Reading Reviews From Member: Shinicha
  
147 Reviews Found

Review #1, by ShinichaKeep Calm and Carry On: Morning

6th August 2016:
Wow! I read this (almost) in one go, and I'm so glad I found this story! It was really lovely, funny, moving and throughout real (no matter what Ada thinks! :p)
Your story really lived off the characters, I loved, loved all of them. Even side characters such as Ward didn't seem superficial. I liked the political undertone you held throughout the story (I hope it will go well for Goblin women's rights). I'm somewhat sad that Dean's and Edie's friendship got ruined..though I'm glad that he found someone else.
Thanks so much for this wonderful story!!

Author's Response: Man oh man, it just really blows my mind when you guys say that you read this IN ONE GO. I tried to do that the other day for editing/nostalgia purposes and I didn't even start at the beginning and it took me ALL DAY SO HOW DO YOU DO THIS *u* It makes me feel so happy.

Haha! Love that comment about Ada. She really made this fic, between all of Edie and Oliver's melodramatic "WHY CAN'T WE JUST BE TOGETHER I LOVE YOU SO."

Gaw thank you so much for that. I feel like I really know each and every one of these characters, y'know? They're so real to me. Like what do you mean they aren't real idgi

♥!


 Report Review

Review #2, by ShinichaActions Speak Louder than Words: Brewing: Rose POV

11th July 2016:
Oh I can't wait for the next chapter! I just knew it was his parents, but I'm not sure what it means, ie why they were killed. (I admit I was much more cautious about all the details when I read all the chapters in one go). Also, why is Astatine in Rose's office? I'm convinced she's evil and she was there at crucial moments (in the bar, the hospital..) :(

I'm glad to see Al better again. And the description of Rose's discomfort makes me never want to have children haha...

So happy to see this story continued!

 Report Review

Review #3, by ShinichaNo Wands At The Wedding: Likely to Offend

23rd June 2016:
ha, so both Lily and Hugo are getting a date to annoy Dominique, while Rose is planning a revenge - the wedding seems very promising! Can't wait for more :) I also feel really nostalgic and happy to have met Rose again!

 Report Review

Review #4, by ShinichaNo Wands At The Wedding: Take Your Places

23rd June 2016:
Yay!! Another story in your own Next-Gen universe. I'm really looking forward to the next chapters.It seems like there will be two (1/2) main characters in this one, I wonder how this Lily/Hugo mix will turn out. I expect only the best!

 Report Review

Review #5, by ShinichaBeauty Queen: And the Winner is...

14th June 2016:
a really cool and unusual start for a story with this topic! I like the humour and Tash :)

 Report Review

Review #6, by ShinichaTraitorous Hearts: The Weight of the Curse

13th June 2016:
Im happy to see the story continued! I love how you describe the small and subtle changes within Astoria. I'm really looking forward to hearing from Draco again!

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so much for writing this really sweet review! It was so encouraging to me after a long day at work :D I really appreciate it, and I'm glad you're looking forward to hearing from Draco!

--Penny


 Report Review

Review #7, by ShinichaIdentity Politics: A Formidable Candidate

6th April 2016:
They're backkk! I'm SO happy to read this! I'm sorry to keep this review short (I'm on the phone - awkward to type); anyway it's a great start to a promising sequel. I felt reminded of of both Corbyn and Sanders with Hermoine's social-reformist programme, and liked how you played with the different class interests via the persona of Zabini. (also loved the union elves :D ) The talk of crisis after a "post-war-boom" also is very up-to-date (though I've always wondered what a crisis in a wizarding society, where the productive forces are more or less unlimited, would look like). The social commentary as you once called it is much more direct in this chapter than ever before... but I disgress somewhat!
Perry didn't have much 'screen'-time in this one, which is why I look forward to him all the more.
This Rick character somehow seems super-sleezy and I can't bring myself to trust him!
Also, I vaguely remember the sherlock episode where sherlock dismisses all cases and in the end they fit together in one big picture. Will this be the case here as well?? So much to look forward to :)

 Report Review

Review #8, by ShinichaComplicated: In Which Family Matters

15th March 2016:
Hi! I just wanted to say that I'm sorry that I'm so bad at reviewing. I'm very rarely online as I'm so cramped with work. But I need to tell you that I still LOVE your story and follow it, and that I'm so happy and thankful that you continue writing it!
I'm also excited to find out what will happen next now that the suspense has somewhat lightened and made space for another round of drama :D
Great work!

Author's Response: Hello! Thank you so much for such a kind review. I'm so glad to hear you're still enjoying reading. Next chapter hopefully will be here soon :) xx

 Report Review

Review #9, by ShinichaBeautiful Mess: Beautiful Mess

8th September 2015:
Omg, this story is beautiful. I'm still in shock about being so fully enchanted within less than 1000 words!

I don't very well know what to say, except that this story is beautifully done. I saw it too! The kids chasing around. You really made me follow Ginnys heart and head step by step. I felt included, as if I was snuggling with them on the bed!

This is definitely very sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the kind review :) I don't have words to express my gratitude!

 Report Review

Review #10, by ShinichaAfter: One.

8th September 2015:
Wow, very compelling story.

The fact that you changed the timeline was unusual. With every subchapter I felt myself effectively being dragged through time into the new, earlier setting. I didn't understand it until the very end, when I read Dumbledore's words!

It's an interesting choice for a character. I admit I never much liked Amos, but when he blames himself for his sons death I really felt with him for the first time. It seemed so plausible, the letter and him teeling Cedric to enter!

Great story! Thanks for the read

Author's Response: Eeek, thank you so much! This was a really lovely and unexpected review. I didn't really like Amos either, and I hadn't given him a second thought until I was given his character for the challenge, but I actually feel really sorry for him now. Funny how writing and reading can change your perspective on a character :)

Thanks for the review!


 Report Review

Review #11, by ShinichaThe Internal Monologue of Louis Arnaud Weasley: Faustina

7th September 2015:
EM!

Sigh, why o why did I put off reading another one of your stories for so long? I missed your writing!

That being said this chapter was ... A LOT. It was a challenge, it was funny, and tragic, and psychedelic and QUITE SOMETHING.

Your writing made my brain work on several levels, I felt like those fighter-helicopter-pilots who have to multitask with both eyes in different directions, because I checked to dictionary so often *laughs*

But I'm glad I did, because otherwise I would've missed so much!

The first few paragraphs made me think of music.
Because it starts with the terminus that seemingly sets the topic and continues with a force (or forte) and then goes to allegretto. (So I was a bit happy when it kinda ended with music, although it was Jazz and not classical :D )

But at the same time I was overwhelmed by the constant alliterations (I love those) and the way you managed to PERMANENTLY SPEAK IN CONTRADICTIONS that were complimenting each other to make sense. How did you even think of "reinforcing a fleeting existence" or "science ensorcelled him"?

While remembering my Latin classes because of all the elaborate vocabulary you used, I also remembered my Latin classes because of the accomplishment I felt when I had read a sentence three times and after grasping its full meaning it felt suddenly smooth when it was all stoney and bumpy before.

Apart from that I thought that Faustina must have wondered a long time from Germany, and then I wondered when it was that she ran away? How old is she and WHO paid her father? Is she even from Germany? Because she said Mutti, but her sibling is called "Sin".

When her father watched her from behind the glass I was also inevitable reminded of Brave New World. Actually I'm all for babies-from-tubes (no birth pain, yay!), but this experiment is not quite how I imagine it!!

We know very little about Louis, but he seems so similar to Annett, he, too, seems not very comfortable with social interactions. Will there be another chapter where we can hear his story? I really hope so, I love it.

The funeral scene reminded me immediately of the funeral at the Dumbledores'.

I noticed some small errors (or I think I did):

-- "Death is much too common too always be more than mundane." Second "too" should be "to"

-- "I shrugged" punctuation mark missing after sentence

-- "As subtlety as a fog engulfs a meadow" I think it should be subtly?

GLAD TO HAVE READ THIS and glad to be back :')

Author's Response: SHINICHA!

I have fixed the chapter accordingly thanks to your amazing ability to find my errors and I both appreciate it and apologise for it because I am not so adept at catching these things as you are. THANK YOU.

I am so sorry about the dictionary bit too. A work should be made to be understandable, but it was for a logophile's challenge. . .

Music is music and I love both classical and jazz and both were on my mind when I was writing this.

IS Faustina from Germany?! One wonders. . . SO many questions most of which answered in TIMOWK which I have finally finished and posted and it's all there. :D Promise. I know I messaged you the plot a while back, but it's changed since then quite drastically.

It's a very anti-'Muggle' seeming thing until the end where Faustina is accepting that there is good and evil in everything.

If I am to write another of the TIMO series, Louis will certainly show up. It's a matter of plotting the ruddy thing and writing it.

I AM GLAD YOU READ IT AND REVIEWED because, as ever YOUR THOUGHTS ARE INVALUABLE TO ME.

Alliterations and contradictions are how I operate. Can I make something like this? I don't know given how much I've poured into this and exhausted all these phrases and use of vocabulary and such. I don't even know anymore.

Latin is useful! Not quite as dead as some believe. I am glad that it helped and that upon understanding came a more smooth reading experience.


 Report Review

Review #12, by ShinichaChicks Before Broomsticks: End Game

6th September 2015:
Ah, I finished this story in one go (sorry for not stopping at the other chapters to review) and I loved it!

I liked your characters a LOT, including all the side characters that were very well done. Though I have to admit I was a bit worried about this trend of alcoholism in the professional Quidditch league! :P

The way the romance turned out was very sweet and realistic. The story idea itself might be a bit cliché, but it's refreshing to see it as a same-sex pairing story, and since it was so well done - what with Hollie's inner struggles and the way they got to know each other - it was so good!

I'd really love to know how the thing with Ellie and Alec will work out!! ^^

If I were to give any CC at all, I'd say that I got a bit confused as to which Dad was which (I had to go back to the AN where you explained it) and had to think a lot while reading. (Still not sure if I mixed them up in some scenes haha but maybe I'm just too slow)

Thanks for this great read!

Author's Response: Hehe, that's okay, it's great to hear you enjoyed it enough to want to keep reading!

Aw, thank you! I love big ensemble casts, and these characters were a lot of fun for me to write. lol, I'm worried as well, and I wrote it! I think it's a coping method for a lot of them, though, with the fame and all that jazz.

One of the major goals I had with this story was to take that cliche'd plot (fake dating) and try to really try to put my own spin on it. I'm so glad that that worked out!

Hehe, somewhere in the back of my head there's a side story about Alec and Ellie brewing. I don't have a strong enough idea for it at the current time, but I could definitely be talked into it if the right plunny came along.

I definitely understand that. My beta and I worked at that quite a bit to try to get some more physical characteristics into their descriptions to distinguish better. I think one of the internal flaws I had was I didn't want to take away from the story by over-explaining which dad was which, and I think that ended up making it confusing to the reader because there ended up being too little explanation.

Thanks so much for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed reading the story!


 Report Review

Review #13, by ShinichaPast Tense: third.

4th September 2015:
I'm rolling on my bed laughing! This is hilarious!

Actually it makes me really giddy to think of all the possibilities there are when you can basically invent your own curriculum!

Also, this is the first time I read the word "Marxist" in a fanfiction and it made me really happy. Though I can only imagine what the respective media theory would say.

The thought that Connor actually walks through a castle that looks like a ruin is quite fascinating. I wonder about all the other spells that have been cast. But maybe things like "remembering urgent appointments" don't really happen when you already know it's there!

I wonder if Connor's students can ever grasp his subject. I wonder if they're even capable of grasping elementary physics, now that I think of it, since all its rules don't apply to them. HM.

 Report Review

Review #14, by ShinichaPast Tense: first.

4th September 2015:
I love this story already!

The snide remarks about the magic world's absurdities are hilarious. And the story idea is really nice to begin with, it has a lot of potential fun and drama, I'm looking forward to reading it!

I was just wondering: Can you drive at age 16 in the UK? I thought it might have been later...

The letter by the headmistress is quite strict in tone haha. She seems so sure that Steph will say yes! I wonder how much she knows about magic history, since she studied the Muggle one... Reading on! :)

 Report Review

Review #15, by ShinichaYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 3

2nd September 2015:
Your characters manage to be utterly confusing but consistent at the same time. Draco isn't really likeable, but in a way relatable.


I can honestly say that I have NO idea where this is going, but I definitely want to go on reading it.

The dialogues are without any doubt totally whacky; where did Greg suddenly come from? (laughing hard)

I like Draco's Herbology talent, it's somehow very fitting, and I also immensely enjoy Theodore's company. I'm really hoping very much for an update soon, because this is very lovely!

 Report Review

Review #16, by ShinichaYour Heart on Your Sleeve: 1

2nd September 2015:
Ahh, this is SUCH an interesting story idea and SUCH a good first chapter!

The interaction between Draco and Theodore was very well done, I thought. The bluntness, unexpected turns in the middle but still easy to follow.

I generally enjoy your style of writing, it's down-to-earth but thoughtful at the same time.

Your Luna was just perfect, I think she's one of the hardest characters to write if you don't want to overdo the "weirdness".

The magical tattoo-procedure was really cool, I'd LOVE to have one of those!

 Report Review

Review #17, by ShinichaWhen I Go Out With You: One By One

2nd September 2015:
This is a wonderful story, I love it so far!

I can tell you put a lot of thought into melting all the feelings into your beautiful sentences, and the effect is perfect; they're not too long, they're not too pretentious but still highly unusual!

I can't wait for your Neville!

Author's Response: Hello!

Thank you very much for taking the time to review this. And, of course, read it! I always assume the only people reading my stories are those reviewing, so it's a bit of a nice surprise when an unexpected review appears in a late chapter! I am really glad to hear that you like the way I weave emotions into my words. I look forward to hearing what you think once Neville gets involved!

Sam.


 Report Review

Review #18, by ShinichaComplicated: In Which It Gets Worse Before It Gets Better

1st September 2015:
OMG I just realised to my horror that I actually never left a review for this story! I'm so sorry, I don't even know how this happened.
And I honestly want to make it a long and good one, only I'm currently on my phone on an island :(
I'll therefore just comment on this chapter for now.

Okay, so the question just WHO this girlfriend of her fathers is has bothered me quite a while (when Daphne was about to spill it in Hogsmead and Olivia refused to know I was like whaaat nooo).. But I never would've guessed THIS. Not only the bad one of the MLEs but also Laura's mother?!?!

But Olivia wandering in Laura's room was a continuation from last chapter's surprise: that she'd actually be friends with Rose and was once apparently non-bitchy. This only heightens the suspense of what happened for her to turn on Albus.. And if and when this misunderstanding is cleared; will it be too late for her, or will Liv be the one who'll be ditched? :/ :/

We haven't heard anything about Cassie in a while! I still wonder if my suspicion of her being pregnant is correct..! (But why run away and not simply abort...? What about the violence she seemingly encountered..?)

I love how the katie-side of Liv's family is growing on her. The moron really is quite attentive; and I loved her 'reunion' with Al. I can't wait for the next chapter, I'm sitting on needles!!! :)

Author's Response: Hi! Thank you so so much for this review. Everything you've said is so kind and I'm really happy to hear how much you're enjoying this story. It's always lovely to hear that people have been reading and liking it.

Cassie's still going to be in the background for a little while. Olivia's struggling without her but right now her other problems have pushed it a bit further back in her mind. It's good to hear your theories on her disappearance :)

I'm so glad you like Katie and Jason! Jason's really making progress with Liv and I'm enjoying writing it a lot. And then Al's just super kind and lovely to write.

Next chapter's up now. Hope you like it!

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Emma xx


 Report Review

Review #19, by ShinichaKill Your Darlings: Christmas Party

25th August 2015:
ohmygod, I had ALMOST forgotten about Ted's thing, whatever it may be, but now I'm doubly curious! At first I'd thought he was a metamorphagus like his future daughter ... but how could he transform his clothes? Then I thought he was some kind of Animagus - but why would he have this pain and this weird silver streak in his hair??

It really was a great chapter, again I love Andromeda for how she battles her self-pity and how she handled the whole situation. How lucky am I not having to wait for the next chapter! PHEW

Author's Response: YES. Ted's thing! Mystery is in the air. I definitely took a weird take on the metamorphmagus track (and undoubtedly NOT canon), but I hope it holds up!

And haha, I know what you mean. I love finding stories and television series that have already been completed. Instant story gratification!

Thank you for the review!


 Report Review

Review #20, by ShinichaKill Your Darlings: Wensleydale Cheese

25th August 2015:
Another lovely chapter, and the final sentence "...So if the act of Muggleborn Ted Tonks enfolding her in a safe, warm embrace was an act of contamination, then it was the sweetest contamination that Andromeda Black had ever known." ... you melt my heart! haha

besides, I LOVE Nelson, he's awesome, though I do wonder what they usually eat when they apparently never use cutlery. Toast and pizza?!

Everything about this chapter was wonderful! Sorry about these far-too-short and not-very-helpful reviews!

I noticed one small mistake (I THINK):
"More than given it to her, he’d called incredible" -- I believe there should be one more "her" ;)

Author's Response: Awww, I'm so glad your heart was melted! (That sounded weird, but. . .you know.)

Hahaha, Nelson is seriously my favorite character to write. Glad you like him! And yeah, man. Toast. Pizza. Chips. Fish with their bare hands. You know, the usual.

And not at all! Your review are neither too short nor unhelpful. I love them! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave them!

And omg YES. That's definitely a typo. Thank you for pointing it out!


 Report Review

Review #21, by ShinichaKill Your Darlings: Refuge

25th August 2015:
Oh, this chapter warmed my heart, it was really nice. And yes, Andromeda IS behaving quite unusual, but I can't believe how her family could treat her like that!!! I would've been a heap of self-pity, but she is very self-reflective. I thought she was really strong, the way she handled herself in this situation!

Your quotes from the book very btw super-creepy! It really sounds like these race-theories from the late 19th early 20th century..uff!

Great chapter :)

Author's Response: Yes! I think this really is a huge turning point for Andromeda. And even though her family is being utterly AWFUL, she's finally realizing she has the strength to separate herself from that legacy.

Isn't it scary how J.K. Rowling's purists speak in ways that aren't too different from a lot of the horrible eugenic essays being written in the last century? Ugh. That was indeed the (disturbing) spirit I was channeling for those passages. ICK.

Thank you so much for the review!


 Report Review

Review #22, by ShinichaKill Your Darlings: Discovery

25th August 2015:
Oh, wow, okay, first let me catch my breath after this fantastic (and exiting) marathon through your chapters! I am sorry that I didn't stop after each of the catching and addictive chapters to leave a review, however I'm leaving for holidays tomorrow and wanted to get through some Dobby-Recommendations before leaving!

I really like your idea to chose to write about Andromeda and Ted; and I completely share your love for both of them! You've made two minor characters come to live in a really wonderful way :D

I think you did a very good job at working all the Canon characters into the story. Your Cissy and Lucius, and especially your Sirius, love them! Your managed to really flesh out their personalities, the way they talk and react to things is very consistent and provokes nice dialogues. Also your Rabastan is outright frightning! O_O His domineering ways and this "glint", whatever it may be, that she saw in his eyes made me seriously worried about Andromeda.

Especially Andromeda is great; the way she slowly, slowly changes over the chapters; how she is extremely naive but thoughtful at the same time; how she slowly makes herself question things she has learned to be true, just because that's what she expects of herself; to be consistent and smart.

I, too, enjoyed how you make language a decisive point in characterizing different personalities. I actually watched several youtube videos of yorkshire accident to understand its sexappeal!!! :D But also the usage of words (it's really cute when Andromeda gets thrown off by "uncoth" vocabulary haha)

In between the themes of overcoming prejudice and handling social pressure, the mystery of her nightmares, the blinks into a future with Death Eaters and Voldemorts, are peppering the story up and leave just the right amount of thrill. Ted's tattoo and the fact that it's a bird made me wonder if she might possess some divination skills??

I any case, I'm really happy to have found this story and can't wait to read on~~~ This year's Dobbys are going to be soo hard to choose again, with all these great stories like yours!!

Author's Response: Eep! What a brilliant surprise to come back to. Thank you for this and your other reviews! I'm working through them at a snail's pace, I know, but I intend to reply to each of them, and they've all been total day brighteners.

It always makes me giddy when I hear about a marathon read! Those are my favorites. Yes, I've been a little bit, um, obsessed with Ted and Andromeda ever since Sirius mentioned them in the series. I'm so glad I made a New Year's resolution to write a fic about them and saw it all the way through!

Haha, the Yorkshire accent really is delicious, I think. I know not everyone agrees. . . But for Ted, imho, it's perfect. :]

Thank you for all the kind feedback on plot and characterization! I'm so glad you've been enjoying the story AND I hope you had a fabulous holiday!


 Report Review

Review #23, by ShinichaA Study in Silver: Such Savage Methods

20th August 2015:
This is getting SO thrilling and exciting!

Their plan is ridiculously dangerous and risky (was getting caught in the office part of the PLAN? Or did he succeed DESPITE being caught?), but also pretty clever.

Over the course of the chapter it also becomes clear, that while Perry is clearly erm, hard to deal with, his "delusions" are most likely to contain a lot of truth, and I can't help wondering if the suspicions he had about an "influencal wizard" being dark (whoever it was where he broke in) will become relevant later on.

The other thing is this annoying Skeeter woman who keeps appearing (who did she indeed get that shot?).

You're really doing an exceptional good job at giving all kinds hints toward potential suspects! :o

The child-thing, Roxanne does to remember the "innocence" of all her patients, I do it too and it's sometimes really quite puzzling. The sentences that followed, about Blishwick having signed his Healer's certificate before his birth certificate was one of the coolest ones in the chapter! (Besides, of course, the stoned birds, haha).

So, will Blishwick be the Moriarty? Or is this just the beginning? (IS SKEETER ACTUALLY THE MORIARTY?)

Too many questions!

Just something I forgot to mention in the last review for chapter 5:

"outside the scandal and the St. Mungo's and the investigation with Perry" - I THINK you meant "at" not "and" St. Mungo's?

Author's Response: You know, that's a really good question! Perry def makes it SEEM like it was part of the plan, but he's probably just trying to spin it that way and it was an accident :P

YAY I'm so glad that I managed to make multiple suspects alluring! And yeah, the "remembering everyone was a baby" thing can be SUPER trippy. So glad you liked the line about Blishwick! (AND STONED BIRDS. I really didn't know whether or not people would hate that, but it made me giggle SO MUCH)

I WILL KEEP MYSELF FROM OFFERING SPOILERS. There may or may not be sequels planned ;)

And as always, THANK YOU FOR CATCHING GRAMMAR DERPS

xoxo
Roisin



 Report Review

Review #24, by ShinichaA Study in Silver: Meet the Wotters

20th August 2015:
Sooo this chapter was the awaited and dreaded serious turn!

While I had a bad feeling when Roxy left Perry alone, I think I would've done the same if I were her. (Maybe I would've forced him to come with me, but probably not.) Even assuming that he WAS an addict, it's quite true that he doesn't seem at all like a Heroin-one, with his giddyness and constantly reeling thoughts.

The scene where she gets the "clue", seeing Hugo and James on the balcony, was really cleverly woven into the story at a point where the reader wouldn't expect it! I also liked that she actually did realize something was wrong instead of coming home and finding the .. surprise.

As to the family gathering: It was interesting to see them all flock together and how you fitted in all the information about them. You did a good job with it, balancing facts with personality. It didn't seem forced or unnatural. I particularly liked the detail about Lily helping the Cannon's to the top :D

Again, I love how you mix other fanfictions with yours, and I think I might have to check out some of them (successful AD strategy!)

Hugo is such a little annoying ignorant, haha! He doesn't seem very grown-up, still too stuck-up to have sex talk (or at least have his sister talk about it publicly), but trying hard to be cool by approaching drugs in a supposedly'leger', actually a bit stupid and irresponsible, manner! It's funny how familiar his character seems. In between all the "do-it-my-way" self-confident Wotters (who all manage to be successful with what they want to do, excpet for Roxy haha) he seemed the youngest and the one with the most dents in his personality, which is intruiging.

I also thought it was interesting to see Roxanne in a club. While she'd mentioned that she hadn't really gone out much since she started as a Healer, and also that she apparently had a lot of pretentious friends who didn't care about her once she got into trouble, I didn't quite expect her to be so unused to going out. However, it fitted her personality so far, while showing a new facette of hers. (Also in the way she approached this Felix guy, who, btw, does NOT ring a bell at all from Year Five, WHAT AM I MISSING TELL ME).

So. Now. I'm waiting for what will happen to the idiot that almost overdosed even though he should know better.

Author's Response: You have NO IDEA how glad I am to hear that you think you would have done the same thing. I REALLY didn't want anyone to think Roxanne was being foolish by leaving him alone, and wanted her choices to make sense and be relatable. YAY!

Oh yes, so much toggling of moods. Like, "serious plot [then] YAY FUN FAMILY [then] OH NO CLUE"

There was definitely a lot that was self-indulgent about all the Wotter trivia I threw in, so I'm glad you liked how I parsed it out. It was--yeah, the whole toggle of moods. Like, throw in really indulgent fun stuff before something TERRIBLE AND HARROWING happens.

It's weird how, even before I started writing Hugo, I just knew he would be a little crappy. I don't know why! Maybe because I felt like SOMEONE had to be, and it helped the plot that someone was.

I know that being a doctor is REALLY hard, and Roxanne was still pretty early in her career and really devoted to her work, so I figured she just didn't have TIME. And also, for her overall character arc, I liked the idea that maybe losing her job/career might not be a bad thing. There be silver linings!

Heehee, so Felix: he wouldn't have been born yet when Y5 was set. But there is a clue! "Nirvana is Dad Rock to me."

GEDDIT?


 Report Review

Review #25, by ShinichaY5.5: Identical, Yet Inverted

19th August 2015:
LOL.

Ok that was my reaction to this, it's hilarious.

It's an expertly done spoof, and it WAS SO CONVINCING that now I feel like "damn, I took the original so seriously, HOW PATHETIC AM I AS A READER WHEN IT'S ALL SO OBVIOUSLY SILLY".

But it's not, I know it's not. However, this is, in a good way.

And I didn't fail to notice that you couldn't quite keep the deep stuff out of the story, it almost got lyric with Emily's time-tape-analogies! (which I thought were really clever, or am I now stupid for thinking them clever?! AH! - my word of the day)

Author's Response: Haha! Well trust that I too take Y5 VERY VERY SERIOUSLY.

Siriusly.

And yes, I did have fun spelling out some of the Deep Stuff stuff, and then had even more fun removing words until it became utter nonsense :P

Yee, thank you so much for all of your reviews! I'm so sorry it's taken me so long to reply!


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page  Jump:     Next Page>