Reading Reviews From Member: LadyL8
  
226 Reviews Found

Review #1, by LadyL8The Letter That Never Came: The Letter That Never Came

9th July 2014:
Hi There.

First I just have to say that I love the idea. How in the world did you come up with this? I don't think I've ever read a story about Arabella before, and I know I've never one about her 11th birthday and how she never got her letter. So this was definitely an original story, and I really liked it.

I love how you constructed this story. It started with this lovely paragraph with description, that made me imagine the day in my head. And then you start by creating this light mood, the feeling that the day will be the best one in Arabella's life. And then the closer you get to the ending, the worse the day gets. And then it ends with her just coming to the realization that she won't get a letter, that she a squib.

And I really like that development. Because by starting like you do, you make me hope with all my heart that she'll get her letter, even though I know she won't. And then when it doesn't come, my heart just aches for poor Arabella, who's dreams were just shattered. And I just really want to give her a hug and tell her everything will be okay, because I feel so sorry for her.

So as I'm sure you've gathered, I really love the story. You're very talented!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #2, by LadyL8Knowing: true or not

9th July 2014:
Hello There.

I loved your banner and summary. They instantly made me want to read this story, and I'm so glad I did. It was heartbreaking, but so well-written.

I've always loved the marauders in their youth, probably because I imagine them being the kind of group that everyone would want to be a part of, the popular group. And while my favourite character will always be Sirius, I've had a soft spot for Remus since I read Prisoner of Azkaban. I think he's definitely had a hard time growing up, having to hide a part of himself from everyone, always fearing they'll find out and hate him. So I imagine him being happy when his friends did find out, but didn't care about it. But I also believe - like in this story- that he'd be even happier when Lily didn't hate him for it, because it's one thing to have your friends accept you but another to have someone you never talk to say they don't care about it. So I think your portrayal of Remus in this story, is exactly like I imagine him being when he was younger.

And I really felt sorry for him, for loving someone he could never have, and not being able to say anything about those feelings because it would mean losing his best friend. So my heart really ached for him, and I just wanted to go into your story and give him a warm hug.

Anyway. As you've probably guessed by now, I really liked it. You're a good writer!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #3, by LadyL8The First Time I Ever Saw Your Face: Teddy Loves Victorie

9th July 2014:
Hi There.

Can I just start by saying how much I love your banner and chapter image? They're so stunning. And I loved your summary as well. I was looking for stories to review for the house cup, and I just knew that I had to read this one the second I saw it. Maybe because it was a Teddy/Victoire fic, and I love them. But whatever the reason, I'm glad I did read it. It was so sweet, so beautiful.

I liked how Teddy and Victoire used to be really close, then drifted apart when they started at Hogwarts. I think that's very believable, especially since they're not the same age and not in the same house. And I also loved how he just instantly fell in love with her or at least liked her a lot on her sixteenth birthday, and that's when he really started noticing her.

I also liked that Harry and Ron found the whole thing very amusing. Like they should be laughing. They weren't exactly good with the girls themselves :P

But yeah, I really liked the story. I think it was beautifully written, and you're definitely talented.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #4, by LadyL8The Death of a Woman: The Birth of a Phoenix

9th July 2014:
Hi There.

I'm reviewing for the House Cup, and I thought your story looked so interesting. And it was. Wow. I don't think I've ever read anything like it. It was so original, so chilling and I absolutely loved it.

I really like the idea to combine facts with fiction. We know that people were burned for being witches, but it happened so long ago that it doesn't really effect us much. But by combining it with fiction, and especially a relatively new fictional world like Harry Potter, you really see it differently and it effects you more. And I think it's easier to really understand what they did, when you see it in a world you know and love like Harry Potter.

You're really good at imagery. I could imagine it all happening in my head, because your description is so good. The flow was good and I didn't notice any grammar mistakes.

And I just have to say; I loved how you ended it. With her being reborn sort of, just like a phoenix - rising from the ashes. It's was a perfect way to end it.

So as you've probably guessed, I really, really liked it. You're very talented!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #5, by LadyL8Frozen Doll: Broken Doll

8th July 2014:
Hello There.

Wow. I'm reviewing for the house cup, and I just had to check out this story after reading the summary. And I have to say; this was certainly different from anything I've ever read. And I can't believe Padma died. Poor girl.

I really liked this story for many different reasons. Your description being the main one. You describe Padma so well, that I could see her in my head - lying dead on the ground with owls pecking on her (not the best mental image, but it did have an effect on me). And I just really wanted to know who did this to her.

What I also liked is how angry I felt at all the people who walked by, because I was really furious when I read that. Why would people do that to Padma, was the only thing I thought. And the fact that you got a so strong reaction out of me, just says a lot about how good at writer you are. Because that's hard to get out of reader.

So I could probably talk forever about your story. Like for example about how much I love that last line "a beautiful doll, forever frozen in that state". That's just such a powerful image your creating there, by comparing her to a beautiful frozen doll. And I really liked that it was the last line of the story too. And I like that you never did reveal what happened to Padma and who killed her, although it did make me feel slightly frustrated, as I hate not having the answer to something. But I think it was great, because it kind of showed how cruel people can be. And that cruelty comes in different forms: the people/the person who killed is obviously cruel for doing that, but the people who did nothing to help are just as cruel in my opinion - well, not quite as cruel as the killer, but still very cruel. In my opinion, ignoring a crime just makes you as guilty as the killer.

But anyway, it was a good story. I really liked it!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #6, by LadyL8Happy Valentines Day: Happy Valentines Day

8th July 2014:
Hello There.

Wow. Here I am trying to leave reviews for the house cup, and then I come across this story. This was heartbreaking!

I love how hurt and bitter Ginny sounds. You can tell she's hurt by the fact that they are not together, especially since it's Valentines day. But you can also hear how bitter and angry she is at fate and the world for forcing them to split, to be separated on Valentines day. And I think it's just great to see that side of Ginny, a girl who seems so composed and tough. But underneath it all she's a sad and heartbroken girl, who really misses her boyfriend, her love. And in my opinion, it's a very believable story and I really liked it.

I like how you constructed it as well, like the fact that you didn't reveal which day it was until the very last line. I liked that, because that lone line changed how you viewed the story. Because when you know it's Valentines day, it just makes the story sadder. Oh and by the way, loved the opening line! It really got me hooked

But anyway. I loved it. It was really great.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #7, by LadyL8Enemies with Benefits : Lies and Found Out

8th July 2014:
Aww. This was so sweet.

I loved this chapter, because you once again have a wonderful dialog. It just feels so real. And you've also managed to create so good characters, and you stay true to them. I love that.

I love how angry Dessie is when they think she's the one that's pregnant. She just lashes out at Fred, sending curses and it was so hilarious. But although she does seem to hate him, you see that she loves him too or at least lusts for him. Like when he's shirtless and she can't stop staring. You can see really do want him, and sooner or later it will be love... I hope. I really like this couple, so Dessie needs to hurry up and admit her feelings!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #8, by LadyL8Enemies with Benefits : Interesting News

8th July 2014:
Hi There.

OMG. Heidi is pregnant?! That was certainly a way to start a chapter. I never fell out of my chair when I read that first sentence. And then when Roxy suggested it was food, it just died of laughter. But Dessie's going to be an auntie. That's sweet, although I can't really imagine her being an aunt.

And that letter she sent. She's being so nice to him, isn't she? :P

Another great chapter. I'm seriously in love with this story.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #9, by LadyL8Enemies with Benefits : The Rules

8th July 2014:
Hi There.

I'm loving this chapter. But why can't Fred and Dessie just get along? Why can't they just be in a relationship? Okay, I know that would mean the story was over, but still... I'm falling for this ship. They are so cute together, and they have the funniest conversations.

I loved that she wants to make ground rules, but I have feeling they won't be following them. And of course, they do need to be together for real at some point.

I think Roxy might be a little suspicious. I think she knows somethings going on in Dessie's life, but I don't know if she's figured out it's with her brother yet. Probably not.

Another great chapter. Loved it! :)

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #10, by LadyL8Enemies with Benefits : Enemies With Benefits?

8th July 2014:
Hi. It' me again.

Haha. Dessie and Fred are so funny. I loved that scene when she repeats his words. Hilarious. God, I'm still laughing at it. I suddenly remembered why this is without a doubt my favourite story. But what has Dessie gotten herself into now? Enemies with Benefits. This will surely end badly. But at least that means more Fred and Dessie, and I'm already shipping them so...

I'm so jealous of your dialogs. Why are you so good at writing them? I always struggle with dialogs, because it always sounds so fake. But yours are so good. Can you teach me? *puppy eyes*

But seriously, I love this story. 10/10.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #11, by LadyL8Enemies with Benefits : Mistake Number Two

8th July 2014:
OMG. Now she's done it. She should not have said that. She should not have said she had snogged someone. Okay, I've read it before so I do know how it ends, but still... that was a bad movie. A really bad move. But I guess I would've done the same if my friends were teasing me about not having snogged someone for a long time when everyone else had. So I see her point, but still... a bad, bad move.

I'm so in love with this story. I love Dessie. She's so spunky, and she's got the coolest attitude. Sort of wish I was like her, actually. But she needs to realize that she and Fred should be together. But then again, if she does the story will be over, so she can actually just take her time.

God, I'm rambling. What I'm trying to say, though, is that I loved it.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #12, by LadyL8Damn U:

8th July 2014:
Hi There.

Wow. That was definitely intense, but I really liked it.

I liked that they were really hostile in the beginning, but then suddenly their feelings take over and they just ends up kissing. And you can really see Draco trying to fight - to fight his feelings for Hermione. And then you see him softening, and when she starts bleeding he just looks so concerned. It was really sweet actually. Being a hopeless romantic, I can't help but "aww" at them. Draco really cares about her, even if he won't admit it.

So I really liked it. The only thing I'd comment on is the color of the font. It's a bit light, and it makes it hard to read the chapter. I'd advice you to change, cause the story is really good and it deserves to be read.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review & Educational Decree #3

 Report Review

Review #13, by LadyL8Laughter of a Killer: Laughter of a Killer

8th July 2014:
Hi There.

I'm reading and reviewing for the House Cup, and then I came across your story. And it looked so interesting. And it was.

First I just have to ask; Are you also norwegian? If so you're the only other norwegian I've met here. We're not really the biggest fanfiction-writers, it will seem. But I'm glad to finally meet a fellow norwegian.

And then over to the story. I really liked it. Lily is one of my favourite characters, and it was so interesting to see her on her very last day. I love how she admits to how miserable they are, and that people don't know this because nobody speaks ill of the death. I think it's great that you show that they're not just the perfect smiling and happy family, but that they too had a hard time because of the war, and they weren't happy about being imprisoned in their own home. So I really loved that.

I also love that she admits she probably wouldn't have survived without James. I've always seen Lily as a tough and independent girl, so I think it just says a lot about their situation and how miserable she is since she does admit she needs him and depends on him.

It was so beautiful and little heartbreaking. Great to see that Norway has some good writers and HP fans. I really liked it!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #14, by LadyL8Till the End of Time: Forever and Always

8th July 2014:
Hello There.

I saw your banner and summary while I was looking for stories to review for the house cup, and I immediately knew I wanted to read it. And I'm glad I did. It was good.

I really liked your descriptions, especially in the first paragraph. You're good at creating images, and I imagine the whole thing in my head - Daphne in tears as she's saying goodbye to Draco before the death eaters come. And it was truly heartbreaking. I felt so sorry for her, and angry at the death eaters who forced her to have to experienced such heartbreak. And I think that alone says a lot about how good you are at writing.

I especially liked this line; "I will miss you too. You are the only light in the darkness of my life. I don't what I would've done without you". Oh my feels... as the hopeless romantic I am, that line just made me go "aww". Daphne sure is a lucky girl. But I noticed you missed a word in there. I think it should say; "I don't KNOW what I would've done...". But the line is still beautiful, so it's nothing big.

I noticed another tiny little mistake; "I would still love me just as much as I do now when the deed was done". I think the first "I" should be "He". But other then these two small mistakes, everything was good.

I really liked the story, and you're a really good writer.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #15, by LadyL8Missing You: Missing You

8th July 2014:
Hello There!

I was reviewing for the House Cup when I saw your story, and knew I had to read it because I have lost people in my life as well. And I'm glad I did read it, because it was really good.

I like the idea. We know from the books that Cedric's death was hard for Cho, and I can totally imagine her breaking down in front of his grave. I think she really loved him, and it was hard for her since she also liked Harry and he was with Cedric when he died. So I can imagine her feeling very conflicted, but I definitely think she loved and missed Cedric with all her heart.

I love this part; "She had always thought of graveyards as the most depressing places to be. Fields of green stretched as far as the eyes could see, grey dots staining the view, and it was all so terrible sad. Every grey dot was a gravestone; every gravestone told of a death", because it's so true. Having lost both my grandfathers and a friend from my acting class, I've been to many graveyards, and it's just so depressing. You can't help feeling sad - thinking how meaningless death is and how short life can be. So I definitely relate to Cho in this story. And I can't help but feel sorry for her, and that says a lot about how good a writer you are, because I don't like Cho in books.

So to sum up, I loved the story!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #16, by LadyL8Limbo: One Shot.

8th July 2014:
Hi There.

Wow. This was certainly a strange and uncommon pairing. I wasn't sure I was going to like it since I ship Harry/Ginny, but I did. It was really good. I was pleasantly surprised!

I liked your description. You managed to create a thick tension between Harry and Pansy, and you could really see how much they wanted each other. But neither of them were willing to give in to their wants.

To me, It really seems like this was more of an physical attracting than love, and I can't really imagine them being in romantic relationship. So I really think it's pure lust, a physical attraction to each other. And you described it so well.

And I really liked that Pansy seemed to have changed after the war. I think the war would've changed everyone - some for the better and some for the worse. And I do think Pansy regretted her decision to not fight in the battle. So I like that she ended up working with Harry. Because - call me naive if you'll like- I believe everyone is capable of change if given a chance too.

Anyway. As you've probably gathered, I really liked the story. It was really, really good. You're a good writer!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #17, by LadyL8My Little Dreamer: My Little Dreamer

8th July 2014:
Hi There.

I was reviewing for the House Cup when I saw your stunning banner and summary, and I knew I had to read your story. And I really liked it. I really liked the simplicity to it, but also how sweet and emotional it was.

Your description is really good. You create beautiful images, and make me see Victoire - with her beauty and good heart- in my head. And I love how Teddy describes her, because he sounds so in love - sounds like she is inhumanely beautiful and warm and, in his opinion, way too good for him.

I liked how you characterize Victoire. She's obviously a beautiful girl, but also warm, maybe a bit naive, caring, fair and definitely a dreamer. It almost sounds like she's inhuman - supernatural and/or goddess-like. And you can just tell how much he loves her.

Anyway. To sum up, I really loved it!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #18, by LadyL8Til Death Do Us Part: Til Death Do Us Part

8th July 2014:
Hello There.

I was reviewing for the House Cup, when I saw your story. I loved the banner and summary, so I knew I had to read it. And I'm glad I did. This was so heartbreaking, and I felt so sorry for Addy.

I liked the little dialog between Fred and Addy before the Battle begins, where he tries to say goodbye and she doesn't want to think that it could be goodbye. The dialog was so real and believable, and you managed to create a good relationship that readers (or at least me) can believe in, feel and cheer for. And that's really important, since you obviously wants the readers to feel sorry for and maybe even relate to Addy. And you did that.

Your description is flawless. I could see the Battle in my head - see Addy's face when she realized Fred was dead. And it was so heartbreaking. But I'm seriously jealous of your talent when it comes to description. I really wish I was that good at creating images.

So to sum up, I really loved it!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: So I am just now getting to this because I haven't been on in months and let me say, your review pretty much made my day! I'm so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for the review and I'm so sorry it took me so long to see it!

 Report Review

Review #19, by LadyL8Diamonds: Diamonds

8th July 2014:
Hello There.

I'm reading and reviewing for the House Cup, and I thought your story looked interesting so I decided to check it out. And wow. I did not expect that after reading the summary. This was so heartbreaking, and I was very pleasantly surprised.

I really loved how you constructed this story - that you didn't reveal who it was and what happened till the last line. I suspected it was Dominique, though, but that's probably because I just read a story about Dominique. But I really liked the construction and layout.

I must admit I'm a little jealous of your descriptions. You're so good at creating images, and I could image it happening in my head. I saw Dominique send that last look - the one where she looks like she's begging for him to save her. And that just says a lot about how good you are at writing.

Lastly, I just want to say I'm glad you treated this sensitive topic with so much care and respect. You really did it justice, and while I've never - and thank god for that - known anyone who's killed themselves, I could really relate to the main characters regret and guilt. It's how I imagine I'd feel if I was in the same situation.

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #20, by LadyL8Photographs: one/one.

7th July 2014:
Hello There.

This was such a good and well-written story. I really related to it, as I'm about to move away from everyone I love and head to another city on the other side of my country.

Dominique in this story, is girl/woman who's scared of growing up, of having responsibility and having to step out of the secure environment she's always been in. And I really relate to that, because I'm scared of growing up too. And what she/you say is just so real: growing up does in fact sneak up on you. And then when you least expect it and want it, it's there. That is just so true. And I think Dominique is observant and wise for having realised that when she's only 17.

I really liked the story. It was like reading a diary really, and that just means you captured it perfectly since I'm in that situation. I loved it! :D

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #21, by LadyL8The Three Ds: Devotion.

7th July 2014:
Hi There.

Wow. This was such a good idea, and such a unique and well-written story. However did you come up with it?

I liked that the main character is Wilkie, since we see very little of him in the books. And I like how his three D's are being used to guide the story along. And I can imagine him thinking they'd apply to life as well, so it was great to see it being used for something other than apparation.

What I really loved about the story, is the fact that you stay completely true to everything we know about him from the books. We know his students didn't like him - probably because of the three D's, and you had that part in your story as well. We also know that he seemed fond of his few good students, like for example Hermione. And that much is obvious in the story as well. But I liked that he seemed to like Ron as well, although he was clearly not one of those good students. I think he can relate to him, maybe having been in a similar situation himself when he was around the same age.

I loved it. You're a really good writer. 10/10!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #22, by LadyL8Sparkle: Sparkle.

7th July 2014:
Hi!

This was breathtaking. It was such a sweet and well-written story. I really loved it.

I like the idea that James would give Lily a ring, and especially one that had the same color as her eyes. I really imagine him being in love with her eyes, just like Snape was. And then for Harry to be able to give the same ring to Ginny, who probably loves his eyes just as much. It's really sweet and believable as well.

It was great to see to different proposals. First it's Lily and James, and you can really see how much the ring means to them - to her. And then there's the second proposal, where you really see how much Ginny loves Harry - and I liked that Harry was nervous by the way. I think that's really believable, because he never did seem very confident when it came to girls and love. And then for Ginny to just answer yes immediately is also very believable. If I'd been in love with the same boy for years and he finally proposed to me (and he was the savior of the world as well), I'd also scream yes right away.

So to sum up, this story is sweet and believable. I really loved it!

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I love parallels in stories, and the contrast between Lily and James' relationship and that of Harry and Ginny was so much fun to write. Thanks again!
Adrienne


 Report Review

Review #23, by LadyL8Lady Macbeth: Lady Macbeth

7th July 2014:
Hello There.

I was looking for stories to review for the House Cup, and I just had to read yours when I saw the banner and read the summary. It just looked so good. And it was. You did not disappoint me.

This was really different in a good way. I love that you didn't name the character, because I really looked forward till the end so I could find out who this man was. And although you didn't say it with words, I'm guessing the man is Remus and the woman is Tonks. And while I didn't like Tonk being dead, I loved how you wrote it - how you showed his guilt.

You're really good at writing description. I could see the whole thing in my head because you're so good at creating images. And I liked how you constructed it as well.

What I'm trying to say really, is that I love the story. I really love it. And I'm jealous of your talent. Keep writing! :)

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #24, by LadyL8One of Three: One of Three

7th July 2014:
Hello!

This was amazing. I'm speechless. I don't have any words to express just how blown away I am by your story. And to think this is only 500 words. Wow. You're truly a talented writer.

I loved your descriptions. They were flawless, and I saw the whole story in my head. I imagine it happening, and that just shows how good you are at creating images.

I loved the relationship between Bertha and her sibling (not sure if it's a brother or sister). Having a difficult relationship with one of my elder sisters myself, I know that when all comes to all, I'd do anything for her. And I feel like that's the relationship between Bertha and her sibling to. They aren't close, but when she dies Bertha realises how much she needed him/her. And I can really understand that feeling.

I like when people take minor characters from HP and write stories about them. But I have never read one about Bertha before, probably because she isn't the most known character. But I really loved it. You managed to make me feel for her and connect with her in only 500 words.

I'm just so impressed. This is stunning but also so heartbreaking, but I absolutely loved it 10/10

- LadyL8

House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Thank you loads and loads for such a lovely and thoughtful review. It makes me so proud to think that this made you reflect on your own siblings - it means a lot to me that it meant something to you too.

I love the Every Word Counts challenge - I think its such a good one because you needn't exhaust yourself with it. It really makes you think about how to phrase things - and to not ramble, too!

Thanks for stopping by :) and thanks for a lovely review

Laura xxx


 Report Review

Review #25, by LadyL8Mortality won’t last forever…: Mortality wont last forever

7th July 2014:
Hi There.

This is the first story I've read on HPFF with a vampire in a main role. And I really liked it!

I love how she - because I think of the main character as a girl, but it could just as easily be a boy - seems okay with the man/vampire in the beginning, but then he turns out to be a vampire and she quickly lose that trust - as I understand since he did attack her. But it's interesting to see how easily one can go from okay to hate, and you showed that really well in your story.

I didn't quite understand why the vampire didn't kill her and why he'd be in Hogwarts to begin with? But I still loved it, and I could see the whole thing in my head because of how good you are at writing description

- Lotte

House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>