Reading Reviews From Member: LadyL8
  
339 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LadyL8He Visits Twice A Day: Twice A Day

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Sian. This was such an interesting piece. Very different, but also powerful. I love the idea, though it breaks my heart to imagine Sirius visiting their graves twice a day - in his mind, because he's been wrongfully imprisoned for their murders. I feel sorry for him, especially knowing the real guy's still out there. There's so much beautiful description and emotions here, and I'm so envious of you for it, cause description is my biggest weakness as a writer. I can't get it right, but you obviously can. The repition of "he visits twice a day" has such a strong effect - it really shows how much he cared for them and how much he misses them. And I love how the story comes across as almost poetical - I hink it's the structure and beautiful descriptions that makes it appear poetic to me. But I liked that, I really did. I found it to be - and this is the terms for stories that are beautiful but sad - tragically beautiful. Sirius' emoitions are well-conveyed and I sympathise with him. Seeing as he's also my favourite character and ai'm generally very critical when people try to write him, that's a huge compliment. So good job. I'm going to have read more from you when things calm down, cause everything I've read so far has been good :)

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8Linger: Linger

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Cassie. It's been a while since I last visited your page, but I'm very happy to finally be back. And this story looked so interesting that I just had to read it. I've never read anything about or with Mary Cattermole, so this was a first for me. Very creative of you, I must say, and I really liked reading it. It was so - what's the right word for it - emotive and just breathtaking. I love that you go through all the emotions and how you sort of went through her life from kid to now, and it really made me sympathise with Mary as a character. Although it's short, it feels much longer. I really liked it, and especially the part with her husband. Like her, I was waiting/hoping for him to show up, and yeah... I just really felt for her. Now it should also be said that I happen to be a BIG fan if stories from the POV of a minor character, so this story was definitely my type of story. And I've favourited it, cause it really got to me. It was breathtaking and heartbreaking, and I very often use the term 'tragically beautiful' for stories like that. So yeah, it was tragically beautiful and I loved it. Good job!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8Exit Wounds: Exit Wounds

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Kayla. It's been a while since I last visited your page, so I'm very happy to finally be back here. And what a good story of yours to read. I'm shocked I haven't read it before, but better late than never I guess. So yeah, to the story. Rhis was such a poweful piece, following someone who's clearly having many issues in her life. Been there, yes, but fortunately not as badly as this girl. But I think your portrayal of her struggles were realistic. My BF in middle school was in a similar situation as this girl, and she too felt like she needed the scars. They were proof of her battle, she said. But enough about that. I'm always shocked when people write stories in just 500 words,ccause they often end up being some of the best stories they've ever written, simply because you need to plan your words more carefully. And I think this story just show how good a writer you are. You conveyed so much emotions and her struggles in just 500 words. It feels very personal as well, but that may be because I've had some tough times myself. But yeah, I really enjoyed reading it. Good job!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8Legos: Legos

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Julie. Not that long since I last visited your page, but it's always nice to be back. And with this round of TAR being for us, I finally got the chance to come back again to read this story. And what a good story it is. I love the build up.nthe beginning makes me think - like you've obviously planned for us to - something horrible is happening to him. My first thought was crucio, which is technically not that far of. Cause I've stepped on many legos in my life. As a kid, legos were my favourite thing in the world. But step on one, and you can't walk on that foot for a good while. There's really nothing more painful, so a very accurate description, if I may say so. And Draco/Luna. Going to be honest and say I'm not that big a fan of the, but that is not say I hate them. I'm so-so I guess, but I liked them here. I love that Luna jokes with magical creatures when she sees her husband on the floor. That's totally something I can see Luna do, and it does show that she's more mature now. Olde. So yeah, I liked it. Once again (cause I've said this to you many times before), good job!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8Sunflower: Sunflower

20th July 2015:
Huffllepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Jayna. Since you left me a lovely review a while back, I felt like it was my time to do the same for you. And with this round of TAR review being for us, I finally got the chance to do so. I will try to come back at a later point to give you a better and longer review , but this will wirk for now. So over to the story. I found it so fascinating cause it could just as well have been one of us fans writing it, conveying how much the character Luna Lovegood matters to us, what she represents. But it's from the POV of one of her classmates, another girl in Ravenclaw, and we don't know who exactly this girl is. Did you hav someone in mind when you wrote it? But you really capture Luna's character, and I love how the POV girl gradually warm up to Luna and understand how amazing she really is. And the comparison to andunflower is a beautiful one, and really descriptive and accurate if you ask me. I really liked your descriptions, and I found th story to be good, especially considering how few words you've used. So yeah, good job Jayna. I loved it!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8Just Another Night: Just Another Night

20th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Erica.

Reading this story, I was a little bit surprised. I'm sure I've read it before, but I don't understand why I wouldn't have reviewed it. I kind of have a rule that I have to review everyhing I read, simply because I know I'd love feedback from my readers. So I guess your story must've slipped pass me, but better late than never I suppose.

Harry/Ginny is a soft spot of mine, so I'm very happy you wrote abou them. I've - surprisingly - not read many stores from Harry's POV, but that was a very welcoming change. For me this scene in the books were too foreign, maybe because I've never been in love myself and can only imagine what it's like. I felt it strange to only realise one's live for another through seeing that very person with someone else, but you gave me a new view on it. I like that we get to see what thoughts run through Harry's head in that moment - not worry for how best friend and all the other brothers of Ginny will react - but rather his love for Ginny and his jealousy.

So yeah, I really liked it. It gave me a new view on the scene, and I just really liked it. Good job!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8At The Lake: At The Lake

20th July 2015:
Huffflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Sam. I told you I'd come read some of your stories eventually, but It's not really the same when it's for the House Cup. So I'll probably be back later when everthing's over and calmed down, so that I can fully enjoy your wonderful writing.

I''m a big fan of the Every Word Counts Challenge, simply because it's so interesting to see how writers do with just 500 words. And you did well, I can tell you, not that I expected otherwise of course. I still remember the lovely writing in that collab entry of yours, and my expectations were therefore igh before reading this. But I was not disappointed. As someone who tends to struggle with writing romance, I'm shocked and a little envious of how well you do it in just so few words. I could almost feel her love for Daphne. And they are such an interesting couple by the way. How on earth did you come up with the idea of pairing Gabrielle and Daphne? But anyway, I like that they are getting married, and I'm green with envy over your descriptions. It's breathtaking , and you absolutely have to teach me how to write it so well. I'm you going to bow down to you and your lovely writing, and thank you for the short and cute story. I loved it! :D

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8Shattered: Chapter 1

15th July 2015:
Hi Kaitlin and Erin. Sorry for the delay Ė I was, as you know, on vacation Ė but Iím finally here to give you the reviews I have promised you. So before I start Iíll have to make a couple of things clear;

Firstly, youíve both seen my judging point system, and Iíll be reviewing after it, of course, but Iíve made some changes to it; thereís more categories and the most important thing now is to make me like the story Ė that gives a higher score than anything else.

Secondly, I will not be telling you your current score after Iíve finished reading this chapter, because I donít want anyone to be able to guess whoíll win before they do. Besides, I might make some changes as I re-read stories or read more entries.

Thirdly, if this review gets cut I'll send you the whole on in a group PM over at the forums. I'm not sure if the character count thing works the way it is suppose to do, so I'm just going to say it here in case it ends up shortening it.

That being said, letís get to the actual review.

My first impression (that's one of the new categories, by the way) of the story is good. I really like the summary; the rhyming and the mysteriousness of it. It does intrigue me, and Iím excited to see what thisíll be all about. And Iím also thinking youíve done something different, as Iíve yet to read any Barty Crouch Jr. Story (it should be said that Iíve never actually searched for one, so there might be many of them on the forums). Iím liking the symmetry of it Ė each line shorter than the last (yes, Iím very much a perfectionist when it comes to stuff like that), and the last line; The tale of Barty Crouch Jr. makes me think itís his untold story, that youíll surprise me by showing another side of his story than the one we see in the books. So definitely a good first impression.

I like the first paragraph of the story. It sets a good scene, and I can definitely imagine it happening in my head. Iím also a sucker for descriptive beginnings, so it fit my liking well. And I think itís interesting to see you starting to tell his story at such a young age Ė it definitely adds to the feeling of it being a different side to his story, his version of his life, I suppose.

I was planning on leaving comments for every third paragraph, but I had to continue reading till the end because it was too good, and thatís obviously a good sign. I think you have a very realistic portrayal of a young Barty, whoís very much looking up to his father, idolises him, but then finds out heís not the father he thinks he is. The conversation with the mother is actually my favourite part of the story. I felt it right in my chest, pang ofÖ I donít know what to call it. I sympathised with him, because itís very easy to relate to. I think most kids look up to their parents, and to be let down by them was Ė and I still remember that from being a kid Ė the worst thing. It really shook your world, broke you. And I was never let down as badly as Barty was, thankfully, so I canít imagine how he felt. But I think itís very relatable and definitely a high score for characterisation Ė I love how you instantly make us sympathise with him, and thatís important considering itís his story youíre telling, and what we already know about him is not really good stuff.

I have nothing bad to say about the dialogue or grammar, because, as you guys know from my previous reviews to you, I know youíre awesome at that.

I like (and this sounds terrible, but youíll get what I mean) your genre and that write about such a difficult, horrible and traumatising theme as the one we see in this story. To see it from the perspective of a child always has a very strong effect, because, as adults, we canít help but feel for them Ė itís the parental/nursing feeling in us.

Itís hard to judge whether or not you did something new, because youíre both such diverse authors. I do, however, feel you did something different, creative and out-of the-ordinary, and, as a criminology student, I canít help but love the idea of showing that evil isnít born but made Ė we arenít born good or bad Ė and I get a feeling thatís where youíll be taking it.

I feel so-so about the ending. While I definitely understand the idea of wanting it to end with him understanding his father is not the man he thought that he was (and thatís smart because Iím guessing thatís what put him on the wrong track in life), I do get a one-shot feeling about it. For me, itís almost finished in a way. I donít fully understand where youíll take it from here, and I donít think Iíd understand it was a longer story if I wasnít aware of it beforehand. And Iím not sure if Iíd want to read more, if I wasnít in love with your writing before I read this and if it wasnít one of my challenge entries. It just feels a little finished to me, thatís what Iím trying to say.

But as a whole, I definitely have good feeling. I like what youíve done with Barty, and I think heís very relatable and likable; you just canít help but feel for him. And itís reflective in a way, because it can, if you arenít studying it like I am, make you understand people in a different way. While no amount of bad treatment will ever justify his bad actions, I do understand him better. And thatís something you can take with you to real life as well.

Lastly, I really like your teamwork. What Iíve seen so far has been really good. The fact that you wrote an entry so fast makes me think youíre good at working together. I donít feel like any of you Ďwoní over the other, for the lack of better word; itís not like one of you is entirely in their comfort zone and the other isnít, so I do think youíve both worked well together (and will continue to do so).

Iím excited to read more of this story, and go on Barty Crouch Jr.ís journey with you guys. So Iíll be back very soon (like in 1-2 hour, when Iím done with your next review), and I canít wait to see what youíve done then :)

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyL8Game On: The Quaken - StarlightAsteria - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hello There.

Wow. This was an interesting take on the prompt. Very unlike anything I've seen in the collab and on the archives in general. I like the idea of taking hook a duck and doing something new with it - giving it a magical twist. You have such a unique way of telling at as well, speaking directly to the readers is not something I've seen before, I think. But it was very welcoming change, and I like the narrative.

And OMG. This whole thing rhymes, doesn't it? I didn't even notice that until I re-read it just now. Wow. That's just double-wow really. How in the world did you manage to do that? I'm shocked, and so in awe over your talent. I can't even come up with the words to express how impressed I am. This was so cool, and I loved reading it. It was clever, a little bit bold, but most of all it was well-written and so unique. So I'm amazed, and I bow down to you. Good job on everything, really. I don't have any critisism. This is as close to perfection as it can get on a HC collab entry.

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #10, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: You Sunk My BattleBeans - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi again, Tammi.

OMG. DID YOU JUST GIVE ME WOLFSTAR?! I love Wolfstar. And I love this game, and - may I say - good job on making it magical. It felt like it was a part of the wizarding world of Harry Potter - like something J. K Rowling could've included in the books. I just think you incorporated it so well, and I'm so happy it was Remus and Sirius that played it. They had an awesome chemistry, and - in my opinion - they were perfectly characterised. I loved the dialogue, which felt so real... so believable, that's the word! And I liked how well Remus knows Sirius, and how playful the two of them are. I just loved them really. And everytime I read stories about characters I already love togther, I just start falling even more in love with them than I already are. It was just so well-written, and I can tell marauders era is an era your good at. So yeah, I really enjoyed reading it. It was so good, and I loved it so much. I have strong Wolfstar feels right now. So good job!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #11, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: FarFetched - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Again, Tammi.

I feel like I've read some many entries by you already. How many did you write? It must've been many, cause I know there's many I've yet to read that's by you. So you've clearly been busy writing, But I'm glad you wrote a lot, cause all of your entries have been amazing. And this one reminded me of your Sirius story - "Sirius Ate My Homework". It sort of about the same thing - Sirius in his dog-form doing crazy things. Except that this one is him in human-form, but he's doing dog form-related things because of the transformation. And I can totally see there being some effects as a result of it, at least in the beginning. I think it might disappear eventually, but the first times there must be some effect on the body. After all, they are transforming from a human to an animal. But yeah, James does seem like someone who'd take advantage of his inability to stop himself from fetching the ball, and I almost died of laughter when he actually did it. I mean, I can just imagine the faces of everyone in the classroom. And Professor Binns; he must've seen some really strange things over the years :P

Another good story. I really liked how you told it. And I enjoyed reading it. So again, good job!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Pool at Pemberley - Infinityx - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Erin.

So this is the first entry of yours I'm ready, I think. Well, it was about time then, wasn't it? And seeing as I'm a major Jily shipper, this is really just the story for me. And I'm so glad I got the chance to review it, cause I already have a feeling it's going to be good.

I like the Austen-esque style. It somehow fits them, and it does make the story stand out as something different, unique and very original. The two of them were so adorable and I fell even more in love with reading this story. I felt like you captured James and Lily perfectly, as a romantic couple, but also as two individuals. There's small details here and there that makes it such an enjoyable read. I like that Lily cheats, cause you wouldn't initially think her to be a girl who does things like that. But I've always seen Lily as slightly more cheeky than people tend to portray her as in fanfics. I do remember Professor Slughorn calling her something along those lines, but I can of course be remember it completely wrong. Anyway, the style fits your writing style, and it was so interesting to see this after having read so many other collab entries, because it's so different and new. I really enjoyed reading it, so good job, Erin!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Magical chairs? Really? - Rosiful - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Rosiful.

Okay, so this is so strange, but I actually had 20 entries planned out, but I suddenly ended up being super-busy, so I didn't have the chance to write any of them. But one of the entries I had planned was actually really similar to this story. It was also a magical version of musical chairs, the chairs were suppose to disappear like it did in yours, but the writing on the face was not something I had planned to include in my story. I liked it, though, it was a nice touch. It reminded me of SNEAK, written on Marietta. And it does seem like something James would come up with, if you ask me, so I found it both funny, believable and to be a very well-written story. But thank god it was just lipstick. I can just imagine having to walk around with loser and cheater written on my forehead, so yeah... fortunately James is not that mean. But yeah, I enjoyed reading the story. It was really good, so yeah... good job! I'm getting more and more impressed with your talent for writing!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #14, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Sibling Rivalry - adluvshp - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Angie.

So I'm back to one of your stories again. Now this is very interesting, cause in my country we don't have a game like "the dog and the bone". I'd never even heard of it until you mentioned it now (it is a real game right, or did you just invent it?). So I felt like I was as new to everything as the Wotter clan was, but that made it all the more exciting. You explained it perfectly. I felt like I understood what the game was all about, and I liked how you made it magical. I could practically see the different Wotter clan members compete against each - two at a time. Rose and Hugo - that match was in my head the most competetive one. But that is often the case when there's two siblings fighting it off. Me and my sister used to be strong competitors, we still are really. We'd rather lose than let the other win, that's how we've always been. But yeah, back to the game. I really liked the idea, and I think you wrote it well. I enjoyed reading it, and I'm glad I got to learn about a new game. So yeah, good job!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #15, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Rock, Paper, Scissors, Wizard, Sock - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi again, Tammi.

So I'm a major Big Bang Theory fan, in fact I'm - coincidentally - watching it right now, so I had to read this story once I saw the title. I figured it would be amazing, and I wasn't wrong at all. I like the idea - to change rock, paper scissors to something more magical. Wizard was a nice addition, but sock just killed me. And to think Peter would win a game - that has got to be a first for him, and probably a last, but you know. I like that in your story Peter isn't as much of an outsider as he often ends up being in the stories - he's more with them, closer to them. The biggest flaw in the marauder era fics is usually Peter, but you didn't do the one thing I hate the most. I'm very happy about that. And I like that Remus pretended to fall asleep so he didn't have to play any more games with them. So yeah, it was a really good story, and I enjoyed reading it very much. So good job on the marauders, who I think you characterised perfectly, and good job with the fic in general. I loved it!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #16, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Knock and Annoy Argus - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi again, Tammi.

OMG. Just looking at the title and reading the summary, I knew I had to read this one. Has anyone told you that you're a genius? You really are, you know, cause this is such a good idea. You successfully managed to incorporate a magical game into Harry Potter, without it getting too AU. I could totally imagine students playing knock and run on Filch's door, and him just getting more and more annoyed. And then at some point starting to use the products agains the students themselves, which would be so awesome to see. And can I just say that you've written a super believable Filch. He was just like I remember him from the books, and I really felt like you captured his bitterness, anger and frustration perfectly. You should totally write a Filch story at some point (if you haven't already, in which case I'll have to read it), cause it would be awesome to see a longer story from his POV. And you write him so good you'd definitely do him more than justice. But yeah, I liked it, especially the part about how it used to be better in his early days, cause he could punish the students harder back then. That sounds like something he'd say, for sure.

So yeah, I liked it! Good Job!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #17, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: The Game of the Centaur - Dark Whisper - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Dark Whisper

So first of all; I love the idea. This was so original, unique, creative. It's different from anything I've seen on the archives, but I really loved it. So yeah, good job with the idea. And I love that it focuses on Centaurs and it is from their POV. I like the archery, cause that does seem like something they'd come up with, doesn't it? And the Game of Centaurs; that's a good way of ensure there's unity, but then again the centaurs doesn't seem like the warmest of people. The way they treated Firenze was not very good, and I'm surprised he even went back to them after the war. But I suppose things can change, especially after a war. But I'm getting off-track now. I like that Firenze was teaching the young ones, because he seems like one of the centaurs with the most patience. So yeah, he'd make a good teacher - he was a good teacher for the Hogwarts students, after all. And I also like that they focus on the young once, since they will be the future of the centaur race. That's sweet and very smart of them; they young people are the future after all. But yeah, I liked the story. It was good and I really enjoyed reading it.

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #18, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Exploding Snap, with the Four Houses - Rosiful - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi again, Rosiful.

So I have high expectations now after reading your other entry, and I'm so excited to read this story. And wow was I right to be, because this is just such a good story. I like how it starts of immidiately after the epilogue, and Albus is still nervous about possibly being placed in Slytherin. At the same time, you can see that Harry's words calmed him down a little, because he's not as nervous now that he was an hour before. And then through playing the game with the other new students, he realise that he is in fact a Slytherin, simply because the other people are so much like the other houses, and he's not like them, which must mean he is a Slytherin. And it's so sweet to see them bonding over something so simple. I remember that from being a kid myself - how a simple game could give so many friends in no time. But yeah, it was so great to Albus really finding his place, realising which house he belongs in, through playing Exploding Snap. I really enjoyed reading it. It was really well-written and heartwarming in some way, and ... well, just good job, really.

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #19, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Fun Sponge Hugo - alicia and anne - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Tammi.

So I was so excited to see what this was about, because I've never heard about "Fun Sponge" before. But I just love the idea, and I think it's so well-written. And the game is so cool. I liked that it's about Hugo and Scorpius, cause you rarely see the two of them together in a fic. I mean, maybe in like a short scene in a longer story where Rose and Scorpius are dating, but not as the main characters in a story. And it was so refreshing to see it. I felt like they had a good friendship going on, and I love that Hugo is all nervous about the game, while Scorpius appears to be very calm. Almost a bit too calm. He wasn't cheating, was he? :P

No but seriously, it was a really good story. The dialogue is very good and believable, which is not easy to make work. I loved that Hugo just cracked the egg on the table instead, when he knew he'd be the one to have the egg that would crack. That sounds like something my sister does. She hates losing games, but as much as she hates losing, she hates me winning more. So if she can do something about, she'll put all her efforts into making sure I don't win, which always sucks. But oh well.. still fun to play.

But yeah, I really enjoyed reading it. And I finally learned what "fun sponge" means, so yeah... good job!

Hugs

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #20, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Into the Moonlight - Rosiful - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Rosiful.

This was such an interesting story. I love the concept, and it's so different from anything I've seen here or on the archives in general. There's a certain element of mystique to it - a supernatural element, and I love that you don't fully understand it until the story ends. And you have such a graceful way of telling it - the story just flows, and I love the many descriptions that makes it very easy imagine it all happening.

Emmeline Vance is another soft spot of mine. I've been steadily growing more fond of her, and it so amazing to see her come back to her daughter as a ghost. And the two - mother and daughter, one dead and one alive - play cards together, and there's never a mention or as much as thought about the fact that Emmeline is dead. It's almost like a tradition, and they have to keep doing it.

This was so beautiful, touching, haunting and sad all at once. I have all sort of feeling about it, really, but most of all I'm amazed by how good of a writer you are. There are so many small details that makes this story my favourite collab entry so far. I especially loved the ending, when Emmeneline disappears through the glass and into the moonlight. A perfect exit, and a perfect way of explaining what she is.

Loved it. Good job!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: A Giant Tale - adluvshp - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Angie.

I really wanted to read this story, because I have a soft spot for Grawp. He's just so misunderstood and sad, and while he'd probably kill me by accident if I did so, I feel like hugging him. And I hated seeing him being treated so badly in your story, but you wrote it very well. I sympathised with him immidiately, and I felt like I quickly understood him as a character. And I love the idea of them playing something so simple as catch, but him not being allowed to play with the others because he's considered short, at least in comparison to them. And then they allow him to join, and he finally starts to feel a little included, but then the leader, Gorgan, comes back and he's treated horribly again. By the way, did we ever find out what happened to Grawp after the war? I can't remember it, but it might've happened. Anyway, the ending is gruesome and horrible and you can't help but hate Gorgan and feel bad for Grawp. As gruesome as it is, I feel like it is the way to end it. It really shows how hard it is for him, being short in comparison to the others. Because even something as simple as a harmless game of catch, turns into bullying. That's how bad it is. Good job on writing it, and I really liked it.

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #22, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Dance-off - ad astra - Slytherin

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hello.

So the second I saw the title and summary for this one, I knew I had to read it. This is without a doubt the most unique and original and different story I have seen ever, and I'm not really sure what I just read but it gave me the strangest mental pictures. I'm dying of laughter here. This was... I don't think there's words to describe how this was. I'm a little speechless, but mostly laughing right now. Because I can just picture Severus Snape dancing, Charity Burbage dancing breakdance and Minerva McGonagall. What have you done to me?! I'm never going to look at those character the same way again... EVER! This was so strange, so funny and... OMG. This was just crazy, that's what this was. But well-written, that should be said. It was a very good story, just crazy. And with your humour, I'm already looking forward to reading your entries to my challenge. If they're anything like this, I'll be dead because of laughing too much in no time, for sure. I'm still laughing. I've been laughing this entire time I've been writing this, because I can't the picture of Severus Snape and Minerva McGonagall dancing out of my head. You messed with my head, but I love the story. Good job! And lots of points for creativity.

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #23, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: My Escape- ScoroseOTP- Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Emz.

So I had to read one of your entries for this round of TAR, and I immidiately went to this one cause it looke really good. And I'm glad I did, because it was good. Very good, in fact. For me sports have always represented a lot more than just a game. It's about unity. I remember the day after we had one of the worst attacks on my country, one of our best swimmers won a golden medal in some big swimming event. And he was crying as they gave him the medal, because the whole country had been through the hardest time in the our history, and he was so happy to give us something to really unite around. For him it wasn't about sports, it was about the people. And I always think about that event when I think about sports, cause it just sums up what I think sports is. And for Ginny, who's lost a brother, it's represents two things; a chance to escape reality for a little while, as well as a place for unity. And after horrible situation, there's few things that are more needed than unity.

You could really tell that Quidditch was not the same after the war. It was still a game, still fun and all that. But it's become more important for everyone, simply because it is chance to unite around something far simpler and less dangerous than a war. And I could feel Ginny's pain, but at the same time how important Quidditch is and has become for her. So I really liked how you told the story. It was really good. I especially liked the last line; "Quidditch is my life now". I feel like it's so describing and a perfect way to end the entry. So good job.

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #24, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: The Game - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi again, Jayde.

So I'm back to review another one of your story, and I just have to start by saying that this is such an awesome idea. I love how you compare his love for her to so many different games. It's different from anything I've seen in the HC collab, and I just love the whole idea. How did you come up with that? It's just genius, really. I wish I had come up with something that good (and had the time and motivation to write anything at all). I'm 100% a Jily fan, and reading about them always makes me fall even more in love with them. And I feel like chasing after Lily would be like many games - except there's no rules, and you never know what'll happen next. It's like a new adventure, and you captured that so perfectly. You can feel James frustration over not getting through to Lily, that he can't seem to get her to love him like he loves her. But then victory never tastes as good as when you've really fought for it, and I feel like that's the case with James. He won't give up, because once he actually wins her heart, it'll be worth all the fighting. Yeah, I'm a hopeless romantic, in case you couldn't tell. But I really liked the story. And Good job!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review

Review #25, by LadyL8Game On: Volume II: Charlie Weasley and the Dragon Races - MrsJaydeMalfoy - Hufflepuff

6th July 2015:
Hufflepuff - House Cup 2015

Hi Jayde.

Since you and I are the ones leaving all the reviews right now, I felt like it was about time I left you one. So here I am to do just that, and OMG. I love your summary. It's amazing, and it totally makes me want to read the story. And when - I don't know who it was - someone in the common room gave you the prompt, I was so excited to see what you'd come up with. And this was so good. I like the idea of a fun day for dragons. As someone who cares a great deal about animal rights, I must say I loved that they were given the chance to be in activity and have fun. And you know, almost be completely free. It must be liberating not only for the dragons, but also for the keeper, who probably care a great deal about the creatures they look after. So I like the idea of it, and I felt like that ending - when the dragon's eyes lit up expectantly - was just perfect. My animal-loving heart very much approves. And I love your take on the prompt. You did it perfectly, if you ask me. So yeah, I really liked the story. It was good, and I really enjoyed reading it. So good job, Jayde!

Hug

Lotte

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>