Reading Reviews From Member: Jess the Enthusiast
433 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : Prologue

20th September 2014:
I clicked on this story because I thought the concept was really intriguing, and this prologue doesn't disappoint! I'm excited to continue reading :)

Author's Response: Hi!! :) Yay, I'm so glad you like it so far, and thank you for all the reviews!! I really appreciate it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #27, by Jess the EnthusiastGrizzled: Grizzled

20th September 2014:
Heartbreakingly beautiful!! Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Wow, thank you so much, that means a lot! ♥ I'm so glad you liked the story, thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #28, by Jess the EnthusiastGrowth: dull as dirt

18th April 2013:
To be perfectly honest, I have no idea why you don't like this story because I think it's fantastic! Wow! I've never read a Merope story before, but you really drew me in and this was a fascinating read. Great job! I really loved it and this is definitely going onto my favorites!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hello Jess!

GAAAH THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥ I really should remove that author's note :P It's just that, this is the first fic I've written, which relies so heavily on imagery and descriptive detail to carry the story forward. And by the end I didn't know if I had overdone it or something :) But the feedback so far has been jawdroppingly fantabulous!

THANK YOU for this lovely and totes unexpected review, AND for favouriting!


 Report Review

Review #29, by Jess the EnthusiastSmall Bump: Small Bump

12th March 2013:
I knew you were going to break my heart - before I even clicked on the story, I just knew it but I read it anyway oh my god. I can't imagine going through something as heartbreaking as this, but I think you portrayed it really well. And it was so hard to read through Percy and Audrey's excitement about the baby only to have it taken from them. But it was extremely well written and a wonderful little story (SO SAD THOUGH) and I wish you the best of luck in your challenge! It certainly was a sad ending :(


~Jess :D

Author's Response: I do that to myself too sometimes. :p

Thank you for all your compliments, you're far too kind! :D

Thanks for the review! :)

 Report Review

Review #30, by Jess the EnthusiastLove, Damned Love, and Statistics: III. Getting the Girl to the Ball

12th March 2013:
I love the way you ended this! I still have to read And Capers Ensue, but I love how this is set in the same universe. I'll know though that I'll have some intense shipping feels once I read it and James makes an appearance haha.

Great job! :D

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! It's actually quite odd - the Capers universe spawned from this universe accidentally. I never meant to do it!

♥ thank you for reading! c:

 Report Review

Review #31, by Jess the EnthusiastLove, Damned Love, and Statistics: II. Getting the Girl

12th March 2013:
Awww this is so cute onto the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: I think this is /the/ cutest chapter I have ever written for anything ever xD

 Report Review

Review #32, by Jess the EnthusiastLove, Damned Love, and Statistics: I. The Girl

12th March 2013:
I don't know why I haven't read this before now, but I love it!!! You always have the most unique plot lines :D

Author's Response: Aw, thanks Jess c:

 Report Review

Review #33, by Jess the EnthusiastStrings: Strings

20th February 2013:
Hi there! This is Jess the Enthusiast here with your long overdue review for the John Green Quotes Challenge! I apologize for being an equally lazy and horrible person; I feel so bad that it's been so long since the challenge ended and I have several entries to read and review! I'm hoping to get to them all today and tomorrow and have the results posted this week! Again, I am so sorry for the wait.

When I read the summary for this story, I was very excited to read it! The Marauders Era is my favorite, but I don't read enough Remus stories as I should. Not that I don't adore him, it's just that he gets lost in the shuffle because I'm so caught up with the Potter tragedy, Sirius' unfair imprisonment, and Peter's betrayal. So I often forget about Remus and the deep pain he is undoubtedly feeling because of all this. But you wrote his story incredibly well and you reminded me why I should pay more attention to his aftermath because he lost everything that night.

You received one of the more abstract and difficult quotes if you ask me and I think you utilized it perfectly. I loved how it was an overall theme to the piece and it really emphasized the pain and emptiness he must have been feeling.

I really loved the characterizations and while Remus was just perfect (you wrote his emotions wonderfully), I really have to compliment you on Dumbledore. I can imagine him being a really difficult character to write for because his philosophical one-liners run the risk of being cheesy and hippy-ish. I didn't get that from your writing whatsoever and I'm really impressed. He was Dumbledore - plain and simple.

I also loved how you brought up the rest of the Wizarding World's celebrating and how Remus would feel about it. It makes sense; I mean to them all the pain is over, but to him it continues. Voldemort was gone, but it was at the price of two lives - people who were very important to Remus.

So I know this was a really long review filled with only compliments, but I can honestly say nothing constructive about this. I just really loved it! And I don't think you need to fix or change anything!

Really wonderful job! Thank you so much for entering my challenge. Again, I am so sorry for the long delay but I will get this done - pinky swear!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hi Jess! Don't worry about the wait! This is such a lovely and long review, so I definitely don't mind the wait. And thanks again for the challenge! I adore John Green. Can't wait to see the results!

I agree that Remus often gets lost in the shuffle, which is sad because he's such a complicated and interesting character. I'm always on the look-out for new Remus fics. And I've always wanted to write this exact story, just never got around to it. When I saw the quote you gave me, I knew it would be perfect for this!

The quote was abstract, but it's such a poignant and significant quote that I thought would be perfect for weaving through as a theme rather than just thrown in. I'm really glad it worked!

I'm glad Remus's emotions came through. I just imagine him as feeling so utterly lost and unable to figure out what to do with himself. Dumbledore is so hard to write! I've written his portrait before in other stories, as well as a bit of him in my Marauders novel, but he never gets any easier. I completely agree with it being easy to give him cheesy one-liners. I'm very glad he didn't come off that way.

The idea of the wizarding world celebrating the disappearance of Voldemort after James & Lily's deaths has been something that's stuck with me ever since I first read Sorcerer's Stone a decade ago (wow, now I feel old). It just seemed odd to me that people would celebrate when James and Lily were just murdered, but I suppose throughout history that has happened with wars.

Aww, I'm so happy you enjoyed this! It was so much fun to write (and a little sad). Thanks for reading and reviewing! :)

 Report Review

Review #34, by Jess the EnthusiastSunshine: An Engagement Party To Remember

21st January 2013:
Great chapter! I really hope that this means that James will finally break up with Henrietta and Amelie with Ewan! Can't wait for the next update :D

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

 Report Review

Review #35, by Jess the EnthusiastWelcome to Blunderland: { 16 }

27th November 2012:
Yay update! I know how you feel about being busy - I'm glad though that you were able to find the time to write! I really loved this chapter but I have absolutely no theories for what could possibly be going on - honestly, I don't and I wish I did. Because Albus (*cough* pretty much my favorite person ever *cough*) is acting really strange and I don't know what to think of it and I'm really sad for Scorpius. Like, I mean, I hope Draco's okay. And that Scorpius isn't in danger. And that Albus isn't doing anything horrible (WHAT IS GOING ON WITH HIM) and that the two aren't related. Gaaahhh I'm going crazy over this but that's okay because this story is amazing and I love it.

And can I just say that Flora is as awesome as ever? I loved this line:

"This is where I come to be a loser when I’m not too busy publicly being a loser."

Great chapter! Excited for the next update! :D


~Jess :D

Author's Response: yay! (and I've put up another since you left this review because I'm poor at responding...). ahha! I like that you have no theories! the truth, sadly, is just too depressing to bear :C

albus is just an average guy. average guys are a bit of a let down, really. thus ~angst~

draco is, well, you'll see. and scorpius, well, you'll see. he's certainly not out of the woods yet, to put it one way.

plot twist: albus is actually a serial killer. yep. that's the twist.

thanks for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #36, by Jess the EnthusiastReality: Reality

25th November 2012:
Hi there! This is Jess from the forums with your John Green Quote Challenge review; I am so sorry for the lateness! I've just been so busy and lazy lately but I'm here now haha. First off, thank you so much for entering my challenge!

So I was extremely excited when I saw that this was a Jily oneshot, because, well, Jily is my OTP! Seriously, they're my absolute favorite :)

I really liked the context in which you used the quote I gave you; it truly is a treacherous thing to think that a person is more than a person and in many fanfiction stories, James makes quite a habit of doing that in regards to Lily. It was really nice that we got a glimpse into her flaws and that her flaws are what he really likes about her rather than her imagined "perfection."

This oneshot was really sweet and very fluffy - extremely cute! Everything James said was really adorable and romantic. I also really appreciated how Lily didn't do the formulaic "I hate you Potter! Oh wait you got really hot and you just told me that you love so I love you too!" Thank you; I really can't stand Jily stories like that haha. My only criticism would be that I wish there was a bit more characterization that was unique to your own James and Lily. They had a lot of qualities that are seen in other fan fictions and there's nothing wrong with that; I just wish I could learn more about /your/ characters if that makes sense. But it was really good; I enjoyed this!

Thank you so much for entering this challenge! Hope you had fun writing it :D


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hi Jess!

Haha, Jily is my favorite - always! There are no words to describe my adoration for this ship - it is the ultimate of all OTPs, in my opinion.

Thank you! For some reason, the quote just screamed Jily because I hate all those cliches you mentioned about James and Lily. It's just not how I imagined them at all. Thanks for the criticism, I totally get what you were trying to say. Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #37, by Jess the Enthusiastetc. etc. (and life goes on): Intermission, Enter Firewhiskey

21st November 2012:
So I was hoping that I'd be able to write this review like a normal person and not fangirl too much but I don't know if I can do that. Because that ending there? I just about had the biggest spaz attack in the history of forever when I read that bit. I mean, oh my god I'm so shocked but my ship like got together for real and it's most likely gonna be really complicated from now on but I'm finding myself not caring! I feel so victorious right now, like I won something haha.

But anywho, I really loved this chapter (and for more than just the ending!) I loved how the four of them had a dramatic and drunk reading of Appy's manuscript; it was too funny!

So yeah, loved this chapter so very much and I'm so excited for the next update!!!


~Jess :D

PS: My review is early this time! Yay!

Author's Response: Bahaha, I felt like, the collective freak out when I opened my unanswered reviews this morning xD it was so fun to read all of them. I KNOW THE FEELING THOUGH. I always ship doomed ships in my fandoms, so any little thing I get is like VICTORY! And I had waaay too much fun writing Appy's story. No wonder Appy likes writing it ;D

♥ thank you so much! ^__^

 Report Review

Review #38, by Jess the EnthusiastBeing Summer: The One That's Taken a Long Time

18th November 2012:
Hello Ellie dear! Lovely chapter as per usual! I'm so happy that James and Summer went on their date - you know how long I've been waiting for something like that to happen! And James told her that he's in love with her!!! AHHH!!! But what the crap is wrong with Summer? I mean, seriously, she is really annoying me. Because, like, she has James hanging on a thread and it's not right or fair. She gets so mad at him for the littlest things and he's constantly on edge about what to say because he doesn't want to get her mad, he never knows his place with her - like are they in a relationship or not - and it's just not fair. I mean, he's her confident for all of her problems, she holds his hand, goes on a date with him, let's him pay for her, kisses him, freaking sleeps with him, and yet according to her they're not a couple? And she doesn't have the decency to reply when he tells her that he's in love with her? I just feel like she's almost leading him on; I mean, why do all of those things - why sleep with him - if she doesn't love him? I just don't get her right now; as you can probably tell, I'm pretty frustrated with Summer.

But I love James. Always.

Can't wait for the next chapter, Ellie! Hopefully Summer will not muck it all up and make me want to karate chop her through my computer screen :P


~Jessie :D

 Report Review

Review #39, by Jess the Enthusiastetc. etc. (and life goes on): The Casualties of War

17th November 2012:
Hi there! I am so sorry that it has taken me so long to read and review this! (I feel like I'm saying that in every review I'm writing lately). Things have just been really busy at school.

But this chapter was absolutely amazing - I think it is my favorite yet! Like, I don't even know how to describe what was so perfect about this; it just was. It was funny, there was great action, and, well, you know how much I love a good Albus/Clemence scene. Fortunately for me, there were several. And they were all squeal worthy.

But it wasn't just the scenes between those two that I loved. Every scene that Appy is in, I am completely torn between laughing hysterically and being terrified because she is so ridiculous that it's funny, but she's also insane. I always worry for Clemence's safety whenever she's around. AND CLEMENCE WAS ATTACKED!! I WAS SO SCARED FOR HER! But then Albus came...and he sort of made it better but also not really. But whatever, they're amazing together so it doesn't even matter.

And I think Clemence is doing the right thing with the Dom/Rose Feud. I mean, I know it's pretty low of her but I feel like Dom is sneaky and she has something planned. I don't know, I guess I'm just on Team Rose haha.

So wonderful wonderful chapter! And congrats on your Dobby Award!!! I'm so happy for you; you deserve it! Can't wait for the next update!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: It's so funny because I think you always review just before I post a new chapter xD

This was one of those chapters that, when it came together, I was like OH MY GOD IT FITS SO MUCH BETTER THAN IT DID IN MY HEAD when usually, the opposite happens.

I like to think of Appy as a pair of safety scissors. It looks harmless until you cut your finger off and get tetanus and start foaming at the mouth. That sounds fairly accurate.

Bahaha, I do need more Team Rose amongst the reviewers. I think most people would agree that Clemence has her heart(less) in the right place. It's never easy when you have to step in and slap around a friend so they don't ruin their lives, but there's no real answer. Humans D: so complicated.

Thank you so much! ^__^ Eee, I love the wee rectangle box. It's so cool!

 Report Review

Review #40, by Jess the EnthusiastSunshine: Albert Greybeard and his Fascinating Stories

17th November 2012:
I'm so happy that you updated! This was a really great chapter :D

Author's Response: Thank you so much! :D

 Report Review

Review #41, by Jess the EnthusiastTurning the Tables: Epilogue: This is the Story of Us All

6th November 2012:
Rebecca! I am so very proud of you for completing this story! I've been following it since last year when it was at only nine or ten chapters and I can't believe that it's over! I have loved reading every word and I'm so glad that this story led to you and I being friends; you are a brilliant person and writer and you tell stories beautifully. I think what I really love about Turning the Tables is that not only did I get to squeal over James Potter every update, but it deals with real issues and your characters have real problems. Corinne's strength and her growth over the past 29 chapters is incredibly inspiring and I loved going on that journey with her! And I thought this was a wonderful way to end her story; I'm so happy (as you can imagine) that she and James are together (marriage? Yes? No?) and I thought you did the graduation scene perfectly. I know that you went through this yourself, but I just want to say that you did such a great job with it that it brought up a lot of feelings from when I graduated so I thought it was incredibly affective! It was just a wonderful way to end a wonderful story - as sad as I am to see it go. Ending it with Corinne and Dom was a perfect choice :D

So I'm super excited for whatever comes next for you! Beauty Queen is in fact on my reading list so I will get to it as soon as I find the time!

Lots of love, deary!! I'm so proud of you!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: JESS! How sad is this?! It's my last ever reply to your review on this story :(

I'm still so flattered you like the story, and have been following it for so long. I swear, if I didn't write it, I would've grown sick of it and given up on it by now. But yes, I'm so happy you stuck with it because now we're friends and you're a great friend and I get to tell people Jess the Enthusiast who writes Wonderland is MY friend.

Yes, Corinne's growth definitely was a big one. It took her quite a while to become someone I could actually tolerate. And I somehow made a way for her and James to be together. As for marriage... well I'm writing a sequel so... you'll just have to see. Although I suggest you don't read it because I know a lot of people won't like it.

Ahah and yeah the graduation scene was really sad for me to write because I went through the same thing. Literally right after I graduated I ran to my best friend and I cried and then we took pictures with our crew (aka the guys who inspired Chaise Wyatt and Tyson) and we were both just really sad and it was really hard, because we're all at separate schools.

Thank you so much for reviewing and making me smile :)

 Report Review

Review #42, by Jess the EnthusiastDarling (I love you): (I love you) -- it begins

26th October 2012:
Hi there! This is Jess from the forums with your John Green Quote Challenge review! First off, I'm so sorry for how long it has taken for me to review this; I've been so busy/lazy the past few weeks.

I was really excited when I saw that this was Next Generation and James/OC because I love that era and I have quite the soft spot for James II (and James I for that matter). I really liked how you had it take place after James' Hogwarts days when he was married and a father; we don't see that as much in fanfiction and I think it's always nice to see.

I think you did a really good job with the quote I gave you - and it was one of the harder ones, I think. You were able to fit it well with the context of the situation and its proceeding and following dialogue.

I felt very sad for James; from what I saw, he had a lot of love in him and to offer and yet he had such a hard hand in life what with his depressed wife. My one criticism with this story is that I wish I could have had more; as I was reading, I found myself wishing for more information and more of a background story. It was a bit difficult to be thrust into this recount of a past event without more on James and Sarah and Keturah. I was also a bit unsure of why James kept repeating that he loved his daughter; I didn't see anything in the story that would indicate that he wouldn't. I mean, was it because of the fact that she could end up like her mother? And because Sarah had turned her against him? I found myself really enjoying what you had here and wishing that I could have had more :)

So this is a really great oneshot - thank you so much for entering my challenge!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hello!

That's okay; sorry it's taken me so long to respond.

Your challenge was amazing, I'm glad that I could enter it.

Thank you for the review. It was short, I know, but I have this problem with not wanting to put back stories in (I think it's because I have them in my head and think that everyone else who reads my stories knows their backstories as well :P Something I need to work on I know).

Thank you!
Jasmine, x

 Report Review

Review #43, by Jess the EnthusiastWelcome to Blunderland: { 15 }

26th October 2012:
And I thought I couldn't fall further in love with Albus *insert dreamy sigh*

This chapter was so wonderful; I feel so sorry for Flora and I'm glad that she has someone like Albus (FANGIRL SQUEAL) in her life. (When he asked to stay with his for Easter, I, like, died). But enough of my Floral feels. I REALLY love the way you are handling Flora's situation. I mean, it's so sad but I feel her reactions are very similar to what mine would be - that is, if I were even in her situation. I just think you're doing so great with this :D

Can't wait for the next chapter!!


~Jess :D

PS: I saw The Perks of Being a Wallflower film during opening weekend in the US when it was still in it's limited release; IT'S SO PERFECT!!! AHHH!!! Such a brilliantly made film for a brilliantly written novel! And I'm sooo in love with Logan Lerman (who I, of course, imagine as Albus :D)

Author's Response: weeelll...maybe you should take a look at the latest chapter...awks...

funny, that: all this ~crisis~ was inspired when I found a survey on the internet all about seeing how your characters would respond to a disaster, so I did it for these characters. turns out it's their strongest trait that will be the most responsive, so when the going gets tough, flora gets loyal & forgiving, scorpius gets enduring, and albus gets a bit protective and self-important. this miiight be important later. in flora and scorpius' cases anyway. not that i'm giving anything away, mind.

perks was awesome! I must say logan lerman impressed me; never been a fan of him, but he was really good.

thanks for reviewing! ♥

 Report Review

Review #44, by Jess the EnthusiastWelcome to Blunderland: { 14 }

23rd October 2012:
I'm so glad that you updated because I've really missed this story! (And Floral!) I'm so sad for Flora that the muggle-born prejudices are coming back and I really like how you handled it. I like how it started out subtle and then progressed more with time and how Flora didn't know what "mudblood" meant; as a muggle-born it would make sense that she wouldn't know its existence or meaning. And it's just so sad that Scorpius gets bullied so much; I mean, you know more than anybody that that boy can drive me crazy (POOR FAUNA) but he doesn't deserve that kind of treatment. And your characterization of the Malfoy family blew me away - it was so different and so perfect! AND ALBUS LET'S TALK ABOUT HOW PERFECT ALBUS IS. *sigh* I just love him and how protective of Flora he is. And I thought that although he was reluctant to help out Flora with Scorpius, it was great how he did (even though it was to save Flora more than it was for Scorp).

So I really love the turn this story has taken (even though it is dark and sad). So wonderful job! Can't wait for the next chapter!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: ahh, hello again! Initially, when this story was intended as a subtle send-up of love triangles and teenage drama, I never imagined it getting this srs - and then one day my brain just said 'hunger games meets the perks of being a wallflower, what the hell let's just do it' and now I'm here. I did wonder if I was handling such a sensitive topic so well, so I'm glad you've said that (:

It's kind of hard to make Albus and Scorpius 'believable', in a way - giving them flaws, but still making people root for them. Especially when it comes to Albus, everyone just loves him so much! So I think I have to work a bit harder there ;)

thank you so much for the wonderful review! :D ♥

 Report Review

Review #45, by Jess the EnthusiastBeing Summer: The One with Some ScoRose

23rd October 2012:
Ellie! Hello there! Sorry my review is so late; I've been really busy with school. But I'm here now! And I loved this chapter (I mean, when I wasn't dying to punch Dom in her stupid face, that is).


This date is going to be sooo boss; I can't even right!!! So happy!!!

And I can't believe it about Summer's mom; that is just so crazy! Ahhh! Can't wait for the next chapter!


~Jess :D (you get a smiley face again :D )

Author's Response: jessie! hey there, darling! ahaha, i really don't think i'm the person to talk to about late reviews - i'm answering reviews from JULY right now. i've let them build up on me far too much :S


ahaha, the date is just a date... i really hope it doesn't let anyone down with it's averageness.

ahaha, yeah, i came up with that at the end of the night when i was very tired and hey, there we go :P

thank you!

ellie :) xx (you get your kisses again, too)

 Report Review

Review #46, by Jess the EnthusiastTraditions: Seven Years

19th October 2012:

^ That there is my brain after reading this adorable little oneshot. Like, oh my God that was so freaking cute that I can't even form coherent thoughts. Great job! :D

Author's Response: usgjvbjzdkvkjdbxbdxkj

^ my reaction to see that you left me a review!


Ahhh, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it! :D

Thanks for leaving me a review! :D

 Report Review

Review #47, by Jess the EnthusiastRun: Newcomers

11th October 2012:
Sarah, I would like to congratulate you for this wonderful story; it is truly a masterpiece and it deserves all of the praise and awards it has/will receive and so much more. I am, as always, in awe of your work, imagination, originality, and exquisite storytelling. It has been such a pleasure and an honor to read this phenomenal piece; I cannot tell you enough how incredible I think you are and how much I enjoy your writing. You have inspired me in so many ways and I feel like I have grown as a writer by reading your works. You deserve to be published; I would read anything by you over and over and over again.

This was the perfect conclusion to the perfect story; I have been so afraid and anxious of the ending but it was even more incredible than anything I could have imagined. I am truly blown away by your genius. You know, I've always been afraid of death (one quality I share with Voldemort) and I think the idea that there's never truly a "gone" is very comforting. I know that this isn't technically "real" but I love the idea that there's always a "somewhere" - even in the Wizarding World's afterlife.

And Witching sounds like the most beautiful place; I'm so glad that Colin and Orla went there and that even in death, they finally got to grow up. I think that's so beautiful. (Did they get together eventually? You know I'm dying to know haha). Also, since people can age in Witching, do they die? (I'm guessing that if they did, they would get to go to another alternate afterlife). Can they also reproduce? (I know they're technically dead and all but some Colin and Orla babies would make me very happy...I'm just gonna stop there before you think that I'm any weirder...I just really love how they're conductors of the Witching Underground Railroad and think theyshouldgetmarriedandhavekidsandlivehappilyeverafter). And why didn't James and Lily go to Witching? What are they waiting for? And did Lavender find the door to Witching when she died and came to Cliodna’s Clock? Or do some people just end up in Witching when they die? I'm very fascinated by the mystery of it all :D

And I love how Fred and George switched places for a year - that's both beautiful and heartbreaking. Maybe that's how George and Angelina ended up getting married ;) And I wonder if anyone noticed that George suddenly had an ear - or did they know that it was Fred?

I also loved how you ended this in Anne Marie's point of view; I don't know why, I just did. The ending felt good; it felt right. And I thank you for writing it. And for giving it to me. This will forever be one of my favorite stories (this and So Listen... are probably tied for the number 1 spot).

This is just a piece of art and I'm so sad to see it end, but so glad to have read it. It was a pleasure and a privilege and I have nothing but praise and thank yous for you.

Once again, wonderful job. Congratulations!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Oh my goodness, Jess. I do not know how I'm ever going to be able to respond to all of these amazing reviews you've left me!

I've always struggled with a fear of death, too. The finality of it, and the inevitability, is kind of overwhelming. I think this is one of the reasons why I wanted to write this story, and why I've always been interested in stories about the afterlife. While it scares me on a small level, I like that tangible visual image, to plumb all the corners of something unknown.

Questions! Yay! And I see that you're curious about Orla and Colin. :3 I left that open-ended so that readers could decide what they wanted, but in my own head canon, Orla and Colin do get together. Witching is a lot like earth in that people can age; so you can have children and all that, and when you eventually die you will just go on to some other place. It's possible that after Colin and Orla die in Witching, they'll pop back up in Cliodna's Clock! Or maybe they'll go somewhere else where they're young, and they can age and grow old all over again.

James and Lily didn't go to Witching because they're going to stay and wait for Harry. :)

Lavender popped into Witching, completely circumventing Cliodna's Clock. Cliodna tries to 'collect' magical people, shall we say, but sometimes people slip through the cracks.

lol, a couple of people have mentioned that maybe this is why George gets with Angelina. In my head, though, George and Angelina don't get married for a few years yet and Angelina was only ever romantically interested in George, not Fred. But Fred's family definitely knows that it's him, not George. He'll just have to lay low for a year.

I chose to end it in Anne Marie's point of view because she's outside of things, and is distant in perspective, so that makes this chapter a bit more epilogue-y, if that makes any sense.

This and So, Listen... are tied for your number one spot?! Brb, going to go pick my jaw up off the floor! ♥ Seriously, Jess, there is no way I can properly convey my massive appreciation for all the support and encouragement you've given me. I feel very honored that I wrote something you enjoyed. :)

- Sarah

 Report Review

Review #48, by Jess the EnthusiastRun: Rules of the Prize

11th October 2012:

I'm guessing that that must be George, but why? Why would they switch places like that? And how is that possible, I mean, Fred's dead! Wow, what a twist! I

Okay, so since I'm so uncertain on that, I will discuss what I am certain about: how incredible this chapter is. There's so much emotional drive and I'm just so amazed. I loved the part with Narcissa and Teddy; I'm so glad that she reunited with her sister since I think that is very much possible. I mean, Andromeda was left alone to take care of Teddy when Tonks and Remus and Ted died. I'm sure that Molly and Harry stepped in to help, but I really love the idea that Narcissa came too. And I was about ready to cry during the scene at the Burrow when Fred's place on the clock kept changing. And the part with Molly was so beautiful and so sad. Brilliantly done!

So I'm on to the next and last chapter; I'm sad that my journey with this story is ending, but I'm excited to see how it concludes! (I mean, what is going on in Witching? And George and Fred?)


~Jess :D

Author's Response: THAT WAS GEORGE! ♥

Fred's only dead in Cliodna's Clock. Like, he's dead on earth, too, but only the buried version of him. When he won the tournament and went back for his 24 hours, he was like a new person who's able to age. George's aging will stall while he's in Cliodna's Clock, meanwhile. They switched places so that Fred could have a year to say goodbye.

Narcissa's been a really crap sister, but with Bellatrix gone I think she and Andromeda will realize how much they need each other. They can have a fresh start now. I'm so pleased you liked her cameo! Teddy's already lost his parents, so he needs as many actual family members as possible.

Thank you for your fab reviews, Jess!!

 Report Review

Review #49, by Jess the EnthusiastRun: Evanesco

10th October 2012:
I am in awe right now. So this is where the runner-up goes for the Devil's Duel, isn't it? But then why would Lavender be there? Wow I am absolutely amazed! And I have so many questions concerning this wonderful universe you've created! I mean, do people die in Witching if they can age? How do they get there? As in, why do some people go there and some go to Cliodna’s Clock? When are Orla and Colin going to kiss already? Are they even going to or should I jump ship now so as to save my shipping heart from all the heartache? I'm very curious. And you're very awesome. Because this chapter was just wonderful; I felt so sorry and happy for Fred in the beginning and my heart just died for Colin. And I just wanted him and Orla to just get away, so that they could exist in their little infinity forever. And I'm just so glad that they found Witching together; that they weren't separated.

Lovely chapter! And onto the next one!!


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Yusss! This is where the runners-up go. Except not exclusively; they could go to any one of those doors, to one of the many, many afterlifes floating around out there for squibs and muggles and other magical people.

Lavender managed to squeeze in by chance. Cliodna tries to "collect" magical people to fill her village, but every now and then one of them slips through the cracks.

I feel bad for you because of the non-kissing between Colin and Orla. :P You are free to explore that with your headcanon! They can get married and have twenty babies. XD

Thank you for your reviews and for reading and for being all around lovely in general!

 Report Review

Review #50, by Jess the EnthusiastRun: Fight or Flight

10th October 2012:
I feel so emotionally drained right now it's not even funny. I

Before I detail the very awesomeness that was this chapter, I just want to apologize for being so behind on this story; I've been busy with school and afraid to continue this, to be honest (and Pottermore called me a Gryffindor *sigh*) I just didn't want to lose either of them, you know? It was hard enough the first time.

But I think you did this brilliantly, as always. Your descriptions (I can't say this enough) were absolutely perfect and crystal clear. It was like I was there again - at the Battle of Hogwarts. And my mind is still blown over the fact that Tonks took his place; I don't even know what to say about that. Just that Tonks is a brave and honorable woman - and I'm both proud and scared for her. And that was also the most amazing plot twist since, like, "Luke, I am your father." I totally didn't see that coming and this is why I love this story.

I think that this chapter was probably very difficult to write (ALL THE FEELS) but I think you did just wonderfully. And now I have to continue on to the next chapter because I need to know who won this round and who lost.

Brilliant - just brilliant. I'm proud of you for winning 2 Dobby Awards; you deserve it!!! CONGRATS!!! :D


~Jess :D

Author's Response: Pottermore Gryffindor twins! High five!

Tonks totes just snuck in there, which goes to show that Cliodna's rules aren't as infallible as she thinks they are. No one in charge noticed that Tonks had pulled a fast one on them, and that's a very important plot point because it foreshadows events to come. It proves that Cliodna and Claudius mostly get by with threatening people, and creating the illusion that they are all-knowing.

I STILL CANNOT BELIEVE THIS STORY WON TWO DOBBYS. -dies- And it's solely because of fantastic readers like you who nominated and voted for it. It fills me with warm fuzzies.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>