Reading Reviews From Member: Shinicha
  
152 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShinichaFallen: Louis

23rd January 2017:
You have yet again managed to completely draw me into your story!
Cassie makes a really interesting main character. I've got huge respect for your for doing it, because it's a tough balancing act... you do it SO well. Everyone dislikes Cassie, for very good reasons, but you still manage to keep her away from too much self-pity and still make her kind-of relatable. I find myself questioning Cassie's motives all the time because you have this captivating style that leaves the reader slightly detached from her. That gives a certain thrill to the story and makes it terribly addicting!
What surprises me a bit is that Ollie/Liv became a rather uninteresting side-character in this story. But then again her story is well rounded up and there are Louis, James, Jason (what is up with him? Does he actually *love* James?) to keep you glued to the plot!
I hope so much that Cassie will find it inherself to actually care enough to not run away this time *fingers crossed*
Anyways - you're doing a wonderful job!
I noticed some small mistakes in some of the chapters - I'm sorry, I didn't write them down :/ But maybe if you go over the story again sometime you could keep special attention to there/their were/was and such, they were small typos like that :)

 Report Review

Review #2, by ShinichaFallen: The Invitation

23rd January 2017:
Ah, I've always found it particularly hard to understand Cass, so I'm very excited to read a story from her POV! Interesting start, and omg poor James :(

 Report Review

Review #3, by ShinichaActions Speak Louder than Words: Brooding

29th December 2016:
Ah they're so close! It really is amazing how your story manages to draw me in completely even with months of waiting in-between. My heart is beating like crazy and I'm really edgy... how do you do it??! Now, will they find out who did it, or eill something else horrible happen? Should they've obliviated Lawrence after all? Oh I can't wait to read the next chapter! Good job

 Report Review

Review #4, by ShinichaHow not to be a Woodley: The Edge of Reason

28th December 2016:
I've been racing through the past 30 chapters (so sorry for not reviewing every one of them) and I LOVE your story so much!!!

I like how many chapters start with this weather-intro, it feels so comforting like being slowely eased back into the story every time. Needless to say, your descriptions are wonderfully written and to the point with just the right amount of stalling the next story developments but still providing necessary information. For example in this chapter I reread the scene of Seth's mother entering the office several times because I wanted to make sure that I didn't miss a single detail of the atmosphere you created!

Your characters are very compelling. They make you feel with them but at the same time they are complex and interesting which makes the story unpredictable and keeps the mystery afloat well. Take Vala, I come to like her more and more (as I'm sure you intended) but at the same time I can't forget that she herself had quite a crush on James, and what does she know that she won't tell? Or Albus - why was he so friendly with Seth in the beginning?
With James and Seth I just can't decide. The chemistry is undeniably there but at the same time you also can't deny that they don't really share many interests. So how will they work beyond the tension filled moments they shared so far? And when will Seth realize that she actually hasn't been dumped? :P

I'm dying of curiosity about all this mystery. As some other comments have mentioned, Sam does seem to hide something - but what?

As you see there are questions and questions. I love that about a story, after all, open questions in an interesting plot is what keeps you addicted above all.
I'm dying to read on, eagerly waiting for an update! Great writing :)
xx

Author's Response: THANK YOU SO MUCH! I'm glad you found the story :) MAy I just say that your review was the incentive to finishing the next chapter... It's not completely done yet but almost :) So THANK YOU for that!

I know, the weather is kinda my thing haha... I just loved it in the HP books when chapters started by describing the weather, it always gave me a homey feeling... I guess that's why I do it :)

I'm so glad you like my characters... I try to make them as real and relatable as possible and it means a lot to me to hear this from a reader! The story is a mystery at heart so it really depends on character complexity :). Everyone is acting a little strange in the story.

Ah and James and Seth... I know, they don't seem to be made for each other. I really wanted to show the complexity (there is it again) of their realtionship... It has so many layers and is hard to define... I absolutely wanted to show their differences... they are not perfect, neither alone nor together, but something keeps drawing them in...

And yes, Sam is acting a little fishy and so is Vala and so is Albus and so is James and so is Freddie etc...

Again, I'm so happy you liked the story and thank you so much for this great review... You are awesome!


 Report Review

Review #5, by ShinichaGoodbye, James: Lily

16th September 2016:
Wow, okay ... when I read the description and then saw that the first chapter was "Lily" I couldn't possibly imagine what expected me. Was it really Lily Potter and how could she say goodbye when she died mere seconds after her husband?

But this chapter turned out ... beautifully and heart-wrenching. I don't know if the last things I'd think in such a situation would be of the past, if not the fear would erase any coherent thought. But Lily and James did have months to prepare for such a possibility, and they are Gryffindors after all!

The rhythm of the story fits the situation well - it is fast paced and not completely coherent, but stringent in the sense that those thoughts and memories important to her keep repeating themselves. They are artistically interrupted by the action-like scene that is playing out before Lily.

I believe in this sense that it is very close to how a desperate mind works.

You did incredibly well in managing to actually fill the gap of information that we have about James and Lily's relationship within her erratic thoughts and bringing the story to a close.

The way you write is heart-gripping, and the fact that it's written in the second-person POV makes the reading even more intense.

I thought there were a few very beautiful sentences that particularly stand out, this one especially: "But that was the maddening nature of James Potter. He could make you hate him so much that, next moment, you were desperately in love and didn’t know if you were coming or going."

I don't know what the challenge was about, but this chapter definitely left me in a very emotional state even within this small word-count. I wouldn't know what to change about it.

 Report Review

Review #6, by ShinichaKeep Calm and Carry On: Morning

6th August 2016:
Wow! I read this (almost) in one go, and I'm so glad I found this story! It was really lovely, funny, moving and throughout real (no matter what Ada thinks! :p)
Your story really lived off the characters, I loved, loved all of them. Even side characters such as Ward didn't seem superficial. I liked the political undertone you held throughout the story (I hope it will go well for Goblin women's rights). I'm somewhat sad that Dean's and Edie's friendship got ruined..though I'm glad that he found someone else.
Thanks so much for this wonderful story!!

Author's Response: Man oh man, it just really blows my mind when you guys say that you read this IN ONE GO. I tried to do that the other day for editing/nostalgia purposes and I didn't even start at the beginning and it took me ALL DAY SO HOW DO YOU DO THIS *u* It makes me feel so happy.

Haha! Love that comment about Ada. She really made this fic, between all of Edie and Oliver's melodramatic "WHY CAN'T WE JUST BE TOGETHER I LOVE YOU SO."

Gaw thank you so much for that. I feel like I really know each and every one of these characters, y'know? They're so real to me. Like what do you mean they aren't real idgi

♥!


 Report Review

Review #7, by ShinichaActions Speak Louder than Words: Brewing: Rose POV

11th July 2016:
Oh I can't wait for the next chapter! I just knew it was his parents, but I'm not sure what it means, ie why they were killed. (I admit I was much more cautious about all the details when I read all the chapters in one go). Also, why is Astatine in Rose's office? I'm convinced she's evil and she was there at crucial moments (in the bar, the hospital..) :(

I'm glad to see Al better again. And the description of Rose's discomfort makes me never want to have children haha...

So happy to see this story continued!

 Report Review

Review #8, by ShinichaNo Wands At The Wedding: Likely to Offend

23rd June 2016:
ha, so both Lily and Hugo are getting a date to annoy Dominique, while Rose is planning a revenge - the wedding seems very promising! Can't wait for more :) I also feel really nostalgic and happy to have met Rose again!

 Report Review

Review #9, by ShinichaNo Wands At The Wedding: Take Your Places

23rd June 2016:
Yay!! Another story in your own Next-Gen universe. I'm really looking forward to the next chapters.It seems like there will be two (1/2) main characters in this one, I wonder how this Lily/Hugo mix will turn out. I expect only the best!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ShinichaBeauty Queen: And the Winner is...

14th June 2016:
a really cool and unusual start for a story with this topic! I like the humour and Tash :)

 Report Review

Review #11, by ShinichaTraitorous Hearts: The Weight of the Curse

13th June 2016:
Im happy to see the story continued! I love how you describe the small and subtle changes within Astoria. I'm really looking forward to hearing from Draco again!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for writing this really sweet review! It was so encouraging to me after a long day at work :D I really appreciate it, and I'm glad you're looking forward to hearing from Draco!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #12, by ShinichaIdentity Politics: A Formidable Candidate

6th April 2016:
They're backkk! I'm SO happy to read this! I'm sorry to keep this review short (I'm on the phone - awkward to type); anyway it's a great start to a promising sequel. I felt reminded of of both Corbyn and Sanders with Hermoine's social-reformist programme, and liked how you played with the different class interests via the persona of Zabini. (also loved the union elves :D ) The talk of crisis after a "post-war-boom" also is very up-to-date (though I've always wondered what a crisis in a wizarding society, where the productive forces are more or less unlimited, would look like). The social commentary as you once called it is much more direct in this chapter than ever before... but I disgress somewhat!
Perry didn't have much 'screen'-time in this one, which is why I look forward to him all the more.
This Rick character somehow seems super-sleezy and I can't bring myself to trust him!
Also, I vaguely remember the sherlock episode where sherlock dismisses all cases and in the end they fit together in one big picture. Will this be the case here as well?? So much to look forward to :)

 Report Review

Review #13, by ShinichaComplicated: In Which Family Matters

15th March 2016:
Hi! I just wanted to say that I'm sorry that I'm so bad at reviewing. I'm very rarely online as I'm so cramped with work. But I need to tell you that I still LOVE your story and follow it, and that I'm so happy and thankful that you continue writing it!
I'm also excited to find out what will happen next now that the suspense has somewhat lightened and made space for another round of drama :D
Great work!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for such a kind review. I'm so glad to hear you're still enjoying reading. Next chapter hopefully will be here soon :) xx

 Report Review

Review #14, by ShinichaBeautiful Mess: Beautiful Mess

8th September 2015:
Omg, this story is beautiful. I'm still in shock about being so fully enchanted within less than 1000 words!

I don't very well know what to say, except that this story is beautifully done. I saw it too! The kids chasing around. You really made me follow Ginnys heart and head step by step. I felt included, as if I was snuggling with them on the bed!

This is definitely very sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review :) I don't have words to express my gratitude!

 Report Review

Review #15, by ShinichaAfter: One.

8th September 2015:
Wow, very compelling story.

The fact that you changed the timeline was unusual. With every subchapter I felt myself effectively being dragged through time into the new, earlier setting. I didn't understand it until the very end, when I read Dumbledore's words!

It's an interesting choice for a character. I admit I never much liked Amos, but when he blames himself for his sons death I really felt with him for the first time. It seemed so plausible, the letter and him teeling Cedric to enter!

Great story! Thanks for the read

Author's Response: Eeek, thank you so much! This was a really lovely and unexpected review. I didn't really like Amos either, and I hadn't given him a second thought until I was given his character for the challenge, but I actually feel really sorry for him now. Funny how writing and reading can change your perspective on a character :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #16, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Louis Arnaud Weasley: Faustina

7th September 2015:
EM!

Sigh, why o why did I put off reading another one of your stories for so long? I missed your writing!

That being said this chapter was ... A LOT. It was a challenge, it was funny, and tragic, and psychedelic and QUITE SOMETHING.

Your writing made my brain work on several levels, I felt like those fighter-helicopter-pilots who have to multitask with both eyes in different directions, because I checked to dictionary so often *laughs*

But I'm glad I did, because otherwise I would've missed so much!

The first few paragraphs made me think of music.
Because it starts with the terminus that seemingly sets the topic and continues with a force (or forte) and then goes to allegretto. (So I was a bit happy when it kinda ended with music, although it was Jazz and not classical :D )

But at the same time I was overwhelmed by the constant alliterations (I love those) and the way you managed to PERMANENTLY SPEAK IN CONTRADICTIONS that were complimenting each other to make sense. How did you even think of "reinforcing a fleeting existence" or "science ensorcelled him"?

While remembering my Latin classes because of all the elaborate vocabulary you used, I also remembered my Latin classes because of the accomplishment I felt when I had read a sentence three times and after grasping its full meaning it felt suddenly smooth when it was all stoney and bumpy before.

Apart from that I thought that Faustina must have wondered a long time from Germany, and then I wondered when it was that she ran away? How old is she and WHO paid her father? Is she even from Germany? Because she said Mutti, but her sibling is called "Sin".

When her father watched her from behind the glass I was also inevitable reminded of Brave New World. Actually I'm all for babies-from-tubes (no birth pain, yay!), but this experiment is not quite how I imagine it!!

We know very little about Louis, but he seems so similar to Annett, he, too, seems not very comfortable with social interactions. Will there be another chapter where we can hear his story? I really hope so, I love it.

The funeral scene reminded me immediately of the funeral at the Dumbledores'.

I noticed some small errors (or I think I did):

-- "Death is much too common too always be more than mundane." Second "too" should be "to"

-- "I shrugged" punctuation mark missing after sentence

-- "As subtlety as a fog engulfs a meadow" I think it should be subtly?

GLAD TO HAVE READ THIS and glad to be back :')

Author's Response: SHINICHA!

I have fixed the chapter accordingly thanks to your amazing ability to find my errors and I both appreciate it and apologise for it because I am not so adept at catching these things as you are. THANK YOU.

I am so sorry about the dictionary bit too. A work should be made to be understandable, but it was for a logophile's challenge. . .

Music is music and I love both classical and jazz and both were on my mind when I was writing this.

IS Faustina from Germany?! One wonders. . . SO many questions most of which answered in TIMOWK which I have finally finished and posted and it's all there. :D Promise. I know I messaged you the plot a while back, but it's changed since then quite drastically.

It's a very anti-'Muggle' seeming thing until the end where Faustina is accepting that there is good and evil in everything.

If I am to write another of the TIMO series, Louis will certainly show up. It's a matter of plotting the ruddy thing and writing it.

I AM GLAD YOU READ IT AND REVIEWED because, as ever YOUR THOUGHTS ARE INVALUABLE TO ME.

Alliterations and contradictions are how I operate. Can I make something like this? I don't know given how much I've poured into this and exhausted all these phrases and use of vocabulary and such. I don't even know anymore.

Latin is useful! Not quite as dead as some believe. I am glad that it helped and that upon understanding came a more smooth reading experience.


 Report Review

Review #17, by ShinichaChicks Before Broomsticks: End Game

6th September 2015:
Ah, I finished this story in one go (sorry for not stopping at the other chapters to review) and I loved it!

I liked your characters a LOT, including all the side characters that were very well done. Though I have to admit I was a bit worried about this trend of alcoholism in the professional Quidditch league! :P

The way the romance turned out was very sweet and realistic. The story idea itself might be a bit cliché, but it's refreshing to see it as a same-sex pairing story, and since it was so well done - what with Hollie's inner struggles and the way they got to know each other - it was so good!

I'd really love to know how the thing with Ellie and Alec will work out!! ^^

If I were to give any CC at all, I'd say that I got a bit confused as to which Dad was which (I had to go back to the AN where you explained it) and had to think a lot while reading. (Still not sure if I mixed them up in some scenes haha but maybe I'm just too slow)

Thanks for this great read!

Author's Response: Hehe, that's okay, it's great to hear you enjoyed it enough to want to keep reading!

Aw, thank you! I love big ensemble casts, and these characters were a lot of fun for me to write. lol, I'm worried as well, and I wrote it! I think it's a coping method for a lot of them, though, with the fame and all that jazz.

One of the major goals I had with this story was to take that cliche'd plot (fake dating) and try to really try to put my own spin on it. I'm so glad that that worked out!

Hehe, somewhere in the back of my head there's a side story about Alec and Ellie brewing. I don't have a strong enough idea for it at the current time, but I could definitely be talked into it if the right plunny came along.

I definitely understand that. My beta and I worked at that quite a bit to try to get some more physical characteristics into their descriptions to distinguish better. I think one of the internal flaws I had was I didn't want to take away from the story by over-explaining which dad was which, and I think that ended up making it confusing to the reader because there ended up being too little explanation.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading the story!


 Report Review

Review #18, by ShinichaPast Tense: third.

4th September 2015:
I'm rolling on my bed laughing! This is hilarious!

Actually it makes me really giddy to think of all the possibilities there are when you can basically invent your own curriculum!

Also, this is the first time I read the word "Marxist" in a fanfiction and it made me really happy. Though I can only imagine what the respective media theory would say.

The thought that Connor actually walks through a castle that looks like a ruin is quite fascinating. I wonder about all the other spells that have been cast. But maybe things like "remembering urgent appointments" don't really happen when you already know it's there!

I wonder if Connor's students can ever grasp his subject. I wonder if they're even capable of grasping elementary physics, now that I think of it, since all its rules don't apply to them. HM.

 Report Review

Review #19, by ShinichaPast Tense: first.

4th September 2015:
I love this story already!

The snide remarks about the magic world's absurdities are hilarious. And the story idea is really nice to begin with, it has a lot of potential fun and drama, I'm looking forward to reading it!

I was just wondering: Can you drive at age 16 in the UK? I thought it might have been later...

The letter by the headmistress is quite strict in tone haha. She seems so sure that Steph will say yes! I wonder how much she knows about magic history, since she studied the Muggle one... Reading on! :)

 Report Review

Review #20, by ShinichaYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 3

2nd September 2015:
Your characters manage to be utterly confusing but consistent at the same time. Draco isn't really likeable, but in a way relatable.


I can honestly say that I have NO idea where this is going, but I definitely want to go on reading it.

The dialogues are without any doubt totally whacky; where did Greg suddenly come from? (laughing hard)

I like Draco's Herbology talent, it's somehow very fitting, and I also immensely enjoy Theodore's company. I'm really hoping very much for an update soon, because this is very lovely!

 Report Review

Review #21, by ShinichaYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 1

2nd September 2015:
Ahh, this is SUCH an interesting story idea and SUCH a good first chapter!

The interaction between Draco and Theodore was very well done, I thought. The bluntness, unexpected turns in the middle but still easy to follow.

I generally enjoy your style of writing, it's down-to-earth but thoughtful at the same time.

Your Luna was just perfect, I think she's one of the hardest characters to write if you don't want to overdo the "weirdness".

The magical tattoo-procedure was really cool, I'd LOVE to have one of those!

 Report Review

Review #22, by ShinichaWhen I Go Out With You: One By One

2nd September 2015:
This is a wonderful story, I love it so far!

I can tell you put a lot of thought into melting all the feelings into your beautiful sentences, and the effect is perfect; they're not too long, they're not too pretentious but still highly unusual!

I can't wait for your Neville!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review this. And, of course, read it! I always assume the only people reading my stories are those reviewing, so it's a bit of a nice surprise when an unexpected review appears in a late chapter! I am really glad to hear that you like the way I weave emotions into my words. I look forward to hearing what you think once Neville gets involved!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #23, by ShinichaComplicated: In Which It Gets Worse Before It Gets Better

1st September 2015:
OMG I just realised to my horror that I actually never left a review for this story! I'm so sorry, I don't even know how this happened.
And I honestly want to make it a long and good one, only I'm currently on my phone on an island :(
I'll therefore just comment on this chapter for now.

Okay, so the question just WHO this girlfriend of her fathers is has bothered me quite a while (when Daphne was about to spill it in Hogsmead and Olivia refused to know I was like whaaat nooo).. But I never would've guessed THIS. Not only the bad one of the MLEs but also Laura's mother?!?!

But Olivia wandering in Laura's room was a continuation from last chapter's surprise: that she'd actually be friends with Rose and was once apparently non-bitchy. This only heightens the suspense of what happened for her to turn on Albus.. And if and when this misunderstanding is cleared; will it be too late for her, or will Liv be the one who'll be ditched? :/ :/

We haven't heard anything about Cassie in a while! I still wonder if my suspicion of her being pregnant is correct..! (But why run away and not simply abort...? What about the violence she seemingly encountered..?)

I love how the katie-side of Liv's family is growing on her. The moron really is quite attentive; and I loved her 'reunion' with Al. I can't wait for the next chapter, I'm sitting on needles!!! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so so much for this review. Everything you've said is so kind and I'm really happy to hear how much you're enjoying this story. It's always lovely to hear that people have been reading and liking it.

Cassie's still going to be in the background for a little while. Olivia's struggling without her but right now her other problems have pushed it a bit further back in her mind. It's good to hear your theories on her disappearance :)

I'm so glad you like Katie and Jason! Jason's really making progress with Liv and I'm enjoying writing it a lot. And then Al's just super kind and lovely to write.

Next chapter's up now. Hope you like it!

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #24, by ShinichaKill Your Darlings: Christmas Party

25th August 2015:
ohmygod, I had ALMOST forgotten about Ted's thing, whatever it may be, but now I'm doubly curious! At first I'd thought he was a metamorphagus like his future daughter ... but how could he transform his clothes? Then I thought he was some kind of Animagus - but why would he have this pain and this weird silver streak in his hair??

It really was a great chapter, again I love Andromeda for how she battles her self-pity and how she handled the whole situation. How lucky am I not having to wait for the next chapter! PHEW

Author's Response: YES. Ted's thing! Mystery is in the air. I definitely took a weird take on the metamorphmagus track (and undoubtedly NOT canon), but I hope it holds up!

And haha, I know what you mean. I love finding stories and television series that have already been completed. Instant story gratification!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #25, by ShinichaKill Your Darlings: Wensleydale Cheese

25th August 2015:
Another lovely chapter, and the final sentence "...So if the act of Muggleborn Ted Tonks enfolding her in a safe, warm embrace was an act of contamination, then it was the sweetest contamination that Andromeda Black had ever known." ... you melt my heart! haha

besides, I LOVE Nelson, he's awesome, though I do wonder what they usually eat when they apparently never use cutlery. Toast and pizza?!

Everything about this chapter was wonderful! Sorry about these far-too-short and not-very-helpful reviews!

I noticed one small mistake (I THINK):
"More than given it to her, he’d called incredible" -- I believe there should be one more "her" ;)

Author's Response: Awww, I'm so glad your heart was melted! (That sounded weird, but. . .you know.)

Hahaha, Nelson is seriously my favorite character to write. Glad you like him! And yeah, man. Toast. Pizza. Chips. Fish with their bare hands. You know, the usual.

And not at all! Your review are neither too short nor unhelpful. I love them! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave them!

And omg YES. That's definitely a typo. Thank you for pointing it out!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>