Reading Reviews From Member: AlexFan
  
1,368 Reviews Found

Review #1, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Something Real

1st August 2014:
Never thought that I would see the day when Percy Weasley would use something from Weasley's Wizard Wheezes. I really love your Percy, there's a special place for him in my heart after reading this story. I thought it was sweet that he was so worried about his daughter so much that he actually went so far as to eavesdrop on her (it was a violation of privacy but he had good intentions). I burst out laughing when he got caught by Lucy.

Hilarion is just the sweetest person out there, the man is such a softie and I loved how concerned he was for Molly's safety. Lucy picked a good husband that's for sure. And I loved how his attempt at cheering up Molly was just to shove his daughter at her. "Hold baby. Baby makes everyone happy." I think Molly would make a good mom, she seems to soften up a lot whenever she's around her niece and she absolutely adores Flora and hugs her and everything. Not to mention the fact that she's very responsible so she'd pay close attention to her kid and what they needed.

Ah yes, the old "don't show the enemy your weakness." Fitz and Molly are both being so stupid just UGH, if you didn't care about each other then you wouldn't have spent so much time around each other. GET IT TOGETHER MAN. Fitz and Molly seem to have a bit of a communication issue, if they had just been more vocal with their feelings and talked to each other at least they wouldn't be stuck thinking that the person they got involved with didn't care about them as much as they thought.

 Report Review

Review #2, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Colour-Coded and Perfect

1st August 2014:
Mariah Waldman needs to go fall into a hole or something because this girl sticks her nose in business that has absolutely nothing to do with her (well it technically does since if it went bad between Fitz and Molly, which it has, how well they get along affects how well they work together and the rest of the team). Seriously, does she have some kind of jealousy issues or something? Does she want Fitz back but the reader doesn't know it yet? What is going on inside of the head of hers? You could say that Mariah is worried about things going ugly and the team falling apart but I doubt that that's why she stepped forward and did what she did (or maybe she is worried about the team in which case I respect her decision).

But of course it was Mariah who sold Molly and Fitz out, why am I not surprised? SHE NEEDS TO STOP BLOWING HOLES IN MY SHIP THIS IS NOT OKAY.

I've got my eye on her from now on.

The part about their break up that saddened me the most was the fact that both of them thought that the other didn't care as much as they did when in fact both Molly and Fitz (the idiots) cared a lot about each other. I just felt like yelling at the two of them until some sense got knocked in that YOU TWO CARE ABOUT EACH OTHER AND YOU LOVE EACH OTHER SO STOP BEING STUPID.

I guess this is how being a reserved person can get you in trouble. People end up thinking that you don't care about them because you don't exactly display too much emotion.

Onwards to see how well Molly and Fitz are going to get along after this and how it's going to affect Molly's playing on the field.

 Report Review

Review #3, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Stamp of Approval

30th July 2014:
Molly and Fitz are horrible at keeping it professional. Honestly they try to get it on so much I'm surprised no one has caught up to what they're doing and outed them. They should be more careful if they want to keep this up.

Lucy is such a sweetheart. How could anyone hate Lucy? She seems like the nicest person ever, anyone would be lucky to have her as a friend. If you can find me one person who dislikes Lucy, I will eat a sock.

Holy crow though, Fitz really is falling hard for Molly, he'd give up just about anything as long as he got Molly. Since he's never felt this way about a woman before, I'm guessing that it's going to take some time to adjust to the feelings that he has for Molly. I wonder if he's ever going to tell Molly just exactly how he feels about her.

 Report Review

Review #4, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Spiralling Self-Control

30th July 2014:
I remember saying that I didn't mind Mariah because she hadn't really done anything to make me hate her but I take that back now. AINT NOBODY GOT TIME FOR A HOMEWRECKER. Mariah needs to check herself before she wrecks herself, I feel like this girl doesn't see boundaries.

I don't even know much about Hilarion since I haven't read the other stories and I'm already protective of him. But I love the relationship that he and Lucy have. They're just so in love with each other and they trust each other completely. I like how you include little bits and pieces about what makes them perfect for each other. Flora sounds like an absolute sweetie pie. I kind of want to see Lucy hanging around the Prides more often because I just want to see how she interacts with them.

OOOH DRAMA IS HAPPENING. DRAMA LLAMA. I'm excited to find out what the Beaters got into a argument over (it had to be something pretty big if they started throwing punches.

 Report Review

Review #5, by AlexFanCareful What You Wish For: The Next Step

29th July 2014:
I actually felt irritated along with Penny when Kat took away her practice paper. It's so irritating when people act like they know better than you and it's like, "How about you stop?" Sometimes I want to hug Kat and sometimes I want to slap her, it's a difficult relationship.

Percy was also insufferable (but then again, he is Percy after all so it's not like I could've expected anything different). Even from Penny's point of view I don't really understand why she's going out with him, I mean, Percy's constantly talking about himself and when he's not, he somehow MAKES it about himself. It's one thing to not like being outshone by someone but he could at least be happy for Penny and throw some praise her way about how she definitely deserves this opportunity.

The International Magical Office of Law makes it sound like the people working there are part lawyer and part Senate (or is it House of Commons? I always get the two of them mixed up). I think Penny made an awesome career choice, getting a say on magical law sounds really interesting, and the fact that she might get to travel is great as well, she'd get to see all of these brand new places and learn about different cultures.

 Report Review

Review #6, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Tentative Hope

29th July 2014:
It's all good and nice having Molly and Fitz kiss now and again but I think my favourite parts are definitely the ones where they're just being cute together. I don't know but I like the fluff part where they just sit together and talk and watch old Quidditch games. It just sounds so normal and relaxed.

Fitz is definitely becoming a better coach, he knows what he's doing when he talks about all of the other teams and their tactics. I love seeing players showcase their knowledge about the things that they're passionate about. I feel like a proud parent, "You see, my baby knows what they're talking about."

Woohoo! The Prides won their first game! That's got to be really exciting for them, I mean, they didn't exactly beat a difficult team or anything, but still a win is a win and everyone is doing heaps better than before. The meshing is really beginning to happen with everyone now, I can all see it happening.

 Report Review

Review #7, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Surprising Depths

29th July 2014:
OOH DAMN IS THIS WHERE THE DRAMA STARTS? THIS IS WHERE THE DRAMA STARTS ISN'T IT?

I mean, as happy as I am that Molly and Fitz are getting together, I can see that this probably isn't going to end up well and there's probably going to be some yelling. I'm excited for the drama but at the same time I'm not because drama causes some very strong feelings to creep out of their hole from inside my head.

Fitz is so gone on Molly it's so cute. The man acts all tough but he's really just a huge dork let's face it. Like honestly, I couldn't stop smiling at the fact that Molly laughing or smiling made him happy and that he loved trying to make her laugh. I kind of feel like Fitz is a lot more expressive his emotions internally while Molly spends most of her time trying to shut her feelings off (which actually makes sense considering their personalities).

And I'm so happy that the team is making progress! This is good, they've realized that they were being unfair with their accusations and I love that they've all realized that they all need to be putting in effort in order for them to really work and achieve something.

 Report Review

Review #8, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: A Fine Line

28th July 2014:
There's nothing like planning to poison your activity guide to bring everyone together, is there?

Is Mariah jealous? Is this what I am sensing, does she want Fitz back and is angry because he doesn't respond to her usual behaviour and that Molly has more of an effect on him than she does?

I love the relationship between the bartender and his second cousin, "I hope ye choke on it," it doesn't get much more family than that. The tab thing that's going on with the bartender is the same as the one going on with Max and Fitz (I just hope that Max and Fitz don't end up getting into a fight about a girl).

You know, I don't understand why the team insists on getting drunk. They have no hangover potion and they know exactly how they're going to feel in the morning so why do they insist on getting drunk anyway? If they really didn't want to deal with a hangover there would be a simple solution to it and that's just stop chugging the alcohol like it's water.

And of course Fitz helped lift up the wheelbarrow, he puts himself in pain because he knows that other people aren't as strong as him to do the same job and I just, why are you so nice Fitz?

 Report Review

Review #9, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: A Sabotaged Sorceress

28th July 2014:
I feel so bad for LeFoque because it just seems like she's trying to do her job and everyone is being deliberately difficult about everything. I don't know how that woman didn't lose patience with everyone that day. But I knew that no one was going to follow orders. No one ever does in a situation like this and people end up getting along better from mucking up instead of following instructions.

I just hope that the team decides to be a little more cooperative throughout the next few days to make LeFoque's life easier because I just want to hug this girl at this point. She's trying so hard and it's not leading to the results that she's supposed to get.

I look forward to the trust fall, that should be interesting.

 Report Review

Review #10, by AlexFanAcanthus: The Last Loss

28th July 2014:
Yo Kiana, you're done! Congratulations on finishing Acanthus! I'm sorry it took me so long but you know how crazy this month has been.

Okay, before I move onto the actual review, I just want to point out that the part where Rose says that having a mother high up in the ministry had its perks, and all of the stuff about her looking through the files, you repeated that section twice.

And now moving onto the actual review, I did not see this ending coming. I thought that they would never meet up again and would have to live their lives separately or something so this was a surprise.

I think Rose was really brave to make the decision that she did, I mean, it was crazy, but it was brave. She's going back to a time where she essentially has very little rights as a woman (and no wifi) and that's a really big transition. She must love Scorpius a heck of a lot to give up all of that just to be with him. I know that I'd never be able to do it, live without wifi or the internet, I could probably manage, but give up my rights and be forced to wear dresses all the time? Nuh uh (then again, I'm not a very romantic person).

I WAS JUST NOT EXPECTING THIS ENDING AT ALL OKAY AND IM TRYING TO WRAP MY HEAD AROUND ROSE'S NEW LIFESTYLE. I hope she and Scorpius are very happy together.

But to sum this up: CONGRATS ON FINISHING ANOTHER STORY!

 Report Review

Review #11, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: A Pack of Wild Dogs

28th July 2014:
I can practically feel the sadness just oozing out of this chapter. Just reading this lowered my mood! Everyone sounds so tired and just done with everything throughout this entire chapter and I'm just the weirdo that's still cheering everyone and hoping that things pick up soon.

At least this time around they didn't lose as painfully as they did to the Magpies so there's that. Meghan needs to get some reserve players ASAP if Molly is going to start turning into a target for bludgers. There may not be many people willing to join the Prides (since they suck let's face it) but for some people it could be the Prides or nothing.

There's nothing like a retreat to force everyone into either getting along or just silently hating each other. I'm looking forward to seeing how that works out. And judging by the excerpts that I saw for the next few chapters, a lot of drama is going to be going down by the sounds of it.

 Report Review

Review #12, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Magpies and Mistakes

26th July 2014:
That was painful to read. It must've been painful for Molly and the team to lose the game so spectacularly but it was painful hearing about it from the readers perspective. It was obvious that they weren't going to do well (unless a miracle happened or someone drank Felix Felicis) but I didn't think that it would be that bad.

And of course they blamed Molly, why wouldn't they blame Molly, she was their captain after all but at the same time it doesn't make much sense either because she's only had the title for a few days and Fitz is their coach. If he'd pulled it together sooner they might've had more practice time. In the end though, it was everyone's fault because they didn't have enough training time and the players were at fault for not playing as they were supposed to.

(ON A SIDE NOTE YES MOLLY AND FITZ KISSED HAPPY DANCING OVER HERE).

I'm going to take a wild guess that things aren't going to be going really smoothly after this?

 Report Review

Review #13, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Drills and Defense

26th July 2014:
I'm so happy that Molly got Captain! I mean, I had an idea that she probably would but it's still nice to see that she actually got the spot! I love her strategy for getting Jink to actually work instead of just taking a nap on his broom. This girl knows how everyone works and to get things done. Molly is my baby, it's only five chapters into the story and she's already become my baby.

Thank God that Fitz finally managed to smarten up! I was wondering when he was going to figure out that he needed to step it up a notch. I was so impressed with him swallowing his pride and admitting that he needed help with the drills, that is a big step for him. I know how difficult it can be to admit that you're wrong and to ask someone who knows better than you for help.

As for whether he and Molly have a chance, HECK YES! She didn't exactly say no to his question but she didn't say yes either. Fitz has a chance with her as long as he stops acting like a jerk and apologizes for treating her so badly. But if they did break up, I feel like Molly would probably have an easier time of keeping it professional than Fitz because she has a lot more control over her emtions (and Fitz would have a harder time because his LACK of control over his anger).

Has Fitz considered seeing a therapist or getting some anger management?

 Report Review

Review #14, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: Flight and Family

26th July 2014:
Percy has certainly changed from the person that he used to be when he was younger. I don't think I've ever seen him this affectionate with anyone before ever. The idea of him doting on anything is really weird to me but I guess children change a person. I love seeing the softer side of him around his daughters and how much of an interest he takes in their life. It's so sweet how much he cares and loves his granddaughter and wants to hold her and play with her.

I hope Audrey doesn't take to nagging Molly about the fact that she's not married even though she's close to thirty. It's not like there's anything wrong with it and I'm pretty sure Molly would rather get married to someone that she really loved instead of getting married to someone just because. I can see Molly getting married but then on the other hand, I kind of can't.

I love how Molly didn't beat around the bush with the whole attraction thing. I'm so used to seeing characters denying their feelings and calling themselves crazy for who they're attracted to but I like how Molly just admits it to herself and moves on. "I like the man but he's useless at what he does." I wouldn't expect any other reaction from her.

I knew that the Healer was a Weasley (red hair has now come to be Weasley to me) and I started guessing which one it was (I was wrong).

 Report Review

Review #15, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: The Dreaded Ex

25th July 2014:
I was right! I do smell a ship about to take off! Obviously Molly and Fitz have issues they need to work through and they have to learn how to play nice with each other but I can just picture the two of them dating and it involves a lot of arguments about ridiculous things that everyone uses as entertainment.

Mariah sounds irritating but besides imitating what I imagine to be sour lemon face and severe eye twitching, I can't really get annoyed with her because it's not like she's being extremely vicious or anything. That being said she does sound childish what with trying to push Riordan's buttons.

I admire how Molly handled the situation, she is definitely one smart cookie. If I was in her spot I wouldn't have been half as courteous as her, there would've just been death threats but that's the difference between Molly and I.

YES THIS IS SO GOOD I'M ON TO THE NEXT CHAPTER!

 Report Review

Review #16, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: The New Lineup

24th July 2014:
Molly may have a mohawk that's brightly coloured but her colour coordinated clothes scream Percy Weasley to me. I love how even though she's really punk you can still see a little bit of family resemblence on her.

I can see why Molly is so unimpressed with Fitzroy. I get that he's he's nervous and he doesn't want to work with a bunch of newbies but come on, he needs to start pulling it together if he's going to make them a top notch team. I'm surprised that the man isn't a Gryffindor because he has an awful lot of pride standing between him and that colour coded schedule of hers that would probably help him out to be honest.

If he's going to work with Molly then Fitzroy is going to have to pick up his game because she's the daughter of Percy Weasley and we all know what Percy's like. I have a feeling that Molly is going to accidentally end up controlling the practices because she's going to be irritated with the way that Fitzroy runs things.

And on a side note, I smell a ship growing.

 Report Review

Review #17, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - kenpo - For You

23rd July 2014:
I've never actually thought about the fact that Teddy might not have wanted to go to Hogwarts (cause I mean, what kid WOULDN'T want to go to Hogwarts?) so this was interesting to see.

But I guess I can see where he's coming from, it's gotta be difficult being forced to attend seven years of education in the building where your parents were murdered.

I like how Teddy makes the decision that he's going to work hard and make his parents proud.

 Report Review

Review #18, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Beeezie

23rd July 2014:
Oh my god I loved this so much.

I loved your comment about Ron being sobered up by the war but not having anymore common sense.

It was so funny how Hermione was trying to make a good argument for Defense Against the Dark Arts with Harry and Ron listing every reason for why they didn't need the lesson anymore. Heck, they could teach everyone the class since they're probably one of the most experienced people at it.

Ron has some very good tactics when it comes to making Hermione be quiet, real smooth on the kiss there Ron, real smooth.

 Report Review

Review #19, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Hufflepuff - evil little devil

23rd July 2014:
Reading this just made me want to go on my own adventure and travel the world. Everything that you mentioned about Teddy and Victoire is the reason that I want to travel. And at least they picked jobs that would keep them interested all of the time, how boring can it be to be help tame dragons after all, or to work in George's shop.

But anyway, this was really cute.

 Report Review

Review #20, by AlexFanThe New Pride of Portree: The Harpy With the Mohawk

23rd July 2014:
I've been hearing quite a bit about this story and it sounded really interesting so of course I'm going to be stopping by (and I'll be reviewing as I go so that I don't forget anything).

From the moment that you mentioned leather and mohawk I knew that Molly was probably going to be metal as fudge. I love how she's completely confident with her appearance and knows that it's not the most important thing as a Quidditch player.

This Meghan woman sounds like she plays a tough game. I mean, it's a little insane to fire half your team and their reserves but it sounds like she knows exactly what she's doing and what she's in for. Molly sounds like a great option for captain of the team actually, with that school record of hers she really is suited for positions of leadership.

Riordan is being a little too harsh, there's plenty of Quidditch talent out there but it's just sitting on the bench. Of course he thinks that just because it's a reserve player that they're going to be no good but he can't really judge since you don't often get to see reserve players play. And besides, it's not like the Pride of Portree could do any worse with these new players, the old team was almost as bad as the Chudley Cannons for chrissakes!

I'm obviously going to have to read the Midnight Run trilogy because otherwise I just won't feel right but other than that, I'm excited to read the rest of this story!

 Report Review

Review #21, by AlexFanDragonology: The Dragon

23rd July 2014:
Hello there! I'm here for the review swap!

I was really excited to read this because I've been writing a short story about a dragon sanctuary and I was super excited to see how another author would go about it. I really enjoyed this, my favourite bit had to be Charlie for sure.

I love how he was so excited to finally get to work with dragons and become familiar with the ones inside of the sanctuary. I really liked your characterization of Charlie in this because I could definitely picture him being the one to notice that a dragon was hurt and immediately trying to help it out. He doesn't even know how these dragons are going to respond to a stranger and he still risks his life without a second thought just to help an injured animal.

I agree that dragons are probably a lot more like other animals in that they respond to love and care. They're probably not going to be too aggressive around people that they see daily. As for Charlie's mentor, you'd think that he would stick around for a little bit just to make sure that Charlie was settling in well but I guess in a dragon sanctuary it's pretty much go go go all the time.

Lovely one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #22, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Leonore

22nd July 2014:
Hey Leonore! So I thought I'd check out another Claws fellow story and leave a review.

I loved how Kreacher went out of his way to bring Harry extra food besides what he asked for. It showed just how much he his feelings for Harry had changed throughout the story. Giving Kreacher Regulus's locket definitely seems to have made their relationship better.

I also love how Harry asks Kreacher if he wants to be free, I think this is the difference between Hermione and Harry. While Hermione wants to force freedom on all the house-elves even if they don't want it, Harry asks for an answer. After all, forcing a house-elf into freedom isn't really all that helpful considering that they don't know how to do anything else and wouldn't be able to survive.

And I loved how startled Kreacher was at being treated like an actual human being instead of a slave. You could tell exactly how mistreated he was by his previous owners just by the way that he reacted to being invited to sit and share food with Harry.

Anyway, awesome one-shot!

 Report Review

Review #23, by AlexFanHogwarts Reclaimed: Ravenclaw - Ravenclaw333

22nd July 2014:
I loved this, it was so sweet and cute. I always pictured that there must've been some place in the afterlife where everyone hung out.

I love how Fred completely ignored the fact for the most part that he was dead and instead focused on the fact that he was meeting the Marauders his heroes and busy interrogating them. One of them had been living right under his nose for years and then he met the other two and he didn't even know it was them, but at least Fred got to find out in the end. I can just imagine him getting excited to tell George when he shows up that he met THE Marauders.

I especially loved the bit where Remus shows up and Fred asks him about being given three detention from a Marauder of all people and Remus's response. I don't know what Fred pulled that got him those three detentions but I loved that Remus wasn't even mad at him for it, just chastising him for getting caught.

This just gave me really fuzzy feelings that's all.

 Report Review

Review #24, by AlexFanThe Making of The Map : James

22nd July 2014:
I don't think that I've ever hated Sirius Black before this story (well, maybe once) so kudos to you for absolutely enraging me with this. I mean, he didn't even give any valid reasons for why Lily was a bad person, he mostly beat around the bush about it because it doesn't sound like she tattled on them or anything but just told the Marauders when they were in the wrong. But at the same time after he mentioned that she hung out with Voldemort loving Snape I get the feeling that he thinks she's on board with the whole Death Eater thing (which is ridiculous since it's about killing people like her) but I can understand it because he hates his family for this exact reason.

I thought it was cute how bad James had it for Lily and I love that you showed that she wasn't always screaming her head off at him like a lot of times in fanfiction and they actually had things in common and could get along. James should definitely talk to her and explain that he doesn't agree with what Sirius said and that his friend was in the wrong.

But anyway, this was really awesome and I hope you continue with this because it sounds like it has a lot of potential.

 Report Review

Review #25, by AlexFanDo you believe in love?: She was beautiful, and he was a goner.

21st July 2014:
Thank you so much for satisfying my need for Jily fanfiction because I've been craving it and I didn't know where to find some fanfiction because I've been so busy and I haven't had a chance to properly look but then I saw the Most Recent page and it's like Jesus was rewarding me for something because all I saw was JILY.

ANYWAY.

You have a real knack for writing Jily romance, your prose is absolutely beautiful and everything flows so well it's ridiculous. When you switched from James' perspective to Lily's it just fit into the story instead of standing out and breaking up the flow.

I love how you showed the differences between James and Lily, especially with the socks bit.

I just, my Jily shipper heart is really happy right now.

Author's Response: Thankyou so much you have no idea how much this means to me xx i have a new story being posted in five days called Shining like Vic be sure to check it out! Have a beautiful day and thankyou again! x

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>