halfway written so I'm hoping to update by early next week. Check back soon, and thanks again for reading!

 Report Review

Review #17, by VanillaberriesIn Fields of Poppies: Hold it High

14th June 2015:
I can't get over how well-written and insightful this story is. I love all the viewpoints - Lily's is my favourite - but I'm just in awe of this story and your writing. Having read a couple of your stories, I wouldn't know which one is best but your writing/plotlines just get better! I love the argument between Lily and James, it is not often that people show the more intelligent, thoughtful side to James and also exactly how harsh their world exactly was. Hoping for another chapter soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I am VERY proud of this story, so it's so nice to hear that people like it! And it's so nice to hear you like all my writing, I'm a bit embarrassed by some of the earlier stuff now, but I'm glad you've noticed the improvements!

The argument between Lily and James is probably one of my favorite things I've written. I think it's important to show that side of James, and that side of their world, that's the stuff I find most interesting, actually!

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #18, by VanillaberriesThe Human Factor : The One Where Everything Changes

14th June 2015:
Simply put, this was your best chapter yet. It captured me right from the start and I just can't believe what I read. It was amazing! I love every single Pippa/Albus scene that you write but even the scenes where Pippa is just contemplating her own thoughts are so well-written. I'm so glad you're back writing this story, when can we hopefully see a next chapter?

Author's Response: Hello :) You saying that has really made my day, I was so scared to post this chapter because I haven't written for so long so you saying that makes me smile. Im glad you're liking their scenes and Pippas thoughts. And I'm thinking a month or so, I'm writing it on my phone so it takes a bit of time. And I need to reread the whole story to get a feel for the characters, Pippa is clear but I need to be sure not to say something so opposite that ive written before :) But I'm exciting to be writing again. Thank you for your review, it has made me really happy. I hope you have a great day! Xx

 Report Review

Review #19, by VanillaberriesHitched. : The Insanity of James and Noel Potter.

29th September 2012:
i know i read this before, but this is so good even reading it the second time round! any plans to update soon? :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by VanillaberriesTug Of War: Idiocy Thy Name Is Stella

14th August 2012:
that was such a good chapter! very very dramatic, but that's what we love ;) looking forward to the next chapter, hope you post it soon!

 Report Review

Review #21, by VanillaberriesBang: You know things are bad when your voicemail is flashing.

27th July 2012:
this story is amazing! james and aimee actually make me laugh my head off :') i can't wait to hear more about dan and james' reaction to him!

Author's Response: ahaha, i'm glad that it makes you laugh, because otherwise the story would be a little bit of a fail. thank you! and that is in... chapter ten, i think :D

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #22, by VanillaberriesWelcome to Blunderland: { 09 }

9th June 2012:
ah i love albus! and floral - they are too cute! i feel bad for scorpius but also wondering if you're going to include rose into this story soon or you're not heading that way? please update soon!

Author's Response: thank you! I don't have any plans to write rose in at all so, nope, not likely to include her, sorry! thank you for reviewing ♥

 Report Review

Review #23, by VanillaberriesA Woman's Guide to Professional Quidditch: Lucky Bras

9th June 2012:
ah loved this chapter! gigi and james, even when fighting, are still so adorable and stubborn. i would love to find out more about tyler gates, maybe even meet him? please update soon :)

Author's Response: Tyler Gates will be coming up soon, actually. He's not going to be in the next chapter, but the one after that. You'll love James even more once you see his jealousy.

 Report Review

Review #24, by VanillaberriesSlow Dancing: Red

9th June 2012:
this seems like a very different and interesting plot so i'd love to read more! i also love your story banner - it's amazing! would like to find out more what happened with darcy/albus since i'm not sure right now but really really good writing going on here!

Author's Response: Thankyou so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #25, by VanillaberriesTrying not to love you: Chapter thirteen - No Surprise

9th June 2012:
This is such a good story, i just read it all in one go, trying to go through each chapter as quickly as i could! i loveee all the characters you've built up and your writing is absolutely fantastic. please update soon!

Author's Response: Ooh, really? That's so cool ^^ I'm glad you like the story and the characters so much!

Thank you for the review! I promise to update soon!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>