Reading Reviews From Member: LadyL8
  
184 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LadyL8Raining Fire: Glass Phials to Burn

17th January 2014:
Hello Tawi.

I just have to start by saying that I love this song. I haven't read many Adele song-fics, so I really enjoyed reading this one.

It's very . dreamy. I don't know if that'a the correct word, but that's the best I could come up with right now. But I really liked it that way. It's well-written.

I'm not really a fan of centered text, but it worked here. And I loved how you used the song. It fit perfectly. I think this is one of the better song-fics I've seen when it comes to using the song. It was really great.

Some Grammar mistakes here and there, but it's an old story of yours so you probably know that already,

But to sum up; it was well-written, and I liked it! :)

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8Before Everything: (fin.)

17th January 2014:
Hi again.

I think this was such a sweet story, and I really loved the idea.

I just want to start by saying that I'm not going to correct grammar. I noticed AC has already been here, so you've probably gotten all the help you need there. Besides, I know it's an old story, so I'm guessing you already know what a lot of your mistakes are. And I'm really bad at grammar myself, so it's better if I don't comment on it.

But I really liked this one-shot. It's structured really well, and we get to see different glimpses of their relationship. And I thought it was a nice story. You saw the whole way that it couldn't end well, and I did feel bad for them both.

(I think AC pretty much covered everything else, so I'll just leave it at that).

- Lotte :)

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8In Hebrides, With Hebridean (Task One Challenge): One

17th January 2014:
Hi Again, Tawi!

This was your story for The House Cup? It must've been my first HC then, cause I remember reading it. And I loved it then, and I love it now.

I think Susan's an interesting character, because your see very little of her in HP books. And that makes her almost an OC, because you have a lot of freedom when writing her.

But I loved your Susan. I loved that the story was about facing your fears, which in this case was dragons. I remember reading those prompt the first time, and thinking that it would be impossible to get many of them into the same story. But I guess you just proved me wrong, You got a lot of them into your story. And I didn't immediately recognize any of them as prompts, because they fit so well into your story. So well done.

I also loved your characterization. I think that she's very unconfident in the beginning, and that's also how I imagine her to be. But then she ends up facing her fears, and I also think that's very believable. And I loved Charlie's and Hagrid's help, especially the latter's advice,

Good work. Loved it!

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8His Only Downfall: Smile Lily.

17th January 2014:
Hi there, Tawi. Here comes your third review (including the one I left before Christmas)!

This was a beautiful piece. And very original.

But once again, what are you doing to my hopelessly romantic heart?!

No, seriously. I really liked how you saw it through Lily's eyes. It was very creative. And I think it's really sweet how she doesn't want to be his downfall, that she wants him to move on and live his life. I can really imagine Lily thinking that. I think that she would've wanted him to have a great life, and I don't think she's the kind of girl to be angry for long. So I definitely believes she would've forgiven Severus, so in my opinion, your Lily is very believable.

And clever adding the line; "He thinks of me so much that I think one day it could over power him and he could end risking everything." You know, since that' exactly how it ends.

It was amazing. Your descriptions are really good, and I absolutely loved that you wrote it from Lily's POV (I know it's the second time I'm mentioning that, but I just really liked it).

So in short; It was great. And I loved it. Good job! 10/10

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8we were just kids.: where did our eternity go?

17th January 2014:
Hi Tawi. Now I fianlly have the time to leave the rest of your reviews.

First I just have to say that I loved this story. But what have you done to my little hopelessly romantic heart?! This kind of sweetness will make me sit down and watch countless romantic movies, and hope I get myself a boyfriend soon.

But back to the story. It was Snape and Lily, right? I thought it was James and Lily first, but then it changed to Snape and Lily. But even if I'm wrong, I don't really think it changes my opinion of the story. It was really great, and I loved it.

I loved how you captured his emotions, and I loved the flow. It was so easy to read, almost like a poem or a song (and you author's note kind of explains why). And you had some lovely descriptions there, and even a reference to Peter Pan (and he's been my favourite childhood character, so it just made me like the story even more).

What I'm trying to say is that I love your story (And I also loved that song!). 10/10!

- Lotte

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8Fireworks in the Sky : Fireworks in the Sky One-shot

23rd September 2013:
Hi again, Jayde.

First I just got to start by saying I LOVE the name Shania. It's so beautiful. So you automatically made me like the story with that alone:P

Okay, but back to the actual story. I loved the plot. I'm known (among friends and family) to be a hopeless romantic, so I just LOVED the last scene. And the stars that spelled out "I will always love you Shania!", that was almost too sweet. I wish I had a boyfriend like Cedric...

Anyway, I loved the dialogs. But you could probably try and add some description there, so it's not just a conversation. And it also makes it easier to understand the mood, and how things are said (ironically, humorous, romantically etc.)

But all in all, it's a really good story. I really liked it. This is definitely my favourite of your two stories. You captured the emotions well (you're actually really good at that). I can't wait to read more stories :)

- Lotte

Author's Response: Hey again! I can't believe you reviewed both stories! Thank you so much :) haha I don't actually remember how I came up with her name :)

Haha me too! But that's wishful thinking! One because no one can be as perfect as Cedric in my story!

I will also keep that in mind! More description!' :)

Aww thank you :) hopefully you won't have to wait too long :) xx


 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8I Think I Love You.... : I Think I Love you.... One-Shot

23rd September 2013:
Hi there, Jayde. I've finally found time to read your story.

Firstly, I just want to say this is a really good first story. You've captured the emotions well, and I really ended up feeling sorry for for Cedric.

I also liked the plot. I LOVE stories with minor characters, so I'm so glad you decided to write a story with Oliver and Cedric. I guess my only comment would be that it developed a bit too quickly, but I know you wrote a few years ago and it is, after all, your very first story. And keeping in that mind, it's actually really well written. I'm actually shocked that this is your first story. Trust me, it's ten times better than my first story was.

I really liked it. And I can't wait to read your next story (the one you're planning). Keep up the good work! :D

- Lotte

Author's Response: Hey Lotte,

I'm really glad you enjoyed the story! I love writing minor characters as you can play with them a bit more :)

I'll keep that in mind, to slow down the process of development especially when writing a one shot!

Aww thank you :)

Thanks for reviewing

Jayde :) xx


 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8Cracks in the Pavement: Reminders

17th July 2013:
This is heartbreaking. But I loved it.

What I loved the most about this chapter was George. I loved he was still grieving- and worse then the others- that's very belivable since he lost his twin after all. I also loved (but at the same time hated for it's meaning) the quote: "we're not a family anymore". He just seemed so absolutely broken, like a part of him was missing :(

I also loved that Hermoine helped Ron recover. That's believable!

I'm crying again. You're just really good at writing. And especially your description.

I loved it again.

Author's Response: I'm glad that you think I did a good job with this chapter. For me, it was obvious that George would have one of the deepest depressions/reactions to his brother's death because Fred had been so entwined in his life prior to his death. Everyone would be upset and depressed, of course, but he would take a long time to "heal".

Haha- of course Hermione would help Ron! I don't think they would be much of a couple if she didn't! :P

Aw- thank you so much for the compliments! I really appreciate you taking the time to write me such lovely reviews! They really made my day! :D


 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyL8Cracks in the Pavement: Anger

17th July 2013:
This so sad. Why are you doing this to me? No seriously, this is really good.

In the first chapter, you showed how they reacted to Fred's death, but what happens after that again is usually the worst part of grief; the anger. And you captured it perfectly. I'm really sad to see the Weasley family so broken, but it's realistic to think that they would be (at least for a while)

I loved the Ron-Hermione scene. Hermione is behaving very in-character by trying to help him. And Ron is behaving just like I imagine someone would after losing a brother. And I love how he just talks back to the love of his life. Poor Ron :(

I also loved seeing the different POVs, and how he's death affected them. Arthur who couldn't go to work, Ron is drunk, George is dealing with his twin's death (his scene har me crying)

Well-written but sad. I loved it!

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Firstly, thank you so much for leaving another fantastic review! Really- reading it made my day!

Yes, unfortunately the Weasley family really has to break down and suffer after Fred's death. It wouldn't be realistic otherwise- no family goes untouched by death.

I'm really glad that you liked that scene. It was one of the hardest scenes to write, for me, because I haven't had much experience writing drunken people. :P

Thank you once again for leaving such a great review! :)


 Report Review

Review #10, by LadyL8Cracks in the Pavement: Death

17th July 2013:
Hi :)

This was such a good idea. I just loved the concept.

I'm from a large family (larger then the Weasley family actually) and that's why I loved the quote: "But Even the strongest of bonds van fall apart". I have myself experienced how true that is (sadly)

I loved how you wrote about Fred's death from Arthur's POV and still made it very believable. Your description is so flawless that I actually cried.

I don't have words right now. But I'm pretty sure this is my new favourite story.

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for leaving a review! I'm so glad that you liked this story. I can't quite remember how the idea was born... But I believe that I was assigned "Arthur Weasley" in a challenge and, well, this became the story that I really wanted to tell.

Wow- that would have to be quite a large family!

Oh- this is one of those situations where it's great that I made you cry because it means that I did a good job with my description but at the same time I made you cry! I'll just say thank-you, then, for the compliment. I'm so, so pleased that you think I did a good job with this chapter. :)

Oh my gosh! Thank you so much for the compliment and thank you so much for leaving such a fantastic review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by LadyL8Blood Red Snow White: Blood Red Snow White

17th July 2013:
Wow. This was so different, creative and original.

I'm going to admit I'm slightly (or massively) embarrassed over the fact that I have never read this one before (seeing as I'm a Puff). But I'm glad I finally did.

Your story was somewhat sweet, captivating and so exciting to read. I loved how the man talked directly to the little boy several times. That's very believable. People tend to do that when they tell a story. I also loved the transition from telling the story (in the story :P) to the boy's reaction to it. It was such a swift transition.

You're a really good writer. I absolutely loved it! 10/10

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Wow- another amazing and heart-warming review! :D

Haha- that's totally okay! I didn't realize that this might be considered a staple of the Common Room (but perhaps that's what comes along with it winning "Story of the Month"). :P

When I first starting writing this, I hadn't intended for the man to talk with the boy- for the story to fall out of its rhythm of narration- but I couldn't help myself in one spot and then it seemed to work so well that I went back and edited everything to add in the little interruptions. :)

Thank you for the compliment! I'm so glad that you enjoyed this one-shot!


 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyL8Bel in the Night: Obsession

16th July 2013:
OMG, I can't believe I haven't noticed that you have uploaded another chapter. Your story is one of my favourites.

Okay, first of all I must again tell how realisticly written your marauders are. They are just like the J.K Rowlings. They are seriouly well-written. And that makes your story more believable. I love how Remus is the logical one, James thinks about Lily and compares the situation to his own, and Peter... Well, he's Peter

This chapter made me curious. I'm really wondering who Annabel is and why she is so interested in Sirius' life. And if she really has made a love potion. But I'm thinking (and hoping) she hasn't. And I have a bad feeling someone will get hurt.

I'll be sure to watch out for a new chapter now, so please upload soon.

 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyL8Young and Beautiful: Young and Beautiful

14th July 2013:
This was so beautiful.

I actually view Fleur quite different now

I love how she sees her beauty as a curse, not a blessing. It's like she hates being beautiful, because everything else comes second to that. That's what people remember her by.

And my favourite line is: "Would anyone still want to love me when I wasnít young and beautiful?" It's just so well-spoken. It shows that even she, the beautiful Fleur, is insecure at times.

And you know what, I actually think I view all pretty people differently now. I have always thought of being beautiful as a blessing, something we'd all wish to have but only a few fortunate ones get. But now I see it a bit diffently thanks to your story.

But most of all, I loved the ending. I love how Fleur and Bill are still so in love after so many years (lol, that rhymed).

In short, I just loved the whole story. Good Job!

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #14, by LadyL8Marius: The Tale of Martin Corner

14th July 2013:
Hi there.

I'm going to start by saying that I liked this idea. I have always wondered what would happen if the Black family had a squib, and you basically wrote everything I thought would've happened.

I'm not sure if he should've been completely kicked out, though. I mean, Sirius was also hated by his family (The Black family), and he was considered a blood traitor. Still, they didn't throw him out. He left of his own free will. I know it's different with a squib, but I'd still like to think that he would be allowed to stay for the holidays at least (but whether he wants that or not is another question).

But I liked how this was written. It was easy to read, and I loved how he terrified or at least scared of the idea of being a squib at first, but then later he's almost relieved and happy. That was very believable.

I really liked it. Good job!

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

I've added a note about your observation in my file and will consider their reaction to his status.

This story turned out to be a little more difficult to write than I had expected. The fairytale has no intercession by other means to change the character's life except by the character being that character.

Thank you very much for reading and reviewing!



 Report Review

Review #15, by LadyL8A way to remember: A way to remember

14th July 2013:
Wow. I have such conflicting emotions when it comes to this one-shot. I'm happy because Harry shows him his family, and because Teddy is still alive. On the other hand, I'm sad that Teddy never got to know his parents, and I'm sad he had to see pictures to know his parents.

But anyway, this was really well-writte. I absolutely loved it. I love how Teddy keeps asking questions, like children often do when they are curious about something. That's very believable. And I love how Harry is so patient, and answers all his questions.

Both characters are very in-character, and they are realistic. They also have a good chemistry. Everything about the way they speak to each other says that it's an authority figure (but a good one, like a parent or godfather etc.) and a child. And that's really good.

I don't really know what to say. I loved it. And thank you for writing it.

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #16, by LadyL8Her Only Choice: Her Only Choice

14th July 2013:
Wow. That was one heartbreaking one-shot.

I'm just speechless right now.

This was really good. I don't even have any words right now. This was just spectacular.

I don't usually read about topics that are so sensitive. But I liked reading this one. I could really connect with Lily. I could feel her pain, her wish to escape it all. It was just so well-written.

My favourite moments was actually when her brother Albus said: "Do you hear mum out here." It was just such a realistic thing to say (at least I think so. I have fortunately never been in that situation). And I just loved how the family reacted, how desperate they were to change her mind.

It was just good. I don't have much else to say. Good job! :)

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Thank you LadyL8,
Your lack of words, when you say "speechless" makes me...so, speechless as well.
Yeah, Lily really needed to get out. But it makes us wonder whether she could have gotten it over it, if she just talked to someone.
Thanks a lot.
Lots of love and gratitude,
Nadia


 Report Review

Review #17, by LadyL8Murder on the Hogwarts Express: The Final Evidence

14th July 2013:
Hi, Violet. I actually read your story a while ago, but I didn't review it back then. But I'm doing it now for the House Cup :)

I really like your story. It had me hooked from the first sentence. It's just really well-written. I love how Tonks is sort of Nancy Drew-alike. I can see her as someone that loves to solve a mystery.

And I aboslutely love when a Hufflepuff is the main character, and is portrayed as something other than a weak and good-for-nothing type of character. Tonks is brilliant, and this story did her justice.

And I got to say, I loved how action-filled that scene was. And I loved the whole mystery. I'm quite clueless when it comes to mysteries, so I couldn't wait to read the next chapter to see her solve the whole thing. And I wasn't disappointed.

Thank you, Violet. It was great.

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Thank you for coming back to review this story! It's lovely of you to do so, and I'm really pleased to hear that you liked this story. Too often I've come to see it as a silly thing I wrote, and it's nice to have a sold reminder that there's more to it than that, especially with Tonks, who came to life far better than I expected.

I loved being able to write about a Hufflepuff, but it was even better to write about Tonks herself before she became an Auror. It's like she was a born detective, and this - as much as her disguising abilities - would make her a successful Auror, just the kind of person that Moody and Kingsley Shaklebolt would respect. :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by LadyL8Hey, Fred: Hey, Fred

14th July 2013:
Hi there.

I just loved this story!

I liked the idea. It was creative, different and sweet.

What I liked the most is that he never quits grieving. I have seen some stories where he doesn't seem that sad at all, and I think that's very unrealistic. He lost his twin after all - the other part of him. And that's why I love the fact that he's still talking to him 15 years later. It just seems very realistic.

I also love how he talks to Fred about everything in the family's and his own life. That's very realistic. And I'd like to think he would do that after Fred died.

This was amazing and well-written. I'm crying. That's how good it is. I can relate to Fred's grief, and that's why this is now one of my favourite stories. Good job! 10/10

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I'm really glad you liked it. Representing grief realistically has always been fascinating to me so I'm glad it worked in this story. Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by LadyL8Dear Lord Voldemort: A Letter Never Sent

14th July 2013:
Hey there.

This was so sad. I'm close to tears now (actually I'm already crying). And it was just... it's just so well-written.

Firstly, I want to say I loved the idea. How did you come up with that? Okay now that I have said that, I just want to say that I just loved how the letter was written. It was so childish-like, but still so mature in some ways. This is one clever kid, that has gone through something really difficult.

And the description of how Voldemort killed the parents was just ... I just wanted to jump into your story and get the little kid away. It was so difficult to read. But so well-written.

The final line is my favourite. "I know that Mummy and Daddy are dead, and it's all your fault." It's just so ... heartbreaking!

I'm speachless. This was amazing. I really loved it. 10/10

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #20, by LadyL8He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven: he wishes for the cloths of heaven

14th July 2013:
Wow. This was such a great story.

My favourite characters are Remus and Sirius so I obviously loved this story. I loved your description. It was so good.

I especially love how it all starts at Hogwarts, and then move on from there. You have included some memorably moments from their Hogwarts-time, like Sirius' joke that nearly killed Snape. And you even showed how they both grew apart (which was very believable), and you just made me feel very sad about it (probably cause I know how it'll end for both of them). And it just seemed very realistic.

I'm just blown away. Good job. 10/10

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: thank you so much for this review! really happy you liked it :)

 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyL8A Bargain for the Heart: He Came for the Painting

14th July 2013:
Hello there.

I'm gonna admit I was a bit skeptical when I first saw it was a Tom/Minerva story. I'm not quite sure whether I like the ship or not. But I can tell you that I liked this story.

I aboslutely loved that you used the language that fitted this era. That made the whole story more belivable. And you had amazing description (I'm jealous, actually.)

But what I loved the most is how swiftly you changed POV. You just didn't think anything about it because it was done so well. And I loved seeing things from different perspectives.

The only thing I'm slightly unsure about is Tom. I don't know. I guess he just didn't seem enough Voldemort-y (wow, I'm pretty sure I just invented a new word :P). I know he's not Voldemort yet, but I do believe he would be slightly ... colder. But you may have portrayed him this way because he was with Minerva, who he obviously likes, and he behaves differently around her.

Anyway, I loved it. It's really good. 10/10

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

 Report Review

Review #22, by LadyL8No Turning Back: No Turning Back

13th July 2013:
Hello.

I really liked this idea. I have always wondered what went through Regulus head when he decided to become a death eater, and now you wrote your perspective (and I really liked it).

This was really well-written. You had so good emotional description, and it was really believable. I could practically feel his emotions. And I enjoyed reading it.

I loved that his brother was mentioned. I believe he would've thought about him when he made this decision.

And I especially love how he doesn't appear as all-bad. You can definitely tell that he is a bit unsure/nervous/afraid, but he goes through with it in the end.

Thanks for one great story.

Yours Sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Hey there! Thank you for the lovely review, I'm really happy you enjoyed it!
Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by LadyL8soul of the city: soul of the city.

13th July 2013:
Hi, there :)

I really REALLY liked this story.

I'm going to admit I was slightly skeptical at first, but you proved me wrong. When I reached the end of your story, I was crying. It was so beautifully written.

I loved the plot twist. I hadn't expected her to have an illness, but it really made me love the story even more. And when he found that letter/note, I couldn't help but cry. And I don't cry that often when I read stories (especially not fanfics). But this one was so good.

You description is flawless. I could see the whole thing happening in my head. And it was easy to imagine yourself in Ron's place.

I especially liked the final line: Life is always worth living. That's such a good line (and a good moral). I really loved it. 10/10

Yours sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Wow, thank you so much for this very kind and very nice review. I'm glad that the moral/line stuck with you because that's really why I wrote it :) (Besides having an entry in the house cup of course! :P)

Char


 Report Review

Review #24, by LadyL8Life is Good: Life is Good!

13th July 2013:
Hi, there :)

I really liked your idea. It was different and creative. I have always wondered how it would be for muggles/muggleborns after the war, and when they travel to other countries; would they travel the muggle way or the wizard way?

I also enjoyed the characterization. Your dialog had a good flow, and was very natural. It didn't seem forced or written. I loved how you explained that Rachel's parents were still adapting to the wizard world, because that seems like a natural reaction. You wouldn't just adapt quickly, but it would likely take a couple of years. After all, it goes against everything you've ever known.

I also loved Rachel and Alara. They have a good chemistry, and their dialogs flow well. It was interesting to see two characters from different backgrounds: one is a muggleborn and one is, I'm assuming, a half-blood or pureblood. And it's clear that they view this travel a bit differently. They both look forward to it, but Alara isn't as used to living as a muggle as Rachel is. Therefore, Alara seems more worried about living as a muggle, while Rachel seems more used to it/comfortable with it. It was really interesting to see that difference.

I loved the description. It was easy to imagine the whole story happening in my head (something I love to do). And you had some funny lines as well (the one about the fireplace). And it was great.

Yours sincerely
LadyL8

Author's Response: Yes, Alara is a pureblood. But she has been taught well by her parents, she's got strong sympathies towards Muggles. She also strikes me as rather sheltered existence, probably because of her parents philosophies during the rise of Voldemort.

Thanks for reading and taking the time to leave your thoughts!


 Report Review

Review #25, by LadyL8A Beautiful Injustice: A Beautiful Injustice

14th May 2013:
Hey there.

I really enjoyed reading this story. Sirius is my favorite character, and I love love-stories so it was a great combination for me. At the same time, I'm slightly skeptical when someone writes a story about Sirius falling in love, because they usually make him very OC instead of in-character. Your story actually had Sirius in-character, which is something I'm very grateful for. At the same time, you had a plot that went really well with the personality we know (from the books) that Sirius had at that age. I do see him as the funny guy, popular and handsome, but I also imagine him having that more insecure and shy side. And you captured that perfectly. The balance between these two sides are so perfect. My favorite part is actually when he says "I love you", and she ends up breaking his heart. It's just so completely different from most Sirius-stories, where Sirius usually breaks the girl's heart. It was a nice change, and it seemed realistic. I'm just really loving this story!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>