Reading Reviews From Member: ImagineHarmony
  
146 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ImagineHarmonyForever Young: One

11th July 2015:
i love the repetition of the lines 'Sometimes I wonder if my father will ever grow up.' - it's such a beautiful and tragic and powerful opening line. i love how you described each photograph so beautifully, and it felt as though we were living in the moment. it really brought out the theme of being young and immature, and i love that you chose photos - they are forever there, forever looped to show you a past memory, they showed harry how his father was 'forever' young, in the most literal and metaphorical sense. 'The rusty autumn leaves are swept up in a graceful dance with the wind before settling on the marble set into the ground. ' - such beautiful description omg - i'm not sure if this is a typo or n ot but in the two headstones, one says 'died' and the other is 'dies'- the dies in present tense really hits the gut, like it's forever happening. I really love this. Thank you for writing.

- house cup 2015 - hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #2, by ImagineHarmonyDobby: The Paid Elf: Dobby: The Paid Elf

11th July 2015:
I love the beginning!! You started it with his expectations and the sad truth, " It has been a little over a year since he had been freed, and still has nowhere to call home. " - and I like how it's paralleled to finding jobs in the real world, and I think you made a connection form between the reader and Dobby through the first paragaph. I really like your description - you focus on the right details and all the while capture Dobby's character. I really loved Dumbledore and Dobby's interaction- you can see how much he respects Dobby, no matter how little he is. I lovehow you characterised Dumbledore as well;
"Dumbledore patted Dobby on the back and shook his head. "I am just a man, Dobby. A man like any other. No more, no less." I really loved the ending as well! It was really sweet. "For the first time in his life, Dobby truly felt free. "

- house cup 2015 - hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #3, by ImagineHarmonyHC Event 3: The Last Time: The Last Time

11th July 2015:
'He was in his shop; the shop that he and Fred had built from nothing with the money Harry had given then so many years ago. The place was empty, but it sounded just like it did before they opened the doors each morning after they set everything going. ' - first of all, it starts off beautifully, i love the use of rhetorical questions and sounds and when George looked down at himself. And oh my gosh, when I read what I quoted above, my heart shattered because the sudden Fred and George feels just attacked me. I really love the encounter between both brothers, the smile on my face keeping away the tears. And I love the last line, because even after death, both brothers are together and they're moving towards the shop entrance oh my God. I can't even breathe. This is so good and I love it so much!

- house cup 2015 - hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #4, by ImagineHarmonyBirthday Drinks: Birthday Drinks

11th July 2015:
hi! I really like how you described George's feelings and thoughts in such minimal words, it's really difficult to accomplish this in 500 words, so good job :) 'He would never know it was her who left it for him every year.' I love the way you ended it! I didn't expect it to be Hermione but i do love that you portrayed her in a way that shows that she is caring and losing Fred didn't just affect the Weasleys, but her too. 'Birthday Drinks' is such a sad title, to be honest. because like when you think of 'birthday drinks' you think fun, enjoyment, happiness. and i love that you used the title for this fic, it adds a touch of poignancy that you can't help but stop and love. overall, a really beautiful fic. thank you for writing this :)

- House cup 2015 - hufflepuff

Author's Response: Thank you so much for you nice words! I am very appreciative of them!

Frankie


 Report Review

Review #5, by ImagineHarmonyThe Interlude: The Interlude

11th July 2015:
Oh my gosh, first of all- you've used a poem by Richard Siken, a poet I greatly admire. I could totally read the Harmony in the words. You are so talented, your writing is poetic and beautiful and poignant and just utterly /magnificent./ To find one line that I love to death would be nearly impossible- I'm in love with all the words and metaphors and inferred meanings hidden deep within the minor details. The imagery is breathtaking, the dialogues, no matter how minimal, totally stab you in the gut, ('He's dead.') - and 'She’s in the interlude with him, the staccato of memories tumbling in the door, settling on this bed beside her, invading this foreign room where she still feels like there’s something so abundantly hers. It’s the build as her charcoaled sorrow unfolds, like corrupted marble against her perished petal-lips.' and ' It’s a poor rendition of clandestine poetry, but it’s theirs.' are my favourite lines. Honestly I'm so in love with this fic, it has to be one of my favourites. Thank you so much for writing this.

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #6, by ImagineHarmonyPainted : Painted

11th July 2015:
I absolutely /love/ the way each paragraph begins with 'Lily Evans loved to paint.' - and every paragraph is filled with beautiful description and details and stunning imagery that I'm so in love. The last paragraph just hits me in the gut and it's so utterly sad and morbid, that she loves to paint and that she herself would be painted on the walls, by her blood. (However, unless it's completely metaphorical, the killing curse is probably equivalent to a heart attack, so there wouldn't be any blood.) - "This time the blank canvas was a nursery" - how extremely /sad/ is this ? I really love how you portrayed lily's character through such a small word count, it's truly a challenge, and I love how you focused on the important parts in her life.

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #7, by ImagineHarmonyA Flash of Green Light: James and Lily

11th July 2015:
Hi ! I've found some things you might want to review over; 'Her senses were literally on fire ' - I don't think the word literally works here, it makes it sound kinda humourous when it's not supposed to, if you know what you mean ? Also you used 'entertaining Harry' twice which kind of makes it sound repetitive, so you could omit one of them and/or change one. 'The door suddenly burst open' - suddenly can also be omitted here, as burst is a strong dynamic verb that can work on its own. 'James was taunting death downstairs.' I really love the word choice here, it has to be my favourite line. Overall I liked reading this! It was engaging and Lily's emotions were coming through the words effectively. :)

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #8, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: Checkmate - merlins beard - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
Hi! I really love how you portrayed the adoration and love James has for Lily as they play Chess. It's so beautifully descriptive and realistic and I truly couldn't help but fall in love with both of them make heart eyes at each other haha. I love how much James loves Lily. I can't help but flail over this fic!! And all those lines just made me squeal in front of my laptop: (You, Lily, are the most perfect distraction I could have asked for. // Your touch is all the magic I need. // Nothing matters, Lily, as long as I get to keep sitting here with you forever.) And I really love how it ends with "Checkmate." and how much James loves Lily and always loves it when Lily wins. Overall, I really love this!!!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #9, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: Ride Out! Ride Out! - StarlightAsteria - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hi! Really interesting title!! I love how you started it off, very beautiful and poetic and descriptive and truly captivated the readers. And 'in this eerie land of green and black and silver, the cry goes up: “Ride out! Ride out!” (For, dear reader, it must be understood, there is life to flout.) ' is my favourite line amongst my 2394 other favourite lines. I love the repetition of 'when they ride out' and 'for, dear reader, it must' - it's so beautiful and I'm just in love with the entire story. Was the last 'for, dear reader, it must be understood, there is life to flout.' intended to be in a smaller font? If so, I really love it, and that is the repetition of the first 'for, dear reader.' - I really love this story, and I believe it must be my ultimate favourite of all the entries!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #10, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: Headless Polo - Jayna - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Hi! Really interesting title!! And the first paragraph really hooked me in! It kept the reader guessing and no one expected some great Headless Polo hahaha, I love the idea! It's so creative and interesting! I love that you brought Jordan into the story, his character is really perfect for it! (“Ghosts, spirits, and poltergeists, we are gathered here today to witness the victory of the Headless Horsemen over the Dead Dementors.” “JORDAN!”) I love how you described the actions through Jordan's narration, which makes it very realistic, interesting and fun to read as a voice is given and it's not just plain actions. Overall a really great read! And I love how it ends with 'Sorry, professor.' haha

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #11, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: The Quaken - StarlightAsteria - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hi! Oh my goshhh you wrote this in RHYMES? Wow. I'm blown away, to write so descriptively and full of actions in rhymes is an amazing feat. I really love the 'There, amongst the pondweed and curious golden carp, is his tomb, his sepulchre, dark and dank and green and utterly without heart. For not amongst coral does he lie, a full fathom deep, listening to beguiling music of the harp. ' lines, so beautiful and realistic and your vocabulary is A+ - I really love the way you described the story, it flowed very well and ended perfectly (although it would've have been great if there was a rhyme in the last line!) Overall, a great read!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #12, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: Make it Magic - Jayna - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Hi! I loved the line: “Anywho, you will all be given exactly one hour to complete your entries. You may only use your wand and anything you find in this pile of random stuff.” I thought that even in minimal amount of dialogues from Gilderoy, you've portrayed enough of his character to make him feel real! I also think you could have elaborated more on his thoughts and feelings when he won. Overall, it was a good read and very creative!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #13, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: The Function of a Rubber Duck - UnluckyStar57 - Ravenclaw

6th July 2015:
Hi! I loved the beginning! You completely set the tone of the story with the humour that is not cheap slapstick lol. "So Perkins was the only one shouting, and it wasn’t even Arthur’s birthday." I laughed so much at that! And the ending was sooo funny; (“Um, Dad? What’s going on here?” Well, this would take some explaining.) I really love how how you characterized Perkins and the interaction between Arthur and Perkins makes the story feel very realistic. Overall, a really good read! Thank you for writing!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #14, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: How to be a Muggle in Three Easy Steps - Jayna - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Really interesting title! Really hooks the reader (especially me, I love all the 'how to be' stories!) I loved the narration, it feels very real and you've captured the feelings and emotions through the thoughts and actions. My favourite line is 'This is a fairly obvious one. Did you start saying wand? Bite your tongue and make it wardrobe. Did you start saying pureblood? Bite your tongue and make it purified water. Did you start saying Quidditch? Bite your tongue and make it quidocious (even though I don’t think it’s even a real word. Just act confident when saying it and no one will know the difference).' Overall the story was exciting and fun and I would love the read more from you!! :)

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #15, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: What Muggles Do for Entertainment - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
I really liked the interaction betweed Andromeda and Sirius, and the way you developed both of them in their own way (“I’m smart; I can figure it out.”) I also liked the game Ted and Sirius played! I think you could've included more of Sirius emotions and thoughts to make it more realistic. "The most popular sport! A game where you can’t know where the ball is going to bounce once it hits the ground? No thank you." Favourite line! Overall, a really fun read!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #16, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: The Game of the Cat - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Oh my gosh!! This is so interesting, I love that it's from Mrs. Norris point of view. You've done this really well, describing her movements and thoughts and it feels very realistic. And I love when she encounters the person who could turn themselves invisible, 'This game of cat-and-rule-breaker just got a lot more interesting.' and I really liked that you kept the reader wanting for more and it was a bummer when it ended there! Overall a fun read and I really enjoyed it!

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #17, by ImagineHarmonyGame On: Just Don't Get Caught - Freda&Georgina - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
This was such a fun story to read !! I really like the interaction between Ginny and Andrew, and I like how you showed that Ginny did have more friends that we saw her with. I feel you could improve Umbridge's character more, especially in the dialogues. I really liked how upbeat-ish and light this story was, and how the playfulness in Ginny's character helps emphasise the story. My favovurite line was 'Five galleons never looked so shiny.' - totally helps build more to Ginny in the limited number of words. Overall, a really good read! :)

- House Cup 2015 | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #18, by ImagineHarmonyYou: give life to those scathing words and confrontations--the world could use a few more complications

28th June 2015:
HI! I liked the beginning! I really like how you portrayed this sad but sweet relationship between Lysander and Louis, and you based it on one of my favourite songs !!! And I love that you ended it with 'Don't do it alone', signifying they are now truly together. 'In the morning he might leave and never return, but Louis had one last night. ' love that line! However I feel like you could've added more to the relationship between them and develop their characters and still portray their relationship in that light. The exchange at the end feels a little abrupt, what makes them change their relationship? How does Lysander try to change? You could have focused on their emotions more, what does he feel when Lorcan passes away? what does he feel when he's with Louis? but overall a good read :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #19, by ImagineHarmonyStowaway: 'It'

28th June 2015:
Hi! The ending was unexpected haha, I expected like Scorpius to commit murder or something lol, but it was a fun read! I love your descriptions when Draco steps back inside Hogwarts! That was really believable. However I think you could work on your dialogues, they feel a bit rushed and the character of Parvati didn't really come through. '‘Do NOT talk to me about parenting!' ' - You could have hinted about Draco's feelings about being taught how to parent because this feels random and quite out of place ? Also the exchange between Parvati and Draco was just dialogue, I think it would be nice if you included Draco's inner thoughts and such, such as after the parenting dialogue we could learn why Draco is so angered by Parvati's words. But overall, a good read! Well done :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

Author's Response: ImagineHarmony!

I am so glad you found the ending unexpected. :D I have much too much fun misleading people. Whoops? Draco going back to Hogwarts was so fun to write and I am thrilled that you find my headcanon of him not liking Hogwarts believable.

Well, Parvati's character probably doesn't come through as much as Draco's does because Draco's the main character here--maybe. His concern for his son and what he's done is greater than his concern for Parvati's personality. I did however, characterise her implicitly--by the way she holds herself, the expressions, what Draco sees her doing.

If I had explained Draco's parenting feelings, I might have to reveal that he's not a bad parent and the big plot twist. Writing a story like this, I have to leave much to your own imagination. I have to let you build your own assumptions, so that it still makes sense after the plot twist. I'm afraid I'm also not a huge fan of explaining every single thing in my stories--I prefer to give you enough information and let you draw from that. To reveal Draco's inner thoughts more than I have would be to, again, reveal the plot twist, which wouldn't be very fun.

I mean, does anybody like their parenting skills put into question? :D

Thank you so much for this review!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #20, by ImagineHarmonyStill Into You: Need you now

28th June 2015:
You've really captured the sadness Victoire feels. I love how you used short sentences, especially in the beginning 'A broken whisper. A muffled sob. A strangled cry. A swinging door. A crack sound. ' And it was so sad when she saw the picture of both them, happy and smiling!! And oh wow 'He was happy. He had moved on. And here she was, still into him. Still pining for him and craving him and missing him. ' that really hits home, and the lines where she makes her way through the dark really reflects how empty she feels. Oh my gosh and the way it ends, her still thinking about Teddy even though she blacks out. It's really nice that you left it ambiguous, does she die? Does she finally succumb to heartbreak?

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #21, by ImagineHarmonyGlance Beyond The Stars: Glance beyond the stars

28th June 2015:
'I used to dream, I used to glance beyond the stars.' - the past tense is what caught me to read on. It makes me think; why did she stop dreaming? Why did she stop glancing 'beyong the stars'? And oh my gosh I totally expected it to be some angst fest but this was actually really cute and funny and I love how you wrote the interaction between Remus and Tonks esp the “Besides, you do stare at me, I’ve caught you doing it.” “Maybe I was looking in that direction at the time that you looked at me,” lines ahahahah - you've written them so cute and I really love how you ended it! 'He could have sworn that the star twinkled at him.' and this was just omg askdnfaslkd. A great read!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #22, by ImagineHarmonyAfter Waking: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
'In the darkest of times, it's impossible for one to turn on the light. Impossible.' I love the repetition! And i also really love it when you repeated the 'Three hours ago I learned I would be attending a boarding school in England. One hour ago I left home for the first time in my life. And now here I am, sitting alone in a noisy, student infested train.' you've really captured the emotions of Anna and how saddened she is to leave her home and become a stranger. And I really like her interaction with the boy, you've brought out her feelings towards the whole ordeal and made her feel realer. Kudos to you! This was a good read :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #23, by ImagineHarmonyslytherin will rise: you and me

28th June 2015:
This is so beautifully written. You've done the challenge so well!! It must have been really hard but you killed it! the word choice is impeccable, perfect. The emotions and feelings portrayed. I love how smoothly it flowed, and the line 'Quietly, quickly, you and I come to a silent decision. ' I just... WOwww. 'Although not everyone would agree, I think that this makes them special, more human. Better than humans in a way, because they accept their differences and do not try to conquer or kill the other. ' This truly stole my breath away. It was insightful and I can't stop thinking about this ?? and this shows the narrator's character so well. I really love this fic and you are certainly, very talented!! And the last line was just... WOw ' Zombies could have moved with greater speed than I, my throat tight as I moved towards the unmoving figure that I knew, in my heart, could only be you.'

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #24, by ImagineHarmonyThe Wild Rose: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
'For the first time in years, they meet again.
It was love at first sight for her, but Scorpius had different plans.' - the summary definitely pulled me in, so kudos to you for a great, captivating summary. 'In that moment, I was breathless. I’d never been breathless before.' and wow, I did see that plot twist coming, as I saw the foreshadowing of the three women murdered article earlier on. But what truly took my breath away was that 'He called me The Wild Rose. Why he called me that I do not know. For my name was Lily Potter.' and then i was like 'oh my gosh he killed her bc she looked like Rose' and wow. I love the imagery and I love how you alternated between their point of views. This was a great fic! :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #25, by ImagineHarmonycover story: one.

28th June 2015:
Oh my gosh this is so funny and '“ I had no idea I was that //interesting.//”' ahahah - I really love that you brought out Draco's character in such simple words. 'Draco glared. “Please.” - and Harry and Draco are so well written and I really like how it's been developed. I can't wait till the climax kicks in and Harry falls for Draco and oh my gosh this is so exciting and such a cute premise, i must say. I'm really looking forward to the future exchanges between Draco and Harry, this chapter was really good even with its small word count. And I really love that Draco asks for Harry's help to get out of it!! '“Have you gone mad? I’m not helping you with Voldemort’s plan.”' - ahahahah. Again, a great chapter!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>