Reading Reviews From Member: Claire Evergreen
  
8 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Claire EvergreenChicks Before Broomsticks: Hurt Heart

25th January 2015:
Yaaas new chapter!!

Oh my god, LOGAN GO AWAY NO ONE LIKES YOU!! If you mess up Roxy and Hollie I swear to god… *points menacingly in his direction*

Ugh, I feel so bad for Hollie but POOR ALEC. He just got a starting spot and now freaking Avery comes back and ugh no. It would just be better for everyone involved if Avery just “mysteriously” disappear or, ooo I know, I had a really bad Quidditch accident. Yeah, that would work! …right?

Alec is such a good friend, though. I love him so so much, he’s the perfect complement to Hollie’s personality and they are pretty much what brotps are made of. The dynamic you’ve written for them is absolutely wonderful, they play off each other so perfectly and you can tall they really care about each other a lot.

The whole scene with Dean and Hollie was just so cute, even when she was bawling her eyes out (I swear to god I will hurt Roxanne and Avery if they keep hurting her because, unlike Hollie, I am in complete denial that it was a fake relationship and THOSE TWO ARE JUST DESTINED FOR EACH OTHER OKAY?). The whole story about Dean and Seamus was perfect and I loved how he turned it into advice for Hollie, which she totally needs to follow up on because heck yeah Roxanne is someone she should fight for!

So, yeah, this review is probably completely incoherent, but oh well. I really love your story and I can’t wait for another chapter!!! (she says as she completely procrastinates writing her own story…)

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #2, by Claire EvergreenFind My Way: Stinksap

12th January 2015:
I definitely should be writing my own fic, but oh well :P

So I'm probably the most unobservant person ever because it took me two times reading this and reading the reviews to realize that Al is blind. I don't know how I missed it, but I did. Anyway, I thought it was really cool, I think I've only read one other fic with a blind character, so I'm really excited to see what you do with it!

“Neville, why!?” Scorpius looked down to his table when Albus Potter called out in anguish from the back of the room. Several snickers from his group of friends followed.- For some reason I found this ridiculous funny haha. Actually, I just found Al hilarious pretty much any time he opened his mouth. He was funny in a sarcastic, almost dry way and I love it! We've only gotten a little glimpse of him, but I already feel like I know his character and I'm in love with him.

Scorpius too, I really like how you've written him here. I like the little hints you've given about his feelings for Al and I really like the idea of him in Ravenclaw (even though he will always be a Hufflepuff in my heart :P). He and Al seem to complement each other even when they dislike each other at this point. I think they're much more similar than they think they are and I'm so excited to see how their relationship plays out in later chapters.

Hehe I'm also really looking forward to getting to know Jia and Professor Nott in particular. Jia just seems like she's going to be a fun character and Professor Nott...I don't really know why, I just can't wait to see his relationship with Scorpius play out.

I'm so excited to see what you have planned for this! Can't wait to read more!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

Haha. I should definitely be writing CBB, but here I am starting a new story.

You're not the only one! I definitely didn't make it 'easy' to figure out in the first half of this story. I really like to do that when I'm writing, just introduce something subtly and let the reader learn things as they go.

Albus is a dramatic child. He's definitely got quite the spitfire personality, and I'm super excited for you to see what I have in store for him in the future chapters.

I'm so glad you like Scorpius! He's definitely really conflicted in the beginning in wanting to hate Albus, but secretly not. lol. I kind of really love Hufflepuff Scorpius!?!?! LIKE!? I debated for a while about whether to put him into Ravenclaw or Slytherin, but in the end Ravenclaw won out.

Jia has some wonderful stuff coming up soon! And Professor Nott will definitely play a good part! She is a really fun character and she creates a good friendship balance for Scorpius.

Thank you so much, Claire! This was so wonderful! I always love hearing your opinions on things. Talk to you later!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Claire EvergreenTraces: one.

10th January 2015:
Oh, my god, a Next Gen fanfic based around How to Get Away With Murder...I don't think it can get any better.

This is such a brilliant idea! I'm going to apologize now in case this review is completely incoherent because I'm barely containing my excitement over this fic and gah!!! I legitimately squealed when I saw what this was.

Ok, first things first, I'm guessing that Roxanne is Laurel, Hugo is Wes, Rose is Michaela, and Scorpius is Connor? Ahh now I'm so excited to see how everything plays out. Especially Scorpius as Connor, that is going to be so so good!

“I’m really glad I don’t have to pay you until you pass the bar, Malfoy.”- Yes, just...yes. I just know I'm going to love Daphne as much as I love Annalise :D

I loved the prologue! The way that you were able to transfer everything over into magical terms was perfect. Magical law is something that I know is used in fics, but I've never actually read much with it so I'm so excited to see how you incorporate everything into the magical world.

Ah, I'm just way too excited for this. I'm going to say it again, this is such a brilliant idea and HTGAWM is one of my favorite shows and I can't believe I almost never saw this fic! I can't wait to read the rest of this!

~Claire

Author's Response: INCOHERENT REVIEWS ARE THE BEST. I CHERISH THEM.

I'm glad you're so excited for this story because I'm pretty excited too and HTGAWM is just the best.

You're almost spot on with those - Scorpius is definitely Connor and Rose is Michaela, but I've mixed up genders a bit so Roxanne is actually Wes and Hugo is.??? Hugo's just kind of 'misc,' though probably closest to Laurel.

Thanks so much for reading/reviewing and hopefully this will live up to your expectations!



 Report Review

Review #4, by Claire EvergreenChicks Before Broomsticks: Tiny Kiss

8th January 2015:
Yes!!! Another chapter!

Oh, my goodness, the cuddling thing with Hollie was absolutely adorable. She is the cutest thing ever and I was squealing the whole time I was reading that scene. It was so fluffy and cute and perfect and I love them so so much!!

I liked that we got to see a little more of some of Hollie's other teammates, even if it wasn't much. It just made them seem more real and not just random background characters thrown in. It adds more depth to the story and I was going somewhere with this sentence but now I've forgotten, so I just really like all the secondary characters you've written :)

Yes!! The entire party scene and everything after and gah this was so stinking cute!! There is no way that Roxanne doesn't have at least a few feelings for Hollie. And if she doesn't, then I will personally punch her in the face for messing with Hollie because ugh they are too perfect. God, I can't even handle everything between those two, I ship it so hard and if anything happens to ruin that I don't think I can handle it.

No, Logan go away, let Alec play, no one likes you anyways!!

This was such a great chapter, I don't think I can wait for another one!

~Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

YES!

Hehe, with the cuddling, I really wanted to use the 'wake up cuddling' like the pretend relationship trope always has, but I think it's a little expected, the awkward waking up scene, so I attempted a little angst and gave Hollie a selfish moment. I was really happy with how it turned out!

I'm glad you liked the teammates part! I love my big casts, and I think that developing them a little at a time is so important to giving the story life.

Hehe, I would blame Alec for the entire thing, but Hollie ended up being okay with things in the end! And I definitely cannot say anything about feelings yet, but you will know soon!

hahah.. I wish it was that easy! But then I wouldn't have anything to write about :P

Thank you so much, Claire!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #5, by Claire EvergreenChicks Before Broomsticks: Joke Shop

20th December 2014:
Hi, Julie!

I figured since you've left such amazing reviews for me, I'd return the favor!

To start off, I love how you've taken a premise that is basically a cliche at this point and made it into something new and refreshing. Sure, you have the basic "person A has a crush on person B and then person B asks person A to have a fake relationship," but even just by changing it into a same-sex couple, it already sets a different tone.

And praise the lord, someone actually acknowledged the fact that bisexuality and asexuality actually exist! You have no idea how amazing and perfect and wonderful that is because most of the time, people just pretend that you can only be gay, straight, or a lesbian.

Going along with that, I love each an every one of your characters. Seriously, they all have wonderful personalities and even though most of them identify as something other than straight, that isn't their entire personality. First and foremost, they are people and I love that.

Ok, serious things aside, I don't think I can express how much I love this story. Hollie is perfect and the friendships that you've written are fantastic. I love a Next Gen story that focuses on life after Hogwarts and doesn't only focus on the Wotters (which I will freely admit, I do almost exclusively haha). I also really love the choice of Roxanne for the Wotter you picked, I don't think I've seen many fics with her as a main character.

"...they nailed the coffin shut with a comment wishing that Logan Avery would come out of St. Mungo’s Rehabilitation Center and straighten things out for everyone.

The worst pun ever published."
- I cracked up at this line, hands down one of my favorite quotes so far in the story.

AND SEAMUS AND DEAN AS HUSBANDS I LOVE YOU SO MUCH FOR PUTTING THAT IN THERE OH MY GOD THE SHIP THAT NEVER WAS BUT SHOULD HAVE BEEN

I love this story much, I can't wait for another update!

~Claire

Author's Response: Claire! This was such a lovely surprise!

I'm so glad that you are finding the plot refreshing! That was definitely one of the things I wanted to do, was to take the cliche topic and put an entirely fresh spin on it.

Definitely! Bisexuality and Asexuality just NOT being talked about, or being completely unbelieved really bothers me. Things are SO not black and white, and I really wanted that to be noticed here, as well as have it be a theme. And I really get bothered when people use someone's orientation as a personality trait, so I definitely could NOT have that here :D

Ah, thank you so much! I love writing Hollie, and sometimes her friendships - Alec - are more fun to write than the main romance! lol. I didn't even notice until well into writing this that I had a story now that featured FredII, and Roxanne! hehe. I'm glad you like the choice of Roxanne!

IT WAS ACCIDENTAL. It was an accidental pun. I didn't even notice it writing until I went back to edit. hahahha.

DEAN AND SEAMUS IS MY HEADCANON AND NOTHING ANYONE EVER SAYS WILL STRAY ME FROM IT I HEART THEM SO MUCH. IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A THING. I have very strong feelings about this.

Thank you so much, Claire! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for reviewing!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #6, by Claire EvergreenHeroes: Impossible

26th May 2013:
So, I've read BTQC and Hormones, but just haven't gotten around to reviewing them, so I figured I'd start here.

Oh. My. God.

This is just simply amazing, fantastic, beautiful, gorgeous, awe inspiring, and so many other words I can't think of right now. I've been searching FOREVER for a decent post war George/Angelina fic (I feel obligated to tell you that my iPad just tried to autocorrect that to 'fix' and I died with how accurate that was) and I have finally found one that goes over the top! This is just so perfect and I can legitimately see this happening!!! It's perfect in every single way. Gah, this is just too freaking perfect!!! You are one of my favorite authors on here (does that even make sense?) and I love all your stories!!!

Ok, I'm going to stop now before I embarrass myself any further :)

Author's Response: Why hello there! I'm really glad you're liking some of my stories -- I hope you get a chance to let me know what you think about BTQC and Hormones. I'd love to know.

Also, I really appreciate you taking the time to read this story. It is something that has been really important to me ever since I wrote that little snippet in Hormones about Ang and George.

i understand that most people weren't interested because let's be honest, it's sad. It's heartbreaking. Fred is my second-favorite character and his death gave the wall a nice dent after I threw my book. So this story was really heart-wrenching for me to write.

To know you like it means a ton to me. So much. So thank you so much for reading and reviewing and making my day that much better :)


 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire EvergreenRemember the Slytherins: Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

15th April 2013:
Honestly, this is perhaps one of the most brilliant stories I've seen on here. I love that you don't just assume that everything was all hunky-dory after the war which nearly all of the Next Gen stories (mine included) do. It's a completely different, yet completely plausible, series of events. I'm honestly in tears at some points in your story, I'm so attached to your characters.
And I would just like to say thank you for portraying Slytherins as real people with real problems. Too often they are just labeled as the bad guys and are given no personality whatsoever.

Wow, just listen to me gush, haha. I can't tell you how much I love your story and I'm on the edge of my seat to see whet it ends up!

Author's Response: Um wow. Just a warning, I have a really difficult time responding to compliments, so I apologize if anything sounds more awkward than usual.

I don't know if I'm just a freak, but I have honestly never seen Next Gen as hunk-dory. I think there would simply be too much pressure on the Potter-Weasleys, and if it wasn't that there would definitely be some prejudice regarding the Slytherins. (If you want something more about that - Sheriff's Lion, Eagle, Badger, Snake makes my stuff look like kindergarten work).

I am a Slytherin, so I may be a little partial to them. :) I just think no one gives them enough credit, and I'm glad you like them. I am so attached to what I call them - the family - that it's really hard to write this sometimes.

Thank you so much for the amazing compliments, and I just *melts into a puddle*

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #8, by Claire EvergreenReal Ladies.: Of Letters and Parents.

7th May 2011:
Such a great story! You really bring the characters to life!

High five for super nerds! I'm a freshman in high school taking AP World History (our AP exam is this Thursday. Eep!)

Author's Response: I try! Thank you so much. And good luck!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login