Reading Reviews From Member: Dark Whisper
  
408 Reviews Found

Review #26, by Dark WhisperTainted Hearts: Tainted Hearts

9th July 2014:
Wow! You know, this really begs for more. I know this is a goodbye or sorts, but it leaves the reader begging for how their relationship came to this moment in time. You've given us such an emotional end, we want the beginning and middle sections that would have a Malfoy uncharacteristically beg for one more night.

I love sad, tragic Dramione and you really packed an emotional punch in only 500 amazing words! Congrats on that!

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #27, by Dark Whisperdirty little secret.: ...

8th July 2014:
ohmymerlin,

Wow, this little one shot was quite steamy and I can totally see his progression from merely cheating on a girlfriend to eventually cheating on a wife. And to make it a sister is really risky business.

I'm wondering if he really doesn't even care to get caught, especially if their marriage life is one of acquaintance-type of a relationship.

As this is Draco, I can see this sexy beast having his way and getting away with it. And even if he doesn't, he is just arrogant enough to not really care, even if it means destroying the relationship of siblings.

I really loved the pictures that you gave your readers... the description of their little secret meetings was pretty warm on the "hotness scale." LOL! I love that he his so conniving and deviant and seems to be himself.

Anyway, very enjoyable read. Thank you for sharing this hot little secret of a story with the world. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hello!

The line: 'I can see this sexy beast having his way and getting away with it' is officially the best line I have ever read! I literally squeaked because I was laughing so much! :P

Haha, it was something very different from me but I'm glad you enjoyed it! :D

Thank you so much for this lovely review! Absolutely loved it! ♥

- Kayla :)


 Report Review

Review #28, by Dark WhisperWhere I End and You Begin: the gloaming.

8th July 2014:
"Desire is easier than love." Oh, wow, isn't that such an interesting line. And since this is Severus Snape it holds even more meaning. I would think he would hate nearly everything Muggle though, even if he was a half-blood, but I gather that only because he told Lilly she was special and her sister was not.

You certainly wrote him having an impatient potty mouth. LOL! Anyway, good job on this very short little one-shot. You certainly know how to paint a picture. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #29, by Dark WhisperMy Sister-in-Law: horror feminae

8th July 2014:
Ah, Caoty,

The answer to your question is that I would LOVE Audrey because she is not thin and gorgeous. I would probably try to cheer her though as she seems a bit depressed, especially in her inability to be happy in a happier world.

I would probably talk her into eating only dessert as we talked about our husband's flaws if nothing more than to talk about something else besides beautiful in-laws. :D

You gave a very vivid picture of Audrey... and not just her physical appearance, but her thoughts on many things, really.

Great job in penning a character in so few words.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #30, by Dark WhisperDanse Macabre: Exit Music

8th July 2014:
caoty,

Well, this is certainly different and not what I expected at all. Your dream sequences were very much like nightmares and I couldn't tell if he was already dead in thinking these things or not. :)

I actually liked the roman numerals on each paragraph. It was like an outline of a large book... as if there were much more that could be written.

You mention Gothic horror and I definitely think you did a good job of picking up the influence in writing this one-shot. You sure scared me. LOL! ;)

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #31, by Dark WhisperThestrals: Hugo

8th July 2014:
800 Words of Heaven,
Awe, this was so very bittersweet. I absolutely loved, loved how he hated the Thestrals at the beginning for what they represented, but by the end, he loved them when encountering them first-hand in the peaceful setting of the woods. You have truly amazed me with your ability to turn in story in only 500 words. That is quite a feat and a talent. Even with so few words, there is still plenty of beautiful description and real emotion. Great job, really in this three-story collection, all smartly connected with each character being able to see a Thestral... and then connected further with the Every Word Counts Challenge.

Truly an excellent job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #32, by Dark WhisperThestrals: Neville

8th July 2014:
Wow, that was really amazing. This look inside Neville's head was great. It was like he was reminding himself at different points in his life, thinking of what his grandfather had told him, even if he didn't feel brave, the poor dear. And I really think that you were right in mentioning him trying and getting defeated anyway. And even though he would consider them “fails,” he actually succeeded at being brave regardless of the outcome. I would think that at that pivotal moment in time with the snake, that he would try and quite possibly think he would fail... but he would TRY and ultimately that is what helped save their magical world.

Thanks so much for this amazing glimpse into Neville's thoughts. Excellent job!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #33, by Dark WhisperThestrals: Sirius

8th July 2014:
Hello, my dear fellow Slytherin. ;)

Oh dear... Thestrals. Having someone only be able to see Thestrals if they have seen death themselves was a heartbreaking detail given to us by JKR. I’m not sure where she got the idea from, but it is so touching. And now, you write about Sirius being able to see them since he was sixteen, the poor dear. And such brutality to witness is awful, but writing it as the “final straw” that had Sirius leaving his family forever was very creative and well done on your part. I loved how you had the Potters supporting him and insisting that he stay with them. Great job... and in so few words, might I add. You truly made every word count. :)

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #34, by Dark WhisperThe Start of Something: Prompt 3 - Neverending

8th July 2014:
Heir,
Ah, yes... friendship. You are so right to say they have been through so much! It is a shame their sons are having so much trouble getting along. I can’t help but think of them as brothers, as they can fight constantly. Ah, but when one needs help, the other will fight to defend them. You have set this up so well that I can see this happening in the future. :)

You amazed me with your speed in writing so fast. Great job on giving us this realistic scene. Just because their fathers are best friends doesn't mean they need to be.

Great job,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #35, by Dark WhisperThe Start of Something: Prompt 1 - Lily's Fairy

8th July 2014:
Awe, Fairies? How cute.

I loved how she kept referring to humans as giants. :) And really, this is an adorable Christmas-time story. I think it is definitely in keeping with the prompt and how magical creatures are not all dark and creepy.

This was a really cute read. I am glad Lilly's parents believe in Fairies! Its a good thing. LOL!

Great job my fellow Slytherin,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #36, by Dark WhisperThe Start of Something: Prompt 2 - When Darkness Fades

8th July 2014:
Heir! Hello, Sam. Can I just say that you my hero in thinking / writing / posting 3 stories for Slytherin House so quickly? Wow!

The thing I like most about this story was the vivid picture you presented to us. It is a great writer that can have someone tossing out a cigarette with meaning attached to it. I absolutely loved that piece! It shows so much character. It was excellent storytelling.

And tired? Indeed! That is my take on everyone involved in the war... just exhausted.

Great job with this little picture of a new friendship.

Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #37, by Dark WhisperHave a Biscuit, Lupin: Have a Biscuit, Lupin

8th July 2014:
Awe, this was really great. I feel this totally could’ve happened between these two. I loved that you had him feeling like he was sixteen and in trouble again, just as he was years ago.

I am sure I would feel the same way about my teachers of old. I don't think I could ever address them by their first names either.

Poor, poor Lupin. I feel so sorry for him, really. Look at all that he lost at such a young age… friends dead by the betrayal of another... and living with his condition. And we all know how his life ended. Boohoo. Anyway, I am glad you gave him a bit of friendship in a professor who never thought ill of him. And perhaps she helped him realize that the tragedy was not his fault.

Great job on your overall win. Congratulations!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #38, by Dark Whisperinfinite (we swear): post life

8th July 2014:
Awe, Friendship...
Congratulations on winning this category my fellow Slytherin! You really had a lot of depth of feeling in this and I liked your subtle descriptions of them... Lupin's smile... Sirius's laugh. It really is a tragedy that JKR didn't allow any of the Marauders to live. :( Boohoo.

I enjoyed the vivid picture that you gave us at the end. I think your story hit the spirit of the prompt perfectly and it is no surprise that you came out on top. Congrats again!

Go Slytherin House!
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #39, by Dark WhisperHero: Hero

8th July 2014:
Lululuna,
Awe, you are pulling all the heart-strings on this one… So sad and wonderfully written. Your subject is an unfortunate reality for many and you wrote it with dignity and heartbreaking truth. Both of my Grandfathers suffered from this disease and I know it broke my mothers heart to have her father ask her if she was the nurse. And it pained me to watch my other grandpa ask the same question repeatedly, only a few minutes after he asked it the first time. It is no surprise that your story won for Overcoming Adversity. Congratulations, my fellow Slytherin! Bravo!

Go Slytherin House!
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

 Report Review

Review #40, by Dark WhisperTeddy and Lumpy: Master Adventurer

8th July 2014:
Hey, Congratulations, my fellow Slytherin! Job well done in grabbing 1st place for the Creature prompt!
I have to admit I don't think I have ever read any story about a Horklump. This was really, really cute. Can I say that I absolutely loved how he kept calling it a mushroom? LOL!
Your descriptions were really vivid and I loved that you had Teddy as a 10-year old explorer!
Cute read and congratulations again!

Go Slytherin House!
Dark Whisper
House Cup 2014 Review

Author's Response: Hello!

Thanks so much! I was thumbing through Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them, attempting to find a creature, when I stumbled across Horklumps...and I thought they were adorable.

Thanks so much!

-Rumpel


 Report Review

Review #41, by Dark WhisperWith All Of My Heart: You're the one that I love

29th May 2014:
Oh, Lostmyheart... you really know how to break mine! Whaaa!

I love to read stories from the point of view of a man's broken heart. There's just something about it that I love, love, love.

Honestly, its probably because my mother indoctrinated me and my sister to believe that men were heartless creatures. And I am happy to report that I have met plenty of men that prove her wrong time and time again. So... reading of a man's heart means more to me than most.

Excellent story with so much emotion. I think my favorite part was the last... that he would find someone to love him, but not sure he would ever love someone as much as Rose. EXCELLENT ending! As an author, you really hit us in the gut. But that's a great thing. LOL! XD

Wonderful job for this challenge my fellow Slytherin. I know I'm going to lose. LOL!

Best wishes always,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi!

Argh, I feel so honored - you read one of my stories :D
I don't actually know why, maybe because I love your story (which I'm going to continue reading again soon) but you're like royalty to me. Oh, silly me. Haha :)
I'm so sorry I broke your heart! *hands you cookies and some tissues*
I love stories like that as well! It always have this sad, but still romantic feel of it - they always make me feel something more than just plain romantic stories.
I'm so happy to hear you liked that last line, I was a little bit afraid that maybe it was a bit too cheesy, but I thought it would fit well with the story flow.
Haha! You made me laugh out loud! It's definitely not my intention to hit you guys in the gut, I was actually aiming for your hearts :P

I'll definitely read your entry as well! I just saw it on the thread, what an interesting pair! And no, I'M going to lose!

And thank you so much for reviewing! I loved reading your review and it made me so happy! :)

- Avi


 Report Review

Review #42, by Dark WhisperHis Hero: His Hero

29th May 2014:
luvinpadfoot,

Wow, my heart is broken for poor Daphne! This was a wonderful read and an amazing look into anyone who has had to endure a wedding in which their love is marrying someone else!

Excellent job with this challenge. There is so much here in so few words.

I loved how you described when she thought Draco was looking at her as she walked down the aisle. Oh, the poor dear. And I especially liked her blush when he said so few words to her. Heartbreaking, really.

Again, excellent story in this little one-shot!
10/10

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

 Report Review

Review #43, by Dark WhisperSnakes Attraction: Snakes Attraction

29th May 2014:
Sir Snuffy,

Wow, well it certainly is a terrible thing to be accused of something that you didn't do, especially when it is your closest friends who don't believe you either. You captured this frustration in Harry very well.

We really don't know much about Daphne, other than she was Astoria's older sister and Draco would become her brother-in-law.

You had me wondering if she was going to show her cunning and maybe have an ulterior motive for being with him, but as it is written is just fine.

My only advice, I'd probably find a different description for Harry's grin. LOL! :P

Good job on the Slytherin May Writing Challenge. Best wishes, my fellow Slytherin.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: You have my gratitude for this detailed and very positive review :).

 Report Review

Review #44, by Dark WhisperFor Her: For Her

9th March 2014:
DracoFerret11,

Bravo! Take a bow... this was EXCELLENT!

Crack-ship, indeed, but done so very, very well. I'm amazed at how meaningful it is... how he has said nothing at his parole hearings and how his number spells out who he is and why he is there.

You showed where his obsession with her began and how it built. And how his only hope daily is to see her someday. I'm also quite fond that he had a newspaper photo of her and how he hides it.

This is an excellent look into a prisoner's lonely mind and shows that even a seemingly heartless man can harbor feelings hidden deep.

The ONLY thing that I could suggest is that you put the song in a top Author's Note so that readers could listen while reading it the first time. I didn't know of the song until the end.

Now for the song... It is one of my favorites of all time! I think I might like the choral version sung in Latin, (Agnus Dei) a tad bit better. :) I have listened to both literally hundreds of times, particularly when I want to touch on a certain tragic mood while writing. The height of it, followed by a crash of silence is music straight from heaven. Barber added the lyrics years later and it is my understanding it was a response to war. Over and over, repeatedly, it asks for forgiveness and peace. ;( It is perfection.

As it pertains to your story, I think it is the slow build that correlates to the sun rising, building his thoughts of her; building as he remembers seeing her during the battle; building to his height of hope and light... and then the crash and silence, realizing that change would never happen and he was just a number now. The music begins again, slowly and tenderly as he reflects on the reality of his situation... "Time will pass... and no change will come."

*sigh*

This was really beautifully, poetically written. Best wishes on both challenges.

Thanks for the wonderfully sad, emotional read. I enjoyed it very much. 10/10.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi Dark Whisper!

Thank you so much for reading and reviewing! This was such an amazing review and it really made my day. I'm so happy that the emotions in this story came across well. I was really worried that I wasn't going to be able to pull this off, and I'm really happy you seem to think I succeeded! I'll definitely mention the song at the beginning. Good idea! Thanks for that. :) All-in-all, this was so great to read and I'm so happy that you liked the story. Thanks again!

--Emily


 Report Review

Review #45, by Dark WhisperMurphy's Law: Reality

23rd February 2014:
WriteYourHeartOut,

Hello, deary... just checking out more of the Speed Dating entries.

Wow, what a date. I think she had it right with a dash of catastrophic. XD Hahahaha!

It didn't go at all as planned... and he'll probably never tell his friends how it really went. LOL! (At least, I would never).

The snow globe was really beautiful, but that she had to pay for it only to have him break it was awesome! Wow, how can it get worse?

You both did a wonderful job at linking your stories of ideal date and real date. It was a great idea and you both wrote it so well.

Loved the buttered bread visual as well. I can totally see them doing this just to prove him wrong and have fun while 'testing' it. :D

Great job, especially in such a short, short amount of time! Both stories were very creative and truly enjoyable to read.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hi DarkWhisper! Thank you so much for the review! ^.^

hehehe What a date, indeed! That "dash" of catastrophic may have been a slight understatement of the truth... LOL Poor James. I tortured him a bit here. :-p

It's funny that you say that, cause I actually was toying around with the idea of adding an additional scene in which James returns to the dorms where the three other Marauders are all waiting to ask him how it goes, and he says with a big goofy grin on his face, "Perfect!" LOL But the word cap took the possibility for that away, but that's how I imagined it going while writing! hehehe

The snow globe was something I brought to the table for me and Singularity, but she made it magical by taking it from a snow globe to a season globe! Thank goodness for her, it was such a great idea! I'm so happy you liked it, as well! ...unfortunate about my choosing to break it, though... *cackles evilly*

Yay! I love to hear that! We tried really hard to have our stories very easily reflect each other, so I'm glad it was easy to spot the similarities!

LOL I can only imagine the trial and error those boys underwent in order to obtain an accurate outcome... hehehe It would have been a fun scene to expand, but I'm glad the short glimpse alone was satisfying! ^.^

Thank you so much for this great review! I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to write it! And congratulations to you as well for finishing in time for the super short deadline! I'll be over to your fic sometime this week with a review of my own! Yay!

Tanya :)


 Report Review

Review #46, by Dark WhisperYhprum's Law: Expectation

23rd February 2014:
Singularity,

Well, hello there. Just seeking out more Speed Dating entries...

This was really sweet. 17 pastries on a date is something that my younger son would think was a perfect date, indeed. LOL. XD

And that snow globe was really beautiful. I love that you put something magical in your story. It sounds lovely.

And can I say that I just love the Marauder's reactions. LOL! Too funny! Leave it up to your friends to call out all the mistakes in the plans. XD

Off to read the companion piece.

Lovely job in such a short amount of time!

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Thanks for taking the time to read and review this!

Admittedly, 17 pastries is probably a bit extreme, but I don't think I would turn down that kind of date, myself :P (Though I have my doubts that they /actually/ ate them all...it was more a bite or two here and there...quite wasteful really, if it wasn't a fantasy :P)

I'm really glad you liked the snowglobe. I like it too, and really want one. Sadly, I like in the Muggle world. :(

I'm so glad you liked the Marauder's bit at the end! I really enjoyed how that turned out. Tanya helped out with some of the one-liners that they threw and it was just so much fun to write :)

Thanks again for reading and reviewing!


 Report Review

Review #47, by Dark WhisperWhere Rainbows End: Where Rainbows End

18th February 2014:
TheMisfit,

Well, this is really cute and well done in such little time! And you linked together really well with the companion story.

Oh my, I would've been scared out of my mind with Lucius grabbing my hand like that staring at me and the ring... oh, my I probably would've passed out and hoped Scorpius would catch me!

Great job with the awkward/angsty/terrifying moment. So glad Draco was the first to accept. Probably liked having her squirm for a moment though. And of course, who doesn't love the line about not sitting by her father? LOL! Loved it.

Great job,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hello!

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed it, and that this connects well to my partner's one-shot! :)

Haha, I think I would have been scared too, although I'm not one to faint :P I'm glad that you enjoyed the scene, and that Draco was first to congratulate them. It does make sense that he wouldn't want to sit next to Ron though ^.^

Thank you for the review!
-Isobel


 Report Review

Review #48, by Dark WhisperBirdie (Speed Dating Entry): Birdie

18th February 2014:
Kenpo,

Hello, deary. Just checking out other speed date stories...

Your story is adorable. Love the advice from Hermione! "Just tell a few jokes and don't talk about your father." Hahahahaha! Perfect!

And wow, what a way to drop the bomb! Or maybe rip off the bandaid. LOL! I love his instinct to slither under the table and live there.

And oh, I'm glad it was Harry that stepped in.

This story was adorable and now I'm off the read the companion. It sounds like you linked really well.

Great story, especially in only 72 hours!

Best wishes,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hey, thanks for the review! Even if this is a ridiculously late response that you'll never see.

I had a lot of fun writing this, even with the stress, so I'm really happy that you enjoyed it.

Thanks so much.
-Georgia


 Report Review

Review #49, by Dark WhisperWhat is love?: The Eve of Christmas

17th February 2014:
MegtheChef,

Awe, this is a wonderful addition to "What is Love?" It is a cute 'next step' of their relationship.

Doesn't every woman in the world want her man to say that she makes the dress look good and not the other way around? Oh, my heavenly stars that is so romantic. Love it!

And I loved her question. Was she just a distraction to when he can be single again? This question comes with a little hope, I think. But I can see how she had to ask it.

And ah... the subject of babies, oh boy. I think you did this right on. Pearson, that bum is looking for any little hint of a fake relationship and he got it, but only briefly. They recovered quite well.

I love the conversation about him worried about being a father. When she tells him what she thinks, he doesn't say anything and that... breaks my heart for him. He remains silent and its just... ugh! I feel so sad for him.

What I think is important is that she believes in him. He needs to hear this, I think. He needs someone in his life that believes that he can be a good man. ;(

You have me pulling for them, rooting for them to learn to be happy with each other. It is Christmas and May is only a mere 5 months away. I cannot help but wonder what path you will lead us on. Such a good story, Meg. Really, it truly is.

Can she be happy with this life? I'm reminded of something that I heard awhile back... That home is wherever the people you love are. No matter the dwelling or the traveling, home is with the one you love.

Hopefully, regardless of what happens, her home is with him. And his home is with her. Money or no money...

:)
Well done, Meg. Apologies not needed. Everyone needs a break every now and then. We get refreshed and churn out beautiful chapters like this one.

So good to see your update. It's one more leap forward in your journey. I want to congratulate you in coming so far. You know... that I know that writing a novel is NOT easy. Congrats on one more step behind you. :)

Best wishes and hugs always,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Dark,

Hello, again. I think my readers needed a bit of hope after my last chapter.

Hermione would wonder a lot of things about her relationship with Draco if she were going to commit to him in the way that might get her heart broken but draco has been so sweet, kind, romantic, patient. How could she not come around and maybe love him. Draco just needs to teach her what love really is. She thought she knew at one point but she lost hope. Anyway, Pearson will return again.

Draco could be the father that his father never could be. Draco would learn from his father's mistakes. Hermione can see that and she believes in him to be a good man.

I'm so glad you read this chapter and your reviews are always so uplifting. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Until next time...

Meg


 Report Review

Review #50, by Dark WhisperQuirky: In Which A Date

17th February 2014:
Navyfail,

Well, I read your companion piece first, then came to yours.

I really liked your Emmalyn and the crazy thoughts inside her head. The eyelash piece was adorable. And really, Albus's thoughts were hilarious as well. I love the Slytherin in him that enjoyed watching her squirm. XD

My favorite part was your "Roses are Red" poems that were perfect for Valentine's Day! I loved that they were playful slams and that they didn't take much offense.

It was really an enjoyable read and the link to the companion was really cute.

I think Rose should probably apologize though. LOL!

Very cute story in only 72 hours to collaborate! That is not much time!

Anyway, good luck and thanks for making me laugh.

Sincerely,
Dark Whisper

Author's Response: Hello! And you can call me Sama.

Yeah Emmalyn is quite peculiar and kind of crazy. I honestly didn't think I could pull of a character like her but I wanted to give it a shot. Yes... the eyelash scene. From now on I'm going to call it that. That scene wasn't planned at all. It just popped into my mind and then I wrote it down, thinking maybe it won't come out too bad. And I love the Albus that likes seeing people squirm too!

I came up with the "Roses are Red" poems after I wrote the first few paragraphs of the story. And I thought they fit in with Valentines day so they went in the story. And I'm glad you liked them even though my rhymes aren't too good.

Rose didn't actually know she threw her butterbeer at someone else so... her apologizing may not happen, lol.

Yeah, 72 hours isn't too much time but in the end, the rush of it was very fun.

Making people laugh is always a pleasure. And thanks for the wonderful and positive review.

~Sama :)


 Report Review
If this is your story and you wish to respond to reviews, please login

<Previous Page   Jump:     Next Page>