Reading Reviews From Member: Claire Evergreen
  
76 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Claire EvergreenKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to St. Mungo's and Carrying On

11th February 2016:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

Ok, so for some reason I completely forgot that I started reading this story and I don't know how because I absolutely love it! I'm pretty sure that I've read at least four chapters in, but I'm going to start back from the beginning and review all the chapters along the way :)

I'm pretty sure I said this in my last review al the way back in August, but I absolutely love your version of Lorcan. I see it so often that he and his brother are a lot like their mother, but I like that you've made a distinction between them. I've imagined them a lot like you have, with them being around the age of the Potters and everything. I'm really excited to get to meet Lysander at some point, he's seems really interesting.

I love love love all of your side characters. I kind of have a thing about side characters really needing to be real people and you've done a great job. I love the dynamic of the office, it rings really true to how people interact in work environments. You can tell most of them are friends, but there's still that element of their relationship that you can tell they're just work friends (if that makes sense at all?).

I know I've said this before, but I love the political elements you add in. I'm completely lost when it comes to politics, but you've done it seemlessly. That whole discussion about who was going to run felt so accurate, like it was something I would hear from a real life political campaign. You've done a fantastic job with that and I'm really excited to see how you continue with it!

This is an amazing story, I'm so mad that I managed to forget about this. It's definitely going on my list so I remember to keep up with it!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #2, by Claire EvergreenBetween Takes: Episode 1: Location, Location

10th February 2016:
Well, hello there. Long time no review :)

Anyways, I don't normally read AUs, but this is such a cool premise and I just love your writing always :P

I love that Scorpius is the one who's the TV star because I've always pictured him as having those movie star good looks. I cannot wait to read more about him and this Hogwarts show that he's on because it sounds rather...interesting.

Bixie? I'm dying that is both the best and worst ship name ever. I love it.

I continue to fall in love with all of your side characters and it's starting to become an actual problem at this point. Susie is fantastic and I just want to see her interact with Al and Scorpius once she figures out that one of them has a crush on the other

...okay, I'll stop writing your story for you now

But anyway, if you couldn't tell, I love this idea and I'm super pumped to see how everything plays out with it!

Claire

Author's Response: Claire! You're wonderful, I hope you know that.

I rarely read harry potter aus, let alone write them, but I've expanded recently and actually been happy? But yay, thank you for giving this a chance! I'm so excited for it.

haha, right? His good looks will definitely be played up in this story. Particularly by a certian Potter child, but you'll have to wait for chapter 2 for that :D Hogwarts, the tv show, gets explained a bit more in chapter two by it's biggest fan.

hahahah okay so I swear I hate it too but it was either bixie or nasil soo... lol

CLAIRE YOU'RE GOING TO LOVE SUSIE SO MUCH omg I can't wait for you to see her in chapter two and beyond she's amazing.

Thank you so much again for reviewing! It's so good to hear from you!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #3, by Claire EvergreenTo Steal Our Breath Away: Prologue

28th January 2016:
Hey, Branwen! Here for the BvB Battle :)

This was an amazing opening chapter. Based on what I knew from the summary, it set up the main conflict really well without giving too much away. Using a character who was ultimately going to die at the end of the chapter can be a risky move, but you pulled it off well and I'm really eager to find out what happens next.

Jane's paranoia is spot on. I know exactly how she's feeling; I always get nervous and jumpy when I'm by myself and have to close up my house so I could feel everything that you were describing. I loved that you drew out her process of making sure the entire house was locked up. It really built up the tension and I was doubting if there was anyone was there or not.

That twist at the end was brilliant. Going off the summary, I guessed that Jane was a half-breed of some sort, but I started to doubt myself about halfway through. I honestly thought it was a spell that was making her sick, but then she was a werewolf?? Did she not know that she was one? I mean, her reaction to the transformation made it seem like she had never turned before, but that may just be me. It was still a brilliant twist, I loved the entire process of building up to it.

But, anyway, this was an awesome set up you have here and I cannot wait to get to read more!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #4, by Claire EvergreenI Miss You: I Miss You

25th January 2016:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

Fred and George are some of my favorite characters ever and this just broke my heart. You did an amazing job capturing the emotions George was feeling each time he visited Fred's grave and I found myself trying to hold back tears numerous times.

The part where he was talking about Angelina especially killed me. The relationship between Fred and Angelina and then George and Angelina is one that gets overlooked a lot, but it's a shame because there's so much there. You did a wonderful job conveying all of that emotion in that one little paragraph. As a reader, you can tell how much Angelina really cared about Fred even if it wasn't from her PoV and you can also tell how much her presence meant to George. From what you've written, it completely makes sense that George would end up marrying her.

The other part that killed me was when George was talking about his wedding. Oh my god, I think I'm going to cry just thinking about it. "since I canít have you Iím not going to have anyone"? Why don't you just stab me in the heart, it might be less painful honestly. In a good way, of course, I love the raw emotions that you poured into this whole story, it was amazing.

Oh, my god at the end with Fred. I was not expecting that but it was such a perfect end to the story. It felt like it brought everything full circle by hearing that Fred missed his brother just as much as George missed him.

Ok, I'm going to stop before I start crying (again), but this was an amazing and powerful one-shot. Thank you so much for doing the swap!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #5, by Claire EvergreenRise of the Phoenix: Into the Void

25th January 2016:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

I like how this chapter immediately picks up on the action that was started last chapter. Having just read chapter one last night, I loved that there was no break between the fights of the last chapter and the fights of this one. It kept my interest since there was no real downtime.

Being able to see Aurora in action was also nice. We only got a glimpse of her abilities last chapter since everything was so sudden and disjointed. At least at the beginning, she seems really level headed and logical even in a duel and quite skilled at magic as well. I love that spell you had her create, the night vision one. It's really clever and I like that it had a practical use for her profession. What does Boreos mean though, I'm curious?

The one thing I will say though is that there's a lot of action in this chapter that all kind of blends together. After the first few times she fought with someone, it started to get repetitive for me and I found myself skimming over it all instead of reading thoroughly. I really like your fight scenes, but I feel like you could condense them down more until you get to the confrontation with Greyback (who you've written perfectly by the way). I think creating paragraphs instead of making each action a separate line would help as well, just because it would give the sense that all of the action is condensed without actually having to cut anything out.

Another thing is how talented Aurora is at magic. Don't get me wrong, I think you've got a really good character here, but beyond her night vision spell, it seems a little much to have her be so gifted with wandless magic. From what I remember of the books, Dumbledore is really the only who could perform something like that. I'm not saying that she can't be an extremely talented witch, but just that maybe stopping it at wandless magic would give her more credibility, at least in my opinion.

I really like your story so far, though. You've created such an interesting concept here and I'm really interested to see how things end up for Aurora. I'll definitely have to stop by again, you've got me hooked!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey, cheers for the reviews. Had to sleep, then I had work, so only just got round to reading your story now. Should have a review there tonight.

Thanks for your feedback. Really helpful and constructive stuff. The action sequences do always need an edit now and then. I'll take a look...

I am glad you liked Aurora and the night vision spell.

Hmmm.I get what you mean about the wandless magic thing. Though from what I understand it is more to do with discipline, and this character is meant to be pretty exceptional at charms. I counterbalanced her abilities with the fact she is hot-headed, and not a fantastic dueller. The truth is her magic is being adapted to a situation that is not natural to her. None of these werewolves are particularly strong and though she emphatically wins, she makes a fair bit of mess doing so. Also Greyback uses a very easy trick to outwit her. If Bellatrix or Snape had been on th train, she might have escaped as she is pretty smart, but even though she could do wandless magic- I highly doubt she'd defeat them in a duel. In fact, I think she'd have to flee.

I also had a look the HP wiki (yes, I know) and the likes of Remus and Moody have used intentional wandless magic So as long as its medium sized spells, and she isn't burning a house down with her little finger, I think it is justifiable.

Also - as you see later on when she loses her cool and is terrified, it doesn't work whatsoever.

Anyway,

Should have my review up for your story soon, reads very well so far by the way :)

Thanks,

Nick :)


 Report Review

Review #6, by Claire EvergreenRise of the Phoenix: The Gathering Storm

24th January 2016:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

I'm going to admit right now that this definitely isn't the type of fic that I normally read. That being said, I think this is a crazy cool and original idea for a fic. I've honestly never seen one like it and based on this chapter, it has a ton of potential.

I love how you just throw us into a conversation between the two characters and then slowly pull back and reveal more about them. That's a tough writing style to pull off, but you've pulled it off really well here. With this set up, I'm immediately curious about who these people are, which makes me want to read more, and then we slowly get more information about everyone, which then makes me invested in the characters. You've really balanced the two perfectly there.

Aurora is such an interesting character. I love that we start off with this summary about a fierce and talented witch and then one of the first things we learn about her is that she got a massive scar fighting with a dragon. By giving us this first and then going into how upset she is over her brother is a really nice contrast. She is obviously a strong, capable woman, but that doesn't mean that she can't care about her brother and get paranoid over everything. She's a well rounded character, which is a lot harder to create than a lot of people think.

Thank you so much for doing the swap with me! This is a really interesting and intriguing story and I'll have to come back when I have more time and see how this all plays out :)

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi, thanks for engaging in the review swap. My review of your chapter is up now. I really liked it.

Thanks for the nice words about the idea. I know it isn't for everyone, but I am glad the idea worked. Also I love writing Aurora so it's cool that you felt, (as she is in OC) she was worth reading. And the comments about the dialogue opening are really reassuring.

Best,

Nick


 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire EvergreenTime For Bed: Getting Ready

24th January 2016:
Hey, Kaitlin! I'm here for our swap!

This is so absolutely adorable! I'm going to try to keep the squealing to a minimum, but that might be hard because I love this ship and you've done a wonderful job writing it here!

I love love love Hannah in this. I don't think I've really read or written much with her, but your characterization is exactly how I imagine her. She's incredibly sweet and caring, but she definitely wears the pants in this relationship. They're dynamic is fantastic, though, you can really tell that they love each other a lot.

I'm not sure how you did it, but I was 100% genuinely interested in his nightly routine. The magic was integrated wonderfully and I love the little touches that made it obviously Neville. The detail in it was perfectly balanced; there wasn't so much that it would become overwhelming and there wasn't too little that it made it easy to skim over almost the whole story.

Ok, I tried to keep it all in but oH MY GOD SNUGGLES BEFORE THEY GO TO BED THEY ARE TOO ADORABLE FOR THIS WORLD...okay, I'm good now.

As usual, this is fantastically written and I absolutely love it! Thank you again for doing the swap!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #8, by Claire EvergreenMaking the Reserves: Making it to the Academy

24th January 2016:
Hey! I'm here for our swap!

I am 100% here for any Qudditch related story ever so I'm so happy that I get to read this one! It's not a concept I've ever seen before (a specific Quidditch focused school) and I'm excited to see what you do with it!

I love Molly already. She's different from how I normally see her written (which I will admit is not a lot), but I think you have the basis of a really interesting character here. Obviously this is just a brief introduction of her, but we can already see bits of her larger personality. She's obviously confident in herself just from the interactions we've seen and the fact that she willingly left her friends and team for this academy. There's also that bit of insecurity with the dream at the very beginning and then her love for her family.

I also love how you didn't have her flashing her family name around like she owned the place. I mean, with aunts like Ginny and Angelina and then just the last name Weasley, she could be a lot more cocky about it since she is at a Quidditch academy, but she's really down to earth about it and doesn't flaunt anything. I think you have a really well-rounded character and I'm excited to see what you put her through at the academy.

Sidenote, I'm already in love with Cedric. He had about three lines, but I don't care, I am here for that boy. He better it mess anything up and make me regret this haha.

Lo, this is an amazing start to this story, you have me hooked already! Definitely keep me updated on when you post more!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #9, by Claire EvergreenCold Feet: Cold Feet

24th January 2016:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

I haven't read the story this is a prequel to, but I'm going to have to because now I want to know what the aftermath to all of this was!

I think you did a really good job capturing the emotions throughout the story. I felt nervous just reading it and I love when author's can make their readers feel the same emotions as the characters.

I felt so bad for Sirius throughout the whole story. I was convinced that he was going to call off the wedding when Marlene called him in or he was going to say something to James, but I was pleasantly surprised when he didn't. I knew that someone was going to end it based on the challenge this was for, but I honestly did not expect it to be Marlene. I love that it wasn't Sirius, though, it was a 'twist' that I found refreshing than how he is characterized a lot of the time.

This was a great story, I'll definitely need to stop by again soon! Thank you for doing the swap!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #10, by Claire EvergreenWhen Love Hurts: When Love Hurts

24th January 2016:
Hey, Vicki! Here for our swap!

I'm still trying to process everything that I read. You took me on a roller coaster ride of emotions and I loved it. Honest to god, I thought was going to be about jerks breaking Rose's heart and then her finally deciding she was done and then she was the one who ruined everything. Don't get me wrong, I loved it all. Rose and Teddy is one of those ships that I never think about until I read a story and then I'm 100% behind it.

I love that you chose to tell this story from Rose's PoV. I think it wouldn't have been as emotional had it been from Teddy's, just because he doesn't seem as remorseful as Rose did. It may have just been me, but I thought he was an absolute jerkwad (I couldn't think of a better 12+ word haha) about the whole thing. Like, he was the one who was so behind the affair with Rose and then he basically drops her and 'fixes things' with Victorie? Uh, no sir, that is absolutely not okay, screw you, Victorie should have dumped your sorry butt.

Okay, but anyway, besides Teddy I just felt so bad for everyone else who was involved. Poor Victorie and Scorpius, they don't deserve what happened to it at all. I feel bad that it hurt Rose so much, but I'm so glad that he got out because he deserved so much better. And then poor Rose. Screw Teddy for hurting her so much that she doesn't believe in love anymore. No one should have to feel like that and you did such a wonderful job displaying all of those emotions throughout the story.

Vicki, you actually killed me. This story was amazing, I'm so glad that I picked this one. For some strange reason, I don't actually think I've read many of your stories and I need to fix that ASAP because wow, this was so good! Thank you so much for doing the swap!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire! Thanks so much for the swap!

I'm glad you loved but I am sorry it was bit of an emotional roller coaster, this is what Rose/Teddy does to me! I am so behind them but only in the tragic sense - they work so well when it's all going to go wrong haha.

I think this would only have worked from Rose's POV. Like you said, the emotion would have been lacking from Teddy's POV and I just adore Rose so that's why I did from her POV in the end. He was to a point and I understand why you would say that but he genuinely did have feelings for her but at the same time, he took the easy way out by getting back with Victoire. She should have but in my head, she's the type of person who adores him and so would try her hardest to make it work, despite everything. She's a strong character for taking him back.

No they didn't and I don't think they set out to hurt either of them - it just happened and that's why I tried to make a point of Rose's guilt because she never meant to hurt anyone, especially not Scorpius or her family. Thank you! He really did screw her over and it's Rose who suffers in the end (but tbh, it's so pessimistic at the end because of the quote I had to use otherwise I would have had her find some happiness!)

I hope in a good way! Thank you! Aw, you're the sweetest Claire! Thank you for the swap! I'll definitely be up for some more swaps!

(PS. you are the first person I have ever responded to on the day I actually got the review - I hope you feel special haha!)

-Vicki


 Report Review

Review #11, by Claire EvergreenHefty Headlines: An Expose of Bullying at Hogwarts: Big Girls Don't Cry

22nd January 2016:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

This is a really cool challenge idea and I'm glad that you're taking it on because there is a lack of diverse body types in fanfiction (I know I'm guilty of leaving them out). I think you set up a really interesting character with Constance and a lot of what she said really resonated with me, especially "The life coach never mentioned that it was hard to love yourself when the world didnít love you back." That's such a powerful line and I love that you put it right at the beginning of the story.

I love all the characters you've introduced in this chapter. Normally in the stories that I see, Lorcan is usually really sweet and a lot like his mother. I never seen him be the bully, but I'm looking forward to seeing how to continue with his character. Jayde is actually the best person ever. You can tell that she is the HBIC at Hogwarts and her whole persona is so intriguing, I can't wait until Constance gets to know her better.

I like that you're challenging yourself with writing LGBTQIA+ characters and I think you've got a good start here. My Lysander is also gay (which is what I assume his sexuality here is) and I love that you've paired him with James.

This is such a wonderful start, I can't wait until you update with more!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #12, by Claire EvergreenIgnotia: Ignotia

20th January 2016:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

As ususal, this was brilliantly written. You have such a wonderful writing style and I love reading pretty much all of your stories. Telling this story through letters and entries is such an interesting tactic and you pull it off wonderfully. I love that we don't get everything in chronological order because it really made me want to keep reading to see how everything would fall into place and if Bathilda would tell us what happened between those 'skipped' years. It especially added to the dynamic between Livia and Bathilda since we see their first interaction and the fallout from some meeting before we find out what actually happened between them.

I also love how you've written all of these characters. I've never really stopped to think of Bathilda as more than just the author of a few books, but you've really brought her to life. You can really get a sense of who she is as a person even though the story is told completely through Bathilda's experiences. Her reactions to Livia and Elladora and Kendra and how she acts around Gellert tell a lot about her. I mentioned the order of events before, but jumping around in time helped to solidify her character and why she did the things she did, at least to me.

I never thought that I would read a story focusing on Bathilda, but I'm really glad that I read this one, it was absolutely wonderful!

Claire

 Report Review

Review #13, by Claire EvergreenProblems With Pygmy Puffs: The Final Frontier...

27th October 2015:
Hey Kaitlin! Here for our swap :)

So the second that you said that Star Trek was your fandom for this, so many things clicked with the title and the "illogical" and "set wands to vanish." You worked it all in so well and even though I'm somewhat familiar with the fandom, it still took me a minute to place where everything was from, which lets it stand on its own beyond the challenge.

The whole mental picture of a room filled to the top with rogue Pygmy Puffs was hilarious. And then Fred diving into the piles head first like it was some great sacrifice. I was dying the whole time I was reading this, you did such a great job balancing it all.

Even though I (now) know you were trying to throw in Star Trek references, you did a great job staying true to what we know of Fred and George. You really had a handle on how they would react and their speech at the beginning was spot on. Verity was also a really great addition to the story and she did add a lot besides just helping to push the plot along (I don't know how that came across, but I swear that it was a compliment haha).

All in all, yet another fantastic story. You're killing all of these challenges!

Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire!

Thanks for the swap! I'm always so excited whenever anyone reads this story because I love Star Trek so much.

I'm glad the quotes worked with the story. I don't like it when someone adds a quote and it stands out like a sore thumb, so I was really worried about incorporating that much.

I'm glad the image of Fred diving into the piles came across clearly. I really wanted this to be humorous, but humour is my weakest style, so I'm never quite sure about it.

I'm thrilled that you liked the characterization. Fred and George can be pretty intimidating to write.

Thank you so much for all of your kind words!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #14, by Claire EvergreenDelicate Delacour: Fragile

15th October 2015:
Back again!

I really don't know how you can do so many challenges and still manage to write such amazing and wonderful stories! I mean, if I try to think of more than three at a time then I'm lost, but everything that you've written is just so good!

I don't think I've ever actually read anything that focuses directly Fleur, which I'm really regretting right now because she is such a complex and interesting character and you've done a beautiful job showing that here. The first two paragraphs do a really great job at describing the Fleur that we seem to see in the books from Harry's point of view, but then you go into the Fleur that we get just a glimpse of, the one that could have probably won the Triwizard Tournament if all that other stuff hadn't happened. She just seems so strong even when she's panicked about Bill's injuries.

I think I've decided that you are the master of second person. I swear that almost everything that I've read from you lately has been in 2nd person and every time I'm impressed by how well you do it. I don't think I've ever even attempted to do it, but you are able to really get the reader involved with it. I never feel jarred out of teh story because of the PoV, it always manages to make me feel like I'm part of the story.

Yet another amazing story! I'm still trying to figure out how you do it, but I'm glad I have the chance to read all of these fantastic stories!

Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire,

I honestly try not to focus on more than one thing at a time. I'll spend a day or two mulling over a prompt, write the story, and then move on to the next one. Otherwise, it gets too confusing.

I definitely wanted to try and illustrate how much she's grown in just a few short years. With all the tragedy surrounding her and being on the brink of war, I think she'd shed that delicate girl really quickly. And she definitely could've one. I always disliked that Rowling made her seem so weak in the tournament.

Wow. That's such a huge compliment. *blushes* I do love 2nd person and I like to think that I use it a bit differently than is normal. I'm so happy that you don't find it jarring and that it helps you to feel like you're involved with the story.

Thank you so much for your kind words!

~Kaitlin



 Report Review

Review #15, by Claire EvergreenLivewire: Jolt

14th October 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin! Here for our swap :)

YAS DEAN AND SEAMUS!

Ok, I just needed to get that out of my system really quick. I've never written anything for these two, but I am so in love with the ship it is ridiculous.

This is such a cool, angsty one-shot. I think you really capture the nature of the relationship on both sides without ever even revealing what both of them are feeling. All the emotions are so plausible and I could really feel the electricity as I read. The point of view really helped define the emotions and immerse the reader into the story, since there are no names and everything is told exclusively through first person. You do such a good job with the strange (in a good way!!) PoV and it just adds so much to the story.

I love how you can't tell which character is which as you go through the story. I did find myself trying to figure it out who was who, but it never took away from the story itself. I honestly think it worked better because I was able to really focus in on the emotions instead of who specifically was feeling them (if that makes any sense?).

Gah, I'm sorry, I haven't reviewed in forever, so this is definitely not as good as your story deserved, but I really really do love this so so much! I can't wait to get to the other stories!

Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

YAS! YOU'RE EXCITED ABOUT DEAN AND SEAMUS!

I adore this ship as well.

Eek! This might be the first time anyone has called something I've written cool. I'm excited about that. :D

I'm happy to hear that you could feel the electricity. I wanted this to really play with emotions and I hoped that by leaving who was speaking a bit vague it would allow the reader to imagine it how they liked.

No worries. Your review totally made me smile! Thanks so much!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #16, by Claire EvergreenFirst Kiss: Chapter 1

10th September 2015:
So...I'm so so so so so sorry with how long this has taken me. I just got back to school last week and have had a bit more homework than I was expecting, so...yeah. Anyway, finally here for our swap!

Alright I 100% knew that this was for the Dark Twist challenge which means I knew that it was too good to be true, but I still fell for it. I couldn't tell you why, but I honest to god thought that it was real at that beginning. You painted such a vivid picture, I was totally sold on the thought that this would be some sort of alternate universe where they went to school in seventh year and...yeah.

You nailed the characterizations here. I feel like that may be weird to say, since half of this is a halluination, but idk, you really get Ron here. Just the mannerisms and the reactions to everything were just perfect, especially the temper and the denial. People always talk about Harry's meltdown, but Ron always had that hair trigger temper which got worse whenever he was defending Hermione. And out of the three of them, he's definitely going to be most likely to deny everything.

You are completely right, having your soul sucked out of you by Dementors is horrific. I just *shudders* I don't want to even think about it. But you did an absolutely fantastic job with this story, I loved every bit of it!

Sorry again that this took so long, I really didn't mean for it to.

Claire

 Report Review

Review #17, by Claire EvergreenEyes Like Skies: Your dreamerís eyes light up the way they only do for me

31st August 2015:
Hey! I loved the other one-shot so much that I had to come back for more. Plus, you left me such an amazing review that I felt bad for leaving you such a short one!

I'll admit, the point of view took me a minute to work out, but once I did, I really like the shift from the last one. Getting to see inside Imogen's head was really nice, I loved seeing her side of the relationship. Obviously we know that Dom was head over heels for her, but being able to see that Imogen was just as in love with her was fantastic, especially since it wasn't clear just how into Dom Imogen was in the last one-shot.

Everything about this was just adorable. I love that Imogen actually thinks that Dom can read minds and then tested it out. That was such a cute moment and I felt like it said a lot about her character. In the last one-shot, she seems kind of aloof and extremely confident, but here you see a lot more of her personality and I love it. You can see how vulnerable she is, like she isn't sure of how much Dom like her. It's just so cute and realistic and I love being able to see all side of her.

That whole last section was just so so so so adorable. All of her thoughts about Dom just melted my heart, I love how you've written the relationship between the two of them.

If you ever end up writing another one with these two, you have to let me know, I'd love to read it!

Claire

Author's Response: Hello again, Claire! It's great to have you back! : )

Yeah, the POV in this story is super weird. But, like, these two characters have minds of their own, I swear. Sometimes it feels like I'm just 'looking in' on their life and not actually make anything up myself. Wit this story I actually set out to write something maybe twice as long, about Dom and Imogen's first date and Imogen preparing for it, in third person... and see where I ended up! This is definitely some time after their first date, I'd say, haha! Buuut I had to write it this way, or Imogen just wouldn't cooperate, stubborn girl!

I think Imogen projects a lot of self-assurance to protect herself, but I also think she is genuinely pretty self-assured for reals too. But love makes us all a little more insecure, doesn't it? Especially when we're young. Like, Imogen is sixteen, and the schools 'objectively' most beautiful girl, who moreover is in the year above Imogen, is suddenly her girlfriend! It must seem a little too good to be true, haha. But she's also definitely much more secure in where she stands with Dom in this one, as she's willing to show her softer side and not just her 'cockiness'.

I'm actually already vaguely planning a third story about these lovebirds, where they have their first fight! Then we'll get to see Imogen's feistier side again, and we'll find out that Dom has some teeth too! So a little darker than these two first love fests, but a good relationship should be able to handle a few fights, right? I'll make sure to let you know when I get it on paper (or screen, rather, haha).

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #18, by Claire EvergreenMoment of Clarity: In These Walls

31st August 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle.

So...wow. Ok. Hold on, I just need to get myself together for a moment. That was...oh my god, this was so good!! I'm trying to find the words, but nothing is coming to mind right now. This was just absolutely brilliant, I love everything about it. There were so many emotions in this and I'm trying to process everything that I feel about it.

I love that you chose to write this from Alice's POV. I can honestly say that I've never read anything with her as the main character, but man, I really love this!! Had it been from Neville or Augusta's POV, it definitely would not have been as powerful. Being able to get into her mind and see how everything started to click before it faded away again was heartbreaking to say the least. I can't begin to imagine the pain that everyone must have felt when she remembered only to slip away again.

Those quotes (idk what else to call them haha) between all of the moments with Alice make everything just hurt so much more. Knowing that they knew what might happen but still going ahead with it anyway was awful (in a good way). Sure, the Healer told them what could happen, but even with that warning, it'd be hard not to get your hopes up when she starts to remember everything. I was almost in tears when I read that last section, it was just so powerful.

OH MY GOD THE GUM WRAPPER AT THE END I CAN'T

This was beautiful, I loved every part of it. You did an amazing job conveying all the emotions throughout it. Absolutely fantastic!

Claire

Author's Response: Hiya Claire!

I almost feel like I should apologize for the amount of emotions I put you through...but at the same time, it was kind of my intention. I know it's terrible, but like, it's a moment I've had stuck in my head for the last two years, as I work with people who have dementia, and I know those moments of lucidity are so well sought after but at the same time, like, they're really hard. It's hard to see them know only to go back to not knowing.

I also agree with you. This piece would have lost some of its strength if it had been from a different POV. That's not to say a one-shot from Neville's POV won't show up sometime, but like, it was so much more personal and tragic to see a firsthand moment of knowing and then not. And it's really not easy to write either, as I don't know how that feels to go through something like that, but I think I got enough of the feel for it from the reactions I've seen in reviews.

Also, for the italic quotes (I don't know what to call them either, honestly...never thought about it...), those were actually what started this all. I had a hard day at work, wrote a little thing about it and then put it aside. When I went back to it earlier this year, suddenly I was struck by how it could be a walkthrough of Alice having one of those moments, and it was just what I needed to write.

And I will not speak about the last section. I was almost in tears writing it. It's just so tragic to take that away and then the gum wrapper...yeah.

Thank you so, so much for reading and sharing your thoughts in a review. This is one of the pieces I'm most proud of writing and the fact that it affects other people reading it as much as it affected me writing it...well, it means a lot. Again, thank you for the review! I really appreciate it.

-Mikaela


 Report Review

Review #19, by Claire EvergreenRed Silk: A girl with red hair soft as velvet, glossy as silk

30th August 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

Wow. You packed so much into such a short story, I love it! You said a lot in just 500 words and you didn't really have to say anything at all. The whole part at the beginning about Dom and Vic and how all the boys were falling all over them because of their Veela blood was perfect. It was so realistic how it was the boys fawning over them and how they all thought that it would be one of them that she ended up with. And that whole part about how "love only can blossom inside the hallowed halls of Hogwarts" was spot on. I think every teenager thinks that high school is the only place for them to ever find 'true love.'

Your descriptions are fantastic in this! I mean, I can picture Imogen so clearly and you only had 500 words to do it. Her hair sounds absolutely gorgeous and I want it really badly. Plus, (this might sound bad) you can so clearly tell that Imogen is a Slytherin, without you even having to say it. She just has that cocky attitude that I think both Gryffindors and Slytherins have and you can tell that she is going after what she wants, no doubts about it. I love her as a character already and it's only been 500 words!

Did I mention that I think it's crazy that you did all this in only 500 words?

This is amazing, I'm so glad we swapped so I got to read it! I'll definitely have to check out your other oneshot about them!

Claire

Author's Response: Yay, review swapping was so fun! Thanks for the (two!) review(s), Claire!

Hehe, everyone keeps saying how I got so much story into so few words and I'm starting to run out of things to say back, haha. Thanks! I know! This story basically wrote itself - it was based on a dream, actually - and it sort of decided its own perfect length.

And yeah, I definitely remember having the feeling that I had to find true love at age ~sixteen or I'd basically die alone, haha. It's such a fun image to me, all these boys thinking that this is their one shot at getting to be with a part Veela (though Dom and Vic are only what, 1/8 Veela?) as if the Wizarding world isn't super small and they'll keep meeting each other all the time after they quite Hogwarts too. And then, obviously, Dominique isn't interested in any of them, which makes it even sillier!

I think the reason why Imogen is so vivid in this is that it was written for the Banner Challenge, and I had the beautifully recoloured picture of Emma Stone to look at for inspiration. I really love the hair colour that Missatron gave her, it's lovely and pretty much wrote half the story for me. I also got her being a Slytherin from the sly way she's looking over her shoulder, actually, haha. Ah, I hope in the next story I write about these two I'll get more into Imogen's 'cocky attitude' as you write because it's definitely there and a very important part of her character.

(You might have noticed that the description of Dominique herself in Eyes Like Skies isn't as detailed visually at all, but I tell myself that this is because Imogen isn't as visually minded a person as Dom is, and not that it's because I got lazy, haha. : P )

I'm really happy we swapped too, because while I had 'to the end of time' on my reading list I'm super glad I got to experience it now instead of in like a year or whenever I would have finally gotten to it! : P

/Kapa


 Report Review

Review #20, by Claire EvergreenThe Marauders: Everyone

27th August 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

So I will warn you now, the Marauders is pretty much my favorite era to write and read about, so my headcanons for them are pretty crazy.

That being said, I absolutely love everything about this story. The characterizations are spot on and the whole setting and mood of it all is just perfect. You've done a wonderful job introducing all of the characters to the readers, especially in such a short period when not much (plot wise, that is) happens.

Marlene is amazing. What Bellatrix did to her is awful and horrible, but she managed to get up and push past it without really letting her friends (besides Mary) know how much it probably affected her. She just seems so strong and outgoing, you've done a fantastic job introducing her.

I love love love your Sirius and James. They're two of my favorite fictional characters ever and you've just done such an amazing job with them. I like how they still have that bit of cockiness about them, but it's not their entire personality. You can tell they both really care about their friends and would do pretty much anything for them. The way that James realizes that Lily doesn't like his advances is really refreshing, since most fics seem to jump straight from them hating each other to dating. I also love that you have Sirius as the one who is falling in love. Normally it's the other way around, but I think this way fits more with his character.

You have an amazing set up here, I can't find the words to say everything that I want to! The balance between friends and the war is perfect and I can't wait to see how everything ends up. I'll definitely be back for more! Fantastic job!

Claire

Author's Response: Aw thank you for coming to review! I forgot about the BvB Battle!

The Marauders are my babies too. I bought the Primark "I solemnly swear that I am up to no good" t shirt yesterday. Best purchase I have ever made, in my opinion!

I've had these head canons floating around for a while but I'd never managed to fit them into anything I was writing at the time. Then I was rewatching Skins and the format of that show is that each episode focuses around one character, but the plot still manages to move forward, so I thought I'd give that a try. The next chapter in the queue actually takes a step back to the point of view of someone who just watches on the sidelines, but still knows most of what's going on (because she knows everything - you'll see who it is soon enough!)

I adore Marlene. I wish there were more fics about her on HPFF. Everyone has a different idea of who she is and I love seeing how different people write her. That being said, Blackinnon is my OTP so I personally don't think I could ever write a fic about Marlene and one of the Prewitt twins, for example. They are still fun to read though!

I really want to delve deeper into what happened between Mary and Mulciber. It's never really outright said in the short scene we see between Lily and Snape after they decide to go their separate ways, but I'm not sure how far I'll take it. I don't want to make it too violent and go against the T&C's. That being said, she's definitely terrified of him. I'm writing her chapter now and I want to explore her a little more.

Gosh I'm really rambling here. I love James & Sirius. I love James and Lily. I want to write scenes in the future about Sirius and Lily becoming best friends because of James. I never really see scenes like that in fics! I think Lily is going to be in denial for a little longer about James, though.

Thank you so much for your review, it's made my day! :)


 Report Review

Review #21, by Claire EvergreenKeep Calm and Carry On: A Guide to Keeping Calm and Coffee Stains

24th August 2015:
Hey! Here for our swap and the BvB!

Wizarding politics? Oh my god, I am so down for this. The topic has always confused me and I never knew where to begin with it, so I am so excited to see your take on everything.

Those first three lines killed me. That's such a fantastic introduction to Lorcan and to the tone of the story. I love how much you can figure out about Lorcan's personality just from his actions. You never come out and say 'I am [insert personality trait here]," but there's just so much in there: his clumsiness, his distractability, his singlemindedness. You've managed to pack so much into this one chapter characterization wise, it's fantastic!

You also picked a great place to dump us into the action. There was the perfect balance of giving the reader an idea of what goes on during a normal day and setting the inciting incident for the rest of the story. I really like how you show us what everyone does instead of just telling. I mean, obviously you do say that Lorcan is a speechwriter, but you do it in a very organic way; it doesn't seem forced just for the sake of telling the reader something.

I'm really excited to see how the relationships between everyone play out as the story goes on. You've set up a really interesting plot and given us some really fun characters and I can't wait to see what you do with them!

Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire! Sorry it's taken me so long to respond to your review, and thank you for all your kind words!

Haha to be honest it confuses me too...I have to make up so much stuff along the way and I wasn't prepared for that when I started! It's way more than I expected. Anyway I hope I live up to your expectations!

Ahh thanks so much for your comments on Lorcan's character! The whole idea of "showing vs telling" is something I'm really working on in my writing right now so I'm really excited that you think it's working on Lorcan! That's something I really struggled with in my earlier writing but it seems like I'm improving. :D And I love the first three lines so I'm glad you thought they were good!

The idea of the action in this story (Shacklebolt resigning) really came out of nowhere when I started writing so I'm happy you like it! It's a pretty intense time to start off the story but hopefully I can keep it up.

I hope you enjoy the rest of the story if you get a chance to check it out! :) Thanks again for the review and swap!

--J


 Report Review

Review #22, by Claire EvergreenActions Speak Louder than Words: Bereft: Scorpius POV

24th August 2015:
Hey, Beth! Here for our swap!

So it's been a while since I've read this story, but I still remember everything that happened and that's definitely a testament to your fantastic writing. It feels like I never took a break!

I really like how you split the flashback up into two chapters. I think it would have been a lot to process all together, but splitting it up like this made it easier to focus on everything. I love seeing more into Scorpius's past and it most definitely changed what I assumed about him before. All of his reactions were extremely realistic and I could completely understand why he reacted the way he did.

I'm not gonna lie, I was trying so hard not to laugh at Mr. Miller's reactions to Harry and Ron. Seeing two full grown wizards (and Aurors at that), one of which was extremely angry at the time, storming through your house must have been more than a bit terrifying, so I can't blame him for freaking out.

Ugh, Rose. She is so wonderful in this! I just love your Rose so much, both in the present day and the flashbacks. She's just such a well-rounded and dynamic character, I love reading about her. The way that she is so determined to comfort Scorpius and let him know that she is there for him is such a contrast to the Rose in the first two chapters and it really drives home how awful whatever happened between her and her friends was. For her to go from this Rose-standing up to her father while sitting half-dressed in the bed of a boy-to the one who had to constantly remind herself that she needed to get dressed really makes me want to continue on and figure out what the heck happened.

This is so amazing, you're killing me with all of the suspense and mystery!! I definitely will not be able to wait as long before coming back again.

Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire!

Yay! You picked my novel - thanks so much. I know it has a bunch of reviews, but I really don't get tired of people choosing this story because I've put so, so much time into it -so thank you!

Gah!! You're too kind - I'm so glad you remembered what was going on.

I originally put the flashback scene all into one chapter and it seemed a bit long to have all together, so I'm glad you like it split up. And I had such a blast writing Uncle Phil, the Muggle. I think I would act similarly to him if two Wizard Aurors showed up at my house - haha!

Yes! You *totally* get Rose - I'm doing a happy dance right now. She is all of those things you said - and she's got to fight her way back to her real self.

Thanks again Claire - let me know if you ever want to do a swap again!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #23, by Claire EvergreenThe Sorrows Of The Moon: Catechisms

24th August 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin, here for our swap!

Oh my goodness, this is absolutely amazing! It's such an interesting concept for a story and I love how you wrote it. Not only am I impressed that you were able to write this in second person, it really adds to the whole feel of the story.I could really get into it and imagine everything that Madeline was feeling and seeing. I think your choice of POV really made the story come to life and added to everything that you were going for.

Your descriptions were absolutely fantastic here. Everything was so vivid which, coupled with the second person POV, made it extremely easy to picture everything that Madeline was seeing and feeling. I loved your descriptions of the moon and its effects on Madeline. Without ever saying the word 'werewolf.' you already gave the reader everything that they needed to figure it out, way before you even start to mention the transformation. Which, by the way, was wonderfully written. I loved how you described it and what she said at the end tied everything together so wonderfully.

This is a fantastic one-shot, I love everything about it! Amazing job, as usual :)

Claire

 Report Review

Review #24, by Claire EvergreenThe Kings and Queens of Hogwarts : Just Another Marauders Day

24th August 2015:
Hey, here for our swap!

I'm so happy that this is a Marauders story since it's my favorite era.

I do like how you started off the story. It's an interesting and unusual way to introduce character, but I felt like it really fit with the rest of your story. Everything that you wrote about in the mini bios was apparent in the story itself and then you did a really nice job expanding on all of the personality traits with their mannerisms and in the conversations they have. I liked the take that you had on everyone, especially Dorcas. Most of the time I see her as quiet and reserved, more of a background character, but I really like how you have her front and center with her relationship with James and Sirius.

This kind of goes back to how you introduced your characters, but I really like the feel of the story. It kind of reminds me of a TV show, you know? Like with the introduction of each of the characters made me think of a TV intro and then the story itself read like I was watching a TV show. Which is really good, by the way. I love that I was able to picture everything so clearly and really have it play out in my head. You did a really great job of setting the scene and defining each of the individual characters.

This is a great setup for the rest of the story and I'm really interested in seeing how you weave all of the other characters into the plot. Fantastic job, I'll definitely be back soon for another review!

Author's Response: Hey!

Thank you so much for such a nice review! :)

Marauders is my favourite era too! They just seem so fun :)

I've had pretty mixed reviews on the way I started the story, but I'm glad that you liked it and I'm glad that I was able to keep true to the characters in your view :) I get what you mean about the Dorcas thing and to me she just can'y have been so shy and quiet if Voldemort ends up killing her personally. I think she must have been really outrageous to get his attention and make him want to kill her so badly!

I hadn't thought about t being like a TV show, but I guess you're kind of right! :) I'm glad you think it works as well! I'm so glad you thought it was clear as well :)

Thank you so much for the review! I will most definitely welcome any more you have in the future!

Katie :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by Claire EvergreenIt's All In Your Head: Chapter One

23rd August 2015:
Hey! Here for the review swap!

I love the setup you have for Lorcan in the beginning of the first chapter. I havenít read too many fics with Lorcan as the main character, but from what Iíve seen of those few, your Lorcan is much different. I like that you didnít make him completely scatterbrained and out there, but you could definitely tell that he is Lunaís kid. The fact that he's so excited about being made Head Boy and is convinced that it's going to make his year better says a lot about his character. Maybe it's just me, but I'd figure that most kids would see it as a huge responsibility before they saw it as a way to improve their year.

So now looking back on the chapter, I finally realize why Rolf was so distant and cold towards Lorcan. At first, I just assumed that it was his personality and that was why Lorcan didn't seem too concerned about it, but now that I know what's going on, it makes a lot more sense. Of course he's going to be upset that his son refuses to accept his daughter for who she wants to be. And it also makes a lot more sense as to why Rolf reacted so strongly to Lorcan calling her Lysander.

I think you set up Lorcan's attitude towards his sister really well. Obviously it's going to be really jarring to suddenly have someone you've considered a guy for over 16 years suddenly come out and say that they're actually a girl and it has to be even more startling when it's your twin. You handled his attitude really well and even though I'd never agree with Lorcan, I found myself believing why he would act the way he did.

This is such an interesting story, I'm definitely going to have to stop by again to keep reading! Thanks for swapping with me!

Claire

Author's Response: Hello, Claire!

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I also haven't read too many stories featuring Lorcan, which was actually helpful, as it meant I didn't have to combat preconceived ideas of what he should be like.

To me, Lorcan is definitely an achiever, and definitely emotionally stunted. To me Rolf has a very different (though compatible) personality than Luna, and while you were accurate as to why Rolf felt uncomfortable with Lorcan in is chapter, but your initial impression that he has a distant personality is also accurate. The personalities and relationship of his parents has a definite effect on Lorcan, and I'll explore that directly a bit in later chapters.

I am glad that you can understand where Lorcan is coming from. It is a difficult story to write as I try to create that balance of sympathy for Lorcan while also writing about him doing and saying some unforgivable things. I can only imagine it's a similar struggle as a reader.

I have just returned to writing this story and there will definitely be updates coming soon!

Thank you very much for the swap.

Sam.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>