Reading Reviews From Member: Shinicha
  
105 Reviews Found

Review #26, by ShinichaKeep Away: Perry Practice

22nd September 2014:
Oliver's behaviour confuses me the more I read about him. Really, why is he trying so hard to give Jane an actual chance...? Maybe he appreciated her caring for Quidditch (without playing it). After all, he did notice that she'd had a subsciption for the Quidditch magazine for two years. So it has to be the Quidditch or herself as a person that made him do it! ... Right, I'll stop playing detective now, the story's finished after all *chrm*

His fan-base is hilarious - one of the best extras in this AU! Their banner is creepily close to worshipping rather than cheering, haha...

I do wonder about the aftermath of Jane not telling her best friends about the try-out. If I were them I'd probably assume some secret love story between Oliver and Jane, just like Alicia. why else would he know about it (give her his broom) and they didn't?

 Report Review

Review #27, by ShinichaKeep Away: Spreading the Word

22nd September 2014:
So, after I've been spoilered by the Keeper's Daughter I came back to read Gee's parents' story!

I'm already in love with Jane - she's way too proud and stubborn! But then again, that's what makes the story. (mine would have ended with me admitting to everyone I couldn't fly in my first year.)

I'm surprised to have Angelina be the serious one, I always imagined her to be a joker, like Fred, and only really scary-serious when Captaining. I'm looking forward to your version of Angelina over the course of this story.

I'm also happy to hear a bit more about Katy and Alicia, somehow I managed to miss out on any fanfictions with them in more prominent roles so far.

Also, I can't wait to get to know that side of Oliver that I know from Keepers Daughter! Right now I just think how mean he is for spilling her secret to the twins even though it was part of the deal not to do it.
Although ... maybe it's his way of trying to find her help to learn flying? Why is he even interested in her trying out? Maybe he's more than simply annoyed by her? Have to read on, now, immediately!

 Report Review

Review #28, by ShinichaSearching For Forever: The Thing About Weddings

22nd September 2014:
Soo, I haven't read any of you other stories - I don't know why I picked this when I went through your author's page (I have a suspicion it's because I like red and the banner was red and lovely...)

I think it's pretty amazing that you created your own universe and manage to write so many stories from different angles that would fit together. After this I have to read some others!

I have to admit Lily's recent history with boyfriends made me laugh a bit. It's just too absurd! And quite impressive, to maintain a lie for such a long time. Looking forward to more!

 Report Review

Review #29, by ShinichaThe Wandering One : Flanders Fields

21st September 2014:
I really enjoy your short stories so far, it makes me want to travel, too! The way you mix wizarding history with Muggle history and fit in small stories is really great. It has a certain tranquility to it.

I also love Victoire; I somehow never quite warmed up to the Delacours, but your Victoire makes up for it. The way she appreciates different experiences and her compassion for the giant and the ghosts...

Sam is a funny character; at first I thought he would be more of a cynic (the way he snorted into his black coffee when Alexander hit on Victoire...) but he's more of an artsy-calm guy. Very hipster, haha. I bet he'll like Berlin!

I hope you don't mind me correcting your German, it would be "Hallo" or "Guten Tag mein Name ist Victoire" (I don't think Grub is a word, I have no idea where Google Translate takes it from)
Also "Sie sprechen Deutsch, huebsche junge Dame" (ziemlich is more like "pretty much" and saying "young lady" seems more fitting for a man his age) ;)

Looking forward to the next chapters and cities!

Author's Response: Hello!! :)

Ahh, thank you!! This review was so lovely to receive. I'm so glad you like the traveling stories and it's exciting to hear that it's inspiring you to travel as well. This story has been so lovely for me to work on and I love how you used the word "tranquility" - I definitely know what you mean, though I'm not sure how to express it.

Thank you! :D I'm so glad you like my Victoire. I never was a big fan of that family until I started writing her, and now they're one of my favourite Weasley families. I felt that since she was the eldest cousin and Bill's daughter, she would have both that responsible and compassionate quality while also a thirst for adventure.

Sam is quite hipster, haha! I love how you picked up on that. He's pretty laid back as well, and cynical in a quiet way, but he and Victoire get along quite well since they have so much in common.

Thank you!! :) That's so helpful, Google Translate is so confusing haha. I'll fix that right away.

Thanks so much for the wonderful review, it really made my day receiving it and made me so happy in responding just now. ♥


 Report Review

Review #30, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Trapdoor of Piranhas

19th September 2014:
At my last review I forgot to mention that I positively loved Annett's thoughts about feelings. How to measure them, and what criteria one would need... I think she should study Dialectics, that would help her open her mind a bit!
Even though I have to say that she's right - love is very vague and don't we all know that we can suppress it and not realise it? Just like Annett herself. (Hopefully :P )

I like to think that she has a sort of friendship with Teddy. But do find it somewhat unrealistic that he would just take the ring for free! He should probably give her something as thank you... thinking that he is her teacher too! (Even though since Dumbledore and Harry we know that teacher-student relationships can be very intimate without being creepy)

I'm glad that she's making progress with the medicine, but I'm a little bid sad an disappointed that she didn't ask Al for help. And also, that they aren't talking!

All the rumours about her are really mean and farfetched. But I can't completely blame the students, because, after all, it does seem just very un-normal not to have any social life (by choice.) But still, after the students saw her being humiliated by the teacher EVERY lesson since the first it's just hugely unfair to think she's being evil! She just proved her being right!!

Author's Response: It was great fun to write! But can you imagine her in such a class? She prefers working objective things rather than subjective things.

You imply a very interesting question: Is Annett in love? What makes you think so?

In a later chapter, I get back to this issue about Teddy and the ring and explain it. ;)

But they've only just fought, Shinicha! Bahaha. Can you believe if they had to talk when the Argument is still fresh? Can you imagine what would happen in that case?

It is actually not 'un-normal not to have any social life (by choice).' Wow, there are a lot of negatives going on in that sentence. What I mean is, this story is about exploring introversion. It's a perfectly normal thing although not all introverts are similar. There are different kinds and different degrees of introversion.

That's a fair point, but when she's silent and glaring. She's not humiliated, she's annoyed and her classmates see this. It is because of this that they think she has a heart of stone and an air of indifference. They think she is incapable of caring because, on the surface, that is what it seems.


 Report Review

Review #31, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: As Cunning as Ham

19th September 2014:
Yayay! I'm so happy, all my wishes from my last review came true! ScroRose and the stupid teacher! Show her, HA! I wonder what it means for Annett - will she get detention? Will she get recognition?

The news about Ronan I am not happy about ): So now the medicine she thought she could use would rather kill him than the parasite? I wonder why she never tries to get help. I'm sure the potions master would be delighted. Or Al! He's a potions genius, maybe he could think of a way.

But then again I understand that she doesn't want to risk other stupid comments and misunderstandings about Muggle science... Now that I think of it, it's really amazing that apparently Magic Healing has never bothered to learn about DNA and the functioning of non-human Beings! Or maybe they have? Can't wait to read what Anett finds out!

Author's Response: Bahaha! It was quite scary how you predicted that all, Shinicha. I'm losing my confidence in being able to surprise you.

Professor Slughorn has tried, remember. All of the professors have. And they couldn't do much. For Al, she have to tell him about Fufu. I don't suppose she's okay with that. It's more complicated. How inconvenient, right? ;)

And your mentioned all that I've wanted to say in that last paragraph! Healing could also use some updates.

I can't wait to read what else you've said.


 Report Review

Review #32, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: How

19th September 2014:
Ha, I was right!! (well okay, I only had to look up Wikipedia.) I even remember that in one of the chapters you mentioned Davies bug (I thought someoone had accidentally swallowed it? Don't remember exactly now)

I love Annett in detective-mode. But I think it would be great if the more general story would also move along at the same time, so that it doesn't happen in sequences but in a more natural mix of events, if you get what I mean..?

True, Lily's found out about Al's insomnia. What will his family do with this information? Why does he get it? Why is he so stressed and anxious? Also, what about Rose and Scorpius?

And I'm still burning to know about the Draco-thing. Not to mention this stupid teacher. I can't wait until she's proven wrong!

I hope Ronan can be healed, and I hope this will have some big consequences for Annett, finally forcing her out of her shell!

Author's Response: Shinicha,

Thank you for yet another review! :D

About the fly, Peakes only 'looks' like he's swallowed it when he sees Annett because that's just his face when he's frightened.

And yes! You were right! :D

Hmm. I see what you mean. Thank you for pointing that out, I will use it to improve upon these chapters. I just want to show that Annett has focused her attention completely on Ronan's illness and nothing else matters to hear at this point. She's obsessed. In this chapter, she can't think about anything else. On the next chapter, however. . .

What will Lily do? We don't get to find out until Annett does. ;)

It's there somewhere, the Draco thing. I am sure you can find the clue(s). ;)

You hope Annett will be extroverted at the end? You don't like introverts? [puppy dog eyes and some sniffling]


 Report Review

Review #33, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: A Provoked Bärchen

19th September 2014:
I can't quite believe that what they had was a one-sided understanding. But it ´kind of makes sense, Al putting up with whatever Annett wants because he wants to know her and be her friend... Still, I really don't think he deserved that outburst! Even though it just proves, how much attention she played to him over the years. Maybe that will give him something to think about!

Also I looked up "Kinetoplastea" and I think the symptoms mostly match with sleeping sickness! Is that what it is? Would be very mysterious, it gets transmitted by the tsetse fly, which is not exactly at home in Scottish climate. But who knows! Can't wait to find out the answer!

Also: I think it would be easier for the eye to read the text if there weren't these sections in bold, where Al and Annett talk with raised voices. Maybe you could describe in words how it is supposed to sound? I just find the bold and cursive parts a bit distracting! ;)

Author's Response: Dear Shinicha,

Most conflict does come from misunderstanding and miscommunication. It's much too fun to exploit this fact.

If only Annett had a search engine and access to the internet! Alas! :P

Thank you once more for reading and reviewing! :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #34, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: The Looming Threat of Explosions

19th September 2014:
I do enjoy science when you write about it! However it would be super-helpful if you could explain some things a little bit (right now I'm looking up all the words I don't understand haha...)

You're really good at torturing your readers! ;) The fact, that Annett just doesn't care very much about what is happening to others makes me all the more curious, when she doesn't ask any questions. This way we're left with all this little mysteries! I'm about to burst!! (I'm not complaining, it makes the story quite enthralling) Like, what's the matter with Carter? Is it about Annett? Why is he hurt?
Why doesn't she ask her parents for advice? (they should be able to when it's about identifying parasites, no?)

So much to look forward to!

Author's Response: I am super relieved that you do not find it off at all! It delights me to hear that you love it when I write about it! I will edit to explain the process more and why she's doing seemingly random things and playing with her chemicals. Thank you for your extremely helpful advice. :D

Are you typing me out to be some kind of sadistic writer, Shinicha? Bahaha! Thank you, I'll take that as a compliment.

Yes, it's frustrating, but Annett is so frustrated that she can't afford to think very much besides getting rid of whatever is harming Ronan.

Oh your questions make me squee! I can't wait until you find out so I can hear what you think (hopefully, if you'll like to read on and leave me more reviews maybe, possibly, if you like).

They should, but they're in England. She cannot do enough to have them identify it right away. She'd have to send a sample of blood. Because that blood is infected (gasp, spoiler, but you've read everything that's been posted already), it's very risky.

There is a chance that the owl (the only method of sending things to her parents right now) might break the vial and cut him/herself leading to infection. I will add this explanation to provide clarification. Thank you for pointing this out. I always benefit from your reviews.

Looking forward to more reviews from you,
Em ;)


 Report Review

Review #35, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Between Detention, Disease, and Domestication

19th September 2014:
Thanks for the chapter :)

What are all the Wotters doing at night in the Room of Requirement? Just hanging out? Or are they planning something?
It's funny that Scorpius understands Annett so well, even in her Animal-form. I still wonder about her mysterious connection with the Malfoys!

Also: poor Al :( He's been so happy and hopeful talking to her more, and now she's back to ignoring her. I hope she asks someone for help! (And maybe look up some Muggle-books on illnesses...!)

Author's Response: Thanks for the review ;)

Yes, they just hang out. Sometimes they have Exploding Snap Competitions. Sometimes they study. Sometimes they capture Animagi and make them unwilling pets.

He is very perceptive. I'm anxious for you to read on to the chapters I have yet to post yet because he does show up more later.

How are you able to be so correct so many times, Shinicha?!

Thank you, thank you, thank you for all these reviews! I love reading them.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #36, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: How I Receive My First Detention

19th September 2014:
I think you described Annett being in a crowd really well. The way she percepts the emotions of others, how it makes her feel, how she tries to rationalise it.

In general you make interactions between your characters very unique. Like Annett, analysing Al's every little movement in order to get a picture of where they stand between each other.

I laughed a bit about the kiss, how she conveniently avoided the word, as if it was a far too unscientific way to describe his actions!

And also, despite her seemingly cold manner of telling the story, I can really feel with her. I felt so bad for her right at the end of the chapter, when she feels a bit panicky about all the attention!

Author's Response: Dear Shinicha,

You just touched upon one of the most difficult things for me to write and you complimented the way I did it. That means so much to me. Thank you! :D

Your compliments have me gushing, Shinicha! You are too kind.

Bahaha! It would be! You caught that!

Aww, Shinicha. . . Are you warming up to Annett? It endears me to hear that you "can really feel with her." Annett is indeed not as straight-fowardly emotionally detached as I portray her for the majority of the story thus far.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts! :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #37, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Exclamations of Merlin’s Extensive Collection of Lingerie

19th September 2014:
I love you for this chapter!!
The way Al treats Fufu is so incredibly cute and her reaction is too. The way they were communicating Al must have either a very good connection with animals in general.. or he has no clue about them, because WHAT fox would actually react to be named terrible petnames and correct questions about its own sex! haha... their "conversation" was the best! I hop there will be more Fufu/Al action in the future. Poor him, just when he thought he'd found a new pet...

Also, as the chaptertitle promises, Merlin gets to wear a really interesting combination of underclothes, LOL

With her injuries Al is bound to notice something though, isn't he? I mean he's supposed to dance with her that evening! (Or so I hope)

I hope you don't mind me pestering you about the German. (if so, just say it and I'll stop) German is a really awful language for colorful cursing, because really, all we use is "Scheisse" in all variations. "verdammte Scheisse" "verquirlte Scheisse" "Scheissdreck" etc. So most young people just use English words, haha. Anyways, what I wanted to say is, "Zum Donnerwetter" is quite oldfashioned. How about "Verdammter Mist" or (more surprised) "Was zum Henker.."

Author's Response: Dear Shinicha,

I chose 'Zum Donnerwetter' for that very reason. Haha. Annett is not going to talk like most young people. Even in the future. :P Notice how formal she speaks even in English? She's not normal at all.

But I don't mind you pestering me. I love to explain my choices. :D And I always welcome your corrections for me where needed (like with 'Guten Nacht' twice!! [facepalm] sometimes my brain just doesn't work).

Bahaha. You raise a good point about Al and his treating Fufu the way he does. He probably just thinks she's very smart for a fox.

Will they dance? And will he notice, indeed?

Thank you for your abundant reviews! I cannot believe how quickly you went through that!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #38, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: A Night of Discoveries

19th September 2014:
Huh, what happened just now? Wow that was.. unexpected!
I liked that you got the political dilemma of Beings/Beasts in there, I was always a bit bothered when I read "Fantastic Beasts" (and I would die to know more about Goblin rebellions etc)

I have no idea what could possible bother the Centaur! But maybe Annett will now find out more about the connection of magical and muggle maladies? :) I do hope she will find a cure. She must! But then I wonder if it has to do with something else, bigger. (is it Al? He also has bloodshot eyes! And smells of trees!.. Okay sorry, I'll stop bothering you with Al haha)

You wrote in an answer to a review that the mystery about Draco was somewhere hidden in a chapter. I really can't imagine where or what it would be! Maybe I should reread...

Ah so many mysteries and so much suspense! I think your story improves with every chapter, it's so much fun to see the personality of the different character show.

Also I just wanted to say "goodnight" is "Gute Nacht" in German, without the n ;)

Author's Response: Shinicha!

I'm always happy to surprise readers. ;)

Goblin Rebellions?! You're giving me ideas for a story here.

No! I like hearing what you think! It's no bothersome at all. :)

I did. Didn't I? Yes. Machiko and her sister had a really good guess.

You think so?! DANKE! That's so wonderful of you to say.

Well, I haven't much aptitude for the regular, anyway. That's why I love this website. There are so many great stories that are very unique and special.

Oh dear! I'm horrible, I know. This chapter has gone through many changes even before it was posted. I cannot believe I missed the simplest error! Thank you very much, Shinicha! :D you are so very helpful.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #39, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Exploring Hormonal Minds

19th September 2014:
I loved this chapter. To see Annett how she deals with social interaction and questions all those funny details. The bonding-analogy was really beautiful!

Right now I'm trying really hard to imagine a flirty Al. It doesn't really go into my head, haha. But so is a blushing Annett! Very cute.

The idea for the Indian festivities is nice (I'd love some Indian food right now, nom)

And WHY does Annett have ANYTHING to do with Draco Malfoy? What??

Author's Response: Dear Shinicha,

I'm thrilled you're enjoying Annett's internal monologue.

Bahaha. I know it's hard to imagine, but they're only joking around. I look at these two kids and I sigh as a mother would. They are adorable, aren't they?

I do love my multiculturalism. Indian food? Oh me too! Please share!

All will be explained, Shinicha. ;) Until then, I'd love to hear your theories on it. I do love reading theories, hence my love for your reviews.

Danke schoen! Thank you for another amazing review!

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #40, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Satisfying Humiliation

19th September 2014:
So, that was the prank. Quite elaborate, so many practical slapstick moments. The toad! *laughes* Its interesting to know that Anett now wears her hear long enough again for her Medusa-hair - I think it fits her better anyway :)

As to your questions:

I do hope that the aftermath is more pranks! haha. Not immediately, but eventually, it would be cool when the other pranksters find out about Incog Imp and they do something together.

I think this kind of event will get to Annett somehow. Especially the others would definitely like to spend more time with her. Maybe she has reservations at first. Maybe it needs a nother little push before she could actually call them friends. Maybe it's about Als secret? *hopeful puppy eyes*

To be honest, I still find her very hard to understand, so she's kinda unpredictable to me. I wonder if there will be a payback by Yang? For now he just seems like a little bit dumb macho guy, so maybe he's not really capable of it. Who knows!

Reading on.. ^^

Author's Response: Dear Shinicha,

Thank you for this wonderful review!

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the prank! It had to be elaborate with so many people involved and all the school's master pranksters, too.

To the hopeful puppy eyes, I give you an evil grin that hopefully doesn't give too much away. ;)

You raise quite a few things that relate to other things that come up in unreleased chapters. I cannot say any more.

She's not too easy to understand. She's a very complex character like real-life people are. I try not to create so many straight-forward ones even Yang and Cunningham have their rationales in my mind.

Do you know how surprised I was to find so many new reviews from you? You are like some kind of reviewing machine on a rampage. Lol. Of the good kind, of course. Of the kind that I appreciate and am so grateful for, of course. :D

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #41, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Misattribution

18th September 2014:
Okay. I. HATE. this. teacher. Not even the worst conservative teacher at my conservative school was as bad as she is! I can't believe it! I'm SO looking forward to the payback (there must be one!!)

Soo, what's going on with Al? Why does he have insomnia? What's his secret? (I mean, why does he smell like PINE trees?!) I can't wait to find out! Or rather, I can't wait for Annett to find out and how it'll change their relationship...

Also, Annetts theoretical knowledge on love is quite amusing,poor bloke, doesn't have the faintest idea he's being played with!

I'm somehow glad that she didn't know about the Room of Requirement - she can't know everything, that would be just too perfect.

Author's Response: Paybacks on teachers are going to be very difficult. There are more risks. I neither confirm nor deny anything. :D

I love all the questions you ask, Shinicha! I love it when there are questions I can't answer because it would spoil things. It's weird, but it's true. It's fun to read.

Oh no! Annett is not perfect at all! She's creepy. ;)

Thank you again for another fun review! :D I love reading your thoughts (as in your reviews, not your actual thoughts, just the ones you type out, reading actual thoughts would be creepy).

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #42, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Creative Output: Mischief

18th September 2014:
Yay there's more science!
Also: Annett's flirting schemes are hilarious. Percentages!!!

I still cannot quite imagine what her plan will be. I hope it's grand. So big that she might even feel a bit guilty afterwards.

Author's Response: Shinicha,

You have left so many amazing reviews. Thank you!

More science: yes, always. :D

Oh guilt! We shall have to see. ;) I can't wait to read what you thought about the prank.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #43, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Achieving Equilibrium: The Prologue Continued

18th September 2014:
Your story really is something else. It's somewhat hard for me to feel with Annett, because she is so different from me. She IS a little bit creepy. Just the way she is NOT in need of human interaction and still never gets unsure of who she is (or so it seems).

I liked the questions about magic and science. I often discussed topics like these with my best friend, but how great must it be to be able to actually test it out!? Did she choose this animal form herself? It seemed a bit Patronus-like the way she just turned into a fox as if it was her natural animal-form. (not very scientific, I know.) I really hope we get to read more of her experiments ;)

The "silent understanding" between introvert people, and the way Annett analysed Al was really cute!

Overall I think you did an amazing job in guiding the reader from her first year all the way to her fifth without the narration seeming too chopped-up or rushed.

I'm really terrible at Grammar, but I noticed you jumped between the tenses a few times. Maybe that's okay (since strictly speaking she tells the story from todays perspective), just wanted to mention it in case it was unintentional.

Author's Response: Shinicha,

Bahaha! Your descriptions of her character are hilarious. I've never had anyone call Annett creepy before.

Do you really? That's great! I'd love to talk more with you about that if you are into science. I'm Pointless-Proclamations on the forums if you're there too. :)

She did not choose it herself, but it does fit her character and I think that's how Animagi work.

There will be more experiments an I hope you enjoy them as they come.

Thank you so much for all your compliments and all your help. I'll check out that tense issue to see what needs fixing. Thank you for pointing that out. :) You are very kind.

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #44, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Annett Sinclaire Kluge: Spontaneous Combustion of Dairy Products: A Prologue

18th September 2014:
I stumbled over this story... and then I just had to read it when I skipped over the chapter titles. You see, I'm Austrian. (Even though I'm not from Bregenz. My boyfriend is though. Their dialect is hilarious. But maybe you know that anyway.)

Just wondering about this sentence, whether I didn't get it right or whether it was an inconsistency:
" I didn't care to start an interaction when I could never completely understand the strange English language." - this is when she still lives in Austria, right? Because then the other kids wouldn't be speaking English.

Anett seems to be a very intruiging character, I think I'll like this story. I like that it starts with her childhood and her finding out about magic, and I can't wait to find out what becomes of her after she is forced to socialise and mingle with other witches and wizards on a regular basis!

I also thought it was cute of Teddy to get her a Pygmy Puff (and the fact that his hair changes when he's surprised, haha)

Author's Response: Dear Shinichia,

You've left quite a few reviews! I cannot believe it. Danke!

That's awesome! Wie geht? You caught that, haha! I wanted to put Annett in a place where, with her German father and Austrian mother from Vienna, she'd find the language a little strange despite it being the same one she speaks. I never really giver her a chance to fit in culturally.

Thank you so much for pointing that out! No, this was when she was in England already. I must fix that.

I'm excited to see your thoughts! It pleases me to hear that you think you'll like it (I hope that stays true throughout the story and I hope I don't disappoint you).

An lastly, a sad clarification: Teddy did not get her that Pygmy Puff. She just saw it and thought it was weird. :(

Cheers,
Em


 Report Review

Review #45, by ShinichaThe Keeper's Daughter: It Happened in August

16th September 2014:
Ahh here I am again, reading your great stories instead of studying...oh well.

I didn't read Keep Away + sequel (yet), but decided to give this one a shot first-and I think I will love it :)

Gee is going to be a really fun character to be with and I'm honestly SO impressed with you creating so different main characters in your stories and make them believabe and authentic nontheless. (that's much more than some published writers manage to do...)

Soo Albus is the Quidditch maniac here. Usually he's the calm and shy one (since that's the personality JK hinted him to have) So I'm looking forward to how you make him out to be and how it goes with the popular-athletic-guy-thing in this story~

I'm very curious what this "therapy" means (we don't even really know yet what that fall did to her head!). You planted a possible source for angst there and I can' decide whether I'd like it to be used or not..hmm!

Also, reading about Oliver here makes me SO want to read his stories, I definitely will - after my tests are over (arrgh)

 Report Review

Review #46, by ShinichaStuck in the Middle: Full Circle

13th September 2014:
I'm sorry I only stopped now for a review, I kinda rushed through this story (I should be studying...)

First of all I'm really happy that you wrote a same-sex-love story so convincingly. I really liked Oliver, he's the perfect mix of awkward and cool :*
I thought you described great how James grows into his feelings. Ollies family is wonderful! Who would move all the way to another country for their son.. Also I really liked your Potter-siblings. Lily is awsome!! And Albus is Slytherin-y in a perfect way. In general you questioned some standard-assumptions about next-gen in a good way- Nicky being a good example. Also the mention of Harry not simply having overcome a war without any problems. "Molly Senior" made me laugh - sounds way cooler that Nana Molly haha..

I think your story got better with each chapter and I liked how it developed, it was very realistic. I admit I have a certain personal fluff-limit so at some points it almost got too cute! *laughs*

But thanks a lot for this story and I think I'll love the sequel!!

Author's Response: Ah, it's okay. I'm glad you liked it enough to read it.

I'm so happy you liked Oliver. He is among my favorite characters to write. He's just so... awkwardly cool. :P

James was fun to write. He was my first ever character to not fully know or understand his feelings and developed them until he knew he could have more. It just wouldn't have worked if it went too fast in the beginning.

Oliver is very lucky to have his family. His dad was looking for a new job anyway, but to do what he did with his wife... they're awesome.

Thank you so much for the lovely compliments and for reading and for leaving such an awesome review! I do hope you'll love the sequel.

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #47, by ShinichaDecoding the Tutshill Tornados: The One with the Breaking News

10th September 2014:
First of all, sorry that I only now joined in reviewing. I read BTQC and this one in one go and felt bad after every chapter for not stopping to review... >_< Secondly, I really really love this story. I admire you for daring to write from the POV of a hormonal teenage boy (even though admittedly James grew up a lot over the last few chapters) - whenever I look at my younger brother, the way he acts is just a big mystery to me that can only be explained by him never thinking at all. You're doing a wonderful job with your characters, and the sequel is... wow, so much happening, not one sentence that doesn't lead up to the next momentum.
I love that Nia got a cameo. I do miss Haley a bit because for some reason she really grew on me since her date with James.

As for Freddie: You really created a wonderful character there, everything fits perfectly from the shelter to the non-wigs to the way he handled the situation with Amy. Their relationship from its beginning (I loved how he asked her to be his gf) until the accident and her being in St. Mungus was such a convincing subplot it could easily make a novel on its own. But I'm glad that it's part of James story, it makes the world you created even more real and three dimensional to me.

I somehow feel for Rose, because I already left twice for quite a long time, one time leaving behind my first love... and soon I'll be leaving again for 6 months and I don't even dare to think about what happens to me and my boyfriend during this time. Accidently he had similar commitment problems as Bink. Maybe her leaving will make him see sense!

Lindt, for some reason, reminds me a lot of Scrimgeour (I have some difficulties with your, or rather James', conception of Hufflepuff-but he seems very loyal, only I haven't really found out to what. Except his Code, obviously.) Also I have to think of Swiss.chocolate everytime I read his name. Lindt Kugeln are my favourite christmas sweets. Nom.

Also: HOW does damn Flynn have connections from prison to TV and the whole Quidditch world? Is it full of petty criminals?? With his money and reputation gone (and him having ...no friend-qualities [especially not those Hufflepuffers are known for!]) I can't explain it any other way.

I keep thinking whether it'd be better for Avery and James to go through with the divorce-after-30-days or not. I really don't think it would be all that fair to Avery to disregard her carreer and life plans. But then again the damage is done and she already stands in the shadow of her 'husband' who's a star before having played a game. Also it would be stupid to keep the marriage just for the sake of public opinion (even if the consequences are serious). But on the other hand it just seems irrational to get a divorce just to marry each other later on anyway. So I'm really curious which factor will weigh stronger and what they're going to do.

Will TomCat ever be found? :D I started to get paranoid, thinking about the meowing is coming from elaborate spy-device or scheme from Mason and there never even was a cat! For my sanity I hope Tomcat shows himself soon!

Anyway, thank you for your story and from now on I will keep reviewing as you update:)

 Report Review

Review #48, by ShinichaBeing a Falmouth Falcon: First Practice and Interview

4th September 2014:
Ha, it's good to see Camila having troubles adjusting to trainig..though that probably won't last long. Will the Witch Weekly woman come back for when the trouble really starts...?
I think Gigi shouldn't tell James yet. He wouldn't believe it anyway and might just blame Gigi instead. But I'm all for Scott+Gigi vs Camila!She needs an ally :)

It's a bit surprising to know that Jenny also was a good Quidditch player, but she definitely's got the temper. What position did she play?

Anyway thanks for a great chapter, can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Witch Weekly is the biggest gossip magazine around... of course the woman will come back. ;)

Jenny would have played chaser, just like her sister. They would've been a great team, had Jenny decided to go any further, though she never was very serious about much.

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #49, by ShinichaBeing a Falmouth Falcon: The First Threat

4th September 2014:
Wow Camila really gets to the point straight away. I'm glad that someone (Scott) noticed immediately, but I bet she'll be careful around the others. I just hope, no matter if she manages to snatch Gigi's place (and maybe even seduce James) that her foul personailty will be found out at some point! Until that happens I wouln'd be surprised if she gets very far with her schemes. You created a monster! haha...
After all that time it took for Gigi to realise her feelings for James I think she might put James first. But then again, she didn't really have to choose last time, because the pregnancy-lie was out before she confessed to him! I get this bad feeling of a lose-everything-scenario for Gigi :( ...

Author's Response: Scott, though we didn't see him a lot in the first story, will come through a lot for Gigi. Not in a dirty way or anything, but you get my drift. He IS married still.

Do you really think Gigi is the type to learn from her mistakes?

xoxo


 Report Review

Review #50, by ShinichaBeing a Falmouth Falcon: Finding the Chaser

4th September 2014:
I'm happy that there's a sequel! I think you did a great job developing the characters, though it's sad that Matt won't be on the team. Too bad, that the second girl's this mean "all about eve"-Eve... I'm actually dreading (and looking forward to) all the drama!

Author's Response: I was really sad to have to take Matt off of the team, but after all was said and done, I knew that Camila needed to be at a proper competing stage with Gigi. I knew I had Chris leaving the team, but putting Camila at seeker didn't seeem appropriate, so Matt had to go too. Poor boy :(

xoxo


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>