Reading Reviews From Member: Shinicha
  
89 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Creative Output: Mischief

18th September 2014:
Yay there's more science!
Also: Annett's flirting schemes are hilarious. Percentages!!!

I still cannot quite imagine what her plan will be. I hope it's grand. So big that she might even feel a bit guilty afterwards.

Author's Response: Shinicha,

You have left so many amazing reviews. Thank you!

More science: yes, always. :D

Oh guilt! We shall have to see. ;) I can't wait to read what you thought about the prank.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #27, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: An “Auf Wiedersehen” and a Wotter Invasion

18th September 2014:
Your story really is something else. It's somewhat hard for me to feel with Annett, because she is so different from me. She IS a little bit creepy. Just the way she is NOT in need of human interaction and still never gets unsure of who she is (or so it seems).

I liked the questions about magic and science. I often discussed topics like these with my best friend, but how great must it be to be able to actually test it out!? Did she choose this animal form herself? It seemed a bit Patronus-like the way she just turned into a fox as if it was her natural animal-form. (not very scientific, I know.) I really hope we get to read more of her experiments ;)

The "silent understanding" between introvert people, and the way Annett analysed Al was really cute!

Overall I think you did an amazing job in guiding the reader from her first year all the way to her fifth without the narration seeming too chopped-up or rushed.

I'm really terrible at Grammar, but I noticed you jumped between the tenses a few times. Maybe that's okay (since strictly speaking she tells the story from todays perspective), just wanted to mention it in case it was unintentional.

Author's Response: Shinicha,

Bahaha! Your descriptions of her character are hilarious. I've never had anyone call Annett creepy before.

Do you really? That's great! I'd love to talk more with you about that if you are into science. I'm Pointless-Proclamations on the forums if you're there too. :)

She did not choose it herself, but it does fit her character and I think that's how Animagi work.

There will be more experiments an I hope you enjoy them as they come.

Thank you so much for all your compliments and all your help. I'll check out that tense issue to see what needs fixing. Thank you for pointing that out. :) You are very kind.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #28, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: The Peculiar Childhood: A Prologue

18th September 2014:
I stumbled over this story... and then I just had to read it when I skipped over the chapter titles. You see, I'm Austrian. (Even though I'm not from Bregenz. My boyfriend is though. Their dialect is hilarious. But maybe you know that anyway.)

Just wondering about this sentence, whether I didn't get it right or whether it was an inconsistency:
" I didn't care to start an interaction when I could never completely understand the strange English language." - this is when she still lives in Austria, right? Because then the other kids wouldn't be speaking English.

Anett seems to be a very intruiging character, I think I'll like this story. I like that it starts with her childhood and her finding out about magic, and I can't wait to find out what becomes of her after she is forced to socialise and mingle with other witches and wizards on a regular basis!

I also thought it was cute of Teddy to get her a Pygmy Puff (and the fact that his hair changes when he's surprised, haha)

Author's Response: Dear Shinichia,

You've left quite a few reviews! I cannot believe it. Danke!

That's awesome! Wie geht? You caught that, haha! I wanted to put Annett in a place where, with her German father and Austrian mother from Vienna, she'd find the language a little strange despite it being the same one she speaks. I never really giver her a chance to fit in culturally.

Thank you so much for pointing that out! No, this was when she was in England already. I must fix that.

I'm excited to see your thoughts! It pleases me to hear that you think you'll like it (I hope that stays true throughout the story and I hope I don't disappoint you).

An lastly, a sad clarification: Teddy did not get her that Pygmy Puff. She just saw it and thought it was weird. :(

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #29, by ShinichaThe Keeper's Daughter: It Happened in August

16th September 2014:
Ahh here I am again, reading your great stories instead of studying...oh well.

I didn't read Keep Away + sequel (yet), but decided to give this one a shot first-and I think I will love it :)

Gee is going to be a really fun character to be with and I'm honestly SO impressed with you creating so different main characters in your stories and make them believabe and authentic nontheless. (that's much more than some published writers manage to do...)

Soo Albus is the Quidditch maniac here. Usually he's the calm and shy one (since that's the personality JK hinted him to have) So I'm looking forward to how you make him out to be and how it goes with the popular-athletic-guy-thing in this story~

I'm very curious what this "therapy" means (we don't even really know yet what that fall did to her head!). You planted a possible source for angst there and I can' decide whether I'd like it to be used or not..hmm!

Also, reading about Oliver here makes me SO want to read his stories, I definitely will - after my tests are over (arrgh)

 Report Review

Review #30, by ShinichaStuck in the Middle: Full Circle

13th September 2014:
I'm sorry I only stopped now for a review, I kinda rushed through this story (I should be studying...)

First of all I'm really happy that you wrote a same-sex-love story so convincingly. I really liked Oliver, he's the perfect mix of awkward and cool :*
I thought you described great how James grows into his feelings. Ollies family is wonderful! Who would move all the way to another country for their son.. Also I really liked your Potter-siblings. Lily is awsome!! And Albus is Slytherin-y in a perfect way. In general you questioned some standard-assumptions about next-gen in a good way- Nicky being a good example. Also the mention of Harry not simply having overcome a war without any problems. "Molly Senior" made me laugh - sounds way cooler that Nana Molly haha..

I think your story got better with each chapter and I liked how it developed, it was very realistic. I admit I have a certain personal fluff-limit so at some points it almost got too cute! *laughs*

But thanks a lot for this story and I think I'll love the sequel!!

Author's Response: Ah, it's okay. I'm glad you liked it enough to read it.

I'm so happy you liked Oliver. He is among my favorite characters to write. He's just so... awkwardly cool. :P

James was fun to write. He was my first ever character to not fully know or understand his feelings and developed them until he knew he could have more. It just wouldn't have worked if it went too fast in the beginning.

Oliver is very lucky to have his family. His dad was looking for a new job anyway, but to do what he did with his wife... they're awesome.

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments and for reading and for leaving such an awesome review! I do hope you'll love the sequel.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #31, by ShinichaDecoding the Tutshill Tornados: The One with the Breaking News

10th September 2014:
First of all, sorry that I only now joined in reviewing. I read BTQC and this one in one go and felt bad after every chapter for not stopping to review... >_< Secondly, I really really love this story. I admire you for daring to write from the POV of a hormonal teenage boy (even though admittedly James grew up a lot over the last few chapters) - whenever I look at my younger brother, the way he acts is just a big mystery to me that can only be explained by him never thinking at all. You're doing a wonderful job with your characters, and the sequel is... wow, so much happening, not one sentence that doesn't lead up to the next momentum.
I love that Nia got a cameo. I do miss Haley a bit because for some reason she really grew on me since her date with James.

As for Freddie: You really created a wonderful character there, everything fits perfectly from the shelter to the non-wigs to the way he handled the situation with Amy. Their relationship from its beginning (I loved how he asked her to be his gf) until the accident and her being in St. Mungus was such a convincing subplot it could easily make a novel on its own. But I'm glad that it's part of James story, it makes the world you created even more real and three dimensional to me.

I somehow feel for Rose, because I already left twice for quite a long time, one time leaving behind my first love... and soon I'll be leaving again for 6 months and I don't even dare to think about what happens to me and my boyfriend during this time. Accidently he had similar commitment problems as Bink. Maybe her leaving will make him see sense!

Lindt, for some reason, reminds me a lot of Scrimgeour (I have some difficulties with your, or rather James', conception of Hufflepuff-but he seems very loyal, only I haven't really found out to what. Except his Code, obviously.) Also I have to think of Swiss.chocolate everytime I read his name. Lindt Kugeln are my favourite christmas sweets. Nom.

Also: HOW does damn Flynn have connections from prison to TV and the whole Quidditch world? Is it full of petty criminals?? With his money and reputation gone (and him having ...no friend-qualities [especially not those Hufflepuffers are known for!]) I can't explain it any other way.

I keep thinking whether it'd be better for Avery and James to go through with the divorce-after-30-days or not. I really don't think it would be all that fair to Avery to disregard her carreer and life plans. But then again the damage is done and she already stands in the shadow of her 'husband' who's a star before having played a game. Also it would be stupid to keep the marriage just for the sake of public opinion (even if the consequences are serious). But on the other hand it just seems irrational to get a divorce just to marry each other later on anyway. So I'm really curious which factor will weigh stronger and what they're going to do.

Will TomCat ever be found? :D I started to get paranoid, thinking about the meowing is coming from elaborate spy-device or scheme from Mason and there never even was a cat! For my sanity I hope Tomcat shows himself soon!

Anyway, thank you for your story and from now on I will keep reviewing as you update:)

 Report Review

Review #32, by ShinichaBeing a Falmouth Falcon: First Practice and Interview

4th September 2014:
Ha, it's good to see Camila having troubles adjusting to trainig..though that probably won't last long. Will the Witch Weekly woman come back for when the trouble really starts...?
I think Gigi shouldn't tell James yet. He wouldn't believe it anyway and might just blame Gigi instead. But I'm all for Scott+Gigi vs Camila!She needs an ally :)

It's a bit surprising to know that Jenny also was a good Quidditch player, but she definitely's got the temper. What position did she play?

Anyway thanks for a great chapter, can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Witch Weekly is the biggest gossip magazine around... of course the woman will come back. ;)

Jenny would have played chaser, just like her sister. They would've been a great team, had Jenny decided to go any further, though she never was very serious about much.

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #33, by ShinichaBeing a Falmouth Falcon: The First Threat

4th September 2014:
Wow Camila really gets to the point straight away. I'm glad that someone (Scott) noticed immediately, but I bet she'll be careful around the others. I just hope, no matter if she manages to snatch Gigi's place (and maybe even seduce James) that her foul personailty will be found out at some point! Until that happens I wouln'd be surprised if she gets very far with her schemes. You created a monster! haha...
After all that time it took for Gigi to realise her feelings for James I think she might put James first. But then again, she didn't really have to choose last time, because the pregnancy-lie was out before she confessed to him! I get this bad feeling of a lose-everything-scenario for Gigi :( ...

Author's Response: Scott, though we didn't see him a lot in the first story, will come through a lot for Gigi. Not in a dirty way or anything, but you get my drift. He IS married still.

Do you really think Gigi is the type to learn from her mistakes?

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #34, by ShinichaBeing a Falmouth Falcon: Finding the Chaser

4th September 2014:
I'm happy that there's a sequel! I think you did a great job developing the characters, though it's sad that Matt won't be on the team. Too bad, that the second girl's this mean "all about eve"-Eve... I'm actually dreading (and looking forward to) all the drama!

Author's Response: I was really sad to have to take Matt off of the team, but after all was said and done, I knew that Camila needed to be at a proper competing stage with Gigi. I knew I had Chris leaving the team, but putting Camila at seeker didn't seeem appropriate, so Matt had to go too. Poor boy :(

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #35, by ShinichaA Woman's Guide to Professional Quidditch: Meeting the Potters

3rd September 2014:
I really enjoyed your story so far :) I just thought when you write about 'half-bloods' and such it might be better not to use 'blood'? it seems like something people who do, after all, care would use (but maybe Gigi does, who knows...)

I really like how the Potter-Weasleys turned out - was a bit put out by Ginnys lack of ambition though, what with being housewife. She never seemed to be the overly motherly-homey type to me in the books...

Author's Response: Unfortunately, 'half-blood' is the appropriate term :/. I have thought about trying to use different phrases myself and have tried to look something else up, but this is the term that has been dubbed appropriate for people who are not completely "pureblood".

I didn't like having to write Ginny has a housewife, but unfortunately, JK Rowling has said that Ginny quit Quidditch shortly after the birth of James to be a stay-at-home mom. No shame to housewives, though! They have the hardest job in the entire world!

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #36, by ShinichaMuggle Studies: iPod Injuries

3rd September 2014:
awesome! this is going to be fun :)

 Report Review

Review #37, by ShinichaWeather for Ducks: The Tripwire of Reality

1st September 2014:
I noticed that you write a lot about the economy, or rather its crisis - in Blunderland too - so I was wondering, how do you see the connection between Muggle and wizard economy? I think its a really interesting topic to speculate about (a friend and I actually wrote a whole text about the wizarding economy and the conditions for revolution and we came to the conclusion that wizarding economy cannot whatsoever be equated with Capitalism, therefore also not have Capitalist crises)
But in Blunderland you wrote about how wizarding community took on too much of the Muggle (economy) and ..yeah.. all of this together made me really curious :)

As to the growing suspense: I'm surprised I was even able to stop reading to write this comment, haha!

 Report Review

Review #38, by ShinichaWeather for Ducks: A Duck in the Pint

1st September 2014:
Why would it be suspicious to have a memorial for only one war? But it somehow seems to be, although if it were me I'd just think that there might not've been a new new elging during the first war.
so much to be curious about!

Btw I really think someone should invent magic typewriters with a Delete button. :')

 Report Review

Review #39, by ShinichaWeather for Ducks: Elgin Regrets

1st September 2014:
Now I'm intruiged, why would aboy be knitting - this cant't be a regular village on the countryside, noone questions genderstereotypes on the countryside!
..and also, I completely agree with Scorpius, I got bad feeling about this, too, even though Ive never watched Starwars...

 Report Review

Review #40, by ShinichaWeather for Ducks: A Bad Feeling About This

1st September 2014:
Just when I thought "funny, this Western feeling in northern Scotland" Scorpius confirmed my thoughts :) It reminds me of this old Japanese comedy - Tanpopo - a "ramen western" (i think you'd like that one if you haven't seen it yet).

I also thought the idea with the signpost was very good. Looking forward to some mystery!

(the shop with with the subtle decor reminded me of the upcoming independence-referendum, haha)

 Report Review

Review #41, by ShinichaWeather for Ducks: The Dartboard of Destiny

1st September 2014:
Once again gripped by the chronic fafiction-fiever Im so glad to have found your stories. Theyre great,and besides I love Scotland and the Highlands, so I except great things from this one. Also I really appreciate the elegance with which you write about everyday muggle problems and transplang them into the magical world!

 Report Review

Review #42, by ShinichaStarving Artists: Metaphor Wrapping Paper

19th June 2013:
Ahhh loved this story. I actually started reading it way back when it wasn't finished yet and somehow stopped mid-way because life took over, but I'm really, really happy that I remembered this story and actually reread it. I nearly fell off my chair on several occasions laughing, completely fell for your characters (Scorp is lovely)... AND I have completely ignored my upcoming exams (tomorrow), so wish me luck and let's hope one night of studying will suffice ...so I can read the sequel soon! :*

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm really glad you came back to read it, and that you enjoyed it :3 I've just embarked on a huge rewrite of the sequel (I only have the last two chapters left to go!) so hopefully by the time you come to read it it'll be all polished up (and a better story!). I hope your exams went well - I wouldn't want you to fail on account of my writing!

Thanks for reviewing :3 ♥


 Report Review

Review #43, by ShinichaTake Flight: Hawthorn

10th March 2012:
Beautiful OC, a very cute story of finding oneself and finding romance :D Loved this fanfic!

 Report Review

Review #44, by ShinichaJust Another Midnight Run: Mostly Independent and Totally Broke

4th June 2011:
Love your story so far! LOL!
Scorpius as a painter without success and lover of musicals, and Rose with a great sense of humour. (Broomhilde and the comment about Harry using make up were my favourites :P)

Author's Response: Heh, I do have fun throwing a Broomhilde in when I can. Scorpius the failed painter has been pretty popular, and Rose seems to go over well with everyone thus far. She's pretty silly, but it makes her very fun to write! Thank you so much for the lovely review!

 Report Review

Review #45, by ShinichaBroken: So it ends so it begins

2nd May 2011:
Loved the whole story, and of course also the ending - especially Draco's comment about bed and board money :P - thanks for a great ff!

Author's Response: thank you so much for all the reviews, i am really happy you enjoyed it!
xx


 Report Review

Review #46, by ShinichaBroken: In my hand there's a pulse of my beating heart

2nd May 2011:
I love that Scorpius is so awkward in some moments, it makes him so much more attractive

Author's Response: i too love an awkward scorpius. he is a lot of fun to write like that. thank you!

 Report Review

Review #47, by ShinichaBroken: It's just your Ghost Passing Through

2nd May 2011:
That was pretty dramatic! Are those girls really doing this on their own will? ...
Entralling story you wrote there! ;_; Have to force myself to stop reading to comment ~ sorry, my comments are rather useless...haha >

Author's Response: thanks for the review hun - i'm pleased you're enjoying it.

 Report Review

Review #48, by ShinichaBroken: Somebody get me Through this Nightmare

2nd May 2011:
Hugo turned out to be a very decent guy after all ;) And I think Rose and Scorpius are really cute together..!

Author's Response: i love hugo. he was awesome. thanks!

 Report Review

Review #49, by ShinichaBroken: Meet Me in the Middle of the Air

2nd May 2011:
I like how Scorp, Rose and Hugo turn into this "Trio" ;D
And - oha - who would've thought that Rose can be that passionate...

Author's Response: yeah, they are fun to write. and oh yes, she has quite a bit hidden away there...
thank you again!


 Report Review

Review #50, by ShinichaBroken: And she Shines just like a Star

2nd May 2011:
Wow, she's so brave. I never would've dared to wear a bikini about all these model-witches XO
Astoria is a very strange character. And was it really "only" Lucius' sickness that upset Scorpius so much?

Author's Response: hahaha me neither, lol. thanks hun - glad you're enjoying it so much.

 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>