Reading Reviews From Member: Vanillaberries
  
128 Reviews Found

Review #1, by VanillaberriesCrossing the Borderline: Aaliyah: The Dresses

3rd February 2016:
Oh, this story. I love your writing, I love every character in it - there's not much to say besides that. Is it selfish of me to say that I want more Albus? I know this story wouldn't be as good as it is if you didn't do it your way but the chapters with little to no Albus truly find me missing his presence. Please update soon, I really do look forward to reading the new updates!!

 Report Review

Review #2, by VanillaberriesUnder the Radar: The Mission

3rd February 2016:
Now, I have to be honest. When I first started Under the Radar, I wasn't sure whether I quite liked it or got it but I went with it and read each update because I've read your other stories and really liked them! Plus, I am a huge Teddy-Victoire fan and personally, there aren't enough good depictions of them.

That being said, I now LOVE this story. Absolutely head over heels in love with it. I think what makes your characterisation of Teddy so great is that he is so real. He has his flaws, and unlike most other fanfictions - where he's been in love with Victoire since childhood (I am a sucker for that too) or in a love triangle between her and Dom (not such a fan) - this presents something different, something more realistic and believable. After all, Teddy and Victoire came from different backgrounds (in terms of their parents' personalities) so I do love that aspect of your story.

But most importantly, I love your Victoire. She is a bada**. She's fearless, she's cheeky, she's loving, she's grateful, she's kind, she's dramatic, she's interesting, she's enchanting - she's everything I would imagine Victoire to be. I have read a lot of stories involving Victoire but none quite portray her like you do, and with such character unveiling and progression to.

I did think that I would hate Freya initially, and perhaps at times I still do, but somehow you write this story so that I feel sorry for her too. Although I can't sympathise with the whole unable to choose between Teddy and Finn thing. I thought I'd dislike Finn too but you make really grapple to terms with the fact that nobody is to blame in this scenario - they are all victims of the heart.

I cannot wait to see where you take this story; I truly hope you update soon (and The Keeper's Daughter). You write impeccably so, truly, I wish you nothing but the best for your novel.

 Report Review

Review #3, by VanillaberriesTo Capture a King: Detentions and Games

3rd February 2016:
I think you have real potential with this story! I think you are defining the characters just fine, although sometimes I feel you may need to take it a bit slower with the James and Lyra interactions. That being said, the fact that you're enjoying writing this story is the most important thing as happy writer = amazing story = happy readers. And that I definitely am - keep up the good work!

 Report Review

Review #4, by VanillaberriesThe Sacred Twenty-Eight Club: A Turn of Events

3rd February 2016:
This is a lovely, lovely story. I can't wait to see you bring more to the table. My bets about Scorpius are on Rose, but the dark horse there could be an Al/Scorpius story. I gotta say, I really really really enjoy the snippets of Lily and Levi - please do bring more them into the mix!

Author's Response: Thank you! You'll find out about Scorpius in the next chapter! And Lily and Levi are an important story arc in future chapters!

xoxo
-M


 Report Review

Review #5, by VanillaberriesThe Keeper's Daughter: Yule Dance Marathon

3rd February 2016:
I think what I found most interesting about this chapter was that for once, my main attention was not on Al and Gee. Ofcourse that is not to say you didn't get me hooked when he made his appearance at the dance marathon, but I think that Leo and Sophia really stole the show. I love Leo, I love Sophia...and I can't wait to see where you've taken that storyline. Few authors create OCs that really resonate with the reader and leave them wanting for their own storyline.

Thank you for becoming more regular with your updates - it is really a pleasure to come and see a new chapter, with everything still fresh in your mind! I can't wait for the next chapter.

 Report Review

Review #6, by VanillaberriesComplicated: In Which There Are Surprises

22nd January 2016:
You write so impeccably I can't help but be jealous, or rather amazed. You seem to capture the human emotion in such a delicate manner that once one finishes the chapter, it is almost like a sudden rush of feelings fill over.

This chapter was quite the emotional roller coaster, and there were two parts of it I particularly liked. First, I love the way in which you are developing this Scorpius/Rose friendship, or even tentative romance (?) - one can find many representations of Rose and Scorpius but this one, with its simple and brief scenes, just hits the nail on the head and is really refreshing to see.

And then comes the Laura scene. This scene was great. Just plain kicka**. The fact that you could make me, the reader, actually feel sorry for Laura (this was even before she revealed the C-bomb) is phenomenal. Kudos to your writing skills here: they really shine through. I love the way in which you show Ollie has curious yet still begrudging towards the girl. I am really anticipating the next chapter, where hopefully we'll see Ollie in some kind of emotional turmoil and some future scenes hopefully with Laura - she's a fascinating character - and Al as well. I feel like you've created this new hole of potential with the reveal, and I can't wait to see where you take it.

Please update soon, this hopefully won't sound too pressuring but truly when I see you've updated, I blink twice in surprise and shock and then reread the last chapter so I'm fully prepared for the new one!

Author's Response: Thank you!!! This review is just astonishingly lovely - honestly, thank you so much. I'm not even sure how to respond.

I'm so glad you're liking Rose and Scorpius. I know lots of people are keen to see something happen between them, but I don't think it would be doing Scor justice to have him rush into a relationship while Cassie's missing. I'm glad you like their friendship.

And thank you for liking Laura! The more I write her, the more I discover about her. More on her next chapter :)

Have been strangely inspired this week so chapter 24 just went up, not too many more to go now!

Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by VanillaberriesOphelia: Bellecote

30th June 2015:
Holy crap. This story is so good I love it. It's so unconventional.

 Report Review

Review #8, by VanillaberriesThe One and Only Lily Potter: There's no Place like the Pitch

28th June 2015:
HOLY S***. How is it that I'm two chapters into this story and I'm already so addicted to it and its characters. Your Lily is a great heroine, she's got so much depth to her which we can clearly see at the end of this chapter. And I have to admit, I have a weak spot for guys like Sebastian Wood. I would like to read perhaps more description on him or more about him and Lily's past/relationship/friendship. I also think that perhaps the more emotional scenes could be a little more descriptive so we really connect with Lily's emotions or other characters' emotions. But it's just a small suggestion, and my opinion; I truly think this story has so much potential!
And don't get me started on that cliffhanger. I can't wait to read what reason you've come up with for Sebastian to have left Lily out of the team. It will be interesting to see whether this is short-term or long-term (short-term hopefully considering how much she loves it) and whether the reasons are personal or quidditch based (although I can't see why if she's truly a phenomenal player) I would love to know more about the whole Weasley/Potter clan, although tbh you did go into detail about that in this chapter and it was great!

Hope you update soon!

Author's Response: aaah you're the sweetest :D Thank you so much! I'm glad that you feel invested in the story. Guys like Sebastian Wood are simultaneously the best and the worst. You're totally right with the emotion part, I've always sucked at that. Next chapter, coming soon! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by VanillaberriesUndercover Heart: Chapter Eleven

24th June 2015:
I actually thought Lysander would react differently given the end of the last chapter but I like the way you portrayed both his and Dom's responses. The scene where he calls her kid made me laugh...it also made me imagine Lysander mentally cursing himself for saying that! I think what you've done really well in this story is made their feelings for each other appear gradually - it's not just like an on-off switch, especially given their history. I'd like to perhaps see them in a bit more emotional turmoil though ahaha ;)
As for the ending of that chapter, I really really want to know what happens! I hope Lysander doesn't get fired, I like the whole idea of him being this reporter prodigy, especially for a rival paper. However, it would be an interesting turn of events to see them possibly in a different situation together to the current one. I don't even know what my review is saying, I'm just spilling my thoughts on the chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for leaving such a lengthy review! I didn't mind your rambling at all. I really appreciate that you took the time to tell me some of your thoughts about the story so far. I can't give anything away about what's going to happen next, but I do hope to update within the week (if I can get a lot of writing done in the near future) so check back soon!

 Report Review

Review #10, by VanillaberriesUndercover Heart: Chapter Ten

17th June 2015:
I love this story omg! I love that it's a story not set in Hogwarts yet you've created a setting that is so realistic and believable. I also love the fact that you've done a story with two of the lesser written about Next Gen - Dom and Lysander. I think you've characterized Lysander perfectly - the right amount of cockiness, kindness, drive and ambition. Also, I wonder if we'll get to see perhaps a Lorcan appearance or some other NextGen character? And the mystery - I love it! You've made a mystery filled story quite lighthearted but dramatic, which is refreshing from many of the stories on this side! Thank you for writing this, I couldn't stop till I read all chapters, and I hope you update very very soon!

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the kind review! I really appreciate it. I have the next chapter about halfway written so I'm hoping to update by early next week. Check back soon, and thanks again for reading!

 Report Review

Review #11, by VanillaberriesIn Fields of Poppies: Hold it High

14th June 2015:
I can't get over how well-written and insightful this story is. I love all the viewpoints - Lily's is my favourite - but I'm just in awe of this story and your writing. Having read a couple of your stories, I wouldn't know which one is best but your writing/plotlines just get better! I love the argument between Lily and James, it is not often that people show the more intelligent, thoughtful side to James and also exactly how harsh their world exactly was. Hoping for another chapter soon!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I am VERY proud of this story, so it's so nice to hear that people like it! And it's so nice to hear you like all my writing, I'm a bit embarrassed by some of the earlier stuff now, but I'm glad you've noticed the improvements!

The argument between Lily and James is probably one of my favorite things I've written. I think it's important to show that side of James, and that side of their world, that's the stuff I find most interesting, actually!

Thank you again for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by VanillaberriesThe Human Factor : The One Where Everything Changes

14th June 2015:
Simply put, this was your best chapter yet. It captured me right from the start and I just can't believe what I read. It was amazing! I love every single Pippa/Albus scene that you write but even the scenes where Pippa is just contemplating her own thoughts are so well-written. I'm so glad you're back writing this story, when can we hopefully see a next chapter?

Author's Response: Hello :) You saying that has really made my day, I was so scared to post this chapter because I haven't written for so long so you saying that makes me smile. Im glad you're liking their scenes and Pippas thoughts. And I'm thinking a month or so, I'm writing it on my phone so it takes a bit of time. And I need to reread the whole story to get a feel for the characters, Pippa is clear but I need to be sure not to say something so opposite that ive written before :) But I'm exciting to be writing again. Thank you for your review, it has made me really happy. I hope you have a great day! Xx

 Report Review

Review #13, by VanillaberriesHitched. : The Insanity of James and Noel Potter.

29th September 2012:
i know i read this before, but this is so good even reading it the second time round! any plans to update soon? :)

 Report Review

Review #14, by VanillaberriesTug Of War: Idiocy Thy Name Is Stella

14th August 2012:
that was such a good chapter! very very dramatic, but that's what we love ;) looking forward to the next chapter, hope you post it soon!

 Report Review

Review #15, by VanillaberriesBang: You know things are bad when your voicemail is flashing.

27th July 2012:
this story is amazing! james and aimee actually make me laugh my head off :') i can't wait to hear more about dan and james' reaction to him!

Author's Response: ahaha, i'm glad that it makes you laugh, because otherwise the story would be a little bit of a fail. thank you! and that is in... chapter ten, i think :D

ellie :) xx


 Report Review

Review #16, by VanillaberriesWelcome to Blunderland: { 09 }

9th June 2012:
ah i love albus! and floral - they are too cute! i feel bad for scorpius but also wondering if you're going to include rose into this story soon or you're not heading that way? please update soon!

Author's Response: thank you! I don't have any plans to write rose in at all so, nope, not likely to include her, sorry! thank you for reviewing ♥

 Report Review

Review #17, by VanillaberriesA Woman's Guide to Professional Quidditch: Lucky Bras

9th June 2012:
ah loved this chapter! gigi and james, even when fighting, are still so adorable and stubborn. i would love to find out more about tyler gates, maybe even meet him? please update soon :)

Author's Response: Tyler Gates will be coming up soon, actually. He's not going to be in the next chapter, but the one after that. You'll love James even more once you see his jealousy.

 Report Review

Review #18, by VanillaberriesSlow Dancing: Red

9th June 2012:
this seems like a very different and interesting plot so i'd love to read more! i also love your story banner - it's amazing! would like to find out more what happened with darcy/albus since i'm not sure right now but really really good writing going on here!

Author's Response: Thankyou so much! :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by VanillaberriesTrying not to love you: Chapter thirteen - No Surprise

9th June 2012:
This is such a good story, i just read it all in one go, trying to go through each chapter as quickly as i could! i loveee all the characters you've built up and your writing is absolutely fantastic. please update soon!

Author's Response: Ooh, really? That's so cool ^^ I'm glad you like the story and the characters so much!

Thank you for the review! I promise to update soon!


 Report Review

Review #20, by VanillaberriesThe Madness That is My Life: The Madness of Potter Jealousy

7th June 2012:
YAY yay! you updated! and it was an amazing update! personally i love Albie and Adbus for nicknames - so cute! and i feel so bad for both scorpius and rose :( looking forward to the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #21, by VanillaberriesCheating the Bet: Heat of the Moment?

7th June 2012:
this story sounds like it's going to be great! would love to see the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you like it :) I'm definitely excited about writing this story.

 Report Review

Review #22, by VanillaberriesYou : You

5th June 2012:
first reviewer i believe? this story was so sad, and i only wish it was a little longer so i could find out more about dom. i love dom/ly stories but this was a beautiful oneshot, keep up the good writing!

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed this story.
Mystique


 Report Review

Review #23, by VanillaberriesIllusions of a Perfect Marriage: Suprises and a wedding

30th May 2012:
nice chapter! loved the ending, it was especially cute! i've already started on your prequel, the year you stole my heart, which is already amazing enough even with its 2 chapters! decided on what the sequel may be called too and when you might post it?

Author's Response: Thank you so much hun :-D
Er I've got no idea what to call the Sequel actually haha I should probably look into that :-D I should be posting it soon, I'm beginning to write it on 1st June so not too long after that. :-D


 Report Review

Review #24, by VanillaberriesComing Back a Swan: The Falling Angel

30th May 2012:
i honestly didn't believe at first when it said this story was so updated, i had given hope :( but on the brighter side, this was such a good chapter and i love that you're one of those writers that touches on all of the characters' feelings and it's not just about relationships...there's so much more to it! i can't believe that she's going to hogwarts, i like the angels aha :) but hopefully we'll see more of james! please update soon :D

 Report Review

Review #25, by VanillaberriesRebel in Law: Time is a Great Healer I Hear

30th May 2012:
no no no! i can't believe they broke up and he did that! but right now i'm more on james side, he seems so heartbroken :( this story is so good and you have the best twists! please update soon!

Author's Response: I know :( Oh thank you so much :D update will be soon, got my laptop back so will be finishing this story :D

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>