Reading Reviews From Member: AlexFan
  
1,295 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFanA Basket Full of Love: Easter Egg Hunts

18th April 2014:
For some reason, I forgot that this was being told from Victoire's point of view the minute that I stopped reading the summary so I was really confused as to who the narrator was at the beginning. But then I stopped being stupid so that was okay.

I enjoyed reading this! It was really cute and you did highlight the great things to look forward to when it comes to Easter. I could picture in my head the little kids running around and shrieking with laughter. I could picture heavily pregnant Victoire trying to get up but not being able to do so.

And I also loved the festive, cheerful tone and feeling that I got while reading the one-shot. This was really entertaining and I think you did a good job on it.

GO TEAM LUNA DIGGORY!

Author's Response: Haha, I do that ALL the time! I'm like wait. WHO is speaking right now?!?!?! And then I figure it out. So it's cool :)

Thanks! I wanted to try to make it really cute, and I'm glad you liked it! Yay for imagery! It's the best!! Thanks hon!

LUNA DIGGORY FOR THE WIN! ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFan30 Days of You and Me: Together

17th April 2014:
I really enjoyed this chapter even though the story has come to an end and I'm going to miss Rose and Scorpius.

I love how the relaxing the chapter was, it wasn't anything dramatic, it was just Rose and Scorpius being who they were and enjoying each other's company. I loved that they went shopping and how embarrassed Rose became by all of the lingerie. I feel like Scorpius was trying his best not to start laughing at Rose and was enjoying her discomfort.

I will forever and always love the relationship between Rose and her father in this fanfiction. The two of them get along so well and they just get each other and each other's humour. There was more evidence of that when Rose was talking to her father about his use of the term, "street cred," (which does, admittedly sound pretty lame). I can just picture Ron trying to be all hip and cool but failing at it.

I'm so excited for Scorpius! I can't believe that he's going to be in a commercial, that's such good news. And he'll be getting paid for it as well. He may not live until a hundred but at least he'll have an exciting life!

I loved this fanfiction and I promise that I will eventually get to reading the Keeper's Daughter eventually! And just so you know, this is also for the Huffleclaw/Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza!

 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFanConfronting Temptation: Pre Party Disscusions

17th April 2014:
I feel like inviting Rose to stay with his parents was perhaps too much for Rose. It's like she's trying to deal with so much all at once. Rose is definitely not meant to live a Malfoy life. This girl is a Weasley through and through and you can tell by the fact that she's not thrilled about the party or the dress that she has to wear. She's not going to fit into the Malfoy family all that well (at least, I think).

One thing that I do like is the fact that Astoria is actually trying to make an effort to accept Rose into her family and keeping her judgement aside. That would be something that I picture Astoria doing that Draco might not.

On the other hand, Scorpius really needs to talk to Rose about the letter from her father. He doesn't know what it could say, it could be Ron apologising for all he knows and the fact that Rose hasn't replied to the letter might seem to Ron like she's rejecting his apology. I understand WHY Scorpius is keeping the letter from her and his fears but keeping the letter from her and lying to her about it is going to do more damage than the actual letter. If Rose could get through the fact that her brother had gotten Scorpius's wife pregnant and that Scorpius was still married to her, I'm sure a letter isn't going to drive Rose away no matter what it says. Besides, she's bound to find out about the letter anyway.

And finally, James and Vivian are most definitely dating. I'll be really surprised if they aren't because it's really obvious by the way that he describes her who his girlfriend is.

Anyway, great chapter (and this was also for the Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza.)

Author's Response: No Rose is not meant to live the Malfoy life and I don't think Scorpius wants her too either. He is just more used to the standards of his family and is able to adapt easier but the last thing he wants is to live like his parents as well.
Yes Astoria is trying and although Draco may come across as a bit stiff I think he is a bit more accepting in the relationship, I mean Rose did save his son's life, that tends to make up for years of distaste.
Scorpius does need to talk to Rose, but then again where's the fun in that. Scorpius is working on speculation and that makes what he is doing risky. As for why Scorpius is keeping the letter a secret, he is not thinking rationally. You are sort of right about how Rose got over Scorpius being married and Hugo and Lexie, but keep in mind that these people are not Ron. Ron does hold a special place in her heart and it is her opinion/approval that she does seek. Not saying that that is what is going to happen, i'm just pointing that just seeing her father for a couple of minutes reduced her to tears and a mess. To Scorpius he isn't sure if she will get over it. Ron's words hold more power than Rose would like to believe they do.
Anyways More on the James and Vivian thing in the next chapter. Dating is a strong word.
Thank you for reading and reviewing.


 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFanClash: Plan

17th April 2014:
I came back to review this for a few reasons by I'll just get right to it.

Sometimes I feel like Albus underestimates Rose and the knowledge that she has. He seems to think that he can get away with anything, like those murders and that Rose won't find out about it. I may be wrong about that but to me it seems like it because Albus is always shocked when Rose mentions something or calls him out on something else that he was so smug about no one knowing. The murders for example, he thought that Rose didn't know when in fact she did, she had had her suspicions before but the report that she got confirmed what she was thinking.

I would say that the amount that Rose is putting on the line for Albus is ridiculous. But then I think about the fact that they only have each other now, like she points out. She doesn't want to lose Albus, which I can understand, but she's risking far too much considering she's on such a tight leash and if she even so much as breathes wrong, she'll be thrown in Azkaban.

And of course I look forward to seeing where the whole parents are missing thing goes.

Anyway, brilliant chapter (as usual).

(And on a sidenote, this was also for the Huffleclaw Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza.)

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFan19 years: Year 2: The future

15th April 2014:
I loved this so much! Fairly certain that it's my favourite one of of all of them.

My favourite part was especially the last half. Harry is growing up so fast, he's buying a flat and moving out. Doing grown up things. My little baby has grown so much! I just about sighed in extreme frustration at Harry's confusion. Like, no, you buffoon, she's angry because you're leaving and she won't get to see you anymore among other things. Honestly, Harry can be as clueless as Ron sometimes. I wonder when Harry is going to ask Ginny to move in with him (or is he just going to propose and then she'll move in?)

I love how Hermione just barged into the Auror offices to share her news and doesn't even care that she's disrupting an important meeting. I think that's the first time that Hermione's done anything like that!

My favourite lines were definitely by Ron. The ones where he added onto what he said about Mrs Weasley hounding Harry to stay and trying to bribe him. You know you're a tight knit family when you're aware of the fact of which family member is probably listening in on your conversation.

Anyway, I just really enjoyed this!

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFanDecoding the Tutshill Tornados: The One with Fern

15th April 2014:
Avery Flynn is my spirit animal. I seriously respect this girl, you have no idea how much respect I have for Avery Flynn. Thank you for thinking up such a brilliant character. She's attractive, she's smart, she's a hell of a Quidditch player, she's funny and she doesn't take no bull droppings from anyone. I admire that about her.

That ending was absolute gold, I swear to God. It was all just so perfect. I punched my fist into the air and grinned so wide you wouldn't even believe. You don't mess with Avery Flynn people because if you do, pray to Jesus that she doesn't kill you. Edwards is most definitely going to be avoiding her from now on. But at the same time, I feel like he might want to help take down Avery now because she beat him up and just generally made him look like a fool and stomped all over her pride so I'm a little worried about her. At the same time, she may actually get away with it in which case, woohoo!

David Flynn is the scum of the earth. I swear to God, what is up with this man, he just won't quit, will he? Someone needs to put an end to him because this is just getting ridiculous. James should really go to his dad about this, I have a feeling that if Harry knew what was going on things would get done a lot quicker. Why doesn't James just go to the ministry about this? He has the memories to prove that it actually happened and wouldn't the ministry be forced to do something? I mean, Edwards and Mason could be charged with kidnap and assault. It might not enough to land them in prison but I'm pretty sure Edwards would get fired on the spot as well as fined and Mason would most certainly be fired.

David Flynn, I got my eyes on you boy!

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFan19 years: Year 1: May 2nd, 1999

15th April 2014:
I'm reviewing partly for the Huffleclaw-Ravenpuff Eggstravaganza and partly because I want to since this was a really cute chapter.

I love how you include the dark times as well as the light times after Voldemort's death, it shows that everything didn't really go back to normal and become all hunky dory just because Voldemort was dead.

I love that Harry and Ron were stopped by Betty, she really does seem to be Witch Weekly's version of Rita Skeeter. I can just imagine the headline in Witch Weekly about how Ron doesn't approve of Harry dating his sister. That seems to be the big problem at the current moment, publicity. And I do hope that Ron and Harry do visit Hagrid more often. I miss Hagrid, we need more Hagrid. I can just picture him getting all excited because Harry, Ron and Hermione would be coming to visit.

One of my favourite parts was definitely the one where Ginny admitted that she thought about her and Harry having kids. It just made me giggle because those two were being so cute and Harry isn't even freaked out by it. He just knows that he wants to have kids with Ginny as well.

I completely forgot that Victoire was born on May 2nd! It only occurred to me when the lion showed up and announced that Fleur was in labor. It just went over my head that it was May 2nd and that Victoire was born on that day. It's brilliant how you include things from canon in the story, it just makes it one hundred times better.

And Hermione, goodness, it's been almost eight years and she still doubts whether she's a part of the Weasley family, of course she is! She's been through so much with them. I felt a little bit bad for Draco and Narcissa because they seemed so unwelcome and while I can understand why, at the same time I kind of wish Harry had or someone had gone up to them and been a little welcoming or something like that.

And I've thought about a graduation ceremony for Hogwarts students but it was never really mentioned in th seriee. It was implied that seventh years just left and never came back. I guess this year would've been different though and everyone would've wanted to celebrate.

Anyway, awesome chapter!

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFanClementine: Clementine

10th April 2014:
Oh my goodness, I love this so much because it's so cute and sweet. I love how you made Fleur insecure and unsure about what she was doing around Bill. I love how you showed in so few words how a confident woman like Fleur turned into a girl who began to doubt every choice that she made when she was around Bill because she was just so nervous.

It got even better at the end when Bill shows up at her job and asks her out in French. Just the fact that he went through so much effort to ask her to dinner in a way that might impress her was wonderful. It was just the effort that he put in just for Fleur.

This brightened my day, well done on it!

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFan19 years: Year 1: Christmas at the Burrow

10th April 2014:
I've just recently started reading this because I've seen it around so much and obviously it was good if so many people seemed to be enjoying it. This is the first and only story that I've read about the trio after the war.

But moving on.

This was so cute! It's impossible for me not to leave a review talking about how cute this entire chapter was. It just makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. The gift that Harry got Teddy was so cute and I could just picture Teddy holding it and playing with it and making baby sounds while he sat in Harry's lap. And then when he fell asleep in Harry's lap and leaned against him and his hair turned the same colour as Harry's if that had gotten any cuter, I would've started squealing. If that didn't prove that Harry would be a good dad then I don't know what would.

I loved the gift that Ron got Hermione. It was so thoughtful and he put so much effort into it. I love how he's trying to keep in touch with her and really, it's the little stuff that they're doing for each other that show their love.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFanThe Invisible Thief : Trusted You

10th April 2014:
I'll be honest with you, the first time I read through this, I got to the part where Jenna told Bri that she and Albus had done the deed and then I had to stop reading because I was just so mad that I couldn't think properly and I probably would've done something stupid.

That was two days ago.

What is wrong with Jenna, seriously, what is wrong with her? Is she the spawn of Satan or something like seriously, what is wrong with her. Why does she have such a huge grudge for Bri and her friends. Why is it that Jenna has so much hatred for specifically Bri and her friends. Is it just a random thing? It can't be a random thing because there has to be some kind of history for Jenna to wish to emotionally and mentally harm someone in such a way. I try not to hate people because everyone is going through their own stuff but Jenna makes it really hard for me to keep myself from being a hypocrite.

She sounded so shocked when Bri kicked her off of the Quidditch team. What did she think she was going to happen? Bri was just going to continue to let Jenna play even though she pulled so much stuff on Bri and just outright disrespected her captain in every way possible? Did it not occur to her that she would lose her position on the team?

It sounds like Jenna had forced herself on Albus and before he could push her off, Bri had walked in and she had assumed that Albus and Jenna were getting it on.

I don't know, even as mad as I am at Jenna, it sounds like she has insecurity problems and jealousy issues. She went to such great lengths to tear down Bri's confidence and self-esteem that no one would go to unless they had some sort of personal vendetta. Maybe Jenna wishes she had the life that Bri did.

 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: Christmas Surprises

8th April 2014:
Radley is getting on a level of creepy previously unknown to humanity. I'm actually quite interested to know how he found out where Dani lived. Did he follow her home or something? How does he know where she lives? I don't understand why Dani hasn't just dumped him by now. She clearly doesn't like Radley anymore, even she knows it.

On a different note, does this mean that the Dani/Oliver ship is going to be sailing soon or is that still going to be quite a while before it happens. It doent even matter to me because the two of them kissed and I've been waiting for that to happen for the longest of times. It'll be interesting to see where Dani and Oliver's relationship goes from here on out.

As always, I'm excited for Dani to get back to Hogwarts and for more of her adventures with the mirror!

Author's Response: Radley is a very creepy bloke. I wouldn't want to date him, that's for certain! I'm sure Radley has a number of techniques he employed to find out where Dani lives. Perhaps he went to the Ministry of Magic to find her address. Or disguised himself as a pot plant. Maybe he locked himself in her trunk. There are a whole world of possibilities!

The Dani/Oliver relationship is happening at last!

I hope to see you back soon! The next chapter is on its way!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFanThe Wandering One : Romania

4th April 2014:
Aw yes, chapter five! I loved the tone of this chapter, it was so soothing and quiet, there wasn't a lot of action to get the blood pumping but there was enough going on to keep it interesting and great!

It's so great that you wrote about the dragon reserve because it's another thing that's mentioned in the series but it was never really gone through. It was so interesting to see the way that you pictured the sanctuary and how it functioned. I hadn't actually thought about the fact that there would be dragon rights activists but it does make sense. Just like there are animal rights activists, there're going to be dragons.

Although to be fair, if dragons weren't kept in sanctuary's, can you imagine the amount of chaos and towns lit on fire because of dragons.

In other news, I'm glad that Teddy and Victoire have finally talked it out and cleared the air. At least the two of them know where they stand with each other. I will say this about Teddy though, he's an extremely insecure person and I think he needs to work on that before he decides to date someone. You can't be with someone if you don't trust the person. But, even though Teddy is extremely insecure, at some point I just stopped pitying him. He was getting extremely clingy and as sorry as I felt for him, I was more annoyed with how desperate he was to hang onto Victoire.

Victoire didn't need to apologize for not wanting to be with Teddy. She doesn't owe Teddy anything and she most certainly doesn't need to apologize for how she feels. If Teddy had decided to be bitter about her decision, then that would've been his problem. Victoire didn't do anything wrong except try and make her life better. I'm just going to leave it at that otherwise I'm going to end up going on a feminist rant and that's not the point of the review.

Anyway, another brilliant chapter and I look forward to the next one!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

This chapter was a nice little break from the excitement of always being on the move. I'm glad you found it interesting - I felt it tied up some loose ends which had been building up since the first chapter and really needed to be addressed.

I find the dragon reserve really fascinating, though I didn't have very much to compare it to. It's quite interesting how they would hide all those dragons. :P I thought the activists were a little goofy in a way since like you said dragons are probably safer and happier in the sanctuaries, except when they get called to Triwizard tournament duty I suppose. :P I almost had one of the activists dying while Victoire and everyone were at the sanctuary but decided that was a little too much tragedy for this story.

Good! I really love hearing people's opinions on Teddy here, and if Victoire was fair to him or not. Having dated insecure people before, I think I channeled some of my annoyance for that onto Teddy's character, and you've understood him perfectly. I think this would be a very different story if it were from Teddy's POV, but I'm glad you find Victoire's reaction realistic and how she knows that Teddy will be better off in the long run without clinging on to her.

You're right! Honestly, I think she did the nicer thing by being honest with him and not leading him on - ripping off the bandaid and all of that.

Thanks so much for the amazing review! I really love hearing your thoughts on this! ♥


 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFanThe Invisible Thief : Not as Planned

30th March 2014:
I knew it! I knew that something was going to go wrong! Everything was just going too smoothly for it to last. If it's too good to be true then it probably is.

I will admit though, that up until the point that Albus was caught making out with Jenna, the chapter was pretty damn hilarious. I especially loved Bri's explanation of exactly how hot the shower water was. Dom is just the absolute best at giving insults, that comment about looking like a brick that a bird pooped on was wonderful.

One thing that I would suggest is maybe looking the chapter over and fixing the grammatical errors throughout it but other than that I enjoyed it.

But to move on to Albus, why would he do this! He's made it very clear that he likes Bri, very clear. Even his cousins and siblings have pointed out that he's smitten with Bri. Does he not think that he has a chance with Bri? Is that it? Does he think that she's never going to like him and so he might as well just move on with his life because Bri sure as heck has?

Personally, I think this entire mess could be solved if either Bri or Albus burst out singing Take a Chance On Me to the other.

Author's Response: First of all, so excited for this long review! And yes, you're right! Not everything is smooth sailings.

Thank you! That shower part was one of my favorite parts, to be honest! Dom's character is a lot of fun to play with.

I will try my best to do that!

I wish I could answer all these questions but I don't want to spoil anything! As everyone will find out soon that Albus is just a little bit more complicated then his little crush with Brielle.

HAHA I think that would be a wonderful way to solve their problems!


 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFanLike a House on Fire: No Love Lost

26th March 2014:
It's been so long since I read this story but now I've finally gotten back to it since I've read everything else that's on your author's page.

Okay, so first of all, Rex. Rex needs to learn that no means no. Every time he kept forcing himself on Millie even though she'd made it very clear that she was not into him, I was just kind of like, "Let me tell you about a thing buddy." Did his parents not teach him consent or something?

I can understand Millie's hatred of the theory part of the work. I feel the same way towards physics. It's a lot more fun to do the application of physics and to do the calculations than it is to sit there and read a textbook and learn the history among other things.

And of course, Sirius. What would a Marauders story be if we didn't have a stuck up Sirius to go with it?

Author's Response: I'm always so surprised to get reviews on this story, especially the earlier chapters. And seriously? You've read EVERYTHING ELSE? I'm so flattered right now...

Rex is quite the mysogynist, isn't he? He does have to pay for it... sort of. He doesn't really appear again in the story for this reason. I always got really angry writing him!

Ah! I know how you feel about physics! It's about the physical world! Let me go do and touch the things! I'll definitely appreciate the awesomeness of Sir Isaac Newton a whole lot more if I can recreate his white light experiment for myself!

... Please excuse my completely unnecessary rant about physics.

Sirius is... yeah. He grows on you, I promise!

Thanks for reading!


 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFanJourney to the Centre of (Molly’s) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Take It Easy

25th March 2014:
Ah yes, more Heath and Molly banter, how I love me some Heath and Molly banter, heck yeah. One second the two of them are about to jump at each other's throats and the next second they're best friends. You can just see the fondness that's coming from Heath the longer he spends with Molly.

Speaking of Molly, you go girl! You show off those awesome math skills of yours and rub them in Heath's face why don't you! I love how he's so shocked about it as well. "People can do calculations that fast what is this!?"

But anyway, this was brilliant as usual and I can't wait to find out what Molly and Heath are going to do next and what shenanigans they're going to be up to.

Author's Response: Heath and Molly banter is the best kind of banter, let's be real. I think Heath is far more open to liking other people than Molly. Molly isn't cut out to like other people that quickly!

I actually love writing Molly. There's nothing really smug or pretentious about her. She knows what she's good at and what she's not and she's very unapologetic about it.

I laugh every time I think about the Paris chapter! These two are in for quite the shock!


 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFanThe Wandering One : Prague

25th March 2014:
Yes, Prague was wonderful! As soon as Victoire mentioned the fact that her parents had all of a sudden changed her hotel plans I just knew Teddy was going to show up! I KNEW IT I KNEW IT! I was just sitting here thinking, "TEDDY WHAT DID YOU DO?!"

It was a nice surprise though having Dom show up as well, she kept things from getting too awkward. I loved getting all of this new information on Prague and reading about some folklore and learning history. That's one of the things that makes this so great, not only is the story enjoyable to read, you get to learn new stuff as well. Brilliant job on this!

Author's Response: Hello! :)

Yay! I loved writing Prague and how lovely it is there. Haha I love how you predicted Teddy would show up, hehehe. He was quite nice in this chapter but there could be some drama approaching.

Yes! I really wanted Dominique especially to be there, she's so funny and silly. I'm so glad you find you're learning from this as well, that's really cool! :) I love writing all the history on the cities where Victoire visits so it's really awesome that you're enjoying it.

Thanks so much for the lovely review! :D


 Report Review

Review #17, by AlexFanBetween Here And Somewhere: Between Here And Somewhere

24th March 2014:
This is the first time that I've read anything concerning the Diggory family and this was really sweet. I felt so bad for Nina because she was in quite a predicament what with her fear of leaving home and her desire to travel. I forget if it was mentioned or not, but is there any particular reason for why Nina is so afraid to leave her home? She seems absolutely terrified of setting foot outside of her own home, let alone her own fence and I was wondering why that was.

I was actually able to relate to Nina's fear a little bit which I would say is a great accomplishment since, unlike her, I have absolutely no problem with being alone and outside. I just wanted to help her so much but I didn't know how and it made me so sad to see her being afraid of everything around her.

I only have two things to point out when it comes to CC and the first one is that I'm pretty sure that you didn't need to capitalise the word summon but feel free to ignore me on that. The second one was that there were slash signs next to words which I'm pretty sure were there to show that the words were italicized.

But other than that, I really enjoyed this one-shot and I think you wrote it brilliantly.

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFanDecoding the Tutshill Tornados: The One with the Birthday

24th March 2014:
I can see that Mason and Emerson are the type of people who think either go or go home. I'm pretty sure the roadkill wasn't really necessary but it might've just seemed like a nice touch.

I loved the James/Avery interactions of course, the two of them always make me happy. I'm pretty sure that Avery is going to kill someone by the looks of it, I wouldn't put it past that girl to seriously harm Edwards. Speaking of Edwards, I think it's safe to say that he shot his chance at getting Avery to date him in the face so that was brilliant.

I kind of wish that James had actually told Ginny who had done everything to him because I'm pretty sure it would've been amusing to see Ginny beat the absolute hell out of Mason and Edwards and send them scampering.

But anyway, I look forward to seeing how James and Avery handle this entire situation.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFanVox wuod Sanctimonia; Speed Dating Entry: Cupiditas

24th March 2014:
I am so glad that I got to read this because of the Review Tag. I don't read many stories which involve the Founders but this looked promising from the summary and I thought I'd give it a try. I loved this so much.

Two of my favourite things about this one-shot was the vocabulary that you used and the contrast that you showed between Godric and Salazar. You could tell what type of people they were and what their personalities and beliefs were probably going to be by the way that they interacted with each other. Salazar had more of a pessimistic view on things while Godric had a more positive and less harsh opinion about everyone. They worked really well together as friends because they balanced each other out and it seemed like they understood each other. Especially Godric who just ignored anything negative that came out of Salazar's mouth and kept on talking.

I also found Salazar really amusing. My favourite bit with them was when he was thinking about the anecdotes that Helga kept telling and how he'd hang himself from the rafters if he had to hear one more.

I really enjoyed this and I think you did an awesome job on it!

Author's Response: Oh thanks! I'm glad that you enjoyed this; the Founders have been an area of interest for me lately.

I had been practicing with my vocabulary in my Founder's parody, so it was fairly natural at this point, and I'm glad that you enjoyed it. I'm also very pleased that you enjoyed Godric and Salazar, their contrast, and their interactions. It was very fun writing them as pals.

Thanks so very much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #20, by AlexFanJourney to the Centre of (Molly’s) World in (Less than) 80 Days: Uncharted

24th March 2014:
I love the difference between Heath and Molly. Molly is sort of strict and straight-forward and she's a no nonsense type of girl, he is just the complete opposite of that. I love how Heath's so confused around London. Molly is all "of course I know where all of these things are I visited them daily when I went to school" and she's just so I'm impressed with Heath and his plans for traveling. Her reaction to finding out that they're going to Stonehenge first is so hilarious because she's just so bored, she was expecting this great adventure and instead what she gets is Stonehenge as their first visit. Heath on the other hand is so excited for it because he's never traveled before you so he completely ignores Molly's "are you serious" attitude right now.

Molly is this sarcastic and almost a serious person, and Heath is this little boy in a candy store. The contrast between the two of them is really great and it just makes the story about 10 times more hilarious because of that.

That Beards and Sandals guy is one heck of a character though. I mean I have never come across a character like that in fanfiction before so it was nice to get some new personalities into the story. Molly however does not seem to agree with that because she was just so done the entire time. You could feel her disdain and how incredulous she found everything that he was saying through the chapter and I think that's really great because you don't always get the feeling of what the character is feeling in the story so well done on that.

But anyway I really enjoyed the chapter and awesome job on it.

Author's Response: I love writing the dynamic between Heath and Molly. They're similar and different in just the right ways and that makes for a lot of fun. Heath at Kings Cross is like the best thing ever. He's sort of trying to get things done so as not to look like a complete noob in front of Molly, but he's just so confused about all things British!

Molly's reaction to travel is a normal reaction, I think. Travelling is great and you come back with these great memories, but not every moment is filled with awesomeness and adventure.

Socks and Sandals is one of my fave characters of all time, I think. I adored writing him as this hippie surfer dude who is actually quite intelligent and a little clairvoyant because he can. Molly is like the teenager who is perpetually angry at the world. I love her so much for it!

Thanks so much for reading!


 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: Kat's Secret

20th March 2014:
Finally we get to find out what Kat was doing this entire time. I mean, I had a bit of a guess but it was still a surprise to actually find out that she was cheating on Jack. I, unlike Dani, am not such a forgiving person. I'm not sure how Kat can be so uncertain about how things got so screwed up, she willingly attached her face to someone that was not her boyfriend how did she think this was going to go? And I don't know about Kat, but if she doesn't know what to do then why doesn't she just dump both guys so that no one gets hurt and then figures out what to do. That being said, why didn't she just break up with Jack after figuring out that this wasn't going to be a one-time mistake? She made the conscious decision to keep hurting Jack over and over again. If the places had been switched and it was Jack doing this, I would be equally angry.

So yeah, I'm not Kat's biggest fan right now as you can probably tell. On the other hand, Oliver has shown up so this is probably going to cause some stuff to go on between him and Dani, bad or good I don't know. I just get excited for any Dani/Oliver action that goes on to be perfectly honest.

Author's Response: Poor Jack :( He really is such a nice guy, he doesn't deserve to be cheated on! And Kat really does not make the best decisions, does she?

I'm not Kat's biggest fan right now either! But yay for Oliver! I totally agree with that!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #22, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: A Warm Welcome

19th March 2014:
I've never been a big fan of POV switching in stories especially when it happens at random so I didn't know what to expect when I went into this. I actually really enjoyed this chapter. I enjoyed reading about Angus's family and his relationship with them. I found it actually very believable that Angus wouldn't get along with his father, I imagine that a lot of people in Angus's situation wouldn't get along with families that thought like his very well.

But anyway, awesome work on the chapter!

Author's Response: Hey there!

I'm glad you enjoyed the chapter, as I'm always uncertain about POV switches, too! Thank you so much for reading and reviewing!

Courtney:)


 Report Review

Review #23, by AlexFanetc. etc. (and life goes on): V-Day D-Day

15th March 2014:
First of all, this story is going to be reaching 1000 reviews soon and when that happens I'm going to be the first to congratulate you. Or at least I'll try.

I'm pretty sure this was my favourite chapter of this fic yet. From the moment that the chapter started and Clemence started giving that description of Albus's appearance I just knew that he had been drugged. I knew it I knew it I knew it. The expressions that Clemence was discribing don't just come on the face of someone who is hanging off of the person that they despise. I fully believed her when she came to the conclusion that Albus had been drugged (but it's not like that had anything to do with what I thought or anything psssh).

But Clemence did go slightly crazy though. The extent that she went to to shove that cure down Albus's throat is truly astonishing. This girl could probably end up curing cancer if she put her mind to it.

My entire expression was just a shocked one, mouth open and everything. There was just so much chaos and fighting and shouting and good God, everyone in this fic is serious about their ships by the looks of it. Dead serious. It's like fandoms on tumblr arguing over their favourite ships.

One of the best parts was definitely Scorpius shutting everyone up by announcing that he was gay. Pickett was just not having any of the Team stuff anymore, Pickett is just one hundred percent done with everyone at this point. And I get the feeling that Scorpius might have a crush on Albus and judging by your tumblr, I'm not the only one that feels this way.

I loved it so much when Albus yelled out Clemence and then said that he loved Clemence. I felt like angels had just come out of heaven and were singing around me. Everything just felt right in the world after he said that, nothing was topsy turfy anymore.

And then when they kissed at the end and it was so cute and I didn't even mind that it was a cliche because it was just so adorable and Clemence was trying to be angry but in the end she couldn't keep that up.

Albus and Clemence are my ship of the year without a doubt.

Author's Response: Hee, thank you! It was a hard balance to strike with Clemence and the love potion--Clemence is right from the start, so how do I keep the suspense? And it let me play with her total glossing-over of the evidenc, and desperate hope--which might not have swayed you, but I hoped would plant some doubt in readers' minds! :D At least, for that moment toward the end when Clemence finally doubts herself.

Clemence would cure cancer for the name recognition 8D

It is EXACTLY like fandoms on tumblr arguing over their ships. I have a love/hate with fandom mobs; they're so interesting to watch, I can't help it. Pickett on the other hand, is like 200% done with them--lucky for him, he just became part of the second-most popular ship for this fic 8D

I wouldn't be so quick to hail the angels (I think they're busy people anyhow). At the same time, while the 'I love Clemence' was to stop a mob, while Clemence fought for Albus for selfish reasons, and while they might be 3000% done with everyone at Hogwarts-- there's something genuine in everything these two, even if they don't know it or can't face it. I think that's finally starting to show.

♥ thank you for reading!


 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFanA Woman's Guide to Professional Quidditch: More Than One Shock

13th March 2014:
When I started reading this chapter the very last thing that I had expected was to have the insane urge to put my fist through a wall and rip off Tyler Gates' head. Go all French Revolution on him.

I can't believe that piece of slime would actually bribe someone to lie to his exgirlfriend just so that she wouldn't play because he felt that she didn't deserve it. If Tyler was a real person, I can tell you that I would probably be coming up with some attack plan if I ever ran into him. Lucky for him that he's not real.

I thought I was going to be torn apart after this chapter because I thought this entire baby business would be solved throughout the story and such so I was quite surprised to find out that Healer Wellins confessed so quickly. I don't even want to know what Rose said to him to get him to fess up so quickly.

I felt a little bit confused at times because I didn't know whose point of view I was reading from until I got some information from the surroundings but once I caught on I was sucked into the chapter again.

I did not see this angle coming in terms of the baby, that's for sure. I felt so accomplished when I thought that I had guessed right last chapter but that feeling changed to shock when you dropped the bomb on us readers.

I am so excited to see what happens the next chapter and everyone's reactions!

 Report Review

Review #25, by AlexFanConfronting Temptation: Traveling Clarity

12th March 2014:
Your (dramatic) irony game is strong in this chapter. My entire reaction while reading this was just "IF YOU ONLY KNEW!"

Hugo is avoiding everyone because he doesn't know how to tell them that he's going to be a father and then everyone is in the same room together and it's all tense and stuff and oh my God, that was absolutely brilliant and I was so sure that someone was going to spill the beans. I was so prepared for someone telling Rose about the Hugo situation and her growing upset and the chapter ending on a cliffhanger.

It was nice to know that that wasn't how it ended. I still predict that Rose is going to find out about the whole Scorpius/Hugo situation sooner instead of from Scorpius though. I can feel it in my bones that it's going to happen.

The only CC that I can offer is perhaps read the chapter over and see if there are any awkward sounding sentences and make sure that you're using the right form of your/you're.

Author's Response: Yup good old fashioned dramatic irony always makes a story good, jut not too much of it. Actually, I never directly said this and I don't know why but actually only Vivian knows that Hugo is the father of the baby. Everyone else knows that Scorpius is married and that they are divorcing because she cheated and got pregnant but he only revealed the detail of the father to Vivian. I wish that I had added that in but oh well, just probably wasn't thinking of it at the time. You're going to have to read the next chapter to find out if you are right or not. It's just not good drama if everything goes perfectly and Scorpius was able to tell her.
I will make sure to look out for that and thank you for the review. I'm sorry it took me so long to respond, I've had a busy couple of days.


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>