Reading Reviews From Member: EnigmaticEyes16
  
405 Reviews Found

Review #1, by EnigmaticEyes16A Force Of Wills: Denial

29th January 2015:
This is quite possibly the longest chapter I have ever read. And so very, very intense.

I'm surprised Blaise is even still alive after all that fighting! And now he's asking for Astoria's hand in marriage! What!? I can't believe I waited so long to come back to this. This is the best, most intense story I've ever read. I can't wait to find out what happens next. Will Astoria say yes? And if so, what will happen in her and Blaise's private meetings with her father. And what happens if she says no?

Plus, this sentence right here: “my intentions to have an intention with the intention of marrying your daughter aren't a lie, as you can see.”

Part of me loves it when he talks like this, and the other part is wondering what the heck I just read because it still doesn't make sense to me.

And when will we see Draco again? I've been missing his character, is that weird? Probably.

Great chapter!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #2, by EnigmaticEyes16Chai, Chutney, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Chutney, and a Surprise

26th January 2015:
Ah! These installments have been so amazingly cute that the fluff did not suffocate me. I probably couldn't write fluff to save my life, but it's so nice to read here and there. Neville is so darn cute in this story, I kind of want to take him for myself and forget Hannah! lol. But he probably wouldn't like me anyway, I can't cook at all.

I love it when he jokes with her about being a Hufflepuff, and it's so cute when he's too nervous to say what he wants to say. Again, I just love that this one is from his POV. And I love how she jokes with him about only wanting him around to help boost business and make sandwiches. And I love how the title is part of their conversation in each chapter, really connecting all the installments together.

They're just so perfect together! I know I've said that probably at least twice now, but it's so true. I have loved all of these one-shots, they've been so fun and adorable to read and now I'm probably fluff overloading so I'm gonna go...

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #3, by EnigmaticEyes16Chai, Carrots, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Carrots, and a Surprise

26th January 2015:
Ah!!! It happened! They kissed! I'm such a sucker for romance sometimes, especially when reading your stories, lol.

Wow. I can't believe it took a whole year for Neville to brave up and tell Hannah how he feels. And furthermore, I'm so happy this was from Neville's point of view, it was a very nice change of pace to see the story from his perspective.

I think it's so cute that Neville tried to bake a cake for Hannah, and surprise her the way she had surprised him in the last one-shot. And it just so happens to be Valentine's Day, that's just so freaking cute of him it's not even funny. And they are so cute together, I love how they just seem to complete each other.

Of course, I can totally understand how well Hannah took Neville confession of wanting to quit being an Auror. Since she's already made the hard decision of quitting her training to become a Healer, she'd understand his decision better than anyone and be able to offer the right kind of guidance. I like how these stories kind of inadvertly support the idea to quit a job that you don't like or doesn't make you feel good about yourself, even if it's a perfectly respectable job that people expect you to keep doing, to do something that does make you happy. Everyone has to find their own path and this series truly exemplifies that.

I can't wait to read the next one!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #4, by EnigmaticEyes16Chai, Zebras, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Zebras, and a Surprise

25th January 2015:
Hello again!

I am in love with this series so far. Hannah clearly does not view Neville as just a friend no matter how many times she tells herself such. Although I'm very curious as to how Neville has made it clear to her that he doesn't fancy her. I'd really like to know this.

This was a very sad one-shot though with Neville being fairly upset most of the time, and of course he has every right to be. I wouldn't be surprised if he saw Atticus Dooley as a friend and even a mentor since he convinced him to become an Auror when he was having moments of doubt. Although I can see why Neville might not think himself a hero even after everything he did for everyone during the war, because that just seems like a large part of his character--to not think highly of himself--which is also probably a large part of what makes him such a genuine and loveable person.

I loved the Zebra cake though and how Hannah was making him a surprise cake. Was it his birthday or something? Or did she just feel like surprising him with a cake for no particular reason? Nothing wrong with that though, I certainly wouldn't complain if someone made me a cake for no particular reason... lol.

This is such a cute ship so far and I hope it does eventually become an actual ship and they don't remain friends hiding their feelings from each other forever. I mean, Neville's brave and all, and he did just randomly show up in her kitchen without a care, but when it comes to actual feelings I still see him being his old shy self, afraid of being turned down if he were to share them with her. Because everyone is terrified of that sort of thing, or at least I know I am.

I have to read on now though to see what happens between the two! So far you are doing a wonderful job with this pairing and I can't wait to see what comes of it!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #5, by EnigmaticEyes16Chai, Samosas, and a Friend in the Wee Hours of the Morning: Chai, Samosas, and a Surprise

25th January 2015:
Hi! I'm here to review all of your Chai and a Friend stories for the Hot Seat that you are in right now! I'm super late but I am finally here! Yay!

So, I've never been a big Hannah/Neville shipper but already, from the moment Neville entered the kitchen, I thought they were so adorable together. I love how he just sort of ignored her rudeness in the beginning and stayed with her until she finally began to include him in her cooking.

I also thought the whole cooking scene was fairly easy to follow. I'm no cook, and I had no idea what samosas were previously, but now I have a fairly good idea of what they are and would also like to try them. This is my problem with watching or reading something with food involved though, I think they should come with free samples, lol. Because they make me so hungry.

I wish I knew the rest of the sentence where Neville trails off and Hannah lets it go! I hope we find out more about this in the next couple of segments. Although is Hannah Indian in this story? I have no issue with it, I'm just curious because I never really pictured her as Indian, like I did the Patil sisters, and her name doesn't really suggest it either. Maybe she just grew up there, as you do mention the pre-monsoon season, as I doubt Britain has one. Or judging by your faceclaim maybe she's half Indian and that would explain her last name.

Again, though, this was so freaking cute and I can't wait to read on to the next one! Talk to you again soon!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #6, by EnigmaticEyes16Sturm und Drang : A new life

23rd January 2015:
Hi! I love that you're writing a Draco fic for me. I do love me some Draco, and this is definitely a different take on him than I've read of late.

I don't even know where to start... I like the bit with the paper, I definitely don't see Draco taking an article about how he was so close to being locked up with his father very well. As much of a show as he puts on, I don't think he really wanted to kill Dumbledore, but he was terrified of Voldemort so he at least had to try. And I definitely don't see him taking well the fact that everyone knows Harry Potter saved him from being imprisoned, as this certainly isn't the first time Harry's saved his life.

I also liked how he isn't cruel to his house elf. I don't know if that's something new for him, or if it has to do with Lucius not being there. It definitely does not surprise me that the Malfoy Manor feels different without Lucius and Bellatrix around. I certainly can understand that. And Narcissa is happy and singing, that's a nice change, lol.

As nice as it is to donate money to a good organization, I'm wondering if he will be able to get away without doing actual community service, considering after the war, he may not be seen in the same light where he's able to get away with things like that. But it will be interesting to see what happens when he finally meets Astoria. Lucky of her to have been shipped to America to avoid the nasty war. I certainly can't wait to meet her.

I wish I had more to say, but since this is just a prologue, I'll have to wait to read more! Thank you so much for writing this story! You were an awesome Secret Santa! I can't wait to see where it goes!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #7, by EnigmaticEyes16Morbid: Springtime

18th January 2015:
Me again. Instead of being all over the place I'm going to try to review this chapter section by section...

Okay, so now we know Amy lives at home. Although I'm concerned as to why her house is so quiet. Where are her parents? Or does she live alone? And was this all an act? A planned roleplay on both sides or just hers? And why does he get so upset at how she wants to die? It seems unlike him, yet I suppose it is like him, since he does seem to be more interested in gruesome deaths if you consider his drawings...

Aww, poor Teddy! I hope he didn't damage the headstones too much. But I'm glad Merlin was there to stop him and maybe make him finally see that's he's not alone. But of course, to grow up without parents has to be difficult...

Now, this is getting really sad. We all knew that Amy's disease was going to mean death but it's unimaginable what that kind of thing does to someone. I know I'd be terrified if that was me. But it's so sweet how Teddy doesn't let this get to him, he just sees it as a challenge to make every day worth her while. This story is currently reminding me a lot of A Walk to Remember.

This story is seriously making me want to cry. I love how caring Teddy is and that he spends practically every day all day with her even when her parents can't bare to visit her anymore. But it's so incredibly sad that she can't even remember who he is, even though she remembers him when he says things to remind her of him, but even then she doesn't recognize that he is Teddy. And even though it means she'll die sooner, I can't help but understand that she's hates coming off the drugs, and hates not being able to remember all the amazing things Teddy does for her when she's on them.

This is literally the saddest ending I've read in a while. I've only known the characters for a short time but it's almost heartwrenching to see them go. Again, I love how Teddy sticks with her to the end. Just imagine if they had never met, she probably would have ended up dying alone. But it's terrible that Teddy has the lose his two closest friends simultaneously. I knew he was going to lose Amy, but I did not see the bit with Merlin coming. I like how he joins her on her departure, as if he's her guardian angel or something, but it's sad to see him go with her. I'm not quite sure how well Teddy will take it, but hopefully he'll be able to move on with his life and make both Amy and Merlin proud by doing something worthwhile with it, instead of going back to shutting himself up in his room. I really would like to see maybe a sequel of what he does next...

This was an all around amazing story and I'm so glad I read it! I'm definitely going to have to take the time to watch Restless at some point because it sounds like a really good movie. Thank you so much for bringing the idea of the Hot Seat to the Pit, I hope you've enjoyed all the extra attention and reviews!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #8, by EnigmaticEyes16Morbid: Williams' Bookshop

18th January 2015:
This is so cute! I've never seen (or heard of, to be honest) the movie Restless before but now I want to watch it. I love that after so long of only having one friend, who's been dead forever, that Teddy's attached himself to someone new. And I really adore April and the way she takes in everything about him very calmly and doesn't freak out. I thought it was really sweet how she handled meeting Teddy's parents and finding out who he really is. And same goes for when he tells her about Merlin. Although I am very curious about the deadly disease she has, and how she manages to leave St. Mungo's all the time. I wonder if she's allowed to leave or if she's just really good at sneaking out. I'm also very curious as to her health considering this disease seems to be very serious. Now I'm wondering if she really walks so slowly to take everything in like Teddy thinks or if she simply doesn't have the energy to walk fast. But then she does run for quite a bit in the last chapter so maybe she does just like taking her time. I don't know. And I'm more curious about the girl who died now, too, since now we know her and April must have been patients in the hospital together, and she must have watched twelve other of her fellow patients die... it gives the story a newfound sadness.

P.S. I love Merlin's sarcasm.

And now I must go on to the next chapter!

Also, random thought, but after reading this story and The Art of Small Talk, if you're into hospital dramas I think you might like the show Red Band Society which is based around a group of teenagers who are patients in a hospital...just a thought.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #9, by EnigmaticEyes16Morbid: Cousin Larry

18th January 2015:
Hello again.

All your stories are so different, yet so intriguing, I don't know how you do it, lol. So far I'm really enjoying Teddy's character and his fascination with death. I think it's kind of funny how he has all these drawings he's done of himself dying in numerous ways all over his bedroom walls, and yet there doesn't seem to be anything really wrong with him. I can definitely see how it would be disconcerting for Harry and Ginny though. And if only McLaggen had kept his mouth shut, he'd be an Auror by now! And from what it sounds like, probably a fairly good one, too. So clearly he must be very smart and level-headed under pressure.

I also love his fascination with funerals and watching strangers cry over lost loved ones. I remember writing character with a similar interest once, but it took a much more depressing tone... But I enjoyed meeting April and how she saved him from the vocal thrashings of the funeral director, you'd think he'd wait until the funeral was over and people were leaving before causing a scene like that. I like how April, not knowing him, still felt the need to save him and steer him clear of the funeral home.

I thought April and Teddy are both very cute together so far and I can't wait to read on and see what happens with that. I also love how Merlin is randomly in this story, too! Even if he may be a hallucination or merely a figment of Teddy's overly creative imagination. I'm definitely going to have to read on to see how this story goes!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #10, by EnigmaticEyes16[april turner]: [the library]

18th January 2015:
Hi again!

I thought this story was really cute. I love the beginning where Potter jokes how he should have preferential treatment for being Harry Potter's son, I thought it was hilarious. Even though now that I'm thinking about it, I'm not totally sure what it has to do with the rest of the story. I don't understand why the dates between that scene and him meeting April Turner are so far apart?

But I love both scenes so I can't really complain. I enjoyed how the two spot each other across the room a few times before he finally comes over and introduces himself. I thought that was so cute how he just comes out and says it like that and asks her name. And I like how their friendship built rather slowly, really only taking place in the library, I thought that was a really interesting tidbit how he never sees her outside of the library until the very end. I'm also very surprised your James isn't good at Quidditch and actually thinks he belongs in Slytherin, he's very different from any other James II I've read so far and it's very refreshing.

I'm also very intrigued by the study spell, and how it seems like he's experiencing the same effects as if he were taking high doses of amphetamines. Except it's magic. Except it still can have the nasty side effects. I thought that was a very interesting and original idea to include.

And I love the ending where he asks her to come round to his house during the holidays. I thought it was very cute and I would like to see where their relationship goes from there. This entire story was really well written and enjoyable to read.

xNix

 Report Review

Review #11, by EnigmaticEyes16The Art of Small Talk: Valentine's Day

17th January 2015:
Hi! I am finally here to give you your Hot Seat reviews!

You know, I just read this not too long ago and I wanted to review but I didn't know what to say... I still don't really know what to say, which probably has something to do with the fact that I've always had an issue with eating disorders. I don't have one and I don't say that to demean anyone who does, it's just for some reason always been an upsetting topic for me, like the way some people can't handle to sight of blood, when discussing it or watching the movies about it, it just always makes me feel sick and uncharacteristically sad.

But on to your story! I thought this was a very interesting little snippet (it's so short) of Scorpius' and Lysander's life together. They seem very cute and normal, even though we already know Lysander is not exactly normal. But at least he's trying, and is getting better. Although I'm kind of wondering how he could run an apothecary all by himself with such a strict exercising regimen, but I guess being your own boss means you get to work your own hours. I loved the comments about Rose's Senior Healer and how Lysander, being on the other end of this, now understands maybe why his assistant seems to hate him. I thought that was really funny.

I also really like how Scorpius has stuck with Lysander for two years or so with his condition, and seems to be at least partially understanding of it, and attempting to help him get better. But I really love how the eating disorder doesn't change Scorpius' view of Lysander, he knows he's flawed but he's worth it, because that's what love is really, being with someone even with their flaws and bad habits, because dealing with the bad is worth it when there's also so many good things about them, too (I've reworded that sentence several times now and it still doesn't sound right but it will have to do because I have more reviews to give).

I did think this was a great little story though! I like how you focus on the small things, the small talk, things writers typically leave out of stories because they aren't the most exciting bits, or only put in as filler here and there. I like how instead you took it, and made it the story itself. and just kept it fairly simple.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #12, by EnigmaticEyes16Her Choice : The Hogwarts Express

16th January 2015:
Hello, again! I still really like this story so far. I'm very curious to see what house she gets sorted into, part of me thinks she'll end up in Ravenclaw, but who knows? I certainly don't. I do like that her and Draco have become allies though! It'll be neat to see more of that in the near future. And I wonder why Hermione is so suspicious of her!

I can't wait to read more, I do hope you update this soon.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,
Yay you came back by again! I am so happy you are liking my story so far! You will see what house she will be sorted into shortly enough, ;) She will fit into it well. And yep, even though Draco won't be the best friend of the century by any means it is still good they are teaming up to watch each other's backs. She is kind of his sister after all. Well I hope you keep reading on!!! :D
Thanks so much!
-Lindsey


 Report Review

Review #13, by EnigmaticEyes16Raising Voices: Raising Voices

15th January 2015:
As opposed to the flamer you got, I liked this. I'm not the hugest feminist buff, but I'm definitely not a fan of those people who feel the need to shame anyone else's opinion of it and are just anti-everything.

I definitely have to agree with her perspective on Ron's comment of how he'd wished Bellatrix had just taken his offer to torture him instead of Hermione. Sure, Ron was considered a blood traitor but being a pureblood, Bellatrix wouldn't have gotten any pleasure in taking him over her. Plus, considering Hermione is the smartest witch of her age, it wouldn't surprise me that Bellatrix may have simply thought her the mastermind behind everything, even if they hadn't yet broken into the Lestranges' vault. And I don't think Ron has the right the insult Hermione for being so affected by the torture, because I don't really see him taking it any better than her. If it didn't haunt him as well, it might just be because his emotional capacity isn't as big as hers, since Hermione is the type of person who cares a lot, about everyone and everything.

I also really liked how she was able to prove that a woman could work and care for a baby at the same time without issue. Although I was confused when she went from Department of Magical Law Junior Assistant to Junior Head of the Department of Mysteries... and then goes on to reform the Department of Magical Law... I don't know if that's just a mistake or not...

But I really liked how she decided to put that money to better herself in her understanding of law and to better her community by not just raising awareness, but raising institutionalized rights for the minorities.

I also really liked how she chooses not to marry Ron, and instead writes up a cohabitation contract (I thought that was kinda funny, because then it still seems like they might as well be married) for in case they do decide to split up. Although it still kind of seems like they simply don't get married because they don't like being the center of attention, which doesn't seem like the best excuse, you'd think if they really wanted to, they could have a no-fuss ceremony, and have a small wedding at the ministry or wherever they deal with legalizing marriages, like muggles can by going to a courthouse, but that's just my opinion on that.

I did really enjoy this story, especially the end when Rose and Hugo show Hermione the doll families they've created in their dollhouses, I think that was a really cute, yet eye-opening scene for Hermione, and for the reader to sort of see the the payoff (I can't seem to think of right word) of her efforts.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #14, by EnigmaticEyes16Her Choice : A New Beginning

15th January 2015:
This is an interesting start to a story! It's been a while since I've read something like this, with an OC infiltrating for the Dark Lord, but I'm very curious to see where it goes. I'll have to keep reading.

I'm glad she's finally leaving the Girls' Home but I would definitely be very skeptical if I was in her shoes and someone came in claiming to be my family and promised to adopt me if I promised to do everything he said. I'd probably be inclined to set some boundaries/guidelines so I at least knew what I was getting myself into... lol. But I'm a super skeptical person. And I can see that she's simply desperate to leave the home and just agrees immediately, planning to deal with the consequences later.

I'm a little curious at Draco's reaction to her though, and can't wait to read more on that and how he'll treat her in this story...

Great first chapter, hun!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,
Thanks so much for stopping by and reading my story;) I am glad it makes you want to read more! And yes, Laynie was desperate to leave the Girl's Home and therefore would basically go with anyone, but as you could guess, she would regret it later.
I hope you DO read on! Thanks for stopping by!
-Lindsey


 Report Review

Review #15, by EnigmaticEyes16The Diagon Alley Gentlemen's Club: Greed and Luxury

13th January 2015:
Hi! I'm here for our review swap!

This is a very interesting story so far. I'm very intrigued about the set-up of the Gentlemen's Club that is actually full of women, who all go by men's names... it's very curious. I'm very interested to read more because I'm curious to know what exactly is going on. How did Chris come up with the idea for a club like this? Does she hire all of her clients? How do they go about changing their names and identities? Like Ms. Greengrass has a brother... or are they just secret identities and they go by their real names in public when they are not on assignment?

I also want to know more about the Butterfly's death poison and how it works. And I'm very curious about how when Marcus saw the vial, he cancels everything and tells his assistant "They're back." Does he know who "they" are? Since he's obviously seen this before. And what led him to the club looking for Auden?

I have so many questions! Ugh... I guess I'm just going to have to keep an eye on this story for future updates because now I really want to know more.

This is a very cool idea for a story though!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #16, by EnigmaticEyes16Chronovolta: Chronovolta

13th January 2015:
Hi! I'm here for the Slytherin Review swap!

This story has a very interesting set-up, the beginning immediately made me think of the Lady of Shalott, weaving things and people she cannot see, and then with the threads that grow cold with death, she also reminded me of the Fates in mythology, who cut the thread when a person dies, even though she doesn't choose who lives and dies, only knows who does. And when she was talking to someone, someone who could not escape their own darkness, I immediately thought of Voldemort as a kid in the orphanage and the more I read the more I knew you had to be talking about him before even reading the second part about his mother and how she had doomed him.

I also liked how you pose the question, did he ever know happiness. Because it's probably something we really don't know. I mean, at times, he might have thought he was happy, but was he really? Would he have been happy if he had killed Harry Potter and taken over the wizarding world? Probably not.

I'm also intrigued that since you are sort of basing her off of the Lady of Shalott, that you mention the mirror, even though metaphorically, because it doesn't seem to be there in her chamber, she just knows what will happen somehow, without planning it herself. And in that way, her curse is worse than the Lady of Shalott's because she can't break it, she can't choose death in order to free herself from her prison. Or at least that's what I thought...

But then she does! Voldemort's tragedy causes her to stop, to make the decision that she doesn't want to weave anymore, that she wants to live, to love, the interact with the world instead of living in the shadows (another Shalott line) and she looks away and the tapestry tears itself apart, similar to the mirror cracking, and I have to wonder if that's the end for her. Will she die tragically, too? I'm so interested in this character it's not even funny, lol.

I wasn't really sure what this had to do with Penelope or the Erinyes (unless you were confusing them with the Fates)... I'm also totally blanking on how this is connected to Game of Thrones... but there's so many intertwining plots in that show that I wouldn't be surprised if I'm just forgetting something...

But I loved this story! I love the poem of the Lady of Shalott, and I'm obsessed with Emilie Autumn's song about her as well, so this was very fun to read. Sure, I was already planning to read it anyway but this review exchange just sped that process up, and I'm so glad I did read this.

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #17, by EnigmaticEyes16Where My Demons Hide: There's Nowhere We Can Hide

12th January 2015:
Hi Avi! I saw your status and had to come read this... Wow, this was really intriguing! At first I thought it might be sweet, I suppose most of his feelings for her were. But once I read where he paused at her neck, I started wondering. And then she ends up dead at the end. I wish I knew more. More about what exactly he was fighting inside of him, and how he ended up killing her. Part of me wonders if he was being used, if maybe someone had imperiused him or something to kill her. But it doesn't really sound like it. But all in all I really did like this story! I can't believe how much you managed to portray in just 500 words, that's pretty impressive.

I did noticed two little things. One, in the first section where you say "so I let you on" I think you meant "led" there. And second, in the last part, there's no space between two of your short, one sentence paragraphs. But other than that I thought this was perfectly written to be honest.

You did a great job here!

xxNix

 Report Review

Review #18, by EnigmaticEyes16Sympathy, Tenderness: Offer Me Your Embrace

9th January 2015:
This was really very, very bittersweet. I loved it though. I think you did end it well without going into a more romantic scene. Although, I wouldn't have complained if that happened, even if it is a bit of a cliche. I really enjoyed how Hermione got to see Draco in such a vulnerable state for once and I think she handled it pretty well.

You did a great job with this!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hi Nix! Thank you so much for reading my story! I'm glad you liked it. I really appreciate your point of view in helping me figure out how to end it. I am happy with the end result, although I agree--I could see it go into that romantic direction afterward haha! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing :)

 Report Review

Review #19, by EnigmaticEyes16A Tale of Star-Crossed Lovers: In Which Draco Malfoy Becomes A Pirate

21st December 2014:
Hi! I am here for our swap! And first off, I have to ask, is this supposed to be a spoof? Because it seems very much like a spoof. I mean, just in the first couple paragraphs, we learn Draco has decided to live as a muggle, his favorite TV show is Dancing with the Stars, and he has parrot that talks like a human being and makes toast... so... yeah.

But it's still hilarious!

I love how Hermione wears giant heels now. I mean, 7 to 9 nice inch heels? I'd probably kill myself just attempting to walk, lol. And there's a thing going on between her and Krum, and more dancing... what? It's so weird.

I love how Draco just walks around town with no shoes, an eye patch, and a toaster. And then he walks into Krum's dance studio and just joins in. And sparks fly between Hermione and him, even though they are not totally in love yet.

But the next time he shows up they are definitely in love! And then their married.

And then it just gets weirder! I don't even know where you come up with this stuff! I love the random tidbits about the Mongolian guy flying around the world.

And Draco and Hermione become pirates and the parrot is the captain of the Dramonie! lol. Go figure. Although, the Dramonie seems like a legit ship name. And they all loot cities and free house elves, of course! I love the cannon fight with howlers and the reminder of Scabbers. I also love the movie references. "Nobody puts Draco Malfoy in the corner" and the snipe at the Titanic about how two people can fit on large peice of wood.

And Hermione is called Salty Jean now, I literally burst out laughing at that. But it's still kind of catchy, too.

And if there were any mistakes, I didn't notice them, either because this was written perfectly or I thought it was all too funny and ridiculous to pay close attention to grammar and spelling.

Anyway, I loved all of this! And I will definitely be reading the second chapter. But not tonight, because I should really get some sleep.

Thanks so much for doing this swap with me and good luck to you on your reviewing goals!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hehe. Yep, it's definitely a parody, it's a collection of all cliches stuck together combined with a completely nonsensical plot and characters. It's definitely not intended to be good, just silly. :p I'm so glad you thought it was hilarious!

Yep, 9 inch heels, instant falling in love, dancing, a toaster, and random asides about Genghis Khan in a roaming yurt. I'm all about realism. :p

Haha, I'm so glad you liked the bit about the pirate ship and their noble work. And yes, there could be no other name for Draco and Hermione's actual ship than 'Dramione'. (I actually did spend a good while pondering a name for their ship before the obvious answer hit me, haha.) So glad you liked the movie references too :D

I'm so glad you enjoyed reading this and that it made you laugh. Thanks for the swap! And good luck to you as well on your review goal ;)


 Report Review

Review #20, by EnigmaticEyes16Like a House on Fire: What an Idiot

20th December 2014:
AH! Ugh, I can't even handle this! This was so cute and I was grinning the entire time I was reading the chapter. And I'm so happy you ended it the way you did with Millie finally realizing Sirius wasn't the only idiot in the relationship, lol. And I'm so happy she kissed him. And that there's a happy ending. I kinda want to restart from the beginning and just read the entire thing over again, and I just may (at some point). I just loved this entire story and congratulations on finishing it, it's such a big deal.

I'm so happy right now! lol.

xxNix

Author's Response: EEE! It's finally finished! I'm so so so happy that you liked the ending! I was a little worried about rushing their resolution, since I'd been building their issues for so long, but I thought it was time. The chapter before this cemented Sirius' feelings and I didn't want to go in the whole "unrequited love" direction. And I REALLY wanted to give them a happy ending, so the story definitely needed to end whilst they were still at Hogwarts!

Thanks so much for all the loveliness you've bestowed upon this story! You read quite a lot of it in such a short amount of time (and even reviewed OMG HOW DID YOU EVEN MANAGE THAT). *hugs*


 Report Review

Review #21, by EnigmaticEyes16Problems: Problems

20th December 2014:
Aw, this was very cute. And brief but in a good way, since you do manage to get the whole story across in such a short amount of words. I really like the way you began and ended your story with the same train of thought.

I like how you keep the scenes between them very realistic, the way they interact, including common tendencies when attemtping to ask someone out, like the inability to look the other person in the eye and Victoire's sudden interest in the wood grain. I like how neither of them really thought the other liked them, but she was willing to take a shot anyway, and he reacted all shocked but then took control of the situation once he realized his feelings were shared by her. I like how he didn't even realize he had feelings for Victoire in the beginning, and it just sort of hits him when he starts thinking of all the new feelings and his hair changing colors.

I did notice one tiny little mistake toward the end where it says

"He smiled, and prayed it wasn’t his crazier-than-a-chimp smile. “Yes, Victoire. Tomorrow. Hogsmeade, remember?”

She continued to stare at me."

You accidentally switch to first person here when the rest is in third. but other than that I thought this was absolutely perfect and so cute and fluffy. I would would really like to see a sequel, but as the writer that's totally up to you.

You did a great job with this.

xxNix

Author's Response: Heya! Yes, this is a very short piece, since I wrote this when I'd just started writing (and thus was still mostly writing LaHoF). But I'm glad you thought it worked!

Asking someone out on a date, especially face to face is so nerve-wracking and horrible, and I wonder why people even do it, but there you have it. I wanted to capture the awkwardness and sheer terror of that moment. And with Teddy, he's JUST realised what his feelings are, so he's sitting there doubly confused. It was a lot of fun to write! And go Victoire for taking the first step! Teddy would definitely have wallowed in his crush in long-suffering silence!

And yes! I REALLY have to go fix that mistake! I started writing this story in first person, then changed my mind halfway and went to third person, but for some reason, with that ONE sentence, I slipped back into first person. And missed it in my edits. Gah.

Thanks for the lovely review :)


 Report Review

Review #22, by EnigmaticEyes16Agony: Agony

23rd November 2014:
OMG! This was amazing! There were a couple times where I was on the brink of tears because this was so good. I love how you built up Draco and Hermione's relationship. At first, we think their just old school acquaintances, and then we find out they spent a night together talking, then we find out they did a little more than talking, then we find out they dated for five months and lived together, then towards the end we find out she was pregnant when he walked out on her. And they are clearly still very in love with each other even though they hadn't seen each other in five years and she married Ron. I am kinda surprised Ron wanted to marry her knowing she carried Draco's child, but it was a very good guy thing of him to do, to raise Draco's child with her. But even though Draco's a vampire, and Hermione would rather not be one, I still want them to be together. There's just so many emotions! I honestly loved every second of this, it just kept getting better and better with every new piece of information. And it made me really sad when it ended because I really wanted there to be more so I could read on...

Anyway, this was amazing. I loved it. Good luck in the Vampire Challenge. I've only read two other entries so far but I honestly think your story is gonna be a hard one to beat.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hey Nix,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. It was a pretty emotional one to write so it's nice to know people are enjoying it as much as I enjoyed writing it.

xx-Ellie


 Report Review

Review #23, by EnigmaticEyes16Blood Lust: Blood Lust

22nd November 2014:
Hi! I thought this was a very interesting, yet very brief story. I kinda like how you don't include names or let us know in any way who the characters are, but at the same time I really want to know more. But it does seem very straight and to the point, the vampire wants to feed and that's what she's going to do.

All in all I thought this was very well written, I didn't see any mistakes, and it was also very easy to read. I think you did a great job with this. Good luck in the Vampire Challenge!

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!

This was a very lovely and unexpected review, thank you. I'm thrilled that you took the time to read and review, it means a lot. :)

I didn't want to include any character names so that you could make your own assumptions as to who they were. I like to leave people questioning what happens next - I really am mean like that ;) - so it's a good thing to me that you wanted to know more.

I'm glad that you like it!

- Becca.



 Report Review

Review #24, by EnigmaticEyes16Unrequited Snowfall: Unrequited Snowfall

8th November 2014:
Hi! I should totally be writing for NaNo right now, but the mention of Dramonie made me check this out and the summary totally sucked me in. This story was so good, and very well written with only a few tiny mistakes and I loved every second of it.

I absolutely loved Draco's internal struggle, constantly wanting Hermione but knowing he couldn't have her and his father would disown him if he did... I thought it was as realistic as it could get if Dramonies were actually realistic. I love how Hermione constantly questioned his new interest in her, thinking it had to do with something entirely different the entire time, not even crossing her mind that he could like her until she saw the drawings he made. I also really loved the artistic bit of this story, to me it was a new take on Dramonie that she would draw these sometimes sad sometimes hilarious comics. And I liked the story bit she wrote about Lavender burning in oil. And that Draco responded to her drawings with his own comics. Although I was a little surprised she opened the book right there when he handed it to her to see what he did, I was thinking maybe she'd approach him later, maybe he'd have his own sleepless night worrying, and she'd finally share her feelings. But I suppose the one-shot had to end eventually. Although I would love to see a sequel to see if they actually got together or not, maybe something from Hermione's point of view. That would be neat.

Anyway, this was a really fantastic one-shot and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it from beginning to end. I think you did a great job with this and incorporating all the wintery bits to for your prompt. Good luck in the challenge!

xxNix

Author's Response: Thanks so much Nix! I'm really glad you liked it. =)

It was a lot of fun to write and I really enjoyed portraying them this way. It was interesting to try and write them realistically for a change, and so I'm glad it came across as effective. After the challenge is judged, I will probably turn this into a longer story, or at least give readers the POV of Hermione and her reaction in a second chapter.

Thanks for taking the time to review and good luck with NaNo!


 Report Review

Review #25, by EnigmaticEyes16Reincarnation: Memories

1st November 2014:
Hi! I'm here for the Slytherin Review Exchange! This is an interesting story. I like the concept of reincarnation and mingling of both Rhea and Rose in the same body. But I feel like the pace is just too fast and I wish you would slow down and take more time to explain everything. I'm still not entirely sure what the boys did to Rose that killed her. And I'm just kind of shocked that Al chose to hire her so quickly without asking her anything, gut instinct or not, working in a hospital is a very serious position, and I feel like questions should have been asked, and her information and credentials should have been given right off the bat. I'm very confused about her dad's behavior toward her as well, I don't understand why he would have even agreed to take her to London to take care of her, if he didn't want her.

Although the build up of her feelings towards her father do help explain why Rhea was so easily willing to leave her life behind, so that Rose could enter it and take over. But then I'm not sure if Rose has taken over or if she's still Rhea and Rose is just in her head. It kind of seems like the two are both in there and come out through triggers like the memories and dreams. It is a very interesting concept. But it is a little awkward that Rhea likes Albus but Rhea is supposed to be Rose who was his cousin, lol.

All in all I do really like the idea of this kind of story, but I do wish more was explained in the story.

xxNix

Author's Response: Hello!

I know, the interview scene is not really good at all... My muse ran away at that moment and so... it will all be taken care of during editing. Her dad stuff will be explained in the coming chapters!

More will be explained soon and I'm glad that you liked it!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>