Reading Reviews From Member: Claire Evergreen
  
21 Reviews Found

Review #1, by Claire EvergreenBruises : Bruises

11th March 2015:
Hey! Here for your review swap.

I have chills after reading this story. It's so fantastically written and the even though I knew what was going to happen, I still hoped that it would end up differently.

Not gonna lie, I actually had to look up who Emmeline was because I couldn't for the life of me remember if she was an actual character in the book or not. But even so, I loved how you wrote her. She was a believable character who acted like a real person. I think it actually made the story more effective since you used a character who doesn't have that immediate connection (at least in the books) to the Marauders + Lily. I can't really explain how, but it does, just take my word for it haha.

I love love love the atmosphere that you create, even from the first few paragraphs. You can feel the tension that the war created and it stays with you throughout the entire one-shot. I know that I have the hardest time trying to get that tone, but you did perfectly!

I also love all of the foreshadowing that you throw in. I mean, obviously the second you mention Halloween and the Potters, everyone knows what's coming, but you played everything out so wonderfully! The thing with Peter in Hogsmeade and then him not coming to the party was perfect. The whole part at the end with Emmeline and Sirius before he leaves to check on Peter and then when she woke was just awful, such a great scene.

I don’t want to say I have emotional scars, because scars never disappear. Scars stay with you forever and I tend to think that I’m stronger than that. What I’ve had were emotional bruises. Bruises do fade after a while, but while they’re there, they hurt like hell. Wow what a powerful way to end the story. Such a fantastic few lines.

I love this story, it's so fantastically written (I've said this like a hundred times already, but it's so true) and I just love everything about it. Great job!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #2, by Claire EvergreenDark Birthright: A Muggle in the Ministry

10th March 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Battle!

This is definitely a very intriguing story. I can't say that I've ever come across a Muggle working for the Ministry, so I'm interested to see where you go with this.

Already you have me interested in Julia's brother (I'm going to guess that he was a wizard, just based on the fact that he worked in the Ministry, but I definitely could be wrong). I'm also curious to find out how he actually died. I'm going to guess now that his death had something to do with whatever Julia discovered.

Speaking of her brother, I love how you started off the chapter with her brother's death in a way. It really set up the story well and gave an idea of one of the main themes (war? I'm guessing?) of the rest of your story. Similarly, the way that you established the time period without saying "This takes place during Harry's fifth year" was really well done. The little mention of the attack on Arthur and the picture from the world cup was slipped in so well. The mention at the very end of the chapter about the "one person who is lying low right now" was a pretty clever way of giving even more hints to the setting (even if that wasn't intentional).

I'm also quite interested in the ability that Julia has to sort of neutralize magic in a way. I'll have to keep reading to figure it out, but it certainly intrigued me. You do a good job of setting up just enough in this chapter to keep readers interested while keeping just enough from the audience to get them to keep reading. That's something that can be pretty tricky to balance, so well done there!

I think you have a great set up here for the rest of your story. I'll have to come back when I have time to read more! Great job!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi, thanks so much for the lovely review, I appreciate it very much. I'm really pleased that you seem to have picked up on all the points that will come into the story again later on.I'd absolutely love it if you came back to later chapters. Thanks again!

 Report Review

Review #3, by Claire EvergreenHurricane Luna: They Meet in a Tree

7th March 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Challenge!

Even though I know that Luna does end up with Rolf, I am still in complete denial that she and Neville never ended up together, so I've never actually read any Luna/Rolf, but I'm already in love with this and it's only chapter one!

Rolf sounds fantastic! From what I've heard and read in Next Gen fics, most people seem to have Rolf be kinda spacey and strange, kind of how Luna came across when we first met her. But I think I much rather prefer this Rolf to that. It makes complete sense that since he went into the same field as his grandfather, he would constantly be overshadowed by his grandfather's work. His whole personality in this is just so different from what I normally see in fics, but I love it so much!

Also, the fact that he found a species of flying fish and called them firds just makes me love the giant dork even more haha.

I feel like Luna is a difficult character to write since it would be so easy to make her this spacey, weird girl that everyone things is strange, but from what you have in this chapter, it seems like you do a really great job of staying true to her character. She very obviously Luna and she mentions the Quibbler and speaks in a sing-song voice, but it never gets over the top.

Aw, I'm a sucker for the whole 'dislike to friendship to relationship' stories, so you have me completely hooked on this. I know it was part of the quote you were given, but I love the fact that he called her "Hurricane Luna." I know it was supposed to be an insult, but it was just so cute and I really hope it comes back at some point.

Such a cute concept! I'm going to have to come back to read more. I'm hooked!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire,

Sorry for taking so long to get to this reply. This review was so lovely - and I really appreciate you giving the story a chance, considering you're not a Luna/Rolf shipper.

I'm so happy you liked my version of Rolf. I know that he is often characterized as you said - sort of like the female version of Luna. But I felt like she really needed some sort of balance. I also thought that Rolf would *need* her in a way that no one else does.

Thanks again! I can't wait to hear what you think of the rest!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #4, by Claire EvergreenBreak Up With Him: Break Up With Him

6th March 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Challenge!

I will say that I don't ever read Jily-centric fics, but I figured I'd try out one of yours and I'm really glad I did because it's so cute!

I'm so so so so so glad that you had them actually be friends before they got together. So many people have Lily hating James up until their seventh year and then suddenly having a change of heart and getting together, but that makes no sense. A+ for changing it up!

I do have extremely extensive headcanons for the Marauders, but I really like your characterization for all them, especially Sirius and James. Sirius did have that confident-borderline-arrogant personality, but he could also be (pardon the pun) serious enough to have an actual conversation with Lily. James, too, came across much more mature than I'm assuming he would have been in earlier years, which perfectly fits with what we know from canon. Both of them act like actual people who have matured from when they were younger.

Liv seems like a wonderful friend for Lily. It's really obvious that the two of them are very different, but not so much that it would seem strange that they were friends.

I just really like your characterization for everyone in this story, it was really well done! I'm so glad I got to read this! Great job!

-Claire

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked it! The friends-before-dating thing seemed so obvious to me since we know nothing for a 15+ month span between OWLS & them starting to date and I figured their relationship would have to change over their 6th year.

I'm glad you liked the characterizations as well! Such sweet comments.

Thanks for the lovely review! =)


 Report Review

Review #5, by Claire EvergreenNot entirely true: Toast to that

4th March 2015:
Hey! Here from the BvB Review Battle!

Another great chapter! I'm really excited to see how you play out the whole Quidditch World Cup thing. I love Qudditch, so the fact that it's the one of the main points of the story makes me really happy!

I really like how you flesh out Maddie's character more in this chapter. I know I said in my last review that you tend to tell and not show, but I feel like really showed us more of Maddie's character in this chapter. The whole "checking the lock three times" thing really showed how she can be somewhat neurotic and then you also showed that she has a somewhat short temper, but is also quite open to new things. You never explicitly stated any of that in the chapter, but the way that you wrote things really conveyed those things to me at least, so wonderful job there!

There are certain places that you could really elaborate on things and focus on that showing, not telling idea. I didn't notice it much in this chapter except for the very beginning when they are still at Maddie's house. It's really little things, like showing Josh is displeased with the idea of Maddie wanting to be sexy by explaining his facial expressions or throwing in bits of his own internal thoughts. Like I said, this stuff was really minor, you still do a good job of writing this.

This is just a side note, but since I know that English is not your first language and most of your experience comes from speaking it, I was wondering if you had ever tried taking your chapter and putting it through Google translate with both boxes set to English? You could have it read out the chapter to you and that might help you with flow? I'm not saying that your flow is bad (it's actually really good and I'm still going to forever be impressed by your ability to write this story), but it was just something I was thinking of as I read.

Another great chapter! I'll have to come back for more!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hello Claire,

thank you for reviewing this chapter!

I tried doing more "showing" rather than "telling" in my latest chapter, I'm grateful you mentioned that in your previous review. Once I finish this story I will take time to re-write it and I will make sure to throw "showing" here and there :)

I never thought of running my chapters through google translator using English to English option. I just have the worst experience with it translating articles from other languages to English that I never thought to try it your way. I will most likely give it a short next time out of curiosity!

Thank you again,

Monika


 Report Review

Review #6, by Claire EvergreenCatch My Breath: Invisible

22nd February 2015:
Hey! Here for our review swap!

Straight off the bat, I'm just going to warn you about slipping too far into the cliches of this era. Not that anything you've written is bad (I like it and I'm probably going to keep reading after this), I just don't want people to disregard your story because of it.

Anyway, I like Lena and especially her relationship with Ethan. It's nice to see siblings who actually get along that are not Wotters (also, A+ for using that name haha). I'm excited to see how that relationship plays out!

I also really love how you mixed up the ages of the Wotters, even if it's just slightly. Normally you see James, Fred, and Dom and then Al, Rose, and Scorpius, so I really like that you threw Louis into the mix! I don't read enough stories with him in it.

Fintan is such a cool name. I just had to throw that in there. Plus, I'm a sucker for any Finnigan kid.

I'm excited to keep reading this! Great job, keep up the good work!

-Claire

Author's Response: Thanks for your review!

 Report Review

Review #7, by Claire Evergreen(Soul)Mates: Prologue: Mates

20th February 2015:
Hey, Amanda! Here for our swap!

I really like this, it's so cute! I can totally imagine all of them packed into the living room of the Burrow together and the atmosphere that must be around that house two months after the Battle.

“This coming from the two men who were out strolling through the orchard together at night,” she replied, turning to raise an eyebrow at George as he stepped out of the darkness right behind Lee. “It is quite romantic. I’m so sorry for interrupting your date.” -- I'm not gonna lie, I completely thought they were actually going to be a couple in this story, but I still like how you wrote their friendship. AND PRAISE THE LORD YOU ACTUALLY INCLUDED LEE IN A STORY. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.

This is a really nice concept, I'll have to come back when you've added more chapters! Great job!

-Claire

Author's Response: Claire,

I'm so happy you enjoyed it! I really tried to be true I felt the Burrow would be like after the war. The Weasleys are such a close knit family, that feel like they'd be torn between devastation and wanting to move on together. I'm glad you enjoyed Lee's role in the story so far. He's been wonderful to write, since he's such a minor character in the books and that gives me a lot of creative leeway. When I wrote the part with him and George, I knew it came across very couple-like, but I figured that made it funnier :) Thanks for reviewing!

Amanda


 Report Review

Review #8, by Claire EvergreenUgly Eloise: Chapter 1

20th February 2015:
Hey, Kaitlin! Here for our swap :)

Awww, this is too cute! Not that I read a lot of Hogwarts-era stories, but I've never seen one that has Eloise as the main character. I honestly only vaguely remember her from the books, so it's so cool that you used her as the main character! (I don't know if you were assigned her for the challenge, but either way, I still really like it!)

This is just too cute. The whole exchange between her and Justin was perfect. He was exactly as I imagined him: that guy who everyone likes but is just a genuinely nice person. He and Eloise work perfectly together with the way you've characterized him!

Such an adorable one-shot, I love it! Thank you so much for doing the swaps!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire,

Thanks for swapping with me again!

So the only thing I remember about Eloise from the HP books was how everyone made fun of her acne and off center nose. I actually was not assigned her character. For some reason, she just popped into my head and it all started flowing from there.

I'm happy that Justin was as you imagined him. In the books, I also imagined him to be just a nice, likable guy, so I expanded on that a bit.

Thanks again for taking the time out to do these reviews!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #9, by Claire EvergreenTo Fear A Full Moon: Chapter 1

20th February 2015:
Hey! I'm here for the review swap :)

I love that Pansy was the main character of this. It's not often that I read a story where she's characterized in the way that you did and it's brilliant! She always seems to be that nasty, vindictive girl who no one likes, but you seemed to be able to convey the very little we know about her from canon in a way that didn't box into that type of character.

The way you wrote in her prejudices was so good. It fit in so well with her character, but it's not like you had her ranting and raving about how terrible werewolves her. She just knew what she had been taught and would spew it back when prompted. That's so true of most internalized prejudices; they typically don't smack you in the face, they just come out whenever the person is asked.

The one thing I will say is that I wish this was longer! It'd be wonderful if you could expand on everything and flesh out all of the little moments you've written about here. It'd be so neat to see all of her interactions with John and really get inside her head after she was attacked by him. There's so much you could do here! I mean, obviously this is fantastic as it is, but ah there's so much potential! I hope you get the chance to expand this one day!

This is so good! I absolutely love it!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi Claire,

Pansy was so much fun to write. I actually was assigned her character for The Lycanthropy Challenge and I really wanted to take her out of the usual mean girl stereotype. I feel like no one is ever always evil or always good, so I wanted to provide a bit of humanity to her.

Her deeply ingrained beliefs were her downfall, but also the catalyst for her evolution as a character. You are absolutely right in the fact that most people don't walk around spewing their beliefs.

I originally just wanted to write a one-shot about this, but after all of the feedback, I may write a novel featuring Pansy somewhere down the road.

Thanks again for the lovely review!

~Kaitlin


 Report Review

Review #10, by Claire EvergreenNot entirely true: Truth Is Out

20th February 2015:
Hey! Here for the BvB Review challenge!

I like the premise to your story. It's not the freshest topic to write about, but you handle it well and I like the direction you're taking it. The timing of it all is nice, I like how it balances the time between the actual canon books and Next Gen. Most of the things in this 'era' focus on the main HP characters, so I like how you added in your own OCs and made them the center of the story.

Just a few nitpicks: you do a really good job of providing backstory to your characters without getting too caught up and buried in it. The one thing I would say is that you do a bit more telling than showing. Maybe just throw in more of the characters thoughts and actions instead of just directly telling us what they are feeling. Like, if Maddie is nervous, give her a tell, like twisting her hair or twirling a ring on her fingers or biting her nails. Just something that shows the reader how she feels without having to explicitly state it.

You have a really nice setup for the rest of the story (I like how Josh is working with the Quidditch World Cup, that's really cool!), it just feels a little bit rushed in some places. Like, I said, you set up everything really nicely, I think you just tried to pack a lot into one chapter.

I do like your dialogue, though. It flows very nicely and fits in with the characters you have. I know I struggle with my own dialogue a lot, but yours is really believable!

I noticed in your chapter summary that you said this was your first story written in English and I have to say, if you hadn't put that in there I never would have guessed that English isn't your native language! The writing and mechanics really are spot on, so kudos to you for that! I don't think I'll ever have the talent to be able to write a short story in another language!

Overall, you have a wonderful setup to everything! Keep up the good work!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hello Claire!

Thank you for choosing this story to review!

What you wrote is really helpful, especially the part where you said I should do include more descriptions and thoughts. I will keep that in mind when I write more chapters :)

I guess dialogue is easier for me to write, because most of my experience with English is in fact talking to other people; only had proper English class for two years. I just realized that haha.

And thank you so much for being so nice about my language skills, it means a lot :)

Monika


 Report Review

Review #11, by Claire EvergreenPride and Scorpius: Well met on the Hogwarts Express

13th February 2015:
Hey! I'm here for the BvB Review challenge!

I'm pretty sure Scorpius and Rose was the very first thing I shipped from Next Gen and I haven't read a Scorose fic in so long, so this was so much fun to read!

I really like the friendship you have set up between Rose and Al. I know so many people just lump them together as friends since they're the same age, but I do like the little back and forth you have going between them and I'm excited to see how you flesh everything out between them!

Just a couple quick little nitpicks. I think you have a good opening first few lines; they set the scene well and introduce the main character. They just felt a bit wordy to me? I'm so bad at being concise, but I think taking one of the "trains" out of the first line would help?

Also, I totally get where you're coming from with Scorpius speaking a bit more formally than normal and I was going to say something else before I noticed Rose point it out. I like it, it's a nice touch, just maybe tone it down a bit? Like, keep the more formal tone, but just throw in a few contractions or something every now and then, only because Scorpius is eleven. But I like that element of his character, so don't completely get rid of it!

Speaking of Scorpius, I really love the way you've characterized him. The timidness and lack of self-confidence work really well in the story you've set up and it's nice to see a different view of him. Also, Ravenclaw Scorpius has been growing on me a lot lately (even though he will always be in Hufflepuff in my heart haha), so I like that he would consider that basically his first choice since he ruled everything else out.

I also like how you set up fall out from the War. I haven't read your other story, so I assume that Al not knowing the name Malfoy right off the bat and the Malfoy name not being prominent links back to that? Even if it doesn't, it's a nice touch, not one that I've seen in a fic before.

Obviously you've already written quite a few chapters for this, but I think you have a really nice set up here! I'll definitely have to come back and read some more when I have more time!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi there, thanks for the BvB

The first shipping I read was Harry/Ginny but somehow I transformed my main ship into Rose/Scorpius and when I did, I fell into it so hard that I'm never coming back.

But that's exactly what they were, lumped together. James was James, rambunctious and fitting in with a lot more of the cousins sooner. Albus and Rose, not being nearly as exuberant and over-the-top as some of their more colourful cousins, sought out each other and became firm friends. I take the tack that: Albus leans more to the Potter side of his personality, whereas his other two siblings are more Weasley; Rose is a Weasley yes, but with a fair bit of Granger in her. Their friendship is going to take a hit - when Albus and Scorpius become friends and when Rose gets Dawnsfirstbloom - but it should always be there (you wait till when they tryout for Quidditch together).

Oh, I just re-read it and there certainly are a lot of trains. Due to the way this site allows you to ask for beta readers, this chapter wasn't thoroughly vetted - I might have to go back and fix it up a bit. I'm glad you think it establishes the scene, I wanted my story to start exactly where D.H. left off.

Scorpius does speak a bit formally - there is a reason for it and it will be fully explained later on. I couldn't explain it to the readers straight away because the story is from Rose's point of view and she doesn't know. I'm afraid that the exact reason will not be explained to you until it is explained to her (somewhere around chapter sixteen or so).

As for Scorpius toning it down a bit, well I'm sorry, but it's going to get even worse in a few chapters to come (chapter seven, from memory). There are good narrative reasons for it, as well as character ones, and I think you will understand why and when he becomes even more formal.

There are so many nasty and arrogant Scorpius'es out there, not that I mind that, but for the purposes of my story I wanted to try something different. In P&P, which I'm modeling this upon, Darcy at the beginning is very arrogant indeed. Since it is Rose who has most of the faults of Darcy (and Lizzy too, funnily enough), then she has to be the arrogant one. Arrogant though is too strong a word though, she is very self assured and confident in herself and her abilities.

Scorpius, whatever else, does not want to make the same mistakes his father did and Draco too doesn't want his son to be the sort of person he was back in school. One of the reasons Scorpius was so afraid of the reaction he'd get (especially from the children of Harry and Ron) was because his dad has been honest with him, brutally honest.

As to where he gets sorted, you will have to wait for chapter four to find out.

Yes I believe that there would have been some fall-out from the War, Scorpius' way of speaking is actually one facet of that. In the first chapter of the other story, Harry appears at the trial of Draco. From what he does there you can see that he puts the past in the past, draws a line under it and moves on. So he hasn't ever bad-mouthed Draco in front of his children and whenever he's talked of him, he has referred to him as Draco and not Malfoy. Yes, Albus not knowing the name of Malfoy was a big ask, especially for some of my readers, but I thought the attempt was worth it - from both what it says about his father as well as how it starts their friendship off. It also shows that since the war, Draco must have kept his head down and the name of Malfoy off people's radar.

Yes it is all set up, lots and lots of set up, before the romance bits can start in later years.

Thank you for the swap. As of this review the total reads for the story are 585 and this chapter has exactly 200 reads, WOOT!

Thank you all,

Andrew,
Oldershouldknowbetter.


 Report Review

Review #12, by Claire EvergreenFind My Way: Owls

11th February 2015:
Ah! I just realized I hadn't reviewed this yet!

Oh, Scorpius, I understand the pain of waiting til the last minute to do homework (she says as she avoids writing her essay due tomorrow).

Ok, just a quick little nitpick in the first line: "You can't take it with." I think there's supposed to be a you at the end?

The more I get to know Jia, the more I love her. The whole language thing is so cool and Oliver attempting to figure it all out is adorable. Jia's crush on Rose and the guys reaction to it is too good.

“And I don’t stalk her. I just admire her talent and think she’s really pretty.”
“From afar without her knowing.”
“Sometimes illegally."
Favorite exchange in the chapter. I love how easily the banter you write flows, in all of your stories, not just this one. It always comes across as so natural, I'm jealous :P

"Poor little nerd," Jia said, earning a glare from Scorpius. Jia, yes, I love her so much!

I'm not gonna lie, the line about "his father's sneered disinterest" made me so sad, you have to expand on that because I don't think I can handle it if Scorpius and Draco don't get along (Only the second chapter and I'm already this attached to the character. I blame you and your fantastic writing.)

I would try and write something intelligent about the scene with Al and Scorpius, but the whole time my mind was just going ASHJSFLKDSFHKJDHFK THEY ARE TOO CUTE. Scorpius freaking out about Al touching him was so cute I couldn't handle it.

Oooo what's going on between Al and Rose?? And Al just disappearing?? JULIE YOU CAN'T DO THIS TO ME I NEED TO KNOW NOW!!!

Yet another fantastic chapter, I don't think I can wait for the next one!

-Claire

 Report Review

Review #13, by Claire EvergreenFull of Grace: It's Better This Way.

11th February 2015:
Hi, just stopping by for the BvB Review Challenge :)

I almost didn't read this with the song playing and I'm so glad I put it on because it just fit so wonderfully. My eyes were tearing up the whole time, this was just a beautiful story.

The descriptions in this are to die for. They are so beautiful and not once did it ever feel like it was too much. I mean, the opening line- White puffs dance lazily through the chilled air, plunking themselves across the back garden, stubbornly affixing to the grass, weeds and brush that line the property. - is absolutely stunning. I can't get over it, this is such a well written and thought out story, everything just flows so nicely together.

Going along with the descriptions, the emotions that you've written into this are just so powerful. I could feel everything that Molly was feeling and, like I said before, I was almost in tears for almost the whole story. I'm trying to think of another word to use, but powerful is just the only one coming to mind. I'm in awe of how well you were able to portray everything with just the right balance.

The dynamic between Molly and Arthur was wonderful. It was just enough interaction for this story length and the small descriptions and actions you wrote in conveyed the dynamic between them perfectly. The little part about Molly not hugging him since Fred died was so heartbreaking but it fit so perfectly with the other emotions that you put in.

The ending was just fantastic. I know I struggle to end pretty much any story I write, but yours came across so effortlessly and it just felt right. It was the perfect way to end such an emotionally charged one-shot.

I'm honestly in awe, this is such a fantastic story. I'm so glad I got to read it!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hi there Claire,

Yikes - I apologize for taking so long to respond to this.

I'm so, so happy that you played the song! I played it over and over and over when I wrote it and I'll admit, I cried my eyes out every time I sat down to write this - and there were many times. I really struggled with striking the right balance of pouring feeling into the piece and handling the subject matter with dignity.

Gah! thanks for your comment on the ending - I wasn't exactly sure how that came off and I heaved another sigh of relief with your kinds words on that ♥

Thanks again for this wonderful review and thank you so much for reading this story!

♥ Beth


 Report Review

Review #14, by Claire EvergreenChicks Before Broomsticks: Hurt Heart

25th January 2015:
Yaaas new chapter!!

Oh my god, LOGAN GO AWAY NO ONE LIKES YOU!! If you mess up Roxy and Hollie I swear to god… *points menacingly in his direction*

Ugh, I feel so bad for Hollie but POOR ALEC. He just got a starting spot and now freaking Avery comes back and ugh no. It would just be better for everyone involved if Avery just “mysteriously” disappear or, ooo I know, I had a really bad Quidditch accident. Yeah, that would work! …right?

Alec is such a good friend, though. I love him so so much, he’s the perfect complement to Hollie’s personality and they are pretty much what brotps are made of. The dynamic you’ve written for them is absolutely wonderful, they play off each other so perfectly and you can tall they really care about each other a lot.

The whole scene with Dean and Hollie was just so cute, even when she was bawling her eyes out (I swear to god I will hurt Roxanne and Avery if they keep hurting her because, unlike Hollie, I am in complete denial that it was a fake relationship and THOSE TWO ARE JUST DESTINED FOR EACH OTHER OKAY?). The whole story about Dean and Seamus was perfect and I loved how he turned it into advice for Hollie, which she totally needs to follow up on because heck yeah Roxanne is someone she should fight for!

So, yeah, this review is probably completely incoherent, but oh well. I really love your story and I can’t wait for another chapter!!! (she says as she completely procrastinates writing her own story…)

-Claire

Author's Response: NEW CHAPTER! (late response, but still exciting)

Haha! I wish it was that easy! I be Hollie wishes it was that easy too.

I definitely think Alec got the worse end of the stick here. Yes, Hollie's the main character and it sucks that her romance is effected by it, but this is Alec's career and his future, and Avery just waltzes in and takes the spot away.

But I definitely agree, Alec is really a great friend in this chapter (well, all chapters) and hahaha I haven't thought of them as 'brotp' but I LOVE IT and will always refer to them as that from now on.

I loved writing the Dean scene. It wasn't really planned to be in the story, but with the 'fake relationship' trope there has to be that moment where the character comes clean with the family, so I think it ended up being really neat. Plus who doesn't love more backstory on Dean/Seamus? No one, that's who! And She definitely has to fight for Roxanne!

SHH I LOVED THIS REVIEW. It was fantastic. Just like you! Thank you so much!! (AND YES GO WRITE MORE SIRIUS/JULIANNE PLS THANK YOU)

Julie


 Report Review

Review #15, by Claire EvergreenFind My Way: Stinksap

12th January 2015:
I definitely should be writing my own fic, but oh well :P

So I'm probably the most unobservant person ever because it took me two times reading this and reading the reviews to realize that Al is blind. I don't know how I missed it, but I did. Anyway, I thought it was really cool, I think I've only read one other fic with a blind character, so I'm really excited to see what you do with it!

“Neville, why!?” Scorpius looked down to his table when Albus Potter called out in anguish from the back of the room. Several snickers from his group of friends followed.- For some reason I found this ridiculous funny haha. Actually, I just found Al hilarious pretty much any time he opened his mouth. He was funny in a sarcastic, almost dry way and I love it! We've only gotten a little glimpse of him, but I already feel like I know his character and I'm in love with him.

Scorpius too, I really like how you've written him here. I like the little hints you've given about his feelings for Al and I really like the idea of him in Ravenclaw (even though he will always be a Hufflepuff in my heart :P). He and Al seem to complement each other even when they dislike each other at this point. I think they're much more similar than they think they are and I'm so excited to see how their relationship plays out in later chapters.

Hehe I'm also really looking forward to getting to know Jia and Professor Nott in particular. Jia just seems like she's going to be a fun character and Professor Nott...I don't really know why, I just can't wait to see his relationship with Scorpius play out.

I'm so excited to see what you have planned for this! Can't wait to read more!

-Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

Haha. I should definitely be writing CBB, but here I am starting a new story.

You're not the only one! I definitely didn't make it 'easy' to figure out in the first half of this story. I really like to do that when I'm writing, just introduce something subtly and let the reader learn things as they go.

Albus is a dramatic child. He's definitely got quite the spitfire personality, and I'm super excited for you to see what I have in store for him in the future chapters.

I'm so glad you like Scorpius! He's definitely really conflicted in the beginning in wanting to hate Albus, but secretly not. lol. I kind of really love Hufflepuff Scorpius!?!?! LIKE!? I debated for a while about whether to put him into Ravenclaw or Slytherin, but in the end Ravenclaw won out.

Jia has some wonderful stuff coming up soon! And Professor Nott will definitely play a good part! She is a really fun character and she creates a good friendship balance for Scorpius.

Thank you so much, Claire! This was so wonderful! I always love hearing your opinions on things. Talk to you later!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #16, by Claire EvergreenTraces: one.

10th January 2015:
Oh, my god, a Next Gen fanfic based around How to Get Away With Murder...I don't think it can get any better.

This is such a brilliant idea! I'm going to apologize now in case this review is completely incoherent because I'm barely containing my excitement over this fic and gah!!! I legitimately squealed when I saw what this was.

Ok, first things first, I'm guessing that Roxanne is Laurel, Hugo is Wes, Rose is Michaela, and Scorpius is Connor? Ahh now I'm so excited to see how everything plays out. Especially Scorpius as Connor, that is going to be so so good!

“I’m really glad I don’t have to pay you until you pass the bar, Malfoy.”- Yes, just...yes. I just know I'm going to love Daphne as much as I love Annalise :D

I loved the prologue! The way that you were able to transfer everything over into magical terms was perfect. Magical law is something that I know is used in fics, but I've never actually read much with it so I'm so excited to see how you incorporate everything into the magical world.

Ah, I'm just way too excited for this. I'm going to say it again, this is such a brilliant idea and HTGAWM is one of my favorite shows and I can't believe I almost never saw this fic! I can't wait to read the rest of this!

~Claire

Author's Response: INCOHERENT REVIEWS ARE THE BEST. I CHERISH THEM.

I'm glad you're so excited for this story because I'm pretty excited too and HTGAWM is just the best.

You're almost spot on with those - Scorpius is definitely Connor and Rose is Michaela, but I've mixed up genders a bit so Roxanne is actually Wes and Hugo is.??? Hugo's just kind of 'misc,' though probably closest to Laurel.

Thanks so much for reading/reviewing and hopefully this will live up to your expectations!



 Report Review

Review #17, by Claire EvergreenChicks Before Broomsticks: Tiny Kiss

8th January 2015:
Yes!!! Another chapter!

Oh, my goodness, the cuddling thing with Hollie was absolutely adorable. She is the cutest thing ever and I was squealing the whole time I was reading that scene. It was so fluffy and cute and perfect and I love them so so much!!

I liked that we got to see a little more of some of Hollie's other teammates, even if it wasn't much. It just made them seem more real and not just random background characters thrown in. It adds more depth to the story and I was going somewhere with this sentence but now I've forgotten, so I just really like all the secondary characters you've written :)

Yes!! The entire party scene and everything after and gah this was so stinking cute!! There is no way that Roxanne doesn't have at least a few feelings for Hollie. And if she doesn't, then I will personally punch her in the face for messing with Hollie because ugh they are too perfect. God, I can't even handle everything between those two, I ship it so hard and if anything happens to ruin that I don't think I can handle it.

No, Logan go away, let Alec play, no one likes you anyways!!

This was such a great chapter, I don't think I can wait for another one!

~Claire

Author's Response: Hey Claire!

YES!

Hehe, with the cuddling, I really wanted to use the 'wake up cuddling' like the pretend relationship trope always has, but I think it's a little expected, the awkward waking up scene, so I attempted a little angst and gave Hollie a selfish moment. I was really happy with how it turned out!

I'm glad you liked the teammates part! I love my big casts, and I think that developing them a little at a time is so important to giving the story life.

Hehe, I would blame Alec for the entire thing, but Hollie ended up being okay with things in the end! And I definitely cannot say anything about feelings yet, but you will know soon!

hahah.. I wish it was that easy! But then I wouldn't have anything to write about :P

Thank you so much, Claire!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #18, by Claire EvergreenChicks Before Broomsticks: Joke Shop

20th December 2014:
Hi, Julie!

I figured since you've left such amazing reviews for me, I'd return the favor!

To start off, I love how you've taken a premise that is basically a cliche at this point and made it into something new and refreshing. Sure, you have the basic "person A has a crush on person B and then person B asks person A to have a fake relationship," but even just by changing it into a same-sex couple, it already sets a different tone.

And praise the lord, someone actually acknowledged the fact that bisexuality and asexuality actually exist! You have no idea how amazing and perfect and wonderful that is because most of the time, people just pretend that you can only be gay, straight, or a lesbian.

Going along with that, I love each an every one of your characters. Seriously, they all have wonderful personalities and even though most of them identify as something other than straight, that isn't their entire personality. First and foremost, they are people and I love that.

Ok, serious things aside, I don't think I can express how much I love this story. Hollie is perfect and the friendships that you've written are fantastic. I love a Next Gen story that focuses on life after Hogwarts and doesn't only focus on the Wotters (which I will freely admit, I do almost exclusively haha). I also really love the choice of Roxanne for the Wotter you picked, I don't think I've seen many fics with her as a main character.

"...they nailed the coffin shut with a comment wishing that Logan Avery would come out of St. Mungo’s Rehabilitation Center and straighten things out for everyone.

The worst pun ever published."
- I cracked up at this line, hands down one of my favorite quotes so far in the story.

AND SEAMUS AND DEAN AS HUSBANDS I LOVE YOU SO MUCH FOR PUTTING THAT IN THERE OH MY GOD THE SHIP THAT NEVER WAS BUT SHOULD HAVE BEEN

I love this story much, I can't wait for another update!

~Claire

Author's Response: Claire! This was such a lovely surprise!

I'm so glad that you are finding the plot refreshing! That was definitely one of the things I wanted to do, was to take the cliche topic and put an entirely fresh spin on it.

Definitely! Bisexuality and Asexuality just NOT being talked about, or being completely unbelieved really bothers me. Things are SO not black and white, and I really wanted that to be noticed here, as well as have it be a theme. And I really get bothered when people use someone's orientation as a personality trait, so I definitely could NOT have that here :D

Ah, thank you so much! I love writing Hollie, and sometimes her friendships - Alec - are more fun to write than the main romance! lol. I didn't even notice until well into writing this that I had a story now that featured FredII, and Roxanne! hehe. I'm glad you like the choice of Roxanne!

IT WAS ACCIDENTAL. It was an accidental pun. I didn't even notice it writing until I went back to edit. hahahha.

DEAN AND SEAMUS IS MY HEADCANON AND NOTHING ANYONE EVER SAYS WILL STRAY ME FROM IT I HEART THEM SO MUCH. IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A THING. I have very strong feelings about this.

Thank you so much, Claire! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and thanks for reviewing!

Julie


 Report Review

Review #19, by Claire EvergreenHeroes: Impossible

26th May 2013:
So, I've read BTQC and Hormones, but just haven't gotten around to reviewing them, so I figured I'd start here.

Oh. My. God.

This is just simply amazing, fantastic, beautiful, gorgeous, awe inspiring, and so many other words I can't think of right now. I've been searching FOREVER for a decent post war George/Angelina fic (I feel obligated to tell you that my iPad just tried to autocorrect that to 'fix' and I died with how accurate that was) and I have finally found one that goes over the top! This is just so perfect and I can legitimately see this happening!!! It's perfect in every single way. Gah, this is just too freaking perfect!!! You are one of my favorite authors on here (does that even make sense?) and I love all your stories!!!

Ok, I'm going to stop now before I embarrass myself any further :)

Author's Response: Why hello there! I'm really glad you're liking some of my stories -- I hope you get a chance to let me know what you think about BTQC and Hormones. I'd love to know.

Also, I really appreciate you taking the time to read this story. It is something that has been really important to me ever since I wrote that little snippet in Hormones about Ang and George.

i understand that most people weren't interested because let's be honest, it's sad. It's heartbreaking. Fred is my second-favorite character and his death gave the wall a nice dent after I threw my book. So this story was really heart-wrenching for me to write.

To know you like it means a ton to me. So much. So thank you so much for reading and reviewing and making my day that much better :)


 Report Review

Review #20, by Claire EvergreenRemember the Slytherins: Perhaps, possibly, just maybe not so broken after all.

15th April 2013:
Honestly, this is perhaps one of the most brilliant stories I've seen on here. I love that you don't just assume that everything was all hunky-dory after the war which nearly all of the Next Gen stories (mine included) do. It's a completely different, yet completely plausible, series of events. I'm honestly in tears at some points in your story, I'm so attached to your characters.
And I would just like to say thank you for portraying Slytherins as real people with real problems. Too often they are just labeled as the bad guys and are given no personality whatsoever.

Wow, just listen to me gush, haha. I can't tell you how much I love your story and I'm on the edge of my seat to see whet it ends up!

Author's Response: Um wow. Just a warning, I have a really difficult time responding to compliments, so I apologize if anything sounds more awkward than usual.

I don't know if I'm just a freak, but I have honestly never seen Next Gen as hunk-dory. I think there would simply be too much pressure on the Potter-Weasleys, and if it wasn't that there would definitely be some prejudice regarding the Slytherins. (If you want something more about that - Sheriff's Lion, Eagle, Badger, Snake makes my stuff look like kindergarten work).

I am a Slytherin, so I may be a little partial to them. :) I just think no one gives them enough credit, and I'm glad you like them. I am so attached to what I call them - the family - that it's really hard to write this sometimes.

Thank you so much for the amazing compliments, and I just *melts into a puddle*

Ellie


 Report Review

Review #21, by Claire EvergreenReal Ladies.: Of Letters and Parents.

7th May 2011:
Such a great story! You really bring the characters to life!

High five for super nerds! I'm a freshman in high school taking AP World History (our AP exam is this Thursday. Eep!)

Author's Response: I try! Thank you so much. And good luck!

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login