Reading Reviews From Member: AlexFan
  
1,353 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: The New Lineup

24th July 2014:
Molly may have a mohawk that's brightly coloured but her colour coordinated clothes scream Percy Weasley to me. I love how even though she's really punk you can still see a little bit of family resemblence on her.

I can see why Molly is so unimpressed with Fitzroy. I get that he's he's nervous and he doesn't want to work with a bunch of newbies but come on, he needs to start pulling it together if he's going to make them a top notch team. I'm surprised that the man isn't a Gryffindor because he has an awful lot of pride standing between him and that colour coded schedule of hers that would probably help him out to be honest.

If he's going to work with Molly then Fitzroy is going to have to pick up his game because she's the daughter of Percy Weasley and we all know what Percy's like. I have a feeling that Molly is going to accidentally end up controlling the practices because she's going to be irritated with the way that Fitzroy runs things.

And on a side note, I smell a ship growing.

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - kenpo - For You

23rd July 2014:
I've never actually thought about the fact that Teddy might not have wanted to go to Hogwarts (cause I mean, what kid WOULDN'T want to go to Hogwarts?) so this was interesting to see.

But I guess I can see where he's coming from, it's gotta be difficult being forced to attend seven years of education in the building where your parents were murdered.

I like how Teddy makes the decision that he's going to work hard and make his parents proud.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Beeezie

23rd July 2014:
Oh my god I loved this so much.

I loved your comment about Ron being sobered up by the war but not having anymore common sense.

It was so funny how Hermione was trying to make a good argument for Defense Against the Dark Arts with Harry and Ron listing every reason for why they didn't need the lesson anymore. Heck, they could teach everyone the class since they're probably one of the most experienced people at it.

Ron has some very good tactics when it comes to making Hermione be quiet, real smooth on the kiss there Ron, real smooth.

 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Hufflepuff - evil little devil

23rd July 2014:
Reading this just made me want to go on my own adventure and travel the world. Everything that you mentioned about Teddy and Victoire is the reason that I want to travel. And at least they picked jobs that would keep them interested all of the time, how boring can it be to be help tame dragons after all, or to work in George's shop.

But anyway, this was really cute.

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: The Harpy With the Mohawk

23rd July 2014:
I've been hearing quite a bit about this story and it sounded really interesting so of course I'm going to be stopping by (and I'll be reviewing as I go so that I don't forget anything).

From the moment that you mentioned leather and mohawk I knew that Molly was probably going to be metal as fudge. I love how she's completely confident with her appearance and knows that it's not the most important thing as a Quidditch player.

This Meghan woman sounds like she plays a tough game. I mean, it's a little insane to fire half your team and their reserves but it sounds like she knows exactly what she's doing and what she's in for. Molly sounds like a great option for captain of the team actually, with that school record of hers she really is suited for positions of leadership.

Riordan is being a little too harsh, there's plenty of Quidditch talent out there but it's just sitting on the bench. Of course he thinks that just because it's a reserve player that they're going to be no good but he can't really judge since you don't often get to see reserve players play. And besides, it's not like the Pride of Portree could do any worse with these new players, the old team was almost as bad as the Chudley Cannons for chrissakes!

I'm obviously going to have to read the Midnight Run trilogy because otherwise I just won't feel right but other than that, I'm excited to read the rest of this story!

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFanDragonology: The Dragon

23rd July 2014:
Hello there! I'm here for the review swap!

I was really excited to read this because I've been writing a short story about a dragon sanctuary and I was super excited to see how another author would go about it. I really enjoyed this, my favourite bit had to be Charlie for sure.

I love how he was so excited to finally get to work with dragons and become familiar with the ones inside of the sanctuary. I really liked your characterization of Charlie in this because I could definitely picture him being the one to notice that a dragon was hurt and immediately trying to help it out. He doesn't even know how these dragons are going to respond to a stranger and he still risks his life without a second thought just to help an injured animal.

I agree that dragons are probably a lot more like other animals in that they respond to love and care. They're probably not going to be too aggressive around people that they see daily. As for Charlie's mentor, you'd think that he would stick around for a little bit just to make sure that Charlie was settling in well but I guess in a dragon sanctuary it's pretty much go go go all the time.

Lovely one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Leonore

22nd July 2014:
Hey Leonore! So I thought I'd check out another Claws fellow story and leave a review.

I loved how Kreacher went out of his way to bring Harry extra food besides what he asked for. It showed just how much he his feelings for Harry had changed throughout the story. Giving Kreacher Regulus's locket definitely seems to have made their relationship better.

I also love how Harry asks Kreacher if he wants to be free, I think this is the difference between Hermione and Harry. While Hermione wants to force freedom on all the house-elves even if they don't want it, Harry asks for an answer. After all, forcing a house-elf into freedom isn't really all that helpful considering that they don't know how to do anything else and wouldn't be able to survive.

And I loved how startled Kreacher was at being treated like an actual human being instead of a slave. You could tell exactly how mistreated he was by his previous owners just by the way that he reacted to being invited to sit and share food with Harry.

Anyway, awesome one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Ravenclaw333

22nd July 2014:
I loved this, it was so sweet and cute. I always pictured that there must've been some place in the afterlife where everyone hung out.

I love how Fred completely ignored the fact for the most part that he was dead and instead focused on the fact that he was meeting the Marauders his heroes and busy interrogating them. One of them had been living right under his nose for years and then he met the other two and he didn't even know it was them, but at least Fred got to find out in the end. I can just imagine him getting excited to tell George when he shows up that he met THE Marauders.

I especially loved the bit where Remus shows up and Fred asks him about being given three detention from a Marauder of all people and Remus's response. I don't know what Fred pulled that got him those three detentions but I loved that Remus wasn't even mad at him for it, just chastising him for getting caught.

This just gave me really fuzzy feelings that's all.

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFanThe Making of The Map : James

22nd July 2014:
I don't think that I've ever hated Sirius Black before this story (well, maybe once) so kudos to you for absolutely enraging me with this. I mean, he didn't even give any valid reasons for why Lily was a bad person, he mostly beat around the bush about it because it doesn't sound like she tattled on them or anything but just told the Marauders when they were in the wrong. But at the same time after he mentioned that she hung out with Voldemort loving Snape I get the feeling that he thinks she's on board with the whole Death Eater thing (which is ridiculous since it's about killing people like her) but I can understand it because he hates his family for this exact reason.

I thought it was cute how bad James had it for Lily and I love that you showed that she wasn't always screaming her head off at him like a lot of times in fanfiction and they actually had things in common and could get along. James should definitely talk to her and explain that he doesn't agree with what Sirius said and that his friend was in the wrong.

But anyway, this was really awesome and I hope you continue with this because it sounds like it has a lot of potential.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFanDo you believe in love?: She was beautiful, and he was a goner.

21st July 2014:
Thank you so much for satisfying my need for Jily fanfiction because I've been craving it and I didn't know where to find some fanfiction because I've been so busy and I haven't had a chance to properly look but then I saw the Most Recent page and it's like Jesus was rewarding me for something because all I saw was JILY.

ANYWAY.

You have a real knack for writing Jily romance, your prose is absolutely beautiful and everything flows so well it's ridiculous. When you switched from James' perspective to Lily's it just fit into the story instead of standing out and breaking up the flow.

I love how you showed the differences between James and Lily, especially with the socks bit.

I just, my Jily shipper heart is really happy right now.

 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFanShe meant the world to him: She was the wind and the rain, the grass and the earth.

21st July 2014:
I'm not supposed to be reading fanfiction, I'm supposed to be doing JulNo and Camp NaNo but I saw your Jily one-shots and I just had to read them because they're Jily and because you wrote them.

Okay so my only bit of CC is that you really need to work on your formatting because there's large gaps between paragraphs and some of them are single spaced and some are not and it can be a little daunting to reader's if that's what they see. Near the end you forgot to capitalize the P in Potter after Harry's name. If you just fixed those then it would be good to go.

I loved how sweet this was! I love how Lily just lit up James' world and I loved how you mentioned that he turned into a complete dork around Lily because that's what James was, he was a total dork.

He's always painted as this really cool guy, and yeah, James was hella arrogant but he was arrogant in a dorky way. This was the boy who wrote Lily's initials on the corner of his parchment and the way that he was just so head over heels for her in this made it easier to see him as that boy.

I loved how Lily shows her affection for him by stomping towards him in anger and then kissing him because that's how it would totally happen. And I especially adored the little bits of humour that you included as well, like the part about him attending school with someone like McGonagall and Harry looking a little gross.

I'm just falling in love with your Jily one-shots okay.

 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: St Mungo's

16th July 2014:
EHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHEHE I'm so happy that you updated! I thought I was going to end up staying up into the wee hours of the morning wondering about Dani and Oliver but I'm so happy that I didn't have to!

Yes, they've finally made it official! I look forward to more cutesy Dani/Oliver moments and I'm also super excited to see what her last wish is going to be! Hopefully once she gets her last wish over with the last horrible thing will happen and she can move on with her life. But, I highly doubt that it's going to be that clean cut, something dramatic is bound to happen.

Of course Kat thinks that she would know if Angus would have a crush on her. It's always easy to see when people like your friends or someone else you know but we're completely blind to the affections directed at us by people that we know. I feel a little bit bad for Kat because not only does it sound like Angus wouldn't have a chance with her, but it also sounds like she doesn't think that she's good enough for him or something. I mean, she's a difficult person to get along with, that much I can see quite clearly, and she seems to have issues with staying faithful but Kat's a good person at heart.

I absolutely loved how no one was surprised, well, except for Bran, that Dani and Oliver were dating. And I really loved how Bran didn't get all caveman on Oliver about staying away from his little sister and ordering Dani around and telling her who she could and could not date. I like how he's letting her live her life and make her mistakes and he isn't being overbearing. Although I have no doubt that if Oliver were to ever hurt Dani (which he wouldn't) Bran would probably kick his butt.

So anyway, brilliant chapter and I look forward to the next one and Kat's recovery.

 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFanKeep Calm and Carry On: Makeshift

16th July 2014:
AWWW YIIISSS

first of all yay you updated! Second of all, again, I absolutely love Edie. There's just something about her sense of humour that is absolutely hilarious, maybe it's the way that she very blunt about things or maybe it's the dry way in which she sometimes says things but she's absolutely hilarious and I love her.

We finally get to find out why Oliver is dating Rose. It always bugged me because I couldn't understand why someone like him would date someone like Rose but everything makes sense now. I am so excited to see what happens after this! Are Edie and Oliver going to start dating or is it it going to be private or what is going to happen? IS THERE GOING TO BE MORE EDIE AND OLIVER MOMENTS PREFERABLY ONES WHERE THEIR FACES ARE ATTACHED?

But the point is that I really loved this chapter.

Author's Response: Hello you!! I know, FINALLY an update. Jeez. I'm about to have a super boring two month stint in my hometown, so you can expect a lot of updates in the future. Maybe I'll be finish this story before the fall? Who knows.

Anyway, thank you thank you! Edie and Oliver do seem to finally have their ducks in a row. And you can certainly look forward to one face-attached scene in particular. Ahem.

So yes, look for updates ;)


 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFanExceptional Circumstances: Pixiedust Delirium I

14th July 2014:
OH MY GOD ADDISON YOU DONT JUST DRINK SOMETHING WHEN YOU DONT EVEN KNOW WHAT IT IS!

You'd think that being an Auror and all she would be absolutely ace at the art of the fact that you don't put something in your body if you don't know what it is. She could've at least asked what the hell the bartender had even put in the drunk instead of just drinking it. Mad-Eye Moody would've been really disappointed with her. Like this is basic safety procedure when going to a club.

I'm guessing that she's run into James but James doesn't seem like the type of person who sounds mildly alarmed by what anything that Addison does as he has a certain disdain for her so I'm not sure how concerned he really is. I don't know how correct I am.

GURL THIS WAS SUCH A SHORT CHAPTER OH MY GOD IT WAS NOT LONG AT ALL IF ITS SHORTER THAN 5K WORDS THEN IT IS NOT LONG KEEP THAT IN MIND. Seriously I wouldn't care if your chapters were 12K each as long as you didn't leave them on a cliffhanger like this.

I MUST HAVE CHAPTER SEVEN NOW (but whenever you're done is cool as well you know).

Author's Response: Ah, I've been anticipating a review like this. Believe me when I say Addison's internal rant/self-berating is going to sound pretty much like this. That being said, there's no going over the fact that she was careless. And I agree, Moody would not be impressed.

The fact is, no matter how much he disdains her, even James wouldn't be able to hide his shock if he found Addison drugged and giggling. It would be akin to discovering McGonagall in a tutu and dancing the conga (I exaggerate very slightly.)

12K?! What! I don't think I'd ever be able to do that. I start getting really nervous around 2.5K, for some unfathomable reason. But 5K is a possibility...maybe one day...

Also, I'm really liking this cliffhanger business :p Now I understand how Rick Riordan could possibly enjoy this.

Chapter 7 shall be out as soon as the harrasment that are my Unit Exams get done. I'm honestly looking forward to it as much as you guys are! ;)

Thanks for being so enthusiastic, love.

Cheers,
-Akansha.


 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFanClash: Fear

13th July 2014:
I can see why you had to cut some stuff out, this is the darkest thing that I've ever read. It's kind of scary to think that what you had to cut out was worse than this because this was pretty damn scary.

You could be some kind of horror novelist or something (and I would buy each and every one of your books just so you know).

I have such mixed feelings about all of the characters because you can't just shove them into good and bad boxes because they are so much more complex then that, they're human beings and human beings don't fit into good or bad boxes. There are times when I hate the Head and then ther are times where he shows that he does feel something towards Rose even if it is very little.

And there are times where I absolutely detest Albus and times like this chapter where he tries to protect Rose because he understands the things that she can't handle. If the Head knew about what Rose had to put up with with Albus, he wouldn't be surprised that his training hadn't broken her.

I don't know how you come up with such dark stuff, I feel like your mind might be a terrifying but absolutely fascinating place to explore. Your imagination has no bounds honestly, but I suppose when it comes to the dark, there really isn't a limit to just how twisted you can make things.

The most horrifying part for me personally was when the Other had Rose pinned against that tombstone and then he . . . yeah and I was just screaming in my head for it to stop because it was wrong. It wasn't Albus but it looked like him and that's the freaky part.

Harry Potter what have you done to your son? Speaking of Harry, are you going to tell us the events that led to Harry basically going crazy?

And that ending, WHAT KIND OF AN ENDING WAS THAT WHY WOULD YOU DO THAT I JUST LITERALLY CANNOT EVEN RIGHT NOW.

This is why it takes me so long to read the new chapters of your story, I spend time emotionally preparing myself for every new thing that you bring to the table.

Please do the world a favour and become a published author.

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: The First Day of Classes

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

You know I always wondered why Harry's watch worked at Hogwarts when the amount of magic surrounding the place was supposed to make it go haywire. But I guess they made some kind of exceptions for watches since they'd need their students to keep time somehow in order to get to classes faster.

Shouldn't Kenway, Albus, and Rose all be taking Divination? isn't it mandatory for all third years to take Divination or something? I might be remembering that wrong though, it might not be mandatory because Hermione did drop the class.

Molly and Lucy, one is their fathers daughter and the other one isn't. I love how Lucy didn't make a big deal about the fact that she could figure out the passwords. It's just kind of like, "I'm a Ravenclaw, if I can figure out how to get into my common room then I'm pretty sure that I can get into yours."

Awesome fourth chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks for the review!

Actually, Divination was one of the electives (like Muggle Studies, Care of Magical Creatures, Arithmancy, and Ancient Runes) that students could choose between to add in their third year. It was just popular when Harry's year took it, I guess.

Heehee that's one of our favorite sequences. :)
Thanks again!
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #17, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: The Sorting

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Hola! I'm back again (I promise with less CC and a shorter review). While I was reading the HP books I always got confused as to how people would know which table to go to if said house didn't clap and cheer and having their own house colours hanging over them would've been a really simple way to identify them.

I loved your Sorting Hat song, I loved how it rhymed and how it summed up all four houses really well in such a short song. I was singing the entire thing in my head and bopping along to an imaginary tune.

Good luck to whoever is trying to break into Hogwarts, the place is a fortress, it would be very difficult to inflitrate the castle (unless the villain pulled a Draco Malfoy and came out of the Room of Requirement).

If I was in Lily's shoes and Harry Potter was telling me to hide a necklace so that it couldn't be found and to not fiddle with it because of powerful magic, I'd probably be asking what was so social about the necklace that someone was trying to break into a school to get it.

I loved the writing in this chapter the best so far because it flowed a lot better than the previous two. The descriptions were a lot better and allowed me to picture the scene a lot more clearly than the other two and things didn't feel as rushed as in the previous chapters so good job on that!
-Grace

Author's Response: Hello again then! Don't worry about the long CC, it was still very helpful!

I thought I read once that there were banners over the tables. I could be mistaken, though.

Thank you! I have a tune in my head too, if you can't sing it, it's not a good song! ;) I'm really proud of how it turned out; I put a lot of effort into it, including dissecting the canon songs' rhyme, meter, stressed/unstressed beat patter (I forget what its called offhand), and types of attributes too. I'm glad you liked it!! :)

I guess Lily gets the impression that Harry wouldn't tell her anyways, because I don't think he would, at least right away.

Thanks so much!! :D Yeah, the first two chapters are probably a tad rocky compared to the rest. I'm glad you liked it enough to continue! :)

--Freda


 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Candies on the Train

12th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Sorry for taking so long to come back for the second chapter but I was out all day. Anyway! I loved the bit with Kenway Boot and the camping trip. It put a smile on my face to read about Harry declining the invitation because he'd gone camping for so long. I thought it was a nice little nod to the books.

I don't think you had to explain what a Metamorphmagus is because anyone reading this had most likely read the entire series (or at least up to Order of the Phoenix) and would know what a person with that ability was so I didn't think that was necessary but this is your story so feel free to ignore me. Also, when you told the reader that Teddy was a metamorphmagus, it felt a little choppy to me so maybe you could work that in with something like, "Teddy had chosen to keep his hair blonde today instead of his usual eye-catching blue," or something like that. If you showed the reader that he was a metamorphmagus you wouldn't need to tell them that Teddy had that ability.

If it's been mentioned in the books then your reader already knows that, for example, George owns Weasley's Wizard Wheezes. Stuff that's been talked about in the books doesn't really need to be mentioned unless it's something really obscure that not everyone remembers. Things that weren't mentioned, like who Fred was named after (even though it can be inferred) are great because then you add in a little piece of canon information that maybe not everyone was aware of.

I loved that you included all of the Weasley and Potter children in some way because a lot of fanfiction tends to focus on only the Potters and usually Rose and Hugo and very little on the rest of the family. I loved all of the information that you gave about each family member and some of Kenway's siblings but it almost felt like it was too much.

It's great that we get to know the characters but the reader doesn't need to know everything about each and every character right from the start because it's a lot of information to digest and they might forget a lot of it. And besides, you could've worked in all of the information about the characters by having them talk about classes or Head Girl duties or like Rose did, mention the Hogwarts permission slip. If you spread out all of the information throughout the chapters of the stories, it would build up the characters in the readers head and they would remember all of the characteristics and other things.

The vendetta that the Gryffindors seemed to have with the Slytherins seemed a bit out of place as well. I understand that it would take a while for the dislike between the two houses to go away but it's been like fifteen years since Harry attended school, wouldn't everyone have got over the prejudices? And considering the praise that Harry was giving about Slytherin along with Ginny, you'd think Albus would know better than to hold a grudge against someone or a group of people that have never even done anything to him. And I'm assuming that Slytherin house never targeted Albus because he was telling Lily that they were nice, individuals like Dunstan yeah but not the entire house. Again, that's just what I think so feel free to ignore this.

I know that's a lot of CC but despite what I mentioned, I did enjoy reading this chapter and I thought it was really great at getting the reader excited about Hogwarts and what would happen with the next generation. I look forward to seeing what role each character plays as the plot moves along.

This review was not meant to be this long holy cow.
-Grace

Author's Response: Thanks for the critique!

Some background may help: when we wrote this chapter, we had very little idea who our audience would be, since we had yet to even find HPFF. This chapter used to be worse as far as over-introducing and over-explaining; it's improved a little but I agree it still could do with a little less mass-introduction. After we get the rest of this story and its side-stories out the door, I really hope to go back and fix this chapter. However the summer's almost over! (Eep!)

I/we had assumed that there is still a little bit of tension between them (mostly with quidditch since they're the two most competitive), but not as much as it used to be. (Such as duels just because of their house.)

Now Kenway; Kenway has an unreasonable grudge against them. It's introduced in Beginnings, AP&tSM's prequel. His reasoning is because his mum and others lost so much family to Death Eaters, which were almost guaranteed to be all Slytherins.

Thanks again for the critique! It's very helpful to us. :)
--Freda


 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFanAlbus Potter and the Stone Mark: Parchment, Quills, and Symbols

11th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I said that I would be coming by to drop some reviews and here I am! I thought this story could use a little love. So I liked how you started the story right before the kids went off to Hogwarts because it was different and it helped set up the danger part of it really well.

I really love how you jumped right in with the plot to catch the readers attention and then went from there. The kids were really cute and exactly how I pictured them as youngsters, especially Lily, she was so cute and childish.

Doesn't the Sorting Hat talk to everyone though? Because when Harry was getting sorted it was kind of like it like it was talking to itself as it tried to make a decision. Unless of course you mean like an actual conversation in which case I get what you mean, that's probably not as common.

You'd think having grown up around the Wealsey's Harry and Ginny would've known to check for Extendable Ears before they started talking to one another or something but I guess you get slower with age. And I absolutely loved Ginny at the end where she confiscated the Extendable Ears, NOTHING ESCAPES GINNY POTTER GUYS!

But this sounds interesting! Could it really be Voldemort sympathizers or it could be a whole new evil and something far more dangerous. WE SHALL SEE!

Lovely first chapter!
-Grace

Author's Response: Thank you! We really appreciate reviews!

Lily's personality was the easiest to create, Albus was more of a problem. In the first drafts he was rather clumsy, but later we went back and changed him to be more uncertain but loving.

I (Georgina, the person who wrote that line) figured the Sorting Hat probably didn't speak to Draco, its decision happened too quickly. So I wondered who else would the hat not have to think too much on; the people who had an obvious fit in one House. James belonged in that category. It was my way of exploring the Hat a little bit more.

I always thought she didn't notice it at first because she wanted to tell Harry right away, without thinking that the kids would try to listen in. Then when she said it, she realized what had happened. No mother of three children will let something like that escape her for too long.

Our climax is in the queue now, so keep reading and you'll find out in a day or two!

Thank you so much for stopping by!
--Georgina


 Report Review

Review #20, by AlexFanChase: Chapter Three - Meeting with McGonagall

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review
Educational Decree #7

I just want to hug Kendra already. I have a soft spot in my heart for characters that feel like their parents don't care about them and Kendra had now entered into that soft spot. On the other hand, congratulations to Madeline for getting pregnant, she sounds really excited for the baby.

That jab that Kendra made about the slime was really witty and it put a smile on my face. I'm just sitting here chuckling at it, I'm amused very easily apparently.

I can definitely relate to Kendra about the perfectionist. I've felt like giving up on trying at school at well but that feeling in me wouldn't let me, no matter how much you hate the subject, if you take it then you have to do good in it. Kendra is definitely relatable.

Oh my God the sass coming from Kendra is beautiful. "Did I stutter?" I can just imagine the look on her face and the kind if stance that she probably had on at that point. I do have to agree with her though, Wood was being a jerk and totally unprofessional, you can't treat your teammates with that kind of lack of respect. I'm glad that McGonagall straightened the two of them out.

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFanHPFF United Collaboration: The Quidditch Ban

10th July 2014:
House Cup Review 2014
Educational Decree #7

This was so cute! I never even entertained the idea that Quidditch might've been on the edge of being banned so this was a brand new look for me. I can definitely understand what Poppy means by it though, it really is a dangerous game and sometimes students get a little bit too intense with it. She would probably get tired having to mend all of those broken bones all of the time.

On the other hand, yay for house unity! It's always lovely to read a story where Hogwarts houses band together to achieve a result and help each other out instead of splitting up from each other. It's amazing how much power Quidditch has when it comes to bringing people together.

I loved how in the end James decided to let the Slytherins have their victory as a thanks for Regulus helping him and Sirius out. He could've probably thanked Regulus a different way than losing a Quidditch game but it's the thought that counts.

I love how Regulus was just so matter-of-fact about everything. I'm a Slytherin, of course I can help you out and of course you need me, you could definitely see that he was related to Sirius in those moments because Sirius would've said something like that as well.

 Report Review

Review #22, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: Holding On

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay so I'm writing this as I go. I feel like someone is going to be dead by the end of this story with the way that this is going. I hope that Kat gets better as soon as possible because everyone is really suffering without her around.

Okay, so I noticed that you said that Bob would pay Kat's hospital bills but see the thing is that in the UK (and in Canada), unless it's a private hospital or something like that, they don't actually give you a bill that you have to pay since you're paying for it through your taxes. And it was never mentioned in Order of the Phoenix that Mrs. Weasley had to pay any kind of bill after Mr. Weasley was let go from St. Mungo's. With the amount of treatments that Mr. Weasley went through in the book, if Molly had to pay St. Mungo's then it would've probably cost her a lot more than she could afford.

If Dani wanted to know how to deal with Acromantula, I think Harry and Ron would be able to give her some really good advice in that department since they have quite a bit of experience with it lol.

Oh my goodness, I totally forgot about Malfoy, Crabbe, and Goyle dressing up like Dementors to try and distract Harry! That was interesting to see from someone else's point of view.

OH MY GOD YES THEY KISSED I'M SO HAPPY! THIS HAS JUST MADE MY ENTIRE DAY! THANK YOU FOR GETTING THEM TO KISS THAT WAS SO SWEET AND SO CUTE AND JUST GAAAH! DANI AND OLIVER ARE GOING TO BE A THING NOW WOOHOO!

I have just become a thousand times happier having read this now! Brilliant job on it and I'm so excited for the next chapter!

 Report Review

Review #23, by AlexFanAcanthus: Penultimate Farewells

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

I'm writing this as I read.

Rose is so strong to be able to deal with the horror of watching her friend kill someone and then die themselves. Not many people would be able to levitate a corpse while dealing with something like that so I applaud her for her strength.

I'm so relieved that she managed to make it back to Lorcan, I was so worried that she was actually going to get stuck in the desert at night and that really doesn't sound like somewhere that you would want to be, I've heard that desert nights are freezing.

And of course even when she's half-dead Rose manages to be stubborn about something that can wait when she's not falling asleep on her feet. I can see the Weasley in her.

They need to tell David, they've gone on keeping the secret for this long but he needs to know the truth now. He's probably just going to have a heart attack if Rose and Lorcan just disappear into thin air without any explanation.

I KNEW IT! I knew that when you said that Scorpius had given in that by the time that he spoke up, Rose would have already drunk the potion and it would be too late. It was just like something out of a movie. WHY ARE YOU LEAVING SCORPIUS BEHIND. My poor ScoRose heart is breaking.

I just can't even right now. I need to process that Scorpius is being left behind.

(But I mean, awesome chapter so two thumbs up)
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFanAcanthus: Plans and Preparations

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Okay so I'm going to write this before I go and read Chapter 20.

I'm so proud of Scorpius for not losing hope while being in a tough situation like his. You can definitely end up feeling weak when you're tied up and there's no way out so I'm just really happy with Scorpius for keeping his head clear and trying to turn the situation around so that it can benefit him.

First time I read this chapter I was so happy to find out that my prediction about Charlotte and the gang being wizards was right and I was getting really excited to read everyone else's reaction to finding out that Rose and Lorcan can also do magic but then you ended it with Rose about to tell them and I was just like, "WHHHY!!!"

But then I found out so it was okay.

I love how no one is even surprised at Hermione's reactions anymore, Hugo isn't even insulted by the fact that she's comparing him to his sister because he knows how she is when she worries about things and he understands where she's coming from.

Anyway, I'm onto read and review Chapter 20 now!
~Grace

 Report Review

Review #25, by AlexFanAcanthus: Wicker Lines

10th July 2014:
House Cup 2014 Review

Frederic Russell sounds like an absolute creep. Like I get he's the villain and everything but damn is he creepy! I also get the impression that he's one of those people that really likes to hear themselves talk because that's the only conclusion that I can come to as to why he won't shut up and just get on with being evil. You'd think every antagonist would've figured this out by now but apparently not, the more talking you do the more time you give your enemy the chance to escape.

I'll give him props for one thing though, at least when he does get down to business, he doesn't screw around or anything, he just gets right down to the torture.

I loved how Hermione was worried, it just goes to show you that no matter how badly you may get along with your family, family is family (most of the time anyway) and they'll worry about you and try to protect you. But of course Hermione isn't going to sit around and do nothing while her daughter is missing. A mother just knows when something has happened to her child. GO WITH YOUR INSTINCTS HERMIONE!

Even though Rose is stuck in 1922, at least she's still going to be able to achieve what she set out to do in the first place, she's still going to get to see Acanthus and write that article of hers (if she ever manages to make it back to the present time that is).

Onto the next chapter that I haven't reviewed!
~Grace

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>