Reading Reviews From Member: EnigmaticEyes16
  
448 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16Blaise Zabini and the Trouble with Theodore Nott: Blaise Zabini Doesn't Have The Energy For This

25th April 2015:
Ahhh! Tammi, this is so adorable! I love both Blaise and and Theo, they would be my bros if I were a part of HP, lol. At least I would want them to be my bros.

I adore Blaise and all his spitefulness and hatred. And Theo is just hilarious. I wish there was more Tharry in this chapter. I'm very curious to know what made Theo think he's in love with Harry, even though he was making out with Anthony. I hope you update soon!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16The Story of Us: The Story of Us.

19th April 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the Slytherin Review Exchange! Warning you now, I ramble on quite a bit and it's all very random.

And first I'm just going to say, I love this one-shot! The only thing you could really do to make this better is to put more Draco/Hermione action in, because I love Draco (lol), and I'd love to see that relationship build up from their first meeting.

But back to the review! First off, I love how you give us little snippets into different moments throughout Hermione's life, although I wish I knew how much time has passed between each one, to really see where they are in their lives. But it's nice to see her go from being a happy bride on her wedding day with all her friends and family around her, to a workaholic fighting with her husband because she's not ready for kids (P.S. that's totally how I feel about kids, it's one thing to watch them for a bit but you always have to give them back. You can't do that with your own kids). So, honestly, I think she made the right decision there. Besides, what if she HAD had kids and then Ron cheated on her because she was always so wrapped up in them? THAT would be so much worse than what he did. Even though what he did was still pretty terrible. If he didn't want to be with her anymore, he should have found a way to confront her and told her so. Not get caught and let the Prophet and other tabloids do it for her.

Sidenote: It was really heartbreaking when Hermione said she still had the nightmares when he wasn't there. And the fact that he heard this and did nothing to comfort her just to me shows that his heart's not really in this relationship.

I like that Ginny and Harry still include Hermione though and that she makes the effort to come to George's engagement party. Even if she isn't with Ron, this family has always been a big part of her life and I'm glad she braves seeing them even though she knows he'll be there.

I love the scene with Neville! That was a fresh surprise. I was trying to figure out how this was supposed to turn into a Dramione and I honestly could not see Ginny hooking her up with Draco... but I love Neville. And I'm excited she's agreed to teach at Hogwarts. I think she'd be great at that since she is the brightest witch of her age.

And Ron! I can't believe he would ambush her at a party and tell her he loves her and misses her only to be interrupted by his date, who he then gets engaged to! That's just low, so low, and rude, and Ronald should know better! It almost seems like he's that person who always has to have a backup lover (I couldn't think of a better way to put it), so that he never ends up alone, and at the same time, is never really putting his heart on the line because the only person he really cares about is himself. What was he going to do if Hermione had said yes and then they walked out to join the party and THEn met Chelsea?

And Hermione left after breaking up with Ron? Where did she go? What did she do? And Draco left England, too? Where did he go? Where did they go, Cassie? There's so many untouched possibilities in this story.

Although at least Hermione found out from Ginny and not from the Prophet this time about Ron's engagement, even though that note could have given a little bit more warning maybe. Although I can't believe she actually went to the wedding, considering she hates Ron and doesn't even know Chelsea. But it's nice that she no longer feels like an outsider.

I LOVE THE SCENES WITH DRACO. I still wish there were more. Because these two, as much as I want them to be together, need a lot of explaining to be believable. Not that they're not, but I wish you'd gone a bit more in depth. Even though I get that even at the end, this was still about her feelings about Ron and how she finally managed to move past him to open her heart to someone else. But I still think you should write a sequel or something about how Draco and Hermione really got together. And leave nothing out. Just a suggestion, lol.

I also loved the bit about the watch and how he wore it on their date even though he has no idea she's the one who gave it to him! And she just let that go! And didn't tell him it was her! I see her telling him eventually though in my head.

Again though, this was a really great one-shot and I very much enjoyed reading it! But I'm gonna cut off now because this review is probably three times longer than I originally intended... yep, yep it is. Sorry, not sorry?

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16Misconceptions: Adversative

16th April 2015:
Hello again. I'm here for my second review!

I love how Snape is so outraged by the mistreatment of Harry, and furious at Dumbledore for allowing him to continue to live with the Dursleys when he seems to have known how bad it can be. I love how Molly cuts in about the cupboard. I can't imagine how Snape would have reacted if he'd found Harry locked in the cupboard... And Minerva's comment to Molly cracked me up about her having enough children under her roof, as if one more will really make that big of a difference. And Harry has his own money anyway so she doesn't have to worry about affording his books or anything.

I very much enjoyed the conversation between Snape and Dumbledore where they both call each other out on their failures, Dumbledore for not looking more closely into Harry's home life, and Snape for bullying and allowing his own students to bully Harry. And I think it was awesome how Dumbledore basically gave Snape an ultimatum about how he will treat Harry from now on.

I am so glad Snape gave the Dursleys a piece of his mind, and even attempted to teach Vernon a lesson by locking him in that tiny cupboard. Maybe now he'll see it's not so fun. At least none of them received pigtails from this encounter, they should be grateful for that.

i'm so happy that clearly Snape has decided to put aside his ill will toward Harry and start seeing him as not just James' double, but also Lily's son. I think that's what really changed his mind most of all, when he realized he wasn't honoring Lily by his own mistreatment of her son.

I really enjoyed Snape's reaction, and surprising approval, of the Burrow. Although he's clearly right in thinking that it would be a good place for Harry to grow up. But I still wonder what that "other option" might be. Would Snape ever consider taking Harry in himself? That would be weird, but a very interesting read. It's very nice to see him caring for the boy though, makes me want to cry a little bit cause it makes me so happy. Although I love his cracks at the twins, and how he doesn't want Harry being influenced by their delinquent ways, that's just hilarious!

Great second chapter, hun! I wish I could read more, but I will definitely be back eventually to continue this.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16Misconceptions: Unresponsive

16th April 2015:
Hi! Sorry I'm late, but I'm here to give you some Hot Seat Reviews!

First of all, I thought this was a really great intro. I thought you kept Snape, McGonagall, and Dumbledore very in character, especially Snape in his attitude towards Harry.

I like how you begin with a familiar scene, the scene where Dobby visits Harry and gets him into trouble with the Dursleys by causing a lot of ruckus for them all. Although I thought it was Mrs. Mason who was covered in pudding, not Harry himself. And I can't believe they did nothing when he broke his arm, I'm just assuming that's what happened, and only continued to lock him up instead of getting him proper treatment.

I love the section with McGonagall and Snape in Dumbledore's office. I think it would have been hilarious to see McGonagall fetch Harry. She didn't like the Dursleys from the beginning and I can just imagine her reprimanding the Dursleys until they see just how stupid and cruel they've been all these years, but of course that's not what this story is about.

I love Snape's reaction to the truth though, and the insight he gives into his past encounters with Lily and Petunia. And his shock when he finds out how Harry's really been treated the first eleven years of his life and how he's been locked in the room for who knows how long, unable to leave except to go the loo twice a day. Although I'm really glad he decides to take matters into his own hands and remove him from those terrible circumstances. I'm very curious to see what he does decide to do with Harry after he gets his arm fixed up.

Again, I'm so sorry I'm late on these, I've just been pressed for time. I hope to at least get one more review in tonight. And hopefully soon I can come back to see where this story leads.

Great first chapter though!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 7: The Agony of Restraint

4th April 2015:
AGH! But I want to see what happens!?!? *sigh* I do feel bad for Draco, it must be very frustrating for him to have Hermione as a soulmate. I wonder if she really knows about him imprinting on her. And that if she rejects him for someone else, he'll die. It's a pretty extreme thing to deal with. I'm also very curious to know how this soulmate potion works and how exactly it lets him know she's the one...

I really want to know what happens next when she finally looks up at him. I can't believe she can't sense his presence, since she seems to know when he's staring at her. I feel like you're torturing me here with this cliffhanger. I do really hope you update soon because I love this story!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,
I'm sorry about the cliffhanger, but I promise I'm going to update again soon and that all your questions will eventually be answered.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16The Girl from Slytherin : The Disguise

2nd April 2015:
Okay, third review. Here we go. I'm gonna try to do this one as I read and hope that makes this easier since these chapters are so long.

First off, those are some awesome gifts. How you manage to go into such detail about everything, even with all the charms put on the jewelry set is just beyond me. I bow down to you. And Terry's gifts were really cool with the books and the journal they can use to communicate with, I wonder where he got the idea for that.

I kinda love the fact that the Slytherins spend Halloween dressing up and getting drunk, it seems very unlike them, yet like them at the same time. I don't know. I love how Terry and his friends snuck in and turned almost everyone into Malfoy though! Too bad there wasn't a scene where Malfoy actually walked in to see it all because that would have been priceless. Although I have to wonder what Tor's housemates would think if they saw what appeared to be Malfoy leaving their dormitory in the early morning hours... that seems like it could end very badly for Tor...

I'm very curious to read on but I'm really tired and it's late so it will just have to wait unfortunately.

Anyway, I am really enjoying this story. I'm still a little lost, because it's been so long since I read the first seventeen chapters or so, but I think I'll be caught up eventually. I'm very glad I returned to continue this!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16The Girl from Slytherin : The Prank

1st April 2015:
Okay, wow, a lot happened in this chapter. Where to even begin...

I thought the scene in their secret room was very cute, them bantering back and forth and playfighting until they make up. I wonder why he doesn't tell her his birthday though, that seemed a little odd. It is very sad though that they can't be together in public because they are very cute together. And clearly Tor really cares for him with how much she fears for his life, knowing if they were ever found out, the Death Eaters would have his head, basically. Drinking the polyjuice before Micahel Corner walked in was really quick thinking on Tor's part.

The prank was hilarious and very thorough! I had no idea really what they were planning when they were messing with the mirrors and her clothes. When they mention the desks I thought maybe they were just going to pretend she didn't exist, but the fact that they went so far as to stage her own funeral with a "dead" body that looked like hers, that was very cool and insane. I can't even fully imagine what it must feel like to experience that sort of thing. Although I do wonder what Griz will do to retaliate... I especially loved the bit with the Bloody Baron being the only one who can really "see" her, that was awesome. Even though I didn't think the Bloody Baron could talk. Doesn't really matter though, he'd still be a pretty scary ghost to come across when you've just found out your dead and haven't quite accepted it yet.

And I love how they don't even deny that they did it! I think that's the best part. Even though if I did that to someone I definitely wouldn't want to be sleeping in the same dorm as them every night.

This chapter was absolutely amazing and the prank was perfect! You did a great job coming up with all that and executing it through your writing.

I'm definitely going to try to get one more chapter in before I return to my planning/writing for Nano.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16The Girl from Slytherin : The Visitor

1st April 2015:
Hi! I'm here to begin giving you your Hot Seat Reviews! It's been a long time since I first started reading this, but I'm trying to come back to it to finally finish the story.

First off, while I still find it kind of odd that a parent would visit Hogwarts, since it doesn't seem to happen too often in the books, I thought it was really sweet that Tor's father does make an appearance. Especially since she's been worried for his safety for a while now, not knowing if he was dead or alive. You can really tell that they're close and have a very loving relationship. She may dislike Daphne for feeling the need to outshine her, but it seems pretty clear that he still adores Tor anyway and thinks she can do no wrong. Although, obviously, because of this, she questions her feelings about blood status and who's right and who's wrong. She cares about both her father and Terry and doesn't want to disappoint either one.

It was really interesting having her listen in on their conversations and also seeing visions of their past. Is she really seeing them? I'm still not totally sure. I wonder what she will do after hearing the information about the Death Eaters attacking Harry Potter and the Weasley family. Will she inform Ginny that they plan to go after her if they can't get to Harry? Will she do what's right or will she follow what she knows. I'm very unsure about what she will do and what will occur in the Terry/Tor scenes you promise in the next chapter after reading her listen to her father about why he follows Voldemort.

The mouse ending was weird but interesting. I had a feeling it might die when I first read that it was eating something that tasted like sulfur, but the fact that you included it's death was intriguing... like what if it had died when she was still in his mind? What would that be like?

I am very glad I decided to continue reading this. I'm curious to see what happens next. I'm gonna try to get at least two more reviews in but I'm a little pressed for time at the moment (of course that's my fault though for being a terrible procrastinator...). Anyway, great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16Greenhouse Seven: Greenhouse Seven

31st March 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the March Review Exchange!

This was a very interesting chapter. I really enjoyed the prologue with Neville asking about the Goat's beard seeds and her showing him when and where to find them. I especially like how you bring it full circle by ending with them as well.

I also really enojyed reading about the dynamic of Neville's Herbology class, focusing on researching plants and doing lots of tests and observations. Plus, it's neat how you include Neville with a different group of people than the usual Gryffindors, since we know others like Harry and Ron did not take Herbology after their fifth year. I especially like how you include Howe, a transfer students who's been homeschooled all his life. Sure, it was known that attendance to Hogwarts was made mandatory by the the Death Eaters but we never really see where that comes into play with students who were homeschooled because we only see the story through Harry's eyes in the books, and, unlike Neville, he doesn't attend his seventh year at Hogwarts, so it never really comes up.

I also like how you include a Slytherin, Tracey, albeit she's a bit unknown canonwise. I like how she's not stuck up or mean though towards her classmates even when her Slytherin housemates are constantly calling her out for being friends with them. It shows that not all Slytherins had it so easy either during the war. And I like that she was able to be someone Neville could care about and didn't want to see get hurt.

The ending definitely surprised me. I honestly wasn't quite sure where this story was headed until Neville asked Sprout about Greenhouse Seven being an arsenal. You definitely can't blame a teacher for using her students to build up resources that can be used against the Death Eaters in the oncoming war. They all know it's coming, and she clearly senses it will come to Hogwarts by choosing to have her students raise these plants so that when the time comes they'll be able to do some damage, while at the same time they'll know what they're doing well enough to hopefully not get hurt in the process. I love Neville's idea to drop barrels of hot cooking oil over the Astronomy Tower, it's funny but it's definitely something that would be effective in harming and scaring off anyone attempting to seize the castle.

All in all I thought this was a wonderful one-shot and so well written with such an eye for detail. I can honestly picture those Greenhouses and plants in my mind from your descriptions. Anyway, this was a great read and you did such a good job with it!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi, Nix. Thanks so much for selecting "Greenhouse Seven" to review. It doesn't get many reviews, but it's a significant piece of my headcanon. It developed from a class that I took at another site; the class was Missing Moments, focused on Hogwarts in the 1997-1998 school year. I centered my class exercises on the detail of the previously-homeschooled students affected by the compulsory attendance edict as reported by Remus in Chapter 11 of DH. My headcanon expanded greatly, and I had to select this one small episode for the one-shot that was the final exam of that class.

Since Hogwarts is a school, I enjoy reading stories that depict what actually goes on in the classrooms, as well as all the extracurricular sneaking around at night. :) I also enjoy exploring the personalities and activities of the professors, probably because I'm an older lady myself and I look at the world from the viewpoint of many years. Professor Sprout plays a major role also in "Renewal", and, with Professor Sinistra, in "Dark Enough To See The Stars", the final chapter of which is in the queue now.

I also like to depict some Slytherins as not being clones of Draco and his two goons. I'm sure there were some perfectly nice students (such as Andromeda) who were sorted into Slytherin because of their family history/tradition or their determination and drive, but who were not jerks with personality disorders. As you say, in the seven books we see everything through Harry's eyes, and Draco is the Slytherin with whom he interacts the most.

As you saw, it's not a super-plotty story. I meant it to depict what went on in the classroom, introduce a homeschooled student, and bring up the moral issue of whether it was right or wrong for Professor Sprout to use the students in this way without telling them what her secondary motive was. Would it have made a difference to them if they had known from the beginning?

I used this headcanon again for "The Crofter And The Snake", which suffered from being restricted by constraints of length and deadline for a February romance challenge on that other site. SunshineDaisies graciously responded to my request for help in improving it by giving me a review pointing out the work that needed to be done. Still, you may somewhat enjoy reading the flawed version which is posted on these archives; Chapter 2 is better than Chapter 1. I will rewrite and expand it when time allows.

It's been nice chatting with you. I'll enjoy reading some of your stories too!

Vicki


 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16History of a Snitch: Snitch

29th March 2015:
I don't normally read James/Lily stories... but I wanted to know about the snitch so I decided to read this one... and it was ADORABLE! Oh my god, I loved this and thought it was the cutest James/Lily I've read. It's just so perfectly short and sweet, and I love the ending and how you include the snitch in it. And not to mention he's kept that same snitch all this time, there's so much sentimental value there! And it's funny, because him playing with the snitch had clearly always annoyed her, and yet he uses it to propose, it's just so sweet.

I thought you did a great job with this one-shot and it's wonderfully written!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it even if it's not really your ship. :) I've loved the idea of this about since we found out snitches have flesh memories, and I just couldn't get the idea out of my head. So glad it came off well!

 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 6: Dragons and Veela and Trolls, Oh My!

29th March 2015:
Ah! I'm so excited! And yet sad that I've finally caught up because right now there aren't any more chapters to read. Hermione's obviously going to rush to the library first thing tomorrow though and read up on veelas, and when she figures it out I bet she's going to flip...

I can't wait to read on! I do hope you update soon!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

I'm popping an update in the queue as we speak. Thanks so much for reviewing all my chapters so far. it's super cool of you.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 5: A Not-So-Seductive Mystery

29th March 2015:
Hahaha, she actually stuck her tongue out at Malfoy! I bet he loved that! I can't wait to see her reaction when she finds out the truth about her friends and Draco!

I'm glad Harry at least is normal in this story and reacted accordingly to hearing about Draco's and Ginny's suspicious actions. Although, I have to wonder, he does come from a long line of wizards on James' side, you'd think his family might have been cursed with something as well. I mean, it's certainly a possibility. Only problem is that there'd be no one to clue him in when he came of age...

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

True, Harry dos come from a long wizarding line on James's side, but the Potter's weren't on the list of Sacred Twenty-Eight families, meaning they hadn't been pure for a long time. It would be too complicated to write Harry as something too. I'd end up with reviewers complaining that they thought he was more like whatever I didn't make him.

I'm glad you like the story so far and I hope you enjoy the rest. I'm hoping to update this soon if the queue allows.


 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 4: Infuriating Urges

29th March 2015:
Poor Draco, it must be so hard having to be around Hermione, and wanting to protect her when she still thinks of him as a bit of a git, even if she is attracted to him. All this must be very confusing for her, too, this sudden attention from and attraction to someone who's always hated her and vice versa.

I also like how the other Accursed are looking out for him as well so he doesn't out himself and them in process.

I'm very curious to read on!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello again,

Yeah I wanted to throw in a little camaraderie from the others in the group to make this fic really different. I'm glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 3: An Unexpected Encounter

29th March 2015:
This story is getting so much more interesting! I'm very surprised and happy that Hermione has finally gotten over her crush on Ron and let him be with Lavender for now. And I would love to see more of Neville and Luna. I also like how Hermione is thinking of finding a boyfriend and is rationally going through all the boys in her year and ticking them off the list. But I was super excited for Draco's first encounter with Hermione! I'm surprised he was able to be in such control to fight his urges to have her. Although I'm not surprised she suddenly finds him attractive with his new Veela allure going on. I like how much they both clearly wanted to snog each other! And Ginny's civil cut in to the conversation was very interesting. I'm not surprised Draco thinks she should tell Hermione the truth, and Hermione sees her breath smoke! But is Ginny of age yet? Shouldn't Ron be the one going through this new transition? Anyway, I love this story! I can't wait to see who confronts who in this situation, Ginny or Hermione. And I'd love to see more of what's going on in Draco's head, especially after finding his mate!

I can't wait to read on to find out!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

Thanks so much for reviewing. Im glad you liked it and hope you enjoy the rest


 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 2: Drivel & Buffoonery

20th March 2015:
Haha, oh my god I'm gonna get hooked on this story. It's so good. I can't wait to read the part where he's finds out who his mate really is. And I love how his friends are taking bets.

Plus, I think it's really funny that Blaise grew up suspecting they were part of the Accursed 28 and still being friends with them.

Oh, I want to read on but at the same time I should sleep! Ugh, it's so tempting!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

Thanks so much for reviewing for me. I'm glad you like it and hope i don't keep you up with it, but do like the sound of getting you hooked =)

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 1: The Devastation of Draco

20th March 2015:
Dun dun dun!

Wow. I love this! Reading this, everything suddenly makes sense. Draco and Lucius having veela-like hair and pale skin. Pansy as a banshee. Crabbe and Goyle as trolls. It's just perfect.

I am a little confused about why the curse doesn't take hold for any of them until they reach maturity though. I mean, I can see where that might make sense with a veela needing to reach sexual maturity, but it doesn't really explain the same way for troll, vampires, and banshees.

And is all the veela stuff in here canon, or made up? I'm just curious. Some of it does sound familiar, but I have trouble sometimes remembering where I've read things and what's canon and what's not.

But I love this story, I really do. I'm probably gonna read at least one more chapter tonight even though I should really be sleeping. Great job with this! All around I love the entire idea of this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

The Veela stuff in here is mostly canon I think... I always get head canon and actual canon confused too. I'm really glad you liked this so far and so grateful that you came over to check it out. You rock!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16misguided ghosts: veni.

19th March 2015:
Hi! I am finally here for our review swap!

This seems like an interesting start to a story. I really like the idea of wizards addressing mental issues, I don't think it's something they should simply write off. I like how you give Rose a reason to want this change made, not just her father and his alcoholicism and reclusiveness, but her friend who committed suicide as well. And did James try to kill himself, too? I was a little confused about that bit. You'd think after the war they would have attempted to put more effort into helping people overcome the backlashes that can occur after a traumatic experience like that. But maybe they were too focused on reforming the ministry and changing the way people think about muggle-borns and muggles, and to give rights to werewolves and centaurs and other magical beings.

I wish Rose had put up more of a fight though, instead of just letting him dismiss her like that. I wish she had stood her ground and not run away crying. At least she's still determined to change things though, I'm very curious to see what her next move will be.

I also liked your little incites into your other stories, like Scorpius and Lysander, Albus' poetry reading, and Rose's Senior Healer. I wish I knew more about Willow though, and James and Freddie.

Anyway, great start so far! I may have to come back to see where this story goes in future chapters.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16Nothing Like This: Chapter 1: Venture in Aeternum et Ultra

19th March 2015:
Hi, finally here for our review swap! This is so dark, it had me on edge the entire time! I can't believe Harry's actually dead. And all the Weasleys. It's so sad. The world has clearly not become a better place at all thanks to Voldemort and Draco Malfoy.

But so far this story is seriously intense. You describe everything so well it might haunt me even after I'm done with this review and exit out of the page. I was so sad when Seamus decided to give up his life to save Hermione's and then heartbroken when his life was ended in vain because she was captured anyway! I wonder what Draco plans to do with her. Will he turn her into the Dark Lord or will he keep her for himself? I'm very curious to read on but sadly there is no more to read.

Anyway, thank you so much for doing the swap with me! This first chapter is so well written it's insane. Speaking of insanity, I wonder if Hermione has really cracked already, before the story's even gotten a real start?

Hmm. May have to come back when you post the next chapter to find out.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

Thanks so much for swapping with me. I'm really glad you liked it. This is the first fic I've written with this kind of darkness. Hunger, my fic about Greyback is dark but in a different way to this fic. I've been very nervous about it, so I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying it so far and that you think you'll be back for more.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16Unexpected: Death.

15th March 2015:
This one-shot was very intense! And very sad. Your description was great though! From the sweet and fluffy bits to the darker, scarier bits. I was on the edge of my seat throughout this short little one-shot waiting for the end, already knowing he was going to die. It's so sad that the same night he finds out Victoire is pregnant with his second child, is the night Dom comes to take his life. And poor Victoire is left alone, pregnant, with a small child. It's all very sad.

I do however wonder what could have happened to Dom. There's a whole lot of backstory missing there. At one point, was there something going on between her and Teddy? What did she do to be put in Azkaban? How did she escape? Even though I understand people can escape from Azkaban because they've certainly done it before, so that's the least pressing of my questions. How long has she been in there? Must have been a good bit if she's gone completely mad. When you first began to describe her, if her hair wasn't silver, I would honestly have thought she was Bellatrix.

Anyway, this was a lovely yet terribly sad story. You are so good at writing these huge expositions into a character's life in such few words. I hope you've enjoyed your Hot Seat reviews this week.

xxNix

Author's Response: I have /finally/ managed to finish answering all your lovely reviews, haha. Thank you so very much Nix!

I'm pleased you liked it. I did enjoy writing this, especially because of the highs and lows throughout Teddy's final day.

Because this was for the last 24 hours challenge, I didn’t want to get too bogged down with all the back story. I felt that Teddy wouldn't be thinking too much about the past and what had happened, more about the present time.

Thank you so very much. I have certainly enjoyed my time in the Hot Seat, and I apologise for taking so long to respond. Quidditch side-tracked me a bit!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16Fear : Bogart

15th March 2015:
Oh, I adored this! I just wish there was more. More explanations about everything. This is very different from any Dramione I've ever read and I'm just very interested to see more of it. But it's so nice seeing how much Draco cares for her, even if some days she doesn't even remember they were ever friends. I wish there was more to the part where Draco tells her Sirius is dead. It's funny that she punched him, but I'm sure she'd be much more heartbroken over that. And Fred! That must be terrible for the Weasleys. To not only have to deal with Hermione not having any memories, but also to have to be reminded that Fred is dead when she mentions him. And then to have to lie to her about his whereabouts. I wonder how she would react one day if they told her the truth...

Oh, I really wish this was longer. I want to know so much more to this. Like how she got with Draco in the first place, and what happened to Ron... so many questions.

Anyway, I'm gonna stop rambling. Great story!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey again!

I'm actually in the process of writing a prequel to this at the moment :) it'll also be from Draco's POV. The part where she punched him, it was more that she didn't believe him and that's why she wasn't upset.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16All of Me: Love is irrational

15th March 2015:
Wow. I wanted to read this because I love the song, but even after reading it, I still can't see Lily and Bellatrix as a couple. It just seems so unlikely when I think about everything Bellatrix has done. But it was a really cute read with two people who aren't supposed to love each other but do anyway. I liked the metaphors Bellatrix used to describe herself and Lily based on their names. And I really enjoyed the endearing scene between Bella and Andromeda on the train. I just have to wonder, if this were to have actually happened, what could have changed Bellatrix so drastically that'd she loyally follow the man who killed Lily. Although it does sort of explain her disdain towards Snape.

Great story though! Very well written, and I thought you incorporated the song very well into the story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

Well, a girl can try :P I had hoped to encourage this shop, but it seems I have failed with you. That's alright though. In my head Bellatrix is a lot more sane when she was younger, and that Azkaban 'broke' her.

Haha, I'm glad you liked it, even with the pairing. They were very sweet to write about.

Thank you very much for this review!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #22, by EnigmaticEyes16Hey Lily: Snow

13th March 2015:
Hello again! This is a very curious story! Brings about all kinds of questions! I've never read a story centered on a deaf student before, but this was very interesting. First I was surprised simply because Lily was a Slytherin, then even more surprised when I realized she was also deaf. I have to wonder how a deaf student would manage at Hogwarts. Do her teachers know how to sign? If not, does she have an interpreter to translate for her? And it doesn't seem as if she has many friends, since besides this Ravenclaw, you only mention her brothers and Hugo. It must be hard living and studying at Hogwarts without being able to communicate with a large portion of the student body. I'm very curious to read more though. I do like how she was able to make a friend who was willing to learn how to sign for her, although it's sad that they will be separated after graduation.

All in all, I thought this was a very sweet story and beautifully written.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

I usually see Lily as a Slytherin. I mean, I read about her in just about every house but to me she is the one of Harry's kids most like to end up there. And yes, Lily is deaf. I have a lot of friends in the Deaf community and can sign pretty well. I didn't want to make it a 'big thing' because to me it's really not.

They are witches and wizards, so I would assume that it could be translated using magic. Or there may be a member of staff who signs, or a teaching assistant employed by the ministry say. The only issue I can find is that non-verbal magic is considered very advanced, and Lily would be learning this from first year.

I think that some of her classmates would learn to sign, and she would communicate with them. I just don't see Lily as a very sociable child, because she always feels surrounded by people and my Lily prefers to be alone, or in a small group. I picture her more as an introvert. Plus it is easier to sign to one or two people than 15 odd at once.

Thank you very much for your review!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16slytherin will rise: you and me

10th March 2015:
Hi! I'm here to start giving you you're hot seat reviews! I thought this was a really interesting and quick story that still manages to say so much. I don't know who these two Slytherins are, but it makes sense how they would see Voldemort as a savior of sorts when no one else at Hogwarts will care for them or help them. I like how you mentioned that they get tortured too by the Carrows, but the other students and teachers turn a blind eye to this, only caring for their own. No wonder they wanted to join with Voldemort. But then Voldemort's army turns on them in battle, and they seem to be attacked by both sides of the war, no one really knowing what side they are on. And while it was very sweet to see two people find comfort in each other as they learn about themselves as well (I really liked the scene with the plant and how they managed to bring it back to life), it was very sad to see them separated for life by the death one of them.

They were just two kids trying to survive in the middle of a war, and that's what makes the one's death so heartbreaking. And the one is left to mourn their friend alone with no one else in the castle to mourn with them or even care about one dead Slytherin student.

I thought this was very well written and you did a wonderful job following the rules of the challenge. I really enjoyed the effort you put into choosing the right words, especially with the more difficult letters.

Great job on this!
xNix

Author's Response: Nix! Thank you so much for all your lovely reviews.

I am grinning madly right now. I'm glad you were able to see why the two kids got swept up in the whole thing. I have to say, I'm glad that you don't know who they were. To me, that was the idea behind whiting this. They were anyone and everyone. I tried not to think of names or anything for them in order try and make me think about the idea that these Slytherins were just people. Not specifically defined by anything else.

The challenge was really fun to try. Some of the letters were tricky though, so I'm pleased you liked it!

Thanks again,
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16Rose: Unrequited

5th March 2015:
Hi! I really enjoyed this. It's very different from other unrequited love stories. I guess that's because your Scorpius doesn't see it as unrequited love, instead he sees her as somoene who needed his nurturing and care just like his roses did in order to fully bloom. And he was so proud of her and himself when she did and found her own love. This was a very sweet and endearing story to read!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked this =)

 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16Her Favorite Holiday: Her Favorite Holiday

5th March 2015:
Holy crap! This is the saddest thing I've read in a while! Literally brought tears to my eyes. I was not expecting it to be so sad when I started reading it. But it was so cute at first and happy-seeming, and then next thing I know he's in front of a tombstone. It breaks my heart to think that Arthur and Molly would ever be separated. But this was a lovely one-shot and very well written.

xxNix

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>