Reading Reviews From Member: ImagineHarmony
  
146 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ImagineHarmonySmall Bump: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
Oh my gosh!! Small Bump is one of my favourite songs and I'm so glad you wrote this story based on the song :)) I really love the the point of view of Ron, you've brought out his character so realistically, it's almost as if this was actually real, and haha I laughed at this 'We can give you another name; there are plenty of good ones. Would it be too fluffy if I named you after Harry? I think it would be.' - and oh my gosh the ending is so sad !! I really love the last line 'We’ll be alright, we’ll try to live on and I hope you do too.' it really hits you in the gut and omg wow i can't even. Truly a beautiful read!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #27, by ImagineHarmonyHey Lily: Snow

28th June 2015:
Your description is beautiful and wow, I can feel as though it was truly winter here! The imagery is outstanding, and I can't stress this enough. I really love how winter is carried throughout the fic, and how Lily meets Azalea is so cute !! I didn't realise Lily spoke with sign language until Azalea said 'sorry' haha, but it was a beautiful read! It was so realistic when Lily was insecure if Azalea really wanted to come back to her, but Azalea replied with 'I love you too' and my heart died!! It's so cute and beautiful and again, I love how you portrayed Lily's story and amazing character through the theme of winter. Kudos to you!! I really enjoyed it :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #28, by ImagineHarmonyThis is Chemistry: SN1

28th June 2015:
I absolutely, //absolutely// love the entire fic. The chemistry references just blow me away. 'In fact, they were polar opposites, but this is chemistry and in chemistry, opposite charges attract.' I cannot stress how much I truly love the chemistry references and how you reference it to show the relationship between the two of them and wow 'The Electrophile and the Nucleophile reacted, bonded, and stabilised.' and coming from a chemistry student, I can't even rn like WOW, and I love how you drop the 'between two house elves' omg i was SO expecting it to be between two students!! But anyways, a very beautiful and interesting and poetic read, thank you so much for writing!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Arghhh!! THANK YOU! This review!! IT'S SO SWEET!! I don't deserve this. You are far too kind. What is this? ♥ I am thrilled that you like it. I was honestly very unsure about this story because it was strange. I cannot tell you how much it means to me to know that you think it's beautiful and interesting and poetic!! I will never get over that. Thank you so much!!! ♥

HPAEBTBBYAMBLBSBLATTWHAPABYHDLTPNWABWNJHPWHTABTTBBABVA! (I'm not completely sure what that means) :P

Love,
Em


 Report Review

Review #29, by ImagineHarmonyThinking About You: You, You, You

28th June 2015:
I absolutely love how you made the narrator fall in love, it was beautiful and so so cute!! you've truly written it in a way that is very believable and you can feel how much love the narrator has, and it's so sad when he goes 'I don't think you ever noticed me.' My favourite part is 'Where do you get those brilliant ideas of yours? How is it possible that your smile can be so hypnotising? How can people stay on their feet around you? Is there no limit to your talent? Is there no resisting your charms? ' because GREAT use of rhetorical questions, and paints the narrator as someone who is besotted with her. And I love the way you ended it with him getting her attention and leaving the ending ambiguous!! Great read, you're really talented :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

Author's Response: ImagineHarmony,

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS ENDEARING REVIEW! I am thrilled that you found it believable. Funny thing about your favourite part: it was Lockhart thinking about himself. I love that you liked the rhetorical questions. Lockhart is definitely besotted with himself. Thank you so much for all your kind words about the ending, too! ♥ You are too sweet to me, what is this?! [hug] THANK YOU! I cannot say that enough.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #30, by ImagineHarmonyThe Orphan's Carol: The Orphan's Carol

28th June 2015:
'He was eight when it happened.' - a great summary, vague enough to capture the reader's attention and make them read on. And wow, it was a fantastic read. You captured Tom's character so well, the neglected orphan boy. '"Only good boys get presents, Master Riddle." The Dean told him, and the other children burst into cruel laughter.' and this was so well written that I could feel the harshness towards Tom and wow, I'm just blown away. Every emotion described just makes you want to stop and breath for a second, and I love the way you ended it 'Outside, beyond the windows, the boy and the stray looked at the snow falling from the gray sky, the black lump of coal beside them.' - the boy and the stray, even though you were talking about Merlin, you can feel that stray is a synonym of the boy, Tom will always be a stray.

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #31, by ImagineHarmonygoodbye good friend: What We Talk About When We Talk about Death

28th June 2015:
Your summary and title just immediately draws me in. 'Death does not discriminate.' it's so powerful and prepares the reader for some really strong feels haha - I really love the poetic words about death in the first and last paragraphs, it truly makes the reader reflect on death and the way it ends in an almost advice-like way, 'There is but a handful of things that I insist you do--however you see fit--grieve with everything you’ve got and love with all your heart.' really hits me, after James said he contemplated suicide. However, I think you could work on the dialogue. They feel very abrupt, and the characters don't really come out in the words spoken. I feel like you could have talkedvery in-depth analysis of their emotions and made the suicide and the murder and the death themes to stand out. But overall, it was a good piece :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #32, by ImagineHarmonyTabula Rasa: One

28th June 2015:
Very interesting concept! You really captured the desperation and the emotions withing Colin, the pain and the fear, and the use of the short sentence 'He has to fight.' really shows Colin's position. He /has/ to fight. You're vocabulary is spot on, I can feel every moment as if I'm really there, your description is beautiful. 'Outside, despite the cool night air and clear, starry sky, the devastation that meets him takes away any beauty the night might have held and has Colin longing to be back inside. ' wow. And I love how you paired the reincarnation trope with the title 'Blank Slate', that is so clever and amazing and all I can think about is wow ?? I can't breathe ?? this is really good and I really enjoyed it!! :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #33, by ImagineHarmonyInvictus: I thank whatever gods may be

28th June 2015:
Great use of rhetorical questions ('who would there be to take your place?') - it really sets the feelings of the character for the rest of the story. 'There is never any time to think, only to act.' this really hits me, because Fabian dies at the end :( - I love how you portrayed the emotions even though you were writing a scene where they are attacked, and it was very realistically and beautifully written ('you realise that you are dying too. ') and the last line, again ending with the character's name and 'your life is about to end.' hits you straight in the gut and you go 'oh.' and want to like cry forever. I'm really glad I read this story! It's creative and tragic and written by someone who is very talented.

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #34, by ImagineHarmonyInvictus: Black as the pit from pole to pole

28th June 2015:
'Black by name and Black by nature, is that not what the teachers would say when they thought you weren't listening? ' - the chapter starts off with this and completely grabs me in. I think now's the time to say you completely own second person!! I've written it a few times and I'm just completely blown away. ' They would never really remember you. ' - I love the italicised 'you'. 'An unborn child resides inside you, and you are terrified.' - you sell Narcissa's character, and her love as a mother even to an unborn child. And I really love how you end every last sentence with the name, and the ' you will never be a Malfoy.' makes you go like 'wow'. You've completely (i use this word too much) owned Narcissa as your own character, she feels new and fresh and not regurgitated as the same old Narcissa with the generic feelings. Kudos to you on that! It's really hard to do that to non-original characters, but you've done it really well!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #35, by ImagineHarmonyInvictus: Out of the night that covers me

28th June 2015:
Your writing is beautiful, poetic. You've described the story so well that I can hear the silence and feel the sun and I love how your narrator describes himself. I love the repetition of 'leaving, of course,' - I felt it reflected how Sirius feels, how he's been left to rot and how he takes that as normal now ('of course') and you've already got me sympathising with him. Excellent writing. some of my favourite lines are 'You follow the star that you know will bring you home, as it always has done and always will.' and 'you had been the star they named you for and eclipsed them all.' and the last line 'You are Sirius Black, and for now you are free.' - it holds so much impact and it makes me so sad because he is never truly free, no matter how much he tries to believe it. Honestly, beautiful writing!! Great job :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #36, by ImagineHarmonyRose: Unrequited

28th June 2015:
The way you started was honestly beautiful. 'Rose'. And this line is so good 'She was as vibrant as the red of the flower, as delicate as the petals of the bud, as beautiful as his favourite plant and as untouchable as its thorns. She lived up to her name. ' I love the similes you used, it definitely describes Rose well and the 'untouchable' gives the feeling of how Scorpius can't have her and that was very clever hah - and I love how you continued that simile throughout the fic, 'Yet, he would never be anything more. His love was meant to nurture her smile and watch her bloom but he could not pluck this rose and keep it for himself. She had to find the one who would and she did. ' - and the whole Scorpius feeling unrequited love and his emotions to the whole thing was so beautifully laid out and it's so good!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #37, by ImagineHarmonyWhere My Demons Hide: There is nowhere we can hide

27th June 2015:
I just /love/ the chapter image and story banner, they completely set the tone of this fic and it's so easy to fall in love with the mood of the story. First of all, I love the choice of lyrics, it shows Blaise's character really well. I love how you italicised 'traitor', the emotions just honestly make you want to stop and breathe for a mooment. 'You had no idea about the battles I fought, to keep you alive.' I really like this line! Even though he wasn't a Death Eater and didn't fight battles with the Order of the Phoenix and stuff, it truly shows his state of mind and how not all battles are physical. 'You were certain that things would get better. They never did.' and the last 'I did warn you, didn't I?' that was so sad! Although maybe if you removed the 'I did my best to warn you' sentence it would help the last sentence impact the reader more. Overall, a beautiful read :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #38, by ImagineHarmonyDon't Forget Me: My Hero

27th June 2015:
As you've said, it's really hard writing 500 words but I think you managed to killed it. I love how you started with a short sentence, and such a powerful one, 'I envied you.' - i also think that you were very successful in showing the narrator's envy, the italics of the word 'Golden Child' may be just to say the title, but I truly felt the bitterness in those words. 'It was a burden that you gave me.' - WOW. And I think you really know how to pull off the italics, the repetition of 'you' and then finally 'me' totally stole my breath away. I love how you ended the story, the sadness of Albus coming right through and stabbing you in the gut. "Don’t forget about me James. You’re the only one who promised that you wouldn’t." And that's when you killed me. Really good piece overall!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #39, by ImagineHarmonyHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Hello! I really liked reading this story! I think you captured Remus and Minerva's relationship really well- I hadn't thought of them like that close friendship-ish bond and your great characterization on both characters helped portray that. I love how you repeated her saying 'Have a biscuit.' it's really poignant and bittersweet as it makes us think how their relationship was and how it has developed. Overall I think this is a really well written, developed and fantastic story, I really liked it!

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

 Report Review

Review #40, by ImagineHarmonyA New Moon: A New Moon

10th July 2014:
Hello! I'm going to review as I read this and I love the description in the beginning! It's really vivid and works great. And I love the humour! This line: Remus settled further into his chair. “I’ve not got any nerves.” I also liked how the Marauders look out for him, I like how you showed how much they care in those dialogues. I also really liked how you wrote the entire paragraph where Remus is waiting to transform, hoping the potion works. Overall, it's a really well written piece that has great characterization of Remus! :)

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thanks for the kind review! And go Hufflepuff ;)

 Report Review

Review #41, by ImagineHarmonyOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hello! This was really fun to read! I was laughing the entire way through, especially at Minerva trying to filter her words. I loved how you portrayed Minerva, and I liked reading her a new light! And my favourite line has to be: "Besides: of her own accord, High Inquisitor Umbridge is currently partaking in unauthorized sweets. Who is she going to tell?" - exactly what I thought XD Overall this was great to read, great to read Minerva's thoughts and how she's driven insane with Umbridge haha!

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate the kindness. I can only imagine McGonagall's inner satisfaction at not only getting to take a pound of flesh from Umbridge, but the way her staff rallied around her. Often times it is the little things that count.

 Report Review

Review #42, by ImagineHarmonyChase: Chapter Three - Meeting with McGonagall

10th July 2014:
Hello! This chapter was a fun ride to read, I liked that you changed Kenna to Kendra, it's a nice name! And I liked the interaction between Wood and her in the chapter, the banter, the anger, it was realistic and portrayed their characters really well. My favourite line this chapter is 'Did I stutter?' - haha! Way to talk back to Wood is A+. I love how she doesn't let Wood boss her around too long! Also I'm so going to read the next chapter after that preview. Overall, a good chapter, the flow was good and you're developing the characters really well so far :)

- House Cup 2014 Review, Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

 Report Review

Review #43, by ImagineHarmonyWhite Poppies: White Poppies

9th July 2014:
Hello! When I got near the end, I finally realised it was Helena that was narrating. I loved her point of view; it was poignant and elegantly written. One thing I admire about your writing is how you've captured Helena's character so well, and the ending lines are proof of that- she doesn't care about the present and the future; she's haunted with her past- that is just beautiful. The flow was really smooth, I could feel her emotions and emptiness. This is such a fantastic read. I really think you're a great writer! :)

- House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #44, by ImagineHarmonyA Hundred Bloodied Sunsets: we will remember

9th July 2014:
Hello! I really liked reading this, it was sad and nostalgic and heartbreaking at the same time. I love how you put the four different stories together. The characterization was really good, I could feel their loss over their loved ones. You captured the grieving members in different lights and I thought that was really interesting; Molly feeling as if Fred was still winking at her, Dennis pursuing photography so his brother's camera is not in left in the dust- it was a unique read and quite interesting. Overall, I really liked this story, especially the line: "An assault of your retina where, once, he might have taken a photograph." That was an amazing line, completely capturing the grief of Colin. :)

- House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #45, by ImagineHarmonyThe Monster Within: I will always be a monster

7th July 2014:
Hello Kayla! Your writing is phenomenal. Seriously. I loved how you showed that animal instinct and dangerous side to Remus and how at first he doesn't recognize Sirius or James. That description of him transforming was disturbing and fantastically written. I think you've perfectly grasped what Remus probably felt when he turned and the "After all, I am still a monster." line is just perfect. I love the sad darkness you conveyed and Remus' hatred for his true self. I think ending it on that note was just sealing the ribbon on a perfect story.

- House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Tawi!

I'm actually really quite proud of this story so I'm glad you liked it. It's truly an honour for you to read my stories, I swear! ♥

Thank you so much for the review!

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by ImagineHarmonyMania: Mania

7th July 2014:
Hello! I'm truly in awe at your writing. In five hundred words you captured them in a new dark and twisted light and I am just sitting here gaping. I love your description of their relationship; they feed on each other's emotions and destruction and I love how your characterization just felt /so/ right. And that line in the second paragraph "but even that night..." wow. Just wow. This entire story is chilling to the core and I loved every second of reading it.

-House Cup 2014 Review - Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #47, by ImagineHarmonyShattered Memories: Colliding Memories

7th July 2014:
Hello! Wow, your first fanfic was phenomenal to read. I wish my firsts were like that. I loved, loved, loved your writing; the way you wrote with simple words and created a beautiful backstory. The first paragraph was haunting and captivating at the same time and you think back to 'shattered memories'. I knew it was Severus for the second boy and I knew where you were going with this and I would like to applaud you because most for writing this in the beautiful way you've written. I think in the last three lines: "Whether you be Tom Riddle, Severus Snape or Harry Potter. The dark lord or half blood prince. Its welcoming halls will welcome you too in. If you be unloved, friendless or alone, there is always a chance to prove yourself at Hogwarts. The end." - you should've used commas instead of full stops and perhaps not ended with 'The end.'. But other than that; I really liked the story!

- House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #48, by ImagineHarmonyThink of Me Naked: Think of Me Naked

7th July 2014:
Hello! I found this really cute to read! The convo in Binns' class was really funny to read; idk why but it just was; seeing Scarlett getting flustered by Fred and everything. And when she realised it was George who kissed Katie I died a little on the inside, specially when she was thinking of ship names! I liked the plot overall, and I liked your writing. The only constructive criticism I have is to work more on your dialogues; show more of Scarlett and Fred's character in the dialogues.

:)
- House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #49, by ImagineHarmonyThe Fred Weasley Memorial Scholarship: iv. the secret weapon [or] well, i didn't see that coming

7th July 2014:
Hello! I found this chapter really fun to read! Albus and Scorpius coming out and kissing was just the perfect way to put the scene together, it was great and engaging and I love that you portrayed asexuality, forget perfectly or properly, but just realistically; I liked it. A lot. Your characterization and development of characters brought out this chapter and I love where Holly just goes 'Oh, f-," - exactly me as I read.

This chapter was fantastic to read! I'd really love to read more but HC Reviewing is going on and I'm stumped with loads of things to review xD

House Cup 2014 Review - Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #50, by ImagineHarmonyShattered Infinity: Marked for Destruction

6th July 2014:
Hello! I really love how you just perfectly portrayed Snape and his emotions and characterization were wow- I'm speechless. I think you've effectively conveyed his unrequited love for Lily and how much he wishes he could take back the word. I also love how you revolved it around words, the summary, and the final line 'All the words in their infinite combinations were not enough to save what he had lost.'

Author's Response: Hi! Thanks for your review!

Speechless? I really left you speechless?! Yay! Thank you! I was horribly afraid that I wouldn't do Snape's character justice, but seeing that you liked what I did makes me very happy. :)

His love is DEFINITELY unrequited. No Snily for me! I wanted it to be realistic, and the reality is that Snape fancied Lily to the point of obsession. And she wasn't too keen on it.

Thank you! I actually built the one-shot around that last sentence--it came to me one night and I just had to write it! :D

Thanks again for your review!

~UnluckyStar57


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>