Reading Reviews From Member: EnigmaticEyes16
  
376 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16Lily, I'm a Werewolf. : Lily, I'm a werewolf.

9th September 2014:
Haha, awww. This was a super cute one-shot. I loved how Remus was all sad and brooding, trying to muster up the nerve to tell Lily, and afraid of her not wanting to be friends with him once he told her the truth, only to find out she knew all along that he was a werewolf and never saw him any differently for it. It was a very sweet, heartwarming story and very well written.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi Nix!

Oh thank you! :) Poor Remus was a physical and mental wreck! The silly man just thinks so poorly of himself and never sees how much he truly is loved by his friends. Of course Lily would have figured it out and not think any less of him. But, sadly, it's not in Remus' nature to see the good in himself. It's a great thing that he did have Lily, James, Sirius, and I'm sure even Peter, when he was younger. I would think they helped him, just a little bit, finally see that he was a wonderful person and, most importantly, a human being, just like them. Even if he did have a "furry little problem" once a month.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it! Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a lovely review!! ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16You Are Part of Everything : Dear Prudence

4th September 2014:
Aw, that was terribly sad. Such a cruel thing for Sirius to do to a girl. But I must say it was a very well written, and the flow of the story was very nice, making it easy to read. I really liked how you incorporated the Beatles and John Greene quotes, it added a really nice touch to the story.

You did a great job on this, and good luck with the challenges!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hiya! :)

I know, Sirius was a total jerk here. A lot of us tend to write the funny version - his version - of being a "ladies man." I really wanted to show the other side of the coin. The average, everyday girl, who was a victim of his playboy tendencies. Hearing that this was sad, is honestly the best compliment I could receive. :)

Thank you so much! I'm really pleased to hear that the lyrics and the quote worked with the story. I didn't realize how difficult it would be to work in someone else's words into my own story.

Thank you for reading and for leaving such a lovely review!! And I'm crossing my fingers haha. ♥

xoxo Meg


 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16Downfall: Downfall

4th September 2014:
Hm, this was an interesting story. At first I thought you were writing about the scene where the trio is captured and Hermione deforms Harry's face with a spell so that he's unrecognizable. But I later realized that this is clearly not the same scene. I'm very intrigued by Harry and Draco's pairing and how it came to be, I am also very curious as to who "she" is. My first guess is Narcissa, that something must have happened to her, as she is one of the few people Draco will fight for. But if I'm wrong I'm very curious to know who else it could be.

Anyway, I do think you did an excellent job with this, you did seem to manage to fit so much into such a short amount of words. It's just too bad there couldn't be more to it, because I'd like to know what's really going on...lol. Oh well.

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks for the awesome review :) As to the mystery character... well... she is mysterious.

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16Doing the Right Thing: Doing the Right Thing

2nd September 2014:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap! This was an intriguing little one-shot. And while I know what's going on, I'm clearly missing a bit of back story because of the challenge rules, and because I have yet to read your novel, but clearly I should because now I want to know what happens!

I really like the way you began this with three short and simple sentences, and put them in your summary as well. It really drew me in, making me want to know what it was exactly Draco was planning to do. Although I am a little surprised Voldemort had given Draco a whole year to train before sending him on another mission, that does seem a little too giving of Voldemort. Especially as during that year the war is brewing as tensions are high up until the end of the battle at Hogwarts.

But I did like how Draco started thinking for himself. It's obvious he wants to make everyone proud, his mother, his fellow Death Eaters, Voldemort, but he clearly isn't a fan of all the death that's necessary to put Voldemort in charge, and all the deaths that will continue to occur even after he is in charge. He's still partially in that mental state he was in in HBP, thinking he doesn't have a choice, thinking this is the only way to protect his mother. But then he keeps questioning it, and questioning the cowardice of killing a man in his sleep, until he finally realizes he does have a choice, and a chance to do the right thing in this moment, and he makes it. And I really enjoyed reading it. I'm a going to have to check out your novel after this because I am very curious as to where this decision takes Draco.

So, thanks for offering this swap and good luck in the challenge!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16How I Saved the Wizarding World with Hair Potions, By Gilderoy Lockhart: Hair-Care Potion Maker Extraordinaire

30th August 2014:
Wow. This was like perfect Lockhart narration. He was just so engrossed with himself and his own reflection, just like in the books, and taking credit for things he didn't do, also just like in the books, that I don't think anyone could do any better. It was quite funny, too, how he thought he could save the world with hair potions. I'm not a big fan of Lockhart but I definitely loved this one-shot about him.

Great job on this!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so glad you liked the way I wrote Lockhart. Yeah, it seems he didn't change much! I don't know if anyone really is a fan of Lockhart besides himself, haha :p but I'm so glad you enjoyed this silly story! Thanks so much for reading and for your review!

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16The Monopoly on Honour: When Love absents itself

29th August 2014:
Hi! EnigmaticEyes16 here for the Slytherin Review Exchange!

This story is so very intriguing so far. I loved the flashbacks in the first chapter where Lucius refuses to make a marriage contract for Draco when he is still so young. Yet it was very cute how he ends up meeting Astoria anyway and they immediately seem to become friends. And the nervous boding of their upcoming trials is very intense. I am super curious and kinda scared to see what happens to all of them in their trials. I wonder if that takes place in the next chapter or not. I feel so bad for Daphne who is wracking her brain trying to come up with a way out of being persecuted for something she didn't even do, and I hope she does find a way out of it. Although, it will still be sad because Theo has been sentenced to Azkaban for five years. Even though he was lucky not to be sentenced for life, it's still such a long time to be stuck in such a terrible place. And it's so tragic what happened to Hero and Selena. Although I'm not totally surprised by Narcissa's reaction to Lucius. She's clearly very upset and angry about how her family is being dragged through the mud and will more than likely be torn apart by the upcoming trials and it's understandable that she would blame Lucius for putting them all in that situation.

Wow, this review turned out way longer than I thought it would. I did very much enjoy these first two chapters, although sadly (as they aren't exactly happy chapters). But I did have some issues with all the changes of POV, and trying to figure who's voice I was reading in each scene, and then the switching from third person to first person kinda through me off. But other than that I did think it was all very well written. I do intend to read the next chapter, just not right now.

Really great job on this though in pulling together all these Slytherins into one story and making it work and keeping it interesting.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi Nix!

I'm so sorry for the late reply; the past week or so has been absolutely hectic. But I have a spare couple of hours now!

I'm glad you liked the flashbacks - I suppose I wanted to show that there was far more to their lives than constant doom and gloom :) Their trials are a ways off yet - there are arrests first, and lots of other (hopefully) good things before then :) I am giving them hell, aren't I? But I always thought the whole idea of 'Voldemort is gone and everyone lives happily ever after' was a bit far-fetched; because that doesn't happen after what was effectively a civil war. People want revenge, they want punishment, they want that elusive concept of 'justice' - it's going to be a very unsettled period, with different factions; different vested interests.

Narcissa's blame of Lucius is interesting: I think that when people are angry, they have very selective memories, but obviously I can't comment on that :)

I'm glad you feel for these characters. I suppose that was partly the aim - to humanise them. They are the protagonists of the story, but they are far from heroes - I think that sometimes people confuse the two as being one and the same, when they aren't, necessarily :) I'm happy you enjoyed the first two chapters, it's really encouraging and heartening to hear that!

On the changes of POV - from the third chapter onwards, I've used the GoT style of signalling changes in POVs, so hopefully that will make things clearer. Don't worry, I am planning to go back and edit the first two chapters and put the GoT signalling in to make the first two chapters more understandable to read.

It's so nice to hear that you're planning to read on, and I hope you enjoy the next chapters too!

On pulling the Malfoys and Greengrasses into the same story - the Malfoys and their trials were the original starting point, but the main attraction with the Greengrasses was that in canon we know so little about them, and so that gives me far more room to play around in. Then there was the fact that Daphne and Draco were in the same year at school, and given how closed Pureblood and especially Slytherin circles were, I thought it was impossible that they didn't know each other relatively well.

Thanks so much for the review, and I'm so sorry once again about such a late reply!

Celi xxx


 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16(wake up, you're dreaming): (wake up, you're dreaming)

25th August 2014:
This was such a sad little one-shot! Yet very heartfelt, it made me want to cry a little bit, and if it was any longer it probably would have made me cry. I'm not positive, but I'm guessing this take place during sixth year, maybe? Draco keeps saying the Dark Lord has something he wants Draco to do, and Draco is concerned he might not make it out alive, so I'm guessing it's not long before he has to kill Dumbledore... correct me if I'm wrong though.

Anyway, while sad, this was a very sweet and well-written one-shot. It was nice to see Draco showing some emotions for once, even if only to himself. I think you did a fantastic job with this.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Home

19th August 2014:
Of course it's worth the risk! Ugh, I just want them to be happy. And I'm super sad this story is almost over. But, I guess, it's gotta end sometime, right?

I can't wait for the next chapter to be updated, I'm gonna have to keep a look out for it because I really want to know what happens!

xxNix

Author's Response: I KNOW RIGHT? But I couldn't resist. Millie isn't the type to jump into things like this, especially since Sirius is giving her space to make up her mind, rather than just dragging her along as he used to do.

Thank you so much for all your wonderful reviews! It means so much to me


 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Chocolate Frogs

19th August 2014:
Ugh, even when they're not actually talking to each other they're cute. I thought this was really sweet chapter and a super cute idea with the chocolate frogs. And there's only one chapter left! I do hope you update again soon because I am seriously hooked on this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: These two are weirdos. They're relationship is so strange, and I love writing it this way. They're so stereotypical in some respects and then completely and utterly not in others - it's part of there charm ;) I'm glad you're still enjoying it!

 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Gone, Gone, Gone

18th August 2014:
Oh no! I hope she really is okay. This chapter was almost heart-wrenching, I even teared up towards the end. I can't believe the death eaters attacked Hogwarts like that! And DID Regulus have something to do with it? I want to know and read on, but it's really late and I should really get some sleep after spending a good chunk of my day reading this story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Even more drama! This is so not this story! But this was also really fun to write. The style is completely different to how I usually write these chapters, and I really enjoyed it. Might give it another go! Aww! I'm feeling very happy-sad about your feelings reading this chapter. I'm happy because YES! STRONG EMOTIONS. But on the hand I'm sad because STRONG EMOTIONS. And Regulus actually didn't have anything to do with it - directly. And I'm so very impressed by just how quickly you've read and reviewed this story!

 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Not Now, Not Ever

18th August 2014:
No! You must believe him! Ugh, this is for serious breaking my heart. I really hope he can convince her. If he had just admitted he'd loved her she might have forgiven him!

xNix

Author's Response: This series of chapters broke my heart too. I'm so comfortable writing fluff, and then I tried my hand at actual drama and it left me feeling a little awful. I think that's mostly because of the structure and purpose of this story, rather than an aversion to drama itself. And SO MANY PROBLEMS would have been fixed/avoided if Sirius confessed his feelings... if he even realises them.

 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Of Hearts and Bludgers

18th August 2014:
Ugh! I hate her! I hope they survive this and Sirius is able to convince her that he doesn't want anything to do with Marissa. Where did she even come from? How did she know he'd be looking for Millie?

Must read on to see what happens.

xxNix

Author's Response: I hope you hate Marissa and not Millie! Marissa has a habit of popping out of nowhere at the most inconvenient (or convenient if seen from a plot point of view) of times. And you're right - how DOES she know about such things? What are her secrets? There's a fic right there...

 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Valentine's Day

17th August 2014:
Awww, that was super cute. Also wanted to note that I love how he calls her darling all the time. Not the first time I noticed, but the first time I felt the need to say it, lol. Anyway, I thought the picnic in the forest was a really sweet idea for a date and I'm glad they seem to be in such a good place. At first I thought Sirius might ask her to be his non-fake, for real FOR REAL girlfriend, but Valentine was still a cute idea.

xxNix

Author's Response: CUTENESS OVERLOAD IN THE LAST FEW CHAPTERS. Even I squee when I occasionally reread them (when I'm not wincing about my writing). And darling is just his thing. It started out as a bit patronising, but I think he really means it now. And these two making clear-cut decisions about there relationship? Never!

 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Christmas Morning

17th August 2014:
These two just keep getting cuter by the second. I loved how Millie freaked out when she thought Sirius had told Lily what happened yesterday, only to find out he hadn't really told her anything. I thought the necklace he gave her was really cute, too. As it reminded her of the dog she met, I was hoping she would mention it to Sirius at receiving the gift, and he would tell her it was really him. But I'm sure it will come out eventually...

Onto the next chapter.

xxNix

Author's Response: Millie's concerns are so valid, because I think Sirius would have done just that earlier on in the story, not realising that it wasn't what Millie would've wanted. He still would've had the best intentions at heart, but unfortunately not the right assumptions. It's a really big moment for him, this empathy for Millie. And OMG the dog thing... hahaha. I'm curious to see what people have to say when that eventually happens.

 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: The Time of Your Life

17th August 2014:
Awww, Sirius is seriously like the perfect boyfriend. I loved the whole scene from where he bugs her about why she doesn't like dancing to the the dancing to the kiss to the end... He's just an all-around sweetheart. And I hope they soon realize they're not really pretending anymore.

xxNix

Author's Response: He's very perfect for the next few chapters. I don't know why, but the next couple of chapters are just pure unashamed fluff. He actually goes through a lot of behind-the-scenes character development, since it's when both of them start to realise that he's actually quite decent. And don't we all hope that they realise that they're not pretending anymore? ;)

 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Just Because

17th August 2014:
I almost thought they were gonna start making out again... but Sirius was super cute and nice and understanding in this. And it's good that Millie got to cry her feelings out a bit, I think she's been holding that in for far too long. Anyway, great chapter, and I am on to read the next one!

xxNix

Author's Response: I think in the first draft of this chapter, they did, but it didn't fit, especially with what I wanted with Sirius' characterisation. I think it's much sweeter this way, and shows that he can be mature and empathetic when he wants to be. And this is such an important moment for Millie, which really has nothing to do with Sirius at all except that he's there for her. Thanks for reading :)

 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Early Mornings, Breakfasts, Dresses and Hometowns

17th August 2014:
Jeez, I've already read like 8 chapters today, although it feels like more. Just wanted to point out, in the scene where Millie and Sirius are still on Millie's bed and Sirius is about to kiss her, James yells Prongs instead of Padfoot. But other than that, it was a really good scene. I liked the dress too. And it was cute that Sirius automatically decided he''d go with Millie without even bothering to ask. Can't wait to see what happens when they get there.

xxNix

Author's Response: Gah! I know about that HUGE typo! I feel like such an idiot for it! It is so awkward! I really must fix that very soon! Thanks for mentioning it :) I'm glad you like the dress (such an inconsequential detail in the grand scheme of things, but I agonised over it for so long). And of course Sirius just decides these things! It's because he's Sirius Black :P

 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: It's a Date

17th August 2014:
Aw, Sirius is so cute. Why can't she just give in to her feelings and stop being so mean? haha. This story really does just keep getting better.

xxNix

Author's Response: She can't give into her feelings because she's seventeen and feelings are confusing and horrible and should be avoided at all costs. I'm so glad you feel that way about this story

 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Half-Bear Half-Wolf

17th August 2014:
Aw, I love Sirius as a dog. He evens still acts exactly like Sirius (minus the talking) as a dog. This was a cute little chapter. Although I'd thought it'd be funny if she happened to mention Sirius to Sirius. That would be interesting. Like something he might hold over her in the future and she'd find out it was really him, lol.

Great chapter!

xxNix

Author's Response: Sirius is Sirius no matter who or what he is. I don't know if that means he behaves like a dog when he's human, or if he behaves like a human when he's a dog. Let's go with he's Sirius all the time :P And I think there is a moment when she mentions Sirius to Sirius later on...

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Brothers

17th August 2014:
Squeee! lol. Finally, it's happened! I'm very curious to see how Millie reacts after that, haha. Anyway, I enjoyed the bits with Regulus. I'm kinda surprised him and Millie dated at one point. It really did seem like she might have had real feelings about him. But I like her with Sirius so much more. I loved their fight over Regulus and how insecure Sirius is about the guy. Which is kind of understandable because as a kid Sirius used to be the favorite older son of his family until he went to Hogwarts and became a Gryffindor and Regulus suddenly because the perfect son to his pureblood, Slytherin, Gryffindor-hating parents. So it makes sense that he might be afraid of losing someone else he loves to his younger brother.

Anyway, gonna read on now to find out what happens next! Loved this chapter!

xxNix

Author's Response: OMG. I remember how excited I was when I finished writing this chapter. My first kissing scene! Millie and Sirius' first big fight! Millie and Sirius' first kiss! SO MANY FIRSTS.

There was a point in this story when I seriously contemplated switching the pairing to Millie and Regulus. They're a better fit rationally than Millie and Sirius, but love is hardly ever rational :P Also, I too, liked her with Sirius so much more. And Sirius' insecurity over Regulus is one of the first instances I think where he gets some dimension as a character. Didn't take too many chapters, did it?

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: New Immaturity Heigts

16th August 2014:
I thought they were supposed to break up? Not that I wanted them to, but... thought that was the plan...

Anyway, ugh! Damn it, Lily! They were so close to finally kissing! *sigh*

This story is getting so much better. And I love the super long chapters. I can't wait to read the next one but I really need to get some sleep.

xxNix

Author's Response: I bet Millie thought they were supposed to break up too :P Guess Sirius got in the way of that *winks conspicuously*

AND I KNOW RIGHT? But it wasn't the right moment for them - Lily can be a mixed blessing in that way.

And yes - sleep is definitely of priority!


 Report Review

Review #22, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Claustrophobia and Confusion

11th August 2014:
Squeee! Aw, that was cute. Although I do wonder if the whole Slytherin story was a total ploy to get her into the closet in the first place...

Although, in the scene with the boy, she tells him not to miss curfew... but she was in the library, with a bunch of other people also in the library... so it couldn't have been curfew time yet, right? They would all have been in their common rooms then...

Anyway, great chapter! I can't wait to read what happens next, but it's late and I should probably go to bed now...

xxNix

Author's Response: I wouldn't put it past Sirius to actually attack Slytherins so that he could lock himself in a broom closet with Millie a little later on in the story, but at this point, he hasn't quite realised his feelings for her.

I think different year levels have different curfew times? Maybe? Or I messed up the continuity in one chapter. Or Millie is super keen about curfews... which is rather unlikely...

Haha! Good night! And thank you for continuing to read and review ^.^


 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Together

11th August 2014:
But did James get to say what he wanted to say!?

I'm actually kinda surprised how well this plan worked out. And Millie is SO into Sirius even if she won't admit it yet!

Onto the next chapter!

xNix

Author's Response: DID HE?!?!?! That is the question (it is answered at some point in one of the chapters).

Millie is totally into Sirius by this point, but not all of Sirius if you get what I mean. She's into the part of him that's a good friend - the rest of him is still very annoying :P


 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Perfect for each Other

11th August 2014:
Haha, oh boy. I'm super curious to see how this plan works out for them. Will it work or will it totally backfire in their faces? Guess I'll have to read on to find out.

xxNix

Author's Response: This plan... was sheer madness. And only sheer luck will make it work :P

 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: Love the Smell of Blueberries

11th August 2014:
Aw, Sirius and Millie are really kinda cute together. I loved the little fight on the couch and how she helped him with his homework. They almost seem like an actual couple. And then someone mentions about them being a couple and they suddenly get all weird and awkward, lol. I also love that the chapters are getting longer.

xxNix

Author's Response: They have their moments. They're just trying to be good friends right now (without realising it of course) but since everyone thinks they're romantically involved when they're not, it makes for some (read: a lot) of awkwardness. And yes! Sort of longer chapters! Woohoo!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>