Reading Reviews From Member: EnigmaticEyes16
  
440 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16Greenhouse Seven: Greenhouse Seven

31st March 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the March Review Exchange!

This was a very interesting chapter. I really enjoyed the prologue with Neville asking about the Goat's beard seeds and her showing him when and where to find them. I especially like how you bring it full circle by ending with them as well.

I also really enojyed reading about the dynamic of Neville's Herbology class, focusing on researching plants and doing lots of tests and observations. Plus, it's neat how you include Neville with a different group of people than the usual Gryffindors, since we know others like Harry and Ron did not take Herbology after their fifth year. I especially like how you include Howe, a transfer students who's been homeschooled all his life. Sure, it was known that attendance to Hogwarts was made mandatory by the the Death Eaters but we never really see where that comes into play with students who were homeschooled because we only see the story through Harry's eyes in the books, and, unlike Neville, he doesn't attend his seventh year at Hogwarts, so it never really comes up.

I also like how you include a Slytherin, Tracey, albeit she's a bit unknown canonwise. I like how she's not stuck up or mean though towards her classmates even when her Slytherin housemates are constantly calling her out for being friends with them. It shows that not all Slytherins had it so easy either during the war. And I like that she was able to be someone Neville could care about and didn't want to see get hurt.

The ending definitely surprised me. I honestly wasn't quite sure where this story was headed until Neville asked Sprout about Greenhouse Seven being an arsenal. You definitely can't blame a teacher for using her students to build up resources that can be used against the Death Eaters in the oncoming war. They all know it's coming, and she clearly senses it will come to Hogwarts by choosing to have her students raise these plants so that when the time comes they'll be able to do some damage, while at the same time they'll know what they're doing well enough to hopefully not get hurt in the process. I love Neville's idea to drop barrels of hot cooking oil over the Astronomy Tower, it's funny but it's definitely something that would be effective in harming and scaring off anyone attempting to seize the castle.

All in all I thought this was a wonderful one-shot and so well written with such an eye for detail. I can honestly picture those Greenhouses and plants in my mind from your descriptions. Anyway, this was a great read and you did such a good job with it!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi, Nix. Thanks so much for selecting "Greenhouse Seven" to review. It doesn't get many reviews, but it's a significant piece of my headcanon. It developed from a class that I took at another site; the class was Missing Moments, focused on Hogwarts in the 1997-1998 school year. I centered my class exercises on the detail of the previously-homeschooled students affected by the compulsory attendance edict as reported by Remus in Chapter 11 of DH. My headcanon expanded greatly, and I had to select this one small episode for the one-shot that was the final exam of that class.

Since Hogwarts is a school, I enjoy reading stories that depict what actually goes on in the classrooms, as well as all the extracurricular sneaking around at night. :) I also enjoy exploring the personalities and activities of the professors, probably because I'm an older lady myself and I look at the world from the viewpoint of many years. Professor Sprout plays a major role also in "Renewal", and, with Professor Sinistra, in "Dark Enough To See The Stars", the final chapter of which is in the queue now.

I also like to depict some Slytherins as not being clones of Draco and his two goons. I'm sure there were some perfectly nice students (such as Andromeda) who were sorted into Slytherin because of their family history/tradition or their determination and drive, but who were not jerks with personality disorders. As you say, in the seven books we see everything through Harry's eyes, and Draco is the Slytherin with whom he interacts the most.

As you saw, it's not a super-plotty story. I meant it to depict what went on in the classroom, introduce a homeschooled student, and bring up the moral issue of whether it was right or wrong for Professor Sprout to use the students in this way without telling them what her secondary motive was. Would it have made a difference to them if they had known from the beginning?

I used this headcanon again for "The Crofter And The Snake", which suffered from being restricted by constraints of length and deadline for a February romance challenge on that other site. SunshineDaisies graciously responded to my request for help in improving it by giving me a review pointing out the work that needed to be done. Still, you may somewhat enjoy reading the flawed version which is posted on these archives; Chapter 2 is better than Chapter 1. I will rewrite and expand it when time allows.

It's been nice chatting with you. I'll enjoy reading some of your stories too!

Vicki


 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16History of a Snitch: Snitch

29th March 2015:
I don't normally read James/Lily stories... but I wanted to know about the snitch so I decided to read this one... and it was ADORABLE! Oh my god, I loved this and thought it was the cutest James/Lily I've read. It's just so perfectly short and sweet, and I love the ending and how you include the snitch in it. And not to mention he's kept that same snitch all this time, there's so much sentimental value there! And it's funny, because him playing with the snitch had clearly always annoyed her, and yet he uses it to propose, it's just so sweet.

I thought you did a great job with this one-shot and it's wonderfully written!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed it even if it's not really your ship. :) I've loved the idea of this about since we found out snitches have flesh memories, and I just couldn't get the idea out of my head. So glad it came off well!

 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 6: Dragons and Veela and Trolls, Oh My!

29th March 2015:
Ah! I'm so excited! And yet sad that I've finally caught up because right now there aren't any more chapters to read. Hermione's obviously going to rush to the library first thing tomorrow though and read up on veelas, and when she figures it out I bet she's going to flip...

I can't wait to read on! I do hope you update soon!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

I'm popping an update in the queue as we speak. Thanks so much for reviewing all my chapters so far. it's super cool of you.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 5: A Not-So-Seductive Mystery

29th March 2015:
Hahaha, she actually stuck her tongue out at Malfoy! I bet he loved that! I can't wait to see her reaction when she finds out the truth about her friends and Draco!

I'm glad Harry at least is normal in this story and reacted accordingly to hearing about Draco's and Ginny's suspicious actions. Although, I have to wonder, he does come from a long line of wizards on James' side, you'd think his family might have been cursed with something as well. I mean, it's certainly a possibility. Only problem is that there'd be no one to clue him in when he came of age...

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

True, Harry dos come from a long wizarding line on James's side, but the Potter's weren't on the list of Sacred Twenty-Eight families, meaning they hadn't been pure for a long time. It would be too complicated to write Harry as something too. I'd end up with reviewers complaining that they thought he was more like whatever I didn't make him.

I'm glad you like the story so far and I hope you enjoy the rest. I'm hoping to update this soon if the queue allows.


 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 4: Infuriating Urges

29th March 2015:
Poor Draco, it must be so hard having to be around Hermione, and wanting to protect her when she still thinks of him as a bit of a git, even if she is attracted to him. All this must be very confusing for her, too, this sudden attention from and attraction to someone who's always hated her and vice versa.

I also like how the other Accursed are looking out for him as well so he doesn't out himself and them in process.

I'm very curious to read on!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello again,

Yeah I wanted to throw in a little camaraderie from the others in the group to make this fic really different. I'm glad you liked it.


 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 3: An Unexpected Encounter

29th March 2015:
This story is getting so much more interesting! I'm very surprised and happy that Hermione has finally gotten over her crush on Ron and let him be with Lavender for now. And I would love to see more of Neville and Luna. I also like how Hermione is thinking of finding a boyfriend and is rationally going through all the boys in her year and ticking them off the list. But I was super excited for Draco's first encounter with Hermione! I'm surprised he was able to be in such control to fight his urges to have her. Although I'm not surprised she suddenly finds him attractive with his new Veela allure going on. I like how much they both clearly wanted to snog each other! And Ginny's civil cut in to the conversation was very interesting. I'm not surprised Draco thinks she should tell Hermione the truth, and Hermione sees her breath smoke! But is Ginny of age yet? Shouldn't Ron be the one going through this new transition? Anyway, I love this story! I can't wait to see who confronts who in this situation, Ginny or Hermione. And I'd love to see more of what's going on in Draco's head, especially after finding his mate!

I can't wait to read on to find out!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

Thanks so much for reviewing. Im glad you liked it and hope you enjoy the rest


 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 2: Drivel & Buffoonery

20th March 2015:
Haha, oh my god I'm gonna get hooked on this story. It's so good. I can't wait to read the part where he's finds out who his mate really is. And I love how his friends are taking bets.

Plus, I think it's really funny that Blaise grew up suspecting they were part of the Accursed 28 and still being friends with them.

Oh, I want to read on but at the same time I should sleep! Ugh, it's so tempting!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

Thanks so much for reviewing for me. I'm glad you like it and hope i don't keep you up with it, but do like the sound of getting you hooked =)

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Chapter 1: The Devastation of Draco

20th March 2015:
Dun dun dun!

Wow. I love this! Reading this, everything suddenly makes sense. Draco and Lucius having veela-like hair and pale skin. Pansy as a banshee. Crabbe and Goyle as trolls. It's just perfect.

I am a little confused about why the curse doesn't take hold for any of them until they reach maturity though. I mean, I can see where that might make sense with a veela needing to reach sexual maturity, but it doesn't really explain the same way for troll, vampires, and banshees.

And is all the veela stuff in here canon, or made up? I'm just curious. Some of it does sound familiar, but I have trouble sometimes remembering where I've read things and what's canon and what's not.

But I love this story, I really do. I'm probably gonna read at least one more chapter tonight even though I should really be sleeping. Great job with this! All around I love the entire idea of this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

The Veela stuff in here is mostly canon I think... I always get head canon and actual canon confused too. I'm really glad you liked this so far and so grateful that you came over to check it out. You rock!

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16misguided ghosts: veni.

19th March 2015:
Hi! I am finally here for our review swap!

This seems like an interesting start to a story. I really like the idea of wizards addressing mental issues, I don't think it's something they should simply write off. I like how you give Rose a reason to want this change made, not just her father and his alcoholicism and reclusiveness, but her friend who committed suicide as well. And did James try to kill himself, too? I was a little confused about that bit. You'd think after the war they would have attempted to put more effort into helping people overcome the backlashes that can occur after a traumatic experience like that. But maybe they were too focused on reforming the ministry and changing the way people think about muggle-borns and muggles, and to give rights to werewolves and centaurs and other magical beings.

I wish Rose had put up more of a fight though, instead of just letting him dismiss her like that. I wish she had stood her ground and not run away crying. At least she's still determined to change things though, I'm very curious to see what her next move will be.

I also liked your little incites into your other stories, like Scorpius and Lysander, Albus' poetry reading, and Rose's Senior Healer. I wish I knew more about Willow though, and James and Freddie.

Anyway, great start so far! I may have to come back to see where this story goes in future chapters.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16Nothing Like This: Chapter 1: Venture in Aeternum et Ultra

19th March 2015:
Hi, finally here for our review swap! This is so dark, it had me on edge the entire time! I can't believe Harry's actually dead. And all the Weasleys. It's so sad. The world has clearly not become a better place at all thanks to Voldemort and Draco Malfoy.

But so far this story is seriously intense. You describe everything so well it might haunt me even after I'm done with this review and exit out of the page. I was so sad when Seamus decided to give up his life to save Hermione's and then heartbroken when his life was ended in vain because she was captured anyway! I wonder what Draco plans to do with her. Will he turn her into the Dark Lord or will he keep her for himself? I'm very curious to read on but sadly there is no more to read.

Anyway, thank you so much for doing the swap with me! This first chapter is so well written it's insane. Speaking of insanity, I wonder if Hermione has really cracked already, before the story's even gotten a real start?

Hmm. May have to come back when you post the next chapter to find out.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

Thanks so much for swapping with me. I'm really glad you liked it. This is the first fic I've written with this kind of darkness. Hunger, my fic about Greyback is dark but in a different way to this fic. I've been very nervous about it, so I'm glad to hear that you are enjoying it so far and that you think you'll be back for more.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16Unexpected: Death.

15th March 2015:
This one-shot was very intense! And very sad. Your description was great though! From the sweet and fluffy bits to the darker, scarier bits. I was on the edge of my seat throughout this short little one-shot waiting for the end, already knowing he was going to die. It's so sad that the same night he finds out Victoire is pregnant with his second child, is the night Dom comes to take his life. And poor Victoire is left alone, pregnant, with a small child. It's all very sad.

I do however wonder what could have happened to Dom. There's a whole lot of backstory missing there. At one point, was there something going on between her and Teddy? What did she do to be put in Azkaban? How did she escape? Even though I understand people can escape from Azkaban because they've certainly done it before, so that's the least pressing of my questions. How long has she been in there? Must have been a good bit if she's gone completely mad. When you first began to describe her, if her hair wasn't silver, I would honestly have thought she was Bellatrix.

Anyway, this was a lovely yet terribly sad story. You are so good at writing these huge expositions into a character's life in such few words. I hope you've enjoyed your Hot Seat reviews this week.

xxNix

Author's Response: I have /finally/ managed to finish answering all your lovely reviews, haha. Thank you so very much Nix!

I'm pleased you liked it. I did enjoy writing this, especially because of the highs and lows throughout Teddy's final day.

Because this was for the last 24 hours challenge, I didn’t want to get too bogged down with all the back story. I felt that Teddy wouldn't be thinking too much about the past and what had happened, more about the present time.

Thank you so very much. I have certainly enjoyed my time in the Hot Seat, and I apologise for taking so long to respond. Quidditch side-tracked me a bit!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16Fear : Bogart

15th March 2015:
Oh, I adored this! I just wish there was more. More explanations about everything. This is very different from any Dramione I've ever read and I'm just very interested to see more of it. But it's so nice seeing how much Draco cares for her, even if some days she doesn't even remember they were ever friends. I wish there was more to the part where Draco tells her Sirius is dead. It's funny that she punched him, but I'm sure she'd be much more heartbroken over that. And Fred! That must be terrible for the Weasleys. To not only have to deal with Hermione not having any memories, but also to have to be reminded that Fred is dead when she mentions him. And then to have to lie to her about his whereabouts. I wonder how she would react one day if they told her the truth...

Oh, I really wish this was longer. I want to know so much more to this. Like how she got with Draco in the first place, and what happened to Ron... so many questions.

Anyway, I'm gonna stop rambling. Great story!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey again!

I'm actually in the process of writing a prequel to this at the moment :) it'll also be from Draco's POV. The part where she punched him, it was more that she didn't believe him and that's why she wasn't upset.

Thank you so much! I'm glad you liked it.

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16All of Me: Love is irrational

15th March 2015:
Wow. I wanted to read this because I love the song, but even after reading it, I still can't see Lily and Bellatrix as a couple. It just seems so unlikely when I think about everything Bellatrix has done. But it was a really cute read with two people who aren't supposed to love each other but do anyway. I liked the metaphors Bellatrix used to describe herself and Lily based on their names. And I really enjoyed the endearing scene between Bella and Andromeda on the train. I just have to wonder, if this were to have actually happened, what could have changed Bellatrix so drastically that'd she loyally follow the man who killed Lily. Although it does sort of explain her disdain towards Snape.

Great story though! Very well written, and I thought you incorporated the song very well into the story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

Well, a girl can try :P I had hoped to encourage this shop, but it seems I have failed with you. That's alright though. In my head Bellatrix is a lot more sane when she was younger, and that Azkaban 'broke' her.

Haha, I'm glad you liked it, even with the pairing. They were very sweet to write about.

Thank you very much for this review!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16Hey Lily: Snow

13th March 2015:
Hello again! This is a very curious story! Brings about all kinds of questions! I've never read a story centered on a deaf student before, but this was very interesting. First I was surprised simply because Lily was a Slytherin, then even more surprised when I realized she was also deaf. I have to wonder how a deaf student would manage at Hogwarts. Do her teachers know how to sign? If not, does she have an interpreter to translate for her? And it doesn't seem as if she has many friends, since besides this Ravenclaw, you only mention her brothers and Hugo. It must be hard living and studying at Hogwarts without being able to communicate with a large portion of the student body. I'm very curious to read more though. I do like how she was able to make a friend who was willing to learn how to sign for her, although it's sad that they will be separated after graduation.

All in all, I thought this was a very sweet story and beautifully written.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix!

I usually see Lily as a Slytherin. I mean, I read about her in just about every house but to me she is the one of Harry's kids most like to end up there. And yes, Lily is deaf. I have a lot of friends in the Deaf community and can sign pretty well. I didn't want to make it a 'big thing' because to me it's really not.

They are witches and wizards, so I would assume that it could be translated using magic. Or there may be a member of staff who signs, or a teaching assistant employed by the ministry say. The only issue I can find is that non-verbal magic is considered very advanced, and Lily would be learning this from first year.

I think that some of her classmates would learn to sign, and she would communicate with them. I just don't see Lily as a very sociable child, because she always feels surrounded by people and my Lily prefers to be alone, or in a small group. I picture her more as an introvert. Plus it is easier to sign to one or two people than 15 odd at once.

Thank you very much for your review!

Lottie


 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16slytherin will rise: you and me

10th March 2015:
Hi! I'm here to start giving you you're hot seat reviews! I thought this was a really interesting and quick story that still manages to say so much. I don't know who these two Slytherins are, but it makes sense how they would see Voldemort as a savior of sorts when no one else at Hogwarts will care for them or help them. I like how you mentioned that they get tortured too by the Carrows, but the other students and teachers turn a blind eye to this, only caring for their own. No wonder they wanted to join with Voldemort. But then Voldemort's army turns on them in battle, and they seem to be attacked by both sides of the war, no one really knowing what side they are on. And while it was very sweet to see two people find comfort in each other as they learn about themselves as well (I really liked the scene with the plant and how they managed to bring it back to life), it was very sad to see them separated for life by the death one of them.

They were just two kids trying to survive in the middle of a war, and that's what makes the one's death so heartbreaking. And the one is left to mourn their friend alone with no one else in the castle to mourn with them or even care about one dead Slytherin student.

I thought this was very well written and you did a wonderful job following the rules of the challenge. I really enjoyed the effort you put into choosing the right words, especially with the more difficult letters.

Great job on this!
xNix

Author's Response: Nix! Thank you so much for all your lovely reviews.

I am grinning madly right now. I'm glad you were able to see why the two kids got swept up in the whole thing. I have to say, I'm glad that you don't know who they were. To me, that was the idea behind whiting this. They were anyone and everyone. I tried not to think of names or anything for them in order try and make me think about the idea that these Slytherins were just people. Not specifically defined by anything else.

The challenge was really fun to try. Some of the letters were tricky though, so I'm pleased you liked it!

Thanks again,
Lottie


 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16Rose: Unrequited

5th March 2015:
Hi! I really enjoyed this. It's very different from other unrequited love stories. I guess that's because your Scorpius doesn't see it as unrequited love, instead he sees her as somoene who needed his nurturing and care just like his roses did in order to fully bloom. And he was so proud of her and himself when she did and found her own love. This was a very sweet and endearing story to read!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for reading and reviewing! I am glad you liked this =)

 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16Her Favorite Holiday: Her Favorite Holiday

5th March 2015:
Holy crap! This is the saddest thing I've read in a while! Literally brought tears to my eyes. I was not expecting it to be so sad when I started reading it. But it was so cute at first and happy-seeming, and then next thing I know he's in front of a tombstone. It breaks my heart to think that Arthur and Molly would ever be separated. But this was a lovely one-shot and very well written.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16Inside and Under: Inside and Under

26th February 2015:
Hi! I am here for the February Review Exchange!

I thought this was an interesting one-shot and insight into Blaise Zabini. I liked the title and how it basically described the Slytherins' location during the war, inside and under the castle and all the fighting taking place, completely closed off from the war. I do wonder, if the war had kept going, if they would have been discovered. And if so, would they have been set free or murdered? Although, I don't see the Order murdering children without reason. That's against all Harry and Dumbledore stood for. But I can see how they would be afraid of the possibility, most of them being on the wrong side of the fight.

Although, I'm not so sure how I feel about Blaise's character. He seems very cold and unattached. Like he could honestly care less about any of them, his fellow housemates, his friends, his family. I know we don't see much of him in canon, we only really witness how he behaves once in the train cart when Harry's under the invisibility cloak, and he does seem very set apart from the others, not seeming to believe Draco's been given a task by Voldemort, and not really seeming to care for Draco at all, but it would have been nice to see some sort of emotion from him besides maybe a little bit of anger.

And after admitting that he doesn't really see Draco as a friend, just someone he occasionally talks to, it seems uncharacteristic of him to go over to Draco and his family when they finally are allowed in the Great Hall.

I liked your addition of Leah though, a Slytherin who must be known to be either halfblood or muggleborn, and also one against Voldemort. I was impressed that she wanted to join the fight, that she wanted to help the side she thought was right, the side that most of her housemates would have fought against if given the chance. I'm curious to know what happened to her after the war.

Anyway, I did enjoy this one-shot, and I think you did a great job writing it.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16Symphony: Chapter Five

20th February 2015:
Wow, this is becoming seriously intense. I liked how the narrator actually addressed the girl, Tess, by her name, and gave us a small amount of insight as to what she was before the war compared to what she's become during the war. I am still very much wondering where this story is going, where all these separate peoples' lives will lead. Along with why exactly the giants are coming. This is gonna be it for me for the Hot Seat reviews but I will come back to read the last two chapters because I do really want to know how it ends.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16Symphony: Chapter Four

20th February 2015:
Well, this chapter is taking an interesting turn. Although, I have to admit I laughed a little when you say "if only Voldemort would be kind enough to step into the Ministry to surrender," because we all know Voldemort isn't going to make it that easy.

Although I like how I'm starting to sense a pattern, when you skip to the Death Eater I noticed how in this chapter and the last you mention two states of being. And of course it's different for different people, facing different struggles. Although, I do find it interesting how you say the person in their cell drifts to the light, but they want to kill the people who fight for the light... You may just be talking about two different things, but it's interesting how you call them by the same name. Although it seems unlikely that the Order would intentionally kill the Death Eater's wife and children, unless given no choice if they decided to fight them.

And it does also seem unlikely the Dark Lord would send one Death Eater alone to control the giants if he really wanted him to succeed, since I doubt the giants take very well to wizards. That's definitely not a task I'd want.

This just keeps getting more interesting with each chapter. And the narrator admits he's Death! But he (and I use "he" very loosely) also seems to be everything else. Maybe he's supposed to be God? I don't know. But now, I'm starting to wonder, why exactly have the giants come? If the Death Eater failed, what's making them march on and burn all these villages?

I'm very curious to know.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16The Accursed Twenty-Eight: Prologue: Morgana's Maliciousness

20th February 2015:
Hi! I'm finally here for our review swap!

And I have to say, holy crap I'm happy I read this! This is so different from anything else I've read and I love the idea of the purebloods being tainted.

Okay, first of all, I enjoyed the fact that the "villian's" name is Morgana, because it seems in all literature, nothing good can come from a character by that name. So of course, someone with that name would come up with such an evil plot as this. I don't even know how you came up with such an idea as conjoining a pureblood's DNA with that of another's. Especially magical creatures!

I thought it was kinda funny the mention of the Weasleys' connection to dragons. I mean, we already know a few Weasleys with some anger issues and Charlie must have gotten a nice chunk of that DNA passed down into him to actually be drawn to working with dragons. I'm very curious to see what the other families are cursed with, especially the Malfoys, since this is obviously a Draco/Hermione story...

I am definitely adding this to my Reading List because I have every intention of reading on, this story is just too intriguing not to!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

Thanks for swapping with me. I'm glad you like it and hope you'll enjoy the rest of the fic as much as you did for this chapter.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #22, by EnigmaticEyes16Symphony: Chapter Three

20th February 2015:
Hm, well, I honestly did not think of Chance, Fate or Luck... but it seems so much worse than usual when you add in all this brilliant yet saddening imagery. I wonder who the auror is and will they be remembered? I suppose if no one they know survives, they won't. Right? They'll just be another number as you say. Another sack of bones. Those lines were great, too, by the way, summing up in one sentence all we really are physically. And to the giants, we are nothing, we are something easily destroyed.

This is a very intriguing story but I'm beginning to wonder where it all may be leading...

Guess I'll just have to continue reading to find out.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16Symphony: Chapter Two

19th February 2015:
Hello again. I have to say, I still think the narrator is death. But it's very interesting to read and your in depth descriptions are very easy to picture in my mind as I read and I feel terrible for the little boy. My favorite description is the line "feel the claws of unfeeling frostbite catch your toes," it's so telling of what's happening to him. I like how by calling the frostbite unfeeling you could mean how it's unfeeling/uncaring of ruining his leg, or how soon he won't feel his leg at all because of the frostbite.

It's so sad that he's already lost his family, and he might not even survive his trip, but he keeps going, because there are more people to warn, more people who can maybe do something to stop the giants from killing anymore people. I hope he gets to where he's going to.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16Symphony: Chapter One

19th February 2015:
Hi! I am here to give you your Hot Seat Reviews!

Wow. This was a very powerful first chapter. It's so short, but it says so much. I am not quite positive who is speaking, but I think it may be Death. My reasoning for that would be because first, the narrator says all mortals will know them. And they will not be in a position to regret or feel anything for that matter when they do, because they'd be dead.

I wonder more though about who the narrator is addressing. Is it a particular person or a group? I'm assuming it would have to be someone who would have been in the giants' territory? Or maybe the giants invaded their land? I don't know. But I'm very curious to find out so I'm going to have to read on.

Great prologue though! Definitely gives your story a lot of intrigue!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16To Fear A Full Moon: Chapter 1

18th February 2015:
When I saw you had written a Pansy story, I knew I had to read this.

I love the idea of this story, of taking someone very set in their ways and beliefs, like Pansy, and just turning their world upside down and forcing them to look at things from a different point of view. Not saying it's a good thing to turn someone into whatever they are prejudice against, like a werewolf, but it's definitely effective, lol. And if anyone could change peoples' minds about something they hate, I bet Pansy could with her strong will and won't-take-no-for-an-answer attitude. She could probably be like the good version of Umbridge, haha.

I am very sad that the love of her life has disappeared on her though. I hope one day she will find him and reunite with him. I'm kinda surprised he remained interested in her after she basically, unknowingly, told him she hates what he is. So he must have loved her if he continued to date her and even moved in with her.

This was a very good, and well-written story. Honestly, I'd really like to see more of this if you were ever interested in continuing the story. I'd love to see how Pansy intends to changes the minds of Britain's wizarding world.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi EnigmaticEyes16,

I was so excited reading your review this morning! I really appreciate all of your kind comments.

I actually got assigned the character of Pansy Parkinson in the Lycanthropy Challenge, so instead of making her horrible like everyone else, I wanted to try and make her more sympathetic. I think throughout most fanfic she is portrayed as this person who cares about nothing and is horrible all the time, but it seems odd to me that she would be horrible on purpose to the people she cared about.

It was sad having the love of her life disappear, but I felt it was necessary for her characters growth. If he stayed and they lived happily ever after, it wouldn't have the same gravity.

I may at some point write another story revolving around this theme, but as of now I have two other WIPs, so it won't be until way down the road.

Thank you again for reading and reviewing! It really made me happy to see this. :D

~TreacleTart



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>