Reading Reviews From Member: Claire Evergreen
  
58 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Claire EvergreenThe Marauders: Everyone

27th August 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

So I will warn you now, the Marauders is pretty much my favorite era to write and read about, so my headcanons for them are pretty crazy.

That being said, I absolutely love everything about this story. The characterizations are spot on and the whole setting and mood of it all is just perfect. You've done a wonderful job introducing all of the characters to the readers, especially in such a short period when not much (plot wise, that is) happens.

Marlene is amazing. What Bellatrix did to her is awful and horrible, but she managed to get up and push past it without really letting her friends (besides Mary) know how much it probably affected her. She just seems so strong and outgoing, you've done a fantastic job introducing her.

I love love love your Sirius and James. They're two of my favorite fictional characters ever and you've just done such an amazing job with them. I like how they still have that bit of cockiness about them, but it's not their entire personality. You can tell they both really care about their friends and would do pretty much anything for them. The way that James realizes that Lily doesn't like his advances is really refreshing, since most fics seem to jump straight from them hating each other to dating. I also love that you have Sirius as the one who is falling in love. Normally it's the other way around, but I think this way fits more with his character.

You have an amazing set up here, I can't find the words to say everything that I want to! The balance between friends and the war is perfect and I can't wait to see how everything ends up. I'll definitely be back for more! Fantastic job!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #2, by Claire EvergreenKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to Keeping Calm and Coffee Stains

24th August 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap and the BvB!

Wizarding politics? Oh my god, I am so down for this. The topic has always confused me and I never knew where to begin with it, so I am so excited to see your take on everything.

Those first three lines killed me. That's such a fantastic introduction to Lorcan and to the tone of the story. I love how much you can figure out about Lorcan's personality just from his actions. You never come out and say 'I am [insert personality trait here]," but there's just so much in there: his clumsiness, his distractability, his singlemindedness. You've managed to pack so much into this one chapter characterization wise, it's fantastic!

You also picked a great place to dump us into the action. There was the perfect balance of giving the reader an idea of what goes on during a normal day and setting the inciting incident for the rest of the story. I really like how you show us what everyone does instead of just telling. I mean, obviously you do say that Lorcan is a speechwriter, but you do it in a very organic way; it doesn't seem forced just for the sake of telling the reader something.

I'm really excited to see how the relationships between everyone play out as the story goes on. You've set up a really interesting plot and given us some really fun characters and I can't wait to see what you do with them!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #3, by Claire EvergreenActions Speak Louder than Words: Bereft: Scorpius POV

24th August 2015:
Hey, Beth! Here for our swap!

So it's been a while since I've read this story, but I still remember everything that happened and that's definitely a testament to your fantastic writing. It feels like I never took a break!

I really like how you split the flashback up into two chapters. I think it would have been a lot to process all together, but splitting it up like this made it easier to focus on everything. I love seeing more into Scorpius's past and it most definitely changed what I assumed about him before. All of his reactions were extremely realistic and I could completely understand why he reacted the way he did.

I'm not gonna lie, I was trying so hard not to laugh at Mr. Miller's reactions to Harry and Ron. Seeing two full grown wizards (and Aurors at that), one of which was extremely angry at the time, storming through your house must have been more than a bit terrifying, so I can't blame him for freaking out.

Ugh, Rose. She is so wonderful in this! I just love your Rose so much, both in the present day and the flashbacks. She's just such a well-rounded and dynamic character, I love reading about her. The way that she is so determined to comfort Scorpius and let him know that she is there for him is such a contrast to the Rose in the first two chapters and it really drives home how awful whatever happened between her and her friends was. For her to go from this Rose-standing up to her father while sitting half-dressed in the bed of a boy-to the one who had to constantly remind herself that she needed to get dressed really makes me want to continue on and figure out what the heck happened.

This is so amazing, you're killing me with all of the suspense and mystery!! I definitely will not be able to wait as long before coming back again.

Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire!

Yay! You picked my novel - thanks so much. I know it has a bunch of reviews, but I really don't get tired of people choosing this story because I've put so, so much time into it -so thank you!

Gah!! You're too kind - I'm so glad you remembered what was going on.

I originally put the flashback scene all into one chapter and it seemed a bit long to have all together, so I'm glad you like it split up. And I had such a blast writing Uncle Phil, the Muggle. I think I would act similarly to him if two Wizard Aurors showed up at my house - haha!

Yes! You *totally* get Rose - I'm doing a happy dance right now. She is all of those things you said - and she's got to fight her way back to her real self.

Thanks again Claire - let me know if you ever want to do a swap again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Claire EvergreenThe Sorrows Of The Moon: Catechisms

24th August 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin, here for our swap!

Oh my goodness, this is absolutely amazing! It's such an interesting concept for a story and I love how you wrote it. Not only am I impressed that you were able to write this in second person, it really adds to the whole feel of the story.I could really get into it and imagine everything that Madeline was feeling and seeing. I think your choice of POV really made the story come to life and added to everything that you were going for.

Your descriptions were absolutely fantastic here. Everything was so vivid which, coupled with the second person POV, made it extremely easy to picture everything that Madeline was seeing and feeling. I loved your descriptions of the moon and its effects on Madeline. Without ever saying the word 'werewolf.' you already gave the reader everything that they needed to figure it out, way before you even start to mention the transformation. Which, by the way, was wonderfully written. I loved how you described it and what she said at the end tied everything together so wonderfully.

This is a fantastic one-shot, I love everything about it! Amazing job, as usual :)

Claire

 Report Review

Review #5, by Claire EvergreenThe Kings and Queens of Hogwarts : Just Another Marauders Day

24th August 2015:
Hey, here for our swap!

I'm so happy that this is a Marauders story since it's my favorite era.

I do like how you started off the story. It's an interesting and unusual way to introduce character, but I felt like it really fit with the rest of your story. Everything that you wrote about in the mini bios was apparent in the story itself and then you did a really nice job expanding on all of the personality traits with their mannerisms and in the conversations they have. I liked the take that you had on everyone, especially Dorcas. Most of the time I see her as quiet and reserved, more of a background character, but I really like how you have her front and center with her relationship with James and Sirius.

This kind of goes back to how you introduced your characters, but I really like the feel of the story. It kind of reminds me of a TV show, you know? Like with the introduction of each of the characters made me think of a TV intro and then the story itself read like I was watching a TV show. Which is really good, by the way. I love that I was able to picture everything so clearly and really have it play out in my head. You did a really great job of setting the scene and defining each of the individual characters.

This is a great setup for the rest of the story and I'm really interested in seeing how you weave all of the other characters into the plot. Fantastic job, I'll definitely be back soon for another review!

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for such a nice review! :)

Marauders is my favourite era too! They just seem so fun :)

I've had pretty mixed reviews on the way I started the story, but I'm glad that you liked it and I'm glad that I was able to keep true to the characters in your view :) I get what you mean about the Dorcas thing and to me she just can'y have been so shy and quiet if Voldemort ends up killing her personally. I think she must have been really outrageous to get his attention and make him want to kill her so badly!

I hadn't thought about t being like a TV show, but I guess you're kind of right! :) I'm glad you think it works as well! I'm so glad you thought it was clear as well :)

Thank you so much for the review! I will most definitely welcome any more you have in the future!

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Claire EvergreenIt's All In Your Head: Chapter One

23rd August 2015:
Hey! Here for the review swap!

I love the setup you have for Lorcan in the beginning of the first chapter. I havenít read too many fics with Lorcan as the main character, but from what Iíve seen of those few, your Lorcan is much different. I like that you didnít make him completely scatterbrained and out there, but you could definitely tell that he is Lunaís kid. The fact that he's so excited about being made Head Boy and is convinced that it's going to make his year better says a lot about his character. Maybe it's just me, but I'd figure that most kids would see it as a huge responsibility before they saw it as a way to improve their year.

So now looking back on the chapter, I finally realize why Rolf was so distant and cold towards Lorcan. At first, I just assumed that it was his personality and that was why Lorcan didn't seem too concerned about it, but now that I know what's going on, it makes a lot more sense. Of course he's going to be upset that his son refuses to accept his daughter for who she wants to be. And it also makes a lot more sense as to why Rolf reacted so strongly to Lorcan calling her Lysander.

I think you set up Lorcan's attitude towards his sister really well. Obviously it's going to be really jarring to suddenly have someone you've considered a guy for over 16 years suddenly come out and say that they're actually a girl and it has to be even more startling when it's your twin. You handled his attitude really well and even though I'd never agree with Lorcan, I found myself believing why he would act the way he did.

This is such an interesting story, I'm definitely going to have to stop by again to keep reading! Thanks for swapping with me!

Claire

Author's Response: Hello, Claire!

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I also haven't read too many stories featuring Lorcan, which was actually helpful, as it meant I didn't have to combat preconceived ideas of what he should be like.

To me, Lorcan is definitely an achiever, and definitely emotionally stunted. To me Rolf has a very different (though compatible) personality than Luna, and while you were accurate as to why Rolf felt uncomfortable with Lorcan in is chapter, but your initial impression that he has a distant personality is also accurate. The personalities and relationship of his parents has a definite effect on Lorcan, and I'll explore that directly a bit in later chapters.

I am glad that you can understand where Lorcan is coming from. It is a difficult story to write as I try to create that balance of sympathy for Lorcan while also writing about him doing and saying some unforgivable things. I can only imagine it's a similar struggle as a reader.

I have just returned to writing this story and there will definitely be updates coming soon!

Thank you very much for the swap.

Sam.



 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire EvergreenThe Shadows Within: Chapter 4 - Gryffindor's Quidditch Team

4th June 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle :)

That bit at the beginning about the war was perfect. I love how you were able to slip it in there in a very natural way. It would make sense that since Hogwarts doesn't have any sort of counselor that the older prefects would comfort the students if need be. Lily is obviously the perfect choice for that, especially with the way that you've written her here. Her inner monologue about the whole thing was really realistic and true to what I'm sure the majority of the older students were thinking.

I love love love love love the dynamic you have between all of the characters. I think I've mentioned this before, but you do a fantastic job with the interactions between Lily and the Marauders. You can tell that she's most comfortable around Remus and Peter, but she's still not opposed to actually spending time with James and Sirius. Those little parts where she admits that James is actually a really good Quidditch player and mentioning that she'd never seen him nervous before was a nice hint at the relationship that we all know is coming. I've definitely mentioned this before, but I'll say it again, I'm really enjoying how you've made it so that there isn't such a drastic change between Lily disliking James and their relationship.

I'm a huge fan of Quidditch in any story, so I'm really glad that you've put it in, even if it's just a small mention. Having Lily be a fan is a nice touch and one that I haven't seen too often, at least not before she really starts to realize her feelings for James.

Yet another absolutely fantastic chapter, I really need to get back here more often. Can't wait to read more!

-Claire

Author's Response: Thank you so much Claire. ♥ I'm glad that you have made it to Chapter 4! It is nice to know that somebody is reading beyond the first couple chapters of this.

I'm glad you liked the war & Quidditch integration! You have done a brilliant job at both of them in your own story, so it means a lot to hear that from you. And your comments about my characters always make me smile, since you have picked up on everything I was trying to do.

Thanks again for being so encouraging and continuing to read this. =)


 Report Review

Review #8, by Claire EvergreenBlackness: Fear

3rd June 2015:
Back again for our swap!

YAAASSS A DEAN/SEAMUS STORY!! I absolutely love the two of them so I'm incredibly excited to see your take on it!

I don't know why I didn't expect this to hurt when I read the summary, but you managed to rip my heart out in the first few paragraphs. I got extremely scared that Seamus had actually died in that accident and I was going to be gone at that point. I love how you wrote the beginning. The way you formatted everything really lent itself to adding suspense, especially the first little bit in Seamus's POV.

Speaking of POV, I love how you split everything up between the two boys. I think you picked perfect places to switch that really highlighted the relationship between the two of them. You can tell that Dean truly does care about him, no matter what may happen and the panic at the beginning and end of the story really makes that clear.

I love the dynamic you have between the two of them. I have read my fair share of Dean/Seamus fics from multiple authors and I love yours just as much as the others. Even though it wasn't the fuff I normally read, this was still an absolutely fantastic story that I'm so glad I got the chance to read. I hope you do well in the challenge, you definitely deserve it with this entry!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #9, by Claire EvergreenIsabella: A Midnight Surprise

3rd June 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin! Here for the swap :)

When I saw that you had another chapter up, I got so excited! There's only been one chapter so far, but I already love the characters and this is such a new and fun take on the magical world.

I would definitely not be as calm as Isabella was if someone broke down the door to my house and asked to speak to me. But Isabella seems like the kind of person who goes with the flow and doesn't let much bother her. Her reactions to everything seem (at least to me) perfectly in line with what a thirteen year old would do, especially that part at the end where she wanted to see DoŮa Marisol perform magic.

Her father's backstory had me almost in tears. That's such an awful thing to have happen to someone at such a young age. I don't blame him one bit for abandoning the magical world after that. It was probably a relief to him that his children never showed any signs of magic. You wrote his reaction wonderfully and I could feel how much it pained him to have Isabella decide to go to the school.

I know I've said this about a hundred times already, but seeing the magical world from a non-European perspective is just so interesting. I love all of the differences that you've thrown in so far and I cannot wait to see what you do with the school itself! I love this story already and can't wait to read more!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #10, by Claire EvergreenIsabella: Thirteen Candles

22nd May 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin! Here for our swap :) Sorry it took me so long to get to this, my summer turned out to be much busier than I originally anticipated.

I love the setting in this! It sounds absolutely gorgeous, I wish I could see it in real life. Of course, the wonderful descriptions that you give re more than enough to paint a picture of everything that Isabella sees and hears and smells around her. I love that you use smell so much in this! I know that we mainly use our sight, but I feel like smell is a really underused and you did a fantastic job of including it.

Isabella is going to be a really interesting narrator. You did a great job of making her sound like she'a 13, which is not easy. She has the really innocent air about her like a lot of kids have when they're that young, like when she got distracted by her skirt or her fascination with her mother's mole. I love that you put little details like that in there, it really makes her seem real.

Oh that ending! This is a perfect setup for the rest of the story! It's going to be so interesting seeing wizardry outside of Europe, especially since you've already thrown in a few differences. I'm really glad that you chose to write about Isabella and her story!

Fantastic job, I can't wait to read more!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #11, by Claire EvergreenAll that Glitters : September 1979: Pieces

17th May 2015:
I am so incredibly sorry that this took so long. Everything has just been hectic this past week and I have had zero time to myself.

This story is absolutely incredible. I've never read anything like it before and I have read my fair share of Marauders fics. You've painted extremely vivid pictures of the settings in this, whether it be back at Hogwarts or Knockturn Alley. You have a fantastic set up in these first three chapters, all of which have me wanting to read more!

The first chapter sets up the whole story especially well. There is a lot of information that the reader does not have when reading it and it doesn't answer very many questions, but that's one of the best ways to start off a story like this one. You have the perfect balance between hardly any information and just enough and it definitely made me want to keep reading more. Even if we hadn't agreed to swap for three chapters, I would have kept reading anyways!

I saw in your author's note at the beginning of chapter two that you originally didn't have the story set up with the flashbacks of sorts and I have to say, I love that you've included them! It's a brilliant way to introduce Eleanor to the readers and give her a backstory, possibly making what she does in the future (1979) story line more understandable.

Eleanor in the flashback was wonderful. I already love her character from when she was at Hogwarts and I'm so excited to get to see more of her back then. Plus, she's a Hufflepuff, so that already makes her even better. Even though she is a Puff, she definitely doesn't seem like she fits the usual stereotype, which is fantastic. I think she comes across as sort of the average Joe, but there is something else underneath of that that makes her stand out. I mean, anyone that can hold their own against Sirius is okay in my books.

Speaking of Sirius, I really loved how you wrote him and Peter in chapter two. Sirius was almost exactly as I imagined him. He has that cocky, arrogant attitude that is almost universally accepted by everyone, but he also has that joking and carefree air about him that I love. Peter was perfect as well! So many people ignore him in their fics and forget that he was actually a part of the Marauders. I know I have trouble trying to figure out how to accurately put him into my story, so I'm extremely jealous that you have been able to do it so easily!

I did notice one typo in the third chapter: The look on my fave must have been formidable. - I think it's supposed to be face.

I'm so excited to figure out what caused such a dramatic change between '76 and '79. There's a lot in '76 that makes me want to know more. Like, why was she avoiding everyone from her House? What made her say this- Not more from a house that had proved they werenít as loyal and steadfast as everyone thought we were.- about her Housemates? What's going to happen between her and Sirius that caused that reaction at the end of chapter three?

This story is so amazing! I'm adding it to my favorites so I can keep up with it! Thank you so much for doing this swap!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #12, by Claire EvergreenThe Shadows Within: Chapter 3 - Sirius's Summer

12th May 2015:
Hey! Back again for another review swap :) (because I just can't seem to stay away!)

I love that you've included a lot about classes here. A lot of fics tend to just gloss over them in favor of other story lines, but I think that takes a lot away from the story. After all, they do go to a school, so a large portion of their time is spent in classes and interacting with each other that way. Even just the little snipets that you give us at the beginning are perfect to set the scene and remind readers that, first and foremost, these are still kids who go to school and have normal teenage problems.

I also love how you write the relationship between Lily and the Marauders, especially wth James. It's the perfect balance of vague dislike and "I guess we're actually friends" that a lot of people like to skip over in favor of shoving them together almost instantly. There really is a bit of mutual respect there under both of their attitudes, which is absolutely fantastic. As Lily spends more time with James, I can totally picture them ending up together and not just because I know that it has to happen.

Aw, Sirius baby :'( The part about his brother made me so sad because I always imagined that they at least got along a little bit given what we know his brother ends up doing, but this way makes a lot of sense as well, even if it did break my heart a little bit. You nailed Sirius's reaction to Lily's comment perfectly. He always seemed like the person who would hide stuff behind a carefree attitude, but would be quick to drop it when he really felt strongly about something.

Another wonderful chapter, as always. I can't wait to read more, especially since I'm less than 24 hours away from summer!

-Claire

Author's Response: I can't seem to stay away from your story either, so I guess that makes these numerous swaps good for both of us. =)

I definitely agree about classes. Just because it isn't a OWL or NEWT year doesn't mean that they won't be spending time in classes or studying. And, let's be honest, I had quite a few chats and gossiping sessions with my friends in high school classes... and we were the enriched kids!

Yes to striking a balance in their relationship. I mean, if Lily was yelling all those things at James in June of 1976 but ended up dating him (most likely) in late 1977 there would have had to have been a fairly steady, long lasting change. I think I'm slowly but surely showing the shift in that direction, although there will be bumps along the way.

And yes to Sirius. :( I mean, in a companion thing I'm working on you do see that he and Regulus were not always like this. I imagine the breaking point was very rough on both of them though, so at least for a while he would be very hurt by it.

I'm looking forward to seeing you around more (and seeing you writing more :P) once summer starts! Thanks for the lovely review again. =)


 Report Review

Review #13, by Claire EvergreenBeat It: Beat It

11th May 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap!

So ever since I read one fic with Roxanne as a main character, I have been in love with her and I already love your version of her! I love that you've thrown in more traditional "girly" things with a strong Beater. It's becoming much less common now to make the two mutually exclusive, but I still feel like I should point it out. Either way, I still love Roxanne. She seems like the kind of person who wouldn't take crap from anyone, but still has a softer side that will probably come out at some point.

Violet is fantastic. No matter who you are, you always need a friend like her. I'm already excited to see what happens with her as the story goes on. At least from this, she seems like she'll be a great friend to Roxanne and I already am in love with her (being a Seeker does help a bit too :P)

Not gonna lie, I was getting a bit of a Romeo and Juliet vibe from Roxanne and Jason, but I'm not sure how I feel about that. I don't care how attractive his body is, his personality absolutely sucks. He seems like the typical jerk whose Qudditch skills have gone to his head and Roxanne should most certainly run for the hills and never go near that even if they're the last two people on earth...yeah, I really don't like him, can you tell? :P

I'm all about a story about Qudditch with Roxanne as the main character, so you can be sure that I will be back!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

I am so sorry about how late I am with responding to this, I have no excuses at all!

Aww yay! I am so glad that you love my version of her. Roxanne is a very girlie girl in my opinion, but is still an awesome Beater who shouldn't be trifled with! I'm glad that you like that :D Oh no, she wouldn't take crap from anyone.

Oh yes, we all need friends like Violet. Definitely.

Romeo and Juliet is strong with those two, even though Roxanne is fighting it, and you're right, his personality sucks haha he's going to get better, I swear :D

Thank you so much! I hope that you enjoy the rest of the story!


 Report Review

Review #14, by Claire EvergreenSummer Herbology: [I.]

10th May 2015:
Hey, Julie! I'm so excited to read this since I saw at least a little bit of the process during camp :)

Oh. My. Goodness. Is this going to be a person A falls in love with person B but they're best friends so person A just doesn't say anything until person B eventually finds out and everything explodes kind of fic? Because if so, I am 100%, without a doubt here for this! This is pretty much one of my favorite cliches of all time (and one that I use much too often, but that's beside the point). I'm so excited for all of this to happen now!

You have me completely sold on Rhys. He is just so adorable and I know I'm going to love him. Well, I already do, but anyways. His snark is fantastic and I love that he's a wallflower Hufflepuff because they need so much more recognition. He is such a teenager, which is fantastic because I can completely relate to him about everything. The schoolwork, the arguments with the parental figure, the crush on someone that is pretty much off limits, everything. He is going to be such a fun person to get the story from and I can't wait to see his relationship with Ben as everything progresses.

Oh, my goodness, Molly!!! I freaking love her already. The wit and the banter and the fact that she is a perfect compliment to Rhys. I am extremely guilty of always shoving Molly into the background in my fics and then I don't think I've ever read anything with her as a major character, so that's something else that I'm super excited to read about! I'm really excited to see the fallout from her telling Payton about her feelings and if that might ever end up being something...

This is fantastic! I mean, I always love your writing, but it's still always fun to see how you write everything out and bring different characters to life! Can't wait for you to update with more chapters!

-Claire

Author's Response: HEY!

Hehe, you got to see all my whining and now it's finally here!

YEAH IT IS, EXPLOSIONS AND ALL. Kind of. There might be plant accidents instead of explosions. I love the cliche too :D Best friends tropes are sooo fun.

Ah, yay, I'm glad you like Rhys! He's a little wallflower, but I don't think I could write a character that isn't at least a little bit sarcastic. I definitely wanted to make him a 'typical' teenager, and the scene in the car where he's sighing and exaggerating everything going on I felt fit that.

I LOVE MOLLY. I'm glad you love her already. She's so fun to write. And, SAME. I started a fic years ago with Lucy as a main character and so now I had to give Molly her chance to shine.

And Molly/Payton, we'll have to see...

Ah, thank you so much! I'm so glad you liked it, and a;lkdjf that's such a nice compliment. Thank you thank you!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #15, by Claire EvergreenMeals With Muggles : Burgers And Chips

10th May 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin, here for our swap!

Awww, this is so cute! I've always imagined that Dudley ended up marrying a witch, but I never thought it could be like this! And Dudlietta is the best ship name.

I love the way that you wrote Dudley, I can totally seem him being like this after they left. He does seem like he's grown up a lot from the boy who bullied Harry just because he could. The fact that he works for Grunnings is both sad and understandable. Dudley always seemed like the guy who was going to grow up to be average, the complete opposite of his cousin. It makes sense that he would work for the same company as his father, but it also makes me sad because I at least felt like he had the potential to be much more, even if he never acted on it. And then his reaction when he found out that Marietta was a witch was perfectly spot on and I love the details that you've put in here.

Marietta is wonderful. I honestly hadn't even considered what effect being labeled a sneak was after her sixth year, but I love what you did with it. Given Hermione's talent, it wouldn't be surprising if it did take that much effort to finally remove the pimples from her face. After an ordeal like that, I definitely wouldn't blame her for getting out of the wizarding world as soon as she possibly could.

From what you've written here, she and Dudley seem like they woudl be an absolutely adorable couple! Maybe you might even be persuaded to write more of them? ...she says hopefuly

Fantastic story and thanks for doing the swap!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire,

Dudlietta is the best ship name ever!! I agree. You can thank Mallory for that one.

That is the perfect way to describe it. Dudley is just average and safe. There's nothing particularly special about him aside from who he grew up with. I think that's what Marietta likes so much about him. There's nothing crazy to surprise her.

Yeah. I think Marietta's experiences are often overlooked. We're angry with her in cannon, so we feel her punishment is just, but if you wiki her story, she went for years with the word Sneak etched across her face. I believe that would be very damaging.

I may write a continuation to Dudlietta someday, but as of now I have no immediate plans.

Thanks so much for the swap and for all of your nice words.

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #16, by Claire EvergreenFounders Four: Pillars of the Ages: Chapter one: The Beginning

9th May 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap :)

So I rarely...okay, never read Founders fics, but I'm really glad that I picked this one!

Now, normally, I would say the whole fairy tale like thing, but I think that it really works well for a Founders era fic and you pull it off really well. It never interrupts the story and the little bits where you pull back and address the reader as the narrator make me feel like I'm reading an adventure/fairy tale.

As for the characters themselves, I love them. We only got a brief glimpse of Salazar, but I can totally see him growing up into the kind of person who would hide a giant monster in a school for children and then peace out before telling any of the others about it. His mother's comment about him being like his father "back when" definitely makes me interested in what his dad is like and if it's anything like the Salazar the books talk about.

Godric is absolutely spot on. He is so much like the Gryffindor House we know and live. He's impulsive and out spoken and definitely brave if what he thinks Ingvar is like is true. He seems like the type of guy who would buy a round for the whole bar one minute and then pick a fight the next. He's so much like yoru typical action hero, it's fantastic! You've done a fantastic job with him!

I'm so glad that I got to read this story! Thanks again for doing the swap, I can't wait to read your review!

-Claire

Author's Response: Thanks Claire! I'm so happy you enjoyed it, which makes me feel even worse about chapter three taking so long!

Although, I wonder why you say that about Salazar, as no one else has said so until now, and I'm curious. It seems everyone is seeing different things in that short clip from his character. It's actually really interesting how that's turning out.

I agree about Godric in some traits, but he won't be nearly as predictable as you may think. Just let that sink in and wonder what I mean by that. As I'm the one writing, there are quite a few things I can say you're yet to see.

Anyway, ominous note aside, thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by Claire EvergreenActions Speak Louder than Words: Blown Away: Scorpius POV

9th May 2015:
Hey Beth! Here for the swap!

Ah, I'm so excited that we get a peek into Scorpius's mind (which, you know, I should have guessed by the chapter titles, but we'll ignore that haha). It's going to be so cool seeing multiple sides of the story as it progresses.

Alright, so I'm going to hold off on assuming some of the things that I said in my last review because we definitely get a different idea of Scorpius here. Even in the flashback, there's still that little but if a temper that gives me a weird feeling about what happened between him and Rose, but he seems much more vulnerable here. I have no idea if I'm correct or not, but I'm 99% sure that Scorpius is not exactly the good guy in this, but it was really nice to look into his mind.

Oh my goodness! That whole thing with his parents was absolutely awful! Now I want to know why that happened and why it seemed like his mother knew about it beforehand.

I can see why everyone loves this story so much! I'm hooked! Thanks for agreeing to do the swap with me!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi again!

Ah! You got to the next chapter where some of Scorpius's past is revealed. I actually tried to write the story from only one person's POV, but it just didn't work.

Hmmm... I can see why you might think that about Scorpius, but I think if you read on, you'll see that he's pretty much so deeply in love with Rose, it's all he thinks about.

Gah - you pick up on ALL THE DETAILS - I'm not gonna say too much about what Astoria did or didn't know.

Thanks for doing a swap! We'll have to do one again some time!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #18, by Claire EvergreenActions Speak Louder than Words: Bent: Rose POV

9th May 2015:
Hey, Beth! Finally here for our swap!

I love the way that you introduce characters. You never have to outright say "oh, he likes to party" or "she is really outspoken." Everything is shown and nothing is straight out told to us. Like, we get the idea that Fred is more than likely a womanizer and Dom is extremely outspoken and can be over the top. I love reading stories that allow us to get to know the characters as we read instead of an info dump at the beginning.

Speaking of characterization, Scorpius kinda creeps the daylights out of me. Originally, I thought it was kind of sweet how he went over to Rose and they started to talk, but when I went back, it seemed like she was kind of on edge around him until she had a few drinks. Don't get me wrong, he seemed to at least care about her a little bit, but it seemed extremely protective and the line He was often angry. definitely does not have a very positive connotation. It also makes me wonder if there was a connection between that and when Rose was attacked...

With the attack, you also did a wonderful job conveying her helplessness both during and after, I think it was interesting to note how much she hated feeling helpless, which led me to believe that she wasn't always like that. I mean, obviously she has changed after whatever happened to her, but her reactions definitely made it seem like she didn't like who she has become.

I love this story so far! I can't wait to read some more!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire!

I'm so sorry that I've taken forever to respond to this! Thanks so much for your kind words. I'm glad that the character descriptions felt natural to you. I really do work hard on that.

Oh! I really didn't intend for Scorpius to be creepy. His anger is never directed at Rose - he's just been dealing with his own demons for the past few years - that comes up in the next couple of chapters. Both he and Rose have been through some traumatic personal events and I wanted his character to deal with it differently than hers. His pain and frustration manifests in anger - mostly because he feels so alone in the world (and like I said, that comes up in the next few chapters).

I'm so glad that you picked up on the fact that Rose wasn't always the way she is right now. I was worried that that didn't come off in this chapter.

Thanks for the review!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #19, by Claire EvergreenThe Shadows Within: Chapter 2 - The First Week

8th May 2015:
Hey, Rheanyra. Back again for the swap :)

Side note, I continue to be impressed by your face claims and am seriously (hehe, get it?) contemplating my own.

Anyway, Professor Kettleburn cracked me up. I had always imagined him as a more reserved Hagrid and from what you wrote, that seems to be what you thought of as well. Lily's internal monologue during the whole class was perfect and I can just imagine everyone questioning his sanity at that point.

I really love your Remus. He's got just enough sense about him for it to be plausible that he was chosen as a prefect, the fact that he was as much a part of the Marauders' pranks and shenanigans as James and Sirius, which too often is ignored in favor of the brief glimpse of him that we get in Snape's Memory.

Lily trying to figure out where to sit in Transfiguration broke my heart. I knew that severing (I swear, I'm not doing these on purpose) ties with Snape would be emotionally draining on her, but I never stopped to think about her having to see him every day and adjust her entire schedule since he was her best friend. I felt so awful for her and then so happy when James tried to stand up for her (but was completely shut down).

Those last few paragraphs after Lily talked to James was wonderful. You can see the little of something that she's starting to feel for him, which is freaking fantastic because I absolutely cannot stand when she just starts liking him our of nowhere in their seventh year. I love how you've established that even if she doesn't like him, she can at least tolerate him and is slightly willing to spend time with him and his friends.

I'm so excited to read more of this, you've set up such a believable and interesting story (and I'm still interested to see when the Voldemort thing comes in?)

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire. Thanks for swapping with me again!

Oh, the puns in your review are so bad! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far and that you like my characterizations (and face claims haha). There are so many things at play and everybody is three dimensional with complex personalities, so things need to be shades of grey.

As for Kettleburn, I figure he's probably a bit less risky than Hagrid but the man did lose parts of multiple limbs, so he couldn't be TOO reserved

The Voldemort thing is a bit of a slow build. There are some mentions of Death Eater events/abductions/killings and I think it's somewhere in the ballpark of chapter 4 or 5 that there's another glimpse into Julius Avery and what he's up to. (This is all progressing much slower than I intended when I started, so Chapter 9 is still in October. *blushes*)

Thanks again. =)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Claire EvergreenAll or Nothing: there is a light that never goes out

8th May 2015:
Hey, Kristin! Here for our review swap!

Trust me, you have absolutely nailed Bellatrix's POV. Even with her as a child, you could still tell that it's Bellatrix. The mannerisms, the speech pattern, the thoughts, it is all perfect and screams Bella.

The first section with her as a child was amazing. It's hard to imagine someone like her as ever being a child, so that can't have been easy to write. And little Andromeda and Narcissa were fantastic additions and really showed the dynamic between the three sisters. That whole scene reminds me of the time I heard a woman tell her child that killing bugs was the first sign of becoming a serial killer and while it seemed funny at the time, it certainly takes on a whole new meaning when applied to Bella.

The second part was so hauntingly beautiful. I never really thought Bella would be capable of truly loving anyone, no matter what the gender, but the way you wrote the whole thing was simply amazing. It was wonderful to see a (somewhat) softer and more vulnerable side to Bella, one that I don't think I ever considered her having before. Not only was the characterization amazing, the emotions and the writing were also spot on. I can't over the fact that you actually managed to make me feel somewhat bad for Bellatrix Lestrange.

The third part was definitely more like the Bellatrix I know and love to hate. We all knew that she was more than a little bit unhinged when she was sent to Azkaban, but to get into her mind and see what she was thinking was eerie to say the least. I'm so intrigued as to who this mystery woman was and how she was able to get into Bella's head like that. She had to have been one heck of a person to be able to do that.

This is absolutely amazing and I'm so glad that you agreed to the swap because I probably would have never read it otherwise! Thanks for swapping!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire! I'm sorry about my inability to respond to things in a timely fashion, but I really do appreciate this review!

Aah, thank you so much! I had been kind of apprehensive about how Bellatrix as a child would come across, so it's really great to hear that it seemed so much like her. I agree with you that she's not someone who is easy to imagine ever being a child at all! I'm glad you liked the other sisters as well - I thought they made an interesting contrast to Bella in the way they reacted to that incident as kids as well as who they turned out to be.

'Hauntingly beautiful' - wow, that's high praise! I have been really surprised by the number of reviewers who have described these women's love as haunting and beautiful. I think in the books she is very one-sided (because Harry sees her as such) but no person is one sided and I really thought that a story like this could fit with Bella's character and who she became. I am really so flattered by your compliments in that paragraph - thank you so much and Im glad you liked the characterisation and that the emotions and writing were effective. I'm honoured that it made you feel bad for Bellatrix!

She is definitely unhinged in that last part, but she doesn't think she is! :p Writing that section was definitely the most out of my comfort zone but I liked the way it turned out and I'm glad you thought it was interesting getting into her mind! Ah yes the mystery woman... will remain a mystery ;)

Thank you so much for this incredible review and for the swap!


 Report Review

Review #21, by Claire EvergreenMurphy's Law: Chapter One

8th May 2015:
Hey, Vicki! Here for our swap :)

I am so glad that I picked this story to read because it sounds like it is going to be both adorable and hilarious.

Pippa sounds like she's going to be a wonderful narrator. Even though this is a really brief snapshot of some of the characters who I assume are going to be the focal point of the story, I can already tell that I'm going to love Pippa. She's funny and witty and down to earth and I can't wait to get to know her and her friends.

The idea of James as Pippa's stalker is absolutely hilarious to me, just because he's usually portrayed as the playboy or the guy that everyone wants to be with. I can already tell that it's going to be so amusing to see the interactions between him and Pippa.

This is such an interesting concept for a story and one I'm extremely excited to get to read more of. I never would have though of using Murphy's Law as a plot device, but you've done a great job setting it all up. I know in your author's note you said that this is way out of your comfort zone, but do not worry because you're doing a marvelous job here! I can't wait to read more!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #22, by Claire EvergreenCuriosity Is Not a Sin: An Encounter in the Library

8th May 2015:
Hey, Branwen! Here for the BvB Battle!

So, I've actually read this whole story, but I've been meaning to review this chapter in particular for a while now, so this was a perfect excuse to do it!

I know that I've said this in a previous review, but I really really love your Rose and I this chapter really highlights a lot of what I love. There's the brief mention that she is a diligent note taker, but there's also the fact that she's quick to go straight to her wand when confronted with Scorpius and she refuses to admit that she was wrong. She's that perfect balance between Hermione and Ron. Also, she really embodies the idea that the Sorting Hat puts people in the House with the traits they value most, not the ones that they present.

Noah is also a sweetheart. As much as I love your main characters (and I do, I really do), your side characters are just so wonderful. Noah is the perfect contrast to Scorpius and it's fantastic that Rose is at least slightly friends with a Slytherin. And the fact that it's with Noah is just an added bonus.

Alright, I saved this part for the end because I know I was going to go crazy fangirling about it but OH MY GOD THE BANTER IN THIS KILLED ME! ďWell, I definitely didnít miss the part about cold showers, so Iím sure there must be some situations where my mouth being open would be welcome enough.Ē Reading this the first time, I had to literally cover my mouth and bite my lip to keep from busting out laughing because I was in the library. This was just so wonderful and such a Rose thing to say. And then Scorpius's reply had me on the floor again. I mean, all of the banter in this story is on point, but this was the best one in the whole story hands down.

This entire story is fantastic, but I just really had to review this one :P I'm really jealous of your banter skills because mine are very sadly lacking. Wonderful story and one day I will get to The Wrinkles of the Road!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #23, by Claire EvergreenThe Shadows Within: Chapter 1 - Hogwarts Again

7th May 2015:
Back for the BvB Battle!

There is pretty much nothing I don't like about this chapter. And when I say pretty much, I mean literally nothing.

I could go on an on and on about characterization, but I'll try to keep myself from rambling :P Lily was absolutely brilliant. I love that she still has her (basically) trademark genius status, but you took it so far beyond that and it was wonderful. I love love love love that she is sorta kinda maybe friends with James and that she isn't at his throat for no reason at all like some fics tend to do. She also stands up for herself in a way that isn't in your face or too over the top. Even from this one chapter, you can tell that she isn't afraid to stand up for herself, but she's also not just a cut-throat jerk or a complete goody-two-shoes.

James is also perfect. I will preface all of this with the disclaimer that I have a very specific and detailed headcanon about James Potter and he's literally my favorite fictional character of all time. But having said that, I love how you've written him. I know we didn't see much, but I can not thank you enough for not making him a self-absorbed jerk who is constantly harassing Lily about going out with him. He's an actual human being who is actually mature and can control himself. Just...thank you and bless you.

PETER!! Oh my goodness, this is incredible. I will admit, I have read my share of Marauders fics (can you tell it's favorite era? :P) and never have I ever read one that characterizes Peter like you have here. And I adore it. I know that I struggle a lot with how to write Peter so I am incredibly jealous that you have managed to do it so perfectly. Curse you!

Also, Sirius as a Muggle/Muggleborn rights activist? Not a job that I'd ever pick for him in a million years, but somehow it makes perfect sense? With everything that's happened to him, he'd be amazing at it. And that little comment about arguing with his parents, while slightly humorous, made me want to cry. But I'm so excited to see how you continue to write him because I love what you've done so far.

And then that comment that you made about Aurora and Divination (that I sadly can't quote in her)? I died, it was so funny and completely caught me off guard. It was perfect!

Wow, this is so incredibly good, I cannot wait to read more! You have me completely hooked!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire! Glad to see you again. =)

I'm glad you love the characterization. I was grinning like an idiot and nodding along as I read all your comments. I have worked really hard to a) make Lily not sound like a temper-losing maniac and b) show James as a relatively kind, real person.

As for Peter, I really am trying to make it sound like he was a decent friend and that he would be trusted enough. Later (the most recent chapter, I believe) you do see some signs of questionable judgement from him though. In your story (I just read Chapter 3!) you're already miles ahead by showing him as a proper person and giving him lines.

Sirius's future career totally made sense to me for somebody who wanted to show how different he was than his family. (Also, I wanted to not make everybody go into the Ministry lol.)

Aurora & Divination lol. I know the line you mean and I'm glad it made you laugh.

Thanks again for such a sweet review! =)


 Report Review

Review #24, by Claire EvergreenA Christmas in Azkaban: A Flickering Flame

7th May 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

So Sirius is one of my absolute favorite characters and even though he is pretty much out of his mind at this point, his characterization is absolutely brilliant. I'v never thought too much about what it was like for him in Azkaban (because it is just too sad and depressing for me to think about), but you've nailed it.

I can't even begin to explain how this whole thing made me feel, I'm still trying to process everything. I'll probably have to read it a few more times before I'm sure, but wow, this is amazing, I'm so glad that I got to read it!

-Claire

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it, I tried really hard with this one. Thanks so much for the swap!

 Report Review

Review #25, by Claire EvergreenThe Shadows Within: Prologue

7th May 2015:
Hey, Rhaenyra! Here for our swap!

Before I start, can I just say that Spohie Turner as Lily is an absolutely brilliant face claim and although I'm 100% sold on Bryce Dallas Howard, she is definitely one that I'm going to have to remember.

Anyway.

I know I reviewed a one shot about this for the BvB Battle a while back, so I'm so glad that I get to actually get into the story!

Voldemort in this is so spot on it's actually terrifying. He was just so creepy and unnerving and it was perfect. It actually got worse when I realized at this point, he still looked like an actual person and not like he was after Goblet of Fire. I could feel the tension in the room and felt just as scared as everyone else (minus Bellatrix probably because let's be real, this is her dream come true).

Also, this is such a brilliant way to set up the story. Obviously we know it's a Marauders story, but starting with the Death Eaters and Voldemort's secret plan definitely intrigues me and makes me want to keep on reading. This is exactly how you want to get a reader's attention and get them to want to invest time into your story.

I'm sorry this is on the shorter side, but I think I see that you are the next person in the BvB Battle, so hopefully I can snap that up before someone else gets to it. Keep an eye out for another review that should be coming your way!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire!

I just googled Bryce Dallas Howard and I love the look of her. I totally can see her as well.

Ahh, I'm glad you like (hate?) Voldemort. I think the part that he looks more normal was part of the thing that was creepy at this time. Rather than being like a supernatural villain, he was more like an actual person. And, of course, Bellatrix loves him much more than some of the others.

I'm glad the start intrigued you. I was hoping this would do that rather than a start-on-the-train beginning.

Thanks again! =)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>