Reading Reviews From Member: AlexFan
  
1,366 Reviews Found

Review #26, by AlexFanKeep Calm and Carry On: Makeshift

16th July 2014:
AWWW YIIISSS

first of all yay you updated! Second of all, again, I absolutely love Edie. There's just something about her sense of humour that is absolutely hilarious, maybe it's the way that she very blunt about things or maybe it's the dry way in which she sometimes says things but she's absolutely hilarious and I love her.

We finally get to find out why Oliver is dating Rose. It always bugged me because I couldn't understand why someone like him would date someone like Rose but everything makes sense now. I am so excited to see what happens after this! Are Edie and Oliver going to start dating or is it it going to be private or what is going to happen? IS THERE GOING TO BE MORE EDIE AND OLIVER MOMENTS PREFERABLY ONES WHERE THEIR FACES ARE ATTACHED?

But the point is that I really loved this chapter.

Author's Response: Hello you!! I know, FINALLY an update. Jeez. I'm about to have a super boring two month stint in my hometown, so you can expect a lot of updates in the future. Maybe I'll be finish this story before the fall? Who knows.

Anyway, thank you thank you! Edie and Oliver do seem to finally have their ducks in a row. And you can certainly look forward to one face-attached scene in particular. Ahem.

So yes, look for updates ;)


 Report Review

Review #27, by AlexFanExceptional Circumstances: Pixiedust Delirium I

14th July 2014:
OH MY GOD ADDISON YOU DONT JUST DRINK SOMETHING WHEN YOU DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT IT IS!

You'd think that being an Auror and all she would be absolutely ace at the art of the fact that you don't put something in your body if you don't know what it is. She could've at least asked what the hell the bartender had even put in the drunk instead of just drinking it. Mad-Eye Moody would've been really disappointed with her. Like this is basic safety procedure when going to a club.

I'm guessing that she's run into James but James doesn't seem like the type of person who sounds mildly alarmed by what anything that Addison does as he has a certain disdain for her so I'm not sure how concerned he really is. I don't know how correct I am.

GURL THIS WAS SUCH A SHORT CHAPTER OH MY GOD IT WAS NOT LONG AT ALL IF ITS SHORTER THAN 5K WORDS THEN IT IS NOT LONG KEEP THAT IN MIND. Seriously I wouldn't care if your chapters were 12K each as long as you didn't leave them on a cliffhanger like this.

I MUST HAVE CHAPTER SEVEN NOW (but whenever you're done is cool as well you know).

Author's Response: Ah, I've been anticipating a review like this. Believe me when I say Addison's internal rant/self-berating is going to sound pretty much like this. That being said, there's no going over the fact that she was careless. And I agree, Moody would not be impressed.

The fact is, no matter how much he disdains her, even James wouldn't be able to hide his shock if he found Addison drugged and giggling. It would be akin to discovering McGonagall in a tutu and dancing the conga (I exaggerate very slightly.)

12K?! What! I don't think I'd ever be able to do that. I start getting really nervous around 2.5K, for some unfathomable reason. But 5K is a possibility...maybe one day...

Also, I'm really liking this cliffhanger business :p Now I understand how Rick Riordan could possibly enjoy this.

Chapter 7 shall be out as soon as the harrasment that are my Unit Exams get done. I'm honestly looking forward to it as much as you guys are! ;)

Thanks for being so enthusiastic, love.

Cheers,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #28, by AlexFanClash: Fear

13th July 2014:
I can see why you had to cut some stuff out, this is the darkest thing that I've ever read. It's kind of scary to think that what you had to cut out was worse than this because this was pretty damn scary.

You could be some kind of horror novelist or something (and I would buy each and every one of your books just so you know).

I have such mixed feelings about all of the characters because you can't just shove them into good and bad boxes because they are so much more complex then that, they're human beings and human beings don't fit into good or bad boxes. There are times when I hate the Head and then ther are times where he shows that he does feel something towards Rose even if it is very little.

And there are times where I absolutely detest Albus and times like this chapter where he tries to protect Rose because he understands the things that she can't handle. If the Head knew about what Rose had to put up with with Albus, he wouldn't be surprised that his training hadn't broken her.

I don't know how you come up with such dark stuff, I feel like your mind might be a terrifying but absolutely fascinating place to explore. Your imagination has no bounds honestly, but I suppose when it comes to the dark, there really isn't a limit to just how twisted you can make things.

The most horrifying part for me personally was when the Other had Rose pinned against that tombstone and then he . . . yeah and I was just screaming in my head for it to stop because it was wrong. It wasn't Albus but it looked like him and that's the freaky part.

Harry Potter what have you done to your son? Speaking of Harry, are you going to tell us the events that led to Harry basically going crazy?

And that ending, WHAT KIND OF AN ENDING WAS THAT WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT I JUST LITERALLY CANNOT EVEN RIGHT NOW.

This is why it takes me so long to read the new chapters of your story, I spend time emotionally preparing myself for every new thing that you bring to the table.

Please do the world a favour and become a published author.

 Report Review

Review #29, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: The First Day of Classes

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

You know I always wondered why Harry's watch worked at Hogwarts when the amount of magic surrounding the place was supposed to make it go haywire. But I guess they made some kind of exceptions for watches since they'd need their students to keep time somehow in order to get to classes faster.

Shouldn't Kenway, Albus, and Rose all be taking Divination? isn't it mandatory for all third years to take Divination or something? I might be remembering that wrong though, it might not be mandatory because Hermione did drop the class.

Molly and Lucy, one is their fathers daughter and the other one isn't. I love how Lucy didn't make a big deal about the fact that she could figure out the passwords. It's just kind of like, "I'm a Ravenclaw, if I can figure out how to get into my common room then I'm pretty sure that I can get into yours."

Awesome fourth chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Actually, Divination was one of the electives (like Muggle Studies, Care of Magical Creatures, Arithmancy, and Ancient Runes) that students could choose between to add in their third year. It was just popular when Harry's year took it, I guess.

Heehee that's one of our favorite sequences. :)
Thanks again!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #30, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: The Sorting

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hola! I'm back again (I promise with less CC and a shorter review). While I was reading the HP books I always got confused as to how people would know which table to go to if said house didn't clap and cheer and having their own house colours hanging over them would've been a really simple way to identify them.

I loved your Sorting Hat song, I loved how it rhymed and how it summed up all four houses really well in such a short song. I was singing the entire thing in my head and bopping along to an imaginary tune.

Good luck to whoever is trying to break into Hogwarts, the place is a fortress, it would be very difficult to inflitrate the castle (unless the villain pulled a Draco Malfoy and came out of the Room of Requirement).

If I was in Lily's shoes and Harry Potter was telling me to hide a necklace so that it couldn't be found and to not fiddle with it because of powerful magic, I'd probably be asking what was so social about the necklace that someone was trying to break into a school to get it.

I loved the writing in this chapter the best so far because it flowed a lot better than the previous two. The descriptions were a lot better and allowed me to picture the scene a lot more clearly than the other two and things didn't feel as rushed as in the previous chapters so good job on that!
-Grace

Author's Response: Hello again then! Don't worry about the long CC, it was still very helpful!

I thought I read once that there were banners over the tables. I could be mistaken, though.

Thank you! I have a tune in my head too, if you can't sing it, it's not a good song! ;) I'm really proud of how it turned out; I put a lot of effort into it, including dissecting the canon songs' rhyme, meter, stressed/unstressed beat patter (I forget what its called offhand), and types of attributes too. I'm glad you liked it!! :)

I guess Lily gets the impression that Harry wouldn't tell her anyways, because I don't think he would, at least right away.

Thanks so much!! :D Yeah, the first two chapters are probably a tad rocky compared to the rest. I'm glad you liked it enough to continue! :)

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #31, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Candies on the Train

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Sorry for taking so long to come back for the second chapter but I was out all day. Anyway! I loved the bit with Kenway Boot and the camping trip. It put a smile on my face to read about Harry declining the invitation because he'd gone camping for so long. I thought it was a nice little nod to the books.

I don't think you had to explain what a Metamorphmagus is because anyone reading this had most likely read the entire series (or at least up to Order of the Phoenix) and would know what a person with that ability was so I didn't think that was necessary but this is your story so feel free to ignore me. Also, when you told the reader that Teddy was a metamorphmagus, it felt a little choppy to me so maybe you could work that in with something like, "Teddy had chosen to keep his hair blonde today instead of his usual eye-catching blue," or something like that. If you showed the reader that he was a metamorphmagus you wouldn't need to tell them that Teddy had that ability.

If it's been mentioned in the books then your reader already knows that, for example, George owns Weasley's Wizard Wheezes. Stuff that's been talked about in the books doesn't really need to be mentioned unless it's something really obscure that not everyone remembers. Things that weren't mentioned, like who Fred was named after (even though it can be inferred) are great because then you add in a little piece of canon information that maybe not everyone was aware of.

I loved that you included all of the Weasley and Potter children in some way because a lot of fanfiction tends to focus on only the Potters and usually Rose and Hugo and very little on the rest of the family. I loved all of the information that you gave about each family member and some of Kenway's siblings but it almost felt like it was too much.

It's great that we get to know the characters but the reader doesn't need to know everything about each and every character right from the start because it's a lot of information to digest and they might forget a lot of it. And besides, you could've worked in all of the information about the characters by having them talk about classes or Head Girl duties or like Rose did, mention the Hogwarts permission slip. If you spread out all of the information throughout the chapters of the stories, it would build up the characters in the readers head and they would remember all of the characteristics and other things.

The vendetta that the Gryffindors seemed to have with the Slytherins seemed a bit out of place as well. I understand that it would take a while for the dislike between the two houses to go away but it's been like fifteen years since Harry attended school, wouldn't everyone have got over the prejudices? And considering the praise that Harry was giving about Slytherin along with Ginny, you'd think Albus would know better than to hold a grudge against someone or a group of people that have never even done anything to him. And I'm assuming that Slytherin house never targeted Albus because he was telling Lily that they were nice, individuals like Dunstan yeah but not the entire house. Again, that's just what I think so feel free to ignore this.

I know that's a lot of CC but despite what I mentioned, I did enjoy reading this chapter and I thought it was really great at getting the reader excited about Hogwarts and what would happen with the next generation. I look forward to seeing what role each character plays as the plot moves along.

This review was not meant to be this long holy cow.
-Grace

Author's Response: Thanks for the critique!

Some background may help: when we wrote this chapter, we had very little idea who our audience would be, since we had yet to even find HPFF. This chapter used to be worse as far as over-introducing and over-explaining; it's improved a little but I agree it still could do with a little less mass-introduction. After we get the rest of this story and its side-stories out the door, I really hope to go back and fix this chapter. However the summer's almost over! (Eep!)

I/we had assumed that there is still a little bit of tension between them (mostly with quidditch since they're the two most competitive), but not as much as it used to be. (Such as duels just because of their house.)

Now Kenway; Kenway has an unreasonable grudge against them. It's introduced in Beginnings, AP&tSM's prequel. His reasoning is because his mum and others lost so much family to Death Eaters, which were almost guaranteed to be all Slytherins.

Thanks again for the critique! It's very helpful to us. :)
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #32, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Parchment, Quills, and Symbols

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I said that I would be coming by to drop some reviews and here I am! I thought this story could use a little love. So I liked how you started the story right before the kids went off to Hogwarts because it was different and it helped set up the danger part of it really well.

I really love how you jumped right in with the plot to catch the readers attention and then went from there. The kids were really cute and exactly how I pictured them as youngsters, especially Lily, she was so cute and childish.

Doesn't the Sorting Hat talk to everyone though? Because when Harry was getting sorted it was kind of like it like it was talking to itself as it tried to make a decision. Unless of course you mean like an actual conversation in which case I get what you mean, that's probably not as common.

You'd think having grown up around the Wealsey's Harry and Ginny would've known to check for Extendable Ears before they started talking to one another or something but I guess you get slower with age. And I absolutely loved Ginny at the end where she confiscated the Extendable Ears, NOTHING ESCAPES GINNY POTTER GUYS!

But this sounds interesting! Could it really be Voldemort sympathizers or it could be a whole new evil and something far more dangerous. WE SHALL SEE!

Lovely first chapter!
-Grace

Author's Response: Thank you! We really appreciate reviews!

Lily's personality was the easiest to create, Albus was more of a problem. In the first drafts he was rather clumsy, but later we went back and changed him to be more uncertain but loving.

I (Georgina, the person who wrote that line) figured the Sorting Hat probably didn't speak to Draco, its decision happened too quickly. So I wondered who else would the hat not have to think too much on; the people who had an obvious fit in one House. James belonged in that category. It was my way of exploring the Hat a little bit more.

I always thought she didn't notice it at first because she wanted to tell Harry right away, without thinking that the kids would try to listen in. Then when she said it, she realized what had happened. No mother of three children will let something like that escape her for too long.

Our climax is in the queue now, so keep reading and you'll find out in a day or two!

Thank you so much for stopping by!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #33, by AlexFanChase: Chapter Three - Meeting with McGonagall

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review
Educational Decree #7

I just want to hug Kendra already. I have a soft spot in my heart for characters that feel like their parents don't care about them and Kendra had now entered into that soft spot. On the other hand, congratulations to Madeline for getting pregnant, she sounds really excited for the baby.

That jab that Kendra made about the slime was really witty and it put a smile on my face. I'm just sitting here chuckling at it, I'm amused very easily apparently.

I can definitely relate to Kendra about the perfectionist. I've felt like giving up on trying at school at well but that feeling in me wouldn't let me, no matter how much you hate the subject, if you take it then you have to do good in it. Kendra is definitely relatable.

Oh my God the sass coming from Kendra is beautiful. "Did I stutter?" I can just imagine the look on her face and the kind if stance that she probably had on at that point. I do have to agree with her though, Wood was being a jerk and totally unprofessional, you can't treat your teammates with that kind of lack of respect. I'm glad that McGonagall straightened the two of them out.

 Report Review

Review #34, by AlexFanHPFF United Collaboration: The Quidditch Ban

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014
Educational Decree #7

This was so cute! I never even entertained the idea that Quidditch might've been on the edge of being banned so this was a brand new look for me. I can definitely understand what Poppy means by it though, it really is a dangerous game and sometimes students get a little bit too intense with it. She would probably get tired having to mend all of those broken bones all of the time.

On the other hand, yay for house unity! It's always lovely to read a story where Hogwarts houses band together to achieve a result and help each other out instead of splitting up from each other. It's amazing how much power Quidditch has when it comes to bringing people together.

I loved how in the end James decided to let the Slytherins have their victory as a thanks for Regulus helping him and Sirius out. He could've probably thanked Regulus a different way than losing a Quidditch game but it's the thought that counts.

I love how Regulus was just so matter-of-fact about everything. I'm a Slytherin, of course I can help you out and of course you need me, you could definitely see that he was related to Sirius in those moments because Sirius would've said something like that as well.

 Report Review

Review #35, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: Holding On

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay so I'm writing this as I go. I feel like someone is going to be dead by the end of this story with the way that this is going. I hope that Kat gets better as soon as possible because everyone is really suffering without her around.

Okay, so I noticed that you said that Bob would pay Kat's hospital bills but see the thing is that in the UK (and in Canada), unless it's a private hospital or something like that, they don't actually give you a bill that you have to pay since you're paying for it through your taxes. And it was never mentioned in Order of the Phoenix that Mrs. Weasley had to pay any kind of bill after Mr. Weasley was let go from St. Mungo's. With the amount of treatments that Mr. Weasley went through in the book, if Molly had to pay St. Mungo's then it would've probably cost her a lot more than she could afford.

If Dani wanted to know how to deal with Acromantula, I think Harry and Ron would be able to give her some really good advice in that department since they have quite a bit of experience with it lol.

Oh my goodness, I totally forgot about Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle dressing up like Dementors to try and distract Harry! That was interesting to see from someone else's point of view.

OH MY GOD YES THEY KISSED I'M SO HAPPY! THIS HAS JUST MADE MY ENTIRE DAY! THANK YOU FOR GETTING THEM TO KISS THAT WAS SO SWEET AND SO CUTE AND JUST GAAAH! DANI AND OLIVER ARE GOING TO BE A THING NOW WOOHOO!

I have just become a thousand times happier having read this now! Brilliant job on it and I'm so excited for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #36, by AlexFanAcanthus: Penultimate Farewells

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I'm writing this as I read.

Rose is so strong to be able to deal with the horror of watching her friend kill someone and then die themselves. Not many people would be able to levitate a corpse while dealing with something like that so I applaud her for her strength.

I'm so relieved that she managed to make it back to Lorcan, I was so worried that she was actually going to get stuck in the desert at night and that really doesn't sound like somewhere that you would want to be, I've heard that desert nights are freezing.

And of course even when she's half-dead Rose manages to be stubborn about something that can wait when she's not falling asleep on her feet. I can see the Weasley in her.

They need to tell David, they've gone on keeping the secret for this long but he needs to know the truth now. He's probably just going to have a heart attack if Rose and Lorcan just disappear into thin air without any explanation.

I KNEW IT! I knew that when you said that Scorpius had given in that by the time that he spoke up, Rose would have already drunk the potion and it would be too late. It was just like something out of a movie. WHY ARE YOU LEAVING SCORPIUS BEHIND. My poor ScoRose heart is breaking.

I just can't even right now. I need to process that Scorpius is being left behind.

(But I mean, awesome chapter so two thumbs up)
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #37, by AlexFanAcanthus: Plans and Preparations

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay so I'm going to write this before I go and read Chapter 20.

I'm so proud of Scorpius for not losing hope while being in a tough situation like his. You can definitely end up feeling weak when you're tied up and there's no way out so I'm just really happy with Scorpius for keeping his head clear and trying to turn the situation around so that it can benefit him.

First time I read this chapter I was so happy to find out that my prediction about Charlotte and the gang being wizards was right and I was getting really excited to read everyone else's reaction to finding out that Rose and Lorcan can also do magic but then you ended it with Rose about to tell them and I was just like, "WHHHY!!!"

But then I found out so it was okay.

I love how no one is even surprised at Hermione's reactions anymore, Hugo isn't even insulted by the fact that she's comparing him to his sister because he knows how she is when she worries about things and he understands where she's coming from.

Anyway, I'm onto read and review Chapter 20 now!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #38, by AlexFanAcanthus: Wicker Lines

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Frederic Russell sounds like an absolute creep. Like I get he's the villain and everything but damn is he creepy! I also get the impression that he's one of those people that really likes to hear themselves talk because that's the only conclusion that I can come to as to why he won't shut up and just get on with being evil. You'd think every antagonist would've figured this out by now but apparently not, the more talking you do the more time you give your enemy the chance to escape.

I'll give him props for one thing though, at least when he does get down to business, he doesn't screw around or anything, he just gets right down to the torture.

I loved how Hermione was worried, it just goes to show you that no matter how badly you may get along with your family, family is family (most of the time anyway) and they'll worry about you and try to protect you. But of course Hermione isn't going to sit around and do nothing while her daughter is missing. A mother just knows when something has happened to her child. GO WITH YOUR INSTINCTS HERMIONE!

Even though Rose is stuck in 1922, at least she's still going to be able to achieve what she set out to do in the first place, she's still going to get to see Acanthus and write that article of hers (if she ever manages to make it back to the present time that is).

Onto the next chapter that I haven't reviewed!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #39, by AlexFanAcanthus: A Kaleidoscope

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014

Hola Kiana, coming back for more reviews! I can't imagine what it must've felt like to be Rose and to all of a sudden be dropped into this new place with no recollection of ever going there. If I was in her place, I would've probably lost my head for like half an hour before coming to the idea that I was supposed to get myself out of a desert. I loved your description as well because it really showed how confused Rose was feeling and how the world must've been turning around her at a time like this. She's stuck in this time period, just trying to straighten out the world around her so that it doesn't spin so much.

Next to being dropped somewhere that you don't know, imagine Charlotte and everyone else's reaction when they find Rose and Lorcan showing up in the middle of the Sahara desert with absolutely no explanation as to how they got there. But I mean, I guess when you're magical anything weird that happens doesn't really get questioned.

I can totally understand why Lorcan faded as well, he probably handled the news that he was stuck in 1922 in the best way that one can in a situation like that, by fainting. At least his mind can wrap it's head around the fact that he's stuck in the past without anymore stress being added to it.

Anyway, great chapter!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #40, by AlexFanAcanthus: Before the Storm

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Hey Kiana, guess what, 200th reivew! WOOHOO!

Okay so I had to go back and skim through this chapter to refresh my memory and now I have something to talk about. This was the chapter that basically set the story in the direction that it's gone so far.

Sandstorms don't sound like a lot of fun, especially after reading this chapter and the amount of movies that I've seen have portrayed the same thing. I think if Rose and the rest of the gang had kept going and ignored the warning then they would've been in serious danger. They could've gotten buried in the sand.

When Scorpius saw the building I just knew that something bad was going to happen. I mean, it was in the middle of the desert in the middle of nowhere, of course that wasn't going to be safe! But I mean, I guess if I was in Rose or Scorpius's situation I would've picked the suspicious house that conveniently shows up when I need it over facing a sandstorm and risking my life.

Anyway, I'm excited to read the last two chapters of the story and GO RAVENCLAW!

Author's Response: YAYAYYA thank you so much for being my 200th review, as it means a lot to me!

Yes, this chapter was definitely the most pivotal one in the way it just changed everything and there really was no going back after this point.

No they aren't especially after talking to some people who have been one, they just sound like the worst thing ever. Yes, things in the middle of the desert never generally tend to be good things and just shriek danger, but I guess a sandstorm shrieks that too so you don't have much choice in where to go :P

Thanks for a fab review, Grace! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #41, by AlexFanAcanthus: The Fatal Flaw

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review

Kiana, I'm returning the favour of reviewing Acanthus (and I'll be back to bombard you with even more reviews so prepare yourself) and wow, this was really action-packed. The thing that I really liked about this chapter was that it had fighting and action but it didn't drag out for an unnecessary amount of time. There was enough fighting to keep it interesting but not so much that the reader got bored halfway through the story (which I have been known to occasionally do while reading fanfiction).

I KNEW IT! The moment that Anthony suggested that he go as Scorpius, everything just fell into place for me and I realized that it wasn't really Scorpius that had died at all. I can't believe that he didn't realize it sooner though, you'd think Scorpius, smart as he was, would've figured that out by himself. I feel bad for Rose though having to witness her friend commit homicide and then suicide. At least she knows what happened instead of being left wondering for the rest of her life.

Looking forward to the last two chapters!

Author's Response: Wah thank you Grace, your reviews were really fab!

Yes it certainly did have a bam, bam, bam quality to it with the way everything happened all of a sudden but I'm glad it wasn't dragged out. It's probably mainly due to me hating action scenes so I tried and cut them off as soon as possible. That's probably the one thing I don't miss about Acanthus as action scenes are just blergh.

YES YOU DID!! Bahaha I just feel like yelling plot twist, because it was just so much fun knowing this for ages and ages and none of you knowing. Now I sound a little mean but you get the gist.

Thanks for a fab review! :D

-Kiana


 Report Review

Review #42, by AlexFanBeing a Falmouth Falcon: First Practice and Interview

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014

Camila is having a hard time keeping up, oh yeah! I'm sorry but any chance to see Camila suck at something is just going to make my day. I can't believe that she's complaining though, like what did she expect? This isn't school Quidditch, this is hardcore professional Quidditch and it's going to kill you. Like she should be grateful that she got picked up by such a great team, Gigi had it just as tough but she pushed herself to keep up with the team instead of complaining to the coach.

And of course Gigi is keeping her problems to herself instead of talking about them to James. This is literally what every character does and it never ceases to make me angry because Gigi's problems could be minimized if she just swallowed her pride and talked to someone, LIKE HER BOYFRIEND, and get help. James would probably be a lot more cautious around Camila if Gigi just expressed her feelings and told him the things that had happened between her and Camila. Wasn't communication a huge issue in A Woman's Guide to Quidditch and something that was supposed to have not been a problem anymore.

Gosh Gigi, you just never learn do you? I am prepared to get even angrier as the story goes on, BRING ON THE FEELS!

 Report Review

Review #43, by AlexFanBeing a Falmouth Falcon: The First Threat

9th July 2014:
House Cup 2014

Okay, so while Camilla does enrage me, I've got to give her props because that girl is determined and she goes for what she wants. Like, I'm not okay with her trying to steal James away but after what she walked in on, she's got to realise that it's not going to happen. I mean, James and Gigi are always all over each other.

As angry as Camilla makes me, I admire her spunk and the fact that she's a tough cookie and doesn't let anyone push her around. But seriously, she better stay away from James or else someone is going to get hurt and as much as I dislike Camilla, I don't want her to get hurt.

The one part of the dialogue between Gigi and Camilla that was my favourite was when Gigi apologized for the fact that Camilla had to walk in on her and James like that and she just shrugged and said it was fine because they were dating. I thought that was really mature of her, idk, I felt like she had the opportunity to make another threat about Gigi keeping a close eye on James or something but she decided to act like an adult about it. That makes no sense, but I just really liked that part.

ONTO THE NEXT CHAPTER!

 Report Review

Review #44, by AlexFanInfatuation: CHAPTER 6: JAMES

8th July 2014:
Okay, so this is for the House Cup 2014 (review) and secondly I can't stop laughing.

James is so awkward that it's hilarious, good grief, this boy is so awkward but it's so funny. I loved how he was telling Ria that they needed to fight and she was like. "Bro, no" but he kept insisting and then that turned into an argument without even realising it.

THE ROMANCE HAS BEGUN! I can feel it in my bones, the romance has begun and they're going to start learning even more about what makes the pain go away or lessens it or whatever.

I have to agree with Bella though, that was one hella long hug. Like it sounded like they just stood there for five minutes hugging each other and talking before Bella came along and interrupted them.

Awesomesauce job! I can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #45, by AlexFanThe Fatal Flaw: The Fatal Flaw

8th July 2014:
HEY GURL HEY! So obviously I'm here for the House Cup 2014 (review) and for Educational Decree Number 4

Do you have Sirius Black locked up in your basement or a closet or something because this sounded so much like Sirius that it's actually a little scary. The sarcasm was spot on and I could actually hear him talking in my head as I was reading.

The weirdest thing about this was having a picture of fully-grown Remus sitting at a table and swearing and I can't seem to wrap my head around it.

I love how you mentioned the R J Lupin bit because my mind immediately went back to Prisoner of Azkaban and it just made me really happy for some unknown reason.

Anyway, obviously this is a brilliant one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #46, by AlexFanThe Serpent's Tale: The Serpent's Tale

8th July 2014:
Hey there again! House Cup review 2014 for Educational Decree number 4!

Hey there again Leonore! It took me about the first two paragraphs to realize that this was actually being told from the point of view of the Basilisk. I thought it was really interesting to actually look at the thoughts that Safiyah might have had before she woke up and started killing people.

I never really thought about how she would feel about not being able to see outside and breathe in the fresh air, I kind of was more focused on the fact that she petrified students at Hogwarts and such.

Great one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #47, by AlexFanEvent 3 ~~ Sunlight, Moonlight: Sunlight, Moonlight

8th July 2014:
Hey there Leonore! Reviewing for the House Cup 2014 for Educational Decree number 4

This was a lovely one-shot and I've never read about unicorns before. I can definitely understand Garrick resisting the urge to not scratch his itch. When you've gotten the chance of a lifetime to sit in a tree and watch a unicorn being born, you don't do anything to ruin it.

I loved your description of the tiny foal as well because you really made it clear how weak it was and how fragile. The way that the foal was being looked at made it seem like the unicorns were deciding whether or not the unicorn was worthy of tagging along with them. I'd hate to think what would've happened if the foal hadn't been deemed satisfactory.

Awesome one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #48, by AlexFanThe Wandering One : Rome

8th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 review!

Oh my God my heart was pounding, swear to God my heart was pounding! I can totally understand what Victoire meant about never thinking that she would be a victim of harassment. It's what we all think until we actually experience it. I'm just so glad that nothing worse came of it and that she got to the hostel safely. When she insisted on going by herself I was practically shrieking "DONT DO IT!" because it wasn't safe and I didn't something like what did to happen to Victoire.

And I especially loved how Sam was so supportive of her and didn't try to give her the "not all men," message that is the immediate response when girls ever vocally express feelings like the one that Victoire had.

Well what are the chances that the final is going to be in Canada, huh *eyebrow waggling* but yeah, Sam is right. I'd be just as surprised as him because Canada is really only good at winter sports (and even then we still get beat by other countries, it's just sad). Seriously, please just get Sam to go to the Quidditch final, that would be beautiful.

Can't wait for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #49, by AlexFanThe Wandering One : Venice

8th July 2014:
Thank you so much for all of your reviews and now I'm going to return the favour!
House Cup 2014 review!

It was so great to see things from Sam's point of view this time, because we already know that he's got a bit of a thing for Victoire but it was great to actually see his thoughts on her.

When you mentioned that Victoire kept looking at the lions all over the city I thought it might've been because they moved or something and Sam just hadn't noticed.

I'm actually really happy that Sam found out about magic and you certainly came up with a creative way for him to find out. I also really loved Pippo and learning about how he had to live. It was interesting to think about how house-elves got treated in other parts of the world. I never even thought about they fact that they would be treated even worse than the ones living in England!

I would pay money to read about Victoire taking Sam to the Quidditch World Cup and just watching his reaction to the game. I'm pretty sure that the poor guy would pee himself or something! Is Victoire ever going to tell him that she's part-Veela? I would love to see her explain that to him and watch Sam's reaction to finding out about that.

And my favourite bit had to be the part where Victoire turned the water into wine because I was actually thinking Jesus when she did the trick and then Sam voiced my thoughts and I couldn't help but laugh.

Onto the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #50, by AlexFanHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

29th June 2014:
Oh my gosh I loved this so much and I can definitely see why it won best story overall.

I loved the conversations between Remus and McGonagall and I loved how even though they were a little awkward around each other their conversations still flowed smoothly and it felt like they'd been friends for years instead of colleagues.

Imagine how weird it must've been for McGonagall to have a former student of hers actually teaching in the school, the amount of memories that would've come back to her when she thought about Remus.

I loved the bit where she was telling Remus about Harry's Firebolt and she mentioned that it seemed like she was the only one that really cared about Harry's safety. It made it sound like literally no other Gryffindor cared if the broom was safe or not as long as it won them the Quidditch games. It sounds exactly like Gryffindor house actually.

I don't have the words to describe exactly how much I enjoyed this so I'll just stick with you did an awesome job on this one-shot and it was really really interesting.

Author's Response: Thank you so much and I'm glad you enjoyed it! The dynamic between these two is SO important to me and I didn't realise how much until I wrote this story - the relationship they had as student (and Prefect, genius, werewolf, Marauder) and teacher (and long-suffering Head of House) and the way that evolved into equals and colleagues and friends - gah.

If the HP series taught me anything (about Gryffindors in particular) it's that Quidditch matters. A lot.

Thank you again for this review, it's lovely!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>