Reading Reviews From Member: LadyL8
367 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LadyL8Taming the Dragon Tamer: [one]

11th November 2015:
Hi Anja.

So I've seen how hard you've worked with NaNo, and I'm a very proud mum. Yo'ure word count has gotten really high, and I figured it was about time you got something from me to futher motivate you to keep writing. I have five reviews like this one, and I'll post one every now and then when I feel like you've worked really hard :)

Okay, so I'm just going to copy and paste the review. The first paragraph will probably make you understand when I actually wrote this :P Anyway, here we go:

Hi Anja. So I read this story a while ago, but I never got around to reviewing it. And since Iíve literarily paid for it to get advertised (well, technically I paid for the site to stay on, but you get what I mean), I figured it was about time I finally did so. So here comes 6 reviews in a row, where I pretty much just tell you how much I love the story. Itís just warm fuzzy reviews really, and Iíll probably be rambling a lot. But you know all about that from Letters, so Iím not going to waste more time talking about it.

OMG. I am so much in love with story itís not even funny. At this point I think I might even like it more than Letters and thatís saying something cause you how much I love that story. Charlie has always been someone I can sympathise with. Iím the odd one in our family as well, not at all like the rest of my siblings or my parents. I donít even look like them, and everyone pretty much likes to remind me off that. So I totally feel like I can relate to Charlie, because he too is someone that does his own thing, and heís the ďodd oneĒ too, the one that is so different from everyone else in the family.

I love Christopher. We hardly saw him in the chapter, but I definitely feel I like I know him already. At least a little bit. You see, he reminds me of my middle school teacher, because he too sat in a wheelchair (he had an accident years ago, and havenít been able to use his legs ever since. And he met so much hate at my middle school, cause it was a very terrible (I wouldíve used a stronger word, but the reviews are suppose to be 12+) school. But he just took it calmly, and he was seriously the best teacher Iíve ever had. Really, really good teacher.

We donít see many stories on HPFF where a character is in a wheelchair, so Iím just so happy you have one. I actually had a project in high school, where I sat in a wheelchair for two weeks (every day, everywhere) and we filmed it, and the point was to show how hard it is to sit in a wheelchair. And basically say what we, as a society need to do to make things better for these people. And a scene that always makes me cry in the final project is when I took the bus while sitting in the wheelchair, cause pretty much everyone was staring at me the entire ride. And it was so uncomfortable, and I honestly felt like yelling at everyone. And it makes me so sad to think about what people that actually sits in wheelchairs must go through everyday. What Charlie says in the end is just the beginning of it. Thereís so much ignorance, prejudism and just downright bad behaviour from so many people. And I just hate that.

But this back to your story again. Anyway, I like that idea here. I can see Charlie being gay, and I like that he immediately likes Christopher. And I already like the Christopher, and I can see the two of them being together. And I canít wait for it to happen. So yeah, Iím so excited to read the next chapter of my favourite story by my favourite author. And I so hope this story will get lot of new readers through the advertisement, cause you really deserve it.

Oh, and did I mention I love the story? Cause I do. So much. Itís my favourite, you know. And it totally deserves to be given a dobby rec. cause youíre so good, Anja. Hope you a wonderful day.

Lots of Love From Your Biggest Fan


 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8The Lark and the Nightingale: Epilogue Ė The opening night

30th October 2015:
Hi Chiara.

I'm here with your October review. Sorry it took me a while to get here. I completely forgot about it, but I'm so glad I finally got here, cause I've been wanting to read this story for so long. And I will have to get back here later, cause you deserve a review on every chapter. Cause you know I was really suppose to read the first chapter and review that one, but I got addicted to the story and couldn't stop reading until I reached the end. It's just a really good story, and it's gonna get a favourite from me.

What I love is that you use your own language in it (and your name :P). You have sentences in Italian and the story is sort of your own spin on Romeo and Juliet, a famous story set in Italy. I've been in Italy three times myself, never in Verona though, and I got reminded of my trips there when reading this story. It's just really amazing to see how you incorporated so much from your own country, but also made it feel like it belonged in the HP universe. I really believed it, believed that Chiara existed and that she was friends with the marauders and Lily and all the other characters from the era. She felt like she belonged there, and I really felt like I knew her as a character - that I could relate to her and her struggles. So good job on creating a good and realistic main character.

The story is very unique. I liked how you put a twist on the Romeo and Juliet story we know, and then also created your own version with HP characters we know. It's interesting to see them playing in Romeo and Juliet, but at the same time they're in their own version of the tale. The curse seemed so realistic, and it really reminded me of The Swan Princess, you know the princess that's cursed to be a swan every day and then turns back to a human every night, maybe cause I loved that movie when I was a kid. Oh, and I loved that even as a bird you can see Chiara's personality. There's just so much interesting stuff in this story, but what I have to say is that the plot is very unique. I've never seen anything quite like in on HPFF, and that made is so good to read. It was just completely new for me, and I loved it.

Thank you for sharing it with us. It's really a good story. I loved it a lot. 10/10 and good job, Chiara! :D

Lots of Love


Author's Response: Oh, wow, Lotte!
Thank you so much!

The fact that you read it all in one go makes me so happy and excited! I'm so, so glad you enjoyed the story, because it's one I'm very proud of and affectionate to!!! :)

So thank you, also for favouring!!! It really means a lot!!!

I did put a lot of myself in many parts and characters in this story! Chiara is actually quite different from me, she is much stronger and more volitive. But I thought it was cute to name her after me (also, I have a tiny, not so secret, crush on Remus...) The Italian bits were something I really enjoyed to insert (even if it scared me a little, especially in the prologue with Romeo and Juliet, where all the dialogue was Italian) But I'm so very happy that you enjoyed it!!! :)

Verona is a really cute city! I've been two or three times and, even if it's not as big and full of things to see like other Italian cities (Rome for instance) it's totally worth a visit (in case you'll happen to come back here...) I've never been to Norway, instead. One day...

I'm so happy Chiara felt realistic and that you could sympathize with her. And that you liked the parallels with Romeo and Juliet. And the curse too. I took inspiration more from Lady Hawk, actually. Especially in the way it was broken. But I think it has a lot in common with The Swan Princess as well!

Thank you so much again! Really! I'm so incredibly thrilled that you enjoyed the story so much!!! And I'm so happy we were paired, cause I really loved the incipit of your story as well!!!

All my love, hugs and kisses!

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8Children of Stardust: Children of Stardust

18th October 2015:
Hi Kat.

I'm sorry it's taken me a while to get here with your review. I got sick and then my dad came to visit me this weekend. But better late than never, right? I'm so excited to finally get to read this story. I rarely read Luna-stories, and this will be the first one I've read in years, I think. So I really look forward to see your take on her, and I'm sure it'll be amazing, cause every other story of yours I've read have just been so good. So my expectations are high, but you'll definitely not disappoint me.

Yeah, you didn't. This was good. I really liked this idea. Luna's always been a bit different; she has her own view of the world, so for me it was not strange that she wouldn't be sad or even find a reason to be sad at all. She's just a very optimistic and positive girl, and I admire her for her way of seeing life. And I think you captured it so well just through her thoughts on sadness and death. It was really good.

And I have to say this, cause it's just a really fun coincident. When I was younger, my mother used to say that when people died, they became stars in the nightsky. I was very young when my grandfather died, my little sister was even younger (I don't think she was even 3 years old at the time), and mother told us that we didn't need to be sad cause our grandfather would always look over us as the brighest star in the nightsky. And ever since then I've always said that to my little sister. And she still believes that when people die they become stars in the sky, and I just love that. It was something I could see Luna believe as well, and it's really a beautiful way of thinking.

Anyway, I just really loved the story. I enjoyed reading it, and it felt believable. It was just a really good read. Good job! And thanks for sharing!

Have a wonderful week!

Lots of Love

(I'll send you a PM soon)

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8A Sister's Love: Molly: Big Sister

18th October 2015:
Hi Freda (or Georgina if she's the one reading this)

I'm sorry it's taken so long to get here and leave your review. I got sick and then my dad visited me this weekend. But better late than never, right? I'm so excited to actually review this story. I'm sure I've read it before, but apparantely I didn't leave a review back then. So I guess it's about time I do, cause this story was just so cute.

I love that you wrote this as a gift to Georgina. I'm guessing you're the oldest one, and Georgina is younger. Knowing you two are sisters just makes this story even cuter and even more believable. It's was great to see the sisterly love between Molly and Lucy from the first moment they met. It was just really cute and I enjoyed reading it. It brough a smile to my face, and that's the point of short, sweet stories like this.

I'm actually an older sister myself (and younger). I was older when my sister was born, though. I think I was around 10 years old, and I still remember how exciting it was that night my mum went to the hospital. I don't think I slept at all, and I just really looked forward to getting a little sister. And as an older sister I could relate to so much in this story. I adore my sister, and I would pretty much anything to keep her safe. She's my best friend, even though she's a lot younger than me. And that feeling was so well-captured in this story, probably because you're sisters yourself and know what it feels like. It was so believable and it made me miss my three sisters a lot, especially the younger one. So this was really good. Well done! And thanks for sharing it.

I really enjoyed reading it.

Have a wonderful weekend!

Lots of Love

(I'll send you a PM soon)

Author's Response: Frankly, we forgot we were receiving one from you, so this is quite welcome! :)

This is Freda, and I am three years older than Georgina, although no one guesses that. :P (people always think I'm a couple years younger than I really am.) But anyways, Molly and Lucy are the same age gap too. Their personalities aren't supposed to match ours, but their love for each other does.

I don't remember a time before Georgina, nor when she was born/an infant, but I expect my reaction was similar. Parents confirmed I was a good big sister. I am definitely very close with Georgina, more so than our younger sister Ginny but I actually almost had a brother instead of Georgina (miscarriage shortly before she was born) and I couldn't imagine . . .

Glad you liked the story! Especially since it was written in pieces in secret. (It wasn't easy to hide it from her when we use the same computer!) now that I'm thinking of it, I think this is our third "meeting the new baby (sister)" story. The others are Dylan's chapter in Life in the Boot Family, and the prologue aka first chapter of Between the Cracks. Both from oldest sibling perspective. (Well I guess it's hard to tell from the youngest's view!)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8Once Upon a Hippogriff: Once Upon a Hippogriff

18th October 2015:
Hi LJ.

Sorry it's taken me a while to get here with your review. I got sick and then my dad visited me this weekend. But better late than never, right? I'm so excited to read this story. I love the Short and Sweet challenge, cause short stories almost always angst or horror. It's really hard to write a happy and/or sweet story in few words, but that's why it's called a challenge, isn't it? And I've enjoyed the other entries I've read, so I'm so excited to read this one and probably enjoy it as well. And I haven't actually read anything of yours before (I think), so this will be a first for me. But I'm sure you're a really good writer, so I know I'll enjoy reading it.

I really like the idea here. I've read many stories about young Teddy, but they usually focus on his relationship with Harry rather than his relationship with Ginny. And I think both are equally important. Teddy might've had a closer relationship with Harry, but I do think Ginny would almost be like a stepmother for him. Almost all of the times Teddy's with Harry, he'd also be with Ginny. I feel like Ginny is also the sort of woman who'd take care of every child, whether it's hers or not. And I feel like she'd be close to Teddy as well, but maybe a little bit differently from his relationship with Harry. But she would mean a lot to him, for sure, so I liked that you explore their relationship rather than Harry and Teddy's.

This was such a cute idea. I liked the hippogriff, and I'd certainly be shocked if I found one in my house. But Ginny handles everything well. She keeps calm and does what's needed. She just has this maturity over her that we don't see in the books, and it's good cause she's obviously older her than she is in the books. I like how much she cares for Teddy; he's like a son to her, even if he isn't biologically hers. It was a really cute relationship. I just really liked it.

But the ending was funny. It shows that Ginny still can have fun, and that's important in any relationship, no matter the age, if you ask me. You have to be able to have fun with each other, and their marriage, even if we only see it shortly, seems so stable and healthy. I fell in love with them.

So I just really loved this story. The characterisation was good, I liked the idea and it was executed wonderfully. You keep a light tone, and the story as a whole just brought the biggest smile to my face. And that's the point of the story, so well done! It was really good. Thanks for sharing.

Have a wonderful week!

Lots of Love


(I'll send you a PM really soon)

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8Farewell: Farewell

18th October 2015:
Hi Vicki.

I'm sorry it's taken me so long to leave your review. I got sick and then my dad visited me this weekend. But better late than never, right? And I can't wait to read this story, cause it just looks so good. And I'm not much of Dumbledore fan, but the summary and the banner just makes me crazy excited to read this. And it's been a while since I last read something of yours, so it was about time I got back to your author's page again.

Anyway, let's get to the actual review. I have to start by saying that I think you're crazy brave for daring to write Dumbledore. He is probably the hardest character to write, because he's so wise and he speaks in riddles a lot. And I've never dared to write from his POV myself, but I've been told it's hard. And I have to admire you for taking him on, for writing from his POV, because I really think he's an interesting character that there should be more stories about. I know there are some young-Dumbledore, but stories from Harry Potter's time at Hogwarts are really lacking. So I'm excited to read one now, and I know it will be good, because I remember how good your writing is.

I remember the Shakespeare challenge, cause I was a maybe for it. I thought it was really challenging, and I was wow-ed by everyone that managed to submit an entry. And I really like your interpretation of the quote. It's so obviously inspired by it, but at the same time it's a very believable story. I really liked that you took an actual missing moment in the books, and put your spin on it. It was a clever idea, and it really worked for me.

Dumbledore was just really well-characterised. Like I said earlier, he is said to be difficult to get right, but I actually think you did better than anyone else whose written stories about Dumbledore that I've read. I really liked how reflective he is, and there's this sense of wisdom and life-experience over him. He's just Dumbledore, but at the same time he's not. Cause this Dumbledore, while appearing to be just like the one in the books, is a little bit darker, but in a good way. The description of Gellert and Ariana's death was just chilling. I got goosebumps, cause I could really feel Dumbledore's guilt over everything that happened. I felt like he was describing his biggest mistake in life; a time when he was a very different Albus than the one we see in the books. It was so believable and so well-written. I really felt like I could relate more to Dumbledore than I feel I could in the books, because that feeling of having made many poor choices in the past, but in hindsight you realise everything bad you did and you would've done something different could you go back. You've become wiser with age. And I just loved it!

I also loved hearing Albus' thoughts and feeling about these different situations in his life, especially when it comes to the duel with Gellert. He battles to win because it's the right thing to do, but at the same time it's obviously painful for him to actually win, because Gellert had and probably in some way always will, mean a lot to him. I really liked it, and it could almost see how conflicted he was.

I also love his relationship with Harry. I've always felt like Dumbledore is somewhat a father-figure for Harry, cause he's never had anyone care about him the way Dumbledore did. For me, that made the discoveries in Deathly Hallows more horrible, and I'm not sure I can quite forgive Dumbledore for everything he did, but I do feel his relationship with Harry was sincere. He really thinks of him as a son, and only wants the best for him. And planning his own death can't have been easy, especially when you have Harry who's about to battle for his life, and he can't be there to see it or help him. And you really show that well, and I just really liked seeing that relationship because in the other Dumbledore stories I've read, the authors haven't really showed that. And for me that's an important part of the books, and it should not be overlooked.

While it has been a while since I last read something of yours, I do think this is actually my favourite story of yours. Your writing has just improved a lot, this story is the prime example of that. This is really good, the best Dumbledore story from this era that I've ever read. I loved it, in fact I've even favourited it, cause it's that good. Thank you sharing. I really enjoyed reading it. So good job!

Have a wonderful week!

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8Old Habits Die Hard: Old Habits Die Hard

11th October 2015:
Hi Katie *waves*

Sorry for taking so long to get here. I lost my internet connection yesterday, but it's back again now. And I'm so happy for that, cause this story just looks amazing. It's partly due to the breathtaking banner by katharos@TDA, but I also really love the summary and title. It doesn't give away much, which makes me really interested to read it. And I happen to love Regulus Black, I've even written from his POV once, so I already know that this story is just my type of story. And I'm so excited.

I fell in love the proverb challenge, but it really is challenging. You got "old habits die hard", and you can see how well it fits the story from the very first line. I really like how you've incorporated it into the story, somehow, and the first line is just amazing. It just had me immidiately, and it was literarly painful to had to look away from the story to write this part of the review. I just want to continue reading it, and I will do so now.

You know what, I really like Regulus here. He's a very habit-based person, and I am like that myself. I live after habits, though I can occasionally walk away from them if it something better comes along. And I've always thought that habits is a way of being in control. You live after habits to get some of control of your life. And that thought makes it really interesting here, cause Regulus has so little control of his actual life, so maybe he lives after habits as a way of feeling like he can have some control of his life. And that makes it even more interesting cause it is a habit, Mary McDonald, that makes him take more control of his actual life as well. I really liked the characterisation of Regulus, and I really liked the interesting side of habits and how they tie to control, which he, in the beginning, doesn't actually have.

Regulus is very intense and self-destructive. I feel like he is similar to Sirius in that aspect, but that he is maybe even more this than his brother is. And I don't think the habits are any good for him, not even the one for Mary in a way, cause he shouldn't change his life for anyone other than himself. And he doesn't even know Mary that well, which makes me wonder what he would've done if he had found out she wasn't like he wanted her to be. Or if he approached and she had rejected him. It's hard to say, but I definitely feel like he can't fully be in control of his life before he lets go of all habits, including Mary.

Mary is almost a little Mary Sue-ish, but it actually works because we see it from Regulus POV, and he finds her to be almost perfect, an angel. And I really like the contrast between her, for the lack of a better word, freedom and Regulus' controlled life. To me it feels like Regulus first and foremost is attracted to that, cause to me Mary just seems like a really care-free and happy girl. Her approach to life is very different from how he lives his life, controlled by so many different forces around him, and I feel like maybe that is what he likes about her.

I love the small glimpses we see of the Regulus/Sirius relationship. Despite their arguments and fights, at the end of the day Regulus still loves his brother. And it's interesting cause it actually made me think about the relationship between Lily and Petunia, cause I feel like that applies to Petunia as well. Both of them seemingly hate their sibling, but I don't think they actually hate them as much as they appear to. And in this story Regulus really show clear signs of actually caring a lot about his brother, even defending him, which breaks my heart, especially since Sirius never found out what his brother had done for him.

So I've rambled on for long enough, I think. I really enjoyed reading this story. It's was amazing. Thanks for sharing it, and have a wonderful weekend.

Lots of Love


Author's Response: Hey Lotte! :)

Sorry it took me so long to respond, it's been hard to find any time lately :')

Regulus is the best! And I'm glad you liked the banner, its beautiful isn't it?!

Hahahaa :') I'm so glad you liked the first line! I really wanted it to capture peoples attention like it did! :) When I got that Proverb, it instantly clicked that this was the story I have to write! :D

That exactly what I was trying to communicate! :D I'm so glad you got that! I live through habits a lot myself, I think it makes him quite a relatable character that he does the same.

My vision of Regulus is that he is actually just like Sirius and that's why they clash. His habits are definitely not good for him at all, and even Mary could be argued to be bad, you're right. I'd like to think that even if he knew Mary before, he would still have the same feelings for her, but I think the dramatic way in which he first saw her intensified his feelings.

Mary definitely has the air about her, and the freedom things is a massive thing of what attracts regulus to her!

Regulus never stopped loving Sirius in my eyes, he just didn't have the courage to leave like he did, but he admired his bravery. That's an interesting parole I hadn't thought of before! Maybe that is something that Sirius and Lily would have ended over? :)

Thank you so much for such a lovely review! :D

Katie :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8Truth, Dare or Drink!: Truth, Dare or Drink!

10th October 2015:
Hello Alexis *waves*

I'm finally here with your review. I decided to do this story because I noticed it didn't have any reviews, and it looked interesting so I figured this could be the first one. And I'm glad I chose it, cause I really liked it. It was just so different from most one-shots with the same lenght. Instead of being angst or horror, it's more playful and happy in an unhappy setting (if that makes sense). It was really a joy to read it.

I rarely read stories that are not canon-compliant, but this kind of made me regret not reading more of them. It was refreshing to see a story that takes the characters in a new direction. Seeing Hermione more bitter than she actually is in the last book, was different but still believable. I feel like being left out like she is, must be painful. And especially since they clearly need her to find the horcruxes, and she knows that too. She is angry, that much is clear, and it makes us see a very different side of her than the one in the book. I just loved that.

Fred and George are a great contrast to Hermione both canon-wise and in this story. While they are more relaxed and humorous, Hermione is more serious. But it was great to see a more playful side to her, to see a more relax and fun Hermione. I really loved that she is almost a little flirtatious, and that she is the one that suggest the game in the first place. You'd think that, that is very Un-Hermione, but I actually found it really believable. There's so many layers to Hermione I feel like we never get to see, and you explore some of them in this story. So I loved your Hermione, and it actually made me want to write a Hermione-centric story myself... I won't, though. I don't have time for that.

But anyway, it was really good. I don't know why it doesn't have more reviews cause it really deserves more. It was amazing, and I enjoyed reading it. The contrast between the really dark place they are in - they are after all in the middle of a war - and the fun and happy Hermione is great, and it's almost almost a little poetic in a way; finding yourself when the world is at it's darkest. It's just beautiful and I really liked it.

Thanks for sharing this story. I really liked it. Good job!

Lots of Love


Author's Response: Hello Lotte,

Sorry it's taken a while to get to your lovely review. First, thank you for being the first to leave some thoughts on this tale. The idea for it was based on a challenge to write something fluffy, pairing Hermione with one of the Weasley boys other than Ron or Percy. I struggled with it for a while. Fluffy isn't my cup of tea - normally my writing tends to wander down darker paths. Then I made the mistake of procrastinating until the last minute and came down with a wicked cold. Somewhere between the fever and the Nyquil was where Hermione's flirtatious jaunt with the twins was born.

I'll have you know that Fred and George took full advantage of my cold. They kept whispering things to me like 'Hermione needs to loosen up', 'she needs some fun', and 'did you know about our specialty line of products?' But it was Hermione that initiated with the idea of the game while confessing she's always been attracted to both of the Weasley twins.

I agree there is a lot more to Hermione that what we see in the books. Of the Golden Trio, she's the one I relate to the most. She's more than just a sidekick - she has fears, ambitions, desires and I suspect a wicked sense of humor. So in the end, it was great fun writing how she might seek some release from the overwhelming darkness that's hanging over everyone - a moment of lightness for her to cherish later.

Anyways, thanks again for stopping by. It's been great to chat with you!


 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyL8This Treasure: You Make Me Smile

16th September 2015:
Hi Sian.

Iím trying to read and review as many of the dobby noms as I possibly can before the voting round starts. And Iím now doing all the Best One-shot stories, and I realised I never read or reviewed this story. So thatís why Iím here, and it sure was about time for me to get here. This just looks so amazing, and thatís crazy for me to say since Iím not even much of a Ron/Hermione fan (I like them together, but I rarely read stories about the two of them) and this is a story about them. But I just have the highest expectations, because I always love your stories. Youíre seriously one of my favourite authors on HPFF, and everything you write always ends up on my reading list (and favourite list, though that one hasnít been updated in a while).

I really like how your structured this story (I have a point system for each Dobby category to help me decide which nominee to vote for, and one of the things Iím giving points for in the category Best One-shot is actually the structure). Time-jumps can easily be very confusing for the readers, especially when the story jumps between lots of different years, but it really works here. And you effectively use the structure to your advantage, to really the state of grief Ron must be in, in that moment he enters the hospital and realises what condition Hermione is in.

Itís really interesting to see the contrast between the happy couple back then, who certainly had their bad times as well but always got through everything together, and the tragic couple in the present, Hermione fighting for her life and Ron fighting to keep himself together - to stay strong. You use that contrast so well, it not only seems like Ron (or maybe even Hermione on her deathbed) is thinking about the significance the other person has had on their life (by reflecting on the past, showing that Ron and Hermione was just meant to be together forever, and Ron never had a reason to think it wouldnít happen), but also as a way of showing just how much this couple has meant to each other, and just how much Ron is hurting in the present (if this does not make sense, I apologize. Iím still ill, so Iím not sure how understandable everything I write is).

Everything in this story is flawless. I wish I had anything good to say, but I really donít. I just loved it, really. Itís just amazing. Ron is amazing. Hermione is amazing. Them together is amazing. Your writing is amazing. This is just amazing.

Thanks for sharing this story. I loved it, and I definitely see why it was nominated. It really deserved to be. Congratulations on your nomination and good luck in the voting round! And have a wonderful week, Sian! :)

Lots of Love ♥


 Report Review

Review #10, by LadyL8broken, broken: before the Departure.

11th September 2015:
Hi There, Emily.

Iím in the process of reviewing all (or at least as many as I can) dobby noms, and I decided to start with the category ďBest AngstĒ. Iíve read most of the noms, and I vaguely remembered having read the first chapter of this one back in April/May for my anon review spree. But I left so many reviews around then that I didnít actually get to fully read and enjoy the stories, so I had to re-read it now. I might end up saying a little bit of what I said back then, but itís only because I can now read it properly.

Okay, so starting with something Iím sure I mustíve said last time, but it can never be repeated too many times: I love the idea. I can just imagine how painful it must be after the war, knowing that all you did was just to keep you and your family safe, but no one else really sees it that way. Theyíre hurting too, but no one notices. And I definitely feel like itís believable. People tend to forget that there are always two sides to every story, and we only see Harryís. He doesnít like the Slytherins, and his opinion of them are really reflected in the way they are described, but that doesnít mean itís necessarily the objective truth. I always say the same thing about Slytherins as I say about Sansa Stark in Game of Thrones. Theyíre both survivors, they do what they need to do stay alive. Sure theyíre not heroes like Harry, but then again very few people in real life are. The truth is that in the given situation, most of us wouldíve acted like them; most concerned with keeping ourselves and the ones we care about alive, no matter what it involves (some exceptions to this of course).

I think your portrayal of PTSD is really realistic. The nightmares, the panic attacks (Iíve had many of those myself because of social anxiety, so I definitely sympathised with them), mood swings and even self-harm, it was just really painful to see what an impact the war had on their lives. I really sympathised with them, and that is quite a feat considering the books doesnít really paint a nice picture of them, but they just seemed so human, so fragile and lost. And I almost hated the rest of the wizarding world for not realising the pain they were in, that they too are suffering from the war.

I really like Daphne. She seems so strong on the outside, but you can really see how vulnerable she is on the inside. I imagine she feels like she needs to stay strong for the rest of them; she feels like she needs to keep it together because someone has to. But sheís hurting too, just as much as the rest of them.

Iíve added the story to my reading list, because I really want to know what happens next and whether or not Daphne goes to France. I hope sheíll change her mind, because I think she and the others really need her to stay, especially Pansy.

This really is a good story, and my heart is really breaking for these lost teens that are dealing with the aftermath of a war they never wanted to be a part of in the first place.

I wish I could give you a much longer review to show just how much this affected me, but there are so many dobby noms. So Iíll have to try to keep the reviews a little bit shorter than they usually are. I do hope you understand how much I Ė and my friend, Lila Stangard, too Ė like this.

Congrats on your dobby nom, and good luck in the voting round.

And I almost forgot: Have a wonderful weekend!

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #11, by LadyL8Schrodinger's Cat: Anhedonia

10th September 2015:
Hi there, Kevin

Iím trying to read and review as many of the dobby noms. as possible, and decided to start with the category ďBest AngstĒ. And Iíve read and reviewed most of the stories in the category, but for some reason I never actually reviewed yours (Iíve read it, typed out a review, but I guess I mustíve been too tired to post it). So Iím leaving you one now, just so you know how much I love this story.

I really like the idea. One of my best friends likes science and dreams of someday being a scientist, so Iím very familiar with the concept of Schrodingerís Cat (random thing I just have to throw in here, because I thought about it as soon as I saw the title: my friend actually dressed up as Schrodingerís Cat at my Halloween party last year. She was a cat in an actual box. It was really clever). I donít understand it completely, but I find the concept to be very fascinating.

And it was really interesting to see a relationship end so fast. Itís just a simple question, no drama, and itís all it takes for him to realise that he loves her and doesnít love her at the same time. And thereís something so truthful in it, so realistic and honest. We often see dramatic ends to relationship in fiction, but the truth is most relationship ends without much drama. Itís just two people growing apart, two people that stopped loving each other somewhere along the way. And they hold on for a while, they try to convince themselves itíll work out, but in the end it doesnít.

I imagine (and it might be different from what you had in mind, but itís how I see it) Harry deep down knows he doesnít fully love Ginny anymore, but itís the safety of the relationship that makes him convince himself he does. But upon being asked directly about it, he realises that while he loves Ginny, he doesnít really love her (thatís sounds really strange, but hopefully you understand what I mean). He tries to avoid the problem, but when itís being said out loved he realises the truth.

I really like that Harry is describing/telling the story of their relationship to a therapist. We see it from his perspective, his attempts to save the one thing that canít be saved. Their moments become bittersweet, because you can see that in the moments that should be happy, Harry really isnít happy. And he feels always feels very distant, like heís there but not really there (I didnít even realise until right now that, that also fits with Schrodingerís Cat), and itís just the perfect way of describing what it must feel like to fight for a marriage that isnít working anymore.

I really love the style. I think Iíve said this in the other reviews Iíve left you, but Iíll repeat it again just so you still know it: I really like your writing. The best thing about it is really the emotions you convey. I always feel something after Iíve read anything of yours, sometimes itís heartache (like this one), sometimes I cry afterward, and most of the time I just feel like giving one or all of your characters a hug.

Anyway, I always try to come up with some CC, but Iím having a hard time finding anything to comment on. I just really like it the way it is right now, so I actually have no CC to give you. So instead Iím just going to say thanks for sharing the story, cause I really enjoyed reading it. Congratulations on your dobby nom, and good luck in the voting round!

Oh, and I almost forgot; have a very wonderful weekend!

- Lotte

Author's Response: Howdy Lotte! Sorry I'm so late but I finally made it!

That's especially true in your case because when I read this I felt almost universally: "she really 'gets it.' " First with the manner of the relationship ending - it was absolutely crucial to me and to the story that there be no outsized drama that has been unfortunately typical of fiction. That was crucial to me because I feel like it's more true-to-life in a lot of cases, which makes achieving closure and understanding so difficult. And obviously it was crucial to the story because that kind of ending, both sudden and difficult to comprehend, fueled the structure and analogy with Schrodinger's Cat.

Believe it or not you are the first person who seems to have actually picked up on Harry's distance and inability to be happy at every point he tries to salvage things (or at least the first who mentioned it in a review).

Thank you so much for the detailed review and the wonderful comments! I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyL8In Every Stitch: Eight

31st August 2015:
Hi Lizzie.

I've been trying to review all the dobby rec. one-shots, and I figured it was about time I reviewed this one since it's been on my list for a while now. And since the dobby rec. fun ends tonight, I had to sneak this one in as quickly as possible. So if the review is a little short, that's why.

I love this idea. We all know Molly knits sweaters and that some of the kids don't always like them, but we never really get to understand just why these sweaters mean so much to her - why does she make them over and over again? And I felt like you really put that simple action in a different perspective, and I loved the way you described what knitting these meant to her. And it's definitely believable.

I actually got goosebumps towards the end. Molly's sorrow over Harry not getting presents because his parents have passed away, turns into this worry/fear over what would've happened if she had been the one who was passed away. And her unconditional love for her family is so obvious and so beautiful, and I felt as if I could actually feel how much it pained her to here about Harry and how he had not gotten any christmas presents.

But most of all I feel as if I can feel her love for her family and Harry. They mean a lot to her, that much is clear. Every stitch is filled with motherly love, and it so reminds me of my home (only partly cause I'm crazy homesick right now).

My mother actually knits a lot, all the time actually, and when I moved away from home last year she actually knitted dolls of everyone in the family so I could have them with me to my new home in a new city (I live far from where I actually come from, so I don't see my family that often anymore). And I feel like she and Molly is very alike in the way that knitting means more to them than just putting something together - it's a way of showing how much they love their children. So you really got me to miss my mother, but that's okay cause I'm going home this Thursday so I'll see her soon.

What really makes this story one of my favourites (yes, I did favourite it), is the descriptions. It's just so beautifully written, but at the same time you really get across what Molly feels - her unconditional love for her children. And I just loved the idea and your writing as a whole. It's so beautiful and definitely my favourite story of yours. I definitely see why it was recommended, cause it's really good. Good job, Lizzie, and have a wonderful day!

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyL8Beautiful Mess: Beautiful Mess

31st August 2015:
H Frankie.

So I've been trying to finish the last of the reviews from the dobby rec. thread, because the fun's over tomorrow. And I thought it was about time I read this one, because I hadn't done so already, and I was so excited about it because it's been so long since I read something of yours. And I don't even remember the story I read, because it's been that long. But I do remember liking it, so my expectations were high.

And you more than lived up to them. This was such a cute story. As you probably know, short stories very often end up being really angsty, which is fine of course (I have one myself after all), but I just loved reading a short and sweet story. I really liked how you took Katie's challenge and wrote something so completely adorable. The story just brought the biggest smile to my face, and it reminded me so much of home (partly because I miss it like crazy right now).

I actually come from a big family, and it would not be surprising if what happened in this story had happened in our house. And mum would react exactly like Ginny does in this story, with a smile despite the mess, because she can't really be mad at any of us for very long. And I definitely found it to be believable that Ginny would be like that too.

I loved that this was just a story about family. There's so few stories that focus entirely on that, and I feel like that's a shame. It should be more, because family is such an important part of our lives. And I loved seeing the Potter family, and Ginny as a parent. And I'm glad you didn't make her just like her mother, because I don't think she would be. Some similarities, yes, but not completely like her.

And the scene in the bed is just so adorable. I just loved the whole thing really, which is why I'm struggling to come up with something to say right now. But I have to mention your descriptions. I liked how you used them to build up the story, like for example the footprints in the flour, and her following them and imagining what went on while she was away. And that it's so obvious the whole time that she sees the fun in it, she almost wishes she was there to see it herself, at least that's how I see it.

It's just a really good story, and I definitly understand why it's been recommended. I loved reading it, and it kind of made me miss home more, but that's okay. It just means you really captured the feeling of home and family. Good job, Frankie, and have a wonderful day!

Lots of Love


Author's Response: Lotte,

This is the nicest, most thought out review I have ever gotten. It seriously warmed my heart! I am so sorry that it made you miss home but I am glad it pulled on your heart strings. I really like Ginny as a mom, I think she would have rocked it, and I think she is a bitter sweeter and more forgiving then people make her out to be.

This review really has made me all kinds of happy. I lam exteremely honored it was so thought out.


 Report Review

Review #14, by LadyL8Firewhiskey: Chapter 1

22nd August 2015:
Hello Kaitlin,

Iím trying to review all the dobby rec. fics and that led me right here to read yours. Iíve actually wanted to read it for a while, but I never got around to it cause Uniís been so stressful lately. But Iím excited to finally get to read it, cause it looks really good. And such an interesting couple as well, not at all two people you would think about putting together, so Iím excited to see how youíve done this/solved it.

Wow. This was so painful to read. Poor Charlie. Heís really struggling with the war, with everything he lost and everything he wishes he couldíve done differently. It was really painful to see how much it affected him, but so believable. Iíve been lucky enough to never be in a war myself, but I can only imagine how it affects a human being. I donít think thatís something you can really fully recover from, because youíve seen and maybe even done stuff that just changes you forever. And your portrayal of that feeling of loss, of regret and pain is so realistic if you ask me.

This was such was an original idea. I love that Poppy and Charlie bonded over his grief and her caring of him. Itís definitely believable that she would in my opinion. The whole thing is very awkward of course, because she is like god-knows-how-much older than him (but that doesnít necessarily means they couldnít be together though, cause thereís quite an age difference between my dad and his girlfriend as well). But more importantly because she was the school nurse/matron back when he was a student as well, which really makes it impossible not be awkward.

However, I think thereís something really beautiful there as well. I mean grief can change everything around, best friends becomes enemies and the other way around, familyís splits up, two people youíd never thought would bond can suddenly bond. Look at my auntís family for example. After her motherís death the entire family argued with each other about who was to blame for it, and since then no oneís really spoken to each other. And the way she looks after him, the way she understands him Ė itís really beautiful. I canít really see them as being a long-lasting thing, but I just love what they have.

This is really well written. Pairing two characters that never really interact much in the books is risky, because itís important that it doesnít come across as just two random people put together. You have to make it seem believable, to find a way they could possibly be involved. And you really did, Kaitlin. I love your style, your descriptions and characterisation. I definitely see why this story was recommended cause itís really good. Thanks for sharing.

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #15, by LadyL8Invisible in Death: Ghostly Day

22nd August 2015:
Hi (for the last time for now) Rose *waves*


So Iíve been looking forward to reading this story since I began reviewing for the baby shower, because I canít remember having ever read a story about Myrtle. I mightíve read one, but I donít remember it, so Iíll be thinking of this one as my first. And Iím so excited to finally read something about her, and her life or her death. And it looks so good, so my expectations are high, but I know you wonít let me down cause you havenít in the other 9 stories of yours Iíve read today.

Wow. This is so good. I love how your characterised Myrtle. I sympathise with her, but at the same time I definitely see her bad traits like how she blames Hagrid, when he was just as much a victim as her. You can see hints of her intelligence, which is very believable considering sheís in Ravenclaw, and I definitely saw her differently, in another light. Iíve always found her to be very whiny, but then again who wouldnít be when you were teased most of your life, youíve been murdered at such a young age and forced to see the people who made your life miserable go on. Iím not sure if I had been much better in her situation myself, cause she did have a tough life. She deserved better.

I love that you got Hagrid into the story as well. He too is someone who was teased for being different, and I found it to be very believable that Olive (or any of the other bullies) would try to ďpair them togetherĒ for laughs. Bullying is such a sensitive topic for me, because I was bullied myself and I feel like that made me relate to Myrtle even more. And the many situations she got herself in; I could probably have gotten myself in the same situations, but thank God I never did. Poor, poor Myrtle.

I like the structure, the pacing and especially the characterisation. The story is just so good, and I am never going to look at Myrtle the same way again. Itís almost like you in a way justified her bad traits, because you can really see where sheís coming from. And I just really liked it. Definitely one my favourites. Thanks for writing.

So since this is the last review, I have to say (for the last time) happy baby shower. I hope you liked the reviews and the other gifts youíve gotten, and best of wishes to you and your husband and your Baby Curls. I really want to thank for all you have and will do for this site. It would not be the same without you, and weíre all so, so grateful for you and all you do. Baby Curls is one lucky baby cause he or she has you as a mum, and I honestly canít wait to hear all about your little one and your life as a mother (preferably with some pictures, but I totally get it if you donít feel comfortably sharing those).

Hope you have had a wonderful day!

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #16, by LadyL8Don't Mean a Thing: Not the One to Stay Around

22nd August 2015:
Hello Again, Rose.


First of all, ouch. That was one painful ending. I mean I love Sirius, but I guess I can see him doing this. Lily was a beautiful girl, and lots of sixteen-year-old guys would not care if their friend liked the girl. They just what they want, go for her if she was what they wanted and not cared too much about the friendship. Unfortunately that is the case for at least a lot of the guys that went to my high school Ė they did not care too much about their friendship, and pretty much did what they wanted with whom they wanted. And they were loved for it, which is so sad honestly. You should not be applauded for being a womanizer, thatís not something to be proud of, but unfortunately many of them were proud of it.

I felt so sorry for Lily. She was so used, and she didnít really see it until the end. He didnít care about her, and I can just imagine how painful it mustíve been for Lily to realise that. I donít really like that he breaks it off with her so she can date his best friends, because I donít really think he has any say in that. She decides who she wants to date, not him. Iíve had so many cases like that in real life with my friends, and it really makes me mad because you canít make a decision for someone else. One of my friends actually broke it off with her boyfriend because she thought it would be better for him to be with is ex, and I kept telling her that it is okay to break it off if you donít like him, but donít break it off so he can be with his ex, cause he decides that and not you.

But anyway, I see why you wrote it that way, because itís very believable. You really see in the books that Sirius cares a great deal about James, their friendship is real and Sirius loved him like a brother. So I feel like itís believable that he would break it off for Jamesí sake, and you actually made me really hated my favourite character in this story. So creds to you for managing to do that (heís still my favourite character, though)

Thanks again for another amazing story. Now to one more review, and then Iíll have to finish for now. Hope you like the reviews youíve gotten so far, and happy baby showers.

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #17, by LadyL8Until the End: Together

22nd August 2015:
Hello Rose.


So I canít believe I never read this story. Where in the world was I when the 2014 HC was going on? I shouldíve read this, and I donít know why I never did. But better late than never, right?

I love the Prewett brothers, and I always love reading stories about them. But thereís not really that many stories to choose between, and thatís sad cause I think theyíre really interesting characters. But I feel like people that do write about them tend to make them too much like Fred and George. But I donít feel like you did. Theyíre alike sure, but you can still see some differences there. And I loved that, because all twins arenít necessarily the same, you know. And they werenít here; there were some small differences.

Iíve always liked the relationship them and their sister. Molly called her twin Fred and George, thus using the same first letter as the name of her twin brothers. So I feel like she mustíve been really close to them, loved them a lot. And she mustíve taken their deaths hard, but thereís not nearly enough fanfics about it. I enjoyed them using magic against her, and the way she reacted to it. Sheís adorable, and you can see that while her brothers might annoy her, she also loves them a lot. And they love her enough to willingly fight the death eaters to keep her safe, and thatís says a lot about their relationship.

I love the ending. Itís great to see them together till the actual end, death. Iím not a twin, but Iíve always believed the bond between twins is special. Itís even stronger than the relationship you have other siblings, like stronger than the close one I have my three sisters. And I canít imagine how it must feel like if you lose your twin and have to carry on living alone, so Iím happy in a way that they died together. But sad at the same time, of course.

Now, I love you told the story. I quickly fell in love with the twins and their close bond, and I just liked seeing them gradually get older but still staying together until the end.

So yeah, good job!

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #18, by LadyL8Road to Joy: Startling Discovery

22nd August 2015:
Hi again, Rose,


So this was a sweeter story, I guess. At least compared to the one I just read, and that pleasantly surprised me. I like Brandon and Cora, and itís so cute to see them together. And I havenít actually read anything with these two characters before, but I really like them. So I hope I might see more of them in any of your other stories.

Okay, so this is going to be a little bit of a shorter review, and I hope you can forgive me for that. Iím just starting to get tired, cause itís been such a long week. And Iíve had no free time whatsoever until yesterday, so these reviews have been left in a very short time, and Iím not usually that good at leaving a lot of reviews.

But anyway. I love Brandon, and the way you described his feelings for Cora. He really loves his daughter, even though he just found out about her. And Brandon and Albus are in there as well, and I really like the two of them together. So this story was really good for me. It cheered me up a little after all the sad stories of yours Iíve read, and itís just really beautiful. Good job!

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #19, by LadyL8Dull Ache: Oblivion

22nd August 2015:
Hi Rose.

So this story is very personal to you, I know. I actually remember the tweet about your baby, and it really broke my heart. Itís definitely part of the reason why Iím so happy you are now going to be a mum, cause everyone that wants to be parents and that can and will give a child a good home should be allowed to be parents. And I know youíll be an amazing mum, and I canít wait to hear all about it.

This story is so heartbreaking that it actually took me a while to come up with a review for it. You really convey her emotions, the sadness, confusion and desperation. And it really touched my heart, because itís very close to me personally. My sister has been trying to get pregnant for over 10 years, but sheís been having many issues with it. And sheís now taking hormone pills to help her higher the odds of getting pregnant. And she was actually pregnant last year and so happy about it, but she lost her child a few weeks later. And she closed herself off a lot, and it broke my heart to see her like that. But now theyíre trying again, and I really hope she will eventually get to be a mum, because I know sheíd be an amazing.

Itís also close to my heart because Iíve always known I want to be a mum, but I have a blood type that makes the chances of me having problems in a pregnancy much higher. But fortunately theyíd advanced a lot when it comes to medicine, so the chances have been reduced a lot. So hopefully everything will work out for me when or if I get pregnant sometime in the future.

But anyway, I love how you wrote this. Itís an amazing story, and I felt really sorry for Andromeda. It was just incredibly moving to read, but it really broke my heart. I feel like this is the best place to end it, so Iím just going to do that. Thanks for sharing the story.

Lots of Love


(P.S did I mention how brave I find you to be for daring to be so personal, to write about something so close to you. I would never have the courage to do that, so you're definitely braver than I am)

 Report Review

Review #20, by LadyL8(Sometimes) Love: Just Ain't Enough

22nd August 2015:
Hi again, Rose.



You know they warned me you like to make people cry, but this was too much. Iím a mess, Iím a sobbing, heartbroken mess, who very happy itís her BFís fresherís week so she has the apartment to herself, cause this is not a good sight I can tell you. Iím devastated, broken and a little lost, because you write sad stories too well. And to end it like thatÖ Iím going to be thinking about it for weeks. WEEKS!

I like/hate that theyíre arguing in the beginning. I was worried sheíd leave him with those words, that sheíd never get to tell him something better. But of course she went after him, she had to after all, but did they have to die right after seeing each other?! OMG. So sad. Crying. Tears canít stop falling (Iím very emotional, I should probably have warned you).

But such a good story. You write so well, and Iím so envious of you. Canít I just take your talent for story writing and numbers, because I really need it and youíre sooo good already. God, your kid is going to be a math genius and a famous writer for sure. How can he/she not with you as a parent?

I donít even know what to say anymore. This is just too much for me. So Iíll just say Happy Baby shower once again, and leave it with that.

Lots of Love


(P.S Really hoping for something happier in the next story)
(P.S.S I'm not really that mad at you, cause the story is after all really good. And I can never hate a good story or a talented author)

 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyL8You Don't Own Me: Don't

22nd August 2015:
Hello Rose.

HAPPY BABY SHOWER! (yes, I am going to write that in every review :P)

So this is the pre-story to the newer one where Scorpius is trying to recover from the abuse. It was actually pretty interesting (bad choice of words, but hopefully you get what I mean) to read it in this order, because you first the damage that had been done to him/the aftermath of the relationship, before you saw the actual relationship itself. And I feel so sorry for Scorpius who had to go through something like that, but Iím glad he found the courage to ask for help.

Corbin really seems possessive and violent, and I hated him from the first time I saw his name. The sad thing about abusive husbands (or sometimes wives) is that they actually think theyíre doing whatís best for their partner Ė theyíre doing it out of love, they say. And itís sick and twisted cause thereís no love in what they do, and to see in this story just how much it affects a human being was really painful to read.

My heart bleeds for Scorpius. It was such a messed up and twisted relationship, and he deserves so much more than that. It was great to see his friends stand up for him, helping him move out. They say you find out who youíre real friends are in times of need, and that is very true. Albus and Rose are really good friends, and Iím sure theyíll do everything they can to make Scorpius heal from all the damage. But then again do you really fully heal from something like that? Iíve been, like I said in an earlier review, fortunate enough to never have been in an abusive relationship, so I donít know. But I know I still remember being bullied and I still have problems with depression and other issues, and I feel like an abusive relationshipís got to be even worse. So I donít imagine he could ever really recover, but heíll slowly start getting a little bit better. But itíll always be there, I think.

Enough thoughts from me for now. Thanks for another good story.

Lots of Love


(P.S I think I'm getting a little bit better at not rambling, but I'm not sure. Hope you don't find it really annoying)

 Report Review

Review #22, by LadyL8Too Sexy: For My Love

22nd August 2015:
Hi once again, Rose.

HAPPY BABY SHOWER! Now this story looks so interesting, mostly cause I remember you saying youíd write this, but I donít know where I remember you said it (was it on twitter maybe?). But the song fits so well with the guys, so I look forward to seeing how youíve combined the two. And how youíve solved the time-issue, since the song was technically not created when James and Sirius was young. But Iím sure youíve found a logical explanation for it, and I canít wait to find out what it is.

Okay, so first of all I love the summary. Itís entertaining, and it gives a feel of what type of story this is. And OMG. Do I love the story?! YES, I DO. The perfect story to go to after you broke my heart with Wolfstar story. But how in the world can you make me cry and then laugh all in like 10 minutes?! Youíre really good, really, really, really good. Iím going to have to read more of yours from now on, cause Iíve obviously been missing out on great stuff. So expect me here sometime when life calms down again, but first Iíll have to finish the baby shower ones.

I can so imagine James and Sirius doing this, and itís a pretty hilarious mental imagine you gave me right there. I love how their friends respond, cause Iíd hide, watch and laugh myself if I had come across them dancing like that. OMG. The mental images. Iím dying of laughter here. Definitely the story to read when you need to be cheered up, cause it definitely makes you feel better. Iíll have to add it to my reading list, so I can come back to it later when Iím feeling blue.

I had an exam like two weeks ago, so I can totally relate to how boring it is to study, especially when you get two weeks free from Uni to prepare for it. Itís so boring to spend day in and out just reading stuff, and Iíd totally love to dance myself (but Iím a pretty horrible dancer, so Iím going to save everyone from having to see that image).

But yeah, this was so funny. Thanks for sharing, and Iím so happy I got a happy story to make me feel better after that last story of yours. It killed me, but this fixed it. Still laughing. Too funny.

Once again, happy baby shower! And congrats on Baby Curls.

Lots of Love


 Report Review

Review #23, by LadyL8Morningstar: Watching You Fall

22nd August 2015:
Hi again, Rose.

HAPPY BABY SHOWER! Iíll try to ramble less in this review, but I canít make any promises. Especially since itís Wolfstar, whom I happen to love very much. But Iím getting a feeling this is a sad story, so Iím well prepared to have my heart broken once again by yours sad, sad words.

Yes, I was right. And what in the world have done you done to me, Rose? Iím crying here, like actually crying. Tears are literarily falling from my eyes as Iím typing this, because this story is too sad for me to handle. Poor Sirius. He didnít deserve that, he deserved love, but Remus doesnít love him anymore. And to end it like that, thatís just cruel, Rose, very cruel. Sirius should not have died like that, without Remus paying any attention to him at all. He deserved better, he really did.

And this was just painful to read. Poor Sirius how loved he a guy who didnít love him anymore, and despite loving him, he actually does his best to keep Tonks and Remus together. Thatís true love right there. They always that if you truly love someone, let him or her go cause if youíre meant to be together theyíll come back to you. And that loving someone means putting their happiness before your own, and Sirius really does. But he had deserved a happy ending, but I suppose itís realistic, cause in real life people donít always get a happy ending. Sometimes things you end badly, so I guess why you did it even if you broke my heart.

Iím too sad to say much more, so Iíll have to end it here so I can go look for the pieces of my broken heart. And try my tears, cause Iím still crying. What have you done to me? Iím going to have the biggest headache later today, cause I always get one when I cry. God, why did you do this to me? *sobs uncontrollably*

But anyway. Happy baby shower, once again, and thanks for sharing this sad, sad story with us, even if it really broke my heart. You really are a good writer, Rose, thereís no doubt about that. Good luck with Baby Curls and your new family.

Lots of Love


(now excuse me while I go pick up the pieces of my broken heart)

 Report Review

Review #24, by LadyL8Winding Road: Finding Home

22nd August 2015:
Hi Rose.

HAPPY BABY SHOWER! Now, Iím a little ashamed to say I havenít actually read much of yours, but this finally gives me the chance to do so. And itís my gift to you, because you deserve my gifts and many more. I hope you have a wonderful time with Baby Curls, and I look forward to hearing all about it on twitter and on the forums. Best of wishes to you and Mr Curls, and congrats on your new family.

But over to the story, cause me reviewing it is after all my gift to you. I love the beginning. It captured me right away, and I love the description and the fact that itís in italics. Itís just perfect, and it makes me excited to read the rest of it. Iím thinking itís a relationship gone wrong, but I could way off (if you didnít get it already, Iím reviewing this as Iím reading, so I donít actually know what happens next when Iím typing this).

So I was right, but itís about an abusive relationship. Thatís horrible, and I already feel really sorry for Scorpius. I have to applaud you, though, for daring to take on such a difficult theme. It takes a lot of bravery, but itís so important to do. I donít how it is in other countries, but abuse is sort of a taboo theme here in Norway. People donít speak about it; you donít see much of it in the news or in works of fiction. And I hate when things end up being like that, because it makes it seem like something you should be ashamed of. And you should never be ashamed of being abused, cause youíre the victim and daring to admit you need help is never shameful. Itís just brave. And thatís why I really appreciate it when people take on themes like that, because itís only when we speak about the problem, we can help people that are in it.

But enough chitchat from me. I should probably have warned you; I ramble a lot. As in A LOT, pretty sure Iíve broken some sort of world record for it, really, if that exists of course. See, now Iím even rambling about rambling. Thatís it. Iím going to stop talking, and just read more of the story!

You know, Iíve never liked math or numbers, and I never really understood people that do. I feel like you might Ė and I could way off Ė be telling us, through Scorpius, why people can love numbers like you do. For me, I always need to read books when Iím sad or heartbroken; I can only find comfort through getting lost other, fictional peopleís lives, especially if they too have a lot of issues to handle. So I feel like I can relate to it, and that I better understand what numbers can mean to people now, and what they might mean to you (because I know you love numbers and statistics).

Wow. This is so heartbreaking. Heís clearly in pain, but you can also see that heís slowly healing as he spends more time away from Corbin. And I love that his parents have different ways of reacting to his pain, and I especially loved that Draco was fighting for the domestic abuse law to be better. And was even willing to meet with someone he doesnít actually like, all because he loves his son. In fanfics people tend to paint this bad pictures of Draco as parent (at least in some fanfics Iíve read), and I hate that. I donít think Dracoís a bad father at all, I always believed him to be sort of like my own father. Heís not a very emotional man, but I still know he loves me very much. He just shows a little bit different than some other people might. And I feel like thatís Draco too, and you portrayed him really well. He was believable.

This is just such a powerful story. And to think itís just one moment in his road to recovery. You have such a realistic portrayal of abuse in my opinion, though it should be said Iíve been lucky enough never to be an abusive relationship myself. You have paranoia in there, insomnia and nightmares. And you can really see Scorpius struggling to contain his own fear, because he really does want to get better. That much is clear.

So yeah, I loved it. Once again, Happy baby shower. And I hope this is readable and that my rambling isnít too much for you. Iím trying to make myself stop, but itís become a nasty habit of mine.

Hope you like all your gifts, and congrats again on your little one.

Lots of Love


(And again, I'm so, so sorry for the rambling. I'll try to be better in the next reviews)

 Report Review

Review #25, by LadyL8Serenity: Serenity

21st August 2015:
Hi Laura.

Wow. That's the first thing I just have to say to you. I came here because I saw the story in the dobby recs. thread, and I can totally see why it was recommended. This is so tragically beautiful, so wonderfully written. It broke my heart, you broke my heart Laura! And this is just so amazing I'm not even sure I can find the right word to convey it, but I'll definitely try cause you deserve many, MANY more reviews.

I love how you characterised Padma and her struggles with accepting herself, her confusion, desperation and her sadness. In high school I was actually really confused about myself and my sexuality, but eventually I came to realise I'm aromantic. You see when you're never been romantically interested in anyone, you kind of start question whether you like girls or boys or both. And I've just reached the conclusion that I don't care. But this story really brough back memories of what it felt back then, when I questioned myself and who I was. It's painful, and I wouldn't wish it on anyone really.

I love the different parts. It's interesting to see it develope from something as simple as a kiss between two friends to practice, until it eventually ends up being a secret/private relationship. Padma can't really seem to accept herself, and it's must be especially tough because she battles the more traditional views of Indian culture - the pressures of finding yourself a future husband. And I really sympathise with her, and I can see where she's coming from and why she does chose to do what she does in the end. She's just lost between who she is and who she thinks she should be, and it's really sad to watch.

The scene with the boys breaks my heart. It's sad to think about the homophobia we still face in the world, even if it has gotten much better than it once was. This story, however, is set around 1997-1998, which obviously would mean that homophobia would be a bigger problem than it is today. But even now we still have a way to go. And I don't know how it is in other countries, but you can still face bullying and prejudicsm and other bad stuff here in Norway, even though we've had legalised same-sex marriages for like almost 8 years. The problem is biggest with teens, though, which is sad because most people realise who they are in their teens.

Anyway, there's something so beautiful about the style of this story. You know from previous reviews from me that I love your writing. It's out of this world, really. You're so talented, so amazing that I honestly don't how to say it in words. I don't think there are words for it, and what you did with this story... I'm so in love with it. There's a beautiful development of a relationship as well as Padma's gradual realisation of who she is, and her trying to accept that. You have such a beautiful language, amazing imagery and the story is just captivating, fascinating, interesting, lovely, indescribably good. Like every good adjective you can find really.

And I have to applaud you for the diversity. I know it was for the diversity challenge, but I'm still applauding you. I love to see different cultures, ethnicities, sexualities, religions etc. I don't think we mean to do it, but we tend to make most of the characters in our stories (I said "we", because I need to get better at it too) caucasian, British, straight and Christian (if they have a stated religion). And while that is good too, we do need to see more people from different places, different ethinicities and religions etc. Because magical people are found all over the world, not just in Britain

Now finishing this review I have to once again say that I LOVE this story. It's so stylistically perfect, so beautifully written, but tragic and heartbreaking at the same time. I can't even come up with one critical thing to say, cause it's that good. This is just flawless, perfection. I'll definitely favourite it, and I'm so glad someone recommended it so I got to read it, cause everyone really should read this. Thanks for sharing the story.

Lots of Love


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>