Reading Reviews From Member: the_edge_of_love
  
82 Reviews Found

Review #1, by the_edge_of_loveRoses and Ashes: Spells, Choices, and Death

4th March 2012:
Oh! I couldn't see this coming! It was cruel. yes, but it was so cruel that it surprised me. I really want to know what the ending means.

Oh, and the beginning with Scorpius? A-do-ra-ble! I loved how he, despite being a Malfoy, seems to want to help!

Looking forward to an update:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: You'll see! I've got big plans for this next chapter in explaining lots of stuff! So hold on just a little while I finish it! :) Thanks for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #2, by the_edge_of_loveThe Steep and Thorny Way to Heaven: Act I

4th March 2012:
Before I say anything else, I must tell you that this is probably the most original story I've ever read. I really love your idea of an AU, and the way you used Shakespeare's play. I'm curious to see how close to Hamlet the rest of the story is going to be.

I was already caught by your summary and idea, however, when I begun reading this chapter I was pleasantly surprised at how well-done this is. I loved the chapter- it's brilliant.

The beginning is simple, but it's not slow like in most stories. Action begins pretty quickly, and I liked that. I enjoy reading fics in which we learn things about the characters and the background from the dialogue or via the thoughts of a character, and not through narration. I think it takes some talent to do this, without creating huge gaps at the plot of your story- and you managed it:D

I liked how Sirius is portrayed. He's the boy we expect him to be, based on the books, so I must say you got his characterization right. The small detail about goblins says a lot about him: he cares, he wants justice, but he's stubborn as well. I also like your Narcissa a lot: she's not that weak uncertain little girl, most people see her as. She's just as determined as Bellatrix- she simply has different ways to show this. Also the mentions to Orion and Walburga's story are very interesting. It gives some believability points to this, because again, you don't see them only for the people Sirius described them to be, but as something more. Overall, I really appreciated your characterizations.

As for the plot of the story, I can see you building a very interesting storyline here. Cygnus' actions were unexpected- he really surprised me. He seemed to genuinely care for Orion at the first scene, but then he was plotting his son's death and poisoning him... I'm really curious about his motives...

Needless to say, I'm looking forward to reading more of this- and I will as soon as I have some free time! I feel I should thank you for posting this review request- I'd never find this story otherwise:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: Wow, that is such a huge compliment, thank you. I must admit that the story and the play will not be that similar. Certain elements, yes, but the plot will largely be my own. I'm glad that the summary caught your eye. I've been afraid that it's not exciting enough and that's why I'm not enticing readers on my own.

Stylistically, this is a lot simpler than many of my stories. It's straight-forward and lacking a lot of flowery prose. I'm trying to maintain a good balance between dialogue, description, and narration so I hope that it continues to work well for you in the following chapters.

Sirius is a young boy, but he's no fool. He's being groomed to be king so he follows his father around a lot and he knows things though he may not be completely sure of what he's talking about. He is stubborn and that's why Cygnus doesn't find him to be a suitable king. Cissy is great and you'll be seeing more of her in later chapters. She's very pompous and priviledged. She is not going to be some weak little girl but we do see a contrast between her and Bella.

I find it interesting that you were surprised by Cygnus's actions when I've been told time and again that he's very obvious in his schemes. He's meant to be that way, but you didn't seem him like that at all, which surprises me. I love it, though. You'll find more about his motives in later chapters.

Thank you again for your lovely review and I hope to see you come back for more chapters. :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by the_edge_of_loveCanis Major: Smelling like Slytherins

4th March 2012:
Well, this was... amazing, I must say.

I had heard someone praise your writing a while ago and I wanted to give your stories a shot for quite some time, so I'm glad you posted in my review thread and gave me the chance. This most certainly didn't disappoint: it was a chapter I really enjoyed reading.

What I admired in this the most is how well-developed the characters are. The dialogues, the descriptions, the narrative- everything here gives the reader a hint about their personalities. This is only the first chapter and yet I can understand all your characters- even the OCs- and, most importantly, I like them. That's not an easy task, so congratulations for achieving it so easily. Reading this, I don't see you trying too much- there are no huge insights in the characters' minds- and this is good because it helps a lot with the story's flow.

Your chapter is easy to be read and not tiring at all, despite its big length. The only problem is that too many new characters are introduced in this one chapter and it's a bit hard to remember who is who. I'm not saying that you have to go back and change this, of course, I understand the necessity of all these characters and I really enjoyed reading the scenes they've all shared together. I'm just letting you know that I had to stop and think at points- only because I don't want to leave you a review full of praise:P

The plot is excellent as well. I can't say that this is the most original story I've ever read (you already know it's not, I'm sure), but I have to let you know that I really admired the way you managed to skip all the clichés. You took a storyline done before thousands of times and you gave it an entirely different meaning. I just loved that.

My favorite part has to be the one in which James and Sirius have no idea who Keira is. I loved the way Andrew acted and how he was so protective of her. I found him very sweet- and he's one of the characters I liked at once. Now that I've mentioned this, I remember that the dialogue didn't really make sense in that point. It wasn't very easy to tell who was saying what... You might want to reda through that part again.

Also, the Lily/James mentions were cute. And the fact that Keira feels bad about 'introducing' Andrew to these girls, because of her friends makes her a really interesting and likeable character.

Overall, I found this story very, very good! You'll most probably find a review from me soon- if you're tired of waiting, though, feel free to re-request:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: I'll certainly re-request. This was fantastic to get back from my trip to! ^_^

I'll certainly go back over those bits where it was hard to tell who was saying what, but i'm so thrilled you liked the characterisation ^_^ Particularly Keira and Anthony. Oh, and Lily and James. :)

It's not the most original story, I know that (it's dead hard to write something completely and utterly original in this Era D:) but i'm glad that I've avoided cliches. I was completely paranoid about that, so it's great to hear.

Thanks so much for this, and as soon as there is another spot in your thread, i'm re-requesting :)

Cheers again,
- A. :)


 Report Review

Review #4, by the_edge_of_loveRoses and Ashes: Work, Summons, and Love

19th February 2012:
I forgot to say this in my previous review, but I really appreciate the add of Marielle's character. It shows that they're all the same for Lord Morri.

I must admit that I anticipated the moment Scorpius appears. It's so good to see he's not as cruel as everyone else, even though he tries to hide it. That's what I want to believe at least:P

I'm curious to see where his storyline will head. And how Morri will be defeated- yes, I know I'm rushing...

Looking foward to an update,

~ Angie

Author's Response: You'll see! He's got a real important part to play in the next chapter, which is in validation. :) Hope you like it! And once more, Thanks lots!

 Report Review

Review #5, by the_edge_of_loveRoses and Ashes: Interrogation, Uniforms, and Hatred

19th February 2012:
This is terrifying! To think that the wizarding world would lose control again, so soon after defeating Voldemort. I really want to know how this happened.

I liked where this story is heading... Mainly because you present a scarier, more mature version of Harry Potter. Certainly the murders and the torture that JKR mentioned are hideous actions, however, it's understood (as well as clarified in the books) that death is not the worst thing that can happen to someone.

With this story, you prove this.

~ Angie

Author's Response: I will explain, probably from Mori's own character, how he got to power. But that's later. Thanks again for all the reviews! Keep reading :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by the_edge_of_loveRoses and Ashes: Baggage, Waiting, and Dread

19th February 2012:
This was wonderful.

Not because I like what's happening, of course. I just love your writing:D

This chapter seems to me the most well-developed and realistic so far. I liked Hermione's letter, Rose's fears, Albus' concerns, but above all, I admired their determination to overcome these emotions and live through it all.

Nicely done!

~ Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I adore your reviews!

 Report Review

Review #7, by the_edge_of_loveYou Picked the Rose: Hugo

19th February 2012:
I really liked this!

What I mostly admired about this story so far is how it manages to combine the depressing atmosphere a teenage girl who feels as lost as Rose here creates, with the happy moments in the Weasley clan.

It's very nicely done. Your writing passes through Rose's desperation as well as her fear and weakness. On the other hand, you show how life continues around her: her cousins still fight with the Slytherins, still joke and have fun.

I loved Hugo- who wouldn't? He was so supportive and mature here:D

~ Angie

 Report Review

Review #8, by the_edge_of_lovePost Scriptum: His Other Home

19th February 2012:
This was another good chapter!

It was interesting to be back at Regulus POV. From what I've read so far, I have to admit that I like him more than Lily. I appreciate his way of thinking: his doubts and concerns, but above all his kindness. In this chapter you presented a softer side of his. He was very thoughtful of both the Muggles and Severus and even of his brother at a point.

I also liked the way you develop the plot here. It's like we had those two introductory first chapters which gave us a scoop in the lives of the characters: who they are, what they want, which side they are with. The scene with Snape sets up the rest of the story nicely- I'm looking forward to see how and why Regulus will think of using this information.

The scene with Slughorn was great as well. It was nice to see him in action: back to the years when he first created the small circle of 'gifted students'. I have a strong feeling that Regulus being a member is canon, but if it's not, congratulations on the excellent thought. It's very nice to see him as a good man; to see that Death Eaters weren't all cowards or bitter but some of them were gifted, misguided men.

On that notice, I'll have to wonder about your choice of names... I understand the latin origins, however, wouldn't you think that such names wouldn't be chosen? The pureblood society used latin phrases as its mottos, therefore they all had at least a small amount of latin knowledge. They wouldn't use names originated from insulting words, now would they? Thinking less practically, I'd have to disagree with those names, because they imply that most of the Death Eaters were shallow, terrible men. I like to believe that no one is simply good or evil (take Dumbledore as an example), and, thus, some of them were simply misguided.

Overall, this was an interesting chapter. The writing was as good as usual, and the plot developed naturally. I'm curious as to where this is heading, and how the relationships between the characters will evolve.

Looking forward to an update.

~ Angie

Author's Response: Hey! Thank you for coming by once more!

I like Regulus, too -- I think he's a bit more complex than Lily at this point in the story, and I would hope that the readers kind of want him to be good considering his fate. He's definitely not ready to be a hard-hearted Death Eater just yet, so there's still hope here.

I'm very glad that you like what I did with Snape. I'm a serious Snily shipper, and sometimes it's hard for me to put too much Snily into things that I write, and I'm trying to make sure that it accentuates the plot instead of totally dominating it. The Snape/Lily storyline has only just begun, as you put it.

I kind of love Slughorn, that strange old man. I think Regulus being a member is canon, but even if it's not, we know that Slughorn was very fond of Regulus and knew him well from being his Head of House and from Regulus being part of the Slytherin Quidditch Team.

I definitely see what you're saying about the names, and I would never want to characterize anyone as being two-dimensional, even the Death Eaters. In my defense, I took JKR's example in modeling their names -- 'Severus', for instance, means 'stern' or 'severe', and I doubt that Eileen Prince would have chosen such a moniker for her son purely based upon that meaning. (I think Alecto Carrow's name also means something unsavory, as I recall.) If it's any comfort, we know that some characters don't necessarily live up to their names. Severus clearly turned out to be much more than his name foretold, and did you know that Amycus actually means 'friend'? Not so much! Haha. Canon tells us that the Death Eaters I described in this chapter didn't turn out to have very heroic endings, and so I felt that I was safe in the choices that I made. However, you make an excellent point. I would be quite sore with my mother had she chosen a name that foretold such a grim fate for me! :)

I'm very glad that you liked the chapter, and I appreciate your comments, both the compliments and the criticism. It's great to see that the story continues to hold your interest, and I'll be sure to stop by your thread once more when I get chapter four up.

Thanks again for your kind review! :)

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #9, by the_edge_of_loveThe impossible task: The impossible task

19th February 2012:
Aw... this was so sweet!

I have to admit that I expected this to be the story of how Teddy and Victoire decided to name their daughter 'Dora' after his mother, because that's what most writers do. You, however, completely changed this by adding the two in a real situation in which as parents are looking for a name that they feel suits their child.

I really liked this change. It was not only original, but also very well-writtena and interesting. And the ending definitely made me smile! So cute!

~ Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this unexpected review. It made my day!

I didn't feel that Dora could have worked in this situation because it was almost a follow on from one of my other stories. The name I feel will suit their child very well as they're growing up.

Thank you for saying it's well written and interesting. It was really adorable to write!


 Report Review

Review #10, by the_edge_of_loveTrying not to love you: Chapter three - A Birthday Surprise

18th February 2012:
Oh, dear, I missed this! I love your writing: it's so happy and carefree, even at chapters like this one. I never thought I'd be reading a James/OC story and yet I love this:D

This chapter was as good as the previous ones. I really enjoyed the Weasley family moments at the beginning: have I ever mentioned that I love how Gwen is part of the family in the same way Harry used to be? It's pretty cool.

The party was interesting- to say the least. Although, I don't approve Gwen starting a relationship just to get over James or to get her thoughts away from him, I'm glad that for once she tried to think what was the best for herself, instead of thinking of James. Certainly it was the wrong way and the wrong time (his birthday? come on... poor boy!), but trying to get over her might be good for her.

Don't get me wrong, I'm still a big fan of the two of them and I really want to see them together, however, I found this event a very welcome change. It was believable and original, since most fanfiction writers don't think of such moments.

I'm really looking forward to see where this is heading to. I'll try to read a few more chapters on my own- I'm really happy you write so quickly!

~ Angie

Author's Response: Aww, yey! I'm happy that you liked the chapter (:

I like to think that the Weasley's really would treat her like that, especially after she lost her parents.

I don't approve her way either, but that added a nice twist to the end of the chapter, and it also fits her personality quite well. She is a bit rash in her decisions and does not always think things completely through (:

Oh and a big yey for originality! That's where I'm trying to take this story even though the main plot is such a cliche. Glad to see it's working.

Okay, I'll be waiting to hear what you think of the next chapters (:

Chapter six is in the queue already and chapter seven is soon done. It's easy to write fast when you guys give me so much inspiration!


 Report Review

Review #11, by the_edge_of_loveVital: Chapter 6

18th February 2012:
This was fun!

My first thought after reading this was that it was a filler, yet thinking about it twice, I realized that even chapters in which the plot doesn't develop are necessary in a story. Take this, for example: it is interesting because we get to know a bit more about the characters by seeing their interactions during peaceful moments. Both the scenes with Simon and Elena and Simon and Corinne were enjoyable and gave something to the story: believability.

In most action/adventure fics authors make the mistake to rush into things. Here, however, the plot progresses slowly- naturally. This makes much more sense than having Elena jumping in action out of the blue, or evidence about the Minister's killers appearing out of nowhere.

Anyway, I think this chapter was the lighter and happier one so far. I really enjoyed reading Simon and Elena's interaction: they're not as interesting as they are when Corinne's around, though it's good to read something simpler for once:D

I'm a bit curious about that old lady now. And about Simon's big absence, although I feel this was mainly a technique to have Elena stay alone. I guess I'll see later on, huh? ;)

Loved the finale, btw. It was nice and funny, and actually made me smile. I love those two:P

Looking forward to see what happens next- I hope I'll find the time to check another chapter without you re-requesting:)

Keep up with the good work!

~ Angie

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm glad that you see this chapter as more than a filler. While it doesn't really advance the plot, that's true, I am really trying to set up characters and the plot. It's also to show that in detective work, or in any job, it's not always action. There have to be moments of relative calm that are still important to the overall goal. In that sense-pacing- I am trying to keep things realistic. While action can be gripping (and I do include it), fighting won't get all the answers they need.

Yes, Corinne does add a bit of sarcasm to the mix, doesn't she? It was fun to write just about Simon and Elena, but the final bit, as you said, was even more fun, perhaps, because Corinne and Simon have such an interesting dynamic between them.

I would be glad to hear more from you on the story. Though if you don't have time, I'll be happy to re-request as well!

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by the_edge_of_loveFortune Favors the Bold: Fortune Favors the Bold

18th February 2012:
Aw! This was lovely! I want to feel this review box with hearts:P

Anyway, point is I love Teddy/Victoire and I always imagine them so cute and adorable together, and this definitely meets my expectations!

I like the idea of Vic sneaking out to meet him so she could have the chance to be alone with him for once. I've certainly never seen this before. It's quite unrealistic, though: I don't think it'd be so easy to leave Hogwarts. Also, given that she would see him the following day, I don't think it makes sense for her to risk getting expelled. I guess that people in love don't use logic, however, and in anyway, I like where this little detail leads your story.

The conversation between the two characters seems so natural, it really flows. It proves how well they know each other in your fic. Also, it's quite funny at points and cute in others! I really enjoyed it.

The plot and flow are also nicely thought. I didn't catch myself skipping lines or getting bored, so I guess this means you didn't a great job with the parts of the story you chose to tell here. Furthermore, I like the idea of their first time with Vic being the bolder one, and Teddy the more thoughtful of the two. He was really cute, especially during the tea scene:P

Overall, I'd say that this was a very sweet and interesting read. I liked your story and characters a lot and I'd love to read more from you in the future.

~ Angie

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! I love Teddy/Victoire, too - they're probably my favourite couple to write.

I thought about it, and I'm actually not sure that it would be so difficult to sneak out of Hogwarts if you knew what you were doing and had a good working knowledge of the secret passages. Harry certainly managed it. In the hustle and bustle of getting on the train, I'm not sure whether anyone would notice one student not being there, especially since students were allowed to stay at school over the holidays. Just my thoughts, though - I agree that it's less likely, but I liked it as a backdrop. :P

I'm really glad that you liked their characterisation - I'm quite proud of my Victoire, actually, because she's so much fun to write and has gotten a lot of compliments since I've started writing her (which of course always makes you feel lovely as a writer ;) ). I'm also very happy with my Teddy, so again, I'm really happy that you liked him so much!

Thank you so much for your review. I really appreciate it. :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by the_edge_of_loveLucy: Lucy

17th February 2012:
This was brilliant!

I'm so glad I found a Lucy-centered fic here, it's so hard since she's not in the characters list! Before anything else, I have to say I loved you summary! It definitely catches a reader's eye! Very smart:D

However, the summary couldn't prepare me for this. I thought it was going to be a cute fic about the way Lucy feels bad with her life and decides to change it. But this was entirely different- in a very good way!

I can't exactly describe what I liked in this. I must say everything- mainly because of the atmosphere you created. I can see her as a woman trapped in her choices, a girl who had dreams and never managed to turn them into reality. I can see her standing in that window, not courageous enough to tell her family that she made the wrong choice. I can see Rose keeping the secret and being rude about it yet never telling the family, not because she doesn't care as Lucy thinks, but because she thinks that this is what her cousin wants. And finally, I can see her as the middle cousin in a huge family of war-heroes torn like everyone else- only a bit more:D

There are so many things I loved her, and I fear I haven't mentioned all of them. This story is beautiful, really.

~ Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for this wonderful review.
I feel bad that the summary is misleading, but I'm glad you like it anyway. I'm glad I managed to relay Lucy's emotions and character well enough. That is EXACTLY how I was picturing her when I wrote this.
Thank you!


 Report Review

Review #14, by the_edge_of_loveHaven: Haven

17th February 2012:
This is so sweet and lovely! I'm so glad I chose to read this (I must tell you, it took me some time to decide:P), because it left me a warm, hopeful feeling:)

I like how Rose points out the innocence in Hugo's words and how he believes it's going to be alright even though his sister has no evidence. It shows that he wants things to be better, and so does Rose, and that little detail creates an excellent characterization for kids their age.

What I really liked about this is how it deals with mundane problems: reasonable for any family, but unexpected in the wizarding world- at least in the books. However, in that era the war is over and I really like how relationships turn normal as well.

Finally, I must say that my favorite scene is the 'happy family' one at the finale. It was adorable!

Lovely fic, really:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: Big sisters; we always look out for little brothers. :P

Thank you so much for choosing to review this. It means a lot because it was something different to write and I love it. :D

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #15, by the_edge_of_loveBecoming Parents: Plague

16th February 2012:
This was an interesting chapter. I can see the plot thicken and I really like it:)

It was nice to see that Hermione still considered Ron her friend, after their break-up. It definitely seems realistic and in-character. And so does Ron's behavior: no matter how embarassing for us Ron-fans it is, or how ridiculous, it's so like him to act irresponsibly and without thinking first.

I also liked that this event hurt Hermione, and made Draco jealous. First, because it feels more real like that, and second because their little argument afterwards, makes them a mundane couple- and that's good once in a while.

Can't wait to see where this is going:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: Thanks!(:

I hate Ron...a lot. I really,really do! I am so sorry,but Im glad to hear you think his retains were like him.

This chapter made me terribly sad): Poor Draco and Hermione! I realized I had gotten them into the m"We're the perfect couple nothing ever goes wrong," loop,so I had to put an end to that,no matter how difficult.

Thanks for the review darling!


 Report Review

Review #16, by the_edge_of_loveQuirks : It doesn't matter.

15th February 2012:
Those two are so sweet!

I loved their little banter at the beginning, and I really appreciated how realistic the quirks you presented were. It makes their relationship even better:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: I know I love them! I had so much fun writing them, making Harry insecure, because that's how he is around Ginny. I think their relationship is the best around.

Thanks so much for the kind review! I'm glad you stopped by!


 Report Review

Review #17, by the_edge_of_loveQuidditch, Nerves, and Charms : This is what you would call

15th February 2012:
This was a really sweet fic!

I like how you present Ginny, and how she feels more comfortable and calm around Harry. They are so cute together!

I thought the ending was a bit abrupt (with her ditching her family like that... perhaps she could wait after dinner/lunch with them or something?), but I can see where that came from. I actually smiled when she talked of that promise:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: I'm thrilled you liked it!

Harry and Ginny are better people, happier people, the best kind when they're around each other.

I thought it was to when I wrote it, by I was just happy with the fact she wanted to keep her promise to Harry that I left it like that.

Thanks for reviewing. I'm happy you liked it.

Lizzie


 Report Review

Review #18, by the_edge_of_loveNox.: Chapter One.

14th February 2012:
I loved this chapter, as well!

Here, you managed to keep the wonderful atmosphere of your Prologue without having so many descriptions, and at the same time you introduced as to the plot.

I liked all the characters here, both the Resistance Members (especially Delilah-Beau's description makes her such a lovely character, while Carmen's worries are the right kind of disturbing) and the Vampire Royalties (I'd love to see how the Katrina/Zane storyline will develop).

Katrina' storyline was a surprise (you presented everything so dark in the first chapter that I didn't expect any happy endings for humans). However, I did appreciate her second thoughts: I find them very much in character, given her past. I'd love an introduction of her mother as well. I'm curious about her story with the King.

Silver, on the other hand, is the kind of vampire I thought I'd meet in your story. I enjoyed her little argument with Katrina, but I also liked the fact that her sister admits that they could be friends- under different circumstances. I'm also intrigued by the implication you made about a power struggle in the vampire society.

The only negative thing I have to say in this chapter is that it was a bit fragmentary. I'd like to see more about the resistance- perhaps in a different chapter than this one so it wouldn't be tiring.

In anyway, I really liked this- and I'd love to read more, whenever you update:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: Hello again! :)

I've come to realize that in all actuality, my backgrounds for most of the characters are... lacking to say the least. I hadn't noticed it before, but it's something a lot of the reviews I've requested from various people have picked up on, for which I'm extremely grateful. I'll have to get to word on carving a specific backstory for each of them and figure out the best place to put it!

The only reason Katrina was saved was because of her mother, which her and Pollock's story is interesting enough I've thought about making it into a separate novel in and of itself once this one is completed. I am however, thinking of having Katrina relate the story her father always told about the vampires at bedtime (though obviously completely biased as he doesn't want her to realize how murderous he actually is!) to explain some of this! It's a lot of background, and a lot of new stuff which is always hard to write properly!

Yes, Silver is the kind of vampire who, like Pollock and most of the other vampires in this story, are what you'll likely see more. Katrina's a bit of an exception, and there's a reason for that, too! She doesn't let one way of thinking cloud her mind to the other possibilities, and she's possibly the only vampire with a soft spot for the humans, though you don't see it in this chapter. She's loyal to her family though, mostly her mother, which will impact her role in this story!

I'd love to update very soon, but I honestly don't know when it will happen :/ I'm taking the weekend off work though to recover from wisdom teeth removal, so maybe I'll have some added time in there ;)

Thanks again for the lovely review!

~VioletBlade


 Report Review

Review #19, by the_edge_of_loveAct of Vengeance: Death.

14th February 2012:
Oh, this was an amazing story!

I'd never pictured Narcissa as the one who would get into Azkaban- she always seemed to weak and kind for any sort of crime that would have her end up in there. This was exactly what I expected given her characterization; the prison breaks her- not only her spirit but her body as well.

I'm really curious about her crime... What could it be that made Draco resent her? And who did she take vengeance from?

What I've really liked here- other than the wonderful atmosphere you've managed to create- is the beginning: how Narcissa considers Lucius weak, because she doesn't really know what he's been through- and when she understands it's too late. It was a nice touch, and quite an original thought.

I've also liked the fact that, even though the Dementors were gone, they had left their mark on the prison. It makes sense, but very few authors think of it.

Overall, I really liked this- I'm looking forward to more:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: THANK YOU! :D

I know what you mean, Narcissa doesn't seem like the kind of person to do anything that would land her in Azkaban. I guess it's circumstances after the War, but an update revealing more of the story should be up soon! :) I had to edit this to make it less revealing for now, sorry about that! :P

The start, where Narcissa considers Lucius weak is one of my favourite parts. I can't imagine her having the strength to endure it.

I don't know where the Dementors' imprint on Azkaban came from, but it just seems likely to happen, so I thought, 'why not?'

Thanks for such a kind review! :D


 Report Review

Review #20, by the_edge_of_loveWhat really happened in the broom closet Neville?: Thank you Slughorn!

12th February 2012:
This was interesting!

I liked how you depicted the two of them: it made your story very happy- a very enjoyable read:) Luna was very interesting- it's always good to see her being so spontaneous. And Neville was so adorable simply being usual shy Neville!

I'm not very certain if Luna was in character, though... I thought she'd be more aloof about all this. Like it's something she takes for granted, not something she needs to work on...

One thing that confused me was the beginning- I wasn't certain about the time period... I'm guessing Harry's 6th year?

In anyway, I was really happy to receive a request for a Neville/Luna fic! There are few good ones out there, and I really like the two of them! This one was particularly cute! And it definitely catches the reader's attention with that summary;)

~ Angie

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your review.

Yep it was in his sixth year.

I'll try and work on Luna. Thank you for pointing that out. I wasn't sure about her character because it's he first time that I have written a story with her in it.

Glad you liked the summary I don't even know how I thought of that one lol

Thanks again for reviewing


 Report Review

Review #21, by the_edge_of_loveNox.: Prologue.

12th February 2012:
This is perfect. I loved it!

I know you requested for me to review the second chapter, but I had to read this one first and I couldn't help but fall in love with it. It's amazing! So well-written and meaningful and... morose. But in a good way, if you know what I mean.

To be honest, I never really cared about vampire stories- I've only watched a couple of films, and I don't know much about them, so I don't know how helpful I'd be able to be. What I do know, however, is that this is a story with a great atmosphere. It creates the right mood... It's quite an achievement, you must know:D

I really like where this seems to be going. Sorry for taking so long to review- I'll check the second chapter asap;)

~ Angie

Author's Response: Hi! :) Thanks for the review, it means a lot to me! I'm really glad you liked this chapter enough to review it in addition to the other one I asked for! :)

And it's okay about the not knowing much about vampires... to be honest, I don't either. I know the Twilight vamps and I know some of the other portrayals of them, but I don't go out of my way to watch/read them (except in HPFF fanfiction since it's so rare!) but now, I'm actually doing my research! :P My goal is to make them actually fearsome, and not in the cliched ways either, but we'll see how well that works out!

Thanks again so much for the lovely review! :)

~VioletBlade


 Report Review

Review #22, by the_edge_of_loveAnd Love Prevails: The Tale of the Three Brothers

12th February 2012:
Oh, I loved this! See, stories like this one are exactly my cup of tea. I'm so glad you gave me the chance to read this by requesting a review.

Well, first of all, I have to say that it is beautifully written- especially the part at the past. I loved the descriptions and the dialogue: the words you used create the right atmosphere. Personally, as a reader I found myself picturing the scene between the three brothers and death. The chapter image definitely helped- props to your artist- but you did an excellent work as well:D

I liked the little adds you made to the tale of the brothers. It was very interesting, but the best thing about it is how you managed to give us an insight to each brother's mind. All three of them are deep, real characters and their actions are expectable and right given their personalities.

Dominique's part was good as well, though modern world can't even be compared to the three brothers' one. However, I really liked the event at the end; it was original and very different from the usual 'getting-into-a-book' scenes. I liked how special it is: you present it like a magical reaction and you describe exactly how she... travelled back in time, I guess.

(Un)fortunately, I have no constructive criticism for this: it's very well-written and excellently thought. From what I've read so far, I wouldn't say it's 'out there', I'd say it's very interesting and original- a story that captures every reader's eye:D

I'd really love to read more- and even if you don't re-request, be certain I'll come back to this story once I find the time.

I'm honestly hooked:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: Oh thank you so much! I really appreciate your in-depth review. Any input is really beneficial right now.

Thank you so much! I really do hope you come back. :)


 Report Review

Review #23, by the_edge_of_loveBecoming Parents: Lake House Part 1

1st February 2012:
haha, I loved the ending! How Ron happened to be ther! Good one:D

I'm really curious on Ginny and Harry, though... Are they tired from the kids? Why were they so... 'off'?

Also, I meant to ask: is Hermione working? did she give up her job to raise the kids, like Mrs. Weasley or Ginny according to JKR, or she's simply on a leaf? Because I think the first one would be very out of character:D

Oh, I should have said something in the previous chapterm but it's so nice to see the Malfoys having Muggle stuff, like the SUV and the TV! It's good to see Hermione's effect on Draco:)

~ Angie

PS: No worries: I didn't get Scorpius Malfoy for Christmas either, so... (lol:P)

Author's Response: excellent!

Ginny and Harry shall be revealed in the next chapter!

and no,hermione is on maternity leave!


 Report Review

Review #24, by the_edge_of_loveBecoming Parents: Long Days

1st February 2012:
That was a realistic chapter!

I have to admit that it was quite funny to see Hermione deal with two kids! Poor her, no one had prepared her for this... she definitely needs some help!

Also, I was so very glad that they girls didn't like Dora (although, I'm quite uncertain if they understood at such an age:P): she annoyes me.

The fight was good, because it was nice to see them act like a real couple who has real problems. You've showed me that they're not exactly perfect:) Glad they made up so quickly, though:D

~ Angie

Author's Response: fantastic!:D

Poor,poor hermione...

excellent,I really strived for realistic situations and whatnot!


 Report Review

Review #25, by the_edge_of_loveBecoming Parents: The Wonders of Parenthood

1st February 2012:
This was as interesting and refreshing as the previous one.

I've most definitely enjoyed the cliche'd conversation in the end with Draco being worried about his girls... :D Despite being a bit too early for that, I could help but smile while reading this part.

Anyway, as I was saying i found this original, because I've always wanted to see a married coupld who doesn't end up in a fight because of their kids: in most stories (not only fanfiction ones) people tend to fight because they're tired and have to go to work etc etc, however, I was very happy to see that you didn't fall in th trap and portrayed Draco and Hermione as two reasonable adults.

~ Angie

Author's Response: Brilliant,yay!Im happy now(:
we all give into the temptation of cliches sometimes..and that was my weak moment!originality is beyond great!Thanks for the review!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>