Reading Reviews From Member: Snapdragons
  
396 Reviews Found

Review #1, by SnapdragonsAnd Capers Ensue: The Great Escape

5th February 2013:
I AM UPSET.

I had written up a review and it was nice and long and lovely and I was just about to hit submit and then Firefox crashed on me because it hates me and it's gone -wails-

I'm much too annoyed at the computer/internet/life to try to both and retype it all, so instead I will give you a more or less concise summary of what it contained:

-SCORBEAUS SCORBEAUS SCORBEAUS ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ so much love Bea is wonderful and fantastic
-insert some of my favorite quotes here (hint: basically the whole chapter)
-sad face over Draco being dead because I feel sorry for Scorpius because he never got any closure and no one deserves to have their dad die
-clearly Emeric and Cato are uneducated because if they had ever picked up a book in their lives they would know the underestimating people is always a villain's downfall
-GO BEA GO

Right, that's about it. I am so so glad that I'm caught up again (I'll probably be dumping reviews on etc. etc. at some point in the near future, too) because these are probably the best four chapters ever. I've always loved your writing (I had a terrible time trying to find things that I hadn't already reviewed for Secret Santa this year) because you've got such an excellent grasp on all aspects of writing: characterization, plot, action, imagery. No matter what it is, it's always interesting, well-done, and completely engaging and I am always in love with it so. ♥ I'll be quite sad when Capers is over because it's been quite the adventure following it - and I do hope to stay on top of reviewing this time.

so much love for this story ♥

Author's Response: D: Sometimes I wonder about all the review casualties caused by the back button. Oh, it'd be an ugly graveyard indeed.

- HEHEHEHEHE. I love that everyone who was sort of shifty eyed at whether it would happen (I really did not think I was being subtle about it) was finally like YEEES.
-I like Draco :c he's a favorite woobie, especially because I don't think he would really turn as good as most people write him like, but I can see him trying /really/ hard, and that makes it sadder D:
-CLEARLY IT'S VILLANY 101, but I guess they didn't take that class.

♥ c: c: c: sorry for the lateness of these responses I JUST LOVED THEM SITTING THERE IN MY UNANSWERED FOR SO LONG (it's my bookmark to hpff yaknow) and now I'm going back on the Capers adventure all over again AND I LOVE THAT THERE ARE SO MANY PEOPLE HERE ALONG WITH ME C: I'M JUST REALLY HAPPY.

BIG OL' ♥


 Report Review

Review #2, by SnapdragonsAnd Capers Ensue: Another One Down

4th February 2013:
OH MY GOODNESS OH MY GOODNESS OH MY GOODNESS

I was far too concerned to review as I read this time but HA see Scorpius ISN'T dead HALLELUJAH -throws confetti- (but Draco is? pity, but preferable to the alternative)

Seriously though, I had to race through this chapter because the suspense! anticipation! action! This is not healthy. Too many emotions at once. (I am feeling very Ron-like right now in how many emotions I can handle.)

Bea :( Anjali :( Fred :(

Scorpius :)

When Cato and Emeric grabbed Fred I accidentally made this really weird noise that sounded a bit like a dying whale only quieter because everyone else is sleeping and I probably should sleep soon too but the point is that it caught me by surprise

RUN FRED RUN he is spectacular but no poor baby Bea no no no :( Although actually, in retrospect, it's probably better that she got caught because then she saves Scorpius etc. etc. (and life goes on) (ha ha I made a joke) (definitely time for bed)

But that was a nice and clever way to tie that particular plot end up and I am actually quite relieved. I didn't think he would actually be dead but... well. There's always the possibility, isn't it? And now Bea saves the day yay

and Scorpius loves her cue the trumpets and more confetti

ADVENTURE AWAITS

Everything has gotten really exciting all of the sudden and I can't keep up and I very much appreciated Schrodinger Scorpius (I appreciate all jokes related to Schrodinger's cat because physics jokes are the best jokes) and now I only have one more chapter left which sort of upsets me and once again, I am suffering from an emotional overload right now which has a direct correlation to my production of run on sentences oops?

Author's Response: fact: Scorpius' cure was actually the 3400 words of anticipation for that one line at the end, not the potion.

emoticon sandwich :( :( :( :) but at least it ends on happy!

Cato is like something from a horror flick just HAND BAM GRABS YOUR FOOT.

oh no you did-n't with that joke, that is nearly as bad as my 'a bannister always pays her debts'.

(it's ok it's like 1am here and I'm weepingly tired)

i love your run on sentences c: they are my favorite sentences and when people use them in reviews it also puts the pressure off me to be grammatically correct. I grammar enough in my writing, harrumph. I don't want to grammar all the time. also obv, Schrodinger Scorpius is too alliterative to not happen.



 Report Review

Review #3, by SnapdragonsAnd Capers Ensue: Dead End

4th February 2013:
reviewing as I go along because I can yay

"Bea, did you give me hot pants?" oh my god
Also, little granny Bea is maybe the most adorable thing ever only I know all too well that grandmothers' looks can be deceiving- they can be terrifying.

It took a moment for Fred to catch the cue, but luckily gritty crime serials had prepared him well. Luckily. Should have known they would come in handy some day. Be prepared!

There went his hypothetical deerstalker. moment of silence for the deerstalker that could have been :(

YOU GO BEA YOU ARE THE BEST YOU GO AND STAND UP FOR YOURSELF AND CHANNEL YOUR INNER GRANDMOTHER

Also, slightly off topic (was there a topic to begin with?) but I agree with Fred about the whole idea of school preparing you for the real world but not actually being the real world. It's a bit weird and a bit scary to think of actually being pushed into it.

AL ♥ ♥ Potterpuff will always be my favorite forever and ever. His anthill explanation was literally the best ajsdklf;askj

I love that Fred's cover name is James. Perfect. (Also, he definitely wins best point man ever.) Fred is a shining star in this chapter.

Plans were somewhat of an oxymoron, as no plans ever went as planned, and the only solution was to have low expectations and plenty of backups. to be honest, I think the only thing I expect at this point is an explosion.

WAIT WHAT NO
no
n
o
NO

SCORPIUS CAN'T BE DEAD LIES LIES LIES STOP IT

I refuse to believe it. You're really just doing this because you like to be mean and mess with me so I'm going to go read the next chapter now and Scorpius will be alive and everything will be fine all right goodbye

Author's Response: ahuarhaurhur, I love review-alongs for this chapter.

y'all have to fear anyone who's been here for eighty-odd years. That's a lot of years to not-die (unless you're Harry).

(...)

(That was the moment of silence. I lowered my own deerstalker over my heart. I don't actually own one, but the image was so clear in my mind, I convinced myself that I did. It was red tartan)

Fred's bit about school was inspired! The ~competitive job world~, even freshman year of college is really different already from secondary school. I expected it, but it still kind of blows my mind.

Cupcakes and explosions are the only constant. We are basically only missing a bakery explosion.

~ ~ ~ WELL YOU ALREADY KNOW ~ ~ ~
but I did imagine you crossing your arms and shoving Scorpius's life force in my hands with all the tenacity of Bea, like NOPE NOPE NOPE HE'S NOT DEAD ALL RIGHT GOOD DAY SIR.


 Report Review

Review #4, by SnapdragonsAnd Capers Ensue: Missing!

4th February 2013:
-pokes head in- ...err, hi. -coughs- So the last time I reviewed this (actually, the last time I reviewed anything on the archive, which was coincidentally ch 20 of this) was in August and that makes me a bit sad on the inside because I have now fallen way behind and that makes me upset ajskdl;fajslkdj

all that to say that I am determined to catch up on everything I have missed (read: I have homework that I'm procrastinating on currently) and so I may or may not end up leaving you like ten million hundred reviews, give or take a couple hundred.

and wow I had forgotten how much I absolutely love this and Bea and everybody. Asking out a boy is no different than asking to pass the salt and then fearlessly flustered Beatrice Chang charging headlong into things wearing a skirt and now she has to find Scorpius because I ship them and I don't like my ships sinking :(

(of course the Slytherins play poker)

THE GAME IS AFOOT. And the game is cupcake forensics. ♥ ♥ ♥ Naturally. What else could it be? (literally so much love for that you have no idea)

Vanishing cabinets. Heroics. The power of sweets. What more could I ask for in a chapter?

(Scorpius, but I guess we can't have it all.)

That was exciting and fantastic (and ten times more interesting than biology) and although it's been five months (oof that sounds bad) I still love this story to pieces and probably always will yay

(once again this review has been a bit of a mess but I have yet to master the art of coherent reviewing)

Author's Response: FINALLY I COME RESPONDING~ Incidentally, I also need to catch up on responding to you :P I wanted to leave this until I started writing Capers again WHICH IS NOW! (also boo real life but YAY on summer job responsibility which I saw a few days ago)

Anyone can charge headlong but only the most courageous charge headlong in a skirt.

(and they cheat, obv)

I remember trying to stop up all the loopholes and figure out why you couldn't just magically figure out where Scorpius was, so he had to leave clues that you had to rack your brain over and not your wand, so clearly: cupcakes.

Poor Scorpius, star of a chapter in which he doesn't even appear.

♥ I MISS YOU ♥


 Report Review

Review #5, by SnapdragonsThe Potter Reservation: The Potter Reservation

11th January 2013:
Oh my gosh, this is possibly one of my favorite gifts of all time, thank you so much! ♥ James and Lily will always be one of my favorite couples and I love reading about them. This was simultaneously adorable and heartbreaking all at the same time - you took me on quite the emotional roller coaster, haha!

It took me a little bit to catch on to the difference in time, which I think added to the effect and made it that much stronger. I suppose for a minute or so I actually thought they were going to go to the restaurant, until I finally put the pieces together and realized that Lily would never actually have a 22nd birthday. That was actually one of my favorite bits about this, the way that it took a little while to sink in. It made me think a bit more about their deaths and really, just how short their lives were cut.

I loved seeing James, Lily, and baby Harry! They were just too cute. :) I loved seeing all three of them together and getting to see them as a family. It was very sweet, but you also showed the reality of the war, as well - being forced to hide, the constant worrying about the future and fear for their lives. Realistic, and especially heartbreaking when I realized the conversation was in September, just a month before they died.

Deborah was wonderful! Bubbly and lovely and absolutely charming. I found her enthusiasm quite cute. It was endearing how invested she was in "her" couple :)

The ending was perfect. Having Remus come in and take their reservation to pay his last respects - wow, it just really hit me. The way that this was all he had left of them... and Harry, who he wasn't allowed to see. It was bittersweet and I can't even find the words to describe how much I loved it. But it really brought all of it together so, so wonderfully. I admit that I really loved thinking about Remus bringing Harry there one day, the way that Remus hoped that things would get better.

This was lovely and so, so wonderful. I am completely in love with it. Thank you so much!

Author's Response: Oh gosh, I can't believe I'm responding to this so late... I'm sorry! But thank you for the review! It took me awhile to piece this story together, and I'm really glad you liked the way it turned out. It was hard to provide some closure, but I do think Remus was the way to go. This one is for you, after all, so your opinion is the only one that counts!

 Report Review

Review #6, by SnapdragonsAnd Capers Ensue: And So It Begins Again

22nd August 2012:
charging up static electricity to unleash on unsuspecting nappers Random way to start off the review, but ha this was great. Even while moping, Bea gets up to mischief... (also "blanket Bea-rrito" omg)

I saw that Game reference! ;) Verona is great, haha. I can see some of Rona in her there. :P Oh, Freddy, still pining over Anjali.

And Bea can keep inventing! Yay! And so it begins again, indeed. Hopefully with less accidents, but... well, I'm not holding out high hopes for that.

"We might not see eye-to-eye all the time, and you might be naggy and a killjoy and easily manipulated by pretty girls " "Er." " but don't ever change." Bea's got a way with words. ♥

ahh I love that Scorpius bakes. (in a pink apron, nonetheless.) ♥

Also, I am an apology feeder in general as well. I'm very much in favor of giving people food as a solution. (and it works most of the time, so, there you go)

new venture yay but more importantly I SPY A MYSTERY (the smart reader that I am)

I am way excited that we won't be in Hogwarts for a while. I am sensing a character with questionable morals in Draco currently and every good story ought to have a character of questionable morals. (see: the entirety of etc. etc.)

Loved this chapter, as always ♥

Author's Response: I have always imagined Bea as a somewhat vengeful moper I am so glad the bearrito has gone over well, because people should've seen me as I wrote it. I was asking everyone 'DOES BRITAIN HAVE BURRITOS'. Eventually I was like, 'meh it's 2026, they should get with the program if they haven't yet' and so I kept it 8D

FRED IS NOT PINING. HE JUST HAS A PROBLEM WITH MAKING WISE DECISIONS WHILE BORED 8D

♥ fellow feeder. srsly I am like 'yes this is an honest apology BUT IT'S JUST IN THE FORM OF FOOD, CAN YOU TAKE IT PLEASE?'

YUSH we are finally escaping the confines of the castle. maybe I can make architecture jokes about the rest of wizarding Britain now. I've also tried my best to avoid the ~dastardly twirly-mustache villain~ but Draco maaay have to take up the role. Maaaybe.

♥ :3


 Report Review

Review #7, by SnapdragonsSaving Grace: February III.

22nd August 2012:
Well. Everything just hit the fan, didn't it?

There were plenty of emotions in this chapter, that's for sure. (seriously Helen my heart is in a hundred tiny pieces right now so thanks a lot)

Like when Grace was six and wanted to be a squib, too, and how she cried because she did magic. How heartbreaking is that? (answer: INCREDIBLY) I can't pinpoint what it was exactly, but it was a really poignant moment and really stood out. You're so good at writing relationships between characters and showing all of that and I will forever be jealous.

For better or for worse (and I believe for better), James does seem to bring out emotions in Grace. I can understand why she was upset that he pried, but at the same time, I can see where he was coming from as well. She's a mess and she definitely knows it. Ugh. Such a messy situation and again, all the feels. D:

BUT YOU KNOW WHAT YOU GO GRACE FOR GETTING RID OF MAX. Seriously felt like cheering. HA. Stupid cheating boss. I'm glad she could finally do that because that's a step in the right direction, isn't it? So yay Grace!

SUCH a good chapter. Eep. Absolutely loved it. ♥

Author's Response: I THINK IT ABSOLUTELY AND A HUNDRED PERCENT DID.

Sorry about killing your emotions. That was entirely my intention but I can't bring myself to be all that sorry either. Really, I'm a big meanie and you should boycott my stories. Except don't pleaseandthankyou.

Ee, I do love writing relationships and sibling dynamics are just so fascinating, you know? Glad my own sisters provide unless material on that front, even if they are pains.

This is true, James has finally gotten through to her (allbeit not in an entirely healthy way) but we'll see if Grace can forgive him or not soon.

BUT BYE BYE MAX. Yeah, I feel like no one was that sad to see him go. YAY GRACE.

Glad you liked it! There's been a lack of response compared to normal and it sadness me greatly (but then again, I'm needy) so thank you for being as lovely as always :)

-AC


 Report Review

Review #8, by SnapdragonsSaving Grace: February II.

22nd August 2012:
I've fallen behind (yet again) on my WIP reviewing so... err, I guess I'll be catching up with that right now? Yup.

as if anyone could understand sadness without reason and limits. This is maybe one of my favorite lines ever because it's just really true and now I just want to hug Grace okay D:

Also, Grace is definitely in a sticky situation. ugh naturally this would happen to her. Grace -sobs-

(ps Jill's attitude towards love never fails to make me laugh. I love Jill.)

But at least Grace is making friends, so... progress! Jill and George (aka the best duo ever) and then James (aka new best friend). I love James in this story :)

-sigh- She didn't confront Max, but I can't say that I'm surprised. Typical. :P She's got the self-destructing thing down pat, I'd say.

(I still love her)

lovely chapter, now I'm off to read the next!

 Report Review

Review #9, by Snapdragonsetc. etc. (and life goes on): Lesser of Two Evils

22nd August 2012:
Here to flail all over all of your stories again, whe!

That seized me most: that I'm a single bag of bones, of finite volume and countable parts, and yet there are things that I don't know about myself, even after sixteen years. I love philosophical!Clemence. Clemence is human, see? ugh I loved that whole bit

That's the freaky bit about Quirkers; they haven't got qualms about anything. I feel as though this statement works for multiple fandoms... fangirls can be scary -hides-

"You know far less about this school than you think." Albus went there, oooh... ouch. ugh I love how you show Hogwarts with all these secrets and intrigue and everything. and I don't think I'm doing a very good job verbalizing things but it's too early in the day for coherency so.

"He's not plotting Q.G.A.'s fall. He's plotting its takeover." asdfjkl;qejkrw AH ALBUS OH MY GOD THAT ENDING

All right. Breathing now. I think that destroyed any hope of coherency I had left, oops. But it's so perfect and (Slytherin) cunning and yep now I'm even more excited to read more than before. So. -coughs- Good chapter. -nods-

Author's Response: eeek that is one of my favorite lines in a while. ♥ it was last minute inspiration that got it in.

I definitely do not have qualms in many situations :P THIS IS HOW I KNOW.

Albus casually enigma-ing up the whole school at once amirite. And then he casually drops plans for school domination ohoho~ where's the good boy now?



 Report Review

Review #10, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: I Hear A Symphony

7th August 2012:
D'aww, Molly! Molly and Arthur are definitely one of (if not the) cutest couples I've read about. ♥

And I do like the Gryffindor Girls Council! (The name does make me laugh a bit, it does make it seem quite important and official, doesn't it?) It sounds cozy and cute to me. And Hattie was completely right: no gathering is ever complete without chocolate or snacks.

(Naturally Siobhan found the kitchens in second year!)

You're very good at writing dialogue; it all seemed to flow naturally and sounded true to the characters, with all the issue-addressing and quips. They seem like good friends.

I probably won't get to reviewing every chapter from the point on, but I will try to get to the majority of them. :) Reading this story is really quite lovely; I'm attached to all of the characters all ready!

Author's Response: They are extra-fluffy together, aren't they? haha. This chapter is a lot of dialogue, so I'm glad that came out all right. Dialogue is probably my favorite thing to write, it's usually the first thing I write for each scene. I love characters. Characters and dialogue more than plot! ;) Especially in this story. But hey I'm really glad you enjoyed it, and thank you so much for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #11, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Sunshine Superman

7th August 2012:
"This couples stuff was difficult." Well, so far, so good, Arthur! He seems to be managing all right.

I have to say that I love the Reid/Cecelia subplot - they're both great. This bit killed me: "I tell you, it'll be a breeze for someone of my keen and penetrating intellect. That's why Cecilia secretly loves me." Whatever helps you sleep at night, I guess.

(and the fact that they never expect Cecelia to be nice to anybody)

I have always wondered about wizard photos and how the people in the photographs act. Sort of an interesting thing to think about! (but yes, I feel pretty sure that the photo Cecilia and the photo Reid would not be getting along, to put it mildly)

Author's Response: He's doing pretty good, really! Reid/Cecilia seems to be popular with a lot of people. Ah Reid, he is a bit delusional, isn't he? lol. And Cecilia really isn't nice very often. Kind maybe, but not nice.

I wonder about how wizard photos work too. I think they capture the emotion of the scene and the people behave in the photo accordingly, but it's just a theory. Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #12, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Then He Kissed Me

7th August 2012:
The review battle was such the perfect excuse to come back and read more of this, which I'm quite excited about. (especially when I saw the chapter title!)

I love how they have the Gryffindor Girls Council - it's such a cute idea, and I could definitely see it. And I think that was such a sweet first date, pesky (and hilarious) younger brothers and all! I do hope we get to see more of Gideon and Fabian later on.

Chivalrous, gentleman Arthur has quickly found a place in my heart. :) -happy sigh- This story just makes me smile!

Author's Response: Aw thanks! I'm really glad you're enjoying the story. The GGC was fun to write, I'm glad you liked it too :) Gid and Fab definitely appear in more of the story, and in the sequel. Arthur is lovely, isn't he? He's my secret Weasley husband, if only Molly would give him up. But of course she never would. Thank you for reviewing!

 Report Review

Review #13, by SnapdragonsFaulty Predictions: never silent or dark

5th August 2012:
FIRST REVIEWER FIRST REVIEWER YAY -runs around in circles- Dear Lord, I am excited for this. (let's be real, I'm excited about everything you write) But there aren't nearly enough Lavender fics, and I am completely confident in your ability to write her, and I'm super excited/impressed about the 10k in a week thing and phew. Okay. I think it suffices to say that I'm really looking forward to reading more of this.

This has this sort of dark, haunting feel to it, set against the brighter backdrop of rebuilding after the war. I think it's well-established that I am a fan of angst (what does this say about me?) and so this should be right up my alley, lol.

General note - sort of reminded me a bit of Azkaban in a way with the tone/mental health thing, which I'm pleased with since I do miss it. (Not a bad thing - they're both different, but I like it)

(Although hopefully Lavender doesn't end up in Azkaban at the end of this. Please?)

That sometimes, when a war is over, there are people who feel like their strings have been cut loose and that nothing ties them down anymore. That all the passion and energy that gave them the ability to fight to the death can turn inwards and destroy a person. ugh you write the most beautiful things and it just kills me D:

Also the end - oh, perfect. Seriously. Perfect way to end this. All is not necessary well in Lavender-world.

I also love that she's going to move in with Parvati and we'll get to see their friendship. Honestly, I love everything about this. I love it so much that I'll forgive you for breaking your number-of-WIP rule. ;)

-sticks first reviewer flag into the ground-

Lovely job, Helen ♥

Author's Response: HANNAH HI THANK YOU FOR REVIEWING THIS STORY I LOVVEE YOU FOR CARING ABOUT WHAT APPEARS ON MY AUTHORS PAGE AND THE LIKE :D

I'm really looking forward to finishing the rest of this and posting it. I'm looking for a fairly shift turn around from writing to posting to completion as my authors page really doesn't have that much room for more WIPS but there you go.

I completely understand the mention of Azkaban, here. This is sort of filling my Azkaban shaped hole up... well, I mean at the moment I don't have a more serious no real love aspect story on here, so I guess I wanted to start something which isn't next gen or humoury, like Azkaban. Although I can safely assure you that Lavender will not end up in Azkaban, unless I have a serious plot rethink :P


Aha, thank you so much Hannah! I'm glad you approve of the breaking of the WIP rule (although, technically, I think I'm still under 10 depending on how you squint... actually, honestly, I haven't got a clue).

THANKS FOR A LOVELY REVIEW :D


 Report Review

Review #14, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: I'm Into Something Good

18th July 2012:
Oh, goodness. I can relate to the feeling of being terrified of a parent's reaction, all right! There's definitely an art to diplomatically handling situations. Thankfully, I don't have a mother like Cecelia's, haha. :P If I was Cecelia, I'd try my best to stay out of trouble, too!

Keep the dream alive, Reid. :P Now I'm curious as to what the fireworks incident was... though I think I remember seeing a one shot about it on your author's page, so I'll probably go check that out sooner or later! I really like Reid, though - he's hilarious. Incorrigible is a good word!

(I was sad that Arthur seems to have started to figure out that Petula doesn't really like Muggle Studies. Poor Arthur.)

Also, it was a sweet moment when he dumped the ink because Molly was there - once again, he really is head over heels, isn't he? :)

Author's Response: Ah Cecilia's mum. Cecilia is the prefect for their year (alongside Thad) and stays out of trouble, though her mom probably wouldn't really send a Howler over a love potion. :p

"Keep the dream alive" made me laugh. XD Reid is totally incorrigible. There is a one-shot on the fireworks incident, yes! You can go read it anytime during Unsinkable, there's no spoilers in it.

He is totally head over heels! Fortunately, Molly soon will be as well ;) Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #15, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Brown-Eyed Girl

18th July 2012:
-sigh- This story is really is just... sweet. I love it. Sometimes I think we all just need to read some fluff. :)

I'm pretty sure I've mentioned this before but I really enjoy Molly and Arthur's relationship. (well... the starts of it, anyways!) It does seem very innocent, which is a nice change of pace from some of the other stories I read.

I did laugh when I saw that Molly had to write 'I will respect the rights of others not to fancy me' for her lines. haha :)

And dear Arthur who doesn't understand that not everyone enjoys Muggle Studies as much as he does. I don't think I'd have the heart to break it to him, personally. Let him continue in his naivety!

I aww'd when he said that he couldn't concentrate around her. Arthur! ♥ Seriously, these two are so cute.

Author's Response: It's quite fluffy, isn't it? I think I suck people into the fluff with this story. It has some more serious topics later, but always the fluff too. Because it's love :) They are very innocent here (and really I don't take them out of that even in the later stories), particularly compared to the usual run of the archive, where characters fall into bed left and right.

Molly's lines was one of my favorite parts of this chapter ;) haha. Poor girl. So embarrassing for her.

Arthur probably likes to think there are others as enthusiastic about Muggles as he is. But Molly's friends... not so much. :p

Thank you so much for reviewing! I'm glad you're enjoying the cuteness ;)


 Report Review

Review #16, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Gimme Little Sign

18th July 2012:
I did an internal cheer for Arthur - yay! It's actually so sweet, getting to be in his mind. He's just a nice guy all around, it seems. Definitely someone you want to cheer for.

Not to mention I really liked it when he went on about Muggle Studies and eckletricity and all that. I think that's part of what makes him so endearing, his enthusiasm for Muggle things.

I liked meeting Molly's friends, too! A slightly unrelated note, but I like how you have a character named Siobhan. It's not a name you see often, but I do think it's a lovely name :P

Another wonderful chapter! I might not end up reviewing every chapter, but I'm going to keep going through this story - I really, really like it.

Author's Response: He is a nice guy all around. I was (and still am) very fascinated by him in canon. He is a very strong man in his emotions and principles. He holds fast to what's right, he is a good father (if a little too indulgent sometimes), he helps people and has friends everywhere, and he's funny. I particularly love when he's bringing in the Delacours and was telling them stories and assumes a sober face when his wife eyeballs him. Hilarious. He's just a really decent man, all around. I'm glad JKR didn't kill him in OotP after all ;)

Siobhan is a good Irish girl with a good Irish name ;) She's one of my favorite OCs from this series and has been probably the #1 that reviewers have said is their favorite. I quite like her.

I hope you keep reading, and I hope you like the story! I'm glad you're enjoying it so far :D Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #17, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: I Can't Help Myself

18th July 2012:
Arthur, yay! It's quite adorable to see how he's head-over-heels for her. I liked how you mentioned him reading his Muggle Studies textbook- can't forget how much Arthur likes Muggle Studies!

Also liked how you stuck in 'unsinkable Molly' :) Nods to the title are always fun to find! A reference to the unsinkable Molly Brown, if I'm not mistaken?

I like Thad - it was awfully nice of him and Arthur to cover for Molly. Both of them are such Gryffindors!

And a kiss on the cheek at the end. :) Good for Arthur!

Author's Response: Switching perspectives so I could write Arthur's POV as well ;) Arthur and his Muggles, yes, of course he had to take Muggle Studies!

The title is totally a nod to the Unsinkable Molly Brown. Any time someone says the name "Molly" in any context, that movie title tends to pop in my head.

Thad is a good guy, really. He could have gotten her in big trouble for the potion, but he didn't. And he's Arthur's friend, and wouldn't put Arthur through that when he knows how much Arthur likes Molly.

Thank you again for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #18, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: Red Rubber Ball

18th July 2012:
Baww, Molly! Poor thing. I probably wouldn't leave my bedroom, either. I can't say I'm surprised Thaddeus likes someone else (it's a Molly/Arthur, after all!) but Molly is a remarkably good sport about it.

I have to say that I absolutely LOVE your Arthur so far. He's wonderful! Such a gentleman, haha. He liked Molly before this? As Molly puts it... "so noble. So romantic." I'm cheering for him!

Author's Response: So embarrassing! I mean, she did bring it on herself, but still. And teenagers feel embarrassment so acutely. It's amazing she ever came out of her room. Thad is not destined for Molly, and since she really likes the idea of him more than the actual him, and is a good person at heart, she can let him go.

I adore writing Arthur, I have to admit. I loved writing him in this novel and the sequel. He's a gentleman!

Thank you for reviewing! :)


 Report Review

Review #19, by SnapdragonsThe Unsinkable Molly Prewett: You Can't Hurry Love

18th July 2012:
I've heard so much about this story, but I haven't read it yet, so I decided to fix that! I love that this is going to be about Molly and Arthur - I've never read anything about the pair, or this era, for the matter, so this is exciting.

It's a really nice beginning for the story - I already like Molly and Hattie. I really do like how they seem their ages, if that makes sense - it just seems like such a thing a witch her age would do, sort of silly but well-meaning. I don't know if that makes sense, but it does in my head! :P

A good love triangle always is fun to read. Poor Arthur though - he seems crushed. Dear me. I can't wait to see where this leads! An excellent first chapter!

Author's Response: I'm glad you came to read! I hope you like the story! It's a bit disjointed in places, as I wrote it to be a short story and tacked on plot later to turn it into a novel, but I am still very fond of this story so I haven't tried to re-write it. So stick with it, I promise ;) It's fun.

Molly's love potion is based on a canon line in PoA, and I put it at this point in her school years since it seems like the sort of thing a 16 year old girl does. Silly but well-meaning is a perfect description of it!

Poor Arthur. He's a sweetie. Thank you for reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #20, by SnapdragonsDeath and All His Friends: in the end.

18th July 2012:
This was honestly beautiful. I thought I'd like this as soon as I read the top quote - perfect, by the way - and I wasn't let down.

I love Clash, and you do an excellent job at writing next gen romance, and sometimes I forget that you always can write such beautiful oneshots, as well. hopefully that didn't come out the wrong way (seriously, Clash is fantastic) but I think the first story I ever read of yours was actually The Silence of the Night and it just blew me away.

So did this.

I absolutely adored your Penelope. She was real and as I read, I really felt drawn into her mind. The whole story seemed to have this sort of rhythm to it that I can't quite explain.

The way you talked about blood and sort of tied that in throughout the story was brilliant, and what's more, I think it's really something important that applies to life today (obviously, not the blood itself, but in terms of things like race and religion). We always get so upset over all the things that make us different that sometimes, we forget that it's all the same blood that runs through our veins, the same thing that connects us and makes us human.

Her choosing to save Draco was poignant. It goes back to that, I guess - choosing to be the bigger person, realizing that in the end, he was also a person and that makes him worth saving, no matter what his life choices might turn out to be. It just... really struck me, I guess.

I could go back to this and pull out tons of little sentences and descriptions that really stood out to me and that I thought were beautiful but I'd run out of room, so I'll just say that your word choice and your descriptions were phenomenal and so, so beautiful. The bits about the Polaroid, blood, shadows - all of it.

After all, shadows may be touched by darkness, but they are also proof that somewhere, near or far, there is a light.

And it is still shining.


But the ending is perfect.

sort of a rambly review, but I really, really enjoyed this one shot .Made me think. Wonderful job.

 Report Review

Review #21, by SnapdragonsThe Steep and Thorny Way to Heaven: Act VI

18th July 2012:
Sorry I haven't gotten to this earlier - real life got in the way (doesn't it always?) but I was honestly so excited that you'd updated, because this is one of my favorite stories.

I'll probably end up reviewing as I read, so it should be interesting how this'll turn out!

Scene I: I loved seeing the friendship between Remus and Sirius. My heart broke with the bit about Remus just wanting a friend, which was why he wanted to keep his secrets. Poor Remus :(

II: Ooooh, I do love the way you've portrayed Cissy. It's so perfect - the jealousy of Regulus, the way she feels entitled to be the princess. The way she and Bellatrix interacted was also wonderful; definitely saw the Bellatrix from canon in her mannerisms.

IV: Molly ♥ Bless her. She's fantastic. It's quite touching seeing the way that she cares about both Regulus and Sirius. I loved the bit about her reading Regulus to sleep, too.

V: James and Sirius friendship moments yay! Easily one of my favorite friendships in fanfic. I thought that James explained himself rather well - I can imagine, living like that, that it would be necessary to grow a tough skin, in a dog-eat-dog world. But it's nice to see that underneath it all he still can care about things. He's very older brotherly in this, which is lovely.

Plus the last bit - when Sirius confesses that he misses his family and then "'Me too,' James replied easily." I don't know what it is about that that stood out to me - I think it's got something to do with the easy way James replies, the way that it's all right to miss people sometimes. Whatever it was, it was lovely.

That and the last line: For here, in the quiet of the night, there was no judgment, no snide remarks, just James and his hand resting between Sirius's shoulder blades, a silent, steady comfort. ♥ It was a beautiful way to end it.

I can't believe this chapter was 7k - I got to the end and it felt like no time at all! It all flowed so smoothly and engaged me thoroughly.

it was an absolutely wonderful chapter. I'm so, so glad you updated - it was honestly a pleasure to read :)

 Report Review

Review #22, by SnapdragonsAnd Capers Ensue: That's How the Biscuit Breaks

18th July 2012:
OH MY GOD OH MY GOD HOLY HIPPOGRIFFS I DON'T EVEN KNOW HOW TO HANDLE THIS CHAPTER

Erm. This is once again a late-ish review, but I'm lazy and have a research paper to write this summer so I'm just using that as an excuse for everything and yep now we're moving on to the STORY!

Scorpius and Bea remain super cute and I'm pretty sure that's a ship I see in the not-so-distance mhmm -nods- Shipper goggles are at the ready!

Also, let's be real, the real function of a fan is to talk into and have your voice be funny. Everyone does it. Everyone knows it's true. That's just how it works. (reason infinity why Potterpuff is my favorite person in the whole world)

IT WORKED and I literally felt like screaming HOLY MOLY that was exciting.

Until it sort of set on fire. That was a bit of a downer.

(thankfully the mood was lightening by Scorpius' flammable pants, so)

Your action scenes are always so great - I could really see everything and bwuh /it was exciting/. I don't even know what to say about the rest of it except that e so many feels.

(Also, the "I think we broke Hogwarts" line. YES! I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS LINE EVER SINCE I FIRST SAW THE BANNER. ngl it was one of the reasons why I first clicked on it (other than the fact that I love everything you right, obv) and so yeah that was also exciting when I saw it)

(I got really excited during this chapter in general if you hadn't noticed)

'those students who broke a thousand years of magic' Not to single anyone out or anything, but...

Tesla ♥ I seriously am so glad you came up with your wizard Tesla headcanon because it's honestly the best thing ever and totally would make sense. ♥

heartbreaking ending. :( bwuh. Bea taking responsibility is good, though. But still. tears.

END OF PART TWOo. -flails-

loved loved loved this chapter and so I grant you the glorious gift of my mumbly jumbly review but it's not my fault if it's hard to understand, it's yours for writing an exciting chapter. So.

lovely job, as always

Author's Response: ♥ I have so much to gush over while I write the next chapter :3 Which is like, taking ages. I have three websites to build this summer, I know your pain with time ;-; why is summer not like summer at all.

The only downside to the voice-machine/fan is that your eyes get reaaally dry staring into it. That is less fun.

MOOD WHIPLASH. The fire was fun, too, but that is probably because I like fire -cough-. The collapsing castle is a bit of a downer, yes.

IT IS THE ONE TAGLINE THAT SURVIVED EVERY BANNER VERSION. It actually had no place in the original plot line, so early on, I planned a scene like this one into the story *just* so I could write that line in eventually, and it gave me an idea for the best direction of plot evar.

Tesla bb ;-; I had feels for him in The Prestige. If there were ever a real-life wizard.

I lofff you ♥ I just want to shove you next chapter already because it is like an explosion of cute and cliffhanger~~~ UNTIL THEN.


 Report Review

Review #23, by SnapdragonsSlay: Dreams, dragons and blood.

9th July 2012:
I don't know how you do it. Seriously. I don't. How do you come up with this stuff at 2AM in like a /half hour/ and incorporate all of these prompts (seamlessly, I might add) and give me all these FEELINGS and GAH

(hi, it's been a long day. coherency may or may not be achieved)

I don't know quite where to start, other than, man I like your Cho. You did make her quite relatable and likeable. I have to say, the First Task has given me a newfound appreciation of Cho. :D

And there is a different hero fighting her dragon.that line. bwuh. I loved how you dealt with showing her confusion between Harry and Cedric, how she got them mixed up - I thought that was a nice way to describe everything that she was feeling, which was, in a word, complex. (And certainly beyond the emotional range of a teaspoon, eh?)

oh oh oh and the end the end ah
Her Patronus is a swan: Serene, graceful, beautiful, vicious. Can we just take a moment to appreciate that last line? I have no idea why I like it so much, but I do. Especially that emphasis on vicious - I just feel like it works so well for Cho. And it's like in that moment, we see a stronger Cho coming out, someone who can fight back, less of the weepy Cho, if that makes sense?

(lol none of this review is going to make sense that's what happens when you write when you're tired)

To sum it up - loved this so much. Didn't seem like a House Cup entry at all - this could have easily stood on its own because everything seemed all natural, if that makes sense. Basically, it's great. Cho's great. You're great. Everything is great! -throws hands in the air-


(I think this is a sign I should go to bed)

 Report Review

Review #24, by SnapdragonsThe Art of Surviving.: Disintegrate

26th June 2012:
No need to apologize for fluff. I love fluff. Fluff makes me happy. In fact, fluff is lovely. So, you know, I was pretty happy for approximately half of this chapter.

And then it was mixed in with angst and GUH why do you do this to me? WHIPLASH. (okay not really but still) For the record, I didn't mind the timeline - it made sense to me, and I actually sort of preferred the way it ended. Kind of bittersweet because it was in the past and yet so sweet and happy. So I think it worked well!

Darn. It was bound to happen eventually... nothing stays a secret forever. :/ James isn't taking it so well, though I suppose he could be taking it much /worse/, so... eh? Maybe okay? Except then at the end and bwuh too many feels

(also, I think I'm with Lily on the whole Sirius dating someone else thing)

But seriously Lily. James can cook. (yes, I have grabbed on to this as the most important part in his characterization) HOLD ON TO HIM.

(also okay I thought that picnic thing was maybe adorable I like fluff all right)

Loved this chapter ♥ Even if it did play with my emotions. Sniff. Lovely job!

Author's Response: OH HEEY HANNAH (I think I've started responding to all your reviews like that... which is interesting. I don't remember it ever being an active decision of mine. I think it just happened).

AHAH. Whiplash. I think I'm actually going to christen this as the whiplash chapter - that was exactly what I was intending, if I'm honesty. Yay I like bittersweet. lool

James, well... I'm not sure there was a way for him to take it well. I think everyone would like Sirius to be single foreeverr (maybe even Sirius a little bit?) but I guess we'll see how that pans out.

You're with Naida on grabbing onto the HE CAN COOK FACTOR.

Thanks for the lovely review! :)


 Report Review

Review #25, by SnapdragonsHer Wonderland: Wonderland of Memories

26th June 2012:
Aww, this was lovely! ♥ It was really sweet and made me smile and cute and bwuh.

I loved the way you set it up, with each flower bringing back a specific memory - I thought that was so clever and worked really well! It was cool to see the significance of each.

I have to say, the bit about her aunt was really sad. :( And I felt incredibly satisfied that she punched him! Ha.

The ending paragraph was adorable and perfect, too - made me smile! Seriously, I really liked this one shot. :) Thank you for bringing it to my attention! ♥

Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for reviewing, because really you didn't have to and I'm glad you liked it.



 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>