Reading Reviews From Member: ImagineHarmony
  
129 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ImagineHarmonyYou: give life to those scathing words and confrontations--the world could use a few more complications

28th June 2015:
HI! I liked the beginning! I really like how you portrayed this sad but sweet relationship between Lysander and Louis, and you based it on one of my favourite songs !!! And I love that you ended it with 'Don't do it alone', signifying they are now truly together. 'In the morning he might leave and never return, but Louis had one last night. ' love that line! However I feel like you could've added more to the relationship between them and develop their characters and still portray their relationship in that light. The exchange at the end feels a little abrupt, what makes them change their relationship? How does Lysander try to change? You could have focused on their emotions more, what does he feel when Lorcan passes away? what does he feel when he's with Louis? but overall a good read :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #2, by ImagineHarmonyStowaway: 'It'

28th June 2015:
Hi! The ending was unexpected haha, I expected like Scorpius to commit murder or something lol, but it was a fun read! I love your descriptions when Draco steps back inside Hogwarts! That was really believable. However I think you could work on your dialogues, they feel a bit rushed and the character of Parvati didn't really come through. '‘Do NOT talk to me about parenting!' ' - You could have hinted about Draco's feelings about being taught how to parent because this feels random and quite out of place ? Also the exchange between Parvati and Draco was just dialogue, I think it would be nice if you included Draco's inner thoughts and such, such as after the parenting dialogue we could learn why Draco is so angered by Parvati's words. But overall, a good read! Well done :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

Author's Response: ImagineHarmony!

I am so glad you found the ending unexpected. :D I have much too much fun misleading people. Whoops? Draco going back to Hogwarts was so fun to write and I am thrilled that you find my headcanon of him not liking Hogwarts believable.

Well, Parvati's character probably doesn't come through as much as Draco's does because Draco's the main character here--maybe. His concern for his son and what he's done is greater than his concern for Parvati's personality. I did however, characterise her implicitly--by the way she holds herself, the expressions, what Draco sees her doing.

If I had explained Draco's parenting feelings, I might have to reveal that he's not a bad parent and the big plot twist. Writing a story like this, I have to leave much to your own imagination. I have to let you build your own assumptions, so that it still makes sense after the plot twist. I'm afraid I'm also not a huge fan of explaining every single thing in my stories--I prefer to give you enough information and let you draw from that. To reveal Draco's inner thoughts more than I have would be to, again, reveal the plot twist, which wouldn't be very fun.

I mean, does anybody like their parenting skills put into question? :D

Thank you so much for this review!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #3, by ImagineHarmonyStill Into You: Need you now

28th June 2015:
You've really captured the sadness Victoire feels. I love how you used short sentences, especially in the beginning 'A broken whisper. A muffled sob. A strangled cry. A swinging door. A crack sound. ' And it was so sad when she saw the picture of both them, happy and smiling!! And oh wow 'He was happy. He had moved on. And here she was, still into him. Still pining for him and craving him and missing him. ' that really hits home, and the lines where she makes her way through the dark really reflects how empty she feels. Oh my gosh and the way it ends, her still thinking about Teddy even though she blacks out. It's really nice that you left it ambiguous, does she die? Does she finally succumb to heartbreak?

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #4, by ImagineHarmonyGlance Beyond The Stars: Glance beyond the stars

28th June 2015:
'I used to dream, I used to glance beyond the stars.' - the past tense is what caught me to read on. It makes me think; why did she stop dreaming? Why did she stop glancing 'beyong the stars'? And oh my gosh I totally expected it to be some angst fest but this was actually really cute and funny and I love how you wrote the interaction between Remus and Tonks esp the “Besides, you do stare at me, I’ve caught you doing it.” “Maybe I was looking in that direction at the time that you looked at me,” lines ahahahah - you've written them so cute and I really love how you ended it! 'He could have sworn that the star twinkled at him.' and this was just omg askdnfaslkd. A great read!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #5, by ImagineHarmonyAfter Waking: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
'In the darkest of times, it's impossible for one to turn on the light. Impossible.' I love the repetition! And i also really love it when you repeated the 'Three hours ago I learned I would be attending a boarding school in England. One hour ago I left home for the first time in my life. And now here I am, sitting alone in a noisy, student infested train.' you've really captured the emotions of Anna and how saddened she is to leave her home and become a stranger. And I really like her interaction with the boy, you've brought out her feelings towards the whole ordeal and made her feel realer. Kudos to you! This was a good read :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #6, by ImagineHarmonyslytherin will rise: you and me

28th June 2015:
This is so beautifully written. You've done the challenge so well!! It must have been really hard but you killed it! the word choice is impeccable, perfect. The emotions and feelings portrayed. I love how smoothly it flowed, and the line 'Quietly, quickly, you and I come to a silent decision. ' I just... WOwww. 'Although not everyone would agree, I think that this makes them special, more human. Better than humans in a way, because they accept their differences and do not try to conquer or kill the other. ' This truly stole my breath away. It was insightful and I can't stop thinking about this ?? and this shows the narrator's character so well. I really love this fic and you are certainly, very talented!! And the last line was just... WOw ' Zombies could have moved with greater speed than I, my throat tight as I moved towards the unmoving figure that I knew, in my heart, could only be you.'

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #7, by ImagineHarmonyThe Wild Rose: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
'For the first time in years, they meet again.
It was love at first sight for her, but Scorpius had different plans.' - the summary definitely pulled me in, so kudos to you for a great, captivating summary. 'In that moment, I was breathless. I’d never been breathless before.' and wow, I did see that plot twist coming, as I saw the foreshadowing of the three women murdered article earlier on. But what truly took my breath away was that 'He called me The Wild Rose. Why he called me that I do not know. For my name was Lily Potter.' and then i was like 'oh my gosh he killed her bc she looked like Rose' and wow. I love the imagery and I love how you alternated between their point of views. This was a great fic! :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #8, by ImagineHarmonycover story: one.

28th June 2015:
Oh my gosh this is so funny and '“ I had no idea I was that //interesting.//”' ahahah - I really love that you brought out Draco's character in such simple words. 'Draco glared. “Please.” - and Harry and Draco are so well written and I really like how it's been developed. I can't wait till the climax kicks in and Harry falls for Draco and oh my gosh this is so exciting and such a cute premise, i must say. I'm really looking forward to the future exchanges between Draco and Harry, this chapter was really good even with its small word count. And I really love that Draco asks for Harry's help to get out of it!! '“Have you gone mad? I’m not helping you with Voldemort’s plan.”' - ahahahah. Again, a great chapter!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #9, by ImagineHarmonySmall Bump: Chapter One

28th June 2015:
Oh my gosh!! Small Bump is one of my favourite songs and I'm so glad you wrote this story based on the song :)) I really love the the point of view of Ron, you've brought out his character so realistically, it's almost as if this was actually real, and haha I laughed at this 'We can give you another name; there are plenty of good ones. Would it be too fluffy if I named you after Harry? I think it would be.' - and oh my gosh the ending is so sad !! I really love the last line 'We’ll be alright, we’ll try to live on and I hope you do too.' it really hits you in the gut and omg wow i can't even. Truly a beautiful read!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #10, by ImagineHarmonyHey Lily: Snow

28th June 2015:
Your description is beautiful and wow, I can feel as though it was truly winter here! The imagery is outstanding, and I can't stress this enough. I really love how winter is carried throughout the fic, and how Lily meets Azalea is so cute !! I didn't realise Lily spoke with sign language until Azalea said 'sorry' haha, but it was a beautiful read! It was so realistic when Lily was insecure if Azalea really wanted to come back to her, but Azalea replied with 'I love you too' and my heart died!! It's so cute and beautiful and again, I love how you portrayed Lily's story and amazing character through the theme of winter. Kudos to you!! I really enjoyed it :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #11, by ImagineHarmonyThis is Chemistry: SN1

28th June 2015:
I absolutely, //absolutely// love the entire fic. The chemistry references just blow me away. 'In fact, they were polar opposites, but this is chemistry and in chemistry, opposite charges attract.' I cannot stress how much I truly love the chemistry references and how you reference it to show the relationship between the two of them and wow 'The Electrophile and the Nucleophile reacted, bonded, and stabilised.' and coming from a chemistry student, I can't even rn like WOW, and I love how you drop the 'between two house elves' omg i was SO expecting it to be between two students!! But anyways, a very beautiful and interesting and poetic read, thank you so much for writing!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #12, by ImagineHarmonyThinking About You: You, You, You

28th June 2015:
I absolutely love how you made the narrator fall in love, it was beautiful and so so cute!! you've truly written it in a way that is very believable and you can feel how much love the narrator has, and it's so sad when he goes 'I don't think you ever noticed me.' My favourite part is 'Where do you get those brilliant ideas of yours? How is it possible that your smile can be so hypnotising? How can people stay on their feet around you? Is there no limit to your talent? Is there no resisting your charms? ' because GREAT use of rhetorical questions, and paints the narrator as someone who is besotted with her. And I love the way you ended it with him getting her attention and leaving the ending ambiguous!! Great read, you're really talented :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

Author's Response: ImagineHarmony,

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS ENDEARING REVIEW! I am thrilled that you found it believable. Funny thing about your favourite part: it was Lockhart thinking about himself. I love that you liked the rhetorical questions. Lockhart is definitely besotted with himself. Thank you so much for all your kind words about the ending, too! ♥ You are too sweet to me, what is this?! [hug] THANK YOU! I cannot say that enough.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #13, by ImagineHarmonyThe Orphan's Carol: The Orphan's Carol

28th June 2015:
'He was eight when it happened.' - a great summary, vague enough to capture the reader's attention and make them read on. And wow, it was a fantastic read. You captured Tom's character so well, the neglected orphan boy. '"Only good boys get presents, Master Riddle." The Dean told him, and the other children burst into cruel laughter.' and this was so well written that I could feel the harshness towards Tom and wow, I'm just blown away. Every emotion described just makes you want to stop and breath for a second, and I love the way you ended it 'Outside, beyond the windows, the boy and the stray looked at the snow falling from the gray sky, the black lump of coal beside them.' - the boy and the stray, even though you were talking about Merlin, you can feel that stray is a synonym of the boy, Tom will always be a stray.

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #14, by ImagineHarmonygoodbye good friend: What We Talk About When We Talk about Death

28th June 2015:
Your summary and title just immediately draws me in. 'Death does not discriminate.' it's so powerful and prepares the reader for some really strong feels haha - I really love the poetic words about death in the first and last paragraphs, it truly makes the reader reflect on death and the way it ends in an almost advice-like way, 'There is but a handful of things that I insist you do--however you see fit--grieve with everything you’ve got and love with all your heart.' really hits me, after James said he contemplated suicide. However, I think you could work on the dialogue. They feel very abrupt, and the characters don't really come out in the words spoken. I feel like you could have talkedvery in-depth analysis of their emotions and made the suicide and the murder and the death themes to stand out. But overall, it was a good piece :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #15, by ImagineHarmonyTabula Rasa: One

28th June 2015:
Very interesting concept! You really captured the desperation and the emotions withing Colin, the pain and the fear, and the use of the short sentence 'He has to fight.' really shows Colin's position. He /has/ to fight. You're vocabulary is spot on, I can feel every moment as if I'm really there, your description is beautiful. 'Outside, despite the cool night air and clear, starry sky, the devastation that meets him takes away any beauty the night might have held and has Colin longing to be back inside. ' wow. And I love how you paired the reincarnation trope with the title 'Blank Slate', that is so clever and amazing and all I can think about is wow ?? I can't breathe ?? this is really good and I really enjoyed it!! :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #16, by ImagineHarmonyInvictus: I thank whatever gods may be

28th June 2015:
Great use of rhetorical questions ('who would there be to take your place?') - it really sets the feelings of the character for the rest of the story. 'There is never any time to think, only to act.' this really hits me, because Fabian dies at the end :( - I love how you portrayed the emotions even though you were writing a scene where they are attacked, and it was very realistically and beautifully written ('you realise that you are dying too. ') and the last line, again ending with the character's name and 'your life is about to end.' hits you straight in the gut and you go 'oh.' and want to like cry forever. I'm really glad I read this story! It's creative and tragic and written by someone who is very talented.

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #17, by ImagineHarmonyInvictus: Black as the pit from pole to pole

28th June 2015:
'Black by name and Black by nature, is that not what the teachers would say when they thought you weren't listening? ' - the chapter starts off with this and completely grabs me in. I think now's the time to say you completely own second person!! I've written it a few times and I'm just completely blown away. ' They would never really remember you. ' - I love the italicised 'you'. 'An unborn child resides inside you, and you are terrified.' - you sell Narcissa's character, and her love as a mother even to an unborn child. And I really love how you end every last sentence with the name, and the ' you will never be a Malfoy.' makes you go like 'wow'. You've completely (i use this word too much) owned Narcissa as your own character, she feels new and fresh and not regurgitated as the same old Narcissa with the generic feelings. Kudos to you on that! It's really hard to do that to non-original characters, but you've done it really well!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #18, by ImagineHarmonyInvictus: Out of the night that covers me

28th June 2015:
Your writing is beautiful, poetic. You've described the story so well that I can hear the silence and feel the sun and I love how your narrator describes himself. I love the repetition of 'leaving, of course,' - I felt it reflected how Sirius feels, how he's been left to rot and how he takes that as normal now ('of course') and you've already got me sympathising with him. Excellent writing. some of my favourite lines are 'You follow the star that you know will bring you home, as it always has done and always will.' and 'you had been the star they named you for and eclipsed them all.' and the last line 'You are Sirius Black, and for now you are free.' - it holds so much impact and it makes me so sad because he is never truly free, no matter how much he tries to believe it. Honestly, beautiful writing!! Great job :D

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #19, by ImagineHarmonyRose: Unrequited

28th June 2015:
The way you started was honestly beautiful. 'Rose'. And this line is so good 'She was as vibrant as the red of the flower, as delicate as the petals of the bud, as beautiful as his favourite plant and as untouchable as its thorns. She lived up to her name. ' I love the similes you used, it definitely describes Rose well and the 'untouchable' gives the feeling of how Scorpius can't have her and that was very clever hah - and I love how you continued that simile throughout the fic, 'Yet, he would never be anything more. His love was meant to nurture her smile and watch her bloom but he could not pluck this rose and keep it for himself. She had to find the one who would and she did. ' - and the whole Scorpius feeling unrequited love and his emotions to the whole thing was so beautifully laid out and it's so good!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #20, by ImagineHarmonyWhere My Demons Hide: There is nowhere we can hide

27th June 2015:
I just /love/ the chapter image and story banner, they completely set the tone of this fic and it's so easy to fall in love with the mood of the story. First of all, I love the choice of lyrics, it shows Blaise's character really well. I love how you italicised 'traitor', the emotions just honestly make you want to stop and breathe for a mooment. 'You had no idea about the battles I fought, to keep you alive.' I really like this line! Even though he wasn't a Death Eater and didn't fight battles with the Order of the Phoenix and stuff, it truly shows his state of mind and how not all battles are physical. 'You were certain that things would get better. They never did.' and the last 'I did warn you, didn't I?' that was so sad! Although maybe if you removed the 'I did my best to warn you' sentence it would help the last sentence impact the reader more. Overall, a beautiful read :)

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #21, by ImagineHarmonyDon't Forget Me: My Hero

27th June 2015:
As you've said, it's really hard writing 500 words but I think you managed to killed it. I love how you started with a short sentence, and such a powerful one, 'I envied you.' - i also think that you were very successful in showing the narrator's envy, the italics of the word 'Golden Child' may be just to say the title, but I truly felt the bitterness in those words. 'It was a burden that you gave me.' - WOW. And I think you really know how to pull off the italics, the repetition of 'you' and then finally 'me' totally stole my breath away. I love how you ended the story, the sadness of Albus coming right through and stabbing you in the gut. "Don’t forget about me James. You’re the only one who promised that you wouldn’t." And that's when you killed me. Really good piece overall!!

- House Cup 2015 Review | Hufflepuff

 Report Review

Review #22, by ImagineHarmonyHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

10th July 2014:
Hello! I really liked reading this story! I think you captured Remus and Minerva's relationship really well- I hadn't thought of them like that close friendship-ish bond and your great characterization on both characters helped portray that. I love how you repeated her saying 'Have a biscuit.' it's really poignant and bittersweet as it makes us think how their relationship was and how it has developed. Overall I think this is a really well written, developed and fantastic story, I really liked it!

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

 Report Review

Review #23, by ImagineHarmonyA New Moon: A New Moon

10th July 2014:
Hello! I'm going to review as I read this and I love the description in the beginning! It's really vivid and works great. And I love the humour! This line: Remus settled further into his chair. “I’ve not got any nerves.” I also liked how the Marauders look out for him, I like how you showed how much they care in those dialogues. I also really liked how you wrote the entire paragraph where Remus is waiting to transform, hoping the potion works. Overall, it's a really well written piece that has great characterization of Remus! :)

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thanks for the kind review! And go Hufflepuff ;)

 Report Review

Review #24, by ImagineHarmonyOutsmarting Umbridge: Outsmarting Umbridge

10th July 2014:
Hello! This was really fun to read! I was laughing the entire way through, especially at Minerva trying to filter her words. I loved how you portrayed Minerva, and I liked reading her a new light! And my favourite line has to be: "Besides: of her own accord, High Inquisitor Umbridge is currently partaking in unauthorized sweets. Who is she going to tell?" - exactly what I thought XD Overall this was great to read, great to read Minerva's thoughts and how she's driven insane with Umbridge haha!

House Cup 2014 Review | Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

Author's Response: Thanks! I appreciate the kindness. I can only imagine McGonagall's inner satisfaction at not only getting to take a pound of flesh from Umbridge, but the way her staff rallied around her. Often times it is the little things that count.

 Report Review

Review #25, by ImagineHarmonyChase: Chapter Three - Meeting with McGonagall

10th July 2014:
Hello! This chapter was a fun ride to read, I liked that you changed Kenna to Kendra, it's a nice name! And I liked the interaction between Wood and her in the chapter, the banter, the anger, it was realistic and portrayed their characters really well. My favourite line this chapter is 'Did I stutter?' - haha! Way to talk back to Wood is A+. I love how she doesn't let Wood boss her around too long! Also I'm so going to read the next chapter after that preview. Overall, a good chapter, the flow was good and you're developing the characters really well so far :)

- House Cup 2014 Review, Hufflepuff
Decree Number Seven

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>