Reading Reviews From Member: EnigmaticEyes16
  
348 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Rain, Rumours and Plans

28th July 2014:
Hi! Me again.

I'm really glad things are starting to happen! I loved the prank with the rain and how Dumbledore threatened to cancel the quidditch match, probably knowing it was the Marauders and knowing James would never allow the quidditch match to be cancelled if he could help it.

I'm surprised Millie finally decided to talk to Sirius! But I guess it's easier when there's no else around watching you, like nosy friends who will interrogate you the second you get away. I wonder if he'll eventually talk her into doing the plan. I'm guessing he will since that's kind of the plot of the story (or so it says in the summary) but I guess I will have to read on to find out.

Great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: No Love Lost

28th July 2014:
Ooohhh, stuff is starting to happen! I'm intrigued by Millie's fight. I wonder if Rex will be back again, although I doubt it after what she did. Although, I don't know, his head "cracked" against the wall, not sure if I would have just left him there, that doesn't sound particularly good. Unless he's in an area where someone will find him very soon...

I'm curious about the prank Remus is thinking of. I usually thought James and Sirius came up with most of the pranks, so I'm surprised that it's Remus here... I'll have to read on, of course.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: The Deeper Things in Life

28th July 2014:
Hey again! I really enjoyed this chapter. I loved the little spat between Millie and Sirus. I'm starting to wonder why exactly she dislikes him so much though? There's not much explanation. And I'm still wondering what did happen to Millie during the summer...

And I liked Millie's conversation with Lily and Sarah and how they gang up on her, sort of. I totally see close friends behaving like this is real life. Same with the boys.

I think your beta's doing a great job too. I guess, anyway, I don't know what the story looked like before the edits. But it seems pretty well written to me.

Great job!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Have You Even Talked to Her?

28th July 2014:
Hi again! I'm back! And it's getting better! I really enjoyed all the conversations between everyone. I loved how they all freaked out when Millie and Remus talked about a book, lol. And I love how defensive Sirius got about having a crush. I'm very curious to see what happens between Millie and Sirius. And I really like your characters so far. Lily is very much how I would expect Lily to be, totally against James being Head Boy and everything. And I like that James is keeping it cool while still always finding a reason to see her?

Onto the next chapter!
xxNix

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: A First Time for Everything

27th July 2014:
Hi! EnigmaticEyes16 here for the Slytherin Review Exchange! I know I'm a little late getting started on this but my goal is to review as many chapters of this as I can, and if I don't finish, I may continue even after July ends.

Anywho! This was very intriguing start. I'm curious about the dream she had and assuming it has to do with something she went through this summer (that Lily mentions)... I guess I'll find out eventually.

I'm super exciting to read about Sirius, it's been a while since I read a Maruaders fic and I think that's why I chose this one. And so far so good! Even though not too much happens in this chapter, but it's just the first one so I will definitely be reading on.

I also like Lily and Millie's (just realized their names rhyme...) friendship. I thought their argument at the end was really funny, especially the very last line "Honey, even you can't get me Batman." That was hilarious.

Onto the next chapter, I guess!
Great job!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16Sunburn: Chapter Three: Counting Stars

25th July 2014:
This was an interesting chapter. So Sam and June are finally a couple, even if it is in secret. I wonder how long that will work out. Especially when Alice does come back...

Great job on the chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16Sunburn: Chapter Two: Sunburn - Part One of Three

18th July 2014:
So, I'm finally back to read some more of this story. Although, I know I've already read this chapter before, I'm rereading so I can leave a proper review. But wow, this is a long chapter!

First off, I really enjoyed the journal entry at the beginning, especially when he starts telling it to imagine it has feelings, lol. That was priceless. And the whole rant was pretty fun. Especially the part where he says "What can you say to someone who attacks you with your lips? "That was awkward, don't do it again, see you tomorrow."" Haha, it made laugh.

And I really liked the scene with his mom, where he consoles her with ice cream and assures her he has no intentions of seeing his father. I thought that was very cute and endearing for Sam to want help make his mom feel better in a situation like that.

I thought the party scenes were interesting, although June kinda annoys me. But at the end I think she was a little more understanding, and I like how she understood Sam's feelings for Alice and for herself. It's not easy to hear someone doesn't feel about you the way you want them to. I really liked the sunburn metaphor, too, I thought that was really cool.

Great chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16Dramione Lust: In The Library

17th July 2014:
Hi! I really enjoyed this story! I definitely love the meeting of Draco and Hermione in the library and how he just kind of came at her, lol. I thought you wrote the romantic bits very well, too. Although I did see a lot of mistakes here and there and issues with sentence structure, but I didn't have too much difficulty figuring out what you meant. I was really hoping that we'd see Draco again at the end though, and maybe he'd give Hermione a look or something while her friends weren't looking, as if to say this would happen again, lol. That'd of been funny.

I really liked this though!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16Smoke In Your Lungs: Smoke In Your Lungs

11th July 2014:
Hi! This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

I though this was a nice little Jerimiah/Hugo one-shot. I really enjoyed it, even though with the backtracking in time and then at the end going forward again, I had a little trouble figuring out where we were in the timeline. I wish you'd update more on Bite Club and maybe that would help clear up some things.

That's really sad though, now that I know that Jerimiah and Hugo were together when Hugo was still human. And that Hugo had Rose remove his memory of it. And I love that the spell didn't work on Jerimiah and he still remembers they were together. Eventually Hugo is going to figure out what his feelings mean and they may have a chance to be together again.

I noticed in this story Jerimiah's eyes are brown? Weren't they cream in the flashback in Bite Club? And now they've turned brown? I know I already asked similar questions in your other story but I'm really curious as to how to the whole eye color changing thing works for vampires and age.

Anyway, I thought this was really well written. It was the second 2nd Person POV story I've read today, and even though I'm not a big fan of that particular POV, I still really liked your story.

I wonder if there will be more Jerimiah/Hugo in the future...?

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16Tea & Poison: Ella

10th July 2014:
Hi! This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

The premise of this story is really interesting. I really enjoyed the fact that the characters were all hearing the same voice. Except maybe Phineas, I suppose. I hope you cover more on it in later chapters. I'm especially intrigued that the voice says Isla will die. That must be a terrifying thing to hear from some phantom voice that you will die.

I also have to say that I think you write the second person POV very well. And I'm saying this as someone who pretty much hates second person. But as I was reading, I didn't even think on it until I got to Elladora's letter. So, I think you did a really great job with that.

Anyway, I hope you post again soon, I'd really like to see where you take this story in the next chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16Devil's Trickery: Devil's Trickery

9th July 2014:
HI! This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

This was a really neat story. I've never read anything like it before in FF. I thought it was really cool how you created this creature who makes deals with Azkaban prisoners. And deals they'll regret, too. I can't imagine what James will do now that he's literally lost everything he has; his family, his house, his wand, his magic? is he completely magic-less now? How do you start over from that? It'd be an interesting sequel I think, if you ever decided to write one.

Overall, though, I thought this was a really great story. And very well written as well.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi there!

Ooh, thanks so much! Credit has to go to Sam who gave me the prompt of the crossroads demon for her challenge! I couldn't think of anywhere I might find a crossroads demon except at a crossroads in someone's life, and what better crossroads than being in Azkaban? From that, the idea of Anamaria and her deal with the Ministry developed. I haven't decided what happens to James, however, I do plan to write a companion one-shot to this which details these events from James' POV and including additional material that Anamaria isn't aware of (like why he was in Azkaban). ^.^

Thank you so much, that's fabulous to hear!

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16Because She Stays: 1.

7th July 2014:
Hi! This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

I thought this was a super cute little story. It was very brief and easy to read, but at the same time, a lot happened in that short amount of text.

I thought it was kind of weird how her parents would be so worried about werewolf bites as to not let their daughter go out on any night there's a full moon, but then again, some parents are very overprotective, maybe their neighborhood has a werewolf problem, I don't know. But it also seems cold of them that they would just disown her for becoming a werewolf, but she broke they're rules and she paid the consequences, I guess. And people typically seem to be terrified of werewolves.

It's sad that the main character is on her own though, for several years, and completely unaware as to what is going on in the wizarding world. I like that she saved the girl though, and the girl stayed with her, obviously having nowhere else to go if she's running through the woods by herself, wanted by snatchers. I wonder who she is. I thought it was nice how Sarah taught her how to live off the land, and how she finally had someone's company to enjoy for once.

I especially loved the ending where she finally tells the girl her secret, and she just smiles and hugs her, not caring and not being afraid. I would have liked there to have been more to this story maybe, but sadly it is a one-shot.

Anyway, I think you did a fabulous job with this. I only really saw one tiny little typo, at the very beginning, I think you say "bite" when you mean "bit." But you know, close enough.

xxNix

Author's Response: Yeah, I view her parents as very overprotective, and I would think that more parents would do that- especially with younger children- just as most have either seen or heard bad stories about werewolves. I kind of just wanted to keep her as an anonymous wizard so she could really be anyone- though, if she was being chased by snatchers she would have to be muggleborn. Yes, the ending always gives me the feels :P Thanks again!
xoxo
Mary


 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16No One Can Know: No One Can Know

7th July 2014:
This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

Hi! This was an interesting story. There is a slightly large gap at the end of the story text, I hope that's just issues with the story editor and I didn't miss anything further...

This was a nice little one-shot. I liked the story about how Ginny and Draco got together, and how she knows everything about his secret task. But I wish there was more "showing" of this in the story, than just telling us in a brief monologue. I hope I'm not being harsh, but it just seems like nothing really happens. Ginny's gets out of class and goes to meet Draco, and once she meets him the story ends.

Grammatical-wise, I didn't see any errors, and that's good, but I just wish there was more depth to the actual story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello. First off I think the gap is just the story editor - I read it through when I submitted it and nothing was missing. And I'm a huge nitpicker spelling & grammar-wise, so I would've spotted anything wrong before submitted.

I know this story doesn't have much to it - when I wrote it I just wanted to submit something... basically for the point of having a story up (excellent reason, I know).


 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16Warning: There are no cliches present in this story: Illogical

7th July 2014:
This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW!

Hi! Haha, can I just say how hilarious this story is? I love your narrative of all the over-cliches, such as Hermione and Draco getting together, hooking up, breaking up, and hooking up again, along with an overly angst Harry and a stunning American female tranfer which a suspiciously weird name.

I love how they are forced to live in the same common room together and plan a ball, another overdone cliche, but one I can't say I haven't done, lol.

My favorite bit is just the way you write it, including youself as "the writer" even in the dialogue with Dumbledore. It's very refreshing and hilarious.

I thought this story was very well written, although sped along quite fast, although I get that that's what you were doing on purpose. And I do not recall noticing any grammatical issues. Great job with this!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the lovely review! I'm really glad you enjoyed this. I think everyone's done the 'forced to live together' thing, it can be done really well. It was meant to be fast (partly due to the oneshot, partly because any longer and it might have veered dangerously close to being semi well developed!). Thanks again :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16The Push: The Push

6th July 2014:
Hello! This is a HOUSE CUP 2014 REVIEW and I just really wanted to read this story once I saw you post it in the Gryffindor/Slytherin challenge thread. I've never read a Goyle/anyone story before so I thought "why not check it out?"

Anyway, onto the actual review. This was a very different side of Goyle than I've seen before. I like that you give him a personality and a girl to fancy, and then how Draco and Blaise take that fantasy and put their own spin on it by causing the bet to happen. I thought it was very Slytherin of everyone to include themselves in this situation and put money on it, and sabotage each other behind the scenes. I thought Pansy's inclusion was interesting, how she wanted to help Goyle (in order to get money, of course) but I would have liked to seen more of this part--of Goyle actually asking Lucy out and maybe even his reaction when she actually says yes. I feel like you skipped a large part of the story that would have been interesting to explore.

I also liked how you included Helga and her food organization disorder, even if it really has nothing to do with the main plot, it was very interesting to read.

I did notice a few typos that can easily be fixed, but it did not take away from the story, which is really enjoyed.

Anyway, great job on this!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi, Nix, thanks for your review, my original intention was to turn this into a longer story, but I discovered it was bad to do, since I already had a novella going on, and I didn't have enough time to dedicate this to the Story Challenge (to make it interesting enough). A reader has requested that I continue this, and I probably will turn it into a longer story than it came out as, because you are right, it would have been nice to see him ask her out and all the other stuff that got "skipped".

Still, I am getting wonderful reviews, even if it is "rushed", I truly love this plot :)


 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16Wasting My Young Years: Possibly Dead

6th July 2014:
This is a very interesting story. I really enjoyed reading the first chapter. I like Sage and her story as a squib in a pureblood family. And I have a feeling Lysander is going to be hilarious with his overreacting to everything, haha. I can't wait to find out what happened to Albus and will Sage know what Circe's Riddle means? Considering she intends to go (or is going? I don't remember percisely) to school for journalism, I sense she probably enjoys doing a bit of detective work, and asking a lot of questions.

I did not see any grammatical issues or spelling mistakes while I was reading, which made the reading experience all the more enjoyable.

I hope you update soon as I can't wait to see what you come up with next.

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review! I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying the story so far, and I'm really excited about the plans I have for Sage & Co.

Baha, Lysander. I can't wait to have all manner of fun fleshing out his character. And yes, you guessed it! Sage has an inquisitive, investigative journalist side, and she means to get to the bottom of this bizarre Circe's Riddle business.

I've currently put WMYY on the back burner while I finish up Kill Your Darlings, but I am totally still invested in this story, and I hope to have an update in the not-too-distant future!


 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16I Know What You Did: I Know What You Did

2nd July 2014:
Well, that was a twist at the end. I really enjoyed this story. I liked the flip-flopping between 1972 and 1999, it definitely made the story more interesting. So, Poppy's been pretending to be Andromeda all this time? That's crazy. And Narcissa knew about it? Just, wow. Still a great story though!

xxNix

Author's Response: Haha, definitely a major twist! Ahh that's great to hear, as the switching between sections was something that I was concerned about when I first posted this one-shot. Yes, Poppy was pretending to be Andromeda for her own safety (if she was still alive, her engagement to Lucius would have continued and Narcissa wouldn't have allowed that to happen) and of course Narcissa couldn't tell anyone the truth because if she did, Poppy could then reveal that she was the one who murdered Andromeda. It's a catch-22 for both of them. I'm really happy you liked this story!

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16Voices in my head: (I miss you)

2nd July 2014:
This was so sad and heartbreaking, I definitely teared up at the end. I liked the way you handled the situation and included Angelina, and I thought the whole thing was really well written, despite the few mistakes I saw.

You did really great job with this.

xxNix

Author's Response: Thankyou! Yes i really need to go and edit my stories ahah xx have a beautiful day!

 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16Bite Club: Hugo's Choice

2nd July 2014:
What!? So Valerie is a vampire AND working for the Ministry of Magic to ensure the killing of vampires? How does that work? How can she be surrounded by vampire slayers, and they dont know that shes a vampire? I really hope you update more eventually, this is a really good story so far and I am super curious to know what happens.

xxNix

Author's Response: Valérie is an exceptionally good liar, and of course the invention of coloured contact lenses stops her eyes from being visible, she works at night, she behaves like she hates vampires... I definitely plan to update soon and I'm really pleased you're enjoying this story so much and that you want to know more!

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16Bite Club: The Runaways

30th June 2014:
So do the vampires' eyes change with age? Lucy and Hugo have blood red eyes and they're newborns. Sandra's were burnt orange, and she was younger than Claudine, who's eyes are amber gold. And Jeremiah's eyes are CREAM colored? I don't even know what that looks like on eyes, lol. Just slightly darker than the white irises? I am curious as to how Lucy and him, walked about in daylight and no one noticed their eyecolor?

I loved this chapter. Sandra's still alive! And may appear at the meeting. Claudine's on her way to the meeting. Lucy should be safe since it doesn't seem like Alexis has gotten word out about her location, since she was knocked out most of the time and it doesn't seem to be at the top of her list right now. I loved the flashback at the end, that's certainly added a bit of a twist to the story, since we know Claudine is not dead, well, not dead dead. Onto the next chapter I go, I guess.

Great story so far!

xxNix

Author's Response: Yep, newborn vampires have crimson eyes like Lucy and Hugo, and then it fades to orange, then amber, then cream before they get their natural eye colour back -- but only Jeremiah has his natural eye colour, because it's only something that happens to vampires approximately a thousand years old. His eyes were cream during the flashback, but that was 250 years earlier so now his eyes are normal coloured again. Lucy's eyes weren't noticed because there's a wonderful (for vampires) invention called coloured contact lenses ;)

Sandra is indeed alive! As for whether she'll appear at the meeting, that remains to be seen. I'm pleased you love the flashback, since I enjoy including plot twists into my stories!

I'm really happy that you're enjoying this story so far!

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16Bite Club: Awakening

30th June 2014:
Ooooh, it's getting better! I liked the introduction to Jeremiah and Claudine. And Longbottom's daughter is a slayer? Probably even the same slayer Hugo was dating? And does she really kill Claudine? And what will happen to the coven if she does? Guess I'll have to read on to find out.

xxNix.

Author's Response: Yay, I'm really happy you think this story is getting better! Yes, Neville's daughter is a slayer, and indeed the one that Hugo was dating. I see you've found answers to your questions by reading on, so I won't answer them here (I couldn't either way -- spoilers) but it's great that you wanted to read on and that you enjoyed the introduction to Jeremiah and Claudine.

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #22, by EnigmaticEyes16Bite Club: Prologue

30th June 2014:
Hi! This was an interesting start to the story. I'm definitely intrigued to read on. I haven't read a lot of Lucy, although I did write her once but I can't really compare your Lucy to my take on her. I think you did a good job of portraying her. She seemes reasonable enough, but then at the end I suppose a little crazy comes out when she starts talking like Hugo deserves what she did to him, that now he'll know how she's always felt, how he himself made her feel. It made sense to me, anyway.

I did notice a couple little errors at the beginning. In the first paragraph, when Lucy says "and because he or she ran off after me of most of my blood" I think you just left out a word there. And then in the second paragraph "no matter much I drink" same thing, just a word missing. Little things that happen when you're typing in the moment.

Other than those tiny things, I thought this was a really great first chapter and I'm gonna read on to see what happens.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi! I'm really pleased you're intrigued to continue, and that you enjoyed my portrayal of Lucy. I find that she's not written in fanfic as much as her cousins, so it's great you wrote her even once! I'm happy that her craziness made sense to you!

Ahh, pesky typos. I swear I proofread my chapters a million times and yet I still end up with typos making their way into the archives. Thanks for pointing those out -- I'll get right onto fixing them as soon as I can! :)

Thank you so much, and I'm glad you wanted to continue reading!

-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16Heat of the Moment: Heat of the Moment

23rd June 2014:
This was so cute. Your build up to the moment where they kiss and then share their feelings and kiss again was perfect. And James' interruption was hilarious. This was a very well written story and I really enjoyed reading it.

xxEE16

Author's Response: Hi!

Thank you! I got a love for the song and well it got me inspired.

Well James interrupted them in the epilogue so I thought it was fitting for him to do it again, even though this is set before that.

Thanks for reading and reviewing

-Potterfan310


 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16Masks: Don't Pitch a Fit

23rd April 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Slytherin Review Exchange!

I thought this was a really nice story. So far it's been very light and fun, and it was fun to read. I went through the chapters very quickly without much issue. There were a few grammar/word choice things that I noticed but they did not hinder me from continuing the story.

I'm really intrigued. I'm very curious about what's going to happen. I've learned quite a bit about Eilley, and I'm very interested in knowing more about the other characters, like does she have a chance with Scorpius? Will her feelings ever change for Albus, and what's his deal anyway? And James suddenly became a curious figure as well.

I'm very interested to see what happens next so I'll have to keep an eye out for the next chapter. I wanna know how she reacts to her hair, and I'm curious what color her hair was before (because I don't remember if you mentioned it or not). And I'm glad I signed up for this exchange, it was a lot of fun.

xxEE16

Author's Response: Hello! I am so pleased to know we are partners! I am glad the story doesn't feel like a ridiculously large amount. Anything over 13 chapters seems really large to me- so I think a wrap up will be slowly finding it's way once, oh I don't know, a plot comes along... So many curious figures I know! I was thinking about making another story to fill in all the gaps with Carrington's perspective. I have been promising an update soon for the past three months so. I'll post an update once it is out. As for the poor girl's hair, it was a brownish-black (I thought I put that somewhere before but I might have forgotten...) I am glad you had fun with this! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!
XOXOXOX,
LLG


 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16Just a Little: Just a Little

13th April 2014:
Aww, this was very cute. I enjoyed reading a story where Lily had sort of already given in to James but still retains her fiery personality. And I like how she was ballsy enough to just come out and say it too after finding out that James' hadn't. And I hope that means good things for them. I think I may have to go check out your friend's story to find out.

Also, this story was very well written and I didn't notice any mistakes or mistypes while reading. So, great job on this!

xxEE16

Author's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed it. I was in a ridiculously good mood writing this story. It was too much fun! I wanted to explore the dynamic of their relationship at that point. And it definitely means good things for them! You should definitely check out Withering! It's an amazing story by an amazing author.

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>