Reading Reviews From Member: Jess the Enthusiast
  
459 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Theory

22nd September 2014:
I hope Terry's outburst means that he's going to make sure that Tor doesn't remain ignorant during their relationship! Because I really don't want him to act like it's okay that's she's so prejudice towards people like him - I'm glad that he isn't doing that so far!

Really great chapter!

Author's Response: Hey!! :) No, exactly - although he really likes her he wouldn't be hanging out with her if he didn't think she had potential to be more open-minded. Sometimes she does exhibit those ingrained prejudices, inevitably, but her morals are changing even if her actions don't show it yet. :) Thank you for another great review!! :D

 Report Review

Review #2, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Seer

22nd September 2014:
I have a bad feeling that this is going to be canon compilant so Terry is going to die and Tor is going to marry Draco and be the mother of Scorpius :(

I'm really glad that Terry and Tor are talking (and kissing!) again but I really want her to actually change in her prejudice and ideology. I don't want her to be another Snape where it's like "muggle-borns are an abomination and must be extermination...except for you. You're an exception." Because that's both gross and unhealthy. So I hope Terry doesn't tolerate her prejudice but rather helps her see where she's going wrong. And I hope she learns from him (and Ginny!) and this bigotry ends. Because otherwise she really is going to lose Terry and marry Draco and that makes me sad.

But really great chapter! I'm really enjoying this story :)

Author's Response: Hello!! Aww, thinking about the future makes me a little sad and nervous too. But there definitely will be some twists along the way and the future might not be quite what is expected even with canon. (that sounds so cryptic and unhelpful, haha).

Yes! I know exactly what you mean, and she isn't another Snape, I promise. :) I agree, his attitude is so unhealthy and weird and I think roots from him being emotionally stunted. Tor is getting to the point where she faces a conflict between her present morals and her past loyalties. For the moment, Terry and Tor are are sort of getting along in this weird limbo where they shut themselves away from the world and for the most part from those social responsibilities, and ignoring the issues at hand. But they both still have a lot of learning and development to do as well. :)

Thank you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #3, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Headmaster

22nd September 2014:
I hope Ginny and Tor continue to interact!! I really like the idea of not only Terry altering Tor's worldview, but Ginny as well.

Really great chapter!!

Author's Response: I'm glad you like seeing Ginny here! It's quite interesting to tie them in together and I love writing Ginny, she's one of my favourite canon characters. :) Thank you!!

 Report Review

Review #4, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Horror

21st September 2014:
OH NO. I WAS SO EXCITED THAT THEY KISSED BUT THEN...OH NO.

Author's Response: Aw, I know! :( I'm sorry! Plot twists and emotional moments at the ends of chapters are strangely quite prominent in this story now that I think of it. Thanks for the review my dear!! :)

 Report Review

Review #5, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Detention

21st September 2014:
Wait whoa is this the Katie Bell incident?!?!?

Great chapter! Terry is super cute, as always!

Author's Response: It definitely is! :) I just couldn't resist tying it in. Thanks so much, I'm glad you like Terry!! :D

 Report Review

Review #6, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Unknown

21st September 2014:
I have a really great feeling that Terry is going to be able to change Tor's worldview and I'm super excited about it! Of course it's going to cause a lot of conflict between her and her fellow Slytherins, but I love the idea of her changing for the better. Because I think deep-down she is a good person, just mislead like Ginny said in a previous chapter.

I have a feeling that Annie the portrait is Anne Boleyn, but I can't be sure. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Yes!! Terry definitely will help Tor develop, and she does the same for him. I feel like she's had so many influences in her life which bring her to become that prejudiced person, and spending time with people with alternative views is so important. She is a good person, definitely, and she does have potential to change.

Ooh, interesting hypothesis. :P Thanks so much, I love your reviews so much, and I'm sorry how repetitive my responses are. It's just so hard to express how much it means to me that you're liking the story!! :D


 Report Review

Review #7, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Bat Bogey Hex

21st September 2014:
Oh I really want Ginny and Tor to be friends! But I guess that won't be happening anytime soon...

And I really want to like some of Tor's friends like they have moments where they're really nice and cool, but then they do things like this. Which is why they're really great characters! They make the reader feel as conflicted as Tor is probably going to feel at some point in this story.

Great chapter! I felt so sorry for those first years!

Author's Response: Hi again!! I'm glad you think so - in a lot of ways they are quite similar, between being the youngest, wanting to stand out but not necessarily knowing how, and having a lot of pressure on their shoulders at this point in the story. Maybe not any time soon, but there's definitely potential. :)

Ah, I know what you mean! I'm glad you like them and think that they're good characters even if they are confusing and up and down with their morals. I like how you as the reader can notice how they can be problematic even though Tor hasn't realized yet.

Aw, I did too! Poor ickle firsties. :( Thanks so much!! :D


 Report Review

Review #8, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Hospital Wing

21st September 2014:
Eee he's such a cutie!!! Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you!! ♥

 Report Review

Review #9, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Quidditch Trials

21st September 2014:
Terry Boot! Ahh I'm so excited for him to be featured in more and more scenes because I really like him!

Great chapter! I hope Tor isn't hurt too bad after that nasty hit

Author's Response: Yay!! I'm so excited that you like him, he's so fun to work on.

Tor will be okay, hehe. :) Thanks so much!! It's so exciting for me to read your reviews as you work through the story, I really appreciate it!!


 Report Review

Review #10, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Worst of Crushes

21st September 2014:
I hope he's a Hufflepuff - really, really, REALLY hope he's a Hufflepuf haha.

Great chapter! I think I like this boy already :)

Author's Response: Haha aww!! Well, you know by now he's not but he definitely has some Hufflepuff kindness and loyalty. :) Thanks so much, I'm excited you like him!

 Report Review

Review #11, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Death Eater's Daughter

21st September 2014:
I forgot to mention in my last review how interesting I find it that Tor was meant for another house (I'm assuming Gryffindor); I wonder what she would have been like, what her life would have been like, if she had let the Hat Sort her properly.

But really great chapter! I had been wondering why Daphne and Tor used their mother's maiden name rather than their fathers. And it was really cool to get more of an insight on the family's past and Tor's childhood.

Author's Response: Hi again!

I'm glad you liked that detail! I imagine her as a Gryffindor as well, or even a Hufflepuff in some ways although she does have a lot of Slytherin qualities as well. Her most Slytherin quality in a lot of ways is her shrewd self-preservation like how she knows that not being in Slytherin would potentially be more difficult.

I'm pleased you liked all the background as well. Tor's family situation is so complex and really defines her so it felt important to dedicate a chapter to it. Thanks so much!! ♥


 Report Review

Review #12, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Association of Slytherin Students

21st September 2014:
Oh I like Theo so much! I almost wish that this was a romance between Tor and Theo, but I'm sure once I'm introduced to the muggle-born love interest, I'll change my mind. Great chapter!!

Author's Response: Hello again!! Hehe, a lot of readers said they were originally shipping Tor with Theo at this point. She kind of idealizes him right now, though they both are subject to a lot of changes.

Thanks so much for another sweet review!! :)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Slytherin Boys

20th September 2014:
Great chapter! Considering that your main character is Astoria Greengrass, I'm a little nervous that things aren't going to work out with this muggle-born love interest and she'll end up marrying Malfoy. I haven't even met the love interest yet and the thought makes me sad!

Author's Response: Hello!!

I'm glad you liked this chapter! That's a very good thing to keep in mind through the story but I can promise that things might take some unexpected twists - she is still quite young, after all! Hehe, I'm glad you're already liking the mystery boy even if he hasn't shown up at this point - that's awesome!!

Thank you!! :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : The Beginning

20th September 2014:
What I really like about this is how prejudice your main character is. Usually when I read fics where the pureblood Slytherin falls for the muggle-born, they are different from their peers, as they have a tolerant and progressive worldview. I like how the main character here is going to have to grow and change and shed the bigotry that has been ingrained in her throughout her entire life. It's a really interesting and compelling journey for a character, and I commend your choice to take that route.

Great job!

Author's Response: Hello!!

I'm glad you like how she is prejudiced and how it's realistic considering how she was raised. I imagined that even though Tor does have potential to be a good person and she is very smart and observant, she still is subject to her family and social influences, as everybody is even if they don't realize it. I'm so glad you like how she will have to change and develop throughout the novel! Thanks so much for the wonderful review!! :D


 Report Review

Review #15, by Jess the EnthusiastThe Girl from Slytherin : Prologue

20th September 2014:
I clicked on this story because I thought the concept was really intriguing, and this prologue doesn't disappoint! I'm excited to continue reading :)

Author's Response: Hi!! :) Yay, I'm so glad you like it so far, and thank you for all the reviews!! I really appreciate it! ♥

 Report Review

Review #16, by Jess the EnthusiastGrizzled: Grizzled

20th September 2014:
Heartbreakingly beautiful!! Wonderful job!

Author's Response: Hello!! :) Wow, thank you so much, that means a lot! ♥ I'm so glad you liked the story, thanks for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #17, by Jess the EnthusiastCanis Major: Conversations and Confrontations

13th February 2014:
Adele!
I'm so excited that you updated!! I really loved this chapter and I don't know if it's just me but it seems like Sirius might have a thing for Kira! WO! So excited about that, as I'm sure you can tell haha.
But I'm so excited for the next update ah :D
~Jess :)

 Report Review

Review #18, by Jess the EnthusiastTiny: Harry

31st May 2013:
You already know how much I love this but I'm going to say it again: this is absolutely adorable and I love it!!! The Potters are just perfect and gahhh you're amazing! I also love that Kiera and Sirius are still together at this point in time I just jksalfhsgjhasdjfh

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hahaha, it was your prompt! You can take 12% of the credit... :P

And I'm glad you like them. It was fun to write Jily that are already together. It makes me happy, and Sirius is always fun.

And yes! They're still together by this point, although this isn't for a while yet... :(

But I'm so glad you like it! Yay!
- A. ^_^


 Report Review

Review #19, by Jess the EnthusiastGrowth: dull as dirt

18th April 2013:
To be perfectly honest, I have no idea why you don't like this story because I think it's fantastic! Wow! I've never read a Merope story before, but you really drew me in and this was a fascinating read. Great job! I really loved it and this is definitely going onto my favorites!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hello Jess!

GAAAH THANK YOU SO MUCH ♥ I really should remove that author's note :P It's just that, this is the first fic I've written, which relies so heavily on imagery and descriptive detail to carry the story forward. And by the end I didn't know if I had overdone it or something :) But the feedback so far has been jawdroppingly fantabulous!

THANK YOU for this lovely and totes unexpected review, AND for favouriting!

-teh


 Report Review

Review #20, by Jess the EnthusiastSmall Bump: Small Bump

12th March 2013:
I knew you were going to break my heart - before I even clicked on the story, I just knew it but I read it anyway oh my god. I can't imagine going through something as heartbreaking as this, but I think you portrayed it really well. And it was so hard to read through Percy and Audrey's excitement about the baby only to have it taken from them. But it was extremely well written and a wonderful little story (SO SAD THOUGH) and I wish you the best of luck in your challenge! It certainly was a sad ending :(

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: I do that to myself too sometimes. :p

Thank you for all your compliments, you're far too kind! :D

Thanks for the review! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Jess the EnthusiastLove, Damned Love, and Statistics: III. Getting the Girl to the Ball

12th March 2013:
I love the way you ended this! I still have to read And Capers Ensue, but I love how this is set in the same universe. I'll know though that I'll have some intense shipping feels once I read it and James makes an appearance haha.

Great job! :D

Author's Response: Glad you liked it! It's actually quite odd - the Capers universe spawned from this universe accidentally. I never meant to do it!

♥ thank you for reading! c:


 Report Review

Review #22, by Jess the EnthusiastLove, Damned Love, and Statistics: II. Getting the Girl

12th March 2013:
Awww this is so cute onto the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: I think this is /the/ cutest chapter I have ever written for anything ever xD

 Report Review

Review #23, by Jess the EnthusiastLove, Damned Love, and Statistics: I. The Girl

12th March 2013:
I don't know why I haven't read this before now, but I love it!!! You always have the most unique plot lines :D

Author's Response: Aw, thanks Jess c:

 Report Review

Review #24, by Jess the EnthusiastCanis Major: Wanting Warmth

9th March 2013:
Ahhh loved this chapter!!! I thought the break-up between Henry and Keira was really realistic; I mean, it wouldn't make sense for them to have this huge blow up and leave on bad terms from what we've seen of their relationship, so great job with that! I was surprised with myself by being a little saddened by their break up but now she can get closer to Sirius!!! SUPER EXCITED ABOUT THAT!!! I know it's gonna take some but it's gonna happen and I'm unbelievably stoked about it. Sirius going to go find her (AND THEN CARRYING HER BACK TO THE COMMON ROOM OH MY GOD) was the cutest thing ever and they're gonna be such a power couple that I won't even be able to handle it.

So great job! Super excited for the next chapter!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: I AM ALSO EXCITED FOR THE NEXT CHAPTER WHICH WOULD BE A LOT EASIER IF I COULD FINISH WRITING IT ALREADY. D:

And woohoo Keira/Sirius moments! Bring on the power couple (Y)

Ahhh, Jess. I'm so excited that you liked this, and I'll hurry up and finish writing the next chapter just for you. *hugs*

- Adele xx


 Report Review

Review #25, by Jess the EnthusiastCanis Major: Game. Set. Match.

9th March 2013:
Wonderful chapter! I can imagine writing Quidditch scenes to be hard, but you did a really great job with it! I loved the Hufflepuff commentator by the way - very funny! AND GRYFFINDOR WON WOO!!! So happy about that! That'll show stupid Henry; his comment way so out of line, by the way. I can't wait for her to break things off with him and then go for Sirius because they are seriously (pun intended) perfect for each other - that moment they had together in the beginning was just perfect and asdfghjkl love them.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful chapter! And onto the next one!

10/10

~Jess :D

Author's Response: Hahaha, 'pun intended'.

But hooray for Quidditch! And hooray for Gryffindor catching the snitch! And hooray for Henry being shown up! And hooray for Keira/Sirius moments! An hooray for finally answering your review! (Whoops!)

Seriously though, I'm so glad you liked it. You know how much your opinion means to me, Jess. ^_^

Hopefully you'll like the next chapter even better as there are more Keira/Sirius scenes. :D

- A. ^_^


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>