Reading Reviews From Member: EnigmaticEyes16
  
388 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16Agony: Agony

23rd November 2014:
OMG! This was amazing! There were a couple times where I was on the brink of tears because this was so good. I love how you built up Draco and Hermione's relationship. At first, we think their just old school acquaintances, and then we find out they spent a night together talking, then we find out they did a little more than talking, then we find out they dated for five months and lived together, then towards the end we find out she was pregnant when he walked out on her. And they are clearly still very in love with each other even though they hadn't seen each other in five years and she married Ron. I am kinda surprised Ron wanted to marry her knowing she carried Draco's child, but it was a very good guy thing of him to do, to raise Draco's child with her. But even though Draco's a vampire, and Hermione would rather not be one, I still want them to be together. There's just so many emotions! I honestly loved every second of this, it just kept getting better and better with every new piece of information. And it made me really sad when it ended because I really wanted there to be more so I could read on...

Anyway, this was amazing. I loved it. Good luck in the Vampire Challenge. I've only read two other entries so far but I honestly think your story is gonna be a hard one to beat.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It was a pretty emotional one to write so it's nice to know people are enjoying it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16Blood Lust: Blood Lust

22nd November 2014:
Hi! I thought this was a very interesting, yet very brief story. I kinda like how you don't include names or let us know in any way who the characters are, but at the same time I really want to know more. But it does seem very straight and to the point, the vampire wants to feed and that's what she's going to do.

All in all I thought this was very well written, I didn't see any mistakes, and it was also very easy to read. I think you did a great job with this. Good luck in the Vampire Challenge!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!

This was a very lovely and unexpected review, thank you. I'm thrilled that you took the time to read and review, it means a lot. :)

I didn't want to include any character names so that you could make your own assumptions as to who they were. I like to leave people questioning what happens next - I really am mean like that ;) - so it's a good thing to me that you wanted to know more.

I'm glad that you like it!

- Becca.



 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16Unrequited Snowfall: Unrequited Snowfall

8th November 2014:
Hi! I should totally be writing for NaNo right now, but the mention of Dramonie made me check this out and the summary totally sucked me in. This story was so good, and very well written with only a few tiny mistakes and I loved every second of it.

I absolutely loved Draco's internal struggle, constantly wanting Hermione but knowing he couldn't have her and his father would disown him if he did... I thought it was as realistic as it could get if Dramonies were actually realistic. I love how Hermione constantly questioned his new interest in her, thinking it had to do with something entirely different the entire time, not even crossing her mind that he could like her until she saw the drawings he made. I also really loved the artistic bit of this story, to me it was a new take on Dramonie that she would draw these sometimes sad sometimes hilarious comics. And I liked the story bit she wrote about Lavender burning in oil. And that Draco responded to her drawings with his own comics. Although I was a little surprised she opened the book right there when he handed it to her to see what he did, I was thinking maybe she'd approach him later, maybe he'd have his own sleepless night worrying, and she'd finally share her feelings. But I suppose the one-shot had to end eventually. Although I would love to see a sequel to see if they actually got together or not, maybe something from Hermione's point of view. That would be neat.

Anyway, this was a really fantastic one-shot and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it from beginning to end. I think you did a great job with this and incorporating all the wintery bits to for your prompt. Good luck in the challenge!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks so much Nix! I'm really glad you liked it. =)

It was a lot of fun to write and I really enjoyed portraying them this way. It was interesting to try and write them realistically for a change, and so I'm glad it came across as effective. After the challenge is judged, I will probably turn this into a longer story, or at least give readers the POV of Hermione and her reaction in a second chapter.

Thanks for taking the time to review and good luck with NaNo!


 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16Reincarnation: Memories

1st November 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Slytherin Review Exchange! This is an interesting story. I like the concept of reincarnation and mingling of both Rhea and Rose in the same body. But I feel like the pace is just too fast and I wish you would slow down and take more time to explain everything. I'm still not entirely sure what the boys did to Rose that killed her. And I'm just kind of shocked that Al chose to hire her so quickly without asking her anything, gut instinct or not, working in a hospital is a very serious position, and I feel like questions should have been asked, and her information and credentials should have been given right off the bat. I'm very confused about her dad's behavior toward her as well, I don't understand why he would have even agreed to take her to London to take care of her, if he didn't want her.

Although the build up of her feelings towards her father do help explain why Rhea was so easily willing to leave her life behind, so that Rose could enter it and take over. But then I'm not sure if Rose has taken over or if she's still Rhea and Rose is just in her head. It kind of seems like the two are both in there and come out through triggers like the memories and dreams. It is a very interesting concept. But it is a little awkward that Rhea likes Albus but Rhea is supposed to be Rose who was his cousin, lol.

All in all I do really like the idea of this kind of story, but I do wish more was explained in the story.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16A Force Of Wills: Bargains

29th October 2014:
Hey! This is a very interesting chapter, seeing Astoria with her father in his office for the first time. Like it's a strange initiation to her family's business. He's decided to spare her life but now she has to play by his rules.

It's very intriguing the dynamic between the two, how she is mostly able to keep her cool in her father's presence, and even wants to raise her upper lip in a sneer at him, the way she would with other purebloods.

I also like how you include the portraits of her father's siblings and how they are sort of a lesson as to not let the business make you go mad, as it did for his brother and, possibly, sister. I wonder if they are all really dead (kind of assuming they must be, but I don't know) or just no longer apart of the family business, and I wonder if the older brother wanted to turn away from it when he wanted to change things.

I'm very curious to know what her father asks of her, and what it will mean for Blaise as well. I wonder if he'll ask her to get close to Draco again in order to get back into the Malfoys' good favor.

I love how Blaise enters at the end, making jokes and acting as if nothing has happened. I think him and Astoria are so cute together and I wonder what he means when he says he'll make her a part of his life when she's basically promised hers away in order to keep him alive.

I really want to read on to find out what happens, but this may be the last you hear from me for a while because of NaNo, but I will be back!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16A Force Of Wills: Sacrifices

25th October 2014:
Hi! Sorry I've been terrible at reviewing, I've been so wrapped up in reading the story and there's so much to comment on in every chapter, but I'm going to start trying again. So, commence this very long review.

This was a really sad chapter. Astoria's guilt is clearly evident as she feels responsible for Blaise's injuries (although why he went without his wand is completely unknown to me and just blows my mind. I wonder if and where they will find it.). And she says she never knew things would turn out this way, but then she admits (to herself) that she had known. But of course she knew. That's why she wanted to leave the Zabini Estate the second Blaise was willing to let her in, and she kept trying to convince him that he was in danger but he wouldn't have any of it. And clearly he made her feel safe and gave her hope that her family wouldn't find them. And even though they've only really known each other for a few days, and she might not even admit it to herself, I think she's already fallen in love with Blaise, and it really shows in this chapter.

I love, LOVE the part when Blaise wakes up and tells her he wouldn't mind hearing her continue to confess her undying love for him. It's a relief to know he's okay enough to be cocky and make fun, but the same time they're so cute together. I practically squealed when he got her to come close enough and he kissed her.

I'm very anxious to know exactly what Astoria is to her family. The way her mother calls her their gift is very strange. It almost seems like she was brought to replace Leo in a way, and maybe not even share any blood with the Greengrasses at all. Although, I wonder if Leo was also a halfblood. It seems like whatever he did to get killed must have been very serious, especially if their own father is the one who killed him. I mean, to kill his first son seems like a very drastic measure.

Now, onto Draco's bit of the chapter. I think it's interesting how happy he is. Even though his friends had shunned him on arrival, he's so happy because he thinks he has Astoria right where he wants her, except he has yet to notice that she's not even on the train. Or maybe he expects her not to be on the train after what happened the day before.

I do like how your Draco doesn't seem to be very fond of the Dark Lord and his Aunt Bellatrix, afraid one of them may off his family if they make a mistake. And you can tell he cares for his mother, telling her to stay strong, and wishing he could just take her and run away.

I find it intriguing though that Draco is finally starting to figure out Astoria's secrets and instead of being scared of what they could do to him, he only wants to know more about her and her family. And I think he may even see her in a higher respect knowing they both deal with the same kind of violence and madness on a regular basis. It seems like he may be finally seeing her as his equal. But at the same time he still thinks he owns her. I wonder how it will all play out in the upcoming chapters and if/when Astoria will return to Hogwarts...

Guess I'll just have to keep reading to find out. Anyway, great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16Bitter Longing: Bitter Longing

19th October 2014:
Hello again! I've been meaning to review this for a bit now, and I'm finally getting to it. I love reading Draco's POV in A Force of Wills, so the fact that you wrote this entire one-shot in his perspective makes me super happy.

I'm not sure of the time period though in this story. A Force of Wills starts right before Draco's 7th year, but this one talks about it being OWL season, which makes me think it's 5th year. Because 6th and 7th year are dedicated to NEWTS.

I like how he's basically obsessed with Astoria though, even though he doesn't even know why. I think there's something there that pulls him in, probably the mysteriousness he talks about. He may only like her because she's the only girl he can't seem to figure out. She's a puzzle for him to solve. And I wonder if he'll still want her after he does figure her out, IF he figures her out, that is.

I like when he thinks "The girl made him feel as if he had some sort of disease" because that's kind of exactly how he treats her, whenever he calls her a breed. And it still kind of blows my mind how he expects halfbloods and muggleborns to bow down to him, but that's how he's always been. And I think it's kinda hilarious how he wants to know what she thinks of him, while at the same time knowing that it's probably nothing good.

He's very perceptive of her though, knowing just about everything he can know about her from simply watching her and stalking her. But of course, it's not enough for him. I love the bit where he mentions how she hit him with the Transfiguration book from your other one-shot. And I like how he views her insults to him so much more terrible than any hex or curse she's cast at him, I think that's really intriguing how he'll take physical pain over the emotional pain she causes him.

And I LOVED the little spat Draco has with Blaise. He's clearly threatened by the thought that Blaise may have an interest in Astoria as well, while also being aware of Draco's secret that he's obsessed with Astoria and even stalks her. Of course, he doesn't understand why Blaise would have noticed and not said anything considering how this lot will likely out each other the second someone does something scandalous. But my favorite part is where Blaise refers to Astoria as a cactus, as he does in a Force of Wills, and then goes on to talking about having a garden of them, lol. He does play the odd card well and without a care.

I like how at this point in time, Draco says he would never hurt her. Clearly, another year of this has driven him a bit more mad, as in A Force of Wills he very much wants to wring her neck when he's not thinking of having his way with her.

But the best part is probably the end, where he runs into George and Angelina, and he can clearly see the love and passion they have for one another, and knows he'll never have that with Astoria, and not just because of his parents, but because she will never see him in that light. And when George says this out loud I think it really hurts his ego, even though he'd never willingly show it. But it definitely shows him in a sad, pitying light in this scene, that he wants love just like everyone else, but the only person he wants it with, he can't have.

Anyway, this is an amazing one-shot! And this was a super long review, but I'm glad I finally got to post it. I love your Draco and I can't wait to read more of him in your other story.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16Monsters in the Dark: Monsters in the Dark

6th October 2014:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap!

First of all, I kind of have to point out that I can't believe this was so short! I'd gotten so used to your super long chapters that this one threw me for a loop. I thought, when I was looking at your page, that it had said this was longer but then I got to the end and I was like "wait, what?"

Anyway, I've already read a good chunk of A Force of Wills (I know I'm terrible and I haven't been reviewing lately, but I am up to like Ch. 15), so thankfully I have a pretty good grasp of the backstory so there really isn't any confusion. Although, I might be little confused coming into this without having already started the other story. But I enjoyed seeing her in Hogwarts, since I have yet to get to the point where she returns to school.

Okay, onto an actual review. Maybe. This story does start off kind of sad, because she ends up watching another couple, who is clearly in love, and Astoria gets a little depressed thinking about how very much in love they were because she doesn't think she can ever have that with the way her family is going. But I like how it brings out that romantic side we've only seen snippets of in the longer story.

And I LOVED the scene with Draco. Even though he's evil I still enjoy reading him. Does that make me weird? And just the way he speaks in general is very interesting. There's also so much talk of eating and biting in this story, it's kind of unsettling, but also very curious. I don't actually expect him to eat her, but it's interesting how much you include this kind of language throughout.

I love how he wants her and how much she loathes him, which for some twisted reason causes him to want her even more. It's also very interesting how innocent she is, I mean I'm not saying she's naive, she does know a lot, but she's very inexperienced sexually, and to have someone who is thoroughly experienced in such things come on to her must be very overwhelming (or at least it probably would be if she didn't spend most of the time completely hating him). I love how she played coy and pretended to give in to him. I almost seriously thought she had! Even though I'd read the summary, it's not like I knew exactly when that was going to happen, and as I said, I for some reason thought this was longer than it turned out to be. But I love how she did that and then when he least expected it, she just whops him with the book. I also love how you ended this, pointing out how the story clearly isn't over. And it isn't because there's another one-shot, and it's from Draco's point of view which is super exciting for me because I love reading these stories from his perspective, so I will be off to read that next.

This was a very lovely snippet into Astoria's life at Hogwarts though. Thank you so much for the swap!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16It Is the Colour of Joy: You Smile...

30th September 2014:
Hi! I am here for the Slytherin Review
Exchange! I still cannot believe I almost
forgot to do this, but I am finally here.

This was a very interesting little one-shot. I
did read your other story, This Song Must End,
since it was a companion piece to this, and
they were both very short, so I figured why
not. And I thought the two stories complimented
each other very well, giving us both Draco and
Astoria's perspectives.

And I have to say that I feel like this story
says a lot for being so short. Although I do
think it would be an interesting story to
possibly elaborate on in a longer length if you
ever wanted to.

I do love the shortness and brevity of it
though, the short sentences and one sentence
paragraphs made it very easy to read and follow
the storyline. I also liked how you
incorporated the color light red from the
beginning to end, making it her favorite color
and the color the potion turned to tell her she
was pregnant.

All in all, I thought this story was very sweet
and endearing. I love the line where she says
Draco practically lunged at her when she said
yes to his proposal. And even though they're
lives aren't perfect they are clearly very
happy with each other, and sometimes that's all
that really matters.

You did a great job with this, and thank you so
much for doing the exchange with me.

xxNix

Author's Response: That's cool! I almost forgot as well, so no worries!

I'm glad you felt that the two stories worked well together as a set. I wrote them quite far apart, so I was worried that the styles might be too different.

I did toy with making this story longer. I do want to know what happens with these two, so that might be on the cards sometime in the future... I don't know, but exciting stuff all the same!

My biggest worry with this story is that I go overboard with the colour. I literally included it in every single place I could without making it ridiculously obvious. I'm happy that it worked though!

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing! I had fun doing the exchange!


 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16A Force Of Wills: A Force of Wills

23rd September 2014:
This story is getting VERY interesting. I was very intrigued by Astoria's little chat with Blaise in the pantry. He doesn't really seem like a terrible guy and it was nice to see him come out of his quiet shell a bit. I can't wait to see more of Astoria's interactions with him, because looking at the titles of upcoming chapters, I can see that there is definitely going to be more. And I'm also very curious to see what Draco does next. I wonder if we will see him again before they go off to Hogwarts.

But that is it for today, I need some sleep. These are some very long chapters you write, but I have to say, it never gets dull.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by again with this lovely review. I'm glad that a lot of people have come to this story and I hope we continue to chat, I still owe you a review and I'll get to it right after this!

Blaise isn't nearly as terrible as Draco is and might actually be a decent guy. Hahaha. I wrote him as a bit more reserved and the conversation that he has with Astoria in the pantry only shows the first real signs of his character.

Oh, there's going to be more interactions between Blaise and Astoria. Hahaha. The story goes into a way different direction after chapter six so you're just going to have to wait and see. Draco does show up again but just not in the way you expect.

Hahah, go to sleep! I have long chapters and I'd rather not have you guys passing out when you need rest. Hahahah.

Thanks a lot!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16A Force Of Wills: Purebloods

22nd September 2014:
Jeez, that was intense. I was reading the second half of this to the end, practically on the edge of my seat, my little ipod touch less than a foot away from my face, mentally going "ah!" the entire time. And the game hasn't even started yet! Or has it? Hmmm.

Okay, a lot happened in this chapter. I think I like and I don't like Draco. I'm legit torn on my feelings for him in this story. He's kind of a total jerk. Especially when she's fainted and he still wants to have his way with her, and at the same time keeps telling Blaise to just dump her somewhere. But I was glad that Blaise was gentlemanly enough to catch her before she fell and lay her down gently, and that he protected her from Draco and the other guys until her siblings came in.

I'm also glad we got to see that there's a little more to Emily in this chapter. She cares for her sister, but she seems to smooze her way through things, purposely involving herself with men she's trying to get information out of. I'm very intrigued by their "family business" and very curious as to what exactly their father's goal is here since they seem to all hate purebloods so much. And I'm very curious about the threats Astoria has on Malfoy... although I don't know why he would want her to be his, and want to ruin her at the same time... is that so she has to turn to him for help? Maybe? He's seems to have a pretty twisted view of things...

I am going to have to read on some more because I'm very curious to know what's happening and this story has totally ensnared me. It's very well written, too, my only issue is there are so many commas around the dialogue where there should probably be periods and it can be slightly confusing figuring out who's speaking at times. But other than that, I'm loving this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much for stopping by, I'm glad that you've enjoyed the story so far. Bwhahaha, I hope you didn't hurt your iPod touch by having it that close to your face though, I've learned my lesson with technology. Hahhah.

Anyhoo, Draco is a complete and utter sleaze in this story and a lot of people pretty much give up on him right about now. I wrote him that way on purpose and its really sad that the only thing on his mind is when he can have Astoria for his own. Blaise is more old fashioned than the others and he wouldn't have let anything happen to Astoria, he's actually human.

Ah, yes. Emily has a bit more depth to her than what you might have seen in the first chapter and while she's not particularly a favorite, I'm glad that people understood that she does love her sister. Being with various men for information is all a part of the business their family is involved in and you'll find out more about that later.

Astoria's father has information on everyone so of course, she knows more about the Malfoy family than Draco does. Hahaha. Draco has an intense lust for Astoria, it really can't be explained very well so I hope you do stick around longer. :D

I'll have to go in and fix those mistakes, it's been a long time since I've actually took a step back and looked through each chapter. Thanks for telling me though!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16A Force Of Wills: Half and Half

22nd September 2014:
Hi! I am here for our review swap! Sorry it took me so long, I got temporarily distracted but I did not forget.

Anyway, so far this seems very intriguing. I like Astoria a lot so far and her disdain for pureblood society, and just about everyone we've met so far, lol. Although i was a bit confused with her siblings, since I always see her and Daphne as sisters. But I'm intrigued by her brother being called Scorpious... But I do love that he has her back as her sister has yet to have a personality under her good daughter demeanor.

There's definitely something going on in Draco's mind about Astoria that I am dying for a glimpse of. I saw that you have two one-shots concerning this coupling and I may have to check those out, too.

This game so far is also very interesting and I think I'm just gonna have to read on to find out what happens during it. I did notice a few mistakes here and there, just some little typos and one or two weird word choices but nothing that couldn't easily be cleared up with a beta maybe.

So far though, this is really good. I think I'm definitely going to have to read on because I want to know what happens next.

Again, thanks for the review swap! I'm glad I got to read this story so far.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks for stopping by and it's really all right that it took you a minute to get here. I always take too long with my own reviews and people have too much faith in my power to resist chocolate. Hahahha.

Astoria has a lot of issues with purebloods at the moment and I think that if you keep reading, you'll only see that it goes far beyond hatred. There's no Daphne Greengrass in this story, it's sort of an AU so don't worry about that. Hahaha. Ah, so many people are interested in Scorpious's name and well, it really isn't what you think.

Scorpious does love his sister though and he'd never let anything happen to her.

If you had wanted to know more about Draco's feelings towards Astoria, you could try out those one-shots. I'm going through an editing process for "Monsters in the Dark" though so if I update it and you seem a little confused, that's why. Hahhaah.

Thanks so much for stopping by with this lovely review!

Much love,

Gabbie


 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16Lily, I'm a Werewolf. : Lily, I'm a werewolf.

9th September 2014:
Haha, awww. This was a super cute one-shot. I loved how Remus was all sad and brooding, trying to muster up the nerve to tell Lily, and afraid of her not wanting to be friends with him once he told her the truth, only to find out she knew all along that he was a werewolf and never saw him any differently for it. It was a very sweet, heartwarming story and very well written.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi Nix!

Oh thank you! :) Poor Remus was a physical and mental wreck! The silly man just thinks so poorly of himself and never sees how much he truly is loved by his friends. Of course Lily would have figured it out and not think any less of him. But, sadly, it's not in Remus' nature to see the good in himself. It's a great thing that he did have Lily, James, Sirius, and I'm sure even Peter, when he was younger. I would think they helped him, just a little bit, finally see that he was a wonderful person and, most importantly, a human being, just like them. Even if he did have a "furry little problem" once a month.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a lovely review!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16You Are Part of Everything : Dear Prudence

4th September 2014:
Aw, that was terribly sad. Such a cruel thing for Sirius to do to a girl. But I must say it was a very well written, and the flow of the story was very nice, making it easy to read. I really liked how you incorporated the Beatles and John Greene quotes, it added a really nice touch to the story.

You did a great job on this, and good luck with the challenges!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hiya! :)

I know, Sirius was a total jerk here. A lot of us tend to write the funny version - his version - of being a "ladies man." I really wanted to show the other side of the coin. The average, everyday girl, who was a victim of his playboy tendencies. Hearing that this was sad, is honestly the best compliment I could receive. :)

Thank you so much! I'm really pleased to hear that the lyrics and the quote worked with the story. I didn't realize how difficult it would be to work in someone else's words into my own story.

Thank you for reading and for leaving such a lovely review!! And I'm crossing my fingers haha. ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16Downfall: Downfall

4th September 2014:
Hm, this was an interesting story. At first I thought you were writing about the scene where the trio is captured and Hermione deforms Harry's face with a spell so that he's unrecognizable. But I later realized that this is clearly not the same scene. I'm very intrigued by Harry and Draco's pairing and how it came to be, I am also very curious as to who "she" is. My first guess is Narcissa, that something must have happened to her, as she is one of the few people Draco will fight for. But if I'm wrong I'm very curious to know who else it could be.

Anyway, I do think you did an excellent job with this, you did seem to manage to fit so much into such a short amount of words. It's just too bad there couldn't be more to it, because I'd like to know what's really going on...lol. Oh well.

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review :) As to the mystery character... well... she is mysterious.

 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16Doing the Right Thing: Doing the Right Thing

2nd September 2014:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap! This was an intriguing little one-shot. And while I know what's going on, I'm clearly missing a bit of back story because of the challenge rules, and because I have yet to read your novel, but clearly I should because now I want to know what happens!

I really like the way you began this with three short and simple sentences, and put them in your summary as well. It really drew me in, making me want to know what it was exactly Draco was planning to do. Although I am a little surprised Voldemort had given Draco a whole year to train before sending him on another mission, that does seem a little too giving of Voldemort. Especially as during that year the war is brewing as tensions are high up until the end of the battle at Hogwarts.

But I did like how Draco started thinking for himself. It's obvious he wants to make everyone proud, his mother, his fellow Death Eaters, Voldemort, but he clearly isn't a fan of all the death that's necessary to put Voldemort in charge, and all the deaths that will continue to occur even after he is in charge. He's still partially in that mental state he was in in HBP, thinking he doesn't have a choice, thinking this is the only way to protect his mother. But then he keeps questioning it, and questioning the cowardice of killing a man in his sleep, until he finally realizes he does have a choice, and a chance to do the right thing in this moment, and he makes it. And I really enjoyed reading it. I'm a going to have to check out your novel after this because I am very curious as to where this decision takes Draco.

So, thanks for offering this swap and good luck in the challenge!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16How I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

30th August 2014:
Wow. This was like perfect Lockhart narration. He was just so engrossed with himself and his own reflection, just like in the books, and taking credit for things he didn't do, also just like in the books, that I don't think anyone could do any better. It was quite funny, too, how he thought he could save the world with hair potions. I'm not a big fan of Lockhart but I definitely loved this one-shot about him.

Great job on this!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote Lockhart. Yeah, it seems he didn't change much! I don't know if anyone really is a fan of Lockhart besides himself, haha :p but I'm so glad you enjoyed this silly story! Thanks so much for reading and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16The Monopoly on Honour: When Love absents itself

29th August 2014:
Hi! EnigmaticEyes16 here for the Slytherin Review Exchange!

This story is so very intriguing so far. I loved the flashbacks in the first chapter where Lucius refuses to make a marriage contract for Draco when he is still so young. Yet it was very cute how he ends up meeting Astoria anyway and they immediately seem to become friends. And the nervous boding of their upcoming trials is very intense. I am super curious and kinda scared to see what happens to all of them in their trials. I wonder if that takes place in the next chapter or not. I feel so bad for Daphne who is wracking her brain trying to come up with a way out of being persecuted for something she didn't even do, and I hope she does find a way out of it. Although, it will still be sad because Theo has been sentenced to Azkaban for five years. Even though he was lucky not to be sentenced for life, it's still such a long time to be stuck in such a terrible place. And it's so tragic what happened to Hero and Selena. Although I'm not totally surprised by Narcissa's reaction to Lucius. She's clearly very upset and angry about how her family is being dragged through the mud and will more than likely be torn apart by the upcoming trials and it's understandable that she would blame Lucius for putting them all in that situation.

Wow, this review turned out way longer than I thought it would. I did very much enjoy these first two chapters, although sadly (as they aren't exactly happy chapters). But I did have some issues with all the changes of POV, and trying to figure who's voice I was reading in each scene, and then the switching from third person to first person kinda through me off. But other than that I did think it was all very well written. I do intend to read the next chapter, just not right now.

Really great job on this though in pulling together all these Slytherins into one story and making it work and keeping it interesting.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi Nix!

I'm so sorry for the late reply; the past week or so has been absolutely hectic. But I have a spare couple of hours now!

I'm glad you liked the flashbacks - I suppose I wanted to show that there was far more to their lives than constant doom and gloom :) Their trials are a ways off yet - there are arrests first, and lots of other (hopefully) good things before then :) I am giving them hell, aren't I? But I always thought the whole idea of 'Voldemort is gone and everyone lives happily ever after' was a bit far-fetched; because that doesn't happen after what was effectively a civil war. People want revenge, they want punishment, they want that elusive concept of 'justice' - it's going to be a very unsettled period, with different factions; different vested interests.

Narcissa's blame of Lucius is interesting: I think that when people are angry, they have very selective memories, but obviously I can't comment on that :)

I'm glad you feel for these characters. I suppose that was partly the aim - to humanise them. They are the protagonists of the story, but they are far from heroes - I think that sometimes people confuse the two as being one and the same, when they aren't, necessarily :) I'm happy you enjoyed the first two chapters, it's really encouraging and heartening to hear that!

On the changes of POV - from the third chapter onwards, I've used the GoT style of signalling changes in POVs, so hopefully that will make things clearer. Don't worry, I am planning to go back and edit the first two chapters and put the GoT signalling in to make the first two chapters more understandable to read.

It's so nice to hear that you're planning to read on, and I hope you enjoy the next chapters too!

On pulling the Malfoys and Greengrasses into the same story - the Malfoys and their trials were the original starting point, but the main attraction with the Greengrasses was that in canon we know so little about them, and so that gives me far more room to play around in. Then there was the fact that Daphne and Draco were in the same year at school, and given how closed Pureblood and especially Slytherin circles were, I thought it was impossible that they didn't know each other relatively well.

Thanks so much for the review, and I'm so sorry once again about such a late reply!

Celi xxx


 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16(wake up, you're dreaming): (wake up, you're dreaming)

25th August 2014:
This was such a sad little one-shot! Yet very heartfelt, it made me want to cry a little bit, and if it was any longer it probably would have made me cry. I'm not positive, but I'm guessing this take place during sixth year, maybe? Draco keeps saying the Dark Lord has something he wants Draco to do, and Draco is concerned he might not make it out alive, so I'm guessing it's not long before he has to kill Dumbledore... correct me if I'm wrong though.

Anyway, while sad, this was a very sweet and well-written one-shot. It was nice to see Draco showing some emotions for once, even if only to himself. I think you did a fantastic job with this.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Home

19th August 2014:
Of course it's worth the risk! Ugh, I just want them to be happy. And I'm super sad this story is almost over. But, I guess, it's gotta end sometime, right?

I can't wait for the next chapter to be updated, I'm gonna have to keep a look out for it because I really want to know what happens!

xxNix

Author's Response: I KNOW RIGHT? But I couldn't resist. Millie isn't the type to jump into things like this, especially since Sirius is giving her space to make up her mind, rather than just dragging her along as he used to do.

Thank you so much for all your wonderful reviews! It means so much to me


 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Chocolate Frogs

19th August 2014:
Ugh, even when they're not actually talking to each other they're cute. I thought this was really sweet chapter and a super cute idea with the chocolate frogs. And there's only one chapter left! I do hope you update again soon because I am seriously hooked on this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: These two are weirdos. They're relationship is so strange, and I love writing it this way. They're so stereotypical in some respects and then completely and utterly not in others - it's part of there charm ;) I'm glad you're still enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #22, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Gone, Gone, Gone

18th August 2014:
Oh no! I hope she really is okay. This chapter was almost heart-wrenching, I even teared up towards the end. I can't believe the death eaters attacked Hogwarts like that! And DID Regulus have something to do with it? I want to know and read on, but it's really late and I should really get some sleep after spending a good chunk of my day reading this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Even more drama! This is so not this story! But this was also really fun to write. The style is completely different to how I usually write these chapters, and I really enjoyed it. Might give it another go! Aww! I'm feeling very happy-sad about your feelings reading this chapter. I'm happy because YES! STRONG EMOTIONS. But on the hand I'm sad because STRONG EMOTIONS. And Regulus actually didn't have anything to do with it - directly. And I'm so very impressed by just how quickly you've read and reviewed this story!

 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Not Now, Not Ever

18th August 2014:
No! You must believe him! Ugh, this is for serious breaking my heart. I really hope he can convince her. If he had just admitted he'd loved her she might have forgiven him!

xNix

Author's Response: This series of chapters broke my heart too. I'm so comfortable writing fluff, and then I tried my hand at actual drama and it left me feeling a little awful. I think that's mostly because of the structure and purpose of this story, rather than an aversion to drama itself. And SO MANY PROBLEMS would have been fixed/avoided if Sirius confessed his feelings... if he even realises them.

 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Of Hearts and Bludgers

18th August 2014:
Ugh! I hate her! I hope they survive this and Sirius is able to convince her that he doesn't want anything to do with Marissa. Where did she even come from? How did she know he'd be looking for Millie?

Must read on to see what happens.

xxNix

Author's Response: I hope you hate Marissa and not Millie! Marissa has a habit of popping out of nowhere at the most inconvenient (or convenient if seen from a plot point of view) of times. And you're right - how DOES she know about such things? What are her secrets? There's a fic right there...

 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Valentine's Day

17th August 2014:
Awww, that was super cute. Also wanted to note that I love how he calls her darling all the time. Not the first time I noticed, but the first time I felt the need to say it, lol. Anyway, I thought the picnic in the forest was a really sweet idea for a date and I'm glad they seem to be in such a good place. At first I thought Sirius might ask her to be his non-fake, for real FOR REAL girlfriend, but Valentine was still a cute idea.

xxNix

Author's Response: CUTENESS OVERLOAD IN THE LAST FEW CHAPTERS. Even I squee when I occasionally reread them (when I'm not wincing about my writing). And darling is just his thing. It started out as a bit patronising, but I think he really means it now. And these two making clear-cut decisions about there relationship? Never!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>