Reading Reviews From Member: Jess the Enthusiast
  
470 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Secret on the Staircase

30th September 2014:
Poor Taurus :(

And oh my god that snake - definitely didn't see that coming! Great chapter!

Author's Response: Aw, I know! :( Taurus is in a tough situation considering his upbringing and Slytherin prejudices on top of coming to terms publicly with his identity.

Ahh, the snake!! So gross, right? Thanks so much for the great review!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #2, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Fragments

24th September 2014:
OH THANK GOD IT WAS JUST A BOGGART ugh you really had me I was so worried

Really great chapter!!!

Author's Response: Yes!! Oh I could not do that to the readers at this point in the novel. Just a Boggart for now...

Thank you!!! :)


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Ball at Malfoy Manor

24th September 2014:
NO OH MY GOD OH MY GOD NO

Author's Response: *evil author laugh* ♥

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The House of Nott

24th September 2014:
Oh my god??? What a way to end a chapter haha

Really great job though! I'm guessing that Tor's patronus is some sort of bird, but I really want to know what it is exactly!! And if it's compatible with a mink! Also, the snowball fight at the end was really cute :)

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked the twist at the end, hehe. It's the sort of prediction which helps keep the story and the future grounded, though some of these decisions are so hard to make.

Thank you!! :D It is some sort of bird, and I promise to explain it...eventually. I'm glad you liked the snowball fight as well, it was a spontaneous addition but quite exciting to write! :)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Other Side of London

24th September 2014:
Andromeda! Of COURSE! I don't know why I didn't think of her before, but she's the perfect person for Tor to talk to in a time like this. And I'm really hoping that Tor follows the same path.

We definitely saw a different side of Theo in this chapter! One that definitely makes him less desirable; I'm sad for him, though, because if he had the same guidance that Tor is receiving, he could be a really good person.

Great chapter! I hope Guinevere doesn't eat Lancelot!

Author's Response: Yes!! Hehe, I was wondering if people would guess or not but she is perfect for Tor since they have so many shared experiences and backgrounds.

Theo has changed quite a bit, or maybe Tor's seeing his darker side. Perhaps both. He's one of those characters who really unravels a lot at the end of the story, but he could be a good person, you're right. The potential is there, just not the opportunity.

Thank you!!! :D


 Report Review

Review #6, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Slug Club Party

24th September 2014:
I have a feeling that Theo likes Tor and that would have delighted me in the beginning of the story but now? Not so much. Hopefully Terry isn't /too/ hurt.

I'm really glad that Tor told Ginny about the attack plan; I know she was in a really awkward position, but she did the right thing, and I'm proud of her for that! Also, I can't seem to think of whose name Ginny could have possibly given Tor and it's bothering me haha. I guess I'll find out!

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) Haha, I love how you've changed your mind about Theo, that's so awesome to hear you're connecting with the characters. Terry knows that the secret nature of their relationship means there is a divide between the public and the private but he definitely doesn't want to see the girl he likes with another guy.

She really was in an awkward decision, but I'm pleased you're happy she did the right thing. It's a real turning point for her. Thanks for another great review! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Queen's Tale

24th September 2014:
If Tor ever casts a corporeal patronus and it compliments Terry's mink, I will quite possibly die of the cuteness. Just saying.

Really great chapter!! I thought it was really cool how you integrated magic into Anne Boleyn's story!

Author's Response: Hehe, it would definitely be cute. Patronuses always have symbolism, so you never know!

I'm glad you liked the story - it was so fun to write since I love that era of history. Thanks so much! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Disguise

23rd September 2014:
Terry ugh Terry is so cute I can't even

Great job!

Author's Response: He really is! ♥ I'm loving how you're connecting with the characters and sharing in these reviews, it really is so lovely and helpful. Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Prank

23rd September 2014:
Oh my god that prank was BRILLIANT!!

Great job!

Author's Response: Haha, I'm glad you liked it!! :) Thank you!

 Report Review

Review #10, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Visitor

23rd September 2014:
Really great chapter! I love the relationship between Tor and her father; I often find, when reading fics, that the Death Eater father is usually demeaning and abusive in some way or another. That usually bothers me because it suggests that prejudice people are inherently evil in all ways, whereas, in real life, you meet a really kind and seemingly good person who is bigoted. It's just something that I think adds a nice touch of realism to your story, as well as moral ambiguity, which I really enjoy.

I found your brief insight into Snape's mind to be very interesting. I've always wondered about his Slytherin friends, because, in the books, Sirius names Snape's gang of wannabe Death Eaters, but none of them come to his defense when the Marauders humiliate him after the DADA O.W.L. Lily, before their fallout, refers to the group as Snape's friends and he doesn't deny it, even condones their prejudice behavior. And he enters Hogwarts knowing a lot of dark magic and with some inkling of prejudices (exemplified by his behavior towards Petunia), but I often wonder how accepted he was among these boys. He was part of their group, but did they make fun of him? Did they respect him? Did they see him as a valuable member of their group? I really liked your take on the matter :)

Great job!

Author's Response: Hey again!!

I'm so pleased you like their relationship, and I definitely agree. But if Tor's father was awful, then she wouldn't be so loyal to him and loving for her family. And of course you're right, being prejudiced doesn't automatically make somebody a bad person and people can change and grow. I'm really glad you think it brings realism and confuses about which side Tor should take, and her love for her family and the naturalization of those morals is something she struggles without throughout.

That's a very good point! I imagine him as a bit of a loner until he started to show he could be more powerful. It's quite odd. Maybe they weren't necessarily around for that incident, or wanted to preserve their own dignity and see if Snape could get out of it on his own? I'm glad you liked my interpretation of it here! :D

Thanks so much!!


 Report Review

Review #11, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Lesson

23rd September 2014:
Okay so Terry is obviously a Ravenclaw for a reason; bringing Tor into the Muggle Studies class while they were learning about WWII was BRILLIANT, and while Tor hasn't been completely convinced, it's definitely giving her something to think about. And I think that's great! Hopefully she can be completely persuaded soon because otherwise I don't think this relationship will last in the long term. Although I know it's going to be hard with all of her outside influences.

Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hey!! Haha, I love how you can see how well Terry fits into Ravenclaw. He's quite cunning and clever, and he's good at seeing a bigger picture when other people couldn't.

I think if at this point Terry just shoved all these ideas and opinions at Tor, she would balk and run away. But by showing her ways of learning more perspectives and opening her mind, she's able to come to conclusions for herself. You're definitely right, Terry would not stand by and be with a prejudiced girl if he didn't see some good coming out of her.

Thanks so much for another great review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Theory

22nd September 2014:
I hope Terry's outburst means that he's going to make sure that Tor doesn't remain ignorant during their relationship! Because I really don't want him to act like it's okay that's she's so prejudice towards people like him - I'm glad that he isn't doing that so far!

Really great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) No, exactly - although he really likes her he wouldn't be hanging out with her if he didn't think she had potential to be more open-minded. Sometimes she does exhibit those ingrained prejudices, inevitably, but her morals are changing even if her actions don't show it yet. :) Thank you for another great review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #13, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Seer

22nd September 2014:
I have a bad feeling that this is going to be canon compilant so Terry is going to die and Tor is going to marry Draco and be the mother of Scorpius :(

I'm really glad that Terry and Tor are talking (and kissing!) again but I really want her to actually change in her prejudice and ideology. I don't want her to be another Snape where it's like "muggle-borns are an abomination and must be extermination...except for you. You're an exception." Because that's both gross and unhealthy. So I hope Terry doesn't tolerate her prejudice but rather helps her see where she's going wrong. And I hope she learns from him (and Ginny!) and this bigotry ends. Because otherwise she really is going to lose Terry and marry Draco and that makes me sad.

But really great chapter! I'm really enjoying this story :)

Author's Response: Hello!! Aww, thinking about the future makes me a little sad and nervous too. But there definitely will be some twists along the way and the future might not be quite what is expected even with canon. (that sounds so cryptic and unhelpful, haha).

Yes! I know exactly what you mean, and she isn't another Snape, I promise. :) I agree, his attitude is so unhealthy and weird and I think roots from him being emotionally stunted. Tor is getting to the point where she faces a conflict between her present morals and her past loyalties. For the moment, Terry and Tor are are sort of getting along in this weird limbo where they shut themselves away from the world and for the most part from those social responsibilities, and ignoring the issues at hand. But they both still have a lot of learning and development to do as well. :)

Thank you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Headmaster

22nd September 2014:
I hope Ginny and Tor continue to interact!! I really like the idea of not only Terry altering Tor's worldview, but Ginny as well.

Really great chapter!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like seeing Ginny here! It's quite interesting to tie them in together and I love writing Ginny, she's one of my favourite canon characters. :) Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #15, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Horror

21st September 2014:
OH NO. I WAS SO EXCITED THAT THEY KISSED BUT THEN...OH NO.

Author's Response: Aw, I know! :( I'm sorry! Plot twists and emotional moments at the ends of chapters are strangely quite prominent in this story now that I think of it. Thanks for the review my dear!! :)

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Detention

21st September 2014:
Wait whoa is this the Katie Bell incident?!?!?

Great chapter! Terry is super cute, as always!

Author's Response: It definitely is! :) I just couldn't resist tying it in. Thanks so much, I'm glad you like Terry!! :D

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Unknown

21st September 2014:
I have a really great feeling that Terry is going to be able to change Tor's worldview and I'm super excited about it! Of course it's going to cause a lot of conflict between her and her fellow Slytherins, but I love the idea of her changing for the better. Because I think deep-down she is a good person, just mislead like Ginny said in a previous chapter.

I have a feeling that Annie the portrait is Anne Boleyn, but I can't be sure. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Yes!! Terry definitely will help Tor develop, and she does the same for him. I feel like she's had so many influences in her life which bring her to become that prejudiced person, and spending time with people with alternative views is so important. She is a good person, definitely, and she does have potential to change.

Ooh, interesting hypothesis. :P Thanks so much, I love your reviews so much, and I'm sorry how repetitive my responses are. It's just so hard to express how much it means to me that you're liking the story!! :D


 Report Review

Review #18, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Bat Bogey Hex

21st September 2014:
Oh I really want Ginny and Tor to be friends! But I guess that won't be happening anytime soon...

And I really want to like some of Tor's friends like they have moments where they're really nice and cool, but then they do things like this. Which is why they're really great characters! They make the reader feel as conflicted as Tor is probably going to feel at some point in this story.

Great chapter! I felt so sorry for those first years!

Author's Response: Hi again!! I'm glad you think so - in a lot of ways they are quite similar, between being the youngest, wanting to stand out but not necessarily knowing how, and having a lot of pressure on their shoulders at this point in the story. Maybe not any time soon, but there's definitely potential. :)

Ah, I know what you mean! I'm glad you like them and think that they're good characters even if they are confusing and up and down with their morals. I like how you as the reader can notice how they can be problematic even though Tor hasn't realized yet.

Aw, I did too! Poor ickle firsties. :( Thanks so much!! :D


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Hospital Wing

21st September 2014:
Eee he's such a cutie!!! Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #20, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Quidditch Trials

21st September 2014:
Terry Boot! Ahh I'm so excited for him to be featured in more and more scenes because I really like him!

Great chapter! I hope Tor isn't hurt too bad after that nasty hit

Author's Response: Yay!! I'm so excited that you like him, he's so fun to work on.

Tor will be okay, hehe. :) Thanks so much!! It's so exciting for me to read your reviews as you work through the story, I really appreciate it!!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Worst of Crushes

21st September 2014:
I hope he's a Hufflepuff - really, really, REALLY hope he's a Hufflepuf haha.

Great chapter! I think I like this boy already :)

Author's Response: Haha aww!! Well, you know by now he's not but he definitely has some Hufflepuff kindness and loyalty. :) Thanks so much, I'm excited you like him!

 Report Review

Review #22, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Death Eater's Daughter

21st September 2014:
I forgot to mention in my last review how interesting I find it that Tor was meant for another house (I'm assuming Gryffindor); I wonder what she would have been like, what her life would have been like, if she had let the Hat Sort her properly.

But really great chapter! I had been wondering why Daphne and Tor used their mother's maiden name rather than their fathers. And it was really cool to get more of an insight on the family's past and Tor's childhood.

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm glad you liked that detail! I imagine her as a Gryffindor as well, or even a Hufflepuff in some ways although she does have a lot of Slytherin qualities as well. Her most Slytherin quality in a lot of ways is her shrewd self-preservation like how she knows that not being in Slytherin would potentially be more difficult.

I'm pleased you liked all the background as well. Tor's family situation is so complex and really defines her so it felt important to dedicate a chapter to it. Thanks so much!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #23, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Association of Slytherin Students

21st September 2014:
Oh I like Theo so much! I almost wish that this was a romance between Tor and Theo, but I'm sure once I'm introduced to the muggle-born love interest, I'll change my mind. Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hello again!! Hehe, a lot of readers said they were originally shipping Tor with Theo at this point. She kind of idealizes him right now, though they both are subject to a lot of changes.

Thanks so much for another sweet review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Slytherin Boys

20th September 2014:
Great chapter! Considering that your main character is Astoria Greengrass, I'm a little nervous that things aren't going to work out with this muggle-born love interest and she'll end up marrying Malfoy. I haven't even met the love interest yet and the thought makes me sad!

Author's Response: Hello!!

I'm glad you liked this chapter! That's a very good thing to keep in mind through the story but I can promise that things might take some unexpected twists - she is still quite young, after all! Hehe, I'm glad you're already liking the mystery boy even if he hasn't shown up at this point - that's awesome!!

Thank you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #25, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Beginning

20th September 2014:
What I really like about this is how prejudice your main character is. Usually when I read fics where the pureblood Slytherin falls for the muggle-born, they are different from their peers, as they have a tolerant and progressive worldview. I like how the main character here is going to have to grow and change and shed the bigotry that has been ingrained in her throughout her entire life. It's a really interesting and compelling journey for a character, and I commend your choice to take that route.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!!

I'm glad you like how she is prejudiced and how it's realistic considering how she was raised. I imagined that even though Tor does have potential to be a good person and she is very smart and observant, she still is subject to her family and social influences, as everybody is even if they don't realize it. I'm so glad you like how she will have to change and develop throughout the novel! Thanks so much for the wonderful review!! :D


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>